Hennepin County, Minnesota

Genealogy Trails History Group

Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Biographies "S"


Dwight May Sabin
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ

Dwight May Sabin, ex-United States Senator of Minnesota, was born at Manlius, Illinois, April 25, 1843. Mr. Sabin was the eldest son of Horace Carver Sabin and Maria Elizabeth Webster (Sabin). The Sabin family were of Scotch descent and came to America in 1740. They settled in New Hampshire and Connecticut, and Horace Carver Sabin was born in Windham County, Connecticut, on a beautiful farm owned by his father, Jedediah Sabin. In early manhood, Horace Carver Sabin moved to the Western Reserve, Ohio, and later came farther West to Ottawa, Illinois, then a thriving trading village at the head of navigation on the Illinois river. Here he engaged in farming and became an extensive breeder of blooded cattle, having the first business of this kind established in the state. He was one of the original abolitionists, and his protection and services were often accorded to fugitive slaves passing through that section on their perilous way towards safety and liberty. The Sabin residence was in fact, one of the important stations on what was known as the underground railroad to which escaped negroes were directed for assistance and where they invariably received helped and a hearty "God speed." Horace Carver Sabin was a friend and co-laborer with Owen Lovejoy and John F. Farnsworth, and was an acquaintance and great admirer of Abraham Lincoln. All of these gentlemen were frequently guests at his house when on professional and political trips made in those days generally on horse back, railroads being as yet unknown in that new country. Mr. Sabin, although evincing a deep interest in the affairs of the state and the nation, declined strictly political offices. He held, however, for many years positions of trust and responsibility on county and state boards, and was at one time member of the state canal and land commission. He was also a delegate to the Republican national convention at Chicago which nominated Abraham Lincoln for president. On account of his failing health Mr. Sabin, with his wife and two sons, Dwight May and Jay H., returned to the old home in Connecticut at the urgent request of his father, Jedediah, who in his declining years wished for the presence of his only son. Jedediah died in 1864. While living on the Connecticut farm, Dwight May attended a little district school for three years, when, his own father's health becoming seriously impaired, the care of the farm and the somewhat extended lumber business devolved largely upon the young man. He continued in this work until he was seventeen years of age, when he went to Phillips Academy for one year in order to pursue a course of study in higher mathematics and civil engineering, after which he returned to the management of his father's business. His life remained thus uneventful until Lincoln's call for volunteers in 1862, when his patriotism prompted him to offer his services to Gov. Buckingham, of Connecticut, who sent him to Washington to join a Connecticut regiment. He was unable to pass the medical examination, however, and was rejected for active service on account of pulmonary weakness and his youth. He was then assigned to the quartermaster's department, and was afterwards given a first class clerkship in the third auditor's office in Washington, which position he retained until June, 1863. At that time he was transferred to the commissary department of Beaufort's Cavalry Brigade, and reached the scene of action immediately prior to the battle of Gettysburg. He remained with this brigade during many subsequent engagements, following Lee's retreating army. The following year he was called home by the death of his father, and was appointed executor of the family estate, together with his mother. He was occupied with these affairs and other business enterprises until 1867. In the autumn of that year the delicacy of his constitution becoming more apparent, physicians advised a change of location, and Minnesota was chosen for climatic reasons. He first located in Minneapolis, where, during the ensuing winter, he busied himself investigating the lumber outlook. In the spring of 1868 an opportunity to enter this business in Stillwater presented itself and he settled there, where he has since continued to reside. In connection with the lumber business he carried on other enterprises, building up the manufacture of threshing machines, engines and railway cars. This business gradually assumed immense proportions, giving employment at one time to over thirty-five hundred men. He also became a promoter and partner in lumber operations at Cloquet, Minnesota, on the St. Louis river. Mr. Sabin, as his ancestry would indicate, has always been a Republican and in 1870 he was elected to the state senate, where he served until 1883, when he was sent to the United States senate to succeed the late William Windom. While a member of the senate, Mr. Sabin was the chairman of the railway committee, member of the Indian and pension committees, and secured pensions for over eight hundred old soldiers. He made no pretense to oratory, and was not known as a speech-making senator, but rather a hard working member in the interest of his state, especially in the line of transportation. Through his efforts, aided by Senator Palmer, of Michigan, he was able to secure large appropriations for the speedy completion of the new canal at Sault Ste. Marie. He was also instrumental in securing large appropriations from congress for the improvement of the Mississippi and other rivers. Mr. Sabin was prominent in the councils of his party, and for several years previous to his election as United States senator he was Minnesota's member of the Republican National Committee, and at the death of Gov. Jewell, in December, 1883, was elected his successor to the chairmanship, and in this capacity presided over the Republican National Convention in Chicago in 1884. Mr. Sabin is married and has three adopted daughters. Since his retirement from the senate he has been actively interested in business, especially in the lines of lumber and iron.


Edward Savage
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Edward Savage is a member of the legal profession in Minneapolis. His father, Edward Savage, was a cousin of Chief Justice John Savage, of New York; was a scientist of high attainments and professor of chemistry and natural science in Union College, Schenectady, New York. It was while at work in the class room of that institution, and at the early age of thirty years, that he sacrificed his life to secure the escape of all his pupils after an accidental explosion of a deadly gas which was being handled in experiment in the class room. As a consequence of inhaling the gas he died soon afterwards from consumption. His ancestry was Scotch and Irish, and settled in Washington County, New York. His wife, the mother of the subject of this sketch, was Sarah Van Vechten, daughter of Rev. Jacob Van Vechten, D. D., of Schenectady, New York. On her father's side she was of Dutch descent, and on her mother's side the grand-daughter, of the celebrated Scotch divine, Dr. John Mason. She was married again, her second husband being Professor Samuel G. Brown, of Dartmouth College, afterwards president of Hamilton College and biographer of Rufus Choate. Professor Francis Brown, now of Union Theological Seminary, and an eminent Oriental linguist, is their son. The subject of this sketch was born May 26, 1840, at Schenectady. His education began with a private tutor under the shadow of Dartmouth College, and partly under the tutelage of Walbridge A. Field, now chief justice of the supreme court of Massachusetts. He afterwards studied at Phillips College, Andover, under Dr. Samuel Taylor, and graduated from Dartmouth College in the class of 1860. Among his classmates were Judge Daniel Dickinson, formerly of the Minnesota supreme court; Daniel G. Rawlins, at one time surrogate of New York City and County, and Rev. Arthur Little, D. D. Mr. Savage took the first honors of his class at graduation, was a member of the Alpha Delta Phi and the Phi Beta Kappa. He studied law at the Albany law school where he was admitted to the bar, and began the practice of his profession in New York state. He came to Minneapolis in 1880 and has practiced law here ever since. At one time he was in partnership with P. M. Woodman, then alone for several years, and for the last four years has been associated with Charles E. Purdy, the style of the firm being Savage & Purdy. Mr. Savage has been identified with much important litigation in Minneapolis, the case of most interest, perhaps, being an action involving the title of a large tract of land, one hundred and twenty acres, within the city limits of Minneapolis, in what was known as the "Oakland and Silver Lake litigation." For five years he bore the chief burden in this defense, and finally succeeded in maintaining the title of the defendants, contrary to the general expectations of the public and the bar. It is said that the doctrine of "equitable estoppel" was perhaps carried further in that case than in any other which preceded it in English or American practice. The result was a severe blow to the practice of speculative litigation, based on technical defects in land titles which had previously been quite prevalent in this state. Mr. Savage is an enthusiast in music, was the organist in the college church and chapel, and earned his first dollar while serving in that capacity. He is not a partisan in politics, but is always interested as a citizen in the success of good men and sound measures. He was married in 1866 to Sarah Elizabeth Smith, who died in 1869. He was married again in 1876 to Lydia A. Hoag. They have two daughters, Euphemia A. and Margaret H. Mr. Savage is a member of the Presbyterian church.


John Albert Schlener
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ 

John Albert Schlener is a merchant engaged in the stationery trade in Minneapolis. He was born in Philadelphia, February 24, 1856, but his parents removed the following year to St. Anthony, Minnesota. His father, John A. Schlener, and his mother, Bertha Sproesser (Schlener), were of German descent, industrious and frugal people, who taught their son the habits of economy, industry and thrift. The father opened a bakery in St. Anthony, which he conducted until his death in 1872. The son was sent to a private school and afterwards to the public schools in St. Anthony, and also attended a commercial school, where he received a business training. He was only twelve years old, however, when he left school to engage in such enterprises as were open to boys of his age. He was employed for a time in the toll house of the suspension bridge, and assisted the toll gatherer in the care of the bridge and in the keeping of the accounts. This position brought him a wide acquaintance, and was of no small value on that account. At the age of sixteen young Schlener was employed as a clerk in the book and stationery store of Wistar, Wales & Co. Then firm changed several times, Mr. Wales having different partners, but Mr. Schlener continued in connection with firm, and on the organization of the firm of Bean, Wales & Co., he was given a third interest in the business. Mr. Wales subsequently retired, but Mr. Schlener continued in the business with Kirkbride and Whitall until 1884. He then opened a store on his own account, and is carrying on the business very successfully. He has proven himself to be possessed of superior business qualifications, and is looked upon as one of the successful merchants of the city. He is also public-spirited, and has taken an active interest in various efforts to promote the general good of the community, serving as director of the Business Union and as a member of other commercial bodies. He early became a Mason, and his sterling qualities and deep interest in the work of that organization have led him through the various degrees from the lowest to the highest. He is frequently honored with the office of delegate to Masonic conventions, and with positions of trust in different aid and insurance associations connected with the order. In politics Mr. Schlener is a Republican, and takes an active part in the management of his party affairs locally, and in 1896 he was elected a member of the school board. His parents were Lutherans and he was baptized in the Lutheran Church, but his personal preference has been the Congregational society, and he is an attendant at Plymouth Church. He has a pleasant home on Nicollet Island, where he resides with his mother and his wife, formerly Miss Grace Holbrook, of Lockport, to whom he was married in March, 1892.


Friedrich Schmitz
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Friedrich Johann Philipp Hubert Jacob Schmitz since he came to America has dropped the greater part of his full name, and writes as a signature simply, Fritz Schmitz. He was born in Duesseldorf, on the Rhine, August 26, 1867, the son of Philipp Schmitz and Carolina Barths (Schmitz). His ancestors on his father's side were of the Swiss nobility. Their coat of arms was a white lion holding a yellow star on a red ground, and is entered in the books of European heraldry. They settled in Rhineland early in the Fifteenth century. Philipp Schmitz was an art teacher in the Royal Academy at Duesseldorf. He was one of the founders, and called the godfather of the artists' society known as Malkasten. He was an officer in the Revolutionary Army of 1848, and after the suppression of the Revolution was pardoned, being more fortunate in that respect that one of his brothers, who, in spite of his position as an officer of the regular army, was on the Revolutionary side. He fled to America, the refuge of so many of the revolutionists of 1848; entered the Northern army at the outbreak of the Civil War and fell in battle near Nashville. Carolina Barths was the daughter of a Revolutionist von Barths, who dropped the von when he became a leader of the Revolutionist party in 1848. He was a prominent lawyer in Duesseldorf. The subject of this sketch attended the stadtiches gymnasium (high school) in Duesseldorf, from which he graduated at the age of seventeen. His parents desired him to become an army officer, but his wish was to become a musician. He had been instructed in violin playing since his twelfth year, his teacher being Robert Zerbe, a well-known conductor of the Duesseldorf symphony orchestra. Later young Schmitz was under the training of a celebrated French violinist, Emile Sauret, who induced his pupil's parents to send him to the famous Cologne Conservatory. There Fritz studied for five years. His principal instructor was Gustav Hollander, now director of Stern's Conservatory, in Berlin, on the violin. His instructors in other branches were Professors Huelle, Jensen, Neitzel, Heinrich Zoellner and Arnold Mendelssohn. About this time he also visited the Bonn University. After a year and a half of study at the conservatory, young Schmitz competed for the Peter Mueller "stiftung" and a government prize, and held both of them while he studied in Cologne. Having completed his studies in Cologne he was appointed concert master in Duesseldorf, where he became a prominent soloist and teacher of the violin. Shortly afterwards he was appointed teacher of the violin in a New York conservatory. He accepted this position with the intention of returning to Europe within a year, his principal object in coming to America being to see the country. With the same object in view he accepted an offer of membership in the Theodore Thomas Chicago orchestra, where he played in 1891, 1892 and 1893. He had in the meantime become so well pleased with the country that he determined to make America his home. At the conclusion of the Columbian Exposition he went to New York under engagement with Walter Damrosch of the New York Symphony Orchestra. While there he met Walter Petzet, then director of the musical department of the Manning College in Minneapolis, who offered him the position of first violin teacher in this school. Feeling that his forte was not orchestra playing so much as teaching and solo work, he accepted Mr. Petzet's offer and came to Minneapolis in 1894, where he is held in high esteem as an artist. More recently both Mr. Petzet and Mr. Schmitz have withdrawn from the Manning school, and Mr. Schmitz is engaged as a private teacher of the violin.


Gustav Adolph Schubert
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Gustav Adolph Schubert is an orchestral and band leader in Minneapolis. Mr. Schubert is a native of Eilenburg, Germany, where he was born August 11, 1848. He attended the common school, which in that city was by no means to be compared with the American institution. At an early age he developed unusual musical talent and was sent for musical education to Leipsic. In 1865 he became a member of the Symphony Orchestra in Halle, which at that time was one of the finest organizations in Germany. He also played in several concerts under the famous musical director, Dr. Robert Franz. Subsequently he was chosen conductor of the orchestra in Flensburg, Germany. During all this time he continued the study of his art and was awarded his diploma as a singing teacher in Germany in 1876. In May, 1884, he removed with his family to America and located in Minneapolis. In the following year he won the second prize at the thirteenth German singing contest in St. Paul, and in 1887 he again won the second prize of the fourteenth contest of the German Singing Society in Minneapolis. Prof. Schubert was for a time connected with Dan'z orchestra, but is now engaged as the leader and conductor of an orchestra and military band which bears his own name. In 1889 he formed a partnership with E. F. Thyle which continued until 1891. Upon its dissolution Mr. Schubert continued as a leader of the Schubert orchestra and has played important engagements in Minneapolis and vicinity. Before coming to America, Mr. Schubert, as a native of Germany, was enlisted in the army of the empire, and fought in the war between Germany, and France in 1870 and 1871. He was corporal of the Twenty-fifth Infantry Regiment in that war Previous to the outbreak of that war he was a soldier in Flensburg. He fought in the battles of Villerechsel, and the three days fighting of Hericourt, besides several other important engagements. He is a member of the Society, the Knights of the Society, the Western Knights, the Sons of Herrmann and the Order of the World. He is also a member of the German Lutheran Church. On the sixth day of March, 1872, he was married to Mrs. Christine Johannsen. They have three children, Caroline Jacobine, who is now Mrs. F. G. Callahan, Katharine Charlotte and Wilhelmene Pauline.


Nicholas Schultheis
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Brenda Shaffer

NICHOLAS SCHULTHEIS, an extensive land-owner residing on section 30, of Devillo township, Richland county, is one of the early settlers of that region and has amassed his fortune by dint of good management and persistent efforts. He is one of the influential men of his community and is active in his work for the development of that region.

Mr. Schultheis was born in Germany, December 23, 1859, and was one of a family of six children, three sons and three daughters, born to George and Margaret (Dressil) Shultheis. The father died in Germany in 1865 and the mother emigrated to America with her family. They settled at Minneapolis, Minnesota, where our subject grew to manhood. He was educated in the public schools of that city and afterwards was employed for many years in the planing-mill there. He went to Dakota territory in the fall of 1879 and entered a homestead claim to one hundred and sixty acres of land on section 18, in Devillo township, Richland county, where he resided until the fall of 1895, when he settled on his present farm. He removed to the township of Hankinson in the spring of 1897 and was employed as a wheat buyer for Cargill & Company and was in their employ until the spring of 1899, when he returned to his farm on section 30, in Devillo township. His farm is equipped with modern buildings and machinery and is one of the best in the township. His buildings were erected in 1895 and are commodious and substantial structures. He is the owner of nine hundred and sixty acres of land and valuable property in the town of Hankinson.

Our subject was married, in Minneapolis, Minnesota, January 11, 1880, to Miss Mary Gemmett, who was born in Dubuque, Iowa, December 18, 1863. Mrs. Schultheis was a daughter of Anton and Fredericka (Kohl) Gemmett, the former a native of Italy and the latter of Germany. Her parents were married in Dubuque, Iowa, and the mother died there in 1892. Mrs. Schultheis was the only daughter in a family of three children. Mr. and Mrs. Schultheis have been the parents of three children, two of whom are living, namely: Anna M., now Mrs. Charles McLaughlin, and Peter L. One son, Anthony, died in Hankinson, aged eleven years. Our subject is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He has served as school director for several years and is an earnest worker for educational advancement.


John M. Shaw
[Source: Encyclopedia of Biography of Minnesota, History of Minnesota by Judge Charles E. Flandreau, 1900, transcribed by Mary Kay Krogman]

The harmonious life of the late Judge John Melville Shaw, of Minneapolis, here sketched in outline, long identified with the progressive development of Minnesota, and deeply lamented when cut off, was nurtured in a rural nest hidden away among the hills of Maine. Though born and reared in a retired nook, this son of the Pine Tree State possessed by birthright all those sturdy and true forces of character which qualify a man to grasp and grapple with the complex problems of metropolitan life. His remote ancestry was Scotch English on the father's side. English on the mother's; while nearer, we find the energies representative of both sides twining in numerous strands among the virile fiber of which New England was built up. From the paternal stock, early colonists to America added their quota to the vitality of Massachusetts Bay; the grandfather of Judge Shaw was an ardent patriot of the Revolution, who, as a boy sergeant, fought at Bunker Hill. Disabled for land service by a wound in the foot, he became a privateer, continuing as such until independence was declared. Judge Shaw's mother was the daughter of Benjamin French, a distinguished physician of Maine, and counted among her earlier ancestors a Pilgrim Father. Thomas French, and an English rector, Rev. Joseph Hull, a graduate of Oxford, who in 1621 relinquished his parish in Devon to join the young settlement in Massachusetts. From each of these settlers sprang families of repute, in the annals of which we find record of successful jurists, including Hon. Daniel French of New Hampshire and Hon. Henry French of Boston, grandfather and father, respectively, of the noted sculptor, Daniel Chester French. George Shaw, the youthful patriot above mentioned, located in the town of Exeter, Maine, near which his numerous sons and daughters also settled, most of them upon farms. One of the sons, however, the namesake of his father, eschewing the agricultural life, found commercial prosperity in the city of Mexico, while John, the eighth child, became the leading merchant of his little home village, which honored him by adopting the name of "Shaw's Corner." This merchant came in time to be the father of a goodly family. Of the three sons, the eldest died in childhood. The youngest is Maj. George K. Shaw, who has won distinction in the Northwest as a journalist. He is a veteran of the Civil War and father of Captain Melville J. Shaw of the T. S. Marine Corps, who was brevetted in recognition of his courageous service at Guantanamo. It is with the second of these sons. John Melville Shaw, that we are now chiefly concerned. He was born December 18, 1833, and passed childhood and early youth in his rural home. He attended both the public school and the private high school of the village, and was for a few terms a student at East Corinth Academy. He was now prepared for college, but his ambitions in this direction were not to be realized. Financial reverses had come, and the family decided to seek better fortune in the West. They set out on their journey, intending to proceed directly to St. Anthony's Falls; but the lateness of the season and consequent close of navigation checked their progress at Galena, Illinois, where they were obliged to spend the winter. Both John Melville and his father found opportunities to teach during the cold weather, and in April the father pushed on up the river. He took up lands in the vicinity of St. Paul and Winona, sending his sons to hold the former claim, while himself retaining the latter. But his sudden death a few months later resulted in the abandoning of the lands and loss of the money invested in them, with the exception of a farming tract at Cottage Grove. John Melville, though but nineteen years of age, now found himself the head of the family, with little capital save his personal abilities. His cherished hope for a liberal education must be finally renounced, but despair could find no vulnerable point in his armor of youthful courage. Continuing to live at Galena, in the household for which he felt responsible, he toiled for five years as bookkeeper and shipping clerk for a wholesale grocery concern, in reality working as two men, for the salary of one. And there was still a third man in him, intellectual, eager, aspiring, who often in the watches of the night might have been found poring over classics, both literary and legal. Though denied the fulfillment of his collegiate dream, he determined to master the legal profession, and so thorough was his solitary work to this end that it took but one year of study in a law office to enable him to pass the examination of the Supreme Court of Illinois and gain admittance to the bar. For two years he practiced at Galena; he then went to Platteville, Wisconsin, and entered into a partnership with John G. Scott. The business outlook in Platteville seemed promising, but the Civil War was on, and both partners felt the call of their country. Together they raised Company E, of the Twenty fifth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and on September 1, 1862, with Mr. Scott as captain and Mr. Shaw as second lieutenant, Company E, with the rest of the regiment, marched for the front. First serving in the Minnesota Indian campaign, the regiment was then sent to Vicksburg to reinforce General Grant. Subsequently it was changed to the trans Mississippi department and to that of the Tennessee. For upwards of a year Lieutenant Shaw served as judge-advocate of the general court-martial at Columbus, Kentucky, having also officiated as first assistant quartermaster. Afterwards, upon the death of Captain Scott, he succeeded to the vacant post, and with his company participated in the Atlanta campaign, and the immortal march through Georgia. Being again, in the spring of 1865, detailed as judge advocate, and acting provost marshal of the First Division, he served in both capacities until the end of the war. As an officer Captain Shaw won the respect alike of those he led in battle and his superiors in rank; as a soldier-comrade he endeared himself to all. His military experiences having undermined his health, upon return from the war, he sought its restoration in the invigorating atmosphere of Minnesota, and in February. 1866, located as an attorney at Minneapolis. His practice came slowly but surely, drawn by the unfailing magnetism of superior ability and faithful application to duty, and in 1868 he entered into a partnership with Hon. Franklin Beebe. In 1875 Judge Beebe withdrew from the firm, and Albert Levi and Willard R. Cray entered it, Judge Best subsequently becoming a member. Other changes occurred later on, and at the time of the senior partner's death the firm was operating as Shaw, Cray, Lancaster & Parker. In July, 1881, Mr. Shaw was offered a position on the Supreme Bench, he having been for several years recognized as the head of the Hennepin county bar; but for various impersonal reasons he decided to decline this honor so fondly cherished in the profession. In the following year, however, his health showing signs of giving wax under the stress of work, he was persuaded by his friends to fill a position vacated at that time on the District Bench of the county; and at the following general election he was unanimously chosen for the full six-years term. But he found this office less to his taste than independent practice, and in 1883, his health having become much improved, he resumed and pursued during his remaining years his favorite line of work. Apart from his judgeship, the only public office he ever held was that of city attorney for a single term during the early days in Minneapolis, he was eminently qualified to compete for laurels in public life with the brightest and the best; but although brave, self-respecting and aggressive for the right, he was still a modest and retiring man. He was a staunch Republican, and felt a lively interest in all that a affected the public weal, but never posed as a politician or sought public preferment. His life interest was centered in his work, which he loved for its own sake, for the sake of justice. He was essentially and scrupulously just. The humblest of his petitioners was as secure of an equitable adjustment of his cause as was his most influential client; and the same conscientious thoroughness and accuracy characterized his preparation for minor cases as for the many weighty ones through which he became renowned. Justice he would have done, even though it entailed his own pecuniary detriment. Yet he prospered. Clients flocked to him, confided in him, accepted his advice as gospel. During the last twenty years of his life there were few civil causes of prime importance tried in the State in which he did not figure prominently. Nor was his practice confined to his own State. He was frequently associated with distinguished lawyers in New York and other distant cities in litigations of magnitude. So logical, terse and exact was his written work that portions of it have been incorporated into court decisions; and the value of his services in the profession is attested in no less than fifty volumes of Minnesota State Reports, as also in various other legal publications. As he was a lover of justice, so he was a hater of all devices to defeat the ends of justice, and, before the bar, his tongue could be most scathing in their denunciation. His was an orator's tongue, but in the social circle its trenchant edge was softened to a tone of genial humor which made him the most entertaining and companionable of men. From his pen, likewise fluent and forceful, the press gleaned many a valuable article on current topics. In the meetings of the G. A. R. and Loyal Legion, of which Judge Shaw was a member, he was always a conspicuous personality, the most faithful affection existing between him and his old army comrades. Side by side with this loyalty in his breast was the more remote loyalty and patriotism handed down by his Revolutionary grandsire, and a keen interest in reformatory movements inherited from his father, a man always abreast of the times. In September, 1864, during a furlough from military service, Mr. Shaw was united in marriage to Miss Ellen A. Eliot, a schoolmate of his boyhood, and a distant relative on the French side. Mrs. Shaw and the three children of the marriage are living. The two daughters are Mrs. Cavour S. Langdon and Miss Bertha Shaw; the son, John Eliot Shaw, has graduated at Yale, and is now a law student in his father's former office and at the State University. Judge Shaw was a loyal son and brother, a most devoted husband and father. His home was one in which reigned harmony and happiness. The same noble unselfishness which kept his purse open to public charity extended to the domestic and social circles. With all his simple virtues he had an aesthetic side. He reveled in the refined luxuries of culture, music, art, poetry. He possessed a choice library, literary as well as legal, and spent many blissful hours of retirement among his books. He was one of those rare characters "whose hearts have a look southwards, and are open to the whole noon of nature; whose weaknesses are lovely as their strengths, like the white, nebulous matter between stars, which, if not light, at least is likest light; men whom we build our love round like an arch of triumph, as they pass us on their way to glory and to immortality." Judge Shaw was stricken with heart failure and died December 6, 1897, with his mind still full of hopeful plans for future activity. Removed from the midst of bereaved friends, yet not lost to the world; for the influence of so gracious a life, exerted for three-score years, must continue, potentially, deepening and widening ad infinitum.


Norman Shook
[Source: Illustrated Album of Biography of Pope and Stevens Counties Minnesota (1888), transcribed by Cheri Sletten

Judge Norman Shook came to Pope county in 1865, during the month of October, settling on section 31 of Westport township. He homesteaded 160 acres of land, which he improved. He now owns 220 acres where he carries on general farming and stock-raising. Our subject was one of the first permanent settlers here and helped to organize the township. He was a member of the first board of supervisors and has been in that capacity nearly all the time since, and served as its chairman for a number of years.

Judge Shook was born in Dutchess county, New York, June 12, 1825, the son of Peter and Maria (Bonesteal) Shook, natives of the same State. There were ten children in the family - Frederick, Christina, Daniel, Catherine, David, Peter, Samuel, Charles, Hannah and Norman. Charles died in childhood.

Mr. Shook spent his school days in Canandaigua City, New York, and his earlier childhood days in Dutchess county, New York. He received an academic education and taught for awhile; also farmed in that locality. He came to Indiana, and remained there awhile, and then came on to Hennepin county, Minnesota, where he remained until he came to Pope county. Judge Shook was married in 1850, to Miss Hannah Storm, a native of New York, having been born and educated in Genesee county of that State. Her parents were farmers and she was the youngest of the family of six children - John, Sarah, Lovice, Rebecca, Isaac and Hannah.

Mr. Shook enlisted in 1864, in the First Minnesota Infantry, Second Corps, under Captain Perkins. He went in and served throughout as a private, receiving his discharge at Jeffersonville, Indiana. He was in the battles of Cold Harbor, Petersburg, Deep Bottom, and others of less note in history. From the service he came to Pope county and located.

Judge Shook is a man of much more than ordinary ability and a man of sterling integrity and worth. He has always taken a very active and prominent part in all public affairs, and no man's name is more closely and in dissolubly associated with the growth and development, as well as the official history of Pope county, than that of Mr. Shook. A republican in political matters, well posted on all public questions, he is one of the most prominent citizens of the county, and one of its most highly respected and influential pioneers. He has held some local office nearly all the time he has lived here, and since 1874 has ably filled the important office of judge of probate of Pope county.

Mr. and Mrs. Shook are the parents of the following family - Alice, Ambrose, Ida, Ettie and Otto, all of whom are married except the last named.


Cornelius B. Shove
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

C. B. Shove is of a family which traces its line for two hundred and fifty years, to the early settlement of New England. Alonzo Shove, father of Mr. C. B. Shove, was a manufacturer of boots and shoes at Syracuse, New York, where Cornelius was born November 8, 1844. Six years later the family moved to Manitowoc, Wisconsin, where the son passed his boyhood, and received the common school education available in a country village. When he was thirteen years old he entered a banking and insurance office at Manitowoc. In this position, which he occupied for eleven years, he acquired a practical training in business which fitted him for the responsible position which he has since attained in the insurance business in this city. Mr. Shove's first experience in insurance was in 1868, when he entered the employment of the late J. B. Bennett, of Cincinnati, an old and successful insurance manager. For a while Mr. Shove was stationed at Macon, Missouri, as a local agent. When the Andes Insurance Company was organized at Cincinnati, Mr. Shove removed to that city, and was appointed special agent of the company. In this position he traveled widely and acquired a large experience in general insurance matters, and in the management of the company's affairs. Afterwards he was appointed state agent of the company for Iowa. The Andes was ruined by the great Chicago and Boston fire, and for several years he was engaged as special agent and adjuster of several companies. In the year 1878 he came to Minneapolis, and after a short time organized the Millers and Manufacturers' Insurance Company. This company was organized under a new law authorizing a combination of stock and mutual plans. It was something of an innovation upon established insurance theories, but has proved a complete success. The Millers and Manufacturers' Insurance Company commenced business on May 1, 1881. It is essentially a mutual company, distributing to such of its policy holders as come under the mutual agreement, the surplus of premiums paid by them, over the actual cost of the insurance. Mr. Shove has been Secretary and General Manager of the company since its organization, until a few years since he became its President. He is an inveterate worker, and enthusiastic in his business, and proud of the success of his company. In 1883 Mr. Shove was married to Mrs. Carrie A. Norton, of Chicago. They live at 1002 Hawthorn avenue, Minneapolis.


David Ferguson Simpson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

David Ferguson Simpson is a judge of the Fourth Judicial District. Mr. Simpson is of Scotch descent, both his parents being born in Scotland. He takes a pride in his Scotch ancestry, as in shown by his active membership in the Caledonia Club, and his election to the office of chief of that organization. His father, William Simpson, was a well-to-do farmer near Waupun, Wisconsin, where the subject of this sketch was born, June 13, 1860. Mr. Simpson's education commenced in the country district school near his father's farm and in the village schools of Waupun. He took the two years' preparatory course for college in Ripon College, at Ripon, Wisconsin, followed by a four years; academical course in the Wisconsin State University, from which he graduated in 1882. He was given special honors in the department of history and awarded the Lewis prize for the best commencement oration. He had maintained a high grade of scholarship through his course, and was appointed to fill the position of professor of rhetoric during the absence of the regular occupant of that chair in the university during the college year of 1882-83. He had decided to become a lawyer, and took the law course at the University of Wisconsin and at the Columbia Law School in New York, receiving the degree of LL. B., from each of these schools in 1884. The same year he was admitted to the bar in the State of Wisconsin, but came almost immediately afterwards to Minneapolis and began the practice of law in this city in 1884. He was appointed assistant city attorney of Minneapolis in 1891, was elected to the office of city attorney in 1893, and re-elected in 1895. Mr. Simpson is a Republican, and takes an active interest in local and national politics. He has made a special study of municipal government, and assisted in drafting the general municipal law, which was adopted by the charter commission, sitting concurrently with the legislature in 1893. At the session of the Municipal Reform League in Minneapolis in 1894, Mr. Simpson was invited to be present and outline the system of municipal government in operation in Minneapolis, and prepared a paper which was received with a great deal of interest by that body, as an able argument in favor of what is known as the council system of city government, of which Mr. Simpson is an advocate. His conduct of the legal department of the City of Minneapolis has been characterized by distinguished ability, which has on more than one occasion operated to the great advantage of the city. Notable among the acts of his administration of this office was his successful prosecution of the city's case before the special commission appointed to consider the demands of the city for reduction in the price of gas. This case was stubbornly contested by able legal counsel on the opposite side, but Mr. Simpson's presentation of the case was so strongly made that it resulted in the reduction of the price of gas to all consumers from one dollar and sixty cents to one dollar and thirty cents net. In 1896 Mr. Simpson was elected as a judge of the Fourth Judicial District. Mr. Simpson was married January 14, 1886, to Josephine Sarles a graduate of the University of Wisconsin in 1883. Mrs. Simpson took the first honors of her class, and is active in the literary and benevolent societies of Minneapolis. They have three children, Donald, Harold and John.


Andrew Slotten
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Brenda Shaffer

HON. ANDREW SLOTTEN, a resident farmer of section 35, in Dwight township, is one of the influential men of Richland county. He has been associated with the public affairs of the vicinity since his earliest residence here, and has worked zealously for the development of his community. He has acquired a comfortable fortune and a good reputation by the exercise of honest efforts, and his home is one of the bright places in the township.

Mr. Slotten was born in Norway, September 16, 1840, and was the second in a family of five children born to Thore and Elizabeth Slotten. He was reared and educated in his native country and was engaged in farming there until 1867, when in the latter part of June he came to America, and for about one year remained in Wisconsin. From thence he went to Minnesota, and for two years attended the Normal School at Winona. He readily acquired a knowledge of the American ways and customs and became a valuable worker. For seven years he was engaged in various occupations, and then entered the post office at Minneapolis as clerk, and remaining in that position seven years. On leaving Minneapolis he went to Dakota and purchased a half section of land where he now resides. He is the owner of five hundred and sixty acres of land, and has erected a complete set of good farm buildings, and engages extensively in farming, meeting with marked success.

Our subject was married in Minneapolis, Minnesota, February 5, 1870, to Miss Lizzie Bye, daughter of Taale and Goner Bye, natives of Norway, who died in their own country. Mrs. Slotten was born in Norway, December 5, 1843, and emigrated to America in 1869. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Slotten, as follows: Thorwaland and Gunda L. Both our subject and wife are active and prominent members of the Norwegian Lutheran church. Mr. Slotten has identified himself with public affairs in whatever locality he has made his residence, and in Minnesota he was chosen sergeant-at-arms of the house of representatives in 1878, and served during that session. After taking up his residence in North Dakota he early became well known, and was elected to the state constitutional convention, and the following fall was elected to the state senate, serving in the first legislature after Dakota was admitted into the union. He was later elected one of the railroad commissioners of the state, and in the fall of 1898 he was again elected to the North Dakota state senate, for two years, evidencing his popularity. He is associated with the Republican party politically, and takes a very active interest in the affairs of his party. He is a man of careful, systematic habits and of a conservative turn of mind, and all matters with which he is connected are materially benefited when the management of the same is left to his care. He is intelligent and progressive, and any project that has for its tendency the development of the financial interests of the county or township meets with his sanction and hearty approval. He is a man of the highest integrity of character and has built for himself an enviable reputation as regards business ability and true worth. He is a gentleman of pleasing personality and has many friends wherever he chooses to reside.


Charles A. Smith
Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 - transcribed by AJ
Charles A. Smith is a good sample of what a resolute, industrious, intelligent boy, unaided by fortune or friends, can accomplish in commercial life in the Northwest. He is the son of a soldier in the regular army of Sweden, and was born December 11th, 1852, in the County of Ostergottland, Sweden. After thirty-three years service in the army, his father, in the spring of 1867, left Sweden with Charles and an elder sister and came to America, arriving in Minneapolis on the 28th of June. Two older brothers had already preceded them and were located here. Charles' education commenced in a small country school in Sweden, where more importance was attached to committing the catechism and Bible history to memory than to writing and the knowledge of mathematics. His first lessons in English were taken in a small log school house in Wright County. Shortly after his arrival in this city from the old country arrangements were made for him to make his home with a farmer living in the southern part of what is now the city of Minneapolis, near the Milwaukee railroad shops. He was to work for his board and clothing, and was employed chiefly in tending cattle. While this employed on the farm he picked a large quantity of hazelnuts, which he sold for seven dollars, loaning the money to his brother at ten per cent. This was the first money he had ever earned. He had made good use of his time also in study, and in the fall of 1872 he entered the State University with the intention of taking the regular course. He applied himself very closely to his studies and his health soon failed, so that he was obliged to leave school at the end of the first year. In 1873 he obtained employment in the general hardware store of J. S. Pillsbury & Co., of this city, where he continued for five years. He, the, in the fall of 1878, with the assistance of ex-Gov. Pillsbury, built a grain elevator at Herman, Minnesota, and under the name of C. A. Smith & Co. he continued the grain and lumber business there until July, 1834, when arrangements were made to begin the manufacturing and wholesaling of lumber in Minneapolis. He again took up his residence in this city, and the partnership with ex-Gov. Pillsbury was continued until 1893, at which time the C. A. Smith Lumber Company was incorporated, of which Mr. Smith is the president and general manager. In addition to the saw mill and lumber manufacturing business of this city, this company has the controlling interest in a number of retail lumber yards and general stores in different parts of the state and in North and South Dakota. Mr. Smith says the secret of his success has been adoption of Franklin's advice, which he learned with his first English lessons, viz., "To take care of the pennies, and the dollars will take care of themselves." He has tried to follow that advice ever since he sold his hazelnuts in the fall of 1867. But Mr. Smith's activities have not been confined to the firm, of which he is a member. He was one of the incorporators of the Swedish-American National Bank, the Security Savings and Loan Association, and other enterprises in this city and elsewhere. Like most Swedish Americans, Mr. Smith is a Republican in politics, and devotes as much attention to it as his business will permit. He has never held any officer or asked for any, but is prominent in the counsels of his party, having been a member of city, county, state and national conventions. He is a member of the English Lutheran Salem Congregation, of Minneapolis; one of its organizers and one of its trustees. He is also a member of the board of directors of the English Lutheran seminary, of Chicago, and is treasurer of the Evangelical Lutheran Synod of the Northwest. He was married February 14th, 1878, to Johanna Anderson, a daughter of Olaf Anderson, who, after serving in the Swedish riksdag for a number of years, emigrated with his family to this country in 1857, and located in Carver county. Mr. Smith has five children, two boys and three girls, Nanna A., Addie J., Myrtle E., Vernon A. and Carroll W.


John Day Smith
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse

John Day Smith is one of the leading members of the legal profession in Minneapolis and has been a resident of this city since 1885. This has been long enough, however, for him to obtain a position of prominence and influence and to impress himself upon the community in a way in which only the possession of high character and extraordinary ability could accomplish. Mr. Smith is the son of a Kennebec County farmer in Maine. He was born February 25, 1845. His ancestry was English, having come to America some fifty years before the Revolutionary War. His great-grandfather, James Lord, was a lieutenant in the command of a company at the battle of Bunker Hill. Mr. Smith was a graduate of Brown University in the class of 1872. He was given the degree of A. M. by Brown University in 1875, of LL. B., by Columbia University in 1878, and of LL. M., by the same institution in 1881. In recognition of his scholarship and other attainments, Mr. Smith was elected a member of the Phi Beta Kappa society at Brown University in the year of his graduation. He taught school for three years after leaving Brown University, then studied law at the Columbia University and was admitted to the bar in the city of Washington in 1881. He has been engaged as a lecturer in the law department of Howard University and the University of Minnesota, and at present is lecturer on America constitutional law in the latter institution. Mr. Smith is senior member of the firm of Smith & Parsons. He has a splendid war record, having enlisted as a private in Company F, Nineteenth Maine Volunteers, June 26, 1862, when only a little over seventeen years of age. He was with his regiment in the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, Bristoe Station, Mine Run, The Wilderness, Spottsylvania, Bethesda Church, North Anna, Cold Harbor, Siege of Petersburg and Jerusalem Road. He was slightly wounded at Gettysburg at the time of Pickett's charge, and at Jerusalem Road was shot in the face, the ball passing through the mouth, knocking out several teeth on the right side, shattering the jaw and passing out at the ear. He lay upon the field of battle over night, and when carried to the hospital the next day, the surgeons had no hope of saving his life. Good habits and a good constitution, however, were in his favor, and he recovered. He was discharged as a corporal April 25, 1865, his retirement at that time being on account of wounds received in battle. Mr. Smith has always been a Republican, except that he supported William J. Bryan for President in 1896, and served in the lower house of the Minnesota legislature in 1889, and represented the Thirty-fourth district in the upper house in the sessions of 1891 and 1893. At the session of 1891, Mr. Smith was the only Republican member of the delegation from Hennepin County, and more than usual responsibility developed upon him on account of the desperate efforts made to secure legislation seriously impairing the efficiency of the patrol limits and affecting other interests of vital importance to the city, but upon this occasion he manifested his ability to meet the emergency, for so ably and skillfully did he manage affairs in the senate that no changes were made with regard to the patrol limits, but, on the other hand, much needed legislation was promoted by him. During the last session of his membership he was chairman of the judiciary committee of the senate. Mr. Smith has also been highly honored by the members of the G. A. R., being elected commander of the Department of Minnesota in 1893. He was the first master of Ark Lodge, A. F. & A. M., and is a member of Ark Chapter, Darius Commandery, of the Knights Templar, and of Zurah Temple. He is one of the most useful and active members of the Calvary Baptist church. He was married in 1872 to Mary Hardy Chadbourne, of Lexington, Massachusetts, who died in 1874. In 1879 he married Laura Bean, of Delaware, Ohio. He has four children.


Seagrave Smith
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Seagrave Smith is senior judge of the district court of the Fourth Judicial District, composed of Hennepin, Wright, Anoka and Isanti Counties. Mr. Smith is of Welsh and English Ancestry. His father was a farmer and dealer in livestock in Stafford, Tolland County, Connecticut, and was of Welsh descent. His ancestors were among the early settlers at Scituate, Massachusetts, and those of his mother were English, and settled at Uxbridge, Massachusetts. Mary A. Smith's maiden name was Seagrave, from whom Judge Smith takes his name. Seagrave Smith was born September 16, 1828, at Stafford, Connecticut. When a boy he worked upon his father's farm and attended the school of the village until he was fifteen years of age. He was then placed under the tutelage of Rev. George W. Pendleton, a Baptist clergyman, of whose church his father and mother were members. After three years' study with a tutor, he entered the Connecticut Literary Institution, at Suffield, Connecticut, where he was graduated in 1848. Seagrave had made up his mind to be a lawyer, but his father was strongly opposed to that conclusion, and offered to transfer him one-half of his property and an equal partnership in the business, and threatened that if his offer was not accepted, he would furnish him no further financial assistance. This did not deter the young man from his purpose. He went to teaching school and reading law, entering the office of Alvin T. Hyde, September 9, 1849, at Stafford, his native town. Mr. Smith continued his studies until he was admitted to the bar, August 13, 1852. In the spring of 1851 he was appointed clerk of the Probate Court. Soon after his admission to the bar, he made up his mind to go west, but he was the only child of his parents and his mother objected to his going so far away, and prevailed upon his father to give him a thousand dollars with which to buy a law library, if he would remain in the cast. Seagrave took the thousand dollars, bought his library, and settled in Colchester, Connecticut, in October, 1852, and began the practice of his profession. In the fall of 1854 he was elected town clerk, in 1855 he was elected as a Democrat to the state senate, and still later was appointed clerk of the Probate Court of the Colchester district, which office he held until his removal to the west in 1856. In July, 1856, Mr. Smith made a trip to the west, in accordance with his long entertained purpose; visited Kansas, but was not pleased with the prospect, and came to St. Paul. The outlook there was more promising and he decided to make that his future home. Settling up his business in Colchester, he returned to Minnesota in the spring of 1857, and located at Hastings, bringing his family, consisting of his wife and two children. He formed a partnership with J. W. De Silva, and began the practice of law. He continued in that business at Hastings until 1877, when he removed to Minneapolis. During his residence in Hastings, he was the attorney for the Hastings & Dakota Railroad, the St. Paul & Chicago Railway, the Minnesota Railway Construction Company, and the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul Railroad. Mr. Smith is Democrat, and took an active part in politics in Dakota County, holding many important positions, among which was that of County Attorney, to which he was elected in 1857; County Commissioner, to which he was elected in 1860, Judge of Probate, to which he was elected in 1861, and re-elected in 1863 and 1856, holding the office six years. In 1867 he was elected to the State Senate, and in 1873 was again chosen for County Attorney. In 1875 he ran as an independent candidate for the State Senate against Ignatius Donnelly, and was defeated by a small majority. He took an especial interest in the public schools, and was influential in establishing the graded schools of Hastings. But Hastings was too small a field, and in 1877 Mr. Smith moved to Minneapolis. He formed a partnership with W. E. Hale, which continued until the spring of 1880. For three years he conducted his business without a partner, but in 1883 he went into partnership with S. A. Reed, which continued until March, 1889, when he was appointed Judge of the District Court of the Fourth Judicial District, which position he now holds. In 1890 he was elected without opposition, being supported by all parties, and was elected again in 1896 on the Democratic ticket. In 1887 he was elected City Attorney by the City Council, and held the office for two terms. Judge Smith has been honored by his political friends with numerous nominations to important positions, among which were Judge of the District Court in the First Judicial District, in 1864, and again in 1874, and Attorney General of the State of Minnesota in 1869. In 1884 Judge Smith was the Democratic nominee for District Judge for the Fourth Judicial District, but was defeated by Hon. A. H. Young. In 1888 he was nominated by the Democrats as their candidate for Chief Justice of the Supreme Court, but was defeated by Hon. James Gilfillan. He was nominated by the Democrats for the same office in 1894, but was defeated by the present incumbent, Hon. C. M. Start. In each instance he ran ahead of his party ticket, which was in the minority. Judge Smith as a lawyer and judge possesses superior ability and strict integrity, and has discharged the duties of the responsible position he now occupies in such a manner as to command the confidence and respect of the profession, and the public generally. Judge Smith is very domestic in his habits. He enjoys the comforts of home and the society of his family, and can always be found at home when not engaged in business elsewhere. He has been married three times; first to Miss S. Almira Cady, the eldest daughter of Captain John P. Cady, of Monson, Massachusetts. The issue of this marriage was four children, two sons and two daughters; two of these are still living, Cay and Claribel. He married for his second wife, Mrs. Fidelia P. Hatch widow of Professor Homer Hatch, of Hastings, Minnesota. By this marriage he had one son, Theron S., who is now living. For his third wife he married Mrs. Harriet P. Norton, of Otis, Massachusetts, widow of Albert T. Norton, who had live and died in Hastings, Minnesota. She is still living, but has no living children.


Vernon Morton Smith
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Vernon Morton Smith, chief of police of the city of Minneapolis, is a civil engineer by profession and has followed that business both in civil and military life. He is the son of Samuel R. Smith, and was born in Stowe, Vermont, September 15, 1841. For four generations the family have lived in this country, but the descent is mixed English, Irish and Scotch. Mr. Smith had only the school advantages of the public schools in his youth, but he made a special study of civil engineer and fitted himself for that profession. He had practiced his profession, however, for only a brief time when the war broke out and he enlisted a private soldier. During nine months of his service he was connected with the engineer corps, the whole period of his military service occupying two years. On his leaving the army he returned to his home in Vermont, and resumed the practice of his profession as engineer. His fellow townsmen recognizing his worth selected him as their representative in the Vermont legislature and he served them two years in that capacity, 1867 and 1868. Mr. Smith was on the look-out, however, for better opportunities than offered themselves in Vermont in his line of business, and in 1873 came to Minnesota and located in Minneapolis. He lived here two years and during that time became interested in the milling business in the old Dakota Mills, under the name of Beedy, Huy & Co. He then removed to Lyon County in this state, and while a resident of that county he was twice elected County Commissioner. In 1884 he returned to Minneapolis, and has been a resident of this city ever since. Since locating in Minneapolis he was for two years, in connection with his son and son-in-law, T. H. Croswell, surveyor for the government in the Red Lake agency, where he laid out about fifty townships in the years 1890 and 1891. He served two year in the Minneapolis city council from the Second ward, having been elected in 1888. When W. H. Eustis was chosen mayor of Minneapolis in 1892, he appointed Mr. Smith Chief of Police. The appointment proved to be a very fortunate one and Mr. Smith discharged the duties of the office with such ability that when Robert Pratt succeeded Mr. Eustis as Mayor in 1894 he retained Mr. Smith at the head of the police department. Under his administration changes were made in the management of that department looking to a better discipline and a greater general efficiency in the force. Mr. Smith is a member of the Commercial Club of Minneapolis, the Engineers' Club, the Knights of Pythias and the A. O. U. W. He has a pleasant home on the East Side. His wife was Isidore C. Lathrop, whom he married at Stowe, Vermont, November 10, 1863. They have three children--one daughter, Mrs. Mary I. Crosswell, of Merriam Park; D. S. Smith, superintendent of the Street Railway of St. Paul, and LeRoy V. Smith, superintendent of a large farm in North Dakota.


Frank W. Sneed
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Frank W. Sneed is the pastor of the First Presbyterian church in Minneapolis, one of the leading churches of that denomination in the state. He is thirty-four years of age and has been in the ministry for nine years, and was honored by his alma mater in 1896 with the degree of doctor of divinity, being the youngest alumnus upon whom his college has conferred this degree. After a residence of two years in this city he finds himself one of its most popular and influential ministers, with a rapidly widening circle of friends and influence. On his father's side Mr. Sneed is descended from English stock, and on his mother's side his ancestors were Scotch-Irish. His paternal ancestors were attached to the established church. His great-great-grandfather on his father's side came to America in an early day and settled in Albemarle County, Virginia. He was Thomas Jefferson's first school teacher, and his son became Jefferson's private secretary. At the commencement of the revolutionary war this son enlisted in the continental army, serving for the most part under General Green. He was present at the battle of Monmouth, and could speak with the authority of an eye witness of the historic interview between Washington and Lee on that memorable day. He had two sons, John and Alexander, of whom the latter, with his father, settled near Danville, Kentucky, where the father died at the ripe age of one hundred and one years. Alexander Sneed was a farmer and left three sons and two daughters, all of whom are now dead, save John M. Sneed, father of the subject of this sketch, and Sallie Campbell Sneed, who is better known as Mrs. Vest, wife of United States Senator Vest from Missouri. John M. Sneed is a prosperous farmer in Pettis County, Missouri. He was the captain of a company of state troops during the civil war, and the owner of a large number of slaves. After the war had ended he gave homes to those of his former slaves who had not deserted him at the time of emancipation. Frank W. Sneed was born on this Pettis County farm, near the city of Sedalia, in 1862. Through his Grandmother Sneed, Mr. Sneed is descended from Colonel Robert Campbell, who commanded a regiment at Kings Mountain under his uncle, William Campbell, whose wife was a sister of Patrick Henry. It was before Robert Campbell's lines that General Ferguson fell mortally wounded. Until he was fifteen years of age Mr. Sneed attended the country public school; after this a private academy in Sedalia, where he remained until he was nineteen. In 1881 he entered Westminster College at Fulton, Missouri, from which he was graduated in June, 1885, going in the fall of the same year to McCormick Theological Seminary, at Chicago. To the deep religious influence of Westminster College Mr. Sneed attributes in large part his conversion, and choice of a profession. His first pastorate was at Riverside, Illinois, from May, 1888, to February, 1892. He then went to Columbia, Missouri, where he remained until January, 1895, when he came to Minneapolis. He had been invited to accept this last charge in November preceding, and at the time the invitation was extended he had never been in Minneapolis, nor had he ever been seen by any member of the First church. Mr. Sneed is a vigorous writer and a graceful and polished speaker. At college he won the William H. Marquess prize for oratory, and subsequent years have amply fulfilled the promise of that college triumph. On May 18, 1895, Mr. Sneed was married to Eulalie Hokaday, daughter of I. O. Hockaday, of Columbia, Missouri, and grand daughter of Major James S. Rollins, who, from 1861 to 1865, was a member of congress from Missouri.


