Located at the corner of Fort and Third Streets, furnishes a method of ingress and egress for the Wabash,
Pere Marquette and Canadian Pacific Railways. It was built in 1894.
The Union Depot began passenger service for the Michigan Central and Pere Marquette Railroads in 1902. The Detroit architectural firm of Spier and Rohns, which planned many Michigan Central stations, designed the building with Chateauesque conical towers and cut stone arches. The depot closed in 1972. Restauranteur Peter Jubeck bought the building in 1978 and transformed it into an eatery, retaining the quarter-sawn oak interior and installing locally crafted stained glass windows.
The idea for a union depot was conceived by Detroit
business leader James Joy, and in 1890, the Canadian Pacific Railway, Detroit, Lansing &
Northern Railroad. Flint & Pere Marquette Railroad, and Wabash Railroad formed the Fort
Street Union Depot Company. James .Stewart (Si Company designed the structure, which was
a unique blend of Romanesque arches and squarcd-oft upper-floor window openings. A massive
clock tower was the building's local point. Grand opening ceremonies were held on Saturday,
January 21, 1893, and newspaper accounts estimated that \0.000 people visited the depot
that day, including out-of-town guests from Saginaw brought down On a special Flint 6k Pere
Marquette train. Adding to the festive atmosphere was the 19th Infantry Regiment Band, which
played from the gallery overlooking the waiting room. The first regularly scheduled train to use
the depot arrived the following day, when Flint 6k Pere Marquette train No. 10 arrived from Bay
City early Sunday morning. (James Harlow collection.)