Whiteford Township

Monroe County

At a meeting of the electors of the township of Whiteford convened at the house of William Wilson on the 7th day of April, 1834, for the purpose of organizing said township according to law, William Wilson wad chosen moderator, and James White, clerk; and after being duly qualified the meeting elected the following officers:

Supervisor, David White; clerk, James White; assessors, William Wilson, Frederick Leonardson, William M. White; collector, Elisha Corbin; poor directors, Joseph Titsworth, David White; highway commissioners, Adam A. Gardinier, Samuel Russoell, James Egnew; Constables, Philander M. Jeffers, Elisha Corbin; overseers of highway, Frederick Leonardson, Samuel Young, Bishop Surdam, Patrick Flynn, John S. E. Ludd; fence viewers, James Dein, William McMillan.

April 12, 1834, the township was divided into road districts — five in number.

April 7, 1838, the school inspectors met and appointed Henry Vaughan chairman, and divided tho township into districts. The animal report of the several school districts for the year ending September 3,1888, show the number of children attending school in the township 4%. Of the school houses six are frame buildings and three brick, with a total valuation of $5,550. The schools have a total seating capacity of 539.

See Biography for Cauis Candee