Welcome to Genealogy Trails

Burlington County, NJ Biographies





CHARLES BISPHAM BALLINGER, Surrogate of Burlington County, N.J., was born in March, 1851, in that part of the township of Medford that is now included within the limits of Lumberton. The Ballingers have been loyal and respected citizens of Burlington County for many years, Thomas Ballinger, the paternal grandfather of Charles, having been a lifelong resident thereof and a hard-working member of the farming community. Richard Ballinger, father of Charles, was born in Evesham township, where he was reared to agricultural pursuits. After his union with Mary Ann Haines, a native of Lumberton, he settled in the last-named town, purchasing a farm, which he operated until his decease, which occurred in 1858, while he was yet a comparatively young man. His widow, who still occupies the old homestead, was left with ten children, of whom Charles, then but seven years of age, was the youngest.
Charles Ballinger was a pupil of the Foster School in his native town during his earlier years, and afterward completed his studies at a private school in Medford, Professor Milton H. Allen, a well-known educator, being his instructor. When out of school he assisted on the farm, subsequently becoming associated with his brothers in its management, and remaining on the homestead until 1894. He then removed to the village of Hainesport, where he has a most comfortable and attractive home. In politics Mr. Ballinger is a steadfast Democrat, prominent in the local councils of the party. He cast his first Presidential vote in 1872 for Horace Greeley. For seven years he served as Township Collector, and in 1891 was elected to his present position of Surrogate of the county, being the first Democrat elected to this office in forty years.
The union of Mr. Ballinger with Miss Carrie R. Thorn was celebrated in 1894. Mrs. Ballinger was born in Crosswicks, this county, being a daughter of Benjamin and Sarah Thorn. Religiously, Mr. Ballinger is a leading member of the Society of Friends.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.222. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



WALTER ALMER BARROWS, attorney-at-law, of Mount Holly, Burlington County, N.J., was born December 27, 1839, in Willington, Conn. For several generations the family had been prominent in the history of Tolland County, that State, Mr. Barrow's father, Almer Barrows, his grandfather, John Barrows, and his great-grandfather, Isaac Barrows, having all been born and reared in the town of Mansfield, which adjoined Willington. Their earliest progenitor in America came from England with one or two brothers to join the Massachusetts colony about the year 1640.

Isaac Barrows, a commissioned officer in the Revolutionary War, was a lifelong farmer of Mansfield, where he passed away full of years and honor. His wife, formerly Rebecca Turner, was a lifelong resident of the same place. John Barrows remained in Mansfield until after his marriage, when he removed with his family to Vermont. He subsequently went from there to New Hampshire and thence to New York State, where most of his children settled, and where he remained until his death, when upward of ninety years of age.

Almer Barrows, who was very young when his parents removed to the Green Mountain State, lived there until ten years old. He then returned to Connecticut to live with his paternal grandparents, making the journey, prior to the time of railways, it is scarcely needful to say, via the Connecticut River in a skiff to Hartford, thence on foot to his destination. He there learned to make combs, which were then manufactured by hand, a trade which he followed until past middle life. Continuing his residence in Tolland County, Connecticut, he engaged in general farming during his remaining years of activity; and in his retirement he came to Mount Holly, N.J., where in 1876 he passed peacefully away, at the home of his son Walter.

The maiden name of his wife was Sarepta Brigham. She was born in North Coventry, Conn., and was a daughter of Don Ferdinand Brigham, who was born in the same town, of English antecedents. Mr. Brigham was a natural mechanic; and, after his union with Miss Lois Palmer, he bought a tract of unimproved land, on which he built a house, moulding and burning the bricks, cutting and drawing the timber to the saw-mill, making the nails, and with his own hands doing all the masonry and carpenter work. He also by his own labor built a stone barn, obtaining the material from his farm. He was influential in town affairs, eminent in counsel, and was often called upon by his neighbors who were wise in their generation to act as sole arbitrator in their disputes. He was likewise prominent in Masonic circles. He attained a ripe old age, living more than ninety years, surviving his wife, who died at the age of eighty-seven years. Mrs. Sarepta B. Barrows died when fifty-seven years old, leaving five children, namely: Don Brigham; Sarepta A. Bugbee; Henrietta E. Hancock; Emily, who died at the age of twenty-one years; and Walter Almer, the direct subject of this biographical notice.

Walter a Barrows acquired his elementary education in the public schools, and at the age of seventeen commenced teaching in the town of Willington, afterward teaching a year at Cape May, in this State. In 1859 he went to Monson, Mass., where he attended the academy two years, and then returned to Cape May to resume teaching. On August 23, 1861, he enlisted n Company A, Seventh New Jersey Volunteer Infantry, in defence of the Union, and went South with the regiment, participating in the battles of Yorktown, Williamsburg, and Fair Oaks. Becoming physically disabled, he was honorably discharged November 10, 1862, and returned home. In July, 1864, he was commissioned by President Lincoln as Captain of Company C, One Hundred and Fifteenth United States Colored Troops. The following February he joined the Army of the James in Virginia, and took an active part in the various sieges and battles that resulted in the fall of the city of Richmond, his company being one of the first to enter the city, afterward assisting in quenching the flames that threatened its destruction. In May, 1865, he resigned his office to accept the commission of Captain of the Fifth Regiment of United States Colored Troops, retaining his command until November, 1865, when at Columbus, Ohio, he received his honorable discharge.

Captain Barrows again resumed his school duties at Cape May, coming thence in 1868 to Mount Holly, where he taught a select school for boys for three years. In the mean time he applied himself diligently to the study of law, for which he had a strong inclination, and in 1873 was admitted to the bar. He at once began his professional career in Mount Holly, where he has an extensive general practice, besides which, since 1879, he has been Special Master and Supreme Court Commissioner and Notary Public.

In December, 1862, Mr. Barrows was united in marriage with Mary Hughes Wales, a native of Cold Spring, Cape May County, N.J. She is a daughter of Judge Eli B. and Sarah (Hughes) Wales, and a grand-daughter of the Hon. Thomas H. Hughes, a distinguished statesman. Mr. and Mrs. Barrows have three children - Walter Almer, Jr., Helen, and Mary. Walter A. Barrows, Jr., a chemist at Sharpsville, Pa., married Sarah O. Byers, of Cleveland, Ohio, and has one son, Walter Wales. Helen Barrows is the wife of Charles K. Chambers, of Mount Holly, and has one child, Mary Wales. Mr. Barrows and his wife are members of the Presbyterian church. Politically a Democrat, he is identified with the best interests of the county, which he served from 1873 until 1876 as superintendent of its many schools.

He is prominent in military organizations, having, as a member of the New Jersey National Guard, served as Captain of Company F, Seventh Regiment, being also a member of the General Shiras Post, No. 26, Grand Army of the Republic, and a companion of the Pennsylvania Commandery of the Military Order of the Loyal Legion. Mr. Barrows has membership in Mount Holly Lodge, No. 19, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and Cape Island Lodge, No. 30, A. F. & A. M.; is Past Grand master Workmen, including New Jersey, Delaware, Maryland, and Virginia; is a member of the Pocahontas Tribe, No. 18, I. O. R. M., having twice represented the order in the United States Great Council; and is also a member of New Jersey Castle, No. 4, Knights of the Golden Eagle, and held the high office of Grand chief of the order in this State for the years 1895 and 1896.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 175-179. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman



JOHN CUTTS BARTLETT, a retired sea captain of Beverly, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Kittery, York County, Me., January 31, 1820. His parents, William and Hannah (Neal) Bartlett, were both natives of Eliot, York County, Me. His father followed in early life the pursuit of a general farmer and later that of a merchant and trader.

By his wife, Hannah, William Bartlett had two children; namely, Richard C. and John Cutts. The former, who married Miss Hannah Low, was a seafaring man throughout his active life. His decease occurred in 1893. Mrs. Hannah N. Bartlett died in 1821, when the subject of this sketch was only about a year old; and Mr. William Bartlett married for his second wife Miss Mary Donnell, of Wells, York County, Me., and by this union had four children, namely: William Neal, who with his wife was lost at sea in 1861; Hannah A., who became the wife of Andrew Mumler, a jeweler, of Boston, Mass., and who died in 1868; Mary Poole, who married William York, a master mason of Woburn, Mass., and who died in 1895; Matilda P., the wife of Henry Knowlton, a carpenter of Woburn, with whom she lived until her decease in 1890. Mr. William Bartlett provided his children with such education as was then afforded by the common schools of Maine. His death occurred in 1852.

Captain John Cutts Barlett is the only surviving member of the family. When he was six years of age he removed with the rest of his father's household from Kittery to Wells, Me.; and there he resided until he attained his sixteenth year. He then started out in life as a cabin boy on the brig "Caroline," which ran between Boston and Havana. He sailed on the "Caroline" only one season, but continued his seafaring life on different crafts, crossing the Atlantic Ocean for the first time in 1838 as a seaman on board a vessel which plied between New Orleans and Liverpool, England. He was engaged as second mate on the bark "Diantha," a trading vessel on the Atlantic; and he was subsequently chief mate on the same vessel for two years. He held his first command in 1842 on the brig "Ann," a West India trading vessel, and continued on the same for two years. He was commander of the "L. W. Maxwell," also a West India trader, three years; of the bark "J. Bragdon," a trading vessel, for three years; of the ship "Cynthia," which was a long-voyager to East India and the Pacific Ocean, two years; of the bark "Atlas," a China trader, four years; and subsequently of the bark "Arlington" for four years also. He then commanded the "J. B. Lincoln" on a twelve months' voyage in the Pacific; and his last command was on the "Grand Sachem," a China and Japan trading vessel, of which he was captain for ten years. He has had exceedingly good fortune, and has made a peculiarly fine record, as he has never been in any shipwrecks of whatever kind, and has always enjoyed the best of health.

Captain Bartlett retired from seafaring on November 20, 1895, and returned to his residence in Beverly, Burlington County, N.J., which he purchased in 1874, and where he had made his home in the intervals between his voyages. He has no children. His wife, Lucinda, died in April, 1886. She was a daughter of Captain John S. Pope, of Wells, Me., and was born, like himself, in 1820. They were married in August, 1846.

Captain Bartlett is identified with the fraternity of Masons, belonging to Bermuda Lodge, which is located at Beverly. He is a stanch Republican, and always has been an earnest supporter of the principles of that political party. He has met with a good measure of success through life, has a pleasant, genial disposition, and is well liked by all who have the pleasure of his acquaintance. He has a rare collection of curiosities souvenirs of his travels in foreign lands, including many interesting objects of art and relics of the olden time.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 182-183. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman



GEORGE BIRKHEAD, an enterprising and successful business man of Beverly, Burlington County, N.J., the proprietor of a large manufacturing establishment, is a native of England. He was born November 23, 1845, in Yorkshire, where his parents, John and Elizabeth (Howe) Birkhead, were lifelong residents.
John Birkhead was engaged during all of his mature years in the manufacture of woolen goods. Nine children were born to him and his wife, namely: Turner, a sketch of whose life may be found under his name; Eliza, who is now deceased; Joseph, who died about 1875; Charlotte, who is the wife of Samuel Jessup, and now lives in Yorkshire, England; Ramsden, who died in infancy; George, aforementioned, residing in Beverly, N.J.; John, who now resides in Yorkshire, and is engaged in the wool manufacturing business; Sarah, who is the widow of Thomas Fitton, and lives at the old homestead in Yorkshire; and Arthur, who is also now in Yorkshire. The father passed away from earth in 1883, the mother surviving him until 1891.
George Birkhead, the principal subject of this biographical sketch, received his education at the national schools in Yorkshire. On March 10, 1869, he departed from his paternal home and ancestral land, and emigrated across the Atlantic to America, making the point of his destination Philadelphia, Pa., where his brother Turner was then living. He procured employment in the Globe Woollen Mills; but, after remaining there a short time, he came to Beverly in the same year, and was engaged in his brother's woollen-mills continuously, with the exception of the period of time occupied in two trips to England, until 1880. In that year he went to Riverside, and engaged in hosiery manufacturing, under the firm name of Birkhead & Dick, continuing in the business until 1891. He then returned to Beverly, and commenced the manufacturing of shirts, neglige, cheviot, and other varieties, for a very large quantity of which he finds a purchaser in Messrs. B.C. France & Co., of Philadelphia. He has developed quite an extensive industry, and has achieved a goodly measure of success, owning a large establishment, in which he employs about forty-five men.
While at Roxbury, Pa., he was united in marriage on December 22, 1874, with Miss Salina Thomas, a native of Birmingham, England. They have three children; namely, Emily C., Arthur G., and Frank E., all of whom are residing at home. Mrs. Birkhead came to this country when about two years of age with her parents, both of whom are now deceased. Mr. Birkhead is a Republican in politics, and has always supported that party. He is widely known in fraternity circles, as he is a member of Lodge No. 95, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, of Beverly; of the Legion of Honor in the same city; and of the Royal Arcanum at Philadelphia. In religious belief both he and his wife are Baptists, and belong to the church of that denomination in Beverly. He has a broad range of acquaintances, among whom he is held in universal esteem.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler




JOHN BISHOP, President of the Columbus, Kinkora & Springfield Railroad Company, and one of the best known and most enterprising business men of Columbus, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Mansfield township, March 16, 1820, son of John and Ann (Black) Bishop. Mr. Bishop's grandfather, Robert Bishop, was an industrious farmer, who spent his life in this locality, and died where the town of Delanco now stands. He married Jane Haines, granddaughter of a full-blooded Indian woman, whose name before marriage was Mary Carlisle. Mrs. Robert Bishop died in Rancocas, near Beverly, N.J. She was the mother of seven children, as follows: Timothy, William, Robert, Eber, John, Hannah, and Jane.
John Bishop, Sr., passed his boyhood and youth in trapping; and his education was acquired in an old log school house in his district. When he was sixteen years of age he began teaching school between Moorestown and Camden, N.J., and later went to Philadelphia, where he was employed as a clerk at Moliere's for five years. Subsequently associating himself with a partner, he was for some years engaged in the plumbing business; but this was at length so crippled by the embargo law that a change was necessary, and in 1808 he planned and erected a tower, and began the manufacture of shot. This tower, which rose to the height of one hundred and fifty feet, was at that time somewhat of a wonder in Philadelphia, being the only structure of the kind in the vicinity. Mr. Bishop continued in the production of shot until the raising of the embargo permitted him to resume the plumbing business. The tower, which was used during the War of 1812 for making certain kinds of shot, is still standing. In 1812 John Bishop, Sr., sold his interest to his partner, and bought a farm in the vicinity of Black Horse, now Columbus, which he conducted for three years.
For the next three years he was engaged in commercial affairs in Burlington, N.J.; and in 1819 he returned to the farm, where he continued to reside until 1845, at which time he took up his residence in the village, purchasing property now occupied by his son, and passing the rest of his life here. He died in 1863, aged eighty-five years, six months. He was first a Democrat in politics, later a Whig, and still later a Republican, serving as a member of the Township Committee; and, being connected with the Friends' Society, he was very active in their meetings. His wife, Ann Black, was a daughter of William and Hope Black, the former of whom was a prominent farmer of this township. He was a descendant of an earlier William Black, who came to this locality as one of the first settlers, and acquired several hundred acres of land situated at Black's Creek. Mrs. Bishop's parents reared eight children. Her father was engaged in farming for the greater part of his active life; but in 1830 he bought a homestead in the village, where he died fifteen years later, at the age of seventy-eight. He was a man of prominence in local affairs, serving upon the Township Committee; and the family has always occupied a high position among the well-to-do residents of the locality. Mr. and Mrs. John Bishop, Sr., had three children, of whom John, the subject of this sketch, is the only survivor. His mother lived to reach the age of eighty-three.
John Bishop was born in a house of considerable historical prominence, it having been used as quarters, for one winter, by a company of light cavalry during the Revolutionary War. His primary studies were pursued in the common schools, and after taking a course at the Westtown Boarding School, he finished his education at Haverford College, near the city of Philadelphia. When his father moved into the village of Columbus, he took charge of the farm, which he carried on until 1866, the year of his own removal to the village, where he has since resided. He became interested in the Columbus, Kinkora & Springfield Railway, having been one of the principal agitators of that enterprise; and, finally straightening out its tangled affairs, he with others placed it in operation, and secured its connection with the various lines in this part of the State. He was one of the three projectors who drew up the act of incorporation, which was railroaded through upon a quick time schedule, it being started in the lower house in the morning, and reaching the hands of the chief executive the same day. Mr. Bishop has filled the office of President of the company ever since his first election in 1873, and he is now the largest stockholder in the corporation. Some twenty years ago he associated himself with Dr. Page in carrying on a coal and lumber business; and in this they were engaged until January 1, 1890, when they sold out to Charles E. Black, grandson of the late Judge Black, Mr. Bishop, however, buying it back at a later day.
In 1845 Mr. Bishop married Rebecca F. Biddle. She was born at the Biddle family homestead in Kinkora, daughter of Israel and Sarah Biddle; and she is a descendant of one of the first settled families in this county, the original ancestor having been a prominent man in his day. Her parents were prosperous and highly reputable people. They reared a family of nine children.
Mr. and Mrs. Bishop have had ten children, seven of whom are living, namely: Thomas S., a civil engineer, and now Assistant Treasurer and a Director of the Russell & Irving Manufacturing Company of New Britain Conn., who married Rebecca W. Ilance, and has two children, named Thomas and Margaret; Sarah B., deceased; John I., a civil engineer, also interested in coal and silver mines, who married Anna R. Ridgway, and has two children, named Emily and John V.; Jane, widow of Ellis H. Branson, having one child, named Craig R.; Anna, who is no longer living; Biddle, who died in California, at the age of twenty-five; William, a successful farmer of Cream Ridge, N.J., and a merchant of Rahway, N.J., who married Martha Holloway, and has three children - Edward, William, and Alice; Rebecca B., who married the Rev. Robert E. Campbell, and has three children - Robert E., Jr., Bernard, and Edith: Charlotte B., wife of Nathan B. Wagner, and mother of one child, named Ellis; and Mary C.L.
Mr. Bishop, aside from his attention to his various business enterprises, has given much time to educational and philanthropical work; and his efforts in this direction have been of a character to produce the most beneficial results. Since 1884 he has been a Trustee of the Willits legacy, a fund of ten thousand dollars devoted to the moral and religious improvement of the negro races of the Southern States of the United States and Liberia in Africa. The Board meets monthly in Philadelphia. He is its Secretary and Treasurer, also a member of the Committee for the Civilization and Improvement of the Indians of the Allegheny and Cattaraugus Indian reservations, which meets every three months in Philadelphia, and some of whose members visit the reservations semi-annually. In politics Mr. Bishop is a Republican, and has represented that party upon the Township Committee with ability. He attends the Friends' meeting, being a member of that society, in which he has been an Elder and Overseer.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p. 69-71. Transcribed by Sandra Stuzman




BROWN, Charles Swing, president Hall & Brown Wood Working Machine Co.; born, Brown's Mills, N. J., Nov. 27, 1852; son of George C. and Harriet (Swing) Brown; educated in public schools; married, Pointville, N. J., Aug. 24, 1880, Sadie G. Warren; children: Lillian J. (wife of Dr. C. P. Pfingsten), Alfred W. Learned trade of machinist with H. B. Smith Machine Co., Smithville, N. J., and continued, 1870-77, leaving as foreman; came to St. Louis, 1877, with G. O. Hall, and established firm of Hall & Brown, general manufacturers of woodworking machinery, incorporating the business in 1888 as Hall & Brown Wood Working Machine Co., of which is president. Also president Broadway Savings Trust Co., Parker Land and Live Stock Co. Member executive committee Business Men's League; director Citizens' Industrial Association; member executive council St. Louis Manufacturers' and Exporters' Association; member Civic League. Member Union M. E. Church. Mason (32°). Clubs: Mercantile, Glen Echo. Recreation: golf. Office: 1913 N. Broadway. Residence: 2337 St. Louis Ave.
(Source: The Book of St. Louisans, Publ. 1912. Transcribed by Charlotte Slater)




