Antelope County - Genealogy Trails




 County Organization




    In the year 1871, the State Legislature passed a law bounding Antelope County as follows:


    "Commencing at the southwest corner of Township 23 north, of Range 8 west;

    thence east of the southeast corner of Township 23 north, of Range 5 west; thence

    north to the northeast corner of Township 28 north, of Range 5 west; thence west to

    the northwest corner of Township 28 north, of Range 8 west; thence south to the

    place of beginning."


    These boundaries have not been changed.


    At the time of the passage of the above act, Hon. Leander  Gerrard was a member of the Senate.


    In 1870, some Indians stole some valuable stock from settlers near Columbus, Platte County. Twenty-four hours afterward, Mr. Gerrard, S. C. Smith and E. A. Gerrard were in pursuit.   Their route lay through what is now Antelope County, and when near Cedar Creek some of their number became too faint from fatigue and hunger to proceed, having been without food for two days.  Opportunity offering, they slew and ate a fine young antelope, rested, and continued their pursuit of the Indians to the Niobrara River; but failed to overtake them.  The circumstances of the killing of the antelope, led to the name "Antelope" being given to the county.


    In accordance with an act of Legislature, the first general election was held in June, 1871.

    Two hundred and two votes were polled, and the following officers were elected:



E. R. Palmer

L. A. Boyd

William Clark



John W. Skiles



R. Marwood


Probate Judge

D. V. Coe



G. H. McGee



Jeptha Hopkins


County Superintendent

A. J. Leech


    At the regular election in the following November, all of the above officers were re-elected except two:


Z. Buoy - elected Commissioner instead of E. R. Palmer


W. W. Putney - elected Clerk instead of John W. Skiles


    In 1875, R. C. Eldridge, of Neligh, was elected a member of the Constitutional Convention. Representatives, in the State Legislature from Antelope County have been William Lambert, of Neligh, elected in 1877;  F. H. Trowbridge, of Neligh, in 1879 and W. W. Putney in 1881.