Welcome to
St. Louis County
Missouri
Missouri Genealogy Trails

Biographies
" D "

D'AROY, Edward, lawyer; born, St. Louis, Jan. 8, 1875; son of Henry I. and Harriet Lombard (Cheever) D'Arcy; educated in Peabody School, four years; private school at Portarlington, Ireland, one year; St. Louis University about five years; Washington University, LL.B., 1900; unmarried. Was stenographer Medart Patent Pulley Co., 1891, stenographer, George A. Madill, 1892, Wiggins Perry Co., 1894; clerk U. S. Local Inspectors of Steam Vessels, St. Louis, 1895; admitted to bar, St. Louis, on examination before Circuit Court, October, 1899, and since engaged in practice. Member of St. Louis and American Bar associations. Secretary Manhattan Lead and Land Co. Member Ethical Society. Member Blackstone Society. Trustee McKendree College, Lebanon, ILL. Clubs: Contemporary, City. Office: 724 Rialto Bldg. Residence: 5884 Bartmer Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


D'OENCH, Guido, retired banker; born, near Liegnitz, Prussia, June 22, 1839; son of Rudolph and Adelheid D'Oench; educated in Germany and at college in Texas; married, St. Louis, 1869, Pauline Limberger (now deceased); two children: Lyda and Elizabeth F. Came to St. Louis from Texas in 1857, and was engaged in mercantile pursuits from 1858 until about 1866; then in banking, first with the Bank of the West, then for ten years as cashier of the South Side Bank; cashier of the Lowell Bank, May, 1905-08, when retired. Director of the Pocahontas Mining Co. Member of the Merchants' Exchange. Odd Fellow. Recreations: gardening and walking. Residence: 4914 S. Broadway.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


D'OENCH, Richard, hardware merchant; born, Liegnitz, Germany, July 1, 1843; son of Rudolph and Adelheid (Roessler) D'Oench; came with parents from Germany to Texas, in 1850; educated in Texas schools; located in St. Louis, 1860, and was employed with wholesale grocery firm of Meyer & Meister, first as shipping clerk and later as traveling salesman, 1860-67; started in wholesale woodenware business under firm name of Schmieding, D'Oench & Co., February, 1867, and continued until Jan. 1, 1879, when sold out interest in that business and became secretary of the Witte Hardware Co., St. Louis, from which retired, Jan. 1, 1896; since fall of 1896 engaged as manufacturers' agent and dealer in hardware specialties. Director Missouri Crematory Association, St. Louis Altenheim. Republican. Member Liederkranz, Royal Arcanum, National Union. Office: 309 Olive St. Residence: 4914 8. Broadway.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


D'OENCH, William, vice president Friedman Shelby Shoe Co.; born, St. Louis, June 21, 1860; son of William and Marie (Braasch) D'Oench; educated in public schools of St. Louis and Washington University until 1872; Realschule, Stuttgart, Wurtemburg, Germany, 1872-78; returned to United States in September, 1878; married, Jefferson City, Mo., Dec. 16, 1885, Nannie Bishop Berry; one daughter: Virginia Marie (Mrs. G. Pagenstecher, New York). Began as clerk for hardware broker in New York City, and after a few months entered employ of Giesecke, Meysenburg & Co., of St. Louis, working in factory at Jefferson City, Mo., January, 1879; became one of incorporators of the Giesecke Boot and Shoe Manufacturing Co., of Jefferson City, 1881, and secretary until 1898; organized the D'Oench. Hays Shoe Co., of Jeffersonville, Ind.; in 1901 consolidated D'Oench-Hays Shoe Co. and the Giesecke Boot and Shoe Manufacturing Co. as the Giesecke, D'Oench, Hays Shoe Co., of which was president until Feb. 1, 1910, when this company was merged with the Friedman Shelby Shoe Co. and he became vice president. Democrat. Office: 1621 Washington Ave. Residence: 5503 Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DACEY, James Aloysius, wholesale fruit and produce; born, St. Louis, Sept. 25, 1865; son of Patrick and Catherine (Cusack) Dacey; public school education; married, St. Louis, May 10,1893, Louisa L. Pohle; three children: Kathleen, James A., Jr., and Elizabeth. Began in wholesale fruit and produce business at St. Louis, 1885, and has ever since been identified closely with that line; proprietor of Dacey & Co., fruits and produce. Member Merchants' Exchange, St. Louis Fruit and Produce Exchange. Member House of Delegates two terms, 1891-95. Democrat. Catholic. Member Knights of Columbus. Recreations: traveling, motoring. Office: 1209-1211 N. Broadway. Residence: 4565 Easton Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DALLMEYER, Herman, dry goods; born, Hanover, Germany, Mar. 16, 1846; son of Rudolph and Pauline (Horst) Dallmeyer; educated in private school in native land; married, St. Louis, 1867, Louise Prasse (died 1898); 2d, St. Louis, Apr. 5, 1900, Mrs. Pauline Goetsch. Came to America, 1862; in employ of brother in general store at Cooperhill, Mo., for three months; removed to St. Louis, March, 1863, and became connected with dry goods firm of Nieman & Co., continuing until 1868; then entered business on own account at 1301 Franklin Ave., three years later forming partnership under title of Dallmeyer & Koestring, which was subsequently dissolved; since in business in own name. Republican. Member Evangelical Protestant Church. Director German Protestant Orphans' Home. Office: 1237 Franklin Ave. Residence: 2902 Dickson St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DALY, Charles Joseph, real estate; born, St. Louis, July 1, 1871; son of John J. and Catherine (Whyte) Daly; educated in private school and St. Louis University; graduated from St. Louis Law School, LL.B., 1896; married, St. Louis, July 10, 1900, Mary E. Maginnis; children: Elizabeth, Charles J., Louise Brook, John J., Richard and Kathleen Ann. Began in employ of Pullman Palace Car Co., then for short time in post office. On Aug. 1, 1890, entered service of Joseph P. Whyte, and on Apr. 26, 1901, became vice president and treasurer or Joseph P. Whyte Real Estate Co.; with real estate department Commonwealth Trust Co. since June 5, 1912. Member of the Real Estate Exchange. Democrat. Catholic. Office: Commonwealth Trust Co. Residence: 5937 Julian Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DALZELL, Benjamin Wilson, life insurance; born, Eldorado Co., Cal., Oct. 26, 1866; son of David F. and Marietta (Wilson) Dalzell, the former reared at Penn's Manor, Bucks Co., Pa., and the latter a lineal descendant of John Hancock, Daniel Boone and "Uncle Sam” Wilson; weighed 3 1/2 pounds when born and was passed around on a dinner plate before a tribe of Indians, in California; crossed the Isthmus of Panama on a burro when a child; educated Friends College of Philadelphia; Jerseyville ILL high School; International College, St. Louis; studied law, medicine and elocution and excelled as a young man in amateur theatricals; married, St. Louis, Apr. 22, 1890, Eugenia Lambert (died 1904); three children, one son, Benjamin, now living; married, 2d, St. Louis, 1909, Florence Taylor. Engaged in real estate business with B. F. Hammett, St. Louis, 1887-90; then in same line of business for self; state superintendent Insurance Department, Knights of Pythias, since 1896. Republican; stumped State of Missouri in both of the McKinley campaigns and was offered consulship by President McKinley, but declined. Member Free Bridge Committee, St. Louis. Clubs: Million Population, Damon (a club of Pythians), Willow Slough Hunting. Owns a hunting lodge on the Mississippi River, and a launch thirty-six feet long. Author: A Few Thoughts for a Few Friends (containing poems, essays and excerpts of speeches), 1906. Recreations: reading, hunting, fishing and motoring. Office: 702 Carleton Bldg. Residence: 4128 Morgan Street.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAME, James Ebeneser, lawyer; born, Princeton, Ind., Dec. 29, 1872; son of Daniel Webster and Agnes (McMillan) Dame; graduated from Wabash College, Crawfordsville, Ind., A.B., 1895; A.M., 1901, Washington University, St. Louis, LL.B., 1899; married, Lila Belle Gelwicks, of St. Louis, Nov. 29, 1910; one son: James E., Jr. Engaged in general practice of law in St. Louis since 1901; has associated with Fred S. Hall, in firm of Hall & Dame, since Jan. 1, 1906. Member St. Louis Bar Association, St. Louis Alumni Association of Delta Tau Delta (secretary), West End Business Men's Association (chairman legislative committee). Democrat. Member United Presbyterian Church. Recreations: tennis and canoeing. Office: 705 Olive St. Residence: 5940 Julian Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAMERON, Ernest Patton, dental surgeon; born, Marionville, Lawrence Co., Mo., Nov. 9, 1873; son of John Haywood and Estelle (Slaughter) Dameron; A.B., Marionville College, 1892; completed course in Spalding's Commercial College, Kansas City, Mo., 1893; D.D.S., Western Dental College, Kansas City, Apr. 2, 1898; married, Kansas City, April, 1900, Cora B. Nixon. Has practiced dentistry in St. Louis since May, 1898. Professor materia medica and therapeutics, Dental Department, Barnes University, 1906-07. President National Dental Association; member board of governors National Mouth Hygiene Association; member Missouri State Dental Association, St. Louis Dental Society, 8t. Louis Society of Dental Science, Delta Sigma Delta fraternity; honorary member Tennessee State Dental Association. Democrat. Methodist. Served in Third Regiment Band, Missouri National Guard, 1897; now member First Regiment Band, Missouri National Guard. Member Independent Order Odd Fellows. Author of several papers on professional subjects, read before various dental societies and published in dental journals. Recreations: fishing and golf. Office: 58 De Menil Bldg. Residence: 3803 Windsor PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAMES, Alphonse Ferdinand, physician; born, St. Paul, Mo., June 15, 1877; son of Francis Joseph and Laura Renford (Ensor) Dames; educated in classics at Creighton University, Omaha, Neb.; M.D., Washington University, May 24, 1906; married, St. Louis, Sept. 19, 1905, Charlotte Ann Lynch; two children: Violet Angela and Alphonse Ferdinand, Jr. Has practiced in St. Louis since Sept. 1, 1906; gave up general practice Jan. 1, 1909, to specialize in diseases of the nose, throat and ear; clinician in nose, throat and ear department Washington University Medical School and Mullanphy Hospital since 1906. Democrat. Roman Catholic. Member American Medical Association, Missouri State Medical Association, St. Louis Medical Society, St. Louis OtoLaryngological Society. Recreations: literature and athletics. Office: 816-818 Metropolitan Bldg. Residence: 3808 W. Pine Boulevard.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAMHORST, Henry, insurance; born, St. Louis, May 2, 1865; son of Herman and Frances (Grone) Damhorst; educated in St. Nicholas (parish) School till 1877, Brinker Academy, Denver, 1877-78, Smith Academy, Washington University and Jones Commercial College; married, St. Louis, Sept. 19, 1888, Alice Hafferkamp; one daughter: Edith Josephine Frances (Mrs. Albert J. Werber). Traveled abroad, 1885-87; bookkeeper and cashier for Adam Boeck & Co., 1887-91; engaged in general insurance business since 1891. Member Tower Grove Turn Verein, B. P. O. Elks. Recreations: riding and driving. Office: 604 1/2 Chestnut St. Residence: 3453 Crittenden St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DANA, J. D., treasurer Commonwealth Trust Co.; born, Lisbon, Me., Mar. 21, 1877; son of Frank W. and Emma J. (Davis) Dana; educated in public schools and graduated from Lewiston, Me., high school, 1895; then attended Phillips Andover Academy, Andover, Mass., graduated, 1896; entered Yale University, 1896, graduating with degree of A.B., 1900; entered Harvard Law School, 1900; admitted to practice law in Massachusetts, 1902; married, Jacksonville, ILL., Sept. 20, 1902, Clara Robb Brown; two children: Richard, Robert Brent. Removed to Missouri, 1903; secretary Sligo Furnace Co., Sligo, Mo., 1903-05; came to St. Louis, 1905, where has been engaged in the iron business and associated with various real estate syndicates. Treasurer Missouri Iron Co. since 1907; elected treasurer Commonwealth Trust Co., 1910; president West End Light and Power Co.; vice president King's Highway Apartments Co. Republican. Universalist. Clubs: Noonday, Racquet, Island, City; also Yale (New York). Recreations: hunting, fishing and genera) outdoor sports. Office: Commonwealth Trust Co. Residence: 4483 Laclede Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DANA, Leslie, vice president Charter Oak Stove and Range Co.; born, St. Louis, Apr. 16, 1873; son of George Davis and Virginia (Lord) Dana; educated in public schools, Smith Academy and Massachusetts Institute of Technology, class of 1894; married, St. Louis, Nov. 6, 1901, Judith Bledsoe Brown, daughter of B. Gratz Brown; children: Judith Virginia, George Davis Dana, ILL, and Mary Leslie. After leaving college served in various capacities with the Excelsior Manufacturing Co. from Jan. 1, 1894, to July, 1896; since July, 1896, with Charter Oak Stove and Range Co., manufacturers of stoves and ranges and other cooking and heating apparatus, of which is vice president. Also president Manufacturers' Equipment Co.; director Ludlow-Saylor Wire Co., Broadway Savings Trust Co. and Lafayette Mutual Building Association. Served with Battery A of St. Louis in Missouri Volunteers, with Puerto Rican Expedition, 1898. Member Chi Phi fraternity, Sons of the Revolution. Clubs: Algonquin, Noonday, Ochtowan Hunting and Fishing. Favorite recreations: reading, motoring, hunting and fishing. Office: Antelope and Conduit Sts. Residence: Brentmoor, St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DANIELS, Dudley Woodbridge, secretary and general manager Cole Bros. Lightning Rod Co.; born, Alton, ILL., Jan. 5, 1869; son of Abram and Lydia Ann (Coleman) Daniels; removed to St. Louis, 1870; educated in public schools and business colleges of St. Louis; married, Mar. 1, 1893, Irma Starck. Began working for Cole Bros, on a small salary, Feb. 7, 1884, and has since remained with the company, now being director, secretary and general manager. Independent Republican. Office: 316 S. 7th St. Residence: 3851 Juniata Street.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DANN, Albert Edward, treasurer Simmons Hardware Co.; born, Dover, England, Sept. 22, 1851; son of George and Elizabeth (Brett) Dann; educated in national schools in England; married, St. Louis, June 13, 1877, Mary Jane Carter; two sons: Edward Carter, William James. Came to St. Louis in April, 1871; took out final naturalization papers, May 11, 1883. Engaged in February, 1872, with E. C. Simmons & Co., which was succeeded by Simmons Hardware Co., January, 1874, and has been with that company ever since; since January, 1886, treasurer of the company. Nonpartisan. Elder Kingshighway Presbyterian Church. Club: Mercantile. Office: 900 Spruce St. Residence: 35 Lewis PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DARBY, Clifford W.; born in Knox Co., 0., Mar. 22, 1851; son of Daniel H. and Harriet L. (Clark) Darby; educated in public schools, Charleston, ILL., and two years in Christian Brothers College, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Dec. 10, 1881, Mary Rice; one son: Clifford T. Began as a clerk in the St. Louis agency of the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Co., 1867; was appointed cashier in 1873, and served as general agent, 1001-07, resigned. Democrat. Residence: 34 Marshall PI., Webster Groves.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DARST, James Waters, real estate; born, St. Louis, May 1, 1856; son of James E. and Mary A. (Hartnett) Darst; educated in public schools; married, Denver, Colo., Oct. 16, 1889, Julia A. Perkins; four children: James E., Nancy Lee, Julia Elizabeth and Mary Catherine. Began business career in New Mexico, in mining, until 1887; came to St. Louis and engaged in the coal business until 1890; since 1890 in real estate business; member of firm of Darst & Downman, 1906-08; since alone. Democrat. Catholic. Office: Wainwright Bldg. Residence: Ferguson, St. Louis County.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DARST, Joseph Charles, real estate and financial agent; born, Ferguson, Mo., May 24, 1858; son of James E. and Mary A. (Hartnett) Darst; educated at St. Louis University; married, St. Louis, Oct. 13, 1886, Annie Miltenberger; children: Marian, Joseph, Laurence, Alice and Eugene. Began business career farming in St. Louis Co., until 1886; from 1886 to 1888 proprietor of the Cantine Coal Co., with mines at Marissa, Duquoin, Oakland and Freeburg. Since 1888 engaged in a general real estate and financial agency business, making a specialty of railroad, manufacturing, switching and terminal property. Democrat. Recreation: tennis. Office: 621 Fullerton Bldg. Residence: 4157 Maryland Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAUERNHEIM, Phillip Jacob, general manager Glencoe Lime and Cement Co.; born, St. Louis, Nov. 29, 1859; son of Phillip L. and Elizabeth (Rathgeber) Dauernheim; educated in German Institute and Polytechnic Institute, St. Louis; married, Chicago, Sept. 12, 1894, Melanie Herrmann; one daughter: Emily M. After leaving school associated with father in manufacture of lime, with which business he has since been connected; general manager Glencoe Lime and Cement Co. since Mar. 1, 1909. Republican. Member Ethical Society. Club: Mercantile. Recreation: athletic sports. Office: 901, 915 Olive St. Residence: 4142 Flora Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAUES, August F., brick work contractor; born, St. Louis, Oct. 30, 1864; son of Fred J. and Fannie (Hiemaneck) Daues; educated in parochial schools of Cape Girardeau, Mo., and at Jones' Commercial College; married, Cape Girardeau, Nov. 26, 1891, Bertha Krueger; five children: August F., Jr., Gregory W., Ambrose C, Amelia and Mary. Learned bricklayer's trade and entered contracting business; secretary and treasurer Daues Bros.; president Girardeau Building Co. Member Catholic Knights of America, Knights of Columbus, Master Bricklayers' Association. Democrat. Residence: 2757 Chariton St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVENPORT, James E., division passenger agent, Louisville & Nashville Ry.; born, Salem, ILL., Jan. 10, 1866; son of James A. and Nancy C. (Jennings) Davenport; educated in public schools of Salem, ILL.; married, at St. Louis, July 11, 1906, Mrs. Grace F. Tait. Assistant agent and telegraph operator at various points along the Ohio & Mississippi Ry., and agent for same road at Lebanon, ILL., 1881-89; passenger and ticket agent for Cotton Belt Route, St. Louis, 1889-91; joint passenger and ticket agent for Cotton Belt Route and Clover Leaf Route, St. Louis, 1891-93; district passenger agent for Toledo, St. Louis & Kansas City Route, in charge of passenger traffic at St. Louis and all territory in the West and Southwest, 1893-1900; traveling passenger agent Choctaw, Oklahoma & Gulf R. R., with headquarters at Cincinnati, October-December, 1900; since Jan. 1, 1901, division passenger agent Louisville & Nashville Ry., at St. Louis. Member A. F. & A. M. (Chapter). Clubs: Mercantile, The Traffic of St. Louis. Recreation: tennis. Office: 312 N. 8th St. Residence: 5796 McPherson Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVENPORT, Richard H., life insurance; born, Sumner, ILL., Mar. 23, 1868; son of Henry L. and Elizabeth M. (Hawkins) Davenport; educated in public schools of Sumner and St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Feb. 11, 1891, Amanda Norberg; children: Richard H., Jr., and Ruth L. Began active career in newspaper work, with Sumner Press, continuing one year; then cigar salesman, 1884-87; in cigar business for self, 1887-89; since in life insurance business. Was general agent in St. Louis for Federal Life Insurance Co. of Chicago, about seven years; supervisor of agencies, St. Louis, for Security Life Insurance Co. of Chicago, two years; agency manager Pioneer Life Insurance Co. of America since 1911. Democrat. Methodist. Recreations: fishing and reading. Office: 705 Olive St. Residence: 4736 Washington Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIES, William Harbin, lawyer; born, Richmond, Ind.. Jan. 23, 1877; son of William and Sarah (Ransford) Davis; educated in common, high and business schools of Richmond; student University of Indianapolis, 1898 and 1899; LL.B., Columbian (now George Washington) University, Washington, D. C, 1901; LL.M., National University, 1902; married, Washington, D. C, .June 12, 1907, Nellie A. Everett, of Fremont, O.; one child: Everett Tindall. Admitted to practice in Missouri state and federal courts, 1902, and in U. S. Supreme Court, 1906, having previously practiced in Supreme Court and Court of Appeals, District of Columbia, the U. S. Court of Claims, and the Patent and Pension bureaus at Washington; in office of general solicitor of Missouri Pacific Ry., 1902, then opened office on own account. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Republican. Methodist; trustee City Evangelization Union. Mason; member Odd Fellows. Club: Methodist. Office: Merchants-Laclede Bldg. Residence: Hampton Ave., Clayton, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Carroll Melvin, dean Christ Church Cathedral; born, Campo Seco, Calaveras Co., Cal., Sept. 9, 1857; son of Thomas F. and Sarah M. (Chase) Davis; received primary education in public schools; entered University of California, 1875, and graduated, B.A., 1879, M.A., 1882; married, St. Louis, Oct. 12, 1897, Miss Maud Reber (died, 1903). Deacon, 1881, priest, 1883, Episcopal Church; rector St. Paul's Church, Sacramento, Cal., 1881-87; diocesan missionary, Missouri, 1887-89; dean Christ Church Cathedral, St. Louis, since 1889. Trustee School of Social Economy. Republican. Mason. Clubs: City, Contemporary. Recreation: fishing. Office: 1210 Locust St. Residence: 3141 Locust St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Charles B., lawyer; born, Hannibal, Mo., Mar. 9, 1877; son of William A. and Mary F. (Mills) Davis; graduated Hannibal High School, 1897; A.B., University of Missouri, 1902, LL.B., 1905; unmarried. Admitted to Missouri bar, 1905, and has since engaged in practice in St. Louis; associated in practice with State Senator Charles F. Krone, 1905-09; appointed assistant circuit attorney, January, 1909, a position he now holds. Republican. Member Christian (Disciples) Church. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Phi Delta Phi, Phi Beta Kappa and Royal Arcanum. Formerly president Twenty-fourth Ward Improvement Association; now vice president Gratiot-Lindenwood Improvement Association. Mason. Club: St. Louis Railway. Recreation: fishing. Office: Municipal Courts Bldg. Residence: 6717 Arsenal St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Dwight Filley, park commissioner; born, St. Louis, July 5, 1879; son of John Tilden and Maria (Filley)  Davis; graduated from Smith Academy, 1895; A.B., Harvard, 1900; LL.B., St. Louis Law School, 1903; married, Geneva, Switzerland,  Nov.  15, 1905, Helen Brooks; two children: Dwight F., Jr., Alice.  President Security Building Co.; director State National Bank.  Member board of control St. Louis Museum of Fine Arts; member Public Library Board, 1904-07; public baths commissioner, 1903-06; public recreation commissioner, 1906-07; member House of Delegates, 1907-09; member Board of Public Improvements and serving as park commissioner since 1911; Republican. Vice president St. Louis Playgrounds Association, 1905-08; director St. Louis Tenement House Association, St. Louis Association for Prevention of Tuberculosis,   National   Municipal League; member   National   Civic   Association, etc. Clubs: Noonday, University, Missouri Athletic, St. Louis Country, Racquet. Recreations: golf, fishing. Office: City Hall. Residence: 16 Portland PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Emery Emmett, vice president and general manager Davis Expansion Boring Tool Co., Inc.; born, Jefferson City, Mo., Jan. 4, 1874; Bon of Robert E. and Matilda (Abbott) Davis; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, Aug. 25, 1898, Lotta Beatrice Koeln; one daughter: Theola Loyal. Came to St. Louis, at eighteen, and learned trade of machinist, filling position of foreman of the shop, 1896-1900; invented the Davis expansion boring tool, adjusting to any size within its range, securing patent October, 1905: organized the Davis Expansion Boring Tool Co., of which is vice president and general manager. Republican. Baptist. Recreations: bowling and billiards. Office: 3722 Forest Park Boul. Residence: 1405 N. Park PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Everett, real estate; born. Pikevine, Ind., Nov. 17, 1882; son of T. W. and Rachel L. (Russell) Davis; educated in public and high schools of Ava, Mo.; married, Blanch M. Mepham, June 10, 1908; one son: Everett, Jr. Lived one year at Spokane Falls, Wash., returned to Ava, and from there came to St. Louis, in 1900; was private secretary to George Warren Brown, of The Brown Shoe Co., for over two years; then established the Everett Davis Mail Order Co., and conducted same until July, 1904, when organized The Davis Realty Co., which later was changed to The Davis Realty Development Co., of which is president and manager. Member St. Louis Real Estate Exchange, Business Men's League. Republican. Member Union M. E. Church. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner. Clubs: Mercantile, City. Favorite recreations: music, tennis and rowing. Office: 816 Olive St. Residence: 6181 Westminster PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, George Wesley, general freight agent Vandalia Railroad Co.; born, Baltimore, Md., Dec. 21, 1845; son of William B. and Mary E.  (Purdy)  Davis; educated public grammar and high schools, Cincinnati, until 1863; married Olivia R. Shearer, of Cincinnati, Jan. 7, 1869; two daughters: Lillian A. (Mrs. Frank B. Rutledge, of Zanesville, O.) and Nellie P. (Mrs. Clifford L. Myers, of Cincinnati). Began railway service as clerk, Little Miami R. R. (now Cincinnati division of the P., C, C. & St. L. Ry.), Cincinnati, Mar. 1, 1864, with which remained until 1869 as clerk, chief clerk, in general freight office; agent, same road, at Morrow, O., Apr. 1, 1869, to May 24, 1882, and at Dayton, O., May 25, 1882, to July 24, 1885; general freight and passenger agent Cincinnati & Muskingum Valley Ry. (a part of Pennsylvania Lines). at Zanesville, O.. July 25, 1885, to Oct. 14, 1888; division freight agent Chicago and Richmond divisions, P., C. C. & St. L. Ry., Richmond, Ind., Oct. 15, 1888, to Apr. 30, 1897; division freight agent, Cincinnati division, same road, at Cincinnati, May 1, 1897, to Mar. 20, 1903; genera] freight agent, C, A. & C. Ry., and commercial agent, P., C C. & St. L. Rv., at Columbus, O.. Mar. 21, 1903, to Jan. 20, 1907; general freight agent Vandalia Railroad Co., St. Louis, since Jan. 21, 1907.  Member National Geographic Society, Washington. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner; member Royal Arcanum, National Union. Clubs: Mercantile, Traffic Club of St. Louis. Office: 1308 Syndicate Bldg. Residence: 456 N. Newstead Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, John David, vice president Mississippi Valley Trust Co.; born St. Louis, Mar. 30, 1851; son of Horatio N. and Margaret (Johnston) Davis; educated at Smith Academy, Washington University, St. Louis, and Princeton University, graduating, A.B., 1872, A.M., 1875; graduated from St. Louis Law School. LL.B., 1874; married, St. Louis. Nov. 6, 1877, Marion, daughter of John R. Lionberger; one son: John Lionberger Davis (lawyer, St. Louis). Practiced law in St. Louis from 1874 to 1903; since vice president of the Mississippi Valley Trust Co. Also president Lindell Real Estate Co., Atchison Water Co.; vice president St. Louis Cotton Compress Co. Democrat. Presbyterian. Trustee of Princeton University. Member Business Men's League, Merchants' Exchange, Civic League. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Missouri Historical Society, St. Louis Academy of Science. Clubs: University (president, 1898-1899, 1904, 1905),   Noonday, Country, Bellerive Country (president), St. Louis, Florissant Valley and Princeton (St. Louis), University (New York City), Adirondack League (New York). Recreation: golf. Office: N.W. cor. Fourth and Pine Sts. Residence: Brentmoor Park, Wydown and Pennsylvania Aves.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, John Lionberger, lawyer; born, St. Louis, Oct. 2, 1878; son of John D. Davis and Marion S. (Lionberger) Davis; educated at Smith Academy, St. Louis; Lawrenceville (N. J.) School; Princeton University, A.B., 1900; Harvard Law School; St. Louis Law School, LL.B., 1903; married, Nov. 1, 1906, Julie M. Vietor; children: Marion Lionberger, Anne Vietor and George Vietor. Engaged in practice of law from 1903; assistant counsel St. Louis & Suburban Railway System, 1904-05; member of law firm of Jones, Jones, Hocker & Davis since 1907. Member American Bar Association, St. Louis Bar Association, American Political Science Association. Member Civic League, Neighborhood Association (president). Interested in settlement work. Member Missouri Historical Society. Clubs: University, Round Table, St. Louis Country, Bellerive Country, Noonday; also University, Princeton (New York). Office: 506 Olive St. Residence: Brentmoor Park, St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, John T., capitalist; born in St. Louis; son of John T. and Maria J. (Filley) Davis; grandfather, Samuel C. Davis, and father, John T. Davis, were prominent merchants of St. Louis, and in their lifetime were identified with such old firms as Davis, Tilden & Co., established 1835, and Samuel C. Davis & Co.; at death of father, John T. Davis, succeeded to management of father's estate. Director St. Louis Union Trust Co. Member City Council. Clubs: St. Louis, University, Noonday, Racquet, St. Louis Country. Office: 220 Security Bldg. Residence: 47 Portland PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Joseph T., lawyer; born, Berger, Franklin Co., Mo., Aug. 13, 1881; son of Levi J. and Martha Jane (Mahon) Davis; educated district school, Berger; high school, Jefferson City, Mo.; Columbia (Mo.) Normal Academy, receiving degree of B.S., 1900; LL.B., Law Department, University of Missouri, 1904; married, St. Louis, Oct. 3, 1906, Laura May Strong; one child: Virginia May, born Aug. 12, 1910. Began practice at Union, Mo., 1904; removed to St. Louis same year and has since practiced in this city; associated with Judge R. E. and Edgar R. Bonbauer; member executive board Orodol Chemical Co. Democrat; nominee for prosecuting attorney of Franklin Co., Mo., 1904. Presbyterian. Brevet second lieutenant, Missouri National Guard; first lieutenant Company I, First Regiment, Missouri National Guard, 1905-06. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Mason; was member Order Railway Telegraphers of America, 1898-1906. Club: City. Recreations: fishing, hunting.  Office: 808-810 Pierce Bldg. Residence: 4252A Cook Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Manton, lawyer; born, Mayfield, Ky., July 15, 1876; son of Robert Thomas and Sallie Elizabeth (Jenkins) Davis; educated in private schools and West Kentucky College, Mayfield; graduated with degree of accountant from Bryant & Stratton Business College, Louisville, Ky., 1895; LL.B., University of Virginia, 1901; unmarried. Began business career as shipping clerk in the May-field (Ky.) Woolen Mills, 1890-95; bookkeeper for same, 1895-99; admitted to bar in June, 1901; member firm of Pearce & Davis, 1903-09, Pearce, Davis & Curlee, 1909-11, since alone. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Democrat. Baptist. Clubs: Normandie Golf, City, Code. Office: Wright Bldg. Residence: 5189 Raymond Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Robert Hill, physician; born, University, Va., Sept. 20, 1875; son of John Staige and Caroline Kean (Hill) Davis; educated in University of Virginia, B.A., 1899, M.A., 1900, M.D., 1901; post-graduate student University of Berlin, Germany, 1902, Vienna, Austria, 1903, New York City, 1904; married, Ocean Springs, Miss., Dec. 28, 1910, Ora May Lewis; one child: Mathilde. Removed to St. Louis in 1905; assistant physician to out-patients, Washington University, St. Louis Children's Hospital; lecturer on physiology and skin diseases, Bethesda Training School; chief department of dermatology, Jewish Dispensary, and alternate associate in dermatology, Jewish Hospital. Member American Medical Association, Missouri State Medical Association, St. Louis Medical Society, Phi Kappa Psi and Nu Sigma Nu fraternities. Independent Democrat. Episcopalian. Recreation: outdoor sports. Office: 4500 Olive St. Residence: 770A Aubert Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, Thomas Dewees, manufacturer of machinery; born, Morristown, N. J., Mar. 4, 1856; son of Thomas D. and. Helen (Roper) Davis; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, Dec. 25, 1884, Fannie Myra Page; children: Montrose P., Eleanor Margaret, Fannie Myra, Thomas D., Jr., Louis P. Began business career at Smithville, N. J., as apprentice, and learned trade of machinist; came to 8t. Louis, 1877, and worked for Hall & Brown as machinist and later as foreman; established in business for self in 1882, and in 1888 became partner with Charles B. Fisher in present firm of Fisher & Davis Manufacturing Co., manufacturers of machinery, etc. Office: 934 N. Main St. Residence: 5237 Vernon Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAVIS, William Work, manufacturer of leaded art glass; born, Meadville, Pa., Dec. 5, 1848; son of William and Mary (Johnson) Davis; educated Allegheny College, Meadville, and Bryant, Stratton & Smith Commercial College; married, Titusville, Pa., Aug. 26, 1874, Mary Frances Tefft (died 1898). In banking business in Titusville and Oil City, Pa., 1869-87; represented the Standard Oil interest in Mahoning Gas Co., Youngstown, O., 1887-89; associated with George W. Chambers, St. Louis, 1889, leaded glass and interior decorations, until death of Mr. Chambers, 1897; since in business on own account; also vice president St. Louis Galveston Coal Co. Republican. Presbyterian. President Pennsylvania Society of St. Louis. Recreation: traveling abroad. Office: 3922 Olive St. Residence: West End Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DAWSON, James Parrish, lawyer: born in Woodford Co., Ky., July 17, 1851; son of John D. and Mary J. (Bell) Dawson; graduated from Washington University, LL.B., 1876; married, Centralia, HI., Sept. 3, 1881, Dell Mead; children: James Clifford, Frances. Was admitted to bar at St. Louis immediately after graduation in May, 1876, and has been continuously engaged in practice of law at St. Louis ever since; practice confined exclusively to the civil courts, and chiefly to corporation and probate law; member of law firm of Dawson & Garvin, with William E. Garvin as partner. Republican. Club: Mercantile. Office: 820-823 Wainwright Bldg. Residence: Webster Groves, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)

DAY, Asa Wilton, merchant in rubber goods; born, Marlborough, Hartford Co., Conn., May 6, 1844; son of Asa and Charlotte Potter (Jones) Day; educated at Bacon Academy, Colchester, Conn.; State Normal School, New Britain, Conn.; Wilbraham, Mass.; Phillips Academy, Andover, Mass., 1862, Yale College, 1864-65; left college, 1865, to engage in cotton business; married, Detroit, Mich., June 10, 1869, Mary Rebecka Coit; children: Robert C, Marion (Mrs. F. D. Seward), Alice Coit. With brother, John W. Day, engaged in construction and running of a cotton yarn mill, 1865, in Marlborough, Conn.; with Samuel J. Day, another brother, in construction and running of a cotton yarn factory in Bridgewater, Conn., but latter factory was destroyed by fire soon after completion; sold out all interest in the yarn business, 1869, and became state agent for Connecticut for the Mutual Benefit Life Insurance Co., of New Jersey; soon after associated with Capt. H. P. Goddard, as Day & Goddard, adding fire insurance, real estate and loans to the business; sold out in 1882 and removed to St. Louis and engaged in rubber business with brother, Samuel J. Day, as Day Bros. & Co.; bought out brother's interest in 1884 and incorporated business as Day Rubber Co., of which became president and treasurer, though since October, 1901, son Robert C. Day, vice president, takes most of the burden of active management of the company, which has a jobbing business in rubber goods, leather and cotton belting, pulleys, shafting, hangers, etc. Also president Buffalo Zinc and Copper Co.; director New York Zinc and Lead Co., Missouri Leadfields Co.; proprietor Day Metal Co. Member Business Men's League. Democrat up to "free silver" craze, since independent. Member Connecticut House of Representatives, 1868, as Democrat. Brought up Methodist; Congregationalist since 1866. Clubs: Mercantile, Glen Echo Country. Recreations: golf and automobiling. Office: 415-417 N. 4th St. Residence: 5117 Westminster PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEACON, Arthur Richard, secretary Lambert Pharmacal Co.; born, Witham, Essex, Eng., Nov. 7, 1858; son of Arthur and Mercy Elizabeth (Tuck) Deacon; educated at Witham School; married at Toronto, Can., 1897, to Miss Edith M. Harris; children: Arthur Philip, Edith Victoria, Virginia Kettering. Engaged in manufacture of pharmaceuticals since 1881; now secretary of the Lambert Pharmacal Co. Also vice president Allen & Hanburys Co., Ltd., Toronto, Can., and Niagara Falls, N. Y.; director Lambert-Deacon-Hull Printing Co., St. Louis Surfacer Faint Co. Mason. Clubs: Algonquin (founder and first president), Mercantile. Recreation: golf. Office: 2101 Locust St. Residence: Webster Park, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEACON, Robert Tuck, printer, stationer, etc.; born, Witham, Eng., June 21, 1866; son of Arthur and Mercy Edith (Tuck) Deacon; educated in public schools of Detroit, Mich.; married, Detroit, 1892, Ethelwyn Ruth Allen; children: Margaret, Ralph, Robert T., Jr., Richard, Dorothy. Came from England, with father, in 1873, and lived in North Carolina, 1873-75; moved to Detroit, 1875, and after leaving school was in newspaper work in Detroit, from office boy with the Detroit Evening News to manager of the Detroit Times; went to Cleveland, 1892, as advertisement manager of the Cleveland World, and afterward ran the Cleveland Voice; came from Cleveland to St. Louis and took position with the Buxton & Skinner Stationery Co., and in August, 1901, joined in organizing the Lambert-Deacon-Hull Printing Co., stationers, engravers, printers and blank book makers, of which is secretary and treasurer; treasurer Ben Franklin Club of America; president Ben Franklin Club of St. Louis; director Kirkwood Building and Loan Association. Republican. Episcopalian. Clubs: Algonquin Golf (treasurer), Mercantile. Favorite recreations: golf, tennis and other outdoor exercises. Office: 2100 Locust St. Residence: Kirkwood, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEALS, Morgan K., typewriters; born, Washington, D. C, Jan. 5, 1859; son of William Gott and Emmeline F. (Phillips) Deale; educated in public schools of Washington, D. C, and Virginia Military College; married, Apr. 23, 1905, Grace Dodson. Began business career in 1878, in stationery house at Washington, D. C; two years later engaged with Wilson Bros., Chicago, wholesale furnishing goods, remaining there three years when with brother established in grocery business. Owing to brother's ill health, sold out and in 1889 accepted position with the Remington Typewriter Co., at Chicago, was made assistant manager in 1893 and in February, 1897, was transferred to St. Louis office, of which has since been manager. Independent in politics. Christian Scientist. Mason (32°); Knight of Pythias. Member T. P. A. Clubs: Mercantile, City. Recreation: fishing. Office: 821 Pine St. Residence: 5744 Cates Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEAN, Charles Luther, retired; born, Dracut, Mass., Dec. 19, 1844; son of James and Sarah Bowers (Chase) Dean; educated in grammar and high schools in Providence and Pawtucket, R. I.; married, St. Louis, June 8, 1865, Georgie E. Jenks; children: Charles L. (deceased), George J., William W., Harriet Allen (Mrs. William H. Johnston, of Easton, Md.), Duncan W.r Louis F. Began business career, April, 1859, as office boy with manufacturing company at Providence, R. I.; messenger, Bank of North America, Providence, May, 1861; clerk in Clark Bros. & Co., banking house, 1863-69; in railroad work from June 1, 1870, until Apr. 1, 1886; from Apr. 1, 1886, to Sept. 1, 1909, actively connected with the Ludlow-Saylor Wire Co., as vice president. Also vice president and director St. Louis Transfer Co. Member Merchants' Exchange. Republican. Formerly member of National Guard. Recreation: traveling. Residence: 1827 Longfellow Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEAN, John McHale, physician and surgeon; born, St. Louis, Aug. 29, 1874; son of O. M. and Mary (Kilker) Dean; graduated from St. Louis University, A.B., 1893, A.M., 1896; M.D., Medical Department, Washington University, 1896; unmarried. Interne and assistant superintendent, City Hospital, 1896-99; since engaged in general practice as physician and surgeon in St. Louis; practice limited to surgery since 1909; surgeon St. Mary's Infirmary since 1909. Independent in politics. Catholic. Member American Surgical Association, Missouri State Medical Association, St. Louis Medical Society, City Hospital Alumni Association, Knights of Columbus. Club: Century Boat. Office: Metropolitan Bldg. Residence: 2855 Meramec St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEAN, Owen M., secretary and treasurer Hadley-Dean Glass Co.; born in Mayo Co., Ireland, Nov. 12, 1838; son of Martin and Ann (Gallagher) Dean; attended the Bellmullet Mercantile and Mathematical Academy until 14 years; on arrival in this country attended high school in Cincinnati; married, St. Louis, Nov. 14, 1858, Mary Kilker; children: Eugene G., Cecelia (now Mrs. George F. Hefferman), Alice (Mrs. Leo G. Hadley, who is now deceased), Agnes (now Mrs. Ralph W. Warner), Dr. John McHale and Julia. Arrived in United States in the early part of 1853, with parents, who expected to settle in this country, but they, and a younger brother, returned to Ireland in the spring of 1854. He remained with a friend, the leading grocer in Cincinnati, and entered his employ as a clerk; a year later he began to learn steam engine business; after mastering business came to St. Louis and helped to make machinery for gunboats during Civil War. In 1866 established the firm of O. M. Dean & Co., wholesale produce and commission merchants, which continued until 1896; since March, 1897, secretary and treasurer the Hadley-Dean Glass Co. Roman Catholic. Joined in 1854 atCincinnati, O., the Young Men's Sodality and transferred membership to the mother society of the St. Louis University Sodality in St. Louis. Was member Merchants' Exchange, 1866-98. Recreation: chess. Office: 11th and Lucas Ave. Residence: 2855 Meramec St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DE CAMP, Frank B., vice president De Camp Bros. & Yule Coal and Coke Co.; born, Cincinnati, July 8, 1866; son of Lambert and Lydia (Garwood) De Camp; educated in Cincinnati public schools; married, Cincinnati, October, 1891, Helen M. Jewett; children: Arthur L., Frank B., Jr., Cecelia, Joseph M. Began business career with Rogers, Brown & Co., pig iron, Cincinnati, and continued five years; came to St. Louis in 1890, and engaged in iron, coal and coke business with A. P. De Camp & Co., firm later becoming De Camp & Yule, to which was admitted in 1897; business was incorporated in 1902 under present style of De Camp Bros. & Yule Iron, Coal and Coke Co., of which is vice president. One of organizers, 1900, of St. Louis Blast Furnace Co., of which is vice president and general manager. Republican. Christian Scientist. Club: Normandie Golf. Favorite recreation: golf. Office: Missouri Trust Bldg. Residence: 940 Maple PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DECKER, Gustav F., lawyer; born, St. Louis, Aug. 21, 1869; son of Ernst W. and Effie (Bruns) Decker; educated in public and high schools of St. Louis, graduating 1888; St. Louis Law School, 1888-90; married, St. Louis, June 30, 1904, Magda Orbach; children: Dorothea M. and Gustav F., Jr. Read law while attending law school in office of Rassieur & Schnurmacher; admitted to bar in 1891; began practice in office of Paul F. Coste, and remained with him until 1893, when entered office of Charles Nagel; became member of firm of Finkelnberg, Nagel & Kirby, Jan. 1, 1903, and on dissolution of firm in June, 1905, became a member of its successor, Nagel & Kirby. Republican. Member American and St. Louis Bar associations, Ethical Societv of St. Louis. Club: City. Office: 700 Security Bldg. Residence: Webster Groves, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DE DONATO, Florian; born, Naples, Italy, Aug. 27, 1858; son of Dr. Otto and Angiolina (Di Franza) De Donato; twenty-second in a family of twenty-three children; educated at College of Capuano; married, St. Louis, May 3, 1879, Theresa B. Keating; sixteen children, of whom following are living: Annie (Mrs. A. R. Fiorita), Mamie (Mrs. V. R. Fiorita), Florian, Jr., Kathryne (Mrs. James McGrath), Marguerita (Mrs. F. Silberstein), Otto, Vincent, Loretta, Saveria. Learned hair dressing and wig making at Naples under uncle (who later came to America and established in business in St. Louis); emigrated to United States, 1871, and became uncle's successor. Republican. Catholic. Member of Order of Elks, St. Vincent De Paul Society, Italian American Cavalry. Office: Basement Carleton Bldg. Residence: 4920A McPhereon Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEGENHART, Joseph Henry, real estate; born, St. Louis, Jan. 16, 1852; son of John C. and Rosina (Guckert) Degenhart; educated St. Vincent's College, Cape Girardeau, Mo., and later at St. Louis University; married, St. Louis, Oct. 6, 1874, Emma Koerntgen, of Arnsberg, Germany; children: Joseph C, Lulu (Mrs. Henry G. Garthoffner), Harry J., Alice (Mrs. James B. Purcell), Carl D. and Emma. Began active career in retail lumber business, continuing 1876-1904; sold out to H. F. Reis & Co.; proprietor planing mill, Joplin, Mo., 1904-07; in wholesale lumber business, 1907-08; identified with the real estate business since 1909. Director of "Herold des Glaubens." Democrat. Catholic. A patron of German Orphan Society. Office: 7428 Michigan Ave. Residence: 7128 Michigan Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEIBEL, Frederick, flour, hay and grain commission; born, St. Louis, Feb. 10, 1854; son of Louis and Barbara (Wolf) Deibel; educated in public and private schools and night schools in St. Louis; married, St. Louis, April, 1879, Emma Meyer; children: Albert, Robert, Myra (Mrs. A. M. Wilson), Charles, George, Fred. William. Began business career at age of fifteen as clerk with Yaeger & Co., flour, for about a year; then for two years with Holthaus & Bro., store and office fixtures; in wholesale drug business of Scott & Mellier and Donnell, Tilden & Co., until 1876, when returned to flour, grain and hay commission business, in which has continued ever since; president of the Anchor Hay and Grain Co. Also president of the National Warehouse and Storage Co. Member Merchants' Exchange, Business Men's League. Republican. English Lutheran. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Rotary, Recreation: horseback riding. Office: 22d and Morgan Sts.; also 10th St. and Walnut Ave., East St. Louis, 111. Residence: 1737 Euclid Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEITERING, Charles H., architect; born, St. Louis; son of John and Maria M. Deitering; educated public schools; Central High School; Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston; married, St. Louis, Dec. 10, 1902, Emma Briedenbach. Began active career in office of Isaac S. Taylor, architect, continuing with him until 1897, since operating on own account. Architect of many buildings in St. Louis, including works of St. Louis Cordage Co., The Morrison. The Adams, the M. Jacobs loft buildings, works of Standard Bagging Co., St. Louis Screw Co.. Pechman Hotel, Hotel Linden, the Chesterfield and Louise Apartment buildings, Warwick Court. Knickerbocker Hotel, and many private residences. Drew plans for Chinese Government Building and Brazil Building, the Distillery (Old Times) and many minor structures at Louisiana Purchase Exposition, the Chinese Government Building gaining the grand prize, and the Distillery a gold medal. Republican. Clubs: St. Louis Architectural, Century Boat. Recreations: boating, motoring and dancing. Office: 1320, 705 Olive St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DELAFIELD, Wallace, insurance; born in Cincinnati, O., May 1, 1840; son of John and Edith (Wallace) Delafield; educated in Edward Wyman's School and Durkan's School, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Apr. 23, 1874, Elizabeth T. Hanenkamp; children: Agnes Hanenkamp (now Mrs. A. W. Niedringhaus), Wallace, Jr., Edith, Elizabeth, Edna Simmons. Began active career in 1854, and was clerk for F. A. Hunt & Co., 1854, for William N. Newell, 1856, Pomeroy & Benton, 1857; member of firm of William H. Benton & Co., wholesale Dry goods, 1864-69; firm selling out in 1869 to Chase & Cabot, entered into partnership with Lewis E. Snow, under present style of Delafield & Snow, and since 1869 has been engaged in general insurance business. Member Merchants' Exchange. Member St. Peter's Episcopal Church; was treasurer of Diocese of Missouri several years; now president Sunday School Missionary Host of Missouri. Member Sons of the Revolution, Society of Colonial Wars, Missouri Historical Society. Mason. Clubs: St. Louis (treasurer), Mercantile, Normandie Golf, Bellerive Golf. Favorite recreations: golf and fishing. Office: 1415 Fierce Bldg. Residence: 5028 Westminster PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DELAHUNT, William Vincent, trust officer Commonwealth Trust Co.; born, Chester, Pa., Feb. 24, 1870; son of Edward and Helen (Nolan) Delahunt; educated in public schools and at Gilbert's Academy, Chester; unmarried. Read law in office at Chester, and was admitted to Pennsylvania bar in 1892; practiced law at Chester until came to St. Louis, 1896; was in office of Charles H. Turner until the organization, in 1901, of the Commonwealth Trust Co., of which has since been trust officer. Secretary and treasurer of St. Charles and St. Louis County Bridge Co. Office: Commonwealth Trust Co., Broadway and Olive St. Residence: 775 N. Euclid Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DELANO, Frederic Adrian, railway president; born, Hong Kong, China, Sept. 10, 1863; son of Warren and Catherine Robbins (Lyman) Delano (both natives of Massachusetts); lived most of boyhood at Newburg, N. Y.; A.B., Harvard, 18S5; married, Matilda A. Peasley, of Chicago, Nov, 22, 1888; children: Catherine, Louise and Laura. Began railway service with the C, B. & Q. R. R. Co., with engineering party in Colorado, Aug. 1, 1885; entered Aurora ILL. shops, same road, Oct. 1, 1885, as apprentice machinist; appointed temporarily acting engineer of tests at Aurora, April, 1887; placed in charge bureau rail inspection at Chicago, July 1, 1887; assistant to second vice president at Chicago, April, 1889; superintendent freight terminals at Chicago, July, 1890: superintendent motive power at Chicago, Feb. 1, 1899; general manager at Chicago, C, B. & Q. R. R., July 1, 1901-Jan. 10, 1905. After leaving service of Burlington was consulting engineer to War Department, in relation to railroads in Philippine Islands; Wheeling & Lake Erie R. R. Co., Wabash-Pittsburgh Terminal Railway Co. since May 1, 1905; first vice president Wabash R. R., May 1, - Oct. 5, 1905, president since Oct. 5, 1905, also one of receivers same. Member American Society Civil Engineers, American Institute of Mining Engineers, Western Society Engineers, American Association for the Advancement of Science, American Railway Association, Franklin Institute, American Master Mechanics' Association, American Master Car Builders' Association, International Railway Congress, Western Railway Club, Chicago. Clubs: Union League, University, Chicago, Chicago Literary, Commercial (Chicago), St. Louis (St. Louis). Office: Title Guaranty Bldg.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DELANY, John O'Fallon, physician; born, St. Louis, Dec. 16, 1841; son of Dennis (M.D.) and Octavia (Mullanphy) Delany; general education at St. Louis University and abroad; M.D., Medical Department of Columbia College, New York City, 1866; married, St. Louis, 1893, Elizabeth Sloan, Has never practiced medicine; devotes time to looking after the estate left by father. Catholic. Office: 16 N. 8th St. Residence: 5105 Lindell Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DELL, Jno., president of Missouri Fire Brick Co.; born, Covington, Ky.; came to St. Louis at fifteen years of age, with an elder brother; married in St. Louis, Dec. 21, 1892, Miss Mary Wash, youngest daughter of Capt. Martin W. and Margaret Jane (Humphreys) Wash, of St. Louis Co.; children: John Morrison, Dorothy, Gertrude, Virginia and Humphrey Wash. In 1864 employed by Moody, Michel & Co., wholesale grocers, as assistant bookkeeper; went to Augusta, Ga., 1870; returned to St. Louis, 1873, on account of ill health; with the Evens & Howard Fire Brick Co., as bookkeeper and traveling salesman, 1874-80; with Laclede Fire Brick Co., as traveling agent, 1880-1900; in June, 1900, elected president and general manager Missouri Fire Brick Co., and holds same position at present. Mason; member Occidental Lodge No. 163, A. F. & A. M. Democrat. Member Missouri Manufacturers' Association, American Gas Institute, New York. Club: Missouri Athletic. Office: Continental Bank Bldg., 411 Olive St Residence: 5121 Von Versen Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DE LONG, Ralph Leighman, vice president Mill Shoals Cooperage Co.; born, Oconto, Wis., Feb. 3, 1879; son of Charles Henry and A. Freddie (McCausland) De Long; educated in public schools at Omaha to 1894; from Omaha High School, 1897; married, Omaha, Oct 10, 1903, Mary Elizabeth Livesey; four children: Ralph Leonard, Henry Livesey, Rebecca, William J. Began active business career with Raber Printing Co., Omaha, 1897-1899; with Omaha Packing Co. as purchasing agent until 1902; engaged as broker in packing house supply business, Omaha, 1902-03; removed to St. Louis, July 1,1903, when became salesman Ozark Cooperage & Lumber Co., until resigned, Jan. 1, 1906; since vice president and sales manager Mill Shoals Cooperage Co. Republican. Congregationalist. Mason (32°), Shriner. Club: Mercantile. Office: Syndicate Trust Bldg. Residence: Webster Groves, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DE MENIL, Alexander Nicolas, literary editor, author and capitalist; born, St. Louis, Mar. 23, 1849; son of Dr. Nicolas N. and Emelie Sophie (Chouteau) De Menil; educated at Christian Brothers College and Washington University, St. Louis, and Central University, Indiana, receiving the degrees of B.S., M.S., A.M., LL.B., Ph.D., and LL.D. Married twice; children: Henry Nicolas (M.D.), of Seattle, Wash., and George Shelley; present wife formerly Miss Bessie Bacon, of Carlyle, ILL. Admitted to the bar in 1871; practiced law until 1882; then abandoned the law to devote his time to literature and his large property interests; owns the De Menil Building. Elected to the House of Delegates in 1877 and to the City Council in 1879; defeated for mayor in 1893. Served several terms as Grand Orator Ancient Order of United Workmen and Lieutenant Colonel Select Knights of America; president French Fete Association, Society of the Fourteenth of July and the French Benevolent Society. President Americus, Papyrus Club, Irving, and other literary societies; one of the three St. Louisans elected member Poetry Society of America (New York). Was a member of the Louisiana Purchase Centennial Committee of 200 and a director Louisiana Purchase Exposition Co. For forty years has been contributor to eastern and home Sunday newspapers, literary weeklies, magazines and reviews; has conducted magazines himself, notably "The St. Louis Magazine" (1883-90), and since 1894 has edited and published "The Hesperian," a high-class review. Author: The Literature of the Louisiana Territory; Songs in Minority; Forest and Town; and other works in prose and verse. Wrote almost all the literary papers in the Encyclopedia of the History of Missouri (6 vols.), and the Encyclopaedia of the History of St. Louis (4 vols.). Office: De Menil Bldg. Residence: 3352 S. 13th St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DENNIG, Louis E., vice president St. Louis Independent Packing Co.; born, St. Louis, Dec. 22, 1860; son of Emil G. and Margaret (Juengst) Dennig, both natives of Germany; educated in private schools and German Institute, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Nov. 22, 1898, Marie Schaefer; one son: Louis S. Began active career, 1877, with firm of C. Conrad & Co., originators of Budweiser bottle beer; was serving as buyer for the firm when the business was acquired by the Budweiser Beer and Wine Co.; later became local manager Anheuser-Busch Brewing Association; was elected secretary and treasurer Delmar Garden Amusement Co., continuing, 1900-06; member firm of Busch & Everett, oil and gas business, 1906-08; now vice president St. Louis Independent Packing Co.; director American Bottle  Co.   Republican.   Protestant. Member Business Men's League, Civic League, T. P. A. Mason (Royal Arch); member B. P. O. Elks. Clubs: Racquet, Glen Echo, Liederkranz, Automobile, Cantine Hunting and Fishing Association, St. Louis Trap Shooters' Association. Recreations: hunting and fishing. Office: Security Bldg. Residence: 3229 Copelin Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DENVIR, John B., retired; born, Downpatrick, County Down, Ireland, Jan. 25, 1847; son of William and Mary (Crickard) Denvir; came to United States in 1853; educated at St. Louis University; married, St. Louis, Jan. 13, 1875, Mary Agnes Gorman; children: William A., John B., Jr., James P., Francis X., Mary, Lucina, Agnes, Helen. Left college, Jan. 25, 1802, and on next day began as clerk in post office, St. Louis; gave up position in April, 1867, to become connected with the saddlery hardware business of Hayden, Wilson & Allen; continuing with this company and its successor, the P. Hayden Saddlery Hardware Co., of which was manager, until 1907, when retired. Democrat. Catholic. Residence: 4434 W. Pine Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DENVIR, John Bernard, Jr., lawyer; born, St. Louis, Aug. 23, 1877; son of John Bernard and Mary Agnes (Gorman) Denvir; graduated from St. Louis University, A.B., 1896, A.M., 1898; LL.B., St. Louis Law School, 1898; unmarried. Admitted to bar, 1898, and since engaged in general practice in St. Louis. Member St. Louis Bar Association, St. Louis Law Library Association, Civic League. Democrat. Catholic. Clubs: City, Public Question. Office: 506 Olive St. Residence: 4434 W. Pine Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DENYVEN, Joseph McKay, general freight agent Mobile & Ohio R. R.; born, Boston, Mass., June 20, 1863; son of James and Alexy (Sutherland) Denyven; educated in public schools; married, St. Louis, Nov. 9, 1887, Ida Griffith; children: Raymond, Howard, Lucile (deceased), Marian and Elizabeth. Began railway service with the Missouri Pacific R. R., and continued in clerical positions from January, 1882, to December, 1886; then entered service of the Mobile & Ohio R. R., in the general freight offices; promoted to assistant general freight agent, December, 1890, and to present position as general freight agent, April, 1905. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, St. Louis Traffic, Normandie Golf. Office: 910 Fullerton Bldg. Residence: 5062 Maple Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DERLIEN, Peter, flour; born, Liverpool, England, June 2, 1868; son of George and Sabine (Schroeder) Derlien; educated in Liverpool College, Liverpool, England. Began business career in wholesale flour trade in Liverpool, England, with Anton Kufeke & Co., and was later with Krueger, Darsie & Co.; came to America and entered employ of New Ulm Milling Co., at Minneapolis, Minn.; in 1900 went to Kansas City, Mo., and assisted in establishing business of Kansas Milling & Export Co., removing to St. Louis in 1902 as general agent of the company. Member St. Louis Millers' Club, Illinois Traveling Men's Protective Association. Episcopalian. Office: 215 Chamber of Commerce. Residence: 4342 Page Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DESLOGE, Firmin, vice president and treasurer Desloge Consolidated Lead Co.; born, Potosi, Mo., Aug. 30, 1843; son of Firmin and Cynthian (Mcllvaine) Desloge; educated at St. Louis University, 1858-59, Bryant & Stratton Commercial College, Wyman Commercial College; married, Lexington, Mo., October, 1877, Lydia, daughter of Col. Joseph and Rebecca Davis; children: Firmin, Joseph. Began business career in St. Louis as clerk with John B. Valle & Co.; in 1867 engaged in mining in Washington Co., Mo., and in 1873 organized the Desloge Lead Co.; operated in St. Francois Co., Mo., until March, 1887, when the mill was destroyed by fire and the company consolidated its holdings with the St. Joseph Lead Co., of Bonne Terre, Mo.; present Desloge Consolidated Lead Co. (of which is vice president and treasurer) was organized, 1890, taking over by purchase the well-known Mine A Joe property, and the St. Francois Lead Mining Co.; company engaged in mining, milling and smelting lead ores in St. Francois Co., Mo. Catholic. Club: Mercantile. Office: Rialto Bldg. Residence: Washington Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DESLOGE, Firmin Rene, bank cashier; born, St. Louis, June 22, 1875; son of Jules and Jennie (Thatcher) Desloge; educated in public schools to 1888; entered St. Louis University, 1888, and continued until 1892; attended private schools. New York; married, St. Louis, Oct. 6, 1902, Ellen Jane Duross; three children: Zoe Jane, Elise, Rene Duross. Began business career as clerk, St. Louis Post office. 1893, resigned, 1898; then clerk Boatmen's Bank, 1899-1902; assistant cashier Olive Street Bank, 1902-08; also assistant cashier Grand Avenue Bank, 1908-11; since cashier and director Hodiamont Bank. Served as sergeant First Missouri Volunteers during Spanish-American War, 1898. Democrat. Catholic. Member Knights of Columbus. Recreations: handball and swimming. Office: 6143 Bartmer Ave. Residence: 5859 Romaine PL.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DESLOGE, George Thatcher, lawyer; born, St. Louis, Nov. 5, 1880; son of Jules and Jane Chambers (Thatcher) Desloge; A.B., St. Louis University, 1901; A. M., Georgetown University, 1902; LL.B., Washington University, 1904; married, Apr. 17, 1912. Madeleine Stith. Admitted to Missouri bar, 1904, and has since practiced in St. Louis; lecturer on law in St. Louis University School of Commerce and Finance. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Military Service Institution of United States. Became member National Guard of Missouri as second lieutenant, 1905; now captain and assistant inspector small arms practice First Infantry Regiment. Democrat. Catholic. Member Knights of Columbus. Recreations: tennis and horseback riding. Office: Suite 621, Liggett Bldg. Residence: 4446 Laclede Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DESLOGE, Jules, retired banker; born, Potosi, Washington Co., Mo., Sept. 26, 1845; son of Firmin and Cynthian (Mcllvaine) Desloge; educated in Miss Moulton's private .school, Potosi, 1852-56; St. Louis University, 1856-64, graduating A.B.; married, St. Malachy's Church, St. Louis, Sept. 23, 1872. Jennie C. Thatcher; children: Zoe, F. Rene, George, Marian (Mrs. J. Hayes Campbell), Jane Pullis, Louis Francis, Marcel. Began business career as assistant bookkeeper in foundry of Kingsland, Alter & Clark, St. Louis, 1865; clerk in banking house of George H. Loker & Bro., 1865-67; teller in Butchers' and Drovers' Bank, St. Louis, 1867-77; after failure of the bank, 1877, was paying teller in St. Louis National Bank; resigned to go to Boatmen's Bank, Apr. 1, 1878, as teller; elected second assistant cashier, Apr. 23, 1891, and Nov. 27, 1894, was elected to assistant cashier Boatmen's Bank, remaining until May 1. 1906, when retired. Member Bank Clerks' Association of Missouri. Democrat. Roman Catholic. Member Young Men's Sodality, Alumni Association of St. Louis University, St. Vincent de Paul Society. Residence: 3847 W. Pine Boulevard.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DESNOYERS, Jerome B., retired shoe manufacturer; born on farm near Montreal, Canada, Oct. 2, 1842; son of Jerome and Emelia (Bisson) Desnoyers; left orphan at ten years of age; attended school in country, near Ottawa, Canada; served in Union Army during Civil War, from Dec. 13, 1863, to July 10, 1865, in Battery E, First Ohio Volunteer Artillery; married, Sept. 4, 1865, Mary T. Woods; children: Victor E., Willis. Left farm at fifteen years of age; began to learn shoe making as apprentice, November, 1857; came to Cleveland, 0.. June, 1861, and worked at trade until entered army; after honorable discharge, in 1865, took charge of a large shoe manufacturing concern in Columbus, O.; located in St. Louis, November, 1877, and was an organizer of the first successful manufacturing enterprise in St. Louis, then known as Bryan-Brown Shoe Co., afterwards as the Brown-Desnoyers Shoe Co., and changed, Oct. 1, 1893, to Desnoyers Shoe Co.; sold out, Jan. 1, 1903, and retired from active business. Member Third Baptist Church. Extensive traveler. Mason, Knight Templar and Shriner. Club: Mercantile. Residence: 5503 Vernon Ave. Summer Residence: South Haven, Mich.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DEVOY, Edward, president Devoy & Kuhn Coal and Coke Co.; born, St. Louis, Aug. 8, 1846; son of Denis and Mary (Mullins) Devoy; educated in St. Patrick's School and Benton School; married, St. Louis, July 11, 1S67, Maria Fallon; children: Stella (Mrs. W. T. Cartwright), Joseph Alexis, George F., Charles L., Alice Dorothy (Mrs. M. B. Heinrichs). Engaged in the coal business continuously since March, 1872. Member Merchants' Exchange, Business Men's League. Democrat. Roman Catholic. Member Missouri Historical Society, 8t. Vincent de Paul Society, Knights of Columbus, Legion of Honor. Club: Liederkranz. Recreation: books. Office: 315 N. 7th St. Residence: 5837 Cates Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DICKINSON, William Calvin, commission merchant; born, Cincinnati, 0., Sept. 20, 1849; son of Darius L. and Lydia F. Dickinson; educated in Cincinnati public schools and at Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Boston; married, Alliance, O., Oct. 28, 1881, Evelyn B. Osterstock; children: Ruth B., Gladys, Dorothy. Engaged in commission business since 1880; since August, 1895, member of firm of F. W. Goeke & Co., wholesale dealers and commission merchants in flour and feed. Republican. Swedenborgian. Office: 22 N. 2d St. Residence: 5929 Cates Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DICKMANN, Joseph F., real estate; born, Paderborn, Westphalia, Prussia, Germany, Dec. 22, 1855; son of Bernard and Dina (Haberhausen) Dickmann; educated at Catholic School, Paderborn; married, St. Louis, Nov. 11, 1879, Mary Eilers; children: Mary (Mrs. Otto J. Hezel), Joseph, Bernard, Anne (Mrs. George Huth) Otto, Charles. Came to America, 1875; engaged in grocery business, 1876-88, and in grain and seed business, St. Louis, operating on Merchants' Exchange, 1888-1900; elected sheriff of City of St. Louis and served, 1900 04; in real estate business since May 15, 1905. Member St. Louis Merchants' Exchange, Real Estate Exchange. Member St. Vincent De Paul Society, Knights of Columbus.
Recreations: reading, motoring. Nominated for sheriff of St. Louis Aug. 6, 1912. Office: 19 N. 8th St. Residence: 3446 Halliday Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DICKS, William L., retired; born, St. Louis, Dec. 6, 1851; son of John R. and Mary (Harmon) Dicks; educated at Christian Brothers School and public schools, St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Oct. 17, 1878, Catherine, daughter of Francis Lepere (she died Jan. 21,1910); children: Francis Joseph, Catherine Lepere. Began business career as assistant cashier and afterwards bookkeeper for Robert H. Franklin, dry goods, etc., 1868-74, James Duncan & Co., dry goods, Baltimore, 1874-75; began with William Barr Dry Goods Co., 1875, and became secretary and treasurer 1903; retired January, 1907. Catholic. Residence: 5811 Plymouth Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DICKSON, Joseph, Jr., lawyer; born, St. Louis, Apr. 12, 1876; son of Joseph and Elizabeth (Robertson) Dickson; educated at Crow and St. Louis High schools; Washington University; Harvard Law School, 1896-98; St. Louis Law School, LL.B., 1899; married, St. Louis, Nov. 27, 1901, Sydney Francis Boyd; one daughter, Mary Francis. Admitted to bar, Oct. 2, 1899, and has since been engaged in practice; partner with father since Aug. 1, 1905, firm of Dickson & Dickson. Member American Bar Association, St. Louis Bar Association. Director Tower Grove Bank, St. Louis Lumber Co. Member Civic League. Republican. Clubs: Racquet, Bellerive, City, Noonday, Harvard (St. Louis), Harvard (New York City). Recreations: golf and motoring. Office: 712-716 Rialto Bldg. Residence: Brent-moor Park, St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIECKMAN, John Henry, bond and stock broker; born, St. Louis, Dec. 20, 1848; son of Stephen H. and Gertrude (Honerkamp) Dieckman; educated in German schools in St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Apr. 9, 1872, Elizabeth Albietz; children: George Edwin, Julia Adelaide (Mrs. Carl A. Niemeyer). Began business career as teller of a bank (now out of existence), in which continued until April, 1881; then became associated with H. H. Wernse, establishing firm of Wernse & Dieckman, who have ever since been engaged as brokers in bonds and stocks. Director Hope Mining Co. Member Merchants' Exchange, St. Louis Stock Exchange. Treasurer Martha Parsons Free Hospital for Children. Member Civic League. Republican; formerly member St. Louis School Board. Club: Noonday. Office: 317 N. 4th St. Residence: 4537 W. Pine Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIECKMANN, Louis, retired; born, Hamburg, Germany, Aug. 30, 1851; son of Frantz Adolph Th. and Frederika C. (Langenbach) Dieckmann; educated in public schools in Hamburg; married, St. Louis, Nov. 9, 1881, Minna Hamel; children: Charles A., Otto A., Max E., Hugo E. Learned carpenter's trade when fifteen years old, and followed it for five years; emigrated to United States, Oct. 9, 1871, and was engaged in carpenter's trade until 1878; then as employee in cabinet and refrigerator business until October, 1896, when started business with George H. Hollrah as Hollrah & Dieckmann, incorporated, February, 1900, as the Hollrah-Dieckmann Refrigerator and Fixture Co., of which was vice president and manager until Oct. 15, 1911, when retired. Republican. Protestant. Member South West Turner Society. Recreation: gardening. Residence: Wellston, Mo.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIEDERICH, George Christ, furniture manufacturer; born, St. Louis, Jan. 18, 1860; son of George Henry and Charlotte Diederich; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Oct. 16, 1888, Emily Kolusch; children: Emily Johanna, George Henry, Olga Charlotte. As a boy began to learn the cabinet-making business in father's furniture factory, and has been connected with the business ever since; after its incorporation, Mar. 17, 1883, was made president of the G. H. Diederich Furniture Co., manufacturers and wholesale dealers in all kinds of furniture, with specialties in bedsteads, extension tables and kitchen cabinets. Also director and vice president St. Louis Malleable Iron Works. Republican. Member Evangelical Church.Director German Protestant Orphans' Home. Member I. O. O. F. Office: 1943 N. 2d St. Residence: 2933 University St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIEDERICH, William Frederick, furniture manufacturer; born, St. Louis, June 3, 1865; son of George Henry and Charlotte Diederich; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, Oct. 29, 1890, Lillian E. Holland. At age of fourteen entered father's furniture factory to learn the trade and has ever since been connected with that business, which was incorporated, Mar. 17, 1885, as the G. H. Diederich Furniture Co.; has charge of the mechanical departments of the business, and since 1897 has been secretary of the company. Republican. Member Evangelical Church. Member Liederkranz. Office: 1945 N. 2d St. Residence: 3214A Dodier St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIEHM, Walter, lawyer; born, St. Louis, Feb. 8, 1882; son of Ferdinand and Bertha (Steigerwald) Diehm; educated in St. Louis public schools and Central High School; LL.B., St. Louis Law School, 1902; married, St. Louis, Feb. 15, 1908, Alice H. Fisher; one child: Helen Virginia. Began practice of law, 1902; since 1910 member firm of Schulenburg & Diehm. Was member Light Battery A, National Guard of Missouri, 1905-08. Member St. Louis Bar Association. Director Missouri Crematory Association; secretary St. Louis Altenheim. Republican. Ethical Society. Mason (32°), Mystic Shrine. Clubs: City, Masonic. Recreation: motoring. Office: 912-914 Rialto Bldg. Residence: 5728 Bartmer Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIEKMANN, Louis O., deputy commissioner of supplies; born, St. Louis, Sept. 1, 1857; son of Frederick W. and Elise (Wacker) Diekmann, both natives of Germany; educated in public schools and one year in high school; married, St. Louis, 1881, Sophie M. Bredemeyer; six children: Arthur (with St. Louis Car Co.), Minnie, Elsie, Octavia, Verna, Esther. Began active career at thirteen as office boy with Garrett, McDowell & Co., manufacturers and dealers in pig iron, continuing until 1883; then entered coal business in own name and in 1887 organized the Diekmann Coal Co., wholesale and retail dealers, of which was president until 1909.  In 1910 became connected with department of commissioner of supplies, St. Louis, as auditor of accounts, later chief clerk, and since June 1, 1912, deputy commissioner. Republican; elected to House of Delegates, 1890, for unexpired term, and reelected, 1891 and 1S93; served as speaker of the house during last term and at times during 1905-07 as mayor, in the absence of the city's chief executive.  Mason; member Royal Arcanum, Knights of Pythias (representative to Grand Lodge for about sixteen years). Recreation: reading. Office: City Hall. Residence: 1119 K. Market St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DIGGS, William Purnell proprietary medicines; born, St. Louis, June 3, 1851; son of Francis W. (of  Virginia) and  Amelia R. (Hill) Diggs (of Maryland); educated in public schools, St. Louis, until 1857; academy, High Hill, Mo., 1858; Towsley's School, New Albany, Ind., 1867; married, Forestell, Mo. Feb. 9, 1876, Eugenia N. May (now deceased); one child (deceased); married, 2d, Jan. 26, 1910, Mary J. Ehrhardt; one child: William P., Jr. Began business career in retail drug store at High Hill, Mo., Jan. 1, 1872; removed to Wentzville, Mo., April, 1874, and was in retail drug business there until Sept. 30, 1883, when established on small scale the business which he now conducts as W. P. Diggs & Co., manufacturers proprietary remedies. Democrat. Recreation: bowling. Office: 113-115 Locust St.  Residence: 943 Laurel Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DINGS, William, hardwood lumber; born, St. Louis, Jan. 26, 1841; son of Frederick and Ida (Stein) Dings; educated under private instruction by Prof. Avery and Prof. Eno Saunders, and in Laclede School, St. Louis, also in Germany; married, in Owen Co., Ky., Dec. 31, 1868, Tinie Bristow; children: William Woods, Eleanor B. (Mrs. John S. Dobyns). During Civil War was captain of Company C, 8th Missouri Infantry, C. S. A., until surrender at Alexandria, La., under General Buckner. After war, was engaged as farmer in St. Louis Co., 1867-73; in lime and cement business with H. D. Hatch, 1873-74; bookkeeper for William Ziock & Co., 1875-83, for Pratt, Todd & Co., 1884, Clarkson-Christopher Lumber Co., 1888, vice president and secretary, same company, 1892-96; from 1896 to 1907 was vice president and secretary R. M. Fry Lumber Co.; since in lumber business for self. Member St. Louis Lumber Exchange. Democrat. Presbyterian. Mason. Member Royal Arcanum, Legion of Honor. Club: Lumbermen's. Favorite recreation: literature. Office: Branch and Hall Sts. Residence: 925 Beach Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DISBROW, Charles Wesley, president American Automobile Insurance Co.; born, New York City, Jan. 4, 1874; son of William and Harriet (Lusby) Disbrow; LL.B., New York Law School, 1896; married, Hoboken, N. J., Apr. 15, 1897, Anna M. Oesterreich; children: Ruth O., Marie K., Charles W., Jr., Franz O., John R. B. Practiced law in New York City and Denver, Colo.; was manager mountain department United States Fidelity and Guaranty Co. at Denver; later manager western department same, at St. Louis; president American Automobile Insurance Co. since Jan. 1, 1912. Republican. Presbyterian. Clubs: St. Louis, Racquet, City. Author: Digest New York Code of Civil Procedure, 1896; Analysis Banking and Currency System of the United States (brochure), 1909. Recreation: literature. Office: Pierce Bldg. Residence: 5146 Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DISCHERT, William, vehicle manufacturer, retired; born, Germany, Oct. 9, 1861; son of Henry and Katherine Dischert; educated in St. Louis public schools; married. Began in 1876, in carriage and wagon shop of H. Witticke, with whom remained seven years, learning trade and working as journeyman; started for self as manufacturer of business vehicles, 1883, incorporating, Jan. 16, 1902, as William Dischert Carriage and Wagon Co., of which was president until retired, 1911. Mason (32°), Knight Templar, Shriner. Residence: 2209A E. Athlone Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DITTMANN, William Henry, shoe manufacturer; born, St. Louis, Oct. 21, 1852; son of George F. and Caroline (Almstedt) Dittmann; educated in St. Louis public schools; married, St. Louis, Nov. 10, 1877, Emma Biebinger; children: Adele (Mrs. Philip A. Becker), Robert W. Engaged in manufacture of shoes since 1868; now president of the Dittmann Shoe Co.; was for several years vice president of the Fourth National Bank, resigning in 1902; also one of organizers of Germania Trust Co., and was its vice president and president for periods during its life; one of organizers of St. Louis Catering Co., and other corporations. Member board of directors, Tower Grove Park. Republican. Clubs: Mercantile, Liederkranz. Office: 1107 Washington Ave. Residence: 3463 Longfellow Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


 

DIXON, Brandt V.B. BRANDT V.B. DIXON, president of the H. Sophie Newcomb Memorial college of New Orleans, was born in Patterson, New Jersey, February 27, 1850. His father's family removed to St. Louis in 1858. He was educated in the St. Louis public and private schools, Amherst college, and Cornell university, from which last-named institution he graduated in 1870. From that time until the present he has been engaged in educational work and has held various positions in the St. Louis public schools, being engaged almost continuously in that work from 1870 to 1887, the last three years holding the position of principal in the Central high school. In 1887 he was called to New Orleans by the board of administrators of the Tulane Educational fund to organize the Newcomb college as its first president. He is an advocate of advanced methods of education, and the remarkable progress of the Newcomb college under his administration is evidence of their practical utility. Professor Dixon also occupies the chair of metaphysics in Tulane university. He was married on the 24th of June, 1873, to Miss Eliza Carson, of Caledonia, Mo., and has two sons, both students in Tulane university. [Source: Biographical and Historical Memoirs of Louisiana; Chicago; The Goodspeed Publishing Company, 1892; transcribed by Kim Mohler]



DOBSON, William Davis, osteopathist; born, Greenville, Tenn., Nov. 28, 1848; son of David and Nancy (McAmis) Dobson; educated Tusculum College, Tennessee, graduating with degree of A.B., 1870, A.M., 1880 (LL.D., 1895); taught school near Trenton, Mo., until 1891; president first district State Normal School, Kirksville, 1891-99; graduated at American School of Osteopathy, Kirksville, 1902; married, Greenville, Tenn., July 5, 1878, Mantie J. Briton; three children: Walter N., Pauline (Mrs. George L. Gold), Robert Britton. Professor chemistry, American School of Osteopathy, 1902-04; dean same school, 1904-07; in charge A. T. Still Osteopathic Sanitarium, St. Louis, 1907-08; since in private practice. Democrat. Presbyterian. Member National, State and City Osteopathic societies. Mason, Shriller. Recreation: outdoor sports. Office: 455, 313 N. 9th St. Residence: 4519 Westminster Place.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DOBYNE, James Bell, president Champion Shoe Machinery Co.; born, Hollidaysburg, Pa., Dec. 29, 1846; son of Stevenson W. and Margaretta Grafius (Miller) Dobyne; educated in common schools and academy at Hollidaysburg; married, Litchfield, ILL., Oct. 9, 1869. Calista J. Evans; 2d, Mar. 12, 1894, Nellie H. Moakley; children: Etta Bell, George A., Ruth O., Jessie J. (Mrs. Louis F. Mahler). Was foreman of Missouri Pacific R. R. shop at age of 22, later foreman of old St. Louis & Cairo Short Line R. R., East St. Louis; master mechanic, Southwestern Car Works, Jeffersonville, Ind.; superintendent Beach-Amsden Machine and Foundry Co., Litchfield, ILL.; in milling and grain business, Hillsboro, ILL.; in manufacturing business, as vice president Fleming & Dobyne Manufacturing Co., Chicago; secretary and manager Landis Machine Co., St. Louis; now president of Champion Shoe Machinery Co., manufacturers of shoe and harness machinery. Member Citizens' Industrial Association. Served in Civil War in 1st battalion, Pennsylvania Volunteers. Republican. Member Grand Army of the Republic (commander Ransom Post); member Union Veteran Club, Chicago, Pennsylvania Society of St. Louis. Member Masonic Order. Club: City. Recreations: traveling in Europe and America; fond of arts. Office: 3727 Forest Park Boul. Residence: 6006 W. Cabanne Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DODDS, James T., city surveyor; born, Columbus, O., Aug. 5, 1866; son of Robert H. and Anna (Redpath) Dodds; educated public schools; academy, Ypsilanti, Mich.; National Normal University, Lebanon, O.; married, St. Louis, Oct. 16, 1901, Blanche B. Wegner; three children: James T., Jr., Douglas W., Albert R. In office of county surveyor, Columbus, O., 1888-89; came to St. Louis, 1889, and entered employ of city surveyor, J. G. Joyce, Sr.; vice president Joyce Surveying Co., 1892-98; in general surveying and civil engineering practice on own account since 1898; city surveyor since 1901; agent for North St. Louis Quarries. Has laid out many of the suburban districts of St. Louis and is responsible for much of the important engineering work in connection with the city during past twelve or fifteen years. Protestant. Member North St. Louis Business Men's Association. Clubs: Engineers, City.   Recreation:  reading. Office: 717 Chestnut St. Residence: 3843 Sullivan Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DODGE, Ernest Cole, lawyer; born, Belleville, ILL., Feb. 11, 1862; son of Egbert and Sarah (Sherwood) Dodge; educated in St. Louis public and high schools; Salem (Mo.) Academy; State University, Columbia, Mo., 1880-82; taught schools in Scott Co., Mo., 1882-83; graduated from St. Louis Law School (Washington University), LL.B., 1885; married, St. Louis, Apr. 17, 1895, Bertha G. Layton; children: Odile Phyllis L., Mary Lois. Admitted to bar, June 12, 1885; since May, 1887, in general practice of law in St. Louis; member firm of Dodge & Mulvihill, 1887-1905, since practiced alone. Assistant city attorney under Mayor Walbridge, 1894-99. Commissioned as notary public by Governors Francis, Stone, Stephens, Dockery and Folk. Member St. Louis Bar Association, Missouri State Bar Association. Illinois Society, Sons of the Revolution (Missouri). Republican. Catholic. Member State Militia three years. Recreation: fishing. Office: 319 Commercial Bldg. Residence: 4149 W. Pine St.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DODSON, George Rowland, clergyman; born, Jacksonville, Mo., Aug. 20, 1865; son of Shelley Martin and Susan Eleanor (Proctor) Dodson; A.B., University of Missouri, 1887; student Stanford University, 1894, University of California, 1901; A.M., Harvard University, 1902, Ph.D., 1903; married, Fulton, Mo., June 24, 1891, Nellie Wheeler; children: Rowland W., Eleanor, Proctor W. Ordained ministry, at Mexico, Mo., 1886; pastor First Unitarian Society, Alameda, Cal., 1891-1901, Church of the Unity, St. Louis, since Oct. 1, 1903. Member Western Philosophical Association, Washington University Association, Contemporary Club. Address: Church of the Unity. Residence: 48 Nicholson PL.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DODSON, John William, retired; born, Kirksville, Adair Co., Mo., Oct. 10, 1851; son of Thomas and Lucinda (Grogan) Dodson; educated in district schools of Adair County and Normal School at Kirksville; unmarried. Engaged in farming with father until 1873; traveling salesman for Yarnall Bros., manufacturers of pickles and grocers' sundries, 1873-82; organized firm of Dodson & Hils, in same line, 1882, which later incorporated as Dodson-Hils Manufacturing Co., changing in February. 1897, to Dodson-Braun Manufacturing Co.; retired, 1910. Republican. Club: Mercantile. Address: Mercantile Club.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONAHOE, Martin Hassett, cotton duck; born, St. Louis, July 2, 1881; son of Martin P. and Mary J. (Shaw) Donahoe; graduated from St. Louis University, class of 1901; married, St. Louis, June 8, 1910, Helen Wertheimer; one son: Martin H., Jr. Began business career in December, 1901, as salesman at the St. Louis branch of J. Spencer Turner Co., managers of sales for the Consolidated Cotton Duck Co., Baltimore, and has since continued with the company, becoming resident manager in St. Louis, Sept. 1, 1905. Recreation: golf. Office: 501 Silk Exchange Bldg. Residence: 4401 Forest Park Boul.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONAHOE, Martin Patrick, dry goods merchant; born, Sibley, Jackson Co., Mo., Nov. 18, 1846; son of Thomas and Mary (Nolan) Donahoe; educated at Sibley day school until 12 years old, afterward at St. Louis night school, as opportunity offered; married, St. Louis, Oct. 16, 1878, Mary J. Shaw; children: Martin H., Edgar T., Clarence O., Arthur J., John, Mary Frances, Alice Shaw. Was employed by Majors, Russell & Waddell, government freighters across the plains, 1860-62; came to St. Louis, 1863; employed by Samuel C. Davis & Co., wholesale dry goods, from Sept. 3, 1863, to Jan. 1, 1896; made director, 1900, became fourth vice president, 1903, Hargadine McKittrick Dry Goods Co. President Western Commercial Travelers' Association, 1905. Democrat. Roman Catholic. Club: Mercantile. Recreation: traveling. Office: 911 Washington Ave. Residence: 5070 Westminster PI.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONALDSON, Walter Scot, printing and engraving; born, St. Louis, Feb. 4, 1871: son of John and Katherine (Watson) Donaldson; educated in public schools of St. Louis; married, St. Louis, 1897, Adelaide Daniels. Learned printing trade and has been continuously connected with the Great Western Printing Co. since 1884; became manager, and, in 1900, president. The company is now the St. Louis branch of the National Printing & Engraving Co. of New York, of which he is vice president. The business was originally the job office of the Globe-Democrat, changing to Great Western Printing Co. in 1884. Member Advertising Men's League, Typothetae. Republican. Presbyterian. Member Royal Arcanum. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Creve Coeur Canoe Club. Favorite recreations: aquatic sports. Office: 513 Elm St. Residence: 2717 S. King's Highway.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONALDSON, William Rhind, lawyer; born, Murfreesboro, Tenn., Jan. 8, 1844; son of Andrew and Ellen (Rhind) Donaldson; educated in St. Louis public schools; Central High School; A.B., Washington University, 1863; studied law with Sharp & Broadhead and admitted to St. Louis bar, 1865; LL.B., Harvard Law School, 1866; married, Pittsfield, Mass., Oct. 20, 1869, Elizabeth Lamed, daughter of Thomas Allen; children: Annie Maud (Mrs. Marshall Hodgman), William Rhind, Jr., Elizabeth Allen (Mrs. George A. Randolph). In general practice of law in St. Louis since 1866; 1901, senior member of firm of Donaldson & Donaldson. Vice president Southern Hotel Co.; director Allen Estate Association. Democrat. Episcopalian. Member Missouri Historical Society, St. Louis, American and Missouri State Bar associations, Tennessee Society of St. Louis. Clubs: St. Louis, St. Louis Country. Office: 818 Bank of Commerce Bldg. Residence: St. Louis Co.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONALDSON, William Rhind, Jr., lawyer; born, St. Louis, Aug. 16, 1875; son of William Rhind and Elizabeth Lamed (Allen) Donaldson; educated in Rugby Academy, St. Louis, 1890-94; Harvard University, 1894-98, A.B.; traveled in Europe, 1898-99; attended St. Louis Law School,
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONK, Edmond Charles, president Donk Bros. Coal and Coke Co.; born, Crefeld, Germany, Feb. 19, 1851; son of Henry and Josephine Lucretia (Hinzen) Donk; came to United States in childhood; educated in private schools of Peoria, HI., and St. Louis; married, St. Louis, 1882, Josephine Conrades; children: Edna M., Edmond 0., Jr., Marie E. Spent earlier years in Peoria, ILL., and came to St. Louis, 1863, to join brother, the late August Donk, who had established the coal firm of A. P. Donk & Co., in 1861. Entered employ of that firm in 1868, and later was admitted to partnership, the firm becoming Donk Bros. Firm later became incorporated as Donk Bros. Coal Co., of which has been president since death of brother in 1894. Republican. Unitarian. Member Merchants' Exchange Benevolent Association, Royal Arcanum, Legion of Honor. Clubs: Union, Missouri Athletic, Liederkranz. Recreation: fishing. Office: 314 N. 4th St. Residence: 3643 Castleman Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONNELL, Forrest C, lawyer; born, Quitman, Mo., Aug. 20, 1884; son of John C. and Barbara Lee (Waggoner) Donnell; educated Maryville (Mo.) High School; A.B., University of Missouri, 1904, LL.B., 1907; unmarried. Admitted to Missouri bar, 1907, and since practiced in St. Louis. Appointed general attorney for enforcement of collateral inheritance tax law of Missouri by Board of Curators of University of Missouri, 1909; member firm of Spencer & Donnell since 1911. Director Southern Electric Co. Republican. Member American Bar Association, St. Louis Bar Association. Mason. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, University. Recreations: tennis, reading. Office: Suite 510, Commonwealth Trust Bldg. Residence: Hamilton Hotel.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONNELL, John Walter, manager White Babbit Dye Co.; born, Carrollton, O., Feb. 22, 1847; son of James H. and Annie (Lea) Donnell; educated public schools of Ohio; married, St. Louis, Apr. 23, 1872, Maria Tilden; 2d, Godfrey, ILL., 1886, Fanny M. Bartlett; children: John Tilden, Maria L. (Mrs. Will S. Thompson, Hutchinson, Kan.), Walter Bartlett, Harold Channing, Everett Malcolm. Was clerk in drug store; went to Colorado, 1862; lived in Rocky Mountains four years, mining and merchandising; returned to St. Joseph, Mo., 1867; removed to St. Louis, 1868, and was clerk with Vandwater, Loker & Co., wholesale druggists, one year, then with William D'Oench & Co., wholesale druggists, until 1870; business manager, A. A. Mellier Drug Co., 1870-72. Started in business for self 1872, firm of Donnell, Tilden & Co., wholesale druggists; consolidated with firm of Wengler, Blow & Co., 1875, and organized as St. Louis Drug Co.; burned out in 1876, and in March, 1877, organized firm of Donnell Manufacturing Co., manufacturing grocers' and druggists' specialties, of which was president until 1910, since manager White Rabbit Dye Co. Member Missouri Historical Society, Ohio Society. Mason (32°); member Legion of Honor. Republican. Unitarian. Office: 1700 Morgan St. Residence: 4043 Westminster PL
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONNELL, Thomas G., dentist; born, Decatur, ILL., Apr. 17, 1873; son of John Michael and Mary Alzino (Gresbam) Donnell; removed with parents to the Northwest in boyhood and was graduated at Umpqua Academy, Roseburg, Ore.; subsequently attended Garden City Business College; student for one year at Cooper Medical College, San Francisco; entered Dental Department, Washington University, graduating with degree of D.M.D., 1901; married Mabel Talbot, of England, Apr. 17, 1911. In practice in St. Louis since 1901; professor of metallurgy and dental anatomy, Barnes Dental Department of National University. Member Missouri State Dental Society, St. Louis Society of Dental Science. Formerly member Oregon National Guard, and Served in volunteers, Camp Presidio, San Francisco, Spanish-American War. Mason (32°). Recreation: hunting large game in the Rockies. Office and Residence: 2247A S. Grand Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONNEWALD, George Henry, wholesale coal and ice; born, St. Louis, June 21, 1857; son of Henry and Elizabeth (Miller) Donnewald; educated in public schools; unmarried. Began business career as sales agent for the Excelsior Coal Mining Co., 1872, and became officer and director of the company, with headquarters at St. Louis; senior member Donnewald & Herring, owning and operating coal mines at Lebanon, ILL., 1875-85; bought interests of partner, 1885, and continued business as G. H. Donnewald & Co.: in 1897 organized Donnewald Stephens Coal Co., and in 1900 incorporated under present style of Donnewald Ice and Coal Co., of which is president; also president Consumers' Ice and Fuel Co. Roman Catholic. Favorite recreation: driving. Office: 602 Times Bldg. Residence: 5 Jameton Place.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DONOVAN, Daniel C, president and manager St. Louis Daily News; born, St. Louis, Dec. 4, 1862; son of Denis and Ellen (Milner) Donovan; educated at St. Louis University; married, St. Louis, Nov. 24, 1887, Annie V. Crowley; children: Nellie Francis, Mario Genevieve, Daniel C, Jr., Virginia Mary (deceased) and Rosemary. Began business life with the M. M. Buck Manufacturing Co. (now the Handlan Buck Manufacturing Co.) in a minor position, and was advanced until had full charge of the shipping and delivery departments, remaining with the company for sixteen years until embarked in the newspaper business, in which has since continued. President and manager of the St. Louis News Publishing and Printing Co. (established October, 1895), printing and publishing St. Louis Daily News, and also the St. Louis News (weekly). Purchased the Daily Hotel Reporter, Dec. 20, 1905, and consolidated same with the St. Louis Daily News, paper being then known as the St. Louis Daily News and Daily Hotel Reporter; sold Hotel Reporter to Daily Record, Jan. 1, 1908. Member North St. Louis Business Men's Association, South Broadway Merchants' Association, Southwestern Mercantile Association, West End Business Men's Association. Democrat; nominee for City Council, 1893, and three times candidate for police commissioner. Roman Catholic. Office: 201 Temple Bldg., Broadway and Walnut St. Residence: 5087 Minerva Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DOOLEY, Patrick, clergyman; born, Parish of Murroe, County Limerick, Ireland; educated at Sacred Heart College, Limerick; College of Native Diocese at Thurles; came to America, 1889, and pursued theological studies at St. Mary's Seminary, Baltimore, Md. Ordained priest Roman Catholic Church, Dec. 17, 1892; assistant to Bev. Thomas J. Cooley, Assumption Church, St. Louis, 1892-96, then rector same; appointed by Archbishop Glennon as rector St. John's Church; now serving as rector St. Bridget's Church. Residence: 1108 N. Jefferson Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DOOLITTLE, Charles Almond, treasurer Blackmer & Post Pipe Co.; born on farm in Ontario Co., N. Y., May 22, 1868; son of Asa and Jano L. (Foster) Doolittle; educated in State Normal School, Geneseo, N. Y.; married, St. Louis, Oct. 18, 1900, Clara Seifarth. Engaged in farming in New York and Massachusetts; came to St. Louis 1890, and was employed by Blackmer & Post, first as a stenographer and later as a bookkeeper; was elected treasurer of the Blackmer & Post Pipe Co., 1898. Republican. Scottish Rite Mason; member Ascalon Commandery, Knights Templar, Moolah Temple, Mystic Shrine. Office: 613 Wainwright Bldg. Residence: 5676 Cates Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DORR, Lorenzo Engelbert, president Dorr & Zeller Catering Co.; born, Hesse-Darmstadt, Germany, May 15, 1857; son of Victor and Elizabeth (Scherrer) Dorr; educated in public schools of native land; married, St. Louis, Mar. 17, 1886, Rose Stein; three children: Victor, Oliver, Roy Henry. Learned catering business and followed same in old country until twenty-five; came to America, 1882, and was connected with catering house in St. Louis, two years; started in business for self, 1886; organized firm of Dorr & Zeller, 1887, of which has since been the head. Director Vandeventer Trust Co. Member Business Men's League. Catholic. Member Royal Arcanum. Recreation: traveling. Office: 3924 Washington Ave. Residence: 3922 Washington Avenue.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DORSETT, Walter Blackburn, physician and surgeon; born, St. Louis Co., Mo., June 13, 1852; son of Henry Leonidas Dorsett (born in Loudoun Co., Va.) and George Ann( Blackburn) Dorsett (of Versailles, Ky.); course of study in civil engineering, Washington University; later took up study of medicine at St. Louis Medical College, graduating with degree of M.D., Mar. 4, 1878; married, Olney, ILL., Oct. 20, 1880, Eleanor C. French; one son: E. Lee, now engaged in practice of medicine. In practice at St. Louis since 1878; superintendent and surgeon in charge of Female Hospital, St. Louis, 1887-92; gynecologist Evangelical Deaconess Hospital, and Missouri Baptist Sanitarium since 1893; consultant St. Louis Maternity Hospital; professor gynecology and pelvic surgery, Medical Department St. Louis University. President St. Louis Medical Society, 1893; president Missouri State Medical Association, 1900; president American Association of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, 1903; member Southern Surgical and Gynecol. Association, Western Surgical Association, Southwestern Medical Association, St. Louis Academy of Science, American Clinical Congress. Democrat. Mason. Clubs: University, Glen Echo. Author of numerous monographs on medical subjects. Recreations: horseback riding, fishing. Office: 26 Linmar Bldg. Residence: 5070 Washington Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)


DOSTAL, Antoine Robert, merchant tailor; born, Hermanmestetz, Austria, July 1, 1852; son of A. R. and Anna (Blecha) Dostal; educated in public schools in Austria and in Paris, France; married, Waterbury, Conn., Feb. 18, 1883, Augustine Brassart; children: Charles A., A. R., Jr., George B., Harry R., Louise Anna. Lived in Vienna and Paris for sixteen years; learned the tailoring trade in Vienna, Paris, London; came to United States first in 1882; returned to France for a short period, then located in New York for three years as a designer with one of the leading tailoring establishments of the city; afterward came to St. Louis, 1889, and in 1890 established for self as a merchant tailor in this city. Episcopalian. Mason (32°), Shriner. Clubs: Missouri Athletic, Liederkranz. Favorite recreations: traveling, fishing and hunting. Office:' 209, 207 N. 8th St. Residence: 2828 Euclid Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)



Return to

St. Louis County

Missouri

Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.