Genealogy Trails History Group
Saginaw County Michigan Genealogy Trails History Group

Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Submit Data Submit Obituary Michigan Genealogy Trails  Genealogy Trails Join The Mailing List 
 
Saginaw County, Michigan Genealogy Trails
The History of Saginaw County, Michigan
(pages 604 - 653. Transcribed by Tammie Rudder)

dence here. What became of the original owner or of his children could not be learned, and this being so tended to render the acquisition of the property a most uncertain transaction.

The barrack or stockade was used as a school-house, and within its rude walls Judge Albert Miller taught the first school. The stockade extended to the site of the Taylor House.

During the year 1832 the idea of becoming owners and cultivators of the soil possessed many of the old settlers of Saginaw City and took practical shape. During that year A. W. Bacon, Charles McLean, Henry .Me Lean, John .Brown, Andrew U re, Harvey Williams, John McGregor, Douglas Thompson, Stephen Benson, Wm. J. Henderson and John Todd located lands along the Tittabawassee, and subsequently brought their families thither to reside.

The same year Eleazer Jewett, G. D. Williams, E. S. Williams, Abram Butts, Thomas McCarthy, James Busby, James Frazer, David Stanard, Aug. Bertrand, Sylvester Vibber, Dougal McKenzie, Edward Brown, Thomas Simpson, Seymour Ensign and Duncan McLellan located at Saginaw City, some of them with the intention of becoming permanent settlers, others with that of making it a home for a few years. E. N. Davenport arrived in 1832 and made Saginaw City his home.

Murdock Frazer arrived in 1833 at the village. At that time he set forth on horseback to explore the Saginaw with a view of locating some lands. He actually crossed Pine Run creek, when he realized the fact that he was lost in the great wilderness. For 70 hours he traversed the forest, hungry, fatigued and anxious. He lost his horse. Packs of gaunt wolves threatened him; yet he pushed forward to the Cass river, where he was fortunate enough to reach the primitive dwelling of Citizen Kent. After thawing out, he repaired his torn clothes and proceeded to Saginaw. Two years later he located lands along the Tittabawassee, and became a permanent settler. Toward the close of the year 1836 the following named persons possessed homes in Saginaw City or in its immediate neighborhood:

Antoine Campeau, Albert Miller, ------------Jenks,

Charles McLean, Hiram L. Miller, Benj. Pearson,

Jack Smith, Rufus W. Stevens, Roderick Vaughan,

Wm. J. Henderson, Nathaniel Foster, John Farquaharson,

Eleazer Jewett, John Kengan, James Abbott,

David Stanard, Humphrey McLean, C.W. Whipple,

Gardner D. Williams, Abram Butts, Alex. D. Frazer,

Augustus Bertrand, Grovenor Vinton, Murdock Frazer,

Stephen Benson, Harvey Rumville, Ira French,

W. Bacon, Nelson Smith, Geo. W. Bullock,

John Todd, Charles L. Richman, Geo. Davis,

Abram Gotee, Daniel Kengan, -------------Rockwood,

Duncan McLellan, Charles Lull, James Kenny,

John Brown, Phineas Spaulding, David E. Corbin,

Sylvester Vibber, Geo. Blythe, Jeremy T. Miller,

James Frazer, Riley Mott, John Tibbets,

Thomas Simpson, H. N. Howard, Theophilus Clarke,

Dougal McKenzie, John Lacy, ------------Merritt,

Douglas Thompson, Peter Guillott, Norman Little,

Seymour Ensign, Wm. F. Mosely, John P. Hosmer,

Abram Whitney, Harvey Williams, Curtis Emerson,

Edward Brown, Eleazer Mason,

James Busby, -----------Ponton,

“The Red Warehouse” was erected in 1836. The Webster House and two warehouses were built in 1837. E. W. Perry had the contract for “getting out" the lumber to be used in the first­named structure. The “Williams saw-mill" then stood where the salt blocks of the Williams Bros. are now situated, and all formed what was known as the town of Saginaw. This nucleus of a city was barely formed, when the wave of depression moved westward, shattering the hopes of the new town-builders, and reducing the aspirations of the enterprise to a dream. The settlement was agitated to its very depths; many determined to leave the district; discontent dwelt in every mind.

The small-pox entered the Indian villages about this time, and added largely to increase the prevailing dread of some impending disaster. Providence, however, ruled that the pioneers might suffer alone from financial reverses, while the Indians would be carried away in thousands by the dreadful disease. Of the entire number of the doomed race then dwelling in the neighborhood of the "Great Camp," over 2,000 perished, the remainder fled to the wilderness to seek a hiding place, where the Great Spirit could not find them, or pursue them with his vengeance. Even the wild woods did not shelter the poor savages from the terrible scourge; throughout the forest, river and stream the echoes of their dismal shrieks rang out for a short while, and then died away with death. Happy Indians! They survived not to witness the sacred circles of their fathers, the burial places of their race, upturned by the plow, or covered with the homes and factories of civilized man; they were spared at least this last and most terrible affliction.

The financial crisis ended, confidence began to reign, and the inhabitants assumed their wonted occupations. A brief period was afforded to realize all the dangers which had surrounded them and were now dispersed--to make a survey of the wreck, caused by financial depression on the one side, and by famine and disease on the other. They saw the bones of the savages lying scattered over their garden plots, along the river bank; and seeing, regretted their oft-repeated wish that the "Indian would die." The new solitude was real; the red men, who varied the monotony of life in the wilderness, were gone, and the few who remained were so stricken with the calamity which befel their tribe, that moroseness was added to their natural stoicism, rendering them objects to be at once pitied and feared.

A short time, and the importance of the Valley reasserted itself. In 1841 a few settlers arrived; the darkest hour in the history of the Valley was past, and business was resumed. In 1845 immigrants poured in from every quarter, bringing with them a wealth of strength and health; nor did the capitalist remain far behind. In 1848 labor and capital formed a partnership and together began the work of building up the old town of Saginaw, as well as of establishing a new city.

In 1837 was built the first public building in the Saginaw Valley. It stood in the rear of the present court-house and served as the place of worship of the Presbyterian Church until the erection of the present house of worship in 1852. It was built for the purposes of a school and court-house, but on the erection of the present court­ house, the structure was moved to the spot where the county jail now stands. Subjectet1 to another journey, the old building was converted into a dwelling-house.

The first school district was organized April 18, 1837. It comprised the territory now known as the townships of Saginaw, Buena Vista, Carrollton, Zilwaukee, Spalding, Frankenlust, a part of Swan Creek, Portsmouth, Kochville and Bridgeport, with one school-house, situated on the public square, near the site of the present county court-house. The first shade-trees were planted on the business portion of Court street, by Mr. Fisk, sr., an old and respected settler. The trees opposite the Taylor House alone remain. Two trees, planted on Washington street by Mrs. Dr. Lee, then a little girl of only seven summers, still flourish, apparently in the spring-time of their growth.

The first journal started in 1836 by John P. Hosmer, subsequently edited by Hiram L. Miller, fell to the ground before the business revival of 1841. It was succeeded by R. W. Jenny's paper, known as The North Star, in 1842. Even then the people were not prepared to support a journal, as the suspension of the Star became a necessity after an irregular publication. The Spirit of the Times, edited by L. L. G. Jones, was the herald of the true revival of industry and may be considered the first newspaper which met with sufficient support to justify publication.

From 1845 to 1850 a steady progress was made: the old settlement extended, and still men looked forward to the wild tract on the east side of the river for a further extension. In 1849 the business of Saginaw was represented by 11 dealers in dry-goods, groceries, etc.; one steam saw-mill, three hotels, five carpenteries, three blacksmith shops, one bakery, three boot and shoe stores. Four years later the Union school building, the German Evangelical Lutheran Church (1851), Methodist Episcopal (1854), First Presbyterian (1852), St. John's Episcopal (1853), St. Andrew’s Catholic (1853), were erected, and with the county court-house, formed a little city in themselves.

From 1857 to 1860 great advances were made, the old citizens entered upon tile work of erecting new dwelling-houses, improving the streets, building factories and stores, hotels, schools, and even more churches. The whistles of steamboats and saw-mills, the rush of busy mechanics, workmen, and employers and the appearance of the people in general told that the era of prosperity had arrived. The manufacture of salt was an established fact in 1860, and henceforth the star of Saginaw was in the ascendant. Within the three years from 1857 to 1860 the population advanced from 536 to 1,712. In 1866 it reached 5,426; in 1870, 7,460; in 1876, 9,890; in 1880, 10,526, and in June, 1881, the resident and floating population was estimated at about 12,000. Judging from these statistics, the era of great advancement was between the inauguration of the salt manufacture and 1866; but, in reality, that marked progress which characterizes the city depends not now on such statistics; as railroads, improved machinery, and new methods of manufacturing lumber and salt reduce manual labor to something nominal. The increasing number and capacity of the lumber mills and salt factories, and the opening up of the country in the vicinity of the city, must be taken as the basis of progress. However extensive may be the utilization of labor-saving machinery, its producing power will always tend to insure an increase of wealth, as well as an addition to the population; for wherever a great industrial center is found, there also is the steam-engine and all that machinery which the genius of modern mechanics has introduced.

SAGINAW IN 1857.

During the years succeeding the “wild-cat” times the city of the Valley made comparatively little progress. The first panic reduced its population of 900 to about 450; but even with this small number of inhabitants holding on to the ship, which so many deserted, the settlers w re confident of ultimate success. In 1848-'9 they beheld the return of the immigration tide; during those years a few men came here to make a permanent settlement, their example was followed, until in 1857 the population was increased to 536. The city was incorporated that year, while yet its commercial and professional interests were represented by only 65 offices, stores and shops, with four churches, two society rooms, the Union and two select schools, the court-house and old-time county jail. The streets were laid off, shade-trees planted and many dwelling-houses constructed. Looking over a list of the professional and business men of the period, one must be reminded of the many changes which later years have effected. Among the lawyers of that time were Sutherland, Benedict, W. H. Sweet and E. C. Newell, with offices on Water street; Moore, Gaylord and Hiram S. Penoyer had their offices in the court-house; and C. D. Little, at the corner of Washington and Madison streets.

Doctors J. B. White, D. F. Mitchell, M. C. T. Plessner, Dion Birney, and Dr. J. Smith located their offices on Water street; N. D. Lee on Jefferson, and S. Franke at the corner of Franklin and Hamilton. A. 0. T. Eaton Brothers carried on the drug business in a store at the corner of Court and Water streets.

The hotels comprised the Webster House, with Lester Cross proprietor, located at the comer of Washington and Jefferson; the Saginaw City Exchange, on Ames and Water streets, operated by Horace Douglass; the Shakespeare Hotel, kept by C. T'. Brenner, at the corner of Adams and Hamilton; the Aetna House, by Geo. W. Beeman, on the corner of Van Buren and Water streets; the Stage House, at the corner of Throop and Water streets, and C. F. Esche's "Sylvan Retreat," on Court street.

Michael Dougherty's shipyard was situated on Water street; A. H. Paine's livery stable, at the corner of Cass and Water; C. Wyder's tannery, at the corner of Stevens and Water; John W. Richardson's harness store, the steam spoke factory and A. Fisher's cabinet and chair factor, on Water street.

The dry-goods houses at that time comprised D. H. Jerome & Co., Jerome block, Water street; G. W. Bullock, G. T. Zochoerner, Woodruff block; Ferdinand Flatan and P. C. Andre, on the dock, Water street.

The grocery and provision trade was represented by J. Dowling, A. Andre, M. Butman, Geo. Strebe, W. Binder, Jacob Vogt, Water street; Michael Redman, restaurateur, corner of Hamilton and Jefferson.

D. H. Jerome & Co's. hardware store stood on the corner of Water and Van Buren streets; N. Hibson's ironmongery store was located on Water street, in what was known as the "Gibson block."

Mrs. Rice and Miss Hamilton were the proprietresses of millinery establishments.

John Mullcahy, M. Rathkie and F. A. Leasia carried on three tailoring establishments on Water street.

The Methodist church, then situated near the court-house on Washington street, was presided over by Rev. T. C. Higgins. The Masonic lodge-room stood on the corner of Cass and Hamilton streets. The Dutch Reform Society's hall was located on Ames street; the First Presbyterian church, on Court street; the Protestant Episcopal church, on Washington near the Public square, and the Catholic church, on the northeast corner of Washington and Monroe. The Union school, the Saginaw City Literary Association, Miss Ripley's and Miss Mulholland's select schools, Odd Fellows Saginaw Lodge, No. 42, with perhaps a few other religious, literary, scholastic and friendly organizations, were in existence.

From 1858 to 1862, very few additions were made to the business portion of the city. In the latter year a number of wealthy and enterprising men were added to the population, and within a few years the brick blocks, which now ornament the business center, were erected.

SAGINAW IN 1865.

In reviewing the city of 16 years ago, and comparing it with the city of to-day one is forcibly reminded of all that well directed enterprise can accomplish. It is said that ''The Webster House'' was then the principal house, as it had been for nearly 30 years. On Water, beginning at Jefferson, was to be found the foot of business, and either side of the street, extending to Mackinaw, were to be found all the stores in the city, with one solitary exception. The buildings were not at all imposing as may be seen by a view of the best ones. There was on the present site of the water· works a one-story brick office, and on the corner of Court street the Bauer block (erected 1863), which were the only brick buildings on that street at that time. Court Street was occupied by two business places, the banking office of G. L. Burrows (erected 1863) and the stationery store on the corner of Hamilton. The American House stood between Court and Franklin on Hamilton street, and this with two well patronized places of resort for gentlemen of leisure, on the corner of Franklin and Jefferson, constituted the business of that street.

The Saginaw Valley Republican was then published in a building on the corner of Ames and Washington streets. There were then four hotels in the city, and in addition to the two brick buildings already mentioned there were two brick residences, what is now the Sixth ward school-house on Monroe, and the county office adjoining the court-house. There were five churches, viz.: the Presbyterian, German Evangelical, Methodist, Episcopal and Catholic. The German school building was situated at the corner of Court and Washington, the Central on Court street, and the First on Monroe. During the year, four brick buildings were erected on Water street, and the building of the Taylor House commenced. Where to-day are the massive, elegant buildings, at the intersection of Court and Hamilton streets, were three small gardens, and where the Saginaw barrel factory is located, was the old cemetery. Business blocks and dwelling-houses have been built where the garden beds of the settlers, previous to 1865, were hidden beneath their weight of vegetables or flowers.

The Flint & Pere Marquette railroad, connecting this city with Flint, was completed in1862; the street railroad to East Saginaw, finished in 1864, and the building of the Jackson, Lansing & Saginaw railroad in 1866, aided materially in building up the city. Following immediately the advent of the railroad, the Bauer, the Burrows' Bank and the Taylor House blocks were raised. Within the 10 succeeding years no less than 115 places of business were opened, each carried on in a brick structure.

The second term of depression began in 1873. The crisis was felt in the cities of the Saginaw, and regarded with some more concern here than even in Eastern towns. The district was literally full of people, many employed, and many waiting for employment. At this critical moment in the history of the city, the council authorized the construction of the water-works, while many of the citizens saw the time had arrived when, by erecting residences, they would serve themselves as well as benefit the working classes. The progress of these buildings afforded a good deal of employment and averted many of the hardships from which the people of other cities suffered. Notwithstanding the efforts of the citizens to supply the demands of labor, the financial crash of 1873 affected numbers of the people, and drove them to the alternative of seeking other homes; yet the suffering which it occasioned here was comparatively little, when other cities are considered. During the years of depression the city offered just sufficient employment to enable the industrious working man to "tide over'' that term of stagnation in trade, and await the return of prosperous times. As Saginaw was among the first cities to feel the effects of the financial crash, so also was it among the first to recover from the panic. It survived the second as it did the first misfortune, growing larger after each reverse, and brighter after each obscurity.

IN SE MAGNA RUUNT.

Great bodies are apt to rush against each other; but in the case of the two Saginaws the proverb was set aside in 1873. During that year an effort was made to unite the two cities under one municipal government. The party of consolidation issued an address showing the many benefits which would accrue to Saginaw City in the event of a union with her younger sister on the east side. The logic was really good in every instance save one, and that was the arrangement of "Uncle Samuel's'' postoffice. The offices then in existence would remain so, notwithstanding the fact that there would be only one city in the event of consolidation becoming an accomplished fact.

The anti-consolidationists, a numerous band, did not fail to perceive that there was a statement made in the address, which, if carried out, would revolutionize the rules of the U. S. P. 0. department. Now, they had no reason whatever to suppose that Uncle Samuel, in his paternal solicitude for the lumber and salt cities, would override precedent by acceding to the desires of the unionists, yet the opposers of this union were very skeptical on the question, and taking advantage of a doubt, annihilated this section of the address. Article after article was fully studied, and still the anti-consolidationists failed to find any sound reason why Saginaw and East Saginaw should unite in municipal bonds. The agitation was continued for some time, but the little band of unionists was silenced by popular vote and their city allowed to remain as they found it.

Whether the agitation will ever be revived is questionable, yet not without the range of probability, for the reason that there are many and influential men in the city who cannot cast aside their faith in the strength of union, or fail to recognize the fact that in some instances the majority form very erroneous conclusions.

It is not within the province of this history to say which party erred in 1873; but it may be candidly stated that there is some want on the west side of the river which should be supplied. The location of Saginaw City cannot be excelled; its water privileges are as extensive as those claimed by East Saginaw; the city is the home of idle capital which should be utilized until the beautiful land, from the confluence of the Tittabawassee and Saginaw rivers to the northern limits of Carrollton, be hidden beneath factories, stores and happy homes.

SAGINAW CITY.

THE CITY OF THE PRESENT.

From what has been written on the progress of this city, it will appear that its municipal and commercial beginning was made in 1857, and extended in 1865. Since the day of the incorporation of Saginaw as a city, its advance, though not so remarkable as its eastern sister, will compare very favorably with any of the new cities of the Union. To-day there are as many business houses and factories here as there were men, women and children at the beginning of the year 1857; and still there is no reason whatever to suppose that the city has reached the limit of its growth. There are 109 streets within the fire limits, laid off regularly, many of them great thoroughfares, and the greater number shaded with a double line of thrifty trees. Although these streets are well built up, there is yet sufficient room for building purposes. The business center is metropolitan in the character of its houses and streets; the stores are at once attractive and extensive; the Taylor House and 14 other hotels are all well adapted to meet the requirements of the city in this respect, each fostering a special trade ; the offices of manufacturers, bankers, insurance companies and professional men are carried on systematically; religion, education, fraternity are all well represented, and under the regime of a well regulated society, the city progresses slowly but surely, to hold that high place to which its situation and the intelligence of its people entitle it.

FIRST PRESBYTERIAN CHURCH.

The history of the Presbyterian Church of Saginaw City extends back to the pioneer days, when Norman Little, Wm. Hartwell, Thomas Smith, T. L. Howe, Hinds Smith, Mrs. Harvey Williams, Jane A. Little, Elizabeth Rice, Mrs. H. L. Miller, Mabel Terrill, Mrs. Julia Smith and Mrs. T. L. Howe formed a Presbyterian society, with Rev. H. L. Miller as director. Two years later, March 1, 1838, the society was organized, and as Mr. Miller presided over its beginning, so he continued now to watch over its growth.

The first sermon delivered in the Valley to an American congregation, was that preached by Mr. Miller in the carpentery, which then occupied the southeast corner of Washington and Ames; the next meeting of the society was held in the postoffice, north side of Court, between Hamilton and Water streets. The subsequent meetings were held within Norman Little's house, then standing on the corner of Washington and Madison; again in the "Mechanic's Hall," Washington street; and in 1837 within that church­school-court-house, in early days removed by order of the Board of County Commissioners, from its old location, directly in rear of the present court-house, to the spot on which the county jail now stands, lest the good old building would take fire, and in turn help to destroy the great court-house, then being built. After the change of location this very useful old structure continued in use as a church-school-house, etc., unti11852, when the Presbyterian congregation began to worship in their new church, completed and dedicated Dec. 12, that year.

Mr. Miller continued in the ministry of the Church until the fall of 1839, when, owing to failing health, he retired. He was succeeded by Rev. C. F. Foot, who remained until May, 1840. From this period until March, 1842, there is no record save that contained in the simple sentence: "The church was organized as a Presbyterian Church, but, during the first years of its existence, was not under the care of any ecclesiastical body." In 1842 Rev. Harvey Hyde was "stated supply," the form of government was changed from the Presbyterian to that of the Congregational; but one year later, in 1843,returned to its original form, connected itself with the Detroit Presbytery, and observed this connection until the constitution of the Saginaw Presbytery in 1856, to which it was transferred.

Mr. Hyde remained until May, 1844. Rev. C. H. Baldwin succeeded, as "stated supply," January, 1846, and retired .July, 1847. Rev. Louis Mills was "stated supply" from November, 1848, to July, 1849. After this period the Rev. D. M. Cooper received a call, June, 1851, and continued in the pastorate until April, 1859. During his ministry the first church built in the Valley was constructed at a cost of over $3,000, after plans by H. C. Weston. The dedicatory sermon was preached by Rev. R. R. Kellogg, of Detroit. Rev. D. H. Taylor succeeded Mr. Cooper as stated supply, and continued in the ministry from March, 1861, to March, 1865, when a call was extended to the Rev. J. W. Hough. Rev. R. P. Shaw entered upon the duties of pastor, and continued in the ministry of the Church here until succeeded by Rev. Mr. Bruske.

The condition of the Church on April 1, 18tH, is shown in the following exhibit:

Added to church on examination... ......... ……………………………………………………………… 8 “ “ " '' certificate.......... .. ........... ........ .... . .. …………………………………... 13

Entire membership ............... .................................................................................. 169

Adults baptized….. ............. ..... ………………………………………………………………………………..4

Children " .............................................................................................................. 20

Sunday-school membership ..................... ............................................................. 300


COLLECTIONS.

Home Missions................................................................................................ $268.31

Foreign " ........................................... ……………………………………………...… 201.53

Relief fund ................ ….. .... ......... .. .. .... … . ..... .. ................................ 87.85

General Assembly..................... .................................................................. 10.57

For sufferers by famine in Persia ………………........... .................... …………..….. 102.90

By Sabbath school for American Sunday-school Union............................... 52.10

By young people's class. ……………......... ....... ……........................................... 2.10

By Golden Rule Mission Band................. ......... .......................................... 60.00

By Woman's Foreign Missionary Society..................................................... 142.15

Total. .. .... ............ .. ...... .. ... ..... .. ..... .... .......... ………………………….………... 927.51

Congregational. ......................................................................................... $2,228.39


METHODIST EPISCOPAL CHURCH.

The following historical sketch of the M. E. Society and Church was written by Hon. John Moore, and placed at the disposal of the publishers of this history by the present pastor, Rev. I. H. Reddick:

"May 20, 1850, Rev. George Bradley, as presiding elder of the Grand Rapids district of the Methodist Conference, made a certificate appointing Andrew Bell ,Stephen Lyttle, Levi D. Chamberlain and Louisa Hart, 'Trustees in Trust of the Methodist Episcopal Church in Saginaw county.' This certificate was recorded June 24, 1850. Mr. Bradley was at this date presiding elder of a district embracing, I think, Lapeer county on the east, extending to Lake Michigan on the west, and including all the territory to the north in the Lower Peninsula. Mr. Bradley was a noble specimen of that type of Methodist preachers who 25 years ago labored in the pioneer work of the Church in this State. In person and in capacity to endure labor, he might well be called a giant. He had great natural ability. His voice sweet and pleasant in ordinary discourse, was at times ‘a voice of thunder.' His zeal and earnestness of purpose in his Master’s cause stopped at no sacrifice. When a boy I learned to love him, and in mature years he commanded my highest respect. When he died the Church lost one of the best and purest men I ever knew.

"This appointment of trustees by Mr. Bradley was, I suppose, for this place (Saginaw City), although in terms general tor the county. The organization then created must, I think, have lapsed, as when I came here it had no active existence, and was never afterward recognized. Lyttle, I am informed, resided in what has since been called South Saginaw, and died in the latter part of the year 1850. Chamberlain resided, where I knew him years afterward, in Tittabawassee township, where he died not long since. Hart I never knew. Bell, I think, must have been a minister who had prior to that time preached here. None of them resided here in the spring of 1851. At this last named date there was no Methodist Church organization, no class and no regular preaching. Occasionally during the summer of that year, Bradley, as presiding elder, preached in that part of the court-house then finished- in the first story, used as a court-room, and for all public meetings. Prior to this, and as early as 1835 or 1836, Methodist ministers had preached here in connection with other charges in Genesee county. I am told that Bell, Brown and Brockway had thus labored here. Mr. Brockway informed me that he had preached here, but there was no organization and no class.

"In the fall of 1851 the Rev. C. C. Olds was sent by the Conference, and remained with us for one year. He organized a class, consisting of Theodore Dean, his two sisters and Mrs. Moore. This, I suppose, was the first class formed, and the commencement of the present Church organization, as it has been maintained to the present time. I know of no other person then resident here who professed to be a Methodist. There were several then residing near Shattuck's mill: J. N. Gotee and his wife, who afterward removed to this place and united with the Church; Mrs. Shat tuck, C. C. Batchelor, Mrs. Swarthout and, perhaps, others in that vicinity; but they constituted a separate class, and held meetings in the Ure school-house.

"Dean and his sisters, soon after this class was formed, moved to East Saginaw. The sisters married and removed to Winona, in the State of Minnesota, where they resided when I last heard from them. Dean left the country after a few years, and, I think, is dead. Mrs. Moore is the sole resident survivor of that class. The Church records, I suppose, show the names of those who from that time to this have been members of the Church. I could give the names of many, but not all; and their recapitulation, if of record, could do us no good. Mr. Olds remained until the fall of 1852. At that date Bradley, who had been presiding elder for many years, was appointed to look after Saginaw City, East Saginaw, Bay City (then Lower Saginaw), and the whole Saginaw Valley, including the Indian missions. He had no assistant. He was followed in the fall of 1853 by A. C. Shaw, who resided at East Saginaw, and preached in both towns. In .January, 1854, a contract was made for lot 4, in block 7, north of Cass street, upon which the church in part stands. One of the duplicate contracts for the Jot I have preserved, and with this pass the same over to your Board, with the hope that it may be kept. You will notice that it is conditional, and binds no one but Mrs. Mackie, the grantor. There was good reason for this peculiarity. The party of the second part is called the Trustees in Trust of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Saginaw;" but there were no trustees, and there was no one to contract. The pastor, Mr. Shaw, a very zealous man, was determined to have a place of worship, and cared little for any legal organization. The difficulty was solved by the contract providing for payment of interest upon two hundred and fifty dollars and taxes for five years, and at the end of that time, if the principal sum was paid, a deed was to be given; it not paid, the society had the right to remove buildings from the lot. To make it sure that the interest and taxes would be paid, I guarantied their payment in due form. Mr. Frazer, then Mrs. Mackie's attorney in fact, was satisfied; but whether any primary circumstances were such that the guaranty was of any real value might well be doubted by one as well advised as myself of my financial condition.

"Soon after this contract was made the old school-house was purchased and moved upon the lot, fitted up as a chapel, and used as such until the present church was built, when it was changed again and made into a parsonage. It was used as a parsonage until l 873 or 1874, when it was sold and removed from the premises. This old building has a history full of interest, but further than here stated, it does not belong properly to the Church. Nov. 18, 1859, the stipulated price of our lot was paid, and the title conveyed to James N. Gotee, L. B. Curtis, Major W. Hollister, Smith Palmer, Edwin Saunders, George W. Davis and Abner Hubbard as trustees. The form of deed was that provided for in the discipline then in use. These persons had been, on the 5th of March preceding, appointed trustees by William Fox, preacher in charge, and their certificates of appointment duly recorded in the clerk's office. Nov. 7, 1860, ten feet of lot three, in block seven, lying adjoining lot four, was purchased of James Fraser and George W. Bullock, and on that day conveyed to the same trustees for the consideration of $100. On the 16th of October, 1866, 50 feet of lot three and ten feet of lot two were donated to the Church by L. B. Curtis and myself, and conveyed to the Church by A. Lacy, under an agreement made with him by Mr. Curtis and myself. These three conveyances granted to the Church, and it now owns in fee-simple, lots three and four, block seven, north of Case street, and 10 feet of lot two, adjoining lot three, in said block. The Church building as first erected was commenced in the year 1859 or 1860, while Rev. William Fox was pastor, and finished in 1861. Charles C. Miller was the builder. It was afterward enlarged by the addition of 30 feet in the rear, and again still further by what is now used as a lecture-room, etc.

"It might be of some interest in future, if not now, to have in accessible form the names of all the preachers who have labored here since 1851. It is possible that there may be some mistakes in the list given in the years when some of them came and the time they remained, as I give the same from memory. I think, however, that the following is correct, viz.:


C. C. Olds …... ............... 1831-'2


R.S. Pardington …..........1861-3


George Bradley.................1852.'8

J.C. Cochrane..................1863-'4

A. C. Shaw (in connection with

East Saginaw). ..... ............1858-'4

A. R. Bartlett...................1864-'7

Samuel Clement (In connec-

tion with East Saginaw)....1854-'6

J. H. Burnham ................1867-'9

John Levington ...............1855-'7

George I. Betts... ...........1869-'70

T. C. Higgins. ....................1857-'8

J. N. Elwood. .................1870-'2

William Fox. ...................1858-'60

J. Venning........... ….......1872-'5

Arthur Edwards, 1860 to summer of

1861, when he became

chaplain of 1st Reg. Mich.

Vol Inf..............................1860-'1

Thomas Stalker.............1875.'7

Seth Reed .....................1877-'9

Isaac H. Reddick ............1879-'81



"In 1867 my attention was called to certain informalities in the certificates of incorporation that had been filed and recorded in the Register's office, and in the name of the corporation. In that year I prepared an act to change the corporate name, and the same was passed by the legislature and became a law. It may be found on page 285 of2d vol., Laws of 1867.The corporate name, and in which business should be done, is the 'Methodist Episcopal Church of the City of Saginaw.' I wish I could give the years when a good parsonage was built, hut that gratification most be left for the future.''

Since this sketch of the M. E. Church was written, the parsonage, suggested by Hon. John Moore, was built, and improvement after improvement effected.

THE AMES CHAPEL

in connection with the M. E. Church was built in 1873, and dedicated the same year. This chapel is located on the Penoyer farm, near Lincoln avenue. Rev. James Riley was the first missionary. Rev. Oscar W. Willetts succeeded him.

THE PROTESTANT EPISCOPAL CHURCH.

The Protestant Episcopal Society was organized in 1851, with Rev. Joseph Adderly as pastor. So early as 1836 James Busby, Mrs. Busby and Mrs. A. L. Richman, being the only members of the Episcopal Church in the Valley of the Saginaw, took steps to organize a society. In 1841 the services of the Church were held here by Rev. D. E. Brown, of Flint, for the first time; but not until 1851 were the wishes of the first members of the Church here acceded to. In that year Saginaw City was erected into the Protestant Episcopal Parish of St. John. Rev. D. B. Lyon visited the mission from 1846 until the coming of Rev. Joseph Adderly, during whose pastorate the parish was organized. Rev. Spalding was appointed to take charge of the mission Jan. 15, 1853, by Bishop McCoskry.

By a resolution of the wardens and vestry, adopted Jan. 22, 1853, Rev. Mr. Spalding was requested to become rector of the Church at a salary of $300 per annum. Another resolution authorized the loan of $200 from the Ladies' Association to be applied in completing the church building, the corner-stone of which was laid by Rt. Rev. Bishop McCoskry, April 7, 1853. The sum so borrowed was guarantied by a note, payable upon the completion of the edifice, signed by E. J. Van Buren, Israel S. Catlin, Wardens; M. L. Gage, Charles L. Richman and Geo. H. Bullock, Vestrymen. At a meeting held March 28, 1853, under the presidency of Rev. V. Spalding, F. Millard and G.W. Bullock were appointed a building committee. Rev. H. Staples officiated for a short time in 1858. Rev. Edward McGee succeeded to the pastorate March 17, 1859.

The new church was consecrated by Bishop McCoskry, May 9, 1860, in presence of the congregation and of the vestry. The latter was represented on the occasion by X. Barnard, W. Binder, M. Butman, N.D. Lee, J. Parish, D. H. Jerome, L. Webster, Geo. Williams, Stewart B. Williams, and W. H. Sweet.

Owing to munificence at home and the earnestness with which Rev. Mr. Spalding and Charles L. Richman sought financial aid abroad, the sum required to liquidate the debt incurred in building the church was furnished; the two gentlemen named succeeded in collecting $1,100 in the Eastern towns, together with a baptismal bowl and communion set, donated by Mrs. Hale, of Canandaigua. Geo. W. Bullock presented the Bible and prayer-book, which are now in possession of the pastor.

Rev. Mr. McGee was succeeded in the pastorate by Rev. O. E. Fuller, June 18, 1862. Rev. John Leetch, of Elmira, N.Y., was called by the vestry July 10, 1865. Rev. W. H. Watts was next called to the rectorship, and entered upon the duties of his office Dec. 1, 1871. Mr. Watts was succeeded by Rev. L. S. Stevens, of Toledo, Ohio, Dec. 1, 1876, under whose administration the society has grown in number and influence. The church was enlarged during the year 1873 at an expense of $2,200, and the rectory completed in 1878 at a cost of $3,500. Further improvements are proposed, among them being the erection of a new church.

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH.

There are no records on which to base data regarding the first services of the Church in the great camp ground of the Chippewa Indians. It is, however, very probable that each and every one of the French missionaries visited the Saginaw Valley, and, as is the custom of the ministers of that faith, erected a temporary altar, whereon to offer sacrifice. In the early trading days, before the treaty of Saginaw was perfected, the blacked-robed missionaries were wont to visit this section of the land at long intervals; and even subsequently to 1819 a few priests came hither.

In 1841 Rev. Martin Kundig arrived here to establish a Catholic mission, and in the month of May held service in the house of I. J. Malden, on Water street, near the location of the first freight depot of the M. C. R. R. Rev. Lawrence Kilroy, afterward agent of the State of Indiana in the war for the Union, and now of Stratford, C. W., was appointed to the charge of the Saginaw mission, and for many years held the services of the Church in the homes of the people. Father Monahan and Kendekens succeeded him. Rev. H. T. H. Schutzee, Secretary to Bishop Borgess, was the first priest appointed to the special charge of the Saginaw Valley mission. The first house of worship was a carpenter’s shop, purchased in 1852, which stood on Washington street, opposite the Baptist church. In 1853 this building was moved to the N. E. corner of Monroe and Washington, and used as a church for the 12 succeeding years. Rev. R. Vanderhayden was appointed priest of the mission of Saginaw and East Saginaw in 1862, and under his direction the present church was built in 1865. Five years later the building was enlarged, the erection of schools commenced, and subsequently a parochial house erected. In 1866 the half parish of East Saginaw was set off as a separate mission, and Rev. R. Vanderhayden appointed pastor of the Church here. Since that time schools have been built, the Sisters of Providence have established a convent here, the church building has been enlarged and otherwise improved, the congregation has increased, and the general condition of the parish is satisfactory.

THE SAGINAW BAPTIST CHURCH

was organized Nov. 19, 1863. From the time of the organization of the Church in East Saginaw, in 1858, the Baptists on the west side of the river had been connected with that Church. But in the month of November, 1863, 14 of them asked for letters of dismission from the East Saginaw Church in order to form themselves into a Church in this city. The names of those 14 persons were as follows: V. A. Paine, Mrs. Harriet Paine, Ebenezer Briggs, Wm. M. Haskell, Mrs. Julia M. Haskell, Eli Townsend, Mrs. Hannah Townsend, Mrs. Belinda Benjamin, Mrs. Nancy A. Cody, Mrs. Matilda Miller, Mrs. Christina Ross, Mrs. Mercia B. Palmer, Jane Low and Hannah Briggs. In addition to these, Mrs. Julia A. Burrows brought a letter from the First Church in Rochester, N. Y., and Mrs. Jenny F. Paine brought one from the Church in Bay City, thus making the number of constituent members 16.

The meeting for organization was held on the date above given in the house of V. A. P Line, then standing on Court street in the place now occupied by the Jay Smith building, and now standing on the corner of Washington and Adams streets. Rev. J. S. Goodman was chairman of the meeting and V. A. Paine was clerk. The Scriptures were read and prayer was offered by Rev. J. S. Good man. After the presentation of the letters, the Church was organized by the adoption of the Articles of Faith and the Covenant. Ebenezer Briggs was chosen Clerk of the Church. Appointments were made tor religions services on Sabbath afternoons and Thursday evenings. Dec. 3, Wm. M. Haskell and Ebenezer Briggs were chosen Deacons.

The legal organization and incorporation of the Church and Society was effected in July, 1864. The trustees appointed at this time were Valorous A. Paine, George L. Burrows and Wm. J. Bartow.

The Church held its service for a time in the jury room of the court-house. The first church building owned by the Church was the one on the corner of Fayette and Franklin streets, now owned by the Evangelical Association. This church was dedicated in 1865. The Mission chapel, on Fayette street between Perry and Dearborn, was dedicated June 4, 1871. The church building on Washington street, near Adams, was bought of the Liberal Christian Society, and was dedicated on the 27th of March, 1878. The sermon on this occasion was preached by Rev. Dr. Hotchkiss, of Buffalo. N. Y. The parsonage on Fayette street near Franklin, has been occupied since July 31, 1877.

Pastors.-Although Rev. J. S. Goodman was never formally called to the pastorate of the Church, he virtually did the work of a pastor for three years and over from the time of its organization. During his term of service the first church building was erected.

Rev. L. L. Fittz was the first settled pastor. He began his work in January, 1867, and remained for one year. Rev. N. P. Barlow began work with the Church in September, 1868. He was ordained on the 14th of October in that year. He remained for a year and a half, till the spring of 1870. During his pastorate the Mission Sunday-school was organized, and the chapel was nearly completed. Rev. W. E. Lyon was next called to the pastorate. He began his work in May, 1870, and remained for two years and nine months, closing his work in 1873. Rev. W. W. Pattengill was the next pastor. He began work June 1, 1873, and closed his pastorate May 31, 1881, after eight years of service. It was during the time of his pastorate that the parsonage was erected and the present church edifice was purchased.

Deacons, Sunday-school Supts. Clerk, etc.,-As already noticed, Wm. H. Haskell, and Ebenezer Briggs were elected the first deacons. Upon the death of Deacon Briggs, in 1872, Wm. T. Tibbetts was chosen to succeed him. In September, 1880, the number of deacons was increased by electing W. P. Morgan and Oscar C. Davis to the office. Deacon E. Briggs was the first church clerk.

Wm. Tibbits served a few months as clerk pro tem., when N. W. Denison was appointed.

The first superintendent of the Sunday-school was Rev. J. S. Goodman. He was succeeded by Dr. Geo. Northrup. Levi Clark next held the office. He was succeeded in 1871 by Dr. W. P. Morgan, who still holds the office. The Mission Sunday-school was organized by Rev. N. P. Barlow, who was the first superintendent. The office has since been held by Messrs. Irving, Pattengill and Wood, Mr. Wood having held the office for six years.

The number of trustees was increased in 1875 from three to seven. The trustees at present are: G. S. Burrows, 0. C. Davis, N. W. Denison, W. P. Morgan, A. H. Paine. Wm. T. Tibbits, N. S. Wood. They appoint the treasurer. N. S. Wood has held that office since February, 1813.

Auxiliary Organizations.-The Woman’s Mission Circle for both home and foreign missions. President, Mrs. W. W. Pattengill.

The Children's Mission Band, under the direction of Mrs. Y. A. Paine and Mrs. G. L. Burrows.

The Ladies’ Aid Society. President, Mrs. N. S. Wood.

The Young Folks’ Literary Society. President, Latham A. Burrows.

Two hundred and seventeen persons have been connected with this Church since its organization. Of these 114 are still members.

This Church has made a good record in benevolent work. Regular and systematic contributions are made in the Church and in the Sunday-school for missionary purposes. This Church has united with other Churches in promoting the temperance work in the city. Its members purpose to give sympathy and help to every enterprise which aims to secure the moral and spiritual welfare of the community.

THE GERMAN EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH.

As early as 1847 Rev. F. Sievers, from Frankenlust, preached to a few families, viz: H. Selte1iede's, M. Hancke's and G. Dierker's, in their houses. The congregation was organized Jan. 29, 1849.It embraces the canonical books of the Bible as the word of God and adheres unreservedly to the symbolical books of the Evangelical Lutheran Church, as contained in the Book or Concord, published 1580. The small congregation (J. A. Gender, K. F. Kull, J. J. Weiss, E. Weggel, J. M. Hancke, G. Dierker, M. Backer, M. Gremel, M. Winkler, J. M. Strauss) extended a call as pastor to the candidate of theology, O. Homer Cloeter. He accepted and was installed Nov. 30, by Rev. F. Sievers. In 1850 the congregation became a member of the German Evangelical Lutheran Synod of Missouri, Ohio and other States. In the same year the congregation bought a lot on the southeast corner of Court and Washington streets, and in the following year built a small church and parsonage thereon, and the church was dedicated Nov. 16. In the year 1852 the congregation was presented with half an acre of land in Hermannsan for a grave-yard. In 1855 the congregation bought a house with two lots on the southwest corner of Adams and Webster streets, for a parsonage, and the small house beside the church was used for school purposes. Two years later Rev. O. Cloeter accepted a call to serve as missionary among the Indians in Minnesota; his successor was Rev. J. A. Huegli. In 1859 the church proved to be too small, and it was in consequence enlarged. At the end of the same year Rev. J. A. Huegli accepted a call to Detroit, Mich.; as his successor Rev. M. Guenther was installed Jan., 1850. In 1863 the congregation bought two acres on the cross road for a burying ground. In the year 1866 the congregation sold the parsonage on Adams street, bought four lots on Court, between Harrison and Fayette streets and erected a new parsonage costing $1,200, on the northeast corner of Harrison and Court streets. In 1868 the congregation built a new church, a brick building, 105x48 feet, on the northwest corner of Court and Fayette streets, costing about $18,000. The church was dedicated Feb. 7, 1869. In the year 1872 Rev. M. Guenther accepted a call to Chicago, Ill., and his successor was the present pastor, Jos. Schmidt. A new organ was bought in 1875, costing $2.000. About 160 families belong to the Church, with 900 souls. At present the officers of the Church are: 1. Church Elders-H. Graebner, A. Mittelberger, A. Graebner, G. Streeb, J. Gaensbauer; 2. Trustees-P.Schlenk, W. Seidel, sen., J. Winter, jr.; 3. School Collectors-J. Streeb, G. Torn, C. Schaefer, N. Stroebel, sen.

The Church members deem it their Christian duty to provide their children with sound, religious instruction, and therefore especially parochial schools. From the beginning the pastors of the church (on account of the congregation not having the means to support a teacher), besides their ministerial duties, took the work in the school upon themselves. On account of the old parsonage, besides the first church being too small, the congregation built a school-house in 1861 and called a teacher. In 1865 a school-house costing $1,200 was built in Hermannsan (town Carrollton, three miles from the court-house in Saginaw City) and a second teacher was called. In 1868 a two-story frame school-building was erected on Court street, between Fayette and Harrison streets, at a cost of $2,500. A third teacher was called in 1872. The present teachers of the congregation are Messrs. C. Riedel and W. Klemm in the city, and. Weiss in Hermannsan. The sent number of the school children is 160.

