Lincoln County, Minnesota

Genealogy Trails History Group

Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

County Records

Source: Early History of Lincoln County; Compiled by A.E. Tasker, Lake Benton News Print (1936) transcribed by Patricia Roma Stout


The first court order on record is the order of Hon. E. St. Julian Cox dated August 14, 1880. This order provides for a special term of the District Court to be held at Lake Benton, Minn. on September 22, 1880 at 10 a. m. This order was made in answer to a petition from the County Commissioners of Lincoln county, asking for a term of Court. The order set for the reason for not holding the term at the county seat to be that there were not proper or sufficient accommodations at the county seat at Marshfield. The term convened at Lake Benton, Minnesota on September 22nd, 1880.

The following court officers were present: Hon. E. St. Julian Cox, Judge, presiding; S. McPhail, county attorney; G. I. Larson, clerk, and W. W. Ramsey, sheriff. The first case to be tried was that of John L. Cass, plaintiff vs. Fred Stricker, defendant. W. E. Dean appeared as attorney for the plaintiff and Chas. Butts as attorney for the defendant.

The jury impanelled and sworn were the following: J. T. Brooks, Charles Morse, Charles H. Briffett, George Luddington, H. Enke, R. A. Dore, A. J. Montgomery, D. Warn, G. D. Cole, D. McArthur, R. Hodson and Andrew Strong. The jury returned a verdict in favor of plaintiff.

At this same term of court we have the record of the first naturalization proceedings; second or final papers were issued to Herman Sass on Sept. 22, 1880. His witnesses were A. W. Morse and J. W. Bush.

The first record of the granting of declaration of intention or first paper was that of John J. Eggen, filed and issued on December 18, 1878, when G. I. Larson was clerk.

The early judges to preside over the District Court of Lincoln county were E. St. Julian Cox, 1880-1882; H. D. Baldwin, 1882; and B. F. Webber, 1883-1905. The first clerks were M. S. Phillips, 1875-1879; G. I. Larson, 1879-1881; Charles Marsh, 1881-1883; A. E. Woodford, 1883 to 1885; Charles M. Morse, 1885-1887.

The first marriage record on file is that of William Trulock and Mary Jane Worden. Application was dated July 20, 1875 and issued the same date by M. S. Philips, clerk. The marriage was performed at Marshfield by John B. Wood, a justice of the peace on July 21st, 1875. Witnesses were Clarence Wood and Candan Burdick. The marriage return was recorded on June 15th, 1879.

The first record of birth was that of Agnes Mathilda Vick, born Dec. 28, 1879, daughter of Jonas and Sophie Vick of Drammen township.

The first death record on file is that of Hans Evenson of Hendricks township, who died January 1, 1880; son of Ole and Mary Evenson.

Lincoln County Home Page

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails