Welcome to
Bates County
Missouri


Biographies
~ M ~


W.S. MAHAN, an honored veteran of the Civil War, ex-mayor of Adrian, the highly respected justice of the peace of Deer Creek township, Bates county, Missouri, is a native of Iowa. Squire Mahan was born in Taylor county, Iowa, in 1846, a son of Thomas and Mary (Mavity) Mahan, who later returned to Orange county, Indiana, the place of their nativity. Thomas Mahan was a son of Peter Mahan, a native of Virginia and a son of an Irish immigrant. Mary (Mavity) Mahan was a daughter of Michael Mavity, a native of Kentucky and of Norman French descent.
In Indiana, W.S. Mahan was reared to manhood and in that state received his elementary education and later entered college. After leaving college, Mr. Mahan was employed in teaching school in Indiana for thirteen years. During the Civil War, he abandoned his profession and enlisted with the Union forces, serving with the Twenty-fourth Indiana Infantry throughout the conflict. He took an active and important part in many decisive engagements, fighting bravely at Shiloh on April 6, 1862, when the list of casualties for the Union side alone was thirteen thousand men, the Confederates losing ten thousand seven hundred valiant fighters, and later taking part in the siege of Vicksburg, one strong position left the Confederates after Memphis and New Orleans had fallen, which resulted in Pemberton signing the articles of surrender on July 4, 1863, after King Hunger had allied himself with Grant and had done his worst for several weeks, and lastly being present at the capture of Mobile in the spring of 1865.
After the Civil War had ended, W.S. Mahan returned to his home in Indiana and there resided until 1880, when he came to Bates county, Missouri, and purchased two hundred acres of land near Adrian. At that time, Mr. Mahan bought a team of mules and assisted in the building of the Missouri Pacific railway in this county. Afterward, he entered the teaching profession and for three years was thus engaged, when he again abandoned it and this time entered the mercantile business at Adrian. Until 1893, Mr. Mahan conducted a grocery store in this city and he was one of the successful merchants of Adrian when he was commissioned notary public of Bates county and appointed an insurance agent. Prior to coming to Missouri, Mr. Mahan had served as justice of the peace in Indiana and in 1910 he was elected to the same office in Bates county and for the past eight years has ably filled the position of justice of the peace in Deer Creek township. He disposed of his insurance work, in 1911, selling to C.W. Mahan, who is now conducting the business at Adrian.
The marriage of W.S. Mahan and Sarah J. Gifford, a daughter of Josephus and Elizabeth Gifford, was solemnized October 22, 1871, in Orange county, Indiana. To this union have been born two children: Mrs. Lula D. Haven, Kansas City, Missouri; and Clyde G., of Kansas City, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Mahan are valued workers in the Christian church and Mr. Mahan is one of the worthy elders of the church and a teacher in the Christian Bible School. They reside in Adrian, where they own a beautiful home, a comfortable residence of seven rooms. Mr. Mahan sold his farm in 1889 and invested the proceeds in stock of the Adrian Banking Company.
Squire Mahan was one of the very first residents of Adrian, Missouri and no one in Bates county is better authority on the early history of this flourishing little city than he is. Mr. Mahan states that Adrian was planned and founded by the Adrian Town Company in June, 1880. An agreement had been made with the Missouri Pacific Railway Company whereby the Bates County Town Company was to have the privilege of locating towns and stations in return for the grant of right-of-way through Bates county. The particular depot of Butler was to be located not less than one mile from the court house and the Adrian Town Company purchased land in this vicinity and platted it and the Missouri Pacific railroad and the town of Adrian, ten miles away, were being built simultaneously in Bates county. Squire Mahan recalls that the first train came into Adrian on August 1, 1880. Adrian was organized as a village with M.V. Meisner as justice of the peace. S.P. Cox opened the first mercantile establishment in Adrian, a small grocery store in a box house, and he was obliged to borrow Mr. Mahan’s team of mules in order to secure his first load of groceries from Kansas City, Missouri. Mr. Cox erected the first brick building in the town, in 1883, which building is now occupied by Howard Smith, the clothier, who is conducting a business establishment. Garfield Moudy bears the distinction of having been the first child born in Adrian and the Methodist Episcopal church as the oldest church of the five now in existence, namely: Methodist Episcopal, Baptist, United Brethren, Christian, and The Brethren. After Adrian was incorporated as a city, J.N. Bricker was elected the first mayor of the city. Squire Mahan has been and still is one of the most prominent and influential citizens of Adrian and during the past thirty-eight years he has held many offices of public honor and trust in the village and in the city. He has served as alderman, as mayor of the city, as city collector, and as a member of the township board, holding the last-named position for six years. Politically, Squire Mahan is affiliated with the Republican party and is a most active party worker. Squire Mahan was appointed agent of the Adrian Town Company to sell the lots from the original plat of eighty acres.
Squire Mahan has already passed the allotted three score years and ten and is still alert and active, bidding fair to consume many years in going down the shady side of life’s mountain to the “twilight and evening bell and after that – the dark” and he has erected for himself a monument in the respect and affection of his associates and friends that will prove more lasting than an epitaph carved in marble or chiseled in granite. Mr. and Mrs. Mahan are not only zealous workers in the church but in their daily lives demean themselves as true, sincere followers of the holy Nazarene.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

 JOHN J. MARCH
, ex-judge of the county seat of Bates county, a pioneer citizen of New Home township, leading farmer and stockman, is a scion of one of the oldest pioneer families in Missouri and a descendant of colonial ancestry, of Swiss origin. His great-great-grandfather was Rudolph March, who immigrated to America from his native land, Switzerland, and settled in North Carolina about the middle of the eighteenth century, or 1750. His son, Jacob March, great-grandfather of Judge John J. March, saw service in the American Revolution during the campaigns which restored the Carolinas to the American Colonial Government and drove the British from their strongholds in the Southern states. John J. March was born, January 1, 1861, in Boone county, Missouri, a son of Willis March (born 1820, died 1895) and Sarah (DeJarnette) March (born 1839, died 1907).
Willis B. March was born in Clark county, Kentucky, a son of John March, a native of Kentucky, who was a son of Jacob March, born in North Carolina, who was a son of Rudolph March, a native of Switzerland, mentioned in the preceding paragraph as having emigrated from Switzerland to America in about 1750. John March left Kentucky and made a settlement in Boone county, Missouri, as early as 1844. His son, Willis B., was there reared to young manhood and served as a soldier in the Mexican War, 1846 to 1848. In 1849 he made the overland trip to the gold fields of California, remaining four years and made a fortune. He again went to California in 1853, remaining three years. He married Sarah DeJarnette, who bore him children, as follow: John J., subject of this review; Mrs. Emma L. Hart, a widow living at Bussey, Iowa; Joseph B., a farmer living in Osage township, county surveyor of Bates county for two terms, later graduated from the Law School of the Missouri University, who soon after our government began the construction of the Panama Canal, offered his services and was accepted, remaining there for more than seven years, the latter half of this time being a district judge, having been appointed by the noted Joe Blackburn, of Kentucky, then Governor of the Canal Zone; Mrs. Carrie Yeates, Lamar, Colorado; Mrs. Mattie E. Ford Welch, Vernon county, Missouri, whose son Dr. Lester R. Ford, born in October, 1886, graduated from the Warrensburg Normal College, graduated with honors at Missouri University, winning the Harvard Scholarship, later winning another scholarship at Harvard, studied in Paris, filled the chair of Professor of Mathematics at Harvard, lectured upon Mathematics at Edinburgh University, Scotland, for two years, holds several degrees, and is now a member of the National Army stationed at Camp Meade, Boston; Richard W., the youngest son, is a master mechanical engineer in charge of the operation of steam shovels in the strip coal mines at Rich Hill, Missouri.
In 1868, Willis B. March removed with his family to Bates county and settled on a pioneer farm four miles southwest of Rich Hill in Osage township. There were very few settlements on the prairie at this time and vast unfenced stretches of grazing land met the eye in every direction. Game was plentiful and herds of deer ranged the prairies. Highways were unknown and settlers followed the beaten trails when traveling. In 1881, Mr. March sold his first farm and moved to another tract located a short distance west of the original homestead. He resided here until his death, highly respected in the community, which he had helped to create. He was a Democrat and filled various township offices.
John J. March attended the State Normal School at Warrensburg, after receiving what education the district school was able to afford him. He taught school for several terms in Bates and Vernon counties and pursued a business course in a commercial college at Kansas City. From 1886 to 1891 he was engaged as bookkeeper for a coal mining concern in the vicinity of Rich Hill and during that time became financially interested in mining. He was connected with the mining industry near Rich Hill from 1884 to 1894 and during that time purchased his farm in New Home township, removing to the place in 1892. Mr. March has, with the exception of the seven years intervening between 1910 and 1917, which were spent in Nevada, Missouri, resided on his place since 1892. He moved to Nevada to afford his children high school educational advantages. He formerly owned two hundred twenty-five acres in New Home township, but has recently disposed of a tract of sixty-five acres.
October 13, 1887, Mr. March was married to Miss Alice V. Powers, who has borne him two children, as follow: Nellie H., a teacher in the public schools, and a graduate of the Nevada High School, and Walter B., a graduate of the Nevada High School and now farming on the home place. Mrs. Alice V. March was born February 14, 1867, in California, a daughter of William and Mary (McCool) Powers, natives of Kentucky and Tennessee, respectively. William Powers was a son of one of the early Missouri pioneers who came to this state in 1840 and made a settlement in Bates county in 1845. He went to the gold fields of California in 1849 and remained for three years. He was born in 1824 and died in 1868. His wife, prior to her marriage, was Mary McCool; she was born in 1827 and died in 1892. William Powers died when on a visit to Bates county to see about his property in this county. The Powers family returned from California in 1871.
Mr. and Mrs. March are members of the Christian church and Mr. March filled the post of elder of the Christian church at Nevada while a resident in that city. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He has been a life-long Democrat, one who has been prominent in the councils of his party and held the office of associate judge of the county court for two terms of two years each. He was first elected to the office in 1900 and again elected in 1902. During his term of office, the court in which he was a member, had charge of the erection of the county court house at Butler – the name of Judge March being carved upon the front entrance stone as one of the builders. Judge March was also a member of the District Drainage Commission which has had charge of the draining of the Marais des Cygnes valley and the redemption of a vast acreage of overflow land. Judge and Mrs. March are among the best and most intelligent of the citizens of Bates county and are prominent in their home community and the county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.


ROBERT MARSHALL, of Elkhart township, is a son of one of the early pioneer families of Missouri, the family having made its first settlement in north Missouri as early as 1856. He was born in Brown county, Indiana, in 1845, and is a son of James and Artemesia (Fallowell) Marshall, the former a native of Tennessee, but was reared in Indiana, and the latter was born and reared in Indiana. They came west and located in north Missouri in 1856, but remained only two years, going to Macoupin county, Illinois, in 1858. The family made their home in Illinois until 1880 and then came to Bates county and located in Elkhart township, one mile west of the village of Elkhart. They both died at the age of seventy years and within one month, the father dying in February 20, 1881, and the mother, March 20, of that same year. James and Artemesia Marshall were parents of the following children: William, died in Bates county in 1907; Louisa, married J.M. Scott, now deceased; Lucinda, wife of James Patterson; Robert, the subject of this sketch; and two children died in infancy.
Robert Marshall was educated in the public schools of Indiana and Illinois and followed in his father’s footsteps as a tiller of the soil, beginning his own career upon the place of one hundred acres which he owns in Elkhart township. His farm is well kept and highly productive and he carries on general farming and stock raising.
Mr. Marshall was married in 1873 to Sarah Jane McCoy, who was born in Caney county, Missouri, and to this marriage have been born two children: James P., who is assisting his father with the farming operations; and Maude, also at home with her parents. Mr. Marshall is affiliated fraternally with Elkhart Lodge, Modern Woodmen of America, and is a Republican.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHARLES MARSTELLER, one of the prominent agriculturists of Mount Pleasant and Lone Oak townships, is a member of a pioneer family of Bates county. When the Marstellers settled here there was no court house at Butler, but one was erected soon after they came, which building was destroyed during the Civil War and a second constructed. In the lifetime of the Marstellers in Bates county, there have been three different court houses erected at Butler. Mr. Marsteller was born at Butler, Missouri, in 1862, in the home which is now Judge Silvers, a son of Randolph and Mary A. Marsteller. Randolph Marsteller was a native of Licking county, Ohio. He came to Bates county, Missouri in 1857 and purchased the farm now owned by his son, Charles. During the Civil War, when Order Number 11 was issued, the Marstellers moved to Henry and Pettis counties and remained there until the conflict had ended. When Mr. Marsteller came back to his home in Bates county, he was obliged to begin life anew for all the buildings he owned, including five houses, practically all his stock, the fencing, and from five to eight hundred bushels of corn were destroyed. In the war, he served with the Home Guards under Captain Newberry. The Marstellers returned to the farm to live, a place formerly owned by Lucinda Seal and comprising five hundred acres of splendid, productive land, of which Charles Marsteller now owns one hundred forty-five acres located two and a half miles south of Butler. To Randolph and Mary A. Marsteller were born six children: Harriet, the wife of Mr. Daniels, of Lone Oak township; James A., Lone Oak township; Mollie, the wife of Mr. Pierce, Battleground, Tippecanoe county, Indiana; Florence, deceased; Tena, deceased; and Charles, the subject of this review. Mr. Marsteller was actively identified with the farming and stock interests of Bates county for many years. He was a man of industrious habits, an excellent, public-spirited citizen, who served his township many years as justice of the peace. He died about 1883. Mrs. Marsteller departed this life April 10, 1914. Both father and mother were laid to rest in the cemetery known as Oak Hill. Mr. Marsteller was an enterprising and energetic farmer, a gentleman of native abilities of a high order. He was honest himself and not only expected but thought everyone else to be so. Generous and obliging, he assisted to the limit of his ability all worthy enterprises. His death and that of Mrs. Marsteller, a brave pioneer woman, were sadly lamented in Bates county.
Charles Marsteller attended the city schools of Butler. He remained at home with his father and mother until both were taken from him and he still makes his home on a part of the old home place, a farm of one hundred forty-five acres. The Marsteller farm lies partly in Mount Pleasant and partly in Lone Oak townships. Mr. Marsteller is numbered among the best citizens of his community and he is widely and favorably known throughout the county. He is unmarried.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRANK U. MATHERS, assistant cashier of the First National Bank of Adrian, Missouri, is one of the youngest citizens of Bates county who are widely and favorably known as industrious, enterprising, successful men. Mr. Mathers is one of Bates county’s own sons. He was born in 1890, a son of J.W. and Anna Mathers, who came to Missouri from Indiana in 1883 and located at Adrian, where J.W. Mathers was engaged in the mercantile business for more than twenty-five years. He died in 1917 and the widowed mother makes her home at Adrian and with her reside her son, Frank U., and his wife. J.W. Mathers was a well-known and well-to-do merchant and at the time of his death was the owner of considerable property in Adrian, including his residence and his business establishment.
Mr. Mathers, whose name introduces this review, is a graduate of the Adrian High School and a former student of the Warrensburg State Normal School, which latter institution he attended two years. He also completed a course of study at the Central Business College, Kansas City, Missouri, after which he was employed by six years by the Warnken Dry Goods Company. Mr. Mathers resigned his position with this company to accept the assistant cashiership of the First National Bank of Adrian, Missouri, which place he is capably filling at the time of this writing in 1918. He graduated from the Adrian High School in the class of 1906.
November 20, 1916, Frank U. Mathers and Lola Porter were united in marriage. Lola (Porter) Mathers is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. E.A. Porter, of Adrian, Missouri. Mr. and Mrs. Mathers reside at Adrian with Mr. Mathers’ mother. He is a stockholder as well as an official of the First National Bank of Adrian. Both Mr. and Mrs. Mathers richly merit and possess the warm regard of a host of friends in Adrian and in Bates county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES MC CULLOCH, member of one of the old pioneer families in Bates county, farmer of New Home township, was born in Cooper county, Missouri, August 20, 1866. He is a son of Joseph Richardson and Isabella America (Brown) McCulloch, natives of Virginia. His father was born in old Virginia and his mother was born in what is now West Virginia. The Brown family of which Mrs. J.R. McCulloch was a member was one of the early pioneer families of Missouri. W.O. Atkeson, author of this “History of Bates County” is related to the McCullochs through the mother’s family. Joseph R. McCulloch was born in March, 1826 and died in September, 1893. He was a son of Robert McCulloch, who settled in Cooper county, Missouri in 1834. Isabella A. McCulloch was born in October, 1836 and died in July, 1915. She was a daughter of Matthew Brown, who emigrated from Virginia to Missouri in 1850 and was married in Saline county.
J.R. McCulloch came to Bates county on October 11, 1866, and settled in New Home township. Prior to this time he had served for three years with the Confederate forces under Generals Price and Marmaduke. Upon taking up his residence in Bates county, he built a one-room log cabin and in this cabin reared a family of five children: Robert M., a farmer in New Home township; Mrs. Adeline Brown Caton, Howard township; James, subject of this sketch; Mrs. Mattie Clark, Rich Hill; Joseph, Rich Hill, Missouri. J.R. McCulloch became owner of one hundred acres of land in New Home township, and the home place of the family is now owned by James McCulloch, the tract having been deeded to him by his mother. Mr. and Mrs. J.R. McCulloch were members of the Methodist Episcopal church and were sturdy, God fearing, industrious people who courageously withstood the poverty and hardships of their earlier days in this county and their names are honored ones in the history of Bates county.
James McCulloch was reared to young manhood upon the McCulloch home farm and has always lived in this vicinity. He received eighty acres of land from his mother upon which he is now making his home. Mr. McCulloch was married on June 15, 1893 to Florence Salina Benson, who was born October 5, 1875 in Illinois, a daughter of Thomas and Florence Benson, who died in St. Clair county, Illinois when Mrs. McCulloch was an infant. She and her brother, Louis, were adopted by William Allenson, an Englishman, who came to Missouri and settled in New Home township, Bates county, in 1883. Mr. Allenson was an old friend of Mr. Benson and accompanied the Bensons to America from their native England. During his last years, Mr. Allenson made his home with Mr. and Mrs. McCulloch. Four children have been born to James and Florence McCulloch: Mrs. Salina Donaldson, New Home township, mother of two children – Joseph Elmer, and Lucille; Lois Ada, living in Tulsa, Oklahoma; James B., aged nineteen, and Benjamin Lee, aged fifteen years, at home with their parents. Mr. McCulloch is a Democrat.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

FRANK J. MC CUNE – Bates county abounds in picturesque spots for home places in the country side and many fine farms are named for some striking feature of the tract of land to which the name applies. It is a matter of record that “Mound Slope Farm” located in Elkhart township and owned by F.J. McCune, was the third farm in Bates county which was legally registered under its present title. The beautiful McCune home is situated upon the slope of the mound from which Mound township takes its name and is one of the richest farmsteads in this section of Missouri, the soil being of the black gumbo which has such high value, rich in the materials which nourish successive crops and is not easily worn out. Its owner takes a just pride in maintaining the beauty, and well-kept appearance of his place and a remarkable view of the surrounding country can be obtained from the veranda of the McCune residence, the town of Adrian five miles away plainly visible.
F.J. McCune was born December 10, 1853, in Athens county, Ohio, a son of Nelson and Lucy (Blakely) McCune, both of whom were natives of Ohio and practically spent their lives in Athens county. They reared a fine family of children, three of whom are living: Blakely, the eldest son, a member of Company B, Thirty-sixth Ohio Infantry, died on the battlefield of Antietam while serving in the Union forces during the Civil War, his remains being interred at Sharpsburg, Maryland; A.H., died at San Diego, California; George, died in childhood; Lue, married Loren Hill, of Amesville, Athens county, Ohio; Ella, married J.F. Lacy, of Hull, Illinois; and F.J., the youngest son of the family, subject of this review.
Reared to manhood in his native county, Mr. McCune decided that the West offered better opportunities for advancement than his native state, and he accordingly left his home county in 1882 and came to Bates county. He at once located in Elkhart township and purchased the northern part of his present farm, located in east Elkhart township. The McCune farm consists of four hundred eighty acres, which are kept in a thorough state of cultivation and produce excellent crops. Mr. McCune follows general farming and stock raising in a progressive manner and is accounted one of Bates county’s most intelligent and industrious farmers.
October 15, 1879, Frank J. McCune was united in marriage with Cora Wyatt, of Athens county, Ohio, a daughter of Charles and Harriet (Henry) Wyatt, both of whom were born, reared and spent their lives in Athens county, Ohio. Five children have blessed this marriage: Charles Nelson, proprietor of one hundred twenty acres of land in Elkhart township, which he is farming, and he resides at home with his parents; Ella, the wife of W.W. McReynolds, Elkhart township, and has two sons, Kelver and Billy; Clarence Wyatt married Lola Carroll and has two daughters, Wilma and Helen, is farming an irrigated tract at Kuna, Idaho; Grace, at home; and Edward Henry, a teacher in the public schools of this county.
Mr. McCune is a Republican in politics and he, with the other members of his family, is a member of the Presbyterian church. The McCune place is not only noted for the fine appearance and view from the slope of the mound from which the farm gets its name, which view enables one to see Butler, eleven miles away, and the town of Adrian, five miles distant, but the farm is underlaid with gas which was found at a depth of two hundred fifteen feet by the boring of a test well, although no attempt has ever been made to make commercial or local use of the output. The McCune family have a permanent and respected place in the civic and social structure of Bates county and the members of this enterprising family are always found in the forefront of all movements to advance the interests of their home county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JUDGE DAVID MC GAUGHEY, a late prominent citizen and leading public official of Bates county, Missouri, was one of the best known and most highly respected men in this section of the state. Judge McGaughey was a native of Indiana. He was born August 26, 1826, at Mount Carmel in Franklin county, Indiana, a son of Robert and Mary (Clark) McGaughey. Robert McGaughey was born at Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, of Scotch and Irish descent, a descendant of David McGaughey, a native of Ireland, who emigrated from his home land because of the political troubles there and came to America in 1772. David McGaughey was one of the first to volunteer in the Revolutionary War and he served as General Washington’s aid until the end of the struggle. He first saw his future wife when he was on the battlefield of Monmouth, the battle taking place on her father’s farm. She was Mary Lytle. David McGaughey and Mary Lytle were united in marriage soon after the war had ended and they located at Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Mary (Clark) McGaughey, the mother of Judge David McGaughey, was born at Indian Hill in Hamilton county, Ohio, in 1810.
In his youth, David McGaughey attended the public schools of Indiana and in 1845 matriculated at Miami University in Ohio, at which institution he was a student for three years. On leaving college, Mr. McGaughey engaged in teaching school in different localities in the West and South. In June, 1854, he entered the law office of Gen. Lew Wallace and with him read law for one year. In the summer of 1855, Mr. McGaughey went to Des Moines, Iowa, from Indianapolis, Indiana, and in Iowa was employed in locating land warrants for eastern parties and in surveying. He was elected a member of the first city council of Des Moines, Iowa. In 1858, Mr. McGaughey left this city and located at Hackbury Ridge in Andrew county, Missouri, where he was engaged in teaching school for one year. The following year, Mr. McGaughey began practicing law at Albany in Gentry county and in 1860 was elected county superintendent of schools in Gentry county. During the Civil War, he was for a time a resident of Falls City, Nebraska and while there was elected prosecuting attorney of Falls City and appointed superintendent of schools by the county court. Mr. McGaughey came to Bates county, Missouri, in August, 1865, and was for several years county superintendent of schools and director of Butler Academy. He was appointed by the Bates county court in 1866 county seat commissioner. While serving in that capacity, the old Bates county court house and jail were built. He cleared up the sale of the old county court house at Papinsville, the former county seat, and sold the building to Philip Zeal. When the twenty-second judicial district was organized in 1869, David McGaughey was elected the first circuit judge. When serving as judge, the four-hundred-thousand-dollar bond swindle, involving the Kansas City & Memphis railway, came up in the form of an injunction, as did also the two-hundred-thousand-dollar swindle, involving the Missouri, Kansas & Texas Railway Company, and both were defeated by Judge McGaughey’s decision in favor of the people of Bates county. Due to that decision, the tax-payers of this county are not burdened with a heavy bonded debt. For six years, Judge McGaughey was presiding judge of his district. He was appointed by the governor of Missouri to complete an unexpired term and was afterward elected to fill a term of four years. He was one of the three organizers of the Butler Presbyterian church, founded in this city in 1867, the first church in Butler. The church building was erected in 1868 and Judge McGaughey was made ruling elder. Politically, Judge McGaughey was a stanch Republican. He was an officer in the first Republican club organized west of the Mississippi in Iowa.
October 26, 1875, Judge David McGaughey and Dorcas Tuttle were united in marriage. Mrs. McGaughey is a native of Clark county, Ohio, a daughter of David and Rebecca (Buckles) Tuttle. To Judge David and Dorcas McGaughey were born four children: John Edwin, who is in the employ of the Wabash Railway Company and the Wells Fargo Express Company, located at St. Louis, Missouri; Mary Rebecca, who is employed by the Walker-McKibben Mercantile Company at Butler, Missouri; Katherine L., who is employed as bookkeeper for the Bennett-Wheeler Mercantile Company at Butler, Missouri and David Earl, a successful druggist at Kansas City, Missouri. Mrs. McGaughey has five grandchildren, Helen, Frank S., Josephine, Laura Katherine, Martha Jane. Judge McGaughey died January 12, 1892, and Mrs. McGaughey has reared their children and reared them well. Her home is in Butler at 308 Harrison street.
Judge David McGaughey was a careful, conscientious official. He transacted all business coming within his sphere of duties with promptness and cautious discernment and the wisdom of his decisions met with the unqualified approval of all. His career was distinctively marked by progress onward and upward and at last he stood the peer of his fellowmen in all that constitutes true citizenship. He was decidedly a man of action, an intelligent, energetic, resourceful Western man, in the highest esteem by the public and an influential factor for good in his community, at the very zenith of a very vigorous manhood and mentality, there still remained much to be accomplished, the children he loved so well to be reared and educated, when he was called to lay down the burdens of life. Judge McGaughey lived not in vain. He has bequeathed to his descendants a name they may well be proud to bear and to all the inspirations of a life of tireless endeavor, a record upon which not a single blot can be found. Judge McGaughey was a member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

CHARLES A. MC COMB, director and farm inspector of the Walton Trust Company, Butler, Missouri, was born on a farm in Spruce township, Bates county, April 9, 1870, a son of Rev. Lewis and Mary J. (Radford) McComb. He was reared and educated in Bates county and has carved out a niche for himself in the commercial life of the county by his own honest endeavors and the exercise of natural ability of a high order. In 1897 he went to Wagoner, Indian Territory and engaged in the mercantile business until importuned by his father to return home and purchase the old home place and care for his aged father during his declining years. He did so and remained engaged in farming pursuits until his father’s death. He remained on the farm until 1910 and then removed to Butler, where he became associated with J.W. Choate and J.W. Coleman in the real estate and insurance business. After building up a large and lucrative business in Butler he disposed of his interest in the real estate and insurance office six years later and in January, 1916, he associated himself with the Walton Trust Company as one of the directors and land examiner of this important financial concern.
Mr.McComb was married on April 10, 1892, to Miss Edith O’Rear, of Butler, Missouri. To this marriage have been born five children: Levi, deceased; Lloyd, deceased; Claude A., aged eighteen years, a student in Butler High School; Nina Vesta, fifteen years old, also a student in Butler High School; and Walter, deceased.
Since attaining his majority, Mr. McComb has been active in civic affairs and taken a prominent and influential part in all public enterprises which have been intended for the betterment of conditions in Bates county. He has held several positions of trust and always discharged the duties intrusted to him with singular fidelity and faithfulness to the public. He is much interested in church work and has served as superintendent of the Sunday school in his home neighborhood for many years, and has also served as superintendent of the Sunday school of the First Baptist church of Butler for some years. He was one of the leading laymen having charge of the erection of the new Baptist church at Butler. His work in connection with his duties with the Walton Trust Company is of a broadening character and requires constant travel over Missouri and Kansas and he has acquired a wide and thorough business training which is invaluable to a successful man. Mr. McComb is one of the leading and enterprising citizens of Bates county who is fast forging to the front rank, and while still a young man as years go, he is destined to achieve greater success as the years come and go. His standing in the community of his birth is high and his friends are legion. Mr. McComb enjoys the universal respect and esteem of all who know him; possessing the graceful and happy faculty of making friends of those with whom he is brought into daily contact, his popularity is unbounded.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

REV. LEWIS MC COMB – The late Rev. Lewis McComb, of Bates county, will long be remembered as the pioneer Baptist minister of this county, who was universally loved and esteemed by all who knew him. He was born in Knox county, Tennessee, May 27, 1821, and was a son of William McComb, who removed from Tennessee to Sangamon county, Illinois in 1827. William McComb was father of ten children. He died in Illinois in 1835. Two years later, his widow removed with her family of children to Miller county, Missouri. Lewis McComb was there married to Sarah Vann in 1840. In 1845 he located in Johnson county and in 1848 made a settlement in Van Buren (now Bates county). Soon after his arrival in this county in August, 1848, he entered government land and also bought adjoining land which he developed and became owner of several hundred acres. As a farmer and stockman he was quite successful. He resided in Spruce township for many years and became well-to-do. His dwelling house was erected upon land which practically stood in three counties, but was never moved. When the McComb residence was built, the land was located in Van Buren county. After the territory was re-districted, it was called Cass and Vernon counties, and later, Bates county was formed and thus remained through the Civil War period. The McComb residence was built in 1853 and it was occupied by its builders and the members of his family until 1905, with the exception of two years of the Civil War when Order Number Eleven was issued. In 1905 a new dwelling was erected upon the McComb farm.
When Lewis McComb settled in Spruce township, his nearest neighbor was Mr. Embree on Elk Fork, almost five miles away. Deer and wild turkey were plentiful and he killed them in large numbers in his own dooryard when in need of fresh meat for the family larder. Reverend McComb lived to see a wilderness developed into a thickly populated and prosperous county and took a very active part in its up-building.
Soon after Lewis McComb came to Bates county, he was joined by his three brothers, Jacob, John, and James, and a sister, Elizabeth. Jacob McComb bought a farm adjoining that of his brother Lewis and lived thereon until the outbreak of the Civil War, when he enlisted in the Confederate army and was wounded at the battle of Wilson’s Creek, dying three days later from the effect of his wounds. John McComb opened a store at Papinsville, and afterward moved to Butler, where he opened the first store in the town, in 1855, the store being operated under the firm name of McComb & Robinson. This store was conducted until the outbreak of the Civil War, when John McComb joined the Southern army and was elected captain of a company of men recruited in Bates county. Capt. John McComb led the charge upon the Federal stronghold at Lone Jack. While making the charge at the head of his men, just as he had climbed atop the fence surrounding the Federal stronghold, he was shot in the left breast, the bullet passing through the lung and body. He fell into the arms of one of his own men and told him to lay him down and to go on with the charge. When the battle was over his brother, Lewis, was notified and immediately went to his brother’s assistance at the risk of his own life, remaining with the wounded soldier until his death on the following Sunday night. The wounded captain was taken to a room occupied by nineteen other sufferers and his brother, Lewis, was the only attendant. The room was poorly lighted by a grease lamp and about all that could be done for the wounded men, was to change their uncomfortable positions occasionally and give them water to drink, while all the time one was compelled to listen to their shrieks of pain and dying moans. Three men died on that night. The battle of Lone Jack was fought on Friday morning and John McComb died the Sunday following his mortal wound. His brother Lewis remained with him until he died and was buried and then made his way home, successfully evading several Union scouting parties on his homeward way.
James McComb came to Bates county in 1853, and taught two terms of school. In the spring of 1854 he farmed with Lewis McComb, and taught school in Henry county. In 1855, he and his brother, John, opened a store in Butler, and in November of 1856, he left Butler to become a student at the State University in Columbia. In the fall of 1857 he entered the St. Louis Medical College, and in 1858, he began the practice of medicine near Lebanon in La Clede county. Dr. McComb graduated from the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, and then located permanently in Lebanon, where he has ever since been engaged in the practice of his profession. He is the only surviving member of his father’s family at this date.
Elizabeth McComb became the wife of Bowen Coleman, a member of a prominent pioneer family of Bates county. She died soon after her marriage, leaving one child, Ella, now the wife of S.B. Kash of Deepwater township.
The marriage of Rev. Lewis McComb and Sarah Vann was consummated in 1845. Five children were born to this marriage, namely: J.D., Porum, Oklahoma; Dr. Lewis L., Norman, Oklahoma; William, died at the age of twenty-four, Lawrence, Kansas; Mary J.; and one other, deceased. Mrs. Mary (Vann) McComb died in 1855. Some time after the death of his first wife he married in 1857 Annie E. Cooper, who died six months later. In 1859, he married Mary J. Radford, who bore him children as follow: John L., Norman, Oklahoma; Mrs. Amy E. Malsbee, deceased; Mrs. Sarah L. Rogers, Spruce, Missouri; Finis, deceased; Charles A. McComb, Butler, Missouri; Walter Q., Spruce, Missouri; Mrs. Mary J. McElwain, Nevada, Missouri. Mrs. Mary J. McComb died October 6, 1882.
At the age of thirty-five years, Lewis McComb entered the Baptist ministry and from that time on his life was unselfishly given to others as a servant of Christ. He became pastor of many churches in Bates and adjoining counties and served as pastor of the home church located on his farm for seventeen consecutive years. He resigned his position and the congregation then passed resolutions asking him to continue his pastorate. After a lapse of two years he again became the pastor of the church and continued to preach the gospel until advancing age compelled him to relinquish his duties as pastor. He preached the Gospel until he attained the age of eighty-six years and even after attaining that great age he would respond to calls. Until his later years he remained active and in possession of his mental powers, able to hitch his horse to the carriage and journey anywhere he was called to minister to an ailing body or soul. Reverend McComb possessed a fair knowledge of the healing art and frequently took care of the sick and ailing on the country side. In this, he was the typical pioneer minister who combined the two professions in caring for the members of his flock.
He was widely known as the “Marrying Parson,” the “St. Louis Republic” at one time referring to him in this sense, and stating that he had married more couples than any man in the state of Missouri during the course of his ministerial career.
Rev. Lewis McComb sold his farm to his son, Charles A. McComb, in 1897 but continued to make his home on the place until his death, February 26, 1907. His death marked the passing of one of the best loved and most useful personages of the pioneer era of Bates county. He endured many hardships in the pioneer days of the settlement and development of western Missouri, but maintained a cheerful disposition through adversity and sorrow and lived to see peace and plenty mingled with happiness and contentment take the place of the old, troublesome days on the plains of Bates and adjoining counties. He spent the major part of his long life as a pioneer Baptist missionary in western Missouri and eastern Kansas and assisted in establishing many Baptist churches in this section. He resided upon his farm in Bates county continually until his death with the exception of two years spent in Morgan and Miller counties from 1863 to the close of the Civil War in accordance with the requirements of General Ewing’s Order Number Eleven. Reverend McComb donated the land for the church and cemetery located in Spruce township upon his farm and was a large factor in the building of the church edifice thereon. Both he and his wife are sleeping the long sleep of the just and godly in the plat of ground which he set aside for the community burial place many years ago. Alongside with them are sleeping children and relatives who have departed from this earthly realm. History will give Rev. Lewis McComb an enviable place in the annals of Bates county and western Missouri for the great work which he accomplished and the unselfish and whole hearted devotion with which he ministered to the souls and bodies of the people of Bates county. No task was ever too great for him if by doing it he could benefit some one of his fellow men; no sacrifice was too great for him to make if he could save a soul and win a convert to Christianity and his converts numbered into the hundreds and thousands during his long and devoted ministerial career.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.N. MC DAVITT, a well-known merchant of Rockville, Missouri and former justice of the peace, clerk, assessor, trustee, and treasurer of Hudson township, a notary public of Rockville, filling his second term in office at the time of this writing in 1918, is a worthy representative of a sterling pioneer family of Bates county, Missouri. Mr. McDavitt was born in Edgar county, Illinois, in 1854, and when a child thirteen years of age came to Bates county, Missouri, with his parents J.P. and Eliza J. McDavitt. J.P. McDavittt was a native of Virginia. He was born in 1828 and Mrs. McDavitt was born in Virginia in 1833. Mr. McDavitt purchased a farm in this section of the state before he came thence to make his permanent home, a tract of land embracing two hundred forty acres, which he improved and cultivated, engaging in general farming and stock raising and feeding. J.P. McDavitt was a leader in his community and one of the most prominent and influential men of his day in his district. He was instrumental in bringing about the organization of District Number 6 and in the building of the school house, erected in 1869, a small frame building constructed after the style of the sixties, Mr. McDavitt took a leading and important part. He was for many years the school director in his district. He built the residence on his farm in 1867, hauling the lumber for its construction from Pleasant Hill. J.P. McDavitt had purchased a yoke of oxen from James Hook for one hundred fifty dollars, a team which weighed four thousand one hundred sixty pounds, and with the oxen it required one week to make the trip to Pleasant Hill. There was a stage route from Sedalia to Fort Scott and the route passed through the McDavitt farm. One day, J.P. McDavitt sent a young man, named Lindsay, who was employed by him, to Prairie City for the mail. Prairie City was six or seven miles distant, and at that time was little more than a village in embryo as there was but one store and two residences in the place. Johannas was then the leading merchant of Prairie City. Young Lindsay had traveled the distance that had been designated and as he was a city man accustomed to large towns he became alarmed thinking that he had missed the way, so he rode to the little country store and inquired of the owner the way and the distance to Prairie City. Johannas replied, “This is Prairie City.”
The first house built on the McDavitt place was a cabin having a stick chimney, which was put up in the autumn of 1866 prior to the coming of the McDavitts. J.N. McDavitt well recalls seeing deer, a herd of five, which frequently came near his father’s home. The father owned a long, old-fashioned rifle and though young J.N. McDavitt longed for an opportunity to try his skill at killing deer with it his father was fearful lest harm come to his son and refused him permission to shoot with the old rifle. A neighbor, Vanderpool, kept a pack of hounds and was constantly on the hunt and the chase. Once, when J.N. McDavitt heard the baying of the hounds and knew that they were chasing a deer, he located himself behind a tree near the path the prey must necessarily come and with his father’s old rifle waited impatiently, became too anxious to shoot and fired at the buck before taking aim. When Vanderpool came up, he asked of the lad if he had hit anything and young McDavitt replied that the big buck ran out of the path and acted very much as if it were hit. But when Vanderpool returned from the chase emptyhanded, J.N. McDavitt was informed in a few terse words as to the value of his unasked assistance in the hunt. In the same year and in the autumn, Mr. McDavitt had an exceptional opportunity to kill a deer. He ran for the trusty old rifle and, thinking it a pity to shoot the animal in the heart, he decided to shoot it in the head. The bullet barely grazed the animal’s head and the deer seemed to be unable to decide just what had happened before the boy hunter had reloaded the rifle from his vantage point behind a tree and shot again, this time at the deer’s heart. It ran about thirty feet and fell. Young McDavitt reloaded, approached the dying animal and the second shot in the head had an immediate effect. An old hunter passed the lad and his first prey and explained to him how to carry the deer, but it was too much of a load for him. He called his father, proudly telling him of his good fortune and the two carried it home. Henceforth, the senior McDavitt granted his son the free use of the trusty old rifle.
To J.P. and Eliza J. McDavitt were born the following children: J.M., the subject of this review; J.F., who died at Anadarko, Oklahoma; Mrs. Mary S. Peeler, of Hudson township, Bates county, Missouri; Mrs. Rosa Peeler, Guthrie, Oklahoma; and Mrs. Dollie Nichols, of Vernon county, Missouri. The father died on his farm, where he had settled in 1867, in 1906 and five years later, in 1911, he was joined in death by the mother. Both parents are interred in the Baptist cemetery in Bates county.
J.N. McDavitt received his education in the public schools of District Number 6, Bates county, Missouri. He afterward taught school for one term in the same district, while at the same time he was engaged in farming on his eighty-acre tract of land. In December, 1909, J.N. McDavitt moved from the farm to Rockville, having received the appointment of postmaster, and for three years he served efficiently in this capacity. Mr. McDavitt was one of the organizers of the Farmers Bank of Rockville and he has been the first and only president of this financial institution, still holding this position at the time of this writing in 1918. A brief sketch of the Farmers Bank of Rockville, Missouri, appears in connection with the biography of E.C. Wilson, which will be found elsewhere in this volume. Mr. McDavitt opened a general store at his present location in Rockville in December, 1914, and is now the owner of one of the prosperous mercantile establishments of Bates county. He conducts a variety store, carrying a complete line of dry goods, gents’ furnishings, and notions, and enjoys a large patronage.
The marriage of J.N. McDavitt and Alice M. Nearhoof, a daughter of Mrs. Catherine Nearhoof, of Round Prairie, was solemnized in 1878. The father of Mrs. McDavitt died when she was a little child. Mrs. Catherine Nearhoof died in 1910. To J.N. and Alice M. McDavitt have been born four children, who are now living, two who are deceased, as follow: Pearl, the wife of William Carter, of Horace, Kansas; Gertie, the wife of R.L. Piepmeier, Coffeyville, Kansas; Jessie, the wife of Vernie Rains; Grace, the wife of L.V. Brown, of Round Prairie; Hallie, who died at the age of seventeen years; and Joseph P., who died in infancy.
Mr. McDavitt is a skillful accountant, one familiar with all the intricacies of banking, and his judgment in matters of finance is seldom at fault. He has been an active participant in the public affairs of his town and township and has filled satisfactorily many public offices. In every station of life, official or otherwise, Mr. McDavitt has displayed superior ability and not a breath of suspicion has ever darkened his record. Plain and unassuming in manner, frank and genial, he has won and retains the good will, respect, and esteem of all with whom he has come in contact. Mr. and Mrs. McDavitt are numbered among the best citizens of Rockville.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JAMES M. MC GOVERN, a valued member of the directorate of the Missouri State Bank of Butler, a prosperous farmer and stockman of Summit township, is a native of Macoupin county, Illinois. Mr. McGovern was born September 14, 1858, a son of William M. and Hester A. (McPherron) McGovern, natives of Tennessee. Mr. and Mrs. William M. McGovern were the parents of the following children: John, deceased; William, Jr., who resides in Kansas; Ephraim, deceased; Eugene, Kansas City, Missouri; Mrs. Eliza Edwards, Fort Smith, Arkansas; Frederick, Kansas City, Missouri; and Oscar, deceased. The father died in Macoupin county, Illinois, in November, 1858. Mrs. McGovern survived her husband many years, when in 1897 they were united in death. The mother died at Kansas City, Missouri.
In Macoupin county, Illinois, in the common schools, James M. McGovern obtained his education. He was reared to manhood in Illinois and for eleven years was employed in the coal mines located near his father’s home. Mr. McGovern came to Kansas City, Missouri, in 1890 with his widowed mother and entered the employ of the Metropolitan Street Railway Company. He worked for this company for three years and then moved from Kansas City to Bates county and settled on his present farm in Summit township, after residing for some time on a part of the Argenbright farm, which he purchased in 1893. The McGovern farm in Summit township comprises eighty acres of choice land, conveniently located within five miles of Butler, abundantly watered, and nicely improved. About half the place is in pasture land and grass. Mr. McGovern has built a barn since he acquired the ownership of the farm and has improved and remodeled all the other buildings on the place. He is engaged in raising cattle, horses, and hogs, and he has made a marked financial success with his stock.
The marriage of James M. McGovern and Clara J. Anderson was solemnized in 1907. Clara J. (Anderson) McGovern is a daughter of Mr. and Mrs. William Anderson, honored pioneers of Macoupin county, Illinois. Mrs. Anderson died when her daughter, Clara J., was a young girl, seventeen years of age. Mr. Anderson is still living and is now eighty-six years of age. Mr. and Mrs. McGovern have for many years made an annual visit to their relatives and friends in Macoupin county, Illinois. By a former marriage, James M. McGovern is the father of three children: Clarence M., the youngest child and only one now living, a well-to-do farmer and stockman residing two miles southeast of Butler, Missouri, who married Cora Powell and to them have been born two children, Rosa Lee, and Annetta Ailene. The first wife, and the mother of Clarence M. McGovern, Cora (Overstreet) McGovern, departed this life in 1906. William M. McGovern, the father of James M., the subject of this review, and Sterling Overstreet, the father of Cora (Overstreet) McGovern were comrades in the Mexican War of 1846.
Mr. McGovern is a man of strong character, practical mind, and rare business ability. He possesses to a marked degree the gift of foreseeing with remarkable accuracy the outcome of all transactions.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler

JAMES J. MCKEE, an honored pioneer of Bates county, is one of the highly valued citizens of Mount Pleasant township. The McKee homestead is located on the Butler and Appleton City road and a portion of the residence has been standing since 1869, when Mr. McKee settled in Bates county. Mr. McKee is a native of Richland county, Ohio. He was born September 14, 1837, a son of J.W. and Isabella (Fulton) McKee, both of whom were natives of Cumberland county, Pennsylvania. The McKees moved from Pennsylvania to Ohio, where the son, James J., was born, and thence to California in the spring of 1850. Mr. McKee was outfitted for the journey across the plains from Missouri to California at Independence, Missouri. He crossed the plains and mountains with oxen and upon reaching California obtained employment in the mines and in November of the same year he contracted cholera and died. It will be recalled that this was the period of the excited rush for the newly discovered gold region in California, that from 1848 until 1861 the mines there yielded more than five hundred million dollars for which thousands of good men gave their lives. J.W. and Isabella McKee were the parents of eight children: Alexander, deceased; William F., deceased; James J., the subject of this review; J.P., who resides in McDonald county, Missouri; Mary, the wife of George McCully, deceased; Sarah, the wife of Houston Culbertson, deceased; Isabelle, Butler, Missouri; and Anna K., the wife of D.N. Thompson, Butler, Missouri.

In 1869, James J. McKee and D.N. Thompson came to Bates county, Missouri, from Henry county, Iowa, and purchased one hundred sixty acres of land, the present home place of Mr. McKee, and later added to their holdings two hundred forty acres of land located one mile north of Butler. Mr. Thompson bought and sold stock, driving to Appleton City to make shipments. He afterward purchased Mr. McKee’s interest in the farm one mile north of Butler. The McKee residence, a part of which was built in 1869 and rebuilt in the eighties, is an eight-room structure. The farm owned by James J. McKee is considered one of the best in the township. The land slopes to the south and is well improved and located, the improvements including a barn, constructed of native lumber, 24 x 51 feet in dimensions, another one, 44 x 60 feet in dimensions, and numerous sheds. Mr. McKee put up the first barn in 1877. He has present on the farm fifteen head of Hereford cattle, all registered cows, which breed he began raising in 1899 when he purchased three head of registered Herefords from James McKittrick, of Greenwood, Jackson county, Missouri, and he has had as many as fifty registered Herefords on his place at one time since he became interested in raising them. Previous to 1899, Mr. McKee handled Jersey cattle extensively, but he learned at that time that dairy cattle were not in the same demand as beef cattle and he sold his herd, having no difficulty to find a ready market in the vicinity of his farm. In addition to stock raising, Mr. McKee takes much pleasure in horticulture and he keeps his ten-acre orchard in splendid condition and finds apple growing a very profitable business. His favorite apples for commercial purposes are: Mammoth Black Twig, Ben Davis, Gano, Jonathan and Winesap. Of the early maturing varieties, he prefers the Early Harvest, Bellflower, Maiden Blush and Rome Beauty.
In 1872, the marriage of James J. McKee and Sarah Ann Hoffman, of Mount Pleasant township, was solemnized. Mrs. McKee is a native of Virginia, born on January 29, 1849. She came to Bates county in 1868 with her uncle, James Hoffman. To James J. and Sarah Ann McKee have been born three children: Newton W., who was killed at the age of twenty-one years by lightning while assisting with the work on the home farm; Mary B., wife of John C. Lane, son of J.C. Lane, Butler, Missouri; and James. F., at home with his parents.
In former years, James J. McKee followed freighting from the end of the Union Pacific railroad as it was built west. He made a trip to California in 1864, starting from Iowa. His second long journey was from Denver, Colorado, to Santa Fe, New Mexico. On the latter trip, he was caught in a blinding snowstorm when about fifty-five miles from his destination and all his cattle were lost in the storm. Mr. McKee hired Mexicans to take the two wagons on into Santa Fe, for which he was obliged to pay them two hundred dollars, at the rate of about four dollars a mile – and that was in the sixties.
Men of Mr. McKee’s caliber are not to be found in every community, but wherever such a one is found the impress of his personality will be seen indelibly stamped upon the community. In this brief life history is exemplified the truth that success is the result of labor – well-directed, untiring labor. Beginning life with few advantages and handicapped by many discouraging circumstances, left fatherless at the age of thirteen years when he needed most a father’s advice and counsel, Mr. McKee has triumphed over every obstacle and has steadily worked himself upward from penury to affluence and he is now numbered among the most substantial citizens of Mount Pleasant township, where for many years he has enjoyed precedence as one of the most intelligent and enterprising men of Bates county. He has himself lived a good, clean, moral life and both he and Mrs. McKee are deeply interested in whatever tends to benefit the public and exert a wholesome influence upon the community. We are proud to be able to still number Mr. and Mrs. McKee among the best citizens of Bates county. The ranks of the brave and noble pioneers are all too rapidly thinning.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN MC KEE, well-to-do farmer of West Point township and president of the Bank of Amsterdam, Missouri, is one of the most substantial and influential citizens of his neighborhood. Mr. McKee was born near Belfast, Ireland, in 1857, a son of John and Elizabeth (Peddon) McKee, of Scotch-Irish origin and who lived all of their days in Ireland. Four of their children came to America to find homes in this country. John McKee left his native land in 1869 and upon landing at New York City, had barely sufficient funds to enable him to reach his destination, which was Peoria, Illinois. He soon got a job as farm hand during the harvest season at a wage of thirty dollars per month, later working for twenty dollars per month. His object in coming to America was to get a “bit of land” which would be his own home. Land rose to such a high price in the vicinity of Peoria, Illinois, that he decided to come further west. He saved his money and came to Bates county, where he rented for a time and invested his savings in stock for the farm which he intended to buy. After casting about for a suitable location he bought one hundred and sixty acres at a cost of sixteen dollars an acre. This was raw land and unfenced at the time of purchase. When Mr. McKee first came to Bates county there was much free range for cattle and he took advantage of this condition and invested a good part of his savings in cattle which ranged the prairies. He erected all the buildings on his place, built the fences and in 1887 added eighty acres more to his holdings at a cost of twenty dollars and twenty-five cents an acre – a tract which had been broken up and fenced. Mr. McKee has always handled livestock and for a number of years was a successful sheep raiser. By careful management and hard work he has become practically independent and is rated as one of the best farmers and stockmen of Bates county.
Mr. McKee was married in 1878 to Bessie McKee, who was born near Belfast, Ireland, in 1849 and departed this life on July 28, 1894. To this union were born as follow: Mrs. Lizzie Crawford, living in West Point township; Eleanor G., who is at home with her father. Mr. McKee was formerly allied with the Democratic party but has long been an advocate of temperance and prohibition. So pronounced has his views upon prohibition become that of late years he has definitely allied himself with the Prohibition party and now steadfastly supports his party’s candidates at election time. He is a member of the United Presbyterian church.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

S.C. MC KEE, of Elkhart township, is a native son of Missouri, having been born on a pioneer farm near Austin in Cass county, in 1852. He is a son of James and Louisa Jane (Best) McKee. His father was born in Tennessee and accompanied his brother, John McKee, to Cass county where they made a settlement near Austin. James McKee was the first blacksmith to open a shop in Austin, and he died there when S.C. McKee was but six months old. His wife, Louisa Jane (Best) McKee, was born in Dayton township, Cass county, and after the death of James McKee, she married John Tate. When Order Number 11 was issued, the family located in Harrisonville, Missouri, where they resided until the fall of 1864 then they went to Illinois and lived in McLean county. Both Mr. and Mrs. Tate spent the remainder of their days in Illinois. To James and Mary McKee were born three children: William, was killed while serving in the Union army during the Civil War; Mrs. Louisa Jane Tate, lives in Illinois; S.C., subject of this sketch. To the second marriage of Mrs. Louisa Jane McKee with John Tate, was born a son, Thomas Tate.
In 1873, S.C. McKee returned to Missouri and took charge of the old home place of his father in Cass county. Ten years later he came to Bates county and purchased his present home place of one hundred forty acres in Elkhart township. He has since been engaged in general farming and stock raising and raises Shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs. He was married in 1874 to Catherine Stambaugh, a native of Cass county, who has borne him twelve children: Magdalene, wife of John James, Windsor, Colorado; Charles W., Los Angeles, California; Ida Ethel, married Lester Anderson, Omaha, Nebraska; Maude Estelle, wife of Oscar Warnick, Warrensburg, Missouri; Oscar Lawrence, Great Falls, Montana; Dora Juanita, wife of Jack Bigler, Kansas City, Missouri; Tempest Alice, living in New York City; Trixie Annetta, Doyleston, Massachusetts; Samuel Sullivan, Red Oak, Iowa; George Washington, farming in Bates county; Olive Annie, a public school teacher, Centerview, Missouri; Stanley Carrollton, at home. Two children have died: Bertha and Hallie. Bertha died in infancy, and Hallie Maye, wife of Joe Earnest Duvall, of Amsterdam, is deceased. Her death occurred at Joplin, Missouri. The mother of this large family of children was born in Cass county, a daughter of George Washington and Jennie L. (Huff) Stambaugh. Her mother was a daughter of L.B. Huff and was born in Indiana near Terre Haute, and came to Missouri with her parents in 1855. She is now living in Kansas City. George W. Stambaugh was a native of Kentucky, born of Virginia parents. He became prominent in the affairs of Cass county where he settled in about 1854. He lost his life at the hands of “bushwhackers” at the beginning of the Civil War. After his death, his widow married J.E. Sawyer and to this marriage were born three children: Josephine, wife of James Owens, Kansas City; L.B., a Christian Science reader and practitioner, Kansas City; Dr. J.F., a practicing physician at Kansas City.
Had Mr. and Mrs. McKee accomplished no more than the rearing of their splendid family of twelve children they would be entitled to more than honorable mention in this history of Bates county. Better than wealth, fame, or honors, is the credit of having contributed to the Nation a fine family of sons and daughters who have taken their places in the world and are living useful lives according to the precepts laid down by their parents. Mr. McKee is a Democrat who has found time while rearing his family, to fill the offices of tax collector and constable in his township. He was a member of the Farmers Alliance years ago and is now connected with the Farmers Union, its natural successor.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

JOHN F. MC KISSICK, a well-known and respected farmer and stockman of Mount Pleasant township, is a worthy representative of a prominent and sterling pioneer family of Missouri. Mr. McKissick was born at the McKissick homestead, five miles southwest of Butler, Missouri, a son of George M. and Mary E. (Benson) McKissick. George M. McKissick was born in 1838 in Clay county, Missouri, a son of John McKissick, who moved to Bates county from Clay county before the Civil War. John McKissick purchased the farm upon which his son, George M., settled after the war had ended. The latter built a small brick house, 14 x 16 feet in dimensions, which was the McKissick home for many years and is still standing on the place. To George M. and Mary E. McKissick were born seven children: Mrs. Elizabeth J. Blount, Butler, Missouri; Jonathan L. and Charles A., who died in infancy; one child died at birth; Mrs. Martha Pickett, Platteville, Colorado; George, Bowler, Montana; and John F., the subject of this review. Jonathan McKissick, brother of George M., came from Clay county to Butler, Missouri, in 1887 and was engaged in the mercantile business in this city for several years. There are hundreds of men and women who will recall Jonathan McKissick, who knew him personally and well, who patronized him at his general store, where he sold groceries, hardware, and feed. He was a valued member of the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Butler. Mrs. Jonathan McKissick was an active worker and devout member of the Christian church. Interment was made for Mr. McKissick, merchant and enterprising citizen, in the cemetery at Butler. George M. McKissick was also affiliated with the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Butler, Missouri. He was for several years the Grand Master of the Butler lodge. Mr. McKissick was a member of the Presbyterian church and Mrs. McKissick was a member of the Baptist church. She was a native of Tennessee. George M. McKissick was a man of excellent repute and much influence in his community, taking a deep interest in public and political affairs. He served several years as justice of the peace in his township. He died in 1913 and two years later, in March, 1915, he was jointed in death by his wife. Both father and mother were laid to rest in Morris cemetery.
John F. McKissick received his education in the city schools of Butler, Missouri. At the age of twenty-one years, he began farming and stock raising on the home place and these pursuits he has since constantly followed. Mr. McKissick is the present own of one hundred twenty acres of land in section 32, Mount Pleasant township, which is considered one of the best “bottom farms” in Bates county. The McKissick residence is a pleasant cottage of five rooms. A commodious barn, 44 x 38 feet in dimensions, affords ample provision for the care of both stock and grain. The buildings are all situated on upland.
The marriage of John F. McKissick and Lutie May Leonard, daughter of John E. and Mary (Tucker) Leonard, formerly of Charlotte township but now residents of Mt. Pleasant, was solemnized in August, 1910. To this union have been born four children: John Howard, Mary Katherine, Robert L., and Edward L.  Mr. and Mrs. McKissick are sincere and highly respected members of the New Hope Baptist church.
Incomplete would be a biographical compendium of Bates county, Missouri, were no mention made of the McKissicks, whose lives for so many years have been interwoven with the history of Butler and vicinity. For many years, George M. McKissick was an important and forceful factor in the development of Mount Pleasant township and he always took a leading part in the affairs of his community. Jonathan McKissick, a business man of strong and vigorous personality, devoted his time and energies to the upbuilding of the commercial interests of Butler. Although John F. McKissick is still a young man, he is ably maintaining the reputation of the family and his career has so far been marked by well-directed energy, strong determination to succeed, and honest, honorable endeavor. A public-spirited citizen, an intelligent, capable agriculturist, a kind neighbor and friend, Mr. McKissick is undoubtedly a true son of a noble pioneer.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

MEGLASSON FAMILY – Among those families who came to Bates county early after the Civil War and settled in that locality known as Harmony Mission, were Mr. and Mrs. W.T. Meglasson and two small sons, Benjamin, and Conn, who, together with three other children, Eliza, Flora, and Walter, who were born here, all grew up on the farm settled by their parents.
Mrs. Meglasson died early in life, leaving the husband and father to be both father and mother to their five little ones, which duty was sacredly lived up to until the day of his death. This worthy couple now rest side by side in Mount Hebron cemetery at Mayview, Missouri.
Of their five children, Ben, the eldest, preceded the father in death many years ago, and in his departure there went out a life that gave promise of being a beautiful and useful one. Conn and his family, together with Eliza, now Mrs. W.R. Green, now live at Kuna, Idaho. Flora is unmarried and lives in Chicago. Walter, the youngest is married and lives at St. Ignatius, Montana.
Eliza Meglasson, now Mrs. W.R. Green, was a teacher in Bates county and taught in the Butler schools several years. She then taught in Colorado and was recognized as a faithful, competent, successful teacher. Walter Meglasson was for a number of years in the government service in Washington and later held a responsible government position at Fort Peck. He was afterward transferred to the Blackfeet Indian Reservation and only recently quit public service and is now engaged in the mercantile business at St. Ignatius, Montana. Mr. and Mrs. W.T. Meglasson were cultured people and their children are an honor to the memory of their parents. The passing of this family out of Bates county is only one of the many changes wrought in a little over half a century.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ALFRED A. MILLER
, one of Butler’s respected citizens and a representative of a sterling pioneer family of Bates county, Missouri, is one of the native sons of Mount Pleasant township. Mr. Miller was born June 23, 1860 at the Miller homestead, a son of Alpheus and Rachel Ann (Wright) Miller, the former, a native of Ohio and the latter, of West Virginia. Alpheus Miller was born in 1817 at Gallipolis, Ohio and Mrs. Miller was born at Wheeling, West Virginia. They were the parents of the following children: G.C., who was born November 16, 1846 and is now deceased; J.T., who was born January 3, 1848 and now resides at Altoona, Kansas; Sarah E., the wife of J.E. Thompson, was born September 16, 1850 and now resides at Washington, Iowa; Martha E., who was born July 22, 1852; Emma M., the wife of William R. Huffman, who was born June 16, 1854 and was the mother of two children, Lulu B. and Anna E., and the mother and younger daughter are both now deceased; John R., who was born April 7, 1856 and died January 31, 1918; W.W., who was born March 23, 1858; and Alfred A., the subject of this review. Mr. and Mrs. Miller were united in marriage October 16, 1845 and for ten years following they were residents of Gallipolis, Ohio, coming to Bates county in 1855. Mr. Miller entered from the government a large tract of land and located in the center of the county in Mount Pleasant, Summit and Lone Oak townships. During the Civil War, the Millers moved from their farm to Calhoun in Henry county, Missouri, returning to this county in 1865. Alpheus Miller was an industrious and prosperous farmer and stockman in the early days and at the time of his death was owner of three hundred fifty acres of choice land in Bates county, a farm now in the possession of his children and grandchildren. He died in September, 1892 and interment was made in Fairview cemetery in Lone Oak township, Bates county. The widowed mother, one of the most beloved and bravest of Mount Pleasant township’s pioneer women, survived her husband twenty-one years, when in 1913 they were united in death and she was laid to rest beside him in Fairview cemetery.
Alfred A. Miller attended the district schools of Mount Pleasant township in Bates county and acquired a good common school education. In early manhood, he began farming and stock raising. Mr. Miller recalls the days in Bates county when deer could be seen frequently from the doorway of his old home and when cattle roamed at large over the wide, unfenced prairie. The Miller children all attended school at Miller school house located in the vicinity of their home. This school building was the first to be erected in the neighborhood and it was built in 1870. The lumber and seats were hauled from Pleasant Hill, Missouri and Alfred A. Miller recalls how he was taken along on the three-day journey to herd the oxen when they were turned loose at the noontimes. Jefferson Aldridge, a cripple, was employed at Miller school house to “keep school” for the first two terms and he was in turn succeeded by M.A. Stewart. The old school house was torn down in 1916 and a modern building erected on the site of the old one, the new school house being known as Prairie Rose.
In 1886, Alfred A. Miller went to Leadville, Colorado and for six and a half years was employed in the mines there. Mr. Miller succeeded well in Colorado and was prospering when the word came to him that his father was dead. He then returned home to care for his widowed mother and together they resided at Butler from 1897 until 1913, when death entered their home again and she was taken from him. Mr. Miller disposed of his farm two years ago, selling the place to his brother, and he is now living in quiet retirement in Butler. He is the owner of his home in this city, a residence of six rooms, modern throughout, which he purchased in 1897. Mr. Miller has been a most devoted son and he is a man highly honored in Butler because of his unselfish devotion to duty, a citizen who occupies a large place in the respect and esteem of his fellowmen. Mr. Miller has never married.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

A.A. MILLER of Mound township, has one of the largest and best equipped country estates in Bates county, the residence being fitted up with every modern convenience to facilitate the farm and house work. The farming operations of his tract of over six hundred acres are carried on, on an extensive-scale and wherever possible, electric and gasoline power is made to do the work formerly done laboriously by hand. The Miller home, consisting of fourteen rooms, is one of the finest and most modern in Bates county to be found outside of the cities. There is little desire upon the part of the occupants to leave the farm for the comforts of the city when a modern automobile brings them to town in a few minutes, and when by simply pushing a button, the house is lighted by electricity generated by a private plant on the place. This modern home is also equipped with a water plant providing both hot and cold running water. Three tenant houses and commodious and well built barns and sheds adorn the Miller place. Mr. Miller was born on a farm near Oskaloosa, Iowa, Mahaska county, May 22, 1866, a son of George and Elizabeth (McDowell) Miller, the former of whom was a native of Zanesville, Ohio, and the latter a native of Piqua, Ohio.
George Miller was among the first settlers of Mahaska county, Iowa, and the father of Mrs. Miller erected one of the first flouring mills in that vicinity. In 1868, George Miller removed with his family to Linn county, Kansas, near the town of Pleasanton where he resided for several years engaged in farming. He now resides at Perry, Kansas, and is eighty-four years of age. Mrs. Elizabeth Miller died on October 3, 1914, aged seventy-four years. The three children of the Miller family are: Charles Miller, a grain dealer and shipper at Perry, Kansas; A.A., subject of this sketch; and Miss Mattie Miller.
The early education of A.A. Miller was obtained in the district school located in the neighborhood of his father’s farm in Linn county, Kansas, and he also attended the public schools of Pleasanton, Kansas. He took up the study of telegraphy and was in the employ of the Fort Scott & Memphis railroad as telegraph operator and station agent until 1888. In that year he went to Kansas City, Missouri, and was engaged in the livestock commission business until 1905. He then located at Grainfield, Kansas, where he became connected with a ranch and livestock raising proposition in which he is still interested. After his marriage in 1911, he took up his residence in Bates county, Missouri and is now managing the large farm of six hundred fifty-seven acres located in the northwestern part of Mound township. Besides the handsome residence of fourteen rooms occupied by Mr. and Mrs. Miller, the place has three sets of tenant houses and four large barns.
Mr. Miller was married in 1911 to Jessie Cooley, a daughter of George Falloon, deceased, concerning whom an extended biography appears elsewhere in this volume. By a former marriage, Mr. Miller has three sons: Charles Porter, Harry, and George, all of whom are serving in the National Army. Charles Porter has been in training at Camp Lewis, Washington, Headquarters No. 362. By a former marriage, Mrs. Miller has a daughter, Susan Falloon Cooley. Mr. Miller has always been a stanch Democrat and is fraternally affiliated with the Knights of Pythias.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.W. MOLES, farmer and stockman of Shawnee township, was born in Jackson county, Missouri, September 17, 1868, the son of G.W. and Mary (Tabor) Moles, the former of whom was born in 1840 in Missouri, but returned to Kentucky with his parents and remained in that state until 1866. In that year G.W. Moles made his home in Jackson county, and after a residence of some years in that county he located in the northern part of Bates county. He now lives in Adrian. Mrs. Mary (Tabor) Moles was born at Crescent Hill, Missouri, in 1841, and died in 1916. They were parents of children as follow: Mrs. John Allen, Adrian, Missouri; Mrs. William Poindexter, deceased; A.N. Moles, Mound township, Bates county; J.W. Moles, of this review; A.D., Adrian; Effie, at home with her father; Mrs. Marian Roberts, Adrian.
J.W. Moles received his schooling at Altona and Old Index in Bates and Cass counties. At the age of twenty years he began to make his own way in the world. He began farming on his own account in Mt. Pleasant township near Butler. He purchased his first farm in 1895 of Frank Pickett, a tract consisting of eighty acres located seven miles southeast of Adrian in Shawnee township. Mr. Moles has improved this farm with good buildings, trees, a well and other improvements. The rebuilt the residence in 1902. The barn was erected in 1901. Mr. Moles raises Shorthorn cattle and Poland China hogs. Forty acres of the farm are sown to wheat and forty acres are in grass at the present time.
On February 15, 1893, J.W. Moles and Miss Mellie Sloan were united in marriage. Mrs. Moles was born in Pennsylvania, a daughter of Z.B. and A. (Duesman) Sloan, the former of whom was born in 1845 and the latter in 1851. The Sloans came to Bates county, Missouri, in about 1883 and Mr. Sloan died at the Soldiers’ Home, Leavenworth, Kansas, in August, 1915. Having been a veteran of the Civil War, he made his home at Leavenworth in his extreme old age under the care of the United States Government. Mrs. Sloan lives in Kansas City. Mr. and Mrs. Moles are parents of the following children: Otha C., born October 12, 1894; Neva M., born June 3, 1896; Claude V., born December 5, 1897; Henry D., born December 30, 1899, died April 25, 1900; Lena C., born April 16, 1901; Clyde O., born March 1, 1903; Alva D., born February 13, 1905; Gertie L., born March 3, 1907; Wilma R., born April 30, 1909, died October 16, 1910. Mr. Moles has been a member of the township board for seven years and has served as trustee of the township.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

A.E. MOORE, a prominent farmer and stockman of Pleasant Gap township, was born in Bates county January 17, 1875. He is a son of William and Nancy (Gragg) Moore, the former a native of Indiana, and the latter of Henry county, Missouri. The family came to Bates county in 1868. In 1876 they moved to Barton county, and the father died shortly afterwards. The mother married for her second husband, A.H. Woodfin. They are now deceased.
A.E. Moore was one of a family of three children born to his parents, two of whom are living: A.H., Pleasant Gap township and A.E., the subject of this sketch. A.E. Moore spent his boyhood days mostly in Bates county. He was educated in the public schools of this county, and the high school at Springfield, Missouri. He has made farming and stock raising his principal occupations, and has been successful in his line of endeavor.
Mr. Moore was united in marriage March 14, 1901, with Miss Carrie Rogers, who is also a native of Bates county, and was born on the place where she now resides. She is a daughter of Judge James Madison and Lucy (Wilson) Rogers.
Judge James Madison Rogers was born near Cumberland Gap, Tennessee. He came to Bates county in 1851, coming from Platte county to Bates. He first settled near Mulberry, where he remained until about the time the Civil War broke out, when he left the county. In 1865, he returned and settled in Pleasant Gap township, where he engaged in farming and stock raising and spent the remainder of his life. He was prominent in the affairs of Bates county for a number of years. His political affiliations were with the Democratic party and he generally took an active part in politics. He served as judge of Bates county and held other minor offices. He died in 1902, aged eighty-seven years. He was widely known in Bates county and held in high esteem by his fellow citizens.
Judge Rogers was married three times. His first wife was Sarah Moon. Four children were born to that union, one of whom, Mrs. Angeline Gassoway, is now living. After the death of his first wife, Judge Rogers married Levena Sittles and four children were born to that union, one of whom is now living, John, who resides at Harwood, Vernon county, Missouri. After the death of his second wife, Judge Rogers married Miss Lucy Wilson, a native of Callaway county, Missouri. To this union seven children were born, five of whom are living as follow: Sterling, Los Angeles, California; Mrs. Emma Settle, Harrisonville, Mo.; W.D., Jefferson City, Missouri; P.V., Porterville, California; and Mrs. A.E. Moore, the wife of the subject of this sketch.
To Mr. and Mrs. Moore have been born three children as follow: Willis, Lucile Fern, and Nannie Irene.
Mr. Moore is a Democrat and takes an active interest in local political affairs. He has served two terms as constable of Pleasant Gap township. He is a member of the Masonic Lodge, Ancient Free and Accepted Masons No. 140, Butler, and he holds membership in the Modern Woodmen of America.
Mr. and Mrs. Moore have an extensive acquaintance in Bates county, and have many friends.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

WILLIAM MOORE MILLS, successful merchant at Foster, Missouri, where he has been engaged as a merchant since 1884, is a pioneer citizen of Bates county and a native Missourian. Mr. Mills was born in Clinton county, Missouri, March 31, 1856, a son of Evan P. Mills, who was born in Kentucky in 1818, and was a son of Evan P. Mills, a Virginian, who was a pioneer settler of Kentucky. Evan P. Mills, father of William Moore Mills, of this review, migrated to Clay county, Missouri, as early as 1839, and ten years later, in 1849, married Mary S. Morris, and then located in Lexington, Missouri, for a short time prior to settling in Clinton county. From the early fifties until 1863 Evan P. Mills lived in Clinton county and he then moved to Clay county, and resided in that county and Liberty, the county seat, until 1876, when he located in Butler. For awhile he was engaged in teaming but advancing age compelled his retirement from active labor and he resided in Butler until his death in 1904, one of the honored and aged residents of the county seat. To Evan P. and Mary S. (Morris) Mills were born the following children: Thomas died in infancy; Bettie L., deceased; William Moore, subject of this sketch; Jasper S., deceased; Mrs. Maggie McFarland, Butler, Missouri; Lida died in 1866.
The mother of the foregoing children died in 1900 at the age of seventy-five years. She was a daughter of Jasper Shotwell Morris, who was the first white child born in Mason county, Kentucky, or Maysville, which in those early pioneer days was the meeting and stopping place of all the settlers from Virginia who were coming westward down the Ohio river to people the wilderness of Kentucky, Missouri, Indiana, and Illinois. Jasper S. Morris later served as a scout and lieutenant in the War of 1812, in the Indian campaign of that period, and became widely known along the frontier. He was personally acquainted with many of the famous border and wilderness characters of that day and was a friend of such famous scouts and Indian fighters as Daniel Boone, Louis Wetzel, Simon Kenton and others. The three historic figures previously mentioned often made the Morris home their headquarters, and one can imagine the tales that were told around the Morris fireside of their exploits, in the dense forests of the “Dark and Bloody Ground” and the land of the Ohio.
William Moore Mills received such education as was afforded by the primitive school of his boyhood days and accompanied his parents to Bates county in 1876. During his first year’s residence in Butler he worked in the McClintock woolen mills, having previously learned the trade of weaver and wool worker in Clay county, Missouri. He was then employed in various stores for about six years. For a period of three years he served as clerk in the Morris drug store, and for two years following, 1880-1882, he was employed as a traveling salesman. Six months of 1882 were spent as clerk in the drug store owned by Doctor Pyle. He was then employed in the F.M. Crumly drug store until his removal to Foster. He first came to Foster in 1884, and on January 1, 1885, opened a drug store, which he conducted for sixteen years. He then established his present business and carries a general stock of merchandise in a good-sized room located on the main street of Foster. Mr. Mills has been continuously engaged in business in Foster longer than any other merchant in the town.
On January 1, 1889, the marriage of William Moore Mills and Miss Mollie N. Trimble was consummated. This marriage has been blessed with children as follow: William N., superintendent of the shoe department of the Besse-Avery Company, Kansas City, Missouri; Ella Nora, at home with her parents; Ralph, auditor and bookkeeper for S.A. Gerrard & Company, Cincinnati, Ohio, a commission firm doing business in southern California and handling fruits, vegetables, etc. Mrs. Mollie N. (Trimble) Mills was born in Bates county in 1870, and is a daughter of F.M. Trimble, a former treasurer of Bates county, a native of Kentucky who made an early settlement in Bates county and died there.
Mr. Mills has been a life-long Democrat and has taken a keen interest in the affairs of his party during his forty-two years of residence in Bates county. He is fraternally affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks of Butler, and has many warm and steadfast friends in the county. His standing as a merchant and citizen is high and he is one of the leading citizens of his home city and county.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

ARTHUR C. MORELAND, county superintendent of public instruction of Bates county, Missouri, is one of the most prominent and influential citizens of this county. Mr. Moreland is a native of Bates county. He was born December 1, 1883, in Osage township, a son of James H. and Lucinda J. (DeJarnette) Moreland, who were the parents of five children, all of whom are now living: Arthur C., the subject of this review; Dr. George H., a prominent physician now serving as a first lieutenant in the National army; Fannie, the wife of William Papalisky, of Buffalo, New York; Grace M., the wife of Archie Thomas, of Butler, Missouri; and Miss Jessie, a well-known and popular teacher in the rural schools of Bates county, Missouri. All the children of Mr. and Mrs. James H. Moreland have been engaged in the teaching profession and each has at some time during his or her career been employed as an instructor in the schools of Bates county. James H. Moreland was born in 1853 in Shelby county, Kentucky, a son of Porter Moreland, a native of Shelby county. Porter Moreland was one of the honored pioneers of Bates county, to which he came in 1868. He settled on a small tract of land, located in Osage township, a farm originally comprising sixty-three acres, to which he later thirty-seven adjoining acres of land. On this farm in Bates county, Missouri, Porter Moreland died in 1884 and since his death the Moreland homestead has been sold. W.L. Rider now owns the original farm of sixty-three acres and J.H. Brown owns the tract of thirty-seven acres. James H. Moreland was a youth fifteen years of age, when he came to Missouri with his parents and his mature life was all spent on the Moreland farm in Bates county, where he was engaged in farming and stock raising. Lucinda J. (DeJarnette) Moreland was born in Kansas, January 31, 1860, a daughter of Joseph DeJarnette, of French Huguenot descent. The DeJarnettes settled in Bates county as early as 1869. Mrs. Moreland died at the Moreland homestead on June 4, 1895. Eleven years later, in 1906, she was joined in death by her husband. Interment was made in Rider cemetery. Mr. and Mrs. Moreland were highly respected in this county. In the early history of Bates county, the Moreland name was as it is today, the synonym of honorable and noble manhood and womanhood and no family has been more closely identified with the growth and development of this part of Missouri that the Moreland family.
Arthur C. Moreland is a graduate of the Warrensburg State Normal School in the class of 1917. He was a student at this institution for six years and prior to entering the Normal School, he taught school in Bates county for twelve years. In April, 1915, Mr. Moreland was elected superintendent of the Bates county public schools, which position he still occupies at the time of this writing in 1917. At the present time, there are one hundred thirty-two district schools in Bates county and one hundred thirty of these are under the supervision of Mr. Moreland, the exceptions being the Butler and Rich Hill public schools. In his official station, Mr. Moreland has given new impetus to the cause of education in Bates county by inaugurating a number of splendid reforms and advancing the standards of proficiency for both pupils and instructors. As an educator, Arthur C. Moreland is well and favorably known throughout the state and he takes an active interest in the various educational associations. He is himself a scholar, a man of open mind, and he has made his influence felt as a potential factor in the noble work to which he is devoting his life and energies.
August 12, 1914, Arthur C. Moreland and Loe Reese were united in marriage. Mrs. Moreland takes a keen interest in school work. She was a teacher in the Butler schools at the time of her marriage. To Mr. and Mrs. Moreland has been born one child, a daughter, Doris. They reside in Butler at 408 West Pine street.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

E.E. MORILLA, one of the younger generation of farmers who have been born and reared in Bates county, has achieved one of the most striking successes in his vocation ever accomplished in this section of Missouri. Mr. Morilla was born on a farm in Lone Oak township, January 7, 1878, and is the son of Charles and Emma (Thomas) Morilla, both of whom are living. Emma (Thomas) Morilla is a daughter of William R. Thomas, of Lone Oak township. Charles and Emma Morilla are the parents of the following children: E.E., subject of this review; Mrs. Alice Ellington, Butler, Missouri; C.W. Morilla, Abilene, Kansas; Mrs. Christina Moore, Huntington Beach, California; Ernest, a soldier in the National Army, Three Hundred Forty-first Field Artillery, Camp Funston, Kansas.
The education of E.E. Morilla was obtained in the public schools of Butler and the Butler Academy. He was a student of the academy when Professor Richardson was the principal in charge. He began his farming career in Mt. Pleasant township, and bought his first farm in 1898, in Pleasant Gap township. He later traded this farm for a tract of land in Greenwood county, Kansas, where he resided for six years. He then returned to Bates county and lived upon the Joe G. Ellington farm in Pleasant Gap township for five years. He purchased his present home farm of two hundred fifty-five acres in 1906. He bought eighty acres March 15, 1918, making a total of three hundred thirty-five acres. The farm was formerly owned by the Huffmans. Mr. Morilla has placed practically all of the improvements upon his place, the residence being erected in 1908, and is a modern structure, one and a half stories, of seven rooms. He built his fine barn in 1910. This barn is 64 x 80 feet in dimensions. Mr. Morilla is a believer in the use of the silo to store green food away for cattle feeding in the winter season and he has three of these modern adjuncts to farming on the place, the sizes of his silos are 16 x 30 feet, 14 x 32 feet, and 14 x 34 feet. Mr. Morilla is an extensive feeder of cattle and hogs and has about one hundred and thirty-five head of cattle on the place which he will have fed out for the markets by spring. He has fifty head of hogs and is feeding over two hundred head of Shropshire sheep.
Mr. Morilla has been twice married, his first marriage occurring on April 14, 1897, with Miss Fannie Ellington, who died July 4, 1907, leaving two children: Leo, and Joseph. His second marriage was with Miss Fannie Wix, on November 7, 1909. Two children have blessed this union: Clarence, and Vivian Bernice. Mrs. Fannie Morilla is a daughter of Joseph F. Wix, of Pleasant Gap township, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this volume. The Morilla family is one of the most prominent in their neighborhood and Mr. and Mrs. Morilla are universally esteemed and respected by the people of their section of Bates county. For a number of years, Mr. Morilla has been prominent in the affairs of his township and has served two terms as trustee of Pleasant Gap. He is looked upon as a “live wire” and a progressive and enterprising citizen who has made good in the county of his birth.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

J.J. MUDD is one of the young, hustling, and progressive young farmers of East Boone township. Mr. Mudd was born in 1882 in Bates county, a son of Joseph D. and Nancy Jane Mudd, who are among the oldest residents of the township.
Joseph David Mudd was born in April, 1842, in Bullitt county, Kentucky, and was a son of Joseph and Nancy (Brown) Mudd, natives of Kentucky who immigrated to Missouri in 1866, and settled upon the farm where Joseph D. now resides. Joseph Mudd was father of thirteen children, of whom four are yet living: J.D., Mrs. Jane Hall, Pasco, Kansas; Henry, Adrian, Missouri; Mrs. Julia Bunton, Nelson county, Kentucky. Joseph D. Mudd came to Bates county with his parents and has lived for over fifty years in the vicinity of his present home. He was married in 1868 and began his career with twenty acres of ground upon which he built a log cabin which was the first home of Mr. and Mrs. Mudd when they began housekeeping, but the years that have passed since that time have been prosperous ones, Mr. Mudd now being owner of four hundred fifty-five acres of well improved farm land in the western part of East Boone township. Mr. Mudd was married to Nancy Jane Deacon, born in Nelson county, Kentucky, a daughter of Andrid and Eliza (Shockame) Deacon, who lived and died in Kentucky. To this union have been born children as follow: Joseph E., deceased; Mrs. Eliza Ann Ormsbee, Cass county, Missouri; Mrs. Sidonia McDaniels, Canon City, Colorado; Ruffee, Stephen, Nancy Lee, and Edgar, deceased; Mrs. Fannie Louise Hughes, deceased; J.J., subject of this review; Ernest Arnold, who is managing the home farm; Honest Arthur, farmer near Adrian, Missouri; Sarah Margaret, deceased; Ruth V., deceased. For the past thirty years, Mr. Mudd has been a member of the Adrian lodge of Ancient Free and Accepted Masons. He has always been a Democrat in politics.
J.J. Mudd was educated in the Liberty High School, and began farming on his own account on the farm owned by his cousin, E.C. Mudd, in February, 1912. This farm is a splendid property, well improved and highly productive and Mr. Mudd is keeping up the farm to its fullest productive capacity.
He was married in 1908 to Miss Ethel Buchanan, of Burdett, Missouri. They have one child, Gleeta, aged four months. Mr. Mudd is an independent Democrat who votes for the man regardless of his party label if by so doing he can assist the cause of good government. He is a member of the Baptist church and fraternally affiliated with the Fraternal Aid Union and the Ancient Free and Accepted Masons of Adrian.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

R.A. MURRAY, proprietor of the Adrian Cheese Factory of Adrian, Missouri, is one of the most prominent and successful dairy men in this section of Missouri. Mr. Murray was born in the province of Ontario, Canada, a son of William and Elizabeth Murray. The birthplace of R.A. Murray, Oxford, Canada, is the center of the great dairy industry in Ontario. His grandfather, Alexander Murray, was a native of Scotland.
Mr. Murray, whose name introduces this review, attended school at Oxford until he was sixteen years of age, when he entered the dairy business in the employ of the Strathallen Butter & Cheese Company, serving as an apprentice for three years. At that time the Strathallen Butter & Cheese Company received sixty thousand pounds of milk daily. Mr. Murray then entered Guelph Agricultural College and Dairy School, from which institution he graduated in the class of 1895. After completing college, he assumed charge of a cheese and butter factory owned by an English company in Liverpool, England, and at the same time attended the Strathroy Dairy School, from which he graduated in 1898. In the spring of the same year, he resigned his position as manager of the factory owned by the English company and located in Richland county, Wisconsin, at Richland City. He well recalls his first experience in and impressions of Richland City. He arrived a total stranger in the city and was at once sighted and accosted by two tenacious cabmen, who represented the two leading hotels of the city – the Park Hotel and the Mitchell House – and as he saw no method of escape but to choose one of the two cabs he climbed into the one driven by the more respectful of the drivers, and he was taken to the Mitchell House. After the clerk of the hotel had extracted an outrageous amount of Mr. Murray’s hard-earned cash, a room was assigned the newcomer in the third story of the building, a back room having no ventilation, no sunlight, and no heat. Here R.A. Murray uncomfortably and unhappily spent his first night in Richland City – the longest night probably he has ever experienced. He was up and out with the first beams of the morning light and on reaching the city streets the first sight which attracted his attention was a team of mules hitched to a wagon heavily loaded with furniture which were foundered and were floundering in mud. Mr. Murray’s first day in Richland City was haunted by his first cheerless impressions and the day was “cold and dark and dreary.” He is not the type of man to be easily daunted, but the rare kind that “sticks,” and in spite of a very discouraging welcome, Mr. Murray succeeded well at Richland City. At the time he located there, there was but one cheese factory in the entire county and he opened the second one. At the present time, in 1918, there are seventy-two cheese factories, fifty-four creameries, and three condenseries in Richland county, Wisconsin, making this county one of the foremost in the dairy industry. It is Mr. Murray’s firm belief that Bates county, Missouri, will in the near future develop like interests.
In 1901, R.A. Murray graduated from the Madison Dairy School, at Madison, Wisconsin. He won, shortly afterward, the gold medal at the Cheese Makers’ Convention in Wisconsin for the best cheese, scoring ninety-nine and one-fourth points. Mr. Murray later operated the Boaz Cheese Factory at Boaz, Wisconsin. In 1902, he purchased a factory at Yuba, Wisconsin, where he remained four and a half years. When he assumed control of the establishment, the factory was taking in four thousand gallons of milk daily and after he had owned it for several months, the factory was handling thirty thousand gallons of milk daily. Mr. Murray purchased another plant in 1908, a factory located in Michigan, of which he disposed of in 1912, when he and his wife began an extended trip covering two years. December 28, 1914, Mr. Murray assumed charge of the Prairie City plant in Bates county and on November 1, 1916, located at Adrian and has since been engaged in the manufacture of cheese in this city. He is now owner of the Adrian Cheese Factory at Adrian.
The marriage of R.A. Murray and Maude Finch was solemnized in 1902. Mrs. Murray is a daughter of Andrew and Louise Finch, of Dorchester Station, Ontario, Canada. Mr. and Mrs. Murray are highly respected and very popular in the best social circles of Adrian and of Bates county and they have a large number of friends and a wide acquaintanceship throughout the country.
The Adrian Cheese Factory was established January 1, 1917. The Farmers Lumber Company of Adrian, Missouri erected the building and sold it to R.A. Murray for four thousand dollars. The factory has prospered from the beginning and is now receiving the hearty support of the dairymen of the community. During the month of August, 1917, forty-seven cents was paid a pound for butterfat to all who delivered their milk at the factory, while those farmers who shipped their milk elsewhere received but thirty-seven cents.
Mr. Murray’s methods of work are extremely interesting and instructive. He places the milk in a huge vat, having a capacity of seven hundred gallons, and provided with steam heat, and this milk is kept at a temperature of one hundred four degrees for an hour and a half, at which time the curd is tested. In testing the curd, Mr. Murray presses a handful of it together until it resembles a tile in shape and putty in consistency and, after heating an iron rod, touches the hot iron to the curd and closely observes how the tiny threads were formed, when the curd was pulled away from the hot iron to which it was sticking, and also the odor which resulted from the burning. It smells then very much like burnt hair, which means that it requires twenty more minutes of cooking before it gives forth an odor of that like toasted cheese. The building is painted white throughout the interior and all the floors are of concrete. Purity and cleanliness reign everywhere within and all the openings of the building are well screened. The whey, that which remains after the curd has been extracted, which George Eliot describes in “Adam Bede” as possessing “a flavor so delicate that one can hardly distinguish it from an odor, and with that soft, gliding warmth that fills one’s imagination with a still, happy dreaminess,” valued highly in England as a beverage, has considerable food value and from its large cheese factories make what is known as “Premost” cheese. The Adrian Cheese Factory pumps the whey into a large tank and it is taken back home by the farmer, who feeds it to his hogs. Eighty-five per cent of the weight of the milk, which the farmer brings to the factory, is returned to him in whey. At the time of this writing in 1918, the dairy farmer is receiving two dollars per hundred pounds for his milk and the whey returned to him. There is no doubt that the Adrian Cheese Factory is destined in the very near future to be one of the largest and most important industries in western Missouri.
History of Bates County, Missouri, by W.O. Atkeson, (1918). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Return to

Bates County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.