Hennepin County, Minnesota

Genealogy Trails History Group

Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Biographies "M-N-O"


John Franklin McGee
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

John Franklin McGee is a lawyer practicing his profession in Minneapolis. Mr. McGee is of Irish descent. His father, Hugh McGee, emigrated to this country from the north of Ireland, in 1850, while yet a lad of fifteen. He settled at Amboy, Lee County, Illinois, and engaged in the railroad business as a mechanic, where he still lives, retired, in comfortable circumstances. John Franklin was born at Amboy, January 1, 1861. His mothers maiden name was Margaret Heenan. Mr. McGee attended the city school of Amboy, graduating from the high school in his twentieth year. During his last year at the high school the read law with C. H. Wooster, of Amboy. From there he went to Clinton, Illinois, and entered the office of Moore & Warner, the latter member of the firm now being a member of congress. The senior member of this firm, Mr. Moore, was partner with United States Senator David Davis, of Illinois, from 1853 until the death of Senator Davis. Mr. McGee was admitted to practice in the supreme court of Illinois, November 10, 1882. He came west, however, the following April, settling in Devils Lake, Dakota Territory, going into partnership with D. E., Morgan, at present district judge at Devils Lake Mr. McGee assisted Mr. Morgan, who was prosecuting attorney at that time, trying all the important criminal cases from the organization of the county until leaving for Minneapolis. The most important case Mr. McGee tried while at Devils Lake was the sensational Oswald murder case, in April and May of 1886. He removed to Minneapolis in April, 1887, and entered into partnership with A. H. Noyes, which partnership was continued until August 19, 1889. Since that time Mr. McGee has not entered into any other partnerships. His specialty is that if corporation law. He was the representative of the old Chicago, St. Paul & Kansas City Railroad, and is also of its successor, the Chicago Great Western. He is also attorney for a number of elevator companies. One of the most important cases in which he has been interested, and one which became of national interest, was that of Norman Brass vs. North Dakota, a suit brought to overthrow the grain laws of that state. When this case was finally appealed to the supreme court of the United States, the law was upheld by a vote of five to four. He has never been very active in politics, but is an independent Republican in his belief. He has not held any political office. He was married September 14, 1884, to Libbie L. Ryan, of Wapella, Illinois. They have four children.


John Colin McIntyre
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

John Colin McIntyre was born June 20, 1858, at River Dennis, Cape Breton, Province of Nova Scotia, Canada. His father, Archibald McIntyre, was a farmer and merchant in fair circumstances. At the time of the Fenian raid on Canada he served as a colonel in the British army, taking part in repelling the raiders. He was always a strong supporter of governmental and church policies, whose fundamental principles were liberty and in the interest of humanity, and took an active part in confederation measures for the provinces. Flora Noble (McIntyre), the mother of the subject of this sketch, was the eldest daughter of Dr. John Noble, a prominent physician and surgeon, and a descendant, on her mother's side, of the Campbells of Lorne, or the Dukes of Argyle. Her memory is recalled with reverence by her son, for her strength and force of character as a good Christian woman and mother. John Colin attended the public schools of his native town, later graduating from an academy. He also took a course in a commercial college, and entered upon the study of law, but was not admitted to practice. Mr. McIntyre came to Minnesota August 22, 1882, locating in Minneapolis the following May, where he has since resided. Previous to settling in Minneapolis he was engaged in oil and gold mining in the provinces, but on locating in this city he took up the fire insurance, real estate and loan business, first as an employe but later on his own account. He became a member of the firm of Jones, McMullan & Co., which afterwards dissolved, and the firm of Jones, McIntyre & Co. was organized. Mr. McIntyre is independent in his political convictions, yet a strong supporter of many of the principles of the Republican party, though believing in the economic principles of prohibition of trusts and the liquor traffic. He has always taken an active interest in all matter's relating to good government, and is at present president of the branch of the Good Citizenship League in the Fourth ward of Minneapolis. He was one of the first active supporters of the measure establishing the patrol limit system in Minneapolis, and one of the first advocates of the free text book law, having been chairman of the committee which circulated petitions for this measure throughout the state, and which called a mass meeting in the Swedish Tabernacle in Minneapolis, at which were present the principal educators of the state, the sentiment crystallized at this meeting assuring the success of the bill. Mr. McIntyre is a Mason, a member of the Royal Arcanum and of the Commercial Club of Minneapolis. His church connections are with the Methodist Episcopal body, of which he is a member. He was married October 1, 1885, to Miss Hattie M. Gunn. They have four children, Jean E., Florence J., Vera A. and Archibald W. D.


Edward Joseph McMahon
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Edward Joseph McMahon is of Irish descent. Thomas McMahon, his father, emigrated from Ireland to this country in 1831, settling at Buffalo, New York. Bridget Shaughnessy (McMahon), his mother, was also of Irish birth, coming to the United States when thirteen years of age. The McMahon family removed to Minnesota in 1857, settling at Faribault, where they engaged in farming and became fairly prosperous. Edward was born at Faribault, January 10, 1859. He received a good general education, somewhat better than that of the average farmer's boy, attending the public schools at Faribault, and graduating from the high school at the head of his class in his sixteenth year. For the next five years he worked on his father's farm, but, having a predilection for the profession of law, he left the farm and entered the law office of John H. Case, at Faribault, to take up its study. He was studious in his habits, and at the end of two years, in 1882, was admitted to practice. Mr. McMahon decided to remove to North Dakota to take up the practice of his profession, and he hung out his shingle in the little town of Hope. It was but a short time after is arrival that he was appointed county attorney. This appointment came to him in a rather peculiar way. He was comparatively a stranger, but one of the county commissioners came to him one day to get his opinion on the legality of a certain measure that was bothering the commissioners. The other local attorneys had declared it legal, but Mr. McMahon gave an opposite opinion, and was able to so convince the commissioners. When they held their next meeting they elected the young attorney for the office above mentioned. Mr. McMahon established a profitable practice in Hope, but in 1889 removed to Minneapolis in order to have a wider field. He formed a partnership in 1893 with F. A. Gilman, under the firm name of Gilman & McMahon, which still continues. They do a general law business and enjoy a profitable practice, many times engaged in important cases in the states of Wisconsin, North and South Dakota. Mr. McMahon has always been a Republican. While in North Dakota he was elected to the office of county clerk and register of deeds for Steele County, for the term of 1882-84. He is a member of the Commercial Club, of Minneapolis, and of the I. O. O. F., and is also a Mason, belonging to all the Masonic bodies in the city, and has served three times as Master of Khurum Lodge, No. 112.


Frank Griggs McMillan
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Frank Griggs McMillan is a resident of the City of Minneapolis, and one of those whose energy, enterprise, and public spirit have given to the "Flour City" her enviable reputation. He was born in Danville, Caledonia County, Vermont, October 4, 1856. His father, Colonel Andrew McMillan, was a graduate of West Point, but resigned his commission to engage in commercial business. The family is descended from Colonel Andrew McMillan, of Ulster, Ireland, who emigrated to America in the year 1755. One of his sons, General John McMillan, was the grandfather of F. G. McMillan. At an early age, Mr. McMillan started in life for himself as a printer, serving an apprenticeship in the old North Star office in Danville, Vermont, and later as a journeyman in Boston. In 1878, because of impaired health, he came West, settling in Minneapolis, where he worked successfully as a printer, carpenter and millwright. In a very short time Mr. McMillan had worked into the business of contracting, and today stands at the head of the long list of Minneapolis builders and contractors whose reputation is unblemished and whose capacity in their business is unquestioned. Many of the finest buildings and residences of the city bear evidence to his taste in designing and skill in executing. Mr. McMillan in 1890 was nominated as the Democratic candidate for State Senator from his own, a strongly Republican, district in Minneapolis, and was elected by a handsome majority. He soon proved himself to be one of the most efficient men of that body, being active, conscientious, and yet conservative, his worth being immediately recognized by his appointment to the chairmanship of the Committee on Elections, the Committee on University and University Lands, and also served as a member of the Committee on Geological and Natural History Survey, Grain and Public Warehouse, Manufactories, Military Affairs and State's Prison. He was author of a resolution calling for a committee to investigate and report to the Senate as to site, plans, cost, etc., of a new Capitol Building. Being made chairman of that committee, he drew the bill providing for the erection of the new Capitol Building, which bill became a law. Under its provisions a magnificent site has been secured, plans have already been adopted, and foundation walls laid ready for the superstructure. Mr. McMillan was identified with a great deal of important legislation during his four years term. Among other important measures introduced or supported by him were the Australian ballot law, a bill known as the corrupt practices act to limit expenditures in elections, a primary election law a bill to establish school savings banks, a bill providing for the separation of municipal from general elections, an amendment to the constitution prohibiting special legislation, a bill providing that no franchises to occupy public streets should be granted to private corporations by any city without adequate compensation. Mr. McMillan has always belonged to the Democratic party, and has taken great interest in the work of the Hennepin County Democratic League, of which he is Vice President, and of the State Democratic Association, in which he has been an efficient officer. Last winter Mr. McMillan was elected a member of the Board of Park Commissioners of Minneapolis, an important and responsible position in that city of parks and boulevards. He is a director and member of the executive committee of the Board of Trade, and President of the Vermont Association of Minnesota. Mr. McMillan married in 1881, Miss Lillian Connor, a native of Minneapolis, and now has a family of four children. The family is attached to the First Congregational church of Minneapolis, of which he is a member and trustee. Mr. McMillan is a gentleman who is held in high regard by his fellow townsmen and has won for himself an honorable and enviable standing as citizen of his city and state.


Putnam Dana McMillan
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

It requires a courageous heart and the possession of lots of pluck and determination to overcome many hard knocks in life's struggle, especially if accompanied by affliction. Putnam Dana McMillan has had more than his share of misfortune, but he is the offspring of men who shed their blood in the country's cause, and he inherited their sterling qualities. His paternal great-grandfather, Colonel Andrew McMillan, was a participant in the Revolutionary War, born of Scotch parents, in the County of Londonderry, Ireland, in 1731. John McMillan, his son, was a general in the War of 1812. Andrew McMillan, son of General John McMillan and Mehitable Osgood (McMillan), was the father of the subject of this sketch. On the maternal side, General Israel Putnam of Revolutionary fame, was a great-great-grandfather. His daughter, Hannah Putnam, married Winchester Dana, a descendant of Richard Dana. Their son, Colonel Israel Putnam Dana, was the father of Emily Eunice Dana, the mother of Mr. McMillan, Colonel Dana was a man of influence and wealth, and one of Vermont's most prominent men. As can be seen the Christian names of our subject indicate patronymics of his maternal ancestors. Andrew McMillan, his father, a civil engineer by profession, was a graduate of West Point; a prominent Democrat in Vermont politics, and was a member of the legislature of that state, as well as of Maine, where he formerly lived. In early life he was engaged in mercantile pursuits, but this business not being conducive to his health he turned his attention in later years to farming. Putnam Dana McMillan was born at Fryeburg, Maine, August 25, 1832. His education was received in the common schools of Vermont (his parents having moved to that state when the boy was but a year old) and later in an academy at Danville. He left his school studies when but sixteen years of age, and for four years clerked in a country store in his native state. He then went to California, going in a sailing vessel around Cape Horn. For five years he remained on the Pacific Coast, engaged in mercantile pursuits and mining, then returned to his old home in Vermont and turned his attention to agriculture. When the war broke out he joined the Fifteenth Regiment Vermont Volunteers and served throughout its entire service as quartermaster. At the expiration of his service he went to South America and settled in the Province of Buenos Ayres, engaging in sheep farming near Rosario on the Parana River. He was very successful and remained there several years, until he was compelled to leave by a series of terrible misfortunes. A revolution broke out between the Provinces of Buenos Ayres and Santa Fee, and his home being between the two contending factions became the battle ground of the contestants. This brought ruin financially. But with the war came cholera, which wrought deadly havoc in Mr. McMillan's family. Five out of eight members of his household died, including his wife, and, broken in spirit and health, Mr. McMillan left the country with the only child surviving, a daughter. On his return to the United States he came West, in 1872, located in Minneapolis, and engaged in the real estate business. He has lived in Minneapolis ever since, where he is held in high esteem for his integrity as a business man. He has not, however, confined his real estate speculations to the City of Minneapolis, but has for several years been engaged in reclaiming several thousand acres of what was apparently worthless land and an eye sore to the fertile agricultural region in Southern Minnesota. His efforts have not been fruitless, and the County of Freeborn and the State of Minnesota are richer by the transformation of over six thousand acres of watery waste to a fertile tract of land, unequaled by any surrounding it. "Ricelawn," as it is now, will stand as a lasting monument to his foresight and indomitable perseverance. Mr. McMillan has been a life long Republican; is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and the Loyal Legion, and of the Congregational Church. He was married in Vermont to Helen E. Davis, daughter of Hon. Bliss N. Davis, one of the most prominent attorneys in the state. She died in South America. The only surviving child of the union is Emily Dana McMillan. He was married a second time to Kate Kittredge, daughter of Hon. Moses Kittredge, of St. Johnsbury, Vermont. Three children resulted from this union, of whom Margaret and Putnam Dana are living.


