Aniceto C. Abeytia
Aniceto C. Abeytia is one of Socorro county's leading citizens whose interests are varied and extensive. He was born April 20, 1856, in Santa Fe, a son of Aniceto and Clara (Nieto) Abeytia. The father's birth occurred in Santa Fe on the 17th of April, 1830, while the mother was born in Chihuahua, Mexico. The paternal grandfather, Captain Don Diego Abeytia, was a merchant and stockman and received his title in the Mexican army. He became a resident of Santa Fe, of which he was alcalde and later in the history of that city mayor. Captain Don Diego Abeytia married Josefa Armijo, a niece of General Armijo. Aniceto C. Abeytia was educated at St. Michael's College of Santa Fe and then embarked upon a business career, entering the jewelry store of Mr. Andrews, where he learned the manufacturing of Mexican filigree jewelry- After four years he formed a partnership with his brother under the firm name of F. Abeytia & Brother, manufacturers of filigree jewelry, employing a number of men and doing a large wholesale business. The partnership was dissolved in 1885 and A. C. Abeytia then located in Las Vegas, where for about one year he was associated with a Mr. Mares in the same line of business. On the expiration of that period he purchased his partner's interest and continued the business as an individual and in 1895, with others, incorporated the enterprise as the Mexican Filigree Jewelry Company. In 1896 he sold out his business in Las Vegas and removed to Socorro, where he has since resided.
In 1880, in Santa Fe, Mr. Abeytia was united in marriage to Miss Fidelia Ortiz, by whom he had three children, Justiniano, Elvira and Luis, all of whom are deceased. Justiniano, who died at the age of nineteen years, bad already gained a thorough education, having attended the Christian Brothers College at Las Vegas, New Mexico, the Jesuit Fathers College at Denver, Colorado, the School of Mines at Socorro, New Mexico, and having graduated as a lawyer at the Nashville Law College of Nashville, Tennessee. Mrs. Fidelia Abeytia passed away July 4, 1894, and in 1896, in Socorro, Mr. Abeytia married Tomacita Garcia, the only daughter of Don Juan Maria Garcia and Maria Isabel Torres de Garcia, both deceased. Mrs. Abeytia is a thoroughly accomplished, affable, and courteous lady. Her husband has membership relations with the Catholic Knights of America.
Mr. Abeytia is a staunch republican and one of the prominent representatives of the party in Socorro county and in the state of New Mexico at large. He has been chosen to fill many offices of trust and responsibility. In 1887 and 1888 he was county superintendent of schools in San Miguel county, in 1889 and 1890 served as chief deputy sheriff and collector of San Miguel county, in 1891 and 1892 was school director in that county, during the years 1893 and 1894 acted as chairman of county commissioners and in 1896 and 1897 served as assessor in San Miguel county. From 1897 until 1903 he was a member of the city council of Socorro, while through the years 1904 and 1905 he held the office of mayor of the city of Socorro. He likewise served as school director and member of the board of education, in 1907 and 1908 acted as sheriff of Socorro county and in 1910 was sent as a delegate to the state constitutional convention. From 1908 until 1912 he served as regent of the New Mexico School of Mines and he also represented Socorro county in the senate of the first legislative assembly. Mr. Abeytia was one of the organizers of the Socorro Electric Light Company and served as its first president, and he was also the first president of the Socorro County Fair Association. He is an extensive owner of city real estate in Socorro, where he was the pioneer in utilizing cement for sidewalk construction. He likewise owns some fine ranch property, including about four hundred acres of alfalfa. His is the notable record of a self-made man, for he began his business career with the capital accumulated through his own savings and has become wealthy. He is a well informed man on current events and issues and has traveled extensively with his wife in the United States and Mexico. His acquaintance is wide and he enjoys an enviable reputation as a public-spirited, progressive and valued citizen. ["The Leading Facts of New Mexican History", By Ralph Emerson Twitchell - 1917]
A prominent citizen of Socorro and a stockman well known throughout the West, is a native son of New Mexico, born at Sabinal, Socorro county, December 20, 1846, and descends from a distinguished Spanish officer who came to New Mexico at the time of the conquest, and for his services here was rewarded by the government with a land grant, twelve leagues square, called the Belen land grant. A considerable portion of this property is still owned by his heirs, and several generations of the family have been born there. Grandfather Jose Armijo was an officer in the Mexican army. He secured the patent for the property from the United States. His wife was before her marriage Miss Juanita Silva, she being a native of New Mexico and of Spanish origin. He lived to the ripe old age of seventy-five years. Their son Martin was the father of the gentleman whose name introduces this sketch, was born in the year 1825, was educated at Santa Fe, and has been a prominent citizen of the Territory all his life. During the Civil war he was loyal to the Union, and enlisted in the volunteer militia, where he served as First Lieutenant, and his cousin, Juan Armijo, as Captain. He continued on active duty until the Confederates were driven from the Territory, after which he was honorably discharged. Martin Armijo was twice married – first to Miss Altagracia Esquibel, and after her death to Miss Victoriana Ortego, his present companion. His first wife bore him seven children, of whom five are now living, and of the eight children by his second wife all are living except one. He is a devout Catholic, and a man whose life has been such that it entitles him to the high esteem in which he is held by all who know him.
Melquiades Armijo, the immediate subject of this article, was the first born in his father's large family. He received a Spanish education in New Mexico, and is a self-taught English scholar. On attaining manhood, he chose the stock business for his vocation, has given it his close attention, and has been fairly prospered. In 1876 he went to the Black Hills, and spent some time in mining and prospecting. There he had a streak of luck, and it was in this way that he got his first start in the way of capital. He now keeps some five or six hundred head of cattle and about two hundred head of horses, the latter being a cross of Morgan and Norman-Percheron, and considered a good breed.
Mr. Armijo was married December 22, 1876, to Miss Mary Armijo, who departed this life in 1886, leaving an only child, Roman, who is now in school. In 1892 Mr. Armijo wedded Mrs. Rufina V. de Abeytia, widow of Antonio Abeytia. Mr. and Mrs. Armijo have one of the finest residences in Socorro, a. handsome brick structure, surrounded with spacious and attractive grounds, and giving every evidence of taste and refinement. They also have other valuable city property, and he is the owner of some farming lands.
In politics, Mr. Armijo takes an intelligent and commendable interest, affiliating with the Democratic party. Also he takes a deep interest in educational matters. At this writing he is a member of the School Board. Fraternally, he is identified with the Knights of Pythias. Mr. Armijo has a wide acquaintance, and is favorably known not only throughout New Mexico but also in various portions of the West.
Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team
County Clerk of Socorro county, New Mexico, and the junior member of the prominent law firm of Freeman & Baca, is a native of the city in which he lives, Socorro, born February 27, 1865.
Mr. Baca belongs to that branch of the Baca family which has long been prominent in New Mexico. Francisco Baca, his father, was born in Socorro county, New Mexico, on the Government grant owned by the family. He married Miss Juanita Baca, his second cousin, and to them were born six children, only two of whom are yet living, namely: A. B. Baca, at this writing acting as chief Deputy Sheriff of Socorro county, and Elfego, the youngest of the family and the subject of this article. Their mother died at Topeka, Kansas, at the age of thirty-five years. The father is still living. He has for years been engaged in stock-raising and farming, and has filled the office of Justice of the Peace.
In his native town Elfego Baca was reared and educated. He read law in the office of Judge Hamilton, a prominent lawyer of this place, and was admitted to the bar in December, 1894. In February, 1895, the law firm of which he is a member was organized, his partner, Judge Freeman, being the late Associate Justice of the Supreme Court of the Territory, and thus giving the firm a prestige which insures its success. Mr. Baca is the owner of considerable real-estate both in and adjacent to Socorro, and he has shown himself to be of a progressive and enterprising nature by the erection of numerous buildings in the town and improvements upon his land. He has his farming land worked on shares.
Politically, Mr. Baca is a strong supporter of the principles advocated by the Republican party. In 1883, when only a boy in his teens, he was appointed Deputy Sheriff of the county under Peter A. Simpson, and, although only a boy in years, proved himself to be a man in strength and ability. In 1884 he was made Deputy Sheriff of Bernalillo county, was reappointed in 1886, and served as such until the winter of 1887-8, when he was appointed United States Deputy Marshal for the Territory of New Mexico. In 1893 he received the appointment of Clerk of Socorro county, in 1894 was nominated and elected to the office, receiving a majority of 882 votes, his majority being larger than the number of votes received by his opponent, and he is now serving acceptably in this office.
Mr. Baca was married, in 1884, to Miss Francisqueta Pohmer, a native of New Mexico and a descendant of German and Spanish ancestors. They have three children, all born in Socorro, namely: Alfredo A., Josephena and Sofia. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by GT Transcription Team]
Hon. Luis M. de Baca, of Socorro, New Mexico, is one of the wealthy and influential citizens of this place. He was born in Santa Fe county, New Mexico, August 19, 1834, and is a representative of the distinguished Baca family of this Territory.
Matthew Mauricio C. de Baca, his father was born in Penya Blanca, Bernalillo county, New Mexico, in the year 1784. He married Guadalupe Montoya, who bore him five children, of which number two are now living. His life was passed as a farmer and stock-raiser, and, like the majority of the family of which he was a representative, he was prosperous and wealthy. He died in 1854, in the seventieth year of his age. His wife was fifty at the time of her death. They were devout Catholics.
Their son, Luis M. C., whose name graces this article, was their first born. He was educated at Santa Fe, Taos, New Mexico, and Durango, old Mexico, and after completing his schooling engaged in merchandising at Santa Fe. There he was also for a number of years agent for Jose Chavez. In 1875 he turned his attention to the sheep industry, which was at that time a very profitable business, and invested largely in it both in New Mexico and in California. He confined his operations in California to Monterey county, and became well and favorably known there. At one time he had as high as thirteen thousand sheep. His annual sales of wool amounted to about 25,000 pounds, netting him each year in the neighborhood of $5,500. From time to time he has acquired real estate in different parts of the county in which he lives and is to-day ranked with the heaviest taxpayers of Socorro county.
Mr. Baca was married in 1854 to Miss Ramona Armijo, daughter of General Armijo. They had three children, all dying in infancy, and in 1863 Mrs. Baca also departed this life. In 1869 he wedded Miss Maria Ines Trujillo, daughter of Jesus Trujillo, and the children of this union, two in number, also died in infancy, and soon after the mother died too. In 1888 Mr. Baca married for his third wife Mrs. Tomasita Garcia de Baca. Mr. Baca has reared and educated a young man by the name of Maximiliano Torres, who is now nineteen years of age.
Politically the subject of our sketch has all his life been an ardent Republican. When the great Civil war broke out he joined the Union forces, was made a Major of the Third Mexican Volunteer Militia, and in that capacity rendered the Government valuable service, participating in the engagements at Fort Craig, El Canyon del Apache and at Valverde, and thus aided in driving the Confederate forces outside the boundaries of the Territory. His service to the Government during that period cannot be overestimated. He not only took part in the above named engagements but also he was efficient in organizing the regiments. He raised seven companies for his own, the Third Regiment, and two companies for the Second Regiment, besides aiding in organizing companies for other regiments. Throughout his whole service he was alive with patriotic zeal, and to his enthusiasm was due much of the success which the Mexico forces attained. Mr. Baca served two years as Indian agent at Gila, where he successfully managed the Sioux, and he also served two terms as Probate Judge of Socorro county, being also a member of the New Mexico bar. During his early experience as a stock man he met with many losses from attacks by the Indians. In 1880 the Apache Indians made a raid upon his herders and killed eight men and stole no less than 10,000 sheep. For this loss he has filed claim to the amount of $20,000 against the Government. The claim, however, has never been adjusted. Mr. Baca is now in his old age. His life has been so conducted throughout that he has won many friends, and he is justly entitled to the high esteem in which he is held.
Just at the time that the sketch of Mr. Baca was going to press, the end of his life came, and happened in the following manner: On July 30th, 1895, a big washout occurred at Socorro and his residence was partly destroyed; and he moved up to Park City, three miles west of Socorro; there he lived for two months, after which time he commenced to fail, his principal trouble being epilepsy, symptoms of which he had shown for about one year. This time it was accompanied by a terrible bloody dysentery, which lasted for twenty-two days, the last six days confining him to his bed. He died, on October 16, 1895, at five o'clock, a. m., praying, as a good Christian, the words of the creed being his last words, and was buried the next day, in the Catholic cemetery, accompanied by the Catholic Societies of the Ladies of the Sacred Heart, and the Catholic Knights of St. Michael. Speeches were made at his grave, by the most distinguished citizens of Socorro; as, Judge J. J. Trujillo, one of the most distinguished orators in New Mexico; Mr. J. M. Chavez, ex-county clerk; Hon. S. C. Castillo, the acting school superintendent of Socorro county, and Mrs. A. Cortesy, in behalf of the Ladies of the Sacred Heart.
After the burial the family received resolutions of condolence from both societies, as follows:
In Memory of L. M. C. de Baca
Resolutions of condolence adopted by the members of the Ladies of the League of the Sacred Heart:
Whereas, the angel of death has extended its wings on our society and has taken away from our midst one of our most appreciated brothers, we desire to express our sympathy to the family of the deceased.
Resolved, That being the will of the Almighty to remove from our midst our esteemed brother, we submit ourselves to his will.
Resolved, That as we are sorry for its loss we submit to the One who disposes of all.
Resolved, That in the death of our brother we suffer an irreparable loss, and that we all sincerely sympathize with his bereaved wife and family in this hour of affliction.
Resolved, That a copy of these resolutions be inserted in our official proceedings, and another copy sent to the family of the deceased.
Emilia T. de Baca,
Similar resolutions were passed by the society of Catholic Knights of St. Michael and presented to the family.
Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team
Hon. Juan Jose Baca, one of Socorro's prominent merchants and one of New Mexico's widely known native sons, was born in Socorro, July 18, 1843, a descendant of Baltazar Baca, who came from Spain to New Mexico in the early settlement of the Territory.
Baltazar Baca was our subject's great-grandfather. He aided in the conquest of this country and for service rendered received from the king of Spain a land grant comprising some five or six thousand acres located in what is now Valencia county. Grandfather Juan Dionisio Baca was born on this property, as also was Pedro A. Baca, the father of our subject. They were all stock-raisers and men of ability and influence in the Territory. In the work of driving back the warlike Indians that so frequently made raids on the frontier settlers, the Bacas took an active part, serving officially in the various campaigns against the red men. Mr. Baca's father was also largely interested in merchandising, and for nine terms, a period of eighteen years, served as Judge of Probate of the county, which at that time covered the territory now embraced in the counties of Donna Ana, Socorro, Lincoln, Chaves, Eddy, Grant, Sierra and Valencia. He was a man of great influence and had a character that was in every way above reproach.
Juan Jose Baca was the fourth born in a family of seven children, only three of whom are now living. He received a Spanish education, and in 1866 engaged in business for himself as a raiser of sheep and cattle, in which enterprise he has ever since been interested. Early in life he also engaged in merchandising. His first store was in San Pedro, where he remained one year. Then he came to Socorro, and here for twenty-eight years he has been a prominent factor in business circles. Before the building of the railroads he hauled all his goods from St. Louis and Kansas City. The first of these long and hazardous journeys he made when he was a boy of only fourteen years. Goods in those days were purchased at St. Louis, shipped to Kansas City and from there hauled by ox teams to New Mexico, the trip to Kansas City and back occupying five months. The teamsters camped wherever night overtook them and were not infrequently .subject to attack from the Indians. On one of these trips, in 1867, when near Fort Dodge, the merchandise train was attacked by Comanche Indians and three men were killed and a number of horses and oxen driven off. The merchants of to-day who do business by rail and telegraph have little conception of the dangers and hardships undergone by the brave pioneers of New Mexico. Notwithstanding the many hardships and difficulties which he encountered, Mr. Baca prospered in his operations and is now the owner of a vast amount of property, being rated as one of the rich men of his county. He has erected a number of buildings in Socorro, owns large tracts of land and also has extensive mining interests. He has a valuable coal mine, located sixteen miles east of Socorro, the vein of which is four and a half feet thick, the coal being bituminous and a good article. Mr. Baca helped to organize the Mexican Coal Company, and has been president of this organization since it was formed.
When the Civil war was precipitated upon the country Mr. Baca was a lad of only sixteen years; but young as he was he volunteered his service and was made a Second Lieutenant of the Territorial militia. As such he participated in the battle at Fort Craig. In 1881-2 he was Probate Judge of the county. In 1883 he was elected Mayor of the city of Socorro, and in 1889 was elected a member of the Territorial Senate. While a member of that honorable body he introduced the bill to establish a school of mines at Socorro. As a result a fine building has recently been erected for the purpose and soon a school will be opened, which will be supplied with all modern improvements and appliances and will be under the management of competent instructors. In 1893 Mr. Baca was appointed by Governor Prince as Major of the Territorial militia. This honorable position he now holds. Besides, he is now an active member of the Board of Regents of the School of Mines, having been appointed as such officer three years ago by His Excellency L. Bradford Prince, which appointment was confirmed by the Senate of the Territory of New Mexico.
Mr. Baca and his family are all strong adherents to the Catholic faith, and for nine years he has been President of the Catholic Knights of San Miguel.
March 4, 1866, Mr. Baca was united in marriage to Miss Francisquita Miera, a native of New Mexico and a daughter of Juan N. Miera, a descendant of one of the first Spanish families of the Territory. They have eleven children, all born in Socorro. The eldest, Guadalupe, is now the wife of Edward Fortune. The eldest son, Felipe, is married and settled in Socorro. Dominica is the wife of Mr. Santa Cruz Castillo, of Socorro, New Mexico, who is now the actual School Superintendent of the county. Salomon G., also married, is assisting his father in the store. The other children are all at home, and are as follows: Isabel, Nepomuceno, Emilio, Angelina, Juan Jose, Jr., Paula and Lucas.
Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team
Fred O. Blood
One of San Marcial's most enterprising and influential citizens, is a division storekeeper for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company. He is a native of New York, born at Westport, Essex county, on the 2d of January, 1859, of English ancestry, who first settled in Vermont. In that State the paternal grandfather was born, and with his father removed to Essex county, New York. They were farming people of the highest respectability, and in religious belief were Methodists. The father of our subject, Leander A. Blood, was born on the old homestead in Essex county, in 1828, and married Miss Minerva Miller, who was born in the same county. In 1869 they left the East, going to Kansas, where the father purchased land twelve miles from Topeka, which he has now placed under a high state of cultivation. His wife passed away at the age of sixty-three years. By her marriage she became the mother of eight sons and one daughter, only four of whom are now living.
Fred O. Blood is the fifth child in order of birth in the family, and at the age of nine years was brought by his parents to Kansas, where he was reared on the farm, while his education was obtained in the common schools, which he attended until twenty years of age. In 1877 he became connected with the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company, with which he remained for four years, when he went to White Oaks, where he engaged in mining, meeting with fair success. After three years of this work he sold out his mining interests, and in 1885 went to Topeka. In 1886 he became storekeeper for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company at San Marcial, which position he has since filled in a most satisfactory manner, and has become one of the leading citizens of the place. Mr. Blood has invested in land, and within the corporation limits has erected a good home, which he has surrounded with beautiful shade-trees and other shrubbery. His home place comprises fourteen acres, which must ultimately become of great value, and he is also greatly improving his land outside of the city limits, which will some day become the most valuable and productive in this part of the Rio Grande valley. He is also about to test this locality for an artesian well with a fair prospect of success, and if successful will be entitled to great credit for his enterprise in this direction, as it will be a discovery of universal value to his vicinity. Mr. Blood is an ardent lover of horses, and now owns Andy B. , a two-year-old colt of the Hambletonian stock, which is a son of Dandy O., a trotter with a record of 2:11. His grandsire was Dalbrino, and his dam, Mary Phelps, by Coriander, by Iron Drake, by Hambletonian 10. The horse is a splendid one and our subject is to be congratulated on the ownership of so fine an animal.
On the 5th of August, 1886, Mr. Blood led to the marriage altar Miss Laura La Master, a native of Kokomo, Indiana, and a daughter of Isaac La Master, of that State, though her parents are now residents of San Marcial. Two sons have come to grace this union – Ernest R. and Elmer Orrin. Socially, Mr. Blood is connected with the Masonic fraternity, while politically he is a Republican, and a man of much ability who takes a very active interest in the welfare and upbuilding of the Territory.
Herman Bonem is numbered among the leading dry-goods merchants of San Marcial, New Mexico. His birth occurred in the Fatherland on the 24th of May, 1863, and he is of German parentage. In his native land he pursued his literary studies, and on attaining the age of seventeen years came to America that he might benefit his financial condition in this country where better opportunities are afforded young men. Obtaining a position as clerk in a general merchandise store in Winston, Missouri, at $10 per month, he remained with that firm for six years, his wages being increased from time to time until he received $50 per month.
In 1886 he first set foot on New Mexican soil, and obtained employment in the store of Loewenstein, Strouss & Company at Mora. From there he came to San Marcial, accepting a clerkship in the store of Joseph Freudenstein and continued with that gentleman for about four years, or until he sold out, in 1891, to Leo Locwenstein. Mr. Bonem remained with the new firm until the 22d of March, 1893, at which time he opened a store of his own, having as a silent partner Charley Lamphear, who sold his interest to V. C. Proctor, November 5, 1894.
He began with a small capital, but has now a well selected stock of dry goods, hats, caps, shoes and gents' furnishing goods. His long experience in the trade has made him thoroughly familiar with the wants of his customers. He has an entirely new stock, which he sells at reasonable prices and enjoys his full share of the patronage of the town.
Mr. Bonem was united in marriage on the 16th of November, 1890, to Miss May Sanders, of Santa Fe, and they have become the parents of two interesting little daughters, -- Hannah and Rena, both born in San Marcial.
In his political views Mr. Bonem is a Republican, earnestly supporting the men and measures of that party; was made a Master Mason in San Marcial, and is Past Master of his lodge. He is also connected with the Knights of Pythias fraternity and the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, in both of which lodges he has served as Treasurer. He enjoys the good will of the whole community and is rated as a good business man, thoroughly reliable in all transactions, and as such in justly entitled to the good business which he is building up, and which is constantly increasing under his capable management.
Cony T. Brown, one of the most enterprising and influential citizens of Socorro, came to the city in 1880, and for the past fifteen years has been closely identified with her leading business interests. Born in the State of Maine, November 30, 1856, he descended from the best New England stock. His ancestors were among the Mayflower passengers, and the name also appears in the history of the war of the Revolution. Thomas Brown, his grandfather, settled at Corinna, Penobscot county, Maine, where he became extensively interested in agriculture and lumbering, was a prominent citizen and held offices of honor and trust, and died at the age of sixty-six years. His only son, Cephas Brown, was born on the homestead farm in Maine, and there passed his boyhood and youth. He was united in marriage to Miss Eunice Spalding, who was also a native of Maine, born on the Kennebec river. They were the parents of two sons, one of whom is deceased. The other son, Cony T. Brown, is the subject of this sketch. He was an infant of nine months when his father died. His mother then took him to Somerset county, Maine, where her relatives resided. He received his education in the North Anson Academy, and at the age of sixteen years left school to learn the trade of tinner. He served an apprenticeship of three years, and at the end of that time went to Ellis, Kansas; there he resided four years, and this brings us to the year 1880, when he came to Socorro. During the early years of his business career fortune had not especially favored him, and he had accumulated no capital. When he came to New Mexico he began prospecting in the Magdalene district, and succeeded in taking out a good deal of valuable ore. Since 1893 he has been extensively interested in gold-mining, being one of the organizers of the company which owns and operates the Oro Fino gold mine. He is president of the corporation and owns one-third of the stock. He was one of the first settlers in the Copper Canyon district, in which the Oro Fino is situated; the prospects of this mine are very fine, the assays running frequently as high as $1,000 to the ton. In 1889 he established a livery business in Socorro, and for the past six years has supplied the city with everything needed in this line. He has a bus line to the railroads, and has several Government mail contracts. Thoroughly reliable and trustworthy, he is rated as one of Socorro's most valued citizens. In addition to his mining and others interests mentioned, he gives some attention to agriculture, owning a ranch of one hundred and sixty acres, from which are produced large crops of alfalfa, apples, pears, prunes, peaches and grapes.
Politically, he is a stanch adherent to Republican principles, and has been twice elected a member of the Board of County Commissioners. The county of Socorro is the largest in the Territory, and the work of the board is therefore of considerable importance.
JASPER N. BROYLES, who occupies a position of unmistakable prominence and influence as one of the representative business men and most substantial capitalists of the thriving city of San Marcial, Socorro county, where he is engaged in banking and merchant milling, traces his ancestral line back to English origin, the family having become established in the Old Dominion State more than one hundred years ago, and having been conspicuously identified with the affairs of that cradle of our national history.
Our subject is a native of West Virginia, having been born on the paternal homestead, located in the vicinity of Red Sulphur Springs, and the date of his nativity having been July 24, 1859. His paternal grandfather, Andrew Broyles, settled near Red Sulphur Springs, Monroe county, where he owned extensive tracts of valuable land, which he brought to a high state of cultivation, becoming one of the influential men of that section and holding a position of prominence. He married Miss Mitchel, and they became the parents of eight children. The mother died in the seventy-fifth year of her age, but the father is still living, having now (1895) reached the patriarchal age of ninety-one years. He is a member of the Christian Church, as was also his devoted wife. Their son, John Broyles, father of our subject, was born on the old homestead in the year 1830, and was there reared to maturity, eventually leading to the marriage altar Miss Sarah Smith, a native of the same place. They became the parents of two children – Lee C. and Jasper N., both of whom are now representative business men of San Marcial, New Mexico. The father died at the untimely age of thirty years, but the cherished mother still survives, being now fifty-six years of age.
Jasper N. Broyles, the immediate subject of this review, received his educational discipline at Marysville, Missouri, and at Hunter’s Springs, West Virginia, and in his youth devoted himself to learning the art of telegraphy, securing his preliminary experience in the office of the Wabash railroad at Conception, Missouri, and after becoming an expert operator he was for seven years employed at his profession, being in the employ of the Wabash Company for some time, and later in that of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company. In the year 1881 he came to San Marcial to take charge of the local ticket office of the company last mentioned, and he continued in this connection until 1887, at which time he became identified with the business interests of the town by engaging in the grocery trade here, his place of business at the start being the same which he has since retained. His cash capital, as representing the basis of operations on the inception of his mercantile career, amounted to only $250, and the original establishment was one of modest order. His sagacity and intuitive perception of correct business methods led him to avoid an expansion of his credit and to begin upon a moderate scale and to widen the scope of operations consecutively in proportion to the normal demands placed upon the business. The wisdom of his policy has been conclusively proved in the years which have brought to him so marked a degree of success. Alert and enterprising, and ever according a close attention to the details of his business, the same showed a consecutive growth and his establishment now represents one of the most important mercantile enterprises in the thriving little city.
In 1893 the entire block in which his store was located was destroyed by fire, but with characteristic enterprise Mr. Broyles associated himself with others in the work of erecting on the site a substantial block of modern design and one which is an ornament to the town. Though the fire necessarily entailed a considerable loss, he did not regard it as an absolute misfortune, since it gave to the business portion superior facilities in the erection of the new building.
Not content to merely follow along in beaten paths, Mr. Broyles ever aimed to maintain a progressive attitude and to anticipate the demands of business. Thus, in 1894, he became convinced that there was an imperative demand for first-class flouring-mill facilities in San Marcial, and he forthwith took the initiative and erected a finely-equipped mill, which is fitted for full roller-process system, and operated by steam power. The mill is thoroughly modern in standard and in its productive facilities, having a large capacity for turning out flour of the highest grade, and for successfully handling other food cereals. The mill is now operated night and day, and yet so great is the demand for its exceptionally excellent products that its capacity is tested to the utmost, and the proprietor has in contemplation the enlargement of the mill and the augmenting of its facilities.
In addition to the conspicuous enterprises already noted, Mr. Broyles also provides accommodations to the local public in the conducting of a private banking business in the city, this monetary institution dating its inception back to 1892. A general banking business is conducted, deposits are received, exchange bought and sold, financial loans extended, and the whole is managed upon such careful and conservative methods that a representative business is controlled, the proprietor enjoying the confidence and esteem of the community by reason of his ability and indubitable integrity. The bank is equipped with a fire-proof vault and additional protection is insured by a time lock, while all other facilities are up to the modern standard. In his mercantile line Mr. Broyles conducts both a wholesale and retail business, handling a full assortment of general merchandise and deriving a trade from a wide territory contiguous to San Marcial. His success has been the result of his own efforts, and has been of pronounced character. Honor and capability do not lack for public appreciation, and our subject’s career has been one in which he has ever retained the respect and confidence of those with whom he has had dealings. His position as one of the leading citizens of San Marcial is conceded, and no one man has done more to further the development and insure the substantial prosperity of the town than has he. He is public-spirited to a degree and is ever ready to lend influence and tangible assistance to any enterprise which has for its object the conserving of the welfare of the community.
In 1884 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Broyles to Miss Zina Hafley, a native of Indiana, and the daughter of Jacob Hafley, now a prominent resident of La Cygne, Kansas. They are the parents of three children: Lawrence, Rosie and Ruth. Mr. and Mrs. Broyles are zealous members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, South.
In his fraternal relations our subject is prominently identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having passed the chairs in both bodies of that noble organization. In politics he supports the Democratic party, but he has never been an aspirant for official preferment, finding that his business interests have ever demanded his undivided attention, and in this line he has been eminently and deservedly successful, being a distinctive type of the self-made man.[Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by GT Transcription Team]
Holm Olaf BursumH. O. Bursum
Senate Years of Service: 1921-1925
BURSUM, Holm Olaf, a Senator from New Mexico; born at Fort Dodge, Webster County, Iowa, February 10, 1867; attended the public schools; moved to New Mexico in 1881; settled near Socorro, Socorro County, and engaged in stock raising; member, Territorial senate 1899-1900; chairman of the Territorial central committee in 1905 and 1911; member of the State constitutional convention in 1910; member of the Republican National Committee 1920-1924; appointed on March 11, 1921, and subsequently elected on September 20, 1921, as a Republican to the United States Senate to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of Albert B. Fall and served from March 11, 1921, to March 3, 1925; unsuccessful candidate for reelection in 1924; chairman, Committee on Pensions (Sixty-seventh and Sixty-eighth Congresses) engaged in the newspaper business at Washington, D.C., and subsequently returned to Socorro, N.Mex., and resumed his former business interests until his death in Colorado Springs, Colo., August 7, 1953; interment in Socorro Protestant Cemetery, Socorro, N.Mex. [Submitted by A. Newell]
The Sheriff of Socorro county, is a native of the State of Iowa, born at Fort Dodge, February 10, 1867. His parents, Frank O. and Maria (Hilton) Bursum, were natives of Norway. They bade farewell to the pine-clad hills in 1865, crossed the sea and after landing in the United States went to Iowa and settled at Prairie du Chien. Later they removed to Fort Dodge, Iowa, near which place Mr. Bursum owned a farm. Here he died, at the age of twenty-three years.
Mr. and Mrs. Bursum had two children, a daughter, Louisa, who married George J. Woolfinger, and now resides at San Antonio, New Mexico, and H. O. Bursum, whose history is as follows:
His boyhood, until he was nine years of age, was passed upon a frontier farm; for two years he was a pupil in the Fort Dodge school, and then, at the age of eleven years, began to earn his own living. The failure of his mother's health necessitated a change of climate, and she went to Boulder, Colorado, accompanied by her husband and family. She failed to regain the much-coveted strength, and finally died, in 1879, aged thirty-six years. Relying upon his own resources, Mr. Bursum secured work as a chore boy in the store of Bradley & McClure, where he remained until after the death of his mother. He then went to Denver and was in the employ of Mr. Durbin for a year. In 1880 he came to Raton, New Mexico, and took a position in the drug store of Mr. Norwood. At the end of two months he returned to Denver and worked for the Colorado Telegraph Company. Having lost this position, and failing to secure anything more to his taste, he served as dish-washer in a restaurant, and made himself generally useful until opportunity offered for something else.
In 1882 he came to San Antonio, New Mexico, and for eight years was in the general mercantile establishment of his uncle, A. H. Hilton. In 1890 he went to Fort Wingate and was there engaged in contract freighting for the United States Government, hauling the supplies for the fort. At the end of two years he became interested in railway construction, and was employed by Mitchell Brothers, who built a branch of the Atlantic & Pacific railroad to a lumber camp. After the completion of this enterprise he returned to San Antonio with his freighting outfit, which consisted of twenty-eight mules and a number of wagons. These he traded for twelve hundred sheep, but at the end of six months disposed of the sheep and turned his attention to farming. He is still interested in agriculture, and now owns two ranches east of San Antonio, comprising three hundred and eighty acres. He makes a specialty of fruit-raising, producing fine crops of apples, peaches and pears.
Mr. Bursum has always given zealous support to the Republican party, and October 17, 1894, he was nominated Sheriff of Socorro county. He made a good race and was elected to the office by a majority of three hundred and eighty-four votes. He entered upon his official duties January 1, 1895, and since that time has made several important arrests. In the apprehension of criminals he has displayed a skill little short of genius. One of the culprits arrested by him has been sentenced to serve a term of twenty-five years, and another one is to be hanged. The business of this office absorbs the entire time and attention of Mr. Bursum. He belongs to no societies, and is unmarried.
Hon. Santa Cruz Castillo, Superintendent of Schools for the county of Socorro, New Mexico, is a native son of the Territory, born at Lemitar, Socorro county, April 5, 1866.
His father, Nepomuceno Castillo, was a Mexican by birth, a native of Chihuahua, born in 1839. In 1858 he removed to New Mexico, and in 1863 was united in marriage, at Albuquerque, to Miss Barbarita Lopez, of that city. Mr. Castillo is a manufacturer of filigree jewelry, and is one of the most expert and skillful workmen in this business. He and his wife now reside in Las Cruces, New Mexico. They have had eleven children, five of whom are living: Juan C., Volaise L., Luis C., Felipe N., and Santa Cruz, the subject of this biography. The father served in the Union army in New Mexico during the struggle for the perpetuity of the nation, being a member of Captain Gradyn's cavalry company (scouts): also acted as Captain in different companies organized to punish the Indians and protect the settlers against their depredations. In this capacity he earned a reputation for courage and coolness in time of danger, and at one time that he went to a campaign he killed an Indian and brought a girl Indian captive who still is living here, in the neighboring town. He has displayed more than ordinary wisdom and judgment in the management and ordering of his men.
Santa Cruz Castillo.is the eldest of the family, and received a superior education in the Jesuit Fathers' School in Albuquerque, where he took a six-years' course and graduated in English and Spanish. In June, 1879, he returned to Socorro, and under the tuition of his father began to learn the jewelry trade. He afterward served as clerk in a store at Lincoln, keeping the books, selling goods and sometimes having the management of the store entire. The business belonged to Jose Montanyo, one of the rich merchants of the Territory. Resigning this position he returned to Socorro and was in the jewelry business for some time. Later he went to Santa Fe, and in the employ of the firm of F. Abeytia & Brother, he continued eighteen months. He had mastered every detail of the trade, and had become one of the most skilled of workmen. He was again associated with his father in business, but in 1889 accepted the position of weigh-master and book-keeper for the Rio Grande Smelting Company, which he held five years.
Mr. Castillo was appointed Deputy County Assessor of Socorro county in 1887; the following year he was elected clerk of the city of Socorro, and in 1894 he was elected Councilman from the Fourth Ward of the city. He was elected to the office of County Superintendent of Schools November 6, 1894, and notwithstanding that it was the first time that he ran for a county office he was elected by 513 votes majority. This is a position for which he is well qualified, both by taste and attainment. He has charge of the forty-nine schools in the county, and only ten can be reached by rail! About one-third of them are 100 miles from the county seat, and some of them are 180 miles distant! the success of which is in a large measure due to him. He has organized one new district, has joined four other districts, and has made other advantageous changes, introducing new textbooks and making all kinds of improvement in the schools.
In politics he adheres to the principles of the Republican party, and has served as Clerk of the Republican County Central Committee. In 1883 he assisted in the organization of the Roman Catholic society known as "Caballeros Catolicos de San Miguel;" he was elected chief secretary of this body, and holds that position at the present time. He is considered as one of the best penmen in the county, if not the best.
He was united in marriage to Miss Dominica Baca, who was born in Socorro, March 24, 1873, a daughter of the Hon. Juan Jose Baca, also possessing a refined education, acquired at the Sisters' school for the period of seven years; his history will be found on another page of this volume. They are the parents of two children, Nepomuceno and Alfonzo C. The family are devout members of the Roman Catholic Church, and are held in the highest esteem by all classes of citizens.
(Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team)
A. D. Coon
A. D. COON is a native of New York. He came to New Mexico in 1879, settling first in Albuquerque, and in 1881 he moved to Socorro, N. M., his present residence. Since coming to the Territory Mr. Coon has devoted himself exclusively to mining. He has been very successful, and today is interested in some of the best paying mines in the Territory, among them being the Merritt mine. He is also interested in the Cabinet Consolidated Mining Co., and the Socorro mine. Mr. Coon is a man of energy and enterprise, and is prominently identified with the interests of Socorro. [Source: "New Mexico, The Spanish Conquest to the Present Time", by Helen Haines, pub. 1891 - Submitted by Pat Houser]
MICHAEL COONEY, born in Canada, March 18, 1838. He received an early education in Canada and worked on a farm from 1850 to 1860. The following year, he went to Chicago, and upon the organization of the Twenty-third Illinois Volunteers he enlisted in that company, and served three years in the civil war. He then returned to Canada and entered a military school at Toronto. In 1866 he went to Buffalo, N. Y., and took part in the invasion of Canada by the Fenians. At the battle of Lambston's Ridge, his company of four hundred men, under General John O'Neil, defeated the Queen's regiment of 1400 men; resulting in a complete victory for the invaders. After the rebellion he disposed of his property in Canada, and engaged in the liquor business in Chicago for several years. In 1868 he became a member of the first Irish Republican Club ever organized in the United States. In 1869 he organized the Sheridan Guards, the second State military company then in Illinois; the following spring, he, with his company, joined General O'Neil's second invasion of Canada; this was, however, defeated by the arrival of General Meade with United States troops, who arrested all officers of note connected with the invasion, with the exception of the officers of the Chicago regiment, who disguised themselves and mingled in with their commands as privates, leaving the first sergeant in charge, thereby eluding arrest. In 1870, Mr. Cooney was appointed inspector of customs for the district of the Teche, La.; subsequently he was transferred to New Orleans. He held various positions in the custom house up to 1877. On the 15th of October, 1879, he was married to Miss Jennie Donnelly of New Orleans. He organized the Mitchell Rifles and commanded that company until 1880, when he received news of the death of hie brother at the hands of the Apache Indians. He immediately came to New Mexico, recovered and buried the body of his brother, and being prepossessed with that country settled in Socorro County. In 1884 he was elected to the Territorial Legislature; in which he represented Socorro County, and in 1888, he was re-elected to the same high position. Capt. Cooney now resides in the thriving little town of Cooney, N. M. He is largely interested in mining and operates some of the most valuable mines in New Mexico. [Source: "New Mexico, The Spanish Conquest to the Present Time", by Helen Haines, pub. 1891 - Submitted by Pat Houser]
Hon. Michael Cooney – a singularly active and useful career has been that of the subject of this review, and one filled with interesting experiences and high honors. His connection with the affairs of New Mexico has been one of eminent service in public capacity and of equally prominent sort in furthering her material prosperity and advancement along the lines where magnificent individual or corporate industries are directed. That to such an one should be accorded distinctive recognition in a work of this nature is imperative, and it is with a feeling of no indifferent satisfaction that the biographist[sic] here reverts to the more salient points in his life history, and all of the details reflect the evidence of his worth as a brave loyal and honest man. In seeking the origin of our subject’s genealogy we must go back to the Emerald Isle, for there do we find his ancestry represented in the stanchest of old Irish stock, -- men and women of intelligence, courage, true patriotism and gentle refinement. He was born in the county of Durham, Canada, on the 25th of March, 1838, his father having emigrated thither from county Tipperary, Ireland, in the year 1818. The Cooney family was one of distinction in the emerald Isle, and was there possessed of a very considerable patrimony, which was reduced to a minimum in the war which they aided in maintaining, as directed against Queen Elizabeth, during the period of fifteen years. They finally suffered defeat, and what few there were who survived this memorable conflict left Ireland and sought homes elsewhere.
Michael Cooney, father of our subject, was a young man when he left his native land, but some time after his location in Durham county, Canada, he led to the marriage altar Miss Margaret Collings, a native of county Cork, Ireland. They work zealously and faithfully and eventually reclaimed an excellent farm in Durham county, and there they reared their children, instilling into their minds those principles of honor and industry with which they were themselves so thoroughly imbued. They became the parents of seven daughters and four sons, two of whom (twins) died at the age of six months, while another died in New Orleans, Louisiana, from an attack of yellow fever. The mother departed this life in the sixty-eighth year of her age. Her father, Timothy Collins, lived to attain the age of ninety-seven years, while her mother, whose maiden name was Mary O’Connor, lived to be 107 years of age. The father of our subject died at the age of eighty-four years, and it may thus be seen that the stock is one notable in vigor of constitution and in longevity.
Michael Cooney, to whom this review is immediately dedicated, was the ninth child inorder of birth, and he was reared on the parental homestead, receiving such educational advantages as were afforded by the common schools of that section and period. In 1860 he started out in life upon his own responsibility, coming to the United States and locating in Chicago, which was then a city of but minor importance.
In 1861, when the dark cloud of civil war obscured the national horizon, he stood ready to render loyal service to the Union, and enlisted as a member of Company C, Twenty-third Illinois Volunteer Infantry, for a term of three years. His regiment was sent to Lexington, Missouri, and there, after several days of hard fighting with the Confederate forces, under General Price, they were captured and paroled, returning to Illinois, where the regiment was placed in charge of Camp Douglas. Mr. Cooney had been wounded in the thigh by a piece of shell, but soon recovered from the effects of the wound.
After his term of enlistment had expired he was honorably discharged. He took part in O'Neill's invasion of Canada in, 1866, and afterward returned to Chicago, where he effected the organization of the Irish Rifles, of the Illinois State Guards, and was commissioned as Captain of this command by Governor Palmer, retaining this office till November, 1870. The Irish Rifles served under General O'Neill in his efforts against Canada, in 1870, when the company became the color company of the Fourteenth Regiment, Irish Republican Army, and the Captain was elected by the officers as Lieutenant Colonel of the regiment in the field; but their arms and equipments were captured by General Mead, in their camp near Malone on the border, before getting an opportunity to cross and engage the enemy. It was this regiment that demanded of the governor of New York transportation out of his State or they would start to march to Chicago and live on the country as they went! The governor refused, but William Tweed paid for their transportation to Buffalo, where they obtained funds from Chicago to return home. In the meantime Captain Cooney had attended a military school and had become an expert tactician, and it was the intention of the Rifles to cause an uprising in Canada in view of securing independence to the Dominion. This project failed of realization. Shortly after returning to Chicago, and when De Palladine was attempting to establish a republic on the ruins of the French Empire, the French Benevolent Association of Illinois was sending recruits to France. He organized the Irish-American Ambulance Corps to aid the Republican cause, and applied to the French committee of defense in New York for transportation to Havre; but they claimed to have exhausted all their funds in forwarding Frenchmen; and after fruitless efforts to raise the necessary funds the organization disbanded, their only public appearance being as an escort, to the Union depot, upon sixteen recruits from the French Benevolent Association, who were en route to Havre.
Being ruined financially by the expense consequent on the Fenian movements, he left Chicago for New Orleans in November, 1870, in order to seek a new field to retrieve his fortunes.
An incident worthy of particular attention in this connection is that which occurred in connection with the first formal ceremony of decorating the graves of Union soldiers by the Grand Army of the Republic, in Chicago, on the 30th of May, 1869. The Irish Rifles had charge of the dedication of Calvary cemetery, and on that day they were reviewed by General Sheridan, who was stationed on a balcony of the Sherman House. Each soldier had a bouquet of flowers in the muzzle of his gun, and after decorating the graves of the Union soldiers with beautiful floral offerings there yet remained a large quantity of the flowers, and Captain Cooney brought his company to attention, made them a brief but singularly appropriate address, and concluded by asking them if it would be agreeable to them to strew flowers upon the graves of the brave Confederate dead whose last resting place was marked here. It is gratifying to note that his suggestion met with earnest and hearty endorsement on the part of the brave boys of his command, and with kindly solicitude and tenderness did they render this tribute to their fallen foes, their departed brothers. The precedent was one which will ever redound to the honor of the Irish Rifles, showing the magnanimous spirit by which they were animated – the spirit of true humanitarianism. In the Chicago Times the editor, the late Wilbur F. Storey, referred in particular to the action of the Irish Rifles, and in glowing phrases commended them for their noble tribute, and the animus displayed on that memorable occasion.
Captain Cooney left Chicago for New Orleans in 1870, and while a resident of that city he was associated with various lines of business enterprise, and in the election of 1872 he rendered the Republican party such valuable and timely assistance that he received the appointment as Inspector of Customs for the port and was stationed at Morgan City. He was subsequently installed as captain of night inspectors at New Orleans, and while stationed there he organized the Mitchell Rifles this being the third organization of the sort in Louisiana after the war. He had two weeks' service in the First Louisiana Cavalry as First Lieutenant under Governor Kellogg, seating officers in the disturbed districts, and received the commendation of General Badge, who was in command. When the Irish societies voted to make the Mitchell Rifles their escort in the parade of March 17, 1876, the Rifles extended an invitation to the Sixteenth United States Infantry, then in quarters at the courthouse, to march with them, and this episode marked the first recognition of the United States soldiers in the South subsequent to the war.
A younger brother of our subject, James C. Cooney by name, was Quartermaster Sergeant in the Eighth United States Cavalry, and while scouting in the Mogollon mountains in New Mexico discovered silver, and after his honorable discharge from the military service he effected the organization of the "Cooney Mining District." In the spring of 1880 he, with several other miners, was attacked and killed by a band of Indians, under Chief Victorio, and soon after this our subject left New Orleans and came to New Mexico to look after his brother's mining interests. Away up in the mountains he hewed out from the solid rock a sepulcher for the remains of his brother. The door to this tomb is sealed with cement and ores from the mines, and in these ores has been wrought out the design of a cross, forming a singularly beautiful and appropriate memorial emblem. The miners also hewed a cross of porphyry, which has been placed upon the summit of the great rock which forms the sepulcher, and a more dignified and noble resting place was never given a crowned head than is this massive tomb which has been reared under the clear skies of the high-heaved mountains. In the tomb Mr. Cooney has also placed the remains of his little son, whose death occurred some years ago.
As soon as our subject had perfected preliminary arrangements he began the work of developing the mines which his brother had discovered. He erected the first mill in the Cooney district, and also the first in the Silver Creek camp, and he superintended the construction of a road through the canyon to the camp. He has taken out ore to the value of over $400,000, and the mines are still being worked and are yielding good returns under lease.
In 1882 the Republicans of Socorro county accorded Mr. Cooney the nomination as Representative to the Territorial Legislature, and he was elected by a representative majority, but did not take his seat until 1884 – the Twenty-fifth Legislative Assembly of New Mexico. In 1888 he was again elected a member of the Legislature, serving during the Twenty-eighth Assembly. His capacity as a business man and as one of broad mental grasp gave him a particular power in the work of securing wise legislation, and his service was one of signal fidelity to the interests of his constituents and the Territory at large, as well as one that stands to his perpetual credit and honor. In 1894 he was elected Collector of taxes for his county, and this preferment he still retains, proving a most able executive. He has been progressive in his methods, and has retained a most lively interest in the affairs of the city of Socorro, where he resides, and has identified himself with every measure which has had as its object the advancement and welfare of the Territory.
The Captain's connection with the important mining interests of New Mexico has brought him into prominence in this line, and he is recognized as one of the most careful and capable of operators. His every action has been characterized by honor and integrity, and he is to be distinctively considered as one of the representative men of the Territory. The marriage of Captain Cooney was celebrated in the city of New Orleans, on the 15th of October, 1879, when he was united to Miss Jennie Donally, who was born in New York, but reared from childhood in the Crescent City. They became the parents of two sons, John and Charles, the former of whom died in the mountains as a result of a hemorrhage of the lungs, being eleven years of age. Charles is now in school, being a bright and animated youth of much promise, and one to whom the parents are very devoted. Captain Cooney has a fine brick residence in Socorro, and also has a farm and substantial residence at Mineral Park.
In his fraternal relations our subject is prominently identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, still retaining his membership in Magnolia Lodge, No. 22, of New Orleans, also Wildey Encampment, No. 1, of New Orleans.
He donated the first United States flag to the Cooney schoolhouse in 1890, being the first time a flag floated during school sessions over a schoolhouse in New Mexico. Upon September 2, 1895, he donated and presented another to schoolhouse No. 1 of Socorro, upon conditions that each boy or girl who received a head mark would hoist the flag and take it down the next day; and the boy or girl who did most service for the flag would receive from him a gold medal pendant from a small silk flag as captain of the color guard, and the others ranking as to service down to the corporal, receiving a flag badge with the rank thereon in gold letters. Below we give the speech at the presentation: "School Children of School No. 1: This flag, which I present to you to-day, was adopted by Congress on the 14th day of June, 1777. Very little is known relating to its adoption excepting that it was adopted by a unanimous vote. This is due to the wanton destruction of our library and archives at Washington by the English, who burned the capital on August 24, 1814; but from well authenticated tradition it comes to us that General Washington had called for designs for a flag, and that Betsy Ross, a quaint little Quaker girl of Philadelphia, had sewed the stripes together, and the stars also in the blue field, which when shown pleased him greatly, and was altered only slightly from the original design at the suggestion of the general. So you little girls should have as much interest in the flag as the boys, as it was a girl who conceived the immortal design, and whose nimble fingers had sown it piece by piece together.
"The red of the stripes represent the courage of our forefathers and their determination to free their country from English tyranny; the white of its folds represents the purity of their intentions in giving equal rights to all who sought protection under its shade; and the field of blue with the stars thereon formed a new constellation which was destined to become as a beacon of light and an inspiration of hope and freedom to the oppressed of all nations. Each star in the constellation represents a State in the Union of the States; and whenever a new State is admitted a new star is added, but the thirteen stripes remain the same forever as a lasting monument to the valor of the original thirteen States, which united to overthrow British tyranny and free their country.
"In the beginning this flag represented only three million people and thirteen States, while now it has forty-four stars and represents seventy millions of people, the greatest nation on earth to-day. It represents a government of the people, for the people, by the people, where the rich man and the poor man are equal, and every boy born under its folds has a vested right to fill any position from ward constable to president of the nation.
"This flag is known in every clime and upon every sea where ships go forth, and wherever seen is recognized as the flag of a free nation and an emblem of liberty. This flag has gone through four great wars, and never yet has been dishonored. It is the flag of Washington, Bunker Hill, Saratoga and Yorktown. It is the flag of Starke and Stony Point, the flag of Paul Jones, of Barry and Montgomery. It is the flag of Jackson and Chalmete; the flag of Scott, of Lundy's Lane, of Churubusco and Cerro Gordo. It is the flag of Lincoln, the flag of Grant, the flag of Garfield. It is the flag of Sheridan, the flag of Schofield and the flag of Miles. Whether this flag will remain the emblem of a free nation depends largely upon the school children of the Republic, upon whom the duty will devolve of protecting this flag and all it represents, when the older citizens of the Republic who have loved it have answered the last roll call of their Creator.
"Into your hands I now place this flag, upon the conditions arranged with your principal, that it shall float over this school every day that the school is in session; that the boy or girl who wins the head mark each day shall hoist the flag next morning at nine o'clock and take it down again in the evening at four o'clock; and the boy or girl who makes the greatest score of service at the end of the term shall receive from me a beautiful gold medal pendant from a small silken flag, engraved with the name of the school, the date, and name of the winner as captain of the color guard. To the next in rank will be given a silken flag badge, with his or her name in gold letters as First Lieutenant of the Color Guard, to the next, Second Lieutenant; next, First Sergeant, Second and Third Sergeants, and First, Second, Third and Fourth Corporals, and all the remainder shall have a badge as members of the Color Guard. This competition is confined to the department of Professor Duff and Mrs. Riggle, as the children in the primary department are too small to take service in the Color Guard, and the rules governing those contests remain subject to change by the teachers governing those departments when in their estimation any change is needed to conform to the discipline of the school." (Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team)
H. M. Dougherty
Prosecuting Attorney of Socorro county, is a promising young lawyer of New Mexico and has but recently started out upon a career which bids fair to be attended with marked success.
Mr. Dougherty was born in North Platte, Nebraska, April 7, 1868, and descends from Irish and English ancestors who were prominent in the early settlement of Virginia. Some of his maternal ancestors were participants in the Revolutionary war. Mr. Dougherty's parents, Ralph C. and Mary E. (Sims) Dougherty, were born in Kentucky and are still living. In their family were eight children, Harry M., subject of our sketch, being the youngest and one of the three of this number that survive.
H. M. Dougherty was educated in Nebraska and at Fort Worth, Texas, after which he entered the St. Louis Law School, where he attained a high standing in his class and where he graduated in 1890. He first came to New Mexico in 1881, and since his graduation in the law school he has maintained his residence in this Territory. For a time he was engaged in the practice of law in partnership with the Hon. Estanislao V. Chavez in Socorro, but on account of ill health he retired from the firm and for some months was out of practice. On recovering his health, he was appointed by Governor Thornton to the position of Prosecuting Attorney of Socorro county, an office which he is now ably filling. He has a nice office room, a choice collection of law books and standard works, gives his whole time and attention to his profession, and his success is assured. Politically, he is a Democrat.
Nestor P. Eaton
Assessor of Socorro county, New Mexico, is a native son of this Territory, born at Santa Fe, March 18, 1872. His forefathers came to this country from England and were among the early settlers of New York State. Ethan W. Eaton, his father, came out west to New Mexico when a young man and was subsequently married in Santa Fe to Miss Marcelina Chavez, a native of the Territory and a representative of one of its noted Spanish families. Here he settled down to ranching and mining and has acquired a large amount of valuable property, including rich silver mines. During the Civil war he joined the Union forces, was commissioned Colonel and participated in a number of engagements, thus playing an active part in helping to drive the Confederates from this Territory. In his family are eight children, Nestor P. being the fifth born.
Nestor P. Eaton was educated in Santa Fe, New Mexico, and in Arizona learned the drug business, at which he was employed for some time both in New Mexico and in Arizona. Since 1880 he has been a resident of Socorro and has been largely interested in mining enterprises, associated in this business with his father and brothers. They have both silver and lead mines at Magdalena, this county, which they are operating on a paying basis. In his political views Mr. Eaton harmonizes with the Republican party. By this party he was in 1892 elected Assessor of Socorro county for a term of two years, was reelected at the expiration of that time, and is now serving his second term, his duties being performed in a manner which reflects credit both upon himself and his constituents. He is an active member and an officer in the organization known as Catholic Knights of San Miguel, of Socorro.
In 1883 Mr. Eaton was united in marriage to Miss Delfina Padilla, a native of New Mexico and a member of one of the old Spanish families of the Territory. She is also related to the Bacas, another Spanish family long resident here. Their home, which Mr. Eaton built, is one of the pretty residences of Socorro. Both Mr. Eaton and his wife are popular in the social circles of their town and at their pleasant home entertain in a charming manner their many friends.
Frederick C. Fox
The trainmaster of the Rio Grande division of the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad, residing at San Marcial, New Mexico, is a native of Ohio, born in Marysville, October 9, 1883. His parents, George A. and Susan M. (Kuhlman) Fox, were both natives of Germany. The father came to America in 1835, and at Columbus, Ohio, was married, in 1845. They still make their home in Marysville, where they have the respect of all who know them, and are members of the Lutheran Church. The father follows the trade of bricklaying and is a contractor and builder.
In the family of four sons and one daughter, Fred C. Fox is the youngest. He was educated in the public schools of his native town and as a boy worked on a farm. Later he learned telegraphy, and on the 9th of July, 1881, began his railroad career by entering the employ of the Cleveland, Columbus, Cincinnati & Indianapolis Railroad Company as night operator, being for the first year stationed in his hometown. On the 19th of August, 1882, he went to work at Wagon Mound, New Mexico, being employed by the company with which he is still connected. He was soon afterward made day operator at Wallace, where he remained until the 1st of January, 1884, and was then transferred to Rincon, where he was employed as day operator until the 15th of June of the same year. At that time he was sent to Lake Valley to open a telegraph office and station. On the 15th of July, 1885, he was appointed relief agent for the Rio Grande division, and December 27, 1886, was made ticket and freight agent at Carthage, New Mexico, where he remained until the 1st of August, 1887, when he was appointed freight and ticket agent at Rincon. On the 17th of September, 1890, he received the appointment of chief train dispatcher of the Rio Grande division of the road, and on the 1st of May, 1893, was promoted to his present position, now having charge of the station and train service. Thus it can be seen that he has given the company |he fullest satisfaction while in their employ. He has mastered every department of railroading, and is now considered one of the most competent railroad men in New Mexico.
Mr. Fox was married on the 22d of September, 1892, his union being with Miss Mary A. Ryan, a native of Buffalo, New York. Politically he adheres to the principles of the Democratic party, and keeps himself well informed on the public affairs of the country, but devotes his whole time and undivided attention to railroading and the duties of his office.
Thomas C. Gutierres
A native New Mexican, was born in Socorro, N. M., in the year 1840, and is of distinguished Spanish lineage; his ancestors coining to America from what was then called the Kingdom of Aragon in 1750, and through marriage Mr. Gutierres is connected with many of the leading families of New Mexico. In 1851 he crossed the plains in "prairie schooners "to attend the St. Louis University in Missouri; he remained in this institution five years and then entered the Hudson River Institute, Columbia County, N. Y. After a short course in this school, he entered the Albany Law School, Albany, N. Y., where he subsequently graduated. Mr. Gutierres located at Albuquerque in 1862, in which place he soon established a large and lucrative law practice, also becoming a man of mark in the community. Such was the confidence he inspired that he was chosen, in 1863, to the lower house of the Territorial Legislature, in which he was an active and leading member during the session of 1863. In 1868 his many friends secured for him the election to the office of probate judge of Bernalillo County, which he held three terms and served with dignity and impartiality. Upon retiring from the bench Mr. Gutierres engaged in sheep raising and freighting, in both of which pursuits he was successful, owing to his judicious management and business experience; his earnings from these enterprises were put into real estate, from which Mr. Gutierres is now receiving a large income. During his judicial career he was a most untiring worker, and few indeed could accomplish so much, and he stands to-day one of the strong and able men among those whose careers furnish the explanation of the growth and success that New Mexico has achieved and so strongly maintains. [Source: "New Mexico, The Spanish Conquest to the Present Time", by Helen Haines, pub. 1891 - Submitted by Pat Houser]
Samuel G. Hanna
The senior member of the popular grocery firm of S. G. Hanna & Company, of San Marcial, New Mexico, is a native of Pennsylvania, born at Darlington, on the 1st of April, 1856. His grandfather, S. G. Hanna, became one of the early settlers of that region, where Joseph Hanna, the father of our subject, was born and reared to manhood on the old home farm. There the latter married Miss Sarah Johnson, a native of Fayette county, the same State. Besides his agricultural pursuits, he also engaged in carpentering. His death occurred at the age of sixty, but his wife, who still survives him, has reached the age of sixty-eight. They were worthy, respected people and faithful members of the United Presbyterian Church. They became the parents of seven children, of whom one is now deceased.
Samuel G. Hanna is the fourth in order of birth. He was given good educational privileges, being able to attend the academy of his native town, and for a time engaged in farming in Illinois. In 1878 he began work for the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company in the water-service department, and in the spring of 1881 came to San Marcial, New Mexico, when the town was just starting. He remained in the employ of that railroad, however, until 1891, at which time he opened his grocery store in connection with his brother, W. J. Hanna. By close attention to business and upright, honorable dealing, they have acquired the good will of their customers, and have built up a deservedly prosperous business.
In 1889 was celebrated the marriage of Samuel G. Hanna and Miss Minerva Beedle, a native of Kansas, and the daughter of W. D. Beedle, of that State. Three children grace this union – Samuel G. Jr., Sarah Alice and Walter Clark.
With the order of Knights of Pythias, Mr. Hanna holds membership, in which lodge he is now serving as master of finance, and his political support is given to the Republican party. He has built one of the best residences in the city, where with his family he makes his home. He gives his entire attention to his business interests, and has acquired the reputation of being one of San Manual's best citizens and most honorable business men.
James M. Hill
One of the most prosperous and reliable business men of Socorro, is a native of the State of Tennessee, born at Waynesboro, December 25, 1838. His father, J. G. Hill, was born in Tennessee, and became prominent as an agriculturist and railroad contractor. He removed from his native State to Illinois, where he continued contracting for railroads and also engaged in farming. He was married to Miss Susan Hodges, of Alabama, and to them were born ten children, seven of whom are living. Mr. Hill died at the age of seventy-nine years; his wife died one year later, in her seventieth year. James M. Hill is their third child. He was educated in the common schools, and at the age of twenty years, left the parental roof, and began to make his own way in life. He first went to the Rocky mountains, passing through Denver when there were only a few houses there. He worked at placer-mining until the breaking out of the Civil war.
Moved with the zeal of the true patriot, he returned to his home and December 22, 1861, he volunteered in the Union army, enlisting in Company G, Sixty-second Illinois Infantry. The first active engagement in which he participated was at Little Rock, Arkansas; he aided in driving General Price out of that country, and served under General Steele and under General Clayton. He was in many of the smaller engagements and skirmishes in the Western department, and after a faithful service of three years four months and eleven days he was honorably discharged as First Sergeant. He returned to his native town and embarked in the wholesale grain and seed trade, establishing a large business.
It was in 1879 that he went to Logan, Kansas, where he remained in business a year. The promising reports of Socorro, New Mexico, reaching his ears, he decided to try his fortune in the Southwest. Hither he came in 1881, and at once opened a meat market, which proved a profitable venture. Later he turned his attention to stock-raising and mining, and has acquired much valuable property in the Magdalena district. He formed a partnership in 1890 with W. C. Bruton, a well-known stock dealer; this relationship has proved highly satisfactory to all parties.
In politics Mr. Hill supports the issues of the Democratic party, which he is representing a term in the City Council. He is one of the charter members and Past Master of the Masonic Lodge at Socorro, and takes an enthusiastic interest in the prosperity of the order.
He was married, in 1866, to Miss Malinda White, and of this union two children were born, Homer, who is now Deputy United States Marshal, and John W. , telegraph operator at Socorro. The mother of these two sons died in 1876, deeply mourned by her family and lamented by a wide circle of friends. Mr. Hill was married a second time, July 4, 1889; he was then united to Miss Lidia Lasley, a native of Ohio. They have one son, born in Socorro – James M. Hill, Jr. Mr. Hill owns a considerable interest in mines, some in ranch land and other valuable property.
August H. Hilton
The pioneer merchant of the new town of San Antonio, New Mexico, is one of the representative business men of Socorro county. He is a citizen of the United States by adoption, being a native of Scandinavia. He was born in Norway, August 21, 1856, and in his childhood was left an orphan. At the age of nine years he said farewell to the scenes of his birth, and accompanied by an elder brother crossed the sea to America. Arriving in the United States, he went to Fort Dodge, Iowa, where he was employed on a farm, and attended school during the winter season. In 1878 he went to Denver, Colorado, and there secured a clerkship in the clothing house of L. Garson & Company. His connection with this house continued three years, and at the end of that time he came to San Antonio. For a time he was engaged in prospecting and mining, but met with unsatisfactory results. He quarried the rock for the stamp mill of Socorro, which was built by the Torrence Mining Company, and was the first constructed in the county.
When Mr. Hilton embarked in the mercantile trade in San Antonio, it was in the old town, but in 1883 he moved to the new town, where he has since established a large and profitable business. He carries a general stock of dry goods, and handles wool, hides and pelts in large quantities. He is also proprietor of an important freight line, owning fifty teams that haul goods to the interior towns. In 1888 he organized the Hilton Mercantile Company, of which he was elected president, and of which he is the principal stockholder. In addition to his commercial interests he has heavy investments in lands, the chief product of which is fruit and alfalfa.
He was married at Fort Dodge, Iowa, February 11, 1885, to Miss Mary L. Laufersweiler, a native of Fort Dodge, and a daughter of Conrad Laufersweiler, one of the oldest and most prominent settlers of that place. Mr. and Mrs. Hilton have an interesting family of four children: Felice, Conrad, Eva and Carl. Our subject belongs to the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and in politics adheres to Democratic principles. He was first Postmaster of the new town of San Antonio, an office he held for eleven years. Honorable and upright in all his dealings, he has the confidence and respect of a wide circle of acquaintances. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by GT Transcription Team]
ALFRED E. HOWELL, who is prominently identified with the mercantile interests of Socorro, is entitled to the space that has been accorded him this history. He is a native of the State of Arkansas, born at Dardanelle, April 5, 1850, descended from English ancestry. His paternal great-grandfather was James Howell, who emigrated from England to the United States and settled in Virginia, where his name was widely known and highly respected. Jesse Howell, his son, the grandfather of our subject, was also a Virginian by birth. He married Miss Nancy Amery, and they became the parents of seven children. She died at the age of forty-four years, and he lived to the age of sixty-three years. Their son, Ames Amos Howell, the father of our subject, was born in Hawkins county, Tennessee, August 10, 1818. There he grew to maturity, and was united in marriage to ‘Miss Martha Grelston, who also was a Tennessean. They removed to Arkansas, and Mr. Howell settled at Dardanelle, where he embarked in mercantile trade and where he still resides, an old and highly respected citizen. He and his wife had a family of thirteen children, eleven of whom are still living.
Alfred E. Howell is the second-born of the family. He received his education in the common schools and for one year was student in a college in Kentucky. Having decided taste and aptitude for pharmacy, he gave his attention to the drug business, and in 1876 he opened a drug store on his own account, in his native town. A victim to asthma, he was obliged to dispose of the business which fourteen years’ industry and ability had established, and seek relief from the disease in a change of climate. Accordingly he came to New Mexico, and stopped at Las Vegas, where he remained three months. At the end of that time he came to Socorro, and purchased the drug business of Dorsey & Woodyard, which he has conducted with gratifying success. He has found the climate all that could be desired and is entirely free from his old tormentor.
In 1874, Mr. Howell was married to Miss Phebe Bennett, a native of Lewisburg, Arkansas. They are the parents of nine children, six of whom are living: Sallie, Haynes A., Russell B., Seth D., Freddy K. and Hazel. In politics Mr. Howell supports the issues of the Democratic party. He is a member of the Masonic order, belonging both to the blue lodge and chapter, and of the Knights of Pythias. He takes a laudable interest in the educational facilities that are being afforded the youth of the county, and has frequently served as a member of the Socorro School Board. He is a man of the strictest integrity, and he and his family are held in the highest esteem by the people of the county. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by GT Transcription Team]
William Edgar Kelley
William Edgar Kelley an attorney at law at Socorro, New Mexico, who was a member of the constitutional convention of 1889 and has exerted considerable influence in public affairs, was born July 18, 1836, in St. Joseph county, Michigan, before that state had been received into the Union. He was reared and educated in the north and in 1863 was married to Sophia Lincoln, who was a native of the state of New York, but at the time of her marriage was living in Coldwater, Michigan. She died in the year 1890.
On leaving his native state William E. Kelley removed to Kansas and afterward went to Mississippi, where he remained for about seven years. He was admitted to the bar in that state in 1874, and practiced at Granada, Mississippi. In 1875 he was before the United States senate investigating committee at Jackson, Mississippi, as a witness concerning the election frauds that had been perpetrated that year in that state, and he served as superintendent of schools there for a year and was also in the internal revenue service. After spending seven years in Mississippi he returned to Michigan and was admitted to the bar in that state. He arrived in New Mexico in 1879 and entered into partnership with his brother-in-law in the purchase of sheep, which they sent over the trail to Dodge City and thence to Garden City, New Mexico. All that winter Mr. Kelley pumped water by hand for thirty-five hundred sheep. The next winter disaster overtook him in the loss of five thousand sheep. He then went to Socorro in 1881 and opened an office for the practice of law, in which he has since continued, having now a large and important clientage, his legal business being of a distinctively representative character. From 1882 until 1886 he served as justice of the peace, a time when the lawless element was in great force and it required strong determination and fearlessness to bring into subjection the men who were constantly setting at naught the laws of the land. Judge Kelley has always been a stalwart Republican and has long been recognized as a leader of his party in New Mexico. He was a delegate to the statehood constitutional convention of 1889 and was a strong supporter of the constitution, the question being submitted in October. 1890. He is now an advocate of joint statehood. He has been a delegate to the New Mexico territorial conventions and his influence has, in part, proved a decisive factor in settling questions relating to the public policy. In his social relations he is connected with Gem City Lodge, No. 7, I. O. O. F. ["History of New Mexico: Its Resources and People" (Volume 1)]
G. Lane, a leading contractor, builder and lumber merchant of San Marcial, New Mexico, is a native of Missouri, born in Morrisville, May 29, 1864, and is of Southern ancestry. His father, Joseph Lane, was born in Tennessee, but was reared in Missouri, where he removed with his parents when only eight years of age, and was married there to Miss Sarah Mackey, a native of Missouri. There the father died January 24, 1891, but the mother still survives him and resides on the old home farm. They were good worthy people and consistent members of the Methodist Church.
In the family of eight sons and two daughters, of whom nine children are still living, W. G. Lane is the third in order of birth. He was reared in the usual manner of farmer lads, giving his father the benefit of his labors, while he obtained his education in the public schools. On starting out in life for himself he followed agricultural pursuits, but in 1881 began to learn the carpenter's trade. He removed to Western Kansas, but after a short sojourn went to Colorado, being engaged in contracting and building in Pueblo and Leadville, and also aided in building several other towns in that State. In 1888 he arrived in Springer, New Mexico, where he worked at his trade for two years, and also did contract work on the large ditch that was then being made to irrigate that county. From there he went to Eddy, where he aided in the construction of many of the buildings of that place. The fall of 1890 found him a resident of San Marcial, where he immediately began contracting and building, and in 1892 added the lumber, sash and door business, in fact handling all kinds of builders' supplies.. He obtains his material in the best and most convenient markets and at wholesale, which gives him a decided advantage over other contractors. His work also gives entire satisfaction and in this way he has become the leading contractor and builder of the town. He has acquired the reputation of being an honorable and reliable business man, as well as public-spirited citizen, and by all is held in the highest confidence and esteem.
At Springer, New Mexico, on the l0th of June, 1888, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Lane and Miss Jessie P. Rosaberry, who was born in Denver, Colorado, and is a daughter of E. Roseberry, of that city. Four sons have come to bless this union, Austin R., Harry W., Joseph R., and Everet H. Mrs. Lane is a most estimable lady and an active and consistent member of the Methodist Church, South.
In the Independent Order of Odd Fellows Mr. Lane holds his fraternal membership, in which order he has passed all the chairs, while in politics his support is given to the Republican party. He is a man of more than ordinary intelligence, takes quite an active part in the educational interests of the town, and has efficiently served in several school offices, being at the present time a Director, and doing all in his power for the good of the public schools. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team]
J. J. Leeson, (Socorro County) whose name is prominently connected with the history of the development of the mining interests of the Territory of New Mexico, was born in the State of Louisiana, in the parish of Orleans, September 2, 1845. His paternal grandfather, James Leeson, emigrated from Dublin, Ireland, to America and settled in Louisiana, where he became a prominent planter, as well as a politician of some note. He lived to the advanced age of ninety-six years. His son, Thomas Leeson, the father of J. J., was born in New York city, where his parents were temporarily residing there, but he was reared and educated in New Orleans. In 1852 he crossed the plains to California, and there mined with success on the American river. In an attempt to dam and turn its course he lost the money he had made in mining. He remained in California until 1858. His wife died in New Orleans in 1856. There were born to them six children, three of whom are now living. In 1880 Mr. Leeson came to Socorro, where he lived until his death, in 1889.
J. J. Leeson, the second-born of the family, was educated in his native State, and was attending the State Military School at the breaking out of the late Civil war. Fired with the zeal of patriotism, he volunteered in Company C, Eleventh Louisiana Infantry, and fought to the close of the conflict. He was in the battles of Belmont and Shiloh, and surrendered at McDowell's Landing after the surrender of General Robert E. Lee. Although he was only sixteen years of age at the time of his enlistment, on account of the training he had received in the military school he was commissioned Second Lieutenant, and in that capacity fought bravely in the cause he had espoused. After the close of the war, he moved to Hot Springs, Arkansas, and there, in 1869, he was married to Miss Rose E. Neal, a native of Mississippi. They are the parents of one daughter, Lulu B., the wife of William Ogara.
In 1852, Mr. Leeson crossed the plains with his father, and was at one time a pupil in the Sacramento schools. In 1858 he returned to his native State, and entered the State Military School, from which he joined the Confederate service. After his marriage in 1869, he resided in Arkansas until 1878, and in that year removed to California, settling at Alameda. Here for a number of years he was engaged in mercantile pursuits, and removed thence to Colorado, where he became extensively interested in mining, A severe accident, which he met in a snow-slide, impaired his health, and compelled him to seek a milder clime. He came to Socorro in 1880, and in addition to his mining interests he engaged in the real-estate business; he platted several additions to the town, and became one of the most enthusiastic supporters of the various public enterprises. He still owns a large number of city lots. He also owns the St. Vincent Gold and Silver mine, at Magdalene, which assays forty ounces of silver and five-tenths of an ounce of gold to the ton. In 1883 he established, at Socorro, a second-hand furniture and auction house, of which he is still proprietor.
With the taste of a connoisseur Mr. Leeson has made a fine collection of curios, among the most valuable of which is a three-hundred pound bell, the first cast in the Territory, about three hundred years ago: his specimens of ore, about fifteen tons in all, are rare and valuable, and furnish an accurate exhibit of the mining resources of New Mexico.
For eight years Mr. Leeson has been a member of the City Council, the election taking place annually. He is first Lieutenant of the New Mexico Militia, and has recently been appointed by Governor Thornton a member of the Board of Immigration for the Territory. He was a prominent factor in bringing the water from the springs in the mountains to the city, and for years has been chairman of the Water Committee, and no city in New Mexico can boast a purer water supply. A man of broad intelligence and excellent executive ability, Mr. Leeson is a citizen of superior worth. Loyal to all the interests of the Territory, he never loses an opportunity of aiding in the development of her resources. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team]
Joseph McQuillian, one of the earliest settlers of the town of San Marcial, is a highly-respected citizen of Socorro county, and is entitled to more than passing mention in this history.
He was born in the State of Rhode Island, May 10, 1842, a son of Richard McQuillin, who was born among the hills of bonny Scotland. The father emigrated to the United States in 1838, accompanied by his wife and one child. He settled at Pawtucket, Rhode Island, and there held the position of ticket agent for the Providence & Worcester Railroad for a period of thirty-nine years. His wife's maiden name was Catherine Davy, and she was a native of Ireland. They were the parents of five children, three of whom are still living. The father died at the age of seventy-one years; the mother lived to be sixty-seven years old. They were most worthy and highly-respected citizens of the town with whose history they were closely identified. Joseph McQuillin is the third-born of the family. He received his education in the common schools of his native State, and at the age of fourteen years went to Fall River, Massachusetts, where he was employed in the mills.
When there was a call for troops to defend the Nations' flag he left the loom, and shouldered his musket, and having enlisted in the Seventh Massachusetts Militia, went into active service. He served through the war, from April, 1861. He participated in the battle of Manassas, July 21, 1861, and after the engagement retired to Washington, where he remained until March, 1862. Then, under General McClellan, he took part in the battles of Yorktown, Williamsburg, Chickahominy, Fair Oaks, and in the Seven Days' fight. He was in camp at Harrison Landing until the fall of 1862, at which time he went to Fortress Monroe, and thence to Alexandria. He was in the second fight of Bull Run, in the engagement of Harper's Ferry, Antietam and at Culpeper Court House. In the campaign with General Grant he fought at Rappahannock river, and was in the Seven-Days' battle of the Wilderness; there he received a scalp wound, a rebel bullet plowing its way across the top of his head and making an ugly scar, which he carries to this day. He was next in the battle of Spottsylvania, and was afterward at Cold Harbor, Harrison's Landing and Petersburg. June 29, 1864, he received an honorable discharge, the term of his service having expired.
As a fighter of the Indians our worthy subject has a record, which should here be noted. He was invited to go in search of the Indians under Chief Victorio, who was giving the settlers much trouble in the Magdalena mountains; after stubborn resistance the savages were compelled to fall back, three of their men having been killed. After this encounter Mr. McQuillin returned with a number of men to San Marcial and guarded the town for some time, the railroad company paying for the service.
After a short stay at home he went to Nashville and there began his career as a railroad man, first as fireman, then brakeman, and finally as conductor. For ten years he was a resident of St. Louis, making his run from that city until 1873, at which time he went to California. From 1874 until 1881 he was conductor on the Central Pacific. July 12, 1881, he came to San Marcial and assisted in laying out the town. He has been one of the heaviest real-estate dealers in the place, and has always been loyal to its best interests. Since the founding of San Marcial he has been employed as conductor in both Texas and California, three years on the Texas & Pacific Railroad and three years on the International Mexicana Railroad. He has since resided continuously in San Marcial, and is now Justice of the Peace, the duties of which office he discharges with ability and promptitude. He is a zealous Republican, supporting the principles of that body with warmest enthusiasm. He is a member of the United Order of Red Men, and is Treasurer of the organization at San Marcial.
Mr. McQuillan was married in San Francisco in 1879, to Miss Maggie Davy, a native of Massachusetts. They have two children, Joseph and Richard. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team]
Samuel C. Meek, a most worthy citizen of Socorro, has been a resident of the Territory of New Mexico since 1862. He has had a wide and varied experience on the Western frontier, and is justly entitled to the space that has been accorded him in this history.
He is a native of the State of Indiana, born at Newcastle, Henry county, February 19, 1837, and is a son of Lorenzo Dow Meek. He traces his ancestry to the English and Irish Colonial settlers of Virginia. His paternal grandfather, John Meek, was a soldier in the war of the Revolution. After that struggle was ended he removed to Kentucky and was a pioneer of the Bluegrass State, going later to Indiana when that State was still on the frontier. He married Miss Peggy McGregor, a native of Ireland, and to them were born six sons: John, Joseph, William, Jephthah, Jesse and Lorenzo Dow. The father of these sons died in 1849, in the ninety-sixth year of his age.
Lorenzo Dow Meek was born at Centreville, Wayne county, Indiana, 1812, and was reared and educated there. He was united in marriage to Miss Martha Gary, who was born at Mill Creek, Ohio, in October, 1812. They were the parents of eight children: Hampton, Isophene, John D. , Samuel C., James A., Irvin R. , Sarah J., and Cristabell I. When the gold fever of 1849 swept the country, the father joined the train of prospectors, crossing the plains, and went to California. There he met with fair success in the mines, but after two years returned to his home on account of ill health. He died in 1855. His wife survives him, at the ripe old age of eighty-three years.
Samuel C. Meek, the fourth born of the family, received his elementary education in the common schools of his native town, and afterward served an apprenticeship at the saddle and harness maker's trade. In 1856 he went to California and settled at Grass Valley, Nevada county, where he resided until the breaking out of the Civil war. The blood of the patriot flowed in his veins, and, impelled by the zeal that had moved his grandfather in the Revolutionary days, he promptly took up arms in defense of his country. He enlisted August 1, 1861, in Company G, First Volunteer Infantry of California. He was at once sent to New Mexico to assist in the capture of the Navajo Indians who had left their reservation bent upon doing all possible damage while the country was engaged in the war in the South. After numerous fights with the savages, the troops succeeded in putting them back upon their reservation. Once Mr. Meek, with sixteen comrades, was attacked by forty Indians; a desperate battle ensued, in which fifteen Indians and several of "boys in blue" were severely wounded. Mr. Meek received three wounds in this fight. One arrowhead pierced his left forearm, and he went to Fort Craig where he had it removed after much suffering. With this arrowhead buried in his flesh there was also planted in his blood an everlasting grudge against the red man – a grudge which to this day remains unsatisfied.
After the war was ended and peace restored Mr. Meek settled in New Mexico, and for several years was engaged in prospecting and mining. In 1875 he went to Magdalene City, then a very flourishing mining camp, and opened a general store, where he did a prosperous business. Always a crack shot, from this point he often took hunting excursions in the mountains, many times unaccompanied save by his trusty rifle. He has brought down much of the finest game of the mountains, and has made an enviable record as a sportsman. One Christmas day, when it devolved upon him to provide the feast, he went out with his gun, killed a number of fine turkeys and a large bear, which were served at the delicious repast. Upon another occasion, when he was out hunting alone, from his quiet hiding place he spied three Apache Indians in the distance. He discovered from their movements that they were stealing upon an old man and his son nearby who were yoking up their oxen, entirely unaware of the danger threatening them. Mr. Meek considered three against two an uneven balance, and determined to take a hand in the encounter. Just as one of the Indians was about to spring upon the unsuspecting settler, Mr. Meek's gun spoke out in a clear, unmistakable tone, to which the Indians gave unwilling response; the second Indian was treated in like manner, and the third took refuge in flight; his retreat, however, only gave Mr. Meek a clear range, and he shot him in the back, not one of the three escaping!
Our worthy subject dates his arrival in Socorro January 6, 1867, and since that time he has been numbered among her most enterprising and energetic citizens. He served as Justice of the Peace, as Deputy County Clerk, as Deputy Sheriff, and he is now Deputy County Assessor. He is a fine penman and is thoroughly well qualified for the keeping of all official records. He is a member of the Knights of Pythias, and during twenty-four terms has kept the records of that order. He has served as Quartermaster General of the Grand Army of the Republic of New Mexico, and assisted in the organization of the post at Socorro, Slough Post No. 6, named in honor of General Slough, who fought against the Apaches near Santa Fe.
Mr. Meek was married at Socorro on the day of his arrival there, June 24, 1876, his bride being Miss Manelita Padella, the daughter of Philip Padella, a descendant of one of the early Spanish families of the county. One daughter has been born of this marriage, Emily Gary. The family have a pleasant home, a fine orchard of their own planting, and are surrounded by all the comforts and conveniences that are the reward of industry and thrift. Mr. Meek is an accomplished Spanish scholar, and has translated the records and abstracts of the county from that language into English. He has wide acquaintance in the Territory and enjoys the friendship of all who know him. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by Genealogy Trails Transcription Team]
Joseph Montgomery is one of San Marcial's worthy citizens and representative business men. He arrived in this place in April, 1885, since which time he has been identified with her interests and growth. His birth occurred in Cass county, Indiana, on the 18th of December, 1848. His grandparents were natives of the Emerald Isle, from which country they emigrated to the New World, locating in Pennsylvania while they were still young. Their son, Robert Montgomery, the father of our subject, was born in the Keystone State in 1814. On attaining manhood he was united in marriage with Miss Margaret Stewart, a native of the same State, and he and his father, accompanied by their families, removed to Cass county, Indiana, becoming honored pioneer settlers of that locality. From that county the father went to Carroll county, Indiana, where he continued to reside up to the time of his death, which occurred in 1881. His wife, who survived him for three years, departed this life in 1884. They were Presbyterians in religious faith and were people of the highest respectability. They had a family of nine children, six sons and three daughters, of whom only five of the sons now survive.
Joseph Montgomery was the seventh child in the family, and his childhood and youth were passed on the home farm, aiding in the labors of the field during the summer months, while during the winter season he attended the district schools. His primary education, however, was supplemented by a course in an academy of Logansport, Indiana. He began life on his own account as a farmer, which vocation he continued to follow until 1885, at which time he sold out and came to San Marcial, where for the first two years he was engaged in ranching. He then opened his meat-market business in the town, where he has since conducted an honorable and successful business.
In 1871 Mr. Montgomery was united in marriage with Miss Martha Jane Martin, a native of Indiana, her father's farm being near their own. Four children were born to them, one passed away. Those living are: Willard M., Edmund Garfield and Roscoe Conkling. The daughter, Effa Pearl, a beautiful child, died when only fifteen months old. Mr. Montgomery has built for himself and family one of the most pleasant residences in the town, where he is also interested in other property. In politics he is a supporter of the men and measures of the Republican party. He is spoken of as being one of San Marcial's very best citizens, and by all who know him is held in the highest confidence and esteem.
General Estanislao Montoya
GENERAL ESTANISLAO MONTOYA was the son of Jose Montoya and Juana Maria Baca, both of the most respected and noted families of Valencia County, who were old time residents of Belen, from which place they moved to Socorro in 1816 as pioneer settlers of that city, where on the 9th day of December, 1819, the subject of our sketch was born. Don Estanislao received the benefits of an ordinary school education at Socorro and resided there with his family until 1847. On May 3, 1840, Mr. Montoya was married to Dona Francisquita Garcia, a member of one of the most ancient families of New Mexico. In 1847, with his wife, child, and parents, together with other families, they settled the present town of San Antonio, where the remainder of his days were spent. He and his estimable wife were blessed with eight children. After the invasion of New Mexico by the Texans, he was appointed by Governor Connely brigadier-general of New Mexico militia; and served gallantly and faithfully. He made a raid with ten companies of militia on the Navajo Indians in 1864, who were scattered in the Mogollon Mountains; he was quite successful, killing twenty bucks, capturing about fifty squaws and papooses and a large number of sheep and horses. In the same year he discovered and took up the now famous San Pedro coal mines, from which for two years he supplied Ft. Craig with coal. In 1872 he was appointed sutler at Ft. Craig, which position he filled with satisfaction until January, 1877; in that year he was elected, by a large majority, probate judge of Socorro; not desiring to serve a second term, he was succeeded by his son, Don Desiderio S. Montoya. Don Estanislao was an active and prominent politician of Democratic proclivities, and his popularity was evinced by his constantly being elected to whatever office he aspired. As a merchant he was very successful, but he accumulated most of his fortune through stock raising, and during the latter years of his life formed a partnership with his two sons, Don Desiderio and Don Eutimio. He had extensive land interests, the most important being the "Socorro Grant," and expended large sums of money to secure the patent to the grantees. His wealth was estimated up in the hundreds of thousands, which he made himself by a close attention to business and integrity in his dealings. Don Estanislao departed this life on the 8th day of August, 1884, surrounded by his loving wife and family. He died with the satisfaction of leaving every one of his children well settled in life, and an honor to his name. He was a pious and devout Catholic and a liberal supporter of that faith. [Source: "New Mexico, The Spanish Conquest to the Present Time", by Helen Haines, pub. 1891 - Submitted by Pat Houser]
J. E. NICHOLS, one of San Marcial’s most successful business men, who came to the town in 1882, is a native of the State of Maine, born at Vassalboro, on the 6th of July, 1854.
In both his paternal and maternal lines the family is of old English ancestry, who early became prominent settlers of New England, and for some generations have resided on the old homestead at Vassalboro, where our subject’s father, Stephen Nichols, was born April 30, 1831. He married Miss Louisa Hobby, a daughter of John and Phoebe (Cook) Hobby, a granddaughter of Pennington Hobby and a great-granddaughter of Reverend William Hobby, a Quaker minister who also emigrated from England to the Pine Tree State and became the progenitor of the family of that name in the New World. Pennington Hobby wedded a daughter of D. Sylvester Gardiner, who remained loyal to his king during the Revolutionary war and when that struggle was over his property was confiscated. He was the founder of the Gardiner family in America. Mr. Nichols’ parents still reside on the old homestead in Maine. They hold a membership in the Society of Friends and are very worth and highly respected citizens of the community in which they have spent the whole of their lives. They are successful farming people, and all of their four children with the exception of our subject still reside in Maine.
John E. Nichols, who name introduces this review, is the eldest child of the family and was educated in the Oak Grove Seminary at Vassalboro, after which he taught school for several terms. He also engaged in clerking and bookkeeping in the East. In 1876 he came West, spending a portion of the time in Indian Territory, Texas and Colorado, engaged in the occupations of clerking and bookkeeping, and was also in the quartermaster’s department of the United States army, until 1881, at which time he arrived in San Marcial. Here he erected a barber shop, which he has since carried on with most excellent success; but in 1893, while on a visit to his relatives, his building together with others in the town, was destroyed by fire. He at once rebuilt, however, and now has such a shop, with bathrooms and office, as would do credit to any city. He also has rooms to rent, which are very pleasant and always occupied. In connection with his other business interests, Mr. Nichols represents several of the best insurance companies in the county, doing an extensive business in that line, and is agent for considerable town property. In 1887 he erected his pleasant residence, which is surrounded by beautiful shade trees of his own planting, and there he and his worthy wife delight to entertain their many friends.
In 1885 was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Nichols and Miss Annie Clifford, a native of the city of New Orleans, and a daughter of Captain James Clifford, of the United States army, who has rendered the Government much valuable service throughout the Southwest. The union of Mr. and Mrs. Nichols has been blessed with three children, all born at their home in San Marcial. Their names are: Louisa, John E., Jr., and James Stephen.
With the Masonic fraternity Mr. Nichols is connected, being at the present time Treasurer of the Lodge at San Marcial. In politics he is a Republican, and takes an active and commendable interest in all that pertains to the wellbeing of his town. He gives his business his close attention and is numbered among San Marcial’s most reliable and highly esteemed business men, while fortunate would it indeed be for his town had she any more such worthy and enterprising citizens. [Source: "An Illustrated History of New Mexico . . .;" The Lewis Publishing Company, 1895; transcribed by GT Transcription Team]
C. T. Russell
Son of Robert H. and Elizabeth Russell, was born March 26, 1847, in Shelbyville, Ky. In 1852 he removed with his parents to Texas, and until 1856 they resided near San Antonio ; they then located on a ranch near Austin, and it was in this place that the boyhood and youth of our subject was spent. His father's death occurred in Mississippi in 1863. In 1864 Mr. Russell enlisted in Company B, Twenty-first Texas Cavalry, and remained in service of the Confederate Army until April 5, 1865, when he was honorably discharged. In 1868 he was married to Miss Adelia L. Burnham ; his family consisted of two bright children, Emma M. and Robert Lee. In 1878 he was elected sheriff and collector of Blanco County, Texas, and was re-elected to the same office in 1880. At the expiration of his second term of office, his health being much impaired, he was advised to remove to New Mexico, and in 1883 he located in Socorro County. His health steadily improved and he soon became one of Socorro County's leading citizens. In 1884 he was elected sheriff and collector of that county, and in 1886 he was re-elected to the same office. In 1885, upon the uprising of the Apache Indians, headed by the notorious Geronimo, Mr. Russell at once organized a company of sixty men and started in pursuit; the band was eventually captured under Gen. Miles' command. It was at this time that Capt. Russell was promoted to the rank of major in the Third Regiment of New Mexico troops. In 1887 he was commissioned colonel of the same regiment by Governor E. G. Ross. Upon the expiration of his second term of office as sheriff, Col. Russell refused to become a candidate for any office, and the greater part of 1889 was spent in traveling. In August of 1889 he decided to cast his fortunes with the new State of Washington, and accordingly removed with his family to Hoquiain, his present residence. During the period spent in New Mexico, Col. Russell contributed largely to the success of Socorro County in his position of sheriff, and his many sterling qualities were appreciated by hosts of friends. [Source: "New Mexico, The Spanish Conquest to the Present Time", by Helen Haines, pub. 1891 - Submitted by Pat Houser]
Antonio Abad Sedillo
Antonio Abad Sedillo, attorney at law at Socorro and ex-district attorney of Socorro county, was born April 15, 1876, in the city where he yet resides. He is descended from Antonio Jose Sedillo, the original grantee of the Antonio Sedillo land grant, lying partly in Valencia and partly in Bernalillo counties. His son, Antonio Abad Sedillo, Sr., grandfather of our subject, was school commissioner of Socorro county when it included Sierra county. The parents of our subject were Rufino Sedillo and Donaciana Montoya Sedillo. Mr. Rufino Sedillo was probate clerk of Lincoln county in the years 1877 and 1878 and was afterwards deputy probate clerk of Socorro county for many years. Mrs. Sedillo is a direct descendant of two well known and influential families of Spanish extraction in the Territory of New Mexico, namely, the Montoya and Baca families.
Antonio A. Sedillo acquired his education in the public schools and the night school. He is practically a self-made man. He pursued his law course under the direction of the Sprague Correspondence School of Law Edward Medier, father of Edward L., was at one time a prominent contractor of Albuquerque, coming to this city from Washington, D. C., in 1880. The building of the town had just been started and he erected many of the most important business structures, as well as many handsome residences during the period in which he made his home in the territory. Among these were the famous San Felipe Hotel, which occupied the site on which the Elks Opera House now stands ; the N. T. Armijo block; the Cromwell block; the First National Bank building; the Fergusson building; the Bernalillo county court house and several of the city school houses. In 1901 he removed to Los Angeles California, where he now resides.
He was admitted to the bar of El Paso, Texas, April 5, 1899, and began practice here in 1900, while in 1901 he was admitted before the supreme court of New Mexico. He had previously done hard manual labor at a smelter, and had also been employed as clerk in several stores and as a sewing machine agent in Socorro county, and in a curio store in El Paso, and he was deputy probate clerk for three years, while for one year he was deputy county assessor of Socorro county. He taught school in Socorro and Sierra counties, and was principal of the public schools in the city of Socorro for a few months. For one year he acted as city clerk and was chief interpreter in the house of the territorial legislature during the thirty-fourth and thirty-fifth general assemblies. In 1903 he was appointed district attorney and served for one term, during which time several important cases came up before the courts, one in regard to the settlement of the finances of Socorro county, in which, associated with Mr. Fergusson, he secured eighteen thousand dollars judgment for the county.
Since retiring from office Mr. Sedillo has engaged in private practice and has been connected with much of the important litigation tried in the courts of his district. Quite a number of notable cases have been conducted by Mr. Sedillo, who as counsel for the defense or prosecution, has shown marked ability in handling his cause. On the 22d of April, 1901, was celebrated the marriage of Air. Sedillo and Miss Gertrudis (Tulita) Vigil, of Socorro county. Their children are: Juan Antonio, Manuela Cupertina and Rufino Rodolfo. In his political affiliation Mr. Sedillo is a stalwart Republican, well informed on the issues of the day and recognized as a leader in the local ranks of his party. He was secretary of the Republican central committee of his county for six or eight years, and has edited Spanish papers during the campaigns in support of the principles of the party. He made his first political speech at the age of twenty years and has since delivered many public addresses in support of political principles and candidates. William C. Heacock has resided in Albuquerque since the spring of 1881 and was the first police judge of the city. He was born in Buffalo, New York, in 1850 and was graduated from the United States Naval Academy at Annapolis, Maryland, in 1872. He served for eleven years in the navy, attaining the rank of master, equivalent to the present rank of lieutenant. While in the naval service he took up the study of law and was admitted to the bar in Reading, Pennsylvania, in 1880. In the spring of 1881 he came to Albuquerque and compiled the first ordinances of the city and also acted as its first police judge. He has enjoyed an extensive and successful practice in criminal law and is recognized as one of the most able advocates at the New Mexico bar, with a comprehensive knowledge of jurisprudence and a keen analytical mind that enables him to correctly apply his knowledge to the points in litigation. ["History of New Mexico: Its Resources and People" (Volume 1)]
Joseph E. Smith
One of the leading citizens of Socorro, has had a wide and varied business experience. He is a native of Massachusetts, born at Abington, September 27, 1858, and is descended from old New England stock. His father, James Edward Smith, was born at Rochester, Massachusetts, in 1833, and was reared and educated in his native State. Arriving at manhood, he engaged in mercantile pursuits, and became proprietor of a wholesale carpet house. He married Miss Nancy C. Jackson, also a native of Massachusetts, belonging to one of the old families of that State. Of this union one child was born, Joseph E. Smith. James Edward Smith died in 1893, in the sixtieth year of his age; his widow survives him. Joseph E. Smith enjoyed superior educational advantages in his youth, taking a special course in the School of Technology, Boston. In 1879 he went to Chicago, and there studied photography in all its branches; he remained in that city until 1881, at which time he removed to Darlington, Wisconsin. He was interested in the business of photography in this place for some time, but finally turned his attention to cattle-raising, and became a member of the Diamond D Cattle Company.
This new association brought him to Socorro, New Mexico, in February, 1882, where he filled the position of assistant manager of the company. The herd numbered six thousand head, and were in his charge on the St. Augustine Plain when the company went out of business. Mr. Smith then turned his attention to mining in the Magdalena district and the mountains, having charge of the men in the mines. In 1886 he disposed of his interests there and came to Socorro.
He was united in marriage September 11, 1886, to Miss Myscia Driver, a native of Darlington, Wisconsin, and the daughter of Josephus Driver. They are the parents of three children: Marvel M. , James Avery and Irene J. After coming to this city Mr. Smith accepted the position of manager of the lumber and hardware business of J. C. Baldridge, in which he continued until he purchased the insurance business of W. E. Leonard. This is work to which he is peculiarly fitted, and in which he has been more than ordinarily successful. He represents a large line of the leading companies of both Europe and America, and also handles life and accident policies. In connection with this business he acts as Notary Public and conveyancer.
He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, having passed the chairs, and is Past Grand and District Deputy. He is also a prominent member of the Knights of Pythias. In politics he gives his allegiance to the Republican party. He was appointed by the Board of County Commissioners to fill the unexpired term of W. E. Leonard as County School Superintendent. In all the varied interests to which he has given his attention he has displayed the enthusiasm born of aptitude. His integrity is unquestioned, his success well-deserved.
One of the old reliable citizens of San Marcial, New Mexico, was born in Lincolnshire, England, in the year 1841, and comes of a good old family of that county, of Episcopal faith. He received his education in his native land, where he thoroughly learned the trade of a coach-maker. When about twenty years of age he emigrated to America for the advantages to be derived in this land of the free, and first worked at his trade in Boston, after which he was engaged with the Old Colony Railroad.
Mr. Wilson's heart, however, was in England, to which country he returned in 1867, and was there united in marriage with Miss Ann Pilling, a native of his own county. In 1869 he came again to the United States, bringing with him his wife and their first-born son – Francis P. – and for the following eleven years they resided in Massachusetts. In 1880 they came West by way of Buffalo, St. Louis and Kansas City to Topeka, Kansas, where Mr. Wilson was employed for a short time by A. P. Roland. Later he was with the Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Railroad Company at Topeka, Albuquerque and at Deming, New Mexico, and on the 7th of November, 1885, was transferred to San Marcial and given charge of the car department of the works at this place, where he has since continued to render valuable service. He has usually from twelve to twenty men under his supervision, and the principal work at this point is the rebuilding and repairing of cars.
In 1886 Mr. Wilson purchased lots in the town, on which he has built one of the best homes of the place, and there the family now reside. Since coming to America the family circle has been increased by a daughter – Margaret – born in Fall River, Massachusetts, a most excellent young lady, who is now capably filling the position of Assistant Postmaster of San Marcial. The son, a machinist by trade, is one of the respected citizens of the town, and by his marriage has one daughter. In religious faith the family are Episcopalians, and socially hold an enviable position in the community. Mr. Wilson is a charter member of the Ancient Order of United Workmen of San Marcial, of which lodge he was made the first Master Workman. Formerly his political support was always given to the Republican, but he now votes independently of party ties, and has the reputation of being one of San Marcial's most highly respected citizens.
Copyright © Genealogy Trails