HORACE GREELEY BROWN
Horace Greeley Brown, of Garfield county, who was one of the earliest settlers on Rifle creek and is now one of the most prosperous and popular citizens of that portion of the county, was born on April 8, 1855, in Burlington county, New Jersey, and was there reared and educated, attending only the district schools. He remained at home until he reached the age of twenty, then passed some years working in a machine shop at Smithsville, in his native state, at small wages. After that he opened a meat market there on his own account, which he conducted six months. He then moved to St. Louis, where he secured employment in the machine shop of Hall, Brown & Company, of which is brother Charles S. is president. From St. Louis he went to Joplin and later to Granby, Missouri, and at the latter place he conducted a meat market eighteen months with good results. In the spring of 1879, under the influence of the gold excitement at Leadville, this state, he came to that camp and, making his headquarters there, he freighted between that place and Pueblo and Canon City, and also carried on a meat market at Leadville, being successful in both enterprises, but losing all his money in mining. On April 2, 1883, he moved to the ranch he now owns and occupies, taking a squatter's right to a tract of land, and after the government survey was made pre-empting one hundred and sixty-four acres, to which he has since added forty, making his present ranch two hundred and four acres in extent, of which about three-fourths can be easily cultivated. The place has an abundant supply of water in its own right, and as he tills the land with care and judgment, the returns for his labor in hay, grain and vegetables are very good. He also has ten acres in fruit which yield abundant harvests of superior products and bring him in a handsome revenue. His main reliance, however, is upon hay and cattle. Mr. Brown has been prominent in the local affairs of the section, and has ever been foremost in every work of improvement and every duty of a good neighbor and citizen. He, J.J. Langstaff and William L. Smith buried the first white man who died in this vicinity, the coffin for the purpose being made by James Moss, of Rifle, out of a wagon bed, timber in the neighborhood being very scarce. When Mr. Brown settled in this region it was the unbroken wilderness, still abounding with wild game of all kinds and infested with beasts of pretty. Indians also were numerous, but in the main they were not unfriendly. The nearest trading points were Aspen and Grand Junction, settlers were few and it was far between them, and the conveniences of life were scarce and difficult to get. But the spirit of the settlers was resolute and triumphed over every obstacle, pushing forward the progress of the region with good speed and on a substantial basis. Mr. Brown is the son of George C. and Harriet (Swing) Brown, natives of New Jersey and residents of a place known as Brown's Mills. The father was a farmer and operated saw and grist-mills and also conducted a store and a hotel. In addition he was active in the real-estate business, and as a zealous Republican took a leading part in local affairs. Both were members of the Methodist church. The father died on March 20, 1863, and since then the mother has made her home at Mt. Holly. Three of their four children are living, Charles S., president of the Hall & Brown Wood Working Machine Company of St. Louis; Horace, and Georgia, wife of John Adams, of Waco, Texas. Mr. Brown was married on October 8, 1895, to Miss Hannah L. Lacy, a native of Ohio and daughter of James R. and Elizabeth (Crawford) Lacy, who were born, reared and married in Pennsylvania and moved to Ohio in the early days of its history. They came to Colorado in 1887 and are now living at Rifle. Although possessing business acumen and personal characteristics that would probably have made him successful in any environment, Mr. Brown has found in Colorado circumstances adapted to his tastes and has made them subservient to his progress and prosperity. He is therefore well pleased with the state of his adoption and looks forward with confidence to the great future that is in store for it. Its people are enterprising and broad-minded themselves, and they appreciate enterprise and breadth of view in others. So he stands well in his community, and what is more to the purpose, he deserves the regard in which he is held.
(Source: Progressive Men of Western Colorado, Publ 1905. Transcribed by Kim Mohler)



GEORGE BROCK, a prominent farmer and enterprising business man of Chester, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Chester township, November 9, 1843, son of William B. and Louise (Fenimore) Brock.
General Brock, of Revolutionary fame, was a distant connection of the family. Daniel Brock, the father of William B., was one of the early settlers of Chester, where he owned a large farm, and spent his life as a cultivator of the soil. His death occurred when he was but fifty-five years old. Martha Brock, his wife, survived him many years, living to the advance age of eighty-four. Both were communicants of the Methodist Episcopal church. Two of their children lived to maturity; namely, William B. and Daniel.
William B. Brock was a native of Chester. He was a man of superior mechanical ability, and engaged in building grist-mills, threshing machines, and other mechanical apparatus. He erected many of the mills in Burlington County in the early days and one in Salem County. In connection with his trade he also engaged in farming, being the possessor of a good farm in Chester township. His married life was spent for the most part in Moorestown, where he died at sixty-six years of age. His marriage with Miss Louisa Fenimore, who was born in Camden County, was solemnized in Chester. She died in Moorestown at the age of sixty-three years. Four sons and a daughter were born to them, namely: Caleb F., who is engaged in manufacturing business in Moorestown; George; Mrs. Hannah Evans, of Moorestown; Franklin, who died at forty-three years of age; and William H., a painter, residing in Moorestown.
George Brock, aforementioned, received his education in the schools of Chester, and continued to live with his parents until he had almost grown to manhood, when he enlisted in the army. After serving about six months, he received his honorable discharge. He then went to the coal regions of Pennsylvania, and was there employed for two years as an engineer. Returning home, he engaged in farming and teaming at Moorestown, and later on went into the real estate and building business, which he followed for a number of years. In 1868 he purchased the old Brock homestead, which he has since sold. He has been the owner of the place where he now resides since 1870. He purchased the Albert Lippincott farm in 1883; and his estate now contains about two hundred and twenty-six acres of land, with a substantial house, barns, and other out-buildings. He carries on mixed farming; and, through the business-like and successful manner in which he conducts his affairs, he has come to be ranked among the leading farmers of the town. In addition to carrying on his farm, he has engaged in the lumber business for the past twenty-five years with equally profitable results.
On December 24, 1868, Mr. Brock was united in marriage with Miss Hannah O'Neill, a native of Chester, and daughter of Michael and Rebecca O'Neil. Their home has been brightened by the birth of two daughters - Laura S. and Florence R. Politically, Mr. Brock is a Republican. His service in public office covers a period of seventeen years, four years as one of the Township Committee, Supervisor of Roads eleven years, and Commissioner two years. He is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows; also of the Order of United American Mechanics.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.212-215. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



JOHN BROOMHEAD - It may be said with truth that, in the general run of communities, examples are rare where wealth and unostentatious generosity are found moving hand in hand; but, in the case of the venerable octogenarian a short sketch of whose successful career appears below, this rule finds a distinct and most happy exception.
John Broomhead, late a retired tanner, and a highly respected citizen of Burlington, N.J., where his earthly life came to a close on September 17, 1896, was born in Wakefield, Yorkshire, England, July 10, 1813. His parents, John and Sarah (Hepworth) Broomhead, who were natives of the same place, belonged to the sturdy industrial class of Great Britain's population; and his father was a brewer by occupation. In 1820 the family emigrated to the United States, settling in Burlington; and John Broomhead, Sr., purchased a brewery, which was located near the site of the Henry Grubb residence. After following his legitimate calling for a short time, he bought a farm, which he carried on for a few years. Retiring at length of active labor, he passed the rest of his days at his residence in Burlington. He died when only forty-seven years old, survived by his wife, who lived to reach an advanced age.
John Broomhead, the subject of this sketch, attended the public schools of Burlington as a lad, and at the age of thirteen was apprenticed to learn the trade of a tanner and currier with W.R. Allen. Rapidly acquiring a knowledge of the business, he was advanced to the position of foreman of the establishment; and he remained with his employer for ten years. In company with William B. Allen, he then engaged in the tanning business on Wood Street, ten years later buying his partner's interest. He conducted the business alone until 1880, when he relinquished his career of industry, and added his name to the list of retired business men. During his unusually long and active business life, he maintained a high and untarnished reputation as a conscientious and upright man; and the prestige which necessarily accompanies a high business standing, together with his natural energy and enterprise, enabled him to amass a handsome fortune. He invested largely in real estate for local improvement, erecting several costly buildings in marble, brick, and wood, and owned seven fine blocks of tenements. In 1879 he bought the noted Caleseer residence, a fine old mansion, which was built in the year 1800, picturesquely situated in the midst of spacious, well-shaded grounds on the banks of the Delaware River.
Though not a politician, Mr. Broomhead always maintained an active interest in public affairs. His first Presidential vote was cast for Andrew Jackson; but he shortly became a Whig, and he supported the Republican party from the date of its formation. He many times found it necessary to withhold the use of his name as a candidate for public office, but, nevertheless, contributed his share to the local government by serving on the City Council and on the School Board, of which he was for a long period the oldest member, manifesting a deep and lasting interest in educational matters.
In 1839, when he was twenty-six years old, Mr. Broomhead was united in marriage with Martha Taylor, daughter of Eber Taylor; and, although he had no children, his family circle included seven orphans, children of his wife's relatives, whom he brought up, educated, and provided each with a trade. Outside of his own family his generosity and charity were lavishly displayed upon many occasions; and, aside from a long-continued dispensation of aid and relief to the poor and needy, he contributed largely for the general public good and the improvement of the city.
Mr. Broomhead, with his estimable wife, who survives him, long actively enjoyed the blessings of life, the wedded pair serenely growing old together, as octogenarians having unusually good health. Episcopalians in religious faith, they attended St. Mary's Church. "Like as a shock of corn cometh in his season," John Broomhead at the ripe age of eighty-three years and two months came to the grave. All of him that was mortal was tenderly laid to rest in St. Mary's Churchyard. The good that he did lives after him.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



George W. Bryan

George W. Bryan, an enterprising farmer of Mansfield, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Columbus, July 4, 1839, son of Charles II, and Sarah (Rockhill) Bryan. Mr. Bryan's grandfather, John, who was a native of Rancocas, passed his life in tilling the soil, which afforded him a good living. He attained an advanced age, and always resided in the locality of his birth. He had four sons and two daughters.
Charles H. Bryan, Mr. Bryan's father, was born near Mount Holly, N.J., and grew to manhood upon his father's farm. In early life he entered the blacksmithing and carriage manufacturing business, which he carried on quite extensively for some years; but in 1848 he bought the farm where his son now resides, and here he passed the rest of his life. He died at the age of seventy-six years. His wife, Sarah Rockhill, died at seventy-two. She was a daughter of Clement Rockhill, a prosperous farmer and an early settler here, who was the father of a large family. Mr. and Mrs. Charles H. Bryan reared three children, as follows: George W., the subject of this sketch; Rebecca, wife of Harvey Rogers; and Anna, who married Robert Taylor, and resides near Columbus. The parents attend the Friends' meeting.

George W. Bryan began his education in the common schools, and continued his studies at the Mount Holly Seminary and Burlington College. He resided at home, assisting his father upon the home farm until his marriage, when he took a piece of agricultural property near by, and carried it on successfully for three years. He then returned to the ancestral farm, where he has since lived, devoting his one hundred acres of well-improved land to general farming, and making a specialty of raising fine poultry.

In 1865 Mr. Bryan wedded Achsah Taylor, a daughter of William and Phebe Ann (Rogers) Taylor. Her father was engaged in farming in Columbus; and her mother was a daughter of Benjamin Rogers, who followed agriculture near Georgetown. Mr. Taylor died at the age of sixty-four and his wife lived to be seventy-two years old. They were members of the Society of Friends. Of their eight children four are living; namely, Robert, Achsah (Mrs. Bryan), Henry, and Joshua. A daughter Emily, now deceased, married Israel Kirby. Mr. and Mrs. Bryan have the following children living: Clement; George H.; Benjamin; Stockton; and Lillie, who married Wilbert Bullock. Clement Bryan was married September 5, 1896, to Miss Jennie V. Cooper, of Burlington, N.J.
Mr. Bryan is a representative of the highest type of the industrious and intelligent American agriculturist. In politics he is a Democrat, and has for several years served as a School Trustee; and in his religious views he is liberal. Mrs. Bryan is a member of the Friends' Society, and George H. Bryan a member of the Baptist church.

[Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW, CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON - BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by FOFG]



SAMUEL CALEY, M.D., one of the leading homoeopathic physicians of Mount Holly, N.J., was born June 15, 1844, in Easttown township, Chester County, Pa., being the fifth in line of descent to bear the name of Samuel. He comes of English and Welsh antecedents. His great-great-grandfather, Samuel Caley, was the emigrant progenitor of the family, coming from England to America in early Colonial times. He settled in Newtown Square, Delaware County, Pa., where he purchased wild land, and reclaimed a homestead, on which he spent the remainder of his life. His son Samuel and his grandson of that name both spent their entire lives in their native township, engaged in farming. Samuel Caley, third, married Ann Phillips, a native of Wales.
Samuel Caley, fourth, the Doctor's father, was born at Newtown Square; and there, with the exception of four years spent in Easttown township, Chester County, he made his home through life. He inherited the ancestral acres, which he managed very successfully; and he made valuable additions to this landed property, at one time of his industrious career owning five large farms. He married Lucy Cheney Hickman, and a native of Westtown, Chester County Pa., and by this union had six children. The father died at the age of seventy-five years. The mother is still living, her home being in Media, Delaware County, Pa.
Samuel Caley, fifth, acquired his elementary education in the public schools, and then attended Concordville Seminary, in Concordville, Delaware County. After completing the course of study there, he began to learn the miller's trade. He had previously determined to become a physician, and, with this object in view, spent all his leisure time in studying medicine. After his graduation from the Hahnemann Medical College in Philadelphia he began practice in Middletown, Pa., going from there to Harrisburg, where he formed a partnership with Dr. Frieze. In 1883, dissolving the partnership, Dr. Caley came to Mount Holly, where he has established a flourishing and widely extended practice. He is devoted to the interests of his profession, and well deserves the reputation he has gained of being one of the most able and faithful practitioners in the place. He is a member of the New Jersey State Medical Society.
In March, 1869, Dr. Caley married Mary H. Yarnall. She, too, is a native of the Keystone State, having been born in Edgemont township, Delaware County, a daughter of William H. and Sarah (Minshall) Yarnall. The first of this name to settle in America came over with William Penn, and purchased land of him. Mr. Caley is immediately descended from the John Sharpless family, of Delaware County, Pennsylvania. Of the four children born to Dr. and Mrs. Caley, three have passed from earth, Bertha dying at the age of thirteen years, Herman living here but a brief time, and Samuel following his brother and sister when but seven years old. Their youngest and only living child is a daughter, Mary Frances.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.197-198. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



GEORGE W. H. CALVER, M.D., of Columbus, one of the oldest and most distinguished homeopathic physicians in the county, was born in Philadelphia, November 20, 1840. He is a son of William G. and Elizabeth (McDaniel) Calver, both of whom were natives of Philadelphia, but of English descent. His grandfather, James Calver, who was born in the mother country, was a man of scholarly attainments, especially gifted as a linguist. He came to America when a young man, and lived for a while in Philadelphia, then in Cincinnati, later in New Orleans, where he studied the French spoken by the natives, finally returning to Philadelphia, where he died at the age of seventy-six. His wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Godson, was likewise of English birth.

William G., only child of James and Sarah G. Calver, was reared in Philadelphia, and in that city learned the trade of carving and gilding, which he followed for some time. He was subsequently engaged in the manufacture of straw hats and bonnets, and carried on a bleachery in Philadelphia. In 1866 he retired from business, and moved to the country, a few miles from Columbus, N.J. There he met his death at the age of fifty-six, through a shooting accident. Prominently interested in educational affairs of his day, he was one of the organizers of the institution now known as the Eclectic College of Philadelphia, which was opened in 1853, under the name of the Reform College, or American College of Reform, and was reorganized in 1859.

Of this institution, Mr. Calver was Secretary fourteen years. He was also a physician and chemist, and practised medicine for several years. His wife was a daughter of John and Hannah McDaniel, of Philadelphia. She died at the age of forty-three. Seven children were born to Mr. and Mrs. William G. Calver, six of whom attained maturity. Of these, the following are yet living: William, a physician of Booth Corner, Delaware County, Pa., who has been in practice since 1865; George W. H., the subject of this sketch; John W., a manufacturer of straw bonnets, bonnet frames, and regalia goods, in Philadelphia; Sarah G., widow of Harry G. Altemus; and Hannah P., wife of J. C. Moore, of Philadelphia.

George W. H. Calver, the second of the three sons here named, having received his early education in the public schools of Philadelphia, spent some time on a farm in Chester County, Pennsylvania. On his return to the city, he took up the study of medicine, and later he entered the Eclectic College of Philadelphia. Graduating in 1862, he began to practise in the spring of that year in Reading, Pa. ; and in July he answered the call of the governor of Pennsylvania for surgeons for army service. Successfully passing the required examination, which was conducted by the faculty of the University of Pennsylvania, he received an appointment, and was commissioned by the governor on August 2 of the same year. Entering the service with the First Pennsylvania Cavalry.

Dr. Calver's arduous work began in the field hospital at Culpeper, and continued through and after the second battle of Bull Run. Mustered out October 7, 1862, he was reappointed on the 14th of the same month, and was assigned to the One Hundred and Forty-seventh Regiment of Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, with whom he remained until after the Battle of Gettysburg. Going West with the troops under General Joseph Hooker, he was in the hospital corps at Chattanooga, and the battle . of Lookout Mountain above the clouds, and during the campaign in North Georgia was kept constantly busy attending to the needs of maimed and suffering humanity. In June, 1864, he was appointed surgeon on staff duty at the headquarters of General Geary, whom he accompanied during the March to the Sea. He was afterward in the campaign through the Carolinas, and at the close of the war was brevetted by President Johnson Surgeon United States Volunteers, confirmed by the Senate, and mustered out July 15, 1865, after the close of the war. At this time Dr. Calver was scarcely twenty-five years old, but in surgical experience and skill he was the peer of physicians twice his age. Returning to Philadelphia, he practised medicine until April, 1866, when the sudden death of his father caused him to go to the vicinity of Columbus, Burlington County, N .J . There he remained, his first residence being about three miles from the one which he now occupies. He built up a large town and county practice, and in February, 1891, moved to his beautiful home on Main Street, Columbus.
Dr.. Calver is a member of the West Jersey Homeopathic and the New Jersey Homeopathic Societies. He has been called upon to act as medical examiner for several life insurance companies. In politics the Doctor is a Republican. He has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1863, and belongs to Lafayette Lodge, No. 71, of Philadelphia; and Girard Mark Lodge, No. 214. He is also a member of Enterprise Council, No. 124, 0. U. A. M., of Jacksonville, N.J.; and of Washington Post, No. 42, Grand Army of the Republic, of Bordentown.

He was married in 1866 to Eliza, daughter of Robert Adams, a leading merchant of Philadelphia, and has two daughters- Laura and Martha Goldson. The latter, who is the younger of the two, is an accomplished musician. Laura, a young lady of rare promise and ability, graduated from the Woman 's Medical College of Philadelphia in 1890, and served some time as physician of the State Primary School at Palmer, Mass. This position she was obliged to resign on account of ill health; and after a season of rest she went to Germany to perfect her medical studies, remaining some time in Berlin. On her return she assisted her father in his practice for a while. In the winter of 1894 she conducted a class in clinics at the Woman's Medical College, and was afterward in active practice in Philadelphia, where she had an office. She was married to Mr. Alfred Clements on September 19, 1895, and gave up her professional work temporarily for the less arduous duties of a pleasant home, but has since resumed practice in West Philadelphia. Dr. Calver and his family are members of the Providence Presbyterian Church of Bustleton, with which (not complete)

BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Shelia Baker




ISAAC PEARSON COLEMAN, M. D.
BY GEORGE GOODELL, M. D.
The duty of offering a memorial on the decease of our late member and companion, DR. ISAAC PEARSON COLEMAN, having devolved on me, I enter on the task as if paying the last sad rites to a departed relative. The knowledge that each and all must, sooner or later, reach that silent shore -which will become the terminus of human friendships, fame, honor and wisdom, does not familiarize us to the stern reality that the most endearing ties of love and affection must assuredly be sundered. Past associations crowd our thoughts, and many recollections are awakened while we invoke the memory of our departed friend. I am conscious that each of us claim fellowship in this personal attachment, and that my high appreciation of Dr. Coleman is but an echo of the sentiment of every member of this Society, of the community where he resided, and of the wide circle of medical friends among whom he was highly esteemed and honored.

Dr. ISAAC P. COLEMAN was born February 2d, 1804, on the place owned by his ancestors for several generations in Lawrence Township, Mercer County, New Jersey. His father, James Coleman, died in 1816. He was a member of the society of Friends, and judging from the scattered volumes of his library in the Doctor's possession, he was a man of more than ordinary taste and culture.
The Doctor received his classical and English education principally at the old Trenton Academy, under the tutorship of Mr. James Stack; his institution at that time was one of the standard schools of the State, where many of the finest scholars of New Jersey received their education. He studied medicine with Dr. Francis A. Ewing, of Trenton, a gentleman of learning, well read in his profession and unusually qualified for a teacher. After three full courses of lectures, at Yale College, he graduated, and settled in Trenton, where he remained for more than a year. After this he removed to Burlington County, and for some time assisted Dr. Patterson, of Plattsburg, in his practice, and for a short time was associated with Dr. Daken, of Columbus. A good opportunity now offering for settling permanently, he purchased Dr. Lott's property, in Pemberton, and established himself at that place, where he remained until the close of his life, -Nov. 4th, 1869, in the sixty-fifth year of his age. His death occurred after an illness of five weeks of continued fever, a relapse having occurred about the third week after he and his family supposed the dangerous crisis had passed.
He was married, in 1843, to Miss Salter, of Philadelphia, a lady of refinement and education, whose cheerful household is blighted by this sad bereavement. He left two daughters and a son, whom he lived to educate, and to whom he bequeathed those genial qualities that so much endeared him to them and us. If words could dispel the gloomy shadows of that family circle, they would be an expression of gratitude that so bright an example of Christian virtue and unostentatious piety has been left for their and our imitation. The life of a medical man is not often blazoned before the world by events calculated to arouse the highest admiration of the public. But his sterling integrity and kindness of heart endeared him to all classes of society.
During the long period of Dr. Coleman's membership with this Society his luminous reasoning was listened to with interest, whenever questions came before us requiring thorough pathological research. A close logical analysis guided his conclusions. Though thoroughly posted in the institutes of medicine and with its current literature, he rarely quoted authorities. He based his practical conclusions on what he conceived to be the correct pathology of each case. Whenever his aid was sought in consultation, his long experience in the County Almshouse gave a luminous accuracy to his opinions. As ready to receive as to give counsel, he never betrayed the confidence or attempted to damage the standing of those with whom he consulted, but adhered with religious fidelity to the ethical requirements of our profession. The demands for operative surgery always found him equal to the occasion. Few practitioners, outside of our large cities, have been more successful in their varied and difficult operations. It is to be regretted that he left no record of his operative cases, for they embrace almost every variety of surgical disease, and were performed with skill and average success. His is believed to be the first case of lithotomy in our county, and perhaps in New Jersey, successfully performed by one of our own surgeons. He repeatedly operated for strangulated hernia, for the removal of deformities by plastic methods, and was ever ready to give his patient the benefit of his surgical skill, when amputations or resections were required, always bringing to his aid thorough anatomical knowledge with great coolness and self-command. His able reports from Burlington County always occupied a prominent space in the transactions of our State Medical .Society. Though often obliged to draw largely on his own observations, with characteristic modesty he rarely alluded to his own practice. In 1849 he was elected President of our State Medical Society, and as its presiding officer he infused fresh life and vigor into that venerable organization. His address at the expiration of his office was highly creditable as a literary effort. In conversation, and as an extemporaneous speaker, his manner was slow and somewhat hesitating ; but his massive brain always elaborated something which read well, and the profoundness and pertinency of his remarks made ample amends for lack of fluency in diction.
Outside of our profession his influence was immense, and was always wielded on the side of virtue, morality and religion.
[Source: Transactions of the Medical Society of New Jersey By Medical Society of New Jersey; 1868. Newark, N.J.; Printed at the Evening Courier Office, 309 Broad St. 1868, pg. 93-96, submitted by Michelle Byrd]




CHRISTIAN DICK, one of the foremost citizens of Riverside, Burlington County, N .J., proprietor and manager of the Riverside Hosiery and the Riverside Dye Works, was born in this city, September 27, 1856. His parents were John and Frederika (Weidman) Dick, both natives of Germany, who came to America about the year 1849. After a short residence in New York City they removed to Philadelphia, and thence to Riverside, where they were among the earliest settlers.

John Dick was a carpenter and builder by trade, and soon became known as a skilled and practical workman, thorough and exact, after the fashion of most German handicraftsmen. He worked diligently at his trade in this city during the rest of his life, building some of the finest houses here. He died in 1889. His wife survived him four years, dying in March, 1893. They were the parents of seven children, namely: John, deceased; Elizabeth, deceased; Christian, whose name appears at the head of this sketch; Mary, wife of William Wolfschmidt, of Riverton, N.J.; Katherine, wife of William Krim, of Beverly, N.J., a prosperous and widely known manufacturer of wine, cider, and vinegar; William; and Carrie, wife of Samuel Brown, of this city.

Christian Dick, our special subject, acquired the first rudiments of knowledge in the common schools of Riverside, which he attended until reaching the age of seven years, completing his studies in private and night schools in Philadelphia. At the early age of nine years he began to earn his own living, finding employment in the rope-walk at Beverly, this county, where he worked for about two months. He subsequently obtained the position of foreman in Mr. Turner Birkhead's hosiery-mill in Beverly, in which he remained nine years; and he was engaged for a time in the hosiery-mills in Bristol and Philadelphia. During this period by diligence and wise economy he laid the foundation of his present prosperity, contriving to save enough to enable him to make a start in business life for himself, which he did in 1879, establishing a hosiery-mill in Riverside, and conducting it with his partner under the firm name of Birkhead's & Dick. He purchased his partner's interest in 1889, and is now the sole proprietor. The plant is known as the Riverside Hosiery Mills, and is devoted to the manufacture of all kinds of hosiery and knit goods, which find ready sale to wholesale dealers throughout the United States. The business is in a flourishing condition, furnishing constant employment to about seventy hands; and the trade is steadily increasing. In connection with the hosiery-mill Mr. Dick operates the Riverside Dye Works, a thoroughly equipped plant, which also is doing an excellent business.
The rapid and healthy growth of the double enterprise is sufficient indication that at its head stands a man of keen foresight and unremitting industry, progressive in his methods, and holding at all times a firm grasp of the business situation. Mr. Dick is a typical American, being in the best sense of the word a self-made man. Without extraneous advantages at the start, he has made his way by honest individual effort until attaining his present high position in the business world. He takes a keen interest in public affairs, and is a stanch Republican in politics, but has never sought office. He has, however, served as Trustee of the Riverside schools for several years. He is a prominent member of the Masonic Order, being connected with Beverly Lodge, No. 107, of Beverly, N.J., of which he was made Master in 1895. He is also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, Lodge No. 95, of Beverly.

September 27, 1878, Mr. Dick was married to Miss Helen Lemmer, who was born in Soling, Germany, in 1857. Mrs. Dick's father dying in Germany when she was a child; she accompanied her widowed mother to America; and they settled in Philadelphia, where Mrs. Lemmer died. Mr. and Mrs. Dick are the parents of eleven children; namely, Walter, Helen, Amelia (deceased), Christian, Jr., Chester, Emilia, Frederika, Albert, Elmer, George (deceased), and Theophilus. These have all received the advantages of a good education, having attended the best private schools in this city. Mr. and Mrs. Dick are members of and active workers in the Lutheran church of Riverside. They stand high in social circles, and the family may be considered as representing the best element of citizenship in Burlington County.

BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Shelia Baker




WALTER E. DOBBINS, a rising young lawyer of Burlington, who is making rapid strides in his profession, is a descendant of ancestors who were highly respected citizens of their day, being a son of Samuel A. Dobbins, and grandson of Samuel A. Dobbins, Sr. He was born at Mount Holly, Burlington County, N.J., December 14, 1867, and is therefore under thirty years of age. After obtaining his general education in the public schools of his native town, he began the study of law with Judge Gaskill, and spent four diligent years in reading and mastering the rudiments of his chosen profession. During this period he availed himself of every opportunity to become acquainted with the practical side of the law as applied through the various forms of procedure in the courts. In 1892 he was admitted to the bar; and one year later he located in Burlington, opening an office at 12 East Broad Street. Successful from the start, he has obtained a large share of business, his professional ability being fully demonstrated by his present high standing as compared with the older and more experienced attorneys of the city. His personal popularity and his interest in political affairs led to his becoming a candidate for public office; and, although a supporter of the Republican party, he was elected to the City Council in 1895 by a large majority against an old citizen and a Democrat. As Chairman of the Financial Committee he kept guard over the city's financial interests, and used his power and influence for a judicious expenditure of the public funds. He was appointed Chairman of the special committee organized to enter upon and superintend the work of paving East Union Street, and improvement which he was mainly instrumental in securing. He takes an active and leading part in all practical movements for the betterment of the community, and his efforts in that direction seem to have won for him a large share of public approbation.
He is well advanced in Masonry, being a leading member of Burlington Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; Boudinot Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; and Helena Commandery, Knights Templars. He also belongs to Burlington Lodge, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Hope Lodge, Knights of Pythias; the Ancient Order of United Workmen; and the Foresters, being State Counsel of the last-named order. On June 20, 1893, Mr. Dobbins was united in marriage to Elizabeth H. Claypoole, of Mount Holly; and they have one son, Edward C. They both attend the Methodist Episcopal church.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.208-209. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]




NATHANIEL M. DUDLEY, a well-to-do retired farmer, and one of the oldest residents of Moorestown, N.J., is a native of Chester township, in which this village is situated. He was born on January 26, 1810, son of Joseph and Anna (Middleton) Dudley, and is of English stock.
His paternal grandfather, Isaac Dudley, is said to have been born in England and to have come to this country accompanied by two brothers. He settled in the township of Chester, Burlington County, N.J., where he became the owner of a large tract of land, and was one of the most successful farmers of this section. His wife bore him ten children, all of whom lived to a good age. They were named respectively: John, Isaac, Darling, Joseph, Francis, Charles, Mary, Priscilla, Betsey, and Rachel. Grandfather Dudley was liberal in religious views. His children were brought up in the Friends' belief.
Joseph Dudley was born in Chester township, and was reared to farm work. On starting out in life for himself he engaged in general farming in this township, later buying a farm near Westfield, in the town of Cinnaminson. He was an industrious and enterprising man, and acquired a good property. His wife, whose maiden name was Anna Middleton, was a daughter of Nathaniel Middleton, one of the early settlers of Cinnaminson, which is in Burlington County. Mr. Middleton was a prosperous farmer and a prominent worker in the Society of Friends. Mrs. Dudley bore her husband seven children; namely, Nathaniel M., Hudson, George, Joseph, Mary Ann, Middleton and Isaac. Their father died March 19, 1848, and their mother a number of years later, January 3, 1861.
Nathaniel M. Dudley, the eldest son, grew to manhood in the villages of Moorestown and Westfield, receiving his first schooling in the little stone building which still stands, and is a part of the Orthodox School in Moorestown. He remained with his father on the farm until he was twenty-seven years old, then started out for himself as a farmer on rented land. In 1861 he purchased a farm of about one hundred and thirty-three acres, which he owns to-day, and which is now occupied by his son. He continued to carry it on himself until 1878, in which year, on the 25th of March, shortly after his sixty-eighth birthday, he settled where he now lives.
On February 9, 1837, Mr. Dudley was joined in marriage with Miss Anna B. Hanes, who was born near Vincentown, N.J., March 3, 1814, and was a daughter of John and Martha Haines. Mrs. Dudley died in Moorestown on December 25, 1892. Two of their eight children have departed this life; namely, Clayton H. and N. Middleton. The survivors are: Martha Ann, Emma II, Ruth Anna, Alice L., Owen L., and Charlotte L., Mr. Dudley now has fourteen grandchildren and nine great-grandchildren living.
In Political affiliation Mr. Dudley is a stanch Republican. He is an honored member of the Society of Friends. During his long and active life he has been frequently called upon to handle considerable money in trust for others, and in discharge of this business he has always given unbounded satisfaction to all concerned.
"Uncle Natty," as he is familiarly called, is well known in these parts, and is much respected. Capable, prudent, and thrifty from his youth up, by diligent toil and sagacious management he accumulated sufficient property to enable him now in his declining years to enjoy a well-earned rest from active labors.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.192-193. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]




Mary J. Dunlap
DUNLAP, Miss Mary J., physician, born in Philadelphia, Pa., in 1853. Dr. Dunlap is superintendent and physician in charge of the New Jersey State Institution for Feeble Minded Women. When a mature young woman, of practical education, with sound and healthy views of life, she made choice of the profession of medicine, not through any romantic aspirations after "a vocation in life," but as a vocation to which she proposed to devote all her energies. One year of preparatory reading preceded the regular college course of three years. Having been regularly graduated from the Woman's Medical College of Pennsylvania in 1886, an office was secured in Philadelphia, and it was not long before the young doctor found her hands full. In a few months she was induced to make arrangements with Dr. Joseph Parrish, which made her his assistant in the treatment of nervous invalids in Burlington, N. J. This special training prepared her for her present responsible position. Dr. Dunlap's position in New Jersey is similar to that of Dr. Alice Bennett in Pennsylvania, being superintendent and physician in charge, with all the duties that the term implies. These two women furnish the only instances, at the present date, where women have full control of the medical department of institution work in connection with the superintendency.
("American Women", by Frances Elizabeth Willard, Mary Ashton Rice Livermore, Volume 1 Copyright 1897. Transcribed by Marla Snow.)



HOWARD FLANDERS, counsellor-at-law, Notary Public, Master in Chancery, and City Solicitor of Burlington, N.J., was born in Philadelphia, April 12, 1860, son of Alfred and Mary R. (Davidson) Flanders. He descends from New England ancestry. His grandfather, Andrew Flanders, a native of Amesbury, Mass., was in early life a mariner, later becoming interested in merchant vessels, and eventually settling in Philadelphia, where he conducted business for the rest of his days, attaining a good old age.

Alfred Flanders, son of Andrew, received a good education in the schools of Philadelphia, and upon reaching manhood he engaged in the banking business. He was connected with a bank in the Quaker City until some time in the sixties, when he entered into the practice of law. In 1871 he moved to Beverly, N.J., where he resumed his law business with success; and, becoming prominent in political affairs, in which he supported the Democratic party, he was elected Mayor. From Beverly he removed to Mount Holly, and later to Burlington, maintaining an office in both cities. He practised law until his death, which took place when he was fifty-eight years old. He was a gentleman of high legal repute, a citizen of superior moral worth and intellectual attainments, and he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. He married Mary R. Davidson, daughter of John Davidson, and she became the mother of three children, as fo11ows: Mary D., who married Henry S. Prickett, and resides in Palmyra; Howard, the subject of this sketch; and Charles Y., a promising young business man, who married Emma Beldin. Mrs. Mary R. Flanders is still living.

Howard Flanders was educated in the schools of Philadelphia, Beverly, and Mount Holly; and at an early age he began the study of law in his father's office. He was admitted to the bar in June, 1881 ; and in 1883 he commenced the practice of his profession in Burlington, where he has since occupied a leading position among the prominent lawyers of the city. Aside from his law business he has interested himself in both public and private enterprises, which have greatly profited by his ability. He is a member of the Board of Water Commissioners; was formerly Treasurer, and later Secretary, of the Electric Light Company; a Counselor for the City Building Association; Director of the National Bank; Secretary of the Sheridan Furnace Company; and he has filled other responsible positions. As city solicitor he has always displayed marked ability in handling the city's legal business, and the general interests of the municipality have been carefully guarded under his capable direction.

On June 10, 1891, Mr. Flanders was united in marriage with Carrie E. Lowden, daughter of John F. and Sarah Lowden. In Masonry he has advanced to the Commandery, being a member of Burlington Lodge, A. F. & A. M.; Boudinot Chapter, Royal Arch Masons; and Helena Commandery, Knights Templars. He is also connected with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and is a member of the Lawyers' Club of Philadelphia.

BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Shelia Baker



HON. ROBERT BARCLAY ENGLE, Senator-elect of Ocean County, New Jersey, spends his winters in his native county of Burlington and his summers at the Engleside, the popular hotel at Beach Haven, of which he is proprietor and manager. He is of the seventh generation in lineal descent from Robert Engle, who settled in New Jersey in 1683, more than two hundred years ago. Tradition has it that two brothers accompanied him in his voyage across the Atlantic, and settled in Germantown, Pa.
Robert Engle, the emigrant, married Joanna Horn in 1684, and died in 1696, leaving a son John to perpetuate the name. John Engle married Mary Auborn, and reared five children, three daughters and two sons - Jane, Mary, Hannah, Robert and John, Jr. Robert Engle, second, and Rachel Vinicum were united in marriage in 1728, being the first couple married in the Springfield meeting-house. Robert Engle, second, died in 1774, leaving five children - Abraham, Joseph, Robert, Rachel and Sarah. Joseph Engle, born in 1740, married in 1760 Mary Borton, who was born in 1737, and died in 1803. He died in 1814. The remains of both were interred at Evesham. They were survived by nine children - John, Obadiah, Aaron, Susanna, Phebe, Asa, Ann, Joseph, and Rachel.
Obadiah, the second child in the fifth generation of this lineage, was born in 1763. In 1794, at about thirty-one years of age, he married Patience Coles, a native of Colestown, N.J., born in 1771. Their home was on the branch of the South Branch of the Rancocas River one mile south of Hainesport, N.J. Obadiah Engle was a prominent member of the Society of Friends. He died in 1843, and his wife in the following year. They reared ten children, five sons and five daughters; namely, Ann, Job, Arthur, Aaron, Elizabeth, Mary, Rachel, Samuel, Sarah A., and Nathan S.
Arthur Engle, second son of Obadiah and Patience (Coles) Engle, was born in Evesham, now Lumberton township, and there during the greater part of his life of seventy-eight years applied himself to the cultivation of the soil and other agricultural operations. His wife, Elizabeth Engle, daughter of Robert Engle, died in 1862, aged sixty years. Their children were: Ezra, Emeline B., Ann C., Mary W., and Robert Barclay. Ezra Engle married Sarah Prickett, daughter of Josiah Prickett, of Medford, N.J., and has three children - Josiah P., Esther A., and Ezra C. Emeline B. Engle married Josiah J. Prickett, and has nine children. Ann C. Engle married Thomas S. Prickett, and has four children. Mary W. Engle married J.H. Roberts, and has four children.
The fifth of the family group, Robert Barclay Engle, of the Engleside, was born on March 6, 1834, near Hainesport, N.J. It will be noticed that he bears the name of the patient "Laird of Ury," a former soldier of Gustavus Adolphus, who, after being converted to the doctrine of the Society of Friends, wrote "An Apology for the True Christianity as the Same is held by the People called in scorn Quakers," and a few years later was appointed Governor of New Jersey, but ruled this province by a deputy.
Robert B. Engle was carefully educated, attending first the public schools near his boyhood's home and subsequently the Friends' Boarding School at Westtown, Pa., an excellent institution of learning, liberally patronized. He began the real work of life at the teacher's desk, devoting himself assiduously for four seasons to the task of training and instructing the minds of youth. Not feeling inclined to labor longer in that direction, he next turned his attention to farming, his hereditary calling, to which he gave about a quarter of a century of his manhood's prime, his well-tilled fields, his fruitful orchards and gardens, giving full proof of intelligent husbandry. In 1875, a change of scene and occupation being desirable, Mr. Engle moved to Beach Haven, on the lower end of Long Beach in Ocean County, a stretch of land barely redeemed from the broad Atlantic.
Quickly discerning the natural advantages of the location, although Beach Haven was then off the regular lines of travel, having no railway connections, and was but an uninviting tract of barren and shifting sand dunes, in 1876 he erected the Engleside, which has accommodations for three hundred and fifty guests, and is widely known as one of the finest summer resort hotels on the Jersey coast. It is not too much to say that it is largely owing to the sagacious enterprise of Mr. Engle and his estimable wife that Beach Haven has become the fashionable watering-place of the swell set of Philadelphia.
Public-spirited and progressive, he was one of the originators of the Burlington County Agricultural Society and of the Mount Holly Fair. He has been a member of the Beach Haven Borough Council since its organization. He was elected Senator on the Republican ticket. In religion an orthodox Friend, he is true to the principles he professes, reading "his Bible by the inward light."
Robert B. Engle and Jane Darnell, daughter of David Darnell, of Mount Laurel, N.J., were united in marriage in 1857. They have two children - David D. Engle and Robert F. Engle.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



Harry B. Ford

Harry B. Ford, one of the rising young business men of Bordentown, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Columbus, this State and county, August 14, 1859, son of John and Rachel (Wood) Ford. His grandfather, John Ford, Sr., was a farmer at Biddle's Wharf, or Kinkora, N.J.; and there John Ford, the younger, was born. He learned the carpenter's trade in his youth, and has followed it up to the present day. He was for a time a journeyman and is now a master carpenter on the Amboy division of the Pennsylvania Railroad, with which he has been connected some thirty-five years. His wife was a native of Pennsylvania. She died at the age of thirty-five, leaving four children, one having preceded her to the "bourne whence no traveler returns." Three of these children are now living: Harry B., the subject of this sketch; Frank, a painter; and Edward, a carpenter, both working under their father. Mr. John Ford attends the Methodist church, of which his wife was a member. He has been a resident of Bordentown for over thirty years.
Harry B. Ford, the first named of the three sons, spent his early childhood at White Hill, and received his education in the common schools of Bordentown. He went to work when only fourteen years of age, entering the employ of E. S. Burr, hardware dealer of Bordentown, with whom he remained thirteen years. After that he was in the pottery decorating business for about a year, and next became an employee of the Adams Express Company. Two years of faithful service for this company were rewarded with an agency, to which he was appointed in 1891. He started in the hardware business in 1892, stocking a large store with a complete line of this class of goods, and has been very successful as a hardware dealer; and as agent for the Adams Express Company he gives universal satisfaction.
Mr. Ford and Laura H. Rogers, only daughter of Eugene Rogers, of Allentown, Pa., were married in 1881, and are the parents of three children - Milton C., Albert T., and Helen, aged respectively eleven, nine, and seven years.
Mr. Ford is a prominent Republican, and has been Assessor of Bordentown eight years. An active man physically as well as mentally, he has been a member of the fire company, and is Vice-President of the Delaware Steam Engine Company No. 2. He is a Free Mason in good standing, belonging to Mount Moriah Lodge No. 28. Mr. and Mrs. Ford are members of Trinity Methodist Episcopal Church, of which he was Trustee for seven years; and he has been actively connected with the Sunday-school, serving for some time as librarian. Capable and energetic, as a business man, a member of society, and a church worker, he is universally respected, and has the confidence of all who know him.
[Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW, CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON - BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by FOFG]



AMOS GIBBS, President of the Mount Holly Electric Light and Power Company, is a native of Burlington County, having been born in the village of Columbus, which was also the birthplace of his father, Benjamin Gibbs.
He is descended from one of the very early settlers of this county, Richard Gibbs, who, removing from Long Island, where he had lived for many years, purchased in 1696 a tract of land known as Sutton Lodge in the township of Mansfield. There he located his home, and spent the remainder of his days, dying in 1704. He was a member of the Society of Friends, and his descendants for several generations held to that faith. He reared but one child, Isaac by name, who was a lifelong resident at Sutton Lodge. John Gibbs, the son of Isaac, was born in 1706, and continued his residence in Mansfield township, dying at the age of seventy-nine years in 1785.
The line was continued through his son, Martin Gibbs, who was born in 1732, and died in 1820. A farmer by occupation, he spent his long and useful life of eighty-eight years in Mansfield. The maiden name of his wife was Phebe Gibson. Their son Amos, the grandfather of the special subject of this sketch, was born in 1767, and lived until 1833, he likewise being engaged in agricultural pursuits in Mansfield. His wife, Mary Satterthwaite, a daughter of William Satterthwaite, was a native of Mansfield township. They resided on the old Gibbs homestead, where he was engaged in farming, and where their children were born and reared.
Benjamin Gibbs, son of Amos, first, and Mary Gibbs, succeeded to the ownership of the homestead on which, in 1810, he was born, and where, in 1880, he passed from earthly scenes. In addition to general farming he was engaged as a wholesale dealer in produce and provisions, carrying on an extensive business. He was a great reader, keeping well posted on the topics of the day, and was influential in local affairs. In 1855 he was elected Representative to the State legislature, and a few years later he was one of the organizers of the Republican party in his district. His wife, Ann Kerlin, who was a native of Mansfield, and a daughter of Israel and Ann (Carslake) Kerlin, died in 1890, at the age of seventy-four years. They were the parents of three children, namely: Amos, of Mount Holly, with whose name this sketch begins, and of whom further mention is to follow; Hannah; and Abbie Ann.
Amos Gibbs received his early education in the public schools of his native town, afterward attending the Gummere School at Burlington. He began his business career in association with his father, engaging in farming and dealing in produce and provisions, buying these articles in the surrounding country and shipping them to the New York markets. In 1863 Mr. Gibbs came to Mount Holly, where he has since resided, and also has been closely indentified the larger part of the time with its mercantile and manufacturing interests, having spent three years in mercantile business and thirty years in the manufacture of fertilizers and phosphates. Mr. Gibbs, besides being at the head of the Mount Holly Electric Light and Power Company, is President of the Mount Holly Street Railway Company, also of the Mount Holly Insurance Company. He is a member of Unity Lodge, No. 99, Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In politics Mr. Gibbs is an ardent Republican, and has taken a prominent part in public affairs. He was elected County Clerk in 1863, an office in which he served five years. He was likewise the first Auditor of the county, having been appointed to the position in 1872, and elected to the office the following year. The maiden name of his wife, who died in September, 1892, was Nina Slack. She was a native of Mount Holly, and a daughter of John R. Slack.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.186-187. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]




GEORGE GILBERT, of the firm of Gilbert & Atkinson, well-known attorneys and counselors at law, having offices at 325 Federal Street, Camden, and in Beverly, N.J., is a native of Chesterfield, Burlington County, born September 26, 1856, and son of Amos and Margaret (Halloway) Gilbert. Amos Gilbert, son of Jesse, was also born in Burlington County. He early learned the trade of a blacksmith, which he followed in the town of Chesterfield until his death. His wife, Margaret, who was born in Georgetown, Burlington County, bore him four children, of whom three are living. These are: Sarah, the wife of Jackson L. Nippins; Charles H., a farmer in Missouri; and George, the subject of this sketch. The mother, now over seventy years of age, is living in Chesterfield.
George Gilbert, the youngest living child of his father, acquired his elementary education in the common schools of Chesterfield, after which he attended the New Jersey Collegiate Institute at Bordentown. On completing his course he engaged in teaching, which he afterward followed for seven years. He then studied law with the late Garrit S. Cannon at Bordentown, was admitted to the bar as an attorney in February, 1884, and in that same year began the practice of his profession at Beverly, his present home. Three years later he was made a counselor. In June, 1886, he formed a copartnership with Clarence T. Atkinson, and opened an office in Bordentown, retaining the Beverly office, both of which they conducted until 1891. Then they opened their present office in Camden, at which time they gave up their Bordentown office. They have a large general practice in the courts of the State. Mr. Gilbert is a member and the solicitor of the Beverly Building and Loan Association. He is also the solicitor of the city of Beverly, and has charge of the settlement of a large number of estates.
On October 11, 1893, Mr. Gilbert married Sue H. Jennings, a native of Beverly, and a daughter of John C. Jennings, a prominent citizen and leading grocer of Beverly. Her mother was Eliza S. (Deemer) Jennings. During the war Mr. Jennings did a large business in furnishing supplies to hospitals. In politics Mr. Gilbert is a stanch Republican. When Joseph H. Toms, Postmaster of Beverly, died, Mr. Gilbert, who was one of Mr. Toms's bondsmen, served as Acting Postmaster until a successor was appointed. He is a member of Beverly Lode, No. 109, A. F. & A. M.; of the Royal Arcanum of Philadelphia; and of the Beverly Fire Company, No I.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p. 84-85. Transcribed by Sandra Stuzman



PETER HAFNER, the widely known and successful proprietor of a hotel at Riverside, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Baden, Germany, December 25, 1834. His father and mother, Peter and Mary Anna Hafner, were both natives of Baden, where they passed all their days, and where the former followed the occupation of a shoemaker, and was also engaged in the pursuit of farming. They became the parents of four children, namely: Carrie, Katherine, who was married to Sebastian Ruettler, and now resides in Philadelphia, Pa.; Valentine, who is now deceased; and Peter. The mother passed away from earth in 1864, the father in 1879.

Peter Hafner, now the only surviving son, received his early education in the elementary public schools in his native land, and subsequently pursued a course of study in a seminary. Remaining at home until his thirty-third year, he then came, unaccompanied by any of his kindred, to America. Landing at Philadelphia, Pa., he there resided for about one year, and was engaged as a teacher of music. In 1871 he removed to Riverside, N.J., and for one year taught in a German school; and later for a period of four years he was employed as an instructor in the public schools of that city. In 1874 he purchased his present hotel, which he has ever since managed with great success, and which he has rendered very attractive, so that it now enjoys the largest patronage of any public house in Riverside. In the rear of the hotel is a beautiful and extensive grove, whose grateful shade in summer is very highly appreciated.

On April 20, 1874, Mr. Hafner was joined in matrimony with Mrs. Mary E. Miller, the widow of the late Mr. Charles Miller, and a native of Germany. She was born in June, 1831. Her father, Mr. T. Schafer, was a school teacher in Germany, and a lifelong resident of that country. Mrs. Hafner by her first marriage had three children, namely: Richard, who married Miss Emma Tuch, and who is now the proprietor and manager of a hotel in riverside; Lizzie, who, as the wife of Barney Fitzpatrick, resides in Mount Holly, N.J.; and Peter, who is a printer by trade, and lives at home.

In political affiliations Mr. Hafner is a Democrat, of which party he is a stanch supporter, being a zealous advocate of its principles. His religious belief brings him into fellowship with the Catholic Church of Riverside, which he serves in the capacity of organist, and in which he is an active worker. Since the establishment of his business in Riverside, Mr. Hafner had made very many friends and intimate acquaintances, among whom he is universally liked and esteemed. In his business life he has been eminently successful, prosperity crowning his industry and enterprise.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 170-171. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman



ALFRED C. HAINES, M.D., one of the most skillful and popular physicians ever known in the vicinity of Columbus, N.J., was born in Cincinnati, Ohio, September 30, 1822. His parents were Josiah and Lydia (Marsh) Haines. On the paternal side he is of New Jersey stock, being a great-grandson of John Haines, a Quaker, who was born near Red Hill, and passed his life in that vicinity. His son Caleb, the grandfather of Dr. Haines, was a native and long resident of the same place. He was a well-to-do farmer and a veterinary surgeon of some repute, well known in the locality. He died near Columbus at the age of fourscore.
Josiah Haines, son of Caleb, was born near Columbus, and reared on a farm. He went West when about twenty-two years of age, and was for some years engaged in the business of wood turning, employing some thirteen or fourteen turning lathes. His work embraced all kinds of architectural ornaments, including great columns, many of which are standing to-day as monuments of his enterprise and skill. He died of fever in New Orleans while yet a young man. His wife, who was born near Newtown, Ohio, subsequently married Dr. O.W. Peck. She died in Ohio at the age of thirty-seven. By her first marriage she had but one child, the subject of this sketch. By her second union she had four daughters.
Alfred C. Haines was but two years of age when his father died. He lived on a farm in Newton until ten years old, and after that was in Springfield until fifteen, in the meantime attending the common schools. When sixteen years of age he obtained work in a drug store in Lawrenceburg, Ind., where he remained for some time; and he was also in early youth engaged in teaching to some extent. Leaving Lawrenceburg, he was in New Jersey for a while, and then went to Alexandria, Va., where he spent a year preparing for his medical course. He then studied at the Filbert Medical College of Philadelphia, which was under the charge of Professor McClelland, and afterward entered the University of Pennsylvania in that city, where he was graduated in 1843. After winning his diploma he was in New Egypt for a year, and in Plattsburg three years; and in 1849 he settled in Columbus, purchasing the house in which he is now living. This is an old Colonial residence, built by Dr. Brognard, who accompanied Lafayette when he came to this country.
While studying in Philadelphia, Dr. Haines kept an infirmary, and on locating in Columbus he instituted a new system of treatment, which in course of time made him very popular; but his success did not come all at once. The young physician was six weeks in Columbus before he received a call, and was nearly discouraged; but, after the ice was once broken, the way to the hearts of the people opened gradually, and in 1892 the names of two-thirds of the families within a circuit of four miles were on his visiting list, and he kept four horses. In 1892, after a professional life of nearly fifty years, Dr. Haines began to retire from practice, gradually lessening his arduous duties. He still prepares medicines, and many of his old patients think that a recipe from Dr. Haines is better than a month of conscientious attendance from another physician. The Doctor is a member of the National Eclectic Medical Society.
Dr. Haines was married in Philadelphia in 1843 to Fannie S. Bradley, a native of Methuen, Mass., daughter of Dr. Joseph Bradley. Six children have blessed their union - Byron W., Eleanor, Alfreda, Ida, Laura, and Augusta. Byron W. Haines is a dentist, living in San Francisco. He married Miss Ada Barry, and has one child, Alma. Eleanor Haines, who is a graduate of the Woman's College of Philadelphia, is a registered physician, and has a large practice in Newark, N.J. Alfreda is the wife of George W. Martin, a retired business man of Hamilton County, Ohio. Ida Haines is also a member of the medical fraternity. Her health broke down under the strain of work, and she retired for a time, but has recently resumed practice at Camden, N.J. She is the widow of Dr. George R. Fortiner, who died November 27, 1894; and she has one son, who is a dentist in Camden, N.J. Laura Haines is the wife of James E. Beach. Augusta is the wife of W. Rowan, D.D.S., of San Francisco.
In politics Dr. Haines is a Republican, and is a strong advocate of prohibition. He has been an Odd Fellow for forty years, and has taken all the degrees. He has been a member of the Baptist church, to which his family also belong, for many years, was Trustee of the society until his health began to fail, and was for a long time superintendent of the Sunday-school. His wife, a lady of broad culture and pleasing personality, shares with the Doctor the esteem of the community.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler




ALBERT HANSELL, a well-known farmer and fruit-grower of Willingboro, Burlington County, N.J., and an ex-Representative of the district, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., April 17, 1846, his parents being James S. and Hannah (Heaton) Hansell. On both his paternal and maternal sides he represents old families of his part of our country. His grandfather Hansell and family settled in Darby, Pa., where he for many years carried on general farming.
In the lapse of time he and his sons, James S., the father, removed to Philadelphia; and, as they were both adept in wood-turning, they plied that occupation there, the former until his decease, and the latter till 1852, when he took up his residence on the farm on which Albert Hansell still lives, and where he followed general agricultural pursuits, and especially fruit-growing, during the remainder of his life. James S. Hansell was the first farmer in this part of the country to engage at all extensively, in the culture of strawberries. He participated very earnestly in politics, being a stanch Republican in sentiment and a strong anti-slavery man, and in that particular sphere of activity was very prominent in the city of Philadelphia. He was married to Miss Hannah Heaton, a native of Burlington County, who traced back her family history in this country to the middle of the seventeenth century. Her father, Richard Heaton, was a cousin of James Fenimore Cooper.
Ancestors of the Heaton family emigrated from England, and took passage to America on board the ship "Kent," and, landing in New Jersey, made a settlement in 1660 in what is now Burlington. There were three brothers among them; and they made a clearing in the country, then wild and unreclaimed, and thereon followed the pursuit of general farming throughout their lives. Mrs. Hansell, in tracing her lineage to one of these brothers, thus enjoyed the distinction of being descended from the early English colonizers. Mrs. Hansell and her husband, James S. Hansell, became the parents of a family of eight children, namely: Amos whose deceased occurred in 1893; Milton, who now resides in Willingboro; Mary, who died at the age of seven years; George, who is an inhabitant of Philadelphia; Ella, who as the wife of R.R. Lippincott, lives in Rancocas; Albert, of Willingboro; Wilmont, who is a druggist, located in Philadelphia; and Richard H., who resides near his brother Albert in Willingboro. All of the children enjoyed the advantages of the public schools of Philadelphia. Mr. Hansell passed away October 20, 1882, his wife surviving him until 1887.
Albert Hansell after his father's death purchased the homestead where he had resided from early childhood. On his property, which now comprises fifty-two acres, and is one of the finest landed estates in the county, being well improved, he conducts general farming, but makes a specialty of fruit-raising, and also of the production of cider. He manufactures his own ice; and thus, in connection with his main occupation, he conducts a profitable cold storage business.
In 1878 Mr. Hansell was united in marriage with Miss Elizabeth Evans, a native of Evesham, in Burlington County. She was a daughter of Samuel B. and Mrs. K.M. (Lippincott) Evans, the latter of whom is now deceased, and the former at present residing with a daughter who lives in Evesham. Mr. and Mrs. Hansell had a family of six children; namely, Hannah, Albert, Jr., Amos, Helen, Griscom and Bertha. Mr. Hansell was called upon to part with his wife in 1888, her death occurring in that year.
He has been elected by his fellow-townsmen to several important offices, local and other; and he has fulfilled the duties involved with ability and faithfulness. In the term of 1888-89 he represented his district in the State legislature, and for two years he held the office of Freeholder. He has also been the clerk of the Willingboro public schools for District No. 31, a position which his father held before him, and of which they have been the sole incumbents. Mr. Hansell is associated with the order of Masons, being a member of Lodge No. 14, A.F. & A.M., of Mount Holly. In politics he is attached to the Republican party, being a strenuous advocate of its principles. He is one of the most important men in Burlington County, has a wide circle of acquaintances, and is universally liked and esteemed.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



RICHARD H. HANSELL, an enterprising and prosperous farmer and fruit-grower of Willingboro, Burlington County, N.J., is a native of this town. He was born July 11, 1852, son of James S. and Hannah (Heaton) Hansell, and is the youngest of eight children. In connection with the biography of his brother, Albert Hansell, a full account of his family history may be found. It will suffice to state here that he is a representative of the pioneer settlers of this part of the United States, being on the paternal side a descendant of an eighteenth-century English family of Eastern Pennsylvania, and, on the maternal side, of primitive English colonizers, who, immigrating to the New World at about the middle of the seventeenth century, fixed their first residence in what has come to be known as Burlington County, New Jersey.

James S. Hansell settled on a farm in Willingboro. Richard H. there grew to manhood, and remained at the homestead until his father's decease, October 20, 1882. He then, in co-operation with his brother Albert, assumed the management of the property, and for about five years continued the industry of fruit-growing which had been conducted with a great degree of success by his father. On the death of his mother, in 1887, he purchased his present farm of seventy acres. On this and on another farm, fifteen acres in extent, which he possesses in the same town, he follows very extensively the pursuit of fruit culture, making a specialty of the growth of strawberries. His thorough knowledge of that particular kind of cultivation, as well as his industry and enterprise, has rendered his business very successful.

In January, 1884, he was united in marriage with Miss Sue Sutvan, a native of Burlington County; and from that union one child sprang, Richard Heaton, who died in infancy. Mrs. Sue S. Hansell passing away on August 14, 1890, Mr. Hansell married a second time on December 28, 1892. His present wife is Mrs. Annie M. Hansell, a native of Philadelphia, Pa., and the daughter of Michael and Sarah Uber. Her father was throughout life a carpenter and builder; and for many years he pursued his calling in Philadelphia, where he was a very prominent business man. Mr. and Mrs. Hansell have one son, Ernest H.

In politics Mr. Hansell is a stanch Republican, and lends his full and hearty support to the principles of that party. He is widely known, and is held in much esteem by a large circle of acquaintances. Religiously, he has a membership in no church; but Mrs. Hansell belongs to a church of the Presbyterian faith in Philadelphia.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 174-175. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman




Charles Harmer

Charles Harmer, an enterprising dealer in shoe manufacturers' supplies in Burlington, N.J., was born in this city, November 17, 1857, son of David and Martha (McCully) Harmer. His paternal grandparents, Francis and Hebe (Justice) Harmer, were Quakers, and possessed of the sterling virtues of that religion body. Francis Harmer, who was a carpenter by trade, was a lifelong resident of Burlington County. He and his wife reared a family of ten children, as follows: Justice, Joseph, Edward, Joshua, Hugh, David, Emma, Elizabeth, Martha, and Samuel.

David Harmer, the sixth son, was born in 1818, and in his early youth was employed as a farmer. Going to Philadelphia at the age of sixteen for the purpose of learning the trade of a painter and decorator, he followed that occupation in the Quaker City until he was thirty years old. He then settled in Burlington, where he continued his calling, and conducted a thriving business until his death, which took place in 1877. He was a Republican in politics, and was a birthright member of the Society of Friends, but changed his religious affiliations after marriage. He was connected with the Masonic order as a member of Burlington Lodge, A.F. & A.M.; Chapter No. 3, Royal Arch Masons; and Commandery No. 3, Knights Templars; and was also a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. He and his wife, Martha, who is a daughter of Andrew McCully, had two children - - Charles and David. Mrs. Martha M. Harmer, at the age of sixty-nine in 1896, is still residing in Burlington.

Charles Harmer, the first-named son, and the leading subject of the present sketch, was educated in the schools of Burlington. At the age of twenty he went to South Bend, Ind., where he was engaged in the wholesale and retail tobacco business for three years. In 1880 he returned to his native city, and, establishing himself as a dealer in shoe manufacturers' supplies, has since conducted a profitable trade in that particular line. He carries an extensive stock of all necessary supplies for shoe manufacturers' use, and by his ability to furnish the makers with what they need at all times he has secured a liberal share of patronage. In 1892, as agent for his mother, Mr. Harmer planned and supervised the erection of the fine two-story block standing on the corner of Stacy and Union Streets.

On April 28, 1878, Mr. Harmer was united in marriage to Lizzie Fenimore, daughter of John Fenimore, and has one son, David, who was born July 4, 1882.
In politics Mr. Harmer is a Republican, and is a member of the Second Ward Council. In Masonry he is well advanced, being a member of South Bend Lodge, No. 294, Indiana, A. F. & A. M.; Boudinot Chapter, Royal Arch Masons, No. 3, New Jersey; and of Helena Commandery, Knights Templars, No. 3, New Jersey. He is also connected with Phoenix Lodge, No. 22, Independent Order of Odd Fellows, New Jersey; and Leni Lenape Tribe, No. 12, Order of Red Men, New Jersey.

[Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW, CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON - BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by FOFG]



ELSWORTH HOLEMAN, a worthy representative of the native residents of Mount Holly, N.J., and for upward of half a century a prominent factor of its mercantile, manufacturing, and political interests, was born August 18, 1816, a son of Daniel Holeman. Mr. Holeman's paternal grandfather, formerly, it is thought, an inhabitant of Ocean County, this State, spent the greater portion of his live in Juliustown, Burlington County.
Daniel Holeman, who was presumably a native of Juliustown, was for some time engaged in the provision business at Mount Holly. He died here in 1825. His wife, Rachel Reeve, a daughter of Samuel and Lydia Reeve, born near Medford, this county, attained a venerable age, departing this life in 1876. She reared three children; namely, Elsworth, Martha, and Daniel.
Elsworth Holeman, the eldest child born to his parents, left school when a boy of twelve years, to become a clerk in a store, where he continued about a year. He then began learning the tailor's trade, at which he served an apprenticeship of five years. In 1837 Mr. Holeman became established in business in this village as a custom tailor, meeting with such success in this occupation that ten years later he added to his business that of merchant tailoring. In 1860 the establishment was further enlarged by the addition of a stock of ready-made clothing, in which, in connection with merchant and custom tailoring, he has since conducted an extensive and lucrative trade, his sons being associated with him, sharing the duties and responsibilities of the business. Mr. Holeman has been prominent in public life, having served as township Collector from 1845 until 1850; and for forty-five consecutive years he exhibited great tact and discrimination in performing his duties as Justice of the Peace, an office which he resigned in 1895. In 1836 he united with the Methodist Episcopal church, being made class leader and exhorter the same year, besides which for thirty-five years he was steward and Trustee of that organization.
Mr. Holeman has been three times married. His first wife, who he wedded in 1838, was Elizabeth Parsons, a native of England, and a daughter of Richard and Elizabeth Parsons. She died in 1862, leaving five children - Richard, William, Edward, Rebecca, and Martha. His second wife, Elizabeth, daughter of John and Elizabeth Hankinson, of this county, lived but a few years after marriage. Left the second time a widower, Mr. Holeman was subsequently united in wedlock with Mrs. Sarah Holeman Phillips, a daughter of John Holeman, and the widow of Abel Phillips.
Mr. Holeman's eldest son, Richard, has been twice married. His first wife was Sarah Ross, a native of Connecticut, and a daughter of William Ross. His second wife, Abbie K. Ober, daughter of the Rev. Benjamin Ober, a well-known minister of the Congregational denomination, was born and bred in Massachusetts. Of his union with Miss Ross three children were born, namely: Richard DeNegre, who was graduated from the Boston Conservatory of Music in his twenty-fourth year, and died six months later at Minneapolis; Eugene, who died when about seven years old; and Ernest, a photographer at Mount Holly, who married Clara R. French, and has one son, Richard French Holeman. Edward Holeman, brother of the elder Richard, married Gertrude E. Carr, who was born in Mount Holly, a daughter of Samuel Carr, and is of Scotch antecedents. This couple are the parents of two children - Edward and Elizabeth. Mr. Holeman's daughter Martha is the widow of John R. Dill, who died leaving her with two children - Anna and Ethel.
Both Richard and Edward Holeman are members of Mount Holly Lodge, No. 19, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; of Mount Holly Encampment, No. 9; and of Good Will Lodge, No. 14, Ancient Order of United Workmen; besides which the former belongs to the Sparta of Philadelphia, and the latter to New Jersey Castle, No. 4, Knights of the Golden Eagle. Both are active in church organizations, Richard being an esteemed member of Trinity Episcopal Church, and Edward of the Methodist Episcopal. Mr. Elsworth Holeman has been identified with the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, No. 19, of Mount Holly, for over fifty years.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.198-199. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



WILLIAM H. KENSINGER, M.D., who resides at the corner of Cooper Street and Arthur Avenue, in the town of Stockton, N.J., where he has a large and lucrative practice, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., October 21, 1857, a son of Charles and Elizabeth (Bennett) Kensinger. His grandfather, Frederick Kensinger, was a native of that part of Germany known as Alsace, near France. He was the only son of his parents. At the age of nineteen he left his native land for America, settling in Philadelphia on his arrival. He was afterward, engaged in school-teaching in Bucks County, Pennsylvania, finally returning to the vicinity of Philadelphia, where during the remaining years of his life he carried on a morocco business. Before coming to this country he had served on the staff of Napoleon. He lived to be ninety-five years old.

Charles Kensinger, son of Frederick, became a shoemaker and set up in business for himself in Philadelphia, where he had a large custom trade and acquired a competency, so that now, at the age of seventy, he is living in retirement in that city. His wife, Elizabeth, was born in Bennett, Pa., daughter of William Bennett, a native of Philadelphia. She died at the age of thirty-five years, having borne thirteen children. Eight of this family are now living; namely, George, Adam, Charles, Joseph, Phillip, Howard, Lizzie, and William H. Both parents were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.

William H. Kensinger passed his early years in Hurffville, Pa., living on a farm in that place until about sixteen years old, and acquiring his elementary education in the common schools. He was then apprenticed to a blacksmith and served three years; and after that he went to work for the American Artesian Well-boring and Prospecting Company, for which he travelled three years. Desiring a more thorough knowledge of business methods, he then took a course at the Pierce Business College; and after graduating he continued with the school as a book-keeper for two years, during which he took up the study of pharmacy. Passing the Pennsylvania State examination soon after, he entered a drug store in Philadelphia as clerk. While working in this capacity, he employed his spare time in the study of medicine, and in 1886 entered the Jefferson Medical College, from which he was graduated three years later. Directly after he located here in Stockton, where he has a very desirable practice. Soon after coming here, he built a drug store and a dwelling-house. The store he conducted in connection with his general practice for four years, and then built his fine residence on the opposite side of the street. He has a very large practice in this and surrounding towns, and is connected with the Camden City and Hunterdon County Medical and Surgical Societies, also with the New Jersey State Medical Society.

In 1879 Dr. Kensinger was joined in matrimony with Miss Anna Pancost, the only child of Elisha and Elizabeth Pancost, of Barnsboro, Gloucester County, N.J.

Dr. Kensinger is a Democrat in politics. The first official capacity in which he served was as a member of the Board of Education two terms of two years each, during which time a large amount of important work was accomplished, the graded system of schools being adopted and other desirable improvements made. In April, 1896, he was elected to the Common Council for two years, and he is Chairman of the financial Committee. Fraternally, Dr. Kensinger belongs to Radiant Star Lodge, No. 232, Independent Order of odd Fellows, of Philadelphia, in which he is a Past Grand; Keystone Lodge, No. 2, Knights of Pythias, of Philadelphia; Lenni Lenape Tribe, Improved Order of Red Men, of Camden; and the American Order of Foresters, being the examining physician of his lodge.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 173. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman




EDWARD B. JONES, the leading druggist of Mount Holly, and a prominent citizen of that town, where his parents, Joseph and Anna (Haines) Jones, now make their home with him, was born in Medford, N.J., March 30, 1847. His grandparents were Solomon and Mary (Comfort) Jones, who lived on a farm near Philadelphia, Pa.
Their son, Joseph Jones, was educated at the Westtown Boarding School; and, after completing his course of study, he engaged in teaching for many years. Following that he held the position of steward in the Pennsylvania Hospital at West Philadelphia for seventeen years. He married Anna Haines, a daughter of David Haines, and their home circle was increased by the birth of three children: Edward B.; Laura, who died at thirty years of age; and Bloomfield, who lived but fourteen years. Joseph Jones is a firm Republican in politics, and was at one time Postmaster of Medford, N.J. In religion he and his wife favor the faith of the Friends.
Edward B. Jones acquired his early education under his father's instruction. When fourteen years of age he entered T. J. Husband's drug store in Philadelphia, where he remained for six years. During that time he was an attendant of the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy, where he was graduated in the class of 1867. Three years later he purchased the long-established drug business of P. V. Coppuck in Mount Holly; and he continued to conduct a thriving business at the old stand on Mills Street until 1882, when he removed to his present store at the corner of High and Washington Streets. He has remodeled and greatly improved this property, and now has one of the finest and best appointed pharmacies in the county. In 1873 he was married to Miss Ellen V. Coppuck, a daughter of P. V. Coppuck. A son and daughter have been born of their union, of whom only the son is now living, Alfred B., who is now in Princeton College, being a member of the class of 1896. Their daughter Alice died at sixteen years of age.
Mr. Jones is a Republican and a man who takes a keen interest in public affairs. He has served on the Town Committee, also upon the Board of Education. Since 1873 he has been Treasurer of the Burlington County Agricultural Society, and he is also Treasurer of two building associations. Fraternally, he is a member of Mount Holly Lodge, No. 14, A.F. & A.M.; Mount Holly Lodge, No. 19, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and New Jersey Lodge, No 1, Knights of Pythias. He is likewise a member of the New Jersey Pharmaceutical Association, in which he has held the office of President.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p. 71. Transcribed by Sandra Stuzman



JOHN KALE, a retired farmer and well known citizen of Florence, Burlington County, was born in this town, April 1 2, 1833, son of Henry and Ann (Schuyler) Kale. He is of German ancestry, his grand-father having emigrated to the United States, and settled in this county, in which he spent the last years of his life. Henry Kale, father of John, was a native of New Jersey. When a young man he engaged in farming in this county. He conducted farms in Florence, then a part of Mansfield township; and, uniting industry with a practical knowledge of agriculture, he made a good livelihood, and was a useful and worthy citizen of his locality. His last days were spent in this township, and he died at the age of seventy-three years. His wife, Ann, was a daughter of John Schuyler, an industrious farmer and lifelong resident of Florence. She became the mother of two children, namely: John, the subject of this sketch; and William. She lived to the advanced age of eighty-eight years. A sincere Christian, she was connected with the Methodist Episcopal church. Her husband was an Episcopalian.

]ohn Kale received his elementary education in the common schools, and subsequently took a course of study at the Burlington Academy. When he was twelve years old his father died. Until reaching the age of twenty-two, he continued to reside with his mother at the homestead, when he moved to the village of Florence, and conducted a farm until 1880, at which time he sold out, and retired from active labor. In politics Mr. Kale is a Republican. His record in the public service has been a long and honorable one. For twenty years he has officiated as Commissioner of Deeds, and for an equal length of time has served upon the Board of Assessors.

He is a popular member of several fraternal orders, being well advanced in Masonry, and belonging to Mount Moriah Lodge and Chapter, and Ivanhoe Commandery of Bordentown. He is also a leading member of Burlington Lodge, No. 22, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; Hope Lodge, No. 13, Knights of Pythias; and Tribe No. 38, Improved Order of Red Men, of Florence, being a charter member of the last-named organization. He has held the principal offices and at the present time is the oldest past officer in the tribe. Though not subscribing to any particular creed, Mr. Kale attends and contributes to the support of the various churches. He is a gentleman of courteous demeanor, well qualified for the public positions he holds, and zealous in protecting the interests of the town.

BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Shelia Baker




NATHAN LIPPINCOTT, a retired farmer of Haddonfield, N.J., and a representative of one of the early settled families of Burlington County, was born in Centre township, Camden County, November 14, 1826, son of Abraham and Rachel (Borton) Lippincott. Mr. Lippincott is a lineal descendant of Richard Lippincott, a native of England, who emigrated to America in early Colonial days, and settled near Shrewsbury in this State, where he passed the rest of his life. Shortly before his death, in 1683, he bought of John Fenwick one thousand acres of land in Shrewsbury Neck.
Freedom Lippincott, first son of Richard, settled in Burlington County; and the line continues through Freedom, second, and Joshua (great-grandfather of our subject), who were native and lifelong residents there, prosperously engaged in agricultural pursuits. Mr. Lippincott's grandfather, Nathan Lippincott, first, moved to Gloucester County, now Camden County, when a young man, and settled upon a farm. After residing there for a number of years, tilling the soil and gathering successive harvests, he removed to Haddonfield, where his last days were passed. He died at the age of seventy-eight years.
Abraham Lippincott, Mr. Lippincott's father, was born in Gloucester township, and was reared for farm life. He settled near the village of Haddonfield, where he owned and cultivated a good farm. His death took place at the age of sixty-three. His wife, Rachel Borton, was a native of Burlington County, whose ancestors were early settlers there, the founder of the family having bought a large tract of wild land containing five thousand acres of John Fenwick. Her father, Joseph Borton, was in thriving circumstances. His family consisted of three daughters. Mr. and Mrs. Abraham Lippincott reared five children, of whom Nathan, the subject of this sketch, is the only survivor. The mother died at the age of fifty-seven years. The parents and ancestry on both sides of Mr. Lippincott's family were Quakers or Friends.
Nathan Lippincott acquired his education in the common schools, and resided with his parents, assisting in carrying on the home until reaching manhood. After his marriage he engaged in tilling the soil upon his own account in the town of Haddonfield, where he purchased a productive and desirably located farm, and there abode for some time. He eventually removed to the village where he has since resided, and he built the pleasant and comfortable dwelling he now occupies in 1876. In 1886 he rented his farm and retired from active labor, which he had pursued so industriously and with such good financial returns for so many years; and he is now enjoying the well-earned period of rest made possible by his easy circumstances.
In 1854 Mr. Lippincott was united in marriage with Mary C. Hiachman, who is a native of this locality and a daughter of Joseph M. Hinchman. She is a descendant of ancestors who originally came from Flushing, L.I., to Newton township in Camden County, her grandfather, Joseph Hinchman, having been a son of Thomas and grandson of an elder Joseph Hinchman, who was the first settler there. Joseph, second, Mrs. Lippincott's father, was three times married, and reared a family of nine children, all of whom are living. Six of these children were borne by her mother, whose maiden name was Amy Collins, and who was a descendant of Francis Collins, one of the first settlers here. Mrs. Lippincott's father died at the age of fifty-two, and her mother lived to reach the age of seventy-six. They were members of the Society of Friends.
In politics Mr. Lippincott supports the Republican party, but has no aspiration for public office. One of the well-to-do and most highly respected citizens of Haddonfield, he is actively interested in the general improvement of the town, having invested considerable capital in various enterprises; and he was one of the organizers of the Electric Light Company. Both he and his wife attend the Friends' meeting.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.215-216. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]




JOSEPH POWELL, County Collector for Burlington County, New Jersey, was born April 24, 1834, on the Powell homestead, near Smithville. He is a grandson of one Joseph Powell, who was a lifelong resident of this county, being engaged in general farming in the vicinity of Mount Holly. To him and his wife, whose maiden name was Mary A. Butcher, two children were born - Ann B. and Benajah B. Ann B. married a Mr. James Gardner, and has three children - Mrs. Mary Haines, Joseph W., and Emily B.
Benajah B. Powell was born in 1812 near this town, where he passed the larger part of his life. He engaged in agricultural pursuits, which were his principal occupation until his decease in 1872. He married Martha, daughter of Isaac Fennimore; and she survived him four years, dying at the age of sixty-four. They were the parents of six children, of whom the following is recorded: Mary B. (Mrs. Wills) has two children - Benajah P. and Zebediah; Joseph is the subject of this sketch; Isaac married Anna Ballinger, and they have two children - Benajah and Josiah; Allen F., who married Elizabeth Homer, has two children - Joseph and Carrie H.; Anna B. (Mrs. Coles) has two children - Beulah D. and Charles. The other child is Martha M. The father was a Quaker in religious belief, and, politically, an active Republican, serving faithfully in many of the township offices.
Joseph Powell was reared and educated in his native place, remaining with his parents until their removal to Lumberton township, where they established a pleasant home. On the death of his mother he succeeded to the ownership of this valuable property. For many years he has been employed in public office, having formerly been the Collector of Lumberton township, and for the past fifteen years has been Collector of Burlington County, a responsible position, which he has filled with credit to himself and to the public satisfaction. In May, 1896, he was elected for a term of three years by the Board of Freeholders under a new law. In addition to his duties as collector, Mr. Powell is also a Director of the Mount Holly National Bank and of the Mount Holly Insurance Company. Politically and religiously, he has not departed from the teachings of his youth, being an ardent Republican and a leading spirit of his party, and a member of the Friends' Society.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p. 85. Transcribed by Sandra Stuzman





WILLIAM PALMER MELCHER, M.D., a skilled physician of Mount Holly, is a native of Maine, born April 1, 1849, in the town of Brunswick, Cumberland County, that state. His father, William Henry Melcher, a native of the same place, was a son of Abner Melcher, who was a well-to-do farmer of Oak Hill near Brunswick.
William Henry Melcher learned the carpenter's trade, and subsequently became a contractor. In 1872 in response to an urgent call he came to New Jersey to take the position of superintendent of the American Dredging Works, which he ably filled for nearly a score of years. The superintendency of the wood department of the Bath Iron Works in Maine being then offered to him by General Hyde, he returned to the State of his nativity, and is still filling the responsible position which he then accepted. His wife, whose maiden name was Sarah J. Alexander, her father being Ewing Alexander, bore him three children - Ellen, William Palmer, and Ada.
William P. Melcher obtained the rudiments of his education in the public schools of Bath Me., afterward attending the Nichols Latin School in Lewiston. Being partly dependent upon his own efforts, he commenced teaching when a youth of seventeen years, which occupation he continued at intervals until at the age of nineteen he entered Bowdoin College. He was graduated from that institution with the class of 1871, having paid his own expenses. Resuming his pedagogical work, he next taught two terms at Pike Seminary in Wyoming county, New York, and while there studied medicine. Subsequently he attended lectures at the University of Pennsylvania, from which he was graduated in 1876. Dr. Melcher began the practice of medicine at Camden, this State, coming thence in 1879 to Pemberton, this county, where he remained three years. In 1882 he established his office in Mount Holly, and has since been actively engaged in general practice. He has made rapid strides in his profession, his skill having gained for him the confidence of his numerous patrons and the respect of his professional brethren. Socially, he is a member of the Burlington County Medical Society and an ex-member of the Camden County and City Medical Association. In politics he is a stanch Republican, having supported that ticket since casting his first presidential vote in 1868 for General U. S. Grant.
Dr. Melcher was united in marriage in 1884 to Mary Snyder Gaskill, a native of Burlington County, and a daughter of Theodore B. and Martha (Snyder) Gaskill. Dr. Melcher and his wife are the parents of two bright and interesting children -- Theodora and Stanwood.
Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BULINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON BIOGRAPHICL REVIEW PUBLISING COMPANY 1897 - Transcribed by Liz Dellinger



CLINTON MENDENHALL, President of the Common Council of the city of Bordentown, N.J., was born in Philadelphia, February 6, 1848, son of Milton and Sarah (Baldwin) Mendenhall. Milton Mendenhall, who was a skilled mechanic, is a native of Fairville, Del. He was employed for many years in the Baldwin Locomotive Works, a great part of the time as foreman, but is now living in Wilmington, Del., retired from active labor. His wife, who was born in the neighborhood of her husband's birthplace, and brought up amid the same surroundings, died at the age of seventy-four. They reared three children - Clinton, James, and Francis - all of whom are yet living.
Clinton Mendenhall, the date of whose birth is mentioned above, received a good education in his boyhood, attending the Philadelphia public schools and a private school and academy at Wilmington, Del. He was in the office of the Baldwin Locomotive Works several years, residing in Philadelphia, and in 1873 moved to Bordentown, to become superintendent of the White Hill Forge Works. The duties of this position he efficiently performed for seventeen years, the hours of each day resounding with the clang of forging iron and rattling machinery, so that the brief intervals of rest in the home seemed strangely still. At these works are employed about one hundred and twenty-five men, and all kinds of iron and steel forgings are manufactured. Mr. Mendenhall retired from his position in 1894, and since then has been engaged in no active work.

He was married in 1872 to Miss Maggie Dickinson, of Philadelphia, daughter of Jonathan and Sarah (Rink) Dickinson. Jonathan Dickinson was foreman in the Baldwin Locomotive Works for many years. When he entered the establishment the output was three locomotives a month; and at the end of his term of service, which covered thirty years, it was three locomotives per day. Mr. Dickinson died at the age of forty-seven. His wife's span of life embraced sixty-four years. They reared three children, of whom Mrs. Mendenhall is the eldest. Two sons - George and Clinton D. - were born to Mr. and Mrs. Mendenhall, but only one is now living. George, who was in Rutgers College of New Brunswick, died at the age of nineteen; Clinton D. is a student at the University of Pennsylvania, preparing for a medical course.
Mr. Mendenhall and his family attend the Baptist church, his wife being a prominent member. He has been a Trustee of the society for nine years. Their son, Clinton D., is a regular attendant of the Sunday-school, in which his brother was a worker. Capable as a business man, and conservative as a politician, Mr. Mendenhall is one of the leading Republicans of Bordentown. He has now, 1896, been a member of the Common Council for seven years, serving six years consecutively, and has been its President three years. He has served a full term as President of the Board of Health, and has also served as Commissioner of Appeals. He is an excellent representative citizen of Burlington County.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 163. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman





ALBERT MIDDLETON, a citizen of Hainesport, N.J., now retired from active business, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., February 25, 1817, son of Jacob, Jr., and Sabilla (West) Middleton. His paternal grandfather, Jacob Middleton, Sr., was a currier and tanner, and also followed farming. He married Miss Hannah Allen, who bore him a family of eight children. Jacob, Jr., the fourth child, was born near Crosswicks, N.J. He learned the trade of a bricklayer, but followed agriculture during the major part of his life. His wife, Sabilla, was a daughter of John West, of Woodbury, N.J. A son and daughter were born of their union, namely: Hannah, the wife of B. Tilton; and Albert. Both parents were members of the Friends' Society, and each lived to be three-score years of age.
Albert Middleton began at sixteen years of age to learn the carpenter's trade, which he subsequently followed for twenty-five years or more, up to 1860. At the time the Pennsylvania Railroad was extended through Hainesport, in 1867, Mr. Middleton was engaged as ticket agent, and for twenty years served faithfully in that capacity without ever being granted a relief. In 1887 he resigned, and he has not since been engaged in any active occupation. In 1845 he was joined in marriage with Miss Ann S. Middleton, a daughter of Allen Middleton, of Crosswicks, N.J. They have a son and daughter: Emma E., the wife of Robert Love, of Philadelphia; and Walter J., who has carried on a profitable mercantile business in Hainesport for over twenty years, and who married Miss Anna M. Thorn. Mr. Middleton is a loyal supporter of the Republican party, and has served as Postmaster under several different Republican administrations. At the present time he is a member of the Lumberton Township Committee. In religious opinions he is in sympathy with the Society of Friends. During the long period that he has been a member of this community Mr. Middleton has won many warm friends, and is highly esteemed and respected.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.216-217. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



WILLIAM J. MILLIGAN is well known as an early settler and influential citizen of Steele county, North Dakota. He is a man of good business tact, and has met with success as grain buyer, and is the representative in the city of Hope for the St. Anthony & Dakota Elevator Company.
Our subject was born in Burlington county, New Jersey, April 15, 1854, and was a son of William and Alice (Taggart) Milligan, both of whom were natives of county Antrim, Ireland. His parents were married in America, and six children were born to them, our subject being the second child and oldest son. He removed with his parents to Ford county, Illinois, when about nine years of age, and remained with his father on the farm there until about twenty-two years of age, when he learned the blacksmith's trade. He followed the trade about one and a half years, and April l0, 1883, went to Hope, North Dakota, and soon began work at his trade in Colgate, Steele county, and erected the first blacksmith shop in that town. He disposed of his shop in August, and in the fall worked in the harvest field and then returned to Illinois for his wife. He returned to Hope, North Dakota, in January,1884, and for four years worked at various occupations, and then began grain buying for the company with which he is now associated. He was located in Colgate for about three years, and was then placed in charge of the business at Hope. He was postmaster of Hope from 1891-94, and was again tendered the office, but refused, on account of party sentiment, although supported by members of both political parties. During the early days many amusements were indulged in to while away the time, and Mr. Milligan was a member and captain of a baseball nine during the summer of 1885, known as the Hope Blackstockings. The team successfully competed with all amateur teams of th estate.
Mr. Milligan was married in 1882 to Miss Mary A. Warner, a native of Ford county, Illinois. Mrs. Milligan is the present postmaster of Hope, North Dakota. Six children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Milligan, as follows: Myrtle M., Edgar, Carrie, Gene, Bert and Mamie. Their many friends will be pleased to find a portrait of Mr. and Mrs. Milligan on another page. Mr. Milligan is a member of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows, and the blue lodge and lodge of perfection in the Masonic fraternity. He is a stanch Democrat in political faith and advocates prohibition.
[Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Renae Capitanio]




JOHN T. MORRELL, one of the prominent citizens of Beverly, N.J., son of Richard H. and Elizabeth B. (Thomson) Morrell, was born June 22, 1848, in Philadelphia, Pa. There is no family more prominent in the city of Beverly than the Morrell family, and in Philadelphia the name has long been esteemed in business and social circles.
The first importer of china in America, it is said, was our subject's great-grandfather, John Morrell, who was in Philadelphia for a number of years, and was the founder of a well-known china house in that city. He was a zealous worker for and generous contributor toward the support of Christ Church and St. James' Episcopal Church in Philadelphia. His son Richard, who was the grandfather of Mr. John T. Morrell, was a wholesale and retail dealer in china in Philadelphia, attending personally to the details of his business for a number of years. He died in Pittsburg, Pa., in 1868. His wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Grover, was a native and lifelong resident of Philadelphia. She died when her son, Richard H., who was born January 30, 1818, was only two and a half years old.
After his mother died, Richard H. Morrell went to live with his grandmother. When he was thirteen years of age he became an errand boy in the employ of Destouet Brothers, of Philadelphia, dealers in silk goods, for whom he worked until he was seventeen years old. A precocious youth, diligent and trustworthy, he had by that time acquired such practical knowledge of the business that he was then made manager of the establishment. This position he held several years, in the mean time saving his earnings; and eventually he, with a Mr. George T. Stokes, who was employed by Messrs. John R. Worrell & Co., purchased the business. The firm of Morrell & Stokes was an enterprising one, and carried on a general commission business, also importing largely, and manufacturing fine silks and trimmings. Their house was 211 Church Street, Philadelphia. In 1856 Mr. R. H. Morrell became a resident of Beverly, his business location remaining unchanged; but in 1862 the firm was dissolved by mutual consent. Though now practically retired from active business, he is still interested in the real estate and stock market, and as a successful man his advice is often sought by would-be speculators. He is the largest real estate owner in Beverly, and has a beautiful residence on Cooper Street. A Republican in political preference, he cast his first Presidential ballot for William H. Harrison in 1840, and since that time has never missed an election or failed to vote. He was in the Beverly City Council twelve years.
His wife is a daughter of John Thomson, a native of Philadelphia, born in August, 1799. Mr. Thomson was one of the most prominent Masons of his day, being honored by the election to all the chairs of the Grand Lodge in succession; and Thomson Lodge, of Duffryn Mawr, Chester County, Pa., was named for him. In Lodge No. 51, of Philadelphia, which he joined in 1827, he held the following offices: Secretary, 1829-31; Junior Warden, 1831-32; Senior Warden, 1832-33; Worshipful Master, 1833-34; Secretary, 1835-36; Treasurer, 1837-38; Secretary, 1838-44; Junior Warden, 1844-45; Senior Warden, 1845-46; Secretary, 1853-59; Treasurer, 1864-69. He died in October, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Morrell had three children, all unmarried and living with their parents: John T., the subject of this sketch; Mary Thomson Morrell; and Sallie, who died April 6, 1896.
John T. Morrell attended the Philadelphia public schools, and passed the Beck's Academy examinations at the Philadelphia High School, but did not enter, as he removed permanently to Beverly. In 1869 he became interested in journalism; and he was connected with the first paper started in Beverly, the Beverly Weekly Visitor, which was afterward, under the management of John K. Haffey, known as the Beverly Banner. Mr. Morrell was connected with this paper until 1894; and since 1883 he has been correspondent for the Philadelphia Press, furnishing Beverly news for that and for other papers in the adjoining towns. He has also been for some time in the fire insurance business, acting as agent for the Fire Association of Philadelphia, the Insurance Company of North America, the Union Insurance Company, and the Franklin Insurance Company, all of Philadelphia. He, too, is a Republican, and is now serving his third term as City Councilman; and since 1880 he has been United States census taker. Mr. Morrell and his father are widely known and highly esteemed. His mother and sister are members of St. Stephen's Church, Beverly.
Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p. 72-74. Transcribed by Sandra Stuzman



RICHARD H. PAGE, M.D., who died at his home in Columbus, Burlington County, N.J., in 1890, was for thirty years a successful medical practitioner, and was actively interested in various local business enterprises. He represented the third generation of the family in the medical profession, both his father and grandfather having been well-known physicians in their day. The Page family is one that has ?gured prominently in the business and industrial development of this locality for many years. Dr. Page was born in Evesham township, Burlington County, in 1829. He was a son of Thomas Page, M.D., and grandson of William Page, M.D., both of whom were graduates of the University of Pennsylvania.

Dr. William Page was a native of this part of Burlington County; and, after preparing himself for his professional work, he practised in the township of Evesham until his death, which occurred at an advanced age. His son, Thomas Page, was born in Evesham. After ?nishing his collegiate course, he removed to Tuckerton, N.J., where he practised with success and was a highly respected citizen. He died at the age of seventy-eight. In early manhood he was prominent in public affairs, and ably represented his town in the legislature.

Richard H. Page commenced the study of medicine with Samuel G. Morton, M.D., of Philadelphia, and was graduated from the University of Pennsylvania. He settled in Columbus, where he acquired a large and pro?table practice; and he was well and favorably known throughout this section of the county. He took a deep interest in improving the business facilities of the town, being instrumental in securing the construction of the railroad, to which he rendered financial support; and he also served for some time as secretary and treasurer of the company. He was likewise associated with John Bishop in the coal and lumber trade; and, aside from his unusual professional activity; he was a conspicuous ?gure in business circles. As a member of the Burlington County Medical Society he wrote valued and interesting arti- cles to be read at their meetings, and he frequently spoke upon various subjects relative to science and professional advancement. In his religious views he was an Episcopalian, and he was earnestly interested in church work.

In 1856 Dr. Page wedded Elizabeth French Wills, the only daughter of Judge Moses and Rebecca R. (Black) Wills, and a native of the village of Columbus. Mrs. Page's grandfather, Moses Wills, ?rst, was a native and lifelong resident of Rancocas, where he cultivated a good farm. He married Elizabeth French, of Moorestown, N.J, who was the mother of six children by a former husband. The only child of her second union to reach maturity was Moses, Mrs. Page's father.

Moses Wills, the younger, went to Philadelphia when a young man, and for a time was employed as a clerk. Settling in Columbus, he engaged in mercantile business in company with George Black; but, after carrying on a thriving trade for some years, he sold his interest in the business, and was appointed judge of the Court of Appeals and Pardons. He ?nally retired from active life, and died at the age of eighty-one years. Judge Wills was the organizer of the Mount Holly Bank, and was its President up to the time of his death, when he was succeeded in that office by his son Augustus. He married Rebecca R. Black, daughter of William Black, a prominent farmer of Columbus, who died here at the age of eighty years. Mr. Black was the father of seven children. Judge and Mrs. Moses Wills became the parents of seven children, ?ve of whom grew to maturity, and of these three are now living, namely: Edward; George; and Elizabeth French, who is Mrs. Page. Edward Wills is now President of the Mount Holly Bank, he having succeeded his brother Augustus, who died while occupying that position. Mrs. Page's parents were originally members of the Friends' Society, but later attended the Orthodox church. Her mother lived to reach the age of eighty-seven years.

Mrs. Page was the youngest-born of the parental family. She was carefully educated, her course of

study being completed at the Lawrenceville Seminary. Her married life of about thirty-four years was one of extreme happiness, and in her widowhood she enjoys the most sincere respect and esteem of her many friends and acquaintances. She has been bereft of one of her four children - namely, a daughter, Rebecca, who died at the age of twenty-three. She now has three children, one son and two daughters, as follows; Richard H., Anna, and Elizabeth B. Richard H. Page, who is a graduate of Princeton Collge, conducts farming upon quite an extensive scale. He is also Deputy Internal Revenue Collector for Burlington and Mercer Counties, with headquarters in Trenton. Mrs. Page's eldest daughter was educated at Pottstown, Pa.; and her youngest daughter has been a pupil at St. Mary's Hall in Burlington. The family attend the Episcopal church, and the daughters are teachers in the Sunday-school and members of the Ladies' Guild.

Biographical Review Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties New Jersey. Boston. Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897. p.12-13. - Transcribed by Marilyn Clark





Peacock Family.—Three generations of Peacocks are understood to have lived in Evesham township, Burlington County, and there is a settlement called "Peacocktown " near that township. In the New Jersey Archives, Volume XXll, there are the records of marriages of several Peacocks of Burlington County, the earliest being in 1767. No earlier references to the family have been found, and the indications are that they were not settled in the county much before the middle of the eighteenth century. There was a Peacock living in Burlington County, who was born, according to the family Bible, in 1698, and who died in that county in 1769. The record in the Bible has faded to such an extent that the Christian name and place of birth are undecipherable.
[Source: Proceedings of the New Jersey Historical Society, pub. by NJ Historical Society, 1906]



JOHN C. PETTIT, general foreman of the Florence Manufacturing Company's works in Florence, N.J., was born in Millville, June 9, 1831, son of John R. and Mary (Miskelly) Pettit. John Pettit, father of John R., was a resident of Weymouth, and died there previous to the birth of his grandson.
John R. Pettit, Mr. Pettit's father, was born in Weymouth; and in young manhood he learned the iron-moulder's trade. He later took charge of the blast furnace in Millville, where he remained for some time; and from there he went to Hanover, where he was employed under Richard Jones. From Hanover he went to the Howell Works, near Ocean Grove, later returning to Hanover. He finally introduced the manufacturing of iron pipe, commencing operations in Weymouth, and continuing them in Millville for R. D. Wood, of the Florence Manufacturing Company. He was the first to make iron pipe by the old-fashioned blast furnace process, and he was recognized throughout his section as a workman of much ability. He was interested in local public affairs, and occupied some of the town offices. After withdrawing from active labor, he lived in retirement until his death, which took place when he was eighty-two years old. His wife, Mary Miskelly, was a daughter of William Miskelly, of Weymouth. She became the mother of thirteen children, of whom three are now living, namely: John C., Henry, a resident of Millville; and Jacob, who resides in Florence. Mrs. Mary M. Pettit lived to reach the age of sixty-eight years. She and her husband were members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
John C. Pettit, who is the special subject of this biography, attended the common schools in his boyhood, and continued to reside at home until reaching his majority. He began when very young to learn the moulder's trade, and worked upon iron pipe in Hanover, Lumberton, and Millville. In 1857 he established a foundry in Richmond, Va., where he continued to conduct business until the breaking out of the Rebellion, when he returned to Millville. From there he went to Washington, D.C., and engaged in the wood business for a short time. In 1863 he joined the Washington police force, with which he served for eighteen months; and, then once more returning to Millville, he worked as a journeyman in the foundry. When Mr. McNeil withdrew from the concern and established business in Burlington, Mr. Pettit accompanied him; and there he remained until 1875, when he was called to take charge of the Florence Manufacturing Company's foundry. His ability has been of such value to the concern as to cause his advancement to his present position of general foreman of the works. Since his official connection with the enterprise the business has extended into double its former proportions, the foundry now requiring an average force of one hundred men, who are kept constantly busy in turning out the large amount of work handled by the company. He is the second oldest employee, having entered their shops in Millville in 1854.
In 1854 Mr. Pettit wedded Hester Tash, of Lumberton, daughter of Mahlon Tash, who was a wheelwright by trade and a prominent resident of his day. Mrs. Pettit died at the age of fifty years, leaving three children, one of whom, a daughter, died aged thirty-seven years. The survivors are: Henry, a pattern-maker, who married Ida Townsend, and has one daughter, named Blanche; and Andrew, a merchant tailor of Burlington, who married Sarah Hewins, and has three children; namely, John U., Esther, and Mira.
In politics Mr. Pettit is a Republican, but indorses and supports the Prohibition movement. While in Millville he served in the City Council. He is a member of the I. O. R. M. of Florence. In his religious views he is a Methodist, as was also his wife; and he was officially connected with the church in Florence for several years. A good representative of the highly intelligent, industrial class of American citizens, he enjoys the esteem and confidence of his employers and the community in general.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.227-228. [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]




ALFRED PLATT, a self-made man, who is closely identified with the business interests of Burlington, N.J., was born near Vincenttown, Burlington County, May 5, 1843, son of Samuel and Elizabeth (Voshier) Platt. Mr. Platt's father was, so far as known, a lifelong resident of Burlington County. He made agriculture his chief occupation, and attained a substantial prosperity for himself and his large family. His death took place when he was fifty-six years old. In politics he was a Democrat, and in his religious views was a Methodist, being a member of that church. His wife whose maiden name was Elizabeth Voshier, became the mother of nine children. Those who grew to maturity were: Rebecca; Abigail; Jonathan; William; Phineas; and Alfred, the subject of this sketch. The mother, Mrs. Elizabeth V. Platt, lived to reach the age of fifty years.
Alfred Platt received a common-school education in his boyhood days, and in early manhood he became interested in the digging and preparing of sand for moulding purposes. He began operations upon a limited scale, progressing slowly but surely until securing a firm business footing, when he bought land adapted for his enterprise in the vicinity of Lumberton, and established business upon a much larger basis. Some time later he associated himself with J. W. Paton, of Philadelphia, since which time the enterprise has expanded into much greater proportions; and the firm, which has an office in Philadelphia, is now engaged in shipping its products to the South and West in large quantities.
Mr. Platt and Miss Maggie E. McNiney, daughter of Charles H. and Eliza Ann McNiney, were united in marriage in 1866. They have had eight children, as follows: Ida, who married Harry F. Wheeler, and has two children, named Harry and Harold; Ella May, wife of Ellis Hibbs; Howard, who died young; Walter C.; Frank; Albertus; Alfred E. and Ethel L. The family occupy a fine three-story brick residence, purchased by Mr. Platt, at 339 East Union Street, which commands a view of the splendid scenery along the Delaware River for several miles.
Mr. Platt is without doubt one of the most enterprising men of Burlington County, as he may be said to have created and developed an entirely new industry, which he has brought to a permanent financial success, the fortunate results attending the enterprise being due to his own energy and business foresight. He is accorded a high standing in both business and social circles, where he is esteemed as a worthy representative of the city and State.
Mr. and Mrs. Platt are members of the Methodist Episcopal church. In politics Mr. Platt is a Democrat, supporting that party with activity; and he has served as a member of the local Board of Health for four years. He is connected with Burlington Lodge, No. 22, Independent Order of Odd Fellow; and Hope Lodge, No. 13, Knights of Pythias.
Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BULINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON BIOGRAPHICL REVIEW PUBLISING COMPANY 1897 - Transcribed by Liz Dellinger



ELISHA ROBERTS, a descendant of one of the oldest families of Burlington County, and an honored and respected citizen of Moorestown village, has during the active years of his life successfully engaged in a variety of business enterprises. He was born in Chester township, Burlington County, N. J., on June 30, 1818, son of David and Rachel (Hunt) Roberts.
Mr. Roberts traces his ancestry to John Roberts, first, who came from Orton, Warwickshire, England, in the year 1677. He was accompanied by his wife Sarah. They made the journey across the Atlantic in a sailing-vessel known as the "Kent," and upon arriving in this country settled in Burlington County. The emigrant was a farmer by occupation; and as early as 1682 he took up two hundred and sixty-seven acres of new land, to which he afterward added by the purchase of other lands. They made their home in a cave until the log house, which he built near the present turnpike between Moorestown and Camden, was ready for occupancy. This he did not live many years to enjoy, as he died in 1695, while yet in the prime of his life. His wife, who survived him many years, was an unusually bright and intelligent business woman, and filled certain town offices creditably. In 1696 she signed the agreement as one of the tax-payers when the town of Chester was organized. It is recorded that in the year 1700 James Adams gave an acre of land for a burying-ground to the Friends in Moorestown, and Sarah Roberts was one of the grantees of this deed. She was a good manager, and added many acres to her own estate, all of which she left to her son, John, second, who had previously received from his father's estate all but his mother's portion.
John Roberts, second, was likewise a prosperous farmer and successful business manager; and the estate that fell to him was considerably increased. In 1736 he erected a new brick residence that is still standing. He married Miss Mary Elkinton, by whom he had eight children, named: John, Joshua, Mary, Enoch, Sarah, Hannah, Elizabeth, and Deborah. He died September 9, 1747, and his wife February 11, 1759. The mortal remains of both are resting in the old grave-yard at Moorestown.
Joshua Roberts, son of John, second, and the great-grandfather of Elisha Roberts, was born May 27, 1715. He followed farming pursuits on the original homestead of John Roberts, first. In 1741 he was united in marriage with Miss Rebecca Stokes. He died on January 28, 1795, and his wife in November, 1815, at the advanced age of ninety-five years. Their son Joseph, who was born July 8, 1742, became one of the leading farmers of this section. He resided in the house built in 1736 on the place formerly owned by his grandfather, John Roberts, second. Joseph Roberts married Miss Susanna Coles, who was born October 3, 1751. Nine children were the fruit of this union, all of whom grew to maturity, and all but two married. Their names given in the order of their birth were as follows: Mary, Joseph, William, Rebecca, George, Josiah, Abel, Ann, and David. Their father died on Washington's Birthday in the year 1826, and their mother on September 29, 1828.
David Roberts, the youngest of these nine children, was born February 14, 1792. He was reared to farm work; and at his father's death he inherited the old homestead, where his whole life was spent. His wife, Rachel Hunt, was born in the town of Redstone, Fayette County, Pa., on October 24, 1791. They spent together a long and happy married life of sixty-five years. He died on December 9, 1880, and she about six months later, on June 23, 1881. They had nine children, as follows: Esther, born August 23, 1816; Elisha, named above; Edwin, born February 24, 1821; Joseph, born July 25, 1823; Mary, born August 21, 1825; Rebecca, born August 7, 1827; Anna B., born October 27, 1829; Susan, born January 4, 1832; and Rachel H., born January 30, 1834. Esther Roberts died October 4, 1896. The four now living are: Elisha, Mary, Susan and Rachel.
Elisha Roberts acquired his education in the schools of his native town and at the Friends' Boarding School in Westtown, Chester County, Pa. He continued to live at home until his marriage, after which he purchased a number of acres of land on the turnpike between Moorestown and Camden, and subsequently purchased an additional amount. Up to 1864 he was successfully engaged in general farming, and from that time to 1868 he carried on the Westtown Boarding School farm. In 1877 he came to Moorestown village to the house that he had built, and where he still resides. He has also at the present time about two hundred acres of land.
On the 24th of February, 1843, he was joined in marriage with Miss Elizabeth W. Hooton, who was born in Evesham, now Mount Laurel township, in 1819, July 16, and was a daughter of Joseph and Sarah Hooton. She is descended from Thomas Hooton, who came from England in 1667, and settled in Evesham, near Moorestown, Burlington County, N. J. He married in 1697 Mary Lippin Cott, of Shrewsbury, N. J. Their son, William, born September 2, 1698, was married at Friends' Meeting-house, Evesham, to Ann Sharp, November 21, 1730. Thomas, son of William and Ann Sharp Hooton, born March 17, 1734, married Bathsheba Braddock, January 21, 1760. They had three children - William, Deborah, and Thomas. Bathsheba Braddock Hooton died September 7, 1769; and Thomas Hooton married for his second wife, December 1, 1774, Atlantic Bispham Stokes. She was the widow of Joseph Stokes; and she and her first husband were the parents of Joshua Stokes and Sabylla, wife of Charles French, of Moorestown. She was born on shipboard while on the Atlantic Ocean, and named Atlantic by the captain of the vessel. By her second husband, Thomas Hooton, she became the mother of three sons: Benjamin, born April 2, 1776; Joseph, born June 4, 1778; and William, born September 2, 1784.
Joseph Hooton, son of Thomas and Atlantic Hooton, married Sarah Pippitt, at Friends' Meeting-house, Trenton, N. J., November 11, 1813. She was a daughter of Moses and Sarah Pippitt, and was born February 7, 1788. They had two children - Joseph and Elizabeth W. Joseph was born August 30, 1817, and married Anna Warrington, May 25, 1843. Elizabeth W. married Elisha Roberts, subject of this sketch, as already stated. Joseph Hooton, father of Mrs. Roberts, died November 11, 1839. His widow survived him thirty years, dying September 21, 1869.

Mr. and Mrs. Roberts have had nine children, of whom five are now living: Anna died in Atlantic City, N. J., in the thirtieth year of her age; Sarah married Samuel Allen, and lives in Moorestown; Mrs. Elizabeth H. Richie is the widow of Edward B. Richie; David Roberts married Elizabeth L. Allen; Joseph H. Roberts married Mary C. Stokes; and William H. Roberts married Elizabeth C. Stokes. All are residents of Moorestown. Their mother died on March 15, 1889.

In politics Mr. Roberts is a Republican, and prior to the formation of that party he was a Whig. He belongs to the Society of Friends, of which his wife was also a member. Their ancestors were connected with that society from its rise in England in the seventeenth century.
Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BULINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON BIOGRAPHICL REVIEW PUBLISING COMPANY 1897 - Transcribed by Mary Saggio



JOHN SCHEIMREIF, a well-known dealer in coal and lumber, and the proprietor of an extensive box manufactory at Riverside village, Cinnaminson township, Burlington County, N.J., is a native resident, but of German parentage. He was born December 27, 1857, son of John, Sr., and Anna Mary (Linder) Scheimreif. His father and mother were born in Bavaria, Germany, whence they migrated across the Atlantic, and came directly to Riverside. John Scheimreif, Sr., was a tailor by trade, and followed that pursuit during his entire active life. He passed away May 22, 1893, having been bereft of his wife a little more than seven years previous, on May 10, 1886.

Their only child, John Scheimreif, with whom this sketch is principally occupied, passed his early and youthful days at his father's home. In 1887 he started in the contracting and building business, which he followed about two years. In 1889, when he had nearly attained the age of thirty-two years, he established himself in a coal and lumber business; and this he has conducted to the present time with a gratifying degree of success. He likewise owns and manages a large box manufactory, making a great variety of boxes, for which he finds a ready market throughout the county. He was first married on October 17, 1881, to Annie Rose, a native of Germantown, Pa. Their union was blessed in the birth of six children, namely: Tillie; Lulu; Charlie; John; Harry; and Amelia, who is now deceased. Mr. Scheimreif was called upon to mourn the death of his wife, Annie, on January 9, 1893; and in April, 1895, he was joined in matrimony with Miss Mary Klinger, whose birthplace was Philadelphia. Mrs. Scheimreif's father, John Klinger, now makes his home with her and her husband.

Mr. Scheimreif is one of the leading and prosperous merchants of Riverside, and his is a familiar face in business circles. He is identified also with the fraternity life of the community, being a member of Lodge No. 26 of the Order of United American Mechanics; likewise associated with the Eureka Benefit Society of Riverside; and the German Benefit Society of the same city. In politics he is found in the ranks of the Republican party. The religious belief and sympathies of himself and Mrs. Scheimreif bring them into fellowship with the Catholic Church of Riverside. He is a popular man in the municipality, and among his wide circle f acquaintances he is universally esteemed.

Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey, "Biography is the home aspect of history," Boston Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897, p. 165-166. - Transcribed by Sandra Stutzman



ALEXANDER M. SMALL, M.D., a prominent physician of Riverside, in Cinnnaminson township, Burlington County, N.J., is a native of the city of Philadelphia, Pa., where he was born September 19, 1860. He is of German ancestry, his father, Edward Small, being a native of Germany, and his mother, Josephine Schneff Small, being also of German extraction.
Edward Small migrated to America in 1852, and took his way immediately to Philadelphia, Pa., where he entered on an American career as a druggist at 1115 North Third Street. A few years subsequently he formed a partnership with a Mr. Cramer; and they engaged in the drug business at 320 Race Street, Philadelphia, under the firm style of Cramer & Small. That mercantile association continued to exist until 1880, when Mr. Small retired from active business life. Both he and his wife still survive to enjoy the results of their labors.
Alexander H. Small, to whom this sketch particularly relates, was the only child born to his parents. He received his early education in the German Free-thinkers' School of Philadelphia. He next entered the Eastburn Academy High School at Philadelphia, took one course of study, and was graduated in 1876. He afterward pursued a course at the Philadelphia School of Anatomy. He matriculated at the University of Pennsylvania in the medical department in 1879, and was graduated in the class of 1881, receiving his certificate of practice. He then settled at Riverside, and established himself in his profession, which, however, he continued there only a short time. In the spring of 1882 he went to Paris, France, where he assisted a kinsman, Dr. Paul Reclus, a famous surgeon in that city. While in Paris he acted as an assistant also to Dr. Edward Brissaud, under whose direction he pursued a course of medical study. Remaining abroad from June, 1882, to August, 1884, he then returned to America; and, coming back to Riverside, he here resumed the duties of his profession. He makes a specialty of surgery, and enjoys an extensive and lucrative practice, most of which is in Riverside. His broad, varied, and careful preparation, supplementing his natural ability, has won for him a large measure of success.
On November 14, 1894, Dr. Small married Miss Barbara Eble, who was born in 1869 at Philadelphia, and who is the daughter of Maxmilian Eble, formerly an enterprising brewer of that city. Both of her parents are now deceased. One child, Edward Lester, born in 1895, has come with blessing into their home.
Dr. Small is well and favorably known in his vicinity, having become prominent through his services in several official capacities. He was for some time township physician of Cinnaminson, and he is now visiting physician to the Mount Holly Hospital. He is a member of the Burlington County Medical Society, and was at one time the President of the same. Politically, he believes in Republican principles, and casts in his influence with that party, though he is usually an eclectic in his balloting, and lends his support to what he considers the best candidates. Both Dr. and Mrs. Small are Lutherans in religious faith, and are affiliated with the German Lutheran Church of Riverside.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



GEORGE W. SMITH - One of the best known real estate and insurance agents of Burlington, and one who has made a pronounced success in both lines of business, is George W. Smith, the subject of this sketch. His birth took place in Philadelphia, Pa., January 22, 1831, he being a son of the Rev. William and Sarah (Gardner) Smith.
He was named for his grandfather, a native of Lawrenceville, N.J., who in young manhood engaged in mercantile pursuits in Philadelphia. The elder George W. Smith at first had a partner, with whom he carried on business for a short time, after which he engaged solely upon his own account, and continued thus during the rest of his long mercantile career. He was one of the early successful merchants in the Quaker City, who were noted for their sterling ability and strict integrity; and, as the result of his application, he eventually retired with a handsome fortune. At an early age he united with the Baptist church, and through a long series of years he was an active worker therein, holding the office of Deacon. He died at sixty-eight years; and his wife, who was before her marriage Elizabeth Dawson, lived to reach a good old age.
Their son William received his early education in Philadelphia, where he prepared for college under the direction of Dr. Bradley; and in due time he was graduated at Princeton. He became a forceful and eloquent preacher of the Baptist denomination, reaching a position of influence in that body of Christian workers. The last pastorate of the Rev. William Smith was in Philadelphia, where he died at the age of seventy-seven years. His wife, whose maiden name was Sarah Gardner, became the mother of nine children, as follows: William G.; George W.; Elizabeth D., wife of Thomas Witherell; Mary B., who became Mrs. James Reynolds; John C.D.; Adoniram; Sarah A., wife of James Duffy; Susan W.D., who became Mrs. J. Whitaker; and Eugene K.K., who died young. Mrs. Sarah Gardner Smith died at the age of sixty years.
George W., the second son, as the names are here given, and the subject of this sketch, was educated in Philadelphia. At the age of thirteen he began his business career as a clerk in a book and stationery store. He followed that line of business, both wholesale and retail, for some years, during which time he was employed by houses in New York City and Cincinnati; and, then returning to Philadelphia, he worked for Miller, Baines & Co., wholesale dealers in notions, until 1859. In that year he purchased a farm in Mansfield township, Burlington County, N.J., where he engaged in agricultural pursuits for the ensuing two years; but at the end of that period he sold his farming property, and, removing to Burlington, engaged in the real estate and insurance business. He has dealt extensively in real estate on his own account with profitable results, besides handling largely for others as agent, in which capacity he transacts a great deal of business. He also conducts a very successful insurance department, representing eight of the best known companies, among them being the Phoenix, Lancashire, and Home of New York, the American Fire of Philadelphia, and the Fireman's of Newark, N.J. He is well and favorably known throughout the county as a reliable and strictly honorable business man, and is recognized as a standard authority in matters relating to real estate.
On November 25, 1858, Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Eliza A. Burton, daughter of Captain Gideon Burton, of Lewes, Sussex County, Delaware. In politics he is a stanch Republican; and, while a resident of Philadelphia, he served as a member of the City Council from Ward 15 for six years. In Burlington he has served as a Commissioner of Deeds for New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Aside from his business interests he is in sympathy with all movements for the general public good, and is socially very popular.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



STEPHENSON, Frank T. F., physician; born near Burlington, N.J., Nov. 20, 1874; son of Steelman and Alice Tyler (Fraser) Stephenson; graduate Au Sable High School, 1891; special student in science Michigan Agricultural College, 1891-92; Ph.G., Pharmacy Department, Detroit College of Medicine, 1900; M.D., Medical Department, Detroit College of Medicine, 1901;married, Walkerton, Ont., can., Aug. 27, 1902, Helen J. Goodier. Among Ojibwa Indians, rounding up for Carlisle Indian School, 1892-93; taught school three years; principal high school, Tawas City, Mich., up to 1897; county commissioner of schools, Iosco Co., Mich., 1898-99; began practice of medicine in Detroit, 1901; lecturer on organic and inorganic chemistry, Detroit College of Medicine, since 1901; devotes considerable time to research and expert chemical work. Republican. Baptist. Treasurer Society of Detroit Chemists; member Wayne County and Michigan State Medical societies, Am. Medical Association, Detroit Medical Club, Phi Rho Sigma. Mason. Recreations: Chemical research. Office and residence: 469 Trumbull Av.

[Source: The Book of Detroiters. Edited by Albert Nelson Marquis, Copyright, 1908 - Contributed by Christine Walters]



ADDISON WILLIAMS TAYLOR, M.D., the leading physician of the city of Beverly, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Shrewsbury, Monmouth County, this State, March 30, 1845. His parents were the Rev. Rufus and Esther (Williams) Taylor, both natives of Franklin County, Massachusetts.
The Rev. Rufus Taylor, who was a Presbyterian clergyman, was pastor of a church in Shrewsbury, N.J., for twelve years, and subsequently resided for some time at Manchester-by-the-sea, Mass., whence he removed to Princeton, N.J.; and in 1870 he settled in Beverly, assuming here the duties of Secretary of the American and Foreign Christian Union Society, which occupied him about fourteen years. His death occurred in August, 1894, his wife having died in 1883. Five children were born to them, namely: Addison Williams, the subject of this sketch; Samuel B., a resident of Beverly, who is connected with the grocery firm of Thompson, Taylor & Co., of Philadelphia; Frank E., a resident of Philipsburg, Pa., who is employed by his brother in the Philadelphia store; Mary L., who died in March, 1894; and a child who died in infancy.
Addison W. Taylor attended the private schools at Hightstown, N.J., and graduated from the Princeton School in the class of 1866. He subsequently taught for eight months in Monmouth County, New Jersey, and for eighteen months in Oxford County, Pennsylvania, and then took up the study of medicine with Dr. James H. Wyckoff, of Princeton, J.J., with whom he remained eighteen months. His training under Dr. Wyckoff was supplemented by a course of study in the medical department of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia, the oldest school of medicine in the country, where he was graduated in the class of 1871. After a stay of two weeks in Garrison's, N.Y., he came to Beverly; and this town and its vicinity have since been the scene of his professional labors. The quarter of a century which has passed since April, 1871, when he received his certificate to practice, has been a fruitful period, occupied with ceaseless labor in behalf of suffering humanity, and abounding in good results. Dr. Taylor is the proprietor of the Warren Street Pharmacy, where he is to be found when not in the office connected with his residence or away on his calls. He is Secretary of the Medical Society of Burlington County; New Jersey, which is justly proud of his fine penmanship, a rare accomplishment for a professional man.
December 17, 1873, Dr. Taylor was married to Miss Emma L. Herbert, a native of Brooklyn, N.Y.,
who was born August 31, 1845. Her father, Theo C. Herbert, of Brooklyn, was a sail-maker in the United States Navy, and was on the "Cumberland" at the time of the valiant but hopeless fight with the "Merrimac" in Hampton Roads. He is now dead, and his wife also has passed away. Dr. and Mrs. Taylor are the parents of five children: Theo, who lived but two years; Herbert A., a student at Cornell University; a child who died in infancy; Malcolm S., a student at the high school in Buffalo, N.Y.; and Harold, who is still at home.
Dr. Taylor takes an active interest in politics, favoring the Republican party. He has been a member of the City Council for three terms, and was President three years; and he is President of the Board of Education, this being his fifth term as a member. He is also a strong member of the Temperance Society and Trustee of the Reform Club. A Master Mason, he belongs to Beverly Lodge, A. F. & A. M., No. 107, of Beverly; and he is likewise a member of Beverly Lodge, No. 95, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and also of the Golden Eagle Lodge of the same city. Dr. and Mrs. Taylor are members of the Presbyterian church of Beverly, in which he has been an Elder for the past six years.

[Biographical Review, Containing Life Sketches of Leading Citizens of Camden and Burlington Counties, New Jersey. (Boston, Biographical Review Publishing Company, 1897), p.189-190 [Transcribed by Carol LaRue]



WILLIAM F. THACHER, General Manager of the Florence Iron Works in Florence, Burlington County, N.J., was born in Genesee County, New York, on February 20, 1844, son of Alvin P. and Jane (Salisbury) Thacher. Mr. Thacher's paternal grandfather was a resident of New England, living for a number of years in Vermont. He was a patriot soldier in the Revolutionary War, being one of those who served under General Pike, and was wounded in service.

Alvin P. Thacher was born in Vermont, and there spent his boyhood. Going thence to N e w York State, he settled on a farm. Afterward he removed to Erie, Pa., where he purchased a saw-mill, which he conducted for several years, then sold it, and purchased a mill and farm at Waterford, Erie County, Pennsylvania. At the time of the discovery of oil he went from Waterford to Oil Creek, and established a store, also joining those who drilled for oil, at which he was successful. Shortly after the beginning of the Civil War he sold hiso store at Oil Creek, and returned to his farm in Waterford. Several years later he sold that farm, and, coming to New Jersey, bought a farm in Vineland, which he carried on successfully for two years, at the end of that time purchasing a homestead in the city of Millville, where he lived between five and six years, meanwhile conducting a farm that he owned a short distance from the city. He next traded for a farm in Battle Creek, on which he lived for five years, finally removing to Youngsville, Pa., where he purchased a farm and store. At the time of his death, which occurred in Youngsville, he was sixty nine years of age. His wife, Jane, was born in Phelps, Ontario County, N.Y., daughter of Milton Salisbury. Alvin P. Thacher left two sons: Wallace, residing in Youngsville, Pa.; and William F. Their mother, Mrs. Jane S. Thacher, who is living with her son Wallace at Youngsville, has reached the age of seventy-six years. She is a member of the Methodist Episcopal church.
William F. Thacher lived at home with his parents until he was eighteen years of age. He then enlisted in Company C of the Sixteenth Pennsylvania Cavalry, which was made a part of the Cavalry Corps of the Army of the Potomac, serving in all the battles in which that division of the army took part until July 28, 1864.

On that day, while stationed before Petersburg, where General Grant was closely besieging the enemy, who then had possession of the town, Mr. Thacher was wounded in the arm by a minie ball, and in consequence he was in the hospital from September until the following June, it being found necessary to amputate his arm. During his service he was promoted to the rank of Sergeant. On receiving his honorable discharge, he returned to his home, and remained with his father until the latter removed to Millville. Having taken a business course of study in Philadelphia, Mr. Thacher was subsequently engaged as a teacher in the West Jersey Academy at Bridgeton, after which, in 1868, he accepted a position as book-keeper with R. D. Wood & Co., who were then located in Millville. He remained with them for four years, and during a portion of that period he also kept a set of books for a cotton-mill. About this time Mr. McNeil, one of the partners, withdrew to establish a business at Burlington, N.J.; and Mr. Thacher went with him to assist in so doing, remaining until 1874, when he entered his present position as general manager of this branch of the company, which had in the mean time been established in Florence, and is known as the Florence Iron Company. About four hundred men are employed in these works, which make a specialty of the manufacture of gas and water supplies, casting nearly everything used in these lines.

When Mr. Thacher was placed at the head of this branch, the output was comparatively small; but under his supervision it has very materially increased, so that at the present time it is ranked among the largest manufactories of its kind in the country. The machinery used is of the most approved sort; and a noteworthy feature is the harmonious working of all the hands, no strike ever having occurred in the works. In addition to their large plant the company own about seventy-five houses, containing all together two hundred tenements. Mr. Thacher is also President of the Thread Works, which employ between seventy-five and eighty people.

In 1867 he was married to Miss Ellen Hoover, who was born in Millville, and is a daughter of Captain George Hoover, a shipmaster. They are the parents of three children, as follows: George, who married Miss Clara Willson, and is successfully engaged in the practice of medicine in Philadelphia; Frank, in college at Haverford, Pa.; and Nella, who is still in school.

Politically, Mr. Thacher supports the Prohibition party. While in Millville he served as Assessor and Clerk. He is a member of Post No. 2, Grand Army of the Republic, Philadelphia. Mr. and Mrs. Thacher and the sons are communicants of the Baptist church which the father was instrumental in organizing, and in which he has for a number of years held the office of Deacon. He was also one of the leaders in the erection of the chapel and parsonage connected with the church. For many years he has served as superintendent of the Sunday-school, his wife being a teacher. She is President of the Women's Christian Temperance Union of Burlington County, and national superintendent of the work carried on among the soldiers and sailors by the Women's Christian Temperance Union.

BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Shelia Baker





William Atkinson Townsend

William Atkinson Townsend, Sheriff of Burlington County, New Jersey, was born November 27, 1859, in Springfield township. He is a son of John Bullonck and Abigail (Atkinson) Townsend. Firman Townsend, his paternal grandfather, was likewise, it is thought, a native of Springfield township, as he was there reared. He was a wheel wright by trade, conducting a good business for many years in the village of Columbus. In addition he carried on general farming, owning a good farm, which adjoined the village. He married Ann Taylor, daughter of David Taylor, a carpet weaver, living in Mansfield township.
John B. Townsend was born during the residence of his parents in Columbus, Mansfield township, his birthday being December 31, 1834. He grew to man's estate in his native town, attending school, assisting his father on the farm or in the shop, and making himself generally useful, residing beneath the parental roof-tree until his marriage. Soon after that happy event he settled in Springfield township, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1893, when he removed to Mount Holly, where he still resides. His wife, Abigail Atkinson, whom he married in October, 1856, is a native of Springfield township, as were her father, William E. Atkinson, and her grandfather, Isaiah Atkinson, both of whom were practical farmers. William E. Atkinson, after his marriage with Mary Ann Aaronson a lifelong resident of Burlington County, engaged in his chosen occupation in Mansfield township, spending his closing years in the village of Columbus, living retired. To John B. Townsend and his wife four children were born; namely, William Atkinson, Clara, Charles, and Ella. Clara, who became the wife of John B. Colkitt, died when but twenty-three years-old; Charles married Lizzie Shedaker; and Ella is the wife of William Shinn. The father cast his first Presidential vote for General John C. Fremont, and since that time has been identified with the interests of the Republican party. Fraternally, he is a member of Columbus Lodge, No. 101, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; and of High Sun Tribe, I. O. R . M., No. 123.
William A. Townsend acquired his education at the Copney School in Springfield township, continuing his residence with his parents until came the time to establish a home of his own. Settling then in Mansfield township, he engaged in the pursuit of agriculture, continuing a resident there until the autumn of the year 1893, when having been elected Sheriff of the county, he came to Mount Holly to assume his official duties. Mr. Townsend was born and bred a Republican, and has never swerved from party allegiance, uniformly supporting that ticket since casting his first Presidential vote in 1880 for James A. Garfield. While living in Mansfield township he served as a member of the Township Committee. He is connected with three fraternal orders, being a member of Columbus Lodge, No. 101, Independent Order of Odd Fellows; of the High Sun Tribe, No. 123, I.O.R.M.; and of Mansfield Council, No. 117, O.U.A.M.
In 1880 Mr. Townsend was united in marriage with Miss Rebecca Braddock, a daughter of Charles A. and Rebecca (Antrim) Braddock, now proprietors of a hotel in Vincentown. Mrs. Townsend was born in Mansfield township, which was the birthplace of her parents as well as of her paternal grandfather, Jacob Braddock, who in his earlier years was engaged in farming, bur afterward carried on a successful business in general merchandise at Medford. The pleasant home circle of Mr. and Mrs. Townsend has been brightened by the advent of five children; namely, Mabel, Floyd, Augustus, Clara, and Bessie. At the expiration of the term of his office Mr. Townsend will again resume farming, having purchased the farm in Mansfield township formerly the homestead of his grandfather.
[Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW, CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON - BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by FOFG]



EUGENIA PEARCE WHITEHEAD, M.D., the wife of Dr. Willett W. Whitehead, of Mount Holly, N.J., is a daughter of the Hon. Thomas C. and Sarah S. (Pearce) Pearce, and a native of Hightstown, Mercer County, this State. Her paternal grandfather, William N. Pearce, was a lifelong resident of Manasquan, Monmouth County, N.J., where he was industriously engaged in farming. He married Mary Branen.
Their son, the Hon. Thomas C. Pearce, who was born, reared, and educated in Manasquan, removed to Hightstown when a young man, and here entered into active business pursuits. He is now successfully and extensively engaged as a dealer in real estate. As a man of intelligence, integrity, and public spirit, he has taken a prominent part in municipal affairs, having held the office of Mayor of Hightstown three terms and that of Justice of the Peace for a number of years. In 1868 he was elected to the legislature. His wife's father, the Rev. Israel Pearce, was well known as one of the most respected and influential citizens of Hightstown. He aided in founding the Methodist Episcopal Church of that place, of which for a long time he had the pastoral charge; and in addition to his ministerial duties, which he never neglected, he ably served for many years as Justice of the Peace.
Eugenia Pearce received her academical education at the Hightstown Young Ladies' Seminary and Peddie Institute, afterward continuing her pursuit of knowledge at the Pennington University, from which she was graduated in 1882. On leaving college she spent some time in travel. In the year 1889, a young woman of superior intellectual attainments and of earnest aspiration, she began the study of medicine at the Woman's Medical College of Philadelphia.
She was united in marriage in June, 1891, with Willett W. Whitehead, M.D., a rising young physician of Mount Holly, of whom a short biographical sketch appears on an adjoining page of this book; and she was graduated at the Woman's Medical College with the class of 1892. Dr. Eugenia P. Whitehead entered upon the duties of her profession at Mount Holly, where she built up a large and successful practice, which she has recently relinquished to assume the duties of a responsible position in the city of Boston, Mass., that of resident physician at the New England Dispensary.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler




JOHN G. WHITEHEAD, M.D., a popular physician in active practice in Bordentown, N. J., was born August 1, 1828. He is the only surviving son of Willett and Maria (Elaway) Whitehead, and in his veins runs some of the best blood in the country. His grandfather, Daniel Whitehead, who was born in the city of London, England, was one of the early settlers on Long Island. He was enjoying a fair degree of prosperity as manager of the stage lines on the island when the Revolution broke out, but he immediately joined the patriotic forces. He was employed as a scout, and did much faithful service for the cause, suffering in proportion; for the British confiscated his state-coaches and horses. His military service covered a term of seven years; and shortly after its expiration he died, being then fifty-two years of age.
His wife, the Doctor's grandmother, was Catherine Willett, of Long Island, a descendant of Captain Thomas Willett, the first mayor of New York City. Captain Willett, who was an Englishman, came to America in the ship "Lion," it is said, about ten or twelve years after landing of the Pilgrims on Plymouth Rock. He was a great friend to the Indians, of whom he bought large tracts of land in Rehoboth and vicinity, a part of the territory of Plymouth Colony. Much of his early life had been spent in Holland, and his knowledge of the Dutch language and of the customs of that people enabled him to render much service in the conduct of public affairs in New York during the early period of its possession by the English. He died August 4, 1674, in the sixty-fourth year of his age. His grave is in what is now East Providence, R. I. Mrs. Catherine Willett Whitehead, like her husband lived but fifty-two years. They reared seven children.
Willett Whitehead, the youngest of the seven, was born at Jamaica, Long Island. He learned the trade of ship-building as a boy in Philadelphia, and up to his fifty-first year he was actively engaged as a ship-carpenter and ship-builder in that city. He spent the rest of his life in retirement, and died at the age of eighty-two. Mr. Whitehead was a veteran of the War of 1812. His wife was a daughter of a Mr. Elaway, of Philadelphia, and a member of an old family, her ancestors having settled in that locality some forty years prior to the time of William Penn. She died in Bordentown at the age of fourscore. Mr. and Mrs. Whitehead were members of the Baptist church. They were the parents of eight children, seven of whom reached maturity. Of these, four are now living: Mary, Mrs. George; John G. L., the subject of this sketch; Elizabeth, Mrs. Rotsell; and Annie, Mrs. Gardener.
John G. L. Whitehead attended the common schools of his native place until twelve years of age. He then went to sea, and nearly ended his brief existence; for he was taken ill with yellow fever, and had a narrow escape from death. After his recovery he made a voyage to the Caribbean Islands; and on his return he entered the United States Navy, in which he served an apprenticeship of two years. While in the navy he was associated with George W. Childs, later Philadelphia's noted philanthropist. Finally deciding that a life on terra firma would suit him better than the uncertain fortunes of the sea, he engaged in the drug business in Philadelphia, at the same time studying medicine, continuing this so persistently and successfully that he was graduated from the College of Medicine in Philadelphia in 1852, and immediately began to practise. His health breaking down after a time, he engaged in farming for a year, and then resumed the work of his profession, spending two years in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, four years in Chester County, and finally settling at Crosswicks, where he has a fine country seat. He also has an office in the city of Bordentown, Burlington County, N. J., and has a large practice in the city and vicinity.
Dr. Whitehead was married in 1857 to Naomi, daughter of William Harrar, of Bucks County, Pennsylvania. She died at the age of fifty-six, leaving three children: Carrie A., an accomplished young lady, who was a student at the Higgstown Institute; Willett W., who was graduated from the Hahnemann Medical School at Philadelphia in 1882, and has been in active practice as a physician at Mount Holly, N. J., ever since; and Mary. Willett W. Whitehead married Miss Eugenie Pierce. His sister May is the wife of Frank Ellis, of Crosswicks, and has three children - Stanley, Naomi, and Francis. Dr. Whitehead's present wife was before marriage Miss Caroline T. Rogers. She is a native of New Jersey, daughter of John Rogers, a farmer of that State.
In politics Dr. Whitehead has departed from the Democratic traditions of his family, and espoused the cause of the Republican party. He has been for many years a member of the Mount Moriah Lodge, No. 19, A. F. & A. M., of Bordentown. He is a communicant of the Baptist church, as was his first wife. During the years of his professional life he has made many friends, and well deserves to be called "the beloved physician." He has reason to be proud of his family, three generations of which have ventured their lives for the free institutions of this country - his grandfather in the Revolution, his father in the War of 1812, and his brother as chaplain of the Seventy-fourth Pennsylvania Regiment in the war of the Rebellion.
Source: BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW CONTAINING LIFE SKETCHES OF LEADING CITIZENS OF CAMDEN AND BULINGTON COUNTIES, NEW JERSEY, BOSTON BIOGRAPHICL REVIEW PUBLISING COMPANY 1897 - Transcribed by Mary Saggio



WILLETT W. WHITEHEAD, M.D., an active and skillful practitioner of Mount Holly, N.J., was born in Malvern, Pa., February 6, 1860. He is a son of Dr. John Whitehead, a brief biography of whom appears on another page of this work.
Having acquired the rudiments of his education in private schools in his early years, Willett W. Whitehead pursued the higher branches of learning at Peddie Institute in Hightstown and at the University of Pennsylvania, where he spent a year. Having a strong inclination for the medical profession, he began reading medicine with his father, afterward continuing his studies with his uncle, Dr. Gardner, of Philadelphia. While in that city he attended lectures at Hahnemann Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1881. Returning to New Jersey, the young Doctor located at Bordentown, Burlington County, remaining there until December, 1882, when he came to Mount Holly. Here he has established a lucrative general practice, his ability, his devotion to his profession, and his success causing him to rank among the most successful physicians of the place. He is an active member of several medical societies.
The union of Dr. Willett W. Whitehead with Miss Eugenia Pearce, a native of Hightstown, Mercer County, this State, was solemnized in June, 1891. Mrs. Whitehead is likewise a practicing physician. A more extended sketch of her life and ancestry may be found elsewhere in this volume.
BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW OF CAMDEN AND BURLINGTON COUNTIES NEW JERSEY, BOSTON, BIOGRAPHICAL REVIEW PUBLISHING COMPANY, 1897 - Transcribed by Kim Mohler



©Genealogy Trails