Alonzo Draper Meeds
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Alonzo Draper Meeds was born December 6, 1864, in East Minneapolis, then known as St. Anthony. His early education was received chiefly in the public schools of Stillwater, Minnesota, and his college training at the State University at Minneapolis, where he took the scientific course, graduating in 1889, with the degree of B.S. While in college he was a member of the Psi Upsilon fraternity. Mr. Meeds' parents, Charles H. Meeds and Sarah Lucy Means (Meeds), were both born in Maine, the father at Standish and the mother at Saco. The earliest family records indicate that the Meeds settled at Harvard, Massachusetts, and Artemus Meeds, grandfather to A. D. Meeds, moved from there to Linnington, Maine, and thence to Standish, Maine, where his father, C. H. Meeds, was born. Here Samuel Meeds was born, June 18, 1732. His father, Samuel Meads, (the name is spelled Meads in these old records), came to Harvard from Littleton, Massachusetts. He served in the French and Indian wars from August to December 1755, and his son, Samuel, in a company commanded by Israel Taylor, which was sent for the relief of Fort William Henry in August 1757. Samuel, the elder, was also engaged in the campaign against Fort Ticonderoga in 1758, and he was also among the Harvard men who sprang to arms at the Lexington alarm and marched to Cambridge, April 19, 1775. In July 1777, when it was thought the British were about to invade Rhode Island, he was again in the service, although long past the military age. Samuel, Jr., was in the service at various times, and marched on Bennington at the alarm call. It thus appears that the Meeds were active in the colonial defense, although it does not appear that any of them occupied very prominent positions. Charles Henry Meeds enlisted in 1862 in the Maine Volunteers, but served only a few months, being discharged on account of disability. He came to Minnesota first in 1856, and after the war, in 1864, returned with his family, locating at St. Anthony. He was engaged in the steamboat business between St. Anthony, Red Wing, Hastings and adjacent points on the river. The family finally removed to Stillwater in 1872. While at the university Alonzo, the subject of this sketch, devoted especial attention to the study of chemistry and geology, and in the summer of 1888 was engaged on the Minnesota geological survey in field work in Northeastern Minnesota. In the winter of 1889 he secured a position with the Northern Pacific Railroad at St. Paul, and spent the following summer on a survey in the state of Washington, for that road. In September of that year he was appointed assistant in the chemical laboratory of the university, and in October 1891, on a leave of absence, joined a scientific expedition to Mexico, under Dr. Carl Lumholtz, exploring the Sierra Madre mountains. The expedition was undertaken under the auspices of the American Museum of Natural History, of New York. Returning May 1892, the summer was spent in the Minnesota Geological Survey, and in September Mr. Meeds resumed his work in the chemical laboratory of the university, where he continued as an instructor until 1894. In August of that year he was elected inspector of gas for the city of Minneapolis, after a competitive examination, and now holds that office. He has discharged the duties of his position to the full satisfaction of the public, and rendered important service in maintaining the quality of the product. He is a member of the American Association for Advancement of Science, of the American Chemical Society, is secretary of the Minnesota Academy of Natural Science, and is a member of the Masonic order.


Philip Tollef Megaarden
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Phil. T. Megaarden, chief deputy sheriff of Hennepin County, is a native of Iowa and by descent of Norwegian extraction. His parents were both born in Norway. The father, Tollef K. Megaarden, was a dealer in livestock and later a railroad contractor. He lived in Allamakee County, Iowa, at the time of the breaking out of the war, and enlisted in the Fourth Iowa Cavalry, serving three years. At the close of the war he removed to Dickinson County, where he lived until 1877, when the family removed to Minneapolis. Philip was born in Allamakee County, on October 2, 1864. He was the oldest of seven children. During his early childhood he attended the public schools near his home in Iowa and in Minneapolis. In the fall of 1878 he had resolved to prepare for the Lutheran ministry, and entered Augsberg Seminary, Minneapolis, but the next year his father died suddenly leaving Philip at the head of a family of seven and with little means for their support. Putting aside the plans which he had made, the boy commenced a struggle for a livelihood. He obtained such employment as he could, first as clerk in a fuel office, then bookkeeper and later as court officer in the municipal court. All this time he was studying as best he could, sometimes attending evening school and again employing a private instructor. He managed to get a course in a business college and at last entered the university law school, from which he graduated in 1892, taking the degree of LL. B. He was admitted to the bar in the supreme court during the same year. In 1893 he completed a post-graduate course in the law school and received the degree of LL. M. Mr. Megaarden commenced the practice of law, but on January 1, 1895, discontinued it to accept the office which he now holds. He intends to resume practice upon leaving the sheriff's office. Since coming of age Mr. Megaarden has been a staunch Republican, and has taken an active part in political affairs. He is a member of the Union League and other political clubs. He has taken a prominent part in the order of the Knights of Pythias and is at present Chancellor Commander for the second time of Monitor Lodge No 6, K. of P. He has at time filled nearly every office in this lodge. Repeatedly elected to represent his lodge in the Minnesota Grand Lodge, and being a member of the Grand Lodge of the Domain of Minnesota, he has taken a prominent part in the affairs of the order in the Northwest. He has held the office of Deputy Grand Chancellor of the Grand Lodge. Mr. Megaarden is also a member of North Star Division, No. 1, Uniform Rank, Knights of Pythias. He holds membership in the Khurum Lodge, No. 112, A. F. and A. M., and is also a member of Ridgely Lodge, No. 85, I. O. O. F., and of Minnewa Tribe, No. II, of the Improved Order of Red Men. He is a member of the Minneapolis Commercial Club. Mr. Megaarden is unmarried.


Richard J. Mendenhall
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The ancestry of R. J. Mendenhall is traced back to England before the time of William Penn. The American ancestry of the family emigrated with Penn, and his descendants for many years lived in Pennsylvania. The great-great-grandson of the Quaker emigrant, Richard Mendenhall, was an extensive tanner at Jamestown. North Carolina. His wife was Mary Pegg, a descendant of an old Welsh family which settled in America at an early period. Their son Richard was born at Jamestown, on November 25, 1828. During boyhood and youth Mr. Mendenhall's education was more or less interrupted by various pursuits. In 1848 studied at the New Garden Boarding School. During a summer vacation spent in New Hampshire he met Cyrus Beede, with whom he formed a friendship and who afterwards became his partner in business in Minneapolis. During his boyhood he acquired familiarity with farm life, and had taken a special delight in the culture of fruits and flowers. After school Mr. Mendenhall went to Ohio and was engaged in railroad work for a time. He afterwards was associated with his brother in similar work in North Carolina, and his experience in this profession led him to come west. A year of surveying in Iowa satisfied him with locality, and at the age of twenty-eight he arrived at Minneapolis. His friend, Cyrus Beede, followed a year later, and they became associated in the land, loan banking business, under the firm name of Beede & Mendenhall. In the panic of 1857, which came upon them before they were thoroughly established, they suffered considerable losses but succeeded in preserving their credit. In November, 1862, Mr. Mendenhall became president of the State Bank of Minnesota. This was afterwards merged into the State National bank of Minneapolis, of which Mr. Mendenhall also became president, continuing in this position until 1871. He was also president of the State Savings Association, which was forced to suspend during the panic of 1873. At much personal sacrifice Mr. Mendenhall has satisfied most of the claims growing out his failure. In 1862 he was Town Treasure, and for a number of years secretary and treasurer of the Board of Education. Mr. Mendenhall was married in 1858 to Miss Abby G. Swift, a daughter of Captain Silas Swift, of West Falmouth Massachusetts. They now reside in a beautiful home on Stevens avenue in Minneapolis. Adjoining the house are extensive green houses, where Mr. Mendenhall has in recent years built up a large business in flowers and plants. Both Mr. and Mrs. Mendenhall have continued through their lives as active members of the Friends' denomination.


Ambrose Newell Merrick
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Ambrose Newell Merrick was born in Brimfield, Hampden County, Massachusetts, February 9, 1827. He comes of Puritan stock. Thomas Merrick, the first of the family to come to America, settled in Roxbury, Massachusetts, in 1630, and afterwards became one of the founders of Springfield, Massachusetts. The family name originated in Wales. Mr. Merrick is a son of Ruel Merrick and Marcia Fenton, both of Brimfield, Massachusetts, and was the youngest of seven children. His father died when he was about three years old. After attending the district school until about sixteen years of age, Mr. Merrick spent a few terms at the Westfield Academy and Williston Seminary, where he completed preparation for college. He entered Williams College in the sophomore year and graduated in 1850. From 1850 to 1854 Mr. Merrick managed the farm for his mother, studying law as he had the time. In 1855 he entered the office of the Hon. George Ashmun, of Springfield, then one of the leaders of the New England bar, and remained under Mr. Ashmun's tutelage until his admission to the bar in 1857. For ten years after his admission to the bar Mr. Merrick was actively engaged in practice in Springfield, devoting some time to politics, and being for a long time a member of the executive committee of the republican state central committee of Massachusetts. While in Springfield he was for some time president of the City Council and Chairman of the Board of County Commissioners, and later served for some time as City Solicitor. In 1867 Mr. Merrick went to California and for two years practiced at Los Angeles. After a winter in San Francisco he went to Seattle, Washington, and with his associates opened the first coal mine on Puget Sound. But the frontier life of Washington was not an agreeable one, and Mr. Merrick, in 1871, moved to Minneapolis. In the spring of 1872 St. Anthony and Minneapolis were consolidated, and Mr. Merrick became the first City Attorney. He held that office for three consecutive terms. He was one of the originators of the present municipal court. From 1873 to 1875 Mr. Merrick, in addition to the discharge of the duties of City Attorney, was engaged with the late H. G. O. Morrison, under the firm name of Merrick & Morrison, in a large general practice. In 1876 Mr. Merrick, owing to the ill-health of his wife, was compelled to seek a different climate, and went to St. Louis, Missouri, where he resided from 1876 to 1880. On leaving St. Louis to return to Minneapolis, he was the recognized leader of the bar of the Criminal Court of that city. Upon his return to Minneapolis Mr. Merrick immediately entered upon a large practice which he has actively continued since. During his long term at the bar Mr. Merrick's practice has covered every branch of the law. While in Washington Territory, as attorney of the Indian department, he was charged with the care of the legal relations of the Indians in that territory, and in an action brought by a Chinaman against an Indian for services rendered him, took for the first time the position that an Indian sustaining full tribunal relations was not capable of contracting or being contracted with. The case excited great interest on account of the principles involved. Mr. Merrick during his nearly forty years' practice at the par has participated in the trial of a very large number of important and interesting civil causes, among them being one involving the constitutionality of the insolvent law of 1881 of this state, which was carried through the state courts successfully by him and on appeal to the Supreme Court of the United States, Mr. Merrick's contention was sustained and the act declared constitutional; another calling on the Supreme Court of this state for the first time to determine the relative rights of the Street Railway Company and travelers upon the public streets after the company had equipped its lines with electrically-propelled cars. In politics Mr. Merrick was by education and surroundings naturally a Whig, casting his first vote for Taylor and Fillmore, and after that time continuing an active worker in the Whig party until its dissolution as a national party, after which Mr. Merrick went with the free soil wing of the Whig party, which resulted in the formation of the Republican party of to-day, in the formation of which he was an active participant and member of the executive committee of the State Central Committee of Massachusetts for eight years, and with the exception of the support which he gave to Horace Greeley in 1872, and Samuel J. Tilden in 1876, his connection with the Republican party has remained unbroken, having been a desired speaker in every national campaign until the campaign of 1896, when he was compelled by his convictions to support bimetallism. In 1858 Mr. Merrick was married to Sarah B. Warriner, of Springfield, Massachusetts, and this union resulted eight children; two sons, Louis A. and Harry H., now being associated with Mr. Merrick in the active practice of the law.


Frank Cecil Metcalf
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Frank C. Metcalf, register of deeds of Hennepin County, is practically a "Minneapolis boy," for, although he was born at Dundas, Minnesota, in 1865, his parents moved to Minneapolis the following year, and this city has been his home ever since. His father was employed by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway company, as a locomotive engineer, filling the post faithfully for ten years, when exposure resulted in a severe attack of inflammatory rheumatism, from which he never recovered sufficiently to resume work, and which resulted in his death in 1882. When Frank became old enough, he entered the public schools, beginning at the Washington building, which stood on the site of the present courthouse. Pressing steadily upward in his course, he reached the high school in 1879. After attending the high school for a short time he left to obtain a business education, and was graduated from the Curtiss Business College in 1881. During the seven long years of his father's last illness, Frank's mother, who was a very energetic woman, nursed her husband, sent Frank to school, and supported herself and family by keeping boarders. His mother died in 1888. After graduating from the business college, Frank entered the employ of the C., M. & St. P. R. R. Company as "truckman" in their freight house; he soon entered the freight office as clerk, and by his energy and a steady application to business, worked his way up to the position of chief clerk, having served in almost every intervening position. During the year of 1889 he left the employ of the railway company to engage in the real estate business, and was still so engaged when elected register of deeds in 1896. April 10, 1889, he was married to Miss Sadie Chase Elliot, daughter of Wyman Elliot, one of the oldest and best known residents of Minneapolis, and resides at No. 4621 Fremont avenue S, where he has a very cosy little home for his family, which consists of his wife and two boys, the elder nearly seven years of age, and the other born on the March 26, 1897, just too late to participate in his father's "triumphal entry" to the office of register of deeds. Mr. Metcalf has been active in politics for a number of years, having never held an office, however, until this year. Mr. Metcalf belongs to the A. F. and A. M. No. 19; Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks No. 44; Royal Arcanum, Foresters and Red Men among the fraternal societies. In politics he is a Republican, and it was this party that gave him the office he is now filling. He is a member of the Park Avenue Congregational church. Mr. Metcalf is in many ways a self-made man, and the very large measure of success which he already has achieved is the result of patient and intelligent effort added to his personal work and unmistakable force of character.


Orange S. Miller
Source: History of Anoka County and the Towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota, by Albert M. Goodrich (1905) transcribed by: Helen Coughlin

Orange S. Miller (son of Robert H. Miller) was born in Waterford, Maine, Sept. 6th, 1849. Came to Minnesota with his father's family in the spring of 1854. His educational advantages were limited to the public schools of Champlin, which in his younger days were not of the best. He served two years as clerk in the U. S. land office at Greenleaf, Minn., in 1868-9. He was a member of the House of Representatives in 1883, was teller and assistant cashier in the Anoka National Bank from 1883 to 1900. Has been chairman of the board of supervisors and treasurer of Champlin several times. On Nov. 30, 1871, he was married to Miss Mary E. Wiley. They have one son. Arthur J. Miller, born May 7th, 1875, who is the present postmaster of Champlin. Mr. Miller is now president of The O. S. Miller Co., proprietors of the Champlin Flour Mill.


