Welcome to
St. Louis County
Missouri
Missouri Genealogy Trails

Biographies
" C "

COLLINS, Monroe Robataille, real estate and financial agent, retired; born, St. Louis, Feb. 8, 1854; son of Monroe Robataille and Esther (Baker) Collins; educated at Washington University; married, Philadelphia, Pa., Dec. 11, 1878, Clara Shewell; children: Monroe Shewell, Robert Eli. Began in real estate business in St. Louis, Mar. 1, 1879, with Delos R. Haynes, under firm name of Haynes & Collins, which dissolved 1884; senior member of M. R. Collins, Jr., & Co., real estate and financial agents, 1884-1909, since retired. Vice president and secretary Collins Realty Co. Member Missouri Historical Society. Gold Democrat. Southern Methodist. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner. Club: St. Louis. Favorite recreations: hunting, fishing, traveling and baseball. Residence: St. Louis.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COLLINS, Robert E., lawyer; born, Florence, Pike Co., ILL., Jan. 7, 1851; son of Monroe R. and Esther (Baker) Collins; descendant of Lindell family of St. Louis; educated Washington University, St. Louis, and Washington and Lee University, Virginia, graduating with degree of A.B. from latter institution, 1871; studied law in the St. Louis Law School and in office of Britton A. Hill. St. Louis; married, Baltimore, Md., Dec. 18, 1873, Ida Kate Bishop; two children: Esther C. (Mrs. Edwin R. Chappell) and Ida Kate (deceased). Admitted to Missouri bar, 1873, and since in practice in courts of Missouri and federal courts; member successively of firms of Hill & Collins (Britton A. Hill), Collins & Carlisle (James L. Carlisle), Collins & Jamison (D. A. Jamison), and Collins & Chappell (Edwin R. Chappell). President and counsel Kirk wood Trust Co.; president and treasurer Collins Realty Co.; vice president and treasurer Lindell Real Estate Co., Joliet Real Estate Co. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Phi Kappa Psi. Formerly member St. John's Methodist Episcopal Church, South (board of stewards), now Kirkwood Methodist Episcopal Church, South. Mason. Recreation: amateur mechanic. Office: 702 Rialto Bldg. Residence: Kirkwood, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COLLINS, Thomas Richeson, fire insurance; born, St. Louis, Sept. 36, 1860; son of Martin and Mary Alice (Crabbe) Collins; educated in public and private schools, St. Louis, Vermont Episcopal Institute, Burlington, Vt., and Washington University, scientific course; married, St. Louis, 1891, Sara K. Ferguson (now deceased); one daughter: Sarah Dorothy; married, 2d, June 1, 1911, Grace S. Parmly, of Chicago. On leaving school in 1878 entered the insurance agency established by father, Martin Collins, in April, 1867, and in 1891 became a partner in the firm, which is now-known as Martin Collins, Son & Co., general fire insurance agents. Member St. Louis Insurance Agents' Association. Member Business Men's League, Civic League. Scottish Rite Mason (32°). Clubs: St. Louis, Noonday, St. Louis Country. Office: Pierce Bldg. Residence: 525 Clara Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COLNON, Redmond Stephen, contractor; born, Brownville, N. Y., June 29, 1802; son of John W. and Harriet (Perkins) Colnon; graduated from Cornell University, C.E., 1887; married, St. Louis, Jan. 9, 1893, Catherine Fruin. After graduation engaged as assistant engineer in office of Emil Knichling, Rochester, N. Y., 1887-89; assistant engineer in office of Charles H. Ledlie, 1889-90; assistant engineer Johnson & Flad, 1890-92; engineer Fruin & Bambrick Construction Co., 1892-95; engaged in contracting business for self, 1895-1900; since 1900 with Jeremiah Fruin, general contractors for street improvements, sewers, railway work and buildings, and now vice president Fruin-Colnon Contracting Co. Also director New Union Sand Co. President Building Industries Association. Member Board of Education of St. Louis, 1903-09. Was member Municipal Bridge and Terminals Commission. Democrat. Catholic. Clubs: Engineers', St. Louis, Noonday, Mercantile. Office: 502 Laclede Bldg. Residence: 6417 Columbia Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COMPTON, George B., president Compton & Sons Lithographing and Printing Co.; born, St. Louis, Feb. 11, 1865; son of Richard J. and Ella Louise (Cleveland) Compton; educated in Alton (ILL.) public schools, and Illinois College, Jacksonville, ILL.; married, Nov.7, 1893, Christine Eno; children: Coalter Bates, Eno, George Tarleton. Began, 1885, with Bradstreet Mercantile Agency, and later with Compton & Sons Printing Co.; went to New York, June, 1899, to establish eastern branch of the company, which has since been in successful operation; returned to St. Louis, 1904, and was elected president of the company. Business was established, 1872, by father, Richard J. Compton, who was first in city to manufacture fine color lithograph work, which is still the company's specialty. Member Business Men's League. Episcopalian. Mason. Club: Missouri Athletic. Office: 200-212 Locust St. Residence: Kirkwood, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COMPTON, William Randolph, president William R. Compton Co., investment bankers; born, Lockport, N. Y., June 27, 18G6; son of James Robinson and Frances Hope (Lewis) Compton, the father being a pioneer banker of Lockport and for over fifty years cashier of Niagara County National Bank of that city; ancestors settled in New Jersey from England, 1630; public school education; married. Dayton, O., Sept. 24, 1889, Caroline Louise Parker; three children: Randolph, William Randolph and Frances Hope. Began active career as office boy in a factory of native town, at $2.50 per week; later received banking training under father; located in St. Joseph, Mo., as clerk at eighteen, in wholesale dry goods establishment of Tootle-Hosea Co.; embarked in banking business on own account, at Arlington, Kan., 18S6 (the youngest cashier in the United States), and conducted the business for two years; bought interest in bank at Macon, Mo., 1888, which managed for ten years, during which period acted as agent for Eastern capital in securing loans on Missouri farms. Gradually became interested in municipal bonds; resigned as cashier Bank of Macon, 1898, and moved to St. Louis, 1908; now president William R. Compton Co., investment bankers, with branch office in Chicago. Member Business Men's League, St. Louis. Democrat. Presbyterian. Director Y. M. C. A. of St. Louis. Scottish Rite Mason; member Tuscan Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; Ascalon Commandery, Knights Templars. Clubs: Noonday, St. Louis, Bellerive Country (St. Louis), Union League (Chicago). Recreations: literature, golf and motoring. Office: Merchants-Laclede Bldg. Residence: 18 Kingsbury Place.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONANT, Theodore P., president Sligo Iron Store Co.; born Irasburgh, Vt., Aug. 5, 1850; educated in public schools. Began business career in employ of G. D. Hall & Co., later becoming salesman, and in 1877 that firm was merged in the Sligo Iron Store Co., for which corporation became traveling salesman and later secretary, succeeding, 1905, to present position as president of the company, jobbers of iron. Clubs: Mercantile, Glen Echo Country. Office: 1301 N. 6th St. Residence: 4479 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONDIE, Clarence Warner, vice president Condie-Neale Glass Co.; born, Philadelphia, Apr. 16, 1877; son of Thomas Douglas and Mary Clara (Husted) Condie; educated in public schools of Philadelphia and St. Louis, and St. Louis High School, 1893; married, San Jose, Cal., Aug. 6, 1902, Mary Standish Pitman; two children: Mary Virginia, Clarence Douglas. After leaving school traveled in this country and abroad. With Smith & Davis Manufacturing Co., 1894-98; resigned to fill duty with National Guard in Spanish-American war. Returned to St. Louis, 1898, and engaged with St. Louis branch Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., to 1901; then at general offices of company, Pittsburgh, until 1902; agent same company, Wheeling, W. Va., 1902-03. Returned to St. Louis, 1903, became secretary Condie-Neale Glass Co., and vice president since 1909. Also vice president Building Industries Association. Member Civic League, Zoological Society. Received medal from United States Congress for service with Battery A, Missouri Volunteers, Spanish-American war, Porto Rican Campaign, 1898. City treasurer Ferguson, Mo., 1901. Republican. Episcopalian. Mason (32°), Shriner. Clubs: Bellerive Country, City. Recreations: golf, hunting and fishing. Office: 2500 N. Broadway. Residence: 5379 Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONDIE, Herbert Douglas, president Condie-Neale Glass Co.; born, Philadelphia, Pa., June 17, 1873; son of Thomas D. and Mary Clara (Husted) Condie; educated in public schools and Park Grammar School, Philadelphia, Central High School, St. Louis, and special course in chemistry at Missouri Medical College; married, Ferguson, Mo., Nov. 3, 1897, Sallie Case King, of Chicago; children: Douglas King, Bertha Botsford, Margaret Hallowell, Herbert Douglas, Jr., and Churchill Clarke. Entered employ of F. A. Drew Glass Co., St. Louis, October, 1891, and worked through every position in office up to general manager, until that company sold out to the Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co., when removed to Milwaukee and became assistant manager in that city of Pittsburgh Plate Glass Co.; later removed to Pittsburgh upon opening of the company's branch in that city, and was manager of its glass department for two years, until organizing in St. Louis the Condie-Neale Glass Co. in February, 1903, of which has since been president; director Broadway Savings Trust Co.; vice president Overland Automobile Co. Republican. Was member of Battery A, St. Louis, 1893-96. Ran on Citizens' ticket for mayor of Ferguson, 1905. Member Pennsylvania Society of St. Louis, Civic League. Mason (32°); member Missouri Consistory, Moolah Temple, Mystic Shrine. Episcopalian; secretary Vestry St. Stephen's Church, Ferguson, Mo. Clubs: Aero, Auto, City, St. Louis, Noonday, Bellerive Country. Favorite recreations: golf and motoring. Office: Broadway and Benton St. Residence: “Kinghurst," Ferguson, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONGER, Charles F, general manager American Forest Co.; born, Jackson, Tenn., Feb. 4, 1876; son of Stephen Robert and Amelia (Cox) Conger; educated in Ouchita Baptist College, Arkadelphia, Ark., to 1890; Southwestern Baptist University, Jackson, 1893-96; unmarried. Began business career with S. R. Conger's Saw & Planing Mills, Jackson, 1893, of which was manager until 1898; sales manager with E. R. Darlington Lumber Co., St. Louis, 1905-09; then western sales manager American Forest Co., Buffalo, N. Y., office at St. Louis, 1909-10: general offices of company removed to St. Louis, 1911; made general manager, also secretary and treasurer since 1911; secretary, treasurer and general manager Portland & Southwestern Railway Co., of Portland, Ark., with office in St. Louis. Democrat. Baptist Member Sigma Alpha Epsilon Fraternity. Club: Lumbermen's. Recreations: baseball, theater, fishing and hunting. Office: 718, 420 Olive St. Residence: Windermere Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONKLING, Orville Caleb, photographer; born, Forrest, Livingston Co., ILL., Mar. 9, 1870; son of George Lewis and Victoria (Freeman) Conkling; educated in public schools of Atlantic, la., to thirteen; married at Omaha, Neb., Nov. 2, 1892, Cora M. Rotton. Began active career in employ of photographer at Atlantic, Ia., 1883; removed to Omaha, 1886, and followed same business; located at St. Louis, 1896, and was connected with Guerin & Co., 1896-1901; since in business on own account. Member Zoological Society, St. Louis Photographers' Society. Republican. Clubs: Arcadia Country, Midland Valley Country, Adonis Tennis, St. Louis Railway. Recreations: fishing, tennis and billiards. Office and Residence: 3826 Olive St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONN, Luther Henry, real estate dealer; born, Burlington, Boone Co., Ky., Mar. 14, 1842; son of Dr. James V. and Mary E. (Garnett) Conn; educated in private schools of Carrollton, Ky.; married, St. Louis, May 16, 1871, Louise G., daughter of Sir Charles Gibson; one daughter: Virgie May (Mrs. Frank V. Hammer). Served through Civil War in the Confederate army and attained rank of captain. Engaged in cotton planting at close of war; came to St. Louis, 1867, and went into real estate business under firm name of Conn & McRee. Became interested in several corporations, engaged largely in mining and milling and farmed extensively, having become owner of the celebrated and historical farm of Gen. U. S. Grant in St. Louis Co. Director several mining companies, and of the Tiger Tail Mill and Land Co. Democrat. Ex-president board of commissioners of Lafayette Park. Member of St. Louis Confederate Veterans. Office: 705 Olive St. Residence: 1728 Waverly Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONNELL, John P., secretary and treasurer Procter-Connell Fish Co.; born, St. Louis, Jan. 21, 1865; educated at St. Louis University. Secretary Trask Fish Co., St. Louis, 1890-1902; organized Kansas City Salt Fish Co., Kansas City, Mo., which was incorporated in 1898 and was later absorbed by the Trask Fish Co., St. Louis. On Jan. 16, 1902, with William Otis Procter, of St. Louis, organized the Procter-Connell Fish Co., of which is secretary and treasurer. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Midland Valley. Office: 510-512 N. 2d St. Residence: The Buckingham.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONNETT, William Carroll, lawyer; born, Buchanan Co., Mo., Apr. 7, 1879; son of William Carroll and Perilla (Leonard) Connett; educated St. Joseph High School; graduated from Manual Training School of St. Louis, 1899; student Washington University Law School, 1901, and later at University of Virginia; married, St. Louis, Sept. 27, 1909, Jessie Schlafly; one daughter: Jane Allen. Began practice in St. Louis in July, 1902; secretary to Mayor Rolla Wells, 1907-09; vice president A. F. Mengee Music Co., Haight Orchard & Development Co., director Liberty Nassau Building Co.; secretary G. R. Schmidt Woolen Co. Democrat. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Thayer Law Club. Clubs: Missouri Athletic (vice president), St. Louis Amateur Athletic Association (vice president). Recreation: outdoor exercise. Office: Third National Bank Bldg. Residence: 4482 McPherson Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONNOLLY, Joseph A., clergyman; born, July 13, 1855; educated, collegiate and theological courses, under Lazarist Fathers, and two years, St. Francis Seminary, near Milwaukee, Wis. Ordained priest, Roman Catholic Church, in St. John's Church, St. Louis, by Rt. Rev. P. J. Ryan, June 18, 1878; acting pastor St. Columbkill's Church, 1878; pastor New Madrid, Mo., 1878-82; assistant to Father O'Reilly, of Immaculate Conception Church, St. Louis, 1882-83, and then assistant to Rev. Wm. Walsh, of St. Bridget's Church; pastor DeSoto, 1886-92, St. Teresa's Church, St. Louis, since 1892; appointed vicar general December, 1903. Under his administration the present church edifice in St. Teresa's parish was erected. Residence: 2413 N. Grand Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONNOR, James A., grain commission; born, St. Louis, Sept. 13, 1875; son of Patrick P. and Mary E. (Lawler) Connor; educated at St. Louis University; married, Springfield, ILL., Oct. 27, 1897, Helen Griffith; one child: Elizabeth, born May 27, 1907. In grain mission business since March, 1893; now member of Connor Bros. & Co. Member St. Louis Merchants' Exchange. Recreations: fishing and baseball. Office: 505 Chamber of Commerce Bldg. Residence: 5253 Waterman Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONRAD, John F., grocer; born, St. Louis, Mar. 1, 1850; son of Enoch and Frederika Conrad; educated in private schools at St. Louis; married, St. Louis, 1872, Sarah C. Stork; children: Frederick E., Julia (now Mrs. Eugene Ringler), Louis Philip, Oscar J., Carrie It., Alvina O., John F., Jr., Agnes N., Harold A. Began business career as clerk in grocery store; in 1874 started in business for self in small store at 2714 Franklin Ave.; opened branch store at 4470-4474 Delmar Ave., 1892, and same year incorporated business as J. F. Conrad Grocer Co., of which is president; started downtown store on Locust St. in 1897, and moved, in 1907, to 713-715 Washington Ave.; now conducts both wholesale and retail business. Honorary member of St. Louis Turn Verein. Clubs: Liederkranz, King's Hunting and Fishing, Log Cabin. Recreations: bowling, hunting and fishing. Office: 713-715 Washington Ave.; branch stores: Grand and Shenandoah Aves., Union and Suburban Aves. Residence: 4333 Morgan St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONRADES, Edwin H., coal and coke; born, St. Louis, July 22, 1861; son of John H. and Marie C. (Freese) Conrades; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Oct. 17, 1887, Louise R. Stifel; children: Paul E., Otto Stifel. Began business career in the finishing department of the chair factory of Conrades & Logeman, remaining in that establishment until, in 1883, became one of the incorporators of the J. H. Conrades Chair and Parlor Furniture Co.; resigned to become a partner in the firm of Donk Bros. & Co., coal merchants, and since business was incorporated as Donk Bros. Coal and Coke Co. has been vice president of the company. Also president Conrades Chair Co., St. Louis, Troy & Easter Ry. Co., St. Louis & Illinois Belt K. R. Co.; vice president Merchants' and Manufacturers' Investment Co.; director German Savings Institution; etc. 32s Mason (Scottish Rite), Knight Templar, and Shriner. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Union, Liederkranz. Office: 314 N. 4th St. Residence: 2013 St. Louis Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONRADES, John Henry, retired; born, Liebenau, Hanover, Germany, Aug. 22, 1832; son of William and Mary (Peters) Conrades; early education in Germany; attended public night school in St. Louis, 1852; Jones Commercial College, St. Louis, 1854; married, Port Hudson, Franklin Co., Mo., Nov. 27, 1856, Mary C. Freese (died Dec. 15, 1897); children: Theodore H., Edwin H., John Henry, Jr., Belmont C, Emil W., Josie (Mrs. E. C. Donk), Adele (Mrs. C. Conradis), Ella (Mrs. Otto Stifel). Started at cabinet work at age of fourteen at Bremen, Germany, where learned trade; left there at age of seventeen for America; worked at trade for one and one-half years in Cincinnati, then six months in St. Louis as journeyman, foreman of shop for one and one-half years; in 1853 bought out the business and established the firm of Conrades & Logeman, chair manufacturers, which dissolved in 1883; organized and was president of J. H. Conrades Chair and Parlor Furniture Co., 1883-1910; since honorary president. Republican. Served in militia in 1861. President German General Protestant Orphans' Home. Clubs: Union, Liederkranz. Recreations: music and literature. Office: 1942 N. 2d St. Residence: 3643 Castleman Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONRADES, John Henry, Jr., chair manufacturer; born, St. Louis, Jan. 24, 1866; son of John Henry and Mary C. (Freese) Conrades; educated in St. Louis public school and Smith Academy; married, St. Louis, Jan. 4, 1905, Mary Emma Wunsch; one son: Ralph Andrew. Began business career as collector for a coal company; then became shipping clerk and later traveling salesman for the J. H. Conrades Chair and Parlor Furniture Co., of which is now secretary and treasurer; president Marshall Realty Co., Marshland Realty Co., Marshland Game Preserve. Republican. Unitarian. Member Knights of Pythias. Clubs: Union, Mercantile, Apollo. Favorite recreations: hunting, fishing, riding and music. Office: 1942 N. 2d St. Residence: 2919 Russell Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONROY, Patrick Edward, pianos; born in Ireland, Mar. 2, 1864; son of Thomas and Mary (Welby) Conroy; educated in public schools of North Easton, Mass.; married, 1890, Delia Moriarty; one son: Robert T. Began active career as traveling salesman in general merchandise; engaged in piano business since 1887; president since organization, of the Conroy Piano Co., wholesale and retail dealers in pianos, and vice president A. J. Conroy Co.. of Cincinnati; also treasurer of the Reliable Specialty Co., 1108 Locust St. Independent in politics. Recreations: fishing and baseball. Office: 1100 Olive St. Residence: Usona Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONZELMAN, Oscar, dentist; born, Irondale, Mo., June 19, 1869; son of Jacob and Eva (Fisher) Conzelman; educated public schools; Columbia University, New York; Washington University, St. Louis, graduating from the Dental Department of same, degree of D.D.S., 1894; married, Hannibal, Mo., Jan. 27, 1903, Marguerite Ryan; one daughter, Virginia Marie. Has engaged in practice in St. Louis since 1894. Republican. Lutheran. Member Woodmen of the World. Club: Liederkranz. Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office: 3860 S. Broadway. Residence: 3415 Halliday Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CONZELMAN, Theophilus, second vice president Crunden-Martin Woodenware Co.; born, St. Louis. Apr. 8, 1858; son of Gottlieb and Jorgine (Grunbeck) Conzelman; educated in public and high schools, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, October, 1882, Emma Lewis (died 1901); children: Theodore L. William L., Emerson; married, 2d, St. Louis, June, 1905, Jane Good; children (by second marriage): James Good and Jane. Began in real estate business with Cavender & Rowse, real estate and loans, then engaged in looking after own private real estate interests for several years, and in 1892 entered the Crunden-Martin Woodenware Co., jobbers of woodenware and manufacturers of Diamond paper bags, of which is second vice president; president Conzelman-Crunden Realty Co. Independent in politics. Unitarian. Member Merchants' Exchange. Clubs: Mercantile, Missouri Athletic, St, Louis, Algonquin Golf, Bellerive Country. Recreation: golf. Office: corner 2d and Gratiot Sts. Residence: 5260 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COOK, Douglas G., president American Wine Co.; born, Chicago, ILL., June 3, 1847; son of Isaac and Harriet (Norton) Cook; educated in public schools of Chicago and at Christian Brothers College, Notre Dame, Indiana; married, St. Louis, 1877, Carrie S. Dickson; children: Carrie D. (Mrs. Edward L. Preetorius), Douglas D., Ellis W. Began business career in employ of American Wine Co. (of which father was president) as shipping clerk, and advanced from one position to another until, on father's death, in 1886, succeeded as president, the company being manufacturers of champagne and controlling largo vineyards in Northern Ohio. Member Business Men's League, Merchants' and Manufacturers' Association. Mason, Knight Templar; member B. P. O. Elks. Clubs: St. Louis, Mercantile, Glen Echo, Missouri Athletic. Recreation: fishing. Office: 3015 Cass Ave. Residence: 3828 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COOK, Isaac, Jr., manager Elizabeth Cook Estate; born, Fox River, Wis., June 21, 1867; son of Isaac and Mary Elizabeth (Udell) Cook; has lived in St. Louis since 1868; educated at Smith Academy, St. Louis; Adams Academy, Quincy, Mass.; A.B., Harvard University, 1890; married, St. Louis, 1896, Edith, daughter of Dr. Henry Hodgen Mudd; children: Henry, Elizabeth. Engaged in the management of real estate in Chicago and St. Louis and in care of estate of the late Mary Elizabeth Cook. Democrat. Episcopalian. Clubs: St. Louis, University, Country, Missouri Athletic; also Harvard Club of New York City. Residence: 3 Hortense Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COOK, Isaac Thompson, real estate; born in Fayette Co., O., Aug. 28, 1871; son of Major James P. and Mary Augusta (Myers) Cook; educated in public schools of Washington Court House, O.; married at Washington Court House, O., Feb. 28, 1894, Jessie Carleton McCrea; children: Elizabeth Janet, Jessie Augusta and Carleton McCrea. Came to St. Louis, 1891; clerk in retail shoe stores until 1896; since engaged in real estate business and in management of office buildings. Secretary and treasurer Chemical Building Co., Frisco Building Co., Wright Building Co.; president Seventh Street Building Co.; secretary, treasurer and manager of the Neighborhood Light, Power and Heating Co.; president Chaffee Beal Estate Co. Member Business Men's League, St. Louis Manufacturers' Association, Civic League. Republican. Presbyterian. Clubs: St. Louis, Noonday, Mercantile, University, Missouri Athletic, Normandie Golf, City, Aero. Recreations: hunting, fishing and athletics. Office: 1412 Chemical Bldg. Residence: 4579 W. Pine Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COOKE, Henry von Phul, manager Commerce Safe Deposit Co.; born, Hannibal, Mo., Aug. 9, 1854; son of William M. and Eliza (von Phul) Cooke; educated at St. Louis University; unmarried. Began active career as clerk for Henry von Phul Commission Co., St. Louis; in 1881 became connected with the St. Louis Safe Deposit Co., and continued with that company and its successor, the St. Louis Safe Deposit and Savings Bank, until 1906; in mercantile pursuits, 1906-09; manager Commerce Safe Deposit Co. since 1909. Democrat. Catholic. Recreations: fishing and hunting. Office: National Bank of Commerce Bldg. Residence: 5005 Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COOKE, John Rutherford, cashier Third National Bank; born, St. Louis, Sept. 27, 1856; son of (Judge) William Mordecai and Eliza (von Phul) Cooke (original Cooke came from Suffolk, England, settled in Virginia prior to 1650; on mother's side, Dr. Sangrain, great-grandfather settled in St. Louis, 1800): educated in Christian Brothers College, and Ft, Louis University; married, St. Louis, Oct. 17, 1883, Margaret L. Lark in. Began business career with engineering corps, 1872, continuing until 1873; engaged with Third National Bank, as clerk, 1873. advanced to junior official positions until 1911, when he was elected cashier and director. Democrat. Catholic. President Visitation Council, St. Vincent de Paul's Society, and member Upper Council same; member St. Louis Credit Men's Association (ex-treasurer), Missouri Historical Society. Clubs: St. Louis, Bankers'. Recreation: reading. Office: Third National Bank. Residence: 14 Lewis Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORBITT, J. Arthur, fire insurance underwriter; born, St. Louis, June 17, 1871; son of James M. and Maria E. (Jenkins) Corbitt;  educated in Smith Academy, St. Louis; unmarried. Was connected with the Beck & Corbitt Iron Co., from September, 1889, to June 22, 1901. Since Mar. 1, 1902, has been engaged in a general insurance business. Member Business Men's League, Civic League. Republican. Presbyterian. Mason (32°), Shriner. Clubs: University, City, Automobile, Aero, Bellerive Country. Favorite recreation: motoring. Office: 1449 Pierce Bldg. Residence: 3662 Delmar Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORLIS, George L., lawyer; born, Metropolis, ILL., May 26, 1873; son of Edwin and Sarah (Scott) Corlis; LL.B., McKendree College, Lebanon, ILL., 1891; married, Union City, Tenn., Oct. 15, 1895, Miss Bird Trevathan; two daughters: Marian and Catherine. Admitted to Illinois bar, 1891; in practice in East St. Louis, 1891-96, since in St. Louis; member firm of Corlis & Quinn. Dean of Benton College of Law. Democrat. Mason (R. A.). Author: Commercial Law; Business Law and Business Methods; Short Study of Real Property; Delineation of Some Phases of the Law. Recreation: literature. Office: Times Bldg. Residence: St. Regis Apts.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNELI, Adolph, seed merchant; born, St. Louis, Aug. 20, 1860; son of Phillip and Marie (Mathias) Corneli; educated in public schools and Jones Commercial College, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Oct. 8, 1894, Hector Ford. Began business career with the Plant Seed Co. as an employee in the office, later becoming salesman, then traveled for the firm on the road, 1876-95; in 1895, with brother, Ben P. Corneli and H. M. Schisler, joined in organization of the Schisler-Corneli Seed Co., of which is secretary and treasurer. Member Merchants' Exchange, Royal Arcanum. Club: Rotary. Recreations: bowling and motoring. Office: 813-815 N. 4th St. Residence: 5200 Minerva St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNELI, Ben Phillip, seed merchant; born, St. Louis, Apr. 3, 1855; son of Phillip and Marie Corneli; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Nov. 10, 1881, Margaret Coudy; one son: Clifford. Has been connected with the seed business continuously from 1875, beginning with the St. Louis and Peoria Plow Co., until 1878; then with the Plant Seed Co., 1878-95, and in 1895 joined in organization of Schisler-Corneli Seed Co., of which is president. Member St. Louis Merchants' Exchange, Royal Arcanum. Clubs: Automobile, Grain. Recreation: music. Office: 813 N. 4th St. Residence 4839 Cote Brilliante Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNELL, Robert Henry, farm lands; born in Adrian, Mich., Nov. 5, 1855; son of William Henry and Emily (Danforth) Cornell; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, Mar. 8, 1878, Maria Hodges; children: Ethel H. (Mrs. Melville Williamson), Luda H. (Mrs. Julian Luckett), Oliver H. (deceased), Esther I., Florence L. Began business career in service of Indianapolis & St. Louis R. R., continuing for three years; then in St. Louis post office as paying teller of money order department; after that in railway mail service, first in Seventh Division, and later as  chief clerk of Eleventh Division, with headquarters at Fort Worth, Tex.; resigned, 1888, and returned to St. Louis, engaging in real estate business on own account, until was elected, 1905, as real estate officer of the Commonwealth Trust Co.; resigned, January, 1912, and organized Cornell-Miller Texas Farms Co., of which is president. Member St. Louis Real Estate Exchange (director). Member Church of the Redeemer. Charter member Hyde Park Council, No. 4, Legion of Honor. Club: City. Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office: 415 Locust St. Residence: 5041 Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNET, Edward, president Edward Cornet Grocer Co.; born, St. Louis, Sept. 10, 1858; son of August and Margaret (Reich) Cornet; educated in parochial schools and Christian Brothers College; married, St. Louis, Sept. 11, 1883, Anna Jansen; children: August E., Clara L., Clemens J., Agnes A., Edward J. On leaving school, entered the grocery business founded by father fifty years ago, and has ever since continued with the house, and has served as president of the Edward Cornet Grocery Co. since its incorporation, 1903. Member of the Merchants' Exchange, St. Vincent de Paul Society, and St. Vincent de Paul Orphan Society. Catholic. President Gentlemen's Driving Club. Office: 1241 N. 13th St., corner O'Fallon. Residence: 3819 S. Grand Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNET, Henry Louis, real estate; born, St. Louis, Nov. 15, 1856; son of Francis and Annie (Blackman) Cornet; educated in private schools and in the Christian Brothers School, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, September, 1888, Annie Chapman; children: Frank, Harry, Lucille, Marjorie, Ruth. Began business career as assistant secretary of the Mullanphy Board of Charities, then went with Isaac H. Keim, real estate, in charge of Mullanphy, Biddle and Clemens estates; after that with Charles H. Turner, real estate, and then member of the firm of Bergman & Cornet, 1885-93; engaged in business for self as H. L. Cornet & Co., real estate, 1893-97; since 1897 member of firm of Cornet & Zeibig, real estate and financial agents. President Standard Realty Co. Member St. Louis Real Estate. Exchange. Republican. Catholic. Clubs: Mercantile, Racquet. Recreation: fishing. Office: 719 Chestnut St. Residence: 4550 Berlin Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNWALL, Barnabas M., treasurer St. Louis House Furnishing Co.; born, Lawrenceville, ILL., Oct. 10, 1851; son of Francis and Jeannette (Delisle) Cornwall; educated in private schools of Cuba, Mo., 1861-69; married, St. Louis, 1878, Lizzie Lincoln; children: Leeta, Nettie, Raligha, Clyde, Olive. Since 1887 in furniture business for self, establishing at 1810 Franklin Ave.; H. J. Gobbles became partner, 1889, and removed to 817 Franklin Ave.; in 1892, P. J. Farrington entered as third partner and business was incorporated as the St. Louis House Furnishing Co., of which he is treasurer. Republican. Episcopalian. Member Knights of Pythias. Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office: 902-906 Franklin Ave. Residence: 5173 Maple Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNWALL, Frederick Reid, attorney in patent causes; born, Washington, D. C, Feb. 23, 1872; son of James O. and Frances (Reid) Cornwall; educated in public schools of Washington, D. C, and studied law at National University there, receiving degree of LL.B., 1891, and M.L., 1892; married, Dec. 23, 1893, Annie May Bushall, of Beaufort, N. C.; six children living: May Bushall, Frederick Reid, Jr., Paul Bakewell, Virginia, Ward Leacraft, Richard Randolph. Started to work in patent solicitor's office in Washington Nov. 1, 1886; after practicing before Patent Office six years, came to St. Louis, June 1, 1892, and entered the office of Paul Bakewell, and engaged in soliciting United States and foreign patents, and in the practice of patent, trade mark and copyright law; became partner, Aug. 1, 1897, in firm of Bakewell & Cornwall, which partnership was dissolved Dec. 31, 1908; since Practiced alone. Member of several patent law associations. President American Philatelic Society; Fellow Royal Philatelic Society of London. Mason (Tuscan Lodge), Knight Templar (Ascalon Commandery), Shriner. Clubs: St. Louis, Racquet, Noonday. Office: 801 to 806 Chemical Bldg. Residence: 5052 Waterman Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORNWELL, Frederick Leander, lawyer; born, St. Louis, Feb. 13, 1878; son of Benjamin Sedgely and Helen Virginia (Jennings) Cornwell; married, St. Louis, Aug. 11, 1910, Daisy George Walker; one child: Frederick Leander, Jr. Member of Light Battery A, Missouri Volunteers, during war with Spain; began practice of law in St. Louis, Feb. 28, 1899; in same year went to Porto Rico and practiced there for eleven years; member Legislative Assembly of Porto Rico, 1900-04 inclusive, during which time was chairman of Judiciary Committee; member joint legislative committee that codified laws of Porto Rico, also insular district attorney for judicial district of Mayaguez; resumed practice in St. Louis, 1911. Director Choteau Trust Co. Republican. Baptist. Member United Spanish War Veterans. Mason (Blue Lodge, Chapter, Commandery and Shrine). Clubs: St. Louis, Missouri Athletic. Recreations: fishing, hunting and baseball. Office: 805-808 La Salle Bldg. Residence: 53 Kingsbury Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORWIN, Alvin B., president Corwin Building and Construction Co.; born, Delaware, O., Dec. 21, 1854; son of Levi Jennings and Angeline (Bradford) Corwin; educated in public schools of Delaware; married Emma F. Philips, of Lowell, Mass., Sept. 29, 1886 (died 1905). Began as architect and builder in Bonne Terre, Mo., 1885; located in St. Louis, 1891, and has since been actively engaged in business in and around the city; president Corwin Building and Construction Co., established 1896, builders and general contractors, making a specialty of estimating and replacing fire and windstorm losses; also president Heinz-Young Construction Co. Republican. Methodist. Member Knights of Pythias. Recreation: politics. Office: 601 Roe Bldg. Residence: 5500 Vernon Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CORYELL, John Barstow, physician and surgeon; born, Nichols, Tioga Co., N. Y., Sept. 6, 1867; son of Emanuel and Matilda (Thayer) Coryell; educated in public and private schools of Tioga Co., N. Y., and St. Louis Medical College (Washington University), M.D., 1886; married, St. Louis, March, 1905, E11en Fraser (now deceased). Engaged in general practice in St. Louis since graduation in 1886. Member A. F. & A. M., Ancient Order United Workmen. Club: Union. Office aid Residence: 309 S. Broadway.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COSTELLO, John Stephen, brush manufacturer; born in New York City, June 22, 1833; son of Michael and Bridget (McGowan) Costello; educated in public schools in New York City; married, New York City, 1854, Katherine Sougherin; children: John E. (deceased), Katherine E. (Mrs. J. H. Wolfe), Mary (Mrs. M. J. Brennan), Francis Xavier. Learned trade of brush maker in New York City, and worked as journeyman there; came to St. Louis, 1855, and was in charge of factory of Dings & Stein, until 1858, when established business for self, afterward admitting son, Francis X. Costello, and M. J. Brennan, under present style of J. S. Costello & Son. Roman Catholic. Member Catholic Knights of America, Ancient Order of United Workmen. Office: 1108 Pine St. Residence: 3744 Cook Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COUGHLIN, William Thomas, surgeon; born, Ontario, Can., Apr. 25, 1873; son of Thomas and Ellen (O'Reilly) Coughlin; educated public schools of Ontario; Collegiate Institute, Barrie, Ont.; studied medicine at Trinity University, Toronto; Washington University Medical School, St. Louis, M.D., 1901; studied also in London Hospital, London, Eng., and universities of Paris, France and Heidelberg, Germany; unmarried. Interne St. Louis City Hospital, 1901-02; instructor in anatomy, Washington University Medical School, 1902-08; instructor in surgery, same, 1908-11, and lecturer on fractures and dislocations in same, 1908-10; member staff Washington University Hospital, 1908-11; assistant professor surgery, St. Louis University, since June, 1911; on staff of Rebekah Hospital, since June, 1911. Roman Catholic. Member American Medical Association, Missouri State Medical Society, St. Louis Society of City Hospital Alumni, St. Louis Surgical Club, Washington University Alumni Medical Association; also member Knights of Columbus. Clubs: University, City, Western Rowing. Office: Metropolitan Bldg. Residence: 2713 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COURTNEY, Leslie, retired; born in Pettis Co., Mo.; son of Peter and Elizabeth (Bracht) Courtney; educated in public schools of Pettis Co.; unmarried. Came to St. Louis, January, 1886, and engaged with Kelley, Goodfellow & Co., wholesale shoes; in 1901, organized the Courtney Shoe Co., manufacturers and jobbers of boots and shoes, of which company was president until 1908, when sold out his interest and retired. Democrat. Club: Mercantile. Residence: Buckingham Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COUSINS, John W., Salvation Army official; born in Yorkshire, England, Feb. 7, 1861; educated in public schools and International Training College, London; married, Denver, Colo., Sept. 13, 1895, Martha J. Carpenter; two children: Annie Catherine and John Lincoln. Followed butcher's trade for about three years; joined Salvation Army, 1882, became an officer, 1883, and engaged in evangelistic work until 1886; was sent to Canada and had charge of various commands there; promoted to adjutant and later to staff captain; in United States since 1881, and in St. Louis since Sept. 1, 1909, as brigadier provincial officer for Missouri, Kansas & Southern Illinois, with rank of lieutenant colonel. Office: Fullerton Bldg. Residence: 4218 Cook Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COUSSENS, Andrew Harwood, druggist; born, Nashville, Tenn., Mar. 12, 1847; son of John H. and Mary (Royster) Coussens; educated in private and public schools of Nashville, and at Franklin College, Davidson Co., Tenn.; married, Gallatin, Tenn., Aug. 6, 1874, Bettie Prince; children: Andrew Hills, Bettie Prince, John R., Mary Royster, Erie V. (Mrs. George Harsh). Engaged in drug business since March, 1869; since Feb. 26, 1894, president and manager of the Anti-Monopoly Drug Co., wholesale and retail. Democrat. Member Christian (Disciples) Church. Member Royal Arcanum, Legion of Honor. Office: 700 Market St. Residence: 5125 Von Versen Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COWAN, James English, insurance; born, Apple Creek, Cape Girardeau Co., Mo., Oct. 13, 1834; son of Rev. John F. and Mary E. (English) Cowan; educated in public schools of Washington Co., Mo.; married, St. Louis, Apr. 28, 1858, Henrietta S. Quinette; children: James Edward, J. Mortland, Mary E., Susie Q. (Mrs. G. F. Hulbert), Elenore J. (Mrs. O. G. Selden). Came to St. Louis, 1849, and was for years engaged in the book and stationery business; since 1872 has been in the insurance business, and now, with his son, conducts under firm name of James E. Cowan & Son, an agency for fire, tornado, liability, accident, burglary and plate glass insurance. Presbyterian and active church worker. Secretary of the Western Society for the Suppression of Vice, St. Louis branch. Member Royal Arcanum, Legion of Honor. Office: Pierce Bldg. Residence: 3017 Eads Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COWEN William B., vice president National Bank of Commerce; born, St. Louis, May 28, 1861; son of Alexander H. and Maria (May) Cowen; educated Catholic parochial school, St. Louis, 1868-70; private school, 1871-73; public schools, 1873-76; St. Louis High School, 1876-77; unmarried. Began active career as clerk in National Bank of Commerce, Oct. 1, 1878; passed through various positions and was made assistant cashier, 1898, and has served as vice president since February, 1908; also director St. Louis Car Wheel Co., St. Louis Taxi Cab Co., St Louis Coliseum. Independent in politics. Catholic. Member Business Men's League, Civic League. Clubs: St. Louis, Racquet, Bankers Bellerive, Glen Echo, Aero, Automobile. Recreations: athletic sports and outdoor diversions, especially fishing. Office: Broadway and Olive Sts. Residence: 5964 W. Cabanne Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COX, Charles Alexander, pork packer; born in Nelson Co., Ky., Aug. 31, 1846; son of John A. and Martha (Roberts) Cox; educated in public and private schools of native county; married, Eddyville, Ky., Nov. 1, 1871, Julia Rudy; one daughter: Julia E. (Mrs. Harris H. Johnston); married, 2d, Eddyville, Ky., July 20, 1876, Sarah Rudy; children: Charles Gordon, Virginia Roberts (wife of Rev. Rockwell S. Brank), Sarah Isabel, Ethel Lucy, Douglas A. Reared on farm when slaves did most of the work; quit farm, 1867, and entered engineer corps of Louisville & Nashville R. R., making survey from Stanford to Richmond, Ky.; continued in engineering department of various railroads in Kentucky, Arkansas and Tennessee until 1874; then went into construction work as contractor. In April, 1877, owing to suspension of railroad building, went into pork packing business (temporarily, as he supposed), and has remained in it ever since; president Cox & Gordon Packing Co., manufacturers and wholesale dealers in fancy sugar cured hams, breakfast bacon, pure lard and other packing house products. Director Laclede National Bank, 1885-95, Merchants Laclede National Bank since 1895. Director, 1885-86, and, 1890-91, vice president, 1887, and president, 1889, and still member Merchants' Exchange. Independent in politics. Attends St. Peter's Episcopalian Church. President Kentucky Society; member Royal Arcanum and Legion of Honor. Club: St. Louis. Office: 1019 S. Third St. Residence: 4052 Westminster Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COX, LeGrand Marvin, oral physician; born, Winslow, ILL., Feb. 26, 1876; son of LeGrand Marvin and Eveline (Talmadge) Cox; educated in Winslow district school to 1892; Warren Academy, Warren, ILL., 1892-94; D.D.8., Chicago College of Dental Surgery, 1898; M.D., St. Louis College of Physicians and Surgeons, 1909; married, Hanover, ILL., Aug. 23, 1899, Alta Phoebe Miller; four children: Hortense (died May 2, 1907), Mildred, Marvin, Marian. In practice of dentistry in Jo Daviess Co., ILL., 1898-1904, since in St. Louis. Professor anesthesia and minor surgery, and professor oral surgery, St. Louis College of Physicians and Surgeons, since 1906. Member St. Louis Dental Society, Missouri State Dental Association. Clubs: Fellowship, Kings Highway Church. Recreation: fishing. Office: Central National Bank Bldg. Residence: 5064 Cates Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COYLE, Eugene, Catholic priest; born, Three Mile House, Ireland, Feb. 15, 1847; son of Owen and Mary Coyle; graduated from St. McCarten's Seminary, Ireland, and entered on philosophical and theological course at St. Francis Seminary, Wisconsin, 1868, graduating, 1872. Ordained priest at St. Louis, Mar. 8, 1873; appointed assistant pastor, Church of the Immaculate Conception, St. Louis, and later took charge of missions in Knox, Audrain, Adair, Schuyler and Scotland counties, Mo., and still later in Monroe and Balls counties; established a parish in Adair Co.; built a church in Schuyler and in Clark; priest in charge of St. Patrick's Church, Clark Co., about ten years; since 1885 at St. Louis, rector St. Louis Old Cathedral. Member Knights of Columbus. Address: 209 Walnut St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


COYLE, Philip W. traffic commissioner of the Business Men's League; born, Greenwood, Steuben Co., N. Y., July 10, 1850; son of Bernard and Susan (Killduff) Coyle; educated in common schools of Allegany Co., N. Y. married, Dunkirk, N. Y., Jan. 6, 1872, Ella Louise Mulkin; children: Gertrude S. (Mrs. F. J. Bates, of Washington, D. C), Clifford D. Began service with the Erie R. R., with which was telegraph operator and station agent, 1865-81; general freight and passenger agent, Lackawanna & Pittsburgh B. B., 1881-87; assistant general freight agent, Wabash R. R., 1887-1906; was appointed traffic commissioner of the Business Men's League, St. Louis, May 1, 1906. Independent in politics. Mason, Knight Templar. Episcopalian. Clubs: Mercantile, City, Alton Country. Favorite recreations: golf, chess. Office: fifth floor Mercantile Library Bldg. Residence: Alton, ILL.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRABB, Robert A., lawyer; born, St. Louis, Jan. 31, 1868; son of Robert M. and Mary L. (Manix) Crabb; educated in public schools; Washington University; St. Louis Law School, LL.B., 1895; married Miss Louisa Donnelly, of St. Louis, July 17, 1897; children: Dorothy A., Garland P. In general civil practice in St. Louis since 1895. Member St. Louis and Missouri State Bar associations. Democrat. Catholic. Member Legion of Honor. Recreations: fishing and hunting. Office: 610 Times Bldg. Residence: 5414 Page Boulevard.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAFT, William Braddock, vice president and general manager Merchants' Ice and Coal Co.; born, St. Louis, Apr. 24, 1857; son of M. B. and Elizabeth A. (Adcock) Craft; educated in public schools of St. Louis, Jones Commercial College and Henderson Commercial College; married, St. Louis, January, 1890, Mary Wiethuchter. Has been in the sand business in St. Louis since 1875, consecutively with the New Missouri Sand Co., of which was secretary until 1902; general manager of the Colorado Sand and Gravel Co., 1902-September, 1910, when became vice president and general manager Merchants' Ice and Coal Co. Republican. Member Union Avenue Christian Church. Recreation: traveling. Office: 402 Stock Exchange Bldg. Residence: 1233 Goodfellow Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAIG, John, contractor and builder; born near Londonderry, Ireland, June 10, 1867; son of Matthew and Margaret (Hutchison) Craig; educated in native land; came to America, March, 1888; married, Sterling, Mass., Jan. 8, 1902, Caroline L. Fitch; one son: Robert L. Engaged in carpentering at Princeton, Ia., two years, and then went to Rock Island, ILL., and continued at same trade; located in St. Louis, 1892, and for about twelve years was employed as journeyman; then entered general contracting business, in which has since continued. Republican. Presbyterian. Mason; Knight Templar, Shriner; also member Knights of Pythias. Office: 724 Odd Fellows Bldg. Residence: 5644 Von Versen Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAIGHEAD, John Thomas, merchandise broker; born, Fulton, Calloway Co., Mo., Nov. 7, 1866; son of John Alexander and Elizabeth M. (Adair) Craighead; educated in country district school at Carrington, Mo., and Westminster College, Fulton, Mo.; married, St. Louis, Apr. 2i, 1892, Mary Elizabeth Dunville; two sons: Thomas Gorman, Norwood Dunville. Began business career as clerk with L. D. Farmer & Co., general merchandise, Cedar City, Mo., 1884-88; buyer Schweppe Grocery Co., St. Louis, 1888-91; since Nov. 1, 1891, in business under style of J. T. Craighead & Co., as merchandise broker, selling borax for Pacific Coast Borax Co. to wholesale drug trade, grocers, spice mills, grocers sundries manufacturers, etc.; handles baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, corn starch, tin cans, canned goods (canned meat, fish, vegetables and fruit), sugar, rice, molasses, dried and evaporated fruits, nuts, etc. Also director of J. 0. Grant Manufacturing Co., baking powder, bicarbonate of soda, etc. Member Missouri Horticultural Society. Democrat. Mason; Past Chancellor Knights of Pythias. Recreations: horticulture and architectural work. Champion pistol shot. Protestant. Office: 502 S. 7th St. Residence: Webster Groves, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAMER, Emile R., superintendent of Laboratories and Works, G. Cramer Dry Plate Co.; born, St. Louis, Apr. 17, 1874; son of Gustav and Emma R. (Milentz) Cramer; educated in St. Louis to 1882; Educational Institute (private), 1882-90; Manual Training School, Washington University, 1890-93; left Manual Training School while in third year to take charge of exhibits and building at Chicago World's Fair; upon returning to St. Louis after the fair attended Perkins & Herpel's Business College, 1893-94; in the fall of 1894 returned to Manual Training School, from which he graduated in 1895; married,St. Louis, Oct. 2, 190], Ida A. Broesel; one child: Dorothy. Since leaving school has been continuously engaged within the chemical laboratories of which now superintendent. Republican. Protestant. Member of Washington University Association, St. Louis Horticultural Society. Clubs: Amateur Athletic Association, Liederkranz. Recreation: fishing. Office: Shenandoah and Lemp Aves. Residence: St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAMER, P. Ernest, vice president G. Cramer Dry Plate Co.; born, St. Louis, July 6, 1870; son of Gustav and Mathilde (Weber) Cramer; educated in public schools, 1870-80; Educational Institute, graduating, 1S86; Washington University, graduating, 1887; attended law school, 1887-88; learned photography, 1888-89; married, San Francisco, Cal., July 31, 1901, Angela Le Prohon. Since 1889 has been engaged in manufacture of photographic dry plates with father; vice president G. Cramer Dry Plate Co. since 1898. President Broadway National Bank, 1701 S. Broadway. Chilean consul. Republican. Former member of city council. Ex-president Latin American Club, and Foreign Trades Association; member Manufacturers' Association. Protestant. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner. Clubs: Union, Liederkranz, Masonic (ex-president). Favorite recreation: fishing. Office: Shenandoah and Lemp Aves. Residence: Grand and Russell Aves.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAMER, Gustav, president G. Cramer Dry Plate Co.; born, Eschwege, Germany, May 20, 1838; son of Emanuel and Dorothea (Vieweger) Cramer; educated in schools in Germany; married; children: F. Ernest, Emile R. and G. Adolf. Came to St. Louis in 1859; learned trade of photographer with John A. Scholten, with whom remained for five years; then started in business as photographer on own account and remained in it until 1885; started as manufacturer of dry plates, 1880; in 1898 admitted his three sons, and incorporated the business as the G. Cramer Dry Plate Co., of which he is president. Vice president of the Board of Charity Commissioners of St. Louis; vice president German General Protestant Orphan Home; member board of directors of the St. Louis Provident Association and also of the Deutscher Schul Verein; member of St. Louis Liederkranz; president St. Louis Altenheim. Mason; member Knights and Ladies of Honor, and Legion of Honor. Office: Lemp and Shenandoah Aves. Residence: 330G S. 13th St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRANDALL, Frank Wilber, vice president King, Brinsmade Mercantile Co., wholesale millinery; born, Sullivan, N. Y., Dec. 22, 1857; son of Warren D. and Lydia M. (Wilber) Crandall; educated in St. Louis public and high schools; married, St. Louis, Dec. 6, 1881, Mary G. Day; children: Harold W. Dorothy. At eighteen entered employ of wholesale dry goods firm of Simon & Gregory, continuing for twelve years; then with the Rice Stix Dry Goods Co. for about sixteen years; since Feb. 1, 1902, associated as vice president with the King, Brinsmade Mercantile Co., in the wholesale millinery trade. Member and chairman National Railroad Committee, Travelers Protective Association; chairman of Western Classification Committee of Millinery Jobbers' Association. Independent in politics. Office: 1701-1709 Washington Ave. Residence: Normandy Hills, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRANDALL, George Clinton, physician; born near Elgin, ILL., June 18, 1865; son of George W. and Caroline (Perry) Crandall; moved with parents at early age to Michigan; educated in country school, high school, and Michigan Agricultural College, Lansing, Mich., graduating B.S., 1887; M.D., Medical Department, University of Michigan, 1890; married, Syracuse, N. Y., May 18, 1895, Nellie Merry; one son: George Washington. Worked on farm and taught school, previous to beginning medical work; appointed, 1890, on medical staff Northern Michigan Asylum at Traverse City; resigned, 1894, to go abroad; spent a year and a half in hospitals of Europe; located in St. Louis, 1895, and appointed professor of general medicine in Marion Sims Medical College, and continues in same chair in Medical Department of St. Louis University; president consulting staff of St. Louis City Hospital; medical director of St. Louis Society for Relief and Prevention of Tuberculosis. Secretary and director St. Louis Dental College. Member National Society of Tropical Medicine, St. Louis Medical Society, Missouri State Medical Association, American Medical Association, American Medico-Psychological Association, Civic League, Citizens Industrial Association, Academy of Science. Clubs: Contemporary, City.   Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office and Residence: 3674 Lindell Boulevard.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRANE, Charles L., insurance; born, Rochester, Beaver Co., Pa., Nov. 13, 1861; son of Jonathan and Eliza M. (Reno) Crane; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, 1883, Emma E. Rockwell; children: Frank H., Helen, Charles L. Has been a resident of St. Louis since 1872; in insurance business since 1876; established firm of Charles L. Crane & Co., 1886, incorporated as Charles L. Crane Agency Co., 1909, and became president same; president Provident Loan and Securities Co.; President Underwriters' Salvage Corps, March, 1909, to March, 1911. Member Business Men's League, Civic League. Clubs: Mercantile, Missouri Athletic. Recreation: travel. Office: 1301 Pierce Bldg. Residence: 4512 Westminster Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRANE, Wilber Edgar, railway official; born, Warsaw, Hancock Co., ILL., Apr. 13, 1865; son of Calvin Church and Sarah (Chambers) Crane; educated public schools, Warsaw; married, New York City, Mar. 5, 1908, Estelle P. Barnwell, of Los Angeles, Cal.; one daughter: Jocelyn. Began in railway service as telegraph operator, Wabash, St. Louis & Pacific Rv., at Warsaw, ILL., 1883; operator Toledo, Peoria & Western Ry., at Hamilton, ILL., 1884-85, and operator same road, at Warsaw, ILL., 1885-88; in charge local freight office same road, at Peoria, ILL., 1888-89; cashier local freight office at Peoria, of Jacksonville Southeastern Line, 18S9-91; chief clerk general freight department same road, at Jacksonville, ILL., 1891-94; chief clerk Chicago, Peoria & St. Louis Ry., Jan. 1-Nov. 15, 1894; general freight agent Jacksonville, Louisville & St. Louis Ry. (now Jacksonville & St. Louis Ry.), 1894-1902, and general manager same road, 1902-04; coal traffic manager Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railway System, April to Dec. 15, 1904; general manager Ft. Smith & Western R. R., Dec. 15, 1904-05; vice president and general manager, 1905-08, and since 1908 vice president same road; also vice president St. Louis. El Reno & Western R. R.; president Illinois Steel Bridge Co., Walton & Co., Walton Stone Co.; receiver Sans Bois Coal Co., director Title Guaranty Trust Co. and American Trust Co., of St. Louis. Member Business Men's League. Democrat. Methodist. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner. Club: Bellerive Country. Recreation: golf. Office: 704 Title Guaranty Bldg. Residence: Hampton Park, St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRANFILL, James Harvey, manufacturer; born, Rockbridge, ILL., Aug. 21, 1862; son of Zachariah and Mary J. (Cato) Cranfill; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, 1890, Mary S. Page; one son: Pha. Began active career in printing business, with which was connected until 1889; then became identified with firm of F. Applegren, manufacturers of burnt sugar color, and since 1902 has engaged in same line of business on own account, as president J. H. Cranfill Manufacturing Co. Republican. Presbyterian. Scottish Rite Mason; member Keystone Lodge, No. 243, A. P. & A. M.; St. Louis Chapter, No. 1, R. A. M.; Moolah Temple, Mystic Shrine. Recreation: fishing. Office: 1(323 N. 7th St. Residence: 3832 Russell Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAWFORD, Cary Russell, vice president Moon Bros. Carriage Co.; born, Brown Co., O., Jan. 13, 1862; son of Jackson and Elizabeth (League) Crawford; educated in public schools of Brown Co.; married, St. Louis, April, 1890, Agnes Coleman. Came to St. Louis at twenty one years of age and secured employment with Moon Bros. Carriage Co.; advanced through various positions and was elected treasurer, 1893, later as secretary and treasurer and since 1900 has served as vice president; treasurer Moon Hopkins Billing Machine Co.; secretary and treasurer Landis Machine Co. Republican. Member St. Louis Legion of Honor. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Mercantile, Glen Echo Country. Recreations: golf, shooting. Office: 4900 McKissock Ave. Residence: 27 Lewis Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAWFORD, George Lacy, insurance; born, St. Louis, Nov. 29, 1870; son of James E. and Julia (Lyle) Crawford; educated in Smith Academy, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, June 18, 1895, Perlie Bevis; children: James E., Lida. Worked for National Bank of Commerce as assistant discount clerk, assistant paying teller, 1886-94; in 1894, with father, established firm of J. E. Crawford & Son, bond stock brokers, of which was the moving factor, and after death of father, October, 1901, was solo proprietor until 1908; since in general insurance. Member Business Men's League. Episcopalian. Mason (32°). member Missouri Chapter, R. A. M., Ascalon Commandery, Knights Templar, and Moolah Temple, Mystic Shrine; member Eagles, B. F. O. E. President St. Louis Horse Show; director Cardinal Baseball Club, St. Louis. Clubs: St. Louis, St. Louis Country, Racquet (president), Kingslake Hunting and Fishing. Recreations: horseback riding, hunting, fishing and motoring. Office: 1222 Pierce Bldg. Residence: 4231 W. Pine Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRAWFORD, Hanford; born, Ossining, N. Y., 1856; son of Rev. M. D'C. and Charlotte (Holmes) Crawford; educated in public schools and high schools of New York City and College of the City of New York, graduating 1875; married, New York City, 1886, Gertrude Smith; one daughter: Ruth. Began business career as clerk in wholesale men's furnishing goods house of Fisk, Clark & Flagg, New York City, continuing, 1868-71; then, after graduation from college, taught school in New York City, 1875-77; traveled abroad for four years; returned to the United States, and was connected with the Yale Observatory at New Haven, Conn., 1881-82; with James McCreery & Co., dry goods, New York City, 1883-99; came to St. Louis, 1899, and bought interest in the Scruggs, Vandervoort & Barney Dry Goods Co., and from 1905-11 was president of the company; now president Euston White Lead Co. President St. Louis Y. M. C. A. since Dec. 27, 1911. Member Merchants' Exchange. Director Boatmen's Bank, Business Men's League, Civic League, Louisiana Purchase Exposition Co., Y. M. C. A. Republican. Member M. E. Church. Member Delta Kappa Epsilon Fraternity. Clubs: St. Louis, Mercantile, Noonday, Methodist, St. Louis Country (St. Louis), University, and Aldine Association (New York). Becreation: traveling. Office: Security Bldg. Residence: 4442 Lindell Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CREECY, Edmond Perkins, retired; born, Pasquotank Co., N. C, Dec. 9, 1847; son of Col. Richard Benbury and Mary Brozier (Perkins) Creecy; educated mainly under instruction of his father; married, St. Louis, May 9, 1878, Margaret Preston Kendall (died Dec. 1, 1899); nine children: Richard B. (deceased), Frank (deceased), Prewitt, John B., Margaret P., Mary P., Sarah B., Edmond H., Ellen F. Served as private in Company A, Sixty-eighth North Carolina Infantry, March, 1863, until discharged, latter part of 1864, on account of physical disability; prisoner of war in federal prison six months. Removed to Omaha, Neb., 1869; engaged in civil engineering until 1876; member police force of St. Louis, 1877-81; division engineer New York, Texas & Mexico R. R., 1881-82, and then practiced engineering in southwest; rejoined police force, St. Louis, and acted as patrolman, 1885-95, sergeant, 1895-99, captain, 1899-1906, chief of police, St. Louis, 1906-10. Democrat. Episcopalian. Mason; member B. P. O. Elks. Residence: 6608 Marmaduke Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CREMER, John Cameron, lumberman; born, Milton, England, Sept. 12, 1872; son of William J. and Jane (Matthews) Cremer; educated, Kent County College, City of London College and Gresham College; married, St. Louis, December, 1906, Pauline Pollock (died April, 1908). Emigrated to America, 1893, and became connected with the Chicago Lumber Co. (now Chicago Lumber and Coal Co.), at Atchison, Kan.; removed to St. Louis when offices of the company were located in this city, 1896; advanced through various positions as bookkeeper, salesman, manager, auditor and director and comptroller same company; resigned and Oct. 1, 1911, organized the Cremer Lumber Co., of which is president; was director Surtzer Lumber Co., Fullerton-Powell Hardwood Lumber Co., Bradley Lumber Co., Fullerton-Stuart Lumber Co., etc., and comptroller Gulf Lumber Co., Gulf & Saline River R. R. Co., and auditor Warren Johnsville & Saline River R. R. Co.; resigned directorship of above named companies Mar. 1, 1912. Independent in politics. Episcopalian. Clubs: St. Louis, Mercantile, University, Normandic Golf (St. Louis), Chicago Athletic, Lumbermen's (Chicago). Recreation: golf. Office: 506 Olive St. Residence: St. Louis Club.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRENSHAW, John Holmes, osteopath; born, Amity, De Kalb Co., Mo., Aug. 11, 1877; son of Giles Young and Annie C. (Holmes) Crenshaw; graduated from Mayville (Mo.) High School, 1894, Birmingham (Ala.) Business College, February, 1897, American School of Osteopathy, Kirksville, Mo., June, 1899; married, St. Charles, Mo., Jan. 26, 1901, Clara May Stokes. Was employed by Charles Counselman & Co., grain merchants, of Chicago, ILL., conducting branch office for them at Mayville, Mo., buying grain, for one year; practiced osteopathy in Illinois one year, since in St. Louis. Member State Board of Osteopathic Registration and Examination, 1903-08, St. Louis Osteopathic Association, Missouri Osteopathic Association, American Osteopathic Association. Democrat. Residence: 957 Hamilton Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CREVELING, Hanley Clay, physician; born in St. Louis Co., Mo., July 4, 1873; son of James G. and Clementina (Hanley) Creveling; educated in public school of St. Louis Co., 1880-86; Smith Academy, 1887-89; Manual Training School, St. Louis, 1889-92; Missouri Medical College, 1892-95, M.D., 1895; married, St. Louis, Oct. 2, 1899, Katherine M. Robison; children: Marie Adele, Henry Clay, Jr. Began practice of medicine in St. Louis, in March, 1895; since 1902 has confined practice to specialty of nose, throat and car. Member American Medical Association, Missouri State Medical Association, St Louis Medical Society, Alumni 8ociety of Medical Department of Washington University, American Academy of Ophthalmology and Otolaryngology. Independent Democrat. Was second lieutenant Cadet Corps, Washington University, 1891-92. Member Cumberland Presbyterian. Recreation: poultry and live stock raising, Office; 324-329 Metropolitan Bldg„ Grand and Washington Aves. Residence: 102 Plant Ave., Webster Groves.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROAK, Michael Edward, proprietor clothing house; born, St. Louis, Aug. l, 1862; son of John and Hanora (Mahaney) Croak; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, 1889, Nellie O'Neil; children: Frank J., Edwin, Elmer, Josephine, Anthony O'Neil. Began business life as clerk with Atlantis and Pacific Telegraph Co., St. Louis, 1876, four months; clerk Star Clothing House, 1876-80, Finley & Hull Clothing House, 1880-86, F. W. Humphrey Clothing Co., 1886-95. Established M. E. Croak Tailoring Co., 1895, now conducts business under style of M. E. Croak & Co. Member Business Men's League. Democrat. Clubs: Missouri Amateur Athletic, City. Recreations: athletics, horseback riding and motoring. Office: 712 Washington Ave. Residence: 5127 Raymond Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRONE, Charles Christian, real estate; born, St. Louis, Mar. 12, 1851; son of Christopher and Elizabeth (Vogt) Crone; educated in public schools; married. St. Louis, Oct. 14, 1875, Wilma Kupferle; children: Estelle (wife of Dr. A. F. Koetter), Edward C. In real estate business in the North End since 1876; expert in real estate values in that section of the city. Republican, Ex-president of North St. Louis Citizens' Association; member of North St. Louis Business Men's Association. Mason; member Legion of Honor. Recreations: horseback riding and driving. Office: 3618 N. Broadway. Residence: 5226 Waterman Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROSSEN, Harry Sturgeon, surgeon; born in Appanoose Co., Ia., Feb. 2, 1869: son of James and Affinity (Sturgeon) Crossen; educated Siloam Springs (Ark.) Academy, 1885-88; Medical Department of Washington University, 1889-92, M.D., 1892; married, Oberlin, O., Mar. 28, 1895, Mary Frances Wright; children: Theodore W., Ruth V., Robert J., Virginia M., David F. Appointed junior assistant City Hospital, 1892, senior assistant, 1893, and six months later assistant superintendent City Hospital, which held until appointed by Mayor Walbridge, superintendent St. Louis Female Hospital; since 1899 engaged in private practice. Clinical professor of gynecology Washington University; gynecologist to Washington University Hospital, Bethesda Hospital, Mullanphy Hospital and Missouri Baptist Sanitarium. Member American Gynecological Society, American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, American Medical Association, St. Louis Medical Society, Medical Society of City Hospital Alumni. Republican. Methodist. Extensive contributor to medical literature of articles pertaining to gynecology and obstetrics. Recreation: hunting. Office: Metropolitan Bldg., Grand Ave. and Olive St. Residence: 5423 Bartmer Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROSSMAN, Clarence Campbell, vice president Skinner & Kennedy Stationery Co.; born, St. Louis, April 15, 1870; son of Robert Burns and Mary Frances (Finigin) Crossman; educated in St Louis public schools; married, St. Louis, Mar. 24, 1892, Jessie A. Williams; two children: Marie Frances and Grayce Leigh. Began business career with C. B. Woodward Printing Co., 1890, and continued to 1895; with Con. P. Curran Printing Co., 1895-97, Perrin & Smith Printing Co., 1897-1901; then engaged with Skinner & Kennedy Stationery Co., of which has been vice president since 1908. Expert rifle and revolver shot; won National Revolver Championship, 1911; established world's revolver record (highest possible score), 1907; also numerous state championships, and many trophies. Member National Rifle Association, Missouri State Rifle Association (secretary), United States Revolver Association (vice president), Colonial Revolver Club, St. Louis Revolver Club. Since 1908 associated with Colonel Spencer, First Infantry, Missouri National Guard, trying to increase efficiency of militia as well as to instruct civilians in rifle practice. Republican. Presbyterian. Mason. Office: 312 N. Broadway. Residence: Forsythe Boul., Clayton, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROUCH, Thomas W., retired; born, Indianapolis, Mar. 6, 1854; son of George W. and Martha E. (Ramsey) Crouch; educated at Mountbelle Academy, Nashville, Tenn.; married, Winchester, ILL., 1878, Nellie B. Simms; children: Lloyd F., Thomas W., Jr., Mrs. Irene Crouch Williams, Nellie B. (Mrs. Thomas W. Carter, Jr.). Began business career as a member of the firm of George W. Crouch & Sons, dealers in horses and mules, and later of Maxwell-Crouch Mule Co., of which is treasurer; president St. Louis Dressed Beef and Provision Co., 1902-10, and director in various other stock yards and ranching interests; vice president Illinois State Trust Co., and director in various other corporations. Was president of Colonial Trust Co. until the company merged with the Commonwealth Trust Co., of which is now vice president. Member Tennessee Society. Baptist. Clubs: Mercantile, St. Louis, Glen Echo (life), Noonday. Recreation: traveling. Office: Commonwealth Trust Co. Residence: 4001 Delmar Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROW, Edward Coke, lawyer; born, Oregon, Holt Co., Mo., Dec. 19, 1862; son of George W. and Elizabeth Hopkins (Barnes) Crow; educated in public schools and graduated at public high school, Carthage, Mo.; graduated from Law Department, Washington University, St. Louis, 1880; married, Marshall, Mo., Sept. 14, 1889, Gussie Hanna; children: Edward H., Margaret E., Tanye C, Gussie, W. R. Admitted to Missouri bar in 1881, and has been in practice ever since. Was appointed and then elected city attorney of Webb City, Mo., 1893; in 1896 appointed circuit judge of the circuit composed of Lawrence and Jasper counties, Mo.; nominated and elected on Democratic ticket, 1896, and re-nominated and reelected in 1900, attorney general of Missouri, serving eight years; opened an office in St. Louis, Jan. 10, 1905, and now engaged in law practice in this city. Served nine years in National Guard of Missouri. Office: 717-718 Wainwright Bldg. Residence: Eureka, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CROWDUS, James Caldwell, wool and hides; born in Marion Co., Ky., Aug. 15, 1860; son of Matthew W. and Phoebe Elizabeth (Caldwell) Crowdus; educated in public schools; married, Fort Wadsworth, Staten Island, N. Y., Oct. 4, 1893, Elizabeth G. Elliott; children: Jeannette Elliott, James A., William Warren, Walter. First engaged in the wool and hide business at Weatherford, Tex., 1878; removed to Fort Worth, Tex., 1885, and to St. Louis in 1886, as a member of the firm of E. S. Brooks & Co., to which firm succeeded in 1892; since then has conducted a wholesale business in hides and wool under the firm name of J. C. Crowdus & Co. Also president of Janus Realty Co. Independent Democrat. Club: Mercantile. Recreation: fishing. Office: 104-106 N. Main St. Residence: 5047 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CRUNDEN, Frank Payne, president of Crunden-Martin Woodenware Co.; born, St. Louis, May 18, 1859; son of Benjamin R. and Mary (Morgan) Crunden; educated in St. Louis High School; married, Keokuk,
Ia., Aug. 25, 1887, Elizabeth Chittenden; children: Walter M., Mary B., Elizabeth B., Arthur C, Katherine. Entered woodenware business with Udell, Schmieding & Co., 1876; started for self, 1884, in firm of Udell & Crunden, and in 1891 reorganized business as Crunden-Martin Woodenware Co., jobbers of woodenware and manufacturers of Diamond paper bags, of which is president. Also president Conzelman-Crunden Realty Co. Independent Democrat. Clubs: St. Louis, Racquet, City, Country, Artists' Guild. Recreation: golf. Office: 2d and Gratiot Sts. Residence: 4426 Westminster Pl.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CULBERTSON, Stephen Duncan, jeweler; born in Perry Co., Pa., Oct. 12, 1846; son of David Hayes and Mary Galbraith (Linn) Culbertson; removed to Philadelphia, 1849; to Princeton, la., 1860; to Carroll Co., Ia., 1869; educated in public and private schools, Princeton, Ia., and Monmouth (ILL.) College; married, Princeton, Feb. 1, 1872, Mary Eliza Hess; children: Stephen Roy, Robert Hayes, Cornelia May, Ethel Burchard, Rolla McCloskey and Linn Nicolls. Left college in 1869, to engage in stock business in Carroll Co., Ia. In 1883 formed partnership with George J. Hess in jewelry business in St. Louis, and the business was incorporated Mar. 2, 1904, as the Hess & Culbertson Jewelry Co., of which is vice president and treasurer. Republican. Presbyterian. Scottish Rite Mason, Knight Tempfar, Shriner; member Royal Arcanum, St. Louis Legion of Honor, Royal League. Club: Mercantile. Office: 501 N. 7th St. Residence: 5060 Raymond Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CULLEN, Michael James, undertaker; born, Ireland, Apr. 16, 1850; son of James and Ellen (Prendergast) Cullen; educated parochial schools of St. Louis; St. Louis University; Franklin (public.) School; Central High School, graduating in English, French and German; married, St. Louis, Nov. 28, 1911, Josie Henebery. Came to America, 1850, at the age of nine months; entered livery, boarding and undertaking business Feb. 18, 1869, but later gave attention exclusively to embalming and undertaking; now at head of the firm of Cullen & Kelly, owning one of the largest and most completely appointed establishments of the kind in the country; also the oldest firm in the city as regards continuous partnership, having existed forty-two years. Member undertakers' local and state associations; delegate to National Convention of Undertakers, 1876, also to state conventions. Democrat. Catholic. Member Mullanphy Emigrant Board six years. Member Ancient Order United Workmen, Ancient Order of Hibernians, Royal Arcanum, Ben Hur, Catholic Knights of America, Knights of Columbus. Clubs: Democratic, Irish-American Athletic, Hibernian Athletic. Recreation: traveling. Office: 2735 Cass Ave. Residence: 2731 Cass Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CULLINAN, George Evans, manager Western Electric Co.; born, Geneseo, N. Y., Aug. 5, 1878; son of Daniel C. and Mary (Evans) Cullinan; was graduated at Geneseo State Normal School, collegiate course, 1896, teachers' course, 1897; B.A., Williams College, Mass., 1901; married, Williamstown, Mass., Oct. 30, 1905, Mary E. Neyland; three children: Alary E., George E., Jr., Dorothy. Has been identified with Western Electric Co. continuously since 1901; began as stock clerk and became, successively, employment agent, shipping clerk and assistant traffic manager; came to St. Louis, October, 1907, as assistant manager and was made manager, May, 1909; was assistant manager same company at Chicago for three months in 1910, returning to St. Louis as manager Jan. 1, 1911; also director and vice president Western Electric Co. of Missouri since 1909. Roman Catholic. Member Business Men's League of St. Louis, also of Webster Groves. Clubs: Mercantile, City, Algonquin Golf. Was member Williams College football team for four years, also member of Williams College track team for four years. Recreation: golf. Office: 814 Spruce St. Residence: 68 Marshall PL, Webster Groves, Missouri.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CULVER, William Wallace, retired; born near Columbus, in Franklin Co., O., July 30, 1835; son of John Milton and Lydia E. (Howard) Culver; attended district school in winter, worked on farm in summer; married, 1869, Anna Amelia Scott, of Bowling Green, Ky. (who is now deceased); children; Lucius F.", Stella Nora (now Mrs. C. C. Nichols), Anna Laura (deceased), Wallace C.; married, 2d, 1878, Caroline Louise Cleaveland, of Plymouth, Ind. (who is also deceased). Went from Ohio to Decatur, ILL., 1851, but returned same year and worked as carpenter at Decatur, Onarga and Springfield; came to St. Louis, 1856, but could not find work, and returned to Illinois; worked at Brighton until engaged to sell patent smoothing irons; the following fall employed by John McCreery to sell stoves from wagon, with whom remained six years; took course in Bryant & Stratton's Commercial College, Chicago, 1860; voted for Abraham Lincoln there; began selling stoves for himself at Connersville, Ind., 1862; moved to Shawneetown, ILL., 1865, where firm of Culver Bros, was established. Sold stoves in Iowa, Missouri and Kentucky until 1869, then moved to Kansas City; returned to Kentucky, 1870; firm located in St. Louis, 1874. Became president Wrought Iron Range Co, (established 1880), but after death of brothers retired from the business. Founded, 1903, Asbestos Manufacturing and Roofing Co., of which was president until 1905; now conducting own real estate interests. Republican. Member First Congregational Church. Mason. Office: Culver Bldg. Residence: 5933 W. Cabanne Pl
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUMING, James Spencer, president Central Telephone and Electric Co.; born, St. Louis, May 6, 1872; son of George Edward and Emma M. (Powers) Cuming; educated in St. Louis common schools and passed examination for high school; married, St. Louis, June 26, 1895, Edna Earl Pleasants; children: Georgia Edna, Frances Marie. Started in wholesale grocery business, 1887, with Krafft-Holmes Grocery Co., and continued nine years; then bought interest in D. A. Kusel Telephone Manufacturing Co.; after three years bought out partner and incorporated, December, 1898, as the Central Telephone and Electric Co., of which is president. Republican (independent). English Lutheran. Member of various telephone associations, national and state. Recreation: bowling. Office: 310 N. 11th St. Residence: 18 Parkland PL
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUMMINGS, Campbell, lawyer; born, New Orleans, La., Aug. 20, 1871; son of Dr. John C. and Victoria A. (Nicholson) Cummings; graduated from Manual Training School of Washington University, 1890; A.B., Washington University, 1894; LL.B., St. Louis Law School, 1896; unmarried. Admitted to bar of Missouri in 1896 and to U. S. Supreme Court, 1912; assistant attorney general of Missouri, 1911-13, Member St. Louis Bar Association, St. Louis Law Library Association, Phi Delta Theta, Phi Delta Phi. Club: Century Boat. Office: 801 Times Bldg. Residence: 4328A Lindell Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUMMINGS, Henry Joseph, physician; born, St. Louis, Dee. 31, 1866; son of John K. and Annie M. (Mullin) Cummings; educated at St. Michael's School, St. Louis, 1873-77; St. Louis University, 1877-84; Trinity University, Toronto, Can., 1886-89, receiving degrees of M.D. and CM.; Middlesex College, London, 1889-92; member Royal College of Surgeons of England, 1892; licentiate Royal College of Physicians of London, Eng., 1892; married, May 30, 1894, Jane Hay, of Saginaw, Mich.; four children: James H., Jane H., John K. and Harriet. Engaged in practice of medicine in St. Louis since 1893. Member St. Louis Medical Society, American Medical Association; member visiting staff City Hospital. Formerly professor of medicine, Barnes University. Member Knights of Columbus. Catholic. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Dardenne Shooting. Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office: Metropolitan Bldg. Residence: 1201 Grand Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUNNINGHAM, Albert Deering, secretary Board of Trustees of the Missouri Botanical Garden, etc.; born, Morganfield, Ky., Oct. 11, 1848; son of Rev. John W. and Samantha (Ingram) Cunningham; educated in public schools of Kentucky; married, St. Louis, Oct. 28, 1880, Georgia Lee; one son: Albert Lee. Began business career in dry goods store in Owensboro, Ky.; later in book store in Louisville, Ky., then with the Methodist Publishing House at Nashville, Tenn., and in 1869, in St. Louis, with Southwestern Book and Publishing Co., continuing until 1874; manager Belvidere Hotel, 8t. Louis, 1875; cashier, Gray, Baker Book and Stationery Co., St. Louis, 1876-77; publisher 8t. Louis Grocer, 1878-79; secretary Belcher Sugar Refining Co., 1880-89; since 1889 secretary of the Board of Trustees of Missouri Botanical Garden and business manager of the estate of the late Henry Shaw, devised to the Board of Trustees of the Missouri Botanical Garden for the support of the Missouri Botanical Garden, commonly known as Shaw's Garden. Member Civic League. Methodist. Republican. Was noncommissioned officer of engineer corps, Missouri State Militia. Recreation: gardening. Office: 415 Pine St. Residence: 5865 Von Versen Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUNNINGHAM, Andrew Oswald, chief engineer Wabash Railroad Co.; born, Rangoon, British Burmah, July 8, 1866; son of Gen. Percy S. (British Army) and Annie Sarah (Stroud) Cunningham;  educated  at South Eastern College, England, 1879-83; came to United States, 1883; student University of Minnesota, 1890-94, B.C.E., 1894; married, St. Louis, July 11, 1903, Georgia Townsend Quinn. Engaged as rodman and leveler with Northern Pacific R. R., 1886-88; land surveyor in North Dakota, 1890-91; student at university, and during same time engaged in making insurance maps of the city of Minneapolis, Minn., and shop drawings for Gillette-Herzog Manufacturing Co., 1891-94; draftsman, 1894-95, assistant engineer, 1895-96, Gillette-Herzog Manufacturing Co., genera] contracting and engineering, and southern agent for Schultz Bridge and Iron Co., of Pittsburgh, Pa., 1896-98; with Pittsburgh Reduction Co., designing improvements in old buildings at Niagara Falls and making designs for new buildings and improvements at New Kensington Works, 1898-99; in general consulting and civil engineering business, associated with others under name of Pennsylvania Engineering Co., Pittsburgh, designing and making shop drawings for buildings, bridges, coal tipples, head frames, etc., 1899-1900; contracting manager at Cleveland, O., in charge of estimates, designs and bids, for American Bridge Co,, 190O-02; bridge engineer Wabash Railroad Co., 1902-05; chief engineer same road since 1905. Member American Society of Civil Engineers, National Geographical Society, St. Louis Engineers' Club. Republican. Episcopalian. Club: Triple A. Recreations: golf and cricket. Office: 828 Title Guaranty Bldg. Residence: 6334 Berlin Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUNNINGHAM, Jesse, municipal reference librarian; born, Lebanon, Ind., May 24, 1882; son of William Alexander and Mary Catherine (Sicks) Cunningham; educated Indiana University, Bloomington, Ind., 1901-05; A.B., University of Nebraska, 1906; B.L.S., New York State Library School, Albany, 1910; unmarried. Reference assistant, Indiana University Library, 1901-05; reference assistant in library of University of Nebraska, 1905-06; law librarian, same, 1906-07; assistant in Law Department, New York State Library, 1908-11; municipal reference librarian, St. Louis Public Library, since July 10, 1911. Member Christian (Disciples) Church. Member American Library Association, Missouri State Library Association, Delta Tau Delta. Club: City. Recreations: tennis, baseball. Contributor to National Municipal Review. Office: Room 206 City Hall. Residence: 3700 Humphrey St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUNNINGHAM, P. J., wholesale woolens; born, Bryansford, County Down, Ireland, Jan. 14, 1850: son of John and Sarah (Grant) Cunningham; educated in national schools in Ireland; married, Pittsburgh, Pa., June 15, 1875, Ella Robinson; children: Katherine, Grace, Will, Carrie, John, Arline. Began in woolen business in Chicago in 1869; moved to St. Louis 1880 selling Chicago business and opened in St. Louis as a wholesale dealer in woolens; now president Cunningham Bros Woolen Co., branch stores in St. Paul and Kansas City, Republican. Roman Catholic Club: Mercantile Office: 505 N 7 St Residence: Jefferson Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURLEE, Francis Marion, lawyer; born, Corinth, Miss., Feb. 1, 1877; son of William Peyton and Mary (Boone) Curlee; educated in Academic Department University of Mississippi, 2 1/2 years; matriculated in Law Department same university, graduating with degree of LL.B., June, 1902; unmarried. Admitted to Mississippi bar, 1902, and began practice at Corinth, Miss.; removed to St. Louis, 1906, and has since engaged in practice in this city. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Democrat. Member Delta Psi college fraternity. Mason. Clubs: Mercantile,
Normandie Golf, Automobile. Recreations: golf and motoring. Office: 1306-1310 Wright Bldg. Residence: 5724 Chamberlain Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURLEE, John Rufus, wholesale dry goods merchant; born, Rienzi, Miss., Mar. 22, 1864; son of John McFerrin and Sarah (Norfleet) Curlee; educated in public schools and three year course at Gibson College; married, Marietta, Miss., Dec. 28, 1887, Luna Rogers; children: Eleanor, Katherine, John, Eila. Began St. Louis career as a stock clerk with Crow, Hargadine & Co., Jan. 15, 1886; after two years began traveling in the Indian Territory for Janis, Saunders & Co.; was admitted to a partnership in two years, and, on consolidation of that firm with Wear & Boogher Dry Goods Co., was made director in the company, and afterward treasurer; now secretary of Carleton Dry Goods Co., successors to Wear & Boogher Co. Also vice president and director Curlee Clothing Co. and of Bank of Boonville. Member Business Men's League, St. Louis Cotton Exchange. Democrat. Baptist. Member Mississippi Society. Clubs; Mercantile, Glen Echo Country (ex-secretary), Algonquin, St. Louis Automobile. Recreations: golf, motoring and farming. Office: 12th St. and Washington Ave. Residence: Kirkwood, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURLEE, Shelby Hammond, clothing manufacturer; born, Corinth, Miss., Aug. 29, 1868; son of William P. and Mary (Boone) Curlee; educated in public schools of Mississippi; married, Corinth, Miss., June 7, 1893, Luella Duncan: one son, S. H. Jr. Began business career as traveling salesman for Janis, Saunders & Co., dry goods, St. Louis, covering Texas and Indian Territory, 1890-97; in 1897 joined in organizing the Corinth Clothing Manufacturing Co., of which was vice president and general manager; in 1000 joined in organization of the Corinth Woolen Mills, manufacturers of pants and children's clothing, of which was president until 1909, when firm name was changed to Curlee Clothing Co., of which is president. Member Business Men's League. Mason, Knight Templar, Shriner. Club: Mercantile. Office: 1128-1130 Washington Ave. Residence: 5724 Chamberlain Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURRAN, Cornelius P., printer; born, London, England, Jan. 9, 1866; son of Florence and Bridget (Keenoy) Curran; came to St. Louis in childhood; educated in St. Patrick's (parochial) School and St. Patrick's Academy, taught by Christian Brothers; graduated from academy, 1878; married, St. Louis, 18S5, Margaret Ann Scully; eight children: Genevieve (Mrs. F. W. Corley), Abigail, Margaret, Cornelius P., Florence, John, Eugene Philpot and Marie June. On leaving school, at age of twelve, engaged in business as huckster, but, finding that life distasteful, apprenticed himself to a wagon blacksmith, with whom remained ten months; then was in employ of Rohan Bros. Boiler Works Co., until tendered, in 1882, position of copyholder at $4.50 per week with Chambers, Davis & Fraegard Printing Co. Entered service of Samuel F. Myerson, printer, 1884; took charge of business and remained five years; then with Noble & Fox, printers; bought Mr. Noble's interest, 1891, and Mr. Fox's, 1894, and incorporated the business as the Con. P. Curran Printing Co., of which is president and treasurer. President Bankers' and Attorneys' Publishing Co., publishers of Con. P. Curran Directory of Bankers and Attorneys; also president A. O. H. Investment Co. Member Business Men's League, Civic League, Sales managers Association of St. Louis, Advertising Men's League, Merchants' Exchange, St. Louis Credit Men's Association. Catholic. Democrat. Member Legion of Honor, National Union, Ancient Order of Hibernians, Knights of Columbus. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Mercantile, Commercial, City, St. Louis Railway, The Traffic. Favorite recreation: motoring. Office: corner 8th and Walnut Sts. Residence: Normandy, St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURRAN, John Howard, land development; born, Maquoketa, Ia., May 17, 1871; son of John Philpot and Minerva Jane (Burnet) Curran; graduated from Parsons (Kan.) High School, May 1, 1887; married, Bismarck, Mo., Jan. 27, 1907, Pearl Lenore Pollard; one daughter : Julia Francis. Carried morning papers, Parsons, Kan., 1882-85; cowboy, 1885-91; timber inspector, 1892-97; in politics, 1897-1900; creamery superintendent, Topeka, 1900-04; manager creamery, St. Louis, 1905-09; in land development and investments since 1910; secretary Haight Orchard and Development Co. Democrat; secretary Labette Co. (Kan.) Fusion Committee, 1898-1900, Fusion State Committee, Kansas, 1900-04; Democratic candidate for secretary of state, Kansas, 1904 (defeated); appointed immigration commissioner of Missouri, by Gov. Hadley, 1909, served nearly two years, resigned. President National Land Exposition Co.; secretary National Farm Homes Association; member Knights of Pythias, Elks. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, City, St. Louis Athletic, Arcadia Country (president), etc. Author: The Business Man Pack to Land, 1910; The People and the Railroads, 1911. Recreations: handball, golf, boating. Office: 628-629 Central National Bank Bldg. Residence: 5210 Ridge Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURRIE, Dwight D., lawyer; born, St. Louis. Jan, 11, 1881; son of Daniel McNeil and Martha (Dent) Currie; received preliminary education in public and private schools; LL.B., St. Louis Law School (Law Department of Washington University), June 20, 1901; unmarried. Admitted to Missouri bar, Jan. 11, 1902, and has since practiced at St. Louis. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Democrat. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, City, Amateur Athletic Association. Recreations: golf, handball. Office: 1305-1310 Third National Bank Bldg. Residence: 4301 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUBBY, Charles Clemens, lumberman; born, Louisville, Ky., Aug. 29, 1874; Son of George Wilson and Laura (McClaran) Curry; educated in St. Louis public schools; unmarried. Began business career as office boy with Samuel Cupples Wooden Ware Co., June 1, to June 30, 1890; clerk with Schulenburg & Boeckeler Lumber Co., 1890-94; salesman St. Louis Refrigerator and Wooden Gutter Co. (name changed to Grayson-McLeod Lumber Co.), 1894-1900; department manager Louis Werner Saw Mill Co., 1900-02: vice president and general manager of the Valley Lumber Co., 1903-08; since in wholesale lumber business for self. Republican. Office: Wright Bldg. Residence: 5033 Julian Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURTICE, Charles Christian, district passenger agent Pennsylvania Lines; born, Big Springs, Va., Aug. 21, 1854; son of Homer and Orpha Gillman (Babcock) Curtice; educated at Kenosha (Wis.) High School and Lake Forest (ILL.) University to 1875; married, Indianapolis, Ind., Sept. 15, 1876, Jennie Heed; one son: Homer Matilock; married, 2d, Washington, D. C, Oct. 11, 1888, Addie Beals; one daughter: Hila Aline. Entered service of Vandalia Line, Sept. 1, 1875, as brakeman until Sept. 16, 1875; then baggage master, September, 1875, to July, 1877, freight conductor, 1877-80, passenger conductor, 1880-87; Southwestern passenger agent at Ft. Worth, Tex., 1887-95; city passenger agent, St. Louis, 189:5-1905; since May, 1905, district passenger agent Pennsylvania Lines, at St. Louis. Republican. Senior warden at Church of The Redeemer (Episcopal). Mason (32°); member Ascalon
Commandery, Knights Templar (Quartermaster), Indiana Consistory, Moolah Temple, Mystic Shrine. Clubs: Mercantile, Church (treasurer), The Traffic of St. Louis, Dallas (Dallas, Tex.). Recreation: fishing. Office: 10th and Olive Sts. Residence: 5164 Waterman Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURTIS, Samuel, superintendent embossing department George D. Barnard Printing Co.; born, Mystic, Conn., Nov. 11, 1865; son of Thomas C. and Phoebe J. (Wheeler) Curtis; educated in public schools to sixteen; married, Chicago, June 30, 1890, Mollie Fitzgerald. Employed in various capacities in the East until twenty-one years of age; came to St. Louis, 1887, and has since been identified with the George D. Barnard Printing Co,, serving as superintendent of the embossing department since 1888; organized and was first president of Modern Machine Co., of Belleville, ILL., manufacturers of the Curtis embossing presses; has been a director of the company since 1912. Republican. Recreation: hunting. Office: 3845 Laclede Ave. Residence: 14 S. Sarah St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURTIS, William S., educator; born, Newport, Wayne Co., Ind., 1850; son of William C. and Elizabeth R. (Harker) Curtis; educated McKendree College, 1869-70; A.B., Washington University, 1873; LL.B., St. Louis Law School, 1876 (LL.B., 1905); married, St. Louis, 1881, Hope Goodson; one son: Edward G. Practiced law, Omaha, Neb., 1876-94; dean St. Louis Law School (Law Department, Washington University) since 1894. Delegate Universal Congress of Lawyers and Jurists, St. Louis, 1904; member American, Missouri State and St. Louis Bar associations, Missouri Historical Society, St. Louis Academy of Science. Unitarian. Independent in politics. Clubs: University, Round Table. Recreation: farming. Office and Residence: Washington University.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CURTRIGHT, Henry T, manager Oliver Chilled Plow Works; born in Boone Co., near Columbia, Mo., Sept. 11, 1856; son of William H. and Catherine E. (Jenkins) Curtright; educated in country schools until fourteen, then in preparatory and collegiate departments of Missouri State University, graduating A.B., 1878; married, St. Louis, June 12, 1888, Alma Farris; one child: Henry Farris (died 1895). After graduation taught in public schools of Boone and Clinton counties, Mo.; came to St. Louis, Apr. 1, 1882, entering employ of branch of the Champion Machine Co., of Springfield, O., traveling in harvester business six years; then for three years with P. P. Mast & Co., Springfield, from Peoria, ILL. branch of the company, of which was manager one year; than sales manager at home office, in Springfield, O., three years; manager St. Louis branch F. E. Myers & Bro., Ashland, O., and Bucher & Gibbs Plow Co., Canton, O., until October, 1899;  came to Oliver Chilled Plow Works, for which traveled three years; since October, 1902, manager St. Louis branch house. Member Implement, Vehicle and Hardware Association of St. Louis. Democrat, Member of Christian (Disciples) Church. Office: 2516-2522 N. Broadway. Residence: 5100 Raymond Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUSHING, Charles Clarence, vinegar and cider; born, New York City, June 7, 1857; son of John and Mary Cushing; removed to St. Louis, 1869; educated in St. Louis public schools; married, St. Louis, Oct. 4, 1881, Lula A. Shepherd; children: Fay Olive, Clarence C. Began business career, 1873, as shipping clerk for James Cushing & Co., vinegar manufacturers, Dubuque, Ia.; established branch for same firm at St. Louis, 1893, as manager, and in 1897 purchased the business, which has since conducted as C. C. Cushing & Co., proprietors of St. Louis Vinegar Co., manufacturers of vinegar and cider. Republican. Unitarian. Mason; member Odd Fellows, Knights of Pythias. Office: 615 N. Main St. Residence: Webster Groves, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


CUTHBERT, Charles McIntosh, secretary and treasurer Branch Saw Co.; born, St. Louis, May 21, 1849; son of Samuel and Eugenia (Jones) Cuthbert; educated in public schools and City (Wyman's) University, graduating from latter in 1865; married, St. Louis, Oct. 25, 1877, Lily D. Morgan; children: Olive Morgan (wife of Dr, F, T, Fahlen), Charles Morgan. Was clerk with U. S. Express Co., 1865-66; went with Gilkeson & Sloss, 1866, and was secretary, from incorporation, 1883, to dissolution, 1896, of Gilkeson-Sloss Commission Co.; secretary and treasurer Branch Saw Co. since December, 1897. independent in polities. Presbyterian. Member Sons of the Revolution, Society of Colonial Wars, Royal Arcanum, Legion of Honor, Royal League. Office: 3000 N. Broadway. Residence: 5525 Bartmer Avenue,
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)



Return to

St. Louis County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.