ST. PAUL’S EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH

was organized Nov. 30, 1851, by Rev. Julius Ehrhart with 22 members. The first officers were Wm. Barie and M. Strauss, Deacons; J.P. Roller, H. Schnuphase and Dr. M.C. Plessner, Trustees. Six years later a church was erected at the corner of Harrison and Ames streets. Subsequently, in 1869, the present church was built, at a cost of $8,000, and dedicated Oct. 17, of that year.

The first pastor of this Church was Rev. J. Ehrhart. Since his ministry the following named gentlemen have officiated as pastors and teachers: Christian Foltz, Conrad Foltz, C. Adam, Hugh B. Kuhn. At present Rev. Chris. Eberhardt officiates as pastor, with E. Sperling teacher of the parochial school. The present officers of the society are Melchior Diebel and Fred Kreinman, Deacons; A. F. Richter, C. Baesee and H. Meyer, Trustees; E. Sperling, Secretary. The membership is set down at 192.

The school was established at the same time as the Church, and offers to the children of the parish an elementary education in English and German. The old church, built in 1857, is devoted to the purposes of the school since 1869. The entire property of this society in Saginaw City is valued at $12,000.

THE LIBERAL CHRISTIAN CHURCH

This society was organized in 1871, with Rev. J. H. Burnham as pastor. Immediately succeeding organization the members resolved to build church and within a few months witnessed the dedication of a house of worship-July 18, 1871. At one period in the history of this society, the congregation numbered 270 members; but the organization was discontinued, the building sold to the Baptist society, and the members left at liberty to attach themselves to any section of the Christian Church . The building erected in 1871 remains to bear testimony to the earnestness which characterized its projectors, as well as to their financial and religious liberality.

THE EVANGELICAL ASSOCIATION

was formed in 1875 by Rev. M. Heinninger, of Flint, with Vincent Gaum, C.L. and President; Daniel Haller, Secretary; John Himmelbach, Treasurer, and .Rev. J. M. Fuchs, Pastor. In 1878, the old Baptist church on Lafayette and Franklin streets was purchased by the association tor $1,500, and improved at an additional expense of $600. The first members of the association included: Vincent Gaum, Rosa Gaum, August Wagner, Caroline Wagner, August Man, Augusta Man, John Adam Stengel, Barbara Stengel, Katie Stengel, Henrietta Guenther, Louise Guenther, Albert Guenther, Mary Nast, Charles Jahrmarkt and Herman Jahrmarkt, -15 in all. The pastors from date of organization to the present time are as follows: J. M. Fuchs, C. C. Stiffield, W. F. Zanders and H. Schneider. The present officers of the society are John Hadel, President; Augustus Mann, Secretary; Vincent Gaum, Treasurer and Class Leader. Daniel Haller was first Superintendent of Sunday-school, John Himmelbach is the present Superintendent; Barbara Stengel, Secretary; V. Gaum, Treasurer. The present membership is 45.

CITY SCHOOLS.

The following sketch of the city Schools was prepared by Prof. C. B. Thomas, principal of the high school, for this work.

After the lapse of nearly a half century, it is a difficult task to gather material tor a complete and accurate history of any particular department of social history. It is especially so in regard to educational matters.

The public schools of a frontier town have always a humble beginning. Those who were instrumental in instituting and maintaining them, often die, or remove to other localities before the history is called for. The teachers in early days are migratory in their habits, doing but temporary work, and almost no official records are left behind. These and other obstacles have made the preparation of this sketch a matter of no little difficulty.

The people who came to Saginaw, in its early settlement, brought with them the educational habit. They believed in public schools of the New England and New York type, and lost little time in making preparation for the education of the children.

It is not quite certain when the first school was opened here. Probably it was held in a building within the fort, or stockade, on what is now Hamilton street, near the present site of Kehoe's grocery store. Its teacher was Judge Albert Miller, of Vermont. This beginning was made about 1835. It was a private school, and Mr. Miller may have been followed by one or two others in schools of similar organizations.

In 1837 school district No.1, of Saginaw township, was organized, and the first school-house, a small frame build in, was erected near the present site of the court-house, on the south side of Court street. Some years later the building was removed across Court street, and given a location where the jail now stands. It was used for school purposes till the erection of a more pretentious building in 1851-'2, when it was again moved and transformed into a parsonage tor the M. E. society. It was subsequently removed a third time, fitted up for domestic purposes, and is still occupied as a dwelling house. The first teacher in this primitive temple of learning was probably Horace Beach, of New York. His labors must have been satisfactory to the young community, for he was retained for several terms, from the completion of the house in 1837, till about 1840.

Following him in the winter of 1840-'1, came Henry A. Camp bell and Dion Birney, the latter a brother of Hon. James G. Birney; and in the summer of 1841 Miss Catherine Beach, after ward Mrs. Samuel Shattuck. From 1842 to 1845, three years, the school had several different teachers, including Ira Bissell, of Grand Blanc; Daniel Woodin, of St. Clair; and Edwin Ferris, of New York, who succeeded each other in about the order named. During the term of Mr. Ferris, the number of pupils became too great for one room and teacher. An addition was therefore made to the building, and an assistant teacher, Miss Harmony Haywood, of Flint, employed.

About the close of this time, a Mr. Woodman, from Hamilton, N. Y., was employed for a few months. In 1845 Miss Harriet A. Spalding, a young lady, of fine education and accomplishments, came to Saginaw from Boston, Mass. She came here as a missionary, and, in the public schools, found an excellent opportunity to advance good work among the young. That her mission was not in vain there is abundant evidence. Pupils of hers, still residents here, have in their possession letters written to them after her departure, which prove their love for her, and her sincere regard for them. Miss Spalding was engaged in the schools for two years, 1845 and 1846. From 1847 to 1850, tour years, there were several teachers, perhaps in the following order: Miss Eliza Booth, E. C. Irwin, .Miss Anna Dayton, Joseph A. Ripley, of Tuscola, Charles T. Disbrow, and Milo Woodard, of Ohio. During 1847, while the district school was in charge of Miss Booth, a private school was opened and taught for several months by Miss Angeline J. Berry, but, from its beginning, as a rule, the public school met the educational needs of the time.

About April, 1851, Augustine S. Gaylord, of Ohio, was secured as a teacher, and he taught about six months, with an average attendance of 55 scholars. In November, 1851, Mr. Gaylord was appointed deputy county clerk, and was succeeded in the school by Mr. Charles Johnson, who was employed till the fall of 1853. At that time the new building, in process of erection during the previous year, was completed, and at about the same time Saginaw abolished the rate bill and made her schools absolutely free, being among the first localities in her State to take this action.

In December, 1853, Charles R. Gaylord was engaged as principal of the new Union school, at a salary of $500 for a year of 44 weeks. Mr. Gaylord's private letters, written at the time, state that this was the highest compensation ever before given to a Saginaw teacher. Of the school-house itself, which was considered a very fine one, he says: "It is well built, capable of seating 200 pupils, and was erected after plans suggested by the Hon. Ira Mayhew, in a work on "Popular Education," :pages 388-'9."

Mr. Gaylord was assisted by Miss Mary A. R1ce, of Grand Blanc, and the two rooms had an average attendance of 150 pupils. In the following year, 1854-'5, two assistants were needed, the average attendance rising to 180.

Mr. Gaylord resigned his position during the summer vacation, opened a law office in what was then Lower Saginaw, and died Oct. 14, 1855.

The studies pursued in the school during Mr. Gaylord’s time were the common English branches, natural philosophy, algebra, and Latin.

Mr. Gaylord was succeeded by P. S. Heisrodt, whose administration, somewhat noted for its vigor, lasted till 1859, when A. L. Bingham, a life-long and very successful teacher, was called to the head of the schools. Mr. Bingham remained in the schools about three years. From this time their history is too familiar to require detail. The principals who succeeded to their management after Mr. Bingham, and the time of their engagement, may be given briefly, as follows: Isaac Delano, one year; Lucius Birds eye, two years; Joseph W. Ewing, four years; C. D. Heine, three years; Cornelius A. Gower, four years; and Cyrus B. Thomas, the present superintendent.

0f all whose names have been mentioned, but four are now known to be engaged in teaching, viz.: Mr. Bingham; .Mr. Ewing, Supt. at Ionia; Mr. Gower, Supt. of the State Reform School, at Lansing, and Mr. Thomas, the present Supt. of the Saginaw Schools.

Of the teachers in subordinate capacity, who are still engaged in the city schools, there are a few who deserve especial mention for their long-continued and faithful services: Miss Sibyl C. Palmer has taught 10 years; Miss Josephine E. Johnston, nine years; Miss Sarah L. Johnston, nine years; Miss M. Josephine Alexander, 10 years; Mrs. Juliette Fonda, 13 years; and Mrs. .Mary H. Prentiss, who has taught for 21 years.

The present corps of teachers is given below:

Cyrus B. Thomas, Superintendent.

In the Central high school - George Hempel. Principal of high school: Miss. Mary E. Gelston, Miss Isabella Ripsom, Assistants In high-school.

Miss Sibyl C. Palmer, 8th grade.

Miss Annie De Land, 8th grade.

Miss Josephine E. Johnston, 7th grade.

Miss Maggie A Durand, 7th and 5th grade.

Miss Sarah L. Johnston, 6th grade.

Miss Minnie I. De Land, 5th grade.

Miss May E. Atwater, 4th grade.

Miss Fannie G. Lewis, 3d grade.

Miss Lucy L. Townsend, 2d and 1st grade.

German-English Department.- Mr. Constantin Watz, Principal 5th and 6th grade.

Miss Mary H. Prentiss, 4th grade.

Miss Emily Barck, 3d grade.

Miss Florence E. Guillott, 2d grade.

Miss Anna Rose, 1st grade.

First Ward School.-Miss Amelia Alber, 6th and 5th grades.

Miss Emily Case, 4th and 3d grades.

Miss M. Josephine Alexander, 2d and 1st grades.

Third Ward School-Miss Almina Burrows, 4th and 3d grades.

Miss Carrie Redman, 2d and 1st grades.

Fourth Ward School.-Miss Gertrude Lee, 5th and 4th grades.

Miss Rhoda I. Van Zile, 3d and 2d grades.

Miss Jessie Lee, 1st grade

Miss Emma Plessner (German and English department), 2d and 1st grades.

Fifth Ward School.-Mr. L. M. Fetzer (German and English department), 2d grade.

Miss Sadie Ketcham, 2d and 1st grades.

Miss Lella M. Lyon (German and English department), 1st grade.


At the time the first school-house Was built, 1837, the population of Saginaw probably did not exceed 200, and the one school-room furnished ample accommodation for the pupils. The hard times which ruined the business of the country about that time, greatly reduced the little settlement, and for several years growth was slow, and additional rooms were not needed.

In 1848·'9, however, population began to increase; people were flocking to the lumber regions, and the necessity of a larger educational establishment became more and more apparent.

In 1851-'2, with a population somewhat above 500, what was, in those days, a fine, large school-house, was erected on the south side of Court street, and nearly opposite the present high school. It was two-stories high, was divided midway of its length by a ball and double stair-case, and contained four rooms, two above and two below. It was planned to accommodate from 200 to 250 pupils. It stood on its original site till after the erection of the Central high school, in 1867-'8, when it was removed to the Fourth ward, where it continues to serve, in an enfeebled and dilapidated condition, the cause it was deemed at first to highly honor.

In 1860 the population had increased to nearly 1,800, and the need of additional school room began to be felt. From that time till 1868 immigration to the Saginaw Valley was so rapid that it was almost impossible for those in charge of the educational affairs of Saginaw City to provide accommodations for the children desiring to be admitted to school. The School Board erected a new school every year or two, but not until 1868 was the demand fully met.

The Sixth ward school-house was built in 1863. It is a two- story brick, cost about $3,000, and though plain outwardly, its two school-rooms furnish pleasant accommodations for 120 pupils. Students complete four years work in it before promotion to the Central school.

In 1865-'6 a fine brick school-house was erected in the Third ward, at a cost of about $7,500,It is two-stories high, and contains two large and well-lighted rooms, with ample hall and cloak accommodations. Pupils from the Third ward remain in this building four years, or until they have completed the studies of the first four grades, when they are promoted to the fifth grade in the Central building.

The First ward school, on what is known as the Penoyer farm, is a frame building one story in height, and in style a cottage. It contains three school-rooms, and pupils there complete the work of six grades, before promotion to the Central school. It was erected in 1868, and, with a subsequent addition, made in 1872, cost about $3,000.

The Central or high-school building was erected in 1867-'8, and was at that time, perhaps, the finest and most commodious school-house in the State. It is built of brick, trimmed with cut stone, three-stories high, with a basement, and is crowned with a Mansard roof, above which rises a lofty bell tower. While no attempt at architectural display is apparent in its design, it is massive and imposing in its appearance, a noble monument to the wisdom and intelligence of the community, and a striking evidence of the willingness of the people to provide munificently for the education of their children. The building contains 27 school and recitation rooms, and is capable of seating about 800 pupils. All the grades are represented here, pupils remaining 12 years in the school before graduation. The building is now warmed by steam, thoroughly ventilated, and exceedingly well fitted for its purpose.

The Fifth-ward building is the latest erected in the c1ty. It occupies a whole square on Charles street, one block north of Court. It is a two-story frame building, contains four rooms, and will seat 200 pupils. It was built in 1872, at a cost of $5,000. At present but three of its rooms are needed for school purposes, and pupils are promoted from it on completing the work of the second grade.

In 1870 the population of the city had reached 7,460, and its official school census showed 2,147 children of school age (from five to 21 years). The number of teachers employed was 25. The total enrollment of pupils for that year was 1,408, and the average daily attendance was about 800.

In 1880 the population of the city was 10, 650, and the school census showed 3,233 children of a school age. There were in the employ of the board 35 teachers, including the superintendent and special teachers in penmanship, drawing and music (three in all). The total enrollment of pupils was 1,767, and the average daily attendance for the year was 1,233.

By a special enactment of the Michigan Legislature, the Union School d1strict of Saginaw was organized in 1865, and put under the exclusive control of a School Board of six trustees. Under this special act, the schools were carefully reorganized with three departments-primary, grammar and high school. Each of these departments cover four school years, 12 years completing the full course.

A course of study was prescribed for these 12 years, and the first class that completed this prescribed course, graduated from the high school in 1870. The following is a list of the graduates since that time:

1870

Lucy L. Townsend.

Helen Little,

Flora E. Guillott,

Abbie Briggs,

1874

Evelyn Smith,

Jessie M. Laylin.

Jesse Brockway,

L.B. Fonda,

M.E. Stafford,

1880.

Allie Burnham,

Charles Fowler,

Winifred Smith,

Thomas S. Jerome,

George Canfield,

Roderick Hine,

Mary E. Culver,

Leslie B. Hanchett,

William Carpenter,

Lizzie Lewis,

Laura Walker,

Alice M. Whitman,

Lucy Fish,

Julia Little,

Jessie Lee,

Violet G. Lewis,

Stella Gaylord,

Eliza Loxley,

Isaac B. Parsons,

Emil Bernhard,

George Green,

Jennie Prentiss,

Jennie Meed,

G.A.F. Schoenberg

Edward Stone,

Charles Smith,

E.W. Ballentine,

Egbert T. Loeffler,

Rhoda Van Zile.

Emma Stoelker,

Charles E. Foote.

Melinda Oglivie,

1871

Warren Trude.

1878.

Caro B. Whitney,

Sarah Burnham,

1875.

Edward A. Moye,

Riley L. Crane.

Helen Canfield,

Maggie Bernhard,

Fannie C. Lewis.

1881

Oren Dunham,

Annie Bryant,

Carrie Redman,

Emil Bauer,

Nettie Ripley,

Lizzie Frazer,

Hannah Smith,

Mathilda Becker,

Bruce smith,

Sadie Ketcham,

Sarah Lewis.

Carrie Beeman,

Nettie Smith.

Gertrude Lee,

1879

Mamie MacCallam,

1872

Chloe Richards.

Mary A. Fowler,

H.A.T. Crippen,

Ida West.

1876

Mary E. Atwater,

Carrie A. De land,

1873

William E. Crane,

Minnie I. De Land,

Langley S. Foote,

Millie Allen,

Charles Denison,

Sophie Seyffardt,

Annie M. Holcomb,

Florence Chapin,

William J. Schick.

Nettie Goldsmith,

Catherine James,

Mittie Curtis,

1877

Lella M. Lyon,

Jay Smith, jr.,

Louise Schick,

A.H. Swarthout,

Ella Walker,

Hattie B. Whitman


In concluding this sketch of the Saginaw schools mention should not be omitted of those who, in early days, gave time and attention to promote their welfare. Such service is, as a rule, with out adequate reward, unless the consciousness of doing good, though unappreciated, work may be counted compensation.

In the earlier years Hiram L. Miller, Dr. Davis, Hon. Jabez Sutherland, Dr. Michael C. T. Plessner were conspicuous.

Later, Hon. John Moore, William H. Sweet, Esq.,Hon. Benton Hanchett, Jay Smith, Esq., Dr. I. N. Smith, Dr. J. H. Jerome and D. B. Ketcham (deceased) took an active and honorable part.

The present board is comprised of the following gentlemen: President, Hon. David H. Jerome, Governor of Michigan; Secretary, Judge Otto Roeser; Treasurer, George L. Burrows; Trustees, D. L. C. Eaton, A. T. Blisss and A. W. Achard.

In June, 1880, a committee of the Faculty of the University of Michigan, invited by the School Board, visited the Saginaw City schools, and carefully examined into their organization and the methods and thoroughness of the instruction given.

As a result, the school was at once recognized as a preparatory department of the University, and its graduates of 1880 were admitted to the University classes without examination at Ann Arbor.

Connected with the school is a well selected library of over 3,000 volumes, to which the students of the schools, as well as the citizens generally, have free access. Each year the Board appropriates $200 for the purchase of new books, and the number of volumes is steadily increasing.

The high school is abundantly supplied with encyclopedias, general books of reference, chemical and philosophical apparatus, in fact everything to make the school what it really is-one of the best in Northern Michigan.

CATHOLIC SCHOOLS.

The buildings devoted to secular and religious education by the Catholics of the city were commenced in 1872, and the school-house completed the same year, at a cost of $5,000. Three years later the convent and boarding school building was erected at an expense of over $5,000, and the town lots, upon which the structure were raised, purchased from Gotfried Chourner for a consideration of $2,500. The first building was opened for school purposes Feb. 10, 1873, with Miss Ellen McGee and Miss Laura Devlin as teachers. These ladies continued to instruct 120 pupils until the coming of the Sisters of Providence, in 1876, who formally opened the schools, September 4th, that year, with Rev. Sister Mary Matthew as Superioress. The number of children then in attendance was 200. In 1879 Rev. Sister Mary Cyrilla succeeded the first Superioress, who was removed to the more important charge of the Galesburg, Ill., Convent. In July, 1880, Sister Cyrilla was appointed to the charge of the Port Huron Convent schools, and her position here conferred upon Rev. Sister Perolina, the present Superioress. This lady, with eight sisters, conduct the various classes of the schools. Instruction is offered in French, German and English literature, music, painting and drawing, with the ordinary English courses. The pupils boarding at the convent number 12; while the number in attendance on day school aggregates about 240. Boys over 12 years of age attend the city schools.

Notwithstanding the fact that the member of the Roman Catholic Church of this city sustain these schools, and also pay a share of the taxation for common-school purposes, they claim a school property valued at $15,000. The system of education is religio-secular, and appears to be attended with all the high results which the supporters of a liberal denominational education claim.

THE CITY WATER WORKS.

The building of the water works was entered upon in 1872, and completed the same year. The estimated total expense of building and machinery is $150,000. The works are under control of the Board of Water Commissioners, with a superintendent and engineer in charge.

The Holly system is in use. There are five engines-four piston and one rotary-employed, with a capacity of 3,000,000 gallons per 24 hours, ordinary pressure, and 6,000,000 gallons, high pressure. There are two tubular boilers 5x16 feet. The water supply is drawn from the center of the Saginaw river, where the channel is 23 feet deep.

The Water Board is composed as follows: Thomas L. Jackson, President; D. C. Dixon, Secretary; I. L. Adams, David Crowley and A. W. Achard, members. The officers of the works are: F. G. Clifton, Chief Engineer; Robert McLain, Asst. Engineer; Antoine Anchette, Superintendent; John W. Brown and August Kerp, Firemen.

THE FIRE DEPARTMENT

was organized April 1, 1881, as a paid department of the municipality. Previously it was composed of a chief engineer, with first and second assistants, and a corps of nine men. The equipment consisted of a steam fire engine, hook and ladder wagon, one double hose-cart and six hand hose-carts. The engine is seldom brought into use, as the splendid system of water works lends a sufficient supply of water to combat fire.

The department house was built in 1869. The city has one paid department composed of six men, two horses, and four volunteer hose-cart companies. House No. 1 is located on Hamilton street; No. 2, corner Hamilton & Farley; No. 3, Water street; and No.4, at Penoyer farm. At the central building is a steam engine, one of Silsby's largest size, bought in 1867, at a cost of $6,000. There is one hook and ladder truck kept at House No. 1. The present department was organized April 1, 1881. There are five firemen receiving $35 per month, a driver who receives $40 and house-rent, and chief and assistant engineers. The department is supplied with 3,400 feet of hose. The whole is under the charge of Chief Robert Wiley, now serving his third year as chief, and his 20th in connection with the city fire companies. Telephone attachments exist from the water works to the central house. There is a watch from 8 P. M. to 6 A. M. in the tower. The roll is as follows: Robert Wiley, Chief Engineer; Angus Mcintyre, Asst. Chief; John Frederick, Fireman; James Laflair, Asst. Fireman; Andrew Flieges, Frank Vondett, John LaMott; Benj. Smith, Driver.

SOCIETIES.

The Masonic, Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias, Good Templars, Patrons of Husbandry, Workingmen's Aid Society, Teutonia Turn-verein, with literary and musical societies form the organized social circles of the city. It is unnecessary to inquire into the objects of many of these associations. The secret societies have many conscientious opponents, even as it is evident they have a large number of supporters. There is no doubt whatever regarding an existing disposition among the members of such societies to do good to one another, to live within a family circle. Only when the secret orders depart from the social tie which binds them, for the purpose of entering the political arena, at the bidding of some influential individual, can danger ensue; but after all, such a course could not now be followed within the Republic. A knowledge of what man owes to himself is too extended here to permit any one man to lead a society; thus the dangers which secret societies breed abroad are unknown here, and this being so, there cannot exist an objection to fraternal organizations.

THE MASONIC SOCIETY

comprises Joppa Chapter, No. 63; Germania Lodge, No. 79; Saginaw Valley Lodge, No. 154; and Apollo Lodge. Of these Masonic circles, the Germania is the oldest, being organized in Dr. Plessner's house, March, 1854. The first officers were M. C. T. Plessner, W. M.; Count Solmes, S. W; and G. Liskow, J. W. The officers, with five members, organized this lodge and held their meetings in the lodge room at the corner of Cass and Hamilton streets. Dr. Plessner was Wor. Master from 1854 to 1862; Otto Roeser, 1863-'4; Dr. Plessner, 1865-'74, Count Solmes, 1875-'6. From 1877 to the present time the W. Masters have been Henry Barnhard, A. W. Achard and Peter Herrick.

The officers of the lodge at present are: W. M., Peter Herig; S. W., Charles Moye; J. W., Mathias Becker; S.D., Charles Zoeller; J. D., Fred Weider; T., Emil Bottke; Sec., L. M. Fetzer; Treas., Dr. Theodore Krause.

The Saginaw Valley Lodge was organized under dispensation Feb. 19, 1864, with D. M. Bennett, W. M.; W1lham McBratnie, S. W.; and T. L. Jackson, J. W. A charter was granted by the Grand Lodge, June 13, 1865, under which the same officers were installed. The present officers are: W. M., R. E. Wardell; S. W., Charles A. Lee; J. W., E. D. Shader; S. D., Henry F. Allen; J. D., A. A. Allen; Sec., J. Grant McPherson; T., H. W. Whitney.

Apollo Lodge, No. 348, was organized in 1877 with Willard· W. Knight, W. M.; Byron G. Stark, S. W.; Reuben W. Andrus, J. W.; Oliver P. Barber, Sec.; Nathan S. Wood, Treas.; Thomas M. James, S.D.; Charles E. Wheeler, J.D. Present officers include: W. M., De Witt C. Dixson: S. W., Jira S. Martin; J. W., R.J. Birney; Sec., Chester Brown; Treas., N. S. Wood; S. D., John A. Gibson; J.D. Edward I. Peck; T., H. W. Whitney.

Mt. Moriah Lodge was chartered in 1857, with A. S.Gaylord, W.M.

Joppa Chapter, No. 63, R. A. M., was organized Jan. 13, 1869. The present officers are: H. P., G. K. Grout; K., Charles A. Lee; S., DeWitt C. Dixson; C. of H., Frank R. Ganschow; P. S., Geo. H. Durand; R. A. C., John Ballentine; M. of 3d Veil, Jira S. Martin; M. of 2d Veil, E. S. Peck; M. of 1st Veil, N. W. Wright; Treas., D. B. Bartlett; Sec., W. W. Knight; Sent., H. W. Whitney.

KNIGHTS OF PYTHIAS.

This order originated here with the organization of Achilles Lodge, No. 15., Jan. 7, 1874. The officers for 1881 are as follows: P.C., C.D. Little; C.C., Robert J. Birney; V.C., Benjamin Geer; M. of E., Thomas L. Jackson; M. of F., Racine Purmort; K. or R. & S., C. M. Beach; P., J. T. Burnham. Section 144, Endowment Rank, K. of P., was organized here; but has ceased to exist.

INDEPENDENT ORDER OF GOOD TEMPLARS

was organized here Feb. 13, 1864, when Saginaw Lodge, No. 172, was instituted.

THE ODD FELLOWS SOCIETY

comprises Saginaw Lodge, No. 42; 0-saw-wa-bon, No. 14; Star Lodge, No. 156; Washington Encampment, No. 19; and Valley Encampment, No. 20. The first lodge was organized Feb.9, 1849, by C.D. Little, Special D.D.G.M., when the following named officers were elected: W.L.P. Little, N.G.; J.S. Woodruff, V.G., J.B. Chamberlain, Sec.; and J. Bookstaver, Treasurer. The officers of the lodge for 1881 are: N.G., Lewis Moore; V.G., Stephen H. Lover; Sec., E.O. Huntington; Treas., Peter Lane.

The Star Lodge was the second circle of Odd-Fellowship organized in the city, with Charles Moye its first presiding officer, or N. G., 1853. The lodge was reorganized in 1872. Present officers: N. G., Henry Martin; V. G., Phineas Wiggins; Treas., Alfred Reeves; Sec., Charles Excell.

0-saw-wa-bon Lodge was organized June 2, 1855.

Washington Encampment was instituted May 9, 1866, by M. W. G. P. Dennis. The encampment comprised 30 members, among whom were A. G. Van Way, C. P.; W. McRath, F. P.; D. H. Buel, S.W.; A. O. T. Eaton, J.W.; B. Rice, Treasurer, and A.F. Rockwith, Scribe.

Valley Encampment, No. 20, was organized May 10, 1866.

KNIGHTS OF HONOR.

The only lodge of this order in the city is the “Home Relief," No. 836, organized Dec. 28, 1877. The officers are: L. Adams, D.; A. A. Allen, V. D.; John P. Schwahn, Ass't. D.; George Laidley, R.; David McLeod, F. R.; R. C. Seeney, Treas.; George Hogan, Chaplain; 0. E. Eastman, G.; A. Ogilvie, Guar.; John Milligan, Sent.; Ira A. Bounting, P.D.


KNIGHT AND LADIES OF HONOR.

This association was organized May 17, 1880, presumably for benevolent purposes. The officers are elected every six months. The society's official list for June, 1881, is as follows: P. Robert Wiley, P.; Eliza Ahrens, V. P.; , L. M. Fetzer, Sec.; Geo. Hogan, Fin. Sec.; H. Runnenberg, Treas.; Mrs. Mary Hogan, Chaplain; Laura Benjamin, Guide; A. Ogilvie, Sent.; C.G. Benjamin, P. P.; Dr. E.A. Herig, Medical Examiner.

ASSOCIATED VETERANS.

A meeting of veterans, held June 13, 1881, resulted in an organization to be known as the “East Saginaw Veterans.” P. H. Warren was chosen president of the society, and C. D. Ball, secretary and treasurer for one year. After remarks by the President, and the appointment of several committees, members proceeded to choose their officers to command the military company, with the following result:

Captain – D.D. Keeler.

First corporal – C. Walker.

First Lieutenant – C.D. Ball.

Second Corporal – Geo. Seamore.

Second Lieutenant – D.W. Osborn.

Third Corporal – T. Divine.

Orderly Sergeant – R. Yerick.

Fourth Corporal – J. Dawson.

First Duty Sergeant – William Marshall.

Fifth corporal – I.S. Allen.

Second Duty sergeant – Lew Delivan.

Sixth Corporal – Samuel Snyder.

Third Duty Sergeant – P. Montgomery.

Seventh Corporal – B. Brawley.

Fourth Duty Sergeant – Gel. Williams.

Eighth Corporal – S.M. Chase.


The several officers were chosen unanimously; over 40 names were enrolled, and many others expressed an intention to join at the next meeting.

THE TEUTONIA TURN-VEREIN

was organized in 1868. Since that period the society has made great progress. The Teutonia Hall on Fayette street was erected, a valuable library collected, gardens laid off, and everything done to advance the interests of the organization.

Tl1e officers of the Society at present are: Pres. Emil Schoeneberg; Vice Pres., Thos. L. Jackson; Sec., Herman Runneberg; Financial Sec., T. Lilienfeld; Treasurer, C. E. Brenner; Directors – Library, Otto Roeser; Dramatic, Albert Fuchs; Singing, Henry C. Miller; Turning and Kindergarten, Constantine Watz; Wirtschaft, Henry Steller.

THE SAGINAW REFORM CLUB

is presided over by Stewart B Williams, with Nathan S. Wood, Secretary, and Geo. S. Baker, Treasurer

 

ARBEITER UNTERSTUETZUNGS VEREIN

was organized April 9, 1871. The officers for 1881·'2 are named as follows: Pres. Charles E. Brenner; V. Pres., Charles Burgomeister; R. S., Rudolph Kem; C. S., Ignatz Rimmele; Treas., William Wigfall; Physician, Dr. Theodore Krause; Trustees, Emil S. Schemberg, William Lange, Theodore Miller.

GERMAN WORKINGMEN’S AID SOCIETY

was established in 1871. Since that period the organization has been well sustained and doubtless rendered much good to the members. The officers elected at the annual meeting in April, 1881, are as follows: President, F. Louden; Vice President, Ernst Eggert; Secretary, Carl Warner; Corresponding Secretary, Conrad Fey; Treasurer, Christ Henning; Secretary Sick Committee, Henry Butenschoen; Trustees. Peter Gross, No. 2; John Qualman, Chas. Hubner; Banner Bearer, Charles Hillman; Sick Committee, John Boic, Andrew Holden, John Koch, No. 2; Doctor, Dr. Massbacher.

ANCIENT ORDER OF UNITED WORKMEN.

This organization is one of the most recent additions to the benevolent circles of the city. Its present officers are: M.W., S.S. Perkins; Sec., R.J. Birney; Treas., W.W. Knight.

THE WAH-WAH-SUMs (A BOAT CLUB)

were organized Dec. 12, 1868. The first officers were: President, L. Burrows, jr.; V.P., G.A. Lyon; Secretary, E.N. Briggs; Treasurer, G.B. Grout. Their first important boating affair was in the N.W.A.B.A. at Detroit in 1870, when they rowed in the six-oared barge race, making 1 ½ miles in 11 min. 45 sec., and won the first prize. The regatta at Oconomowoc offered to these oarsmen another opportunity, which they availed themselves of. At the fourth annual regatta of the N.W.A.B.A. Association, held at Erie, Pa., July 10 and 11, 1872, the Wah-wah-sums won the champion race for six-oared shells. At Toledo, in July, 1873, they won the champion race, and in the aquatic contests of 1874 added to their honors. The career of the club has been exceptionally brilliant, and there is no reason to suppose that it will not continue to retain its high repute. The present officers are: Edward I. Peck, President; R.J. Birney, Secretary; Henry Smith, Captain; L.A. Burroughs, 1st Coxswain; E.J. Fisk, 2d Coxswain.

THE SAGINAW CITY LITERARY ASSOCIATION

was organized Jan. 11, 1858, with J.G. Sutherland, Pres.; A.S. Gaylord, V.P; O.L. Spalding, Sec; C.D. Little, Treas.; and an Executive Committee, composed of W. II. Sweet, G.B. Benedict and J.B. White.

The Young Men’s Society was organized in 1868; the Saginaw City Musical Association, in 1866; the Harmonia Society, in 1873; the Choral Union, in 1875; the Patrons of Husbandry, Saginaw Valley Grange, in 1875; and the Ladies’ Relief Association, reorganized in 1871 to lend its great aid toward the sufferers from the Chicago fire and the Northern forest fires. These, with perhaps a few other benevolent or social associations, complete the list of such organizations in this city.

OAKWOOD CEMETERY.

An act of the state Legislature, approved April 13, 1871, confirmed the title of the City of Saginaw to the cemetery property described as follows:

Bounded on the northeast side thereof by Emerson street, and on the west side by fractional block seventy-seven, the end of Wayne street, block 81, the end of King street, fractional block 80, and Queen street, according to the plat of said city of Saginaw; on the south by lands owned by Barnard Y Binder, and on the easterly side by the bayou adjacent thereto.

The act further authorized the council of the city, by a vote of two-thirds of the aldermen elect, to sell said cemetery or burying ground whenever the council may deem it proper; and the mayor and recorder, on such sale being authorized and approved, were authorized to make and execute all necessary conveyance therefor.

The cemetery of Oakwood is situated three miles from the city, in the midst of a beautiful country. Though comparatively new, it boats of beautiful groves, magnificent monuments, driveways, parterres, and all the accompaniments of an old and well-kept cemetery.

THE INDUSTRIES OF THE CITY.

The lumber mills of Saginaw City constitute an industrial center of the greatest importance, and one of which any city might be proud. During the manufacturing season the mills offer employment to hundreds of industrious workmen, who, in turn, contribute to the well-being of the entire community. The lumber concerns of the city stretch along the western bank of the river for many miles, forming, with their kindred salt works, what may be termed a continuous four-mile line of wealth-distributors. The machinery, buildings and troops of busy men, in connection with the industries, form a scene as significant of great enterprise as may be presented.

The salt wells and salt blocks of Saginaw City form the great sine qua non of prosperity. Without the salt well, the manufacture of lumber would become so unremunerative that it is probable the greater industry would fall away. It is stated on good authority that the manufacture of salt in conjunction with the lumber mill, is the only possible means of rendering the latter profitable, because it is made a primary object by the owners to render the manufacture of salt so extensive as not only to pay the expenses incurred in its production, but also to meet the running expenses of the lumber mill. Thus the lumber industry is strengthened, it not actually sustained, by salt industry, and both are carried on in harmony, to the great good of the city.

WILLIAMS BROTHERS’ SAW-MILL.

The firm of Williams Brothers, with Geo. F. Williams as principal, succeeded the first lumber manufacturing firm organized in the Valley, viz.: G. D., E. S. and Harvey Williams. The old mill, noticed hitherto, was destroyed by fire July 4, 1854. Four years previously Gardner D. Williams erected a saw-mill on the site of the present concern of Williams Bros. This was enlarged and improved from time to time, provided with a circular and a muley saw, a lath machine and edger, and rendered capable of cutting 3,000,000 lath and 6,000,000 feet of lumber per season. This second mill was burned July 30, 1874. The “Little Mill," built by Geo. F. Williams in 1866, ran a circular saw, a lath machine and an edger, capable of producing 2,250,000 lath and 4,000,000 feet of lumber per season. In 1874 the present concern was built, new machinery placed therein in 1874-'5, and formally opened at the beginning of the season of 1875. The machinery was manufactured at East Saginaw and is of the most approved description. The steam is generated in six boilers, the engine is 640-horse power, capable of cutting annually 14,00o,ooo feet of lumber. The company may be termed the pioneer lumber firm of the Valley. Of the original company, formed in 1834, Harvey Williams alone remains in Saginaw.

A.W. WRIGHT & CO’S L. & S. WORKS

The first mill was erected in 1853 by Rolifson, Hatch & Co. In 1856 the concern failed, when it passed into the hands of the Farmers and Mechanics’ Bank of Burlington, Vt. In 1859 the property was purchased by Miller & Paine, who continued to operate the mill until 1864, when it became the property of Paine & Wright. In February, 1865, J.H. Pearson, of Chicago, purchased Mr. Paine’s interest and associated with A.W. Wright. The old mill was burned June 13, 1865, when the “Big Mill,” located at the northern junction of the J., L. & S.R.R. with Water street, was erected. The machinery comprises seven boilers, four engines, one large gang, one small gang, one circular, two edgers, four slab saws. Its capacity for sawing is from 23,000,000 to 25,000,000 feet of lumber per season, Giving employment to 770 men in manufacture of lumber, lath, staves and heading.

THE SHINGLE MILL.

is among the most extensive of the kind in the State. It is provided with two Hall shingle machines, one sapper, one drag saw, one bolter, one cut-off saw, six rippers, and employs 20 men and boys.

A. W. WRIGHT’S PLANING MILL

was erected in 1870 by R. H. Bennett & Co. W. G. Vauanken is the present superintendent. The machinery used is from the shops of W. A. Wood of Boston, and consists of two boilers, one 70-horse power engine, one 25-horse power engine, three planers and matchers, one endless belt single surfacer, one 30-inch double surfacer, one rc-saw, one siding saw, one power feed edger, together with new machinery added May 16, 1881, comprising a single surfacer taking a board 27 inches wide and having an endless bed, and a· 30-inch double surfacer machine with eight feed rollers. This is a No. 1, and the largest made by the company, and larger than any other used in the Valley. Either machine will dress timber of any thickness, from half an inch to 10 inches. The No. 1 machine weighs 11,000 pounds and is worth $2,300. The Curran & Wolf's patent lumber drier is used. This consists of three large kilns in which the lumber is placed, and dried by means of exhaust steam. With this establishment is connected a sorting yard eight acres in extent, with sidings from J., L. & S. R. R.

N. & A. BARNARD’S LUMBER MILLS.

These mills were erected in 1867 by the Saginaw Salt Manufacturing Co. The machinery is all modern, driven by four powerful engines. Eight large boilers supply the steam. The season’s products are 17,500,000 feet of lumber and 15,000,000 shingles.

J.H. PEARSON & SON’S LUMBER MILL.

This is one of the principal industries of the Valley. The buildings and machinery have been constructed with special regard to adaptability. The gang and circular saws are driven by powerful engines, which render the capacity of the mill about 20,000,000feet of lumber annually. The season’s product is estimated at 16,000,000 feet of sawn lumber.

WYLIE BROTHERS’ SHINGLE MILLS

were erected in 1B66 by J. M. Wylie & Co. The product of the mill is estimated at 30.000,000 shingles annually. The machinery comprises the Walker and Rochester shingle machines, powerful engines, with all the varied mechanism attached to the shingle factory. In addition to their manufacture the firm take out 6,000,000 feet of logs yearly from their timber lands.

 

D. HARDIN & COMPANY’S PLANING MILL

was erected in 1869. The building is a two-story brick, admirably adapted to its present use. The machinery comprises single and double surfacers, a planer, matcher and the hundred other accompaniments of such an establishment--all constructed at East Saginaw. The principal manufactures consist of doors, sash, blinds, moldings, etc., for the home market.

HARDIN, PLUMMER & CO.’S LUMBER MILLS

were erected in 1861 by Hale & Stinson. The mill was enlarged in 1869, further improved in 1872, and remodeled throughout in 1880. The machinery is all modern. Six boilers supply steam to three powerful engines. The annual product of sawn lumber is 16,000,000 feet, employing in its manufacture 42-men. This concern, like the salt-works, was operated by W. S. Green & Son until purchased recently by the present operators.

DAVID MC LEOD’S SHINGLE MILL.

This factory was built in 1876 for David Mc Leod, and supplied with the most approved machinery. It is located on Water street at the foot of Monroe. Its appearance is entirely unassuming; but enter the building, and a scene of busy life is presented as instructive as it is satisfactory. The intricate, interesting machinery of the shingle mill is driven by a powerful engine. Hall's patent machine is used, which, with all its varied mechanical attendants, form as it were a little working world of themselves. The annual product of this factory is set down at 6,000,000 shingles. Its capacity is stated to be 40,000 shingles per day, or over 14,000,000 per annum.

SWIFT’S LUMBER MILLS.

These mills were built in 1858 by Mr. Levitt, who operated them for some years. Alexander Swift purchased the concern, enlarged it, and ultimately rebuilt it. The machinery is of the finest description, all driven by three engines, to which steam is supplied by seven boilers. Both the gang and circular saws are in use, and are capable of sawing 12,000,000 feet of lumber per season.

C. K. EDDY & SON.

The building known as the Ohio Lumber Mill was erected in 1853, by Fred. Babcock for a Chicago lumber firm. It is the oldest mill now in operation in the Valley of the Saginaw. For many years, it was operated by Mr. Babcock, who purchased the entire interest of the original owners. He disposed of his interests subsequently, and after witnessing the advent of many new proprietors, the old mill passed into the hands of the present owners, C. K. Eddy & Son. The machinery is driven by two engines, and is capable of cutting 7,000,000 feet of lumber annually.

SAGINAW BARREL FACTORY.

This is, perhaps, one of the most interesting manufacturing concerns in the State. It does not claim to excel in the heavy work of an ordinary saw-mill; yet in connection with the works, the saw-mill takes a very prominent part.

The factory is a brick building, three-stories high, 100x150 feet. With additional shops the buildings may be said to extend 360 feet, fronting on the bayou.

This important industry was established in 1872 by a company of Saginaw capitalists, with a capital stock of $75,000, increased subsequently to $125,000.

The engine room is located on the first floor, and contains the principal engine, Wm. Wright's Patent, of 180-horsepower, 42-in. stroke; the Buckeye Engine, 100-horse power; five boilers, blacksmith shop, the machinery for the preparation of heavy lumber and the Durkee sawing machine.

On the second floor is a room where the manufacture of axle­grease boxes is carried on; the zinc room, where a boy cuts, daily, 350 dozen of zinc plates used in the manufacture of Wilson's wash-board; the zinc-crimping room, step-ladder factory, etc., etc.

The manufacture of pails, wooden measures for grain, curtain poles, finishing and varnishing, etc., are carried on on the 3d floor. The articles manufactured include measures, tobacco drums, pails, gum boxes, cheese boxes, wash-boards, bail, salt and grease boxes, and curtain rollers. The factory gives employment to 150 men together with using all the labor-saving machinery found to apply in the manufacture of these articles. Messrs. Ballentine, Braley, Wm. Binder, C. A. Lee were among the first officers of the company that inaugurated this important factory.

A. W. WRIGHT & CO'S SALT WORKS.

The salt works operated by the company comprise one steam block, 72x168 feet; one do., 24x100 feet; sheds, 72x80 feet, with drill house, etc. It is supplied with six grainers, two settlers, four vats, employs 10 men and has a capacity of 200 barrels per day. There are three salt wells, having a depth of 740 ft. each, the first of which was bored in 1874. These engines are used for pumping brine. The works are well ordered throughout, system is evidenced in everything pertaining thereto, and a great business progresses with a surprising regularity.

N. & A. BARNARD'S SALT WORKS.

One of the wells of this company was bored in the spring of 1860, being the second salt well sunk in the Valley. In the manufacture of salt the company use only the best machinery. The wells are worked constantly, four powerful engines being used for that purpose. The entire annual product is set down at 82,000 barrels.

WILLIAMS BROTHERS’ SALT WORKS.

The first well of this firm was bored by Thompson & Paine, above the saw-mill built by the company in 1866, on the A. B. Paine estate. The boring was continued to a depth of 890 feet. Recently the Williams Brothers have sunk two wells, which, with the first, yield sufficient brine to produce 40,000 barrels of salt­ annually. In connection with these wells, as with their lumber­mills, modern machinery is in use.

HARDIN, PLUMMER & COMPANY'S SALT WORKS.

The first salt well sunk under the direction of this firm was bored by Hale & Stinson to a depth of 830 feet, in 1861. Since that time two wells have been bored. These wells, with the lumber mills, soon became the property of W. S. & Charles H. Green, and continued to be operated by these manufacturers and their partners until 1880, when their interest in the property was purchased by Hardin, Plummer & Co. The kettle and steam processes of evaporation are in use. The annual salt product amounts to 35,000 barrels.

SWIFT'S SALT WORKS.

In 1862 a salt well was bored near Levitt's lumber mill, which reached a depth of 800 feet, and yielded a full supply of brine. Two wells have been bored since that period, yielding manufactured product of 40,000 barrels. The steam power utilized in the saw-mill is extended to the force-pumps, and the exhaust steam utilized in one of the salt blocks. This industry gives employment to a large corps of workmen, mechanics and clerks.

J. H. PEARSON & SON'S SALT WORKS.

The precise date of sinking the first well in connection with these works, has not been ascertained. The fact alone remains that the quantity and quality of the brine, together with the mode of manufacture, enables the proprietors to manufacture about 30,000 barrels annually.

D. HARDIN & COMPANY'S SALT WORKS.

The boring of this well to a depth of 800 feet was completed in 1874. The steam power of the planing mill is extended to the works. The annual product reaches 10,000 barrels.

WYLIE BROTHERS' SALT WORKS.

The first well was bored under the direction of this company in 1877. The quality of the brine is excellent, and the facilities for converting it into salt complete. The product of the works averages, annually, 30,000 barrels.

SAGINAW BARREL COMPANY'S SALT WORKS.

This salt well, bored to a depth of 811 feet, is worked by a rod 795 feet in length. The salt blocks comprise cisterns with a capacity of 200 barrels; warm settlers, through which 300 feet of five-inch steam pipe run; grainers 2 feet 10 inches wide, and 200 feet long; storage bins to bold 4,000 barrels in bulk. The quantity of salt manufactured for agricultural purposes is large, and meets with a ready sale at $3 per 9,000 lbs.

THE COMMERCIAL FLOURING MILLS, ETC.

These mills were erected in 1862, and are now operated by Brand & Hardin. With the salt works of this firm the concern forms one of the busiest manufactories in the Valley. The product of shingles per annum, reaches 6,500,000 ; of flour 4,000 barrels, and of salt 7,000 barrels. Manufacturing economy is reduced to it finest point here. The steam power of the flour mill is utilized in the shingle mill, in working the force-pumps, and in the evaporation of the watery elements of the brine.

MISCELLANEOUS.

Sturtevant, Green, Plummer & Co.'s lumber mill and salt works.--The mills and wells of this firm extend over nine acres, with 600 feet river frontage. The name of this firm changed recently, owing to its members entering into new enterprises or partnerships.

The Forest Valley Salt and Lumber Co. was organized in 1864. The name of this association of salt and lumber manufacturers has also been changed.

Heather & Allison's saw-mill and salt works, inaugurated in 1865, are now operated by other parties.

Paine, Wheelock & Co., Mack, Schmidt & Kuhl, B. White & Co., Boothroyd, Gooding & Co., Saginaw Valley Salt and Lumber Manufacturing Co., Nicholas Chapman, Hale & Stinson, all extensively engaged in the manufacture of salt in this city in 1864, have either retired from business or allowed their names to be grouped among the members of joint-stock companies.

The names of A. W. Thompson, S. Coleman and others engaged in the lumber-mill business so extensively in 1863, no longer appear upon the list of Saginaw City mill-owners.

BANKS.-GEO. L. BURROWS & CO.

This well-known banking house was established in 1862 by Geo. L. Burrows. In 1863 he directed the building of the first brick house erected on Court street, and on its completion established his office therein. In 1869 he associated with him Fred. H. Potter. Since that period the business of the concern has extended itself, and continues to grow in popular estimation.

THE FIRST NATIONAL BANK.

The First National Bank of Saginaw was established in 1870, with J. E. Shaw, President, and S. Palmer, Cashier. He was succeeded by A. F. R. Braley, who died in August, 1880, when William Powell was offered the position. The capital stock was $200,000.

The following exhibit, published under date of May 9, 1881, relates to the condition of this institution:

RESOURCES.

Loans and discounts......................................... ………………… $753,800.62

Overdrafts............................................ ........................ …… 59.52

U. S. bonds to secure circulation........................................ 50,000.00

Due from other national banks....... ...........................…….. 4,498.76

Due from State banks and bankers........................ ............ 3,288.94

Furniture and fixtures........................................................ 3,000.00

Current expenses and taxes paid...................................... 5,226.14

Checks and other cash items............. .............................. 5,000.00

Bills of other banks........................................................... . 5,147.00

Fractional paper currency, nickels and pennies............... . 156.21

Specie....................... ........................................................ 73,166.05

Legal-tender notes………………………………………………………….. 10,100.00

Redemption fund with U.S. Treasurer 5 per cent of circulation) 2,250.00

Total…………………………………………………………………………… $915,693.24

UTILITIES.

Capital stock paid in............................................................... $200,000.00

Surplus fund............................................................................ 50,000.00

Undivided profits………………………………………………................... 21,827.53

National bank notes outstanding,....... .................................. 45,000.00

Individual deposits, subject to check…………………………………... 196,370 98

Demand certificates of deposit.............................................. 347,866.60

Due to other national banks.................................................. 15,214.92

Due to State banks and bankers.............. ............................. 820.99

Notes and bills re-discounted............................................... 38,592.22

Total. .................................................................................... $915,693.24

The officers of the bank at present are: A. W. Wright, President; C. W. Wells, V. P.; Wm. Powell, Cashier; Smith Palmer, Assistant Cashier; C. W. Wells, R. Kimball and Gordon Corning, Directors.

CITIZENS' NATIONAL BANKING COMPANY

was established in October, 1880, under the law of the State, with a capital of $100,000. Daniel Hardin is President of the bank; Lewis Penoyer, V. P.; D. W. Driggs, Cashier; D. Hardin, C. H. Green and Benton Hanchett, Directors. The following is a statement of its financial condition at the close of the fiscal year ending May, 1881:

RESOURCES.

Loans and discounts........................................................... $195,496.87

Overdrafts.......................................................................... 36.60

U.S. bonds to secure circulation........................................ 50,000.00

Due from approved reserve agents……….......................... 3,449.52

Due from other national banks…………............................. 1,285.27

Real estate, furniture and fixtures................................... 8,321.05

Current expenses and taxes paid ................................... 141.51

Premiums paid ............................................................... 4,500.00

Checks and other cash items......................... ................ 2,545.18

Bills of other banks......................................................... 13, 908.00

Fractional paper currency, nickels and pennies............. 144.34

Specie............................................................................. 11,257.35

Legal-tender notes......................................................... 12,400.00



Redemption fund with U.S. Treasurer (5 per cent of circulation 2,250.00

Total.......... ............ ....................................................... $305,735 69

LIABILITIES.

Capital stock paid in...................................................... $100,000.00

Surplus fund.................................................................. 1,500.00

Undivided profits.......................................................... 897.01

National bank notes outstanding................................. 45,000.00

Dividends unpaid......................................................... 1,220.00

Individual deposits subject to check ......................... $115,371.88

Dem&J certificates of deposit................................. 40,454.96

Due to other national banks. ..................................... 909.63

Due to State banks and bankers………......................... 382.21

Total ........................................................................... $305,735.69

HOTELS.

The Taylor House was built on the site of old Fort Saginaw, in 1866, by Wm. H. Taylor. The structure is 120 feet long by 60 in depth, forming one of the great business blocks of the city, as well as one of the leading hotels of the State. The hotel was closed for some months in 1879. It was reopened Jan. 19, 1880, by the proprietors, L. Burrows, jr., & Co. The building contains 80 well-lighted, airy rooms, with dining-room 42x50 feet, parlors and office. The management of the hotel is creditable alike to the employers and employed.

There are 14 other hotels in the city, each claiming a particular patronage. Among them the Kirby House is considered the best. This hotel was erected in 1868, by W. K. Kirby, and is capable of accommodating 60 guests.

SAGINAW CITY STREET RAILWAY.

This railroad corporation was organized in 1864, with a capital of $30,000. The same year a track was laid from a point on Hamilton street, south of the Taylor House, Saginaw City, to the intersection of Genesee and Washington streets, East Saginaw, a distance of 2 3/8 miles. The equipment of this road is good and the order of business regular. The capital stock has been increased to $75,000.

THE SAGINAW GAS-LIGHT COMPANY.

was organized in 1867, and incorporated in 1868. The lighting of the city with gas was begun in November, 1868. Since that period the consumption averages 6,000,000 cubic feet annually. Alexander Swift may be considered the projector of this important enterprise; he now holds the controlling interest in the concern.

WELLS, STONE & CO.

Among the great wholesale houses of the State, there is not one, perhaps, which carries on a more extensive trade than that of Wells, Stone & Co., of Saginaw City. Established in 1867, as a lumberman's supply store and grocery, by Northrup, Wells & Co., the firm title was changed to Wells, Stone & Co. in 1869. The first store of the company has been described as a brick three-story building 50x90 feet, filled from basement to attic with groceries, provisions, flour, clothing, boots and shoes, hardware and general lumberman's supplies. The store house was a one-story frame building 45x85 feet, filled with beef, pork, beans, flour, feed, hay, etc. These buildings with the entire stock were destroyed by fire New Year's Day, 1881. The losses were estimated at $55,000. The total insurance amounted to $23,900. Within a few days the business was established in the ware-room, in rear of the boom office, three car loads of supplies shipped and a few days later all orders were filled. The new store is a solid brick structure 90x100 feet. The annual sales are said to exceed in value $1,000,000, exclusive of the sales effected at their branch establishments of Sanford, Loomis, Farwell and West Branch.

SAGINAW IRON WORKS.

These works are located at the corner of Water, Williams and Hamilton streets. Premises one-half block; three fronts; buildings in all equal to 40x282 feet. The machine shop was built in 1866, and the foundry added in 1867 by Hildreth and N. B. Kinsey. Two engines supply to the machinery of both shops. Iron and brass castings with the manufacture and repair of machinery form the principal business of the factory.

There are other less important iron works within the city, boiler and smoke-stack shops, and workers in tin and zinc.

FURNITURE FACTORY.

The furniture factory of John Stenglein & Brothers, located on Water and Mackinaw streets, was built in 1880, for the firm. All kinds of household furniture are manufactured, and a large local trade has been attained. The factory gives employment to 10 mechanics, and the retail store on Hamilton and Franklin to two salesmen.

PERSONAL SKETCHES.

Following are many biographical sketches of pioneers and prominent citizens, living and deceased, of Saginaw township and city. All these have materially helped to turn the original wilderness into an inhabited and happy land, or to develop and build up the interests of this locality:

Nelson Abel, proprietor dairy farm northwest of Saginaw City, was born in Pennsylvania, Feb. 23, 1814, and is a son of William and Polly Abel. In 1841 he located in Oakland Co., Mich., and in 1851 in this county. He has accumulated a sufficient amount to keep him comfortable in the last days of his stay on earth, and has been very charitable toward those less fortunate in life. He was united in marriage in Oakland Co., Mich., in 1851, to Phoebe Schermerhorn, who was born in New York in 1813, and departed this life in 1870. Mr. Abel owns 60 acres of good land. ·

A.W. Achard, dealer in hardware, agricultural implements, mill and lumbermen's supplies. This large house was established in 1868, by Seyffardt & Achard, who continued in the business together for seven years, when they dissolved partnership, Mr. Achard continuing in the business. He afterward admitted as a partner into the business, Mr. E. Schooneberg, who remained with him five years, and then sold out to Mr. Achard, who has been alone in the business from that time. He now has one of the principal hardware stores of Saginaw City, and is doing a large business. He carries a stock valued at $15,000, and his yearly sales amount to over $36,000. Mr. Achard was born in Prussia in 1825. He came to America when 24 years of age, settling on a farm in Saginaw tp., where he "farmed it" for 18 months, then removed to the city. He is an architect, and superintended the erection of the city engine-house, the old Burrows bank, and the first brick store put up in 1864, by J. and P. Bauer. In 1863 and 1864 he superintended one of the first steam salt blocks, erected by the Wayne County Salt Company. He was united in marriage in 1854 to Mary Fittinger, a native of Prussia. They have 5 children.

Alexander Andre (deceased) was born in Detroit, Mich., April 27, 1834. He came to Saginaw in 1848 and resided with his brother, P. C. Andre, until he obtained his majority. He traded with the Indians, in partnership with P. C., for some time. On the first day of May, 1855, he graduated from the Commercial College at Detroit, with high honors. He engaged in the mercantile business alone for some time, and then he engaged in the lumbering and real estate business. At this he was very successful, and grew wealthy. He was a member of the City Council for one year, and was a highly respected citizen. Upright in all his dealings, and of a free-hearted, genial disposition, none knew him but to love him. He was married in 1856 to Miss Mary L. Cushway, daughter of the late Benjamin Cushway, of whom we make further mention elswhere in this work. Mr. and Mrs. Andre had 10 children, of whom 5 boys and 2 girls are living.

Peter C. Andre was born in Detroit, Mich., Oct. 25, 1817, and is a son of Joseph C. Andre, who was born in Vincennes, Ind. (his father's trading post), May 2, 1770. Mr. Andre's mother was a Miss Clemelia Fearson, born in Detroit, Dec. 3, 1795. There is an incident connected with the Andre family that would be well to record at this time: Our subject’s grandfather, Joseph Andre, purchased a farm of about 200 acres, fronting on the river, near Fort Wayne, and now a part of the city of Detroit, in an early day, and rented it to one Robert Enos for a term of years. It appears that Enos became a defaulter before his time on the farm expired, and the U. S. Marshal sold his right to the place as tenant. After a period of years elapsed (Mr. Andre having died in the mean­time), one General Williams introduced a bill in Congress to confirm the sale of the Marshal, which was not a sale of the land, but only a sale of the rights of Enos as tenant. So it still belongs to the Andre heirs, of whom our subject is one. Many parties residing within the corporate limits of Detroit and on this tract of 200 acres will eventually be turned out of what they now deem their homes, provided the Andre heirs establish their claims. Mr. Andre is the second of 11 children, 6 brothers and 5 girls. viz.: James, Peter C., John, Richard, Elias C., Alexander, Julia A., Caroline, Clemelia, Josephine and Louise. In 1837 he established five trading-posts at different points in Michigan. Mr. Andre came to Saginaw first in 1846, and purchased the remnant stock of goods belonging to the American Fur Company, and added others to this stock, bringing his new goods from Detroit, and opened his store in the Frazier building. In 1862 he sold his entire stock of goods and engaged in lumbering until 1865, when he engaged in the dry goods and boot and shoe trade in Saginaw, which he followed until 1869. He has also been actively engaged in the real-estate business since 1848. He was Mayor of Saginaw once, and Register of Deeds one term. In 1848 and '49 Mr. Andre chartered the steamer "Franklin Moore" for her first trip and for her two subsequent trips to Cleveland, each time loaded with fish from his fisheries. Mr. Andre was married to Miss Clarissa M., daughter of Henry M. Stark, of Clinton county, Mich. They have had 4 children, 2living-Julia C. (Lockwood) and Clara Grace.

Reuben W. Andrus (deceased) was born in Chautauqua county, N. Y. Feb. 20, 1832. He passed his early life on a farm, and was educated in the common schools. While in his native county he pursued the business of a grocer for several years. In 1854 he went to Buffalo, and in 1856 came to Owosso and subsequently to Chesaning, this county, where he was engaged in the mercantile business for a number of years. He married Miss Emma Roy Crowfoot and had 1 child, Hattie. Mrs. Andrus died in 1861, and Feb. 28, 1865, Mr. A. married Mrs. Maria M. Legg, widow of Silas W. Legg (deceased), and a daughter of Hosea Wood. Mrs. Andros was born in Ulster Co., N. Y. Mr. Andrus held various offices of honor and trust during his residence in Chesaning. He was Supervisor of that tp. 16 years, and Justice of the Peace two years. He was Sheriff of Saginaw county four years, and Supervisor of the First ward in 1878. He died Oct. 20, 1878, severing his membership with the Masonic and I. O. O. F. societies, and also with the Knights of Pythias. Mr. Andrus was a man of enterprise and was highly respected.

Henry Austin, grocer, corner Hamilton and Van Buren, was born in Burlington, Vt., July 4, 1839. When two years of age his parents removed to York State, where he was reared on a farm and was educated in the common schools. He served three years and three months in the late war, in Co. H, 2d Reg. N.Y. Artillery, and participated in the 2d battle of Bull Run, Wilderness, Gettysburg, Petersburg and Weldon R. R. In 1866 he came to South Saginaw and worked in a mill some six years, and was a member of the police of East Saginaw four years. He then engaged in the grocery business in Edmore, Montcalm Co., Mich., for one and a half years, and in June, 1880, he came to Saginaw, and established his present business, which is constantly increasing. Mr. Austin was married to Miss Eliza Delaney, Feb. 28, 1866, by whom he has 3 children-Alice, Nellie and Maudie.

O.P. Barber, M.D., was born in Canandaigua, Ontario Co., N.Y., in 1849, and is a son of Zaccheus and Hannah (Martin) Barber. He was brought up there until he was 10 years old, and since that time he has lived in different parts of the country. At the age or 15 he entered the literary department of the University of Michigan, at Ann Arbor, and afterward the medical department, where he remained two years. He then entered Bellevue Hospital College, of New York city, from which he graduated in the spring of 1870. He practiced one year at Leroy, Genesee Co., N. Y., and in 1871 came to Saginaw City, forming a partnership with Drs. White and Bliss, with whom he continued four years. In 1876 he opened his office in Andre block, Hamilton st. He has been a member of the American Medical Association for 10 years; of the State Medical Society tor nine years; is also a member of the Board of Health, and was elected City Physician by a Democratic Council. Dr. Barber is one of the leading physicians of this city, and has a large practice. Was nominated for Mayor on the Republican ticket in the spring of 1881, and defeated by 103 votes in a city of between four and five hundred Democratic majority, and since then has received the appointment of local surgeon of the M.C.R.R.

John Barr, proprietor of Barr's brick yard, on sec. 18, Saginaw tp., was born in Scotland, June 1, 1819, and is a son of Robert and Margaret Barr. Mr. B. came to America in 1842, locating in Canada, where he assisted on the first iron boat ever built in that country. From Canada he traveled over different portions of New York, and at Chippewa was offered a shop and two acres of land if he would consent to locate there and pursue his trade (being a thorough machinist). While at Buffalo be was offered all the money he desired to start a manufactory, and assisted in building the first looms to knit or weave a shirt, it being formerly done by band. At Waterford, Saratoga Co., N.Y., he worked eight years at constructing fire-engines. In 1865 he came to Saginaw county, and a few years later went to Niagara, N.Y. where he built a locomotive to run to and from the famous ''Falls." He has been principally engaged in brick-making of late years, and turns out annually from twelve to fourteen hundred thousand. He owns 40 acres on sec. 18, 15 acres inside the corporate limits of East Saginaw, and two houses and five lots in Saginaw City. Mr. Barr was married Oct. 12, 1846, to Agnes Brice, who was born at Edinburgh, Scotland, in 1823. One child was given them, Agnes, born Nov.15, 1847, and died Aug. 11, 1849. Mrs. Barr died July 23, 1848, and in 1864 Mr. B. married Mary Haslip, who was born in Canada in 1841.

Charles G. Benjamin, saw-filer for Williams Brothers, was born in Geneva, N. Y., Oct. 16, 1835, and is a son of Edwin Benjamin. He came to Saginaw in 1859, and engaged in log-scaling in the winter seasons and saw-filing during the summers. The first five years he worked for V. A. Paine; one year with Warner and Eastman, and 11 years with Rust, Eaton & Co., and in 1876 he began with his present employers. He was married in 1867 to Miss Laura Johnson, by whom he has 2 children, Edmond and Donald. Mr. Benjamin is a member of the Knights of Honor.

D. E. Benjamin is a prominent farmer of this tp. He was born in Cortland Co., N. Y., May 1, 1822, and is a son of Capt. Elias and Rhoda Benjamin, native of New York. In 1843 Mr. B. came West, locating in Oakland Co., Mich. For five years he was engaged in lumbering. In 1868 he purchased his present farm of 315 acres of excellent farming land. Mr. Benjamin was married in New York in 1843, to Margaret, daughter of John and Catherine Shoudy, who was born in 1822. She bore him 2 children, Elizabeth and Ellen M., and departed this life in 1863. He was again married, in Genesee Co., N. Y., in 1865, to Adeline, daughter of Luke and Mary Coney, who was born in New York in 1835. They have 1 child, Lillian. Mr. B.'s portrait is given in this work, on page 167.

John H. Benjamin was born in Newport, Maine, Dec. 26, 1840, and is a son of James Benjamin. Our subject learned the blacksmith trade with his father, when a boy. In May, 1864, he came to Saginaw and remained about 16 months, then returned East. In November, 1869, he returned to Saginaw, and in April, 1870, established a blacksmith shop and buggy manufactory. He does a very extensive business, and turns out first-class work. He was married Sept. 12, 1878, to Miss Florence J., daughter of D. J. Smith. They have 1son, John H., jr.

William Biesterfeld, dealer in dry goods and notions, established this business on April 1, 1877, on Hamilton street, and at the end of one year it was moved to Andre block, on Court street. Mr. Biesterfeld has a fine stock of goods, and is doing a large business. When he first opened he had a stock of $5,000, which he has increased to over $12,000. His yearly sales amount to $30,000. By strict attention to business he has placed himself among the prominent merchants of the city. He was born at Baltimore, Md., in 1857, and is a son of Henry and Mary Biesterfeld, now residents of this city. In 1865 he came to Saginaw City, and soon after entered the employ of Scheib & Co., with whom he learned the business, and remained until 1877, when he bought his employers’ stock. He was united in marriage Nov. 27, 1879, at Detroit, Mich., to Ida E. Dodge, a native of Michigan City, Ind. One child was born to them, William Chester, who died June 29, 1881, aged eight months.

Michael Blank, farmer on sec. 28, was born in Germany, in 1834. In 1852 he came to Saginaw county, and after years of toil and privation, has succeeded in possessing a nice farm of 50 acres. He was married in 1847 to Sorena Brights, who was born in Germany in 1836. They have 5 children--Kate, Lizzie, Lawrence, Anna and Cora. Mr. Blank and wife are faithful members of the German Lutheran Church.

Rev. George Bradley.—Of the many strong men who deserve honorable mention in connection with the early pioneer life of the Saginaw Valley and Northern Michigan no one is entitled to a higher place in this record than Rev. George Bradley. He was born May 31, 1810, in Hopewell, Ontario Co., New York. He was licensed to preach in 1837. In 1838 he became a member of the Michigan Conference of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and was for 33 years a minister of the gospel of that Church, much of the time as a missionary among the Indians. He labored as only a strong, true and brave man can labor. Wherever hard work and great responsibility were demanded, there was he sent, and no man can say he failed to meet the demand; whether as pastor, presiding elder or missionary, he was the same hard-working, earnest Christian man. Whether in the mansion of the rich, the log cabin of the poor pioneer, among the rough laborers in the pine woods or the wigwam of the Indian, he was at all times the dignified, yet courteous, gentleman, the wise counselor, the sympathizing friend and always a minister of the gospel of Christ. One of his old co-laborers once said of him, "If you want to see George Bradley, go where duty has called him and there you will find him."

Some idea of his labors may be formed when it is stated that when presiding elder of the Grand Rapids District in 1848-'9, his district embraced all that part of the State lying north of the south line of Genesee county to the Straits of Mackinaw, with his home in the city of Flint. All this vast territory, from Lake Huron on the east to Lake Michigan on the west, he visited, organizing societies, building churches, preaching wherever he went, in the church, if one was to be found, in the log cabin of the settlers, the wigwam of the savage, at the camp-meeting, and wherever men and women could be found. In stature he was almost a giant. He had great natural ability. His mind was clear, comprehensive and practical. He dealt with men as he found them, and sought in his preaching and intercourse to lead them to be better men. He never said a foolish thing. His voice was remarkable; always pleasant and winning, at times it was raised with a suddenness and power that startled and moved like an electrical shock.

For some time he resided in the city of East Saginaw. When the Indians removed to their reservation in Isabella county in the winter of 1857, be took up his residence among them, and resided in the county until his death. He was the Indian's true and unfaltering friend. In the spring of 1871, upon the recommendation of the Missionary Society, he was appointed by President Grant Indian Agent for the State of Michigan. April 8 he went to New York for a conference with the Missionary Board upon Indian affairs. He reached that city late in the evening, and took a carriage for the mission rooms, but feeling ill he ordered the driver to take him to a hotel, which was done. He stepped from his carriage to the sidewalk, fell, and expired without uttering a word. Bishop Harris forwarded his remains to loving friends at Saginaw, who conveyed them to Isabella, where they were interred. His devoted, faithful wife, the partner and helper in his great work, survived him until the fall of 1875. The remains of these two earnest Christian workers rest side by side in the beautiful cemetery at Mt. Pleasant.

Phineas D. Braley was born in Berkshire county, Mass., April 17, 1811. In January, 1823, he came with his parents in a sleigh to Royalton, New York, and in 1835 they came to Saginaw county and settled on the Tittabawassee river. There were 17 in the two families, and they traveled the entire distance with an ox team. They, however, traveled by lake from Buffalo to Detroit. When they arrived at the Saginaw river they found no ferry; but the Indians soon constructed one for them, of two canoes with slabs lain across, and tied, or bolted, to the canoes. Mr. Braley's wagon was among the first wheeled vehicles brought to the Valley.

In those days they had to go to Thread river to mill, a distance of 32 miles, requiring five days to make the trip. On the arrival of the Braleys here there were but four frame houses in Saginaw, and no plank houses in East Saginaw. Mr. Braley has been engaged in lumbering for the most part, every winter since 1836. He removed to Saginaw in 1856. The first winter he was here he cut 200 cords of wood and put it on the river bank for Harvey Williams, at 30 cents per cord.

Mr. Braley tells an amusing anecdote in connection with his wagon. He said: "Harvey Williams came and hitched his own team to it one day, and refused to return it; said he wanted to buy it; but I refused to sell it. He paid no attention to what I said, but put his hand into his pocket and drew out a handful of bank notes and gave it to me without counting it; remarking as he left that if it was not enough he would give me some more. I counted the money, and found there was just $170 in currency." Mr. Braley was married in August, 1833, to Miss Rebecca Hubbard, by whom he had 3 children-Lavina (dec.), Ezra and Cynthia. Mrs. B. died, and he was again married, this time to Miss Jane Blewer, who afterward died, and Dec. 16, 1842, he married Miss Olive Hubbard, by whom he has had 9 children; of these 6 are living, viz.: Phineas, Mary, Emma A., Fannie C., Frederick B., and Laura.

Frederick W. Brenner, City Surveyor, Saginaw City, was born near Cologne, Prussia, Sept. 5, 1844; is a son of Charles T. and Thorthea (Fisher) Brenner, father a native of Prussia, mother of Switzerland. Charles received his early education at the Cologne high school, and when 15 years of age accompanied his father to this country, his mother having died in 1841. He resided at New York city for about six months, attending school, and then engaged in the manufacturing business. In 1850 he came to Saginaw City, and soon after his father purchased two lots on the corner of Adams and Hamilton streets, where he erected the Farmer's Hotel, since known as the Shakspeare and Washington Houses. Here Frederick assisted his father at odd times, and in 1852 went to the mouth of Thunder Bay river (now Alpena) where he remained, seining fish, for three years. In 1854 he commenced surveying with Butler Ives, of Detroit. He was in the employ of the F. & P. M. R. R. for some years, and assisted in locating the road beds of the A. L. & T. B., and the former company. He was elected County Surveyor in 1874, serving as such for two years. He was married Oct. 20, 1856, to Maria A. Ortner, a native of Bavaria. They have 7 children-Wilhelmina, Emma, Edward, Caroline, William, Mary and Charlie. Mr. Brenner and wife are members of the Lutheran Church.

Abel A. Brockway was born in Schoharie Co., N. Y., Aug. 16, 1818. In 1848 he came to Port Huron, Mich., and in 1851 to Saginaw; remaining only a few days he returned to Port Huron. He spent summers in Saginaw and the winters in Port Huron. He spent the year 1848 lumbering in St. Clair county. He owns large tracts of land in Michigan and also in Washington Territory. He has resided in Saginaw since 1853. His residence is situated on the cross road city limits. He was married in 1861 to Miss Rozette Winget. Their 2 children are Mary and Sara

BACK


Copyright © Genealogy Trails 2006 -
All rights reserved for original submitters.