Robert H. Miller
Source: History of Anoka County and the Towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota, by Albert M. Goodrich (1905) transcribed by: Helen Coughlin

Robert H. Miller was born in Denmark, Oxford Co., Maine, January 5, 1820. He was married in January, 1848, to Sarah R. Hill of Conway, New Hampshire, and removed to Waterford, Maine. Two children were born to them. Orange S. and Thirza R. In 1852 Mr. M. came to St. Anthony, Minn., but the family did not come until the spring of 1854. He held a "squatter's claim" in what is now Minneapolis for a short time; then sold his right and improvements and removed to Anoka in August, 1854, and erected the third house built there, which he soon sold, and on Novembr (November) 12, 1854, moved across the river to Champlin, the next spring moving upon a claim in what is now Dayton township, which he pre-empted. In 1857 he moved into the village of Champlin, built a residence and shop; having learned the carriage-maker's trade in early life, he carried on that business here several years. He also owned and conducted the hotel several years. He held the office of postmaster from 1860 to 1867 and served several terms as assessor. Mr. Miller died at Champlin, August 27, 1886.


Julius Elliott Miner
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

The Miner family is traced back to Henry Bullman, a miner, who in the year 1339, with a company of one hundred of his workmen, was of great assistance to Edward III in his war with France. For this service King Edward changed his loyal subject's name to Henry Miner (the surname being in accordance with his occupation), and gave him a coat of arms. The American branch began with Thomas Miner, who was of the fourth generation from Henry Miner. He came to this country in 1630 in the "Arabella," which landed at Salem. From there he went to Boston, thence to Charlestown, Massachusetts, where he established its first church. In 1642 he went to Pequot with five others, where he commenced the settlement of what is now New London. Amost Miner, the great grandfather of Julius, served in the Revolutionary War, entering as a private and coming out as a captain. One of the most prominent members of the Miner family was Rev. Alonzo Ames Miner, who was president of Tuft's College from 1862 to 1875, pastor of the Universalist School Street Church, in Boston, for upwards of forty-six years, and one of the most prominent leaders in the United States of liberal thought and temperance work. Joel Guild Miner, the father of the subject of this sketch, is of the eighth generation from the founder of the American branch of the Miner family. He was a farmer by occupation, and his financial circumstances were always moderate but comfortable. His family consisted of twelve children, all of whom are living except one, who died in infancy. For the education of his children J. G. Miner provided liberally. His wife's maiden name was Gennett Christiana Allis, whose memory is revered by her children. Julius was born at Fond du Lac, Wisconsin, June 8, 1849. He attended the public schools of his native town until his sixteenth year, when he entered the preparatory department of Hillsdale College, at Hillsdale, Michigan. After one year of study here, his father removed with his family to Goodhue County, Minnesota, and bought a half section of wild lands. For the next four years young Julius worked at opening up and improving the farm during the summer months, and in the winter taught in the district schools. In the autumn of 1870 he entered the state university. He was compelled to support himself during his college course by teaching and working at such odd jobs as he could find. For two terms he taught at Long Lake, in Hennepin County, and was principal of the public schools at Le Sueur, Minnesota, for about the same length of time. He graduated from the university in the classical course in June 1875. For a year after his graduation he taught school at Le Sueur and then entered the law department of Union College, at Albany, New York, graduating in the class of 1877. To maintain himself while there, he secured a position as principal of one of the night schools. Returning to Minnesota, he entered the law offices of John M. Shaw and Albert L. Levi, in Minneapolis, and after studying for nearly two years was admitted to the bar and commenced practice in that city. His work professionally has been largely office work, though he has tried many cases in court. He was one of the attorneys for the defendants in the celebrated King-Remington case; was attorney for the receiver of the Minneapolis Engine and Machine Works, and was assignee of Ezra Farnsworth, Jr. Mr. Miner has always affiliated with the Republican party. In the fall of 1892 he was elected alderman from the Eighth Ward, for a term of four years. Soon after taking his seat he was appointed a member of the special committee which investigated the irregularities in the fire department. He was the only Republican alderman who opposed and voted against the purchase of the Brackett property for a city hospital site, and was chairman of the special committee to investigate the expenditure of the proceeds of one hundred thousand dollars of bonds of the city by the Board of Corrections and Charities for the present city hospital. He was successful in opposing the Oswald sewer contract, which would have cost the city thirty-thousand dollars, and was strongly opposed, also, to the effort made in the council to award the contract for the Seventh Street bridge to the highest bidder. It is due to his efforts that a bridge was constructed over the Hastings & Dakota tracks on Hennepin Avenue, one of the most useful improvements made in the city. He served as chairman of the committee on sewers, and as a member of the committees on claims, ordinances, and police. It may be said of Mr. Miner that he was one of the most able and conscientious men that ever served in the Minneapolis City Council. He is a Mason and a member of the Phi Beta Kappa. He is a member of the Lyndale Congregational Church and of the Congregational Club of Minnesota. He was married in July 1877, to Miss Viola Fuller. Mrs. Miner died in the spring of 1893. Two children were the result of this union, Robert, aged eleven, and Viola Fuller, aged four.


Charles H. Mitchell
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Renae Capitanio

CHARLES H. MITCHELL, one of the brave defenders of the Union during the Civil war and the present popular city treasurer of Fargo, North Dakota, was born in Norwich, New York, June 8, 1842, and is the only son of Charles H. and Mary (Ryder) Mitchell, also natives of the Empire state, where the father was engaged in practice as a physician and surgeon throughout his active business life. He died in 1842. The grandfather, Henry Mitchell, was also a physician and surgeon of New York state and was a very prominent and influential citizen of his community. He was of English descent.
The subject of this sketch was reared and educated at Norwich and Oxford, New York, and after leaving school commenced the study of medicine, but in 1861, on the opening of the Rebellion, he laid aside all personal interests and enlisted in Company G, Sixty-first New York Volunteer Infantry, of which regiment General Miles was then lieutenant-colonel. Mr. Mitchell was in active service with that command for fourteen months, participating in the battles of Yorktown, Fair Oakes, the seven days' fight, the battles of Malvern Hill, White Oaks and a number of smaller engagements, and was then discharged on account of disability in 1863, but subsequently he re-enlisted in Company I, One Hundred and Fourteenth New York Infantry, which was assigned to the Army of the Southwest. He was captured at Cain River Crossing, Louisiana, and held prisoner for six months, being exchanged in 1864. He was then in active service until the winter of 1865, when he was placed on duty in the reconstruction of the south. Fortunately he escaped unwounded, and when finally mustered out returned to his home in New York.
In 1867 Mr. Mitchell went to Chicago, where he remained three years, being engaged in the grocery trade a part of the time and the remainder as an employee in the post office. The following two years were passed at Minneapolis, and for seven years he conducted a hotel at Duluth, Minnesota. In 1878 he came to Fargo, North Dakota, and here he has since made his home, conducting a livery, sale and feed stable and also engaging in farming to some extent.
In 1874 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Mitchell and Miss Eleanore A. Bennett, also a native of New York. He has always been identified with the Republican party, and is now a prominent member of the Grand Army post of Fargo. As one of its leading, progressive and public-spirited citizens, he has been called upon to serve as alderman of Fargo and in 1898 was elected city treasurer, which office he is now filling in a most commendable manner.


James C. Moodey
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

James C. Moodey is the secretary and manager of the Minnesota Fire Insurance Company, with headquarters at Minneapolis. Mr. Moodey has been engaged in active business since he was fifteen years old, and is one of the self-made men, who have achieved success in whatever line of business he has undertaken. His father was James C. Moodey, a lawyer and judge of the St. Louis circuit court. Judge Moodey's father was James C. Moodey, of Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, known as "Parson Moodey," and for fifty-one years pastor of Middle Springs Presbyterian church, in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania. "Parson" Moodey was of Scotch-Irish descent and was born the day the Declaration of Independence was promulgated, July 4, 1776. The subject of this sketch was born May 3, 1856, at New Albany, Indiana. He began his education in the common schools of St. Louis, where he was a pupil until the age of fifteen years. Subsequently he had some private instruction, but his later education has been mainly acquired in the hard school of experience. His first business engagement was in the employ of Bradstreet's Mercantile Agency in 1870 and 1871. In the latter year he removed to Chicago, where he was employed in the local fire insurance agencies of R. S. Critchell, C. H. Case and Fred S. James, from 1871 to 1880. January 15, 1880, he engaged as bookkeeper with the Western department of the Niagara Fire Insurance Company, under the management of David Beveridge, who was succeeded in the management of the company April 1, 1881, by I. S. Blackwelder. October 1, 1891, Mr. Moodey was made the assistant manager of this company, and served in that capacity until he was elected secretary and manager of the Minnesota Fire Insurance Company, January 1, 1894. He then removed to Minneapolis, where he established the fire insurance agency of James C. Moodey & Co. Mr. Moodey is a Democrat in politics, and while he takes no active part in political campaigns, his vote is generally cast on the Democratic side. He has always taken an active interest in athletic sports, and for six years, from 1886 to 1892, was president of the Chicago City League of amateur baseball clubs, and an active member of the "West End' club of that organization. Mr. Moodey is a member of the Presbyterian church. On January 7, 1894, he married Bertha Tausig, of Chicago. They have one daughter, May Critchell, born March 19, 1895.


James Edward Moore
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

The idea fixed definitely in mind of following a certain line of work as his profession in life, and devoting all his efforts to that end in face of every obstacle, in brief is descriptive of the life of Dr. James E. Moore, of Minneapolis, who has attained the goal sought in early life - surgery as a specialty, and skill in all its lines of practice. Dr. Moore's paternal ancestors were of Scottish descent. On his mother's side he is of German descent. Rev. George W. Moore, his father, is a retired Methodist minister, who for thirty years was in active work in the Erie conference. His mother's maiden name was Margaret Jane Zeigler. She was born in Mercer county, Pennsylvania. Her father was a farmer in that section, but in 1853 he migrated with his family to Iowa, taking up a homestead on the prairie in Jones county, near where Anamosa now stands. He served throughout the war as a member of the famous "Grey Beards." The grandparents of Mrs. Moore came to this country from Germany. James Edward was born at Clarksville, Mercer County, Pennsylvania, March 2, 1852. His parents were indulgent to him and gave him exceptional advantages for a good educational training, which the boy did not fail to take advantage of. Until his fifteenth year he attended the public schools, and during his vacations, even from his ninth year, never idled away his time, but worked on the farm, sold books and sewing machines and worked in a rolling mill. In to his eighteenth year he attended the Poland Union Seminary at Poland, Ohio - the same school, by the way, where William McKinley received his education. He usually stood at the head of his classes, and was recommended by the principal of the institution to General Garfield for appointment to West Point; but James' father objected to his receiving a military training. After leaving the seminary he taught school in eastern Ohio for the following year, and during his leisure hours took up the study of medicine. During the year 1871-2 he attended the medical department of the University of Michigan, and the following year continued his studies in Bellevue Hospital Medical College in New York, from which he graduated in the spring of 1873. Shortly afterwards he located at Fort Wayne, Indiana and commenced practice. It being confined largely to railroad employees and laboring men, did not prove very encouraging. After the panic of 1874-3, when his patrons could no longer pay their bills. Dr. Moore concluded to return to New York for further study. He remained there for nearly a year, but after having been left penniless in the spring of 1876, through the failure of a bank in Pittsburg, he went to the oil fields of Pennsylvania, thinking he would have good opportunity here for practice in his special line, that of surgeon. He located at Emlenton and formed a partnership with Dr. B. F; Hamilton, and for three years, until the partnership was dissolved, enjoyed a profitable practice. He continued to practice alone, for three and a half years longer, till, desiring to enlarge his opportunities, he concluded to remove to Minneapolis, which he did in August 1882. He formed a partnership with Dr. A. A. Ames, which continued for four and a half years. By this partnership he was introduced at once to a large practice, largely surgical, in a direct line with his ambition. Ever since his graduation, Dr. Moore has always kept up his studies, and frequently returned to New York for the sake of experience obtained in the hospitals.

In 1886 he went to Europe, attending Dr. Bergman's clinic in Berlin. He also spent some time in the Charing Cross and Royal Orthopedic hospitals in London. On returning from Europe he dissolved partnership with Dr. Ames in order to be able to select his practice to his liking, gradually eliminating medical practice until the fall of 1888, since which time it has been exclusively surgical. Dr. Moore has done much to aid the development of modern surgery in the Northwest and established for himself a reputation not confined to the local center. In addition to general surgery, he has also a special reputation in orthopedic surgery. He is the author of a book on that subject, which is now in the hands of an Eastern publishing house. In 1885 he was made professor of orthopedic surgery in the Minnesota Hospital Medical College; later occupied the same chair in the St. Paul Medical College. When the medical department of the State University was established, he was elected to the same chair in that institution, which he still holds, in addition to that of professor of clinical surgery. In 1894 he represented the university at the International Medical Congress at Rome. Dr. Moore is also a constant contributor to medical journals throughout the United .States. He is a member of all the local and state medical societies. In 1885 he was elected a Fellow of the American Surgical Association, one of the most exclusive national societies. He is also a member of the American Orthopedic Association, Congress of American Physicians and Surgeons, and the American Medical Association. He was appointed an honorary vice-president of the Pan-American Medical Congress. He is surgeon to St. Barnabas Hospital, and consulting surgeon to the Northwestern, St. Mary's and City Hospitals. Dr. Moore is a Republican. He is a member of the Minneapolis Club. His church connections are with the Universalist body, being a member of the Church of the Redeemer. He was married in 1874 to Bessie Applegate, who died in 1881. In 1884 he was married to Clara H. Collins, who died a year later, leaving a daughter, Bessie Margaret Moore. In 1887 Dr. Moore was again married to Louie Irving.


Darius F. Morgan
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

In February, 1854, Darius F. Morgan was born in Jackson County, Iowa. His paternal ancestors were New England farmers, who, emigrating from Wales about the middle of the last century, played a conspicuous part in the revolutionary struggle for liberty. By his mother, Ruth Duprey, of Meadville, Pennsylvania, he is descended from a French Huguenot family, which in early Colonial times fled from religious persecution at home to the hospitable shores of the new world. His father, Harley Morgan, was a native of Vergennes, Vermont, but in 1842 brought his family West to the Mississippi valley, settling first in Jackson County, and fourteen years later in Winneshiek County, Iowa, in which latter county young Morgan spent his boyhood and youth, and laid the foundation of a substantial education in the common schools. In 1876, until which time he had lived with his father, working on the farm in summer and going to school in the winter, he began to study law, and in the fall of 1877 he was admitted to the bar at Austin, Minnesota, which city had now been his home for almost a year, and where he had supported himself as a student, as a reporter in Judge Page's court. A year after admission to the bar he went to Albert Lea, where he formed a professional partnership with John A. Lovely, which lasted for ten years. In November, 1888, Mr. Morgan was elected to represent Freeborn County in the lower house of the legislature, and in the session of 1889 he was chairman of the committee on appropriations. In 1890 he removed to Minneapolis, where he formed a partnership in the law with W. H. Eustis, which lasted until Mr. Eustis' election as mayor of Minneapolis in November, 1892. May 1, 1893, the firm of Hale, Morgan & Montgomery was organized, and it became in a short time one of the strongest at the Hennepin bar. In 1894 Mr. Morgan was sent to the state senate from the Thirty-second District, comprising the Minneapolis Fifth and Sixth wards, for a term of four years. In the sessions of 1895 and 1897 he served with distinction as a member of the judiciary committee of the senate. In 1895, he was, in addition, the chairman of the finance committee. In 1897 he was chairman of the committee on corporations and a member of the committee on taxes and tax laws. These are among the most important committees of the senate. Mr. Morgan early became attached to the Republican party. His eloquence made him a power on the stump, and his good judgment and conservatism made him useful in party counsel. For almost eighteen years he was a member of county and state central committees. For two sessions of the legislature he has been one of the leading members of the senate, and few men in the state are more widely or more favorably known. In 1876 Mr. Morgan was married to Ella M. Hayward, of Waukon, Iowa, and a son and two daughters were born of the union. In March, 1893, Mrs. Morgan died, and after almost three years had passed by, Mr. Morgan married again. The president Mrs. Morgan was Mrs. Lizette F. Davis, of Auburn, New York, Senator Morgan belongs to but one secret society, the Elks. He attends Gethsemane Episcopal church with his family.


Samuel Vance Morris, Jr.
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

S. V. Morris, Jr., an insurance man of Minneapolis, was born on October 4, 1870, in Hamilton County, Ohio. He is descended on his mother's side from Benjamin Harrison, one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, and the progenitor of a distinguished line of public men of that name. His great grandfather was President William Henry Harrison, and his grandfather was John Scott Harrison, who served two terms in Congress from the Second congressional district of Ohio. Ex-President Benjamin Harrison is his mother's brother. Mr. Morris is also descended on his mother's side from John Cleve Sims, who at one time owned all that part of Ohio between the Ohio and the Miami rivers, including the site of Cincinnati. Mr. Morris' father, Samuel V. Morris, Senior, is chief clerk in the United States engineers' office at St. Paul, under Col. W. A. Jones. Previous to coming to Minnesota the family lived in Indianapolis. As a boy Mr. Morris attended the public schools of Indianapolis. His business instincts developed early, and while quite young he formed a partnership with a school mate, and contracted to keep seventy-two lawns cut, in the vicinity of his father's home. During this season the boys were kept busy, but by working early and late, before breakfast and after school, the boys fulfilled their contract, and Samuel found that he had earned about ten dollars per week as his share of the profits. During his first year in the Indianapolis high school he took a position with the firm of B. D. Walcott & Co., fire insurance agents at Indanapolis. He worked in the morning as clerk in the office and went to school in the afternoon. After some months he left school and devoted his whole time to business. It was not long after this that the business was sold and the firm subsequently became Walker & Prather, the head of the firm being Col. I. N. Walker, past commander of the G. A. R. Mr. Morris remained as policy clerk and collector with the new firm until his father removed to Minneapolis. Upon coming to Minneapolis he secured a position similar to that which he had filled at his old home, with the fire insurance firm of Pliny Bartlett & Co. He remained with this firm about three years, and then seeing a good opening in the accident insurance business he accepted a position as local agent for the Provident Fund Accident Society, of New York. When that company reinstated its business, Mr. Morris accepted a position as special agent for the Preferred Accident Insurance Company, of New York, under C. W. Bliler. During the year Mr. Bliler removed to Kansas City and Mr. Morris received the appointment as general agent for Minneapolis, and ever since then his territory has been increasing until he now has the entire state of Minnesota with the exception of the two cities of St. Paul and Duluth. Mr. Morris is an ardent Republican, and secretary of the Young Men's Republican Club of Minneapolis. Though taking an active part in politics, he has not yet aspired to public office. He is a member of the First Presbyterian church, of Minneapolis.


William Richard Morris
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The Afro-American race affords not a few examples of the ability of that people to arise above race prejudice and the disadvantages of birth to positions of standing an influence in the community. One such example is found in the subject of this sketch. William Richard Morris was born near Flemingsburg, Kentucky, February 22, 1859, the son of Hezekiah Morris, a slave. His mother's maiden name was Elizabeth Hopkins. His father having died when he was only two years of age, his mother moved, after the war, to Ohio, where William attended the public schools of New Richmond and Cincinnati, and later a pay school in Chicago, Illinois. He entered Fisk University at Nashville, Tennessee, when seventeen years of age, graduating with high honors from the classical department in the class of 1884. He was apt and studious, and recognized as a bright scholar, a logical debater, a good essayist and an eloquent and forcible speaker. He was turned a "typical Fiskite" by reason of his fine scholarship, devotion to his race and strict adherence to the principles of rectitude. He was made a member of the faculty after graduating, and was for more than four years the Afro-American member of that body of twenty-five professors and teachers. He taught classes in mathematics, languages and the sciences at Fisk University for five years, giving complete satisfaction. While a student he taught public schools in Mississippi and Arkansas during vacation. He represented the Afro-Americans of the South at the annual meeting of the A. M. A., at Madison, Wisconsin, in 1885, delivering an address entitled "The Negro at Present," which won for him a wide reputation. In 1886 he was employed by the State superintendent of education of Tennessee, to hold institutes for Afro-American teachers of that state. He has lectured at different times and written articles for the press which have been highly commended. In 1887 he received the degree of M. A. from his Alma Mater, and in the same year was admitted to the bar by the supreme court of Illinois, in a class of twenty-seven, being one out of three to receive the same and highest mark. He was also admitted to the bar by the supreme court of Tennessee, and practiced some at both Chicago, Illinois, and Nashville, Tennessee. He resigned his position at Fisk University in June, 1889, and came to Minneapolis, and has practiced in that city ever since, having been the first Afro-American lawyer to appear before the courts of Hennepin County. He has handled a number of important cases and won for himself an enviable reputation as a lawyer, both in civil and criminal practice. One of his most important cases was the defense of "Yorky," or Thomas Lyons, in the famous Harris murder trial, who was discharged. He is a Republican in politics and a member of the Fifth District Congressional committee. He has taken the lead in Minneapolis in everything pertaining to the upbuilding of his race, and has never wavered in the struggle for their rights. He was elected president of the Afro-American State League in 1891. He is also a thirty-third degree Mason, a member of the Supreme Council, Sheik of Fezzan Temple of the Mystic Shrine, High Priest and Prophet in the Imperial Council, Scribe of the Chapter, Deputy Supreme Chancellor of the Knights of Pythias, Brigadier General of the Uniform Rank, a trustee of the Supreme Lodge, Generalissimo of the Commandery K. T., and an N. F. of the Odd Fellows. He is a member of the Plymouth Congregational church of Minneapolis. July 14, 1896, he married Miss Anna M. La Force of Pullman, Illinois, a most estimable young woman of acknowledged literary ability.


Dorilus Morrison
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Of the early pioneers of Minnesota--the men who have seen it develop from a vast wilderness into a state second in commercial importance to none in the Northwest and who contributed to that result--none are more deserving of the appellation of a self-made man than Dorilus Morrison. From early youth he was compelled to rely upon his own resources but by perseverance and industry, in connection with his natural business sagacity, he gradually climbed the ladder of success, and can now look back with pardonable pride on a life that has been an eminent success. The ancestry of Mr. Morrison is Scotch. He is the son of Samuel Morrison, an early settler in the state of Maine, and a wheelwright by trade, and Betsey Benjamin (Morrison). His birth occurred in the town of Livermore, Oxford County, Maine, on the twenty-seventh of December, 1814. Dorilus received a common school education, which was supplemented by a three months' course in an academy at Redfield, in his native state. Afterwards he taught for a while in a country district school. While yet in his eighteenth year he secured employment with William H. Britan, a merchant, farmer and general trader, working for a salary of seven dollars a month and board; the second year he worked for ten dollars a month, and on demanding twelve dollars a month the third year, and being refused, he left and sought employment elsewhere. Within three months, however, his former employer offered him twenty-five dollars a month if he would return. He accepted this offer and at the end of the year became a partner in the business. He continued as such for five years, enjoying good success, and laying by a small fortune of four thousand dollars. In 1842 he removed to Bangor and engaged in the mercantile and lumbering business, which business he pursued prosperously until 1853. He had at this time saved up about twenty thousand dollars, and being attracted by the opportunities Minnesota afforded for carrying on the lumbering business, he came to this state the following spring with the purpose of locating pine lands for himself and others. His visit impressed him so favorably that he returned to Mine, disposed of his interests there, and returned in the spring of 1855 and located at St. Anthony. He secured a contract to supply the saw mills, located at that time on the east side of the Mississippi, with logs from the pineries, having invested in a large tract of pine lands on the Rum river. This business was continued for many years. After the completion of the dam built by the Minneapolis Mill Company, Mr. Morrison built a saw mill and opened a lumber yard, engaging extensively in the lumber business, until 1868, when accumulated interests had become so large that he turned this business over entirely to his sons. Mr. Morrison was principal incorporator of the Minneapolis Mill Company, which was incorporated in 1856, acting as its treasurer. This company were the builders of the first dam and canal, an undertaking which proved marvelous in its results--making Minneapolis what it is to-day. This company built saw mills and sold mill sites both upon and below the dam. The outlay was large, and for years the enterprise proved unremunerative. But Mr. Morrison foresaw the immense possibilities of the future and bought up the shares of the stockholders who were so severely pressed by the demands made upon the resources of the company that they gladly relinquished their holdings. In time, Mr. Morrison's faith in the ultimate success of the enterprise was justified by the result. He remained a director, and served several times as president of the company, until the property was sold to an English syndicate, which now owns it. This company owned all the water power upon the west side of the river, several saw mils and flour mills, a large elevator and the North Star woolen mill. In 1869, when the construction of the Northern Pacific Railroad was commenced, Mr. Morrison associated with him Messrs. Brackett, King, Eastman, Washburn and Shephered, of Minneapolis; Merriam, of St. Paul; Payson and Canda, of Chicago; Balch, of New Hampshire, and Rose and Robinson of Canada, and secured the contract for building the first section of this road, from the St. Louis river to the Red river, a distance of two hundred and forty miles. The work was pushed and the completed road turned over to the company in 1872. Mr. Morrison was chosen as one of the directors of the road, which position he held until the general reorganization of the company, after the failure of its financial agents, Jay Cooke & Co. Again in 1873, in association with some of the gentlemen above mentioned, he secured the contract for the next section of two hundred miles of the road, from the Red river to the Missouri. There was no money forthcoming when this contract was completed, and Mr. Morrison assumed the shares of his associates and received in payment a large tract of the company's lands in Northern Minnesota, which contained pine timber. He was also a large stockholder in the Minneapolis Harvester Works; assuming the stock of his associates when the enterprise almost proved a failure, he made the business a success. Notwithstanding his large business interests, Mr. Morrison still found time to devote to the public affairs of the village which has grown up to the metropolis of to-day. When the Union Board of Trade was organized in St. Anthony in 1856 Mr. Morrison was chosen its president, and was a director for several years. In the several trade organizations which followed this board in the pioneer days he has always been an active participator and worker. In 1864 he was elected to the state senate, his colleagues in the legislature from Hennepin County being such men as John S. Pillsbury, Cyrus Aldrich and Judge F. R. E. Cornell. When the city of Minneapolis was incorporated in 1867, Mr. Morrison was chosen its first mayor, and in 1869 was again elected to the same office. In 1871 he was elected to a term of two years on the board of education, and later, in 1878, he was re-elected to a term of three years, and was chosen president of the board. When the park board was organized Mr. Morrison was chosen a commissioner, and was also re-elected to the same office. He devoted much time to the services demanded of him as a commissioner, and Minneapolis' present beautiful park system owes much to Mr. Morrison's labor and counsel. He was also interested in the Athenaeum, the predecessor of the present public library, serving on the board of managers, giving a good deal of his valuable time to aid in building up this institution. In his politics Mr. Morrison has always been a staunch Republican. He has been a believer in the Universalist faith for a great many years, and been a liberal supporter of the Church of the Redeemer. In 1840 Mr. Morrison was married at Livermore, Maine, to Miss H. K. Whittemore, who became the mother of three children, George H., now dead; Clinton and Grace, wife of Dr. H. H. Kimball. She died in 1881, at Vienna, Austria, while on a European trip. His present wife was Mrs. A. G. Clagstone, who is a lady of artistic taste and liberal culture. Though eighty-two years old, Mr. Morrison is still enjoying robust health, due to the active life he has always led, and always reinvigorated by the frequent journeys he takes to sea side resorts.


Robert George Morrison
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Robert George Morrison - The subject of this sketch is a member of the law firm of Jayne & Morrison, of Minneapolis. On his father's side he is of Scotch and Irish descent, his grandfather having been a preacher in the north of Ireland, and served one congregation for about forty years. On his mother's side he is of Scotch descent, his grandfather, however, belonging to one of the old Pennsylvania families. Mr. Morrison was born at Blair's Mills, Huntington County, Pennsylvania, July 31, 1860, the son of David Harbison Morrison and Margery B. McConnell (Morrison). D. H. Morrison has been engaged in the general mercantile business from his boyhood, first as an apprentice in North Ireland, where he was born and lived until a young' man, when he came to this country and first connected himself with a wholesale house in Philadelphia, but soon afterwards engaged in the general mercantile business at the village of Blair's Mills, Pennsylvania. In 1872 he moved to Morning Sun, Iowa, where he engaged in the same line of business which he has ever since conducted. Robert G. attended short winter terms at the country school house near his native village, and an occasional session in the village school of Waterloo, a mile from Blair's Mills. After removal to Iowa he attended the public and eventually the high school of Morning Sun, from which he graduated in June 1876. He had then expected to receive instruction in banking and make that his life business, his father being at that time an officer in the local bank. Within a few months, however, he became desirous of procuring a college education, and during the following winter continued the study of Greek and Latin under the instruction of Rev. C. D. Trumbull at home, then and now pastor of the Reformed Presbyterian Church at Morning Sun. In the fall of 1877 he entered the Iowa State University, at Iowa City, becoming a member of the second sub-freshman class, from which he graduated in 1882, receiving the degree of A. B. The year following he entered the law department of the university, graduating with the degree of LL. E., in 1883, at the same time being admitted to the bar to practice in the supreme court of Iowa and the United States district and circuit courts. In 1890 he received the degree of A. M. from the same institution. While at college he was commissioned First Lieutenant Battery, Iowa National Guards, was a member of the Zetagathian Literary Society, at one time its president, and had a place on two of its annual public exhibition programs. He was chosen as valedictorian of his class for the Class Day exercises. He was a member of the Beta Theta Pi college fraternity. His vacations he spent in his father's store. Mr. Morrison came to Minneapolis in the fall of 1883, entering a law office, where he remained for a year or more in the further study of his chosen profession. He then secured a position in the business office of the Western Union Telegraph Company, which he held until he started out in business for himself, in July 1886. Mr. Morrison opened a law office for the practice of his profession by himself, continuing to practice alone until April 1892, when he formed a partnership with Trafford N. Jayne, under the firm name of Jayne & Morrison, which still continues. This firm is engaged in a general law practice, though running particularly to corporation and commercial law, and enjoys an extensive clientage. Mr. Morrison's political affiliations are with the Republican party, and he is more or less active in local politics. His church connections are with the Westminster Presbyterian Church, of which he is a member. He is not married.

Frederick Newbury Dickson is an attorney of St. Paul. He is a native of Minnesota, having been born at Northfield on May 15, 1863. Though a Minnesotan by birth, Mr. Dickson is distinctly Scotch by descent. His father's ancestors were from the vicinity of Edinburgh. His great grandfather was an architect and master builder. He learned his profession in Scotland, and came to New York shortly after the American Revolution. There he followed the business of contracting and building and became quite wealthy. Upon his death, which occurred suddenly in the prime of life from a stroke of apoplexy, he was buried under the floor of a church on Wall street, which he had built. Subsequently, when the ground upon which this church stood became very valuable, it was torn down, each stone was marked, and the building was re-erected in Jersey City. The body of Mr. Dickson, with others, was exhumed and burned, and the ashes preserved in urns in the church. All of his sons, except the grandfather of Fred Dickson, followed the sea, and this son was a school master, and early in life settled in Canada. His wife was of a family named Osbourne, who removed from New Jersey at the outbreak of the American Revolution, and settled in Canada, where they were granted large concessions of land from the British government on account of their loyalty. On his mother's side, the family was originally from the Scotch Highlands. They lived in Invernesshire, carrying on an extensive granite quarry business. Stone cutting and building was followed by several members of the family. The family name of Masson is supposed to be a corruption of the simple name Mason. Mr. Dickson's grandfather was Alexander Masson, who like his progenitors, was a stone cutter and master builder. He built a church in the Island of Lewes, the scene of William Black's "Princess of Thule." He came to Montreal about 1830, and there built, for the Bank of Montreal, the large stone banking-house occupied by that institution for so many years. This building is familiar to all Canadians, as the picture of the bank was engraved on notes and certain coins issued by the bank and circulated in Canada. Mr. Dickson's father, John Nald Dickson, was born at the small town of Picton, on Ouinte Bay, on Lake Ontario in Upper Canada. He married Miss Mary Masson, who was born in the same vicinity, and removed to Northfield in 1860. For many years he carried on a carriage and wagon manufacturing business, but has now retired in comfortable circumstances. Fred N. Dickson obtained his early education in the public schools of Northfield which have from their beginning been excellent schools. After leaving the district school he entered Carleton College at Northfield and took a four years classical course. In college he made a good record and won the first prize in the freshmen debates for the "Plymouth prize," and also first prize in the junior debates for the same prize. He graduated in 1885 and at once began the study of law in the office of the Hon. W. S. Pattee. In November 1886, Mr. Dickson came to St. Paul and entered the law office of John B. and W. H. Sanborn; two years later, in May 1888, he was admitted lo practice. He remained with the Messrs, Sanborn until December 1, 1893, when he opened an office and commenced practice alone with much success. Mr. Dickson is a member of Summit Lodge, A. F. & A. M., No. 163, at St. Paul; he is also a member of the Lincoln Lodge, Knights of Pythias, and of the Commercial Club of St. Paul. In political faith he is a Republican.


Howard McIlvain Morton
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Dr. Howard McIlvain Morton is an oculist and aurist in Minneapolis. His birthplace was the old city of Chester, Pennsylvania, and his birthday May, 23, 1866. His father was Dr. Charles J. Morton, a well-known surgeon of Eastern Pennsylvania, who had practiced in Chester for more than thirty years. Dr. Charles Morton was the great grandson of John Morton, a signer of the Declaration of Independence, whose monument erected to him at Chester bears this inscription: "John Morton, member of the Stamp Act Congress from this Colony. Judge of the Supreme Court. Delegate to the First Congress in 1774. Speaker of the House of Assembly. Re-elected to the Congress of 1776, where in giving the casting vote of his delegation he crowned Pennsylvania the Keystone of the arch of liberty, and secured to the American people the Declaration of Independence. Himself a signer. Born 1724. Died 1777." In the rotunda of the old state house in Philadelphia are portraits of the signers of the Declaration of Independence, but no portrait of John Morton was preserved, and in its place one may see a large tablet erected to his distinguished memory. Dr. Howard Morton's mother was Annie Coates, the daughter of Moses and Lydia Taylor Coates, Lydia Taylor having been a near relative of President Zachary Taylor and a cousin of Bayard Taylor. Moses Coates was the founder of Coatesville, one of the old Pennsylvania towns, to which he gave his name. He was a man of remarkable inventive genius, and also a mathematician of wide reputation in his time. The subject of this sketch, Howard McIlvain, attended a private school in Chester until he was twelve years of age, when he entered Maplewood Institute to prepare for college. He was admitted to Lafayette College, at Easton, Pennsylvania, in the fall of 1884, and was graduated in 1888. Howard McIlvain took an active part in all college affairs, literary and athletic and was a member of the Delta Tau Delta Greek fraternity. He was captain of the college athletic team, manager of the football team and was elected to membership in the Manhattan Athletic Club, of New York City, the third up to that time to be so honored in his college. He won a number of championship medals for athletic sports, and was the referee of many of the principal football and athletic contests between the large colleges. His purpose as a student was to prepare for the medical profession, and in the fall of 1888 he entered the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania, from which he graduated in 1891. He was a charter member of the Phi Alpha Sigma medical fraternity, of the William Pepper Medical Society, and was honored in 1891 by Chancellor Pepper with the appointment as one of the two selected to escort the visiting Pan-American congress on the occasion of their visit to the university. While at the university and afterward he studied with and assisted Dr. James Wallace and Dr. G. E. De Schweinitz in treating the diseases of the eye, a department of medicine which he afterward made his specialty. For six months he was house surgeon for St. Luke's Hospital in Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, received the degree of B. S. from Lafayette College in 1888, and M. S. from the same institution in 1891. Dr. Morton has been a resident of Minneapolis for over five years, during which time he has been the oculist and aurist to Asbury Hospital, and clinical professor of ophthalmology and otology in the College of Physicians and Surgeons in Minneapolis. He is now the oculist and aurist to St. Barnabas Hospital, and chief of the eye and ear clinic of St. Barnabas Hospital Free Dispensary. He is a member of the Hennepin County Medical Association, the Minnesota State Medical Society, the American Medical Association, the Mississippi Valley Medical Society, of the Minneapolis Art Society, and of the Sons of the American Revolution, and is vice-president of the Northwestern Alumni Association of the University of Pennsylvania. Dr. Morton was married in December, 1891, to Miss Lucretia Yale Jarvis, daughter of the late Charles H. Jarvis, a musician of considerable distinction in Philadelphia.


Charles F. Mudgett
Source: History Biography of North Dakota. Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

CAPTAIN CHARLES F. MUDGETT, an honored citizen of Valley City, North Dakota, and one of the heroes of our recent war with Spain, was born in Mercer county, Missouri, November 14, 1869, and is a son of G. C. Mudgett, a native of Ohio, who served through the Civil war as a member of Company L, Third Iowa Cavalry, under his father, who was a major in that regiment. In 1867 G. C. Mudgett married Matilda Cameron, and they now make their home on a farm in the southwestern part of Barnes county, North Dakota.

At an early age Captain Mudgett accompanied his parents on their removal to Burlington, Iowa, where he attended school until 1883, and then came with them to Barnes county. During his boyhood and youth he assisted his father in the labors of the farm, remaining under the parental roof until 1888, when he accepted a position with the Howell Lumber Company in Nebraska, acting as manager for the firm and looking after their yards at different points in that state. On his return to Valley City he took a position with the Gull River Lumber Company, of Minneapolis, and remained in their employ until May 2, 1898, at which time he went into camp at Fargo preparatory to going to the war against Spain. He had previously served as captain of the Valley City Company, and with that rank he entered the United States service. On the 28th of June he sailed with his regiment from San Francisco for Manila. From October, 1898, until April, 1899, he served a collector of internal revenue at Manila. His health failing, he was then sent home and mustered out, for physical disability, June 1, 1899. He is now a member of the firm of McDonald & Mudgett, in the machinery business at Valley City, and is one of the most progressive and enterprising young men of the place.

Captain Mudgett married Miss Nellie McDonald, of Jackson, Michigan, by whom he has one child, Margaret. They are well known and highly respected and have a large circle of friends and acquaintances in Valley City.


Albert L. Nelson
North Dakota History and People: Outlines of American History, Volume 2. By Clement Augustus Lounsberry (Submitted by Lisa S.)

HON. ALBERT L. NELSON.
Hon. Albert L. Nelson, attorney at law in Rolette and member of the state senate, has been active along lines that have brought him into close connection with public interests and at all times he has been actuated by a devotion to the general good. He was born in Litchfield, Minnesota, May 24, 1874, a son of N. L. and Emily (Anderson) Nelson, who were natives of Sweden. In early life they came to the United States, settling in Goodhue county, Minnesota, where they lived for a short time. They then removed to Litchfield, Minnesota, and purchased land and throughout his remaining days the father devoted his attention to general agricultural pursuits. He passed away in November, 1897, while the mother is still living.

Albert L. Nelson was reared in his native city, where he pursued his education until graduated from the high school with the class of 1893.He afterward took up the profession of teaching, which he followed for five years, and later engaged in the newspaper business at Dassel, Minnesota, for two years, learning the printer's trade while thus engaged. He afterward went to Washington, D. C, and for two years was employed in the census bureau. While thus engaged he studied law in Columbian University and upon his return to the middle west established his home in Minneapolis. He worked on the Minneapolis Tribune and the Minneapolis Times and later spent a year in a law office, after which he took the state bar examination in June, 1905. Admitted to practice, he removed to Rolette in October of that year and on the 1st of September, 1906, he bought out the Rolette County Examiner, which he published until July 7, 1916. He then sold his paper and has since concentrated his energies upon the practice of law, in which he has been engaged in Rolette since 1906. He is an able member of the bar and, moreover, is a practical business man whose long experience in the field of. journalism has enabled him to form ready and correct judgment concerning individuals which is always a factor in successful law practice. His realty possessions include a quarter section of land in Williams county, North Dakota.

On the 10th of July, 1905, Mr. Nelson was united in marriage to Miss Anna Nelson, of Minneapolis. Their religious faith is that of the Episcopal church and Mr. Nelson belongs to the Masonic fraternity and the Modern Woodmen of America. In politics he is a republican and has served as a trustee on the village board, while in 1912 he was elected to represent his district in the state senate. While a member of the upper house he gave careful consideration to the questions which came up for settlement and he was recognized as a public-spirited citizen whose legislative work was ever for the benefit of his fellow citizens and the commonwealth.


Benjamin Franklin Nelson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Mr. Nelson is the head of the Nelson-Tenney Lumber Company, manufacturers and dealers in lumber at Minneapolis. Mr. Nelson is a splendid example of the self-made man, and an instance in which the making has been well done. He was born of humble parents in Greenup County, Kentucky, May 4, 1843. His parents were natives of Somerset County, Maryland. His father lost his health and the support of the family devolved upon the sons. This left Benjamin F., with little oppurtunity for schooling, and when seventeen years of age he engaged with a partner in the lumber business. This, after two years, was broken up by the war, and an attempt at farming was unsuccessful for the same reason. Kentucky, although a slave-holding state, and sympathizing for the most part with the Confederacy, was controlled by the strong arm of the Federal power, and such of her sons as saw fit to enter the Southern army did so from a firm conviction of right and duty, rather than form loyalty to their state. Mr. Nelson was nineteen years of age when he enlisted in Company C., of the Second Kentucky Battalion, and went into active service under the command of the Confederate general, Kirby Smith. He served successively under Humphrey Marshall, Wheeler, Forrest and Morgan, and participated in the battles of Chickamauga, McInville, Synthiana, Shelbyville, Lookout Mountain, Mount Sterling and Greenville, besides numerous cavalry skirmishes. Mr. Nelson was in the thickest of the fight for over two years. In 1864, while on recruiting duty in Kentucky, he ventured into the Federal lines as far as the Ohio river. He had secured a few recruits and was returning with them when he was captured and sent to Lexington. While he was confined in prison there fourteen men were taken out and shot, two of them being recruits captured with Nelson, and for a time he was in danger of suffering the same fate on suspicion of being a spy. He was, however, sent to Camp Douglas, in Chicago, where he was held until 1865, when was sent Richmond and paroled at the close of the war. Mr. Nelson returned to his home in Kentucky, where he was employed in a saw mill for a few months, and then decided to try his fortune in the far West. It was the third day of September, 1865, that he landed in St. Paul. He only remained there one day, when he came on to St. Anthony. He was much impressed with the value of the water power, and believed the falls would be surrounded by a great city. Mr. Nelson went to work at rafting lumber, and when the season was over took up a claim near Waverly, where he built a house, but farming did not suit him, and he again went into the lumbering business. In 1872 Mr. Nelson formed a partnership with W. C. Stetson in the planing mill business. The business increased until they found it necessary to build another mill in order to take care of their trade. At this time they commenced dealing in lumber in a small way, which rapidly increased until 1880, when the partnership was dissolved. In 1881 Mr. Nelson associated with himself in business William Tenney and H. W. McNair, and, later, H. B. Frey was admitted to the partnership. Soon afterwards Mr. McNair withdrew and W. F. Brooks entered the firm. It is now organized under the name of the Nelson-Tenney Lumber Company. This company has two large saw mills, with a capacity of seventy-five million feet a year. Mr. Nelson is interested in various other enterprises. In 1887 he bought the Minneapolis Straw Paper mill, and in 1888 the Red River paper mill at Fergus Falls. These were consolidated under the name of the Nelson Paper Company. In 1890, together with T. B. Walker he bought the print paper mill in Minneapolis, and the old and new companies were merged into the Hennepin Paper Company, operating at Little Falls. He is also a director of the Metropolitan bank. B. F., Nelson commands the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens of Minneapolis in a marked degree, and has held numerous important public offices. In 1879 he was elected alderman of the First ward, and was continued in office until 1885. When the park board was organized Mr. Nelson was elected to service in that branch of the municipal government. For seven successive years he served as a member of the school board, and in 1894, when the question of the price of gas was submitted to arbitrators, Mr. Nelson was selected by the city as its representative. In the same year occurred the great strike on the Great Northern railway, and Mr. Nelson was selected as one of the committee of citizens of Minneapolis to arbitrate in that dispute. Mr. Nelson was a member of the original building committee of the Minneapolis Exposition; he gave a great deal of his time to personal supervision of the construction of the building, and has been on the board of directors of the Exposition ever since. His is now one of the owners of the property. Mr. Nelson is a Democrat in politics, but a man of broad and liberal views. He has served his party locally as an active worker on campaign committees, and exerts a large influence in its plans and deliberation. Notwithstanding his extensive business and many public duties, Mr. Nelson has found time to see some of the world, having traveled extensively in Mexico, Europe, Egypt and the Holy Land. His religious connection is with the Methodist Church, and his eminent business capacity was recognized in his selection as trustee of Hamline University. He has been twice married, first in 1869, to Martha Ross, who died five years later, leaving two sons, William E. and Guy H. His present wife was Mary Fredinburg, who has one daughter.


Charles A. Nelson
Source: History of Anoka County and the Towns of Champlin and Dayton in Hennepin County, Minnesota, by Albert M. Goodrich (1905) transcribed by: Helen Coughlin

Charles A. Nelson was born in Sweden Dec. 17, 1861. He came to America and to Minneapolis in 1881. He first found employment on a dairy farm, and for a short time in 1884 worked in Canada for the Canadian Pacific Railroad Co. Returning to Minnesota, he purchased a dairy in the town of Fridley, which he has conducted for eighteen years. He has been president of the Minneapolis Dairymen's Union several years, and was also treasurer of the Minneapolis Dairymen's Creamery. In 1898 Mr. Nelson was elected a member of the board of county commissioners or Anoka county, and in January, 1905, became chairman of the board. He has also served as a member of the board of supervisors of Fridley and as a member of the council of the village of Fridley Park. He has always been a Republican in politics. Mr. Nelson was married Nov. 25, 1885, to Lizzie Dermott, who died in 1893, leaving four children: Nels A., Jennie L., Hattie A. (deceased), and Arthur W. (deceased). He was married a second time in 1894 to Amanda Danielson. Children: Bernard B., Raymond H., Agnes A., Hattie C. E., Carl A. W. and Theodore.


Milton Orelup Nelson, B. L.
Source: The University of Wisconsin: its history and its alumni (1836 - 1900) Edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites -pages 732-736 (1900)

Born in the town of Wayne, La Fayette County, Wisconsin, September 24, 1859. Brought up on a farm, he attended a district school in summer until he was ten years of age, and in winter until he was fifteen. At the age of nineteen he taught a district school, and at twenty was principal of a graded school at Albany, Wisconsin. Studied advanced mathematics and elementary Latin at home, and entered Lawrence University in 1880, there remaining to the end of his sophomore year, during which he took first mathematical and literary prizes. In 1882, entered U. W. junior class, modern classical course, graduating two years later. Was a member of Hesperia, and her president in 1884. From 1884-86, Mr. Nelson was principal of the high school and superintendent of the city schools at New Richmond; from 1886-91, editor of the Wisconsin Prohibitionist, afterward the Northwestern Mail, at Madison; in 1891 he removed to Minneapolis, and was reporter on the Mississippi Valley Lumberman until March, 1893, when he became the Minneapolis representative of the Chicago Northwestern Lumberman (now American), and of the Chicago Farm Implement News, at the same time being local editor of the Minneapolis Commercial Bulletin; in the fall of 1898 he became the managing editor of the Mississippi Valley Lumberman, and staff correspondent and special writer for the Chicago papers above mentioned, also a special writer on the Minneapolis Northwestern Miller and Furniture News, which is his present work. Mr. Nelson has published a few trade pamphlets, and has now in preparation two small books on allied topics. In 1891 he was chairman of the State central committee of the Prohibition party of Wisconsin; in 1894 was nominee on the Prohibition ticket for State senator of Minnesota, and in 1896 for mayor of Minneapolis. Mr. Nelson married Miss Annie Marion Henry (U. W., special '84), and has one child.


George R. Newell
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Minneapolis would never have become the metropolis she has if it had not been that she numbered among her early residents many who, as enterprising business men, realized the importance of her location and the future in store for her, devoted their best efforts to the upbuilding of the city. Among that list of public-spirited men the name of George R. Newell stands prominent. Mr. Newell is senior partner of the firm of George R. Newell & Co., one of the largest wholesale grocery houses in the Northwest. This firm has built up a trade which extends throughout the whole Northwest, and has a business that amounts to several million dollars yearly. Mr. Newell has achieved success in life entirely unaided by fortune. He is a native of the state of New York, and was born in Tonawanda, July 31, 1844, the son of Hiram Newell and Phoebe Newell. Hiram Newell was actively engaged in the dry goods trade during his career, but has now retired from business, and is residing at Saratoga Spring, New York. The Newell family comes from good old New England stock. George attended the public schools of his native village until he was twelve years of age, and then launched out into active business. He worked at all sorts of jobs, but mostly clerking in stores. In 1866 he came West to enjoy the advantages which the new region afforded, and for some time worked on a Mississippi steamboat. In 1867 he secured a position as a clerk in Minneapolis and worked at this occupation for three years. In 1870, in partnership with Messrs. Stevens & Morse, he opened a grocery store, the firm being known as Stevens, Morse & Newell. The partnership was dissolved in 1873, and Mr. Newell continued the business alone for a year. He then entered into partnership with Mr. H. G. Harrison, the firm being called Newell & Harrison. As such it continued for ten years, at which time the present firm of George R. Newell & Co. was organized. Mr. Cavour S. Langdon being taken into partnership with Mr. Newell. Through its several changes of partnership and location, the firm constantly increased its trade. For a long time they occupied a large building at the corner of First and Washington avenues North, but the constant accession to their trade compelled a removal, and the splendid storehouse at the corner of First avenue and Third street was erected. This building is of pressed brick, five stories high, with high basement, and covers about a quarter of a block, being especially planned for the wholesale grocery trade. The business affairs of this firm have been conducted by Mr. Newell with a sagacity and prudence that has established for it a high reputation in the commercial world. Mr. Newell has always been a leader in any movement tending to further the interests of Minneapolis, giving his support to every projected enterprise that gave promise of help building up the city, and has been an active spirit in the Jobbers' Association, the Board of Trade and other commercial organizations. He is one of the most approachable of men, accessible at all times, and is as popular and held in as high esteem by his employes as he is by his business associates, who recognize his integrity and worth as a business man. Mr. Newell's political affiliations have always been with the Republican party, though he has never taken any active part in politics. He is a Mason and a member of the Minneapolis and Commercial Clubs. He was married in 1876 to Mrs. Alida Ferris, of Wyoming, New York.


Verner Hjalmar Nilsson, DDS
Source: A History of The Swedish-Americans of Minnesota, compiled by A. E. Strand, Vol. II, p 616-619; submitted by Robin Line
VERNER HJALMAR NILSSON, D. S. S., was born in Boston, Massachusetts, April 19, 1884, son of the well-known Minneapolis newspaper man and singing instructor, Hjalmar Nilsson, and his wife Christine (nee Neuman). In their family was one other child, Christine, the wife of Carl Chindblom, county commissioner, Chicago. Verner H. received his early education in the public schools of Boston and later in Worcester, Massachusetts, where he graduated as valedictorian in the high school class of 1903. In July of the same year his parents moved to Minneapolis, where he entered the dental department of the University of Minnesota, that fall. In June, 1906, he completed his course and received his degree, and immediately thereafter he entered upon the practice of his profession at Seven Corners, Minneapolis. January 1, 1908, he came back to Minneapolis and established himself in his present office quarters in the South Side State Bank Building, on the corner of Cedar and Riverside avenues.

June 10, 1908, Dr. Nilsson married Miss Alma Ophelia Larson, contralto singer in the St. Lawrence Catholic church, and a daughter of O. L. Larson, who has charge of the patent department of the Twin city Separator Company. they reside at 1720 Tenth avenue, South, and their home is blessed in the birth of a son, February 9, 1909.

The Doctor is a member of the Minnesota State Dental Association, the Scandinavian Dental Society of Minneapolis, the Twin City alumni and both he and his wife belong to the English Gethsemane Episcopal church.


John A. Nordeen
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

John A. Nordeen was born in the village of Statthult, in the province of Nester Gotland, Sweden, on May 12, 1856. He was the only son of A. P. Larson Nordin and Christina Larson. Mr. Nordeen's father is at present living on his farm in Sweden, having retired from active public life. He was for many years a member of the District Bench, and has during his life taken part in the religious, political and social affairs of his locality. For twenty years he occupied high positions of trust in the community where he lived; his ancestry for generations were officers in the Swedish Army. Mr. Nordeen received a common and high school education. He studied law in his father's office and at the same time devoted part of his time to working on a farm. Afterwards he entered a technical school for the purpose of studying architecture and mechanical engineering, but in a short time he obtained his parents' permission to emigrate, and left Sweden in 1879. He visited England and then came to the United States, arriving in Chicago in the spring of 1880. Without friends and without a cent in his pocket he made the best of the situation, obtained employment at common labor and spent his evenings studying. Soon after his arrival he obtained employment on the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, and remained with that company for about a year, or until a better position was offered in the employ of the Pullman Palace Car Company. About two years later he left the Pullman Company and took a trip for recreation and pleasure, through the Southern states, Cuba and Mexico. Upon his return he settled in St. Paul, Minnesota, and obtained employment in the service of the Great Northern Railroad Company. Thinking that prospects might he better in another locality he shortly resigned and re-entered the service of the Pullman Company at their St. Louis shops, but the climate of Missouri did not suit him and in a short time he was back in Minnesota. This time he came to Minneapolis and entered the employment of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad Company, where he remained until 1891, when he resigned to take a part interest in the Northwestern Mantel Company. At present he is engaged in the general business of contracting and building. Upon his arrival in the United States he affiliated with the Republican party, taking an active part in every campaign. In 1892 he was nominated and elected to the City Council, as a result of a movement on the part of certain political organizations and the taxpayers of the Seventh Ward. While in the Council, Mr. Nordeen was instrumental in securing the adoption of a Sub-way Fire Alarm and Police Telephone System, which is claimed to be the best in any city in the United States. He introduced the revised ordinances on the subject of electric wires, buildings, and gambling. He has held the position of chairman of the council committee on fire department, and has been a member of the committees of public grounds, buildings, railroads, sewers, underground wires, and reservoir. Mr. Nordeen is a member of the Swedish-American Union of Minnesota, the North Star League, and a member and trustee of the Swedish Lutheran Augustana Church. In 1885 he was married to Miss Ida C. Peterson, of Minneapolis. They have three children: Albert Theodore Nordeen, born in 1887; Inette Theresia Nordeen, born in 1889, and Edith Christine Nordeen, born in 1892.


William Henry Norris
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

William Henry Norris was born at Hallowell, Maine, July 24, 1832. His father was Rev. William Henry Norris, a Methodist clergyman for fifty years, who died in 1878. Rev. Mr. Norris shared the lot of itinerant ministers, living for different periods in Brooklyn and in New Haven, and in 1839, at the age of thirty-four, going to South America in charge of Methodist missionary churches. During this time he was located in Montevideo and Buenos Ayres. He endured the privation of a missionary's life and never had a salary beyond a thousand dollars. He was able, however, to afford his children a liberal education. He was descended from a family of Irish farmers, who settled in New Hampshire about 1750. The subject of this sketch attended no school until past fifteen years of age, receiving his early education at the hands of his father. He then fitted for college at Dwight's High School, in Brooklyn, and in 1850 entered Yale college, where he graduated in 1854 as valedictorian of his class. While he was in college he was a member of Linonia, Alpha Delta Phi and Phi Beta Kappa societies. After leaving college he taught school a year at Marmaroneck, New York. He then took part of the law course at Harvard University. A year later he came West and settled in Green Bay, Wisconsin; continued his studies in the law office of James H. Howe, and in 1857 was admitted to the bar. He remained with Mr. Howe until 1862. The next ten years he carried on his law practice alone. He was then associated professionally with Thomas B. Chynoweth for six years, and subsequently with E. H. Ellis. Twenty-three years were spent in the practice of law at Green Bay. During the greater part of this time Mr. Norris was local attorney of the Chicago & Northwestern railroad, and for six years attorney for the Green Bay & Minnesota railroad, now the Green Bay & Western. These engagements led him to make a specialty of railroad law. He moved to Minneapolis in 1880, and opened an office for general practice. In January, 1882, he was selected by the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railway Company as its state solicitor. In his trial of claims and in all his practice in behalf of his railroad clients he has been highly successful, having, in several cases, advised his clients to disregard acts of the legislature as unconstitutional, contentions upon which the court has, in each case, ruled in his favor. In politics he is a Republican, but does not always vote the entire ticket selected by his party. He is a member of all the Masonic orders, and a member of Plymouth Congregational church. He was married at Green Bay in 1859 to Hannah B. Harriman, daughter of Joab Harriman, a ship builder of Waterville, Maine. They have three children, Louise, wife of Alfred D. Rider, of Kansas City; Georgia and Harriman.


Cyrus Northrop
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ

It is but a moderate statement of fact and but a just recognition of worth to say that to Cyrus Northrop, more than to any other one person, is due the wonderful success of the University of Minnesota. Dr. Northrop was elected president of the university in 1884. At that time the institution had less than three hundred students, counting a large number in the preparatory department and in almost entirely detached classes of evening technical study. In 1896 the enrollment of the university will reach two thousand and six hundred. When President Northrop took up the management of the university it had but one important building; it now has a score of well equipped structures adapted to the needs of a modern institution of learning. In 1884 the school was a university only in name; now its colleges embrace all the departments usually deemed essential to a university in fact. But more than all this, the university in the past twelve years has risen from the position of an unknown Western college to the second rank among state universities in point of attendance and to an equal rank with the leading educational institutions of the country in scholarship. Dr. Northrop brought to the work of building up a Western college an experience of twenty years in a leading professorship at Yale, a mind ripened by long study not only of books, but of men and affairs, and genial, engaging traits of character and the faculty of making friends everywhere. From the moment he entered the university he has been its leading spirit. From the first he has been loved and respected by students and faculty. President Northrop is a native of Connecticut. He was born on September 30, 1834, at Ridgefield. His father, whose name was also Cyrus Northrop, was a farmer. His mother, whose maiden name was Polly B. Fancher, was a native of New York. He attended the common school in Ridgefield until he was eleven years old, and then went to an academy in the same town. This school was held in a building which was the birthplace of Samuel G. Goodrich, commonly known as Peter Parley. At this academy he was under the instruction of H. S. Banks and Rev. Chauncey Wilcox, both graduates of Yale. In 1851, at the age of seventeen he entered Williston Seminary, Easthampton, Massachusetts, then under the principalship of Josiah Clark, and graduated at the end of the year. The next fall he entered Yale. During his college life he lost one year by illness, so that his graduation did not occur till 1857. His rank upon graduation was third in a class of one hundred and four. During his college life he was a member of Phi Beta Kappa, Skull and Bones, Delta Kappa Epsilon and Alpha Sigma Phi. He was first president of the "Brothers in Unity," one of the literary societies, which embraced half the students in the college. In the fall of 1857 he entered the Yale Law School and graduated in 1859. While in the law school he taught Latin and Greek in the school of Hon. A. N. Skinner in New Haven, and fitted two classes for Yale. At this time Dr. Northrop had no other career in view than that of the law. Upon completing his course at the law school he entered the law office of the Hon. Chas. Ives in New Haven. But the stirring times just before the breaking out of the war were at hand, and the young man was irresistably drawn into the political battle for the Union and freedom, which had as its visible object the election of Lincoln. Dr. Northrop took an active part in the campaign, speaking in many places in Connecticut and New York. In the spring of 1860 he was elected assistant clerk of the Connecticut House of Representatives, the next year was made clerk, and in the following year he was chosen clerk of the senate. He had opened a law office in Norwalk in 1861, and expected to return to it, but in 1862 he was called to the editorial chair of the New Haven Daily Palladium, and for a year wrote all the editorials and had entire charge of that paper. This year, President Northrop admits, was one of the hardest of his life. The paper was a prominent one and at times required extensive and unceasing editorial comment on the great events then transpiring. Papers had not then the modern conveniences and facilities now thought essential, and the mechanical details of the work of an editor were exhausting. In 1863 Dr. Northrop was called to the chair of rhetoric and English literature in Yale, a position which he held till 1884, when he was called to the presidency of the University of Minnesota. Neither of these positions was sought by him, and he was not aware that he was under consideration as a candidate for either position until it was actually tendered to him. He visited Minnesota with his family in 1881, but had, at that time, no thought of becoming a resident of the state. While a professor at Yale, during(sic) the war and the subsequent agitation respecting reconstruction, Dr. Northrop took an active part in politics, making many addresses, and in 1867 he was a candidate for Congress in the New Haven district. Since 1876 he has not taken any part in politics except to cast his ballot. During the administrations of Presidents Grant and Hayes he was the collector of customs of the port of New Haven. During the twelve years in which President Northrop has lived in Minneapolis, though devoting his time and energies to building up the university, there have been many demands for his presence on the public platform, and he has made many addresses, delivered numerous lectures and has frequently occupied leading pulpits. He is a direct, straight-forward speaker, using no tricks of oratory to make his points, but often making an almost homely phrase or a humorous statement of a proposition count for more than studied eloquence. As an after dinner speaker he is easily the foremost in the Northwest, and has been so much sought after in this capacity that he has been obliged to refuse all but a very few invitations for such occasions. Though not, as he asserts, in politics, President Northrop, through his influence on hundreds of young men who have graduated from the university and become voting citizens almost at the same time, has exerted an influence on the standards of citizenship which will be far reaching in its effects. President Northrop was married September 30, 1862, to Miss Anna Elizabeth Warren, daughter of Joseph D. Warren, of Stamford, Connecticut. Their eldest daughter, Minnie, died at the age of ten years and six months. Their son, Cyrus, Jr., is a graduate of the University of Minnesota. Their daughter, Elizabeth, entered the university, but on account of ill health, did not graduate. President Northrop is a Congregationalist, and has been very prominent in the affairs of that denomination. In 1889 he was moderator of the National Council, held that year in Worcester, Massachusetts. He was also a delegate to the International Congregational Council, held in London, England, in the summer of 1891, and he was one of the two vice-presidents appointed from America.


Carroll Anderson Nye
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The subject of this sketch is a brother of the lamented humorist, Edgar Wilson Nye, better known to fame as "Bill Nye," who died at his home in North Carolina, February 22, 1896; also of Frank M. Nye, county attorney of Hennepin County, Minnesota. The Nye family is of French and English descent on the mother's side, and French and Welsh on the father's. The father, Franklin Nye, was a farmer in rather poor circumstances. The mother's maiden name was Eliza M. Loring. Both parents were originally from the state of Maine, moving from that state to Wisconsin in 1852, and following farming in St. Croix County until 1885. Carroll Anderson Nye was born in St. Croix County, Wisconsin, February 3, 1861. He attended the common school during the winters, and, as usual in the case of farmers' boys, worked on the farm during the summer, until he was seventeen years of age. He then attended, for several terms, the state normal school at River Falls, Wisconsin, in the meantime also teaching school several terms. The first money Mr. Nye ever earned was by working by the month on a farm in his home state. After leaving school he commenced the study of law with his brother, Frank M. Nye, who at that time was located in Wisconsin. He entered the State University of Wisconsin later, graduating from the law department in the class of 1886. In January, 1887, he came to Minnesota, locating at Moorhead, and commenced the practice of law. When Mr. Nye commenced the practice of his profession at Moorhead he had no money and was in debt, having earned the money by his own efforts with which to pursue his studies. He is now in comfortable circumstances and enjoys an extensive practice. He has held the office of city attorney of Moorhead for four terms, and is now serving his second term as county attorney of Clay County. In politics Mr. Nye is independent. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Knight of Pythias and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. His church affiliations are with the Congregational body, and he is a regular attendant and supporter of the First Congregational church of Moorhead, though not a member of any church organization. He was married December 30, 1886, to Miss Mary Gordon, of Madison, Wisconsin. They have one child, James Gordon, aged five.


Frank Mellen Nye
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Frank Mellen Nye is county attorney of Hennepin County. His parents were both natives of Maine. His father, Franklin Nye, was formerly a lumberman in that state, but removed to Wisconsin in 1853 and engaged in farming. His mother was Eliza AI. Loring. Frank M. Nye was born in Shirley, Maine, March 7, 1852, and came with his parents to Wisconsin and settled near River Falls. He grew up on a farm and commenced his education in the common schools, afterwards attending the academy at River Falls.

He followed the course often pursued by young men of limited means and larger ambition, teaching school several terms while he pursued the study of law. In 1878 he was admitted to practice at Hudson, Wisconsin, and soon afterward located in Polk County, the same state, for the practice of his profession. He was elected district attorney and held that office two terms. He was also chosen by the people of Polk County to the lower house of the legislature. In the spring of 1886 he removed to Minneapolis, where his talents soon attracted attention. He took an active part in politics and made an enviable reputation as a speaker. When Robert Jamison was elected county attorney he appointed Mr. Nye as his assistant. In the fall of 1892 he was elected to succeed Mr. Jamison, and was re-elected in the fall of 1894, and is now serving his second term in that office. Mr. Nye's legal practice has been largely in the department of criminal law, where he has met with remarkable success. Among the important cases prosecuted by him was that of the Harris murderers, where under peculiar difficulties he succeeded in unraveling the mysterious plot and in procuring the conviction of the criminals. He also prosecuted the famous Hayward case, and won new laurels as a criminal lawyer. This was one of the most famous trials in the history of criminal prosecutions in this country, and the ability with which the case was conducted attracted general attention. His reputation as a prosecutor is not confined to his own state, and he has been called upon to assist in important cases in other courts. A notable instance was that of the prosecution of Myron Kent, in North Dakota, for the murder of his wife. Mr. Nye made the principal address to the jury, and the trial resulted in the conviction of the accused. He has also rendered important services to the county in the conduct of its civil business, and is regarded as one of the most capable men who has ever served it in that capacity. He has secured the esteem and confidence of his fellow citizens to such a degree that he has been urged to accept higher preferment in the public service, but has thus far chosen to confine himself to the practice of his profession. Mr. Nye was married in the spring of 1876 to Carrie M. Wilson, of River Falls, Wisconsin, and has a family of four children.


Wallace George Nye
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Wallace George Nye is the comptroller of the city of Minneapolis, the duties of which position he has discharged with ability and fidelity for two terms. The end he has aimed at as the occupant of that office has been to simplify the methods by which the public business is transacted and to reduce to the lowest practicable limit the expense of the municipality. Mr. Nye's ancestors, so far as he knows, have been natives of this country. His father was a farmer boy who grew up in Ashtabula County, Ohio, but when only twenty years of age he moved to Milwaukee County, Wisconsin, and continued the business of farming. Here he was married in 1850 to Hannah A. Pickett, and two years later settled near the village of Hortonville, Wisconsin. Four years ago that farm, after being developed into one of the best in that section of Wisconsin, and after having been the family home for thirty-nine years, was sold and a home purchased in the village where Mr. Nye's father still resides. His mother died in October 1893. Wallace was the third of seven children. His father served as a private soldier in the civil war and is now passing his declining years in comfort and ease. Wallace G. Nye was born on the farm at Hortonville, October 7. 1850. He attended the district school until the winter of 1875 and 1876, when, at the age of sixteen, he engaged in teaching in a neighboring district. With the money thus earned he began a course at the State Normal School at Oshkosh, and continued there until the fall of 1879. He was then employed as principal of the high school at Plover, and also in the same capacity at Hortonville. After two years at Plover and Hortonville he abandoned the profession of teacher and took up the study and practice of pharmacy in Chicago. In September 1881, he left Chicago to find a suitable location for his business in some Wisconsin town, but on the train he heard a good deal about Minneapolis and its promising future and concluded to visit it. He was so pleased with its activity and thrift that he decided to locate there, establishing a drug business. He took an active interest in politics, and, also, a particular interest in the affairs of the northern portion of the city, where he assisted in organizing the North Minneapolis Improvement Association, which has rendered much valuable service in building up and beautifying that section. He was its first secretary. In the campaign of 1888 he represented his ward on the county campaign committee, and the following January was chosen secretary of the board of park commissioners, which position he held for four years, being elected annually. In 1892 he was nominated by the Republicans for city comptroller, was elected, and was re-elected in 1894, receiving the highest vote of any candidate on the city ticket. In 1893 he was chosen to fill the vacancy on the park board caused by the resignation of Hon. C. M. Loring. Mr. Nye is a member of the Board of Trade, Union League, the Commercial Club, the I. O. O. P., the A. P. and A. M., the K. of P., and the A. O. U. W. He has been honored with various offices by the Odd Fellows; was elected Grand Master of the order in Minnesota in 1890, Grand Representative to the Sovereign Grand Lodge for two years and in 1894 was made Grand Patriarch of the Encampment branch of the order in this state, from which position he was again promoted to the office of Grand Representative, which position he now holds. He is an attendant of the Baptist Church, and was married in 1881 to Etta Rudd, at New London, Wisconsin.


Robert Ransom Odell
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Robert Ransom Odell is a lawyer practicing his profession at Minneapolis. Mr. Odell traces his ancestry on his father's side to Ethan Allen. His great grandmother was the daughter of that famous New Englander. He is a son of Jesse Ballou Odell, a farmer in comfortable circumstances in Wayne County, New York, and of Marie Ballou (Odell). His mother was a cousin of James A. Garfield's mother, whose maiden name was Eliza Ballou, and in this way Mr. Odell claims relationship with the martyr president. Mr. Odell was born at Newark, New York, November 28, 1850. He commenced his education in the common schools of Newark, and also attended the Newark Academy, but did not enjoy the advantages of a college course. He was a young man, however of ambitious spirit, and, determined to better his condition in life, he read law with Senator Stevens K. Williams of Newark, and was admitted to practice January 8, 1875, when barely twenty-five years old, at Syracuse, New York. The following September he was admitted to practice before the United States circuit court at Utica, New York, for purpose of ringing an action for the second mortgage bondholders of the S. P. & S. Ry., involving one hundred and twenty-five thousand dollars. He continued the practice of his profession in New York for six years, when he decided to join the army of young and progressive men moving toward the West in search of larger opportunities and richer fields of effort. He came to Minnesota October 5, 1881, and located in Minneapolis, where he formed a partnership with Hon. Frank F. Davis, and was associated with him in the practice of law until April 1, 1882. Mr. Odell has been engaged in a great deal of important litigation. He prosecuted the action which involved the whole of the tract known as Forest Heights, in the city of Minneapolis, in 1882, and more recently has been engaged in litigation relating to the excessive taxation of outlying tracts of real estate within the city's limits as the attorney for the property owners. He was the attorney of Claus A. Blixt, the murderer of Katherine Ging. Mr. Odell was appointed United States commissioner, December 5, 1881, and still holds that office. When the census fight between Minneapolis and St. Paul was on in 1890 the St. Paul prosecutors of the Minneapolis census takers refused to bring the cases before Mr. Odell because they claimed that he being a Minneapolis man would not be unprejudiced and filed their complaint before a commissioner in St. Paul. This was, of course, unsatisfactory to the Minneapolis people, and resulted in the final transfer of some of the cases before a commissioner in Winona. As he was a friend of Deputy Marshall John Campbell, some nineteen cases were returned before Mr. Odell, and then the real trouble began. The authorities wanted them held without examination; this he refused to do, and an agreement was made settling the whole matter, and Mr. Odell claims to have saved both cities from further disgrace. While thoroughly loyal to Minneapolis, he was governed in his official action by his duty in the premises, and was able to render valuable service to the city. He has always been a Republican until 1892, when he was so disgusted at the defeat of James G. Blaine in the convention of that year, that he went over to the Democrats. He is a member of Minnehaha Lodge, A. F. and A. M. September 5, 1896, he married Carrie C. Vorbaugh, at Newark, New York. They have two children, Clinton N., aged seventeen, and Corinne V., aged six.


Gustav Oftedal
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Susan Ripley

REV. GUSTAV OFTEDAL, pastor of the United Lutheran church, of Buxton, and three outlying churches, has accomplished creditable work since taking charge in Dakota, and has endeared himself to his people. He is a gentleman of excellent education, refined, and earnest in his work, and his success is well merited. Our subject was born in Stavanger, Norway, February 22, 1856, and was the fifth in a family of seven children born to Sven and Gunhild (Stokke) Oftedal. His father was a teacher and cashier of a bank, and his sons were given the best educational advantages. Our subject entered the university in Christiania and completed a law course, graduating with the class of '72, and afterward practiced law a few months, and then became president of the telegraph station at Arendal. He began the study of theology in 1875, intending to devote himself to church work in Norway; but before completing his studies he was called to Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1877, and soon took charge of one of the leading congregations of that city and St. Paul, and after four years went to Alexandria, Minnesota, and there assumed charge of seven congregations in three different counties. He went to Richland county, North Dakota, in 1884, and in 1889 to Buxton. The Buxton United Lutheran congregation, of which he now has charge, was organized in 1887 by Saugstad, and consisted upon the arrival of our subject of fourteen families. Mr. Oftedal reorganized the congregation with the same number of families, and it has steadily increased to twenty families. A handsome church building was erected in 1893, and is acknowledged as the finest edifice of the kind in that part of the county, and is valued at five thousand, five hundred dollars. Grue congregation, which is also under the charge of our subject, consists of about thirty families, and the church building is located on section 24, in East Buxton township, and is valued at three thousand, five hundred dollars. St. Olaf congregation consists of about thirty-three families, with a church building valued at five thousand, five hundred dollars, located in Americus township, in Grand Forks county. North Prairie congregation consists of seventeen famines with a church building on section 16, in Logan township, valued at two thousand, five hundred dollars. These congregations represent about one hundred families, and property, including churches and parsonages, valued at about twenty thousand dollars, all without debt and erected since 1892, under the supervision of our subject. The growth of the denomination has been remarkable, and their pastor commands the respect and love of those among whom he labors. Our subject was married, in 1873, to, Miss Octavia Berg. Ten children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Oftedal. as follows: Hans P., a medical student ; Gunhild, a well-known teacher of Traill county, and a musical student of the Minneapolis Conservatory ; Trygve, deceased ; Arne, also studying medicine in Hamline University ; Gustav, who is devoting himself to farming ; Sverre, at home ; Axel ; Trygve; Laura and Olga. Mr. Oftedal is a stanch Prohibitionist, and is an earnest worker for that cause.


Seaver E. Olson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The above name is a household word throughout the State of Minnesota, and will be readily recognized as that of the head of the firm of S. E. Olson Co., of Minneapolis, which runs one of the largest retail stores in the Northwest. Mr. Olson was born in the parish of Ringsaker, near Hamar, in Norway, on February 2, 1846. His father was a contractor and builder. Seaver's early training was strongly religious in its character, both his parents being members of the Baptist Church and holding strong religious views, and in other respects his home advantages were unusually favorable. Tollef Olson, an uncle of Seaver's, was for fifty years a seminary professor, receiving at the end of this period a gold medallion from the king for being the oldest educator in continuous service in that country. It was under his uncle's tuition, up to his tenth year, that young Seaver received his early educational training. That the elementary knowledge he received at that early age was of great value may be judged from the fact that from his tenth to twelfth year he taught a district school. The Olson family emigrated to America in 1858, landing at Quebec. From there they came directly to the United States and located at La Crosse, Wisconsin. The father "took up" a piece of public land a distance of seventeen miles from that place and pursued the occupation of an agriculturist until his death in 1884. The subject of this sketch worked on the farm for a year, and then secured employment in a general store in La Crosse, where he worked for nearly two years. He was but fourteen years old at this time and desired to have a college education, which his parents could not afford to give him. He determined to secure it himself, however, and with this purpose in view started out for Beloit, Wisconsin. He struggled for nine months attending school and working at such employment as he could get to pay his expenses, but finally was compelled to give up the hope that he had cherished for so long, determined in mind, however, that his younger brother should not lack the college education of which he had been deprived. It is to Mr. Olson's credit to say that this purpose, formed in youth, he carried out later in life. He took his brother off the farm and for ten years furnished him the means of completing his studies, both in his country and in Europe, having fitted him for the honored position which he afterwards held as president of the South Dakota State University. This brother lost his life in the disastrous Tribune fire in 1889. After giving up his idea of attending college Seaver obtained a position in a store in Beloit. The proprietor of the store shortly afterwards opened another at Cambridge, Wisconsin, and the young lad was given the management of it. He held this position until January 1, 1864, at which time his former employer at La Crosse offered him the position of head bookkeeper and general manager of the store in which he had worked as a lad. Mr. Olson held this responsible position until January 1, 1867, at which time he started out in business for himself and opened a store in Rushford, under the firm name of S. E. Olson & Co. This firm did a large business, but in 1870 Mr. Olson sold out and attached himself to his former employer in La Crosse as a partner. Three years later he organized in La Crosse the wholesale and retail dry goods house of Olson, Smith & Co. This firm was dissolved in 1876, the jobbing interests of the concern being retained by Mr. Olson. In 1878 he removed his stock to Minneapolis and became connected with the firm of N. B. Harwood & Co. The failure of this house, however, two years later, left the young merchant stranded. He was not discouraged, however, but in company with M. D. Ingram succeeded in borrowing sufficient money to buy the remnant of the stock from the sheriff's sale, and started up in business again under the firm name of Ingram, Olson & Co. The business became prosperous in a short time, so that in 1887 Mr. Olson was able to purchase Mr. Ingram's interest and continue the business as sole owner. The business grew to such an extent that Mr. Olson decided to make a venturesome departure. In 1893 he built a large business block on the corner of Fifth street and First avenue south, Minneapolis, in which a department store was opened. In 1894 he organized the present S. E. Olson Co. Mr. Olson is an enterprising and progressive merchant and has within that short time built up enormous trade, the S. E. Olson mammoth establishment being one of the largest of its kind west of Chicago. In all matters tending towards the welfare and development of Minneapolis, Mr. Olson has always taken an active part. He is said to have been one of the first to suggest the idea of an exposition in Minneapolis, and contributed a great deal of his time to make the expositions successful. He was for several years president of the State Bank of Minneapolis. Despite his busy life he has devoted some attention to politics, and is one of the recognized leaders of his nationality who espouse the Republican cause. He has, however, refused all tenders of office. Mr. Olson's church connections are with the Baptist body. He was married in 1889 to Miss Ida Hawley, of Minneapolis.


John Conrad Oswald
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

John Conrad Oswald has been a resident of Minneapolis and a merchant in that city since 1857. He is a native of Switzerland and was born in Oberaach, Canton Thurgau, May 20, 1824. His father, Jacob Oswald, was a stock raiser and trader in Oberaach. John Conrad attended the common schools of his native village until the age of sixteen, when he was apprenticed in a cotton manufactory, and after two years employment his industry and aptness were rewarded by his appointment as overseer. He retained that position until May 1847, when he came to America. In October of that year he was appointed the agent of a large tract of land in West Virginia. It was a wild region, the land was unimproved and the locality afforded none of the comforts and conveniences of life to which he had been accustomed. Nevertheless he took the agency of the land, and also opened and conducted a country store, remaining in that business for ten years. He then sold out and came to Minneapolis, whither the brother of his wife, and former employer, had already preceded him. In connection with his brother, Henry Oswald, he opened a general store in North Minneapolis, but in June of the following year, 1858, he purchased his brother's interest and removed his stock of goods to the old land office buildings in lower town. In the spring of 1859 Mathias Nothaker was taken into partnership, and that firm continued in business until March 1862, when both members sold out. Soon after that Mr. Oswald purchased a farm in the northwestern part of the city, a tract which is now known as Bryn Mawr. Previous to this, in 1858, in company with Godfrey Scheitlin, Mr. Oswald had experimented in the manufacture of native fruit wine. The experiment proved a great success, and in 1862 they built a wine cellar on the farm, and from that time manufactured wine extensively. In 1862 and 1863 he undertook to raise tobacco and made a success of it for two years, but the crop was destroyed by frost in August 1863, and the attempt was never repeated. In May 1866, Mr. Oswald established a wholesale wine and liquor store in connection with the native wine manufactory. In 1868 Theophil Basting entered into partnership with Mr. Oswald, and is still a member of the firm of Oswald & Co. Mr. Oswald has always taken an active interest in public affairs. In 1863 he was appointed Captain in the Thirtieth regiment of the state militia by Governor Henry A. Swift, and in September of the following year was appointed major of the same regiment by Governor Miller. He has always been actively identified with commercial and industrial enterprises of a public nature. He has served as director in the Minneapolis & St. Louis railway, and, also, in the Minneapolis, Sault Ste. Marie & Atlantic railway. He was one of the first members of the park board, but being about to depart for Europe he resigned. In 1887 he was elected to the state senate, and is now a member of the courthouse and city hall commission. On August 12, 1847, in the city of New York, Mr. Oswald was married to Miss Elizabeth Ursula Scheitlin. Nine children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Oswald, four of whom are still living. The eldest, Mathilda, is now the wife of Mr. Basting; Elizabeth, married Floyd M. Laraway, and Emma is the wife of William L. O'Brien. Bertha M. is unmarried.


Erik Nielsen Oulie
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Erik Nielsen Oulie is the son of a well-to-do farmer in Odalen, Norway. His mother, whose maiden name was Karen Olsen Brynildsrud, was noted throughout Odalen as a very talented musician, and especially noted for her skill in playing upon the somewhat ancient instrument called the "langelek." She came of a musical family, and it was from one of his uncles that Erik received his first instruction on the violin. The grandfather, on the paternal side, was also a farmer, and in his time noted as a very impressive and able extemporaneous composer of words. Erik Nielsen was born November 10, 1850. He spent his boyhood at Odalen on his father's farm and began his education in the common schools, where the principal subjects taught were religion, mathematics and manual training. This school work had no bearing upon his later career as a musician. Subsequently he attended military school at Christiania, where he received his first training in music, except what he had learned from his uncle at home. He was thoroughly devoted to music and pursued his studies under such distinguished instructors as Johan Svensen and Johan Selmer. From them he received instruction in counterpoint and harmony. On the violin he was instructed by Gulbrand Bohn. On the organ he received lessons from Ludvig Lindeman, the most famous organist in Scandinavia. For thirteen years Mr. Oulie belonged to the Royal Musical Military Academy at Christiania, and was one of the three successful candidates out of twenty for graduation on April 15, 1872. After having finished his studies he was engaged as musical director with a traveling opera company, and later appointed instructor in singing at the Tivoli in Christiania and also became leader of the orchestra in that theater. This position he held for some years until we was appointed organist at the cathedral of the city of Bodo, Norway. He was occupying this position when he asked for and was granted permission to take a trip to American for a year. He arrived at Boston in 1890, and was so pleased with the prospects held out to him in this country that he did not return to Norway. He was appointed to the position of leader of the choir of Scandinavian singers just prior to the Scandinavian singing festival in Minneapolis in July, 1891. He was also elected leader of the Swedish Glee Club, of Boston, and of the Norwegian Singing Society of the same city, and later became leader of the United Singers of Boston in opposition to many competitors. In the fall of 1892, Prof. Oulie came to Minneapolis to take the leadership of the Normaendenes sang-forening, and was also elected organist and director of the choir of the Norwegian Lutheran Church of St. Paul. His services were also in demand as a leader of a number of singing societies of the Twin Cities, and at the time of the festival of the United Singing Societies of the Northwest at the World's Fair in Chicago in 1893, he was chosen as their leader. At the great convention in Boston in 1895, at which all the Scandinavian singing societies of the United States were represented, he was elected musical director-in-chief of the United States of American, which position he now holds. The Normaendenes sang-forening, under Professor Oulie's instruction, received first prize at the international tournament given by the Ole Bull Monument Association, May 17, 1896, and the Unga Svea also under his instruction received the popular prize. The vote was given by the audience of seven thousand people. He is now an honorary member of the Scandinavian Chorus of Boston, the Swedish Glee Club of Boston, and the Normaendenes sang-forening in Minneapolis, and, also, of the Literary Society Fram. Professor Oulie is also a composer and has contributed very largely to the elevation of Scandinavian music to its present standard in America, and also takes great interest in church music, and has helped to raise the standard in this particular among his countrymen. In 1879 he was married to Sophie Wilhelmine Freemann, a native of Denmark, who was a leading member of an operatic company of which Mr. Oulie was at one time musical director. She has also met with much success as an instructor and leader of dramatic performances in Boston, as well as in Minneapolis.

Hennepin County Home Page

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails