Hennepin County, Minnesota

Genealogy Trails History Group

Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Biographies "J & L"


Anson Blake Jackson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JACKSON Anson Blake, Minneapolis.  Res 1623 3d av S, office N Y Life bldg.  Lawyer.  Born 1850 in Brooklyn N Y., son of William B and Elizabeth (Blake) Jackson.  Graduated from Hobart College Geneva N Y. A B 1870; from Columbia Law School New York City LL B 1873.  Practiced law in New York City 1873-88; Kansas City Mo as counsel for the bondholders' committee K P Ry Co 1878; Minneapolis 1879 to date. 


Ralph Frederick Jackson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JACKSON RALPH FREDERICK, Minneapolis.  Res 2804 Fremont av S, office 217 Lumber Exchange.  Building material.  Born April 28, 1864 in Alaska, Kent county Mich, son of Robert S and Sara E (Soloman) Jackson.  Married Nov 9, 1887 to Mary L Mill.  Educated in the public schools of Alaska Mich and Archibald Business College Minneapolis 1882.  Employed as stenogr M & St L Ry Co Minneapolis 1882-84; same with Minneapolis Harvester Co 1884-86 same with Dakota Packing Co 1886-88; member and sec Hewson-Herzog Supply Co building materials 1888-92; asst sec and treas Menominee Hydraulic Press Brick Co 1882-1900; member J C Landers & Co building material 1900-1906; now member Johnson & Jackson Minneapolis. 


Jager, John N.
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JAGER JOHN N, Minneapolis.  Res 5241 S Upton av, office 916 Security Bk bldg.  Architect.  Born May 16, 1871 in Austria, son of Andrew and Catherine (Primosich) Jager.  Married Sept 23, 1902 to Selma Erhovnic.  Educated in common schools and technical school 1892: graduated from Univ of Vienna 1898.  Served in Austrian army 1893-94; professor's asst at Technical Univ of Vienna 1898-1901; in employ of Austrian Colony in construction work in China 1901-1902: moved to Minneapolis 1902 and has been engaged in professional work to date.


William M. James
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

W. M. James is the editor and manager of the Breckenridge Telegram. He has only had charge of this paper for three years, but during that time he has increased its circulation three hundred per cent and made it one of the leading Republican papers of Northern Minnesota. His father, Robert James, was a prosperous farmer on the north shore of Lake Erie, in Elgin County, Ontario, having come to Canada from the north of Ireland. His ancestry, however, was Scotch. He died in 1893. His wife, Lorena Markle, was born in Ontario, and is still living in Elgin County. The subject of this sketch was born on the farm in Elgin County, Ontario, February 16, 1858. He received his education in the common and high schools of Ontario, which are noted for their thoroughness, and graduated from the Collegiate Institute at St. Thomas, Ontario, in 1881. He taught school, however, previous to his attending the institute, and also while pursuing his studies--seven years altogether, two years of which were spent in St. Thomas. Mr. James first came to Minnesota in September, 1883, locating at Minneapolis, where he worked for a time in a wholesale hardware house. He moved to Breckenridge in 1884, having received the appointment of principal of the graded schools at that place, which position he held for three years. He then went into the mercantile business, but sold out the following year, 1888. At this time he was appointed postmaster at Breckenridge by President Harrison, holding that office during the latter's administration. In 1889 Mr. James also engaged in the drug and stationery business, in which he is still engaged.
In 1893 Mr. James entered into partnership with J. C. Wood and bought the Breckenridge Telegram, of which he assumed charge as editor and manager. In October, 1896, Mr. James became owner of the paper, which by his pluck and perseverance, as stated above, he had built up to to be one of the leading papers of that part of the state. Mr. James' political affiliations are with the Republican party, and he has been active in promoting its principles. He has served his county committee as secretary for six years. He also acted as village justice for eight years. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a Knight Templar; also a member of the Knights of Pythias and the A. O. U. W. His church connections are with the Methodist Episcopal church. He was married in 1886 to Maggie Harvey, daughter of the late William Harvey, M. P., of Canada. They have had four children, Harvey, Horace, Ada and Mary.


Robert Jamison
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

One of the best known and ablest of the younger men of the district bench in Minnesota is Judge Robert Jamison, of the Fourth Judicial District. He is of Irish descent, his father, Alexander Jamison, and his mother, Mary (Roberts) Jamison, having been born in the north of Ireland. They came of the sturdy Presbyterian stock of that region, and while in their teens emigrated to America. Alexander Jamison, who became a mason and builder, located at Red Wing, Minnesota, in 1857, and in the course of time became well-to-do. Here his son Robert was born, September 4, 1858. As a young man of nineteen that son was graduated from the Red Wing high school in 1877. Coming to Minneapolis in the fall of that year he began a special course of study in the state university, which lasted for three years, and then, having previously made up his mind to enter the profession of the law, he began his preparatory work in the office of Judge, John M. Shaw, in Minneapolis. In 1883 he was admitted to the bar, and two years later, in 1885, was appointed assistant county attorney of Hennepin County. He distinguished himself very early in this office by the skill which he displayed in the prosecution of the Barrett brothers for murder. These cases will be remembered as being among the most sensational in the criminal history of Hennepin County. In November, 1888, Mr. Jamison, by vote of the people, was advanced to first place in the county attorney's office. He served for one term as county attorney and declined nomination for a second term. The death of Judge Frederick Hooker, in 1893, created a vacancy on the bench of the Fourth District, and Mr. Jamison was appointed by Governor Knute Nelson in September of that year, to fill it. In 1894 he was elected to succeed himself for a term of six years, commencing January 1, 1895. Although comparatively a young man he has acquitted himself with great credit as a judge and has developed high qualifications for the judicial office. Mr. Jamison has always taken an active interest in politics, and during the campaign of 1892 was chairman of the Republican state central committee. In the field of practical politics the future was opening up before him with considerable brilliancy when he suddenly and quite unexpectedly to his many friends, stepped aside in order to receive judicial honors. It is not improbable, however, that he regards this retirement as being only temporary. When elected to the bench for the full term in 1894, he received the largest vote by several thousand ever cast for a judicial candidate in the Fourth District. Few men in the more recent political life of Minnesota have had a larger or more enthusiastic personal following, or have been more worthy of it. Mr. Jamison was a member of the Chi Psi fraternity while in college. He is a Mason and an Elk. August 16, 1883, he was married to Adaline L. Camp, of Minneapolis, and three children have been born on the union, Glee, Neil and Lou.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JAMISON ROBERT, Minneapolis.  Res 316 10th av S E, office 61H Loan & Trust bldg.  Lawyer.  Born Sept 4, 1858 in Red Wing Minn, son of Alexander and Mary (Roberts I Jamison.  Married Aug 16, 1883 to Adaline L Camp.  Graduated from Red Wing High School 1877.  Studied law in office of Hon John M Shaw Minneapolis; admitted to bar 1883 and appointed asst county atty Hennepin county 1885.  Elected county atty 1888; appointed by Gov Nelson to fill vacancy on bench fourth dist 1893; elected to succeed himself 1894 and served until 1901.  Now member law firm of Belden, Jamison & Shearer Minneapolis.  Member Masonic fraternity and B P O E.


Trafford Newton Jayne
[Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota, 1907, page 205, submitted by Robin Line]
Jayne, Trafford Newton, Minneapolis. Res 2012 Board av S, office 3d fl 709 Hennepin av. Lawyer. Born Nov 3, 1868 in Winona county, Minn, son of Havens Brewster and Nellie Victoria (Pike) Jayne. Attended the Winona High School 1880; Univ of Mich 1886-89. Began the practice of law 1890; Palmer & Jayne 1891; Jayne & Morrison 1892; Jane & Helliwell 1897; Jayne & Dickson 1899, since which time he has been practicing alone. Largely interested in the state work of the Christian Endeavor Society and is an enthusiast in all athletic sports. Member of Philharmonic Club Minneapolis; chorus master 1905-1906; sec and treas Minneapolis Amateur Athletic Assn 1905.


William S. Jenkins
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JENKINS WILLIAM S, Minneapolis.  Res 2653 Portland av, office 100 Oneida blk.  Insurance and abstracts.  Born June 24, 1860 in Hennepin county, Minn, son of Sylvanus and Eunice K (Whitney) Jenkins.  Attended public schools; graduated from Farmington (Minn) High School 1879; business course at Curtis Business College Minneapolis.  Organized firm of Jenkins & Warnock abstractors 1888; continued with it until 1891; then organized abstract dept of the Minn Title, Ins & Trust Co; mngr of that dept, treas, then sec and treas; now sec and supt of titles and dir; title insurance, abstracts, banking, trusts, loans, safety deposit vaults.  Served 5 years as private in state militia.  Member Commercial and Portland Avenue Historical clubs Minneapolis.


Cyrus H. Jenks
Source: Compendium of History and Biography, Transcribed by Christi Boyer
CYRUS H. JENKS, superintendent of the Northern division of the Great Northern Railroad, is a man of thorough knowledge in railroad work, and has spent thirty years in this line. He was born in Boone county, Illinois, November 29, 1844.
The parents of our subject, Cyrus C. and Elizabeth (Quilliams) Jenks, were from New York and Isle of Man, respectively. The father was a carpenter, brickmason, and also engaged in teaching, and moved to Illinois in 18-- and to Minnesota in 1848, settling in St. Anthony, and was the first school teacher and first constable of Minneapolis. He was born August 4, 1808, and was three times married, and was the father of thirteen children. In company with Morton M. Godhue he printed the first issue of the "Pioneer," which later became the "Pioneer Press," of St. Paul. He made the brick from which old Fort Ridgely was built. This pioneer of Illinois and Minnesota died in 1897.
Our subject was five years of age when he removed with his parents to St. Anthony, and was educated there and at Rockford. He enlisted, in 1862, in Company B, Sixth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, and served until August, 1865, and was in the Sixteenth Army Corps of the Army of the Gulf, previous to which he had been in the Indian service and assisted in the capture of the Indians of Mankato and Spirit Lake, after which he was sent south and was at Spanish Fort and Fort Blakeley and also participated in numerous minor engagements. He returned to Minnesota after the war and located at Rockford, and in 1870 engaged with the Great Northern Railroad Company as brakeman, and rose rapidly in rank and soon was a conductor of freight and passenger trains, and in 1882 went to Crookston, Minnesota, as assistant superintendent of the Northern division and served as such until 1887, when he assumed charge of the Dakota division and was superintendent there until 1892, and was then transferred to the Northern division for one year and then given the Montana Central for one year, after which he returned to the Northern division and has held the office at Grand Forks continuously since that time. He assisted in building the road and is one of the few men left who began railroad life as early as 1870.
Our subject was married, in 1867, to Hattie E. Hayford, a native of New York. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Jenks, as follows: Charles O., and Lotta Q., now Mrs. C. C. Shapleigh, of Moorehead. Mr. Jenks is prominent in affairs of the Masonic fraternity and has passed the degrees of all the departments of the order. He is a man of excellent business capacity and is highly esteemed throughout the locality in which he makes his home.


