Sherburne County, Minnesota

Genealogy Trails History Group

Genealogy and History
Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Biographies





C. H. Aiken
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
C. H. Aiken, whose birthplace is in Delaware county, New York, was born on the 26th of December, 1826. He was raised on his father's farm until twenty years old, then was employed at carpenter work until 1855, when he came west and settled on a farm in St. Croix county, Wisconsin. After remaining on this farm for twenty- three years, he engaged in the hotel business, but discontinued that after one year, and traveled in Iowa as a salesman, until 1881, when he settled in Clear Lake township. Mr. Aikin was married on the 15th of March, 1855, to Miss Catharine Lockwood, of Ulster county, New York. They have two children.


Howard M. Attkins
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Howard M. Attkins, County Attorney of Sherburne county, was born at New Sharon, Franklin county, Maine, on the 11th of May, 1838. His boyhood was spent in his native State, until his nineteenth year, when he set out for the West, arriving at Princeton, Mille Lacs county, on the 5th of November, 1856. The young man took a claim and spent one year in its improvement, when he returned to Maine, taught school that winter, and came again to his claim in the spring of 1858. Was engaged in farming and dealing in real estate until October, 1859, when he went to Jacksonville, Illinois, studied law and taught school until May, 1862, when he returned again to Princeton, and was admitted to the bar in June of that year. He then practiced law and dealt in real estate until the fall of 1873, during which time, he held the several offices of township Supervisor, County Attorney, and Judge of Probate. Then opened an office at St. Cloud, where he remained three years, and while there, held the office of City Justice, and was acting County Attorney for Sherburne county during the whole time. In April, 1876, he removed to Elk River, and for the next three years, was Auditor of Sherburne county, and was elected to his present position in the fall of 1880. Mr. Atkins was married in March, 1862, to Miss Virginia Sinclair. Their children are, Sinclair E., Malcolm E., Amy, Marian, Blanche, and Howard M.


Almyra Adams Hill Bailey
Source: Excerpts from "Our Gray Family History" compiled and written by Roger Ripley, December 2014 - rlripley@maqs.net.

Almyra Adams Hill was the seventh child and the fifth daughter born to Joseph Paine Hill and Mary J Gray. She was known as "Myra" to her family and friends. She was born in Milo, Piscataquis County, Maine on May 22, 1856.

On the June 22, 1860 Federal census, Myra is with her parents and all seven siblings in Brownsville, Piscataquis County, Maine. Her father was listed as a blacksmith there. By 1867, the family - all except the youngest child, Minnie, who had died as a young child, made the long trip from Maine to Minnesota. They traveled by covered wagon pulled by oxen. They are listed on the July 16, 1870 Federal census in Elk River, Sherburne County, Minnesota On the May 1, 1875 Minnesota State census, the family is at this same location with household members that include, Myra, her parents, and siblings Abbie, George, Charles, Lucy, and Lucy's daughter, Edith. In the next few years, Myra and several of her siblings attended St Cloud Normal School to become teachers. Myra taught school for several years and she is found on the June 14, 1880 Federal census living in Livonia Township, Sherburne County, Minnesota. She is listed as a teacher on that census, as are her sisters - Abbie and Anna. Myra's mother had died the year before in 1879.

She likely taught school the next few years and lived with her father and some of her siblings until she met her eventual husband. On June 2, 1888, Myra married Charles Asher Bailey (7/12/1852 - 7/23/1933) in Sherburne County, Minnesota. He was from Michigan, and was a farmer.

They had two children over the next few years with the birth of their son, Bernard Hill Bailey born on May 3, 1889 and their daughter, Helen E Bailey, born on March 24, 1891. During this time, Myra's father was living with them at Elk River, Minnesota.

On the June 13, 1900 Federal census, Myra and her husband are at Elk River, Minnesota with their two children. Charles is said to be a farmer. The same family members and location are on the June 21, 1905 Minnesota State census.

During the next few years, the family made a big move west to Montana. In May of 1910, they are located at Ravalli, Montana. Myra and her husband, Charles, are there with their two children. Charles is listed as a farmer. A neighbor on the same census is Dale Everett Felix (who later married Myra's niece, Mildred Elizabeth Hill, in 1916).

By January 5, 1920, the family is back in Minnesota again in Big Lake Township, Sherburne County, Minnesota. Myra is with her husband, Charles (a farmer), and their two grown children that are both single. Son Bernard, age 30, is also listed as a farmer.

Then another major move took place for the family over the next few years as we find them west in California. On the April 16, 1930 Federal census, the family is in Escandido, San Diego County, California. Myra is with her husband, and son Bernard (age 40) and daughter Helen (age 38). Both children are still single. Bernard is working as laborer on a farm.

Two years later, Myra Adams Hill Bailey died on October 1, 1932 at age 76 in Los Angeles County, California. We have not found a burial location at this time. Myra's husband, Charles Asher Bailey, died on June 23, 1933 at age 81 in Los Angeles County, California.


F. Eugene Baldwin
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
F. Eugene Baldwin was born in Wayne county, Pennsylvania, on the 7th of March, 1825. His boyhood was spent attending school until 1838, when the family removed to St. Clair county, Illinois. He soon commenced to attend McHenry College, and later, Illinois College, graduating from the latter institution in 1846. Then studied law in the office of Judge Lyman Trumbull, and was admitted to the Bar in 1847. The same fall, he went to Boston, where he continued his law studies, and was admitted to the Massachusetts Bar. He went to California, with thousands of others in 1849, and was engaged in mining for some time. Returning to St. Clair county, Illinois, in 1851, he engaged in farming there, which he followed until 1855. Then came to Minnesota, and after remaining in St. Anthony some time, removed to the farm on which he now lives. In 1872, he removed to Minneapolis, but returned to his farm in 1879, and has resided here since. Mr. Baldwin has taken a prominent part in public affairs since coming to Sherburne county. He has served two terms as County Attorney, was a member of the State Senate in 1859 and '60, and Chairman of the Board of Supervisors, besides filling other offices of responsibility. The town of Baldwin, in this county, is named in his honor. Mr. Baldwin was married on the 2d of September, 1851, to Miss Elizabeth Wilkinson, They have ten children, six of whom are living.


Elizabeth Hedge Hill Bailey
Source: Excerpts from "Our Gray Family History" compiled and written by Roger Ripley, December 2014 - rlripley@maqs.net.

Elizabeth Hedge Hill or "Lizzie", as she was often called, was the oldest child born to Joseph Paine Hill and Mary J Gray. She was born on April 25, 1846 in Williamsburg, Piscataquis County, Maine. Her middle name "Hedge" was the surname of her father's maternal grandmother.

She was with her parents and siblings in 1850 in Williamsburg and in 1860 in Brownsville, both in Piscataquis County, Maine. The family moved to Sherburne County, Minnesota to the Elk River area in 1867. Likely, later that year, Elizabeth attended St Cloud Normal to become a teacher.

On November 25, 1868, Elizabeth married Orville Bailey (5/20/1844 Michigan - 2/5/1888 Minnesota). He was the son of Charles Alvin Bailey and Louisa Bliss Bailey. At the age of 14, he managed to enlist in the Civil War as part of the Michigan Engineer Company. He served as a cook.

From family records, we learn that Orville and Elizabeth (Hill) Bailey had twins that, and they were born probably sometime in 1869. On May 13, 1870, their son Ernest Gray Bailey was born. The family is found located in Big Lake Township in Sherburne County, Minnesota on the July 16, 1870 Federal census. Orville is said to be a farmer and Elizabeth is a housekeeper, and they have son, Ernest, with them as a baby.

On January 25, 1873, son Albert Chester "Chet" Bailey was born at Bailey Station in Sherburne County, Minnesota. On November 27, 1875, son John Delbert Bailey was born in the Meadowvale area in Livonia, Sherburne County, Minnesota. During this time frame, Elizabeth taught school in a log schoolhouse and also was a dressmaker.

On June 9, 1877, daughter Daisy May Bailey was born - also in the Meadowvale area.

At some point prior to 1880, the family moved to Anoka, Minnesota as we find them on the June 18, 1880 Federal census in Anoka, where Orville is listed as a grocer there. In the household with him are Elizabeth and children - Ernest, Albert, and May. During the next year, daughter Elizabeth Hill Bailey was born at Anoka, Minnesota on April 2, 1881.

The family moved from Anoka to Fergus Falls, Minnesota during the next year - where they operated a restaurant near the railroad center. Undoubtedly, this allowed Orville to utilize his cooking talent he gained during his Civil War service. While at Fergus Falls, daughter Prudence Bailey was born on December 16, 1883.

Tragedy struck the family in 1888. Orville Bailey was working in the woods near Princeton, Minnesota. A severe winter storm came up and he walked home in the storm. He caught pneumonia and died on February 5, 1888 at age 44. He was buried at the Meadowvale Cemetery in Livonia, Sherburne County, Minnesota.

The next ten years had to be very challenging for Elizabeth and her family. All of the children were still home at this time with her. Fortunately, her sons were old enough to work on the farm and help support the family. At some point, Elizabeth's Uncle John H Gray gave his cabin to her during this stretch.

On the June 15, 1900 Federal census, Elizabeth is listed as a "widow" and a farmer - along with children - Ernest, Albert, Elizabeth, and Prudence. Additionally, her father, Joseph Paine Hill was in the household and probably was still good help on the farm - even at his age.

Likely, Elizabeth moved to Minneapolis after her father died in 1908. We find her in 1909 at 3918 N 6th in Minneapolis. Her daughters, Elizabeth and Prudence are with her. They are still in Minneapolis in 1911, but at 3906 Lyndale Avenue N then. We find them at that address at least until 1915.

Sometime after 1915 and prior to 1920, she moved back to Sherburne County, Minnesota. We find Elizabeth on the February 6, 1930 Federal census as a "retired farmer". In the household are daughters, Elizabeth and Prudence. Additionally, there is Louise C Bailey. She is said to be four years of age and a daughter. We know this is not correct, and have not found the connection to Elizabeth or one of her daughters for sure.

On July 1, 1921, Elizabeth Hedge Hill Bailey died of cancer in Livonia in the Meadowvale area of Sherburne County, Minnesota. She was buried at Meadowvale Cemetery next to her husband, Orville Bailey. She was 75 years old at the time of her death.


Joseph F. Baltzell
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Joseph F. Baltzell was born in Ohio, in the year 1823. Came to St. Paul, Minnesota, in 1853, and resided there, with the exception of three years in Wabasha county, until coming to Elk River in the spring of 1866. Mr. Baltzell deals in furniture, and keeps a full supply of everything in his line. He was married in 1846, to Miss Rachel Lucas, of Ohio. Their children are, Joseph, Laura, Ella, Mary, and Fannie.


J. F. Bean
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
J. F. Bean, one of the first settlers of Livonia township, was born in Rockingham county, New Hampshire, in July, 1824. From the age of five to twenty-one years, he attended school and assisted his father on the farm and in the mill, after which, he taught school a couple of years. When about twenty-four years old, he set out for the West, and located in Wisconsin, where he remained until coming to Minnesota in 1852. He first settled at Elk River and improved a farm about two miles east of the town, but in 1856, came to the farm on which he now lives; at that time there were no improvements of any kind in this township. Was appointed Postmaster of Lake Fremont post-office in 1865, and still holds the position. Mr. Bean was married on the 15th of January, 1850, to Miss Betsy Harvey, of Maine. Of three children born to them, two are living.


A. D. Boyington
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
A. D. Boyington, one of the pioneers of this township, is a native of New York State, born on the 8th of April, 1833. He resided with his parents, in his native State, until 1854, when they came to Minnesota, and settled on section twenty-nine, Clear Lake township, the subject of our sketch following, the same fall, and taking a farm adjoining that of his father. His grounds are among the most attractive in this section of country, the beauty of the scenery being enhanced by a very pretty little lake near his residence. Mr. Boyington was married on the 26th of April, 1860, to Miss Zanett Wilber. Of four children born to them, three are living.


Minor L. Brand
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Minor L. Brand is a native of Plattsburg, St. Lawrence county. New York, and was born on the 6th of December, 1849. When about sixteen years old, his parents came to Minnesota and settled at Elysian, Le Sueur county, but very soon after, Minor went to Wells and remained two years, learning the harness maker's trade. Then resided in Minneapolis until 1877, when he went to Osseo and remained one year, coming thence to Elk River in the fall of 1878, and opening a harness shop, in which he has since done a successful business. Mr. Brand's wife was Miss Hannah M. Wheeler, the marriage taking place on the 3d of July, 1878.


Henry Campbell
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Henry Campbell was born at Greenbush, Maine, on the 6th of September, 1844. Came west in 1868, was engaged in teaming in Minneapolis, one year and a half, after which he engaged in the grocery business. In 1873, he went to Princeton, Mille Lacs county, opened a stage route between there and Elk River, and soon after, removed to the latter place, where he has since resided. This enterprise was started was started in company with J. W. Libby, of this place, and the partnership still continues; they also carry on a livery stable in Elk River. Mr. Campbell was station agent here until 1875, and has been express agent since December, 1873. He was married on the 25th of May, 1876, to Helen A. Smith, of Minneapolis. They have one son named Charles L.


Edward Castle
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Edward Castle dates his birth at Holmfrith, England, in the year 1832. He was reared to agricultural pursuits, and also learned the trade of weaver and spinner, when quite young. He came to America in 1863, and after a stay of four years in New York State, went to Indiana and remained five years; up to this time, since coming to America, he had been employed at his trade, that of woolen weaver. Then came to Minnesota and settled on his present farm. Mr. Castle has been Chairman of the board of Supervisors, besides holding other important local offices in Clear Lake township. He was married on the 28th of February, 1875, to Miss Nancy Booth, who died on the 13th of July, 1875. Of six children born to them, five are living.


Henry Castle
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Henry Castle was born in England, in the year 1858. When he was five years old, the family came to America, and after remaining four years in New York State, removed to Indiana, and thence, after five years, to Clear Lake, Sherburne county, where the family still resides. Henry lived with his parents most of the time until the fall of 1880, when he was elected Register of Deeds and Clerk of the District Court, and soon after removed to Elk River, where he resides at the date of this writing.


Adelbert Copeland
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Adelbert Copeland is a son of Samuel Copeland, a native of Pennsylvania, who came to Anoka, Minnesota, in 1856, but is now a resident of Isanti county. Adelbert was born in New York State, on the 3d of May, 1849, came with his parents to Minnesota, and resided in Anoka county until twenty years of age. Came to Elk River in 1877, and has been employed at lumbering most of the time since. He was married on the 17th of April, 1873, to Miss Lilian Pond. Their children are, Edith A., and Eugene.


James Costello
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
James Costello was born in Kerry county, Ireland, on the 15th of December, 1818. Came to America when a young man, and settled in Ohio, but removed to Minnesota in October, 1854. Resided in St. Paul ten years, and came to Elk River in October, 1864. Mr. Costello was married on the 26th of December, 1846, to Miss Mary Mulcare. Their family consists of four sons and five daughters, John, Patrick, James, Martin, Maggie, Ellen, Mary, Annie, and Gussie.


A. J. Craig
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
A. J. Craig was born in Cambridge, Massachusetts, on the 9th of February, 1842. His home was beneath the parental roof until about eighteen years of age, when he came to Minnesota, and after one year's stay at St. Anthony, went to Stillwater and engaged in logging and lumbering until 1867. Then came to Sherburne county and was employed for a number of years on Rum river, but in 1875, settled on his present farm. Mr. Craig is Chairman of the board of Supervisors and has held a number of other local offices. He was married on the 12th of April, 1867, to Hattie Whitney. Of four children born to them, three are living.


William N. M. Crawford
Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger 
CRAWFORD William N M. Minneapolis.  Res 102 Arthur av S E, office 616 Guaranty Loan bldg.  Lawyer.  Born April 20, 1872 in Becker, Sherburne county Minn, son of Joseph M and Mary J (McAllister) Crawford.  Married Sept 25, 1901 to Jennie Gronnerud.  Graduated from Monticello high School 1894; law dept U of M, LL B 1901.  Ins solicitor and collector for Metropolitan Life Ins co 1901-02; for Minneapolis Electric Co 4 months; has practiced law in Minneapolis 1903 to date.  Served 5 years in Battery B 1st Artillery M N G taking part in the Indian campaign of 1898.  Pres and atty for Crawford, Stewart Co; for the Continental Debenture co; atty for Mower-Oberg Health Food Co and Lake City Realty Co.


George Crocker
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
George Crocker is a native of Nova Scotia, born in the year 1832. In 1861, he came to Wisconsin and after a stay of one year in that State, came to Elk River. During the Sioux war, he served eighteen months in defense of the frontier. Returned to Elk River, and has since been engaged in blacksmithing; his shop is located in Upper Town. Mr. Crocker was married on the 16th of August, 1865, to Miss Phebe Ingersol, of Maine. Their children are, Luca E., Louisa, Josephine, and George L.


Nathaniel Crockett
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Nathaniel Crockett, whose birthplace is Dexter, Maine, was born the 24th of May, 1831. Was reared to farming pursuits, and came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1855. He was dealing in carriages and horses for two years, then for eight years, was in the grocery and provision business. Then went to Osseo, opened a general store and was also engaged in farming until 1872, when he came to Elk River, and has since been engaged in mercantile business and farming. Mr. Crockett was married on the 18th of March, 1862, to Miss Clarissa D. Stowell, of New Hampshire. Their children are, Frank, Albert, Silas M., William, Clara S., Nellie E., Jennie, and Leon L.


Lucy Gray Hill Daggett
Source: Excerpts from "Our Gray Family History" compiled and written by Roger Ripley, December 2014 - rlripley@maqs.net.

Lucy Gray Hill was the second child and second daughter born to Joseph Paine Hill and Mary J Gray. She was born in Williamsburg, Piscataquis County, Maine on October 5, 1847. She was given her mother's maiden name as her middle name and may have been named after her mother's sister, Lucy.

On the 1850 Federal census, she would have been with her parents and siblings in Williamsburg in Piscataquis County, Maine on their farm there. She would have been with them also in 1860 at Brownsville, Maine, where her father was a blacksmith.

She would have made the adventurous trip by covered wagon pulled by oxen to journey from Maine to Minnesota in 1867. At some point after, she met a young farmer in Sherburne County and married him on January 10, 1870. He was Augustus L Daggett, who was born in Quincy, Michigan and came to Big Lake Township to settle. On the July 16, 1870 Federal census, we find Lucy with her husband, Augustus (a farmer). Also in the household is her husband's brother, Edward A Daggett, a couple years younger than he. Their real estate has a value of $1500. Living not far from them is Lucy's older sister, Elizabeth, and her husband, Orville Bailey.

Later that year, their first child was born - a daughter named Edith Lucy Daggett, who was born on December 27, 1870. A second daughter was born on October 3, 1872. We find no record of this daughter, but assume she may have died shortly after birth or in the first year or two as we find no records on her after that.

This had to be a difficult time for Lucy as on April 12, 1874, her husband died at age 27. We have not found any record as to the cause of his death. He was buried in Bailey Station Cemetery in Sherburne County, Minnesota. After the death of her husband and second daughter, Lucy moved back in with her parents and siblings still at home. Then in 1879, her mother passed away as well. She, undoubtedly, was very helpful to her father at this time to help with household chores previously done by her mother.

On the 1880 Federal census, she is living in Livonia, Sherburne County, Minnesota with her father, several siblings, her daughter Edith, and Uncle John H Gray. She likely stayed with her father the next number of years until she remarried on June 3, 1891 to Waldo Joselyn - a widower with several children. She was 43 and he was 56 years old. So Lucy took her daughter, Lucy, and joined her new husband's family in Marengo, McHenry County, Illinois.

We find them in the city of Marengo on June 12, 1900 on the 1900 Federal census. In the household are Lucy, her husband Waldo, her daughter Edith, and his daughter, Edith. This census record does confirm that Lucy had given birth to two children and only one (Edith) is now living.

Sometime in 1909, Lucy died in Marengo, McHenry County, Illionis. She was buried in Marengo City Cemetery there. Her husband, Waldo Joselyn, died two years later and is buried near her there as well.

As for Lucy's only living daughter, Edith Lucy Daggett, she ended up moving to the Chicago area and worked there as a maid for a number of years. She never married and had no children. She died at the age of 49 on August 16, 1920 Chicago, Cook County, Illinois.


Alfred A. Dare
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Alfred A. Dare is a son of Alfred Dare, Sr. of this village, who is a native of England, and came to America when a young man, settling in New York. About 1860, he removed his family to Wisconsin, and, a few years later, to Minneapolis, Minnesota, where they resided until coming to Elk River, in 1872. Alfred, Jr. was born in Jordan, New York, in the year 1852; and accompanied the family to this place, on the date above mentioned. Mr. Dare's occupation is that of miller, and is employed in the mills of Mills & Houlton. He was married in 1876, to Miss Mary L. Baltzell. They have two children, named Farley A. and Annie V.


Arthur Newman Dare
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal (1897) submitted by Diana Heser Morse

Arthur Newman Dare, the editor and publisher of the Elk River, Minnesota, "Star News," is a man whose success, achieved in newspaper publication, has been due entirely to his own unaided efforts. He was born in Jordan, Onondaga County, New York, May 25, 1850. His father, Alfred Dare, was a miller in moderate circumstances. He was a native of Wales and came to this country in 1838, when but twenty years of age. He died in 1888. Mary Matilda Allen (Dare), the mother of the subject of this sketch, was born in Vermont, in humble circumstances. The subject of this sketch had only the advantages of a common school education, with a short attendance at the village academy of his native town. He came to Minnesota with his parents in 1867, locating in Minneapolis. Here he entered the printing office of the Minneapolis Tribune, learning the trade of printer. He worked at his trade for three or four years in the Tribune office until a desire for travel took hold of him. He embarked as a sailor on a whaling ship from New Bedford, Massachusetts, in 1872, and was gone two and a half years. During this time he had many exciting adventures in New Zealand and the Pacific Ocean. On his way home he made a trip through England. Coming back to Minnesota he settled at Elk River and commenced working at his old trade. He was made local editor of the Elk River "Star," and a year later bought a half interest in this paper. The following year he bought the "Star" outright. In 1881 he bought the Elk River "News" and consolidated the two papers as the "Star-News." This paper Mr. Dare has edited and published since that time. He has built up and paying circulation, and established for his paper a good reputation, so that locally it exerts a large influence. Mr. Dare is a Republican in politics. He has no ambition politically, though he has always taken active interest in the welfare of his party. He has been Chairman of the County Republican Committee continuously for fifteen years, and in 1894 was elected to the State Legislature, though the nomination for this latter office came unsought. He was re-elected in 1896. He has for thirteen years been a member of Sherburn Lodge, A.F. & A.M. In 1879 he was married to Susan May Albee. Mr. and Mrs. Dare have three children, Daphne, Susan and Laurence.


Arthur N. Dare
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Arthur N. Dare, editor and publisher of the "Sherburne County Star," was born in the little town of Jordan, Onondaga county, New York, on the 25th of May, 1850. In 1868 or 1869, came to Watertown, Wisconsin, and remained there until 1870, then came to Minneapolis, and soon after, entered the Minneapolis Tribune job department, as an apprentice to the "art preservative." Remained there nearly four years, when he started out to see the world, and after visiting various cities in the United States, shipped as a sailor, and was gone two years and a half, visiting New Zealand, Australia, the South Sea Islands, South America, England, and France. Returning to his native country, he came to Elk River on a visit, in the fall of 1875, and soon after, was employed as local editor of the " Star." Remained in that capacity until February, 1878, when he purchased a half interest in the paper, and published it in connection winh(sic) H. M. Atkins, until the following February, when he purchased the other half, and became sole proprietor. Miss May Albee became his wife in January, 1879.


Eben Davis
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Eben Davis is a son of Richard Davis, deceased, who was a native of Maine, and came to Minnesota in 1850. After remaining in Minneapolis about a year, he came to Elk River, and opened a farm about two miles west of the village, on the east bank of the Mississippi, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1880. Eben came to this town with his parents, and has resided here ever since; his farm adjoins the old homestead. He was Sheriff of Sherburne county six years, and has also filled the office of Supervisor. Was in the employ of the government eight years, engaged in looking after government land in this State. Mr. Davis enlisted on the 7th of October, 1861 and served until the 7th of August, 1865. He was united in marriage with Miss Mary L. Ingersol, of Washington county, Maine, on the 4th of July, 1857. They have had eight children, seven of whom are living: Herbert H., Bertha E., Andrew, Charles W., Lizzie C, Winthrop, Willie; who died on the 6th of December, 1880, aged seven months, and Helen B.


Lyman Dayton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Lyman Dayton (deceased) was born in Southington, Connecticut, on the 25th of August, 1809. At an early age, he left home and commenced the "battle of life." Going to Providence, Rhode Island, he engaged as clerk in a store, and remained until he commenced business for himself at Pawtucket Falls, Rhode Island. His beginning was small, but in a very few years, he was known as one of the largest wholesale dry goods merchants of the East. The cares of business having affected his health, in 1849, he came to Minnesota, and located on Dayton's Bluff, St. Paul, and within a year, had purchased over five thousand acres of land, in the vicinity, a large portion of which is now included within the city limits. He was the founder of the town which bears his name at the mouth of Crow River, where he expended large sums of money to improve the water-power, and building mills and other buildings. He was also the projector of the Lake Superior & Mississippi railroad, and was mainly instrumental in securing for it an enormous state and congressional land grant of nearly two million acres of land. From his own private means, he expended upwards of $10,000 in making the preliminary surveys of the road, and others reaped the benefit of his exertion and capital. He was the first President of the company, and held that position until his death, never asking compensation for his services. His death occurred on the 20th of October, 1865, after a long illness from chronic gastritis, at his residence in St. Paul. Mr. Dayton was married on the 2d of January, 1831, to Miss Maria Bates, of Cranston, Rhode Island. They have one son, Samuel C. Mrs. Dayton was again married on the 21st of March, 1873, to Michael Nell, and they now reside in Elk River.


William E. Dean
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William E. Dean, engineer at the Elk River Mills, dates his birth in Worcester county, Massachusetts, in the year 1854. He came west in 1875, and located in Minneapolis, which was his home until his removal to Elk River in 1880.


Francis Delill
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Francis Delill (deceased) was born in Canada, in the 1797. He came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1848, and two years later, to Elk River, where, for a time, he occupied a part of the first house built in the town, a Mr. Morah lived in the other part. During that summer, 1850, Mr. Delill built the Elk River House for Mr. Bottineau. In the spring of 1851, opened a farm on section three, on which he lived a few years and removed to the present home of the family, on section eleven. He resided there until his death, which occurred on the 10th of April, 1874. Mr. Delill was married in 1842, to Miss Catharine Queenan, a native of Ireland. Mrs. Delill is the oldest living settler of Sherburne county. They have had ten children, eight of whom are living; Mary F., Frank, Agnes, Elizabeth, Harriet, Joseph T., Rosanna, and Sarah J.


Eddy Dicky
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Eddy Dickey is a native of Nova Scotia, but came to Minnesota in the year 1849. In the spring of 1851 he came to Elk River, built the first dam, and worked on the first saw-mill at this place, which was completed and started during that summer. Until March, 1855, Mr. Dickey resided at St. Anthony, but then moved to Elk River, and run a grist-mill for some time. In 1856, in company with his brother, Thomas Dickey, he erected a building, part of which was used as a door, sash, and blind factory, by George Davis, R. Barton, and a Mr. Lovett, and the balance as a machine shop, wagon shop, and carpenter shop; the latter departments have been conducted by Mr. Dickey ever since. In 1880, he built a dam and grist-mill in Big Lake township, on Elk River, three miles from its mouth; it is run by Obert & Boughton. During the same year, he also built a dam for Mr. Burning, on the Crow river, seven miles from its mouth, on which is now located a fine saw-mill. Mr. Dickey was married in June, 1849, to Miss Munson, of Maine, who died in 1852. He was married again in 1854, and has seven children by this marriage; Charles, Mary, Barbara, Edgar, Lucina, Thomas, and Eugene, all born in Elk River.


William Eaton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William Eaton was born in Indiana, in the year 1844. When he was eleven years old the family came to Minnesota, and settled in Dakota county. In 1867, the subject of our sketch came to Becker, Sherburne county, and in 1873, to Elk River, locating on a farm of seventy-two acres, situated in section five. He was married in October, 1872, to Miss Hattie Roberts, of Big Lake. Their children are, Alice, William A., Charles S., and James E.


John Evans
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John Evans (deceased) was a native of Pennsylvania, born in the year 1815, His early life was spent in his native State, being chiefly employed at his trade, that of boat-builder. Came to Elk River in 1870, and bought a farm on section thirty-two, where he resided till his death, which occurred on the 1st of October, 1875. He was married in 1839, to Mary Keiser, who survives her husband, and carries on the farm. They have had ten children, eight of whom are living; Eliza A., Sarah J., Emily, Bradford M., Susan, Joseph, John H., and Harrison L.


Frank A. Felch
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Frank A. Felch, one of the most extensive farmers in Sherburne county, was born in Aroostook county, Maine, on the 2d of August, 1836. At the age of sixteen years, he entered the Phillips Academy, at Andover, Massachusetts, and after completing his course there, studied for a time, at the Houlton Academy, in his native county. In 1857, came west and settled in Livonia township, where he resided until coming to his present home in the fall of 1881. In company with his brother, J. H. Felch, he has carried on three farms for a number of years, one each in Livonia, Becker, and Elk River townships.


John H. Foster
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John H. Foster, whose birthplace is St. Johns, New Brunswick, was born in the year 1821. In 1856, he came to Minnesota and settled on section twenty-nine. Elk River township, which has been his home ever since. Mr. Foster is by trade a miller, and has followed that occupation most of the time since coming to the State. He is now running a mill at Spencer Brook, Isanti county. Was married on the 24th of December, 1845, to Miss Mary L. Sherwood, who died on the 23d of January, 1852. The result of this union was three children, only one of whom, Mary L., is now living. His present wife was Miss Eliza Wallace, of St. Johns, New Brunswick, the marriage taking place on the 9th of September, 1852. Of five children, four are living, John W., Nettie B., Charles B., and Alice S.


John H. Foster
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John H. Foster, whose birthplace is St. Johns, New Brunswick, was born in the year 1821. In 1856, he came to Minnesota and settled on section twenty-nine. Elk River township, which has been his home ever since. Mr. Foster is by trade a miller, and has followed that occupation most of the time since coming to the State. He is now running a mill at Spencer Brook, Isanti county. Was married on the 24th of December, 1845, to Miss Mary L. Sherwood, who died on the 23d of January, 1852. The result of this union was three children, only one of whom, Mary L., is now living. His present wife was Miss Eliza Wallace, of St. Johns, New Brunswick, the marriage taking place on the 9th of September, 1852. Of five children, four are living, John W., Nettie B., Charles B., and Alice S.


Daniel Frye
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Daniel Frye dates his birth in Kennebec county, Maine, on the 23d of July, 1843. When twenty years old, he went to Lynn, Massachusetts, and was employed in a shoe factory about three years. He then spent two years as a sailor, after which, he came west and has since been a resident of Clear Lake township, buying and settling on his present farm in 1869. Mr. Frye has held a number of responsible local offices, and is the present efficient Town Clerk. He was married on the 10th of January, 1866, to Miss Lavinia K. Davis, They have had seven children, but five of whom are living.


Henry Galley
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Henry Galley is a native of England, born on the 24th of December, 1833. He came to America in 1850, and was engaged in the manufacture of chairs, in New York City five years, after which he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, and followed the same business until 1863. Then came to Elk River and established a furniture factory in Upper Town, but after one year, returned to New York, and remained until the spring of 1866. He then returned to Elk River, and has resided here ever since, still engaged in the furniture business. His salesroom is in the village of Elk River, and the manufactory located in Upper Town. Mr. Galley was married on the 28th of September, 1854, to Miss Elinor J. Caine. They have nine children, Ada J., Nellie, Lizzie, George L., Cora M., William, Carrie, Maud J., and Frederick.


Reuben S. Gardner
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Reuben S. Gardner, whose birthplace is in Pennsylvania, was born on the 4th of November, 1834. He learned the milling business when a young man, and in 1866, came to Minneapolis, and two years later, to Elk River, where he now resides. Mr. Gardner's occupation has always been that which he learned in his youth, and he is now head miller at Mills and Houlton's flouring mill. During the civil war, he was among the first to answer his country's call for volunteers, and served five years in the south. Was married on the 6th of October, 1864, to Miss Mary A. Smith, of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania. Their children are, Custis, Roy, and Frank.


Levi M. Gaskill
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Levi M. Gaskill came to Minnesota in 1857, and settled in Richfield township, Hennepin county. After three years spent in farming at the latter place, he was engaged in freighting from St. Cloud to Fort Abercrombie, continuing that occupation for two years. Then took a homestead in Silver Creek township, Wright county, on which he lived eight years, coming thence to Elk River in 1870. He has been employed in the lumber business since coming here, and during the last few years, has had charge of H. Houlton's lumber yard. Mr. Gaskill was married on the 4th of August, 1860, to Miss Anna Severson, of Illinois. Their children are, Estella, Everett, Elmer, and Amelia.


John W. Glassford
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John W. Glassford is a native of La Fayette, Indianna(sic), born on the 27th of September, 1841. In 1867, he came to St. Paul, Minnesota, and entered the employ of the St. Paul and Pacific Railroad Company, and with the exception of six months with the West Wisconsin Railroad Company, and eighteen months with the Green Bay and Minnesota Railroad Company, he has remained with that corporation ever since. In May, 1875, he came to Elk River, and has been station agent here ever since. Mr. Glassford is also serving his second term as County Auditor of Sherburne county. He was married on the 4th of October, 1876, to Miss Nellie Costello, of Elk River. Their children are, Edwin D., James W., and Loda W.


Samuel H. Glidden
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Samuel H. Glidden was born in Freedom, Maine, in the year 1833. When a young man, he learned the trade of carriage maker, which was his occupation until settling on his present farm. Came to Minnesota in 1870, and settled in Waseca county, but three years later, removed to Winona, and after a three years' stay, to Rushford, and thence after one year, to his present home in Elk River township. Mr. Glidden was married on the 10th of August, 1862, to Miss Lizzie Lowell. They have one son, named Samuel.


W. J. Harrington
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
W. J. Harrington, whose birthplace is in Montgomery county, New York, was born on the 7th of November, 1825. When but a child, his father died, and at the age of twelve years, he removed with his mother to Ohio, and soon after commenced working on the neighboring farms, remaining in the State six years. He then removed with his mother to Indiana, and purchased a small farm, which he carried on until coming to Minnesota in 1861. He settled in Sherburne county, but on the breaking out of the Sioux Massacre, enlisted in Company C, of the First Minnesota Mounted Rangers, and served thirteen months. Returned to Indiana in 1864, and two years later, again came to Minnesota and settled in Isanti county, where he lived ten years, and came to his present farm in 1876. Mr. Harrington was married in 1862, to Miss Annie V. Stevenson. They have had five children, four of whom are living.


Prince O. Hawes
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Prince O. Hawes was born in Maine, in the year 1818. He came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1855, and the following year, to Elk River, and opened a general store in Upper Town. After two years he engaged in farming, but at the end of a year, he again returned to mercantile business, which he continued for three years, and was also Postmaster, a portion of the time. Then took a trip to Washington Territory, but returned to Elk River in 1865, and after two years more in the mercantile line, engaged in farming, which occupation he still continues. His farm is located in section thirty-one, but his residence is in Upper Town. Mr. Hawes has been twice married. First to Miss Margaret Mayall, in 1850, who died in 1859, leaving one daughter, named Olive A. His present wife was Miss Martha A. C. Godfrey, to whom he was married in 1865.


Charles B. Hayden
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Charles B. Hayden was born at Madison, Somerset county, Maine, on the 8th of December, 1831. He came west with his parents in 1856, and settled in Livonia township, Sherburne county, but in 1861 removed to Elk River, which has been his home ever since. Mr. Hayden is engaged in lumbering, but owns a farm on section thirty-two. Burns township, Anoka county. He is the oldest of a family of fourteen children, eleven of whom are living.


John T. Hayward
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John T. Hayward was born in New Brunswick, on the 20th of April, 1834. He came to Elk River in June, 1867, remained one year, and then went to Bums township, Anoka county, where he took a homestead and remained five years. Then sold out and returned to Elk River village, where he resided, engaged in lumbering, until March, 1879. Then bought the farm on which he now lives, on section twenty-eight. Elk River township. Mr. Haywood was married in 1869, to Miss Rachel Beck. Their children are, Jarvis and Jane.


Leonard C. Heath
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Leonard C. Heath is a native of the state of Maine, born in the year 1819. He came to Minnesota in 1854, and since then has been engaged in lumbering and farming most of the time. Mr. Heath was married in 1840, to Miss Livonia Crawford, of his native State, who died in 1848, leaving three children, Austin, Emeline, and Calvin. His present wife was Mrs. Sarah A. Harper to whom he was married in 1867.


H. J. Heebner
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
H. J. Heebner, a native of Germany, was born in the year 1844. When he was nine years old, the family came to America and settled in Indiana, where the subject of our sketch was reared on a farm. In 1861, he enlisted in the Union army, and served four years in defense of the nation. Returning from the South he remained in Indiana until 1868, when he came to Elk River, and was employed as telegraph operator, by the St. Paul & Pacific Railroad Company, holding various positions in their employ until 1878. Then purchased an interest in the general store of J. H. Mills, at Upper Town, but at the end of six months, bought the entire stock, and continued the business alone. In March, 1880, he established another store at Lower Town, and soon after, took as a partner, W. L. Babcock. The firm does a general business, and carries a stock of about $15,000. Mr. Heebner was married on the 26th of October, 1871, to Miss Florence M. Albee, of Elk River. Their children are, Harry C, and Grace W.


Levi Holgate
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Levi Holgate dates his birth in Wyoming county, Pennsylvania, on the 5th of March, 1830. He came to Minnesota in 1856, and after a short stay at St. Anthony, went to Lake Minnetonka, and in April, 1857, took a claim on section thirty-two, Maple Lake township, Wright county. In the fall of 1858, went to Minneapolis, and the following year, came to Elk River, and was engaged in the furniture business till 1862, when he enlisted, and served three years in the army. Returning to Minnesota, he remained in Anoka about a year, coming thence to Elk River, and again embarked in the furniture business, continuing it until 1871, when he started a meat market, which he still prosperously continues. Mr. Holgate was married on the 1st of November, 1866, to Miss Kate Murphy, of Cincinnati, Ohio. Their living children are, Mary A. and Carrie E.


Dwight R. Houlton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Dwight R. Houlton, Superintendent of the Elk River saw mills, was born in Houlton, Aroostook county, Maine, on the 10th of November, 1847. Came to Minnesota with his parents in 1853, they settling in Monticello, Wright county, where the subject of our sketch grew to manhood. During the civil war, he enlisted in the army, serving one year. In 1865, he came to Elk River, and has lived here ever since, engaged in lumbering. Mr. Houlton was married on the 16th of November, 1870, to Miss Eva A. Hildreth.


Horatio Houlton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Horatio Houlton, a brother of the subject of our last sketch, was born in Houlton, Aroostook county, Maine, on the 19th of August, 1834. He was raised to farming pursuits, receiving such education as could be obtained at a district school during the winter months. In 1854, Mr. Houlton set out for the West, and soon after, took a claim of one hundred and sixty acres, at Monticello, Wright county, Minnesota, which lie cultivated for two years. In 1860 and '61, he was part owner of a train drawing Hudson Bay goods from St. Cloud to such a point on the Red River of the North, as could be reached by steamboats. During the Sioux war, in 1862, he had a beef contract from the government, which he held for two seasons. In 1864, he came to Elk River, opened a general store, and has been a prominent merchant here ever since, taking a deep interest in the development of Sherburne county. To mercantile trade he added, in 1868, a saw-mill, which he built in connection with Thomas S. Nickerson and W. H. Houlton, but now runs it alone. He is also a member of the firm of H. Houlton & Co., proprietors of a saw-mill in St. Paul, and of the firm of Prince & Houlton, lumber dealers in West St. Paul. Mr. Houlton was united in marriage with Miss Melissa J. Harvey, also a native of the "Pine Tree State," in the fall of 1858. Their children are, Effie M., William L., Charles H., Nettie, and Kate.


William H. Houlton
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Nancy Overlander

Houlton, William H, Elk River. Real estate and banking. Born March 29, 1840 in Houlton Me, son of Samuel and Sarah (Kendall) Houlton. Married March 3, 1870 to Miss Freddie Lewis. Educated in common schools Monticello Minn 1856-60. First employed by Croswell Bros Monticello 1861; in partnership with brother H Houlton in mercantile business and member firm of Houlton & Nickerson sawmill 1865-73; flour mnfr under firm name Mills & Houlton 1873-87; manufacturer pine lumber 1887-1902. Pres Bank of Elk River 1885-99; pres Houlton’s Bank of Elk River 1902 to date. Interested in farming and stock raising 1887 to date. Supt Minn State Reformatory 1896-1900. Served in Civil War and during Sioux outbreak in 8th Minn Vol Regt 1862-65. Register of deeds Wright county 1865; treas Sherburne county 1870-74; state senator 1879-86; author of History of 8th Minn Regt published by state in History of Minnesota in Civil and Indian Wars. Member Masonic fraternity and G A R.

Another Source:
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William H. Houlton is a son of Samuel and Sarah Houlton, and was born in Houlton, Maine, on the 29th of March, 1840. He was reared to agricultural pursuits, receiving a good common school education. His mother died when he was three years old, and in 1854, he went with his father to Warren county, Illinois, and in 1856, came to Monticello, Wright county, remaining there till of age. In August, 1862, he enlisted in Company E, of the Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, served for a time on the frontier against the Indians under General Sully, and then went south, being in the Nashville campaign of General Thomas against Hood. He served three years, being promoted to a non-commissioned office; was in several engagements, but never received a wound. Returning to Monticello in August, 1865, he was soon after elected Register of Deeds, but resigned the next spring, came to Elk River, and was engaged in mercantile business in company with his brother, Horatio Houlton, about eight years. In the fall of 1873, he bought the interest of the heirs of George Albee, in the Elk River flour and saw mills, and formed a partnership with E. P. Mills, who owned half of the property; these mills are still conducted by this firm, under the name of Mills & Houlton. Since settling in Sherburne county, Mr. Houlton has served six years as County Treasurer, and was State Senator in 1879. He was married on the 3d of March, 1870, to Miss Freddie Lewis, of Monticello, Minnesota. Their children are, Sam R., and Helen.


E. F. Hurd
Source: History of the upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
E. F. Hurd, one of the pioneers of Clear Lake, was born at Newfield, Maine, on the 2d of May, 1829. His parents died when he was quite young, and he went to live with an uncle, attending school and working on the farm until seventeen years of age, when he began to learn the carpenter's trade at Bangor, remaining there until 1855. He then came to Minnesota and located the farm on which he now lives, but spent the greater portion of his time until 1860, working at his trade in Minneapolis, and since then, has devoted his time chiefly to the improvement of his farm, with only an occasional return to his trade. Mr. Hurd has been County Commissioner, two terms, and held other important offices. He was married on the 7th of August, 1854, to Miss Fannie A. Macomber, of Bangor, Maine. One son, James Franklin, is living, and one is deceased, whose name was George.


James Iliff
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
James Iliff was born in Preble county, Ohio, on the 6th of August, 1824. When ten years old, he went with his parents to Indiana, his father moving the first family to the site of the present city of Wabash, in that State, in 1834. The subject of our sketch remained in the Hoosier State, farming and dealing in live stock, until coming to Minnesota in 1853. After a stay of two years in St. Anthony, he went to what is now Spencer Erook township, Isanti county, and was the first permanent settler in that county, which was his home until coming to the present farm in Livonia, in 1880. Mr. Iliff was married on the 21st of May, 1854, to Miss Margaret Spencer. Of ten children born to them, but five are living.


Gambert Jameson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Gambert Jameson, son of the subject of our last sketch, was born at Elk River, on the 4th of July, 1859. His early years were spent in his native town, and in 1875, he went to Minneapolis, and was salesman in a clothing house for five years. In March, 1880, he opened a clothing store in Elk River, and also owns a half interest in the general store of Jameson Brothers, in Upper Town. Mr. Jameson was married on the 12th of September, 1880, to Miss Hattie L. Baker, of Minneapolis.


John G. Jameson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John G. Jameson (deceased) was born in Scarborough, Maine, and came to Minnesota in 1851. The same year, in company with Ard Godfrey, bought a farm on section thirty-three, which included the water-power, of Silas Lane, who had located there the previous year. In 1855, the property was divided, Godfrey taking the water-power and Jameson the farm, on which he lived until his death, which occured(sic) in 1869, He was married to Miss Nancy Godfrey, who still resides on the old homestead, which is carried on by her son William. They have six children. Henry M., John G., William, Charles D., Louisa, and Gambert.


John G. Jameson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John G. Jameson, another son of John G. Jameson, Sr. is a native of the state of Maine, and was born on the 13th of October, 1846. Came with the family to Elk River, and has resided here ever since. He carries on a blacksmith shop at Upper Town. Was united in marriage with Miss Mertie Corey, the wedding taking place on the 20th of November, 1879.


William M. Jenkins
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Rev. William M. Jenkins was born in Vermont, on the 26th of May, 1837. After taking the usual preparatory course, he entered the Academy at Hillsdale, Michigan, graduating in 1865, and thence to the New Hampshire Theological Seminary, from which he graduated in 1868. His first pastorate was at Natick, Massachusetts, having charge of the Freewill Baptist church at that place, for two years. He then went to Michigan, and labored in different fields in that State until 1878, when he came to Elk River, and has been pastor of the Union church at this place ever since. He was married on the 28th of September, 1868, to Miss Mary A. Harmon, of Maine. Their children are, Alfaretta, Evangeline, and Grace,


Drayton Jones
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Drayton Jones dates his birth in Wyoming county. New York, on the 2d of April, 1824. In 1841, removed with the family to Cattaraugus county, where he grew to manhood. When he was twenty-one years old, went to work in a saw-mill, remaining there one year and a half, and afterwards carried on his father's farm until 1865. He then came to Minnesota and located in the eastern part of Clear Lake township, but in 1868, removed to his present farm, and, with the exception of three years' absence, has resided here ever since. Mr. Jones was married on the 25th of October, 1848, to Miss Sarah Thorp. They have had five children, three of whom are living.


Dennis A. Kaliher
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Dennis A. Kaliher is a native of Dunkirk, New York, and was born on the 5th of August, 1852. His father was engaged in railroad construction, and as he worked his way west, brought his family with him, and settled on a farm near Elk River, in 1859. After a four years' stay there, he removed to the north part of Sherburne county, residing there until 1873, when he removed to his present farm in Livonia township. Mr, Kaliher was married on the 1st of July, 1873, to Miss Jennie Larkins. They have four children.


Burrows W. Kirby
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Burrows W. Kirby is a native of England, born on the 5th of April, 1850. He came to America in 1870, and settled in Clear Lake, Sherburne county, where he was engaged in farming until the fall of 1876, when he was elected Register of Deeds, and removed to Elk River, discharging the duties of the office for four years. In July, 1879, he bought the drug store of Dr. Crawford, and has since conducted the same. Mr. Kirby was married in 1872, to Miss Marietta Eaton, of Becker township. Their children are, Charlotte L., Susan, Burrows, and Alice.


Barton A. Latta
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Barton A. Latta dates his birth in Ohio, on the 12th of March, 1812. He came to Minnesota in 1857, and settled in Isanti county, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits nine years. Came then to Elk River township, and has resided here ever since, engaged in farming and stock raising. Mr. Latta is Assessor and Justice of the Peace, having held the latter office a number of years. He was married on the 28th of July, 1836, to Miss Jane Elliott. Of fourteen children born to them, but six are living; Sarah A., Mary E., Thomas J., Barton A., Henderson, and Richard J.


John F. Lewis
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John F. Lewis was born in New York State, on the 18th of May, 1850. In 1859, the family came to Minnesota, and located at Monticello, Wright county, where the subject of our sketch remained most of the time until coming to Elk River, in 1874. Mr. Lewis engaged in the drug business soon after coming here, which he still prosperously continues. Miss Hattie Albee, of Elk River, became his wife in September, 1874.


Joseph W. Libby
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Joseph W. Libby, whose birth-place is in the State of Maine, was born on the 15th of February, 1841. Came to Minnesota, and settled at Princeton, Mille Lacs county, in 1871, and one year later removed to Anoka, coming thence to Elk River, in the fall of 1873, purchased a half interest in the stage route to Princeton, and is also a partner with Henry Campbell in the livery stable.


Reuben Lloyd
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Reuben Lloyd was born in England, in the year 1847. Came to America in 1870, and has been engaged in the manufacture of carriages ever since. The first three and a half years were spent in Minneapolis, but has since resided at Elk River; his shop is located in Upper Town.


George Lowe
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
George Lowe (deceased) was a native of New Brunswick, born on the 24th of June, 1815. Came to Elk River in 1854, and settled at Upper Town, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1864. Was married in 1844, to Miss Salome McLean, who still resides on the old homestead with her two sons, Alfred and George. She has also a daughter, who is married, and lives near by.


William B. Mabie
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William B. Mabie, a resident of Elk River since 1855, was born in New York State, in the year 1826. The first few years after coming here, he was employed in a chair factory, after which, he opened a general store and carried it on for about two years. Since that time, his occupation, when not engaged in public duties, has been varied. He was Register of Deeds from 1867 to 1877, and Clerk of the Court from 1872 to 1877, and has also filled the several offices of Justice of the Peace, Chairman of the board of Supervisors, and County Commissioner. Mr. Mabie was married to Miss Dimick, of New York. Their children living are, Esta, Levi, Nellie, and Dora.


Alfred Markham
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Alfred Markham, a brother of the subjects of the two preceding brief sketches, was born in Clearwater, Wright county, on the 20th of August, 1857, being one of the first white children born in the town. During his boyhood, he received such education as the public schools of his native place afforded, residing with his parents until 1876, when he settled on his present farm, in Clear Lake township. He was married on the 6th of October, 1876, to Miss Velonia Jones. They have one child, named Gracie E.


H. Markham
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
H. Markham is also a native of McHenry county, Illinois, and was born on the 15th of December, 1839. His parents removed to Minnesota in 1854, and selected their residence as mentioned in the preceding sketch. In 1857, the family removed to Cannon Falls, Goodhue county, but did not remain long, returning to their former farm in Wright county. In 1862, the subject of our sketch enlisted in Company E, of Eighth Minnesota Volunteer Infantry, serving three years. Returning from the army, Mr. Markham resided with his parents until 1874, when he removed to the farm on which he now lives. He was united in marriage with Miss Emma M. White, on the 11th of October, 1876. They have one child, named Ada B.


Russell Markham
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Russell Markham dates his birth in McHenry county, Illinois, on the 3d of January, 1851. In 1854, the family came to Minnesota, and settled in Clearwater township, Wright county, where his parents still reside. In 1870, he obtained a situation with the corps of engineers then surveying for the Northern Pacific Railroad, continuing in that employment for three years, after which he spent four years in St. Cloud and Sauk Rapids. He settled on his present farm in 1877, and has since given his whole attention to its improvement. Mr. Markham was married on the 20th of December, 1874, to Miss Cora M. Benson, of Clearwater, Minnesota. Four children gather around the family board.


R. M. Mayo
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
R. M. Mayo dates his birth in Waldo county, Maine, on the 9th of May, 1833. He was reared in his native State, and engaged in lumbering until coming to Minnesota in 1855. Followed his former occupation here until the breaking out of the war, when he enlisted in Company E, of the First Minnesota Volunteer Infantry. Served with some distinction until wounded, near Fairfax Court House, after which he was compelled to lay in the hospital for months, and finally was discharged for disability on account of his wounds. He then returned to his native State and remained until 1866, when he settled on his present farm in Livonia. Mr. Mayo was united in marriage with Addie E. Burroughs, on the 24th of January, 1876.


Alfred Merrifield
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Alfred Merrifield, a native of the state of Maine, was born in August, 1835. He came to Minnesota in 1862, and has resided in Sherburne county ever since. He has been employed in the pineries and on the river most of the time. In 1874, he bought a farm on section thirty-one. Elk River township, and now resides there. Mr. Merrifield was married to Miss Harriet A. Lovett, of his native State. Their children are, Lora E., Alice M., Elwin S., Weston G., and Minnie B.


Samuel C. Milliman
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Samuel C. Milliman was born in what is now the city of Anoka, Anoka county, Minnesota, on the 19th of March, 1854, and was the first white boy born in that township. He was raised in his native town until about twenty years of age, when he removed with his parents to Sanford, Isanti county, making his father's house his home, being engaged in logging and lumbering. In 1875, he went to Colorado, and was employed in the mines a portion of two years. Returned to Isanti county in 1877, and in 1879, settled on his present farm. Mr. Milliman's wife was Miss Millie A. Wilber, the marriage taking place on the 1st of March, 1879.


Edward P. Mills
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Edward P. Mills, son of the subject of our last sketch, was born in Vermont, on the 15th of June, 1831. Came to Beloit, Wisconsin, with his parents, and remained until 1851, when he came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, taught school during the winter, and in the spring of 1852, engaged in mercantile business at that place, which he continued until 1855. Then went to Faribault, and remained until his removal to Elk River in 1868. Bought a half interest in the lumber and flouring mills at this place, from his brother, J. B. Mills, and has continued the business ever since. His sister, Mrs. Albee, owned the other half, but subsequently sold it to William H. Houlton, and the firm has since been Mills & Houlton. Mr. Mills was married in October, 1855, to Miss Stata M. Sanborn. Their children are John S., Harry D., Mary, and Frederick.


James B. Mills
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
James B. Mills was also born in Vermont, in the year 1838. Came west with the family, and remained with them most of the time until 1857, when he went to Glencoe, Minnesota, and two years later to Breckenridge, where he remained until 1861. Then went to Otter Tail City, and was employed in the land office one year, after which, he came to St. Cloud, which was his home for seven years, a portion of the time being engaged in the transportation business. In 1869, he came to Elk River, but having previously disposed of his interest in the mill business here, as mentioned in a previous sketch, remained but a few years only, going to Texas, where he was engaged in stock raising and also carried on a harness shop, until 1880, when he returned to Elk River. Mr. Mills soon opened a harness shop at Upper Town, which he still continues.


James H. Mills
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
James H. Mills, one of the most respected pioneers of Elk River, was born in Essex county, Vermont, on the 9th of March, 1798. He was reared on his father's farm until fourteen years of age, when he went to Portland, and entered his uncle's store, as a salesman. After several years experience behind the counter, he left his uncle and engaged in mercantile business on his own account, doing business in Portland, Brunswick, and Bangor, until 1840, when he returned to his native place. In 1846, he set out for the West, and arriving in Beloit, Wisconsin, again embarked in the mercantile line, which he continued until his retirement in 1880. From Beloit, he came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1854, and two years later, went to Faribault, and thence in 1867, to Elk River, where he still resides, a hale old man, in his eighty-fourth year. Mr. Mills was married in 1827, to Miss Naomi C. Webster, of New Hampshire, and hand in hand they yet travel together, nearing the shore of the bright beyond. They have been blessed with four children; Susan, who married George C. Albee, and was left a widow, on the 10th of June, 1865, Edward P., Octavia A., and James B.


Charles H. Mitchell
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Charles H. Mitchell, physician and surgeon, was born in Princeton, Illinois, on the 2d of May, 1854. After passing through the usual preparatory and collegiate courses, he graduated at the College of Physicians and Surgeons, at Keokuk, Iowa. Came to Elk River in 1878, and has since been in the active practice of his profession.


W. H. Mitchell
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
W. H. Mitchell, editor of the "Elk River News," commenced his career as a journalist in 1852, when, in company with his father, Hon. Martin Mitchell, he published the "St. Lawrence Free Press," at Governor, St. Lawrence county, New York. In the spring of 1854, he sold the office and came westward to Wisconsin, and in the spring of 1856, started the "Neenah Bulletin," at Neenah, Wisconsin, which he ran through the political campaign of that year, and sold. The following year he bought the "Wautoma Journal," which he published about three years, and in the spring of 1860, removed his office material to Anna, in southern Illinois, and published a paper advocating the election of Abraham Lincoln to the Presidency. Owing to the then unhealthy climate of that section, he decided not to remove his family, and sold his paper, the "Union County Record," came to Rochester, Minnesota, and commenced the publication of the "Rochester Republican," which he continued until 1866. Then sold the office to Messrs. Shaver & Eaton, and engaged in other business until 1871, when he purchased the "Northfield Standard," which financial misfortune compelled him to abandon after somewhat more than five years of successful publication. After about five years in other fields of labor, he again ascended the tripod, and took charge of the "Elk River News," in November, 1879, a seven column folio, which he at first enlarged to an eight column folio, and again to a six column quarto, as it is now published.


Peter Moeger
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Peter Moeger, a native of Germany, was born on the 1st of January, 1852. He learned the tailor's trade in his native country, and came to America in 1871. After spending a few months in New York, came to Minneapolis and remained one year. The next three years were spent in Chicago and eastern and southern cities, working at his trade. In 1875, he returned to Minnesota, and after remaining three years at Hastings, came to Elk River and opened his present merchant tailoring establishment. Mr. Moeger was married in 1875, to Miss Lena Schreimer. Their children are, John, Clara, and Earnst.


David Moores
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
David Moores was also born in Canada East, his birth dating on the 28th of September, 1839. Came to Elk River in 1869, and bought a farm on section thirty-one, where he has since lived. Mr. Moores was married to Miss Eliza J. Frazer, of Nova Scotia, and they have four children, Lizzie, William, Sherman, and Bertie.


James Moores
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
James Moores was born in Canada East, in the year 1844. He came to Minnesota in 1869, and selected a farm of eighty acres on section twenty. Elk River township, where he now resides. He was married in 1869, to Miss Sarah England, of Canada. Their children are, Eddie H., Lavinia C., Margery E., and Annie M.


Alva H. Nickerson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Alva H. Nickerson is also a native of the state of Maine, born in the year 1849. When he was three years old, the family came to Minnesota, and after living a short time in what is now Livonia township, Sherburne county, removed to Elk River, where they now reside. The subject of our sketch grew to manhood in this county, and was employed about the mills most of the time until 1877, when he bought a farm of one hundred and twenty acres, located in section thirty-three. Elk River township, where he now lives. Miss Cora Whittemore, of Temple, Maine, became his wife on the 21st of September, 1880.


Henry O. Nickerson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Henry O. Nickerson is a native of Franklin county, Maine, and came to Elk River, in May, 1854. He was employed about the Elk River House and farming for a time, after which he engaged in mercantile business. In the spring of 1862, he removed to Livonia township, and resided on a farm there until 1878, when he returned to Elk River. He has resided here ever since, though still carrying on the farm. Mr. Nickerson's wife was Mary Barnard. They have four children, Mary E., Freddie W., Harry, and Alice.


John Quincy A. Nickerson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
John Quincy A. Nickerson, Treasurer of Sherburne county since 1876, and thirty-two years a resident of Minnesota, was born in New Salem, Franklin county, Maine, on the 30th of March, 1825. After receiving such training as the common schools afforded, he finished his education at the Charleston and Corinth Academies in his native State, and subsequently taught school three winters. In 1849, he came to Minnesota, and after spending four years at St. Anthony, came to Elk River, and has resided here ever since. Mr. Nickerson, in company with B. F. Hildreth, purchased the only house in Elk River, and converted it into a hotel; it has been enlarged several times, but has done service as a public house, under the supervision of our subject, for over a quarter of a century. He also opened a farm the same year, which he still owns, besides several hundred acres since added. In 1856, he bought the general store of Mr. Brown, who had started it the year before, and after two years, sold it to his brother, H. Q. Nickerson. He was also engaged in the lumber business until 1870. In 1853, he was appointed first Postmaster at this place, and has held a number of county and town offices since. Mr. Nickerson was married on the 3d of October, 1852, to Miss Julia A. Farnham, also a native of the "Pine Tree State." They have had six children, five of whom are living; Clara Adelia, Abbie D., Edith A., Emma J., and Clifford F.


William Noot
Source: Saint Paul Daily Globe (Saint Paul, MN) November 23, 1884; transcribed by Mary Kay Krogman

PEN PICTURES OF ST. PAUL, MINNESOTA.
By T. M. Newson
Article XL.
William Noot

Among the many earnest Democrats with whom we met on our first arrival in St. Paul, I the year 1853,-the territory was then Democratic-none were more enthusiastic or more warmly devoted to their party, than William Noot and "Little Jack Morgan," the latter well known by the old settlers, as the Ohio Democratic politician. Noot and Jack were inseparable. They agreed on party issues; never faltered in their devotion to the memory of Andrew Jackson, and socially were hale fellows well met. Poor Jack! How often he tried to convince us that we were wrong in our devotion to the cause of the slave, and how often he regretted that one he so esteemed, should be misled by fanatical ideas. Unfortunately he did not live to see the results of the great rebellion, but died in early life, fully impressed with the belief that the Democratic party was the only pure and great and grand party which could save this country from destruction. Jack came to St. Paul sometime in 1852 or 1853, and of whom we shall have more to say. Mr. Noot we lost sight of for years, and supposed he was dead, when a mere accident found him alive and well, living at a serene old age in the town of Big Lake, Sherburne county, Minnesota.

WHEN AND WHERE BORN.
He was born in Wesel, on the Rhine, Prussia, in the year 1811; removed to Missouri in 1844; engaged in farming; married Nancy Merchant in 1845; came to St. Paul in 1847; remained here a short time, when he made a claim one mile above the mouth of Rum river, including the big island, but was driven off when the Winnebagoes were removed to Blue Earth county, they having a high old spree over his scoota-wa-boo, which they found, and which event Mr. Noot thus describes:

WHOOPING IT UP!
He had two barrels of whisky at this time, which he had sold to the Indian traders, and had it hid, according to instruction in a corn crib, but the Indians found it out, and then there was a lively tussel. They took every pot and pan he had, and even emptied his powder keg and filled that with whisky, and removed these vessels to where they camped that night, which was about three quarters of a mile from Noot's house. Himself and wife and little son then went to Mr. Folsom's at the mouth of Rum river, but there was no sleep. The Indians were very liberal with their whisky, and fortunately they were very good natured, so Noot and his family escaped with their lives.

Mr. Noot then bought a claim near St. Paul, sold it, and took another claim on the Fort Snelling reservation, in Reserve township. He served two terms in the territorial house of representatives, and translated the first message of Gov. Ramsey into German; voted for Abe Lincoln, but after the death of that good man he went back to his old love, the Democratic party. He enlisted in the Second Minnesota regiment and served his adopted country, and though not rich, he has been blessed with eleven children, and resides where he has made it his home for the past twenty years. One son is dead, three others and one daughter are married, and this veritable Noot, to our memory of thirty-one years ago, still lives at the advanced age of seventy-three, dreaming over again the pleasant times he had with little Jack Morgan and the good, old Democratic party of over a quarter of a century ago, having been a resident of Minnesota for about thirty-seven years.


Andrew Peterson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Andrew Peterson, a native of Sweden, was born in the year 1841. Came to America in 1872, and after remaining one year in Douglas county, came to Elk River township, and settled on section twenty, where he still resides. Mr. Peterson was married in 1861, to Miss Johanna Anderson. Their children are Tilda, Augusta, Effie, Frank, Fred, and Otto.


Edgar Phelps
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Edgar Phelps was born in Canada, on the 28th of February, 1833. Came to Minnesota in 1865, and after a stay of seven months at Minneapolis, went to Chisago county, where he was engaged in the manufacture of staves. In 1868, went to Faribault, and thence, after two years, to Otsego, Wright county, where he owned and operated a saw-mill for three years. In January, 1874, came to Elk River and was employed in a saw-mill two years, but has since been superintendent of the Mississippi and Rum River Boom Company, above Dayton. Mr. Phelps was married on the 13th of November, 1861, to Miss Hannah P. Shelters, of Highgate, Vermont. Their children are, Charlotte A., and Orlando I.


Loretto Pollard
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Loretto Pollard, whose birth-place is Sangerville, Piscataquis county, Maine, was born in the year 1840. His father kept a hotel, and Loretto was reared in that business, and farming. In 1866, came to Minnesota, and settled at Elk River, which has been his home ever since. First engaged in the cooper business, and after three years, was employed by William B. Eaton, cooper, whose business he subsequently purchased, and formed a partnership with a Mr. Featherston, which firm still continues the business. Mr. Pollard was married on the 29th of April, 1866, to Miss Hannah E. Nason, of his native State. They have one daughter, named Ellen L.


Sereno N. Putnam
Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Syndi Phillips

SERENO N. PUTNAM, register of deeds of Eddy county, is one of the early settlers of that region, and has been identified with the development and advancement of Eddy county. He is a gentleman of Broad mind and well educated, and is entitled to a foremost place amount the promoters of business matters. He has varied financial interest in agricultural lines, and is one of the substantial men in his community.
Our subject was born in Sherburne county, Minnesota, in March, 1861. His father, Henry P. (?) Putnam, was a farmer and merchant in Minnesota. Our subject is a descendant of a brother of Israel Putnam, of Revolutionary fame. The mother of our subject, whose maiden name was Caroline Newton, was of English descent, and the family settled in America in colonial times.
Our subject was the second in a family of five children, and was raised on a farm in his native state. He attended the country schools and also the Normal School at St. Cloud, Minnesota, and graduated from that institution in 1880. He began teaching school at the age of sixteen years, and followed that vocation most of the time for about five years, and in 1883 came to Eddy county, North Dakota. He entered claim to government land near Tiffany and began farming. He erected a 6x8 feet shanty an lived alone and followed farming with oxen. He continued farming until 1886, when he was elected county superintendent of schools, and was re-elected at the expiration of his term. He had his office on his farm, and served in that capacity two terms. He attended the department of law at the State University of Minnesota during the winter of 1890-91, after which he followed teaching a short time, and in the fall of 1894 was elected county register of deeds of Eddy county. He was re-elected in 1896, and again in 1898, and is now serving his third term in that position. He is an efficient officer, and enjoys popularity.
Our subject was married in 1888 to Miss Grace Brown, a native of New York. Mrs. Putnam is a lady of good education, and is a graduate of the Mayville Normal Schools of North Dakota. She taught school in North Dakota several terms, and her father was one of the early settlers of that state and was a farmer by occupation. Mr.Putnam is a member of the Knights of Pythias lodge and of the Masonic fraternity. He is a man who keeps abreast of the times on all important issues, and takes an active interest in the welfare of his community, and is deservedly held in high esteem by his fellowmen. In political faith he is a Republican, and stands firmly for the principles of his party.

Another Source:
Source: North Dakota Blue Book, 1913 Legislative Manual, Published under the direction of Thomas Hall, Secretary of State, 1913. Submitted by Linda R.

S. N. PUTNAM. (New Rockford), of the thirty-second legislative district, was born March 28, 1861, at Big Lake, Minn. He is a graduate of the State Normal School. St. Cloud. Minn., and took a special course in the law department of the University of Minnesota. Came to North Dakota in 1883. Held the position of county superintendent for two years, of register of deeds for six years in Eddy County. Was elected as a member of the house in 1906 and 1908. and was elected to his present position in 1912 as a progressive republican. He is married. Came to the state as a school teacher, engaged in the business of abstractor for eight years, and has engaged in farming, having a large acreage of land.


Josiah G. Smith
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Josiah G. Smith dates his birth at New Milford, Illinois, on the 4th of December, 1856. He learned the jewelry trade in Rockford, and in 1878, came to Elk River, and opened a repair shop, which he still prosperously continues. Miss Mary Ballard, of Wisconsin, became his wife on the 15th of January, 1877. Lora is their only child.


Benjamin N. Spencer
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Benjamin N. Spencer, deceased, was born in Pennsylvania, on the 30th of April, 1806. When a child, he removed with his parents to Ohio, where he grew to manhood, and at the age of twenty-two years, went to Indiana, where he was engaged in farming, and also worked at the carpenters trade. About 1854, he came to Minnesota, and lived in St. Anthony for a time, after which he went to Isanti county, and was engaged in farming for three years. In 1864, he came to the farm in Livonia township, where he resided until his death, which occurred on the 17th of March, 1881. Mr. Spencer was highly respected by those who had the pleasure of his acquaintance. He filled the office of Judge of Probate of Sherburne county, for two terms. His wife was Mrs. Sarah J. Thompson, a native of Tompkins county. New York, and a resident of Minnesota since 1849. She still resides on the old homestead.


Edwin H. Staples
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Edwin H. Staples is a native of Maine, born on the 11th of July, 1848. Came to Minnesota in 1867, and located at Stillwater, where he was engaged in farming three years. In 1870, he came to Elk River, and since then has followed the occupation of miller most of the time. Mr. Staples was married on the 1st of January, 1871, to Miss Esta Mabie, of Elk River. Their children are, Charles E. and Edna.


Charles F. Stimson
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Charles F. Stimson was born in York county, Maine, on the 19th of April, 1822. Came to St. Anthony, Minnesota, in 1848, and helped to get out the lumber that was used in building the first frame house at that place. He was engaged in lumbering, in the pineries, on the river, and in the mills, until 1880, when he came to Elk River township, and purchased the farm on which he now lives. This farm contains four hundred acres, located on sections ten, eleven, and fourteen, the dwelling being situated on the former. He was married in 1850, to Miss Olive Estes. Their children are, Albert L., Ella F., and William F.


John Stretch
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
John Stretch is a native of Upper Canada, and was born on the 4th of February, 1837. He was raised on his father's farm, which was his home until 1863. Then came to the state of Michigan, and was employed in a saw-mill about a year and a half, after which he came to Minnesota, and settled on his present farm. He was married on the 2d of January, 1863, to Miss Jane McCollum. Five children are the result of this union.


William T. Struble
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William T. Struble was born in New Jersey, on the 8th of April, 1837. When a young man, he learned the painter's trade, which has been his chief occupation through life. Came to Elk River in 1867, and has since devoted himself to his business, doing all kinds of plain and ornamental painting and paper hanging. Mr. Struble was married in 1864, to Miss Emma J. Drake, of his native State. Their children are, Emma, John C., Isadore T., and Anna I.


Muses H. Tarbox
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Rev. Moses H. Tarbox, Pastor of the Free Baptist Church, was born in the state of Maine, in the year 1824. He early began preparation for the ministry, graduated at Waterville College in 1849, and at Bangor Theological Seminary in 1855. His first pastorate was at Lewiston, where he remained three years, then ten years at Bangor, after which he traveled on a circuit three years. In 1871, he took charge of the church at Dover, thence to Houlton and Burnham, remaining three years in each place. Came to Elk River in March, 1880, and took charge of his present congregation. Miss Adrianna Weymouth became his wife in 1856; she died on the 12th of August, 1879, leaving five children; Mary L., Orin C, Joseph C., Augusta W., and Adrianna G.


James F. Taylor
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
James F. Taylor is a native of Michigan, born on the 8th of October, 1846. He was reared to agricultural pursuits, and, through life, has followed that occupation. Came to Elk River township in 1879, and bought one hundred and sixty acres of land on section seven, where he now lives. Mr. Taylor's wife was Miss Mary C. Bunker, of Jackson county, Michigan. They have five children; Elmer A,, Ida J., Lydia P., Emma, and Cora.


Amaziah Trask
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Amaziah Trask dates his birth in Lincoln county, Maine, on the 28th of March, 1810. At the age of twenty-one years, he went to sea in the merchant service, following that occupation nine-teen years, sixteen of which he was master of a vessel. He then settled on a farm in Kennebec county, his family having resided there since 1841, and followed the plough until coming to Elk River, in 1866. During the first four years of his residence here, he conducted a stage route in company with H. P. Burrell, but since then, was in no active business until the summer of 1880, when he purchased the Sherburne House, and now manages it, in company with his son, Bradford K, Mr. Trask was married on the 28th of February, 1839, to Miss Abigail H. Reed. Their children are, William A., Bradford R., Smith S., and Estelle E.


George B. Upham
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
George B. Upham, Sheriff of Sherburne county since 1878, is a native of New Brunswick, born in the year 1818. He came to Minnesota in 1869, and after remaining in Minneapolis all winter, came to Elk River the following spring. The first six years were spent in the employ of Horatio Houlton, in the manufacture of lumber, but since then has devoted his time chiefly to the sale of agricultural implements, and insurance. Mr. Upham was married on the 23d of November, 1848, to Miss Cecelia Spurr. They have nine children; Thompson, Edward S., Alice T., Mary L., George B., Cecelia S., Charles C, Bertha A., and Louisa R.


Charles S. Wheaton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Charles S. Wheaton, President of the Village Council, was born in Orange county, Vermont, in the year 1849. He came to Michigan in 1865, fitted for college at Kalamazoo, read law at Cassapolis University, and was admitted to the Bar in February, 1872. Then went to Syracuse, New York, and was admitted to practice at the Bar of that State the same summer. He then came to Minnesota, and was admitted to the Bar at St. Paul, in August, 1872. Came at once to Elk River, and has been in practice here ever since, filling the office of Judge of Probate, two years. Mr. Wheaton was married on the 30th of July, 1873, to Miss Sarah McClelland. Their children are. Myrtle P., Maud E., and May.


Harry H. Wheaton
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Harry H. Wheaton was born in Vermont, in January, 1852. When thirteen years old he came to Michigan, and after spending three years at school, went to Iowa, and was clerk in a store until 1874, when he came to Elk River. He soon formed a partnership with Mr. Norval, under the firm name of Norval & Wheaton, and engaged in mercantile business, which they still continue. This firm does an extensive business, the sales of 1880 amounting to nearly $20,000. Mr. Wheaton was married to Miss Mattie Boobar, the wedding taking place on the 9th of August, 1877.


Edgar White
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Edgar White was born in Franklin county, New York, on the 16th of July, 1839. When he was about eight years old, the family removed to Illinois, where Edgar grew to manhood. At the age of twenty-one years, he took his father's farm, and carried it on, his parents living with him until coming to his present home in 1872. Since coming to Clear Lake, Mr. White has been closely identified with the progress of the town, and has held the office of Supervisor and Assessor. He was married on the 29th of June, 1865, to Miss Emma Thurston, of Pennsylvania; they have five children.


Frank Thurston White
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853–ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Frank Thurston White – Sherburne County, Minnesota, has for its attorney a young man who has carried on a very vigorous contest for existence and success. The energy which he has displayed, even if it were not coupled with more than ordinary ability, must insure results out of the ordinary. Frank Thurston White was born April 9, 1866, at East Burlington, Kane County, Illinois, the son of Edgar and Emma C. Thurston White. His parents were farmers of moderate means. Mr. White is descended on his father's side from good old New England stock, his great-grandfather, James White, having been an orderly sergeant in the Continental army, and one of the "Green Mountain Boys." On his mother's side the family were residents of Ohio and Pennsylvania, since the early settlement of that country. Mr. White was brought to Minnesota by his parents when six years of age, coming overland in an emigrant wagon and arriving in May 1872. The family settled upon a farm near the Big Bend, in the town of Clear Lake. In those days game was abundant, and the first money earned by Frank was for furs caught by trapping. It was necessary for him to assist his father on the farm as soon as he was old enough to do so, and his education was gained under difficulties, in the public schools at Clear Lake and Clearwater, Minnesota; at Creston, Illinois, where he acted as a janitor of the high school in order to pay tuition; in the high school at Monticello, and in the spare hours which he was able to snatch from his other work at home. On leaving the high school at Monticello, Mr. White began the study of law with J. W. Perkins, in Minneapolis. After a few months he returned to assist his father on the farm. Returning to Minneapolis in a short time he was employed in the office of Hector Baxter, E. S. Gaylord, and other attorneys, assisting part of the time in the care of the law library. During this period he worked at the noon hour in a restaurant and carried the morning newspapers. Fie taught the village school at Clear Lake during the winter of 1888 and 1889, and immediately thereafter went to California, where he was employed in the sugar factory of Claus Spreckles. He returned to Minneapolis in 1891, resuming the study of law and took lectures in the night class at the University. In the winter of 1892 and 1893 he taught school in the Cater district in the town of Haven, and during the spring of 1893 he taught school in his home district and managed his father's farm. The fall of that year he resumed his course at the law school, taking day and evening lectures, and completed his legal studies June 7, 1894. The following day he was admitted to the bar on motion of Dean William Pattee, and was ready to open an office. His financial condition, however, was such that he was not able to do so, and he returned to the farm for a short time. It was during this visit to his home that he was nominated by the Republicans of Sherburne County for county attorney. He was opposed by the party bosses and by a combination between the Democrats and Populists, but he made a vigorous canvass and was elected by the narrow margin of seven votes. Mr. White has conducted the office with ability and to the satisfaction of the public. He is, as already slated, a Republican. He is a member of the Knights of Maccabees, the Odd Fellows and the Ancient Order of United Workmen. He joined the state militia in the summer of 1887 and was a member of Company B, First regiment, about two and a half years. He has never married.


H. T. White
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
H. T. White was born in Clinton county, New York, residing with his parents until seventeen years of age, when he went to work in an iron foundry at Wellington, and was employed there three years. In 1848, he went to Illinois and settled on a farm in DeKalb county, where he lived until coming to his present farm in 1873. Mr. White is one of the representative men of Clear Lake, having held nearly every town office since coming here. Mrs. White's maiden name was Almira Woolsey. They have four children; Emma M., Adah A., Wilber G., and Charles E.


Edward L. Whitney
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.
Edward L. Whitney, whose birthplace is in the state of Maine, was born on the 15th of September, 1851. When but a child, his parents came to Minnesota and settled in Anoka, but after a two year's stay, removed to Oak Grove township, in the same county, and in 1865, came to Livonia, where the family has since lived. Mr. Whitney resided with his parents until removing to his present farm in 1879. He was married on the 20th of June, 1876, to Miss Sarah Lougee. They have two children.


Nathaniel K. Whittemore
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
Nathaniel K. Whittemore, M. D., was born at Temple, Franklin county, Maine, on the 1st of January, 1848. His first course of lectures was taken at Harvard College, then two courses at Bellevue Hospital, New York, graduating in 1872. The following year he commenced practice in Elk River, and has remained here ever since. The Doctor is a member of the State Medical Society. He was married in November, 1874, to Miss Estelle E. Trask, of this village. Their children are Irna F. and Lee.


William H. Woodcock
[Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, 1881. Transcribed by the Alberti’s.]
William H. Woodcock is a native of England, born in the year 1855. His early years were spent in his native country, coming to America in 1880. After spending a few months visiting different parts of the country, in December of the same year, he came to Elk River, and has since been employed as salesman in the store of Horatio Houlton.

Sherburne County Home Page

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails