Welcome to
Bates County
Missouri


Biographies
~ C ~


THOMAS F. CANNON, a prominent farmer and stockman of Mingo township, a former well-known hotel keeper of Urich, Missouri, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Cannon was born January 28, 1861, in Pike county, a son of Cornelius and Lydia Cannon, the former, a native of Kentucky and the latter, of Alabama. The Cannons came to Missouri in 1878 and settled on a tract of land, comprising eighty acres now owned by the son, Thomas F., the subject of this review, a farm located in Mingo township which place they purchased for fourteen hundred dollars. Thomas F. Cannon is one of five living children born to his parents, the other children being, as follow: C.G., of Pomeroy, Washington; Mrs. Sarah Amanda Scranton, Urich, Missouri; Mrs. Kizzie Billings, Urich, Missouri; and Mrs. Louisa Williamson, Nebo, Pike county, Illinois.
For nearly five years, Thomas F. Cannon was engaged in the hotel business at Urich, Missouri. He left this state and for two years was a resident of Oklahoma. On his return to Missouri, he settled on the Cannon home place in Mingo township and has spent the remainder of his life to the time of this writing in 1918 engaged in the pursuits of farming and stock raising in Mingo township, Bates county. Mr. Cannon has increased the original holdings of the Cannons and his farm now embraces one hundred twenty acres of valuable land, a splendid country place, neatly kept and most attractive in appearance. The residence and farm buildings are situated on an eminence overlooking the farm and Cove creek, which flows past the farm on the west.
October 31, 1884, Thomas F. Cannon was united in marriage with Jennie L. Carney, a daughter of J. and Margaret Carney, of Henry county, Missouri. Mrs. Carney died in 1911 and her remains were laid to rest in White Oak cemetery. Mr. Carney resides at the present time in Henry county, Missouri.
Mr. Cannon states that he is related – politically – to Joseph G. Cannon, ex-Speaker of the House of Representatives. Thomas F. Cannon is one of the committeemen of the Republican party in Mingo township, at the time of this writing. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and of the Knights and Ladies of Security. Mr. and Mrs. Cannon are among the representative citizens of Bates county.
The following, relative to the early history of Mayesburg, Bates county, Missouri, has been contributed by Mr. Cannon and will undoubtedly be of interest to the older readers of this volume. He states that J.M. Mayes and L.O. Carlton were the first merchants at Mayesburg, beginning business at this place in 1879. Their establishment was known as Mayes & Carlton. Later, the firm dissolved partnership and L.O. Carlton erected a new store building and entered the mercantile business independently. Poage & West erected a drug store building and “Nick” Miller built a hardware store building at about the same time, the former establishment afterward burning to the ground. At the high tide of its prosperity, Mayesburg boasted two general stores, a hardware store, a confectionary, two blacksmith shops, a millinery store, and a postoffice. L.O. Carlton was the first postmaster. Residents of Mayesburg now receive mail on Rural Route 29 from Urich, Missouri.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

B.B. CANTERBURY, ex-deputy county clerk and secretary of the Bates County Old Settlers’ Association, owner and manager of Real Estate & Loans at Butler, is a native of Kentucky. Mr. Canterbury was born December 7, 1857 at Little Louisa, Kentucky. He is a son of R.F. and Fannie E. (Hereford) Canterbury, who were the parents of six children, as follow: Elizabeth, who married Mr. Erwin and she is now deceased; Ben B., the subject of this review; Eudora, the wife of Mr. Daniels, Denver, Colorado; Susan Ann, the wife of Dr. J.T. Walls, Portland, Oregon; George M. Tulsa, Oklahoma; and Samuel S., who died in 1912 and is buried at Kansas City, Missouri. R.F. Canterbury, a native of Kentucky, came to Missouri in June, 1858 with his family and they located in Sullivan county, moving thence to Saline county and in 1872 to Bates county. The father purchased the Tomlinson & Shorb mercantile establishment at Burdett and conducted that store from 1872 until 1881 and then moved the stock of goods to Archie, Missouri, where he continued in business for two years. From Archie, Mr. Canterbury came to Butler and resided until 1888, when he went west. He returned to Kansas City, Missouri in 1903 and at that place his death occurred two years later. Mr. Canterbury’s remains were interred in the Mount Washington cemetery at Kansas City. Mrs. Canterbury, mother of B.B., the subject of this sketch, departed this life in 1901 and she was laid to rest in the cemetery at Kansas City. The Canteburys were well-known and highly respected in Bates county, where they were numbered among the best families and most progressive and valued citizens.
B.B. Canterbury obtained his education in the public schools of Missouri and at the Warrensburg State Normal School, which institution he attended one term. Mr. Canterbury has made his own way in the world since he was a youth nineteen years of age. He served as deputy county clerk for one year, serving under W.E. Walton. Following this, he engaged in the real estate and abstract business for several years. In 1888, he moved to Howell county, Missouri, and there resided for fourteen years. While a resident of Howell county, Missouri, Mr. Canterbury served four years as probate judge. He returned to Bates county, Missouri in 1902 and opened an office at Butler, where he has continued the real estate and loan business ever since. He is pushing the amortized or rural credit plan of farm loans, of which an example is given: Twenty years ago, a farmer borrowed one thousand dollars at six per cent, straight interest on the old-fashioned plan. He has renewed the loan at intervals with constant expense of renewals, commissions, abstract charges, and recorder’s fees, and he still owes the principal, one thousand dollars. He has paid sixty dollars interest every year for twenty years or a total of twelve hundred dollars. The old-fashioned loan of one thousand dollars has cost the farmer, not including commissions, abstract charges, and recorder’s fees, twenty-two hundred dollars. Under the amortized plan, he would have paid, as follows:
First eleven payments, of eighty-five dollars and sixty-eight cents each, a total of nine hundred seventy-five dollars and forty-eight cents.
Last nine payments, of eighty-three dollars and sixty-three cents each, a total of seven hundred fifty-three dollars and twelve cents.
The sum total of all payments would be one thousand seven hundred twenty-eight dollars and sixty cents, leaving a balance of four hundred seventy-one dollars and forty cents in favor of the amortized plan.
Loans are made up to one-half the cash value of the land and loans from five hundred to ten thousand dollars can be made by Mr. Canterbury. The payments may be made at any time designated and at any bank the borrower may choose.
In June, 1880, B.B. Canterbury and Frances M. Pentzer were united in marriage. Mrs. Canterbury was born at Alexandersville, Ohio, a daughter of H.V. Pentzer, who came to Butler about 1870. Mr. Pentzer died in 1905. To Mr. and Mrs. Canterbury have been born two children: Katie L., the wife of O.A. Heinlein, manager of the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company and mayor of Butler; and Deane B., who is with the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company of Butler.
In 1910, B.B. Canterbury was elected secretary of the Bates County Old Settlers’ Association, which position he still holds. At the last meeting of the association, the oldest settler was Judge Clark Wix, the oldest man present was Samuel Mellon, aged ninety-three years, and the oldest woman was Mrs. Catherine Patty, aged ninety-two years.
Mr. Canterbury takes an unusual interest in governmental affairs. He reads widely and extensively and is well known as a clear thinker and in conversation expresses himself concisely, fearlessly, and in a convincing manner. As was his father before him, Mr. Canterbury is highly esteemed among the enterprising, clear-headed, upright citizens and his family is widely known among the best in Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

E.M. CAPPS
, of the Capps Realty Company of Rich Hill, Missouri, is one of the leading and most successful citizens of Bates county. Mr. Capps is a native of Camden county, Missouri. He was born in 1876, a son of John W. and Mary E. (Vance) Capps, who are now residents of Putnam county, Missouri. They are the parents of four sons and one daughter, who are now living, as follow: E.M., the subject of this review; S.E., of Kirksville, Missouri, the civil engineer of Adair county; G.H., of Worthington, Missouri, the foreman of the steel bridge construction “gang” of Burlington; A.B., a conductor employed on a street railway at Davenport, Iowa; and Minnie, the wife of G.E. Robbins, of Davenport, Iowa.
Mr. Capps, whose name introduces this sketch, received his elementary education in the public schools of Schuyler county, Missouri. He is a graduate of the Glenwood High School, Glenwood, Missouri. After completing the high school course, Mr. Capps entered the general mercantile business at Worthington, Missouri, and was thus engaged for five years. While at Worthington, he became interested in the real estate business, trading his property in this place for a farm near Parsons, Labette county, Kansas. He moved to Parsons, Kansas, but not on his farm, which he soon afterward traded for a grocery store at Webb City, Missouri, an establishment which he conducted for four months, when he traded it for property in Rich Hill, Missouri. E.M. Capps is still the owner of a mercantile establishment in this city. Two years ago, dating from the time of this writing in 1918, Mr. Capps established his real estate business at Rich Hill, a business for which he had from experience found himself well adapted, and he opened his present office in the Benedict building. The Capps Realty Company is one of the most aggressive and successful in this county and the amount of business done annually has far exceeded the expectations of E.M. Capps. He sells farm lands, city properties, stocks of goods, and, in addition, writes insurance policies and makes farm loans. He states that within the last eight months farm land has advanced fifteen per cent in value. Mr. Capps also has the agency for the Chevrolet and the Grant Six cars in partnership with his brother-in-law, F.E. Berry, and the firm is enjoying an excellent business, having sold Grant Six cars in the six weeks of the opening season and at the present rate of sale Capps & Berry hope to sell seventy-five to eighty Chevrolets this year of 1918.
The marriage of E.M. Capps and Pearl N. Barnes, a daughter of E.T. and Mary (Dyer) Barnes, of Queen City, Missouri, was solemnized February 28, 1900. To this union have been born two daughters: Cleta and Ione. Mr. and Mrs. Capps are well known and respected in Bates county and they are numbered among the best families of Rich Hill, where they number their friends by the score.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

M.M. CARROLL, well and favorably known farmer and stockman of Lone Oak township, living on a well-improved place located five and a half miles distant from the court house in Butler, was born in McDonough county, Illinois, a son of Daniel M. Carroll, who was a scion of the famous family of Carrolls, whose founder settled in Virginia in colonial days. The first of the family in America was Daniel Carroll, a native of Ireland, who settled in Virginia over two hundred years ago and whose descendants have been prominent in American affairs. Charles Carroll, of Carrollton, signer of the Declaration of Independence, was a direct descendant of this Daniel Carroll.
Daniel M. Carroll, father of M.M. Carroll, was born near Uniontown, Pennsylvania, a son of Daniel Carroll, a native of the Keystone state, who, with his brother, William Carroll, became pioneer settlers in the state of Illinois. Three of his sons, Daniel M., John and James R., served as members of the Seventy-eighth Illinois Infantry during the Civil War. John Carroll died in Libby Prison. James R. Carroll served for two years and was discharged on account of physical disability. Daniel M. Carroll was a member of Company I, Seventy-eighth Illinois Infantry and served for three years and ten months in the Union service. He was wounded during the assault on Missionary Ridge, but served until the close of the war. After the close of his war service, he farmed in McDonough county, Illinois until March, 1875, when he came to Bates county and located in Lone Oak township, building up a fine farm which is now occupied by his son, William. He died in 1898 at the age of sixty-three years. While he espoused the principles of the Democratic party, he never sought political preferment. In his young manhood he was married to Anna Marie Carnahan, who bore him the following children: M.A., of Summit township; S.W., Lone Oak township; John R., deceased; Sephrenous S., deceased; Dollie, wife of Joseph Ghere, Lone Oak township; and Hattie, wife of Elijah Requa, Lone Oak township. The mother of these children was born in Ohio, a daughter of James Harvey Carnahan, a native of Ohio, of Scotch descent. Mr. Carnahan located in Illinois in 1852 and spent the remainder of his life in McDonough county. The mother of Mrs. Carroll was Cynthia Murphy before her marriage and she was of German descent. Mrs. Anna Marie Carroll died in 1910.
M.M. Carroll received practically all of his schooling in Illinois and was sixteen years of age when his parents came to Bates county. He attended school for some time after coming here and he began to make his own way in the world when he was twenty-four years of age. When he had accumulated some capital he purchased one hundred forty acres of farm land, upon which he carries on general farming and stock raising, paying particular attention to the raising of Shorthorn cattle, a breed which he believes is the best for beef production.
Mr. Carroll was married November 5, 1883, to Mary E. Deems, who was born and reared in Bates county, a daughter of John Deems, who came to this county in an early day from his native state of Pennsylvania. Mrs. Mary E. Carroll died in 1900, leaving the following children: Grover J., a farm of Summit township; Katie, deceased; Ross, deceased; Harvey and Percy, twins, the former of whom is dead and the latter is now in the Oklahoma oil fields; and Fred M., Lone Oak township. Later, Mr. Carroll was married to Miss Emma I. Eckles, a native of Hancock county, Illinois, daughter of James Eckles, who died after a residency of some years in Bates county. Three children have been born of this marriage: Harold, at home; Angeline, deceased; one child died in infancy.
Mr. Carroll is independent in politics. He has served as township clerk and assessor, three terms, and has filled the office of justice of the peace two terms. He also served one term as township trustee. He was a candidate for county judge in the southern district in 1896 on the People’s Party ticket, and received one hundred fifty-five votes, while his two opponents received about fifty votes each in his township. Every office which he has held has practically come to him unsought as he has never asked a voter to support him during a campaign. Mr. Carroll is a member of the Presbyterian church and is a highly respected and leading citizen of Bates county. At present he is serving as deputy food administrator of Bates county. He served as draft registrar for Lone Oak township in June, 1917.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILSON C. CARPENTER, former trustee of Homer township, now living retired at Amoret, has lived in Missouri for the past fifty years and during his residence in Bates county he has made a splendid record as an agriculturist and a citizen who has had the best interests of his community and county at heart.
The family, of which Wilson C. Carpenter is a worthy scion, is a very old one in America and an interesting family genealogy has been compiled, brief extracts from which indicate that the founder of the Carpenters in America was Henry Carpenter I, alias Heinrich Zimmerman, who was born in Switzerland, immigrated to America in 1706, and made a settlement in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. Emanuel Carpenter II, his son, born in 1702, commissioned a judge of the Court of Quarter Sessions of Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, in 1759, was for a period of seventeen years a member of the Colonial Assembly, and he was a colleague and friend of Benjamin Franklin. He was a member of the Committee of Public Safety and a noted patriot during the War of the American Revolution. His influence was so strong that he carried all the Carpenters with him in the struggle for American Independence. The family furnished thirteen soldiers during the Revolutionary War. Emanuel Carpenter III, son of Emanuel II, was born in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and died on his farm near Lancaster, Ohio. He was a soldier of the Revolution and served in Captain John Roland’s Regiment recruited in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. He was a judge of the Court of Lancaster County Sessions and a member of the State Assembly. He removed to Fairfield county, Ohio, in 1798 and named the city of Lancaster in honor of his old home county. He was a member of the First Constitutional Assembly of Ohio and was the first presiding judge of the court of Quarter Sessions held in Fairfield county, Ohio. Emanuel Carpenter IV accompanied his parents to Ohio in 1798. In the year 1814 he was appointed land appraiser for Athens county, Ohio. In 1807 he was elected as the first sheriff of Fairfield county. He served as a member of the Ohio Legislature in 1813. He was owner of a tract of four hundred thirty-seven acres of land, upon which the city of Lancaster, Ohio, is now located. Ezra Carpenter, father of the subject of this review, was born in Fairfield county, Ohio, in 1803 and was left an orphan when still a child. In boyhood, he was apprenticed to the firm of Ring & Rice, woolen manufacturers, and learned the woolen trade. In 1824, he was married to Miss Sarah Reese, a daughter of General David Reese. She died in 1847 and in 1856 he married Martha Cochran, of Delaware county, Ohio. For several years, he was engaged in woolen manufacture in Fairfield and Delaware counties, Ohio, and shortly after his second marriage he migrated to Iowa and made a settlement in Jones county, where he was extensively engaged in farming and woolen manufacture. In 1867 he removed to Newton county, Missouri, where he resided until his death, August 13, 1888. He was a strong anti-slavery man and a great student of history and politics. Ezra Carpenter was first allied with the Whigs and then with the Republicans. His wife, Martha (Cochran) Carpenter, mother of the subject of this review, was born in 1823 and died in 1880.
Wilson C. Carpenter was reared to young manhood on a farm located five miles southwest of Neosho, in Newton county, Missouri, and remained in that county until 1885, when he went to Indian territory and engaged in farming and cattle raising on a large scale. He resided in the territory until 1896, when he located permanently in Bates county, where he purchased one hundred sixty acres of land located in Homer township, two miles east of Amoret. This tract was indifferently improved at the time of Mr. Carpenter’s taking possession and he at once set to work to erect better buildings and increase the productivity of the farm. He succeeded in his undertaking and in 1913 decided to rent his land and to remove to Amoret, where he has a comfortable residence and a fertile tract of five acres of land in the eastern part of the town.
The marriage of Wilson C. Carpenter and Miss Ida Shefler occurred in 1887. Mrs. Ida Carpenter was born in Wisconsin, a daughter of John and Tabitha (Hurtman) Shefler, who were natives of Pennsylvania and Ohio, respectively. The Sheflers left Wisconsin in 1882 and located in Newton county, Missouri, where both spent the remainder of their lives, the father dying in 1884.
Mr. Carpenter has always been allied with the Republican party and he has always taken an active interest in his party’s activities. He is one of the leaders of the citizenry of Homer township and served as trustee of his township for four years, performing satisfactorily the duties of his office. Mr. and Mrs. Carpenter have many warm friends in Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.W. CARVER, of Shawnee township, a member of one of the honored pioneer families of Bates county, is a native of Ohio. Mr. Carver was born December 13, 1859 in Licking county, a son of E. and Samantha (Green) Carver, who came to Missouri in 1868 and located first in Benton county, coming thence to Bates county in 1870 and settling on a farm comprising eighty acres of land located near Culver. The father spent the remainder of his life on the Bates county farm and there his death occurred on June 14, 1989. Mrs. Carver, the widowed mother, sold the homestead and made her home with her son, J.W., until two weeks before she died. Her death occurred at her daughter’s home at Ballard, Missouri in July, 1902. E. and Samantha (Green) Carver were the parents of seven children, three of whom are now living: David, deceased; Amanda, deceased; J.W., the subject of this review; Elmer, deceased; Ida, the wife of T.H. Lynch, of Ballard, Missouri; Mollie, deceased; and Jefferson, of Henry county, Missouri.
In the public schools of Harmony district in Shawnee township, Bates county, Missouri, J.W. Carver received a good common school education. He remained at home with his parents until he was thirty-four years of age and then was engaged in farming and stock raising in Pleasant Gap township for twelve years and in Kansas for one year. Mr. Carver purchased his present county place in 1909 and has for the past eight years resided on this farm, a beautiful rural home two miles west of Culver, Missouri. He has, during his career, been the owner of several different farms in Shawnee township, tracts of land which he had purchased, improved, and then sold. The place he now owns embraces eighty acres of land.
March 23, 1893, J.W. Carver and Cynthia Thomas were united in marriage. Cynthia (Thomas) Carver was born October 1, 1858 in Pettis county, Missouri, a daughter of J.W. and Mary (Diverse) Thomas, brave pioneers of the early forties, who settled in Pettis county. J.W. Thomas was born in Virginia and reared in North Carolina, whence he came to Missouri about 1837 and they settled on a farm in the above mentioned county. Mr. Thomas lived sixty-one years on one place and he died at the noble age of ninety years. Interment was made for him in Hopewell cemetery. Mrs. Thomas had preceded her husband in death many years before. She died in 1873 at the age of forty-nine years. Mrs. Carver has three brothers living: Henry, of Pleasant Gap township, Bates county; Joel G., of Pettis county; and Grant, of Pettis county. By a former marriage, Mr. Carver is the father of one child, a daughter, Lillie E., who resides at home with Mr. and Mrs. Carver. To them have been born no children, but they have taken into their house an orphan boy, Frank Meyer, who is now eleven years of age and he has been with the Carvers since he was a little child, seven years of age. Mr. and Mrs. Carver deserve much credit and commendation for the admirable manner in which they are rearing the lad. He is being given all the care, attention, and opportunities their own son would have been given and every parent in Bates county knows full well just what that means. Mr. and Mrs. Carver have done no small deed of kindness. Last year, Frank Meyer attended school making a perfect record in attendance. When Mr. Carver was eighteen years of age, he opened his first bank account with the William E. Walton Bank of Butler, Missouri, putting in as much as five dollars! For forty years, he has continued to transact his banking business with this financial institution. Master Frank is following in his foster father’s footsteps and now at the age of eleven years has started a bank account.
When Mrs. Carver’s father came to Missouri in 1837, he came in a wagon drawn by yokes of oxen. A few years later, he returned to North Carolina to transact some business and he went back to his old home, riding horseback, to North Carolina and from his old homestead back to Missouri. Mr. Carver recalls how the people of this vicinity used to drive their stock to East Lynne for shipment, when he was a youth, and he has often assisted in driving hogs to market. Both he and Mrs. Carver have born their parts well in life and are destined to be long remembered as citizens who aided materially in the upbuilding of their community, township, and county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN M. CATTERLIN, a retired agriculturist, formerly in the loan business at Butler, Missouri, one of Butler’s most substantial citizens, is a native of Ohio. Mr. Catterlin was born April 20, 1845, in Miami county, a son of Solomon B. and Eliza (Jones) Catterlin. Solomon B. Catterlin was a native of Ohio, born on his father’s farm in Hamilton county near Cincinnati. Solomon B. Catterlin was a son of John Catterlin, a native of New Jersey, who married a half-sister of King James VII of England. The Catterlins are among the oldest American families. Eliza (Jones) Catterlin was a native of Kentucky. The Catterlins came to Missouri from Ohio in June, 1881, and located temporarily at Butler, intending to purchase a farm in Bates county, but the father died in November, soon after their coming West, and the mother died in 1889, just eight years afterward. The remains of both parents are interred in Oak Hill cemetery in Bates county. Solomon B. and Eliza (Jones) Catterlin were the parents of five children: John M., the subject of this review; Mrs. Amanda Jane Reisner, who died at Butler in 1891; Mrs. Emma Hickman, a former resident of Butler, now of Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; Mrs. Mary C. Legg, the widow of T.W. Legg, a sketch of whom appears in this volume, and Clifford C., with the Standard Oil Company, of Butler.
John M. Catterlin received his education in the public schools of Piqua, Ohio, and at Oxford College, in Ohio. He was a youth, sixteen years of age, at the time of the outbreak of the Civil War and applied three times for admission to the Union army, but because he was at that time engaged in the pursuits of agriculture and being then the only son of that family he was refused admission, the country needing him on the farm. Mr. Catterlin came to Bates county, in 1869, and for eleven years after coming West was engaged in farming and stock raising. He retired from these pursuits in 1880 and moved to Butler, where he entered the farm loan business, in which he was employed until 1914, when he disposed of his business and has since been living in quiet retirement in this city. Mr. Catterlin built his present residence, still one of the most beautiful homes in the city, in 1881. It is a handsome, modern home, constructed of white pine at a cost of eleven thousand dollars and worth much more now. Mr. Catterlin recalls that, in the autumn of 1881, he bought coal at the Rich Hill coal banks, loaded into the wagon, for one cent a bushel.
The marriage of John M. Catterlin and Lucy A. Atkison was solemnized in 1874. Lucy A. (Atkison) Catterlin was born in Cooper county in 1847, is a daughter of John and Hannah (Catterlin) Atkison, who came to Missouri in the early forties and located in Cooper county, whence they came to Bates county in 1860 and settled on a farm in Pleasant Gap township, which Mr. Atkison had purchased. Mrs. J.M. Catterlin was born and reared in Cooper county, Missouri, and she came with her parents to Bates county in 1860. Pleasant Gap, at that time, boasted three mercantile establishments, two of the merchants being Mr. Bryant and Joseph Smith. John Atkison conducted the Ohio House for two years following the Civil War. He was appointed sheriff during the Civil War and served out the term and was twice elected sheriff of Bates county after the war. When Order No. 11 was issued, the Atkison family moved first to Clinton and then to Old Germantown, Missouri, and resided on a farm. While there, on account of the depredations inflicted by the opposing armies, the Atkisons kept most of their clothing and all their bedding hidden in a box under the floor, for in the raids frequently made on the settlers by plunderers, all the good clothing and bedding were invariably stolen. To John and Hannah Atkison were born the following children: Mrs. Mary Jane Smith, deceased; Mrs. John M. Catterlin, the wife of the subject of this review; Robert Alexander, Butler, Missouri; Mrs. Sarah E. Catterlin, deceased; Mrs. Susan E. Rogers, Butler, Missouri; and Mrs. Dora Risley, Santiago, California. John Atkison died April 24, 1900 at Butler, Missouri, and on June 29 of the same year he was united in death with his wife. Both Mr. and Mrs. Atkison were interred in Oak Hill cemetery. The Atkisons were one of the pioneer families of western Missouri, and their descendants have long been held in the highest esteem in Bates county. J.M. and Lucy A. (Atkison) Catterlin were the parents of three children, all of whom are now deceased: Hannah, died at the age of eight years; Solomon, died at the age of two years; and Grace, died at the age of fourteen years.
John Atkison served four years in the Union army during the Civil War. He left Bates county and enlisted, in 1861, in Company H, Seventh Missouri Cavalry Regiment, at Sedalia, and attained the post of captain of his company.
The Catterlin name has been closely interwoven in the record of the growth and development of Bates county, and no biographical compendium would be complete which omitted mention of John M. Catterlin, who has for nearly fifty years been interested in promoting its material prosperity.
In politics, Mr. Catterlin is a Democrat. He is fraternally affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, is a Mystic Shriner, and has attained all degrees up to and including the Thirty-second degree.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHESTER A. CHAMBERS has been of great value to the development of Bates county in various capacities. For a number of years he was a progressive farmer and thus contributed toward the development of agricultural interests. At the time and subsequently he engaged in teaching school and at present is the popular postmaster of Butler, discharging his duties efficiently and with a courtesy toward the general public which has earned for him the general good-will.
Mr. Chambers was born in Bates county, July 10, 1871, and is a son of William Nelson and Martha Philena (Dobson) Chambers, the former born in Ohio, March 2, 1841, and the latter in North Carolina in 1844. William N. Chambers followed farming throughout life with the exception of three years which he spent as a soldier during the Civil War. He enlisted in the Forty-second Ohio Infantry, becoming a private in Company H, and he gallantly defended the Union for three years. Subsequent to the war, in the spring of 1866, he located in what is now Deepwater township, Bates county, on a farm of one hundred and sixty acres. The land is still in possession of the family. There Mr. Chambers continued until his death, transforming prairie land into one of the most valuable agricultural properties of his district. As his means increased he added to his holdings, owning at the time of his death, February 14, 1892, four hundred and fifty acres. Although Mr. Chambers, Sr., was a public-spirited man, he never aspired to office. Besides carrying on general farming he was extensively interested in the livestock business, deriving a gratifying addition to his income from his line of endeavor. He was a member of the Presbyterian church. Mrs. Chambers died May 1, 1881, and he subsequently married again, his second wife also having passed away. Mr. Chambers was the father of eight children, of whom our subject is the third in order of birth.
Chester A. Chambers acquired his education in the rural schools in Deepwater township, the Appleton City Academy and the State Normal School at Warrensburg. He was twenty years of age when his father died and in that year gave up his school work and returned to the homestead. There he remained for three years, farming during the summer seasons and attending school during the winter. He then took up teaching in the neighborhood but continued to farm and also engaged in the livestock business on the old home place. For about twelve years he carried on these various interests but then experienced a severe attack of illness which forced him to give up the arduous labor connected with the operation of a farm. Selling out, he removed to Butler and a few weeks later again turned to teaching, filling a vacancy caused by the sudden death of an instructor. For five years Mr. Chambers was principal of the Franklin school of Butler. He has now been postmaster for a number of years but still is a landowner, giving his attention to the management of a valuable property one mile west of Butler, which he operates as a stock farm.
On February 13, 1894, Mr. Chambers married Miss Sue Helen Coleman, who was born in Bates county, Missouri, and is a daughter of Judge John Melender and Elizabeth (Bledsoe) Coleman, the former born in Kentucky, January 7, 1851, and the latter in Henry county, Missouri, December 26, 1854. The father came to Missouri with his family when quite young. He followed farming and also engaged in business as a contractor and carpenter and died July 22, 1913. Mr. and Mrs. Chambers have three children: Vivian Maurine, attending high school; and Bonny Mignon and Alice Elizabeth.
Mr. Chambers is a Republican and has always taken a most helpful part in promoting the interests of his party. He was appointed postmaster under President Taft and at present serves in that capacity. He is an approachable, kindly and courteous gentleman and liked by all who know him. Mr. Chambers has held various township offices, among them that of assessor and is at present interested in the management of the city of Butler, representing the first ward in the city council, and is also an active member of the board of education. He stands high in the Masonic order, belonging to the chapter and council.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM HENRY CHARTERS, a late prominent farmer and stockman of Bates county, Missouri, the one who pushed the big bone Poland China hogs to the front in western Missouri, was a native of New York City. He moved with his parents to the state of Ohio, when he was a child five years of age, and in that state was reared and educated.
In 1881, Mr. Charters came to Bates county, Missouri and purchased sixty acres of land. He later added to his original purchase a forty-acre tract of land, making a nice farm of one hundred acres located nine miles east of Butler. Mr. Charters brought with him, when he came to Missouri from Ohio, a big bone Poland China hog and he devoted his time, attention, and energies to introducing this breed of hogs in this section of the country. His son, William Henry, Jr., has continued the work begun by his father and is now one of the leading producers of big bone Poland China in Bates and adjoining counties. The hogs shipped from Ohio are from the Clever herd, a celebrated herd of Poland China hogs in that state. Prior to his coming to Missouri, Mr. Charters was manager of the Greenwood herd of Shorthorn Durham cattle, the most famous herd of Durhams in the United States, for twelve years on the farm located ten miles west of London, Ohio.
The marriage of William Henry Charters and Margaret Carroll were solemnized at London, Ohio in 1880. Margaret (Carroll) Charters was born in Morgan county, Ohio, a daughter of Philip and Margaret Carroll, the former, a native of Pennsylvania and the latter, of New York City. Both Mr. and Mrs. Carroll were reared and educated in the state of Ohio. The Carrolls came to Bates county, Missouri in 1881 and settled on a farm in Deepwater township, a country place located nine miles east of Butler, where they still reside. Mr. Carroll is now at the advanced age of eighty-seven years and his wife is but three years his junior. To Philip and Margaret Carroll were born the following children: Mrs. Margaret (Carroll) Charters, the widow of the subject of this review; M.V., of Sedalia, Missouri; Mrs. E.S. Onion, Chicago, Illinois; Mrs. Rose Clark, Chicago, Illinois; George, of Woodward, Oklahoma; Mrs. Celia Hubbard, Kincaid, Kansas; Frank, Spruce, Missouri; Clark, of Butler, Missouri; and two sons, James and John, who are deceased. Margaret (Carroll) Charters was educated partly in a convent at London, Ohio and partly at the public schools of Madison county, Ohio. William Henry and Margaret (Carroll) Charters were the parents of five children, who are now living: Mrs. Aline Herman, the wife of John A. Herman, Jr., a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume; William Henry, Jr., Butler, Missouri; Mrs. Lola Young, Spruce, Missouri; Mrs. Mabel Smith, Spruce, Missouri; and L.J., an electrician and machinist, Wichita, Kansas. Mr. Charters, Sr., was accidentally killed in an automobile tragedy on July 5, 1916 when sixty-five years of age. His remains were laid to rest in the cemetery at Butler. Mrs. Charters resides in the city of Butler at 314 West Mill street.
William Henry Charters was a model stockman and a careful farmer, as the splendid condition of his place in Bates county attested, and as a business man he was noted for clear insight and sound judgment which rarely failed to redound to his advantage. He was an “all-around man,” earnest in his purpose, candid in his relations with his fellowmen, honorable and upright in all his transactions. He was held in the highest esteem by his neighbors.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

E.A. CHERRY, the well-known postmaster of Adrian, Missouri, one of the leading horsemen of Bates county, the organizer of the Farmers Lumber Company of Adrian, a potent factor in the organization of the Adrian Cheese Factory, is one of the county’s most influential and public-spirited citizens. Mr. Cherry is a native of Illinois. He was born in 1866 at Carthage in Hancock county, Illinois, a son of John W. and Purlina (Pyle) Cherry, the former, a native of Tennessee and the latter, of Kentucky. The two families, the Cherrys and Pyles, settled in Illinois among the first pioneers of that state in 1843. John W. Cherry was an early-day freighter, working from Springfield, Illinois, and St. Louis, Missouri. He drove three yokes of oxen and it required from two to three weeks to make the trip. He would camp nights and in order to keep off the howling wolves would keep fires burning around his wagon. In later years, John W. Cherry homesteaded land in Hancock county, Illinois, and became an honored pioneer of that county and a prosperous farmer and stockman, the owner of one thousand two hundred eighty acres of land located near Carthage, a wealthy grain merchant and stock buyer. As there was no bank at Carthage, Illinois, in those days, Mr. Cherry frequently went to Warsaw, a distance of eighteen miles, on horseback, and drew from the bank at that place as much as twenty thousand dollars at one time and in safety return home. John W. Cherry always paid cash for stock and grain immediately upon delivery. He resided at Carthage, Illinois, several years and while a resident of that city was one of the leading financiers. His friends would deposit with him their money, for which he would give a receipt, and thus it may truthfully be said that he was the first and most trusted banker of Carthage. Because of his sterling integrity and unquestioned honesty, John W. Cherry was many times appointed administrator of estates in Illinois. He was dissatisfied in the city and after a few years returned to his farm, where he spent the closing years of his life in happiness and contentment. Mr. Cherry was a model gentleman, a truly Christian character, and if he had any faults or bad habits no one ever knew of them. He never in his life drank intoxicating liquor, never smoked, never chewed tobacco, and not one of his twelve children ever heard him swear. He died in 1891 and twelve years later, in 1903, he was joined in death by his wife. Of the twelve children born to John W. and Purlina Cherry, but five are now living: E.C., a successful clothier of Milan, Missouri; W.P., president of the Cherry-Tilden Live Stock Commission Company of Kansas City, Missouri; H.G., president of the Cherry Brothers’ Investment Company and president of the Mine Creek Oil Company of Kansas City, Missouri; E.A., the subject of this review; Dora, the wife of E.C. Barber, of the Home Telephone Company of Kansas City, Missouri.
E.A. Cherry attended the public schools of Carthage, Illinois, and, later, business college at Quincy, Illinois. After completing a business course at the latter institution, Mr. Cherry returned to his father’s farm and, as the elder Cherry was disabled for many years prior to his death, the son assumed charge of all business affairs and managed the father’s estate until he died in 1891. The following year, 1892, Mr. Cherry, the subject of this review, located at Carthage, Illinois, where he owned a large stock barn. Closing his business in the autumn of the same year, Mr. Cherry came to Kansas City, Missouri, and for several months was employed in the real estate department of the Lombard Investment Company of Kansas City. He then returned to Carthage, Illinois, and again took up his residence on the farm near that city and during the years immediately following became one of the most prominent horsemen of the state of Illinois. Mr. Cherry dealt extensively in imported stallions and shipped them to many different parts of the country. He brought the first imported draft horse to Bates county, Missouri. For eleven years, he was engaged in training race horses. When Mr. Cherry came to Adrian in 1898, he had back of him years of experience in the stock business and at that time he brought a number of fine stallions to Missouri and has ever since been interested in the breeding of high-grade horses. Mr. Cherry has made one hundred sixty-two different exhibits of his animals in Bates and Cass counties and has received one hundred fifty-four first and nine second premiums, being defeated but once. In his stables at Adrian, Mr. Cherry has capacity for one hundred head of horses. In addition to raising horses, he also keeps a number of jacks and, at the time of this writing in 1918, has seven dairy cows. He sells the milk from his dairy to the Adrian Cheese Factory. The Cherry stables and the residence together occupy a half block in the city of Adrian. The residence is a handsome, modern structure of nine rooms.
F.A. Cherry and Lula Fair, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Henry L. Fair, of Adrian, Missouri, were united in marriage February 25, 1892, and to this union were born two children, one of whom is now living, Wesley, who was his father’s assistant in the postoffice. Lula (Fair) Cherry died in 1899. Mr. Cherry remarried, his second wife being Pearl M. Leffler, a daughter of Alexander and Nancy Leffler, and to them have been born four children: Crystal I., Emmett A., Lydia Ann, and Dorothy Pearl, all of whom are at home with their parents.
In civic affairs, no one in this part of the state takes a keener interest than E.A. Cherry. He has at all times evidenced his willingness to sacrifice self-interest for the good of the community and has been very active in aiding the development of the business interests of Bates county. In 1900, Mr. Cherry assisted in organizing the Farmers Lumber Company of Adrian, Missouri, and he, himself solicited six thousand six hundred seventy-five dollars of the ten thousand dollars capital stock. He was the first secretary of the company. Sixteen years later, he was instrumental in the organization of the Adrian Cheese Factory, which is situated on a tract of land formerly owned by Mr. Cherry. He was appointed postmaster of Adrian in 1913, which position he still occupies and is efficiently and satisfactorily filling at the time of this writing in 1918. On January 24, 1918, he received his reappointment for another four-year period.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

DR. JOHN W. CHOATE, retired physician and ex-representative of Bates county, Missouri, formerly United States pension examiner for this district, is a native of Bates county. Doctor Choate was born in 1858 in Deepwater township, a son of Nicholas and Pernelia Isabel (Wilson) Choate. Nicholas Choate was born in 1817 in Baltimore, Maryland, a son of Mr. and Mrs. Elias Choate. In his early childhood, Nicholas Choate moved with his parents to Kentucky and in that state, in Logan and Simpson counties where they settled, spent his youth and was educated. When he was nineteen years of age, he left Kentucky and came on horseback to Missouri, locating first at St. Louis in 1836. For several years, Mr. Choate was employed as a farm laborer in St. Louis and Lincoln counties, Missouri. He was married in 1846 in Lincoln county, Missouri, to Lucinda Uptegrove and to this union were born two sons, who died in early manhood. The mother also died early in life and in 1854 Mr. Choate came to Bates county and entered a tract of land in Deepwater township, a farm comprising four hundred forty acres which he entered from the government at seventy-five cents an acre. Four years later he settled on this tract. In 1858, Nicholas Choate and Pernelia Isabel Wilson, daughter of Isaac and Rebecca Wilson, highly respected and prominent pioneers of Deepwater township, natives of Caldwell county, Kentucky, were united in marriage and to them were born five children, two of whom are now living: John W., the subject of this review; Mrs. Sarah J. Nickell, of Deepwater township, who is the present owner of one-half the farm entered from the government by her father, which land has never been transferred except from the government to Nicholas Choate and from Doctor Choate deeded to Mrs. Nickell; and Mrs. Martha Keziah Lewis, who died at the age of twenty years, leaving one child, a daughter, Emma Lewis, who is now deceased. The mother died at the age of fifty years in 1878 and her remains were laid to rest in the cemetery at Johnstown, Missouri. During the troublous times of the Civil War, Nicholas Choate remained on his Bates county farm, engaged in agricultural pursuits, with the exception of fourteen days, when he was just across the line in Henry county. All his horses and cattle were stolen during his absence, but he was able to obtain the return of his cattle and by using oxen in place of horses in his farm work succeeded in raising four good crops during the war without the aid of horses. Nicholas Choate was an honest, honorable, upright citizen and he lived to a venerable age, his death occurring in 1898 at the age of eighty-two years. He was buried beside his wife in the cemetery at Johnstown.
Mrs. J.R. Simpson, nee Margaret Lutsenhizer, who is yet living at the advanced age of seventy-five years, was the first instructor of Doctor Choate. She was at that time a young girl and she took much pleasure in teaching the embryo physician his “a-b-c’s.” Doctor Choate later attended the public schools of Bates county and Butler Academy. He is a graduate of the medical department of Washington University at St. Louis, Missouri, in the class of 1886, and at that institution was one of two students receiving honorable mention and he also received the second prize for commendable work done in chemistry. Dr. John W. Choate opened his office and began the practice of medicine at Creighton, Missouri immediately after obtaining his medical degree. After six months, he left Creighton and moved his office to Johnstown, where he purchased the practice of Dr. Matchett in the medical profession and in the drug business for thirteen years, when he came to Butler, in 1899, and since that time has not practiced medicine. Upon coming to Butler, Doctor Choate engaged in the real estate and loan business and for several years was thus employed. He has been, for the past four years, the farm and loan inspector for the Walton Trust Company, a position he resigned recently upon the occasion of his son, Leslie R. Choate, joining the National Army. The purchased the interest of M.E. Fulbright in the Choate & Fulbright Real Estate, Loans & Insurance and the firm is now Choate & Son. Doctor Choate is one of the directors of the Walton Trust Company of Butler. He was elected representative from Bates county to the Missouri State Legislature in 1892 and served two terms and in 1896 was re-elected for two years, under the administration of Gov. William J. Stone. Prior to that time, the doctor had been brought prominently into public notice, when he was appointed under Cleveland’s first presidential administration, 1885-1889, United States pension examiner for his district, a position which he most ably filled.
In 1889, Dr. John W. Choate and Lulu L. Jackson, daughter of Judge John L. and Mattie E. Jackson, of Cass county, Missouri, were united in marriage and to this union have been born two children, a son, Leslie R., who is a graduate of the Butler High School, of Sedalia Business College, Sedalia, Missouri, who for the past two years has been with the firm of Choate & Fulbright Real Estate, Loans & Insurance, and at the present time is associated with his father in business, though expecting to be called by the government into service. Leslie R. Choate was with General Clark on the border in the recent trouble between our country and Mexico, serving as the general’s secretary. Young Choate was recently transferred to the department of sergeant of ordnance and is stationed at Fort Sill, Oklahoma. He is an intelligent, alert, young man of excellent capabilities and will “make good” in any line of endeavor he chooses. The youngest child died in infancy. Doctor and Mrs. Choate reside in Butler at 405 North Main street. They are well and favorably known in the best society circles of the city and county and they number their friends by the score in this section of Missouri.
Doctor Choate recalls that in the early days of the history of Bates county, people living in the vicinity of Johnstown firmly believed that the prairies between that place and Butler would never be fenced. Mr. Borland, now residing near Johnstown, made the remark one day in the presence of Nicholas Choate, while looking across Deepwater valley, “Surely, this will be fenced sometime, but I will never live to see it.” Mr. Borland is still living there on his farm near Johnstown, amid the splendidly improved country places of the county and the fences of hedge and wire suggest the marvelous changes which have come within the lifetime of a single individual. Doctor Choate has always taken a deep interest in everything pertaining to the early history of Bates county. A pile of stone and brick and a clearing of perhaps one acre, overgrown with brush and trees, which evidently had been made long before the earliest known settlers came, was discovered by the doctor, when he was a young man, at the line between Bates and Henry counties. Wondering if this small patch of once cleared ground and the pile of brick and stone might be might be a clue to the name of one who had once lived there, Doctor Choate searched the records of the original government survey, made in 1837, and found among the notes that the line between the two counties at this particular point ran through “Christopher Greenup’s garden” and again in the report mention was made that farther north another Greenup, probably a brother, lived just across the line in Henry county. The latter pioneer resided on land later owned by Isaac Wilson, the maternal grandfather of Doctor Choate. These old pioneers were evidently hunters and trappers, who went farther west when the incoming settlers ten and fifteen miles away crowded them out.
Doctor Choate is an excellent citizen, belonging to that large and eminently respectable class of business men who have done so much to develop the resources of our country and give stability to the body politic. He is highly esteemed by his neighbors and friends and stands “four square to every wind that blows,” a man in whom the citizens of Bates county repose universal confidence and trust and who has proven himself worthy of this mark of favor.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

C.W. CHRISMAN AND G.E. CHRISMAN, widely known in Bates county as the “Chrisman boys,” are representatives of a pioneer family of Bates county and they are still residing at the Chrisman homestead in East Boone township. C.W. Chrisman was born in 1855 in Jackson county, Missouri, and G.E. Chrisman was born in 1860 in the same county, both sons of Ewin and Mary M. Chrisman. The Chrisman trace their lineage back to a prominent colonial family of Virginia. Ewin Chrisman was a son of John Chrisman, who came to Missouri in 1832 and settled on a vast tract of land in Jackson county, as the boundaries were later defined. Ewin Chrisman came to Bates county, Missouri, from Jackson county in 1877 and purchased a farm comprising ninety-two and a half acres of land in East Boone township.
To Ewin and Mary M. Chrisman were born eight children, seven of whom are now living: J.L., who resides in Oklahoma; J.T., Armstrong, Missouri; C.W., one of the “Chrisman boys,” a subject of this review; E.F., Adrian, Missouri; G.E., the younger of the “Chrisman boys,” a subject of this review; Mary E., deceased; Mrs. Anna F. Corbin, Kansas City, Missouri; and Mrs. Ida L. Haley, Slater, Missouri. Mrs. Chrisman, the mother, one of the most highly respected and esteemed of Missouri’s noble pioneer women, died in Bates county at the Chrisman homestead in 1904. Eleven years later, she and her husband were united in death. Ewin Chrisman died in 1915. He was one of the best citizens of East Boone township, a gentleman who easily made many friends, and wherever he was known his name was honored as the synonym of honesty, integrity, and uprightness. He was an honored veteran of the Confederate army, having fought bravely in many battles, serving faithfully for two years with Company K, Missouri Infantry, under “Fighting Joe” Shelby.
The “Chrisman boys” have spent more than forty years in Bates county on the home place in East Boone township and they well recall the pioneer conditions and primitive appearance of Bates county, for amid the scenes of the early days they spent their young manhood. There were very few settlements in Missouri in the middle of the nineteenth century and practically all the land was open prairie at the time the Chrismans settled in this part of the state in 1877. There were no roads, just mere beaten trails across the unfenced prairie, and the settlers traveled by their sense of direction. Wild game abounded and one day, in the late seventies, C.W. Chrisman killed a deer near Pleasant Gap. The Chrismans did their trading either at Harrisonville, Missouri, of at La Cygne, Linn county, Kansas, selling their corn for twelve and a half cents a bushel, their meat for two and a half cents a pound. The two brothers once took a load of meat on their sled to Freeman, Cass county, Missouri, and sold it for one dollar and ninety cents per hundred pounds, and that was the highest market price. The hardness of life in the new country and the universality of suffering from the privations and hardships inspired a more neighborly spirit in the old days than now exists. The early settlers necessarily depended upon their neighbors for assistance in times of sickness and distress and assistance was more freely given then than now. Physicians were few and difficult to secure. Dr. G.W. Chrisman was the nearest one to be had in this vicinity and he probably traveled thousands of miles, all told, during his career and watched beside the bedsides all night long of hundreds of different sufferers in this part of the state. The McNeil school house was the first school building to be erected in this district and William Kirk was the first “school master.” Reverend Pitts and Reverend John Sage were pioneer preachers, whom the Chrisman brothers personally knew. They state that the old-fashioned revivals always attracted large crowds of people and they are of the opinion that the early settlers attended church better than do the people of today. G.E. Chrisman tells of an old trail which led past the old Chrisman home place, along which he has seen hundreds of covered immigrant wagons going southwest. The inmates of the wagons would frequently encamp near the home of the Chrismans. The old home was built of lumber hauled from Pleasant Hill, the weatherboarding of walnut, and it was probably erected long before the Civil War. When the Chrisman brothers would take their produce to market in the old days, it required two entire days to make the trip. G.E. Chrisman describes a very destructive prairie fire which he witnessed one autumn and he states that for many years the grass out on the prairie grew higher than an ordinary man. He relates how he used to participate in “wolf drives” and has seen many captured and four years ago took part in a “drive” which resulted in the capture of three wolves. From this brief account, the reader may be able to form a fairly clear concept of the early institutions and conditions.
C.W. Chrisman has been in charge of the Chrisman place for many years. He and his brother are engaged in raising good grade cattle and Poland China hogs. Both C.W. and G.E. Chrisman are stanch Democrats and highly respected and valued in East Boone township. The “Chrisman boys” have neither married, but have been content to spend their lives together at the old homestead, which has become a land mark in Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.M. CHRISTY, M.D., one of the most prominent physicians of Bates county, Missouri, is a native of Fleming county, Kentucky. Doctor Christy was born at the Christy homestead in Kentucky a son of Ambrose B. and Eliza J. (Logan) Christy, both of whom were natives of Kentucky. The Christys came to Missouri from Kentucky in 1865 and settled at Fayetteville, where the father died twelve years later, in 1877. Eliza J. (Logan) Christy was a cousin of John A. Logan, the illustrious statesman and general, of Jackson county, Illinois, who was nominated for the vice-presidency of the United States in 1884 on the ticket with James G. Blaine. To Ambrose and Eliza J. Christy were born four children, as follow: Mrs. W.E. Seamands, Warrensburg, Missouri; W.A., Mansfield, Missouri; Dr. J.M., the subject of this review; and Mrs. Lula E. Rowe, formerly of Butler, Missouri, now of Boise, Idaho.
Doctor Christy attended the first term of school held at the Warrensburg State Normal School and afterward taught school for four terms in Linn district in Johnson county, Missouri. The doctor is a graduate of the Kentucky State University, Lexington, Kentucky in the class of 1877 and of the New York Homeopathic Medical College in the class of 1882. In 1916, Doctor Christy attended the annual meeting of the alumni associations of both institutions, of which he is an alumnus, and also visited both colleges, finding a few of his former classmates and in each school but one professor who was of the faculty at the time of the doctor’s graduation. Doctor Christy also attended the meeting of the alumni of Missouri State University at Columbia upon his return from Lexington, Kentucky. Dr. J.M. Christy began the practice of medicine at Fayetteville in Johnson county and in December, 1880 located at Butler, where he has ever since remained.
In 1876, Dr. J.M. Christy was united in marriage with T. Fanny Ellis, daughter of James M. Ellis, a highly respected and well-known citizen of Warrensburg, Missouri. To this union have been born three children, two died in infancy and a daughter, Stella A., who is now the wife of George G. Gilkeson, formerly of Warrensburg, Missouri, now of Chicago, Illinois. The doctor and Mrs. Christy reside in Butler on North Main street.
Doctor Christy is a public-spirited citizen, a man of widely varied business interests, and in countless ways he has been and still is prominently identified with the material prosperity of Butler and his name is invariably found in connection with all enterprises for the public welfare of Bates county. He was one of the organizers of the Peoples Bank of Butler, and he is still one of the directors of this financial institution, and prior to that was a director of the Missouri State Bank for twenty years. Doctor Christy is a stockholder in the Walton Trust Company, the Missouri State Bank, the Peoples Bank, the American Trust Company of Warrensburg, Missouri, and the International Life Insurance Company of St. Louis, Missouri.
The Christy farm, one mile south of Butler, is one of the beautiful country places of Missouri. There are two different and complete sets of improvements upon the place, two comfortable residences and five barns. Doctor Christy is interested in breeding registered Poland China hogs and he is now the owner of the first herd of Holstein cattle brought to Bates county, Missouri, a herd comprising fourteen cows which were brought to Missouri from Iowa and formerly belonged to different parties, Mr. Douglass, a well-known dairyman, owning a part of the number. A lake on his farm, of four hundred twenty-three acres of valuable land, covers four and a half acres of the place and the doctor has this stocked with fish and has bathing and swimming facilities, including a bathhouse near the shore of the lake. Any spot along the water is a delightful place to rest on summer evenings. Doctor Christy says that his farm is his “side line” and looking after it, his recreation and he believes that it will add ten years to his life time.
Wesley Denton, cashier of the Peoples Bank of Butler, with Dr. J.M. Christy organized the Bates County Calf Club and in October, 1917 brought to this county and distributed within a few miles of Butler one hundred nine head of high grade Holstein calves among the children of Bates county. In case the youngsters were unable to pay cash, a note was taken granting the privilege of paying for the calf one year later. At the end of the year, in October, 1918, the calves were to be brought to Butler and sold at auction. One of the wise provisions, for the benefit of the children, is that in case of the death of the calf three-fourths of the cost price will be paid to the loser by the other parties who purchased calves. In 1918, the profitableness of raising good grade cattle will be thoroughly demonstrated and proven. The basic idea of this most unusual departure of the Peoples Bank of Butler, with which Doctor Christy is connected, is to encourage the handling of the best grade dairy cattle, to interest the boys and girls in the most profitable side of stockraising, and at the same time to build up the farms so long devoted to grain. And in the years to come, the one hundred nine firm friends of the Peoples Bank of Butler this business venture will assuredly make may prove to be a valuable asset. Doctor Christy has also promised Bates county a cheese factory, provided that sufficient support is guaranteed, his unselfish motive being to encourage the dairy business in this section of the state.
The reader has undoubtedly concluded, and correctly, from the foregoing brief synopsis of Doctor Christy’s career that his has been a very busy life, into which a multitude of interests have been crowded. The lessons mastered in his youth taught him industry, enterprise, and humanity. The medical profession in Bates county is honored by having such as he a worker among and with them. Dr. J.M. Christy is widely recognized as one of the best posted and most intellectual gentlemen in the city of Butler.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

W.H. CHARTERS, JR., proprietor of “Charteroak Stock Farm” in Bates county, is one of the successful and most prominent stockmen of this part of Missouri. Mr. Charters is a native of Bates county. He was born October 26, 1885, in Deepwater township, a son of W.H., Sr., and Margaret (Carroll) Charters. W.H. Charters, Sr., was born in Ireland in 1856. When he was an infant, he came with his parents to America and they located in New York, later in Ohio, and finally W.H. Charters, Sr., settled in Bates county, Missouri, about 1880 on a farm of one hundred acres in Deepwater township, where he engaged in farming and stock raising. Margaret (Carroll) Charters is a native of Champaign county, Ohio. To W.H., Sr., and Margaret Charters were born the following children: L.J., Wichita, Kansas; Mrs. J.A. Hermann, Culver, Missouri; Mrs. W.B. Young, who resides on the home farm in Deepwater township; Mrs. Grady Smith, Spruce, Missouri; and W.H., Jr., the subject of this review. The father died in 1916 and the widowed mother makes her home at Butler, Missouri.
W.H. Charters, Jr., attended the country schools of Bates county. His boyhood days were spent much as are the days of the average boy on the farm. Since he was twelve years of age, Mr. Charters has been self-supporting. He remained at home with his parents and assisted in the management of the home place until he was twenty-four years of age. In 1904 he went to Salt Lake City and spent one year in that city and Denver, Colorado. About thirteen years ago, “Charteroak Stock Farm” was established by Mr. Charters and he has since been constantly occupied in the management of the same.
April 5, 1910, W.H. Charters, Jr., and May Blizzard were united in marriage. Mr. and Mrs. Charters have two children: Margaret Bernece, born March 19, 1911; Mildred Irene, born May 15, 1917. May (Blizzard) Charters is a daughter of Wesley and Mary (Baunke) Blizzard. Mr. Blizzard is now deceased and his widow resides at Butler. Mr. and Mrs. Charters reside at “Charteroak Stock Farm,” which is located northwest of the city limits of Butler. The Charters’ residence is situated on an eminence overlooking the city of Butler. Though in the country, this home is supplied with all the conveniences of the most up-to-date city residence.
“Charteroak Stock Farm” comprises one hundred twenty acres of land lying just northwest of the city limits of Butler. This stock farm has been established thirteen years, dating from the time of this writing in 1918. Thirteen years ago, Mr. Charters leased three brood sows, big bone Poland Chinas, under contract for two years and at the end of that time his half interest in the herd of one hundred fifty head of hogs was sufficient to enable him to labor independently in the future. The first sale was held in 1908. W.H. Charters, Jr., is the first man in Bates county to use the single or double vaccine treatment for cholera and since he first tested the treatment he has constantly kept it up and now offers for sale only immune hogs. On February 7, 1918, Mr. Charters held a sale which was a world record sale in two respects. It was the largest pure-bred sow sale ever held in America, and in addition to this the greatest number was sold within a given time, eighteen head being sold in two hours and eighteen minutes. The total amount of the sale was eleven thousand two hundred dollars, an average of one hundred seventeen dollars each. Eight states were represented among the buyers at this sale. The Charters’ herd is the oldest and largest herd of Big Bone Poland Chinas in Missouri. Mr. Charters has kept his hogs graded as to age and size and he has followed the rule of never crowding his stock in pasture. He always feeds some corn supplemented with tankage and shorts. “Charteroak Stock Farm” is well equipped to care for a large herd of hogs, being supplied with two stock barns, two hay barns, one sale pavilion, and ten other necessary buildings. Mr. Charters has exported hogs to Havana, Cuba, one shipment of three head, the only shipment of the kind ever made by a Missouri breeder. Mr. Charters is also interested in breeding registered Shorthorn cattle. He has a small herd of high-class stock headed by “Premier Marshall” No. 519833, a pure-bred white Scotch bull which was purchased from J.M. Patterson, Liberty, Missouri.
Mrs. Charters is interested in poultry raising and about six years ago began raising pure-bred Barred Plymouth Rock chickens. This branch of the farm work at “Charteroak Stock Farm” has grown and developed until it has proven as successful and remunerative as hog raising. Mrs. Charters has, at the time of this writing, about two hundred head of chickens on the place. The fowls are sold at “Charteroak,” for prospective purchasers, knowing the quality of the Charters’ Rocks, are only glad to go to the farm for them. Mrs. Charters is a lady of much energy and intelligence and she is as thoroughly alive to the possibilities of this profitable industry as Mr. Charters is to the raising of pure-bred Poland Chinas.
Mr. and Mrs. Charters are typical Americans and worthy representatives of eminently honorable Bates county families. Mr. Charters deserves all the success which has attended his efforts in the past and will continue to attend in the future for it is almost entirely due to his industry, energy, resolute purpose, and indefatigable persistence. He and Mrs. Charters are highly respected and valued in their community.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRANK T. CLAY, a successful and prominent pharmacist of Butler, Missouri, is one of the enterprising and leading business men of Bates county. Mr. Clay is pre-eminently a self-made man. He is a native of Texas. He was born in 1878 in Tarrant county, a son of Mark S. and Rachel A. (McGuire) Clay. Mark S. Clay was born in Virginia in 1825. He died June 3, 1915 at Butler, Missouri, where he had been living a quiet, retired life since 1886. At the time of his death, Mr. Clay was ninety years and three months of age. Mrs. Clay, a native of Indiana, survives her husband and is now residing in Butler at 211 North High street. Mark S. and Rachel A. Clay were the parents of four children, who are now living: W.H., a prosperous farmer and grain dealer, South St. Joseph, Missouri; George, a well-known laundryman of St. Joseph, Missouri; Frank T., the subject of this review; and James, a well-to-do druggist, Caldwell, Idaho. Mark S. Clay enlisted in the Civil War in 1861 at Springfield, Illinois and for many months served with the Twenty-second Illinois Infantry. He later enlisted with the Fourth Wisconsin Cavalry at Madison, Wisconsin. After the Civil War had ended, Mr. Clay returned to his home in Illinois. Later he came from Illinois to Missouri, and thence went to Texas, returning from that state to Missouri in 1881, where he spent the remainder of his long life of usefulness. Mark S. Clay was an honored and highly valued member of the Grand Army of the Republic.
Frank T. Clay obtained his elementary education in the public schools of Bates county. He has since added to his store of knowledge by wide reading and by practical experience gained in the best, most thorough, but hardest of all schools. He began studying the drug business in the drug store of H.L. Tucker in 1894. Ten years later, when Mr. Tucker died, Mr. Clay was able to purchase the stock of drugs and merchandise and to successfully continue the business. Clay’s Drug Store is one of the best business establishments in the city. Mr. Clay is a registered pharmacist, having obtained his certificate in 1902. His stock of goods is complete, fresh, and neatly kept. He occupies a building 22 x 70 feet in dimensions, a structure comprising two stories. Mr. Clay has, in addition, won for himself distinction as a curio collector, and he is justly proud of his collection of Indian arrow heads and fifty-three rattlesnake rattles, to which he is constantly adding. Mr. Clay has his specimens nicely displayed at his store.
Mr. Clay is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of which fraternal order he has been a member since 1904, the Scottish Rite Masons, the York Rite Masons, the Shriners since 1910, the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Modern Woodmen of America.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES S. CLINE, proprietor of “Sunny Site Farm,” one of the best improved farms in this section of Missouri, located in Howard township, Bates county, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Cline has made an excellent record as a progressive farmer and stockman since locating in this county. “Sunny Site Farm” comprises three hundred fifty acres of land devoted to stock raising on an extensive scale. Mr. Cline erected in 1911 a beautiful, modern bungalow, which has seven rooms and is equipped throughout for comfort and convenience. He has built a large barn, 32x40 feet in size, and eighteen feet to the eaves; erected a silo, 16x40 feet, with a capacity of one hundred eighty tons of silage. Mr. Cline feeds from forty to fifty head of cattle annually, about two car loads of hogs, and at this writing, December, 1917, was feeding several hundred head of sheep.
J.S. Cline was born in Livingston county, Illinois, April 21, 1874, a son of George W. and America (Fishburn) Cline, natives of Illinois and Pennsylvania, respectively. George W. Cline was a son of German parents. He became a prosperous farmer in Illinois and was owner of a half section of valuable land. He died September 10, 1902. Mrs. America Cline, mother of the subject of this review, died January 21, 1916. Ten children survive them: Mary, died at the age of fourteen years; Charles and John, live in Iowa; Frank, lives in Indiana; George, Harry and Eugene, reside in Illinois; Emma, lives in Illinois; Mrs. Ida Marlin, lives in Illinois; Mrs. Kate Kent, resides in Kalispel, Montana, and James S., of this review.
After attending the district schools of his native county, Mr. Cline began life for himself, when he attained his majority. He worked upon his father’s home place until the year 1905. He then went to Indiana and for a period of five years cultivated a farm in White county. He became owner of two hundred acres of land in this county, which land he sold in 1909 and invested the proceeds in six hundred fifty acres in Howard township, Bates county, Missouri. He improved this place and erected a fine residence, and in 1911 resold the three hundred twenty acres containing the improvements to the former owner of the tract. He then erected improvements of a substantial character upon the remaining acreage, located on the south side of the public road. Mr. Cline has made good in Missouri and is a splendid farmer and manager.
Mr. Cline’s marriage with Miss Willa M. Borland took place in 1905. Mrs. Willa M. (Borland) Cline was born in Essex, Iowa, a daughter of William and Mary (Mudgett) Borland, the former of whom is deceased and the latter now resides near Chatsworth, Illinois, having married Dwight Davis after Mr. Borland’s death. Mr. Davis died in October, 1917.
During the year 1917, Mr. Cline harvested ninety acres of corn which yielded from thirty to sixty bushels per acre; thirty acres of wheat which yielded an average of fifteen bushels to the acre; and had sown sixty-five acres of wheat for the harvest of 1918. Mr. Cline has a field of sixty acres of oats which yielded fifty bushels to the acre. He believes thoroughly in the efficacy of fertilization as a means of growing larger crops and has put this belief into actual practice on his land with excellent results. He raises the Duroc Jersey hogs and Polled Angus cattle, his herd leader being a registered Polled Angus bull.
Politically, Mr. Cline is an independent Republican. He and Mrs. Cline are members of the Baptist church and Mr. Cline is affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim

WILLIAM D. CLOUSE, an intelligent, enterprising, progressive farmer of Walnut township, is a native of Jackson county, Missouri. Mr. Clouse was born January 3, 1878, a son of William Henry and Mrs. Lovina (Schroyer) Shepherd Clouse, natives of Ohio and Indiana, respectively. His father was born in Meigs county, Ohio, and his mother was born in Posey county, Indiana. The first husband of William D. Clouse’s mother was killed at the battle of Kenesaw Mountain, while serving in the Union army. William Henry Clouse was reared in Ohio and when a young man went to Illinois. He was married in that state and in 1867, came out West and made a settlement in Jackson county, Missouri, where he resided until 1880. In that year he located in Bates county, living on a farm near Worland, until his removal to a farm near Foster. When the town of Foster was started, he engaged in the livery and transfer business and also carried the mail for several years. Later, he engaged in the grocery business after disposing of his livery business. When the town, or business section, of Foster was destroyed by fire, his place of business was burned out and he then went to Oklahoma and is now residing on a farm located just on the outskirts of the city of Shawnee. Mr. and Mrs. Clouse celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary on December 5, 1914. The following children were born to William H. and Lovina Clouse: James Albert, Shawnee, Oklahoma; Charles H., an extensive farmer and stockman, Walnut township; Mrs. Araminta Pierce, living near Mulberry, Kansas; Thomas Thornton, now a soldier in the National Army, in training at Long Island, New York; Mrs. Mary Alice Teckel, Kay county, Oklahoma; William D., subject of this sketch; Emma Jane, wife of M.H. Thomas, Walnut township; Sabitha, deceased. By her first marriage, Mrs. Clouse is mother of one child, Mrs. Ada Belle Epham, Shawnee, Okla.
W.D. Clouse was educated in the Foster public schools and assisted his father in his business for several years. He then joined the Eldorado Springs Brass Band and played in this organization for two years. He also clerked for his brother in the store at Foster for some time. In 1901, he began farming on his own account near Sprague, Missouri. In 1902, he located on the J.P. Thomas place and resided there for a year. In 1903, he made his first purchase of ninety acres from the Walnut Coal Mining Company and to this tract he has added another forty acres. Mr. Clouse has built all the improvements on his farm and has a very pretty farmstead, improved with handsome cottage, a splendid barn, and other necessary buildings, all kept in a fine state of repair.
Mr. Clouse was married on May 28, 1900, to Miss Martha Thomas, born July 21, 1882, in New Home township, the youngest daughter of J.P. Thomas, pioneer settler of New Home township, concerning whom an extended review is given elsewhere in this volume. To W.D. and Martha Clouse have been born two children: Cecil Calvin, born December 13, 1903, and Doris Pauline, born December 15, 1913. Mr. Thomas is allied with the Republican party but votes independently of party denomination, believing that the cause of good government can best be served by voting for the man who seems best fitted to perform the duties of the office sought, rather than to adhere strictly to party lines. He and Mrs. Clouse are members of the Christian church and both are members of the Red Cross, in which organization Mrs. Clouse, with many other women of the Foster neighborhood, is a worker.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM PENN COBB, or “W.P.” Cobb, proprietor of a fine farm of one hundred sixty acres in Walnut township, is one of the old settlers of Bates county, having been a bona fide resident of this county, with the exception of a few years during which he tried to find a better place of residence, since 1874. He was born August 29, 1855, in Lucas county, Iowa, a son of Robert Winchester and Sarah (Arnold) Cobb, both of whom were born and reared in Tennessee, whence they removed in 1853 and made a settlement in Iowa. From Lucas county, Iowa, they came westward to Saline county, Missouri, in 1868. Four years later, the family removed to Texas, and, in 1874, they came to Bates county and the father purchased a farm near Appleton City in this county and resided thereon until his retirement to a home in Rich Hill, his death occurring in 1896 at the age of sixty-three years. His wife and the mother of the following children died in 1875 at the age of forty years. The children were: William Penn, subject of this sketch; Mrs. Lizzie Derickson, resides in Oklahoma; John A., lives in western Kansas; Mrs. Anna Haynes, died in 1890, leaving five children; Mrs. Alice Hart, Kansas City; Mrs. Mollie Merchant, Rich Hill, Missouri, mother of four living children, and two children died in infancy.
W.P. Cobb accompanied his father to Missouri, Texas and thence to Bates county, where he resided with his father on the home place of the family, until 1875. He was then employed by John Brown, a farmer living near Montrose, Missouri, after which he rented land in this county until 1891. He removed at this time to western Kansas and purchased a homestead relinquishment of three hundred twenty acres, near Garden City, which he improved and cultivated until 1906. He sold his western Kansas farm in that year and, returning to Bates county, bought a farm one mile south of Rich Hill. He also owned an eleven-acre tract within the city limits of Rich Hill which he traded to Dr. E.N. Chastain for one hundred twenty acres in Walnut township in 1907. To this tract he has added forty acres, making a splendid farm of one hundred sixty acres in all.
Mr. Cobb was married in 1877 to Lizzie Griggs, who was born in Kentucky in 1861, a daughter of Roland and Minnie (Lewis) Griggs, who migrated to Bates county in 1870, moving thence to western Kansas in 1885, both parents dying in their new western home. To this marriage were born children, as follow: Claude, living on a farm east of Foster, married, but has no children; Chester, farmer, Walnut township, married and has two children, Roland Wendell and Claude Tyrus; Arthur, farmer, New Home township, has two children, Selma May and Royal Weldon; May, a stenographer in Kansas City; Harold, conducting a dairy farm at Overland Park, Kansas; Glennis, at home; Mrs. Maude Bright, Foster, Missouri, mother of two children, Evelyn and Cleo Irene. The mother of these children died in 1906 at the age of forty-six years.
Claude Cobb married Myrtle Jones, a daughter of N.C. Jones and niece of the famous “Buffalo” Jones. Mr. Cobb’s first two children born, Millard, who died at the age of sixteen months, and Elmer, who died at the age of eight months, are buried in the family burial plat in Snodgrass cemetery, where also lie sleeping the remains of his father and mother. Mr. Cobb’s second marriage occurred on September 13, 1908, with Emma Goodenough, of Foster, Missouri, a daughter of Jesse Goodenough.
Mr. Cobb is a Republican in politics and belongs to the Christian church. He is fraternally affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America. He is an honest, industrious, hard working farmer citizen of Bates county, one who has been successful despite the fact that he had little or nothing of this world’s goods when he started on his career.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.W. COLE, merchant of Ballard, Missouri, is one of the successful business men of Bates county. Mr. Cole is the best authority on the history of the mercantile interests of Ballard and he states that the first store at Ballard was opened by Mr. Moreland in partnership with his two sons. It was he, who succeeded in having a postoffice established at this place, but which was discontinued several years ago when the rural routes were designated in Bates county. Mr. Moreland disposed of his mercantile interests after some time, selling to Dr. McFarland, who in turn sold the establishment to Robert Beatty. Mr. Moreland returned to Ballard from Urich, Henry county, where he had been for a short time, and purchased the store from Mr. Beatty. Afterward, he again sold out, this time Mr. Price being the purchaser, and he sold to Mr. Keirsey and Mr. Keirsey to “Mack” Greer and Mr. Greer to “Jake” Kedigh and Mr. Kedigh to J.W. Cole, the present owner, who bought the place of business in March, 1917. Mr. Cole is an experienced man in the mercantile business, having conducted a store at Culver for thirteen years prior to purchasing the business establishment at Ballard. Thus, the following men having consecutively been the leading merchant and most prominent business man of Ballard: Moreland, McFarland, Beatty, Moreland, Price, Keirsey, Greer, Kedigh, and Cole. Mr. Cole has a nice, clean stock of merchandise and of sufficient quantity for the demands and he is enjoying an excellent patronage, drawing trade from the entire surrounding country, and the satisfaction of his customers is sufficient evidence of his marked success.
Mr. Cole is a native of Lafayette county, Missouri. His father, Henry Cole, was one of the first pioneers of that county and of Missouri. Henry Cole settled on a tract of land in Lafayette county in 1818, two years before Missouri became a state. He came to Bates county, Missouri in 1876 and located on a farm in Spruce township, where he spent the closing years of a long life of usefulness, although his death occurred at Clinton in Henry county, to which place he had moved but a very short time prior to answering the death summons. Henry Cole died in 1892 at the noble age of eighty-four years and his remains were interred in Dover cemetery in Lafayette county beside those of his wife, Sarah Cole, who had preceded him in death thirty-two years before. Mrs. Cole died in 1860. Henry and Sarah Cole were the parents of five children, who are now living: Judge W.T., Butler, Missouri; Mrs. Rebecca Chirs, Eldorado Springs, Missouri; Robert, Santa Rosa, California; J.W., the subject of this review; and Sallie, Sweetsprings, Missouri.
J.W. Cole was born in 1857 and was reared on the farm in Lafayette county and educated in the district schools there. He was engaged in agricultural pursuits prior to entering the mercantile business at Culver in 1896, at which time he purchased the Charles Greer store and, as has been mentioned above, was engaged in conducting this general store at Culver for thirteen years. After disposing of his stock of merchandise at Culver, Mr. Cole entered the employ of “Mat” Rosier at Butler and was with him for two years, then spent two and a half years in California. On his return to Missouri, J.W. Cole located on a farm in Shawnee township, Bates county and for two years was again engaged in the pursuits of agriculture, interested in both general farming and stock raising. He traded his farm interests for the merchandise at Ballard in 1917 and, at the time of the writing in 1918, is profitably employed in conducting the general store at that place.
In 1897, J.W. Cole and Julia Douglass, a daughter of Sydney and Melinda Douglass, were united in marriage. Sydney Douglass was one of the county’s leading citizens and was at one time county recorder of Bates county. He is now deceased and Mrs. Cole’s mother resides at Warrensburg, Missouri. To J.W. and Julia (Douglass) Cole has been born one child, a daughter, Lillian, who is at home with her parents. The Cole family stands high among the best families of Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHARLES COLEMAN, farmer, stockman, real estate and insurance agent at Hume, Missouri, one of the younger generation of citizens of Bates county, a resident of this county for the past twelve years, has made a record in this section of Missouri second to none for an individual his age, a record superior to that made by many older men. He is a progressive, enterprising citizen who has already made his mark in the community. Mr. Coleman was born October 20, 1875, in Cass county, Illinois, a son of William and Nancy J. (McLin) Coleman.
William Coleman, his father, was born in Prussia, German Empire. He, as well as four brothers, bearing the family name of “Kuhlman,” immigrated to America and all, excepting one, changed the name of the English translation, Coleman. William Coleman came to this country a poor immigrant, located in Cass county, and achieved a comfortable competence as a tiller of the soil. He began his career as a farm hand in Illinois in 1858, at the age of seventeen years. Not long afterward, he rented his employer’s farm and continued as a valued and successful tenant of this place for a long period of forty years. As the years passed, Mr. Coleman invested his savings in Cass county land and accumulated a half-section of valuable farm land. He died in October, 1916, at the age of seventy-five years. He was born in 1841. Two brothers, Charles and Henry Coleman, served with the Union forces during the Civil War. William Coleman was father of five children: Edgar, Beardstown, Illinois; John and Arthur, both of Beardstown, Illinois; Charles, subject of this review; and Mrs. Ella Davis, Bozeman, Montana. William Coleman left behind him a reputation as an honest, enterprising and reliable citizen, one whose word was considered as good as his bond and he bequeathed to his children the heritage of right living, inspiration of which has enabled them to forge ahead in the world.
Charles Coleman received his education in the public schools of Beardstown, Illinois, and at Business College, at Jacksonville, Illinois. He first engaged at farming on his father’s land and then began farming on his own account on rented land. Due to the excellent reputation as a business man and farmer which his father had established during his many years of residence in Cass county, the young man had no difficulty in getting financial backing for his farming operations and he was very successful. Land rose to a higher price per acre in his native county and he believed that he could get better value for his savings by coming to Missouri. Accordingly, he came to Bates county in 1906 and invested his capital in seven hundred thirty-six acres of land, which he converted into an extensive stock farm, known as “Oak Lawn.” A considerable portion of his land is located in the southeast part of Howard township and a part is in Vernon county. Mr. Coleman has dealt largely in land since coming to Missouri and, in the fall of 1913, he located in Hume. In October of 1916, he engaged in the insurance and real estate business at Hume. Mr. Coleman bought his first farm in Cass county, Illinois, at a time when he had no capital whatever, but he made good, sold out at a great increase over and above the original purchase price, and invested the proceeds in land which was held much cheaper in this county. He has never regretted the change and has identified himself heart and soul with affairs in Bates county during his residence here.
Mr. Coleman was married in 1897 to Miss Ada T. Lee, of Cass county, Illinois, a daughter of Lycurgus Lee. Her mother, who was a Miss Reams prior to her marriage, is deceased, and her father lives in Illinois. Two children have been born to this marriage: Verna May, aged eighteen years, a student in the Hume High School; and Charles Lee, aged ten years.
The Republican party has always had the allegiance of Mr. Coleman. Mr. Coleman has served two terms as trustee of Howard township, having been twice elected on the Republican ticket in a strong Democratic township, evidence of his popularity. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. He is fraternally affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and the Modern Woodmen of America. He is president of the Consolidated School Board of the Hume Consolidated District and was one of the leaders in the advanced movement which succeeded in establishing a centralized school system at Hume, and provided for the transportation of the school pupils within a radius of several miles to a graded school in the town. The effects of this splendid and progressive enterprise are already noticeable in the more rapid advance in the education and training of the children of school age. A new and modern school building will be erected in Hume very soon and the entire community will reap the benefits in the years to come, as a result of this onward movement in the cause of education.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN W. COLEMAN, secretary and manager of the Denton-Coleman Loan & Title Company of Butler, Missouri, is one of Bates county’s most progressive “hustlers.” Mr. Coleman was born October 24, 1889 near Johnstown in Bates county, Missouri, the only son of Samuel L., Jr. and Martha A. (Eads) Coleman. Samuel L. Coleman, Jr. was born in Bates county, Missouri, and has lived all his life in this county. He is a son of Samuel L., Sr. and Nancy (Witt) Coleman, both of whom were natives of Kentucky. The former was born in Todd county and in early manhood came to Missouri, locating in Bates county at Johnstown in 1854 and one year later Samuel L. Coleman, Jr., the father of John W., was born in the new western home. At the time of the outbreak of the Civil War, the Colemans moved from Bates county to Lincoln, Missouri and there the father, Samuel L., Sr., died in 1864. The widowed mother survived her husband many years and departed this life at Butler in 1912. Samuel L. Coleman, Jr. was born at Johnstown in 1855 and he has been a resident of that place ever since. He is well known and highly respected in this county and has been prominent politically, serving the county four years as treasurer. Martha A. (Eads) Coleman was a native of Sangamon county, Illinois. To Mr. and Mrs. Samuel L. Coleman, Jr. were born two children: Nannie A., the wife of J.M. Kash, a prosperous agriculturist of Bates county, Butler, Missouri; and John W., the subject of this sketch. The mother died in 1916 at Butler and her remains were laid to rest in the cemetery at Johnstown, Missouri.
John W. Coleman attended Butler High School and Central Business College, the latter institution at Sedalia, Missouri. Mr. Coleman left school in 1908 and for four years served as deputy county treasurer of Bates county, under his father. When his term of office had expired, John W. Coleman entered the employ of Holloway & Choate and for one and a half years was engaged in insurance work with their agency. In 1915, Mr. Coleman organized the Denton-Coleman Loan & Title Company of Butler, Missouri and is the present efficient and enterprising secretary and manager of this company.
October 12, 1911, John W. Coleman and Bessie Cussins, daughter of Dr. and Mrs. J.C. Cussins, of Decatur, Illinois, were united in marriage and to this union has been born one child, a son, Samuel T., who was born October 24, 1915. Mr. and Mrs. Coleman reside in Butler on North High street.
The Denton-Coleman Loan & Title Company of Butler, Missouri was organized in March, 1915, with a capital stock amounting to twenty thousand dollars and with the following officers: C.A. Denton, president; Wesley Denton, second vice-president; Samuel L. Coleman, first vice-president; John W. Coleman, secretary and manager; and J.E. Thompson, treasurer. At the time of this writing in 1917, the officers are still the same. This company paid their stockholders eight per cent per annum until May 31, 1917, at which time they had an accumulated fund of four thousand dollars, undivided profits, that they returned to the stockholders and increased the capital stock to sixty thousand dollars, the officers remaining the same. The Denton-Coleman Loan & Title Company has at the present time loans in force amounting to nearly one million dollars. They have two branch offices, one at Bentonville, Arkansas, and the other at Harrisonville, Missouri. Their loans are chiefly confined to farm land in southwestern Missouri and northwestern Arkansas. The company has a complete set of abstract books for Bates county, Missouri.
Mr. Coleman is essentially a business man and a firm believer in the efficacy of honesty. He possesses keen, deliberate judgment and is seldom mistaken in his estimate of men and affairs. He is the type of man, now so rarely found, who will allow no difficulty deter him from a purpose to which he has once addressed himself. With the business men of Butler and with the public generally, Mr. Coleman has always maintained an enviable reputation.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

STEPHEN COLE COLLIER, prosperous and enterprising farmer and stockman of Walnut township, is a member of one of the oldest of the Missouri pioneer families who is keeping up the reputation of his ancestors as able and intelligent tillers of the soil. In his own right he is owner of a splendid tract of two hundred and forty acres of prairie land in Walnut township, located south of Foster – a beautiful, level tract of land which is kept in a high state of cultivation by the proprietor. During 1917, Mr. Collier harvested 3,500 bushels of corn from a tract of sixty acres with other crops in proportion. He has fifty acres planted to wheat for the next harvest and has thirty-three head of cattle on his place at the present time, aiming to feed from fifteen to twenty-five head of cattle each year for the markets.
S.C. Collier was born August 11, 1867, in Saline county, Missouri. He is a son of James S. Collier, born in 1832 and departed this life October 27, 1913. His mother was Margaret Elizabeth Cole, prior to her marriage, and was born in 1838 and died in 1885. James S. Collier was born in Virginia and made a settlement in Saline county, Missouri, during the fifties. In 1872 he made a trip to Montana, where he was engaged in ranching and cattle raising with his brother-in-law, Frank Cole, the men driving a herd of five hundred heifers across the plains to the free ranges of Montana. He returned to Missouri in July, 1879, and made a visit to Bates county. Taking a liking to the country he purchased a farm of two hundred and forty acres south of Foster in Walnut township and proceeded to improve the place. He resided here engaged in farming and stock raising until his death. He was the father of two children, now living: Stephen Cole, subject of this review; and Mrs. Anna Smiley, Barton county, Missouri. Mrs. Margaret Elizabeth (Cole) Collier was born in Missouri in 1838 and died in 1885. She was a daughter of Holbert Cole, a native of Kentucky, who settled at the site of Old Fort Boone on the Missouri river, and assisted in the building of this fort early in the nineteenth century, thus becoming one of the earliest of the Missouri pioneers who had to brave the hardships of the frontier and live in continual fear of attacks by the savage Indians who roamed over the wild and unsettled country which was then the Missouri territory. James S. Collier served in the Confederate army, enlisting from Cooper county, Missouri, under the famous Confederate commander, Gen. J.O. Shelby, who spent the latter years of his life in Bates county. Elsewhere in this volume is written a history of the life of General Shelby, together with an account of his military operations, which will give a fair account of the campaign in which James S. Collier participated under Shelby.
S.C. Collier was educated in the district school and the old Butler Academy. He has always lived upon the home place, receiving as his share of the estate, one hundred and sixty acres, to which he has added an “eighty,” making two hundred and forty acres in all. Mr. Collier was married on May 12, 1896, to Livona Wilson, born in Bates county, in 1874, a daughter of T.J. and Mary Elizabeth (Gilliland) Wilson, natives of Missouri. T.J. Wilson, her father, was born on a pioneer farm in Henry county, near the townsite of Leeton, Missouri. He was a son of Tennessee parents who were early pioneers in Missouri. In early maturity, he settled in Bates county and farmed for a number of years until his removal to Seattle, Washington, in 1907. His wife, Mary Elizabeth Gilliland, was born in 1848 and died in August, 1896. She was a daughter of Lewis Gilliland, a native of Tennessee, who came to Bates county in the thirties and took up a claim on Walnut creek, where he remained until 1850, when he, with others, started for California but died there. One of the mementoes of his trip was a gold necklace which was made from gold which he sent from California to his wife, Lucy Gilliland.
Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. S.C. Collier: Mrs. Mary Margaret Moore, Nevada, Missouri; Alice Irene, at home with her parents; and Stephen Dow, aged fifteen years. Mr. Collier is aligned with the Democratic party and is a member of the Methodist church, South. He belongs to the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and has been a member of this order for the past twenty-five years. For twelve years he has been affiliated with the Knights of Pythias lodge.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ALBERT CLAY COLLINS, an enterprising and successful farmer and stockman of New Home township, one of the more recent additions to the citizenship of Bates county, has “made good” as a farmer and dairyman. The Collins farm, consisting of two hundred acres of prime, rich land, is utilized so as to produce a maximum of crops. The home, with its buildings grouped about with large trees growing on the lawn and among the farm buildings, resembles a small village. The farm is primarily devoted to the dairy business, Mr. Collins maintaining a fine herd of thoroughbred Jerseys for cream production. The cream obtained from the milking of the thirty cows is shipped to the condenser at Fort Scott, Kansas, which is one of the finest concerns of the kind in the United States. Mr. and Mrs. Collins have a flourishing poultry business and raise each year from eight hundred to twelve hundred white Leghorns, a breed of poultry known for their egg production. They also have at present a fine flock of Pekin ducks to the number of twenty-five. Mr. Collins raises two hundred fifty hogs annually. Mrs. Collins has what is the only aviary in Bates county, and probably the only one in western Missouri, outside of Kansas City. She is raising Hartz Mountain and Rowler canaries and has seventy of the feathered songsters in the home at the present writing. With all these things to care for and all of which are money makers and each intended to add to the revenue of the Collins farm, it will thus be seen that Mr. and Mrs. Collins are very busy people.
A.C. Collins was born September 26, 1874, in Platte county, Missouri, a son of Harrison and Eliza (Herndon) Collins, natives of Kentucky, who removed from Platte county to Cass county, Missouri, in 1877. The senior Mr. Collins bought a farm in Cass county and resided there until 1884. In that year he went to Anderson county, Kansas, and bought a farm which he improved and resided upon until his return to his old home county. Having met with reverses in Kansas, he found it expedient to begin again in Platte county and eventually owned a fine farm of one hundred sixty acres, which he sold, in 1916, and retired from active farm work. Harrison Collins is now making his home at Smithville, Missouri, and is aged sixty-five years. A.C. Collins left home in 1900 and went to the Indian Territory where he remained two years. Returning to Platte county, Missouri, he remained there until 1909, when he made his permanent home in Bates county.
November 26, 1907, Mr. Collins and Miss Lillian L. Bell, a daughter of James S. Bell, a Bates county pioneer, were married. Mrs. Collins was born and reared in Bates county. They have one child, Luella, born March 11, 1911.
Politically, Mr. Collins is a Democrat. Mr. Collins is a member of the Baptist church, and Mrs. Collins belongs to the Methodist Episcopal church. Mr. Collins is fraternally allied with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows of Smithville, Missouri. The team work, the co-operation in the management of their many departments of the farm work demonstrated by Mr. and Mrs. Collins is worthy of emulation. They always find plenty to do at all times of the year. They are mutually interested in the dairy business and the cultivation of the farm and are looked upon as an industrious, cultivating couple who are not afraid of work and are  making good in their life work.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

W.P. CONNELL – The name of Connell is a historic one in Kansas and Bates county, Missouri, and recalls recollections to the old timers of both Kansas and Missouri of the days when the state of Kansas was in the making and that Jesse Connell, father of W.P. Connell, was a member of the first state constitutional convention held in Kansas and played a very prominent part in the making of a new state. History also records that he later came to Bates county and became prominently identified with the People’s Party movement in this county and at the time of his death in 1892, he was the presiding judge of the county seat in this county. W.P. Connell, an intelligent and highly respected old resident of West Boone township, owner of one hundred and sixty acres of land, was born January 9, 1845, in Trimble county, Kentucky, a son of Jesse and Nancy (Johnson) Connell, both of whom were natives of Kentucky.
The late Judge Jesse Connell was born in Kentucky in Trimble county and reared and educated in his native state. He was an intelligent, versatile citizen of excellent educational attainments, a natural-born leader of men, so it is not strange that after locating in Leavenworth county, Kansas, in 1854, he soon became identified with the historic making of a great state. He soon became identified with political movements in his section of Kansas and was elected to represent Leavenworth county as a member of the first state constitutional convention held in 1857. He played a prominent and effective part in the making of the first set of laws under which Kansas was governed and resided in that state until 1875, when he came to Missouri and located on a farm in Clay county. He resided in Clay county until 1880 and then came to Bates county. His powers of leadership soon evidenced themselves in this county and he became identified with the People’s Party movement which was then sweeping the Western states and gaining in strength and power each continued year of its existence. He was a candidate for judge of the county court of Bates county in the election of 1892 when the People’s or Populist Party swept the county and elected practically all the county officials. He was made presiding judge of the county court as a result of this decisive election but died during the year, in Butler. His remains are interred in Oak Hill cemetery. The death of Judge Connell marked the passing of one of the truly historic characters of the border days. He was the father of ten children, five of whom are yet living as follow: Robert, living in Clay county, Missouri; Mrs. Nannie Watkins, Liberty, Missouri; May, also living in Liberty, Missouri; Jack, a resident of Centerview, Missouri; Mrs. Kate Wright, Long Beach, California; William P., subject of this review.
W.P. Connell received his early education in the common schools of Leavenworth county, Kansas, and pursued a course at St. Benedict’s College, Atchison, Kansas. He removed with his father to Clay county, Missouri, in 1875, and came to Bates county with him in 1880. For a period of twenty-seven years, Mr. Connell cultivated a farm located one mile south of his present home place and in 1907 purchased eighty acres, which in connection with a farm of eighty acres, forty acres owned by his brother-in-law, makes a good farm of one hundred and sixty acres which they cultivate in common.
Mr. Connell was married in Leavenworth county, Kansas, in 1866, to Sarah Viola Cox, born in Hancock county, Illinois, in 1844, a daughter of Luke and Elizabeth (Daws) Cox, natives of Virginia. Luke Cox, her father, died in Illinois in 1857. The widow, born in 1829, was married, second time, to Robert Perry Higdon, of Alabama, and moved to Leavenworth county, Kansas, in 1864. Her second husband died at Ft. Smith, Arkansas, during the Civil War period. She was married, third time, to John Freeland, who died in Leavenworth county, Kansas. Mrs. Freeland is now living at the Connell home. The following children have been born to W.P. and Sarah Viola Connell: Mrs. Minnie Scott Black, living on a farm near Adrian, Missouri; Mrs. Bettie Wright, Kansas City, Missouri; Mrs. Johanna Clapp, Montana. Mr. and Mrs. Connell have eleven grandchildren and seven great-grandchildren. In 1916 this worthy couple celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary and a considerable gathering of friends and relatives were present to wish them many returns of the day and to partake of their hospitality and cheer.
Mr. and Mrs. Connell are members of the Quaker faith and are good, worthy citizens of Bates county who are respected and admired by all who know them. He is a Democrat in politics and has served his township for eight years as trustee and was justice of the peace for eight years. W.P. Connell is a worthy son of an honored and revered parent whose name will live long in history as one of the makers of a great state.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN P. CONNOR, proprietor of the “Connor Stock Farm” in Summit township, one of the finest stock farms in Bates county, is one of the county’s prominent farmers and stockmen. Mr. Connor is a native of Illinois. He was born March 17, 1867, in Ford county, Illinois, a son of John, Sr., and Bridget (McClellan) Connor, natives of Ireland. Mr. and Mrs. John Connor, Sr. had located in Pennsylvania upon landing in this country and from Pennsylvania had moved to Illinois, where they settled in Ford county, among the earliest pioneers in 1865. To John, Sr. and Bridge Connor were born the following children: Mary, the wife of Ed Finnegan, of Leonard, Colorado; Mrs. Helen Brophy, deceased; Alice, the wife of John Brophy, of Whiteside county, Illinois; Mrs. Kate Gadsell, of Champaign county, Illinois; and John P., the subject of this review. The father is now deceased and the widowed mother resides at Pana, Illinois.
In Champaign county, Illinois, John P. Connor was reared and, in the district schools of the county, educated. He has followed farming and stock raising practically all his life with the exception of one year when he was engaged in railroading. The “Connor Stock Farm” in Summit township comprises six hundred forty acres of land, which were formerly a part of the Fry Ranch in Bates county. Mr. Connor purchased his place in 1910 and has since devoted his time and attention to raising high-grade stock, having eighty head of cattle and thirty head of horses and mules on the farm at the time of this writing in 1918. The farm, which is indisputably one of the best in the township and in Bates county, is situated eight miles southeast of Butler. The place is well equipped with all the latest facilities for handling stock and the improvements include a well-built stock barn; a cattle barn, 30 x 200 feet in dimensions; a huge crib for corn and grain, and, at the present time, filled; and hog houses. Two hundred forty acres of the “Connor Stock Farm” are annually planted in grain, the remainder being given to pasture and meadow. Mr. Connor raised Aberdeen Angus cattle and he is the owner of two registered males. He also has on the farm a horse eligible for registry.
The marriage of John P. Connor and Helen Brophy, a daughter of John and Mary (Ryan) Brophy, of Champaign county, Illinois, was solemnized in 1892. Both parents of Mrs. Connor are now deceased. To this union have been born seven children: Mary, the wife of James Gordon, of Summit township; Ellen, the wife of John Shautz, of Shawnee township; Charles, John, William, Leo Patrick, and Margaret, at home with their parents.
Although Mr. Connor is a very public-spirited gentleman, he is not an active partisan politically, being content to labor quietly among his fine stock at his beautiful country place in Summit township. He is well informed on the leading questions and issues of the day and is firm in his convictions of right and wrong. He has ever been industrious and he deserves the success which has attended his well-directed efforts.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM CONRAD, well-to-do farmer and stockman of Hudson township, is a native of Germany, was born in 1854, the son of Frederick and Dora Conrad, who immigrated to America from their native country in search of a home and substance in 1869. The Conrad family first resided in Henry county, Illinois, where they were engaged in farming for three years. In 1872, they located in Nebraska and homesteaded land in that state and practically every member of the family became prosperous and became owners of farms in the then new Western country. This was the homestead era in Nebraska and thousands of homeseekers poured into the state from the eastern part of the United States and from the crowded countries of the Old World. The Conrads settled in York county, Nebraska and after a few years of hardships were well satisfied with their new environments. Frederick Conrad died in Nebraska and his widow came to Bates county, Missouri, and settled on the farm now owned by her son William. She died on the farm in 1906 and her remains were interred in the cemetery at Appleton City. The Conrad children are as follow: Frederick, who formerly lived in Hudson township, and now resides in Nebraska. Marie and Dora, died in Nebraska; and William.
Since coming to Bates county in 1894, William Conrad has been engaged in farming and stock raising in Hudson township. Of late years he has turned over the greater part of the task of managing his farm to his son. The Conrad farm consists of two hundred thirty acres and is located five miles northwest of Rockville and five miles southwest of Appleton City. The farm is well watered and especially adapted for stock raising, a branch of Panther creek flowing through the tract, and furnishing an ample water supply at all seasons of the year. Mr. Conrad purchased his farm from James M. Gwinn in 1894 and has since rebuilt the farm residence, it now being a comfortable structure of nine rooms. The large barn which is 42 x 48 feet in size, and sixteen feet to the square, is built of native lumber. Mr. Conrad keeps both Shorthorn and Jersey cattle and raises hogs, horses and mules.
William Conrad was married in 1873 to Albertina Reetz, of York county, Nebraska, a daughter of Martin and Mary Reetz, the former of whom is deceased, the latter is living in York county. Mr. and Mrs. Conrad have eight children: Clara, wife of Henry Heine, Merrill, Wisconsin; Lillie, wife of John Lambenstein, Hudson township; Otto, Benedict, Nebraska; John, Hudson township; Rosa, wife of Otto Renken; Walter, is farming the home place; Albert, conducts a music store and insurance business at Appleton City; Oscar, Appleton City. Mr. and Mrs. Conrad are members of the German Lutheran church at Appleton City. For a period of four years, Mr. Conrad served as trustee of Hudson township and was a member of the township board for the same length of time.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler

H.G. COOK, the widely and favorably known manager of the American Clothing House, is a native of Iowa. Mr. Cook is a son of Capt. N.W. and Mary E. (Green) Cook, the former, a native of New York and the latter, of Indiana. Capt. N.W. Cook was engaged in the mercantile business practically all his life. He served in the Union army during the rebellion as captain of Company D, Third Iowa Volunteer Cavalry and came to Missouri in 1882 and was in the real estate business at Rich Hill for several years. N.W. and Mary E. Cook were the parents of nine children, who are now living: William H., Los Angeles, California; E.G., Tacoma, Washington; N.G., Springfield, South Dakota; G.B.M., Chicago, Illinois; H.L., Ottumwa, Iowa; Mrs. J.D. Wiseman, Centerville, Iowa; Mrs. W.R. Heylmun, Iola, Kansas; Mrs. C.C. Cain, Tacoma, Washington; and H.G., the subject of this review. The father died in 1889 at Rich Hill, Missouri and the mother joined him in death in 1907. Mrs. Cook died at Centerville, Iowa.
H.G. Cook attended the public schools of Red Oak, Iowa, and in that state was reared to manhood. He came to Bates county, Missouri in 1883. The American Clothing House was incorporated by Mr. Cook and others in 1901. Since locating at Butler, H.G. Cook has been a member of the city council four years and mayor of Butler two years. During his administration as mayor, the water works system was purchased by the city, a seventy-five-thousand-dollar bond issue voted, the old water works system taken over for thirty-two thousand five hundred dollars, a pumping station built on the railroad and a transmission line to the old plant at the river installed which station pumps water by electrical power for city purposes. By this means the water and light plants were consolidated at a great saving of labor and expense. The opposition, naturally, was exceedingly strong at the beginning of the undertaking as there always is at the proposal of any improvement, but Mr. Cook, which a progressive council backing him, pushed through these innovations to a successful termination and the experience of the years which have followed have proven their wisdom and excellence. He was one of the organizers of the Butler Commercial Club and served as its first president two years. During his administration the bond issue for the new high school was carried, the Commercial Club having charge of the campaign.
In 1891, H.G. Cook and Sallie Easley, of Rich Hill, Missouri, were united in marriage. Mrs. Cook is a native of Pleasant Hill, Cass county, Missouri. Her father was a prominent merchant in the pioneer days. To H.G. and Sallie Cook have been born three children: Pauline, St. Louis, Missouri; Helen, who is a student at the Missouri State University, Columbia, Missouri; and Josephine, who is attending St. Terresa Academy, Kansas City, Missouri.
The American Clothing House was established by Coy Carrithers & Company in 1885 and was incorporated by H.G. Cook and others in 1901. The store was originally located in the middle of the north block and the stock of merchandise was moved to the present store building in 1892. The establishment has fifty feet frontage and occupies two floors of the building. Originally the stock of goods consisted of clothing and men’s shoes exclusively. In 1912, ladies’ shoes, dry goods, and ready-to-wear garments were added. The American Clothing House now carries a mammoth stock of merchandise and enjoys a liberal patronage in Butler and Bates county. Much of the company’s marked success has undoubtedly been due to the efficient management of the store.
Mr. Cook is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, the Modern Woodmen of America, and the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks. Mr. Cook is essentially a business man, a firm believer in the efficacy of honest and honorable labor. He possesses excellent judgment and taste and is seldom mistaken in his judgment of men and affairs. He conducts all business operations fairly and justly and has financially met with success commensurate with the ability and energy displayed.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN QUINCY ADAMS COPE, pioneer of New Home township, Bates county, Missouri, proprietor of two hundred forty acres of land in New Home township, where he has resided for fifty years, an honored veteran of the Civil War, notary public in Bates county for thirty years, is one of the county’s best known and most prominent citizens. Mr. Cope is a native of Ohio. He was born December 5, 1835, in Columbiana county near Lisbon, a son of Edmund and Mary (Blackburn) Cope. Edmund Cope was born May 2, 1807, a son of John and Mary (McCabe) Cope, who were united in marriage in 1803 in Frederick county, Maryland. Mr. and Mrs. John Cope removed with their family to Fairfield township, Columbiana county, Ohio, where they settled in 1810. John Cope was a son of Oliver Cope, who emigrated from Wiltshire, England and came to the colony of Pennsylvania among the earliest settlers from his native land, in 1687. Oliver Cope was the father of the following children: William, Elizabeth, Ruth, and John. Edmund Cope, a son of John Cope, was united in marriage with Mary Blackburn in 1832 and to this union were born the following children: Samuel B., who was born October 6, 1833, and died at Enid, Oklahoma, in 1913; John Quincy Adams, the subject of this review; Maria A., who was born April 20, 1838, is now the wife of Leonard Tripp; and Seth E., who was born May 21, 1845, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. Edmund and Mary (Blackburn) Cope moved with their family to Van Buren county, Iowa, in 1847, thence to Clark county, Missouri, in 1851, and to Kansas in 1862. In the state of Kansas, the Copes resided at different times in Jefferson, Shawnee, and Jackson counties. In 1867, they came to Bates county, Missouri. Mary (Blackburn) Cope was born in 1800 in Maryland. The father died in 1884 and the mother joined him in death four years later, in 1888.
All three sons of Edmund and Mary (Blackburn) Cope enlisted and served in the Civil War, Samuel B., with the Seventh Missouri Cavalry; John Quincy Adams, with the Second Kansas State Militia in the Topeka Regiment; and Seth E., with the Eleventh Kansas Cavalry. John Quincy Adams Cope fought in the battle of Westport and assisted in driving Price southward. After the battle mentioned, he returned to his home, receiving his honorable discharge. Seth E. Cope took part in the Indian conflicts on the plains in 1865. In the autumn of 1866, John Quincy Adams and Seth E. Cope came to New Home township and purchased one hundred sixty acres of land. Their father, Edmund Cope, took up a homestead claim of forty acres of land; Samuel B., forty acres; John Quincy Adams, forty acres; and Seth E., forty acres. Afterward, John Quincy Adams Cope bought an additional tract of one hundred twenty acres for ten dollars an acre. He cared for his father and mother as long as they lived.
Politically, Mr. Cope is affiliated with the Republican party. He twice cast his vote for Abraham Lincoln, the first time in Clark county, Missouri, and again, in 1864, at Indianola, Kansas. In religious matters, Mr. Cope is a Deist, believing in Nature, in a Hereafter, and in the doctrines of Christianity. He has been a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons since 1865 and in point of membership is the oldest Mason now living in Bates county. Mr. Cope is a member of the Foster Blue Lodge, of the Butler Chapter and Commandery.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

SETH E. COPE, a well-known and highly respected citizen of Bates county, Missouri, an honored pioneer of New Home township, veteran of the Civil War, was born May 21, 1845, in Monroe county, Ohio. Mr. Cope is a son of Edmund and Mary (Blackburn) Cope, the former, a native of Virginia and the latter, of Maryland. They were the parents of four children: Samuel B., deceased; John Q. Adams, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume; Maria A., the wife of Leonard Tripp, of Mountain View, Wyoming; and Seth E., the subject of this review. A more elaborate genealogy of the Cope family is given in connection with the biography of John Q. Adams Cope.
In Clark county, Missouri, Seth E. Cope received his education. The Copes had moved from Ohio to Iowa in 1847 and thence to Missouri in 1851, locating in Clark county, where they resided for several years when they moved to Kansas in 1862. In 1864 Seth E. Cope enlisted with Company E and was later transferred to Company F, Eleventh Kansas Cavalry, and was in active service in Kansas, Arkansas, and the land of the Cherokee Nation. Capt. Evan G. Ross, Company E, who later became United States Senator and whose vote acquitted President Johnson from impeachment, was later appointed governor of New Mexico by President Cleveland, was a brave officer. Mr. Cope says William Gilbreath was the largest slave-holder in the county and was a strong Union man. Mr. Cope has a special pension bill passed for a blind girl, a soldier’s daughter. Mr. Cope was an important participant in the battle of Mine Creek and in the engagements accompanying Price’s famous raid from Lexington to Weber Falls, Arkansas. The regiment, of whom he was a member, made the Indian campaign in Wyoming and on the plains in 1865. Mr. Cope states that Quantrill, returning from the raid on Lawrence, Kansas, on August 21, 1863, disbanded in New Home township, Bates county, Missouri, just north of the river, a part of his men going down the north side and a part down the south side of the Marais des Cygnes. Mr. Cope was discharged from the Union service August 31, 1865, at Fort Leavenworth and took a one-hundred-dollar bond in payment for services.
In the fall of 1866, he came to Bates county and selected his land and at Butler, heard Colonel McClurg speak. In the spring of 1867, Seth E. Cope came to Bates county, Missouri, and settled on a farm in New Home township, where he has lived continuously since. Mr. Cope now makes his home with his brother, John Q. Adams Cope, of whom further mention is made in this volume. The former had resided in Bates county for fifty-one years and has known personally and still knows probably every individual of prominence in the county.
In January, 1885, Seth E. Cope and Gussie Littlefield, a daughter of Warren Littlefield, of New Home township, Bates county, Missouri, were united in marriage. To this union were born two children, who are now living: John Logan, of New Home township, Bates county; and Etta, who is now married and resides at Hoskins, Iowa. Mr. Cope is widely and favorably known in western Missouri and among the most valued men of Bates county he occupies a conspicuous place. He is a gentleman of the old school, possessing countless sterling qualities of mind and heart, and he has a host of friends in this section of the state. Fraternally, Seth E. Cope is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and is a Royal Arch Mason, Miami Chapter No. 76.
John Logan Cope married Grace Osborne, of Bates county, and has a daughter, Ruth, born July 1, 1917, for whom Mr. Cope has bought a government bond. Mr. Cope is promoting the plan of every grandfather buying a bond for every grand-child born since 1917.
Etta married Edward Wolverton and has two sons: Clay Reese, aged six years and six months; and Howard Logan, aged four years. In the seventies Mr. Cope had introduced and passed through Colonel Burdette, a bill by the general government establishing a mail route from Osceola to Garnett, passing through Chalk Land, Papinsville and Rich Hill, New Home, Walnut, Pleasanton, and Mound City, etc.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

GUSTAVUS A. CORBIN, old settler of Howard township, proprietor of a splendid farm of two hundred thirty-four acres, has the distinction of having taught the first public school ever organized in the town of Hume, Missouri. Mr. Corbin came to Missouri in 1871 and has resided on his present home farm for twenty-nine years. The farm was originally a gift from his father, a Virginian, who had traded for a tract of land in Bates county without seeing the land and offered a quarter section to his son, Gustavus, while stipulating that the son should come to Missouri and improve the tract, after trying vainly to induce his father to deed the land to him without the necessity of coming out here and improving it, young Corbin decided that he had better make a trip to Missouri and see about his legacy. He has never regretted coming and has prospered with his neighbors who have taken part in the development of Bates county as a great agricultural center.
G.A. Corbin was born July 22, 1846, in Harrison county, West Virginia, a son of Oliver P. and Nancy Ann (Taylor) Corbin, natives of Virginia. Oliver P. Corbin was a son of John Corbin, of Culpepper county, Virginia, a soldier in the War of 1812, stationed at Norfolk, Virginia, for some time during the war. The direct progenitor of the Corbin family is reputed to have been a British soldier, a Scotch-Irishman, who came to America with the British forces during the American Revolution, and for some reason or other, probably because he was impressed with the right of the colonial cause, he deserted the British and allied with the American side, fought for the Independence of the Colonies against his former comrades. Oliver P. Corbin lived all his days in West Virginia and died there. He was twice married and was father of seventeen children. G.A. Corbin’s mother died in 1856.
G.A. Corbin received a good education in his native county in West Virginia and began teaching school when still a very young man. He taught in his native state until his removal to Missouri in 1871. He continued teaching school after his arrival in this state and taught, in all for ten years. To him belongs the honor of having taught the first free public school held at Hume, Missouri, in 1882, this first school being held for a period of nine months. In 1872, Mr. Corbin located at old Papinvile. In 1881, he located in Howard township, this county, and has since remained here. He engaged in teaching until his removal to his farm in February, 1889. Mr. Corbin erected the residence and all buildings situated upon the place and set out all the shade trees which serve to beautify the place. He has been engaged in general farming and stock raising until of late years his son has relieved him of the burden of the hard tasks of cultivating his land.
Mr. Corbin was first married in 1871 to Harriet McDonald, of West Virginia. She died in 1873. His second marriage occurred September 6, 1882, with Margaret L. Shockley, of Illinois, born April 30, 1860, a daughter of John Shockley, a native of Pennsylvania, and Catherine (Beck) Shockley, a native of Ohio. John and Catherine Shockley were married in Illinois, where both had removed with their respective parents. John Shockley served as captain of Company “I”, One Hundred Sixth Illinois Infantry throughout the Civil War. He came to Bates county, Missouri, and settled on a farm three miles north of Papinsville. His wife died in 1914 at the age of seventy-nine years. Mr. Shockley was born February 21, 1831, and is still strong and active, despite his advanced age. He reared a family of nine children: John B., died in April, 1914; Louisa, wife of D.O. Bradley, Rich Hill; Ada, wife of Frank Seelinger, Greeley, Colorado; Mrs. Margaret L. Corbin; Emma, died as the result of injuries received in an auto wreck, which occurred on the road between Gettysburg, Pennsylvania, and Ringgold, in 1915, her death taking place in the town of Chambersburg, Pennsylvania, in September of 1915, her father receiving painful injuries at the same time, they both returning from a visit to the Gettysburg battlefield; Mrs. Nora Maupin, and Mrs. Cora Kelly, twins, reside at Waurika, Oklahoma; Nathaniel, on part of the old home place in Prairie township, near Papinsville; and James C., also on a part of the old home place in the same neighborhood, in Prairie township. To G.A. and Margaret L. Corbin have been born children, as follow: Mrs. Catherine Smith, born July 11, 1883, lives at Santa Barbara, California, and has one child, Earl Dillon, born May 26, 1907; Oliver G., born April 1, 1889, now a private in the National Army, was formerly engaged in the gas engine and vulcanizing business at Bottineau, North Dakota; Ivan, born April 19, 1891, an instructor in bookkeeping and commercial law in Spalding’s Commercial College at Kansas City, member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; John Byron, born December 23, 1893, at home with his parents, manager of the Corbin farm, a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, Blue Lodge of Hume, Missouri, and of the Chapter at Rich Hill.
Politically, Mr. Corbin has generally been allied with the Democratic party, as are his sons. Mrs. Corbin is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM H. COTTEN, a pioneer of Bates county, widely known and noted horseman, large land-owner of Osage township, is an individual who was not afraid to venture his capital in the early days of the development of southern Bates county. He had faith in the ultimate growth of population in this section of Missouri, and foresaw the time when land values would rise to undreamed of heights. Accordingly, he began accumulating land just as soon as he was financially able and for years was one of the shrewdest of Missouri traders. When he came to Bates county in 1870, he drove across country from Cooper county with an old and balky team of horses attached to a wagon of equal vintage fitted with wooden axles, and in debt to Abe Waite, of Cooper county, in the sum of $300. During the forty-seven years of his residence in this county, he has been successively school teacher, trader, farmer, live stock man, and won a fame for himself as a breeder of race horses which reached far beyond the borders of Missouri. The Cotten homestead is one of the finest in this part of Missouri. It is a beautiful residence situated upon a hill which overlooks a great stretch of country and gives a close view of Rich Hill, only one and one-fourth miles to the eastward. This place consists of one hundred fifty acres of rich land. Mr. Cotten owns in all eight farms totaling eleven hundred acres, nearly all of which are located in Osage township. Four farms are equipped with good buildings, and Mr. Cotten oversees the farming operations upon five hundred acres of this land directly, and handles and feeds over seventy-five head of cattle annually.
W.H. Cotten was born in Miller county, Missouri, October 25, 1840, the son of Gabriel and Margaret (Guy) Cotten, both of whom were born in this state, the children of pioneer parents. Gabriel Cotten was born in 1807 and died in 1875. He was the son of Benjamin Cotten, of Kentucky, who settled in Cooper county early in the nineteenth century, his first home being in the neighborhood of old Fort Boone. He ran away from home when still a very young man and thus became a pioneer of a great state. He later made a permanent settlement in Miller county, where William H. was reared to young manhood and later taught school in Cooper county. For two years after coming to Bates county in 1870 he also taught school at Old Rich Hill. Mr. Cotten’s first investment in Bates county was in forty acres in Osage township, located near Old Rich Hill, at a cost of $15 per acre. He went in debt for this farm and sold it not long afterward at a profit of $200. He then began trading and dealing in livestock and made a success of this business. He made a good friend in Martin Perry, who had capital and usually financed young Cotten in his earlier ventures. During 1872, when the grasshoppers ate most of his crops, Mr. Cotten paid as high as twenty per cent interest for the use of borrowed money. He had a good crop in the following year and began to prosper. For two years he resided on his first farm and then leased a farm near that of H.P. Robinson for four years. For two years following he was engaged in the saw mill business. In the spring of 1880, land began to rise in value and he deemed it advisable to get possession of all the land which his capital would permit. In the spring of 1881, he bought two hundred forty acres in addition to a tract of two hundred for eighty acres which he had purchased in 1880. During the winter of 1880 and 1881, he fed a large herd of cattle on the “Mound” and sold them at a considerable profit in the spring. He invested the proceeds in land and has continued to follow out a definite and well-defined course in land investments, and for land has paid all the way from $15 to $60 per acre. His home farm was purchased in 1903 and is worth at a fair valuation, over $100 an acre.
Mr. Cotten’s greatest accomplishment, however, was in the producing of a famous breed of race horses. From a dam purchased from the late Edward Crabb, of Osage township, he bred “Redwood Redman” in 1884 and thus created the famous breed known by this name. The dam which foaled the noted race stallion was obtained from Mr. Crabb by a trade which involved but $80 in money values. Mr. Cotten produced from Redwood Redman, the following noted track winners: “Blondy Redwood,” 2:08¼; “Dewey Redwood,” 2:16; “Woodshine,” 2:08, a three-year-old which he sold for $1,000 and which had never been started in a race prior to the sale. Mr. Cotten also received $1,000 for “King Redman,” 2:16. He made a number of track campaigns with “Redwood Redman” in Iowa, St. Louis and raced him at Terre Haute, Indiana. He sent “Blondy Redwood” to Dallas, Texas, for the races and the famous mare won three purses on the Dallas track.
On February 8, 1871, Mr. Cotten was united in marriage with Amanda H. Ratekin, who was born in Callaway county, Missouri, a daughter of Edward Ratekin, who came to Bates county in 1869 and spent the remainder of his days in this county. Mr. Cotten has one child, a daughter, Mrs. Ida Davis, residing at Rich Hill, mother of four children; Sydney Cotten, Lowell, Wiley, and Marcella Davis. Politically, Mr. Cotten is aligned with the Democratic party and has generally been a supporter of Democratic principles. He is a member of the Christian church. Notwithstanding his age, he is one of the most vigorous of men, and leads an active, outdoor life, and takes a keen interest in every-day matters. He is a member of the Christian church.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler

H.H. COUNCIL, proprietor of the Butler Steam Laundry, is a native of Indiana. He was born in 1870, a son of Thomas and Mary Council, both of whom are now deceased. His father died when the son, H.H., was a child nine years of age. Mrs. Council departed this life seven years ago, in 1910. To Thomas and Mary Council were born three sons, who are now living: Harry, Lansing, Michigan; Charles, a successful rancher at Mondak, Montana; and H.H., the subject of this review.
H.H. Council attended the public schools of Indiana until the death of his father, when he was obliged to make his own way in life and labored as a farm “hand” for his board and clothing, attendance at school being of secondary importance. Mr. Council was given the opportunity to acquire an education at intervals, which were brief, few, and far apart. He drove a riding cultivator for his cousin, when he, H.H. Council, was too small to hold the plow handles. Mr. Council came West as far as Des Moines, Iowa, when he was eighteen years of age and entered the laundry business there, which business he has followed for thirty years. He remained in Iowa several years and from that state moved to Missouri, locating first at St. Louis, then at Kansas City, and at last at Butler.
In 1891, H.H. Council and Ida A. Seamen, of Des Moines, Iowa, were united in marriage and to this union were born six children: Thomas, who has been in the service of the United States Government for the past four years, enlisting at Kansas City, Missouri, serving in the Philippine Islands three years, and when war was declared by the United States on April 6, 1917 he was sent by the Government to Leavenworth, Kansas and is now with the Coast Artillery at Galveston, Texas; Marie, the wife of Omer E. Brown, of Butler, Missouri; Edward, who enlisted in February, 1917 in the United States navy and is now on the battleship U.S.A. “New York;” Clyde, who is twelve years of age and is at home with his father; Nina, who is nine years of age and is at home; Donald, who is six years of age and is at home. The mother died at Butler, Missouri in December, 1915. Interment was made in the cemetery at Butler. Mr. Council has kept his little ones together and has given them as good home and training as he could, though sadly handicapped by the loss of his life partner.
Mr. Council came to Butler in December, 1913, at which time he bought out Kienberger & Macomb, owners and managers of the steam laundry, which they had obtained from C. Sells. Since H.H. Council acquired the ownership of the laundry, he has installed a new boiler, at an expense of one thousand dollars, two washing machines, and a shirt ironer, making the establishment thoroughly up-to-date. The building occupied by the laundry, a structure of 100 x 26 feet in dimensions, located on Dakota street was purchased by Mr. Council in October, 1917. Eight people are employed at the laundry in order to handle the immense amount of work as family washings as well as the washings of individuals are taken care of here. Mr. Council was connected with the Silver Laundry of Kansas City, Missouri prior to coming to Butler. He had scores of years of experience in the laundry business when he began business at Butler and but little else except an invincible ambition to succeed. Practically without one dollar, Mr. Council has made a marked success in his line of work, and by honesty and straightforward business methods he has won the confidence of his patrons and has built up a splendid establishment from nothing in less than five years.
H.H. Council is an up-to-date laundryman, thoroughly familiar with every detail of the laundry work, and he knows full well how to take advantage of opportunities and how to create opportunities when none exist. Joining the great army of wage earners in America at the age of nine years, Mr. Council has had a world of experience and after a lapse of years of hard toil he is now the possessor of a competence which in the dreamiest days of his youth he never hoped to realize.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.W. COX – To Mr. and Mrs. J.W. Cox of Elkhart township belong the proud distinction of having one of the largest families in Bates county, or this section of Missouri. If they have accomplished during a life time of endeavor, no more than the rearing of their fourteen children to become good and worthy men and women they will have done something well worth while. Mr. Cox is one of the native born old settlers of this county while still comparatively young as age goes in this part of Missouri. He was born in log cabin built by his father in Homer township, on July 15, 1867, a son of Felix and Mary (Hardiman) Maloney Cox, the former born in Clay county, Missouri, and the latter was born in Ireland. The parents of Felix Cox were among the earliest pioneers of Clay county. The Cox home in Clay county was near that of the James boys and J.W. Cox remembers them very well and recalled that the James brothers frequently came to the Cox store to purchase provisions and trinkets. When the Civil
War began, Felix Cox was eighteen years of age. He soon enlisted in the Tenth Kansas regiment and served with this organization until the close of the conflict as second lieutenant of his company. He fought in the battle of Westport and Mine Run and at one time was taken prisoner by the enemy. After the close of the war he came to Bates county in 1865 and made a settlement in Homer township, residing there until August, 1867 when he came into possession of the farm where his son, J.W. Cox, now resides in Elkhart township. He spent the remainder of his life on this place with the exception of a few years when he resided in Butler for the purpose of giving his children better educational advantages than that afforded by the district school. He was engaged in mercantile business at Vinton for a time. He was a Republican in politics and always took a keen interest in political affairs. Felix Cox died in March, 1895, aged fifty-two years, the wife and mother dying in 1906 at the age of sixty-five years.
After receiving a fair education in the district school of his neighborhood and the Butler public schools, J.W. Cox took up farming for his life work and has since been diligently engaged in farming and stock raising upon his eighty-acre tract in Elkhart township. Mr. Cox was married in 1888 to Anna Peebles who has borne him fourteen children, as follow: Gertrude, married Albert Ferguson and lives in Elkhart township; Florence, wife of Louis Wilkerson, resides at Road House, Illinois; Joseph, lives in Elkhart township; Lewis, resides at home; Laura, wife of Will McMein, living near Amsterdam, Missouri; Clay, a farmer in Elkhart township; Ethel, Lucille, Floyd and Lloyd (twins), John and James (twins), Darrell, and Murrel, at home with their parents. The mother of this large family of children was born in Illinois, a daughter of Abraham Peebles who came to this county and bought a half section of land whereon he resided until his death a few years later. After his death the other members of the Peebles family returned to Illinois.
Mr. Cox is an independent voter and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. His memory of the early days in this county is vivid and at the time of his father’s settlement in Homer township, much of the territory now dotted with farm homes was a vast unfenced prairie over which herds of deer and cattle roamed at will. He recalls the building of the first wire fence in his neighborhood and remembers when parties cut the strands of wire of one fence which had been built across the highway. He remembers that Jesse and Frank James and two others of their band called at his father’s store for the purpose of purchasing provisions and trinkets and tobacco. His father split rails and fenced his eighty-acre farm before the days of wire fence. He has seen herds of deer grazing on the prairie numbering eight and ten head and witnessed the killing of a deer by a bull dog, also saw several bands of Indians. Wolves were likewise numerous but he thinks that nothing has been more wonderful than the great changes that have taken place in the appearance of the country since the days of his childhood.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRED CRABB, proprietor of a splendid farm of two hundred acres of Osage township, was born in 1867 in Mason county, Illinois, a son of Willis and Mary (Forsythe) Crabb, former residents of Bates county, who have the unique distinction of holding the record for long marriages in Missouri and probably the United States. Willis Crabb was born January 7, 1823, in Greene county, Illinois, son of Edward and Elizabeth Crabb, pioneer settlers of Greene county, Illinois. Willis Crabb was reared in his native state and brought up on a pioneer farm. He made a settlement in Bates county, Missouri, in 1884. Prior to this year, in 1879, he came to this county and purchased a tract of land. Land was cheap and plentiful in those days in Bates county and there were not many permanent farmers in the southern part of Bates county. Much of the land was open prairie but the deep rich soil was awaiting the touch of the husbandman to transform its appearance and furnish a place upon which to build homes. Willis Crabb was very fortunate in his first venture in this county. He has broken up sixty acres of his land and had it sown to wheat which yielded a fine crop and brought the large sum of two dollars twenty-five cents per bushel. He sold his wheat crop, or rather his share of it, for enough to pay for his land. He made a permanent settlement in Osage township in 1884 and erected excellent improvements upon his farm. He resided on the home place until 1900 and then moved to Rich Hill. He resided in Rich Hill until the fall of 1917 and then removed to Springfield, Missouri, where is now living and enjoying life at the great age of ninety-five years.
The marriage of Willis Crabb and Mary Forsythe, born in Illinois in 1829, occurred in 1848, and was blessed with children as follow: Mrs. Fannie Cunningham, living in Chicago; John, a resident of Los Angeles; Lott, a railroad man who was killed in California, which engaged in his regular occupation; William, connected with the Farmers Bank of Rich Hill; Edith, wife of Charles Faylor, residing in Howard township; Rachel and Ida, residing in Springfield, Missouri; Fred Crabb, subject of this review; Florence, wife of C.C. McGinness, Howard township; and Mrs. Gussie Noble, Springfield, Missouri.
February 14, 1918, Mr. and Mrs. Crabb celebrated their Seventieth Wedding Anniversary at their home in Springfield. The event attracted widespread attention because of the fact that the anniversary was a unique one in point of years of continuous married life, which the aged couple have enjoyed. Both are well past the allotted span of life, are well, hearty, and in full possession of their faculties. Seventy years seems a long, long time as years come and go and Mr. and Mrs. Crabb probably hold the record for Missouri in having attained to such great longevity and having been married for such a length of time. Many wonderful changes have taken place in their life-time and it is given to but few people to reside on earth for such a period. They enjoy the respect and esteem of a wide circle of friends and acquaintances. Mr. Crabb was one of Bates county’s best citizens.
Fred Crabb was a sturdy youth of seventeen years, when the family settled in Bates county and he was well able and willing to perform a man’s work. He received his public school education in Illinois and also attended the Rich Hill High School, after coming to Bates county. He has resided constantly in Bates county since 1884 with the exception of three years in Illinois, from 1896 to 1898, inclusive. He then returned to this county and in 1899 purchased the Crabb home place and is owner of two hundred acres of land at the present time. Mr. Crabb is engaged in general farming and stock raising and is one of the successful agriculturists of Bates county. He was married in 1895 to Rachel Stickle, of Rich Hill, a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth Stickle, who were born in Austria and immigrated to this country and settled in Rich Hill. Eleven children have been born to Fred and Rachel Crabb, as follow: Mary, a teacher in the Howard township public schools; Joseph Daniel, an enlisted man in the United States Navy; Willis, deceased; Frances, a teacher in the public schools of Osage township; Edith and Florence, students in the Rich Hill High School; Charles, Virgil, and Gussie, attending the district school; Margaret, aged four years; and Alma, aged one year.
Politically, Mr. Crabb is aligned with the Democratic party and has filled the office of township trustee. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. Crabb is a genial, whole-souled citizen, who is well liked by his neighbors and friends and is looked upon as a progressive Bates county citizen.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

EDWARD CRABB, late esteemed resident of Osage township, was a man of pronounced individuality and industry who achieved a splendid success in Bates county as a farmer, pioneer breeder of thoroughbred livestock, and citizen. He was born in Tazewell county, Illinois, December 24, 1846, and died at his home in Osage township, this county, May 18, 1910. He was a son of Daniel and Margaret (Bailey) Crabb, natives of Ohio who were pioneers of Tazewell county, Illinois, being the third family to settle in that county. Edward Crabb was reared and educated in his native county in Illinois, and in December of 1869, came to Cass county, Missouri, where he remained until the spring of 1876. He disposed of his farm in Cass county in that year and made a purchase of land in Osage township which he developed into one of the finest and richest tracts in Bates county. He improved his place with an imposing farm residence, set out trees and otherwise beautified the place. Mr. Crabb accumulated a section of land in this township and was accounted one of the well-to-do farmers of his locality. Bates county owes much to him as having been one of the pioneers in the introduction of purebred livestock into the community. He was a great lover of horses and for a number of years was engaged in breeding standard bred and trotting and pacing animals, as well as Percheron draft horses, a vocation in which he achieved a pronounced success and which won him a wide and enviable reputation. The Crabb stables produced some very fine animals, and the “Redwood Redman” breed of racers originated by W.H. Cotten of Osage township, whose progeny became famous throughout the country, were bred from a dam raised by Mr. Crabb and sold to Mr. Cotten. The history of the track achievements of the descendants of this dam and of “Redwood Redman,” her son, form an epoch in the history of track racing which has rarely been surpassed for record breaking and fast time. Mr. Crabb brought to his farm the first imported English Shire horses ever seen in Bates county. For many years he was an extensive breeder of thoroughbred Shorthorn cattle and handled several hundred head of cattle yearly. When Mr. Crabb came to Bates county, he was comparatively a poor man. He bought his first quarter section of land with the assistance of his father but it was not many years until he had made good in his own right and by his own endeavors. Mr. Crabb was an exhibitor of his fine live stock at the county fairs and won many premiums upon the excellence of his stock at fairs in western Missouri and Kansas.
Edward Crabb was married January 30, 1870, to Miss Maria Thomas, born in Wayne county, Indiana, May 15, 1846, a daughter of Edward S. and Lorena (Kidwell) Thomas, natives, respectively of Ohio and Indiana. Edward and Maria Crabb were married at Pleasant Hill, Missouri, where the future Mrs. Crabb was visiting her sister. The children born of this union are: Mrs. Lillian Riley, Kansas City, has four children – Lillian, Edward E., Alice and Edith; J. Rolla, sheriff of Phillips county, Montana, married Jessie Wilson of Bates county, and has one daughter, Rollive; Daniel, owner of the old home place in Osage township; and Mrs. Margaret Gibson, Nevada, Missouri, has a son, Edward; and Edward, deceased. Mrs. Edward Crabb resides on the old home place with her son, Daniel. She is a member of the Church of Christ, Scientist. The late Edward Crabb was a Democrat in politics but his home was first in his heart and mind and he was a devoted husband and kind father to his family. He was also a member of the Church of Christ, Scientist, and was possessed of a kindly, generous nature, hospitable to the core, honorable and upright in all of his dealings, enterprising and ever ready to lend his assistance to worthy projects for the good of his adopted county. “Lest we forget,” this memoir is intended to perpetuate his name among those of his fellows and forever give Edward Crabb a foremost place among the builders of Bates county.
Daniel Crabb, a worthy son of his able father, was born August 3, 1876 on the Crabb homestead in Osage township and has lived all of his life on the home place. He was educated in the district and Rich Hill public schools and is farming a large tract of three hundred fourteen acres which he owns. He is an extensive feeder of live stock and handles from one hundred to two hundred head of cattle annually besides raising about one hundred fifty hogs each year. He was associated with his father in his breeding enterprises for a number of years and learned to be a thorough livestock man. Mr. Crabb is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, the Fraternal Order of Eagles, and the Modern Woodmen lodges of Rich Hill and is a genial, approachable citizen who is highly popular among his many friends and associates.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

DANIEL CRESAP – The career of Daniel Cresap and his devoted wife, residing on their large estate in Osage township in the evening of their long and eventful lives, is an interesting one and involves an account of hardships undergone and difficulties overcome, the mere confronting of which would have daunted souls less brave than Mr. and Mrs. Cresap. Through all of his career Mr. Cresap has been handicapped by the early loss of a limb, but his indomitable courage and will, and restless energy combined with the assistance of his noble wife have carried him onward and upward until he is now one of the largest land-owners in Bates county. The Cresap estate comprises seven hundred sixty acres in a single body in Osage township, all of which is in cultivation but two hundred forty acres which are used for pasture land. A resume of the output of crops from this large tract in 1917 gives the reader an idea of the magnitude of the farming operations carried on from year to year on the Cresap place. In that year there were one hundred forty acres of corn harvested which produced an average of forty bushels to the acre; thirty-five acres of wheat was sown which produced fifteen bushels to the acre; one hundred acres of oats yielded thirty-five bushels per acre; one hundred twenty acres of hay were cut which yielded over a ton to the acre. Mr. Cresap now rents out the greater part of his land. He formerly handled hundreds of cattle yearly. He is a real pioneer of Bates county and has lived here since July, 1866, and has resided on his home place since March, 1878. Mr. Cresap bought his home place of one hundred sixty acres in 1878, at a cost of five dollars per acre and has been continually investing in land since that time, paying all the way to twelve dollars and fifty cents an acre.
Daniel Cresap is descended from one of the oldest and most prominent of the American families. He was born in Pickaway county, Ohio, February 20, 1835. He is the son of Daniel (IV) and Margaret (Humes) Cresap, the former of whom was a native of Virginia and the latter of Pennsylvania. Daniel, Sr., was a son of Robert Cresap, a native of Virginia. The genealogical record of the Cresap family compiled some years ago states that the founder of the family in America was Thomas Cresap (I), who was born at Shipton, Yorkshire, England, in 1702 and died at Oldtown, Maryland, in 1789. He was a colonel of American soldiers in the Indian wars and probably served in the French and Indian War. His son, Daniel (II) was born in 1727 and died in 1798. Robert (III) was the son of Daniel (II) and was born in 1765. Members of this family have occupied prominent places in American history. Michael Cresap, a son of the original ancestor, Thomas Cresap, was an associate of George Washington in his surveying expeditions and was accused by Logan the Indian chief, with having brought about the killing of Chief Logan’s family. In 1854, the parents of Daniel Cresap moved to Piatt county, Illinois, and lived on rented land. At this period the elder Cresap was an old man and his sons tilled his farm. The children of the family were: Hamilton, deceased; Benjamin Franklin, a captain of a company in the One Hundred Seventh Regiment of Illinois Infantry during the Civil War, now deceased; Mary, deceased; Daniel, subject of this review; and Wesley, deceased.
At the early age of thirteen years, Daniel Cresap met with an accident which caused the loss of his right limb, and thus seriously handicapped through life he has managed to achieve success. He was a young man when the family located in Illinois in 1854. Two years later, in 1856, he made the trip to Texas, and was engaged in the cattle business in that state when the Civil War broke out. He lost all of his possessions and narrowly escaped with his life in making his way out of the South back to the old home in Illinois. He boarded a steamboat at Jefferson, on the bayou on Red river and made his way up the Mississippi as far as Memphis when the boat was stopped by the Confederate authorities and not allowed to proceed further. He made his way by train through Tennessee and Kentucky to Cairo, Illinois. The train was loaded with northern refugees like himself and he landed at Cairo practically penniless, and was forced to borrow a dollar to pay his fare home. During the war he managed his brother’s farm near Champaign, Illinois and saved money to the extent of two thousand dollars. This fund, he brought with him to Bates county, Missouri, in 1866, placed one thousand five hundred dollars in the bank at Butler and lost it all in five days by the failure of the bank. He first settled in New Home township at the head of the island on the shores of the Marais des Cygnes where he paid thirteen dollars an acre for land. He built a home on the hill overlooking his land and lived there for fifteen years, and then sold the farm which he had improved at thirteen dollars an acre. All of his fifteen years of hard work had gone for naught. Floods washed away his crops so often that he gave up the hopeless task of trying to even make a living in the flood lands of the river. He came to his present location in 1878, “dead broke.” He broke up his first ground with a yoke of oxen and a horse abreast, and he and his faithful wife were hard put to it in order to make ends meet during the first few years in Osage township. Mrs. Cresap worked liked a hired hand, sold butter at seven cents a pound, and she and one hired man milked thirteen cows daily. She eked out their slender resources by taking in sewing, doing washing for the neighbors and keeping boarders. Soon the clouds began to lift and prosperity smiled upon them; the memory of their hard struggles became dimmer and the Cresap farm grew larger and larger and the days of plenty were at hand for this deserving couple who were so ambitious that a little would not content them. Their ambitions have been realized and the splendid farm stretching away from the home which they built on the first quarter section is actual testimony of their achievements.
Mr. Cresap was married on February 25, 1873 to Mary Elizabeth Frazee, who was born September 23, 1843, in Cumberland county, Maryland, a daughter of William and Susan (Kirkpatrick) Frazee, both of whom were members of old American families. In 1847, William Frazee moved to Champaign county, Ohio, where he resided until 1868, and then came to Bates county, Missouri, settling in New Home township. A former ancestor of the Frazees owned a tract of land on Manhattan Island, New York which was leased for a period of ninety-nine years and is still claimed by the descendants of the lessee. William Frazee died in this county, October 3, 1870, aged forty-seven years, eleven months, and fourteen days. Susan Frazee died June 25, 1880, aged fifty-nine years. The Frazee children were: Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Cresap of this review; Mrs. Barbara Ellen Black, died in Osage township; Mrs. Frances Ann De Armond, a widow, residing with her daughter in Pleasanton, Kansas; William Harrison, New Home township, and Mrs. Eliza Jane Johnson, Butler, twins; Edmond Austin, Bristow, Oklahoma. The children born to Daniel and Mary Elizabeth Cresap are as follow: Susan, wife of V.A. Brundage, Sheridan, Wyoming; Uda, proving up on a homestead near Sheridan, Wyoming; Sara, on a homestead near Arvada, Wyoming; Daniel, also a homesteader near Arvada, Wyoming; and Mrs. Mary Elizabeth Schultz, Champaign, Illinois.
The nearest trading post for the Cresaps forty years ago was at Fort Scott, Kansas. Mr. and Mrs. Cresap hauled their wheat and produce to this point. Mrs. Cresap marketed her turkeys, chickens and sweet potatoes at Fort Scott, also. In politics, Mr. Cresap has been a life-long Republican but was identified with the Populist movement when it was at the height of its strength in this section. Mrs. Cresap is a Presbyterian and Mr. Cresap has endeavored all of his long life to live according to the Golden Rule. His creed of living is best expressed by the words, “Do what you know to be right, and don’t do what you know to be wrong.”
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

GEORGE CROOKS of Charlotte township has lived in Bates county for over half a century and can readily be classed as one of the real “old settlers” of the county. He was born in Grundy county, Illinois, in 1860 and is a son of Peter and Caroline (Owens) Crooks. His father was a native of Scotland and during his younger days was a deep sea sailer and ship carpenter who was promoted to become a mate of sailing vessels. For several years he sailed the high seas and finally immigrated to America, where he was married to the wife of his choice who was born in Illinois state. He settled down to farming in Grundy county, Illinois, and resided there until his removal to Bates county. He was one of the early settlers in Grundy county, where the father of Mrs. Owens was one of the pioneers. Mr. Owens frequently recalled that at one time he was offered a quarter section of land within the city limits of Chicago in exchange for a pair of boots but did not think that he would get the worth of the boots. The site of Chicago in those early days was not an enticing place for settlers and Mr. Owens was not the only pioneer who declined an opportunity to own a piece of swamp land. The Crooks family located in Charlotte township when they came to Bates county in 1866 and Mr. Crooks resided on his farm for the remainder of his life. He was a Republican and wielded quite an influence in local politics but always declined political preferment. There were five children in the Crooks family, as follow: Laura, wife of John Cope, New Home township, Bates county; James, Santa Cruz, California; Agnes, married James H. Park, living near Virginia, this county; George, subject of this biography; and Peter, deceased.
George Crooks has practically grown up with Bates county, and was educated in the old Butler Academy after his course in the local school. He has always followed farming and stock raising and ably cultivates his fine farm of one hundred sixty acres. He is a Republican in politics and has served as a member of the local school board. Mr. Crooks is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church of Virginia. He has a good recollection of conditions in this county during his boyhood days and remembers seeing herds of deer, wild turkeys and game of all kinds. The family came to this county at a time when the greater part of the county was unfenced prairie land, and the trails ran straight across country, taking the shortest distance between two points. This was the condition until the coming of the wire fencing which required that regular roadways be laid out throughout the county. All those changes, Mr. Crooks has witnessed, and has seen the unsettled country transformed into a productive and fertile land dotted with handsome farm homes and towns and villages. He has witnessed the days of the ox-team give way to the horse-drawn vehicles and that in turn give way to the automobile as a more rapid method of transportation.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRANK H. CROWELL, the well-known agent for the forty thousand acres of farm land in Bates county, Missouri, owned by Mrs. E. Angela Scully, of Washington, D.C., is a native of Boston, Massachusetts. Mr. Crowell is a son of Joseph D. and Hulda S. (Lewis) Crowell.
The lands, for which Mr. Crowell is agent, were purchased in 1894 by Mrs. Scully. He says, “If I were writing my biography, I would simply state, ‘I am alive and glad of it!’”
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

A.H. CULVER, the senior member of the A.H. Culver Furniture Company of Butler, undertakers, and manufacturers of special work in store fixtures and office furniture, is a worthy descendant of a long line of furniture manufacturers. His grandfather, William Culver, was the pioneer furniture manufacturer of Shelby county, Illinois, and John L. Culver, son of William Culver, was engaged in the furniture business in Edinburg, Illinois, until the time of his death in 1873. John L. Culver was a skilled manufacturer of coffins, and in addition an expert contractor and architect. His factory in Edinburg, Illinois, occupied a large two-story building. Both William and John L. Culver are now deceased and they were buried in Oak Grove cemetery in Christian county, Illinois.
A.H. Culver was born in 1853 in Sangamon county, Illinois, and in that state was reared and educated. At the early age of eighteen years, Mr. Culver began life for himself. For two years, he was employed in selling tombstones for a cousin and then he returned to his father’s home and entered his employ. He soon mastered the art of coffin-making and after the death of his father continued the business established by him, remaining at home with his widowed mother for many years. Later, Mr. Culver traveled for one year as salesman for a coffin factory. He came to Butler, Missouri, in 1878, via Fort Scott and Appleton City, overland on the stage coach from the latter city, to visit a friend and as he found Butler an inviting field, he opened a furniture and undertaking establishment afterward in partnership with Mr. Young. This firm did well and prospered for three years, when the store was burned and the entire stock was a total loss, there being no insurance. This calamity broke up the business at that time and the owners were obliged to sell to P.J. Jewett, in whose employ Mr. Culver remained for six and a half years. For nine years, Mr. Culver clerked for the American Clothing House Company and again was one year on the road as traveling salesman. Twenty years ago, in 1897, he purchased an interest in a new and second-hand furniture store, having in addition an undertaking business, which establishment was conducted and owned by Mr. Campbell. About twelve years ago, A.H. Culver organized the A.H. Culver Furniture Company of Butler, Missouri, as a stock company and shortly afterward Mr. Culver bought out the others and he and a son, C.E., and daughter, Nina L., are now conducting the business, well prepared and equipped to attend to all demands coming within their line. Mr. Culver has advanced steadily, overcoming many obstacles and forging to the front until he now ranks among the most successful business men of Bates county. Industrious and energetic, he took advantage of every opportunity that came his way and his honorable dealings, unquestioned integrity, and keen discernment have borne legitimate fruitage in the comfortable competence of which he is now possessor.
In 1875, A.H. Culver and Julia Greenwood were united in marriage. Mrs. Culver is a daughter of Dr. and Mrs. B.G. Greenwood, of Edinburg, Illinois. She is a native of Sangamon county. Both parents of Mrs. Culver are now deceased. To A.H. and Julia (Greenwood) Culver have been born three children: B.G., of Leavenworth, Kansas, who is now superintendent of the Abernathy Furniture Factory of Leavenworth, Kansas; C.E., who is associated in business with his father; and Nina, who is an assistant in her father’s office. B.G. Culver married Emma Whitsett, of Butler, Missouri, and they are the parents of two children, Ladine and Catherine. C.E. Culver married Hattie Newell, of Butler, Missouri, and they are the parents of one child, Hilda.
Mr. Culver has ably filled a number of offices of public trust and he has always done his part to “boost” for his home town. For the past five and a half years, he has been secretary of the Butler Commercial Club. He was a member of the city council for one term, during which period the municipal lights were installed in Butler, the first city in the state to have them. He was also a member of the first fire company of Butler. Mr. Culver has been, for the past five years, secretary and treasurer of the board of employment and public welfare and he was recently appointed county chairman of the County Council of Defense. He is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons and for the past twelve years has been secretary of the Butler Lodge.
Pre-eminently a man of his word, A.H. Culver long ago won the respect and confidence of all with whom he came in contact and from the beginning of his career to the present time he has maintained a reputation untarnished by a single unworthy act. Such is, in brief, the record of a “self-made” man, whose life, measured by the usual standards of success, presents much that is worthy of emulation.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

HIRAM G. CUMMINGS, the capable trustee of Shawnee township, Bates county, was born in Jackson county, Missouri, on February 20, 1884, a son of A.B. and Eliza (Garten) Cummings, the former, a native of Jackson county, Missouri, and the latter, of Virginia. Mr. and Mrs. A.B. Cummings reside at Grainfield, Kansas, to which city they moved in 1906. They are the parents of the following children: Stella May, the wife of Walter Bailey, of Topeka, Kansas; Leva, the wife of Troy Bartlett, of Martin City, Missouri; Hiram G., the subject of this review; Andrew, of Summit township, Bates county, Missouri; Roy, Grainfield, Kansas; Eric, who is now with the United States Expeditionary force in the trenches in France, enlisting on April 27, 1917, a Jasper county boy, twenty-seven years of age; Ruth, the wife of Marcellus Harrison, of Grainfield, Kansas; Marie, the wife of William Cline, of Grainfield, Kansas; and Goldie, who is a member of the teaching profession at Grainfield, Kansas.
In the public schools of Jackson county, Missouri, Hiram G. Cummings obtained his education. He was a resident of Cass county, Missouri, for three years prior to coming to Bates county, in 1903, with his parents. Mr. Cummings purchased his present home from Charles Moore in 1908, a tract of land embracing originally eighty acres, to which he has in 1915 added another eighty-acre tract purchased from the Nuckols brothers. The Cummings place now comprises one hundred sixty acres of valuable land located three miles west of Culver, Missouri, and eight and a half miles northeast of Butler, Missouri. Mr. Cummings has placed all the improvements thereon, including a comfortable residence, a house of five rooms and two stories, built in 1908 and 1909; a barn, 30 x 46 feet in dimensions; a good crib and granary. Mr. Cummings raises high-grade hogs, cattle, and sheep. He has, at the time of this writing in 1918, nineteen head of Shropshires. Among the citizens of his township, Mr. Cummings is rated highly as a progressive, industrious, intelligent agriculturist and stockman.
February 12, 1907, Hiram G. Cummings and Gertie Moore were united in marriage, the ceremony being performed at the home of her uncle, C.H. Moore, in Shawnee township. Gertie (Moore) Cummings was born July 18, 1882, in Shawnee township, a daughter of Leander Lewis and Laura (Laux) Moore, the father, a native of Pettis county and the mother, of Scott county, Missouri. Mr. Moore came to Bates county, Missouri, in 1880 and purchased and improved the place in Shawnee township now owned by Percy Lee Moore. Leander Lewis and Laura (Laux) Moore were the parents of the following children: Percy Lee, a prosperous farmer of Bates county, Missouri; Mrs. Hiram G. Cummings, the wife of the subject of this review; and Ora May, who died in infancy.  Mr. Moore died February 5, 1885, and his wife was united with him in death two years later, on March 10, 1887. Both father and mother were laid to rest in Bethel cemetery in Bates county. To Hiram G. and Mrs. Cummings have been born four children, who are now living, and one deceased; Ann Eliza, who died at the age of sixteen months; Roger Lee, Hazel Verlinda; Clifford Hiram; and Allen Laux.
Mr. Cummings is serving his third term as a member of the school board of Shawnee township and in 1917 he was elected trustee of the same township and is the present incumbent in that office. Mr. Cummings is a young man of strong character, practical mind, and the success he has now achieved is but the prediction of a larger measure of success to be won in the future. Mr. and Mrs. Cummings have a host of friends in Bates county and in their community no family is held in higher esteem.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CLAY S. CUMPTON, a progressive agriculturist and stockman of Bates county, was born in 1879 on the farm which was entered from the government by his grandfather, Thomas S. Cumpton, in 1853, a son of John M. and Angelina E. (Hedrick) Cumpton, the former, a native of Howard county, Missouri and the latter, of Lawrence county, Indiana. John M. Cumpton was born in 1833 and until he was ten years of age resided with his parents in Howard county, Missouri, and then moved with them to Johnson county, whence they came to Bates county, Missouri, in 1853 and the father, Thomas S. Cumpton, entered the land above mentioned. The elder Cumpton died on his farm in Bates county in 1862 and interment was made in Dickison cemetery.
The marriage of Thomas S. Cumpton’s son, John M., and Angelina E. Hedrick, daughter of William and Elizabeth Hedrick, was solemnized in 1860. Angelina E. (Hedrick) Cumpton came to Morgan county, Missouri, with her parents when she was a child two years of age and thence to Bates county, Missouri, in 1846. The Hedricks settled at Round Prairie in Hudson township. Mrs. Hedrick died in 1874 and interment was made in Myers cemetery in Hudson township. She was survived by her husband twenty-nine years, when in 1903 he joined her in death at the noble age of ninety-nine years, one month and sixteen days. Mr. Hedrick was laid beside his wife in Myers cemetery. To John M. and Angelina E. Cumpton were born ten children, five of whom are now living: Orvil W., Spruce, Missouri; Dr. Victor J., Pleasant Gap, Missouri; William E., Spruce, Missouri; Mary Elizabeth, the wife of J.A. Borland, of Spruce, Missouri; and Clay S., the subject of this review, on the home place of the Cumptons, the homestead of his grandfather, the birthplace of his father and of himself. John M. Cumpton has long since answered the last summons and the widowed mother, now at the advanced age of eighty years, makes her home with her son, Clay S., at the Cumpton homestead. Mrs. Angelina E. Cumpton is one of the most honored and beloved of Bates county’s pioneer women and she talks entertainingly of the days of her youth in Bates county, of the hard but not unhappy times of the long ago, when there was always plenty food but little money, more than enough work for all but few pleasures or recreations. She recalls how they were obliged to travel across the prairie to Papinsville once a week to obtain their mail. Mrs. Cumpton is the proud grandmother of seventeen grandchildren, all of whom reside in Bates county.
Clay S. Cumpton received his education at Cumpton school house in Bates county, Missouri. The Cumpton school house was named in honor of the Cumpton family. Practically all his life, Mr. Cumpton has been interested in farming and stock raising and since attaining maturity he has established a splendid reputation for himself in this part of the state as an exceptionally successful, careful breeder and producer of high grade hogs, cattle, and horses. He has on the farm, at the time of this writing in 1918, seventeen head of good Shorthorn cattle. Twenty acres of the Cumpton place are in timber and the past season, of 1917, Mr. Cumpton has twenty acres of the farm in wheat and had planted some oats and corn.
June 5, 1912, Clay S. Cumpton and Ada Silvers, a daughter of Clint and Martha Silvers, of Rich Hill, Missouri, were united in marriage. To this union have been born two children: Mary Belle and Lloyd Lawrence.
Clay S. Cumpton occupies no small place in the public esteem, being an active and earnest supporter of all worthy enterprises which have for their object the material and spiritual advancement of the community.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

V. J. CUMPTON, M.D., a well-known physician and surgeon of Bates county, is a native of Missouri, a member of a pioneer family of this state. He was born in Calhoun, Henry county, in 1864, a son of John M. and Angeline Elizabeth (Hedrick) Cumpton.
John M. Cumpton was a native of Howard county, Missouri, a descendant of an old Southern family. He was a son of Thomas Cumpton, a native of Tennessee, whose parents were North Carolinians. John M. Cumpton settled in Bates county in 1853, locating in Deepwater township. His father, Thomas Cumpton, also settled in Deepwater township and there spent the remainder of his life. Both the father and the son entered government land in Deepwater township and the Doctor’s mother now resides on the old Cumpton homestead, which his grandfather entered from the government in 1853.
When the Civil War broke out, John M. Cumpton’s sympathy was with the Union. He entered the Federal service and served as orderly sergeant in Captain Newberry’s Company. At the close of the war he returned to Deepwater township, where he engaged in farming and stock raising, and he was considered one of the successful men of the community. Politically, he was a Democrat, but he was inclined to be progressive in his political ideas. He supported the “Greenback” party about the time that that party became a national factor, and he also was a Populist, when that wave of political sentiment spread over the country. It mattered not to him what name a party bore. If its principles were progressive, he supported it. When he believed that he was right, he was unfaltering in his political principles. His outspoken political ideas made him a number of political enemies. He felt that he could afford to be fearless in expressing his political views, but he never aspired to hold political office. He died October 5, 1911, aged seventy-nine years. His widow now resides at the old homestead in Deepwater township. She is a native of Indiana, of Kentucky parentage.
Doctor Cumpton was one of a family of ten children born to his parents, five of whom grew to maturity: O.W., Spruce, Missouri; Dr. V.J., the subject of this sketch; W.E., Deepwater township; Mary E., married Joe Borland, Deepwater township; and C.S., who resides at the old homestead in Deepwater township.
Doctor Cumpton was reared in Deepwater township. He received his preliminary education in the public schools, after which he entered the University Medical College of Kansas City, where he was graduated March 23, 1897, with the degree of Doctor of Medicine. He had practiced his profession before receiving his degree.
After completing the course, he practiced for one year at Mayesburg, Missouri. In 1898, he engaged in the practice at Pleasant Gap, and it was not long until he built up a large practice. He is a capable physician and has met with uniform success in his chosen profession. He has also been successful in surgery.
While Doctor Cumpton attends to a large practice, he has various interests outside of his profession. He is particularly interested in stock raising. He has a fine herd of Aberdeen Angus cattle and he owns considerable farm property in Pleasant Gap township. He has a fine farm of two hundred forty acres, besides his property in Pleasant Gap.
Doctor Cumpton was united in marriage in 1900 with Miss Mary Elizabeth Nafus, daughter of Jacob P. and Mary (Davis) Nafus, very early settlers in Bates county. Jacob P. Nafus was born in Kentucky in 1809 and came to Pleasant Gap township in 1844. He was a successful farmer and stockman. He died January 23, 1897. His widow, who bore the maiden name of Mary Davis, was born near Spruce, Henry county, March 4, 1838, a daughter of James and Sarah (Beaty) Davis, the former, a native of Tennessee and the latter, of Kentucky. They settled in Henry county, about 1830. Mrs. Nafus now resides on the old home place in Pleasant Gap township. She is a woman of remarkable mental and physical capabilities for one her age.
To Dr. and Mrs. Cumpton have been born four children, three of whom are living, as follow: Ola May, Homer Hedrick, and Paul Henry. Doctor Cumpton is a member of the County, State and American Medical Associations, of the Masonic Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons No. 140, Butler, Missouri, and he is a Democrat. He is a member of the Christian church at Double Branches.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler


HARRY L. CURTIS, the efficient and highly capable cashier of the State Bank of Hume, Missouri, is a hustler who received his business and financial training in the “school of hard knocks” and has made good. Mr. Curtis was born September 4, 1870, in Logan county, Illinois, a son of W.L. and Susannah (Landis) Curtis, both of whom are natives of Virginia, where they were born, reared and married. W.L. Curtis migrated from Illinois to Kansas in 1876, and followed farming operations in the southwestern part of the state until 1895, when he came to Hume, Missouri, and is now engaged in the grain and elevator business.
Harry L. Curtis was reared to young manhood in southwestern Kansas and received his first banking experience in that locality. He first located in Hume in the year 1899 and became identified with the old Hume Bank which had been founded by Messrs. Standish and Horton. He served as bookkeeper of this concern until 1903 and then assisted in the organization of the Commercial Bank of Hume and remained with that concern until he organized the State Bank of Hume. He organized this bank in 1911 and under his management the concern is proving a financial success. This bank was opened for business in 1912 with a capital of ten thousand dollars. The organizers were Dr. Botts, R.M. Duncan, J.T. Lee, J.M. Thompson and H.L. Curtis. The company erected a fine brick building and fitted the interior with modern fixtures and a splendid vault. The bank has enjoyed a steady growth in strength and patronage since its organization and now has total resources of over one hundred thousand dollars. The present officers are: R.M. Duncan, president; Dr. Botts, vice-president; and H.L. Curtis, cashier. The board of directors include the foregoing officers and Messrs. Lee and Thompson.
In addition to his banking business, Mr. Curtis conducts an insurance and farm loan department, being the agent in this section of Missouri for the Walton Trust Company, of Butler. He is also a farmer and owns a splendid farm of one hundred sixty acres northwest of Hume. While this farm is operated by a tenant, it is one of the most productive in Bates county, having yielded its owner a net profit of fourteen dollars per acre on the wheat acreage during the past year and has yielded a profit of eighteen dollars per acre on the corn crop.
Mr. Curtis was married in July, 1915, to Miss Ada Montgomery, of Chicago, Illinois, and to this marriage has been born a daughter, Louise, born December 28, 1916. Mr. Curtis is a pronounced Democrat in his political allegiance. He is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, having taken all degrees of Masonry up to and including the Thirty-second Degree, being both a Scottish Rite and York Mason. Mr. Curtis, while among the younger financial men of Bates county, has achieved a success second to none in the county during the years he has been here a resident. He takes an active and influential interest in the affairs of his home town and of Bates county and is usually found in the forefront of all undertakings having for their object the betterment of conditions in the county and the advancement of the welfare of the people.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

 


 

Return to

Bates County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.