State of Nebraska - Genealogy Trails











County Heads for Women's Part Named


Ask Business Firms Offer Special Prizes in Scrap Campaign




Names of 91 Nebraska women who have been appointed to serve as women's county contest chairmen in the Nebraska salvage drive were announced Thursday by Mrs. George Grimes, Omaha, chairman of the women's division.


The women on the list represent all but two of Nebraska's 93 counties.  The chairman for Blaine County is yet to be named, and no special women's division will be organized in Douglas County, where general organization already has reached an advanced stage.


"The women on this list make up one of the strongest groups ever banded together in this state,"  said Mrs. Grimes.  "They are chosen from among county superintendents, chairmen of defense committees, members of salvage committees, and members of the Nebraska Federation of Women's Clubs."


Mrs. Grimes has also asked 16 Nebraska business men to offer special contest prizes for women and women's organizations, and has requested local newspapers to give full support to the women's salvage efforts in their own communities.  These are expected to take the shape of band concerts, home talent plays, dances, baseball games, rodeos and parties, all of which would require scrap metal and rubber as admission fees.


The county chairmen appointed are:


Adams - Mrs. Ann Coordt, Hastings


Antelope - Mrs. Elsie Bukacek, Neligh


Arthur - Mrs. M. B. Reynolds, Arthur


Banner - Mrs. Kathryn K. Lee, Harrisburg


Boone - Mrs. Harold Herse, Albion


Box Butte - Mrs. Rueben Knight, Alliance


Boyd - Mrs. W. L. Brenan, Butte


Brown - Grace Hamaker, Ainsworth


Buffalo - Mrs. Horace J. Cary, Kearney


Burt - Mrs. Keith Hopewell, Tekamah


Butler - Mrs. ARthur Foreman, David City


Cass - Miss Helen Porter, Plattsmouth


Cedar - Mrs. Carl Pederson, Jr., Hartington


Chase - Miss Leta Wind, Imperial


Cherry - Mrs. Harold F. Hagberg, Valentine


Cheyenne - Edioth Oldershaw, Sidney


Clay - Mrs. G. F. Ingamells, Clay Center


Colfax - Mrs. Don H. Carrell, Schuyler


Cuming - Patty Sweeney, West Point


Custer - Mar. Lillie Volzke, Broken Bow


Dakota - Mrs. Henry Giese, Dakota City


Dawes - Mrs. Kellus Overfield, Chadron


Dawson - Mrs. Llyod Kain, Lexington


Deuel - Mrs. G. S. LaSalle, Chappel


Dixon - Mrs. Rachel Dayden, Ponca


Dodge - Mrs. H. F. Mitten, Fremont


Dundy - Cleo Bells Gummere, Benkelman


Fillmore - Miss Delia Fisher, Geneva


Franklin - Mrs. William H. Smith, Franklin


Frontier - Mrs. Frances Wolford, Eustis


Furnas - Mrs. Vera Woodmency, Beaver City


Gage - Mrs. R. C. Noble, Beatrice


Garden - Mrs. Alice Blausey, Oshkosh


Garfield - Mrs. G. A. Butts, Burwell


Gosper - Mabel Colver, Elwood


Grant - Marie Jones, Hyannis


Greeley - Miss Gertrude Kerrigan, Greeley


Hall - Mrs. Charles M. Stewart, Grand Island


Hamilton - Louise Gill, Aurora


Harlan - Miss Nelle Booher, Republican City


Hayes - Mrs. Mary Smeltzer, Hayes Center


Hitchcock - Mrs. L. L. Darby, Trenton


Holt - Mrs. E. V. Rubq, Ewing


Hooker - Mrs. Earl Walker, Mullen


Howard - Blanche Frehm, St. Paul


Jefferson - Lucille Wiggins, Fairbury


Johnson - Mrs. Walter Kiechel, Tecumseh


Kearney - Mrs. George Rasmussen, Minden


Keith - Mrs. Gertrude Heinrichs, Ogallala


Keya Paha - Mrs. Lucille Olson, Springview


Kimball - Mrs. M. D. Morris, Kimball


Knox - Dora Rock, Center


Lancaster - Mrs. J. A. Bradley, Lincoln


Lincoln - Mrs. George Sizemore, North Platte


Logan - Hilda H. Coufal, Stapleton


Loup - Mrs. Floy Fletcher, Taylor


McPherson - Harriet Hogue, Tryon


Madison - Miss Jane Holander, Norfolk


Merrick 0 Mrs. P. S. Heaton, Central City


Morrill - Mrs. Viola B. Shephert, Bridgeport


Nance - Mrs. Irene B. Leard, Fullerton


Nemaha - Mrs. J. C. Voline, Auburn


Nuckols - Blanceh Goodrich, Nelson


Otoe - Mrs. Arthur Whyte, Nebraska City


Pawnee - Mrs. Cora Stoneberger, Table Rock


Perkins - Lucretia Hooper, Elsie


Phelps - Mrs. Roy B. Johnson, Holdrege


Pierce - Mrs. Edgar Cox, Pierce


Platte - Mrs. A. E. Caress, Columbus


Polk - Mrs. M. D. Strong, Stromsburg


Red Willow - Mrs. Fred Hansen, McCook


Richardson - Edith Greer, Falls City


Rock - Mrs. May Riley, Bassett


Saline - Mrs. A. B. Darling, Crete


Sarpy - Mrs. C. R. Caley, Springfield


Saunders - Mrs. Kenneth Tool, Wahoo


Scotts Bluff - Mrs. Jennie Overstreet, Scottsbluff


Seward - Mrs. A. B. Darling, Crete (as printed)


Sheridan - Miss Mable Grimes, Rushville


Sherman - Mrs. Cecil Travis, Loup City


Sioux - Thelma Abel, Harrison


Stanton - Mrs. A. H. Heckendorf, Pilger


Thayer - Mrs. Wayne, Thompson, Bruning


Thomas - Mabel Lowe, Thedford


Thurston - Mrs. Paul Murry, Pender


Valley - Mar. T. Barber, North Loup


Washington - Helen K. Bolt, Blair


Wayne - Mrs. Ted Faust, Wayne


Webster - Mrs. S. H. O'Neil, Blue Hill


Wheeler - Mrs. Anna McKay, Spalding


York - Mrs. John Riddell, York





Morning World Herald:  Omaha, Nebraska, Friday, July 17, 1942