Fred Beal Snyder
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Fred Beal Snyder, is president of the City Council of Minneapolis; was born in the first house built in what originally constituted the city of Minneapolis. This was the home of Colonel J. H. Stevens. The house stood where the union depot now stands. The date of Mr. Snyder's birth was February 21, 1859. His father, Simon P. Snyder, came to Minneapolis from Pennsylvania in 1855, and soon became actively identified with the interests of this community, operating extensively in real estate and as a banker. He brought a great deal of capital to this locality, and contributed in a large degree to the development of its resources. Mr. Snyder's ancestry on his father's side was Dutch, and settled in Pennsylvania. The name was formerly spelled Schneider. On his mother's side his descent is from the Ramseys and Stevensons, both Scotch families. His early education was received in the public schools of Minneapolis, but before graduation from the high schools he entered the University of Minnesota, from which institution he graduated in 1881. His first business experience was as a clerk in a book store at $4.50 a week. During this time he began the study of law, and went into the office of Lochren, McNair & Gilfillan; afterwards he was with Koon, Merrill & Keith. He was admitted to the bar in 1882 and began the practice of law with Robert Jamison, now on the district bench. The style of the firm was Snyder & Jamison from 1882 to 1888. At that time Mr. Snyder joined with others in organizing the Minnesota Saving Fund and Investment Company, of which he has been president since its organization. Mr. Snyder is rather independent in his political views, but Republican in his political affiliations. He was elected alderman of the Second ward in 1892 by the Republicans for a term of four years. In 1895 he was elected president of the City Council. Perhaps his most notable service as a member of that body was his leadership in the Council of the controversy between the city and the Minneapolis Gas Light Company, as a result of which the price of gas for, all consumers was reduced from $1.60 to $1.30 net. He also drew up and secured the passage of the ordinance creating and regulating the department of inspector of gas. In 1896 Mr. Snyder was elected to the state legislature from the Thirtieth District. Mr. Snyder is a member of the Commercial Club, of the Six O'clock Club, of the Chi Psi college fraternity, and in recognition of his scholarship and ability he was elected to membership in the Phi Beta Kappa Society of the University of Minnesota. His church relations were formerly with the Episcopal Church, but more recently he has become an attendant of the First Congregational Church. On September 23, 1885, he married Sue M. Pillsbury, daughter of ex-Governor John S. Pillsbury. He has one son, John Pillsbury Snyder, born January 8, 1888. His wife died September 3, 1891. Mr. Snyder was again married February 18, 1896, to Leonora S. Dickson, of Pittsburg. Pennsylvania.


Harry Snyder
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Harry Snyder - Professor at the University of Minnesota, was born in the town of Cherry Valley, Otsego County, New York, on January 26, 1867. He was the son of David W. Snyder and Mary Ann Harter. The father was a carpenter and farmer, and a man of unusual mechanical skill and natural ability. In later years he was superintendent of construction of bridges and woodwork of the Herkimer, Newport & Poland Railroad. Both Mr. and Mrs. Snyder were descendants from the early Dutch settlers of the Mohawk Valley. Their ancestors participated in the Revolutionary War, as well as the War of 1812. The subject of this sketch attended the country school and later the graded school at Herkimer until he was thirteen years old. After spending two summers in a grocery store and a year in a printing office entered Clinton Liberal Institution at Fort Plain, New York, where he prepared for college, and in the fall of 1885 entered Cornell University. He turned naturally to the scientific course, paying particular attention to chemistry. At the end of the first two years in college he was appointed private assistant to Dr. Caldwell, the head of the chemical department of the university. This position had always been held by a graduate student. While serving in this capacity, Mr. Snyder was engaged mainly with the analysis of foods, drugs and farm products. He became thoroughly familiar with the laboratory methods of instruction and investigation, particularly along the lines of agricultural chemistry, which was a subject nut then generally taught in the American colleges. When he graduated in 1889 he received honors for chemistry, and his graduation thesis received honorable mention at the commencement, and in the annual report of the university.

Immediately after his graduation he was appointed to the position of instructor at Cornell. In 1890 he was appointed assistant chemist of the Cornell University Experiment Station. In this position the work was mainly along the line of milk investigation, and animal nutrition. About the first work which he did in this department brought him into prominence. In the fall of 1891 Professor Snyder came to Minnesota as chemist of the Minnesota Experiment Station, and in 1892 was also appointed Professor of Agricultural Chemistry in the University of Minnesota. Since assuming this position ten bulletins have been published by Professor .Snyder, aggregating three hundred and seventy-five pages, and dealing with soils, farm products, dairy products, and human foods. His work in soil analysis has been carried farther than any other experiment station, and some of his methods have been adopted as official. In addition to the bulletins, he has published short reports in the Journal of the American Chemical Society, and in agricultural papers of the state. Some of his articles have been translated and published in the leading French and German journals. He has also published a work upon the chemistry of dairying. In his class room work he has been successful in making practical applications of the science of chemistry to the science and art of agriculture. His laboratory work has been recognized by the Department of Agriculture in the designation by the United States Department of Agriculture of his laboratory as one of the places where food investigations are to be carried on in co-operation with the government. In 1896 Professor Snyder was married to Miss Adelaide Churchill Craig, daughter of Rev. Dr. Austin Craig, formerly president of Antioch College, Ohio. Professor Snyder is a member of the Phi Delta Theta Fraternity, the I. O. O. F., R. A., the American Association for the Advancement of Science and of the American Chemical Society.


Paul Sorkness
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Brenda Shaffer

PAUL SORKNESS, M.D., one of the ablest representatives of the medical profession in Fargo, North Dakota, was born in Dunn county, Wisconsin, October 17, 1867. His parents, Ebert and Sarah (Quistad) Sorkness, are natives of Norway and on their emigration to America, in 1860, settled in Dunn county, Wisconsin, where they still continue to reside, the father being engaged in agricultural pursuits. On the breaking out of the Civil war he enlisted in the Twelfth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry and was in the service of his adopted country for about two years, taking part in many of the important battles, including that of Gettysburg. He was also with Sherman on his celebrated march to the sea.

Dr. Sorkness is one of a family of four sons and the only one of the number residing in North Dakota. In the county of his nativity he grew to manhood and was given good educational advantages. He attended the high school of Eau Claire, Wisconsin, and later the Galesville University, of Galesville, Wisconsin, from which he was graduated in 1887. For five years he followed school teaching in Minnesota and then took up the study of medicine, entering the medical department of the University of Minnesota in 1892 and graduating from there in 1895. Subsequently he took a hospital course at St. Barnabus Hospital, Minneapolis, where he spent one year. In 1896 he opened an office at Moorhead, Minnesota, where he engaged in practice for one year and then came to Fargo, North Dakota. Although comparatively a recent arrival his skill and ability in his chosen calling have already become widely recognized and he enjoys a large and constantly increasing practice. He was assistant county physician for one year and is a member of the North Dakota Medical Society and the American Medical Association.

In 1897 Dr. Sorkness was united in marriage with Miss Josephine Berg, a native of Minnesota and they have one child, Sidney O.


Walter Talbot Spalding
Source: Men of Hawaii Volume 1, By: Edited By John William Siddall; Published: 1917; Submitted by Helen Coughlin

SPALDING, WALTER TALBOT, civil engineer and contractor, Honolulu; born December 6, 1887, in Minneapolis, Minn.; son of Abel Walter and Anna Mary (Talbot) Spalding; descendant of Edward Spalding, who settled in Jamestown, Va., in 1620, from Spalding, Lincolnshire, England; educated Minneapolis and Seattle schools, University of Washington, Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Began architectural work in New York City and later became permanently associated with father in Spalding Construction Co., Portland, Ore., In 1911; came to Honolulu in April, 1912, with contract for U. S. Marine Barracks and quarters at Pearl Harbor Naval Station; is in charge Hawaiian branch of Spalding Construction Co., offices of which are now located in Honolulu and San Francisco. Associate member American Society Civil Engineers, Architectural Society M. I. T., Technology Club of New York, University Club (Honolulu), Commercial, Outrigger Canoe and Oahu Country Clubs of Honolulu.


Edwin Page Stacy
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Edwin Page Stacy is the head of the firm of E. P. Stacy & Sons, fruit commission merchants in Minneapolis. He is the son of Isaac and Orpah Page (Stacy), and was born at De Kalb, St. Lawrence County, New York, May 31, 1831. His father was a farmer in good circumstances, but, on account of prolonged illness, he lost a large share of his property, making it necessary for his sons to engage early in the active business of life. Edwin Page, the youngest son of the family, grew up on the farm, attending the public schools, and Gouveneur Academy until he reached the age of eighteen years. In the spring of 1850 he removed to Utica, New York, where he obtained employment in the dry goods house of Stacy, Goldein & Co. A year later he went to Lafayette, Indiana, to assist in the management of a branch store opened there by his former employers. In 1854 he went to Dover, Illinois, and formed a partnership with his oldest brother in general merchandise, lumber, grain, etc. In 1861 he made another move westward and located at Staceyville, Mitchell County, Iowa, Here he remained four years, and in 1865 engaged in the mercantile business in Mitchell, Iowa. He was doing business here January 1, 1879, when his eldest son, Arthur Page Stacy, came of age and was taken into partnership, the firm being E. P. Stacy & Son. Mr. Stacy was held in high esteem in Mitchell, served four terms as mayor, was superintendent of the Congregational Sunday School for six years, and exerted a large and wholesome influence in that community. In the fall of 1883 Mr. Stacy decided to establish a branch of his business in Minneapolis, and, leaving his son in charge of the business at Mitchell, began business in a small way at 326 Second Avenue South, Minneapolis, assisted by his second son, Harlan B. Stacy. This venture was so successful that in the summer of 1885 it was decided to close out the business at Mitchell and concentrate the energies and resources of the firm in Minneapolis. Larger quarters were obtained and lines of custom were extended. The business has continued to grow ever since it was established, until now the trade enjoyed by this firm extends all over the Northwest. Mr. Stacy is a member of Plymouth Congregational Church, and an active participant in the church work. Among commercial organizations he belongs to the Jobbers and Manufacturers Association and the Produce Exchange, and is president of the Minneapolis
branch of the National League of Commission Merchants. In politics he is a Republican, and faithful to his political duties, although since coming to Minneapolis he has been less actively identified with politics than formerly. Mr. Stacy was married at Gouveneur, New York, December 10, 1856, to Elizabeth E. Leonard, who died January 8, 1874, mourned by her husband and three sons, Arthur Page, Harlan B. and Clinton L. Six years later, October 21, 1880, Mr. Stacy was married to Mrs. Amelia (Wood) Kent, at her home, in Naperville, Illinois, who had one son, Willoughby B. Kent. Mrs. Stacy is a native of Vermont, and a descendant of Governor Bradford.


Frank Loring Stetson
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Of the men who risk their lives in the public service there are none of whom more courage is required than they who form the fire departments of our large cities, and who hazard their lives in the protection of life and property from fire. Mr. Stetson has been connected with the fire department of Minneapolis for many years and is at present its chief. His father, Amasa Stetson, was a contractor and ship-builder in Maine. He was killed in Boston by falling from a scaffold. His wife's maiden name was Sarah S. Thorndike, at present residing in Seattle, Washington, at the age of eighty-seven years, and as active and in as good command of her intellect as most women of sixty years. Frank Loring was the youngest of eight children. He was born December 19, 1853, in Knox County, Maine.

He removed with his parents to Boston in 1865, and there attended the public schools, following this with an academic course at Dean Academy, Franklin, Massachusetts. As a boy, Mr. Stetson earned his first money aboard a ship. He came to Minnesota in the spring of 1869, settling in St. Anthony, and shortly after joined Cataract Engine Company No. 1, and when only sixteen years of age received his initial lesson in firefighting. In 1873 he was elected foreman of this company. At the same time he obtained employment in the lumber mills as filer and sawyer, and in 1878 took charge as foreman of Leavitt
& Chase's mill. Later he resigned to take a like position in the Merriam-Barrows Company's employ. On July 1, 1879, the old volunteer fire department was disbanded and Mr. Stetson was appointed foreman of the Cataract Company, under the partial paid system. In 1880 he became second assistant engineer of the fire department, and in December 1881, assumed the duties of first assistant chief engineer. On March 1, 1882, Mr. Stetson was appointed chief engineer, which position he held until 1891. He was then appointed state game warden, which position, however, he resigned to accept a more lucrative one as superintendent of the Compo Board Company's plant. This position he held until May 1894, when he was appointed deputy internal revenue collector. Mr. Stetson continued in this position until January 10, 1895, when he was re-appointed as chief of the fire department of Minneapolis. Mr. Stetson has proved himself to be a faithful and efficient officer and brave and courageous in the performance of his duties. On November 4, 1884, he organized the full paid fire department of the city of Minneapolis, and formulated the rules and regulations governing the same. He was also instrumental in securing the legislation making it possible to maintain firemen's relief associations, which have been of incalculable benefit to the firemen. While acting as game warden Mr. Stetson was active in promoting the adoption of the new game laws of Minnesota. He is a member of the various Masonic bodies, including the Mystic Shrine, is Eminent Commander of Darius Commandery, No. 7; member of the National Association of Fire Engineers, the Minnesota State Fire Association, the Elks, Odd Fellows and Knights of Honor. He is also a member of the Hennepin Avenue Methodist church. April 28, 1877, he was married to Ida L. Winslow. Mr. and Mrs. Stetson have had five children, four of whom are living: Horatio J., Viva L., Zuhrah Temple and Kingsley F.


John Harrington Stevens
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The first settler on the west bank of the Mississippi, on the site of the city of Minneapolis, was Colonel John H. Stevens. Since he came to Minnesota and took up his farm overlooking the Falls of St. Anthony, in 1849, he has been one of the most conspicuous and interesting figures in Minneapolis affairs. Few men have the privilege of seeing great cities built up on the sites of their modest frontier homesteads. Colonel Stevens has not only seen this, but he has been an active participant in the upbuilding process. Colonel Stevens is a native of Canada, though his parents and ancestors for generations were New England people. He traces his line back to Captain Stevens, who served with honor in King Philip's war during the early colonial times. Gardner Stevens, colonel Stevens' father, was a native and a citizen of Vermont. He married Deborah Harrington, also of Vermont, who was the only daughter of Dr. John Harrington, who was a surgeon in the colonial army during the revolution. John was their second son. He was born on June 13, 1820. The boy was educated at the common schools in the East, and in the public schools in Wisconsin and Illinois, in which latter state he cast his first vote in 1842. During his early manhood the Mexican war broke out, and Colonel Stevens enlisted and served through the war. For a year or so after the close of the war he remained in Wisconsin and Illinois, and in 1849 came to Minnesota. Upon arriving at the Falls of St. Anthony, Colonel Stevens formed a business partnership with Franklin Steele, who had a store at the little hamlet on the east bank of the river. But the young man saw clearly the advantages of a site on the west bank. This ground was then a military reservation, and repeated attempts to secure permission to settle upon it had been unsuccessful. Colonel Stevens, however, finally secured official leave, and at once took up a farm on the site now covered by the heavy business portion of Minneapolis, and the great flour milling district. The following year he brought a young wife from Illinois to his new farm and established the first home in Minneapolis proper, or the original Minneapolis. For a time Colonel Stevens worked this river-side farm, but it soon became evident that the ground was needed for a town. He was a practical surveyor, and with generous public spirit he platted the land to which he had already become attached, laid out city lots and blocks, and subsequently gave away many of them to people who would occupy them. From that time on Colonel Stevens was for many years foremost in furthering the interests of the city and state. He took a lively interest in the promotion of immigration and the exploration and settling of the country west of Minneapolis, in those days an almost unbroken wilderness. Many incidents in his long life in the state are of absorbing interest. For several years after he built his house on the river bank it was the center of the life of the young community. A liberal hospitality was dispensed. Immigrants, neighbors, hunters and explorers, and often the Indians themselves, were entertained at the old house. In it churches, societies, lodges and boards were organized. The old building, after being moved from place to place as the city developed, has at last found a resting place, appropriately, near the Falls of Minnehaha, in the beautiful park now belonging to the city, whither it was moved by the school children of Minneapolis in the spring of 1896. Colonel Steven's love for agriculture and everything pertaining to the farm was of enormous benefit to the young farming community of Minnesota. His influence was felt in the establishment of the agricultural and horticultural associations, and in the promotion of good methods of farming and stock-raising. He was the first man to bring thoroughbred stock into the state. After his farm at the Falls was made a city site, he carried on farming at other place, at one time having a large establishment at Glencoe, Minnesota. His lifelong devotion to agriculture was honored by his election to the office of the president of the Minnesota State Agricultural Society. Though never seeking office, Colonel Stevens was in the earlier times called to serve the public in several official capacities. He was the first register of deeds of Hennepin County and served for several terms in both branches of the state legislature. During the Indian uprising, as brigadier general of the militia, he commanded troops and volunteers sent to the front. With all his cares and duties he has during his busy life found time to do a great deal of writing and as owned a number of papers. Among those which he has conducted or edited were the St. Anthony Express, The Chronicle, Glencoe Register, Farmer and Gardener, Farmers' Tribune, and Farm, Stock and Home. In 1890 he published a book of personal recollections, entitled "Personal Recollections of Minnesota and Its People, Early History of Minneapolis." He also contributed several chapters to the publication known as "Atwater's History of Minneapolis." Colonel Stevens was married on Mary 1, 1850, to Miss Frances Hellen Miller, a daughter of Abner Miller, of Westmoreland, New York. They were married at Rockford, Illinois. They have six children. Mary Elizabeth, the first white child born in Minneapolis, died in her seventeenth year. Cathrine D., the second child, is the wife of P. B. Winston. The third daughter, Sarah, is not living. Gardner, the fourth child, and only son, is a civil engineer. Orma, the fifth, is now Mrs. Wm. L. Peck. The sixth, Miss Frances Hellen, is married to Isaac H. Chase, of Rapid City, South Dakota. It is characteristic of Colonel Stevens that, though comfortably off at the present time, he has never made his wonderful opportunities for personal profit a means of amassing wealth. The public spirit and broad generosity of the man have made such a course practically impossible for him.


Loran Charles Stevenson
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

The subject of this sketch is a lawyer practicing his profession in Minneapolis. He was born in Oakland County, Michigan, August 20, 1861, the son of John W. Stevenson and Frances A. Bird (Stevenson). John Stevenson was a farmer and followed that occupation until recently, when he moved into a small village near Detroit. He is of Scotch descent, his grandparents having both been born in Scotland. Mr. Stevenson's descent on his mother's side is from the Wentworth family, quite numerous in New York. The grandparents of Loran, both on his mothers' and father's side, settled in Michigan in the early days. Loran began his education in a country school about a mile and a half from his father's home, to which he was obliged to walk every day. Later he attended the Michigan state normal school for about three years, and after that spent one year at the state university at Ann Arbor, but did not complete the course of study or graduate from any institution of that kind. In 1883 he located in Minnesota. He was then engaged as a commercial traveler and made his headquarters in Mankato. He followed this business for about three years, and while a resident of Mankato, was married, November 8, 1887, to Miss Jenne Lettus. The following day he came to Minneapolis to live, and soon afterwards commenced the study of law with C. J. Bartleson. July 12, 1889, he was admitted to the bar and has been engaged in the practice of law ever since. His business has gradually increased and is now satisfactory in its results. Mr. Stevenson is a Republican and a member of the Union League. He is also a member of the Commercial Club and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Improved Order of Red Men. Mr. Stevenson was not favored by fortune in his early life, and enjoyed only such advantages as come to the son of a farmer in moderate circumstances, compelled to rely mainly upon himself for whatever advancement he could obtain. After completing his studies at the normal school and at the University of Michigan he spent some time in the occupation of teacher, but his business and professional experience has been mainly in the profession of law. He has no children.


Ransom L. Stillman
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Ransom L. Stillman was born at Chester, Geauga County, Ohio, August 18, 1851. His father, Riley F. Stillman, was a farmer, and was also engaged in the stock business in Ohio and Illinois. He was a direct descendant of George Stillman who came from England to Hadley, Massachusetts, in 1683, and afterwards settled in Wethersfield, Connecticut. His mother, Esther Clark Cutler was the daughter of Girard Cutler and a cousin of Carroll Cutler, for many years president of "Western Reserve," now "Adelbert College." She also came from New England stock, being a direct descendant of James Cutler,
who came to Watertown, Massachusetts, about 1634 and afterwards settled in Lexington. In 1854, when Ransom was three years old, his father removed from Ohio, and with his family settled in Minneapolis, engaging in gardening and in the freighting business. Ransom attended school in the public schools of Minneapolis for a time, and later attended Geauga Seminary, at Chester, Ohio, for two years. Leaving there he entered Hillsdale College, Michigan. While there he supported himself by working on a farm and elsewhere during vacations, and by teaching a part of the time. He graduated from there in the classical course in 1876, receiving the degree of Bachelor of Arts, and a few years later the degree of Master of Arts. He was very successful as a teacher, and on his graduation several good positions were open to him in that line, but before he entered college he determined on the profession of law and never let himself lose sight of that purpose. On account of health impaired by overwork while in college he spent most of his time for a year and a half after his graduation in traveling. Late in 1877 he commenced the study of law in the offices of Senator Burrows, and Judge Bosworth, at Painesville, Ohio, where he remained a little over two years. He was admitted to the bar by the Supreme Court at Columbus, Ohio, May 5, 1880. On October 13, 1880, he was married to Ida J. Murray, of Concord, Ohio, and immediately removed to Minneapolis, where he has since resided. In his practice of law he has been very successful, having practiced in the United States District and Circuit Courts and in the state courts of Ohio, Minnesota, North Dakota, South Dakota and Colorado. Among some of the important cases that he has handled might be mentioned the "May Patent Cases," the injunction cases between the Western Union and North American Telegraph Companies, and some of the leading real estate cases in the Minnesota Reports. He has also had and still has an important part in the litigation growing out of the bank failures of 1893, being engaged in one of the cases brought by the state against the banks and their bondsmen, in four of those brought by the county against the banks and their bondsmen, and a number of those brought by the creditors against the stockholders. He has also taken an active interest in the growth and development of Minneapolis. He erected a number of good buildings, the finest is the Stillman, now Rochester block, on Fourth Street. His wife, Ida Murray Stillman, died in 1891, leaving two surviving children, Alice E., aged nine years, and Murray L., aged seven years, both of whom are in the Minneapolis public schools. On April 27, 1896, he was married to Addie I. Koehl, relict of the late Dr. Jeremiah Koehl. In politics Mr. Stillman has always been a staunch Republican, and taken a lively interest in all that interests his party.


Emil Straka
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Emil Straka, of St. Paul, is a violinist who has won a high place in the hearts of music lovers in both St. Paul and Minneapolis. Mr. Straka has had a rather remarkable career. His father, John Straka, when twenty-two years old went to Constantinople, where he was engaged in an orchestra playing in the sultan's place, and also playing for the amusement of Turkish and foreign notables. While traveling in the East he met Francisca Guenzl, at Cairo, Egypt, where she was engaged with a ladies' orchestra, called the first Vienna Ladies' Orchestra. They were married, and as a result of that union, Emil was born June 10, 1866, in Suez. His parents, fearing that the climate of that country would be unfavorable to him, took him a few months after his birth to his father's birthplace, Neuhaus, in Bohemia, to his grand parents where they left him while they continued their professional work, and for nineteen years thereafter he did not see his parents. When six years old he began to take violin lessons from an uncle, Franz Neuwirth, and piano lessons from a cousin Charles. During this time he attended the public primary and high schools, and upon his arrival at the age of thirteen he went to Prague, the capital of Bohemia, where he passed the examination and was accepted as a pupil of the organ school. This was in 1879. He began his studies here under Blazek. The second and third year he was under the instruction of Prucha and Skuhersky, studying counter-point and fugue. He continued his studied there with organ, score playing, etc., and in 1882 received a diploma of high honors for excellence as an organist and church choir director. Subsequently he took an examinations on the violin and was entered as a pupil at the Conservatory of Music in Prague among the advanced pupils. He stayed at the conservatory until 1885, from which he received a diploma with a recommendation as an accomplished solo and orchestra violin player. The same year, 1885, after appearing in several concerts at his old home, Neuhaus, Bohemia, he came to America, arriving in Chicago in November. He then gave several concerts in that city among his countrymen and also before the American public with great success. Emil took part in his father's orchestra as a solo violinist, giving concerts in several of the leading cities, until finally he came to Minneapolis, where he was attached to Danz's orchestra, and also played in connection with Seibert's orchestra in St. Paul. Emil Straka's introduction to the music-loving public of Minneapolis and St. Paul has made for him many admirers and friends who enjoy and appreciate his rare talent as an artist. At the present time he is teaching the violin and piano, harmony and counterpoint, and has devoted some of his time to composing music, particularly for the violin.


Carl August Swenson
[Source: A History of The Swedish-Americans of Minnesota, A. E. Strand, Vol. 3, page 787-788 submitted by Robin Line]
Carl August Swenson, D. D. S., 2628 East Twenty-fifth street, Minneapolis, is of Swedish birth, but has been a resident of this country since he was a year and a half old. Dr. Swenson was born in Langasjo, Smaland, December 26, 1869, son of Carl Johan Swenson and his wife, Johanna, daughter of Israel Peterson. The grandfather on the paternal side was Sven Jonasson, and the grandmother on the same side was Gustafva Nojd. Dr. Swenson's maternal grandmother was Ingrid Jonasdotter, she being a representative of a family that figured among the first Swedish separatists, the founders of a sect called Akianer, and its teachings Akianism. In those days the State church of Sweden, which is Lutheran, was very intolerant and persecuted people of different faith living within the boundaries of that country. Dr. Swenson's parents came with their family to America in 1871, settling first at Scandia, Minnesota, where they remained one year, and from whence the father went to Apple River, Wisconsin, and took a homestead. Both he and his good wife are still living, now being residents of Polk county, Wisconsin. Seven of their eight children are living, namely: Ida, widow of John Swenson; John Adolph, a farmer of Amery, Wisconsin; Hilda Gustafva, wife of Gustof Johnson, a farmer of Wood Lake, Wisconsin; Elias Edward, who died at the age of fourteen years; Carl August, whose name introduces this sketch; Stany Seraphia, wife of Andrew M. Johnson, a farmer at Hines, Douglas county, Wisconsin; Peter Hjalmar, a farmer at Amery, Wisconsin; and Emilia Sophia, wife of Carl P. Johnson, who lives on the old homestead, a distance of eight miles from Amery.

As already mentioned, Carl A. Swenson landed in this country at the age of one and one-half years. He attended the district school near his father's home, and from his sixteenth year has worked his own way in the world. At an early age he had acquired sufficient education to receive an appointment as school teacher, and he taught school in winter and worked his own way in the world. At an early age he had acquired sufficient education to receive an appointment as school teacher, and he taught school in winter and worked on a farm in summer until he attained his twenty-second year. In the fall of 1891 he entered Gustavus Adolphus college at St. Peter, where he pursued the classical course, and graduated in 1897 with the degree of A. B. The next four years he taught school in Minnesota. In the fall of 1901 he matriculated in the Dental Department of the State University of Minnesota, from which he graduated in the spring of 1904. That same year he opened a dental office at 2628 East Twenty-fifth street, his present location, where he has established a successful practice. In 1907 he paid a visit to the land of his nativity, on this trip also visiting England, Denmark,Germany, Belgium and France.

Fraternally, Dr. Swenson is identified with the Scandinavian Dental Society and the State Dental Society, and in his religious belief he harmonizes with the church from which his ancestors separated. He is a member of the Swedish Lutheran Ebeneezer church.


Lucian Swift
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Lucian Swift, manager of The Minneapolis Journal, is a native of Akron, Ohio, where he was born July 14, 1848. His father, Lucian Swift, moved from Connecticut to the Western Reserve when a young man and settled there for the practice of law. He served some times as clerk of the courts of Summit County, and also represented the people of that locality in the state senate. The genealogical line of the Swift family is traced back to 1635, when the first member of the family in this country came from England among the early colonists. Judge Zephaniah Swift, Chief Justice of Connecticut for nearly twenty years, was the great grandfather of the subject of this sketch. His father moved to Cleveland when Lucian was a mere lad. Here the boy had the advantages of excellent schools and was graduated from the high schools in 1865. He then entered the University of Michigan, took a special course in mining engineering and was graduated with the degree of M. E. While in college he was a member of the Delta Kappa Epsilon fraternity. Returning to Cleveland, he engaged in the mercantile business for about two years, but not finding it congenial to his tastes he adopted the course pursued by so many of the enterprising and ambitious young men of the Eastern and Middle states, and in the spring of 1871 came West for the purpose of settling at Duluth, but obtained a situation with George B. Wright, of Minneapolis. Mr. Wright was a surveyor of government land. Soon afterwards he became land agent for the Northern Pacific Railroad Company, and for five years Mr. Swift was employed by him in making plats of land grants, rights of way, and other work of that kind. This work sent him still further onto the frontier. He camped at one time in a tent on the site of the city of Fargo, and attended an editorial banquet at Georgetown, on the banks of the Red river, where he listed to that gifted traveler, Bayard Taylor. In 1876 he resigned his position with Mr. Wright and paid a brief visit to his home. On his return to the Northwest, he secured a position as bookkeeper in a mercantile house, but soon formal a letter situation as cashier of the Minneapolis Tribune. He remained with the Tribune through various administrations of its property and policies, acquiring a thorough knowledge of the publishing business. In November, 1885, in company with A. J. Blethen, W. E. Haskell and H. W. Hawley, he bought The Evening Journal and became manager, secretary and treasurer of the company, the position which he still holds. The Journal at that time had a circulation of about ten thousand copies. Under his administration it has been remarkably successful, and has increased in patronage and circulation in a manner which substantially demonstrates the wisdom and skill with which it has been conducted. It has now a circulation of forty thousand copies, occupies a fine building of its own on Fourth street, and is one of the best equipped newspaper establishments in the West. But, while giving attention closely to his own responsible position, Mr. Swift has been in demand as a promoter of public enterprises, as a member of the Board of Trade, the Business Union, the Exposition Association, of which he was director and treasurer, and has been identified actively with many of the most important public enterprises and undertaking in Minneapolis during the past ten yeas, in which his excellent judgement and business sagacity have been much relied upon. Mr. Swift was married in 1877 to Miss Minnie E. Fuller, daughter of Rev. George W. Fuller, now a resident of Lake City, Minnesota. They have one daughter, Grace F.

Hennepin County Home Page

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails