Welcome to
Bates County
Missouri


Biographies
~ H ~


SAMUEL PETER HALFERT – The late Samuel Peter Halfert, better known as S.P. Halfert, of West Point township, was an industrious and successful citizen, whose loss to the community in which he resided for so many years had been deeply mourned. He was born in Portage county, Ohio, February 4, 1840, and departed this life at his home in Bates county, March 5, 1909. He was a son of George and Rachel (File) Halfert, both of whom were natives of Germany. George Halfert, his father, emigrated from Germany when twenty-one years of age and landed in New York City with but one dollar in his pocket. Rachel, his wife, came from Germany with her parents when she was a child nine years of age. George Halfert died in Ohio in 1861 and the widow with her family removed to Michigan.
S.P. Halfert did not, however, locate in Michigan with the rest of the family. Being of an inquiring and inventive turn of mind, he worked out a formula which proved to be efficacious in the art of tanning furs. This recipe he traded for a tract of eighty acres of land located near Dubuque, Iowa. This tract was good prairie land and after working in the neighborhood of Dubuque for some time, Mr. Halfert disposed of the tract and located in Johnson county, Missouri, in 1866. In Johnson county, he bought eighty acres of land and there married Lina Kane, who died one and a half years after the marriage. Six months after the death of his first wife, Mr. Halfert came to Bates county and bought an “eighty” located near Cornland in the southern part of the county. He improved this tract and resided thereon for eighteen months, a bachelor. He then married and for a period of nine years cultivated this farm. Selling out the tract, he located, in the early eighties, in West Point township, as he had traded his possessions for one hundred sixty acres of land there located, a tract which was unimproved. This land he traded for eighty acres which were improved with an old house, cribs, and buildings of mediocre character. With the assistance of his able, energetic wife he prospered and increased his holdings to a grand total of four hundred eighty acres. This land has been divided since his death and the widow now owns the homestead of one hundred sixty acres.
Politically, Mr. Halfert was a stanch Republican and always voted the Republican ticket. He took an active interest in political matters and was noted for his straightforwardness and plain manner of speaking. His honesty was proverbial and his rating as a citizen was high.
S.P. Halfert was united in marriage with Sarah Ellen Kelley on December 15, 1872. To this union were born the following children: John Charles Halfert, born October 18, 1874, and now residing on a farm in West Point township; George William Peter, born September 3, 1886, at home with his mother; John Charles Halfert married Anna Gifford and has three children: Ida Celeste, Virolee Ellen and Clyde Marvin, who was named in honor of a preacher despite the wishes of his grandmother, who desired that he be named in honor of his grandfather.
Mrs. Sarah Ellen Halfert was born December 13, 1854, in Pennsylvania, a daughter of John and Eliza (Johnson) Kelley, natives of the Keystone state who removed to Newton county, Indiana, in 1855 and resided there until 1867 when they came to Bates county. Mrs. Eliza Kelley died in Indiana in 1861, leaving six children, as follow: Mary Jane, died in Colorado; Mrs. Ollie Kelley, Butler, Missouri; John, died when a youth; Aaron, died November 5, 1908, on a farm near Cornland, Bates county; Sarah Ellen Halfert, of this review; and Charles T., died in infancy. John Kelley was again married in 1873 to Mrs. Sallie Carpenter, who bore him four children: Samuel W., deceased; Andrew, living in northern Minnesota; Mrs. Rena Dillon, who is living near Butler; May, residing in California. The second Mrs. Kelley died upon the birth of her last child. December 1, 1867, the Kelley family arrived in Bates county and settled upon a farm in the vicinity of Cornland, which farm Mr. Kelley cultivated until his death, February 18, 1881.
Mrs. Halfert is a remarkable woman who has accomplished wonders in the management and improvement of her fine farm since her late husband’s death. She has remodeled and rebuilt practically every structure on the place and has all of them attractively painted in a dark red color, the residence and buildings making a handsome appearance from the roadway. She has had erected a thirty-barrel water tank for farm purposes which is kept filled by a pump operated by wind-mill power and everything is in first-class condition. A cyclone devastated the farm in 1909 and did considerable damage but it was quickly repaired. This energetic farm lady, despite her years, does a great part of the farm work and maintains a herd of ten dairy cows which yield one can of cream weekly from February to July, thus bringing her an income of seven dollars weekly. She has a total of eighteen head of cattle and nineteen head of Duroc Jersey hogs on the place. During the laying season, she disposes of two thirty-dozen cases of eggs each week from her poultry plant. Mrs. Halfert attends to her poultry and hogs, and does a great part of the milking herself. At this writing, December, 1917, she had four hundred bushels of oats in her granary and more than one thousand bushels of corn in crib. She owns a splendid team of horses and a brood mare. In the spring of 1917, she disposed of more than three hundred dollars worth of horses and mules. Mrs. Halfert is a woman who is highly capable of managing her own affairs. She believes in keeping up with the times and her success in conducting a large farm has demonstrated that at least one woman can manage a business successfully. She is emphatically in favor of woman suffrage and looks forward to the time when she will be able to vote equally with men. Altogether, Mrs. Halfert is a remarkable woman in more ways than one – kind hearted, obliging, and broad-minded – and she has a deep and abiding love for her home county and her country.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CARL F. HALL, proprietor of the leading mercantile establishment of Amoret, is one of the successful business men of Bates county. The Hall store was established in 1901 and the trade of this concern has been constantly growing during the past sixteen years. The store is housed in a large building and fully stocked with groceries, dry goods, queensware, hardware, feeds, etc. It has a distinctive appearance from the average general store found in small towns, and resembles a department store marked for the quantity and excellence of the goods on display. Mr. Hall handles country produce and is a shipper of eggs, butter, and poultry, which are brought to his store by the farmers of the vicinity.
Carl F. Hall was born July 29, 1878, at Trading Post, Kansas. He is a son of Austin W. and Caroline (Fisk) Hall, both of whom were natives of Vermont and descended from old New England families. Austin W. Hall came West in 1856 as a “Free State” man and made a permanent settlement in Linn county, Kansas. During the border troubles and the Civil War period, he served in the State Militia. He homesteaded land in Linn county and operated a general store at Trading Post. He also placed in operation one of the first flouring and grist mills in that section of Kansas and became widely and favorably known as a successful and able business man whose influence in the affairs of his county was marked. He died in Linn county in 1900 at the age of sixty-nine years. Mrs. Hall died in 1887. Mr. and Mrs. Austin W. Hall were parents of the following children: Amos Hall, a merchant of Amsterdam, Missouri; John, an attorney at Pleasanton, Kansas; and Carl F., subject of this review.
Carl F. Hall was educated in the public schools of Linn county and began doing for himself at the age of twenty-one years. When a youth he was employed in his father’s store and he also learned the miller’s trade. When he became of age he, with his brother, operated the Hall store at Trading Post and also operated the mill which had been built by his father. In partnership with his brother, Amos, he became engaged in the milling business in Amoret, Bates county, in 1899, and this partnership continued for two years. He then established the Hall mercantile store, which has been a remarkable success.
Mr. Hall was married in 1900 to Miss Nellie Hicks, of Pleasanton, a daughter of Harry and Sarah Hicks. Two children have been born of this marriage: Thelma, aged fifteen years, now a student in the Amoret High School; and Dorothy, aged six years. Mr. Hall is a Republican in politics and a good citizen as well as successful business man. A likable personality, honesty in his business dealings, progressive tendencies, ability and ambition to forge ahead have placed him in the front rank of Bates county’s merchants.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

E.R. HALL, one of the leading farmers and stockmen of Bates county, is a native of Ohio. He was born in Champaign county in 1853, a son of Ansel C. and Alivra L. (Cushman) Hall, both natives of New York. The Hall family left the state of Ohio and went to Iowa in 1857, when E.R., the subject of this sketch was about four years old. They located near Marshalltown, Iowa, where they remained until 1861, when they went to Sangamon county, Illinois. Here they remained until October 20, 1869, when they came to Missouri, settling in Pleasant Gap township, Bates county. The father bought eighty acres of land in Pleasant Gap township and spent the remainder of his life here. In addition to following farming, he conducted a saw-mill for a number of years. Both parents are now deceased.
E.R. Hall was one of a family of seven children, born to his parents, as follow: Julia, married Sanford Thorp and they live near Sioux City, Iowa; Frank, deceased; Charles, died in childhood; Adelaide, deceased; Lewis, lives in Pleasant Gap township; E.R., the subject of this sketch; and Dora L., married O.M. Burkhart, Pleasant Gap township.
Mr. Hall was educated in the public schools, attending school in Iowa, Illinois and Missouri. Like his father, he was engaged in the saw-mill business for a number of years as well as in farming. In 1881, he purchased fifty-one acres where his present residence is located. He has added to his original purchase, from time to time, and now owns one of the best-improved farms in Bates county, which consists of five hundred forty acres of productive land. A few years ago he purchased the Requa farm just west of his old homestead, where his son now resides. This place is known as the “Seven Oaks” farm, so named from the fact that there were seven large oak trees in the vicinity of the residence. This is a very attractive place, but not more so than Mr. Hall’s home place, which is well-improved with large barns and a comfortable, modern farm residence. Both the “Seven Oaks” and Mr. Hall’s home place are two of the attractive farm properties in Bates county.
Mr. Hall was united in marriage December 21, 1876 with Miss Louisa Eckles, a daughter of James and Rebecca (White) Eckles, and a native of Adams county, Illinois. Her father was born in Pennsylvania and her mother in Illinois. The Eckles family came to Missouri and settled in Bates county in 1866. The parents are both now deceased. To Mr. and Mrs. Hall have been born the following children: Ivan Elmer, who resides on the old Requa place, above mentioned; Addie B., married Robert Lyle of Lone Oak township; and Ethel May, who died at the age of nineteen years.
Mr. Hall is one of the successful high-grade stockmen of Bates county. He raises registered Poland China hogs and Durham and Shorthorn cattle, and has some very valuable animals on his place.
Mr. Hall is a Democrat, although inclined to be independent in his political notions and has never aspired to hold political office. He is one of Bates county’s substantial citizens.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

R.R. HAMILTON, cashier of the Bank of Amoret, is a native son of Bates county. He was born July 15, 1882, on a farm one and one-fourth miles northwest of Amoret. He is a son of J.B. and Emma G. (Gibson) Hamilton, well-known and substantial residents of Bates county.
J.B. Hamilton, the father, was born in Iowa in 1858, a son of William and Dorothy (Paisley) Hamilton, natives of Ohio and early settlers of Iowa. Both came with their parents to the state of Iowa when it was in process of settlement and were practically reared on the frontiers of civilization. It is only natural to expect that William Hamilton preferred the pioneer life and was ever in the vanguard of settlers who were opening the great West and paving the way for the establishment of government. He was married in 1858 and shortly afterward joined the hosts of “Free State” men who located in Kansas, where he resided until his death in 1913. William Hamilton was a stanch “Free State” man. He became well-to-do in his adopted state. Prior to locating in Kansas, he joined the rush of gold-seekers to California in 1849 and made the long trip overland with a party which left Sioux City. He and his brother, John, engaged in the saw-mill business in California. John preferred to remain on the coast and became wealth.
J.B. Hamilton was the first-born of his father’s family and was reared to manhood in Kansas. He resided in that state until 1881, when he made his permanent location in Homer township, Bates county, Missouri. He has built up a splendid and productive farm from raw prairie land and has accumulated a total of one hundred forty-five acres, which are well improved. Mr. Hamilton is accounted a good, industrious citizen of the type that has pushed Bates county into the forefront with the leading counties of Missouri. He was married in July, 1881, to Emma Gibson, who has borne him the following children: R.R., subject of this review; W.P., a successful farmer residing within three miles of Amoret; O.V., clerk in Hall’s Mercantile Store at Amoret; H.E., a farmer residing in Linn county, Kansas; Myrtle, H.B. and J.P., at home with their parents. The mother of these children was born January 7, 1860, and departed this life February 22, 1917. She was born in St. Clair county, Illinois, a daughter of Robert and Martha (Hamilton) Gibson, who were natives of South Carolina and left their native state on account of a pronounced abhorrence of the institution of slavery, coming to Illinois during the earliest period of the settlement of that state. They came to Linn county, Kansas, in 1878. Robert Gibson settled on a farm in Linn county and resided there until his early death in 1882. Mrs. Gibson died in 1898. They were adherents of the Presbyterian faith. Both the Hamilton and Gibson families have been prominent in the affairs of the Presbyterian church. William Hamilton was for many years a ruling elder of the church and became an elder of the church of the United Presbyterian faith in Linn county upon its formation in 1858. He was succeeded by his son, J.B. Hamilton, who served until of late years, when he was succeeded by his son, R.R. Hamilton. John Hamilton, father of William Hamilton, was an elder of the church when the family resided in Ohio.
R.R. Hamilton, subject of this review, was educated in the public schools of Amoret and Pleasanton, Kansas. Following his public-school and high-school education, he pursued a business course at Brown’s Business College in Kansas City. After securing his business training he was employed in the Hall mercantile establishment in Amoret, from 1902 to 1906, inclusive. In the latter year he became cashier of the Bank of Amoret. He is now capably filling this position. Mr. Hamilton was married on October 15, 1908, to Miss Zola Davidson, a daughter of F.M. and C.S. Davidson, residents of Amoret. Mrs. Hamilton was born and reared in Bates county.
Mr. Hamilton, subject of this review, is a Republican in politics and takes a keen interest in the affairs of his party in Bates county but is not an office-seeker. He is a ruling elder of the United Presbyterian church of Amoret and succeeded to this position in July, 1917. He is a leader in civic and church affairs of his home town and is fast making a reputation for himself as a capable and efficient banking man and ranks high among the younger bankers of his native county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

OSCAR HAND, of Elkhart township, former township assessor and central committeeman of the Republican party, belongs to one of the old families of Bates county, his parents with their children and worldly possessions, having driven overland from their former home in Illinois to Bates county in 1871. Mr. Hand was born in Knox county, Illinois, in 1857, and is a son of Ellis and Jane (Kennedy) Hand, the former having been born in Indiana in 1832 and still resides in Bates county. The wife and mother was also born in Indiana and is now eighty-one years old. Both Ellis and Jane Hand were children when they accompanied their respective parents to Knox county, Illinois. They grew up in that county and were there married. Two weeks traveling were required to bring the family to Bates county and the trip was a distinct novelty to the younger children, who rather enjoyed the outing. They made their home here at a time when there was no town of La Cygne, and Butler was but a settlement. Their nearest market was at Harrisonville, where they drove their stock and hauled their grain to be sold and shipped.
Ellis Hand followed the vocation of farming all of his life and became quite prominent in the civic and political affairs of Elkhart township and the county. He served several terms as a member of the township board and was actively identified with political matters as regards the Republican party with which he was always identified, serving as Republican committeeman. Six children born to Ellis and Jane Knox were reared to maturity: Oscar, subject of this review and the eldest son of the family; Lizzie, wife of Charles Evans, residing near Scott City, Kansas; Albert, Kansas City, Missouri; George, a farmer in Elkhart township; Minnie, who married William Allen, who is now deceased; Rebecca, wife of Buell Mudd, living near Burdett, in Bates county.
The early education of Oscar Hand was obtained in the public schools of Illinois and Bates county. He applied himself diligently to his studies and has become well informed through constant reading. From his youth he has been engaged in farming and with the exception of nine years spent in Kansas City in the employ of the Santa Fe Railroad Company and the stock yards, has lived in Bates county since coming here in 1871. He removed to Kansas City in 1880 and returned to the farm in 1889.
Mr. Hand was married to Mary J. Peebles, a native of Illinois and daughter of Abraham Peebles, who came to Bates county and located in Elkhart township as early as 1869. Mr. and Mrs. Hand have three children: Ethel, wife of William Spencer, Adrian, Missouri; Elsie, and Roy, residing in Claudell, Kansas.
Mr. Hand is prominently identified with the Republican party and is one of the leaders of his party in Bates county. He has filled the office of township assessor and is the present central Republican committeeman for Elkhart township. He is secretary of the local Central Protective Association and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ANDREW HANSON, an industrious and thrifty farmer of Shawnee township, was born near Eureka, Kansas, January 6, 1862, the son of Christopher and Mary Hanson, the former of whom was a native of Norway and was one of the first settlers near Eureka. He later located in St. Clair county, Missouri, where the mother of Andrew Hanson died in 1868. Christopher Hanson departed this life in Jefferson City, Missouri, in 1876. The other children born to Christopher and Mary Hanson besides Andrew, are: Mrs. Sophia Evans, St. Clair county, Missouri; Mrs. Martha Silvers, Rich Hill, Missouri. By a second marriage the following children were born to Christopher Hanson and wife: Frank, Rich Hill, Missouri; Lonnie Cox, an adopted son; Mrs. Alice Jackson, St. Louis, Missouri.
Andrew Hanson was reared in St. Clair county and there took up the vocation of farming. When seventeen years of age he came to Bates county and began working at farm labor on the farm of Adolphus Stuckey and remained on this farm for some time, eventually becoming the owner of the very place where he began his own career. On September 17, 1885, he was married at the Stuckey homestead by Rev. A.H. Lewis to Mary E. Stuckey, the daughter of his employer, and for some time remained on the Stuckey farm. During his first year before marriage he raised a big crop of wheat on this farm, the yield averaging twenty-seven bushels to the acre. Prior to the advent of the railroad to Butler he raised a large crop of flax on land west of Butler. He hauled this crop to Rockville for shipment, the trip taking him two days for each load. Mr. and Mrs. Hanson have resided in Missouri, Kansas, and Oklahoma, and again came to the old Stuckey farm for a permanent stay in 1903. They took a pre-emption claim in Meade county, Kansas, in 1887, and proved up on it and for some time Mr. Hanson followed stock raising in Meade county and Clark county, Kansas. They lived in “No Man’s Land,” now Beaver county, Oklahoma, for a few years prior to returning to Bates county where they homesteaded land in 1888. Mr. Hanson owns a splendid farm of two hundred forty acres, which is a part of the Stuckey farm of three hundred twenty acres.
Eight children have been born to Andrew and Mary E. Hanson, six of whom are living: Bertha, wife of Charles Stover, Shawnee township; Alva, was killed by a stroke of lightning on June 25, 1910; Walter, married Maggie McGuire, and resides in Shawnee township; Lonnie, was killed by lightning on June 25, 1910 and Fonnie, twins; Hattie, Lloyd and Edna, at home. Mrs. Mary E. (Stuckey) Hanson was born February 1, 1867, near Fairbury, Illinois, and is a daughter of Adolphus Stuckey, a native of England, who came to America when but a lad and later made a settlement in Bates county as early as 1873. Before coming to Bates county he had his home in Illinois and during the Civil War he served his country in an Illinois regiment of volunteers throughout the war. Mr. Stuckey began in a small way in Bates county and erected a box house on his prairie farm, improved the place and became well to do as the years passed. He returned to Illinois and after living there for twenty-two years, he came back to his farm and died there in March, 1915. His wife was Nancy Cunningham before her marriage. She was born in Illinois, January 14, 1838, and died August 31, 1893. The Stuckey children were as follow: Mrs. Ida Shook, Fairbury, Illinois; Mrs. Hattie Vint, Walla Walla, Washington; and Mrs. Mary E. Hanson.
Of the children born to Mr. and Mrs. Hanson it is interesting to note that Alva, Walter, Lonnie and Fonnie were born in Beaver county, Oklahoma. Hattie, Lloyd and Edna, were born in Clark county, Kansas. The fine cedar trees growing in the yard of the Hanson farm and which add to the attractiveness of the place, were obtained by Mr. Hanson, who assisted in setting them out, when he was working for Mr. Stuckey in about 1880. The Hansons are industrious and honest people who have the good will and esteem of their neighbors and have many friends in their neighborhood.
Nancy (Cunningham) Stuckey was the daughter of Mr. Cunningham, who was one of the early pioneers of Bates county and was one of the first settlers of Butler.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES HARDIN, a prominent farmer and stockman of Mount Pleasant township, is one of the honored and respected pioneers of Bates county. Mr. Hardin is a native of Nicholas county, Kentucky. He was born October 16, 1845, a son of Wesley Hardin, a native of Virginia. Wesley Hardin had, in early manhood, moved with his parents to Kentucky and in that state was married. From Kentucky, Mr. and Mrs. Wesley Hardin went to Illinois and settled in Menard county in 1854 and there reared and educated their son, James, the subject of this review.
In February, 1865, at Springfield, Illinois, James Hardin enlisted in the Civil War and served until the close of the conflict in Company A, One Hundred Fifty-second Illinois Regiment of Infantry. Mr. Hardin was sent to Tullahoma, Tennessee and from there to Memphis, Tennessee, where he remained until mustered out at the end of the war. He had done guard duty in the war, principally. After the war had ended, Mr. Hardin returned to Springfield, Illinois, and from there went back home. In 1868, he came to Bates county, Missouri, and purchased his present home place in September of that year and in September, 1870, moved to it. He paid seven and a half dollars an acre for eighty acres of land and ten dollars an acre for ten acres of timberland at that time. The Hardin place was raw prairie at the time of the purchase. Mr. Hardin built a post and rail fence enclosing his land, the rails being nailed on the posts with old iron nails. This improvement was made the first year of his residence. A house, 14 x 22 feet in dimensions, was built of pine timber, the lumber for its construction hauled from LaCygne, Linn county, Kansas. It required two days to make the trip. The first year, Mr. Hardin raised twenty-five bushels of sod corn per acre and he has continued to improve his land and bring it up to a high state of cultivation through all the succeeding years. In the early days, a stage line operated from Butler to LaCygne, Kansas.
October 17, 1867, James Hardin and Mary A. Stone were united in marriage at Lincoln, Illinois. To this union have been born five children: Edwin, Butler, Missouri; Katie Frances, at home; Frank S., at home; and Hugh, Little Rock, Arkansas. Mr. and Mrs. Hardin celebrated their Fiftieth Wedding Anniversary on October 17, 1917.
Mr. Hardin rebuilt the residence in 1907 and the Hardin home is now a comfortable, convenient house of seven large, well-lighted rooms. A silo was erected in 1917. The farm is well supplied with barns, having a commodious horse barn, cattle barn, and implement and crib barn, in addition to numerous sheds to facilitate the handling of stock. Mr. Harden keeps registered Poland China hogs, which stock he has found to be the most profitable investment on the place. He milks ten head of Red Polled cows and ships the milk to St. Joseph, Missouri. Although Mr. Hardin personally oversees the work of the farm, he is not now actively engaged in agricultural pursuits but is quietly spending the closing years of his life on the home place, leaving the immediate supervision of the farm work to his sons, Fred L. and Frank S. Mr. and Mrs. Hardin have worked hard in the days gone by and no people in Missouri more deserving of the comfort and ease with which they are surrounded can be found.
The worthy pioneers of Mount Pleasant township are represented by no more enterprising and successful farmer and highly esteemed citizen than James Hardin. Belonging to the large and honorable class of good yeomen, who by deeds not words have done so much to develop the resources of our great commonwealth and advertise its advantages to the world, he has long been a forceful factor in Bates county and by a life singularly free from fault he has wielded a wholesome influence for good upon all with whom he has business or social relations.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIE M. HARDINGER – The Hardinger family is one of the oldest and most prominent families in Bates county, and the subject of this review has been a resident of this county since 1867. His fine farm of two hundred forty acres in Charlotte township is widely known as the “Cloverdale Stock Farm,” one of finely improved places in the county, and noted for its crop production and livestock. Mr. Hardinger was born in Linn county, Iowa, September 21, 1866, and is a son of William Nathaniel and Mary E. (Berryhill) Hardinger, late prominent residents of Bates county.
William Nathaniel Hardinger was born in Bedford county, Pennsylvania, in the year 1837, and was a son of George and Mary Hardinger. His parents removed to Wayne county, Ohio, in 1852, and in 1856 he removed to Linn county, Iowa, where he followed farming until his removal to Bates county in 1867. In 1865 he married Mary E. Berryhill, a native of Linn county, Iowa, and who was born in 1843, a daughter of Joseph and Jane (Butler) Berryhill, the former a native of Ohio and the latter a native of Michigan. When Mr. Hardinger came to Bates county he located on section 35 in Charlotte township and improved one hundred twenty acres of land. In 1880 he made a trip to California and remained there until 1881, when he returned and erected a store building at Virginia, conducted a store there for a little over a year and then disposed of the business to George Short. For his first forty acres bought in this county he paid ten dollars an acre. Mr. Hardinger continued to reside upon his farm until his death on September23, 1917. His death marked the passing of one of the best known and best beloved citizens of the county, whose honesty and Christianity were proverbial. For many years he was identified with the Presbyterian church and was active in church work. He was prominently identified with the Democratic party and served for a time as justice of the peace of his township. His wife had preceded him in death eleven years, her death having occurred in March, 1906. Willie M. Hardinger, subject of this review, is the only child of his parents.
The education of Willie M. Hardinger was supplemented by a course in the Butler Academy and he then settled down to the life of a tiller of the soil. All of the days of his residence in Bates county have been spent on the Hardinger farm. He has increased the original acreage to two hundred forty acres, he and his wife owning one hundred twenty acres about twenty miles distant. “The Cloverdale Stock Farm” is located about one and a half miles south and five and a half miles west of Butler. Mr. Hardinger carries on general farming activities and raises Red Polled and Shorthorn cattle for the markets.
He was married, May 24, 1888, to Ida L. McElroy, who was born and reared in Charlotte township, a daughter of William A. McElroy, an early settler of this township. Mr. and Mrs. Hardinger have four living children: Lee M., who is married and resides upon one of his father’s farms; Elmer, Arthur, and Ruth, at home with their parents.
William A. McElroy, father of Mrs. Hardinger, was born September 27, 1839, in Jefferson county, Ohio, and was a son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Humphrey) McElroy, both natives of the Buckeye state. The family settled in Fulton county, Illinois, in 1844. The mother died in 1878 leaving five children. William A. McElroy was reared to young manhood in Illinois and during the Civil War, he served in the Seventy-second Regiment, Illinois Volunteer Infantry. On August 30, 1866 he married Miss Sarah J. Drum, who was born in Belmont county, Ohio, May 23, 1844. In 1869 Mr. McElroy located on section 28, in Charlotte township and has resided in Bates county for nearly fifty years. The following children were born to them: Mary C. Drysdale, on the old home place; Minnie E. Hendrickson, Los Angeles, California; Nellie B. Burk, Charlotte township; Ida L., wife of the subject of this review; Frank W., Texas; and Clarence J., Arizona.
Mr. Hardinger has been more or less active in political affairs since attaining his majority and has always been a supporter of the Democratic party. During Governor Folk’s administration he received the appointment of county assessor of Bates county and ably performed the duties of this office. He has also served as justice of the peace and as township assessor. He is affiliated fraternally with the Butler Lodges, Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen of America. Both he and Mrs. Hardinger are members of the Presbyterian church and take an active interest in church works. Mr. Hardinger is a director of the Missouri State Bank of Butler and takes a prominent part in all county movements of a meritorious and beneficial character.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JUDGE R.F. HARPER – The life story of Judge R.F. Harper, a leading citizen of Bates county, and highly successful agriculturist of Charlotte township, ex-presiding judge of the county court, and pioneer settler, takes one back over a half century of the development period of this county. The tale of his career in this county begins at a time when the entire territory which comprises this county was in an unsettled state and much of the land was open prairie over which herds of deer roamed and wild game was plentiful. There were few roads in the county, and such as the pioneers traveled on their way to market were but beaten trails which lead straight across country to the destination. The nearest trading and shipping point was at Pleasant Hill, fifty miles away, and it was a two or three days’ journey to carry produce to this market. The period of Judge Harper’s life previous to locating in Bates county, borders on the romantic and savors of the old days of the boundless Western plains which he crossed on foot. It would reveal something of the life of the hardy adventurer in the mining camps of the Rocky mountains, and subsequent service under the Union flag in the wilds of Colorado and New Mexico and the stirring scenes of a campaign against hostile Indians in which he participated. R.F. Harper was born March 23, 1841 in Athens county, Ohio and was a son of Theron and Catherine (Allen) Harper. His father was born in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania and his mother was born in Gallia county, Ohio. The parents of Theron Harper were early settlers in Athens county, Ohio, and here the father of R.F. Harper was reared to manhood and married. Both of Judge Harper’s parents lived all of their days in Athens county, Ohio, and died there, the father dying in January, 1851. They were parents of ten children.
After receiving such education as was afforded by the public schools of his neighborhood, R.F. Harper attended the old Albany Academy in Athens county. His father died when the son was ten years old and he then assisted in the support of his widowed mother and his brothers and sisters until the second marriage of his mother. He then made his home with an uncle who assisted him in acquiring an education. Thrilled with the news of the great gold discovery at Pike’s Peak, early in 1860, he determined to make his way to the new gold fields. He got as far as St. Joseph, Missouri, and there persuaded a freighter to allow him to accompany his outfit. The freighter agreed to feed him the entire distance to Denver but it was necessary for him to make his way afoot. He paid the freighter twenty-five dollars for this privilege. There were seven men and one woman in the party which convoyed one wagon loaded with freight and drawn by ox-teams. The seven men took turns herding the oxen upon camping at night, Mr. Harper taking his term regularly. Mr. Harper walked the entire distance of six hundred miles in thirty-two days and arrived in Denver, then a straggling frontier camp, with but five dollars in his pocket. This money was soon stolen from him by a man whom he thought was a friend and he obtained employment as a miner at a wage of one dollar per day and his board. He humorously recalls that he got the board all right but never received the dollar-per-day wages which were promised him.
On August 20, 1861, he enlisted in Company E, First Colorado Cavalry and served for four years, two months and ten days. Previously, he had made up his mind to go to Leavenworth, Kansas, and join the command of Col. Jim Lane, the famous Kansan who had taken such a prominent part in the struggle to make Kansas a free state. Mr. Harper saw active and continuous service of the hardest frontier character in Colorado and New Mexico. He took part in the battle of Apache Canyon, twenty miles from Santa Fe and fought from March 26 to March 28, 1862. His command met and engaged the Confederate forces and drove them back to Santa Fe. Later he participated in another engagement on the Rio Grande below Albuquerque. In 1864, the western Indians became hostile and a great uprising was threatened. His command was sent against them on the plains of Kansas and Colorado and they operated as far east as old Fort Dodge, Kansas. He was honorably discharged from the service on October 30, 1865, at Denver and started at once for home. The Indians were still troublesome and it was dangerous for white men to travel except in considerable bodies. In order to retain their side arms the discharged soldiers were required to pay for them. This he did, retaining both rifle and revolver. At Julesburg, Colorado, Mr. Harper and others organized into a formidable and well armed band of one hundred men and made the trip across the plains to civilization in safety. He then went to Johnson county, Missouri, arriving there in November, 1865, and rented a farm owned by an uncle until March 19, 1868, at which time he came to Bates county and made a permanent settlement in Charlotte township.
Mr. Harper has a splendid farm of two hundred seventy-six acres in the southwestern part of Charlotte township with substantial and imposing improvements. His large, handsome residence is located on an elevation overlooking the river valley of the Marais des Cygnes and he has had the extreme satisfaction of creating his fine farm from unbroken land during the fifty and more years since he first came to this county. In the early days of his residence here, Mr. Harper saw plenty of deer, wild turkeys and prairie chickens from the doorway of his home. He is a progressive farmer and maintains a fine herd of thoroughbred Red Polled cattle.
While on a furlough in 1864 to the old homestead in Athens county, Ohio, he was married to Miss Olive Young, a native of Athens county, Ohio, and daughter of John and Mary (Higgins) Young. This marriage was solemnized on June 26, 1864, and has been a happy and prosperous one. Miss Young was a school mate and old sweetheart of his younger days, and it is probable that Mr. Harper had plighted his troth with her before he made the adventurous trip to the far West. Three children have blessed this marriage: Thaddeus S., well-to-do stockman and farmer owning a splendid farm in Charlotte township; Katherine, wife of Luther Judy, Charlotte township; and John T., the youngest, a successful farmer of Charlotte township, and residing on the old home place. John T. married Florence Bean, and has two children, Roderick David, born January 18, 1897, and Mary.
Judge Harper has long been a leader of the Republican party in Bates county and has filled various township offices such as assessor, trustee, and tax collector, serving several terms in office. He served as presiding judge of the county court January 1, 1907 to 1911 and acquitted himself acceptably in this important position. During his term of office the drainage project for the Marais des Cygnes flood area was inaugurated in 1906 and as presiding judge he signed the first issue of three hundred fifty-five thousand dollars worth of bonds to pay for the drainage ditch in 1907. He is inclined to be independent in his political views and votes independently in local affairs.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES A. HARRISON, of Shawnee township, is one of Bates county’s most successful agriculturists. Mr. Harrison was born in 1878 in Grand River township, Bates county, Missouri, a son of Edmund S. and Sarah E. (Williams) Harrison, the former, a native of Morgan county, Missouri and the latter, of Pettis county, both members of sterling pioneer families of Missouri. The Harrisons came to Bates county in 1866 and located in Grand River township, moving thence to Shawnee township in March, 1879. In his later years E.S. Harrison was an honored resident of Adrian, Missouri, where he died February 4, 1918 at the age of seventy-two years and two months. To E.S. and Sarah E. Harrison were born two children, who are now living: Mrs. J.W. McCombs and J.A., the subject of this review. Mrs. Sarah E. Harrison was born in September, 1855 and resides in Adrian.
J.A. Harrison was reared and educated in Shawnee township in Bates county. He attended school at Griggs school house in Shawnee township and acquired an excellent common school education. After leaving school, he became associated with his father in the business of farming and stock raising on the home place, which the son purchased in 1906. The Harrison farm, at that time, comprised one hundred ninety-one acres of land. It now embraces eight hundred eighty acres of valuable land, three hundred forty-one acres of which are located in Shawnee township and the remainder in Spruce township. Mr. Harrison is engaged extensively in stock raising and his place is admirably suited to this purpose and well equipped with all the most modern conveniences for handling large herds of stock.
The marriage of J.A. Harrison and Stella Reeder, a daughter of R.D. and Emma Reeder, formerly of Mingo township but now residents of Adrian, Missouri, was solemnized in 1902. Mrs. Harrison was born in Mingo township, Bates county, Missouri and was educated at Edwards school house in the aforesaid township.
There are four different sets of improvements on the Harrison farm. Mr. Harrison’s home place has a beautiful, modern residence of eight rooms; three barns, 40 x 60, 60 x 72, and 54 x 60 feet in dimensions, respectively; two silos; a machine shop; a garage; a wood house; and an excellent hog house, 24 x 50 feet in dimensions, constructed with a concrete floor and supplied with water. The farm in Spruce township has a comfortable, attractive residence, a house of six rooms, and a barn, 60 x 100 feet in dimensions, having a silo attached. All the feed lots on both farms are furnished with concrete watering tanks and all the buildings are painted white, kept in splendid repair, are neatly arranged, and present a striking appearance attracting the attention of all passersby. The thrift and care evidenced by the general surroundings of the Harrison farm bespeak the intelligent, industrious, progressive husbandman. Mr. Harrison has on the place, at the time of this writing in 1918, one hundred and sixty-five head of two-year-old steers and four hundred head of Poland China hogs, in addition to a large herd of mules. During the harvesting season, he keeps eight mule-teams busy going from sunrise until sunset. Mr. Harrison employs three assistants all the time and all find plenty of work to do.
The true western spirit of enterprise and progress is most strikingly exemplified in the busy life of J.A. Harrison, a gentleman whose energetic nature and laudable ambition have enabled him to subdue many adverse circumstances and advance steadily until he has won and now retains a conspicuous position in the business world. Mr. Harrison has never desired or sought public honors or the emoluments of office, as, to use his own terse phrase, he has “been too busy to hold office.”
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN W. HARSHAW, a pioneer of Bates county and one of the honored citizens of Deepwater township, is a native of Tennessee. He was born January 6, 1844. When he was a lad, fourteen years of age, he and his brother, Richard, or “Dick,” as he was familiarly called, drove through from Tennessee to Missouri and they located first in Spruce, now Deepwater, township, moving shortly afterward across the Bates county line into Henry county, where they took up their residence with the Caldwells.
When the Civil War broke out in 1861, Mr. Harshaw was but seventeen years of age. He enlisted with the Confederates in General Parson’s Brigade in August of the ensuing year and served from that time until the close of the conflict in 1865. Mr. Harshaw took part in the battle of Lonejack, which occurred three days after his enlistment, serving under Captain Martin. During the remainder of the war, he was with General Price and saw active service in numerous important engagements, in the battles of Pea Ridge, Prairie Grove, Wilson Creek, Jenkins’ Ferry, Helena, Arkansas, July 4, 1863; and Mansfield, Louisiana. Mr. Harshaw was with Price at the time of the surrender at Shreveport, Louisiana, in 1865.
After the Civil War had ended, John W. Harshaw was employed at St. Louis, Missouri, for a short time and thence came to Bates county, where he leased the Samuel Coleman farm for five years, and with the exception of three years he has been a resident of this county ever since. He purchased his present home in 1907, a farm comprising eighty acres of land, from Frank Winn, a place which had been entered by one of the Colemans and improved by Elvin Wilson, an excellent stock farm in numerous respects. The Harshaw place has the triple advantage of productive soil, convenient location from the county seat, and an abundance of water and fine shade. The farm buildings are all situated upon an eminence, from which one can look upon the surrounding country and there distinguish the dome of the court house at Butler, fourteen miles away. The residence is a beautiful rural home, a house of seven rooms, having verandas upon three sides and surrounded with handsome, old shade trees. This is one of the best, most neatly-kept country places in the township. The Harshaws spent three years in Yakima county, Washington state, and prior to that time Mr. Harshaw had at different times owned three farms in Bates county, namely, the McCork place; the Cutsinger farm; and the Hyatt farm, lying three miles east of Butler, which place he purchased from George Holland. The first farm he owned was located just east of Spruce now the W.A. Eads farm, and bought from William Price in 1878.
The marriage of J.W. Harshaw and Eliza McGlothlen was solemnized February 28, 1872. Eliza (McGlothlen) Harshaw is a daught of George and Elizabeth (Cain) McGlothlen, born on June 2, 1854, in Monroe county, Iowa. Mr. and Mrs. McGlothlen were reared in Indiana and from that state moved to Monroe county, Iowa, thence to Lucas county, Iowa, coming thence to Bates county, Missouri, in 1870 and locating in Spruce township near the town of Spruce. They later returned to their old home in Iowa and from that state went to Washington, where Mr. McGlothlen died in Yakima county. To J.W. and Eliza Harshaw have been born seven children, five of whom are now living: Laura Elizabeth, who died in infancy; Harlan H., in the West, married Dora Slayback, and has two children; Mattie L., the wife of C.T. Norton, of Deepwater township; John, who died in infancy; Mary, the wife of D.W. Newlon, of Spruce township; Stella C., the wife of Claude Hoover, of Hanford, Washington; and Nita R., at home with her parents. The three elder daughters of Mr. and Mrs. Harshaw were, prior to marriage, school teachers and Miss Nita R. was for two years the postmistress at Spruce. All the girls attended the Warrensburg State Normal School and the youngest daughter took in addition a business course, studying stenography and typewriting. Miss Nita R. Harshaw was a student of Draughton’s Practical Business College, Fort Scott, Kansas, and of the North Yakima Business College in Washington.
Among the old settlers along the line between Bates and Henry counties were, in 1860 and in the years prior to that, Hiram Snodgrass, William Baskerville, Barney Fereck, David Clark, Barber Price, James White, Mr. Treman, Mr. Tyree, Mr. Ludwick, and several different families of the Colemans, all of whom Mr. Harshaw vividly recalls. He did his trading at Johnstown in 1858, when there was but one good town in western Henry and Bates counties and that was Johnstown. There were several flourishing mercantile establishments at Johnstown in those days: Messrs. Warrens, Cummins, and Harbert, each had a prosperous store; old Mr. Chard conducted a drug store; Mr. Sayers owned a tin shop; Howard & Willard had a carriage shop; John Howard was the village blacksmith; and James H. Calloway was the genial and popular innkeeper. Ann (Ludwick) Howard, the widow of John Howard, still resides at Johnstown. The town was burned during the Civil War and has never been rebuilt.
Mr. Harshaw will be seventy-five years of age in January, 1919, and he still reads with comfort without the aid of glasses. He is a typical pioneer, one of the prominent men of Bates county who have done so much to advance the agricultural interests of this section of the state.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

THADDEUS S. HARPER, prosperous and well-known farm of Charlotte township, has lived nearly all his life in Bates county, having been brought to this county by his parents, when he was an infant in arms, fifty years ago. He has practically “grown up with the county” and he has become an important and valued member of the great body of citizens who are continuously pushing Bates county to the front and making it one of the truly great counties of Missouri. Mr. Harper was born on a farm in Johnson county, Missouri, near the city of Warrensburg, August 24, 1867, a son of Judge R.F. Harper, concerning whom an extended review is given elsewhere in this volume. Mr. Harper was reared and educated in Bates county, completing his education at the Butler Academy. He then taught school in this county, teaching for eight winters in the home district, No. 70, known better as Grandview school. During the summer season, he diligently farmed upon his father’s place. He taught school for fourteen winters, in all, and was considered a very successful teacher. He eventually purchased the farm where he is now located and which he has greatly improved until it now contains one of the most handsome farm residences in western Missouri, fitted with every convenience, containing many modern improvements, among them being an electric light plant which furnishes electric light and power for the home and farm buildings. There are two hundred acres in Mr. Harper’s home farm and he owns another place of one hundred fifty acres. His first investment in land was made in 1891 and he has continued to prosper by intelligently cultivating his acreage and by raising high-bred livestock, such as the Red Polled cattle.
Mr. Harper was married on April 7, 1897, to Miss Lillian Edna Hill, who was born in Missouri, a daughter of Pleasant Hill, who made a settlement in Missouri as early as 1867, coming to this state from Iowa. Six children have been born to T.S. and Lillian Edna Harper, as follow: Ralph E., a graduate of Butler High School; Carrie Margaret, who graduated from the Butler High School and is engaged in teaching at Mulberry; Rollin H., a student in Butler High School; Dorothy D., Thaddeus S., Jr., and Theodore Roosevelt, or “Teddy,” all of whom are at home.
The Republican party has always had the active and influential support of Mr. Harper and he served as chairman of the county central committee during the last campaign made by former President Roosevelt for Presidency. He has ably filled the offices of township assessor and clerk and as delegate to the various conventions of his party held in the old days prior to the inauguration of the party primaries. Mr. Harper is a stockholder and director of the Farmers State Bank of Butler.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

GEORGE W. HART, one of the honored and respected citizens of Bates county, Missouri, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Hart was born in Morgan county, Illinois on June 12, 1843, a son of Anderson and Nancy (Spiers) Hart, both of whom were natives of Kentucky. Anderson Hart was born in Kentucky but was reared and educated in Tennessee. He was born in 1806 and when nineteen years of age, in 1825, left Tennessee and went to Illinois. He was a veteran of the Black Hawk War of 1832, when the Indians under the leadership of Black Hawk were driven into Wisconsin and captured after a severe battle at Bad Axe. The Black Hawk War was the last Indian struggle on the northwestern frontier until the gold hunters began to invade the Rocky Mountain region more than thirty years afterward. Mr. Hart died in Illinois and his widow departed this life in Bates county, Missouri. The remains of the mother were interred in Cove Creek cemetery, one of the first burial grounds of the county.
In the state of Illinois, George W. Hart was reared and educated and there resided until 1881, when he came to Bates county and purchased a part of his present country place in Mingo township, a farm now comprising two hundred five acres of choice land lying seven miles from Creighton in the northeastern part of the township. Cove creek flows through the place, which is an ideal stock farm. Mr. Hart has in his more vigorous days, raised much stock, but his son, Otis P., now has charge of his place. The Hart farm is located in Smoky Row School District No. 1. When Mr. Hart came to Bates county thirty-seven years ago, there were three school districts in Mingo township and at the present time there are four. The improvements on the Hart place are in good repair and are neatly kept.
The marriage of George W. Hart and Mary E. Sims, a daughter of Silas and Elizabeth (Russell) Sims, of Illinois, was solemnized in 1875. Mr. and Mrs. Sims came to Bates county, Missouri in the eighties and both father and mother are now deceased. Their remains lie interred in Cove Creek cemetery. To George W. and Mary E. (Sims) Hart have been born two children: Oren Kenton, of Bartlesville, Oklahoma; and Otis P., who is in charge of the Hart home place, a sketch of whom will be found elsewhere in this volume. Mr. and Mrs. Hart have a host of friends in Bates county and they are numbered among the most valued and esteemed citizens of Mingo township.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

OTIS P. HART, a successful and enterprising, young agriculturist and stockman of Mingo township, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Hart was born December 15, 1879, a son of George W. and Mary Elizabeth (Sims) Hart, both of whom were born in Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. George W. Hart are the parents of two sons: Oren Kenton, of Bartlesville, Oklahoma; and Otis P., the subject of this review. A more comprehensive sketch of the Hart family will be found in the biography of George W. Hart, which appears elsewhere in this volume.
In the public schools of Mingo township, Bates county, Missouri, Otis P. Hart received his elementary education, which was later supplemented by a four years’ course in Appleton City Academy, Appleton City, Missouri. After leaving school, Mr. Hart was engaged in the piano business in Illinois for fifteen years. For the past three years, he has been engaged in farming and stock raising on the Hart home place in Mingo township, Bates county, Missouri and is making a success of handling cattle, horses, and hogs. He is a progressive, intelligent, willing worker and has a high standing among the good citizens of his community.
The marriage of Otis P. Hart and Mrs. Jennie V. Nordin, of Rockford, Illinois, was solemnized in 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Hart are well known in Mingo township and they moved in the best social circles of their township and county. They possess pleasing personalities and the happy faculty of retaining close personal friendships and among the younger people of the county they are very popular. Mr. Hart keeps abreast of the times in everything pertaining to his vocations and his up-to-date methods combined with economy, industry, and his thorough understanding of the principles underlying all business must in time be inevitably attended by a large measure of success.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.T. HATHAWAY, a veteran of the Civil War, one of the oldest resident farmers of Bates county, now living in comfortable retirement at his country place in West Boone township a few miles south of Drexel, was born in Shelby county, Ohio, December 31, 1834. He was a son of Eleazer and Sallie (Henry) Hathaway, natives of Miami county, Ohio. Eleazer Hathaway was the son of John Hathaway, a son of John Hathaway (I), a native of Wales, who accompanied by two of his brothers made a settlement on the Atlantic seaboard before the American Revolution. John Hathaway, great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch, fought in the Army of Independence during the Revolutionary War. His grandfather, John Hathaway (II), fought in the War of 1812. John Hathaway, the first in line, was a scout for the American forces during the War for Independence of the colonies. Eleazer Hathaway settled in Illinois in 1867, two years after J.T. Hathaway had settled in Christian county. Father and son resided on adjoining farms. The father died there in 1871. The mother of J.T. Hathaway died in 1874.
J.T. Hathaway enlisted in November of 1861 in Company F, Twentieth Ohio Regiment of Volunteer Infantry and served for nearly four years, receiving his honorable discharge in July, 1865. He took an active part in many battles and skirmishes, among them being the attack on Fort Donelson; the campaign around Vicksburg, Mississippi; Pittsburg Landing; Pea Ridge; siege and capture of Atlanta; Sherman’s famous march to the sea and the subsequent capture of Savannah. From Savannah he was sent to Washington and participated in the Grand Review. He received his final discharge and was mustered out of the service at Cincinnati, Ohio. He then returned home to Shelby county, Ohio. After a short stay he went to Christian county, Illinois and engaged in farming until his return to Illinois in 1866 and married the sweetheart of his boyhood days, Hattie Blake, a native of Ohio, who died in 1871, leaving one daughter, Mrs. Clara New, living in Bates county, on a farm adjoining that of her father. Mr. Hathaway lived in Illinois until 1901 and then came to Bates county, where he invested his capital in two hundred thirty-three acres of land, part of which he has given to his daughter and now has one hundred fifty-five acres in the home place. Incidentally, it is worthy of mention that Mr. Hathaway went to Clay county, Kansas, in 1859, homesteaded a claim, proved up on it and then returned to Illinois.
His second marriage took place in 1881 with Margaret Ellen Wilson, who was born in 1843 in Pike county, Illinois, a daughter of James Wilson. One son has been born to this marriage: Mark Wilson Hathaway, born in 1882, an intelligent and industrious young farmer who has relieved his father from the burden of managing and cultivating the home place in West Boone township. Mr. Hathaway is a pronounced Prohibitionist and a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

R.C. HAYS, manager of “Maple Grove Stock Farm” in Spruce township, a well-known and successful breeder of registered Hereford cattle, is one of Bates county’s enterprising, young agriculturists and stockmen. Mr. Hays is a son of J.B. and Ruth E. Hays, the father, a native of Saline county, Missouri and the mother, a native of Lafayette county, Missouri. The maternal grandparents of R.C. Hays were among the first settlers of Lafayette county and J.B. Hays is a son of William Hays, who was one of the leading pioneers of Saline county. J.B. Hays settled in Bates county, Missouri in 1874 on the farm in Spruce township, now operated by his son, R.C., the subject of this review, when the land for nearly eight miles north to Grand river was all open prairie. He began the breeding and raising of registered Hereford cattle in 1897 and for many years was widely known in the county as an extensive feeder. His son, R.C., has continued the work begun by his father and they have on the farm, at the time of this writing in 1918, thirty head of fine registered Herefords, twenty-two of the herd being cows, and he and his father but recently sold twenty-seven head of cattle. “Maple Grove Stock Farm” in Spruce township comprises two hundred fifty-two acres of valuable land. J.B. Hays has retired from the active pursuits of farming and stock raising and since October, 1916 has been a resident of Adrian, Missouri. Mr. Hays, Sr. is now at the advanced age of seventy-four years, but a fairly well-preserved gentleman for one of his age, and he is numbered among the honored and invaluable citizens of Bates county. His name has long been connected with all worthy enterprises, having for their object the upbuilding of the material and spiritual interests of his community and no man in Spruce township is more deserving of commendation in a work of this character than is he. J.B. Hays will long be remembered for the gift of one acre of land upon which the Fairview Baptist church was erected in 1882. He was for many years clerk of the church and his son, R.C., now holds the same position. Apparently, the father’s mantle has falled upon worthy shoulders.
The marriage of R.C. Hays and Miss Iva Evans, a daughter of George H. Evans, of Shawnee township, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume, was solemnized March 1, 1914. Mr. and Mrs. Hays are highly respected and esteemed in their community and they number their friends by the score in Bates county. As a citizen R.C. Hays has always been a stanch advocate of progress and improvement.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM C. HEDDEN – For over fifty-two years, William C. Hedden has resided in the Fairview neighborhood of Osage township. He is one of the best known of the Bates county “old timers,” and has become wealthy as a tiller of the soil in this county. Mr. Hedden is a large land-owner, his home place comprising two hundred twenty acres of splendid, rich prairie soil which is one of the finest improved places in Bates county. The first home of Mr. Hedden in Osage township, was a story and a half affair of two rooms, to which various additions and improvements have been added until he has an imposing nine-room house which sits on a rise of land west of the roadway and which is reached by a driveway bordered by magnificent maple trees which have grown from seed planted years ago by Mr. Hedden. When Mr. Hedden made his first purchase of land in March of 1871, a tract of two hundred acres at a cost of five dollars an acre, the country round about was a vast prairie with but few trees in sight. Now, his home is situated in a beautiful setting of giant trees which he has caused to grow where not a tree stood before. Mr. Hedden also owns a farm of one hundred forty acres across the line in Vernon county. The view from the front door of the Hedden home is a very attractive one, the fertile prairie stretching as far as the eye can reach and dotted here and there with beautiful farmsteads and the cities of Rich Hill and Nevada can be seen in the distance. As advancing age has compelled his relinquishment of the arduous duties of the farm, Mr. Hedden has turned over its management to others younger and more able to till the large acreage and he is now living in comfortable retirement in his pleasant home, his interesting diversion being the weekly letters which he writes to the “Rich Hill Mining Review,” a pleasant occupation which has been his enjoyment under the pseudonym of “Gabe” for over thirty years.
W.C. Hedden was born February 22, 1844, in Shelby county, Kentucky, the son of Lee and Susan (Moreland) Hedden, who were natives of Kentucky. When eighteen years of age young Hedden enlisted (1862) in Company D, Ninth Kentucky Cavalry, and served with the Union forces on provost duty in the Kentucky mountain region for one year. He was honorably discharged from the service in 1863. In 1866 the entire family came to Bates county, and Lee Hedden settled in the southwest part of Osage township, dying on his home place in 1878. The Moreland family came to this county and settled in Osage township in 1867. Mrs. Hedden, mother of the subject of this review, departed this life in 1876. There were three children in the family of which William C. was the eldest, the others being Mary, wife of J.A. Borron, former well-known residents of Osage township, both of whom are now deceased; Florence, wife of D.E. Jarnette, Sheridan, Wyoming.
W.C. Hedden was married October 5, 1865 in old Kentucky, to Mary E. Yates, who was born May 3, 1847, in Kentucky, a daughter of Enoch and Matilda (Watts) Yates, who accompanied the Hedden family to Missouri in 1866 and made a settlement just over the southern boundary line in Vernon county. For the first five years of his residence in Missouri, Mr. Hedden and his wife made their home with the Yates family. The children born to W.C. and Mary E. Hedden are as follow: W.E. Hedden, born December 24, 1866, lives at Moscow, Idaho; J.W. Hedden, was born November 7, 1868, lives at Sedalia, Missouri, where he follows the business of cement contractor; E.L., a farmer in Vernon county, born April 20, 1873; Susan M., born January 21, 1875, died July 16, 1887; C.A., now managing the Hedden home place, born September 29, 1879; one child died in infancy; C.R. Hedden, Sheridan, Wyoming, born April 17, 1884. C.A. Hedden married Loma Griggs, and has two children: Ruth and Harold. W.E. Hedden married Jennie Welch and has seven children: Lois, Raymond, Susie, Fred, Forrest, George, and Catherine. J.W. Hedden married Lillis Estes and has three children: Juanita, Lawrence, and Minor. E.L. Hedden married Hattie Hanley, and has two children: Carl and Clyde. The mother of the foregoing children of W.C. Hedden died September 11, 1913. She was a good and faithful wife and kind mother to her children. She and Mr. Hedden became Christians at the same time and Mrs. Hedden was a devout member of the Baptist church. Mr. Hedden has been a life-long Democrat and has taken considerable interest in the affairs of his party during his long residence in Bates county. He is widely known and universally respected by all who know him. As the Fairview correspondent of the “Rich Hill Mining Review” he has achieved more than a local reputation as an able writer who employs the vernacular in presenting the doings of the folks of the Fairview neighborhood in a more or less philosophic and humorous vein. In fact his fame has spread over Missouri to a large extent and the familiar title of “Gabe” which is always appended to his articles appearing each week in the “Mining Review” is known to thousands of interested readers who are always entertained by the quaint sayings and production from the pen of the Fairview correspondent.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHRISTIAN HEGNAUER of Pleasant Gap township, has lived nearly all of his life in Bates county, the Hegnauer family coming to this county in 1869 when the country was sparsely settled and the nearest railroad station was at Pleasant Hill, fifty miles away. He began his own career with a team of horses, and, by dint of hard, unremitting labor, year in and year out he has made good and accumulated a splendid farm in Pleasant Gap township. Mr. Hegnauer was born in Madison county, Illinois, May 3, 1868, the son of Leonard Hegnauer, a native of Switzerland and a Union veteran.
Leonard Hegnauer was born in Switzerland, April 25, 1843. His parents were Lucius and Margaret (Bernet) Hegnauer, who were also natives of Switzerland, and immigrated to America in 1856, making a permanent settlement in Madison county, Illinois, where Leonard Hegnauer was reared and educated. When the Civil War began, he enlisted in 1861 for three months service in the Union armies, and in October of the same year he enlisted in Company E, Fourth Missouri Volunteer Infantry and served for eighteen months, receiving his honorable discharge in February, 1863. He then returned to his home in Illinois. He was married in Madison county, July 4, 1866, to Miss Susan K. Hirschi, who was born in Switzerland, May 15, 1846, and was a daughter of Christian Hirschi. In 1869, Mr. Hegnauer immigrated to Bates county, Missouri and purchased a farm of one hundred sixty acres in Pleasant Gap township. He became owner of four hundred five acres and was one of the pioneers in the dairy business in this county. Mr. Hegnauer kept a fine herd of Holstein cows and Shorthorn cattle and became a prosperous and highly respected citizen. In 1911 he retired from active farm labor and moved to a home in Appleton City, where his death occurred October 31, 1916. His remains were buried in the church yard of the German Reformed church. Mr. and Mrs. Leonard Hegnauer were parents of the following children: Mrs. Mary C. Hammer, Pleasant Gap township; Christian, subject of this review; Leonard, Washington state; Mrs. Katie S. Link, Pleasant Gap township; Margaret M., deceased; and Robert L., Minnesota. Mrs. Susan K. Hegnauer made her home with her daughter, Mrs. Mary C. Hammer and Christian Hegnauer until her death February 12, 1918.
Christian Hegnauer was educated in the schools of Bates county and began the work of tilling the soil in his boyhood days. He has followed the oldest of respectable vocations during his entire life and has made a pronounced success as an agriculturist. He moved to his present home place in 1887 and after renting it for a few years he purchased the place. He is now owner of eighty acres in Pleasant Gap township and has one hundred sixty-three acres in Rockville township. Since 1886, he has followed the dairy business and has thus increased the fertility of the soil on his farm from year to year. He is a firm believer in the universal adaptation of this country to the dairying industry, and thinks, rightly, that it is the only possible way of maintaining soil fertility with the least expense. Mr. Hegnauer milks from twenty-five to thirty cows of the Brown Swiss grade. There are two sets of improvements on the Hegnauer farms. The home residence is a nice, seven-room house kept in a good state of repair and nicely painted. The barn is 38 x 64 feet in dimensions and equipped with a silo placed in the interior so as to afford convenience in feeding the cows. The corn crib and machine sheds are each 28 x 32 feet in size and are covered with metal roofing. The second set of improvements are also good and comprise a six-room residence, a large barn 48 x 48 feet in size which is also equipped with a silo built on the inside of the building.
Mr. Hegnauer was married in 1886 to Miss Anna Wirtz of Rockville township, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Wirtz, who came to Bates county in 1881, and are both deceased. Mr. and Mrs. Christian Hegnauer have seven children: Lena, wife of Fred Stevener, Prairie township; Clara, wife of Walter Swezy, Pleasant Gap township; Leonard, a farmer living in Rockville township; Rosa, wife of Louis Steiner, Pleasant Gap township; Lizzie, Christian, and Marie, at home with their parents.
When the Hegnauer family came to Bates county, they made the trip across the state from Illinois with all of their worldly possessions loaded on wagons hauled by ox-teams. The trip required three weeks in the making and it was like traveling through a virgin country. Bates county was then only thinly settled and all of the family had a taste of pioneer life, with the nearest market fifty miles away at Pleasant Hill, and wild game abounded in the woods and on the open prairies. Mr. and Mrs. Hegnauer are members of the Reformed Church and are industrious and worthy citizens.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

O.A. HEINLEIN – The most satisfactory thing that can be said of the career of a successful citizen, in recording the story of his accomplishments in the realms of business, industrial, or other fields, is – that “He is a self-made man,” and is justly entitled to all that he possesses and has accumulated, because of the fact that his success has been due to his own honest endeavors. The title of “self-made man” can be well applied to Mr. O.A. Heinlein, mayor of Butler, Missouri and president of the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company of Butler, Missouri, and vice-president of the Farmers Bank. During thirty-five years of endeavor in Bates county, Mr. Heinlein has achieved a success which is creditable and due to the following of a fixed plan and energetic application to the duties at hand, a policy which has placed him at the head of one of the most important commercial concerns of western Missouri, and his recognition by the citizens of Butler as a man capable of filling the post of city executive. Mr. Heinlein began his career as a clerk at small wages in the mercantile establishment of which he is now president, and steadily forged his way to the front. During the years that have passed, he has become a leader in the business world of this county. O.A. Heinlein was born in Christian county, Illinois, December 16, 1864, a son of Lawrence and Elizabeth (Johnson) Heinlein. Lawrence Heinlein, his father, was born April 28, 1828 in Ohio, Guernsey county, a son of Asa Heinlein, a native of Ohio reared in Guernsey county. He married Elizabeth Johnson, born October 14, 1830 in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania. To this marriage were born children as follow: Samuel E., employed with the Emerson-Brantingham Company, Kansas City, Missouri; F.M., a retired farmer living at Blue Mound, Illinois; Mrs. J.A. Wear, Butler, Missouri; O.A., subject of this review; H.W., traveling salesman for the Hall Lithograph Company, Kansas City, Missouri; two children died in infancy. During his entire life, Lawrence Heinlein followed agricultural pursuits. Mr. Heinlein moved to Illinois in 1848 and settled near Springfield. He came to Bates county, Missouri, in 1883, driving from Illinois overland in a covered wagon, and located on a farm in Spruce township. He resided upon a farm until his retirement to a home in Butler, in 1896. His death occurred in this city in 1901. Eight years later his wife followed him to the grave, dying in 1909. Both parents are buried in Oak Hill cemetery. They were substantial and well respected citizens of Bates county, who added materially to the citizenship of the county.
O.A. Heinlein was educated in the public schools and in Butler Academy. After leaving school he entered the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company establishment as a clerk at twenty dollars per month. So diligently did he apply himself and so careful was he with his earnings that he was enabled to purchase a small interest in the concern on January 1, 1891. He continued to invest his savings in the business and to apply himself assiduously to attain familiarity with every phase of the conduct of the business, and he was elected president of the company on January 1, 1898. Since this time he has been the active head of the business which has grown constantly in importance and size. The Bennett-Wheeler store was originally located on the site of the Missouri State Bank. It was moved to the site of the Farmers Bank, and in 1890 the store was located in its present quarters at the northeast corner of the public square. The brick store building is two stories in height, and is 50 by 100 feet in dimensions, with an additional main floor space of 50 by 145 feet. The store covers an entire block. The concern also occupies two floors on the opposite side of the street measuring 50 by 100 feet and 25 by 75 feet in dimensions. The stock of hardware goods and implements carried by the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company is the largest in Bates county. Mr. Heinlein is owner of one thousand acres of land in Bates county. He is vice-president of the Farmers Bank of Butler.
Along with his business activities, Mr. Heinlein has ever been cognizant of his obligations as a citizen of Butler and Bates county. Every movement having for its purpose the advancement of the material welfare of the county and its people have found him in the very forefront from its inception. He served a term as city councilman and was elected mayor of the city, in April, 1916. Since taking over the duties of his office he has applied to the conduct of city and municipal affairs the same business methods which have made his own business such a pronounced success, the result being that Butler is practically out of debt. The indebtedness of the city amounted to $8,000 at the beginning of his term of office, all of which has been paid, and the city now owns its own water and electric light plants which are ably managed at a profit to the city treasury. For the past twenty-eight years, Mr. Heinlein has been secretary and treasurer of the Presbyterian Sunday School of Butler.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM T.J. HENLEY – The late William T.J. Henley, a widely and favorably known farmer of Howard township, was one of the real “old settlers” of Bates county. He was born on June 14, 1846, in Clark county, Indiana, the son of Noah and Louisiana (Monday) Henley, the former of whom was a native of England and the latter of whom was born in Kentucky. Noah Henley was reared in Randolph county, North Carolina, and made a settlement in Kentucky, where he was married, and afterward removed to Clark county, Indiana, where he reared a family and spent the remainder of his days engaged in agricultural pursuits. W.T.J. Henley was reared and educated in his native state and was married in Clark county on June 21, 1866, to Miss Margaret E. Bower, who bore him children as follow: Noah Edgar, born November 25, 1867, resides near Ft. Scott, Kansas; John William, born March 2, 1869, died in infancy; Jacob T., born March 3, 1870, lives on a farm near Hume, Missouri; Dennie B., born May 15, 1871, resides in Washington; Jefferson M., born April 10, 1873, died at the age of three years; the next child died in infancy, unnamed; James C., born June 14, 1875; Robert T., born December 16, 1876, is living on the home place; Katie A., born August 31, 1878, married Leonard Daniels and resides on a farm in Osage township; Rolla I., born June 18, 1880, lives in Butler, Missouri; Okra P., born May 17, 1882, lives at Rich Hill, Missouri; Mrs. Minnie M. Cook, born July 7, 1883, married James Cook, died January 29, 1908; Cleveland B., born December 22, 1884, resides on a farm near Butler, Missouri; Maggie F., born October 3, 1887, married Burk Anderson, resides in Rich Hill; Albert, born February 8, 1893, died in infancy. The Henley family is one of the largest in Bates county. The mother of this large family of children was born May 14, 1847, in Clark county, Indiana, the daughter of John and Angelina (Robbinett) Bower, natives of North Carolina. Mrs. Henley is well preserved for her age, despite the fact that she endured the hardships of pioneer life and has brought up so many children who are all living useful and industrious lives.
Mr. and Mrs. Henley came to Carroll county, Missouri, in 1868 and resided in that county until their removal to Bates county in the autumn of 1875. John Bower, father of Mrs. Henley, had purchased a tract of forty acres in Howard township, which he gave to his son-in-law. This land was raw prairie land, unbroken and unimproved. During their first season the Henleys lived in a little shack on their nearby farm while their own residence was being built. They erected what in those days was considered a mansion and which is still the Henley home place, an attractive farmstead surrounded by great trees and shrubbery which were planted by Mr. and Mrs. Henley when they first settled here. The Henley home place consists of one hundred and sixty acres located just northwest of Sprague on the highway between Rich Hill and Hume. Mr. Henley died May 12, 1904.
Mrs. Henley has the following living grandchildren: Robert E. Henley married Muzy Gates and has five children, as follow: Emma, Frances, Thelmo, Roy, and Virgie. Noah Edgar Henley married Annie Newsom and has four children: Ora, Lela, Alice, and Claude. Jacob T. Henley married Lizzie McNamer, and has one child, Charles. Dennie Henley married May Jones, and is the father of two children, Pansy and Bryan. Mrs. Katie Daniels has four children, Parker, Harry, Pansy, and Dorothy. Rolla I. Henley married Belle Potter, has the following children; Ernest and Stella, twins, and Pauline. Okra O. Henley married Nellie Martin, and is father of six children, Lorene, Ethel, Elsie, William, and Mary and Mabel, twins. Cleveland B. Henley married Lizzie Bottoms, and has two children: Harold and Herman. Mrs. Maggie Anderson is mother of six children, Marium, Everett, Ernest, Nell, Ruth, and Clyde.
Mr. Henley was a lifelong Democrat and was a member of the Christian church, of which religious denomination Mrs. Henley is a devout member. The late Mr. Henley’s life was so lived that he left an example of industry and right conduct which will for all time serve as a rule of conduct for his children and descendants. He was a kind parent and a good provider for his family and no task was too great for him to attempt in order to insure comforts and proper maintenance for his own family. He was well liked in his community and will long be remembered as a sterling pioneer citizen of Bates county in whom all had confidence and for whom every one who knew him had high esteem.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHARLES HENRY, proprietor of the Butler Dairy, is a representative of one of the oldest and best pioneer families of Bates county, Missouri. Mr. Henry is a Bates county boy. He was born in this section of Missouri in 1878, a son of E.P. and Gertrude (Garrison) Henry, the former, a native of Ohio and the latter, of Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. E.P. Henry were the parents of the following children: Alice, the wife of Dr. J.T. Hull, Butler, Missouri; Bertha, the widow of Judge J.S. Francesco, Butler, Missouri; Charles, the subject of this review; Walter, who is engaged in the garage business at Butler, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume; and Emma Dell, who died at the age of five years. The Henrys came to Bates county, Missouri, about 1868 or 1869 and settled on the farm now owned by the son, Charles. E.P. Henry died in 1889 and Mrs. Henry joined him in death in 1914. Both parents are interred in Oak Hill cemetery near Butler. A more detailed account of E.P. Henry, familiarly known as Captain Henry, one of the late leading citizens of Bates county, appears in connection with the biographical review of Walter, a brother of Charles Henry.
Mr. Henry, whose name introduces this sketch, attended the city schools of Butler and, later, Detroit Business University. A few years after he had completed his commercial education, the Spanish American War broke out and Mr. Henry enlisted at Butler in the service of the United States. He served one year and was mustered out and honorably discharged. He returned home and began farming, in which pursuit he was engaged until he entered the dairy business in 1914.
The Butler Dairy was established by James Wells. He sold to C.S. Douglass, from whom Charles Henry obtained the dairy in 1917. Mr. Henry had, however, been engaged in the dairy business for three years previous to purchasing this business establishment, at his present location adjoining the townsite of Butler. Two hundred thirteen acres of land comprise the Henry dairy farm, the old E.P. Henry homestead. Mr. Henry raises all the feed he needs for his herd of forty-five dairy cows and besides leaves eighty acres of the farm in pasture. He has two silos, each having a capacity of two hundred fifty tons. The Butler Dairy is one of the best, most sanitary, and splendidly equipped in the country. In addition to a washer, sterilizer, and milk cooler, all operated by steam, Mr. Henry is installing a bottling machine, which fills four bottles at a time and having a capacity of five hundred bottles an hour. Thus practically all of the work of the dairy is done speedily, efficiently, and in the most approved and sanitary manner. The water used in connection with the dairy comes from a well of great depth and is pure. Mr. Henry caters to the family and hotel trade and he is doing an excellent and profitable business. The dairy barn on the farm was rebuilt and improved in 1917 and now contains forty-seven stanchions and concrete floors and is kept scrupulously clean.
The marriage of Charles Henry and Gertrude Guyant, of Butler, Missouri, was solemnized in 1910. Mrs. Henry is a daughter of J.M. and Mary (Young) Guyant. Mrs. Guyant is now deceased and Mr. Guyant resides at Butler. To Charles and Gertrude Henry have been born two sons: Charles E., Jr., and Fred. Mr. Guyant resides with Mr. and Mrs. Henry.
Aside from his business interests, Charles Henry takes a deep interest in all matters pertaining to the welfare of the community. He is one of the energetic, progressive men, who are doing so much to keep Bates county in the front rank with the most prosperous counties of Missouri. Willingly and cheerfully, Mr. Henry lends his support to every worthy enterprise which has for its object the promotion of the interests of Butler and Bates county and the elevation of the standards of citizenship. He is a worthy son of a good father, an excellent representative of a long line of eminently honorable ancestors.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

LYMAN HENSLEY, a prominent citizen of Butler, Missouri, is a representative of one of the pioneer families of Bates county. Mr. Hensley is a native of Homer township, Bates county. He was born at the Hensley homestead on January 22, 1874, a son of W.C. and Mary Jane (Halley) Hensley. W.C. Hensley was born in Kentucky in 1844 and Mrs. W.C. Hensley was born one year later in the same state. They came to Missouri from their native state in 1868 and settled near old Mulberry, where two years afterward Mr. Hensley purchased two hundred forty acres of land, now known as the Stevens farm. Mr. Hensley was a veteran of the Civil War. He served two years, a Union soldier, in Company B, Kentucky cavalry, as message bearer, and while in service was seriously injured, receiving a gunshot wound. After coming to Missouri, Mr. Hensley engaged extensively in farming and stock raising, in buying and shipping stock for the St. Louis and Kansas City markets. He was a well-to-do and highly respected citizen of his township, a kindly, courteous, companionable gentleman who made many friends in this state. W.C. Hensley died on the farm where he and his noble wife reared to maturity their family of twelve children: John, who is now deceased; Sallie, the wife of Ben Biggs, of Hume, Missouri; Anna, who is now deceased; Charlie, a widely-known and successful auctioneer and shipper of livestock, Columbus, Kansas; Leora, deceased; Carrie, the wife of E.P. Nickell, of Kansas City, Missouri; Lyman, the subject of this review; Jessie, the wife of Clifford Jackson, Denver, Colorado; Bettie, the wife of J.W. Allen, Alma, Nebraska; Mary Lou, the wife of Hugh McGee, Rawlings, Wyoming; H.C., Neodesha, Kansas; and Lola, deceased. The widowed mother now makes her home at Hume, Missouri. The father was laid to rest in Mulberry cemetery in Bates county.
Mr. Hensley, whose name introduces this review, obtained his education at Hotwater school house in Homer township. The name of the school house recalls the amusing incident in commemoration of which the building was named. The early-day settlers in this particular district had decided by vote to move the school house two miles north of the original site. The vote was not unanimous, and Grandma Doddsworth was very much opposed to the proposition. She moved into the school house and made preparations to “stand pat” and when Jack Showers, who had the contract to move the building, came, she threw scalding-hot water upon him. The poor old lady was afterward force to capitulate and the school house was moved, “ag’in her voice and vote,” as Will Carleton puts it in “The New Church Organ.”
In his boyhood days, Lyman Hensley was want to ride to Butler behind his father on “Old Cooly,” a mare which lived to be thirty-seven years of age, the idolized pet of the Hensley children, and the three often swam across the intervening streams in the days before bridges were known in Bates county. Mr. Hensley’s prairie home was on the old Butler-La Cygne stage route and when he was seventeen years of age he was employed as mail carrier on this route for nearly a year. He remained at home with his parents until he was twenty-two years of aged, engaged in the pursuits of agriculture. He was thus employed for ten year prior to his coming to Butler to reside and to enter the stock business in this city. Mr. Hensley buys and sells cattle, hogs, horses, and mules. He formerly attended sales as auctioneer but in recent years he has abandoned this line of work. Mr. Hensley was a candidate for probate judge of Bates county in 1914 on the progressive ticket.
The marriage of Lyman Hensley and Carrie May Henderson, a native of Pickaway county, Ohio, a daughter of John and Margaret Henderson, was solemnized February 10, 1898. Mr. and Mrs. Henderson came to Homer township, Bates county, Missouri, in 1884, and located near Mulberry on the Leach place, which they had purchased and that is now owned by Angela Scully. They are both now deceased and their remains are interred in a cemetery at Columbus, Kansas. To Lyman and Mrs. Hensley have been born five children: Harvey, Marie, Goldie, Ruth, and Antoinette, all of whom are at home with their parents.
As a citizen, Lyman Hensley discharged his duties with commendable fidelity and few men in Bates county enjoy a larger share of public respect and confidence.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.P. HERRMANN, a prosperous farmer and stockman of Shawnee township, a member of one of Bates county’s pioneer families, and justice of the peace of Shawnee township, is a native of Monroe county, Illinois. Mr. Herrmann was born September 29, 1866, a son of John A. and Barbara Herrmann. The Herrmanns settled in this county on the farm in Shawnee township, where Mr. and Mrs. John A. Herrmann still reside and have lived for forty-nine years, in 1869. August Herrmann, the paternal grandfather of J.P. Herrmann, came to Bates county, Missouri, a few years later and in this county died. His remains are interred in a cemetery in Shawnee township, located near the Herrmann homestead. Mrs. Herrmann, wife of August Herrmann, died at Waterloo, Iowa, and interment was made at Burksville, Illinois. To John A. and Barbara Herrmann have been born seven children, who are now living: Anna, the wife of Theodore Marqueardt, of Independence, Kansas; August B., Jacksonville, Illinois; Elizabeth, the wife of John Deerwester, of Shawnee township; J.P., the subject of this review; Maggie A., the wife of William Hart, of Clinton, Missouri; Lula, at home with her parents; and John A., Jr., a prominent merchant at Culver, Missouri. The Herrmann family has long been numbered among the best and most substantial families of western Missouri.
In the public schools of Shawnee township, District 48, in the first school house erected there in 1872, J.P. Herrmann obtained his education. His first instructor was Miss Sarah Reynolds, who is now Mrs. Sarah (Reynolds) Schantz. Mr. Herrmann remained at home with his parents until he was twenty-seven years of age and then moved to his present country place. He began with a tract of land, embracing eighty acres, cultivated but unimproved, and is now owner of two hundred forty acres of choice land in Shawnee township, a splendidly improved, abundantly watered, well-located farm.
In 1895, J.P. Herrmann and Henrietta Filgus, a daughter of August and Henrietta (Erscamp) Filgus, were united in marriage. Mrs. Filgus died in Bates county in 1902 and interment was made in the cemetery at the Reformed church of Prairie City, Missouri. Mr. Filgus now makes his home at Prairie City. To J.P. and Henrietta (Filgus) Herrmann have been born the following children: Guy Anderson, Kansas City, Missouri; Carl Adam, Kansas City, Missouri; Lena May and Herbert Hadley, both at home with their parents.
There are two sets of improvements on the Herrmann farm in Shawnee township, including a beautiful residence, a seven-room structure, 46 x 30 feet, built in 1895 and remodeled in 1910; a barn, 44 x 56 feet, for cattle, with a silo, 14 x 32 feet of one hundred tons capacity; a second barn, 44 x 36 feet, for horses, having a concrete floor; a comfortable tenant residence; and a third barn, 32 x 36 feet. Mr. Herrmann has on his farm, at the time of this writing, in 1918, thirty head of high-grade cattle, in addition to large herds of horses and hogs.
Mr. Herrmann has been justice of the peace of Shawnee township and a member of the township board for many years. He was a candidate for county judge on the Republican ticket in the election of 1904 and made a very creditable race. Mr. Herrmann takes a broad view of life and keeps himself well-informed relative to public and political affairs and he has long been numbered among the public spirited citizens of Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN A. HERMAN, JR., a successful agriculturist of Shawnee township, a capable and popular merchant of Culver, Missouri, is one of the county’s prosperous and progressive, young citizens. Mr. Herman, Jr., was born January 3, 1880 at the Herman homestead in Shawnee township, Bates county, Missouri, a son of John A., Sr., and Mrs. Herman, pioneers of Shawnee township. John A. Herman, Sr. came to this part of Bates county, Missouri in 1868 and settled on the farm where he now resides and which his son, John A., Jr., manages. Mr. Herman, Sr. has been one of the most successful and prominent farmers and stockmen of western Missouri and in former days a hard worker. He placed all the improvements now on his place, a tract of land embracing two hundred forty acres, including a handsome residence, two well-constructed barns, and a silo. Formerly, Mr. Herman, Sr. was a busy stockman, but he has now retired from active farm labor. He is eighty-two years of age. John A. Herman, Jr., manages his father’s place in addition to his own, an eighty-acre tract of land, upon which his store is located.
In Shawnee township, Bates county, John A. Herman, Jr. was born, reared, and educated. He resided on the home place until about eight years ago, dating from the time of this writing in 1918, at which time he purchased J.W. Cole’s general store at Culver, Missouri and he moved to his farm, previously mentioned, and has since been engaged in the mercantile business in addition to farming and managing his father’s country place. Mr. Herman, Jr. carries an excellent and complete line of general merchandise and from the time of his entering the business to date has had a splendid trade. He hauls his merchandise from Passaic and his store is a convenient market for the produce from the surrounding country. He is located on Rural Route 2 from Butler, Missouri. The Culvers of Butler, Missouri conducted the first mercantile establishment at this place, which was named in honor of them. Mr. Herman, Jr.’s farm and store are located eleven and one-fourth miles northeast of Butler, Missouri and eight miles east of Passaic. John A. Herman, Jr., was united in marriage with Aline Charters, a daughter of William H. and Margaret (Carroll) Charters, a sketch of whom will be found elsewhere in this volume. Mr. Charters is now deceased and his widow resides at Butler, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. John A. Herman, Jr. are highly regarded in their community and popular with the young people of their township.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler

JEFFERSON HERNDON, better known as “Jeff” Herndon, owner of a fine farm of two hundred and thirty-one acres in Howard township where he is widely and favorably known, was born May 19, 1861, in Tazewell county, Illinois. He is a son of James Walker and Frances (Wilson) Herndon, the former of whom was born in Tennessee, in 1827, and the latter of whom was born in Illinois in 1831. James W. Herndon accompanied his parents to Illinois in boyhood in the early pioneer days of the settlement of that state and was there reared to young manhood and married. He died in Tazewell county in 1887. The widowed mother of Jeff Herndon resides in Illinois. There were five children in the family of James W. and Frances Herndon, namely: Mrs. Kittie Beckman, Arkansas City, Kansas; Nannie, deceased; Jefferson, subject of this review; Benjamin, who is farming the old home place in Tazewell county, Illinois.
Jeff Herndon was reared on the old home place of the family in Illinois and attended the common schools of his native county. He remained on the home place until twenty-eight years old and began for himself in 1879. Upon his father’s death he inherited eighty acres from the estate which he cultivated until 1893, when he sold out and came to Missouri, arriving here on March 8. He purchased two hundred forty acres of land in Howard township, through which the railroad has run taking off nine acres. For the past twenty-four years Mr. Herndon has lived continuously upon his farm and has made a success in raising livestock and producing good crops.
Mr. Herndon was married in 1887 to Miss Lenna Miller, who was born in Tazewell county, Illinois, in 1860, and daughter of Moses and Lucia Miller, of Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Jeff Herndon have five children: Harlan, Montana; Mrs. Frances Hoffman, living in Kansas; William Lester, Frank, and James, at home with their parents. Mr. Herndon is a Democrat in politics and is one of the substantial and well-thought-of citizens of his section of Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

GEORGE HERTZ, proprietor of “Shady Brook Stock Farm” in Mount Pleasant township, is one of the successful farmers and stockmen of Bates county. Mr. Hertz is a native of Iowa. He was born November 21, 1867, in Johnson county, a son of Henry and Florentine Hertz. The father is now deceased and the mother still makes her home at the Hertz homestead in Iowa. Mrs. Florentine Hertz celebrated her eighty-fourth birthday on December 28, 1917. She is one of the beloved pioneer women of Johnson county, Iowa, where she and her husband settled in the earliest days and improved a splendid farm.
George Hertz, obtained his education in the public schools of Johnson county, Iowa, was engaged in raising Percheron and Belgian draft horses there prior to coming to Bates county, Missouri, in 1904. About six years ago, Mr. Hertz began raising Hereford cattle and, at the time of this writing in 1918, he has on the farm in Mount Pleasant township eighteen head of high-grade animals. Last year, 1917, Mr. Hertz also began the breeding of big-bone Spotted Poland China hogs. He is an enthusiastic advocate of pure-bred stock, for he states that it costs no more to raise a good animal than it does to raise a “scrub.”
The marriage of George Hertz and Rose Leuenberger was solemnized September 28, 1898. To this union were born two children: Harold and Esther. Mrs. Hertz, the mother of the children, is deceased. Mr. Hertz remarried November 22, 1916, his second wife being Myra Ethel Eaton, a daughter of Herbert and Marian Rosalie Eaton, of Johnson county, Iowa.
“Shady Brook Stock Farm” in Mount Pleasant township comprises one hundred forty acres of land, well watered by Mound branch and two wells which have never been known to have been dry. This farm lies one and three-fourths miles northeast of Butler and is one of the nicely improved country places of Bates county. The residence is a two-story structure of nine rooms and there are two well-constructed barns on the farm. Mrs. Hertz has complete charge of the poultry on “Shady Brook Stock Farm” and she is making a name for herself as an exceptionally successful producer of pure-bred Plymouth Rock chickens and Toulouse geese and at the present time she has a flock of one hundred twenty-five fine birds.
Mr. and Mrs. Hertz are comparatively newcomers in Bates county, and both possess to a marked degree the happy faculty of making and retaining friends and they have now countless warm person friends in this part of the state. George Hertz is a man of industry and excellent judgment and one of Bates county’s progressive citizens.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WALTER HENRY, the pioneer garage man of Butler, Missouri, the well-known agent for the Dodge Brothers’ automobiles, is a member of a highly respected and prominent pioneer family of Butler. Mr. Henry is a native of Bates county. He was born in 1880 on his father’s farm which is located due east of the townsite of Butler, a son of E.P. and Gertrude (Garrison) Henry. E.P. Henry, better known as Captain Henry, was a native of Ohio. He was born at Marietta in Washington county. He was a veteran of the Civil War, having been in service with Company B, Thirty-sixth Ohio Infantry, commissioned as lieutenant. Captain Henry came to Bates county, Missouri in 1869, at about the same time the Garrisons settled here. He was united in marriage with Gertrude Garrison and to them were born the following children: Alice, the wife of Dr. J.T. Hull, Butler, Missouri; Bertha, the widow of Judge J.S. Francesco, a late ex-judge of the probate court of Butler, Missouri; Charles E., who is engaged in farming on the home place northeast of Butler, adjoining the city; Walter, the subject of this review; and one child, a daughter, died in infancy. Captain Henry was for several years engaged in the real estate business at Butler, Missouri, associated in partnership with Mr. Hartwell under the firm name of Henry & Hartwell. His name has been inseparably connected with the early history of the development of Butler. Captain Henry was one of the promoters of Butler Academy, one of the organizers of the Butler Presbyterian church, and one of the first interested in the old Bates County Bank at Butler. He took a keen interest in horticulture and an active part in the horticultural society, the members of which used to meet at the farms of the members, and he did much to promote orchard growing in Bates county. To encourage clover raising, Captain Henry purchased a clover huller and hired a man to operate it in order that clover growers might without incurring this expense thresh and save their seed. Captain Henry was an excellent citizen, public spirited, enterprising, and industrious. He did all in his power to help his fellowmen and how well he succeeded in his most laudable desire was attested by the universal esteem and respect in which he was held by his neighbors and friends. E.P. Henry died and was taken to his last resting place in the cemetery at Butler in 1889.
Walter Henry attended the public schools of Butler and Butler Academy. He resided on the home place with his mother and his brother, Charles, until 1907. Mr. Henry is the pioneer garage man of Butler. He opened his present place of business on North Main street in February, 1911 and for the past three years has had the agency for the Dodge Brothers’ automobiles. Mr. Henry has been very successful as a salesman and is selling cars as fast as he can obtain shipments. In addition to holding the agency for the Dodge cars, general repair work on a high order is done at the Henry garage.
In April, 1907, Walter Henry and Hope Stubblefield were united in marriage. Mrs. Henry is a native of Bates county, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. R.N. Stubblefield, of Butler, Missouri. Mr. Stubblefield is a native of Missouri and for many years was actively and successfully engaged in farming in this county. To Walter and Hope Henry have been born three children: Robert E., Walter F., and an infant son. Mr. and Mrs. Henry number their friends in Butler and Bates county by the score and they are very popular with the young people of their community, moving in the best social circles of the city.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler

J.T. HENSLEY, one of the oldest resident farmers of Homer township has the distinction of being the oldest livestock buyer in Bates county. For the past forty-seven years, Mr. Hensley has been engaged in the buying and shipping of livestock and has built up a reputation for square and honest dealing with his scores of patrons which has never been equaled in Bates county or this section of Missouri. He is one of the substantial pioneer farmers of this county who enjoys the respect and esteem of a large circle of friends and acquaintances. Probably no man of his age is better or more favorably known in this section of Missouri than this sturdy farmer and stockman.
Mr. Hensley was born in Kentucky, March 4, 1846, and is a son of James Harvey and Sadie (Anderson) Hensley, both of whom were natives of old Kentucky. James Hensley was born in 1805 and died in 1855. His wife departed this life in 1853. James Harvey Hensley was a son of Elijah Hensley, a native of England. J.T. Hensley’s father was shot when the son was but nine years of age, and two years prior to this, his mother died – leaving four children: William Colby, who farmed in partnership with the subject of this review in Bates county until his death; J.T., subject of this sketch; Shelby, deceased; Henry, deceased. After the loss of his parents, J.T. Hensley was reared by a Mr. Stevens until he attained the age of eighteen years. For two years following he worked as farm hand and then engaged in farming on his own account. In the year 1865, Mr. Hensley went to Illinois and worked by the month for two years, following which he farmed on his own account until 1869, at which time he migrated to Missouri and settled in Bates county. Mr. Hensley purchased his present home farm in 1870 and for a number of years he farmed with his brother, William Colby Hensley, until the latter’s death. Mr. Hensley accumulated several farms and had a considerable acreage of land in Bates county. Of late years he has disposed of the greater portion of his land holdings as the land rose in value and now has but the home place of one hundred twenty acres. For the past forty-seven years, he has been engaged in the buying and shipping of livestock and has rarely or never missed a week in being in Amoret ready to conduct his business. Mr. Hensley has shipped hundreds and probably thousands of carloads of cattle to the city markets and is the oldest stock buyer in Bates county. It is conceded that he is one of the best judges of livestock in the state of Missouri and he is widely known over this section of Missouri and the border territory of Kansas.
Mr. Hensley was married in 1873 to Miss Carrie Orear, who died April 18, 1880, leaving two children: Ella May, widow of T.A. Wright who died February 15, 1917, and is living at Commerce, Oklahoma; Carrie, a widow, married in 1906 to F.M. Skaggs, who died May 13, 1916, and she has one child, Ella Louise, eight years old. Mr. Hensley’s second marriage took place February 16, 1882, with Mamie Boone Orear, a sister of his first wife, born in Kentucky, a daughter of William D. and Selina Orear, natives of Kentucky who migrated to Missouri in 1870. Mrs. Selina Orear makes her home with Mr. and Mrs. Hensley. Three children were born to this second marriage: William H., member of the Live Stock Exchange and hog salesman for Zook & Zook Live Stock Commission Company, and at the time he began was the youngest salesman on the exchange, a resident of Kansas City, Missouri; Albert, Farmington, Missouri; Mamie Merle, wife of W.C. Dillard, Farmington, Missouri. Mamie Boone (Orear) Hensley was born June 11, 1866, in Kentucky, daughter of William D. and Selina (Gibson) Orear, natives of Kentucky. The Orears are of French origin, the progenitor of whom came from France with Lafayette and settled in Virginia after the Revolution. The Gibson family were Virginia stock. Selina (Gibson) Orear was a daughter of James, a son of Samuel Gibson, who came from Norfolk, Virginia, and a Kentucky pioneer. William D. Orear was born in 1827, and died April 16, 1899. Selina Orear was born in 1836 and is still living. Carrie Hensley, deceased; Albert, Kansas City, a carpenter; John Davis, Hot Springs, Arkansas, a printer; Mrs. Mamie Boone Hensley; and Mrs. Effie Mitchell, Kansas City, Missouri, were born to William D. and Selina Orear.
Politically, Mr. Hensley has always been allied with the Republican party but aside from assisting his friends during a political campaign and voting his convictions he takes but little interest in political matters. He is a member of the Christian church and is fraternally affiliated with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having become a member of the Amoret lodge in 1907. History can give no higher nor better praise of J.T. Hensley than that his career in Bates county has been a long and honorable one and that he has conducted his business in such an honest and upright  manner that he enjoys the respect, confidence and esteem of scores and hundreds of people with whom he has done business during a long period of nearly half a century in Bates county. Despite his more than three scores years and ten, he is active and strong, both mentally and physically, and rank as one of the county’s grand old men.
Mr. Hensley began shipping livestock in 1870, driving stock to Mulberry and thence fifteen miles to La Cygne, Kansas, the nearest shipping point. Later, he drove stock to Old West Line, twenty-five miles distant, for shipment to St. Louis. When the railroad came to Butler in 1880 he drove stock to that city for shipment. In 1894 the Kansas City & Southern was built through Amoret and he has since shipped from this point. In the early days he and his brother drove cattle all the way to Kansas City.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

EDWARD C. HESS, a well-known and prosperous farmer and stockman of Deer Creek township, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Hess was born in LaSalle county in 1875, a son of Gotthard and Catherine (Kern) Hess, who settled on a farm in Deer Creek township, Bates county, Missouri in 1879. When the Hess family settled in this part of the state, there were very few settlements, wild game might be found in abundance, and even the cattle, horses, and hogs ran at large over the open prairie. Before Adrian was founded, the trading point of the Hess family was Harrisonville. Gotthard Hess was born in Germany, in 1844, and died in 1896. He came to America when a young man and first located in LaSalle county, Illinois, and there married Catherine Kern, also born in Germany in 1834, and died January 17, 1906. They were parents of four children: Henry, Madison, Kansas; Mrs. Ida Schmidt, Mound township, Bates county; Mrs. Emma Feraris, Mound township, Bates county; Edward C., subject of this review. By a former marriage with Mr. Haas, Catherine Kern Hess was mother of four children, two of whom were reared: Mrs. Louise Rogers, died in January, 1917; Fred, Kansas City, Missouri.
Mr. Hess, whose name introduces this review, attended school at Hess school house in Deer Creek township. Will Duncan was his first instructor and, later, he was taught by Professor Putnam and then by the professor’s wife, Mrs. Putnam. He remembers one of the pioneer preachers of Bates county, to whom he often listened in his boyhood days, Reverend Showalter. Mr. Hess states that Reverend McClintock was the chief carpenter of those who built his father’s residence in 1881. Revival meetings were frequently held in the brush arbors, in the early eighties, and attracted immense crowds of settlers from all parts of the country, the young people coming long distances to attend, riding on horseback. “Spelling bees” and “debating societies” afforded opportunities for instruction, entertainment, and recreation for the pioneers, opportunities which were universally seized. E.C. Hess has spent his entire life, up to the time of this writing in 1918, on the farm and he has always been interested in agricultural pursuits. The first money he ever earned was made by hauling a load of wood to town and his first investment was a young pig, which he watched and cared for with all the solicitude and caution of one who has all his earthly possessions at stake. Mr. Hess is now owner of a splendid farm in Deer Creek township, a place comprising two hundred forty acres of valuable land. He, in addition, rents a tract of land embracing three hundred three acres and is engaged in raising stock extensively, having at the present time, in 1918, three hundred head of stock on the farm. He devotes some time to general farming and this past season, in 1917, harvested one thousand five hundred sixty-three bushels of wheat, one thousand nine hundred bushels of oats, and fifty tons of fine hay and one hundred thirty acres of the farm were planted in corn, which averaged forty bushels to the acre. Mr. Hess planted seventy-five acres of his land in wheat last autumn. His farm is well equipped with all needed conveniences for handling large herds of stock and amounts of grain and hay.
The marriage of E.C. Hess and Anna Feraris, a daughter of Peter Feraris, a prominent citizen of Bates county, was solemnized in 1901. To this union have been born six living children: Louis, Marie, Earl, Rolla, Hadley, and Pauline, all of whom are at home with their parents. Aubrey was born August 4, 1904, and died September 30, 1904. Mr. and Mrs. Hess are members of the German Lutheran church. In the social circles of Deer Creek township, there is no family more highly respected and valued than that of which E.C. Hess is head. E.C. Hess is one of the best class of citizens, a gentleman who, because of his sterling personal qualities, is today occupying a prominent position among the leading, successful farmers and stockmen of this section of Missouri.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.M. HINSON, a leading farmer and stockman of Charlotte township, was born in Rappahannock county, Virginia, November 22, 1848. He is a son of J.G. and Lucy (Gigsby) Hinson, both of whom were born and reared in old Virginia and were of Irish descent. They spent their lives in their native state and they were parents of five children, the subject of this review being the only member of the family who came west to Missouri. J.G. Hinson served with the Confederate army and was present with his command at the surrender of General Lee at Appomattox Court House, Virginia. For three years following the final surrender, Mr. Hinson was not allowed to cast a vote at election time in his native state during the period of reconstruction. He followed farming during his whole life and was also engaged in merchandising.
In 1872, J.M. Hinson left his native state and came westward in search of a home and fortune. He first located at Waverly, Fayette county, Missouri, and there engaged in farming until 1882, during which year he came to Bates county and after a year’s residence in West Boone township, he located in Charlotte township and bought his present fine farm. He owns two hundred acres of good land located seven and one-half miles west of Butler and is extensively engaged in general farming and stock raising, his cattle being mostly of the Durham breed. Mr. Hinson purchased his farm in 1892.
Mr. Hinson was married in 1877 to Esther Johnson, of Fayette county, Missouri, and to this union have been born three children, as follow: Lillie, wife of Harry Simpson, Elkhart township; Nova, at home; and Ewell, living in South Dakota. Mrs. Hinson died in 1884. Mr. Hinson is a Democrat, but is inclined to vote independently according to the dictates of his conscience and after weighing carefully in his mind the qualifications of the various candidates for political preferment at election time.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

E.H. HIRNI, of Prairie township, Bates county, was born at Papinsville in 1886, a son of Christian and Lena (Wirtz) Hirni, the father, a native of Switzerland and the mother, of Illinois. Christian Hirni came to Illinois with his father, Christian Hirni, who was a member of Napoleon Bonaparte’s bodyguard when he, the son, was three years of age and later located at Papinsville, Misouri, in 1869, at which place he was engaged in conducting a butcher shop for a few years. Afterward, he and Jacob Hirni and Mart Bennett operated the old Papinsville mill, the only mill in this vicinity, none being nearer than Pleasanton, Linn county, Kansas. E.H. Hirni still has a part of the boiler, which is now used as a reservoir tank in the stock yards of his country place. It was originally twenty-eight feet in length, including the fire box and all fixtures. The burr-stone was quartz rock containing irregular cavities and made a good millstone. Christian Hirni was elected treasurer of Bates county in 1890 and he left a most honorable record of efficient management, being probably the most capable man who has ever held this office. Mr. Hirni gave special attention to collecting back taxes and he was instrumental in the accumulation of so large a fund obtained from this one source that Bates county was out of debt at the close of his term of office. Mr. Hirni was a most valued member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Papinsville. He died in 1912, leaving a widow who resides at Rockville, Missouri, and fifteen children. He had been married three times, his second wife being a cousin of his first wife and the third wife was a Miss Lena Wirtz.
E.H. Hirni, the subject of this review, was educated in the public schools of Papinsville, Missouri, and practically all his life he has been engaged in the pursuits of agriculture. He is now cultivating a good farm, embracing one hundred sixty-four acres of land in Prairie township, located two miles north of Prairie City. All the improvements on the place are in excellent repair and with the exception of the residence all have been placed there by Mr. Hirni. The barn is well constructed, 32 x 60 feet in dimensions and thirty-three feet to cone. The farm is well supplied with good water from a drilled well, drilled in the autumn of 1917, three hundred four feet in depth, the water from which is so abundantly supplied with natural salts that the stock require none additional. Mr. Hirni has sixty head of cattle, eight to ten horses, and fifty head of Duroc Jersey hogs constantly on his place and of his present herd of cattle twenty are registered Aberdeen Angus. Mr. Hirni is an enthusiastic “booster” of red clover as a soil builder, profitable crop, and stock conditioner.
January 7, 1909, E.H. Hirni and Alma Hirschi were united in marriage. Alma (Hirschi) Hirni is a daughter of Gottlieb and Emma (Hammer) Hirschi, formerly of Pleasant Gap township, now residents of Rockville, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Hirni are the parents of four children: Alma Adelaide, Ruby Gladiola, Leroy Hirschi, and Troy Edward.
In the spring of 1917, E.H. Hirni was elected trustee of Prairie township and he is now serving in this capacity. He is the treasurer of Consolidated School District No. 7. Mr. Hirni is vice-president of the Farmers’ Equity Union of Rockville and a stockholder in the Farmers Bank of Rockville. He is township committeeman of Prairie township and a stanch Republican in politics. Fraternally, he is a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Papinsville, as was his father before him. E.H. Hirni is distinctively one of the leading men of his township, a citizen of much more than local repute, a respected son of one of Bates county’s honored pioneers.
Mr. Hirni is probably the only citizen of Bates county who has in his possession a piece of lumber taken from the old wooden bridge which spanned the river at Papinsville. This piece of lumber is five by ten inches and is a part of Mr. Hirni’s scales.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES K. HODGES, an honored pioneer of East Boone township, Bates county, Missouri, is a native of Illinois. Mr. Hodges was born in 1844, a son of Joseph and Eliza Hodges. Joseph Hodges was a son of Seth Hodges, a native of Tennessee. James K. Hodges is one of six children, born to his parents, four of whom are now living, namely: John, Drexel, Missouri; James, the subject of this review; Joseph, Leavenworth, Kansas; and William, Lees Summit, Missouri.
The marriage of James K. Hodges and Jemima Walker, a daughter of George B. and Mary A. Walker, who settled in East Boone township, Bates county, Missouri in 1870, was solemnized in 1867. To this union have been born nine children, six of whom are now living: Charles M., deceased; James Ira, deceased; Mrs. Mary A. Lacy, Merwin, Missouri; Mrs. Georgia M. Miller, Wichita, Kansas; Mrs. Pearl Frazier, Adrian, Missouri; John E., deceased; Thomas R., Weldon, California; C.R., who resides in Canada; and Mrs. Alberta Riley, Drexel, Missouri. Mrs. Hodges is a highly esteemed member of the Baptist church.
Nearly a half century ago, Mr. Hodges settled in Bates county, Missouri and he has a vivid recollection of the appearance and conditions of the country at that time. He states that the land was practically all open prairie, that one might drive from his home to Butler, a distance of twenty-two miles, and not pass a lane, that pasture land was open and free, and prairie fires often lighted the night until it was as bright as day. In those early days, large herds of Texas cattle were brought to Missouri for pasturage. Wild game might be found in abundance and easily trapped or shot. James K. Hodges as an expert huntsman in his youth and has killed as many as seven prairie chickens at one shot. The first home of the Hodges family was a rude log-cabin, made from logs cut by Mr. Hodges himself and finished with lumber brought from Pleasant Hill. Mr. Hodges recalls that Green Valley school house was erected in 1870 and that Miss Park was employed as the first “school mistress” there. The children of James K. and Jemima Hodges later attended school at Green Valley school house. Reverend Evans and Reverend Smiley were pioneer preachers, to whom Mr. and Mrs. Hodges frequently listened, and in the early days they conducted religious services in the homes of the settlers.
Mr. Hodges purchased a small tract of land, when he came to Bates county, and to his original holdings he has since added until he is now the owner of a farm comprising one hundred twenty acres of land. Until the past two years, he was engaged in raising high grade cattle and Poland China hogs, but Mr. and Mrs. Hodges now rent their farm and are spending the eventide of life in quiet retirement. They have both worked long and hard and well deserve the ample competence which they are now enjoying, and though it is no longer absolutely necessary that either toil, they find much pleasure in attending to their cows, pigs, and chickens.
Politically, Mr. Hodges is a member of the Democratic party. Mr. Hodges is a Democrat, but he served one and one-half years in the army under General Sherman and was with him on the march through Georgia and was in the battle of Allatoona Pass. In his prime, he was a man of great endurance, strong, vigorous, and alert in body and mind, a splendid type of symmetrically developed manhood and by temperance in all things and healthful exercise out-of-doors, he has conserved his energies and prolonged his life past the allotted three score years and ten. His past record has been an honorable one and his honesty and integrity have always been far above reproach. James K. and Mrs. Hodges will bequeath to their descendants a good name, that which is “rather to be chosen than great riches.”
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRANK HOLLAND, the well-known and efficient county clerk of Bates county and an ex-trustee of Summit township, proprietor of the “Holland Farm” in Summit township, is one of the county’s most prominent and successful citizens. Mr. Holland was born January 27, 1868 on his father’s farm in McLean county, Illinois, a son of G.W. and Edmonia (Johnson) Holland, who were the parents of three children, all of whom are now living: Frank, the subject of this review; Mrs. Gertrude Williams, Appleton City, Missouri; and Miles, Appleton City, Missouri. G.W. Holland was born in Logan county, Kentucky in 1840, one of seven children born to Mr. and Mrs. Joel Holland, their children being as follow: John, who resides in Logan county, Kentucky; W.A. who was born in Kentucky and died in May, 1914 near Appleton City, Missouri; G.W., the father of Frank Holland, the subject of this review; J.M., of Logan county, Kentucky; Mrs. Mary McKenzie, of Logan county, Kentucky; Mrs. Angelina Lawler, of Logan county, Kentucky; and Mrs. Jane Browning, deceased. Joel Holland was a native of Maryland. He came to Missouri among the earliest pioneers and located in Henry county, where he entered a section of land in 1856. In the latter part of his life, he divided his vast holdings among his children, giving to each son one hundred sixty acres of choice land in Henry county and he then returned to the old home in Kentucky, where he died. G.W. Holland came to Henry county, Missouri in October, 1871 and located on the farm which was given him by his father and upon which he resided for forty-one years, devoting the best years of his life to farming and stock raising and improving his land. In 1912, Mr. Holland retired from the active pursuits of agriculture and moved to Appleton City in St. Clair county, where he died July 31, 1914. Interment was made in the cemetery at Appleton City. The widowed mother, who is a native of Virginia, still resides at Appleton City.
Frank Holland obtained his education at Appleton City Academy and Missouri University at Columbia. Until he was twenty-four years of age, he remained at home with his parents. At that time, he purchased a farm adjoining his father’s place in Henry County, a tract of land he afterward sold to his brother, Miles, and then moved to Bates county, purchasing two hundred forty acres of valuable land in Summit township, to which tract he later added eighty acres. This farm, now comprising three hundred twenty acres, is one of the best in the county and is widely known as the “Holland Farm.” Mr. Holland has built two barns and remodeled the residence since he acquired the ownership of the farm. The Holland home is a handsome, modern, country place. The residence and barns are lighted by electricity from a plant installed by Mr. Holland.
For eight years, Frank Holland was trustee of Summit township and for six years was chairman of the Democratic township committee. Mr. Holland is primarily a man of the people and his genial manners and pleasing social qualities win and retain for him countless friends. The capable manner in which he administered the multitudinous affairs coming within the sphere of his duty as trustee and as township committeeman inspired in his behalf the utmost confidence and trust of the voters of Bates county and in the autumn of 1914 Frank Holland was elected county clerk of Bates County and at the time of this writing he is the present incumbent in that office. Careful and methodical in the management of the office, Mr. Holland has won the respect and good will of the people of Bates county, regardless of party affiliations. The draft law has recently added an immense amount of extra labor as a part of the county clerk’s duties, hard work for which no additional pay is allowed, but Mr. Holland is only glad that in this way he can “do his bit.”
January 27, 1892, Frank Holland and Alma E. Adamson were united in marriage. Mrs. Holland is a daughter of W.W. Adamson, of Montrose, Henry county, Missouri. To this union has been born one child, a son, Roy D., who is employed as deputy clerk of Bates county. The marriage of Roy D. Holland and Fay Harper, of Butler, Missouri, was recently solemnized. The Hollands have a wide circle of close personal friends and no family in this section of the state stands higher in the respect and esteem of the community than the Holland family.
In Frank Holland are combined the two most marked characteristics of the South and the West, the careful, conservative caution of the Southern planter and the enthusiastic enterprise, that overleaps all obstacles and makes possible almost any undertaking, of the Western pioneer. Mr. Holland is still a young man and the future awaits him with much that is full of promise. He is a man of unquestioned integrity and high moral principles.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN G. HOLLAND, living retired in his substantial country home near Hume, Missouri, one of the oldest residents of Howard township, is descended from an old American family of Moravian origin. Mr. Holland’s career in Bates county, where he has resided for more than two score years in the capacity of an active agriculturist, has been marked with success of a high order. He was born at Salem, North Carolina, in 1849, a son of Eli and Lizzie (Mitchell) Holland, both natives of North Carolina. Eli Holland was a son of John Holland, a Moravian, who emigrated from England to America about the time of the American Revolution or shortly afterward.
Eli Holland, father of J.G. Holland, enlisted in the Confederate army in 1862 and served until the close of the Civil War. Directly after the ending of the struggle between the states he came to Missouri and for some time resided at Knob Noster, in Johnson county. He died in Johnson county in 1867. The mother of John G. Holland died in Johnson county a few years later, in 1871.
In the year 1875, J.G. Holland began his successful career in Bates county, when he joined his brother, O.T. Holland, in the purchase of four hundred acres of unimproved prairie land in Howard township. He came to this county in 1880 and associated himself with his brother in the development and cultivation of this large tract and the venture met with substantial and gratifying returns, the original purchase being increased to the large total of eight hundred eighty acres, which they together continued to farm until 1894. January 1, 1894, J.G. Holland bought the place which is now his home, consisting of three hundred twenty acres. This tract he improved and erected thereon a large residence. A division was made at this time of the holdings of the brothers and in addition to his home place, Mr. Holland owns a half interest in one hundred sixty acres more in Howard township and is half owner of two hundred forty acres of fine land located near Adrian in Bates county. Mr. Holland has always been an extensive livestock feeder and breeder, and has at the present time on his farms a total of one hundred head of cattle, one hundred head of hogs, and thirty head of horses and mules. During 1917, his two sons, John and Richard, who of late years have capably relieved him of the burden of the management of the large farm, harvested one hundred fifteen acres of corn which yielded forty bushels to the acre; thirty-five acres of wheat which gave an average yield of fifteen bushels to the acre; twenty acres of hay which cut over one ton to each acre. The Holland boys had planted last year of 1917 one hundred twenty-five acres in wheat in order to assist in meeting the demands of the entire world for a greater supply. There are no better nor more intelligent, progressive farmers in Bates county than John and Richard Holland.
Mr. Holland was married in 1887 to America Badgett, who was born in 1862 in Kentucky, a daughter of John R. Badgett, one of the early settlers of Howard township. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Holland resided in Hume for one year and then moved to their present home, which Mr. Holland had erected on his place, located just one-half mile northeast of Hume. Four children have been born to J.G. and America Holland: John and Richard, who are conducting the farm work; Mary, a student in college at St. Louis; and Irene, a pupil in the ninth grade of the Hume Consolidated Schools.
Mr. Holland has always been a Democrat and prides himself upon the fact that he has always voted the straight Democratic ticket. The only interest he has taken in politics has been to actively assist his friends who were seeking political preferment. He and his family are members of the Methodist Episcopal church, South. For the past thirty years Mr. Holland has been a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He is progressive in his tendencies and has always favored all measures and undertakings which have had the best interest of the people of his home community and county at heart. He and his sons, John and Richard, were active supporters of the movement which culminated in the establishment of the Consolidated Grade Schools at Hume and were of considerable influence in the struggle which resulted in the success of the movement.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ORREN T. HOLLAND – When O.T. Holland came to Bates county in 1879 and selected the beautiful and commanding site whereon he built his permanent home in this county, the country roundabout in Howard township was a vast, unsettled prairie. The grass grew to the height of a stalwart man, and cattle ranged freely in large herds. Settlers were few in the neighborhood and the country was practically new. Both Mr. and Mrs. Holland are want to declare that their first years in Bates county were among the happiest in their lives and that neighbors were kind and sociable and ever ready to lend a helping hand in times of need. They visited each other’s homes freely, and hospitality was the keynote of the spirit of the homes of that day. The site which Mr. Holland selected for his home is one of the most striking in the county, the Holland residence being located on a gently rising knoll which gives a view extending for miles over the surrounding country. It is possible, on clear days, to see the dome of the court house and the church spires in Butler, the county seat. The home is a handsome one and surrounded by shade trees which have grown during the time of the owner. The Holland farm spreads in a vast level stretch from the foot of the hill and is one of the most fertile and productive tracts of land in this section of Missouri. The farm comprises four hundred eighty acres and is essentially a cattle and hog-producing plant. Mr. Holland handles about one hundred head of cattle annually. He was formerly engaged in the breeding of the Polled Angus cattle. More than one hundred head of Duroc Jersey hogs are produced and fattened yearly. During the past year, 1917, there were harvested on this place fifty-five acres of corn which yielded forty-five to sixty bushels of grain to the acre; fifty-eight acres of oats, twelve acres of which yielded one hundred bushels to the acre; and the entire tract yielded twenty-eight hundred bushels. For the harvest of 1918, Mr. Holland and his sons have sown one hundred twenty-seven acres to wheat on the home farm and there is also sown one hundred twenty-five acres to wheat on the Holland tracts by the sons of J.S. Holland.
O.T. Holland was born in 1850 at Salem, Forsythe county, North Carolina. He is a son of Eli and Lydia (Mitchell) Holland, both of whom were reared and married in North Carolina. In September of 1865, they removed to Johnson county, Missouri, and located near Knob Noster. The elder Holland was a paper manufacturer by trade but followed farming in Missouri. For further particulars concerning the parents of O.T. Holland, the reader is referred to the biography of J.G. Holland, a brother, which appears elsewhere in this volume. In 1868, the subject of this review located at Lamonte, Pettis county, where he farmed until his removal to Bates county. In August of 1875, he came to this county and made his initial purchase of one hundred sixty acres of land, the site of his present home. For this tract, he paid fifteen dollars an acre. In 1876, he removed to the place and lived for a time in a small house while making the necessary improvements thereon. A well had been dug on the place and one hundred acres broken for cultivation. He was joined by his brother, J.G. Holland in 1879 and the Holland brothers farmed together in a successful partnership arrangement until the partnership was dissolved in 1887. They accumulated, during that period, more than eight hundred eighty acres of land, and since 1887 they have purchased in partnership two hundred forty acres in Elkhart township and another one hundred sixty acres, which they hold in common as equal owners.
Mr. Holland was married December 15, 1875, in Johnson county, to Miss Anna Shepherd, who was born March 11, 1855, in Wilmington, Fluvanna county, Virginia, a daughter of John and Eveline (George) Shepherd, natives of Virginia, who immigrated to Shelby county, Kentucky, in 1867, five years later removing to Johnson county, Missouri. They located near Knob Noster and he resided there until death. The mother of Mrs. Holland died February 6, 1902. Mr. Shepherd died November 17, 1906. To Mr. and Mrs. O.T. Holland have been born children, as follow: Charles, born in 1877, deceased; J. Burl, born November 29, 1878, Rich Hill, Missouri; Adah B., born July 28, 1881, wife of R.W. Crawford, Nevada, Missouri; Eva Vern, born in 1884, the wife of F.L. Martin, Hume, Missouri; and Ralph, born November 1, 1886, Rich Hill, Missouri.
Mr. Holland has generally voted the Democratic ticket but has never aspired to political preferment, preferring to do his duty as a private citizen instead of bothering with political matters. He and Mrs. Holland attend the Methodist Episcopal church. Mrs. Holland is a member of the Baptist church. The home life of the Hollands is a pleasant and hospitable one and they thoroughly enjoy their comfortable home which is open to their friends and the wayfarers at any and all times. They are among the excellent citizens who have done a considerable part in creating Bates county as it now is.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

W.H. HOLLOWAY, Union veteran, an honored and highly respected pioneer citizen of Butler, Missouri, is a native of Tennessee. Mr. Holloway was born in Monroe county, October 31, 1840, a son of William and Mary H.A. (Peck) Holloway, who were the parents of four children, three of whom are now living: Mrs. Sarah M. Clemments, Harrisonville, Missouri; Mrs. Cordelia A. Warren, Harrisonville, Missouri; Mrs. Martha M. Olds, deceased; and W.H., the subject of this review. The mother, Mary H.A. Holloway, was a daughter of Col. Nicholas S. Peck, of Monroe county, Tennessee. He was a veteran of the War of 1812. Mr. and Mrs. William Holloway came to Missouri from Tennessee among the first settlers and on May 3, 1843 settled near Harrisonville, Cass county, Missouri. Nine years later, the former died October 2, 1852 and the interment was made in the cemetery near Lonetree. Mrs. Holloway departed this life in 1887 and her remains were laid to rest in the cemetery at Harrisonville.
W.H. Holloway attended school in Harrisonville, Missouri and for two terms, 1850 and 1851, was a pupil of William Jones. Mr. Holloway was a young man, twenty-one years of age, at the time of the outbreak of the Civil War and he served as a member of the state militia at Harrisonville during the conflict from September, 1863 to July, 1865. He and his widowed mother were living at Harrisonville when General Ewing’s famous Order Number 11 was put into effect in 1863. After the war had ended, Mr. Holloway engaged in farming in Cass county until 1868, when he moved to Bates county and entered the nursery business, selling trees and shrubbery for Blair Brothers of Lees Summit for several years and then opened a nursery, about 1873, and until 1895 was engaged in conducting this business. Since that time, he has been employed in buying and selling fruit and in gardening. Mr. Holloway is the owner of two acres of land located within the city limits of Butler at 213 South Broadway street, where he has a pleasant and comfortable home. He purchased this place in 1869. It soon will be a half century since W.H. Holloway came to Butler, Missouri and he has moved his place of residence but twice during all those years. He states that there were not to exceed two dozen people living in Butler, at the time of this writing in 1917, who were residents of this city when he came here, and that estimates includes infants and children as well as adults. Mr. and Mrs. Holloway are the only married couple surviving of those living in Butler in 1868.
March 18, 1868, W.H. Holloway and Nannie A. Woolery were united in marriage. Mrs. Holloway was born in Cooper county, Missouri in 1845, a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Wadley) Woolery, both of whom were natives of Kentucky. Mr. and Mrs. Woolery came to Missouri from Kentucky immediately after their marriage and located in Cooper county. Both parents are now deceased and their remains are interred in the cemetery at Dayton in Cass county, Missouri. Mrs. Holloway has two sisters now living: Mrs. Martha Eddy, Hickory, Missouri; and Mrs. Cornelia Randall, Paonia, Colorado. To W.H. and Nannie A. Holloway have been born three children: Jessie C., the wife of Elmer D. Fuller, Spokane, Washington; Edgar O., who died at the age of fourteen years; and Harry H., who is a well-known and prominent merchant of Butler, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Holloway celebrated their Golden Wedding Anniversary, March 18, 1918. Mrs. Holloway has been a noble and worthy helpmeet and deserves much praise and credit for her constant faithfulness and sympathy as a wife and mother and for her prudent and careful management of the manifold duties and responsibilities of the Holloway household.
Still in the prime of his mental powers, W.H. Holloway has before him the prospect of many future years of usefulness. He has been a potent and prominent factor in the industrial and general business activity of Butler and of Bates county. Mr. Holloway’s career has been one of continued advancement and unabating industry. Strict integrity, sound judgment, and honorable business methods have won for him permanent success and the unfailing regard and esteem of his fellowmen. No family in Bates county stands higher in the respect of the community that the Holloways. Mr. Holloway has always been an inveterate enemy of the whiskey traffic and has fought on the side of temperance and prohibition during his entire life.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

COL. JOHN EWING HOLCOMB, a native of Gallia county, Ohio, came with his family to Butler, Missouri, in the fall of 1869. His sons, Phineas H. Holcomb and Anselm T. Holcomb, both attorneys of Bates county, had preceded him. He bought a small tract of land, on Pine street, on the knoll, this side of Oak Hill cemetery. He built a very handsome and comfortable home there and at once took a prominent part in the upbuilding of the county. His family, his wife, and his children: P.H., A.T., Eliza, Sarah H., Charles, and Sumner, were most highly estimated. Mr. Holcomb lived in Butler until about 1886, when he temporarily moved with his sons, Charles and Sumner, to Greenwood county, Kansas, and bought there a small farm, which he owned at the time of his death. He bought lands in Hudson and Osage townships and built two or three houses in the east side of Butler. He was assistant postmaster in Butler from 1873 to 1876. He was a Master Mason, and, with Dr. Lyman Hall and Charles M. Peck, established the present chapter of Royal Arch Masons in Butler. In his latter years he was greatly afflicted with rheumatism and heart trouble. Mr. Holcomb was a man of wide and extensive information. He was a good story-teller and an engaging conversationalist and always a Republican in politics. While Mr. Holcomb never affiliated with any church, his life was so pure, honorable, and stainless that he enjoyed the highest esteem of all his neighbors and acquaintances and the general public.
The following, from a boy-hood friend, Hon. William Symmes, gives an impartial history of his life in Ohio:
“Colonel John E. Holcomb was born in Vinton, Gallia county, Ohio, on August 16, 1817, and died at his home in Butler, Bates county, Missouri, August 30, 1889, in the seventy-third year of his age. On September 12, 1838, he was married to Miss Mary Matthews, daughter of Captain Phineas Matthews, by whom he had eight children, five boys and three girls. One son and one daughter have passed on before him. An aged widow, four sons and two daughters survive him to mourn their irreparable loss, all of whom he saw happily situated in life. Mr. Holcomb resided in Vinton till the fall of 1869, when he moved with his family to Butler, Missouri. He was the third son of General Samuel R. Holcomb and brother of the late General A.T. Holcomb, and Hon. E.T. Holcomb, of Vinton, Gallia county, Ohio.
“Colonel Holcomb held many positions of trust and honor while he resided in Gallia county, among which was that of United States marshal, during the war; justice of the peace for many years; postmaster; clerk in the house of representatives, etc. He was engaged in the mercantile business for many years, and was trusted and honored by all with whom he came in contact. He loved the just and true. With a willing hand, he gave alms and with an honest heart and faithful hand he discharged all and every public and private trust. * * * ‘An honest man – the noblest work of God.’”
The “Gallia Tribune,” Gallipolis, Ohio, says: “He was a son of the late General Samuel R. Holcomb; lived in Vinton, in this county, until about twenty years ago, when he removed to Missouri. He was provost marshal during the Rebellion and was a man fearless in the discharge of his duty. His convictions were of the strongest; he was a man of the kindest of hearts;
“’And where he met the individual man.
He showed himself as kind as mortal can.”
“No man ever lived in Gallia county, Ohio, whose word was more a synonym for truth than his. No man had keener sense of personal honor; and no man can point to an action of his that was not of the truest and purest kind. His heart was as big as the world, and in it was a world of love and charity.”
The “Bates County Democrat” says: “No citizen of Bates county was ever more highly esteemed than John E. Holcomb. He was straightforward, upright, honorable, and just in all his dealings with men. At home in the midst of his family he was kind, affectionate, and considerate, ever solicitous of the welfare and happiness of his loved ones there. To his family he leaves the legacy of a noble and well-spent life, upon which they may look back with unconcealed pride. To the world, the example of a good man.”
His wife, Mary Matthews Holcomb, after her husband’s death, remained in Bates county until her death, December 15, 1894. She died at the home of her daughter, Mrs. Eliza S. Wilcox, of Passaic, this county, aged nearly seventy-seven years. She retained, in a marked degree, all her excellent faculties to the last moment. She was a member of a very prominent family in southern Ohio and was from youth distinguished for her kind, gentle, and amiable disposition. She was an Universalist in her religion.
The oldest son, Phineas H. Holcomb, came to Bates county in 1869 and died in Butler, January 27, 1917, at the age of seventy-six years. He was an excellent lawyer and a citizen of the highest type. His second son, Anselm T. Holcomb, was admitted to practice law in 1868, in Butler, and practiced in Bates county till the fall of 1878, when he removed to Portsmouth, Ohio, where he still resides, and in his seventy-third year is still engaged in the practice of law. He has always been a taxpayer in Bates county and owns a farm of three hundred fourteen acres near Foster. He has been highly honored by official positions, and is regarded as a successful business man. His daughter, Eliza S., married Richard Wilcox, who lived at Passaic. Mrs. Wilcox, now a widow, owns a fine farm near that village. Sarah H., his second daughter, married Captain John C. Bybee and lives with her husband and daughter at Kansas City, Kansas. Charles M. Holcomb, so well known to the older citizens of Butler, moved to Kansas in 1885 and died at Buffalo, Wilson county, Kansas, in April, 1917, loved, honored, and respected. His wife, Belle Morgan, and six children survive him. Sumner C. Holcomb, born January 7, 1857, was admitted to the bar at Butler about 1881, engaged in the practice of law in Butler until 1886, when he removed to Woodson county, Kansas. He has been five times elected prosecuting attorney of Woodson county. He married Margaret Trueman, and has two children: Lydia Grace and Sumner C., Jr. He is a highly esteemed and prosperous citizen of Yates Center, Kansas.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J. EMMETT HOOK, a well-known farmer and stockman of Hudson township, president of the Bank of Rockville, is a member of one of the old pioneer families of western Missouri. He is a native son of Bates county who has grown up and progressed with his home county, and has taken a prominent and active part in the development of this county since early young manhood. Mr. Hook was born at the Hook homestead March 23, 1869, and has lived all of his life on the farm which he now owns in Hudson township. He is a son of the late James S. Hook, one of the most prominent of the early pioneers of Bates county.
James S. Hook was born in Allegheny county, Virginia, May 31, 1814, and was a son of Stephen Hook, a native of Maryland, who fought in the War of the American Revolution. Stephen Hook moved with his parents to Virginia and there grew to manhood and married Miss Sally Hansberger, a native of Virginia. James S. Hook was reared to young manhood on the parental farm in Virginia and came West in the year 1840, first locating in Monroe county, Missouri. He raised but one crop in that county and in 1841 came to Bates county, where he entered land and improved the farm upon which his son now resides. Mr. Hook entered four hundred eighty acres of land but accumulated a total of nine hundred acres, which became one of the best-improved tracts in Bates county. The original papers granting James S. Hook title to the land and signed by Presidents Pierce and Buchanan are still in possession of J. Emmett Hook. When Mr. Hook first came to Bates county he earned his living by hewing logs near Johnstown for a wage of thirty-five cents per day.
James S. Hook took an active part in building operations and assisted in the erection of four court houses in Bates county. An incident of Civil War times is recalled by the scrip paid by General Price to Mr. Hook for seventy head of cattle which the Confederate commander commandeered when the troops were camping on the Hook farm. This scrip, of course, was never redeemed and is still held by the son, J. Emmett. In 1891, the father turned over the active management of the farm to his son, and lived in quiet retirement for the remainder of his life, his death occurring on November 5, 1905. During his long life he took an active and influential part in political matters and was prominent in Masonic circles.
On December 28, 1846, he was married in Hudson township to Miss Rebecca Hornsinger, daughter of Jacob Hornsinger, one of the pioneers of Bates county. Mrs. Rebecca (Hornsinger) Hook was born in Boone county, but came to Bates county with her parents when but two years of age. Ten children were born to this marriage, of whom J. Emmett is the youngest.
J. Emmett Hook, with whom this review is directly concerned, received his primary education in the public schools of Bates county and his higher learning in the Northwestern Normal School at Stanberry, from which school he graduated. After finishing his normal course he returned home and assisted his father in the cultivation of the home farm. In 1891, his father laid aside the duties of the farm, and since that time the son has had entire charge of the place. He has followed in his father’s footsteps as a successful tiller of the soil and stockman and has made a pronounced success in the oldest of honorable vocations. Mr. Hook is thorough in his methods of agriculture and has succeeded in becoming prosperous on his own account as well as assisting materially in the development of his section of the state of Missouri along advanced lines. He has other financial interests besides his farm lands and is president of the Bank of Rockville, Missouri.
On November 29, 1891, Mr. Hook was married to Miss Elizabeth Scott, who was born in Pettis county, Missouri, June 20, 1869. She was a daughter of Adam and Elizabeth (Johnson) Scott. Mrs. Elizabeth Hook departed this life February 5, 1896. Mr. Hook was again married on January 1, 1905, to Miss Lena Argenbright, and to this marriage have been born two sons, Howard A. and Joseph Emmett. Mrs. Lena Hook was born in Bates county, June 17, 1874, a daughter of Preston and Rebecca (Harrison) Argenbright, who were parents of eight children. Preston Argenbright was born near Staunton, Virginia, October 16, 1838. Mrs. Rebecca Argenbright was born in Tennessee, November 23, 1841. During the Civil War times, Mr. Argenbright was a member of the Missouri State Militia and served as justice of the peace.
Mr. Hook has always been aligned with the Democratic party, and is usually interested in the welfare of his party. He has served the people in several minor offices and generally takes an active and influential interest in local civic affairs. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church and is fraternally affiliated with the Masonic Order, in which he belongs to Rockville Lodge No. 341, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons; the Appleton City Chapter, Royal Arch Masons. He is a member of Butler Lodge No. 958, Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and the Maccabees of Rockville. Mr. Hook is known as a progressive and enterprising citizen who is ever ready to assist worthy local enterprises of a meritorious character. He is popular, well liked, and highly esteemed by all who know him.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ANDREW J. HOOVER, an honored veteran of the Civil War, a former merchant of Adrian, Missouri, now a retired stockman, is a native of Indiana. Mr. Hoover was born April 9, 1838, a son of Adam and Rebecca (Thomas) Hoover. The paternal grandfather of A.J. Hoover was a gifted and beloved Dunkard minister in Maryland, Rev. Adam Hoover.
In White county, Indiana, A.J. Hoover attended the public schools of the state. In winter he went to school and assisted with the chores at home; in summer he attended to the various duties incumbent upon a boy on the farm in the early days and did any other work which would earn an honest cent. Life was a hard treadmill, but it did not prove that “all work and no play” made A.J. a “dull boy.” The school which he attended was like most of the country schools of his day – barren and uncomfortable. There were no bright, pleasant schoolrooms, airy in summer and warm in winter, no comfortable seats, fitted to the individual, no convenient desks, no pictures, no blackboards, no books of reference. Children in those days had little to make school pleasant or interesting. School life, like home life, was stern and full of drudgery.
When the Civil War broke out, A.J. Hoover enlisted with the Union forces. He served for three months under Colonel Milroy and then enlisted in the Seventy-second Indiana Regiment, serving three years until the battle of Stone River and was then transferred to Wiley’s brigade of mounted riflemen. Mr. Hoover fought in thirty-two hard-fought battles, among them being: Perrysville, Stone River, Peach Tree creek, Chickamauga, Rock Springs, Chattanooga, Lookout Mountain, Atlanta, Jonesboro, on Sherman’s march to the sea, capture of Savannah, and he marched through the Carolinas to Washington and took part in the Grand Review. After the war had ended and he had received his discharge in July, 1865, Mr. Hoover returned to his home in Indiana and the ensuing year, 1866, came west to Missouri and located at Lonejack in Jackson county, where he engaged in farming for one year. In 1867, he moved to Bates county and located in Deer Creek township, where he at one time owned five hundred acres of land. Mr. Hoover bought cattle extensively, fed and wintered them and sold the herd the following autumn, when he would again buy more cattle to feed and winter. He once herded five hundred twenty cattle on the present townsite of Adrian, for at that time there were vast tracts of open prairie in Bates county. He recalls how farmers and stockmen would cut native hay and make great ricks, around which they would herd the cattle. Mr. Hoover erected a large, substantial brick building in Adrian in 1883 and entered the mercantile business at this place and for seventeen years was thus employed. He has in recent years divided his holdings among his children and he and his wife are residing at Adrian in quiet, contented retirement. Mr. Hoover has still in his possession sufficient property insuring a comfortable income, owning among other buildings the one in which the postoffice at Adrian is located.
The marriage of A.J. Hoover and Rachel Denton was solemnized on March 15, 1866 and to this union have been born four children, who are now living: Professor W.T., of Adrian, Missouri, who married Miss Lulu Owens and to them have been born two children: Halbert and H.A.; India, of Adrian, Missouri; Mrs. Mary Black, Adrian, Missouri, mother of two children, Mrs. Goldie Schantz and Mrs. Lenna Ware; and Mrs. Ida Haas, Adrian, Missouri, mother of two children: India Mae and Charles Hoover. Mr. Hoover has four great-grandchildren: Mrs. Goldie Schantz has three children: Frederick, Dorothy, and Emery; Mrs. Lenna Ware has one child, Wilma. Mrs. Rachel (Denton) Hoover was born June 12, 1849 in Indiana, Benton county, a daughter of Dr. William and Elizabeth (Bodkin) Denton.
Since the day of the expulsion of two beings from the Garden of Eden, history has again and again demonstrated the truth of the old adage that, “There is no excellence without labor.” Mr. Hoover’s career has but furnished further proof of its truth. His life was early consecrated to honest, patient, unremitting toil. He in youth joined the army of workers to whom the great state of Missouri is indebted for its wonderful prosperity. He has a vivid recollection of Bates county as it was when he came here more than fifty years ago. There were no bridges and the roads were but beaten trails. He has many times hauled wheat to Pleasant Hill before the railroad had reached Harrisonville. He states that deer, wild turkeys, and prairie chickens were to be found in abundance and could be had for the hunting. A.J. Hoover has been a busy worker, he has done his work wisely and well, and he and his noble wife are now enjoying the just recompense of their labors. Mr. Hoover’s life story is a notable example of the success which surely attends and crowns all worthy efforts based upon honorable, upright, manly principles. Mr. Hoover is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and has for years attended the national encampments of the Union veterans and he and Mrs. Hoover have traveled extensively over the United States, from the Atlantic to the Pacific coast. He is well-informed, broad-minded, hearty and strong, able to take long automobile trips each season.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN J. HOUTZ, extensive farmer and livestock breeder of West Boone township, a native of Illinois, is one of the recent additions to the progressive citizenship of Bates county, a man who is doing his full share in bringing the agricultural interests of this county to the front. Progressive, enterprising and aggressive in his methods, he has achieved a remarkable success in his vocation during the fifteen years of his residence in this county. Mr. Houtz was born in Woodford county, Illinois, October 26, 1873, a son of John C. and Sarah J. (Garst) Houtz, natives of Virginia. During the Civil War, John C. Houtz served in the Home Guards of his native State. George and James P. Houtz, his brothers, served in the Confederate army during the Civil War. In 1865, John C. Houtz located in Woodford county, Illinois, where he built up a splendid farm of two hundred sixty acres of very rich and valuable land. He died in Illinois, in February, 1895, aged sixty-six years. The mother of John J. Houtz departed this life in 1889, aged fifty-three years. There were ten children in the Houtz family, six of whom are living: John J., subject of this review; Henry A., Edward L., Frank I., and Mrs. Lulu B. Harris, reside in Boone county, Nebraska; Mrs. Etha L. McMullen, who lives in Salt Lake City.
John J. Houtz was reared in Woodford county, Illinois. He began farming on his own account when twenty-one years old. He purchased eighty acres of rich Illinois land and owned the farm until 1902, at which time he sold out and came to Bates county where he first invested in a quarter section of land. Some time later, he added another quarter to this tract and farmed a half section of land. Fire destroyed the buildings on this place and he erected what were considered the finest improvements on the countryside. In fact, Mr. Houtz has found it a profitable business to take hold of a rundown farm, place better improvements upon it, bring back the soil to a better state of cultivation, and then dispose of the farm at a profit. He has handled, during the course of his residence in this county, over two thousand acres of land. He is at present owner of seven hundred twenty acres of land in the vicinity of Merwin and has one of the best improved farms in the northwest part of Bates county. Upon his large acreage there are four sets of farm improvements and his home place near Merwin comprises a half section, upon which he erected a handsome residence and barns in 1916. He maintains a herd of one hundred pure-bred, registered Hereford cattle on his farms and is a breeder of Poland China hogs. Mr. Houtz specializes in the breeding of Percheron horses and mules, owning a fine blooded Percheron stallion, registered as “Brown Richard,” and he keeps two jacks in his barns. He is thoroughly versed in the science of livestock raising and is ever ready to give his neighbors assistance and advice in the proper care of their stock.
Mr. Houtz was married November 28, 1895, to Miss Sarah Jeter, who was born in Woodford county, Illinois, daughter of James H. and Mary (Peterson) Jeter, natives of Virginia and New Jersey, respectively. James H. Jeter settled in Illinois with his parents and resided there until his death, which occurred in June, 1916, at the age of seventy-five years. Mr. Jeter died at Raymore, Missouri, the family having removed to this state in 1910. Mr. and Mrs. Houtz have four children: Pauline, a graduate of the Raymore High School, taught school for three years and was a student of the Warrensburg Normal College; Pearl, a high school graduate and student at the Warrensburg Normal; Edith, attending the Merwin High School; and Gale.
After four years’ residence in Merwin, the Houtz family took up their residence on the present home place in October, 1916. The Houtz farm is one of the best equipped in this part of Bates county and the land is underlaid with natural gas. Mr. Houtz is independent in his political views. He is a member of the Christian church. He is fraternally affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America and the Court of Honor.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

DR. JOHN R. HULL, a successful dentist of Adrian, Missouri, is one of the prominent citizens of Bates county. Dr. Hull was born July 19, 1878 near Knob Noster, Missouri, a son of Frank and Louisa Hull. His parents died when he was a very small child and he was reared by his sister, Mrs. B.F. Summers.
In 1894, Dr. John R. Hull entered Butler Academy and for four years was a student at this institution. After completing the academic course, Doctor Hull went to Los Angeles, California, where he entered the mercantile business and for eighteen months conducted a grocery store. He then returned to Butler, Missouri and in 1900 matriculated at Western Dental College, Kansas City, Missouri, from which college he graduated with the class of 1903. Dr. John R. Hull began the practice of dentistry associated with his brother, Dr. J.T. Hull, of Butler, and for one year was engaged in the practice of his profession at Butler. In 1904, Dr. John R. Hull opened his office in the First National Bank building at Adrian and in this city has since been successfully employed in dental work. His office is one of the best and most completely equipped dental offices in Bates county and Doctor Hull possesses great natural ability, excellent training, and a world of patience. He is a member of the Western District Dental Society, of which he has served as secretary, of the executive council of the Missouri State Dental Association, and of the National Dental Association. He does not permit himself to fall behind the times in his profession, but by close study and careful, thoughtful research keeps well abreast of this most progressive age in all matters relating to the dental science, perusing thoughtfully the best professional literature of the day.
The marriage of Dr. John R. Hull and Josephine Walter, a daughter of Henry W. and Mary E. Walter, one of the leading pioneer families of Bates county, Missouri, was solemnized November 29, 1905. Mr. and Mrs. Walter came to Bates county in 1867 among the first settlers and experienced all the countless privations and hardships of pioneer life. They obtained their supplies, in the early days, from Pleasant Hill. Mr. Walter died in 1897 and the widowed mother makes her home at Adrian, Missouri. Dr. and Mrs. Hull reside in Adrian, where they have a beautiful home, an attractive, modern bungalow. Dr. Hull is also owner of a farm, comprising eighty acres of land, located on the Adrian and Butler road. He takes much pleasure in overseeing the work of his country place and is interested in both general farming and stock raising. His farm is one of the splendid stock farms of Mound township, conveniently located, abundantly watered, and productive. Dr. and Mrs. Hull are worthy and valued members of the Methodist church, of which the doctor is steward and in the Sunday school a teacher of the boys’ class.
Fraternally, Doctor Hull is affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, the Knights Templar, the Eastern Star, the Knights of Pythias, and the Modern Woodmen of America. He takes an active part and deep interest in lodge work and is past Master Mason, past Patron of the Eastern Star, past Chancellor and Commander of the Knights of Pythias, and ex-secretary of the Modern Woodmen of America.
In his relations with his fellowmen, professional, business, or social, Doctor Hull’s conduct has been open and straightforward, his integrity unassailable, his actions those of a true gentleman, possessing to a marked degree sincerity and purity of motive. The nature of his professional duties and business enterprises affords him little time to devote to social affairs, but he is personally one of the most amiable and genial of men. Both the doctor and Mrs. Hull are held in the highest respect and esteem in Adrian.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

W.S. HURT, proprietor of “Valley Grove Stock Farm” in Spruce township, is a native of Kentucky. Mr. Hurt was born in 1854 at Columbia in Adair county and thirty-six years ago, dating from the time of this writing in 1918, he came to Missouri and settled on a farm in Spruce township. He had twelve hundred dollars to invest at that time, the proceeds from the sale of his Kentucky land, a farm comprising one hundred twenty acres, and now, after nearly two score years in the West, he is the owner of one of the best and most attractive country places in Spruce township, Bates county. The sign of the “Valley Grove Stock Farm” is a pretty picture of two ears of Boone county white corn at the gate at the entrance of the driveway, a representation of the corn raised by Mr. Hurt on this farm and of his artistic ability, for he painted the picture.
When W.S. Hurt came to Bates county, Missouri in 1882, he purchased a tract of land in Spruce township, a small farm embracing forty acres, which he improved and then sold. He invested the proceeds of the sale in another forty-acre tract, which he afterward sold for eighty dollars an acre. Mr. Hurt retired from improving land, farming, and stock raising at this time and entered the mercantile business, in which he was engaged for nine years after buying the J.C. Noble stock of merchandise. Mr. Hurt was successful as a merchant, but he prefers the independence of the farm to the confinement of a store and in 1912 moved to his present country home in Spruce township, where he has since been contentedly at work, clearing the timber land for pasture, improving the land and the soil, raising horses, cattle, mules, and hogs. “Valley Grove Stock Farm” lies four miles northwest of Johnstown and two and a half miles southeast of Ballard. It comprises one hundred twenty acres of land, forty acres of which are underlaid with a vein of coal from twelve to eighteen inches in depth. There are two ponds, four wells, and one cistern of the place, making it one of the most abundantly watered farms in Bates county. The improvements include a nice residence, a ten-room structure, well built with conveniently arranged rooms which are neatly kept, and a splendid barn, 40 x 60 feet in dimensions. Mr. Hurt is devoting his attention chiefly to raising roan Durham cattle and O.I.C. Poland China hogs, having about forty head of the latter on the farm at the present time, in 1918.
In 1876, W.S. Hurt and Corinna Snow were united in marriage in Kentucky. To this union have been born eight children, seven of whom are now living: Mrs. Mertie Corwine, of Spruce township, Bates county; Montie, the well-known collector of Mingo township, Bates county; Otis, a well-to-do farmer and stockman of Spruce township; Pearl, deceased; Mrs. Laura Hill, who resides in Colorado; Loren, a successful farmer and stockman of Spruce township; Ivy and Bryan, both at home with their parents. Kindly, hospitable and generous, the Hurt family’s popularity is as extensive as their acquaintance, and their southern courtesy has become proverbial.
Among the progressive men of Bates county, who have assisted materially in developing the agricultural interests of this section of the state, W.S. Hurt takes high rank.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

F.A. HUSTON, a well-known auctioneer of Bates county, is one of the prominent citizens of Deer Creek township. Mr. Huston was born in Illinois in 1860, a son of John and Catherine Huston. The Hustons came to Bates county, Missouri, in 1876 and settled on a farm in Walnut township. John Huston purchased a tract of land in this township, which tract comprised one hundred ninety-five acres, and engaged in general farming. To John and Catherine Huston were born ten children, seven of whom are now living: Mrs. Addie Cox, Miami, Oklahoma; F.A., the subject of this review; Mrs. Mattie Harris, Kiowa, Kansas; Perry, who resides in Kansas; Mrs. Acenith N. Moudy, Creede, Colorado; Melvin S.; and Elbert, Walnut, Kansas. The father died in 1892 and the widowed mother makes her home with her eldest daughter in Oklahoma. John Huston was one of the most unostentatious of men, open hearted and candid in manner, yet retaining in his demeanor much of the courtesy of the old-time gentleman.
When F.A. Huston was a youth, sixteen years of age, he came to Bates county with his parents and he recalls clearly the open conditions of the country at that time. He attended school at Garrison school house after coming to Bates county and was taught by Miss Duncan and John McPeak. About thirty years ago, F.A. Huston attended a sale in this county and, when the auctioneer failed to make his appearance, Mr. Huston was asked to “cry the sale.” An enthusiastic, eager, young man, who never knew what timidity means, he did as requested and was at once pronounced by those in attendance as a “star performer.” Henceforth, F.A. Huston was many times called upon for his services and became a successful, popular auctioneer in this part of the country.
The marriage of F.A. Huston and Mary J. Field, a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. A.J. Field, of Cass county, Missouri, was solemnized in 1883. To this union was born one child, a daughter, Mrs. Grace Lee, of San Bernardino, California. Mrs. Huston died seventeen years ago, in 1901. Mr. Huston has never remarried.
There have been many sorrows and tragedies interwoven in the career of F.A. Huston and more than once have the depths of his moral fiber, the strength of his character been sounded – and still he is an optimist. He enjoys a good joke and a hearty laugh as much as any man in Bates county, probably more than many men for he has known from hard, bitter experience what a sob is.
Mr. Huston recalls among the pioneer preachers, whom he personally knew, Reverend “Billy” Miller, Reverend Gans, and Reverend Nicholson. The last mentioned, Reverend Nicholson, was a lover of sports, especially games of baseball. He had during the week attended a game and had participated in a fight, but the following Sunday he filled his regular appointment. Both his eyes had been most thoroughly blacked, but he said that he never let anything interfere with his serving the Lord.
John Huston, the father of F.A. Huston, was a Methodist minister. The son describes an early-day wedding, which he witnessed, when he was a curious, fun-loving lad. F.A. Huston states that young people often came from Kansas to Missouri to be married, in order to avoid the extra expense of obtaining a marriage license and his father was frequently called upon to perform the marriage ceremony. On one occasion, Reverend Huston was away from home and a crowd of young people from Kansas, riding in a wagon, came to the Huston home and announced that two of their number wished to be married. As his father was not at home, young F.A. directed them to the residence of the justice of the peace of the township, and then followed them there. The justice, Levi Gritten, was down along the creek fishing. When informed that there was a young couple at his home wanting to be married, Judge Gritten sent word on to the house that he would be there in a short time, and in the meantime practiced the ceremony upon his two sons, who were with him. When ready to begin the performance, the justice could find no pencil and no paper, except the fly-leaf of an old, worn, bethumbed law book, that the young people might sign their names. The matrimonial prospects stood up on the wrong side of one another, which furnished much amusement to a “red-headed girl” in the crowd, who seemed to know more of the ethics of marriage ceremonies than the rest. After the ceremony, Judge Gritten kissed the bride, which furnished more amusement to the “red-headed girl,” and she screamed in mirth. Justice Levi, barefoot and his scanty raiment held together by one suspender, returned to his fishing, from which he had most reluctantly parted, saying gleefully to young Huston that he should the word to his father that the justice would have to “set them up” to him for being away, as he had extracted two dollars and fifty cents for his services!
As a public-spirited citizen and useful member of society, F.A. Huston ranks with the substantial and enterprising citizens of this county and the high esteem in which he is held bears mute testimony to the sterling qualities of his head and heart.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

AMOS J. HUGHES, an honored pioneer of Bates county, a member of one of the oldest families of the state, is a native of Pettis county. Mr. Hughes was born June 11, 1848, a son of James A. and Elizabeth (Johnson) Hughes, both of whom were natives of Kentucky.
In 1873, Amos J. Hughes moved from Pettis county to Bates county, Missouri, and settled on a tract of land located in Spruce township one mile west of his present country place. Mr. Hughes purchased at that time forty acres of land for fifteen dollars an acre. He has since increased his holdings and is now owner of one hundred twenty-eight acres of land in Spruce township, a well-improved farm and nicely situated. The improvements on the Hughes place include a comfortable residence, a structure of one and a half stories, and a good barn, 32 x 40 feet in dimensions. Mr. Hughes is interested in general farming. When he came to Bates county, in 1873, Mr. Hughes was owner of a team of horses and a cow. There was a small, rudely-built house on the forty-acre tract of land which he purchased from William Tyler, who now resides at Butler, and this was the Hughes home for many years until better, happier days dawned. In the autumn of the year of 1873, the blue-grass was so tall that a man on horseback might easily hide in it. Mr. Hughes remembers the drouth of the summer of 1874, when from June 11 until the spring of 1875 there was no rainfall, for he was obliged during that time to haul water from four miles away in order to keep his family and his stock alive. He relates an interesting incident in his life, which most strikingly illustrates the conditions under which traveling was done in Missouri in 1875. Mr. Hughes started on horseback from Clinton, Missouri, for his home in Spruce township. He traveled through two miles of water in Big creek, passed Old Urich in Henry county and Old Dayton in Cass county, crossed the Grand river, south of Dayton where the bridge now is, and was lost, utterly lost. Mr. Hughes traveled on and on and on, and in one instance was obliged to make an opening in a fence in order to get through, to get out of a field in which he had gone he never knew how, and at last gave his horse the rein and the animal found the way home. They were both completely worn out for they had gone from eighty to one hundred miles that day.
The marriage of Amos J. Hughes and Mary J. Moore was solemnized in 1869 in Pettis county, Missouri. To this union have been born four children, who are now living: Lillie R., the wife of Elijah Dark; Lulu Frances, the wife of John Greer, of Butler, Missouri; Daisy, the wife of Albert Swartz, of Adrian, Missouri; and Mary A., the wife of Thomas Powers, of Lanton, Howell county, Missouri. Mr. Hughes has the following brothers and sister living: Pleasant S., Amsterdam, Missouri; George W.; and Mrs. Sallie Sharp, of Vernon county, Missouri.
Amos J. Hughes has been an eye-witness of the development and advancement of this great commonwealth and in his own quiet, unassuming way has been a potential factor in contributing to the prosperity and upbuilding of the community in which he resides.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

H.C. HYATT, JR., manager of “Fairview Stock Farm” of four hundred acres of land located two miles east of Adrian in Deer Creek township, one of the finest stock farms in this section of the state, is one of the progressive, young agriculturists and stockmen of Bates county. “Fairview Stock Farm” was improved by Edward Argenbright and purchased by H.C. Hyatt, Sr., in 1908. The splendid improvements on the place include a handsome residence, a house of two stories and nine rooms; a barn, 64 x 74 feet in dimensions, for horses; a barn, 40 x 80 feet in dimensions, for cattle and hay; and several good wells. One well on the place is only ten feet in depth, but with a windmill attached furnishes a sufficient amount of water to supply all the stock. There are three windmills on “Fairview Stock Farm.” H.C. Hyatt, Sr., sold the farm in 1916 and H.C. Hyatt, Jr., is the present lessee. He has at the time of this writing in 1918 one hundred head of cattle and usually keeps on the farm at least one hundred head of hogs and at the present time has twenty head of horses and mules. One year ago, H.C. Hyatt, Jr., had two hundred fifty head of cattle and four hundred head of hogs at “Fairview Stock Farm.” He is one of the most extensive feeders in Bates county and he states that he was reared in the stock business and knows no other.
H.C. Hyatt, Jr., was born near Schell City in St. Clair county, Missouri, on March 11, 1889, a son of H.C. and Eliza (Lucas) Hyatt, residents of Clinton, Missouri. The junior Hyatt was reared and educated in St. Clair county, Missouri. He came with his parents to Bates county in 1905 and with them located first in Mound township, coming thence to his present farm in 1908. The son was in partnership with the father until the latter sold the farm in 1916 and since that time H.C. Hyatt, Jr., has been employed as manager of “Fairview Stock Farm.” He is an exceptionally capable and intelligent stockman and is making a marked success and a name for himself in the stock business.
In 1907, H.C. Hyatt and Leora V. Beaman, a daughter of David W. and Missouri Ella Beaman, honored and respected pioneers of Summit township, Bates county, were united in marriage. To H.C. and Mrs. Hyatt have been born two children: H.C., “The Third,” who was born February 7, 1912; and Elsie Marie. Mr. and Mrs. Hyatt are widely and favorably known in Deer Creek township and they have an enviable standing in the county, socially and financially.
Reared in the country and from his boyhood days accustomed to toil in the field, meadow, and wood, the life of H.C. Hyatt, Jr., has thus far been practically devoid of striking incidents, but has been the career of a dutiful son assisting his father in industriously discharging the obligations of a prosperous and successful husbandman and later of the independent, energetic farmer and stockman.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

 


 

Return to

Bates County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.