George Walter Jenks
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

A type of the successful business man, who succeeds by sheer pluck against all obstacles in his path is George Walter Jenks, a prominent banker and broker in the city of Minneapolis. Mr. Jenks was born April 10, 1852, in Warwick, Rhode Island, and comes from good old Colonial stock on both sides of the family. His paternal ancestor, Joseph Jenks, born in England in 1602, and who died in Lynn, Massachusetts, in 1683, was the first man to make cast iron in America. The iron founder's son, Joseph, settled in Pawtucket, Rhode Island, where his grandson, Jonathan Jenks, married the grand-daughter of Roger Williams, who had founded the state in 1636, or a few years only after the arrival of the Mayflower. Many of the descendants of this couple--among others sisters of the subject of sketch--are still living at Pawtucket on the original grant of land occupied by Jonathan Jenks and wife. His mother, Phoebe Ann Eldred (Jenks), was the daughter of Samuel and Elizabeth (Thomas) Eldred, both of old New England families. George received but a common school education in the public school of his native village. Though it was the intention to give the lad a college education, the sudden death of his father, when George was only fifteen years old, called him from his studies to take temporary charge of his father's country store. He showed such an adaptability for business that this arrangement became a permanent one. He continued the business successfully for several years, and then left for winder business fields. After leaving his old home he secured a position in a grocery store in Central Falls, Rhode Island. Here he was advanced to the best position in the establishment, but the work not being congenial, he removed to Boston and secured a position in a publishing house in that city. He was soon promoted to the superintendency of the business in seven different states, and assisted in building up several magazines. In the fall of 1877, having contracted a severe cold on his lungs, he came West in search of health, and, visiting Minneapolis, decided to locate here. Finding no position vacant to which he was adapted, he secured work in a saw mill. The next year, having recovered his health, he returned to his old business and more congenial work of publishing. In January, 1880, he began the publication of a magazine called the "Minnesota Homestead," which was afterwards changed to the "Homestead Monthly," for which he built up a large subscription list. The work was too confining, however, and Mr. Jenks decided to sell out. He then changed to investment banking, which lie of business he has followed to the present time. In this business Mr. Jenks has been very successful; but during the panic of '93 a considerable portion of his fortune was swept away, due, in a large measure, to his rigid adherence to the honest purpose in his mind of standing the loss himself rather than to knowingly unload doubtful or rotten securities upon others. Mr. Jenks is a loyal Minneapolitan, has always been identified with the business interests of the city and the various business organizations, and is a member of the Board of Trade, Stock Exchange, Chamber of Commerce, Business Men's Union, Commercial Club, Northwestern Home Trade Association, etc. He is a prohibitionist in politics as well as in practice, as were his parents before him, and has done many deeds of philanthropy in a quiet way for the needy and unfortunate. In January, 1874, he was married to Rosie B. Arnold, an early schoolmate, who died a year later, leaving one son, Walter Bertram, now a farmer near Redwood Falls Minnesota. Mr. Jenks was married again on June 8, 1879, to Miss T. Addie Gail, a daughter of James P. Gail, an early settler in Minnesota. Mrs. Jenks is an accomplished artist and musician, and a writer of marked ability, widely known through her contributions to religious weeklies. Two children are the result of this union, George Ernest and William Gail.


Frank N. Jepson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JEPSON FRANK N, Minneapolis.  1510 Fremont av N, office 1330 Washington av N.  Manufacturer.  Born June 12, 1867 in Faribault Minn, son of John and Lydia F (Sherpy) Jepson.  Married Oct 12, 1888 to May Bell Walrods.  Attended common school and Carleton College Northfield 1880-85; in grocery business 1885-92; became member of the Winkley Artificial Limb Co 1892; elected v pres 1893; and has held same office to date. 


Lowell E. Jepson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JEPSON LOWELL E, Minneapolis.  Res 1327 Emerson av, office 1330 Washington av N.  Manufacturer.  Born Oct 19, 1863 in Dean Minn, son of John and Lydia M Jepson.  Attended Carleton Academy Northfield Minn 1880-83; Carleton College 1883-87, graduating B S; M S 1897.  Reared on farm; located in Minneapolis in 1887; engaged in manufacture of artificial limbs 1888 to date; pres Winkley Artificial Limb Co. State senator 1898-1906.  Member Commercial Club Minneapolis; Minn State Congregational Club; corporate member Am Board Foreign Missions; member Cong Home Missionary Board; pres Minn State Sunday School Assn 2 years; trustee Carleton College. 


Charles A. Joerns
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOERNS CHARLES A, Minneapolis.  Res 2065 Commonwealth av, office Furniture & Exposition bldg.  Manufacturer.  Born Feb 4, 1871 in Winooski, Sheboygan county Wis. son of Frederick C and Helen B (Schroeder) Joerns.  Married Nov 21, 1900 to Louise Benson.  Educated in Plymouth public schools; Chicago College of Pharmacy 1892-93.  Engaged in drug business Minneapolis 1889-92; drug buiness Chicago 1893-97; drug business for self 1897-99; mngr St Anthony Park Branch of American Folding Bed Co of Sheboygan Wis 1899-1901; now sec and treas of Joerns Bros Mnfg Co. 


George Johantgen
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHANTGEN GEORGE, Minneapolis.  Res 609 23d av N, office 305 Nicollet av.  Jeweler.  Born May 9, 1873 in Minneapolis, son of Frank and Elizabeth (Shepple) Johantgen.  Educated in public schools and business college Minneapolis.  In grocery business until 1893; learned jewelry mnfg and engaged in same 1893-1903; in same as Johantgen & Kohl to date.  Member Masonic fraternity. 


Adolph E. L. Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON Adolph E L, Minneapolis.  Res 2737 Dupont av S, office 913 N Y Life bldg.  Lawyer.  Born July 23, 1877 in Sweden.  Attended public and high schools at Minneapolis; graduated from U of M, LL B 1899; School of Comparative Jurisprudence and Diplomacy Columbian Univ Washington D C, LL M 1901 and D C L 1902.  Has practiced law in Minneapolis 1899 to date; now associated with Jno W Arctander in the practice of law. 1st asst chief clk House of Representatives sessions 1903 and 1905.  Chief clk of Minn House of Representatives session 1907.  Member Kappa Sigma college fraternity and Masonic order. 


Aleck E. Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON ALECK E, New York.  Office 100 Washington av S, Minneapolis.  Steamship and land agent.  Born in 1840 in Sweden.  Educated at Mt Carroll (Ill) Seminary.  Came to Minn 1856 and engaged in immigration work; state immigration agt for Minn at New York and Chicago 1867-68; appointed gen western Scandinavian agt for Cunard Line 1869; gen western mngr for same 1878-81; comnr of immigration for St M & M R R at St Paul 1881-83; then formed firm of A E Johnson & Co gen land and immigration agts, which has since been changed to A E Johnson Co, of which he is pres. 


Charles Henry Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON CHARLES HENRY, Minneapolis.  Res 76 Highland av, office 225 Lumber Exchange.  Lumberman.  Born June 1860 in Randolph Wis. son of William W and Marie E (Seckran) Johnson.  Married in 1885 to Carra M Mills.  Educated in public schools of Algona Ia and Iowa State Univ.  First employed in lumber business in Algona and Emmettsburg Ia 1880-86; in lumber manufacturing business in Mineapolis 1886-1904; pres and treas W W Johnson & Co incorporated as W W Johnson Co lumber mnfrs 1904 to date.  Member Masonic fraternity; Commercial and Minneapolis clubs.


Denman F. Johnson
[Source: A Biographical Dictionary of Leading Living Men of the State of Minnesota, 1907, page 266] submitted by Robin Line
Johnson, Denman F., grain and stocks; born at Minneapolis, Minn., Dec. 18, 1873; son of Charles W. and Mary A. (Rich) Johnson; educated in public schools of Minneapolis and at the Lawrenceville (N. J.) Preparatory School. Began active career with Harrison. Hopwood & Cross, wholesale dry goods, Minneapolis, 1902, continuing until Dec., 1904; was in employ of F. H. Peavey & Co., grain dealers, Feb., 1895-1901; was Northwestern manager for Finley, Barrell & Co., Chicago, 1901-1904; has been member of the firm of Piper, Johnson Co., grain, stocks, bonds and provisions since 1904. Independent in politics. Member Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, Duluth Board of Trade, Chicago Board of Trade, Chicago Stock Exchange, Winnipeg Grain Exchange. Married at Minneapolis, 1901, to Miss Gertrude Linton. Clubs: Minneapolis Minikahda, Lafayette. Recreations: Automobiling, golf, hunting and fishing. Office: Chamber of Commerce Bldg. Residence: 15 W. 24th St., Minneapolis.

Edward Morrill Johnson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Edward Morrill Johnson was born in Fisherville, Merrimac County, New Hampshire, November 24, 1850. In 1854 his parents moved to St. Anthony, now a part of Minneapolis, where they have since continuously resided. His father, Luther G. Johnson is well known to pioneer settlers of this section, having been engaged actively as a manufacturer and merchant until recent years. He was a member of the firm of Kimball, Johnson & Co., and of L. G. Johnson & Co., two of the earliest mercantile and manufacturing concerns of the city, the last named firm having established the first furniture factory in Minneapolis. Mr. Johnson's ancestors upon both his father's and mother's side were among the earliest settlers of New England. Among the former were a number of prominent founders of Andover, Massachusetts, and Concord, New Hampshire, as well as members of the Committee of Safety during the Revolutionary War. He first attended the pioneer school, which was kept in a small frame building in St. Anthony, on what is now University avenue, between Second and Third avenue S. E. a building well remembered by the earliest settlers of the city. Later he entered the first high school in the city, which was organized at St. Anthony about 1863. The school year 1866-67 was spent at the Pennsylvania Military Academy, at Chester. He then attended for four years the Minnesota State University, which had been reopened in 1867, but left there before any class graduated, and was for some time in his father's employment. In January 1873, Mr. Johnson went to Europe, where he remained nearly three years. While there he visited nearly all of Central Europe, but spent the most of his time at the universities of Heidelberg and Berlin, where he studied law, including Roman and international law, under Professors Windschied, Bluntschli, Gueist and Bruns. He also attended courses of lectures by Mommsen, Curtius, Grimm, Treitschke, Wagner and other celebrated German professors. At the end of the year 1875 Mr. Johnson returned to Minneapolis and early the following year entered the law offices of Judge J. M. Shaw & A. L. Levi; later he attended the law school of the Iowa State University at Iowa City, where he graduated in 1877. Soon afterward he opened a law office in Minneapolis in partnership with Mr. E. C. Chatfield. Later this partnership was dissolved and for four years he was alone. In January 1882, Mr. C. B. Leonard entered into partnership with Mr. Johnson. This firm, with the addition of Mr. Alexander McCune, still continues. Mr. Johnson has made a specialty of the law of corporations, real estate and municipal bonds. He has been the attorney and counselor of the Farmers and Mechanics Savings Bank of Minneapolis since 1883. For ten years he was clerk and attorney for the Board of Education. In 1883 he was elected to the city council from the Second ward, and served in that body until 1890, when he resigned, being at that time its president. It is generally conceded, that, during Mr. Johnson's term in the city council, his views were most frequently the controlling ones of that body. His career during that time was marked with the same steadfastness and fearlessness that has constituted him a leader among men. One of the most important innovations of recent years in municipal taxation originated with Mr. Johnson, and by his unceasing efforts was brought to a successful trial. It is what is known as the Permanent Improvement Fund, by means of which a city is enabled to improve and beautify its streets while the tax upon property owners for payment of the expense is divided into five equal annual assessments. Since the successful operation of this measure in Minneapolis the principle has been incorporated into the laws of some of our surrounding states. By Mr. Johnson's tact the system of street railway transfers was brought about. That Mr. Lowry realized this fact and gave him the credit of forcing the measure upon his company is manifest in a reminder Mr. Lowry presented Mr. Johnson in the form of a transfer check printed upon satin and handsomely framed in mahogany. A few years ago a suspension bridge stood on the site of the present Steel Arch Bridge. The roadway was narrow and was fast becoming inadequate to the demands made upon it. and the strain of projected electric cars would have proved more than the bridge could sustain. With remarkable firmness Mr. Johnson undertook to replace the suspension bridge with one of steel. The cause he so championed created great public opposition, but he fought it through to a successful termination, and today no one of Mr. Johnson's efforts is more appreciated by the public than that of securing the fine steel arch bridge in place of the old suspension one. One of Mr. Johnson's most valuable services to the public was in connection with the Minneapolis Public Library. Through his efforts the plan finally adopted sprang into vital action. As chairman of the council committee which had that matter under consideration, as well as chairman of the council committee on legislation, he drafted the Library Board charter and urged it through the legislature. Poole, the recognized authority on library matters, said it was one of the best laws for the government of libraries he had ever examined. After securing the passage of the library act he was made one of the directors of the Library Board, and has been and is now one of its most efficient members. As a director of the Society of Fine Arts Mr. Johnson has given it enthusiastic support. In 1887 he was appointed one of the commissioners having in charge the erection of the new courthouse and city hall, and was for a number of years its vice-president, chairman of its financial committee, a member of its building committee, and for the past two years its president. In all these positions of responsibility Mr. Johnson has given his time and labor without one thought of pecuniary reward. Through his efforts the Northwestern Casket Company and the Minneapolis Office and School Furnishing Company were established; and of both concerns he has long been president. In politics Mr. Johnson has always been a Republican and actively interested in the success of his party. In 1892 he was chairman of the city committee, and by virtue of such office was a member of the Republican Campaign Committee of that year. In 1894 he was appointed chairman of the County Committee, which made him chairman of the Republican Campaign Committee. In 1896 he was appointed member at large and secretary of the State Central Committee. In 1890 Mr. Johnson married Effie S. Richards, daughter of Mr. W. O. Richards, of Waterloo, Iowa. He has a pleasant home on Fourth street and Tenth avenue S. E., in the immediate vicinity of where his parents located in 1854, and still reside.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio.

JOHNSON EDWARD MORRILL, Minneapolis.  Res 925 4th S E, office 936 Guaranty bldg.  Lawyer.  Born Nov 24, 1850 in Fisherville, Merrimac county N H, son of Luther G Johnson.  Married 1890 to Effie S Richards of Waterloo Ia.  Attended the Pioneer School and first high school in St Anthony established 1863; Pennsylvania Military Academy Chester Pa 1866-67; U of M 1867.  Studied in Europe taking law courses in Berlin and Heidelberg universities for several years.  Returned to Minneapolis 1875 and road law in the offices of Hon John M Shaw and Hon A L Levi, 1 year.  Attended law school Iowa City graduating 1877.  Formed partnership with E C Chatfield; later practiced alone 4 years; formed partnership with C B Leonard 1882 and later admitted Alex McCune.  Clerk and atty of Board of Education 10 years; member city council 1883-90; prominently identified with Minneapolis Public Library since its beginning; drafted library board charter and served as member of board of directors.  Chairman City Republican Committee 1892; candidate Republican Committee 1894; member at large and sec State Central Committee. 


Frederick C. Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON FREDERICK C, Minneapolis.  Res 1300 Harmon pi, office 426 2d av.  Wholsale grocer.  Born Dec 19, 1857 in St Anthony Minn, son of John C and Anna C (Tilton) Johnson.  Educated in common schools and U of M 1870-73.  Engaged in mercantile busines until 1887; employed in grocery business by Dunham & Johnson 1887; later firm changed to John C Johnson & Co; incorporated 18S9 at which time became pres.


Gustavus Johnson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Gustavus Johnson is a teacher of music and composer in Minneapolis. His father, Peter Johanson (Johan being the Swedish for John), was a merchant in Stockholm from 1860 until his death in 1887. Previous to 1860 he was for some twenty-five years a successful business man in England, whither he went at the age of seventeen from Sweden, the country of his birth. In England he married Henrietta Hole, daughter of the late Admiral Lewis Hole, of the English Navy. Admiral Hole, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was for seventy-five years in her majesty's naval service and was at the time of his death, his age being ninety-two, the oldest officer in the English navy. He had fought in many battles, the most notable being that of Trafalgar, where he was lieutenant under Lord Nelson and where he fought on the same ship on which Nelson was killed. Gustavus Johnson, the subject of this sketch, was born at Hull, England, November 2, 1856. He was four years of age when his father returned with his family to Sweden and located at Stockholm. Gustavus attended the regular high school there and the Royal Conservatory of Music. His principal teachers were: In piano, Linstrom, Mankell and Nordquist; in theory, Mankell, and Winge and in singing, Haekanson. Mr. Johnson continued the study of music until 1875. He was also given a business training in a commercial college in Stockholm, and at the age of nineteen, in 1875, came to Minneapolis, where he has been engaged in teaching the piano, with short intervals of residence in other places. For three years his residence was in Wisconsin, and at various times he has traveled and played in concerts in every city of any consequence in the Northwest. He has achieved especial distinction as a performer and for his general theoretical knowledge of his art. Many of his pupils have become finished artists and others successful teachers. He has also attained to some eminence and popularity as a composer, many of his compositions having been published--among them a piano concerto, with full orchestra accompaniment; a trio for piano, violin and 'cello; a violin sonata; numerous smaller works for the voice; anthems, quarters, songs, etc., and, besides, several piano pieces, some of which are used in their instruction by the best teachers all over the country. Prof. Johnson is a member of Hennepin Lodge, A. F. and A. M. He was married in 1882 to Caroline Francis Winslow, of South Royalton, Vermont. Mrs. Johnson is of an old New England family and a direct descendant of Edward Winslow, who came over in the Mayflower, and one of the early Colonial governors of Massachusetts. Mr. and Mrs. Johnson have one daughter, Laura Louise, born in 1890.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON GUSTARUS, Minneapolis.  Res 42-44 S 8th st.  Musical instructor and composer.  Born Nov 2, 1856 in Hull England, son Peter and Henrietta (Hole) Johnson.  Married in 1882 to Caroline Frances Winslow.  Educated in high school Stockholm and Royal Conservatory of Music.  Came to Minneapolis 1875 and engaged in teaching piano; composer of note; now dir of Johnson School of Music Minneapolis.  Member Masonic fraternity.


Henry O. Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON HENRY O, Minneapolis.  Res 1019 W 28th st, office 402 Lumber Exchange.  Lumberman.  Bon; Feb 25, 1883 in Detriot Minn, son of N P and Johanna S Johnson.  Educated in common schools and by private instruction until 1900.  Enlisted in 16th U S Inf and served in the Philippines 1900-1903: engaged in lumber and building material business Minneapols 1903 to date.  Adjutant of Camp A R Patterson No 1 Minnesota Division Army of the Philippines.  Member I O O F and Hoo Hoo's. 


Julius Johnson
[Source: The History of Renville County, Minnesota, Illustrated, Volume II; by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge, H. C. Cooper Jr. & Co. Chicago (1916) transcribed by Larry Lakey]
Julius Johnson, M. D., physician and surgeon of Minneapolis, with offices at 608 Physicians and Surgeons Building, was born on the home place, section 28, Sacred Heart township, Dec. 21, 1877, son of Ole and Lisa (Hendrickson) Johnson. He was reared on the home farm, attended the district schools, entered the Minnesota State Normal school at St. Cloud, taught in the public schools of Renville county two years, and in 1906 was graduated from the medical department of Hamline University. After the usual hospital practice as interne he opened his present offices where he maintains a large practice. He was married, in 1910, to Mary Mills, daughter of John and Anna (Bakken) Mills, and they have a child, Loraine M., born March 21, 1915.

ALSO:
[Source: A History of Swedish Americans of Minnesota, Vol. 2, 1910, page 639-640, rll]
Dr. Julius Johnson is a prominent representative of the medical profession in Minneapolis, and has gained a distinctive prestige in the practice of his chosen calling. Born at the town of Sacred Heart, Minnesota, December 21, 1877, he is a son of Ole and Lizzie (Hendrickson) Johnson, who were farming people in Renville county, near Sacred Heart. In their family were four children, Frederick and Henry, twins, August and Julius. The father of this family died in the year 1891, and both he and his wife were members of the Lutheran church.

Dr. Julius Johnson in his early life enjoyed good educational advantages. He attended the public schools of Sacred Heart until he was seventeen, and then entering the State Normal he studied there for two years, after which he taught for a similar period, and then again entered the State Normal for another year. From there he went to Hamlin University and graduated from its medical department in 1906 and then for one year was house physician at St. Barnabas Hospital. In June of 1907 Dr. Johnson opened an office at 2123 Chicago avenue in Minneapolis, and has since been engaged in the practice of medical science and their correct application. He is a member of the Hennepin County Medical Society, of the State Medical Association; also the American Medical Association, the Swedish Brotherhood and the order of Good Templars.


Lawrence Henry Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON LAWRENCE HENRY, Minneapolis.  Res 2217 Grand av. office 968 Laurel av.  Speaker of Minnesota House of Representatives.  Born Dec 17, 1862 in Germany, son of Andrew C and Botilde (Peterson) Johnson.  Married in 1891 to Nellie Smith.  Received common school education.  Came to U S with parents 1875; attended school Augusta N Y and worked on farm 1875-79; moved to Durand Mich 1879; postoffice clk at Greenville 1880-83; moved to Minneapolis 1883; employed by Minneapolis Bridge Co 5 years; later performing contract work in bridge construction; engaged in business for self as the Hennepin Bridge Co, of which he has been pres 1900 to date.  Republican member of Minnesota Legislature since 1901; now speaker of the House of Representatives.  Member Masonic order and B P O E; Commercial and Odin clubs.


Nimrod A. Johnson
[Source: A History of Swedish-Americans of Minnesota, Volume 2, page 562, rll]
Dr. Nimrod A. Johnson has gained distinctive prestige as one of the most able and successful of the young practitioners of medicine in the city of Minneapolis. He was born near Winthrop in Sibley County, Minnesota, October 1, 1880, son of Nels and Augusta (Gunderson) Johnson, both of whom were born in Sweden but came to the United States in their early lives. Nels Johnson was one of the early pioneers of Sibley county and was very prominent in its early history. He located there when a young man, and securing government land he made a good farm there, and as the country became more thickly settled and seeing the necessity of railroad facilities he was active in agitating the questions, and to him belongs the honor of being one of the most important factors in securing to Sibley county its first railroad. He still resides on and owns the land which he secured in pioneer days, and is one of the honored early pioneers of that county. In his family were sis children,-Nimrod A., Arthur, Sidney, Norton, May and Alice.

After a public school education in Sibley county Dr. Nimrod A. Johnson enrolled in Carlton College and from there passed on the the University of Minnesota and was graduated from its medical department in 1905. During the year following his graduation he served as house physician in the Swedish Hospital, and then opening an office at the corner of Twenty-Fifth street and Twenty-seventh avenue in Minneapolis he is maintaining his position among the leaders of the medical fraternity here. He is a member of the Hennepin county Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the Swedish American Medical Club, and South Side Commercial Club, the Brotherhood of American Yeomen and the Ancient Order of Woodmen.

Dr. Johnson was married, March 16, 1909, to Miss Dora Anderson, daughter of Mrs. J. W. Anderson, of Minneapolis, Mrs. Johnson is of Swedish parentage, but was born and educated in Minneapolis.


Samuel Paige Johnson
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900 - Tr. By Debbie Gibson

DR. SAMUEL PAIGE JOHNSON, the pioneer dentist of the city of Grand Forks, and the second to locate within the limits of the state, is one of the most widely known men in North Dakota.

Dr. Johnson is a native of Essex county, New York, and was born February 4, 1852. His parents, Samuel and Lura (Fisher) Johnson, were natives of New York, and the father died when our subject was an infant. To the public schools of his native state, principally the union free schools of West Port, our subject is indebted for his preliminary education. In 1873 he went to Minneapolis, Minnesota, and there entered the State University, and was in attendance at that institution for three years. In 1877 he began the study of dentistry in the Minneapolis Dental College, having studied prior to that time for three years under the instruction of Dr. Bowman, of Minneapolis, and continued there three years, until he came to Grand Forks and has continued to practice there since.

In 1887 Dr. Johnson took a special course of lectures under Dr. Howard, of Chicago. And has been a constant student of the art and science to which he has devoted so much attention. He is a member of the State Dental Society of North Dakota, and was secretary for seven years of the state dental examining board. He has made a success of his profession, and has built up a large and well established practice. The first wife of Dr. Johnson was Miss Lucy A. Pierce, whom he married in Minnesota in 1881. She died in 1887, leaving no children, and Dr. Johnson was again married in 1889 in the state of Wisconsin to Miss Laura B. Bowman. To Dr. and Mrs. Johnson two children have been born, one son and one daughter. Dr. Johnson is a highly esteemed member of the community, and is popular in social circles. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and of the American Yeomen. He has attained a degree of renown for his inimitable lectures and impersonations, and is well known throughout the state, as well as in the neighboring states of Minnesota and Wisconsin, where he has attracted attention by his humorous productions from the platform.


Samuel Theodore Johnson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JOHNSON SAMUEL THEODORE, Minneapolis.  Res 2552 Aldrich av S, office Minnesota Nat'l Bank.  Banker.  Born Nov 16, 1858 near Indianapolis Ind, son of Dr Lawrence A and Almira H (Dane) Johnson.  Married in 1880 to Katharine Starr.  Educated in Indiana public schools and academies.  Trav salesman 1876-88; investments, banking and fire insurance 1888-1902; public examiner and supt banks Minn 1902-1905; originated system of examination of railroad, express and telephone companies' books by state; member citizens committee to investigate city affairs 1895-96; v pres Minneapolis Board of Trade 4 years; v pres and acting pres Minnesota Nat'l Bank Minneapolis Jan 1905 to date; v pres Mortgage, Loan & investment Co. Member Masonic order, Knights Templar and Mystic Shrine; Commercial Club Minneapolis; first honorary member Nat'l Assn State Bank Supts and twice its pres; member citizen's staff John A Rawlins Post GAR.


William E. Johnson
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

William E. Johnson is a member of the Minnesota senate, elected from the Twenty-ninth District, which comprises a part of the city of Minneapolis, he is a son of the late James Johnson, and was born at Palestine, Columbiana County, Ohio, February 8, 1850. His ancestry were among the early settlers of New Jersey, Pennsylvania and Ohio. They settled near Cleveland, Ohio, in the year 1810, and took part in the Revolutionary War and in the Indian wars of the early history of Ohio. Senator Johnson was educated in the common schools, and began business in the railway service in which he was engaged until 1891. He went to South Dakota in 1881 as assistant superintendent of the Dakota division of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, and was the principal mover in the organization and settlement of Hand County having it surveyed by the United States government and opened for settlement. This was done, too, in a time which required nerve, enterprise and perseverance to secure an economical and business-like management of public affairs, there being so many men ready in those days to take advantage in the organization of new counties to set up schemes for their private advantage, but both Hand and Beadle Counties owe to Mr. Johnson's prudence and careful management the fact that they were unusually free from the burdens which were laid upon many of the new Western communities. When he left that country some ten years later the people gave him a handsome testimonial in recognition of his public services. He came to Minneapolis in 1891 and accepted the presidency of the Guaranty Savings and Loan Association in Minneapolis. He has taken an active interest in building up this line of financial investment, and has a national reputation as a promoter of building and loan associations. He is a member of the executive committee of the Interstate League of National Building and Loan Associations of the United States. This committee consists of seven members, and is organized on lines similar to that of the American Bankers Association. Mr. Johnson never took a very active part in politics until 1894, when he was selected by his district as a candidate for the state senate. He was elected as a member of that body, and in the session of 1895 received his first introduction to public affairs. He is a Republican in his affiliations, and occupied an important position in the delegation which represented his city in the senate. As a member of that body he took an active interest in labor legislation; was a member of the committee on labor, and exerted an important influence in shaping the legislation of the session. Mr. Johnson is thoroughly in sympathy with the labor classes, and a firm believer in their improvement and betterment through education, believing that a better understanding of the relations between labor and capital by both employer and employee will greatly promote a more harmonious relation and more judicious co-operation between them. Mr. Johnson is an attendant on the services of the Episcopal Church, and enjoys the confidence and esteem of a large circle of acquaintances, who hold him in high regard for his personal qualities and devotion to public interest. He takes an active interest in municipal questions, and is a diligent student of the problems of municipal government. He is a firm believer in the mayoralty system of municipal government, believing that that office should have large powers and a wide range of authority. Mr. Johnson was married at Lima, Indiana, to Harriet I. McNabb, June 2, 1869, and has five children.


John W. Johnston
Source: History of Anoka County and the Towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota, by Albert M. Goodrich (1905) Transcribed by Jackie McCarty

John W. Johnston was born at St. George, New Brunswick, June 23, 1832. He received a high school education and engaged in farming and lumbering. He came to Minnesota in 1855 and three years later to Champlin, where he has been variously engaged in farming, lumbering, merchandise and meat market, and also in the hotel business. He was treasurer of school district 37 for a number of years. Mr. Johnston was married Nov.3, 1861, to Rebecca L. Davis. Children: George W. (deceased), John F., Grace (Mrs. A. Bickford), Alice (deceased), Jesse Winn (deceased), May (Mrs. Thompson), Laura (Mrs. N. A. Nason), Belle (Mrs. C. T. Peppard), Frederick, Irene (Mrs. M. J. Donahue), Hester and Ruby D.


Robert Hoit Johnston
[Source: A Biographical Dictionary of Leading Living Men of the State of Minnesota, 1907, page 270] submitted by Robin Line
Johnston, Robert Hoit, lawyer; born at Chicago, Ill., Jan. 14, 1871; son of Alexander and Sarah Jane (Hoit) Johnston; educated in Chicago public schools, Evanston (Ill.) High School, Williams College, Northwestern University Law school. Practiced law in Chicago, 1894-97, and in New York City, 1897-1902; admitted to Minnesota bar, 1902; treasurer of the Metropolitan Music Co., since 1904. Republican. Presbyterian. Member Zeta Psi fraternity. Married, at St. Paul, Minn., Feb. 9, 1898, to Miss Josephine Dyer. Recreation; Music. Office; 41 S. 6th St. Residence: The Concord, 65 S. 11th St., Minneapolis.


David Percy Jones
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907), transcribed by Mary Saggio. 

JONES DAVID PERCY, Minneapolis.  Res 2005 3d av S. office 111 S 4th st.  Real estate, insurance and loans.  Born July 6. 1860 in Minneapolis, son of Edwin Smith and Harriet M (James) Jones.  Graduated from Minneapolis High School 1878; U of M. B A 1883; pres David P Jones & Co mortgage loans, real estate, rentals and insurance 1900 to date: pres Jones-Davis Agency; v pres Hennepin Countv Savings Bank.  Alderman 5th ward Minneapolis 6 years; pres city council 6 years; acting mayor July 1901 to Jan 1902; mayor Jan 1, 1905 to 1907.  Trustee Carleton College and Windom Institute; member Loyal Legion: Minneapolis, Commercial and Six O'Clock clubs: corporate member American Board of Missions; ex-com Natural Municipal League.


Harry Wild Jones
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Harry Wild Jones is an Architect in Minneapolis. Mr. Jones is the son of Rev. Howard M. Jones, at present retired and living at Cedar Falls, Iowa. Rev. Howard M. Jones was the son of the late Dr. John Taylor Jones, who was for many years a missionary at Bangkok, Siam, where Howard M. was born, and from which place he was sent to this country when four years old to be educated. He graduated from Brown University in the class of 1853, and from the Newton Theological Seminary in 1857, after which he traveled in Europe and Palestine for several months. He then entered the ministry and served parishes in New York, New England, Iowa and Michigan. His wife, the mother of the subject of this sketch, was Mary White, the eldest daughter of the late Rev. Dr. Samuel Francis Smith, the venerated author of the national hymn "America." and many other well-known sacred hymns. Dr. Smith was also a linguist of some note. Harry W., the subject of this sketch, was born in Michigan in 1859, and educated at the University grammar school at Providence, R. I., and Brown University. Leaving there in 1880 he spent two years at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in Boston in the study of architecture. At the completion of his course in the institute he entered the office of the late H. H. Richardson as a student and draughtsman. Here he remained for a year, and he regards the time spent under the tutelage of this man, one of the greatest of modern architects, as of the highest value to him, and feels that the influence attending the association with so great a master had much to do with moulding his tastes in his chosen art and profession. In 1883 he married Miss Bertha J. Tucker, of Boston, and in July of the same year came to Minneapolis to establish himself in his profession. The first year in Minneapolis was spent in the office of Plant & Whitney, architects. He then went to Europe, where he spent several months in travel and study, returning in 1885 and opening an office on his own account as an Architect. During the past eleven years in which he has practiced his profession in Minneapolis he has made plans for several hundred buildings of both a public and a private nature, and has counted among his clients the Bank of Commerce, the University of Minnesota, the Minnesota Land and Investment Company, of Minneapolis; George A. Pillsbury, H. E. Ladd and S. G. Cook, of Minneapolis, and the Minneapolis Street Railway Company. His work has not been confined to Minneapolis, however, but may be found in New York, New Hampshire, Massachusetts, Ohio, Illinois, Wisconsin, Iowa, Missouri, Kansas, the Dakotas and the District of Columbia. For two years he filled the position of professor of architecture in the University of Minnesota, at the same time, carrying on the practice of his profession. In 1892 he was elected by the Republicans to membership on the Park Board of Minneapolis for a period of six years. He is a director of the Board of Trade, and also of the Young Men's Christian Association, and holds membership in the Commercial Club. He is also President of the Minnesota Chapter of the American Institute of Architects. In a recent competition for plans for the new Minnesota state capitol, Mr. Jones was awarded the fifth prize of $500, among forty-two competing architects. Mr. Jones religious affiliations are with the Baptist Society and includes membership in the Calvary Church of Minneapolis. He has three children living. Harry, Malcolm. Mary White and Arthur Leo.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis.  Res Nicollet av cor 51st st. office 923 Lumber Exchange.  Architect.  Born 1859 in Michigan, son of Rev Howard M and Mary White (Smith) Jones.  Married 1883 to Bertha J Tucker of Boston.  Educated in univ grammer school Providence R.I.; Brown Univ and Mass Institute of Technology.  Entered office of H H Richardson as draughtsman for 1 year.  Moved to Minneapolis 1883 and was engaged in office of Plant & Whitney architects.  Returned to Minneapolis and opened an office of his own 1885, where he has been engaged in the practice of his profession to date.  Professor of architecture in U of M 2 years; member Park Board 12 years.  Member Commercial Club.


Herschell V. Jones
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis.  Res 1816 Colfax av S, office Lumber Exchange.  Journalist and crop estimator.  Born in 1861 in Jefferson, NY, son of William S and Helen E (Merchant) Jones.  Married Sept. 30, 1885 to Lydia E. Wilcox.  Educated in public schools Jefferson NY; Delaware Literary Institute Franklin NY.  Entered business as publisher Jefferson (NY) Courier 1879-83; engaged on editorial staff Minneapolis Journal (1 year on Tribune) 1885-1902.  Originator of wheat crop estimates made from personal inspection of growing northwest crops 1902; has since broadened the field to cover the US and travels 30,000 miles annually observing wheat in fields; his reports are strongly influential and quoted throughout US and Europe.  Discovered black rust in Northwest 1904; was severely criticized but afterwards vindicated and his reputation greatly enhanced.  Now editor  and pres Commercial West Co and member of firm of Watson Co Minneapolis.  Member Minneapolis, Commercial, Minikahda and Skylight clubs.


Ray W. Jones
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer 

Minneapolis.  Res 302 Oak Grove st. office Lumber Exchange, Lumber.  Born Apr 5, 1855 in Remsen, NY, son of John R and Jennette Jones.  Married in 1888 to Pauline B Spitzley of Detroit Mich.  Educated in public schools Remsen and Utica NY.  Engaged in banking business Muskeegon Mich 1874-82; lumber in all its branches in Michigan, Minnesota and British Columbia 1881 to date.  Member Republican Convention Philadelphia 1900 and was appointed member of notification committee for Minnesota.  Elected lieut-gov 1902; re-elected 1904.  Member Commercial Club.


William Alexander Jones
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer 

Minneapolis.  Res 307 Ridgewood av, office 513 Pillsbury bldg.  Physician (R).  Born May 24, 1859 at St Peter Minn, son of Henry and M A V (Christian) Jones.  Graduated from St Peter Minn High School 1872; Univ City of New York medical dept M D 1881.  Has practiced medicine 1881 to date.  Attending neurologist Northwestern Hospital, St Mary's Hospital, Asbury Methodist Hospital, City Hospital and Norwegian and Swedish hospitals Minneapolis; clinical professor mental and nervous diseases U of M medical dept; editor Journal Minn State Medical Assn.  Member Minn State Board of Health; Am Medical Assn; Minnesota State and Hennepin County Medical societies; Minneapolis and Minikahda clubs Minneapolis.


John J. Jordan
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Brenda Shaffer

JOHN J. JORDAN, editor and proprietor of the Morning Call, of Fargo, North Dakota, is known in newspaper circles as an editor of much strength of mind, and moral influence. His paper is one of the newsy sheets of the state, and his editorials are widely quoted. He has devoted his career to the work, and is thoroughly conversant with the handling of intricate questions.
Mr. Jordan was born in Canada, March 18, 1848, and was one of two sons born to Phillip and Susan (Hammond) Jordan, both of whom were natives of Canada. The family moved to Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1853, and the father was a blacksmith by trade. He died at Minneapolis and the mother at Morris, Minnesota, and our subject is now the only surviving member of the family, with the exception of one sister, a resident of South Dakota.
John J. Jordan was reared and educated in Minneapolis, and then entered the office of the old "Minneapolis Atlas," which later was merged into the "Minneapolis Tribune." He remained in that office twenty-one years in the mechanical department, and was foreman of the "Tribune" for fourteen years. He went to Fargo, North Dakota, in 1883, and purchased the "Fargo Daily Republican," which he conducted until 1895, when he sold the paper to Major Edwards, and after one year accepted the position of managing editor of the "Argus," continuing thus until August, 1898. He then founded the "Morning Call," and the paper has gained in circulation and strength continuously, and is entitled to prominent mention among the papers of the state.
Mr. Jordan was married, in 1898, to Miss Marion G. Lewis, a native of Vermont. Mr. Jordan is a member of the Masonic fraternity, and enjoys the respect of his associates. He is a Republican in political sentiment, and stands firmly for the principles of the party which he represents. He is active in his labors for the welfare of his city, and is ever willing to support by his means or his pen any feasible plan to the upbuilding of his community.


William G. Jordan
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis. Res 1132 Nicollet av, office 125 Washington av N. Merchant. Born Aug 28, 1861 in Richland, Ia, son of Wm A and Maria (McGGrew) Jordan. Married April 24, 1897 to Bernice A Brown. Attended common school Ottumwa Ia and Iowa Agricultural College Ames Ia. Employed in gen merchandise business 1881-98; moved to Des Monies Ia and engaged in whol drug business as Des Moines Drug Co 1898-1900; moved to Stillwater Minn 1900 and had charge of prison show plant until 1904; moved to Minneapolis and succeeded Anthony Kelly & Co as W B & W G Jordan. V pres N W Electric Equipment Co; partner Northern Mnfg Co. Member Masonic fraternity.


Colin Clinton Joslyn
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis. Res 3112 Hennepin av, office 616 NY Life bldg. Lawyer. Born in 1857 at Sycamore Ill, son of De Witt Clinton and Philura (Lowell) Joslyn. Married in 1899 to Maria Antoinette Rich. Attended district schools in Ill; graduated from Ripon College Wis 1883; principal of Columbus Wis public schools 1883 and 1884. Has practiced law in Minneapolis 1885 to date. Member Commercial Club.


Frank Melville Joyce
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Frank Melville Joyce - Colonel Frank M. Joyce was born at Covington, Indiana, March 18, 1862. His father is Bishop Isaac W. Joyce, one of the most distinguished of the bishops of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and now resident in Minneapolis. Bishop Joyce, when a minister in the denomination, went to Cincinnati from Indiana and became very popular as pastor of St. Paul and Trinity churches in that city. He was subsequently chosen bishop by the largest vote ever cast for that office. F. Al. Joyce's mother was Miss Carrie Bosserman, of an old Pennsylvania Dutch family. Bishop Joyce is of Irish descent. Colonel Joyce attended the public schools of Lafayette, Indiana, and afterwards graduated from Indiana Asbury University, now De Pauw University. He took the gold medal of his class for mathematics. During the last year of his college career he was major of the Cadet Battalion, and captain of the famous Asbury Cadets, who won the first national artillery prize at Indianapolis in 1882, over many competing batteries from all over the United States. Early in his college days he was initiated into the bonds of Beta Theta Pi, a prominent Greek letter fraternity, with which he has ever since been highly connected. After graduation he went to Cincinnati, Ohio, and became paying teller of the Queen City National Bank. Five years later he resigned to accept the general agency of the Provident Life and Trust Company, at Cincinnati. He was associated with that company until 1890 when he entered the services of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Company, of Newark, New Jersey, as district agent at Cincinnati. Having established himself as a successful and entirely reliable insurance man, Colonel Joyce, after a few years with the Mutual Benefit, was transferred to Minneapolis as state agent of that company for Minnesota and the Dakotas. Since coming to Minneapolis he has made a large circle of friends both in the social and business communities of the city. He is a member of the Hennepin Avenue Methodist church, and of the leading business organizations of the city. He is also a member of the Knights of Pythias, Blue Lodge, Chapter, Knights Templar, and is a thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Mason. He is also an honorary member of the Army and Navy Military Service Institute. Colonel Joyce's title is by no means an honorary one only. He was a commissioned officer of the Indiana Legion, and later commander of the Second Battery Ohio National Guard. It was while in this position, at the time of the famous Court House riots in Cincinnati in 1884, that he rendered such service as to receive the special commendation of Gov. Hoadly. In 1889 Colonel Joyce organized the Avon Rifles from among the best young men of Avondale, a suburb of Cincinnati, where he resided. He also had the honor of being a member of the personal staff of Governor McKinley, of Ohio, which position he held until he left the state. While in Cincinnati, Colonel Joyce was quite prominently connected with the musical affairs of the city, and was president of the Orpheus Club, the leading male chorus in a city famed for its musical culture, from the time of its organization until his removal to this city. On March 20, 1883, he was married to Miss Jessie F. Birch, daughter of the late Honorable Jesse Birch, a prominent lawyer of Bloomington, Illinois. They have four children, Arthur Reamy, Carolyn, Wilbur Birch, and Helen.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis. Res 310 Groveland av. Office 312-316 Andrns bldg. Insurance agent. Born March 18, 1862 at Covington Ind, son of Bishop Isaac W and Carrie W (Bosserman) Joyce. Attended public school at Lafayette Ind 1870-75; Stewart Hall Baltimore Md 1876; De Pauw Univ Green Castle Ind graduating A M 1882. Teller Queen City Nat'l Bank Cincinnati 1882-88; gen agt Provident Life & Trust Co at Cincinnati 1888-90; solicitor for Mutual Benefit Life Ins Co at Cincinnati 1890-94; state mngr for Mutual Benefit Life Ins Co of Newark NJ at Minneapolis 1894 to date. Served as colonel and aide on staff of Gov Wm McKinley Ohio; major Ind Nat'l Guard; capt Avon Zouaves Cincinnati. Pres Automobile Club Minneapolis; pres Beta Theta Pi Assn of Minneapolis; sec Apollo Club Minneapolis; member Minneapolis, Commercial and Lafayette clubs; Masonic order 32d degree Scottish Rite; K of P.


William Bishop Judd
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907); transcribed by Nina Kramer

Minneapolis. Res 515 E 17th st, office 226 Lumber Exchange. Lumber and cooperage stock. Born in 1860 at Faribault Minn. Son of William I and Mary A (Bishop) Judd. Married Minnie A Ayers Aug 8, 1883. Attended the public schools in Minneapolis until 1873; Shattuck Military School Faribault 1873-76; Williston College Easthampton Mass 1876-80 graduating AB. With Hall & Dann Co Minneapolis in charge of their mills in Wisconsin 1880-83; member of Judd & Allyn lumber mnfrs Baldwin Wis 1883-85; WB Judd lumber mnfr Barron Wis 1885-87; moved to Minneapolis 1887 and was northwestern representative of Sutherland-Innes Co Ltd of Chatham Ontario 1887-97; gen mngr of company's southern mills with headquarters at New Orleans 1897-1902; returned to Minneapolis and established firm of Backus-Judd Lumber & Cooperage Co 1904; sec and treas of same 1904 to date; whol jobbing; lumber and cedar products and cooperage stock; business all over US. Member Masonic order; K of P and Knights of the Maccabees.


Henry E. Ladd
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

One of the Minneapolis pioneers whose prosperity has been identified with the growth and development of the city is Mr. H. E. Ladd, now a prominent real-estate dealer and a member of the firm of Ladd & Nickels. Mr. Ladd comes of a family which has taken an interest in preserving its genealogical records, and he is therefore able to trace his ancestry back to Daniel Ladd, who came over from England in 1623. Daniel Ladd first settled at Epswich. In 1649 he was allotted lands at Haverhill, Massachusetts, and for six succeeding generations his descendants remained in this vicinity. Perley M. Ladd, Mr. H. E. Ladd's father, married Miss Hannah Reidhead, a descendant of Hannah Dustin, of Haverhill, whose heroic escape from captivity among the Indians in 1697 has preserved her memory among the heroines of early American history. The famous cloth in which Hannah Dustin carried the scalps has lately been left to Mr. Ladd. H. E. Ladd was born at Salem, Rockingham County, New Hampshire, December 17, 1847. When five years old, his father moved to Haverhill, where his ancestors had lived for so long, and young Henry grew up in the vicinity of his forefathers. When Henry was nineteen years of age the family removed to Minneapolis. The young man was willing to accept any honest occupation and at first was employed in taking tolls at the old suspension bridge. After obtaining a foothold in his new home he opened a fruit and confectionery store at No. 216 Hennepin Avenue. This business was afterward removed to Washington Avenue, and continued until 1874 when its proprietor sold out. He went East, and during his absence married Miss Anna M. Hagar, daughter of Reuben Hagar, of Union, Maine. Mr. Ladd spent a year in the East, and in 1877 again embarked in the confectionery business. But again he sold out, and made a trip to the Pacific coast. Returning to Minneapolis he engaged in the real-estate business in 1880. He met with an unusual degree of success. Five years later he took his present partner and continued the business under the firm name of Ladd & Nickels. The firm occupies a fine suite of rooms on the second floor of the Minnesota Loan & Trust Company's Building, and conduct an extensive real-estate and loaning business to which they have added an insurance and rental department. Under prudent and energetic management the business has reached large proportions. One of their methods is to never guarantee a loan. Within a few years past Mr. Ladd erected an elegant residence on Oak Grove Street, where he now resides. It is a handsome specimen of modern architecture. The material is cream-colored Kasota stone, and though not large, and building is complete and handsome in all its details.


William Atwood Lancaster
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

William Atwood Lancaster is a member of the bar of Minneapolis, where he has achieved an enviable reputation as a careful and conscientious practitioner. Mr. Lancaster is a son of Henry Lancaster, a farmer of moderate means, who resided at Detroit, Maine. Both the father and mother of the subject of this sketch were of mixed English and Scotch descent, but both were born and reared in Albion, Maine. Mr. Lancaster was born in Detroit, Maine, on December 29, 1859. He attended the common schools of his native village and subsequently entered the Maine Central Institute, at Pittsfield, where he graduated in 1877. He then entered Dartmouth College, but left at the end of his sophomore year to begin the study of law. He read law in Augusta, Maine, with Gardiner C. Vose and Loring Farr, and was admitted to practice in October, 1881. He removed to Boston, where he practiced law until June, 1884. Returning to Augusta, Maine, he continued the practice of his profession there until January, 1877. At this time he was attracted by the larger opportunities of the growing west, and especially by the inducements which Minneapolis had to offer as a place of residence and business, and in January, 1887, he located in this city and has been a resident of it ever since. Mr. Lancaster has devoted himself exclusively to the practice of his profession, never allowing his attention or efforts to be diverted in any other lines. The result has been a successful and constantly growing practice. He has always been a Democrat, but has never held any official position. He has, however, taken an active interest in promoting the interests of his party in a proper and legitimate way. He was a member in college of the Delta Kappa Epsilon society, but has never identified himself with any secret orders or other organizations of that character since he entered active life. On January 4, 1886, he was married to Kate I. Manson, daughter of Dr. J. C. Manson, of Pittsfield, Maine. They have no children. Mr. Lancaster is just in his prime, but has already attained the satisfaction of a successful professional career.


Homer D. Landis
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Brenda Shaffer

HOMER D. LANDIS, who stands among the foremost men of his calling in Richland county, is pursuing farming on section 23, in Devillo township. He has a well-improved estate, and although a resident of that locality a comparatively short time, has gained the respect of the entire community.

Mr. Landis was born in Gorham township, Fulton county, Ohio, October 9, 1859. He was reared on his father s farm in that township, and received a common school education. He resided with his parents until he reached his majority, when he went to Grass Lake, Jackson county, Michigan, where he engaged in farming for some years. He was then employed as section foreman on the Michigan Central Railroad for four and a half years, and on leaving Grass Lake went to Minneapolis, Minnesota. Here he followed the livery business chiefly for four and a half years, and in April, 1887, went to Richland county, North Dakota. He purchased one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 23, in Devillo township, and it is on that tract he now makes his home. He has added to his original purchase, and is now the owner of one-half section of land, on which he erected a complete set of good buildings, and is prepared to enjoy the comforts of country life.

Our subject was married in Minneapolis, Minnesota, to Miss Louisa Anderson, a native of Sweden. Mrs. Landis died in Devilla township, Richland county, May 10, 1896, leaving two children, as follows: Arthur D. and Clara L. Mr. Landis married Miss Ethel L. Barnes November 23, 1898, at Lidgerwood, Richland county. Mrs. Landis is a native of Minnesota. Our subject takes an active interest in church work, and is an attendant of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is strong in his convictions for right, and is an ardent worker for the interests of his township and county.


Freeman P. Lane
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ

Freeman P. Lane is a lawyer of Minneapolis, the son of poor but eminently respectable people of that city, who were able to give him only those educational advantages afforded by the common schools of the city. His father, Charles W. Lane, is a mechanic, his trade being that of carriage maker and blacksmith. His mother and father are both living in this city. They are of Scotch and Irish descent, honest people who have lived quiet and uneventful but useful lives. Beyond this brief statement Mr. Lane claims to know little about his ancestors, although, as he uniquely puts it, he has been a candidate for office. Freeman P. Lane was born in Eastport, Maine, April 20, 1853. He came with his parents to Minneapolis in 1861. From 1862 to 1865 he was the official bill poster of the town, and served his apprenticeship in business as a bootblack and newsboy, where he learned self-reliance and was trained in the severe school in which lads in his circumstances often acquire those qualifications which make for success in after life. During the summers of 1868 to 1871, inclusive, he was employed in building telegraph lines through Minnesota, Iowa and Dakota Territory. His ambition, however, was for professional life, and he began the study of law with Albee Smith in the old Academy of Music building, in 1872, and tried his first case before J. L. Himes, a justice of the peace. He attended the Albany Law School, at Albany, New York, in 1873 and 1874, and was admitted to practice in Albany in May of the latter year. He returned to Minneapolis and began the practice of his profession with George W. Hael, the style of the firm being Lane & Hael. Subsequently James H. Giddings became Mr. Lane's partner. He remained in partnership with Mr. Giddings for nine and a half years. He then formed a partnership with Fred B. Dodge, the style of the firm being Lane & Dodge. This partnership lasted for five years, after which the firm became Lane & Johnson, the new partner being Benjamin F. Johnson, with whom Mr. Lane was associated for two years. Since the dissolution of that firm Mr. Lane has been associated in business with Frank P. Nantz, under the name of Lane & Nantz. He has always taken an active interest in local and state politics, and was elected to the lower house of the legislature in 1888 as a Republican. Mr. Lane was married at Minneapolis, July 6, 1875, to Mollie Lauderdale, daughter of William H. Lauderdale. They have four children, Bessie, wife of Thomas F. Maguire, Ina, wife of John E. Christian, Mabel and Stuart.


Robert Bruce Langdon
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

From 1848, up to the time of his death, July 24, 1895, Mr. Langdon was engaged in the construction of railroads, and a full account of his life would almost comprise a history of railroad building in the United States during that period. Mr. Langdon was born on a farm in New Haven, Vermont, November 24, 1826. On both his father's and mother's side his ancestry was English. His father, Seth Langdon, was an agriculturist, and was also born at New Haven. His paternal grandfather was a captain of a Massachusetts regiment in the Revolutionary War. At its close he settled in Connecticut, but later removed to Vermont, and was one of the pioneers of that state. The mother of R. B. Langdon was of an English family by the name of Squires. Robert Bruce Langdon grew up to manhood in his native town, receiving his early education in the district schools, which was supplemented by a brief academical course. He began his business career in 1848, as the foreman of a construction company engaged in building the Rutland & Burlington Railroad in Vermont. A short time later he left his native state in the employment of Mr. Selah Chamberlain, coming West, and for several years was engaged in railroad construction work under his employer in Ohio and Wisconsin. The first contract Mr. Langdon received on his own account was for fencing the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad from Fond du Lae to Minnesota Junction. In 1853 he had charge of the construction of a section of seventy-five miles of the Illinois Central road from Kankakee, Illinois, to Urbana, Ohio, and later was engaged on contracts for the Milwaukee & La Crosse and the Milwaukee & Prairie du Chien railroads. The first ground broken for a railroad in Minnesota was done under the direction of Mr. Langdon in 1858. At the outbreak of the Civil War he was compelled to abandon the construction of the Mobile & Ohio Railroad, on which he had been engaged two years. During his business career as a railroad contractor, in association with D. M. Carpenter, D. C. Shepard, A. H. Linton and other gentlemen Mr. Langdon constructed more than seven thousand miles of railroad in the states of Vermont, Ohio, Wisconsin, Illinois, Indiana, Minnesota, Tennessee, Mississippi, Iowa, the Dakotas, Montana and the Northwest Territory. But in addition to being one of the foremost railroad contractors in the United States, he was connected with the management of some of the most important lines in the Northwest as a stockholder and director. He was vice president and a director of the Minneapolis & St. Louis Railroad, and for several years a vice president of the Minneapolis, Sault Ste. Marie & Atlantic Railroad. Mr. Langdon also turned his energies in other directions aside from that of railroad building, and was connected with numerous other enterprises in the Northwest. He was held in great esteem for his ability as a financier and his indomitable business energy, and his advice was sought as to a great many public, as well as private, enterprises. He built the canal of the Minneapolis Milling Company in 1866; was president of the company which built the Syndicate Block and the Masonic Temple in Minneapolis; was a director of the Twin City Stock Yards of New Brighton, and of the City Bank of Minneapolis; a partner in the wholesale grocery firm of George R. Newell & Co., and was interested in the Terminal Elevator Company and the Belt Railway, connecting the stock yards at New Brighton with the interurban systems of railroad. Not only was he active in all enterprises tending to the upbuilding of his city and state, but Mr. Langdon also took an active part as a legislator, and was distinguished for his close attention to the interests of the community which he represented and for his sound and practical ideas. He was connected with the Republican party all his life. In 1872 he was elected to the upper house of the state legislature, and his services were so satisfactory in that body that he was successively re-elected, serving continuously until 1878. In 1880 he was again elected to the senate and served until 1885. He was the choice of his party for the same office in 1888, but was beaten by his Democratic opponent by only a few votes, this defeat being due to the Farmers' Alliance landslide of that year. He was also a member of the state senate at the extra session called by Governor Pillsbury to act upon the adjustment of the state railroad bonds, and was an earnest supporter of all efforts made toward securing adequate legislation for the final settlement of this vexatious question. It is noteworthy of Mr. Langdon's popularity that he never had a competitor in a convention, receiving his nomination by acclamation. He often represented his party in state conventions, and was a delegate from Minnesota to three national conventions: at Cincinnati in 1876, and Chicago in 1884 and 1888. To his influence to a considerable extent is due the fact that Minneapolis secured the national convention in 1892. He had a large acquaintance among men of national reputation in this country, and his influence was widespread and potent, not only in molding the business and political destinies of his city and state, but in the councils and the national conventions of his party. He was a man of large, robust physique, and possessed a personality that was both magnetic and impressive. His numerous business enterprises did not deter him from studious habits formed in youth, and few men were his conversational equals on such a diversity of topics. The sterling qualities of his character were such as to endear him to men in all walks of life, and his death is mourned by a large circle of sincere and devoted friends. His name has been honored by having two towns named for him, viz.: Langdon, in North Dakota, and Langdon, in Minnesota. Mr. Langdon was for some time president of the Minneapolis Club. In his religious faith he was an Episcopalian, and up to the time of his death was a vestryman of St. Mark's Church. He was married in 1859 to Miss Sarah Smith, a daughter of Dr. Horatio A. Smith, of New Haven, Vermont. In 1866 he brought his family to Minneapolis, where they have ever since resided. The family consists of three children, Cavour S. Langdon, Mrs. H. C. Truesdale and Mrs. W. F. Brooks, all three of whom are married and live in Minneapolis.


Orlo Melvin Laraway
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

One of the early pioneers of Minneapolis was O. M. Laraway, the subject of this sketch, who came to the village by the falls of St. Anthony in 1857, and has been a prominent factor in its business life ever since, contributing much toward making Minneapolis the metropolis that it is today. Mr. Laraway is a native of the Buckeye State. He was born September 7, 1831, in Chardon, Genugu County, Ohio, the son of Stephen Van Rensselaer and Phoebe Spafford (Barber) Laraway. The father was a native of New York, having been born June 4, 1791, in Phillipstown, and following the occupation of farming. The mother was born at Castleton, Vermont, December 21, 1769. They moved with their family to Ohio in 1830. Their son Orlo obtained his early education in the common schools of his native town, and afterwards attended Geauga Seminary, where he was for one berm a schoolmate of James A. Garfield. After leaving school the boy worked on his father's farm for a year or two, and then for a few years clerked in stores in Youngstown and Warren, Ohio. In 1857, having made up his mind to come to the North Star State in order to grow up with the country, he located in Minneapolis. Here be opened a store for the sale of butter, cheese and dried fruits (in the shipment of which from Ohio he was interested). This store was located on the corner where the old Pence Opera House now stands. The business of this small provision store rapidly increased, Mr. Laraway gradually adding groceries to his stock, until in 1865 he went into the wholesale grocery business, with H. W, Mills, Mr. Mills later transferred his interest to J. H. Shuey, and the firm continued business under the name of Laraway & Shuey until the death of Mr. Shuey in 1870. Mr. Laraway then, in connection with some other gentlemen, organized the Minneapolis Plow Works. This manufacturing concern continued in business until 1882, when the property of the company was take for depot purposes by the Great Northern Railroad Company. At this time Mr. Laraway was appointed postmaster of Minneapolis, which office he held for the next four years. He had always taken an active interest in the local affairs of his city, and in 1859 was elected clerk of the board of town supervisors, and a year later was elected a member of the town board, which then consisted of only three members. In 1863 he was appointed Secretary of the Sioux Commission, a commission which was authorized by Act of Congress to settle claims of settlers for depredations committed by the Sioux Indians during the outbreak of 1862. In February, 1867, when the city of Minneapolis was organized, Mr. Laraway was elected city treasurer, which office he held continuously for a period of ten years. In 1886, after his term as postmaster had expired, Mr. Laraway engaged to the fire insurance business with his son, under the firm name of O. M. Laraway & Son, in which business he is still interested. He is also secretary of the Mechanics' & Workingmen's Loan & Building Association, which position he had held for the past twenty years. Mr. Laraway is a member of the Zion Commandery No. 2, of Minneapolis Lodge No, 19, A. F. and A. M., and the A. O. U. W. No. 6. His church connections are with the Plymouth Congregational Church, of which he is a member. In 1837 he was married to Abbie F. Clark, of Warren, Ohio. They have two children, F. M. Laraway, who is in business with his father, and Mrs. A von Schiegell.


John August Larson
[Source: A History of The Swedish-Americans of Minnesota, A. E. Strand, Vol. 3, page 788-789 submitted by Robin Line]
John August Larson.-A prominent railroad contractor of Minneapolis, was born in Paarp, Vestra Karup, Skane, Sweden, May 12, 1857, and is a son of Lars and Petronella (Svenson) Anderson. They were the parents of eight children, of whom seven survive, namely; John August, the eldest; Paulus, living on the old homestead; Emma, married Janne Paulson, a farmer; Amanda, married Alfred Olson, generally known in Minneapolis as "Stockholm Olson," who died October 23, 1908; Anton lives in California; Ida, married John Olson, a farmer in Santa Clara Valley, California; and Patrik, a plumber in Minneapolis.

Mr. Larson received his education in the public schools of his native parish, and was confirmed in the Lutheran church. He came to the United States in 1872, settling in Chicago, where he worked as teamster and street-car driver, and then went to work on the railroad, with which business he has ever since been connected. He removed to Minneapolis in 1878, and there worked on railroads; in 1883 he began taking small contracts on his own account, building roads in Canada, which he continued four years. Returning to Minneapolis in 1890, he took Peter Paulson as partner, and they continued in the contracting business. The partnership is still in effect, and they have worked mostly for the Chicago & Northwestern road and the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul. Mr. Larson has attained a very fair degree of success in the enterprise he has undertaken, and by his industry and reliability has secured a good reputation among those with whom he has been associated.

June 9, 1897, Mr. Larson married Emma Augusta Hellman, daughter of August Hellman; she was born in Elghult, Smaland, Sweden and died May 1, 1903. There had one son, Lars Reuben, born August 23, 1899, who is a boy of great promise, now attending school. With his son Mr. Larson resides at 1819 Tenth avenue, South, and they attended St. John's English Lutheran church.


Robert Lee Leatherman
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Robert Lee Leatherman is pastor of the Salem English Lutheran Church in Minneapolis. He was born at Lewistown, Maryland, April 17, 1863. His father, Daniel Leatherman, was a farmer, well-to-do and prominent in the community in which he lived. His wife was Caroline Michael. The family ancestors lived in Frederick County, Maryland, since 1765, most of them having been engaged either in mercantile pursuits or in agriculture. Two brothers of the subject of this sketch have attained eminence as physicians, one, Dr. M. E. Leatherman, at Washington, D. C., and the other, Dr. D. I. Leatherman, at Williamsburg, Pennsylvania. Robert Lee began his education in the Public schools of Lewistown, and graduated from Roanoke College, Virginia, in 1888. He was prominent as a student, having been favored with a great many society and class honors. He was given the place of honor in a competitive contest as one of three orators to represent the Demosthenean Society at commencement time; was also one of the speakers of his class on commencement day. His social relations as a student were with the Phi Delta Theta fraternity. After completing the course at Roanoke he entered the Theological Seminary at Philadelphia, in 1888. He took the three year's course there, graduating in 1891, when by a joint vote of a committee of his classmates and members of the faculty he was chosen as one of four from the graduating class to give orations in public at the seminary commencement. While in the seminary he also served as business manager for the "Indicator," a monthly magazine published by the students. Mr. Leatherman was ordained in the office of the Christian ministry at Pottstown, Pennsylvania, May 26, 1891. After a short vacation, having previously been called by the mission board of the English Lutheran Church to serve as one of its missionaries, he started for his new field of labor in the Salem Church at Minneapolis. He arrived in Minnesota, July 18, 1891. He has taken la prominent part in the work of this denomination and was one of the founders of the English Lutheran Synod of the Northwest. He also served as a trustee of KeeMar Seminary at Hagerstown, Maryland. In 1893 he received his degree of A. M., from Roanoke College, and for the past two years has been pursuing a post-graduate course of study at the University of Minnesota, taking up chiefly psychology, ethics and the history of Philosophy. This post-graduate work has been done in connection with his pastoral works, and as further preparation for his professional duties. Mr. Leatherman is not married, and an interesting fact in that connection is that the first money he earned by his profession was that received for performing a marriage ceremony ten days after his arrival Minneapolis. The Salem English Lutheran Church is located at the corner of Twenty-eighth street and Garfield Avenue, Minneapolis.


