Welcome to...
St. Genevieve County, Missouri

Biographies
" S "

Frank Scheuring & Son, undertakers and cabinet makers, established the business at St. Mary’s, in 1866. Frank Scheuring, the subject of this sketch, was born in Germany, in 1814, and attended the schools of his native country until sixteen years of age, when he served three years’ apprenticeship at the carpenter’s trade. He worked in the large cities of Germany, Switzerland, Italy, France and Austria. In 1849 he came to America, and worked a short time in St. Louis. One year later he married, and in 1852 his wife and child died of cholera, in St. Louis. He then moved to Franklin County, purchased a farm and worked at his trade. In 1858 he sold the farm, and returned to St. Louis, where he was married to Miss Catherine Baker, a native of Germany. The fruits of this union were four children: Frank, Jr., Wally, Catherine (wife of L.L. Ireland) and Lena. After his second marriage, Mr. Scheuring worked at his trade in St. Louis until 1866, when he located in St. Mary’s, and established his undertaking and cabinet-making business. His wife died in 1873. Frank Scheuring, Jr., was born in St. Louis, in 1860, and received a fair education in the public schools. He learned his father’s trade, and also learned the painter’s trade with Fisher & Fox, of St. Louis. In 1880 Mr. Scheuring, Sr., lost his store, building and stock by fire, and he and his son, Frank, Jr., formed a partnership, and erected a new building on the same ground. They had put in a new stock of goods, and the son has taken a course of lectures on embalming. This is the only undertaking establishment in St. Mary’s, and in connection with this Frank, Jr., has a paint shop, the only one in the place. They have been liberally patronized, and have a comfortable home near their place of business. Mr. Scheuring, Sr., owns a number of town lots in St. Mary’s. Both are members of the Catholic Church, and both are Republicans in politics.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Richard Schultz, chief engineer and foreman of the mechanical department at the Cone Mills, at Ste. Genevieve, was born in the province of Westphalia, Germany, January 8, 1840, and is the son of Lorenz and Mary (Fanst) Schultz, both worthy people of Westphalia. Lorenz Schultz was a blacksmith by profession, and came to America in 1854. He landed at New Orleans, and at once proceeded to St. Louis, where he resided until his death, which occurred March 2, 1886, at the age of eighty-six years. Immediately after coming with his parents to America, and at the age of fourteen, Richard Schultz began to learn the mechanic’s trade, serving an apprenticeship of four years at the People’s Iron Works, at St. Louis. After learning his trade he worked in various places until 1881, when he came to Ste. Genevieve to accept his present position. August 2, 1863, while in St. Louis, he married Miss Delia M. Sullivan, a native of Albany, N.Y., and a daughter of James and Joannah (Mockler) Sullivan, both natives of Tipperary County, Ireland, who immigrated to America about 1833. To Mr. and Mrs. Schultz were born nine sons and one daughter, three of the sons now being deceased. Mr. Schultz is a Greenbacker in his political views, and a member of the Catholic Church.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Hon. Henry S. Shaw, representative from Ste. Genevieve County to the Thirty-fourth General Assembly of Missouri, was born in Fredericktown, Madison Co., Mo., August 2, 1849. His parents, Philip A. Shaw and Amelia L. Cox, were both native Missourians, the former having been born in St. Francois County, and the latter in Madison County. His grandfather, William Shaw, was born in Virginia in 1778, from whence he immigrated successively to Kentucky when quite a youth, then to Ste. Genevieve, and finally to what is called Cook’s settlement, in St. Francois County, where he engaged in farming, being one of the pioneer settlers of that part of the State. He assisted in building the first courthouse of St. Francois County in 1821, at Farmington, the county seat. In his boyhood, while in Kentucky, he was employed in leading packhorses, loaded with supplies for the army of Gen. “Mad” Anthony Wayne, in his Indian war. William Shaw’s ancestors were Scotch, but had lived in the North of Ireland for many years, having gone over to that country with Edward Bruce during the Bruce-Balial feud in Scotland, and while the Baliel clan were in the ascendency. His father was the youngest of seven brothers, all of whom but him were engaged in one of the numerous Irish rebellions of about the year 1763, on the side of the patriots. On the collapse of the insurrection they all fled, and scattered wherever they could find safety. Capt. Philip A. Shaw, the father of the subject of this sketch, was successfully a pilot, master of steamboats on the Mississippi River, and inspector of steam vessels at New Orleans, La. He removed to Missouri in 1863, and embarked in the business of mining and farming in Flat River, in St. Francois County, Mo., where he died in August, 1875. Henry S. Shaw is the eldest of six children – four brothers and two sisters – five of whom survive. He was educated at the Jesuit College, New Orleans, the Barrens, Perry County, Mo., and at Emmettsburg, Md. He was admitted to the bar, and began the practice of law at Ste. Genevieve, Mo., in November, 1873. He has held several offices of trust in his adopted county, in which he was elected by the people a prosecuting attorney, to which he was three times elected, 1874, 1876, 1880, declining a re-election in 1880. Again appointed to the same office by Gov. Crittenden, in 1884, he was elected in the fall of the same year. In 1886 he was elected representative to the Thirty-fourth General Assembly of Missouri for Ste. Genevieve County, and still holds the position. He was chairman of the committee on militia, and a member of the committee on internal improvements, and took an active part in framing and passing the present railroad law of the State. In politics he has always been a Democrat. Mr. Shaw was married twice, first to Miss Jessie Manning, of Ste. Genevieve, in 1878, and to Miss Katie Bovine, of the same place, in 1883, both of whom are deceased.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Henry L. Siebert, one of the well known and representative citizens of Ste. Genevieve, is a native of Ste. Genevieve County, Mo., born at New Bremen, December 22, 1863, and is the son of Andrew and Elizabeth (Klein) Siebert, both worthy people of Ste. Genevieve County. Mrs. Siebert was born in Baden, Germany, and came to America when a child. Henry L. Siebert was one of thirteen children. He remained with his parents until he had reached his sixteenth year, when he entered the store of Rozier & Jokerst and clerked for them seven years, when failing health compelled him to retire from the business for a time, much to the regret of his employers, who respected him highly for his fidelity and faithfulness. In September, 1884, he was united in marriage with Miss Louisa S. Lanpher, and their union has been blessed by the birth of two sons and one daughter who are named as follows: Edgar A., Cyrial H. and Irma. In August, 1886, Mr. Siebert established himself in his present business, purchasing the saloon and fixtures, billiard hall, etc., of Nicholas Rond. He has become popular with the people, and enjoys an extensive and lucrative business. Mr. Siebert is a hearty supporter of the Republican party and principle, and in 1888 he was elected delegate to the State Republican convention. The family worship at the Catholic Church, and are widely known and highly respected.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Charles Staab, merchant and farmer at Staabtown, was born in Ste. Genevieve County, Mo., in October, 1848, and is the son of Philip B. and Catherine (Gegg) Staab. Philip B. Staab was born in Prussia in 1809, and after his school days were over he served his time at the carpenter’s trade. He came to America in 1833, located in New Orleans, La., where he worked at his trade for about four years. He then came to Ste. Genevieve County, locating in New Offenburg, where he continued to work at his trade. Afterward he engaged in merchandising. In 1840 he married Catherine Gegg, a native of Baden, Germany, born in 1822. She came to America with her parents in 1833. To Mr. and Mrs. Staab were born eight children: Philip, Philopena (wife of M. Stoole), Caroline (wife of A. Stoker), Josephine (wife of George Vogt), Charles, Louisa (wife of Valentine Rottler, Jr.), Clara (wife of Andrew Oberle), and Rosine (wife of William Oberle). The father of these children died in 1875. Charles Staab received a fair education in the common schools and learned the carpenter’s trade. He was married in 1871 to Miss Genevieve Jokerst, and then located on a farm and worked mostly at his trade by taking contracts. In 1875 he began merchandising at River Aux Vases, and was prosperous in his business. In 1885 he built a brick store building, and began keeping a general stock of merchandise. He was appointed postmaster at River Aux Vases in 1869, and has since held that position. His wife was born in Baden, Germany, in 1851, and came to Ste. Genevieve County, Mo., with her parents in 1857. To this union was born one child, Francis J., born November, 1872. Mr. Staab is a man of energy and perseverance, and has been successful in his business enterprises. He has a good farm besides his business in the town, and is doing well at both. He and family are members of the Catholic Church.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Capt. Gustavus St. Gem. The St. Gem family were among the early if not the earliest emigrants from France to America, and came from the old city of Beauvais, and settled first near Montreal, Canada, then drifted westward. Two members of this family, Augustin and Raphael St. Gem de Beauvais, impelled by a spirit of adventure, settled at Fort Duquesne (now Pittsburg). When the English Gen. Braddock attempted to capture that fort (1755) they were commanding officers in the French and Indian forces. Later descendants of one of these two brothers removed to Kaskaskia des Illinois, where a younger brother, John Baptiste St. Gem,  had already preceded them, married and settled; and he had become a prominent citizen of that pioneer French settlement of the Mississippi Valley and the great West when Gen. George Rogers Clarke surprised and captured the place with the English commander and garrison on the night of July 4, 1778. A short time after this historical event John B. St. Gem, Jr., and Vital St. Gem, sons of John Baptiste St. Gem, crossed with their families over to the post of Ste. Genevieve to cast their lot with the first settlers west of the Mississippi River. Augustus St. Gem, son of John B. St. Gem, Jr., and father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Ste. Genevieve April 22, 1791, then under Spanish allegiance, and as the country was again acquired by France, and later purchased by the United States, he was one of the few who could say that he lived in America under three different governments without changing his residence. He was a soldier in the War of 1812, serving as a volunteer in two campaigns under Gen. Henry Dodge. Before and during the late war of the Rebellion he was very out-spoken against secession, and hence was a bold and firm advocate in defense of the Government and the Union at any and all cost. He married February 12, 1821, Felicite Desile Le Clere, who bore him ten children, six of whom died in childhood. The four who survived him at his death, which occurred March 22, 1862, were one daughter, Augustine (wife of L.C. Menard, a son of Col. Peter Menard, ex-lieutenant-governor of Illinois), and three sons: Joseph Felix, Augustus E. and Gustavus. The last name finished his course of education at St. Vincent University, at Cape Girardeau, Mo. Afterward he engaged in commercial pursuits in company with his brother-in-law, Louis C. Menard, and remained therein until 1854, when he removed to Washington County, Mo., where he engaged in lead mining and the smelting business with William Skewes, Esq., his father-in-law. At the breaking out of the late war the patriotism of their illustrious father manifested itself, for all three of the brothers espoused the cause of the Union. J. Felix at once began the work of recruiting the Thirteenth Regiment Missouri Infantry, United States Volunteers, of which he was commissioned lieutenant-colonel, and with which he took the field. He distinguished himself at the battle of Fort Donelson under the command of Gen. Grant, but his brilliant career was cut short, for at the sanguinary battle of Shiloh, April 6, 1862, he was mortally wounded while gallantly leading his regiment, of which he had full command on that day. His remains were brought back to the home of his childhood, and now rest in due veneration beside those of his parents in the old Catholic cemetery at Ste. Genevieve. Gustavus St. Gem, in 1864, recruited a company of volunteers, and entered the active service of the United States army. He was commissioned captain of Company K, Forty-seventh Missouri Infantry, United States Volunteers, and did effective service in suppressing rebel and predatory guerilla bands in Southeast Missouri. He remained in the military service until the close of the war, April, 1865, when he was honorably discharged. He then engaged in the real estate business in the city of St. Louis. In 1878 he was appointed by President Hayes to the office of surveyor and collector of the customs for the port of St. Louis, and in the faithful discharge of the responsible duties of this office during his term of four years’ service he left a most exemplary record. Besides the position of honor and trust filled by him as already mentioned, he was elected a delegate to and was a prominent active member in the Constitutional Convention of 1865, which passed the memorable ordinance abolishing slavery in Missouri (January 11, 1865) and framed a new constitution for the State. He married, November 16, 1853, Miss Elizabeth Skewes, and three children were born to this union, two of whom are now living, and are under the paternal roof: Mary E.D. and Gustavus W. The Captain, conscious of the good work performed by him in both the military and civil service of his country, is now retired to his pleasant country home near Ste. Genevieve, the town of his birth, where, with his charming little family, he enjoys the fruits of his labors, surrounded by the surviving friends of his youth, and highly esteemed and respected by all for his patriotism, enterprise and public spirit.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

Anthony Sucher, of the firm of Hoffman & Sucher, dealers in agricultural implements, wagons, buggies, and farm machinery of all kinds, was born in Ste. Genevieve County, January 15, 1863, and is the son of Lorenz and Regina (Kirchner) Sucher, both of whom were natives of Baden, Germany. They came to America about 1848, and settled in Ste. Genevieve County, where the father engaged in agricultural pursuits. They both died here, the mother in 1870 and the father in 1877. Anthony Sucher began to learn his trade at Ste. Genevieve when sixteen years of age, and in 1883 the firm of Hoffman & Sucher was established. In November 1885, Mr. Sucher chose for his life’s companion Miss Catherine Roth, who was born in Ste. Genevieve. To this union were born two children, both sons. The family are members of the Catholic Church.
Source: History of Southeast Missouri (1888). Transcribed by Kim Mohler.

 

Return to

St. Genevieve County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.