Finding Ancestors wherever their trails led with Genealogy Trails History Group

St. Louis County, Minnesota
Genealogy and History


Biographies

 

A-C

D-G

H-L

M-R

S

T-Z

Howard Abbott
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ABBOTT Howard T, Duluth. Res 2219 E Superior st, office 405-406 Lonsdale bldg. Lawyer. Born Feb 11, 1867 in Washington D C, son of Asa T and Fannie B (Cross) Abbott. Married Nov 20, 1895 to Gertrude P Markell. Educated in Army schools Fortress Monroe Va and Fort Hamilton N Y; public and high schools Minneapolis; U of M and U of Mich. Has been engaged in practice of his profession in Duluth 1891 to date.
 


Charles Adams
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ADAMS Charles Edward, Duluth. Res 1029 E 2d st, office 515 Torrey bldg. Lawyer. Born Oct 1, 1867 in Boston, Mass, son of Isaac M and Emeline (Twitchell) Adams. Married May 14, 1902 to Grace M Tennant. Educated in high school Fargo 1888; Princeton Univ 1892-93; graduated from U of M, A B 1896, law dept LL B 1900. Supt of public schools Granite Falls Minn, 1896-98; engaged in practice of law Duluth 1900 to date; court commr St Louis Co 1905 to date. Member Commercial and Boat clubs; K of P.
 


David Adams
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ADAMS David T, Duluth. Office 503 Providence bldg. Mining engineer. Born Sept 6, 1862 in Rockford Ill, son of Jane (Castoney) Adams. Received a public school education. Engaged in prospecting and mining on the Iron Range of Minn, Mich and Wis; gold mining in California and copper mining in Mexico; a pioneer of the Mesaba Iron Range; compiled and published the first map and was the first to develop merchantable iron ore on that range 1891; located and developed Fayal, Spruce, Cloquet and Adams groups of mines at Eveleth and established Adams Mining Co; located and developed Meadow Mine, Aurora and established Meadow Mining Co; located and developed Lone Jack, Victoria, Bessemer, Moose, Auburn and Commodore mines at Virginia; the Kanawha and Cincinnati at Biwabic; the Tener, Shenango and Weed at Chrisholm together with several other mines on different parts of the range; founder and locater of the town of Virginia and locater and promoter of the city of Eveleth. Pres, treas and dir of Adams Security Co; pres and dir of Meadow Mining Co corporations of Minn; and v pres and dir of California-Calaveras Mining Co of Cal. Member of Commercial Club Duluth; Order of Foresters and B P O E.


Arcadius Agatin
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

AGATIN Arcadius L, Duluth. Res 2402 E 5th, office Lonsdale bldg. Lawyer. Born Feb 7, 1868 in Russia, son of Ludwig and Antoinette Andrey-Kovicz Agatin. Married June 1890 to Marie Lanctot. Educated at Classical Gymnasium Grodno Russia; Lauderbach Academy Philadelphia. Graduated from law dept U of M 1889; began practice of law in Minneapolis; moved to Duluth 1890 where he has been continuously engaged in his profession to date. Examiner of titles for St Louis County; master in chancery U S Circuit Court. Member Kitchi Gammi and Commercial clubs.


Robert Angst
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ANGST Robert, Duluth. Office Wolvin bldg. Chief eng D & I R R. Born June 2, 1847 in Wyl Switzerland, son of Ulrich and Elizabeth (Ringer) Angst. Married in 1874 to Anna Haller. Educated in the common and high schools and Polytechnic schools Zurich Switzerland. First employed in city eng dept Zurich 1865-67. Engaged in topographical work in govt service 1867-69. Moved to U S 1869 and engaged in Jackson Lansing and Saginaw Ry until 1871. Draftsman and eng with C M & St P Ry in Minneapolis 1871-75; office eng for Green Bay and Minn R R Co in LaCrosse Wis 1876-77; asst city eng Minneapolis 1877-78; with M & St L R R as resident eng later as chief eng 1878-85; chief eng of C & Ind Coal road at Chicago 1885-87; chief eng D & I R R at Duluth 1887 to date. Served in Swiss light artillery. Member Kitchi Gammi, Northern Ry Club and Masonic fraternity.


Percy Anneke
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ANNEKE Percy S, Duluth. Res 523 E 2d st, office Fitger Brewing Co. Brewer. Born Aug 20, 1850 in Milwaukee Wis, son of Fritz and Mathilda F Anneke. Educated in public schools Milwaukee; college course in Switzerland. First engaged as bookkeeper in bank Milwaukee; with Schlitz Brewing Co until 1885; moved to Duluth and entered firm of A Fitger & Co brewers; incorporated 1905 as Fitger Brewing Co of which he has been sec and treas to date. Member Commercial , Kitchi Gammi and Yacht clubs.


Ludvig Arctander
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ARCTANDER Ludvig, Minneapolis. Res 2407 Irving av S, office 730 Temple Court. Lawyer. Born Jan 3, 1863 Skein Norway, son of A H and Caroline (Ahlsell) Arctander. Received college education in Norway and graduated from the Univ of Christiania Norway; immigrated to Minn in Sept 1881 and located in Minneapolis 1886 where he has been practicing continuously ever since except in 1893-4 when he was located at Duluth.


William B. Ardouin
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

William B. Ardouin, a successful prospector and dealer in iron properties, who has been a witness and promoter of the phenomenal growth and development of Duluth, is a native of Quebec, Canada, born Jan. 18, 1855, son of George G. and Mary (Teed) Ardouin, both natives of the Province of Quebec.

Charles J. Ardouin, father of George G. and grandfather of William B., came to America from London about the beginning of the nineteenth century. He sprang from a race of French Huguenots who fled from France to London to avoid religious persecution. He settled in Quebec but lived only a few years. By trade he was a jeweler and watchmaker. His wife, whose maiden name was Lee, lived to be over sixty years of age.

George G. Ardouin, son of Charles J., learned the drug business in Quebec, where he passed his entire life. Neither he nor his wife reached the age of thirty-five years. Mrs. Mary (Teed) Ardouin, wife of George G., was a daughter to John Teed, who came from Pomfret, England, and followed the trade of tailor at Quebec. He took an active part in the Rebellion of 1836, was imprisoned on account of the same, and was sentenced to banishment to Van Dieman’s Land, but was released by order of the British government on the eve of his departure. He married Miss Julia Meade, who came from Wexford, Ireland; she was a relative of Gen. Meade, the hero of Gettysburg. Of the children, six in all, born to George G. and Mary (Teed) Ardouin, three survive: Julia A., widow of the late Mr. Beaulieu, of Duluth; George G., in the Department of Labor, Canadian Government, Ottawa; and William B.

William B. Ardouin received the advantage of a common school education, afterwards read law and in 1882 came to Duluth and practiced in the United States Land Office for a time. Since 1893 he has given his chief attention to the exploration of the iron ranges in St. Louis county, spending considerable time in prospecting. He has made some valuable discoveries there, and he had begun his investigations as early as 1885. When he first came to Duluth there were but four buildings of more substantial material than wood. The development of the iron ranges, that have played so substantial part in the development of the whole region, have all taken place since then. Mr. Ardouin has taken a prominent part in all this, and his name has been linked with some of the most important discoveries.

In 1893, at Duluth, Mr. Adouin was married to Miss Ida Story, daughter of Thomas H. and Sarah A. Story, of Duluth. Mrs. Ardouin was born in Lindsay, Ont. This marriage has been blessed with two sons, one of whom died in infancy; the other, Louis R., is a manly little fellow who bids fair to make proud those who love him. Mr. W.B. Ardouin resided in Duluth until the summer of 1905, when he removed to Los Angeles, California.


John Arnold
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ARNOLD John B, Duluth. Res 4331 McCullough st, office 314-317 Burrows bldg. Lawyer. Born May 22, 1866 in Stanley, York county N B, son of Allen A and Martha (McAloon) Arnold. Married Sept 8, 1898 to Mette L Jones. Educated in public schools Eau Claire Wis; high school Merrill Wis; and U of M. First engaged as police court clerk and municipal court clerk Superior; admitted to bar and practiced in Duluth 1888; in Superior 1889-1903; asst dist atty Superior 1896-97; now engaged in practice in Duluth.


Luther Arnold
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ARNOLD Luther Bishop, Duluth. Res 218 15th av E, office 512 Wolvin bldg. Born Nov 9, 1868 at South Hadley Mass, son of Luther Hart and Harriet B (Bishop) Arnold. Married June 27, 1906 to Maud McVeety. Educated in the public schools of Boston. In service of C P I & P Ry in eng corps in Kan, Colo and Okla 1887-89; M & St L Ry eng corps 1890; same year transferred to Land dept; sec and dir W M & P Ry 1890; in charge of Land dept W M & P 1892; in charge of D & I R R Land dept 1899. Dir N A Tel Co; sec and dir Wis, Minn & Pac Ry Co; sec treas and dir Aitkin Farm Co. Member Minn and Town and Country clubs St Paul; member Kitchi Gammi and Northland Golf Club Duluth.


George Ash
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

George Ash, a retired lumberman of Duluth, where he has lived since 1882, was born in New Brunswick, Canada, Aug. 17, 1847, son of Allen and Rebecca (Mosher) Ash, both of whom were natives of Maine. Allen Ash was all his life a lumberman, and died in 1880. His wife passed away in 1853, leaving a family of five children, of whom three are now living.

George Ash was educated in the public schools of Port Huron, Mich., and on leaving school worked in the lumber woods for three years. He then obtained a position as logging foreman and was thus occupied for a few years at Port Huron and Melbourne. In 1882 he came to Duluth and worked in the woods as an explorer, often walking from one town to another. He was for eight years inspector of logs in this district, retiring in 1897, soon after which he had a paralytic stroke which deprived him of speech. He was at one time a considerable land owner along Ash river, which was named in his honor, and he still has property on the Range.

Mr. Ash married Feb. 25, 1867, Mary Doig, who was born in Scotland, her parents being John and Isabella (Robertson) Doig, also natives of Scotland, where they lived and died. The death of her parents occurring when Mrs. Ash was but a child, she came to New York, where she made her home with relatives. She was one of a family of five children, of whom four are living. Mr. and Mrs. Ash were the parents of the following children: Frank E., deceased; Louise I., wife of Frederick Ames, of Duluth; Edna J., a teacher in Duluth; and Fred D., a student in the Duluth high school. The family are members of the Baptist Church. Mr. Ash during his active career took a keen interest in public affairs, and was an alderman of Duluth for four years. He is a thirty-second degree Mason of the Scottish Rite.


Claude Atkinson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

ATKINSON Claude M, Hibbing. Res 311 Lincoln st, office 108 3d av. Publisher. Born Nov 14, 1862 in Appleton Wis, son of James F and Anna (Waterbury) Atkinson. Married Nov 24, 1886 to Ida M Lott. Attended common schools of Appleton Wis and learned printing trade in Escanaba Mich. Remained in Escanaba until 1879. Moved to Florence Wis and was engaged as printer in newspaper office. Moved to Crystal Falls Wis 1897 and established “Diamond Drill;” continued this publication until 1894; then went West and was employed on various newspapers. Finally located in Hibbing and bought the Missabe Ore a weekly paper. Appointed postmaster Hibbing 1906; terms expires in 1910. Member library board.


Joseph Austin
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

AUSTIN, Joseph E, Chisholm. Lawyer. Born Nov 18, 1876 in Good Thunder Minn, son of Orville H and Lorette B (Earl) Austin. Educated in graded school Good Thunder; graduated from high school Mankato Minn 1896 and from College of Law U of M 1903. Began practice of law at Gary S D 1903; removed to Chisholm same year and entered into partnership with Hon Edward Freeman continuing same until 1906; entered into partnership with H H Austin which continues to date. Member of Minn House of Representatives.


William Bailey
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

BAILEY William D, Duluth. Res 1007 E 2d, office 50 Lonsdale. Lawyer. Born April 3, 1868 in Grinnell Ia, son of James F and Cornelia (Doolittle) Bailey. Married June 12, 1901 to Ora Goodby. Educated in the public and high schools of Grinnell Ia; Gridley College A B 1891; Yale Law School LL B 1893. Engaged in the practice of law in Duluth 1894; member of Washburn, Lewis & Bailey 1896-1900; Washburn & Bailey 1900-1904; Washburn, Bailey & Mitchell 1904 to date. Member of Kitchi Gammim, Commercial, Boat & Yacht clubs of Duluth.


Festus Bannon
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

BANNON Festus L, Hibbing. Lawyer. Born Jan 6, 1873 in Providence R I, son of C E and Helen F (Duffey) Bannon. Married Jan 14, 1904 to Beatrice T Cunningham. Educated in common schools Providence and Iona, Murray county Minn; graduated from law dept U of M, LL B 1901. Engaged as contracting freight agent M & St L R R Co at St Paul until 1902; practiced law at Brainerd 1902-1904; in Eveleth 1904-1906; moved to Hibbing and has been engaged in the practice of his profession to date. Member M N G.


John Barton
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

BARTON John A, Two Harbors. Banker. Born July 9, 1877 in Two Rivers Minn, son of Albert and Beatrice (Trettle) Barton. Married Aug 8, 1905 to Helen H Currer. Educated in common, high and normal schools in St Cloud Minn; and St John’s Univ Collegeville Minn. Taught school 1893-94; salesman for farm machinery 1894-96; clerk Little Falls 1896-98; asst cashr of bank in Ely 1898-1902; assisted in re-organization of First State Bank; of which he is now cashr; sec-treas Lake County Land Co. Member Outlook Club B P O E.


Marcus Whitman Bates
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Nina Kramer

MARCUS WHITMAN BATES is one of many well known citizens of Duluth whose patriotism was demonstrated more than forty years ago and who did not hesitate to shed their life blood for the preservation of their native land. He was born in Geauga county, Ohio, April 26, 1840, and his parents, Abner Curtis and Laura W. (Baker) Bates, belonged to that sturdy class of pioneers who carved out homes from the wilderness of the “Western Reserve”. His grandfather, Abner C. Bates, sprang of an old New England family and spent his life in Massachusetts. His widow, whose maiden name was Whitman, was a descendant of John Whitman, of Weymouth, Mass., and one of her brothers was the father of Marcus Whitman, the famous Oregon pioneer, in whose honor the subject of this sketch was named. Mrs. Bates survived her husband some years and passed away in Ohio at an advanced age.

Abner Curtis Bates, father of Marcus W., was a native of Cummington, Mass., but went to Ohio in early life. In 1845 he located at Cleveland, where he built and operated a sawmill run by water-power. Later he lived in Allegan county, Mich., and died on a farm at Moline, in that State, at the age of eighty-three years. During the last forty years of his life he was afflicted with blindness, but bore his trials cheerfully. He was prominently identified with the Congregational church for the greater part of his life and had a useful and exemplary career. Mrs. Laura W. Bates was born in Ontario county, N.Y., and died at Moline in 1891, aged over eighty years.

Marcus W. Bates is the oldest survivor of eight children born to his parents. He attended the public schools of his native State and went with the family to Michigan. Thence in 1857 he went to Minneapolis, where he spent about two years and attended Excelsior Academy (then just opened) for one term. In May, 1862, he enlisted in Company B, 21st Michigan Volunteer Infantry, and remained in the service until his discharge from hospital in New York City in May, 1865. During the early part of its service his regiment was part of Sheridan’s Division, of the 20th Army Corps, but after the battle of Chickamauga it became a part of the 14th Army Corps. He was almost constantly in active service and won several promotions by his gallantry, being successfully made quartermaster sergeant of the regiment, second lieutenant and first lieutenant, and at the close of the war he was in command of Company C, of the 21st Michigan. Among the engagements in which he participated were Perryville, Stone River, Chickamauga, Averysboro and Bentonville, in most of which the regiment suffered severe losses. The dreary New Year of 1863, which was passed amid the rain and sleet at Stone River, made an impression upon his mind never to be erased. After the fall of Atlanta the regiment became part of Sherman’s army, taking part in the famous march to the sea and the subsequent campaign through the Carolinas. At Bentonville this regiment, then reduced to 231 men, formed a part of Buell’s Brigade, Carlin’s Division. This brigade, numbering 630 men in all, occupied a position on the extreme left of the Union lines and charged an entrenched division of ten thousand Confederates, driving them from their works, but the enemy rallied and nearly surrounded the Federals, who were forced to fall back. In this affair the 21st Michigan lost eighty-six men and five officers. Two hours later Mr. Bates was shot through the hip and remained in hospital at Davis Island until his discharge. It may indeed be said that no man in the service more truly deserved the honors accorded him.

Upon the recovery of his health in 1866 Mr. Bates engaged in the insurance business at Grand Rapids, Mich., and also organized the Grand Rapids Savings Bank, of which he was cashier for five years. He lived there until 1891, when he located in Duluth, which has since been his home. He deals in real estate to a considerable extent, including timber and mining lands in St. Louis county and timber lands on the Pacific coast. Though not an active politician he supports the principles of the Republican party and takes a wholesome interest in all public questions. He and his family are identified with Pilgrim Congregational church and he has filled a number of important positions in the Grand Army of the Republic and the Military Order of the Loyal Legion.

Mr. Bates married in 1861 to Mary E. Bisbee, daughter of Jared and Hannah Bisbee, of Moline, Allegan Co., Mich. Mr. Bisbee was a native of Cummington, Mass., where he was engaged in the manufacture of furniture, but about 1857 he settled on a farm in Allegan county, Mich., where he and his wife reached old age. The latter was born in Norwich, Conn. Mrs. Bates is a native of Hamilton county, Maine. She and her husband are the parents of one son, Marcus F., a well known business man of Duluth, and two daughters, Mabel and Mary.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore

BATES Marcus Whitman, Duluth. Res 319 E 4th st, office 4-5 Exchange bldg. Commission merchant. Born April 26, 1840 in Chester Ohio, son of Abner Curtis and Laura W (Baker) Bates. Married April 9, 1861 to Mary E Bisbee. Educated in common schools Chester and Cleveland O and Excelsior Minn Academy. Employed with Bassett & Co lumber Minneapolis 1857-58; enlisted in Grand Rapids in 21st Mich Inf and served in Civil War 1862-65; returned to Grand Rapids and organized Grand Rapids Savings Bank 1871; cashr of same until 1876; established and was sec of Grandville Plaster Co Grand Rapids from 1876; moved to Duluth and engaged in whol commission business 1891 to date; sec Northern Land & Lumber Co. Member G A R and Loyal Legion.


Capt. Thomas F. Bell
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Capt. Thomas F. Bell, one of the most popular and highly respected residents of Duluth, St. Louis Co., Minn., was born at Sault Ste. Marie, Mich., Jan. 10, 1835, a son of Dr. William and Jemima (Armitinger) Bell. Dr. Bell was born at Montreal, Canada, and his wife in Michigan.

(I) Grandfather William Bell was quarter-master sergeant in the English army, and also was postmaster at a fort for several years.

(II) Dr. William Bell was educated for the priesthood, but later studied law and was admitted to the bar, but not feeling satisfied with his profession, he learned the trade of a cooper. After this he went to England and entered Queen Elizabeth College, where for five years he studied faithfully, and then went home for six months. Returning he studied for two years more, when he returned to Canada and became a physician in the English army. After several years he went to Sault Ste. Marie, where he resumed his practice. Still later, he went to St. Clair, Mich., where he also remained for several years. The roving spirit of this talented man was not satisfied, and he removed to Canada, living on a farm there for a couple of years but at the same time following his profession, and finally he located permanently at Port Huron, where both he and his wife passed away. In politics he was a stanch Democrat, and was very well known throughout Michigan in his day.

The children born to Dr. William and Jemima Bell were: George, living at Luddington, Mich., formerly a sailor, but now a retired contractor; Henry, deceased, a sailor, as was also Alexander, deceased; Thomas F.; Flora; Kate, of Saginaw, Mich.; James, deceased, a sailor; Victoria, deceased; Charles, a sailor of Saginaw, Mich.

Capt. Bell was not given a very good education, and when he was permitted to attend school, he had to walk five miles. When only ten years of age, he began to follow the lakes, and was on various boats, with different captains. During his busy life he has not only served in the subordinate positions, but has been master and captain for over twenty-five years, and has sailed on all the lakes except Superior. He lived at Saginaw, Mich., for about a quarter of a century but since 1894 he has resided either in Duluth or Superior.

The first marriage of Capt. Bell was to Mary Galloway, of Detroit, Mich., who died leaving him one child, Annie. This daughter married Daniel McDonald, of Superior, Mich., and they have one child – Ethel. The second wife of Capt. Bell bore the maiden name of Mary Ann Sayers and lived in Saginaw, Mich.

Captain Bell has followed the calling of a sailor all his life, and can relate many thrilling experiences relative to his numerous voyages. He is well preserved, with a pleasant, genial manner, which makes and retains him numerous friends throughout the lake region.


Carl Berkelmann
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Carl Berkelmann was born in 1849, in Germany. He came to America in 1864, residing for six years in New York. Then coming to Duluth, for five years in a grocery store. In 1875, Mr. Berkelmann moved to Bismarck, and remained four years. Returning to Duluth, he has since been engaged in the furniture business.


George Berkelmann
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

George Berkelmann was born on the 16th of September, 1844, in Germany. He came to America, arriving in New York in July, 1861. Three years later he came to Minnesota and was employed in the coal mines on the upper Cottonwood, and also participated in the explorations of Walnut Grove. On the 15th of December, 1865, Mr. Berkelmann came to Duluth and was in the employ of the Minnesota Gold Mining Company, working for some time at Lake Vermillion. In 1868, he and three friends cut forty miles of the Duluth and Vermillion road, and also assisted in the building of the Duluth and Oneota county road. Then, after another exploring tour down the North Shore with Prof. R. M. Eames and H. Mayhew, he was employed as axman and later as commissary of the Engineer corps on the northern division of St. Paul and Duluth railroad. For two years Mr. Berkelmann was Town Clerk, and in 1870, acted as policeman, then as chief of police, filling the latter office under the first three Mayors of Duluth. From 1873 to ’77, he served as County Sheriff and since as County Auditor.


Thomas E. Blanche
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BLANCHE Thomas E, Duluth. Res 415 E 2d st, office 332 W Superior st. Railway official. Educated in the public schools of Buffalo. Engaged in railroad business in Buffalo with Michigan Central and Grand Trunk roads and in lake transportation in Lake Superior Transit Co and Anchor Lines; district freight agt Buffalo of the N P Ry 1896-1902; appointed gen agt in charge of passenger and freight traffic in Duluth for same road 1902, which position he still holds. Member of Kitchi Gammi, Yacht, Curling and Northern Railway clubs.


Lafayette Bliss
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BLISS Lafayette, Virginia. City school supt. Born Sept 15, 1865 in Chicago Ill, son of William A and Elizabeth G (Gartley) Bliss. Married in 1893 to Anna E Cohoon. Educated in public schools Chicago; graduated from Carleton College A B 1884. First engaged in teaching; supt of schools Waseca 1895-1904; supt schools Duluth 1904 to date. Member Commercial Club Virginia; Masonic fraternity.


Albert Block
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Albert Block is a native of Germany. He came to America in 1873, spent a few months at Boston, Massachusetts, and then came directly to Duluth. For about three years, he was engaged in different occupations; then, having learned the baker’s trade in the old country, he opened a bakery, and has since followed that business, his brother going in as partner a short time ago.


Col. Charles E. Bostwick
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Col. Charles E. Bostwick, one of the oldest underwriters in Duluth, and a most respected resident of that city, was born July 2, 1835, in Pine Plains, Dutchess Co., N.Y. He is the son of William H. and Emily (Dibble) Bostwick, and a grandson of Benjamin Ruggles Bostwick, who was born in New Milford, Conn., and removed to Pine Plains, Dutchess Co., N.Y., where he passed the remainder of his life, reaching the age of eighty-eight years. His wife also lived to about the same age. The ancestors of the Bostwick family came to America from the north of England, and settled at New Milford, Conn., about 1640. Members of this family served in the Revolutionary war, and at the present time there are representatives in almost every part of the Union.

William H. Bostwick carried on a mercantile business at Pine Plains and Amenia, N.Y., and died at the latter place, when over seventy. He was a successful business man, and influential in the affairs of his day, serving two terms in the State Legislature. He was a Democrat in politics. Mrs. Emily Bostwick died at the age of seventy-two years; she was a native of Pine Plains.

Charles E. Bostwick was a young child when his parents removed to Amenia, in 1838, and there he was reared and educated, attending the district schools and Amenia Seminary. In his twenty-first year he succeeded his father in the mercantile business at Amenia, where he also built and operated saw and grist mills, and he became quite active in local matters, serving as supervisor; he was the first supervisor elected on the Democratic ticket in the town of Amenia in twenty-one years. In July, 1862, Mr. Bostwick began recruiting men for the Union service, and he succeeded in raising 400. He entered active service as captain of Company B, 128th N.Y.V.I., was in camp at Baltimore from August to September, 1862, and was ordered thence to Gettysburg, to search for Confederate cavalry under Gen. Stuart, who was raiding towns in the vicinity. Later Mr. Bostwick was at Fortress Monroe, and in December, 1862, went to New Orleans, where his command joined Gen. Banks, who had been ordered to relieve Gen. Butler. They made the trip on the steamer “Arago,” and 1,300 men were confined on the vessel for forty-two days, only two hundred being fit for duty when they landed, our subject being one of the fortunate number. In May, 1863, he was appointed to the rank of major of an engineer regiment operating in Louisiana, and served as such until August, 1863, when he became a colonel of the 90th United States Infantry, with which he participated in the siege of Port Hudson. In the summer of 1864 he resigned his commission, and he subsequently served in the quartermaster’s department at Washington, D.C., until 1867, when he was transferred to the Department of Dakota, with headquarters at St. Paul. In 1870 Col. Bostwick resigned his position and located in Duluth. Since 1883 he has been connected with the firm of Mendenhall & Haines and its successors, Mendenhall & Hoopes, giving his chief attention to the insurance line.

Col. Bostwick was married, Feb. 13, 1863, to Catherine J. Douglas, daughter of David and Caroline Douglas, of Amenia, N.Y., and four children have come to this union: Emily, who died in infancy; Marion B., who died May 20, 1902, aged twenty-four years; Edith H.; and Harry D., who is employed as a commercial traveler for a wholesale house of Duluth. The family is connected with the Episcopal Church.


Samuel F. Boyce
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Samuel F. Boyce, a gallant veteran of the great Civil War and one of the most successful druggists in Duluth, was born in Wellsville, Ohio, Aug. 7, 1842, and is a son of Robert and Christina (Wilhelm) Boyce. His paternal grandparents, Robert and Sarah Boyce, came from Ireland during the early boyhood of their son Robert, and settled at Pittsburg, Pa. The grandparents attained old age. Robert Boyce, the father of Samuel F., went to Wellsville while a young man and settled on a farm. After reaching the age of sixty years, he was killed by falling from a horse which he was riding. Mrs. Christina Boyce survived until 1883, also dying at Wellsville. She was born about the beginning of the nineteenth century, in Virginia, where he father, George Wilhelm, lived and died on a farm. He and his wife were of German descent and each attained the age of about eighty years.

Samuel F. Boyce was educated at a Presbyterian academy in Wellsville taught by Rev. Mr. Lafferty. After leaving school he learned telegraphy in the same place and soon after the outbreak of the Rebellion, Aug. 11, 1862, enlisted in Company F, 104th O.V.I. He served until near the close of hostilities, receiving his honorable discharge March 20, 1865, having been made a sergeant of the company in the meantime. He saw much active duty and had a number of narrow escapes from death, but his most serious injury was a pistol shot in the right hand received at the battle of Franklin, which kept him in the hospital at Jefferson Barracks for some time and caused is final discharge, owing to his disability for further service. This ball was carried in his wrist until 1901. His regiment formed a part of the 23rd Army Corps, under the command of Gen. Schofield, and participated in the battle of Covington and the subsequent campaign through Kentucky, the siege of Knoxville, the battles of Cumberland Gap and Resaca, and served all through the Atlanta campaign after which it became a part of the command under Gen. Thomas. At the battle of Resaca his knapsack was shot away and on another occasion his cartridge box was smashed by a shell which otherwise would, no doubt, have caused a serious wound. His honorable military career and the patriotic spirit which he has manifested in civil life alike entitle him to the regard in which he is held by his fellow citizens.

After the war Mr. Boyce studied medicine with his brother-in-law, Dr. J.C. Sisson, of Bolivar, Ohio, but before completing his studies he went to Chillicothe, Mo., and purchased a drug store which he carried on from 1869 to 1884. Having been afflicted much of the time with hay fever in that climate, in the latter year he came to Duluth and purchased a drug stock. The next year, finding his health recovered, he accepted a position as secretary of the Richardson Wholesale Drug Company, in which he also became a stockholder, and took charge of a branch house which that concern established at Omaha. One season in that location having induced a return of his malady, he again came to Duluth and purchased another stock of drugs and has ever since carried on a retail business in the same location at the corner of Superior street and Fourth avenue west. In 1887 the building was destroyed by fire, his stock being almost a total loss, but two days later he temporarily resumed business in another location and, as soon as the new building was completed, returned to his old location. His business has steadily prospered and he enjoys a lucrative and constantly growing trade.

Mr. Boyce has formed numerous social and fraternal connections. He is commander of Willis A. Gorman Post, Grand Army of the Republic; he united with the Masonic fraternity at Wellsville, Ohio, in 1865, and is now a member of the Knights Templar Commandery at Duluth. Since coming to that place he has not been an active political partisan, but he has supported the principles of the Republican party since casting his first vote for Abraham Lincoln, in 1864. At Chillicothe, Mo., he served some years as a member of the board of education.

Mr. Boyce was first married in 1869, to Lucinda R. Kline, daughter of John and Catherine Kline, of Bolivar, Ohio. Mrs. Boyce died at Duluth Feb. 10, 1894, aged forty-seven years. She was the mother of three surviving children: Ida M. (Mrs. E.O. Gates), of Denver, Colo.; Charles F., a graduate of the University of Minnesota, and later a student at Cornell University, who is now following the profession of civil and electrical engineer at Port Arthur, Tex.; and Katherine of Duluth. On Dec. 14, 1898, Mr. Boyce was married to Minnie M. Gould, daughter of Pearson Gould, a native of Vermont, who died at Otsego, Minn., aged eighty-eight years. His wife was born in Maine and died in Otsego aged fifty-nine years.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BOYCE Samuel F, Duluth. Res 320 12th av E, office 329 W Superior. Drugs. Born Aug 1, 1842 in Wellsville O, son of Robert and Christina (Wilhelm) Boyce. Married in 1869 to Lucien Lane and in 1899 to Minie A Gould. Educated in common high and Presbyterian schools Wellsville O. Served in 104th Ohio Regt 1862-66; telegraph opr 1866-69; in drug business Chillicothe O; same Duluth 1884-85; sec Richardson Drug Co Omaha 1885; returned to Duluth 1886 and engaged in drug business to date. Member Commercial Club, Masonic fraternity and G A R.


Samuel Huntington Boyer
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BOYER Samuel Huntington, Duluth. Res 219 2d av E, office 207- 208-209 Lyceum bldg. Physician (R). Born July 1, 1866 in Oil City Pa, son of Samuel P and Carrie C (Huntington) Boyer. Married June 14, 1900 to Emma Meining. Educated in the common and high schools of Titusville Pa, Univ of Penn medical dept graduating M D 1890. On leaving college began practice of his profession in Titusville: removed to Duluth 1891 and has been actively engaged to date. Coroner of St Louis county 1901-1903; re-elected for term 1903-1905. Member of St Louis County and Minn State Medical societies, Commercial Club, B P O E, F O E and Masonic fraternity.


Henry Martin Bradley
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

The earliest mention in England of the name of Bradley occurs in the year A.D. 1183, at the feast of St. Cuthbert, in Lent. In the will of Ralph Smith, which was proved March 23, 1472, he mentions the farm had of Bradley. Again, in 1475, the will of Sir John Pitkinton, Knight of Yorkshire, bequeaths to his brother Charles a place named Bradley. History shows John Bradley was bishop of Shaftsbury in 1539. In 1578 Alexander Bradley is mentioned in the jurisdiction of Durham, and about the same year Cuthburtus Bradley was curate of Barnard Castle. Thomas Bradley was Doctor of Divinity and Chaplain to King Charles I. His son, Saville, was Fellow of Magdalene College, Oxford. About this time the persecutions in England forced many people to emigrate to America. Among the original list of emigrants a number of Bradleys are mentioned as having embarked for America. There are several distinct branches of the Bradley family in the United States, the founders of which came from England. The “Haverhill” branch was founded by Daniel Bradley, who was born in 1615 in England, and crossed the Atlantic in the ship “Elizabeth,” 1635. He married, May 21, 1662, Mary, daughter of John William, of Haverhill, and was killed by the Indians Aug. 13, 1689. He had seven children, two of whom were killed by the Indians March 15, 1697. There was also a Peter Bradley, a mariner. Francis Bradley was the founder of the “Fairfield” branch. He married Ruth, daughter of John Barlow, and died in 1689, leaving six children. There is a “North Haven” branch which was founded by Isaac V. Bradley, whose descendants are numerous and widely spread. There resided in the market town of Bingley, Yorkshire, England, a family by the name of Bradley, Christian name and occupation not known, of which history tells us that the head of the family was twice married, having had by his first wife one son, named William, and that by his second wife he had five children. Of William it is said that he was a stanch Dissenter and officer in Cromwell’s army. He emigrated to America in 1637 and joined the New Haven colony. Hearing of his father’s death a year or two later, he sent for his stepmother and her children. Their names were Ellen, Daniel, Joseph, Nathan and Stephen. The two youngest later became residents of Guilford, Conn. Their mother subsequently settled there and died in January, 1683. What is known as the “Guilford” branch of the Bradley family originated with Nathan and Stephen Bradley. Both married and left children. History reports that many of the descendants of these brothers became men of distinction in military service and other governmental positions. It is quite proper to note in this connection that William Bradley, the American ancestor, has many descendants who have made themselves conspicuous in State and national history. His wife was Alice Pritchard.

Henry Martin Bradley represents the seventh generation of the posterity of William and Alice (Pritchard) Bradley. He was born in Lee, Berkshire Co., Mass., May 7, 1824, son of William and Lucy (Ball) Bradley. His father was a tanner and currier and also manufactured shoes at Lee. In May, 1835, he moved to Wellington, Ohio, settling on a new unimproved farm, where he died. Henry Martin Bradley attended the public schools, which afforded such education as was common on the Ohio frontier in that day. He was early inured to the hard work of clearing up and developing a farm in a wooded country, which materially interfered with obtaining a higher education. He left home in 1841, going to Seville, Ohio, to serve an apprenticeship in a woolen mill located there. Subsequently he settled at Litchfield, where for a time he conducted a woolen mill, but not having sufficient capital to advantageously continue the business he sold out and went to Sparta, Ohio. There he built a sawmill and later added a grist mill. These interests he sold in 1855 and went to Bay City, Mich., where he accepted the superintendency of a large lumbering concern, continuing this for four years. His next venture was in a sawmill he purchased, and which he successfully operated from 1860 to 1877. Meanwhile he was extensively engaged in manufacturing salt. In 1881 he came to Duluth for the purpose of recruiting his health, which had become somewhat impaired by years of close application to business, and for nearly two years thereafter he busied himself exploring the adjacent regions for the purpose of locating timber on government lands, and was for a time a partner in the lumbering firm of Bradley, Hanford & Co., in which his son still retains an interest. Also, for some years Mr. Bradley was active in exploring iron lands on the Vermillion and Mesaba ranges, where he located interests which he subsequently leased to the Chandler Iron Company, from which he still receives royalties. He has also leased extensive properties to the Oliver Mining Company, and still holds considerable undeveloped iron land. In 1901 he became interested in California orange culture, and has 140 acres of choice orange land, seventy acres being covered with growing and bearing oranges.

Although Mr. Bradley’s life has been one of strenuous activity, superinduced by extensive business combinations, he has, withal, not been unmindful of his spiritual necessities, but has taken an active part in the dissemination of religious truths for his brother’s as well as his own good. Despite his days and a year of labor he has always been found a regular attendant at every church service on the Sabbath day, and he has as well given freely of his means for the support of the Gospel. He was the principal contributor in the building of the First Methodist Episcopal church of Duluth. He was a member of the building committee and is still chairman of the board of trustees. While living in Bay City, Mr. Bradley acceptably served in the city council four years. While there he was also active in organizing the water department of the city and served on that board ten years. He aided in organizing the fire department, of which he was chief engineer five years, and for five years was a member of the board of education. Since living in Duluth he has filled a similar position for three years, being president of the board for two years. He has been a steadfast supporter of the principles of the Republican party since its first organization.

Mr. Bradley was united in marriage Jan. 1, 1846, with Miss Mary E., daughter of Alva and Lydia (Cooper) Cook, of Medina county, Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Bradley are the parents of eight sons and daughters, and their posterity includes nineteen living grandchildren and four great-grandchildren. The record of their children is as follows: Alice A., widow of Guardis D. Edwards, of Duluth; Alva W., of Duluth; Elisha L., who was drowned at Bay City, Mich., July 12, 1858; Charles H., of Duluth; George M., who died at Bay City; Frank B., who died at Cleveland, Ohio; Edward L., of Duluth; and Addie May, Mrs. Carl Norpell, of Newark, Ohio.


Thomas Pringle Bradley
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BRADLEY Thomas Pringle, Duluth. Res 211 E 3d st, office 212 Palladio bldg. Lumber and cedar. Born May 13, 1881 in Bay City Mich, son of Edward L and Lucretia A (Pringle) Bradley. Married Aug 10, 1904 to Emma Black. Educated in the common and high schools of Duluth. Entered lumber business and was employed in various capacities 1898-1902; sec of Duluth Log Co 1902; sec and gen mngr of same 1904; sec and gen mngr Duluth Cedar Co. Member Commercial, Yacht, Boat and Curling clubs, Masonic fraternity and B P O E.


Thomas F. Brady
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BRADY Thomas F, Hibbing. Res 1019 3d av, office 218 Pine st. Public official. Born Mar 27, 1868 in Houghton Mich, son of Thomas M and Margaret (Friel) Brady. Married 1897 to Anna Haben (died April 3, 1905); Dec 16, 1906 to Delia La Franc. Educated in the common and high schools Houghton Mich graduating 1886 and attended law dept Notre Dame Univ 1887-89. Editor of newspaper Ontanagon Mich 1890-91. Removed to Duluth 1892 and entered law office of his father Thomas M Brady under firm name of T M Brady & Sons until 1894. Removed to Grand Rapids Minn with father and remained 1 year; thence to Hibbing where he has been engaged in practice to date. Township clk Hibbing 1896-1900; village recorder 1900-1903; municipal judge of Hibbing 1904-1907; re-elected 1907 for 3 years; village atty 1905-1906. Member B P O E and K of P.


John Brandt
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

John Brandt, a retired contractor and builder, is one of the successful Scandinavian-American residents of Duluth. He was born in Sweden, Dec. 18, 1842, son of Andrew and Hannah (Johnson) Brandt. Andrew Brandt spent thirty-three years of his life in the Swedish army, and after leaving the service settled down to farming. His wife died in 1846, but he lived until 1888, dying in his eighty-sixth year. Only two of their six children are now living, John being the next to the youngest.

John Brandt was educated in Sweden and there learned the trade of carpenter. He came to the United States in 1869, his first stopping place being Chicago, whence he came in the summer to Duluth, arriving there July 7. For a few years he worked at his trade and then began taking building contracts. In 1875 he returned to Sweden, where for five years he and his brother were engaged in building and contracting. Coming back to the United States in 1880, he settled in Minneapolis, doing contracting there until 1891, when he came again to Duluth and continued in the same business until 1896, the year in which he retired from active life. Among the larger buildings erected by Mr. Brandt are the St. Louis County Poor House and the German Lutheran church.

On Nov. 17, 1877, Mr. Brandt married Jennie Ohman, daughter of Nels and Christiana Ohman, both natives of Sweden. Nels Ohman, whose business was that of wagon making, died in his native country in 1888, at the age of seventy-six. His wife lived to be over ninety, and died in 1902. Of their five children three are living, Mrs. Brandt being next to the oldest. To Mr. and Mrs. Brandt have been born the following children: Nels and Hjalmer, both deceased; Hjalmer, a student in the University of Idaho; and Olga, deceased. Mrs. Brandt has business capacity as well as her husband, and is a successful milliner in Duluth. They attend the Unitarian church, and Mr. Brandt is a Republican in politics. He is a member of the Old Settlers’ Club in Duluth and Superior, and fraternally is connected with the A.F. & A.M., Blue Lodge, No. 79, of Duluth, and St. John’s Chapter, of Minneapolis.
 


Frank A. Brewer
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BREWER Frank A, Duluth. Res 2215 E Superior st, office 30 Mesaba blk. Lumber and mining. Born Nov 28, 1854 in Oakland county Mich, son of Addison P and Sarah Brewer. Married Sept 1877 to Jennie Duncan. Educated in the common and high schools Saginaw Mich and Albion College Mich. Engaged in lumber business as Duncan & Brewer until 1875. Moved to Duluth in 1880 as member of firm of Duncan, Gamble & Co, loggers and mnfrs; succeeded by Duncan, Brewer & Co in 1887 which firm continues to date; also pres Duncan & Brewer Lumber Co (Inc). Elected member of Board of Education term 1906-1909. Member Commercial Club.


Rinaldo R. Briggs
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BRIGGS Rinaldo R, Duluth. Office 900 Torrey bldg. Lawyer. Born April 20, 1851 in Lake Mills Wis, son of Silas H and Sarah Ann (Reed) Briggs. Married July 4, 1875 to Lizzie Bascombe. Educated in the common schools of Wis and high school at Winona Minn. Studied law in Winona and was admitted to the bar in 1873. Practiced in Winona and Moorhead 1873-90. Moved to Duluth 1890 and has been continuously engaged in general practice to date. Has large interests in various firms and corporations. Member Minn State and American Bar assns; Commercial Club Duluth; delegate to gen conference M E Church 1884.


John Harvey Brigham
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BRIGHAM John Harvey, Fond du Lac. Office 516 Torrey bldg Duluth. Lawyer. Born June 14, 1858 In Townshend Vt, son of B B and Mary E (Holbrook) Brigham. Educated in the common schools of Townshend Vt, Vermont Baptist Academy Saxton's River Vt graduating 1881; Univ of Mich law dept LL B 1885. Located in Duluth 1886 and engaged in the practice of law with William A Cant as Cant & Brigham until 1890 since which time he has been practicing alone.


Michael S. Bright
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. Publ. 1907 Transcribed by Rhonda Hill

BRlGHT Michael S, Duluth. 509 First Nat Bank bldg. Lawyer. Born Mar 29, 1866 in New York N Y, son of Michael S and Sarah (Lodge) Bright. Married June 4, 1890 to Lorene Carnahan. Educated in public schools Madison Ind; Perdue Univ Lafayette Ind and studied law in office of Hill & Lamb Indianapolis Ind. Admitted to bar 1887 and was of firm of Hill, Lamb & Bright until 1890; practiced in Superior Wis 1890-96; moved to Duluth and practiced to date. Chairman Douglas Wis Board of Supervisors 1898-99; member Commercial and Boat clubs Duluth; Minn Club St Paul; Indiana Society of Chicago and American Bar Assn.


Milie Bunnell
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Renae Donaldson

BUNNELL Milie, Duluth. Res 2017 E Superior st, office 24-26 E Superior st. Publisher and editor. Born Dec 4, 1861 in Goodrich Mich, son of Miron and Viola (Mathewson) Bunnell. Married Oct 9, 1888 to Elizabeth Birney Kribs. Educated in the common schools Bay City Mich Ann Arbor. Established the Cheboygan Democrat Cheboygan Mich 1880; moved to Albuquerque N M and engaged as city editor of the Albuquerque Journal 1881-83; moved to Duluth 1883; established and conducted the Duluth Evening Herald 6 years; moved to Kansas City Mo and was managing editor Kansas City Globe 1889-90; political correspondent Kansas City Times 1890-96; returned to Duluth 1897 and purchased the News Tribune in 1899 of which he has been v pres and gen mngr to date. Member Kitchi Gamma, Commercial, Northland Country Yacht and Boat clubs.


Herman Burg
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Herman Burg is a native of Germany. In 1852, he came to America, located in Detroit, Michigan, and resided four years. Then, after living two years at Duluth, he removed to Ontonagon County, Michigan, remaining until 1866. In the latter year he went to Lake Vermillion, and was employed in the mines until coming to Superior City. In 1870, he returned to Duluth, and opened the Lake Superior Meat Market, which business he still continues, supplying many of the boats at the head of the lake, besides a large city trade.

Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Herman Burg, a farmer and lumberman of Duluth, is one of the prosperous German-American citizens of that place. He came first to Duluth as far back as 1856, and after living in many other places settled there permanently in 1869.

John P. Burg, father of Herman, was a wine manufacturer and merchant in Germany, but after coming to Duluth settled down to farming. He married Barbara Sweitzer in Germany, and in 1852 brought his family to America. They settled first at Windsor, Ont., afterward moving to Detroit, Mich., where Mrs. Burg died in 1854. In 1855 John P. Burg came to Duluth, where he cleared a farm on which he lived until his death, in 1870. He and his wife were the parents of nine children, of whom only four are now living.

Herman Burg was born in Germany March 22, 1841, and remained in that country until he was eleven years of age, when he came with his parents to America. All of his schooling was received in his native country, his working life beginning on his arrival in the new world. He helped his father on the farm at Windsor, and moved with the family to Detroit. From there he went alone to Mackinaw, where he worked for six months as a hotel waiter. In 1854 he went to Chicago, and two years later to Superior, and helped his father clear his farm near Duluth. After that he went to Ontonagon county, Mich., where he worked in the copper mines from 1858 to 1865, in the winter of that year, with a number of others, walking all the way to Superior on the ice. Purchasing a supply of provisions and other goods, he went to Vermillion during the gold excitement, remaining until 1866, when he returned to Superior and stayed until 1870. In that year he went to Duluth, where for sixteen years he was engaged in the meat business. Until the railway was built between the two cities he was obliged to drive all his cattle from St. Paul to Duluth. In 1886 he went with a party to the Nova Scotia gold mines, where he remained three years. Returning to Duluth he went into the lumber business, in which he has ever since been engaged. He also owns and operates a sawmill at Burg Park, Wis., and is quite extensively engaged in farming at that place, which was named in his honor.

On May 3, 1861, Mr. Burg married Anna Kugler, of Duluth, daughter of Fred and Friedericka Kugler, natives of Germany, where Mr. Kugler was a sheep raiser. He emigrated to this country and both he and his wife died here. Five of their nine children are living. Mr. and Mrs. Burg have three children, as follows: Edward F., a soda water manufacturer of Duluth and Superior; Rose A., at home; and Arthur H., associated with his father in the lumber business. The family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Burg is a Republican in politics and was an alderman of Duluth for four years. Fraternally he is a member of the I.O.O.F., Lodge No. 28, of Duluth, and the A.O.U.W., Lodge No. 10, of Duluth.


Andrew H. Burke
Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. Published by The Minneapolis Journal, 1897 – transcribed by AJ

The subject of this sketch is in the truest sense of the word a self-made man. Born in New York City, May 15, 1850, of humble parentage, he was left by the death of both father and mother at the age of four years a homeless and friendless child in a great city. That beneficent institution which has done so much for unfortunate childhood, the Children's Aid Society, took him in charge, and at the age of eight years he was sent West, where a home had been found for him with a farmer who lived near Noblesville, in Indiana. Here he lived and developed into a promising lad of exemplary habits until he reached the age of twelve years. In 1862 he ran away to enlist in the service of his country as a drummer boy in the Seventy-fifth Indiana volunteers. After serving in the war he returned home to take advantage of such educational facilities as he was able to procure, with the money he had saved from his pay as drummer. He was enrolled as a student at Asbury, now De Pauw University, at Greencastle, Indiana. From lack of means, however, he was unable to pursue his studies there as long as he desired, and was obliged, therefore, to lay aside his books and seek employment in business channels. Among his important
business engagements was that of business manager of the Evansville, Indiana, Courier. Subsequently he removed to Cleveland, where he was employed in the service of a commercial agency. In 1877 he came to Minneapolis and was for two years employed as a bookkeeper by N. B. Harwood & Co., wholesale dry goods merchants. He was a fellow employe with S. E. Olson, now one of the prominent department store merchants of Minneapolis, and formed a close personal friendship with that gentleman which has continued ever since. Later he was employed by a lumber firm at New York Mills. In 1880 he removed to Casselton, North Dakota, where he was for a time engaged in commercial business, and subsequently became cashier of the First National Bank at that point. While holding this position he was elected treasurer of Cass County, and was twice re-elected and resided at Fargo, the county seat, during his six years incumbency of said office. In 1890 he was nominated by the Republicans for governor of North Dakota and elected, being the second officer of that rank in the new state. His administration was a very successful one, highly creditable to himself and advantageous to the state. Upon the expiration of his term as governor he removed to Duluth, where he now resides, and is engaged in the gram commission business. In this he has been highly successful, his honorable record both public and private in North Dakota having served to bring him business in his chosen line in larger volume than he would otherwise have enjoyed. Governor Burke, as he is still known, is a gentleman of high character, genial manners, and creditable literary attainments, and is held in great esteem by the people of North Dakota and Minnesota, who admire him for his sterling qualities and his native ability, and the distinguished success which he has achieved in spite of the adverse circumstances of his youth. He was married in Minneapolis in 1880 to Miss Carrie Cleveland, who was then a teacher in the public schools, of that city. He has two daughters, who are twins, born in October, 1885. Governor Burke is a thirty-third degree Mason, and, although not a member, is a liberal supporter of the Episcopal church, to which his wife and daughters belong.


Thomas J. Burke
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Renae Donaldson

BURKE Thomas J, Duluth. Res 1025 E 2d st, office 5th (foct West). Merchant. Born Aug 5, 1860 in Hopkenton mass, son of Patrick E and Margaret (Walsh) Burke. Married Sept 4, 1905 to Helen Krappel. Received his education in public and high schools of Mass. First engaged as clerk in Stillwater 1877-83; with whol grocery firm 1883-85; trav salesman for Allen Moon & co St Paul 1885-89; mngr Salway (Minn) Mercantile Co 1889-1906; mngr Gowan-Peyton-Twohy Co whol grocers Duluth 1906 to date. Member B P O E.


Capt. Samuel E. Burnham
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Capt. Samuel E. Burnham, owner of the steamer “Mayflower” and one of the leading men of Duluth Heights, a suburb of Duluth, was born July 13, 1830, at Bangor, Maine. His father, Robert Burnham, of the same place, was in turn a son of Capt. Samuel Burnham, of Portland, Maine, a sea captain, who followed his sea faring life until his death. He sailed to many foreign countries, but died in Maine.

By occupation Robert Burnham was a farmer, and he lived and died in Penobscot, Maine. In addition to attending to his farming, he was a man of affairs, holding many of the town offices as a representative of the Democratic party. Robert Burnham married Miss Mary Anderson, of Penobscot county, and they had eight children: Samuel E.; Ferdinand, a gunsmith, now residing at Washington, who during the Civil War served in the 2nd Maine Battery; Anna, who lived with Samuel E., during her latter days, and died at Duluth; Atwood F. J., who was in Texas (a railroad man) when last heard of; Charles, a jeweler of Colfax, Cal.; Edwin, who died young; Elizabeth, who died young; and Robert, formerly a sailor, now working on a railroad in Cuba (he lost both hands in a mine explosion).

Capt. Samuel E. Burnham received a common school education, and resided at home on the farm until he was twenty-one years of age, when he went to Bangor, Maine, and worked at piano making until the breaking out of the Civil War. He helped organize Company A, of the 18th Maine Vol. Inf., and entered the service May 21, 1862, as second lieutenant. The company was at Washington, D.C., about a year, when it was sent to join the Army of the Potomac, and participated in all the engagements of that body. During the winter of 1864 Lieut. Burnham was promoted to the rank of captain of his company. On June 18, 1864, he was wounded at Petersburg, knocked down, and had his left leg broken. This accident necessitated a stay in the hospital for some time, during which the brave spirit chafed against the enforced inaction. After his recovery he did light duty at Washington City for about two months, then continued with his command until the close of the war, when he had the honor of participating in the Grand Review. Capt. Burnham received his discharge at his home, Sept. 11, 1865.

After the war, finding such changed conditions existing in the East, Capt. Burnham removed to Saginaw, Mich., and was also at Bay City, Mich., where he built boats, and engaged on the lakes until 1894, when he came to Duluth, and became interested in the 21st Avenue Ferry. In 1902 he was appointed by the government to attend to the lights and buoys in the harbor, and still later he bought the steamer “Mayflower,” which he runs as a ferry and passenger boat.

The first marriage of Capt. Burnham took place in 1860, when he was united with Mary W. Hewings, of Hudson, Maine, who died in 1897. On May 5, 1902, the Captain was married to Anna Blair, of Ontario, Canada.

Culver Post, G.A.R., recognizes him as one of its most popular and honored members and active workers. For many years Capt. Burnham has supported the Republican party, in fact during all of his voting years. Although he is seventy-four years of age his sound physique, soldierly bearing and genial, cheery manner, make him appear much younger. He is very active; possesses a remarkable memory, and rejoices in the fact that sight and hearing are both unimpaired. Few men are more generally respected and honored in Duluth and St. Louis county than this grand old veteran of the Civil War.


Henry A. Campbell
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Henry A. Campbell, a native of Nova Scotia, was born in 1850. At the age of nineteen years he removed to Reading, Massachusetts, remaining for one year in the boot and shoe business, and then came to Minneapolis, Minnesota. The two years following he was employed on the Northern Pacific Railroad, going from place to place as the road advanced, and keeping a small stock of boots and shoes. Then, until April, 1880, he was engaged in the general merchandise business at Brainerd. In the latter year he came to this place, where in connection with boots and shoes he keeps a line of dry goods, hats, caps, clothing, &c., being a member of the firm of Campbell & Smith. Their increasing business obliged them to enlarge their store, and they are now having a heavy trade.


Dennis M. Cannon
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

This esteemed citizen of Superior, an efficient employee of the Duluth, South Shore and Atlantic Railway Co., was born in Dodge county, Wis., Aug. 27, 1851, son of Cornelius and Anastatia (Murphy) Cannon. The parents were both natives of Ireland, the former born in County Donegal, and the latter in County Carlow.

Dennis Cannon, grandfather of Dennis M., came to the United States with his family about 1835. He had been a linen weaver in Ireland, but after living in New York and Pittsburg, Pa., he located on a farm in Columbia county, Ohio, and for the rest of his life was occupied as a farmer. Thinking the chances better farther west, the family moved to Wisconsin in 1848, and he followed farming in Dodge county. He died in Outagamie county, Wis., at the age of seventy-eight years.

Cornelius Cannon, son of Dennis, preceded his father to Wisconsin, in 1847, settling on a farm of 160 acres of government land in Dodge county. This tract improved greatly and he then sold out, locating in Waupaca county, where he remained until his death, in 1890, at the age of seventy-four years. He was a most worthy and industrious citizen, but found neither time nor inclination to take part in public affairs. His wife is still living in Waupaca county, and is now nearing her seventy-fifth birthday. She came to this country with her parents about 1849. Her father, Thomas Murphy, settled in Dodge county, and died there only a year or two later, while his widow, Catherine Murphy, survived him many years, dying when eighty-three years old.

Dennis M. Cannon spent most of his boyhood in Waupaca county, attending the public schools there. At twenty-two he began to learn the carpenter’s trade, and worked at house building until 1887, when he entered the employ of the Wisconsin Central Railroad Co., as a bridge builder. He did most of the work on the original bridges and buildings of the road between Chicago and Menasha. He was with the Chicago & Northwestern road for over two years, in the Peninsular division, with headquarters at Escanaba, Mich. Since 1891 Mr. Cannon has been employed by the Duluth, South Shore and Atlantic Railroad Co., and is foreman of the bridges and buildings on the Duluth division. He has charge of all work in his line between Duluth and Saxon, Wis., and has from six to twelve men under him.

In 1885 Mr. Cannon was married to Miss Agnes McCole, daughter of Cornelius and Catherine (Higgins) McCole, of Chilton, Wis., both now deceased. Mr. McCole came to Wisconsin from Ohio in 1855, with his parents, Patrick and Catherine McCole, who had left Ireland twenty years before. Mr. and Mrs. Cannon have three children, Anastatia Lucile, Cornelius and Charles Bernard. The family are connected with the Catholic Church. In political belief Mr. Cannon is a Republican. In 1899 he built a very comfortable residence on West 6th street, Superior, one of the best homes in that part of the city, and one ever open in hospitality to the many friends of the family.


John R. Carey
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

John R. Carey was born in Maine on the 3d of March, 1830. On the 12th of April, 1853, he came to Minnesota with a New England colony; resided in St. Paul two years, and came to Superior City, Wisconsin, on the 2d of June, where he was engaged in the boot and shoe business. He took a claim, and in October, 1855, voted for a Delegate to Congress, it being the first election ever held in the county. In October, 1857, he removed to Oneota, and assisted in the entry and settlement of that town. Mr. Carey was elected Judge of Probate in October, 1859, and re-elected for five successive terms; was appointed United States Commissioner for the district of Minnesota in 1862, by Hon. R. R. Nelson. In 1869, he was elected Clerk of the District Court, re-elected three terms, and has also held the office of City Justice for two years.

Source: Minnesota Territorial Pioneers - Biographical Sketches of Territorial Pioneers - Contributed by Jo Ann Scott

John R. Carey, of Duluth, was born at Bangor, Maine, March 3d, 1830. He arrived at St. Paul May 12th, 1853, on the stern wheel steamer Clarion with a New England colony, of which he was a member. In 1859 he was appointed U. S. commissioner for the District of Minnesota by judge R. R. Nelson; which office he has held to the present time. He was judge of probate from 1859 to 1871; clerk of District Court from 1870 to 1882; register of U. S. land office from 1882 to 1885; city justice of Duluth, 1872 to 1874, and alderman of the city for one term. For the past fourteen years his occupation has been dealer in real estate.

His wife, formerly Hannah E. Terry, died April 12th, 1897, at the age of 64 years. Judge Carey is an active member of the Territorial Pioneer Association, serving last year as a member of the executive committee, and rendered good service in the building of the log cabin at the State Fair grounds.


Walter L. Case
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Renae Donaldson

CASE Walter L, Cloquet. Lawyer. Born Apr 25, 1863 in Wilson N Y, son of Samuel P and Margaret Case. Married June 2, 1892 to Evelyn A West. Graduated from Wilson Union School N Y 1884; attended Mt Union College Ohio 1888-89. Raised on farm in Niagara county N Y. Taught school in Wilson, Tonawanda and Lewiston N Y. Studied law Lockport N Y 2 years; moved to Saginaw Mich 1889; city editor Saginaw Evening Journal 2 years; admitted to practice law 1890; opened law office Saginaw W S; moved to Saginaw E S 1891; moved to Duluth Minn 1893 and practiced law in W Duluth; edited Daily Law Bulletin in Duluth 5 years; moved to Cloquet and practiced law 1898 to date. City atty Cloquet. Treas Central Block Co. Member Minn House of Representatives.


Daniel G. Cash
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Renae Donaldson

CASH Daniel G, Duluth. Res 820 E 5th st, office 410 Manhattan bldg. Lawyer. Born Feb 11, 1843 in Cleveland O, son of Daniel S and Fanny (Tooker) Cash. Married Oct 1, 1872 to Alice B Scott of Pittsburg Pa. Educated in the public schools of Cleveland O 1852-56; Ontonagon Mich 1857-60; Ann Arbor Mich 1861; graduated from Univ of Mich law school LL B 1867. Opened law office in Duluth 1870; member of law firm of Ensign & Cash 1874-1889; Cash & Williams 1889-91; Cash, Williams & Chester 1891-97; has since practiced alone. Enlisted as private in the 27th Vol Inf Aug 4, 1862; commissioned 2d lieut Oct 1862; 1st lieut may 1863; adjt Dec 1863; capt May 1864; maj May 1865; brevt maj U S Vol 1865; wounded at battles of Wilderness, Cold Harbor and at siege of Petersburg; taken prisoner Aug 1864 and confined in Libby prison and Salisbury N C; escaped Oct 19, 1864. Served as city atty Duluth 1 term; county atty of St Louis county 3 terms. Member of Loyal Legion, Minn Commandery, and Willis A Gorman Post G A R; member and sec board of directors Duluth Public Library.


John Cashin
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Renae Donaldson

CASHIN John, Duluth. Res 629 N 57th av W, office 517 Torrey bldg. Lumber. Born June 4, 1864 in Cape Broyle Newfoundland, son of Michael and Mary (O’Brien) Cashin. Married may 29, 1895 to Mary Page. Educated in the common schools of Newfoundland and academy at Montreal Can. Engaged in various employments in Montreal until 1878; apprenticed to plumber’s trade 1878-79; removed to Duluth 1879 and engaged as scaler in lumber business; later logging and is now inspector and shipper. Engaged for self in lumber and lumber lands; sec and dir Calumet & Goldfield Mining Development Co Duluth. Member Commercial Club of West Duluth; Curling club; A O H, Catholic Order of Foresters, Maccabees, and Samaritans.


Albert Stillman Chase
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Albert S. Chase is Station Agent at this place for the Northern Pacific Railroad Company, a position which he has held since the completion of the road to this point.

Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) Transcribed by:  Glenda Stevens

ALBERT STILLMAN CHASE has been identified with the city of Duluth from its infancy, has been active in the development of many of her most important enterprises, and a mere mention of the numerous concerns in whose organization he has assisted would be sufficient to proclaim him one of the most energetic and successful business men of St. Louis county, Minnesota.

Mr. Chase was born Nov. 4, 1843, in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., and comes of a family long established in America, being a descendant of Aquila Chase, a prominent pioneer of Massachusetts.  Dr. Stillman Chase, father of Albert S., was born in Salem, Mass., received a good practical English education, and took a course in medicine at Syracuse, N. Y., becoming an eclectic practitioner.  In 1858 he came west and located in Rochester, Minn., where he died in the fall of 1859, at the age of fifty-four years.  He was successful as a physician, and was highly esteemed wherever he was known.  Dr. Chase married Wealthy Alzina Kelsey, like himself a native of Salem, Mass., and her death occurred in Cattaraugus county, N. Y., some years after that of her husband.

Albert S. Chase joined his father in Rochester, Minn., in 1859, and remained there until 1862, on Aug. 13th of which year he enlisted in Company H, Sixth Minn. V. I., with which he served until May 10, 1865, when hostilities had ceased.  The command was in service on the frontier of Minnesota and Dakota against the Sioux Indians, and in 1863 took part in Gen. Sibley’s expedition to the Missouri river, going as far as the present site of Bismarck, N. Dak.  In July, 1864, the regiment went to Helena, Ark., where many of the men were seized with congestive chills which proved fatal to a large number.  Mr. Chase was one of the victims, but survived the attack.  He was sent to hospital at Jefferson Barracks, St. Louis, and recovered so far as to be able to work on a hospital boat on the Mississippi for a time.  Later he was taken ill with jaundice, and was in hospital at Prairie du Chien, Wis., until discharged.

On his return from the army Mr. Chase engaged in the boot and shoe business at Owatonna, Minn., in company with his brother, K. D. Chase, but owing to the rapid depreciation of values which followed the war the enterprise was not a success.  In 1870 he located at Duluth, where he secured a position on the Tribune, having had some experience as a “typo” at Rochester.  In 1871 he entered the employ of the Lake Superior & Mississippi Railway Co., and after spending a year as a clerk in the office of that corporation became agent at Chaska, Minn.  Three months later he was transferred to Hinckley, this State, as agent, and remained there six months, going back to Duluth to take a clerkship in the office in that city.  After six months in this position he became joint agent at Duluth of the Northern Pacific and Lake Superior & Mississippi Railway Companies, continuing thus for eight years, when the business of the two companies was divided, and for the next ten years he was the Northern Pacific agent in Duluth.  During this period Mr. Chase had bought the charter of the Duluth Street Railway Company and begun the construction of its lines, he having built most of the lines now in Duluth.  To this enterprise he gave his entire attention for two years, operating the street railway until 1891, in which year he sold out.  Following this he was one of five men who took the contract to build the Duluth Missabe & Northern railroad, which was constructed in one year, Mr. Chase’s remuneration for the work being in stock and bonds of the road.  He held his interest therein until the sale of the entire road to the Lake Superior Consolidated Iron Mines, since when his chief attention has been directed to real estate and mining.  He is one of the incorporators of the Midnight Test Mining Company, which is developing gold mines in Arizona; is a stock-holder, director and incorporator of the City National Bank of Duluth; a director of the Consolidated Abstract Company; and a stock holder in the Minnesota Match Company, which is engaged in the manufacture of matches on a large scale, in West Duluth.

With all his varied experiences in business, in numerous ventures and with different associates, Mr. Chase has never been drawn into a lawsuit of any kind – a remarkable record.  Public life and official honors have never appealed to him, and though he has served several times as a grand juror he has never desired any elective office, or taken any active part in politics.  He is a lifelong Republican.  Since 1864 he has been a member of the Masonic fraternity, being now a past master of Palestine Lodge, and a member of Keystone Chapter, Duluth Council, Duluth Commandery, K. T., and Duluth Consistory, Scottish Rite, in all of which bodies he has held official position.


Henry W. Cheadle
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Henry W. Cheadle, the present city clerk of Duluth, is one of the most popular public officials of that city. He has made his home there since the year he attained his majority, and has been connected with the city administration for several years past.

Mr. Cheadle was born Feb. 19, 1865, in Tupper’s Plains, Meigs Co., Ohio, son of Rev. Henry C. and Emily (Keyes) Cheadle, the former of whom was a native of Rockville, Ind. Rev. Mr. Cheadle rounded out his literary training with a course at Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Ind., and in Lane Seminary, at Cincinnati, Ohio, and entered the ministry of the Presbyterian Church in 1858. In 1872 he moved to Blue Earth, Minn., where he is still living, at the age of seventy-five years, retired from active labor. He married Emily Keyes, a native of Marietta, Ohio, who died at Blue Earth in 1899, aged sixty-three years. Both were descendants of early New England settlers, Mr. Cheadle’s ancestors having come to these shores from England in 1650 and settled in Massachusetts; later members of the family moved to Vermont. Mrs. Cheadle was a descendant of John Alden, of Plymouth.

Henry W. Cheadle received his early education in the public schools of Blue Earth, Minn., and later became a student at Carleton College, Northfield, Minn., where he took up the work of the scientific course. He left college at the close of the Sophomore year, and subsequently taught several terms before his removal to Duluth, in 1886. Here he became associated with a real-estate firm, with which he remained six years, two years of this time being engaged in exploring on the Vermillion Range. In 1892 he began exploring on the Mesaba Range, about the present site of Virginia, which was then a wilderness. In 1893 he became receiver’s clerk in the United States Land Office, and the following year he entered the office of the city clerk, with which he has since been connected. He was assistant clerk until 1898, in which year he became clerk, and he has been reelected each year since, although he is a Democrat, and the city has a good Republican majority. Such a record implies not only ability and thorough official integrity, but a faculty of pleasing which necessitates the possession of other fine qualities, which Mr. Cheadle has in an eminent degree. His long experience in this particular line gives him especially good insight into the requirements of the office, and his interest prompts him to do all within his power to keep the affairs of his department running smoothly and in the most business-like manner possible. Socially he is well known in city being a thirty-second degree Mason, member of Duluth Consistory; and high chief ranger of the Jurisdiction of Northern Minnesota of the Independent Order of Foresters.

In 1891 Mr. Cheadle married Miss Margaret Holiday, of L’Anse, Mich., and three children have come to this union: Emily Madeline, now (1904) aged twelve; Florence A., aged seven; and Margaret E., who is eighteen months old.


Archibald M. Chisholm
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CHISHOLM Archibald M. Duluth. Res 1832 E 2d st, office 609 First National Bank bldg. Mines and mining. Born in 1864 in Alexandria Ont. son of Donald Andrew and Catherine Chisholm. Married 1891 to Miss Eulalie Cummings. Educated in the common schools and business college St Paul. First employed by the Weyerhaeuser lumber interests as clk, which connection brought him into contact with mining interests on the Gogebec Range; employed by Capt Jos Sellwood on Vermillion Range 1888; removed to Hibbing Minn with Frank Hibbing; located Susquehanna mine 1896 and later the Elizabeth, Philbin and Chisholm in connection with John R Mitchell St Paul. When the Chisholm mine was found the present town of Chisholm was built in 1902. An organizer of Shattuck Arizona Copper Co and Denn Arizona Mining Co being sec and treas of former and dir in latter; dir Butte & Superior Copper Co; City National Bank Duluth; pres and dir First National Bank Chisholm; v pres and dir Miners Bank Hibbing; postmaster Hibbing 1896-1901. Member Kitchi Gammi and Duluth Commercial clubs.


Harvey Clapp
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CLAPP Harvey, Duluth. Res 222 5th av E, office 600 Torrey bldg. Lawyer. Born Nov 19, 1880 in Fergus Falls Minn. Son of Moses E and Hattie (Allen) Clapp. Educated in common and high schools St Paul; graduated from law dept U of M, LL R 1904. After graduation moved to Duluth and engaged in practice of law under firm name of Miller & Clapp which has continued to date.


Orville Howard Clarke
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CLARKE Orville Howard. Duluth. Res 330 13th av E. office 416 Superior st W. Real estate and mortgage loans. Born Aug 28, 1850 in Ottawa O. son of miles Place and Mary Elizabeth (Crowell) Clarke. Married Feb 15, 1882 to Katherine A Vavin. Received his education in the public and high schools. First engaged as clk in employ of B H Randall Fort Ridgely Minn 1865-67; with Louis Robert and Indian trading post Redwood Falls 1867-69; Simmons & Clarke farm machinery and livestock Fort Ridgely Minn 1870-72; engaged as clk Curtis & Blake whol grocers 1872-75; dep register of deeds Winona county 1875-81; mngr A D Ellsworth Milling co Winona 1885-91; during which period he was elected city clerk Winona 1885-94. Moved to Duluth and engaged in real estate business under firm name of Pearson & Clarke 1894-95; Pearson, Clarke & Dickerman 1895-97; alone 1897 until 1905 at which time the present firm of Clarke-Hepworth Co was incorporated Mr Clarke being pres of same. Served as post drummer at Fort Ridgely 1862. Member commercial Club Duluth and Masonic fraternity.


Frank A. Clarkson
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CLARKSON Frank A. Duluth. Res 4842 London road, office 332 W Michigan. Merchant. Born April 24, 1843 in Perry’s Mills N Y. son of Flinton and Mary Ann (Gregory) Clarkson. Educated in the common schools of Perry’s Mills. First engaged as clk 1859 with Perry & Cressy where he remained till April 1861; then working in a woolen factory at Malone N Y and in the fall of the same year opened a grocery store in Whipplewill N Y and engaged in buying bark for tanneries during winter of 1861-62; returned to his home on account of sickness in Spring of 1862, remaining there until Aug 1863 when he engaged with J J Rogers Iron Co Blackbrook N Y as clk and in 1873 was made supt. Which position he held until Aug 1887; removed to Duluth Minn in the Fall of 1887 and opened the whol grocery house of Wells-Stone Mercantile Co continuing with same until 1897 when the firm was changed to the present concern of Stone, Ordean, Wells Co; one of the organizers of the firm of Wright-Clarkson mercantile Co importer and whol grocers of which he is v pres and dir; sec, treas and dir Thos Thompson Produce co. Member of Masonic fraternity 32d degree.


Harvey D. Clow
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Harvey D. Clow has been a resident of Duluth since his boyhood. He was born in Ontario, Canada, Dec. 5, 1872, son of William L. and Jeannette (Johnson) Clow, both native Canadians, the former of whom was a tanner by trade, but in his later years was in the wholesale fish business in Duluth, where he died. His widow still resides in Duluth, and of her eight children six are living.

Harvey D. Clow attended the public schools at Duluth and took a business course at the University of Michigan. He then became a postoffice employee, being the first mail carrier in Duluth, an occupation which he followed for six years. After that he spent three years as a surveyor, and in 1900 went into partnership with William Nicholson, doing an excursion and freight business on the Great Lakes. The company included the two original partners and Mr. Clow’s brothers, D. J. and J. H. Clow, and Harvey D. Clow was president. The company owned the passenger steamer “Newsboy,” and the general freight steamer “Belle P. Crosse,” doing business all over the lakes. J. H. Clow was captain of the latter and D. J. Clow of the former. During the summer season the “Newsboy” made regular evening excursions on Lake Superior, and daily trips up the beautiful St. Louis river to old Fond du Lac. The scenery on this route is the finest to be found on the Head of the Lakes, and a visit to Duluth is not complete unless it takes in this beautiful trip.


Charles C. Cokefair
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COKEFAIR Charles C. Duluth. Res 1815 E Superior, office 307-310 Providence bldg. Capitalist. Born in 1848 in Bloomfield n J, son of Isaac Moore and Catherine (Kierstead) Cokefair. Married in 1868 to Elsie J Albertson. Educated in public schools of Bloomfield; Pennington Seminary Collegiate Institute. Engaged in business in new York 1872 and for more than 30 years identified with important enterprises; developed slate quarries at Bangor pa; since 1899 has been at the head of the great St Louis River water power development; organized Great Northern power & Trans Co to promote and develop same; is pres of Great northern Dev Co of Duluth for power development on upper Mississippi river; pres Mississippi River Elec Power Co. Member Upper Mississippi River Impr Assn; Am Inst Elec Engineers; Kitchi Gammi; Commercial, Northland County Boat and Yacht clubs.


Francis Albertson Cokefair
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COKEFAIR Francis Albertson, Duluth. Res 1815 E Superior, office 307-310 Providence bldg. Engineer. Born in 1869 in Madison N Y, son of Charles C and Elsie J (Albertson) Cokefair. Educated in New York and graduated with degree of civil engineer from School of Mines Columbia Univ N Y 1894. Engaged in engineering work in and near New York several years and with French Panama Canal Co; has been chief eng in the development and promotion of the great St Louis river power; explored the whole drainage area of the St Louis river and worked out the plan to harness and utilize the power is chief eng and dir Great Northern Power Co Duluth; v pres and dir Great Northern Dev Co Duluth; first v pres and dir of Mississippi River Electric Co. member American Society of civil Engineers; Am Inst Elec Engineers and lake Superior Mining Inst; Kitchi Gammi, Commercial, Northland Country, Boat and yacht clubs; and Columbia university Club New York City.


Edward Erastus Collins, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Edward Erastus Collins, M.D., who is now living in comparative retirement in Duluth, was the pioneer of his profession in that city, whither he came first in May, 1869. He is a native of Newport, Herkimer Co., N.Y., born July 26, 1833, and is a son of John and Dolly (Allen) Collins, the former a native of Rhode Island and a descendant of an old Colonial family. John Collins died on a farm in New York soon after the birth of his son Edward, but the mother survived to the advanced age of eighty-six years, passing away in 1890. Her parents, Jonathan and Polly (Wilder) Allen, were both natives of Vermont, the mother born in Dover, that State, in 1776, and they died in Newport, N.Y., and East Charleston, Pa., respectively. Mrs. Allen reached the age of eighty-seven years.

Edward E. Collins attended public school and Brookfield academy in New York, receiving a good practical education, and took up the study of medicine with Dr. Erastus King, of Unadilla Forks, N.Y., continuing his studies at the Medical College of New York University, from which he was graduated in March, 1857. For a number of years he practiced in his native State, his first location being at Burlington Green, Otsego county, and after two years there he moved to Clayville, and subsequently to Burlington Flats. In the winter of 1868-69 he attended lectures at the Chicago Medical College, and in May, 1869, he located at Duluth, Minn., being the first physician in the field. During his stay there he was called to Superior and other points for some distance around. After three years’ experience in Duluth he went to Minneapolis, where he remained four years, and for the next three years he was at Stoughton, Wis., returning in 1881 to Duluth, where he has resided ever since. He enjoyed a lucrative practice for many years, but is now practically retired, though he is still engaged to some extent in real estate transactions, having been interested in that line since his arrival in Duluth. He has put up a number of buildings, including his own residence, a fine store, and a modern brick structure, and has always aimed to improve his holdings to the utmost.

Dr. Collins was married, in 1873, to Mrs. Sarah M. Eldridge, who was born in Baltimore, Md., and died at Duluth, Dec. 12, 1902, aged sixty-two years. She was educated in Baltimore, came with her parents to Lake Washington, near Mankato, Minn., and taught in that vicinity for several years. By her first union she was the mother of one child, Grace, who still makes her home with the Doctor. Dr. Collins has many social and professional connections, having been a member of the Masonic fraternity for forty years, and a charter member of Palestine Lodge, No. 79, at Duluth, a member of the St. Louis County Medical Society and the Minnesota State Medical Society. While in New York he was a member of the Otsego County Medical Society, and while in Minneapolis he held membership in the Hennepin County Medical Society. His religious connection is with the Unitarian Church of Duluth, though his wife was a communicant of the Episcopal Church from early life.

During the Civil War Dr. Collins was contract surgeon at Finley Hospital, Washington, D.C., for several months, and was transferred thence to the field hospital at Muddy Branch, Md., of which he had charge for a time.


John Nilson Comstock
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COMSTOCK John Nilson. Duluth. Res 1020 E 2d st, office 202 Lyceum. Lumber. Born Dec 17, 1868 in Bay City Mich, son of John Wilson and Margaret (Green) Comstock. Married July 26, 1892 to Lottie O’Connell. Educated in the common and high schools Bay City Mich. Engaged with C H Bradley & Co Lumber Bay City 1880-87; moved to Menominee Mich with McCormick & Co and held position of lumber insptr 1887-1892; with Whittemore & Co Marquette Mich until 1893; with Smith & Davis Ashland Wis 1893-94; member of firm of Davis & Comstock lumber 1894-1902; member of firm of Comstock & Wilcox shippers of lumber 1902 to date; treas and dir Glaspin-Comstock Co mining and milling supplies. Member Kitchi Gammi, commercial, Curling and Boat clubs; Masonic fraternity and B P O E.


Wirt H. Cook
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COOK Wirt H. Duluth. Res 317 14th av E, office 406-411 Lyceum bldg. Lumber and railroad official. Born Sept 8, 1867 in Kent county Mich, son of Merritt S and Viola E (Reynolds) Cook. Married in 1888 to Martha L Walsh. Educated in the common and high schools Manistee Mich. Engaged in surveying and civil engineering 1886-90; moved to Duluth and continued same 1891-92; engaged in timber and logging business 1892-1900; organized Duluth Rainy Lake & Winnipeg Ry, of which he is pres and gen mngr; sec and dir Virginia Lumber Co; dir Virginia & Rainy Lake Co. Member Commercial and Northern Railway clubs.


J. E. Cooley
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

J. E. Cooley, of the firm of Cooley, LaVaque & Co., is a native of New York State. He came to Minneapolis, Minnesota, in 1868, where, for five years, he was engaged in the lumber business. Then, in 1873, he came to Duluth, and as a member of the above firm has carried on an extensive fishery business, supplying markets all over the Northwest; the catch amounts to about twenty thousand pounds per week.


Joseph B. Cotton
Source: Progressive Men of Minnesota, (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853–ed.) Minneapolis. The Minneapolis Journal (1897) transcribed by Vicki Bryan

Joseph B. Cotton – One of the best known and most prominent of the younger lawyers of Minnesota is Joseph B. Cotton, of Duluth. Mr. Cotton is a native of Indiana. His father, Dr. John Cotton, was a graduate of Rush Medical College, of Chicago, and was a relative of the distinguished Rev. Dr. Phillips Brooks. His mother's maiden name was Elizabeth J. Riddle and, like Dr. Cotton, she was a native of Ohio. Mr. Cotton was born on a farm near Albion, Noble County, Indiana, on January 6, 1865. He worked on the farm until he was sixteen years of age and since then has made his own way in the world. His early education was obtained in the schools of the district in which he was brought up. A high school course at Albion followed and afterwards a four years collegiate course in the Michigan Agricultural and Mechanical College at Lansing. He graduated from college in 1886 with the degree of B. S. For the next two years he was tutor in mathematics at his alma mater, at the same time studying law under Hon. Edwin Willits, then president of the institution, and formerly a member of congress from Michigan. On June 13, 1888, Mr. Cotton was admitted to the bar before the supreme court of Michigan. He almost immediately came to Duluth, and commenced practice. He at once plunged into political life, taking active part in the Harrison campaign which was then on. Four years later he was nominated by acclamation by the Republicans of St. Louis, Lake and Cook counties for the office of representative in the state legislature, and in the succeeding election received the largest vote cast for any candidate for representative from the district. In the house he introduced and was mainly instrumental in passing a bill for a third judge for the Eleventh Judicial district. This measure was one of the reasons for his entering the legislature. He took an active part in the fight for a new capitol, and helped secure the passage of the bill. He was also very active in the proposed terminal elevator legislation and was largely instrumental in the defeat of the bill. His committee service was on the judiciary, grain and warehouse, municipal corporation, and tax and tax laws committees. As an ardent supporter of Senator C. K. Davis he made an eloquent speech nominating the Senator for re-election, which added much to his local reputation as an orator. In college Mr. Cotton was orator of his class in both junior and senior years, and was one of the eight commencement orators chosen by the faculty from the graduating class for high rank and scholarship. Since 1891 Mr. Cotton has been a member of the law firm of Cotton & Dibell, recently changed to Cotton, Dibell & Reynolds. Since leaving the legislature he has been the attorney for the Duluth, Missabe & Northern Railway Company and the Lake Superior Consolidated Iron Mine, and in addition to these positions is now the vice president and managing owner of the Bessemer Steamship Company and vice president of several mining companies operating on the Missabe Range. For something over three years he has devoted himself exclusively to corporation law. Mr. Cotton was one of the counsel for the defendant in the McKinley suit in the United States Circuit Court against the Lake Superior Consolidated Iron Mines, involving the McKinley mine on the Missabe range, and was one of the counsel for the defense in the famous Merritt vs. Rockefeller litigation, now pending in the United States courts and growing out of mining transactions on the Missabe and Gogebic ranges, immediately preceding and during the panic of 1893. He has been of counsel during the last two years in other important litigation in Minnesota and Wisconsin.

Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COTTON Joseph B, Duluth. Res 1617 E 1st st, office Wolvin bldg. Lawyer and railroad official. Born Jan 6, 1865 in Albion Ind, son of John and Elizabeth J (Riddle) Cotton. Married Jan 4, 1900 to Louise Hubbell. Educated in the common and high schools of Albion Ind; Michigan Agricultural college B S 1886. Studied law with Hon Edwin Willits of Mich. Moved to Duluth 1888 and was member of law firm of Cotton & McGendley; Cotton & Dibell 1891-93; Cotton, Dibell & Reynolds 1893-94; appointed gen atty for d M & N Ry 1893; gen counsel for Lake Superior Consolidated Iron Mines 1894; gen solr for Duluth & Iron Range R R; gen solr for Oliver Iron Mining Co; Minnesota Iron Co and subsidiary companies; 2d v pres, dir and gen solr North Butte Mining Co; dir Cananea Central Mining Co and Pauton & white co; 4th v pres Greene Cananea Copper Co. Made nominating speech for re-election of Senator Davis 1893; member House of Representatives 1893-95; delegate to Republican Nat Convention 1904; seconded nomination of Theodore Roosevolt on behalf of Northwest. Member of Indiana Society of Chicago and Minnesota Society of New York; Kitchi Gammi. ???? Commercial, Northland Country and ??? Clubs Duluth; Minnesota Club St Paul; Chicago Athletic Club Chicago; Washington club Isle royal; B P O E shrine; Phi Delta Theta.


Henry A. Courtney
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

COURTNEY Henry A. Duluth. Res 322 3d av N, office 401 First Nat Bank bldg. Lawyer. Born Nov 10, 1878 in Forest City Minn, son of William J and Mary B (Byrnes) Courtney. Educated in rural school Forest City; State Normal School St Cloud; U of M. Admitted to bar 1905; practiced in Minneapolis until 1906; moved to Duluth and has been engaged in practice of his profession to date. Dir and treas Security Mercantile Agency of Duluth.


Arthur Halifax Crassweller
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CRASSWELLER Arthur Halifax. Duluth. Res 4230 e Superior st, office Exchange bldg. Lawyer. Born July 25, 1858 in London Eng, son of Christoper and Sarah (Hallifax) Crassweller, married Oct 28, 1891 to Nellie Seaton. Attended private school in England; high school Goderich Ont 1881; Bengough’s Shorthand School Toronto 1885; studied law in office of W W Billson Duluth. Taught school in Ontario 1879-84; moved to St Paul and was employed as stenogr 1885-89; as stenogr and law student 1887-90. Admitted to bar 1888 and formed partnership in 1890 with Chas O Baldwin which continued 3 years. City atty Lakeside 1891 and 1892; asst city atty Duluth 1893. Formed partnership with his brother Frank C 1897, which continues to date. Dir American Exchange Bank Duluth. Atty for same. Served 4 years in Canada militia. Member of Commercial and Boat clubs Duluth.


Frank Crassweller
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CRASSWELLER Frank. Duluth. Res 4701 Cooke st, office 205 Exchange bldg. Lawyer. Born Jan 4, 1856 in London Eng, son of Christopher and Sarah (Hallifax) Crassweller. Married July 7, 1885 to Alison Moffat Douglas. Educated in a private school London Eng; public school Goderich Ont; normal school Toronto Ont. Taught school in Ontario 1880-87; moved to Duluth 1888 and entered law office; admitted to bar 1889 and has practiced his profession in Duluth since that time; now member firm of Crass Weller & Crassweller established in 1897. Member city council Duluth 1897-99; pres of same latter year. Pres Duluth Commercial Club; member Curling, Yacht and Boat clubs.


Alexander Crawford
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Alexander Crawford, a native of Glasgow, Scotland, was born on the 22nd of January, 1837. He learned the machinist’s trade in his native land, came to America in 1855, and located in Detroit, Michigan, where he was employed at his trade during the first winter, after which, for twenty-one years, he was employed as engineer on the lake steamers. In 1880, he removed to Duluth, and has since been engineer at Elevator B, in this city.


Ernest Critchett
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CRITCHETT Ernest T. New Ulm. Superintendent city schools. Born July 30, 1863 in Concord N H son of Moses B and Emily J (Yeaton) Critchett. Married June 15, 1887 to Helen M Crooker. Graduated from Concord (N H) High School 1881; Dartmouth College A B 1885; A M 1888. Prin Pleasant Grove Grammar School Mankato Minn 1885; Principal high school Mankato 1886-88; prin high school Duluth 1889-93; supt city schools New Ulm Minn 1894 to date. Has conducted Teachers’ Training schools in Minn several years. Member Minn Education Assn; Nat Educational Assn and Nat Geographic Society. Member Masonic fraternity.
 


George H. Crosby
Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger

CROSBY George H. Duluth. Res 2029 E Superior, office 609-610 Lonsdale bldg. Mining capitalist. Born July 24, 1865 in Hastings Minn son of Charles Whitmarsh and Elmira G (Smith) Crosby. Married Dec 31, 1889 to Charlotte B Stultz. Educated in the common parish and high schools Hastings Minn. Employed as clerk in Hastings 1880-84; with Gardner Rolling Mills 1884-86; moved to Duluth and entered the employ of Geo H LaVaque until 1888; engaged in art business for self 1888-89; real estate and mineral land business 1889-1905; iron and copper mining business 1905 to date. Gen mngr and dir Copper Quinn Mining Co Idaho; sec and dir Sullivan Development Co; stockholder Butte & Superior copper Mining Co. Member of Commercial Club; pres Order of Modern Samaritans; member B P O E.


E. J. Crossett
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

E. J. Crossett is a native of Vermont. In 1865, he moved to Waterton, Wisconsin, remaining but a short time, after which he entered the employ of the United States Express Company, and for a few months was messenger between St. Paul, Minnesota; and LaCrosse, Wisconsin, then between St. Paul and Prairie du Chien for eight years, and finally, between St. Paul and Duluth until April, 1879. Since the latter date Mr. Crossett has been Agent at Duluth.


Marcus B. Cullum
Source: Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Kim Mohler

CULLUM Marcus B, Duluth. Res 2020 E 2d st, office City Hall. Mayor of Duluth. Born Dec. 3, 1856 in Laurel Ind, son of Richard H and Mary (Connell) Cullum. Married in 1892 to Jane M Adams. Educated in common schools Laurel Ind, private school Boston; Alfred (NY) Univ and graduated from Ohio Dental College Cincinnati D D S 1885. Practiced profession in Minneapolis until 1888; practiced in Duluth 1888 to date. Mayor of Duluth 1904 to date. Democrat. Former member Board of State Dental Examiners; alderman 1899-04; member State Dental Society; Kitchi Gammi, Commercial, and Northland Country clubs; Masonic fraternity; B P O E; K of P; I O O F.


Frank E. Culver
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Frank E. Culver, son of J. B. Culver, who is one of the early settlers of this city, occupies a position with the Northern Pacific Company.


Thomas Cullyford
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

Thomas Cullyford, a native of England, was born in 1844. Most of his life being spent at hotels, he has become familiar with the business, and in July, 1879, came to Duluth and rented the Clark House. This house was built by the Lake Superior and Mississippi Railroad Company, and opened to the public in 1871, Scott & Hull being proprietors until 1876; then the former retired, and the latter continued the business alone for three years. In the mean time the house had passed into the hands of C. H. Clark and others, of Philadelphia, who still own it. The Clark House is a three story frame building with office, parlors, reception rooms, dining room, &c. on the first floor, and sixty-five guest rooms above.


William Curtis
Source: History of the Upper Mississippi Valley, by Charles S. Bryant; Minnesota Historical Company (1881) Transcribed by Jeanne Kalkwarf

William Curtis was born in 1855, in England. He came to America when a child, living in Chicago until coming to Duluth in 1871. Mr. Curtis is now fireman of Elevator B, of this place.


Frank H. Cutting
Source: Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Kim Mohler

CUTTING Frank H, Fond du Lac. Special municipal judge. Born Sept 12, 1862 in Kalamazoo Mich, son of William B and Mary R (Ranney) Cutting. Educated in Vermont Academy; graduated from law dept Univ of Mich. Admitted to bar 1885 and has been engaged in the practice of his profession in Minn since 1886.


HOME
Genealogy Trails History Group
Copyright ©Genealogy Trails