Claude Bassett Leonard
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Claude Bassett Leonard is engaged in the practice of law in Minneapolis. His father is Rev. Charles H. Leonard, D. D. Dr. Leonard was pastor of the Church of the Redeemer (Universalist) at Chelsea, Massachusetts, for about twenty-five years, prior to 1869. Since 1869 he has been professor of homiletic and pastoral theology in, and dean of the theological school connected with Tufts College. His mother's maiden name was Phebe A. Bassett, daughter of John Bassett, late of Atkinson, New Hampshire. Mrs. Leonard died April 19, 1872. The family have been residents of New England on both sides for several generations. Claude B. Leonard, the second of four children, was born at Chelsea, Massachusetts, March 26, 1853. He began his education in the common schools at Chelsea, which he attended until he was seventeen. He then went to Dean Academy, at Franklin. Massachusetts, where he prepared for college. He entered the freshman class at Tufts College in 1872 and was graduated with the degree of A. B. in 1876. While in college he was a member of the Theta Delta Chi fraternity. On completing his college course he entered the law office of Starbuck & Sawyer, at Watertown, New York, and remained with them until October, 1878, when he was admitted to the bar at a general term of the supreme court, held at Rochester, New York. A month later he turned his face westward in search of the fresher fields and larger opportunities promised in the Northwest. He reached Minneapolis November 7, 1878, and opened a law office in the Brackett Block, First Avenue South and Second Street. In the latter part of 1879 he was appointment clerk of the probate court by Judge John P. Rea, and remained in that office until 1882. In January, 1882, he formed a law partnership with Edward M. Johnson, the style of the firm being Johnson & Leonard. In April, 1891, Alexander McCune became a member of the firm, the style of which has been since that time and is now, Johnson, Leonard & McCune. This firm is located in handsome offices in the Farmers' and Mechanics' Savings Bank Building and is engaged in the general practice of law, special attention being given to real estate, corporation and probate law. For several years Mr. Leonard has made a special study of probate law and practice, and in 1889 he was nominated by the Republicans for the office of Probate Judge of Hennepin County. That did not prove to be a good year for Republican candidates, and Mr. Leonard was defeated, with every other candidate on the county ticket. Mr. Leonard is a Past Master of Cataract Lodge, No. 2, A. F. & A. M., a member of St. Anthony Falls chapter, No. 3, R. A. M. He is also a Past Sachem of Dahkotah Tribe, No. 5, Improved Order of Red Men. His church connections are with the Second Universalist Church of Minneapolis. He was married at Watertown, New York, April 14, 1880, to Ella J. Eddy, daughter of Henry W. Eddy, late of that city. They have three daughters, Ruth E., Emily B. and Elva L.


Charles Erastus Lewis
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Mr. Lewis is president and treasurer of the Charles E. Lewis Company, grain commission stock holders, of Minneapolis. He was born in Edgerton, Williams County, Ohio, November 11, 1858. His father, William S. Lewis, is a native of Richland County, in that state, where he was born in 1812. When but seventeen years of age he moved to Williams County, where he still resides, in moderate circumstances. He has always been a stalwart Republican, and from 1860 to 1864 served as sheriff of his county. Eliza Wanamaker (Lewis), the mother of Charles E., was also a native of Ohio. She was born in 1811 in Trumbull County, and moved to Williams County in 1830, where she resided until her death in 1887. The Wanamaker, of Pennsylvania, are near relatives. Charles E. had only the advantages of a common school education, attending the public schools of his neighborhood until he was but thirteen years old. He had learned telegraphy, and at this age secured a position on the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railway as night operator. Three years in 1874, he removed to Hannibal, Missouri, where he remained until 1880. During the six years he lived at Hannibal he was in the employ of several different railroads as an operator and clerk. Leaving Hannibal he went to Chicago, entering the employ of the Chicago, Rock Island & Pacific railway in the ticket audit department. In 1883 he came to Minneapolis, and for the next two years he was employed as a clerk and operator with the Minneapolis & St. Louis railway, the Western Union Telegraph Company, the Minneapolis Tribune Company and the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railway. From 1885 to 1888 he was in the employ of Pressey, Wheeler & Company, commission merchants and stock brothers. After their failure in the latter year, Mr. Lewis decided to go into business for himself. The firm name of his concern has been changed two or three times since that date, but on July 1, 1896, it was incorporated as the Charles E. Lewis Company. This firm has been built up by Mr. Lewis's industry and conservative business methods until it is now one of the solid and substantial grain commission firms of Minneapolis. Mr. Lewis' political affiliations have always been with the Republican.


Henry Joseph Lewis
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

It is perhaps indicative of the cosmopolitan character of the city of Minneapolis that men who have traveled widely find the city a congenial place of residence. Among the numerous men of this class is Henry J. Lewis, dealer at wholesale in cigars. Mr. Lewis is but forty years of age, but has seen more of the world than falls to the lot one man in a thousand in a whole lifetime. While still a young man he was appointed foreign agent for the White Sewing Machine Company, of Cleveland, Ohio. In the interests of that concern he visited all the South American countries--United States of Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, Bolivia, Chili, Patagonia, the Argentine Republic, Uruguay, Paraguay and Brazil. He afterwards visited the West Indies. In the course of his travels in South America, in many places rarely visited by North Americans, he had many entertaining and exciting adventures. Mr. Lewis is of Welsh descent. His father's ancestors emigrated to Rhode Island from Wales, and afterwards moved to South Wales, Erie County, New York, about twenty-five miles south of Buffalo. Here Joseph B. Lewis was born and grew to manhood, marrying Martia Ann Baker, whose Welsh ancestors had also found their way to the same locality. Their son Henry was born at South Wales, and the family lived there until he was nine years old, when Mrs. Lewis died. She was an earnest Christian, a member of the Free Will Baptist church, and a woman of strong personal character. After the death of his wife Mr. Lewis moved to St. Joseph, Michigan. He is a farmer in good circumstances, and having a reputation for honesty and square dealing. The education of young Henry was that afforded by the district schools of New York and Michigan. He early entered business life as a clerk for M. & A. Shepard, jewelers of St. Joseph, in whose employ he continued for several years. His engagement with the White Sewing Machine Company was made while he was still a very young man. While in the West Indies he became interested in Havana tobaccos, and secured a thorough acquaintance with the business which has since been invaluable to him. In 1886 he came to Minnesota as the Northwestern representative of Spaulding & Merrick, tobacco manufactures of Chicago, and made his headquarters in Minneapolis. Three years later he was called to Chicago by the firm to manage the sales department of their business. However, the climate of Chicago was not congenial, and he soon removed to Duluth and entered the wholesale and retail cigar and tobacco business, the firm being Lewis & Swain. In 1890 he was induced by Harrison, Farrington & Co., wholesale grocers of Minneapolis, to remove to their city and take the management of the wholesale cigar department of their business. Mr. Lewis continued with the house until 1895 when he again commenced business on his own account in the same line--wholesale cigars. In politics Mr. Lewis is a Republican. He is not a politician, but takes a citizen's interest in political affairs and in 1894 was a delegate to the Congressional convention that nominated Loren Fletcher. Mr. Lewis is a Scottish Rite Mason, and has taken the thirty-second degree. He is a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club. On August 21, 1875, he was married to Miss Carrie Amelia Bovee, of Coldwater, Michigan, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Eli W. Bovee, prominent people of that place. Miss Jennie Georgiana Lewis is their only child. Mrs. Lewis and her daughter are both members of St. Paul's Episcopal Church of Minneapolis. Mr. Lewis has been uniformly successful in his business enterprise. He is a firm believer in advertising, and has demonstrated its efficacy. In the course of his extensive travels in this country and abroad, and in his active business career of ten years in the Northwest, he has made hosts of friends and enjoys a very wide acquaintance.


Christian Liewellyn
[Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota, 1907, page 77, submitted by Robin Line]
Christian Liewellyn, Minneapolis, Res 128 8th st S. Office 1023 Chamber of Commerce. Miller. Born June 19, 1841 Wetumpka Ala. son of John and Susan (Weeks) Christian. Married 1874 to Eliza D. French. Educated public schools, Chicago High Schools and business college in N. Y. Commenced business as bkpr. for whol. grocery firm in N. Y.; afterwards salesman; then boot and shoe business. Removed to Minneapolis 1873 and engaged in milling business as member George H. Christian and firm was changed to J. A. Christian & Co. operating Washburn Mill that exploded 1878; erected Crown Roller Mill 1889 under firm name of Christian Bros. Mill Co; now L. Christian & Co. Pres. Northern Grain Co.`


Andrew L. Lindstrom
[Source: A History of The Swedish-Americans of Minnesota, A. E. Strand, Vol. 3, page 789 submitted by Robin Line]
Andrew L. Lindstrom is a contractor for interior decorating and paper hanging, and he is one of the best known members of that vocation in Minneapolis. He learned his trade at Karlstad, Sweden, and afterward, from 1882 until 1887, he worked for different firms in Stockholm. On emigrating to the United States in 1887 he located in Minneapolis, Minnesota, and has since resided in this city, a well known and influential business man.

Mr. Lindstrom was born on September 16, 1866, in Bog, Fagerbacks parish, Sweden, a son of Lars and Christina (Nilson) Anderson. The father, born on the 31st of July, 1831, died on the 15th of April, 1879, and the mother, born December 1, 1842, is yet living. Their family numbered five children: Andrew; Catarina, born in 1868; David, born in 1875; Gustaf, born in 1877; and Maria, born in 1878.

Andrew L. Lindstrom married Cedra Maria Carlson, born in Fallerum, Ostergotland, Sweden, in 1872, a daughter of Carl J. and Ingred Carlson, of the same place. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lindstrom: Carl David, born October 11, 1907; Ingred Astrid Viola, born October 5, 1908; and Ernest Willard, born January 21, 1909. Mr. Lindstrom is a member of several fraternal societies, in all of which he has held positions of trust and confidence. He has a home at beautiful Lake Amelia.


William Lochren
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Judge William Lochren was born on April 3, 1832, in Tyrone County, Ireland. His father died about a year later, and in 1834 his mother, with other relatives, came to this country and located in Franklin County, Vermont. Until 1850, the family lived in northern Vermont and near the Canadian line. William attended the common school and worked on the farm. In the spring of 1850 he went to Auburn, Massachusetts, and for three years was engaged in farm labor, and in a saw mill, dividing his time between these occupations and his studies at the academy. He then returned to Franklin County, Vermont. In June, 1856, he was admitted to the bar at St. Albans, Vermont, and in the following month he came to Minnesota. In August he located at St. Anthony where he was engaged first in the office of J. S. and D. M. Demmon, and later in the office of George E. H. Day. In the spring of 1857 he formed a partnership with James R. Lawrence, under the firm name of Lawrence & Lochren. This partnership was dissolved in 1859, after which Judge Lochren practiced alone until the outbreak of the Civil War. He enlisted as a private in Company E, First Regiment Minnesota Volunteers, on April 29, 1861. He was made sergeant and served with the regiment in the campaigns of 1861, 1862 and 1863. He participated in the battles of Bull Run, Balls Bluff, in front of Yorktown, West Point, Fair Oaks, Peach Orchard, Savage Station, Glendale, Frazer's Farm, Malvern Hill, Malvern Hill Second, South Mountain, Antietam, Charlestown, Fredericksburg, Gettysburg and many lesser affairs. On September 22, 1862, he was promoted to be second lieutenant and on July 3, 1863, became first lieutenant; and acted as adjutant of the regiment for three months following the battle of Gettysburg. On December 30, 1863, he resigned on a surgeon's certificate of disability. Before the war he had been city attorney and alderman of the city of St. Anthony. On leaving the army he returned to St. Anthony resumed the practice of law, and soon formed a partnership with Captain O. C. Merriman, under the firm name of Merriman & Lochren. This partnership continued about three years. During most of that time, and until St. Anthony was merged into Minneapolis, Judge Lochren was city attorney of St. Anthony. In November, 1868, he was elected state senator and served in the legislature of 1869 and 1870. In the spring of 1869 he formed a law partnership with William W. McNair, and later John B. Gilfillan became a member of the firm. In the years of 1877 and 1878 Judge Lochren was city attorney of Minneapolis, and in November, 1881, Governor John S. Pillsbury appointed him judge of the district court of the Fourth Judicial District, and in 1882 and again in 1888 he was elected for the full term of that office without opposition. In April, 1893, Judge Lochren was appointed commissioner of pensions by President Cleveland, and continued the discharge of the duties of this office until May 20, 1896, when he assumed the office of the United States district judge for the District of Minnesota, to which he had just been appointed by President Cleveland and confirmed by the United States senate. Judge Lochren has always been a Democrat. In 1865 he was the candidate of the party for attorney general, in 1874 for judge of the supreme court, and in 1875 for the United States senate; but upon the adoption of the platform of that party in 1896, by the Chicago convention, Judge Lochren, regarding the same as undemocratic, unsound and dangerous, refused to support the candidates nominated by that convention. Judge Lochren was married on September 26, 1871, to Mrs. Martha A. Demmon, who died in February, 1879. On April 19, 1882, he was married to Miss Mary E. Abbott. They have one son, William A., who was born on February 26, 1884. Judge Lochren, since the war, has maintained his residence in Minneapolis, where he is a highly respected citizen.


Harold Johan Lohrbauer
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Harold Johan Lohrbauer, of Minneapolis, is a native of Christiania, Norway, where he was born February 23, 1858. His father, Johan Lohrbauer, is the owner and operator of a cotton mill at Christiania, Norway. His mother's maiden name was Trine Boettger. Johan Lohrbauer and his wife are highly respected people in the community in which they live. They were born and reared in Christiania, and Mr. Lohrbauer has won, by his own efforts, the competency and position which he occupies, and is now the controlling spirit of a manufacturing concern employing about two hundred people. The subject of this sketch received his early education in one of the private schools of Christiania until at the age of sixteen, when he spent a year with his father in the factory, the intention being to educate him in that line of business. For the same purpose he was sent to Horton, a town about fifty miles from Christiania, to take a course in mechanical engineering. At the age of eighteen he entered a mercantile high school, the Christiania "Handelsgymnasium," in order to acquire a business education. He spent two years in that institution and finished the fourth best in a class of forty students. This gave him a thorough business education, including a fair knowledge of the principal modern languages. Harold then embarked for himself and has relied upon his own resources and energies ever since. His first business engagement was in an importing house in Christiania, where he acted as corresponding clerk in the English, German and French languages, later he entered his father's business with a view as before stated to succeed him in the same. Then it happened that an old friend and schoolmate of his returned on a visit from America. His tale about his own prosperity and the easy progress any young man with business education and ability undoubtedly could make in that far away country, brought Harold to look at his own prospects in a different light from what he had done before. In short he decided to leave it to one of his younger brothers to take up the path which his father had laid out before him and to follow his friend to America. So he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1882, and a week after his arrival obtained a situation in The Savings Bank of St. Paul and was employed there for eighteen months. He then entered the service of a land and immigration agency, with which he was connected until he started a land and immigration bureau on his own account about six years later. He now maintains offices for the conduct of this line of business both in Minneapolis and St. Paul, and is meeting with gratifying success His business is chiefly that of colonizing lands, acquired either by option or purchase. His operations have been chiefly in Northwestern Wisconsin. He has been the means of moving from the shops and factories many men who have found it profitable for them to become owners of farms, and so far has settled and sold in this way about fifty-five thousand acres, and located between six and seven hundred families, representing, probably, from twenty-five hundred to three thousand people. This extensive business has required close attention, and to it Mr. Lohrbauer has given his best energies and superior business ability. He was married in 1882 to Maren Strom, at Harstad, Norway.


Charles Morgridge Loring
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ 

Charles Morgridge Loring is known as the father of the park system of Minneapolis, and while he has always been prominently identified with nearly every important movement for the benefit of the city, he will be held in especial esteem by the citizens of Minneapolis for the invaluable service which he has rendered in planning and securing for the city its admirable park system. Mr. Loring is a native of New England, where the family name is well known. The first of the family was Thomas Loring, an early settler from England. The grandfather of C. M. Loring was a successful and honored teacher in Portland, Maine, where he was known as "Master Loring." His son, Captain Horace Loring, was a shipmaster, voyaging to the West Indies. He married Sarah Wiley, whose mother, Margaret Smith Wiley, was a niece of "Parson Smith," a noted clergyman of Portland, Maine. She was of Scotch descent. Charles M. Loring, the subject of this sketch, and a son of Horace Loring and Sarah Wiley (Loring), was born at Portland Maine, November 13, 1833. His father took him while yet a lad on his voyages and destined him to be a navigator. He became a mate on his father's ship and spent some time in Cuba, but the life of a shipmaster was not to his taste, and he, to the great disappointment of his friends, relinquished that which was the height of every Maine boy's ambition, a chance to become a sea captain, and started for the West in 1856. He located first at Chicago and engaged in wholesale business with B. P. Hutchinson, the well-known grain speculator. Ill health at that time brought Mr. Loring to Minneapolis, when through the aid of his friend, Loren Fletcher, he obtained employment with Dorilus Morrison as the manager of his supply store in connection with his lumber business. This was in 1860. The following year he joined Mr. Fletcher in the general merchandise business in Minneapolis, under the firm name of L. Fletcher & Co., which firm is still in existence, and the oldest in Minneapolis. Fletcher & Co. were very successful in their business, and the firm became one of the strongest in the city. In 1868, together with W. F. Cahill, they purchased the Holly Mill and operated it until 1872, when they sold it and bought the Galaxy mill, which they successfully operated for a number of years. In 1873 they also became the principal owners of the Minnetonka mill, located near Lake Minnetonka. Since 1880 Mr. Loring has not given active attention to his interests in the milling business, but has depended in that respect chiefly upon his son. He has, however, been active in other lines of business, and has become a larger owner of real estate and other property which required his attention. Mr. Loring is a man of refined tastes, and a great lover of nature, and is devoted to horticulture in its most artistic aspect, and when the first board of park commissioners was selected his name was placed at the head of the list, although he was absent at the time in Europe. This board was organized in 1883, and for the next seven years Mr. Loring gave largely of his time and ability to the acquirement and development of the system of parks and boulevards for which the city of Minneapolis is justly famous. In recognition of his great services in this regard, the name of Central Park was changed and that beautiful pleasure ground of the people will always be known as Loring Park. When the state decided to establish a state park at Minnehaha he was appointed one of the commissioners. This property has since become a part of the park system of Minneapolis, and the acquirement of that tract around the romantic and historic waterfall was due to Mr. Loring. Notwithstanding his impaired health in later years, Mr. Loring has been actively interested in various business enterprises. He was one of the projectors of the North American Telegraph Company, and has been its president since its organization in 1885. In 1886 he was elected president of the Minneapolis Chamber of Commerce, and held that office until 1890, when he declined a re-election. Upon the organization of the Northwestern Consolidated Milling Company, including the Galaxy mill of which he was part owner, he was made a director of the company, and still retains that position. He has also been identified with various financial institutions of the city. Notwithstanding the activity of his business life, Mr. Loring has found time to gratify his refined tastes, and is a gentleman of culture and attainments. Never of very rugged physique, he has of late years found it desirable, owing to the severity of the Minnesota climate, to spend his winters on the Pacific coast, where he has acquired, at Riverside California, a fruit ranch. He has also spent considerable time in travel abroad as well as in this country, and has availed himself of the opportunity thus afforded to gratify his tastes for art and learning. He is a man of most kindly manners and is held in a highest esteem by his fellow citizens. He is a Republican in politics, and in religion liberal, yet sincere. He cast his first vote for John C. Fremont. He recalls with pleasurable recollection the fact that the first money he ever earned was by selling the New Year's address of a newspaper carrier, from which his receipts were $7.32. Mr. Loring was married in 1855 to Emily S. Crosman, of Portland, Maine, who died March 13, 1894. Their children were Eva Maria, deceased, and Albert C., who is the secretary and treasurer of the Consolidated Milling Company. Mr. Loring was married again, November 28, 1895, to Miss Florence Barton, daughter of A. B. Barton, of Minneapolis.


Stephen Brown Lovejoy
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Stephen Brown Lovejoy - or as his friends like to call him, "Steve" Lovejoy, is one of the substantial business men of Minneapolis, and is prominent in local and state politics. Mr. Lovejoy came to Minneapolis when a small boy with his father and mother who emigrated in 1854 from Maine. The family is an old one and carried an honorable name through the Revolution and the War of 1812. Mr. Lovejoy's great-grandfather, Abial Lovejoy, lived at Sidney, Maine. He was a ship owner and lumber manufacturer. The ship landing at that place is still called "Lovejoy's Landing." His son, William, was also a ship owner, and served as a Lieutenant in the War of 1812. His son, John L. Lovejoy, father of Stephen B., was a lumber manufacturer in Calais, Maine. He married Miss Ann M. Albee, who was descended from William Albee, a Lieutenant in the Revolution, who rendered his country distinguished service as commandant of the fort at Machias, Maine, in repulsing a British man-of-war which tried to ascend the river. Mrs. Lovejoy's ancestors were largely interested in lumbering operations. Upon his settlement in St. Anthony, now a part of Minneapolis, Mr. Lovejoy commenced the manufacture of lumber in partnership with John L. Brockway, under the firm name of Lovejoy & Brockway. He died in 1860. Stephen B. Lovejoy was born at Livermore, Maine, on the Lovejoy farm on January 19, 1850. He came West with his parents in 1854 and grew up in Minneapolis, surrounded by the influence of the bustling frontier town. When sixteen years of age he was sent East to the Pennsylvania Military Academy at Chester, and the following year went to the Clinton Liberal Institute at Clinton, New York. Here he won the second prize for essay at the annual commencement. On returning from school that year he entered the First National Bank of Minneapolis and remained with the bank for five years. When he left he was head bookkeeper. He left the bank to take a position as manager of a flour mill at Manomin, Minnesota. In the spring of the following year, 1875, is elected treasurer and agent of the Mississippi and Rum River Boom Company. This position he held for eleven years. Governor McGill appointed Mr. Lovejoy surveyor general of logs and lumber in 1877; he held the office for one term. In 1884 Mr. Lovejoy formed a partnership with John Woods as railroad contractors. This partnership was dissolved
in 1892, since which time Mr. Lovejoy has continued the business by himself. He has been a stockholder in several of the large corporations and banks of the city, and from its organization until it was dissolved in 1895, he was a member of the flour milling firm of Lovejoy, Hinrichs & Co. Mr. Lovejoy has been very successful in business, and is counted as one of the substantial business men of Minneapolis. Since voting for Grant in 1872, Mr. Lovejoy has been a staunch Republican. Though seldom holding office he has been very prominent in political affairs in Minneapolis, and has been a member of the county or city committees of his party frequently during the past twelve or fifteen years. For four years past he has been chairman of the congressional committee, and during the same period has been a member of the campaign committee. At the last organization of the committee he was reappointed chairman for the ensuing two years. He was a member of the old city water board, under appointment by Mayor Ames. After two months of service he was obliged to resign, not having time to devote to the affairs of the office. In 1895 he was elected to the state legislature from the Thirty-first district. While serving in the house of representatives he introduced, and was instrumental in securing the passage of the law regulating child labor. Mr. Lovejoy was married on October 13, 1872, to Miss E. Louise Morgan, a daughter of Brigadier General George N. Morgan, who was formerly colonel of the famous old First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry. They have four children, Emma L., Edith D., Ethel M., and Marjorie. Mr. Lovejoy is a Thirty-second degree Scottish Rite Knight Templar and a member of Zuhrah Temple.


Richard M. Lowell
Source: History of Anoka County and the Towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota, by Albert M. Goodrich (1905) Transcribed by Jackie McCarty

Richard M. Lowell was born in Abbott, Pisentaquis county, Maine, Dec. 2, 1828. He came to Minnesota in 1851, and on the day of his arrival went with a batteau containing provisions from St. Anthony to meet the log drivers on Rum river. He was married Sept. 26, 1853 to Sophronia M. Smith, and the next spring took up his residence upon a farm in what is now the town of Champlin, where he lived eight years. He then moved to Anoka, where he engaged in lumbering and carpenter work until 1897, when he returned to Champlin, where he lived until his death May 9, 1901. Of three children only one daughter, Mary, is still living. For the past twelve years Mrs. Lowell has been engaged in lecturing for Spiritualist organizations in several western states, and her local work for the past four years has been for the Band of Peace, Minneapolis.

Hennepin County Home Page

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails