NY Genealogy Trails

Dutchess County
New York
Genealogy and History




In 1683, the Province of New York established its first twelve counties, with Dutchess County being one of them. Its boundaries at that time included the present Putnam County, and a small portion of the present Columbia County (the towns of Clermont and Germantown). The county was named for Mary of Modena, Duchess of York, second wife of James, Duke of York (later James II, King of England).

Until 1713, Dutchess was administered by Ulster County.

In 1812, Putnam County was detached from Dutchess.

My name is Terri and I am the Host of the Dutchess County, New York Genealogy Trails site. I am excited to be hosting this site as some of my family comes from this area.

In time I will be adding more information to this site and will post any information submitted to me. If you have any questions or comments, you can

E-mail Me


New York with Putnam County outlined

County Information
County Seat: Poughkeepsie
Year Organized: 1683
Square Miles: 802

Surrounding Counties





Courthouse Info:
County Office Building
22 Market Street
Poughkeepsie, NY 12601-3222


Online Data

Family Bibles

Miscellaneous Data

Church Histories / Records

County Records

School Records

Death Records

Website Updates:
September 2015

History of Dutchess County Pub. 1909 Chapters 8, 9, 10

Various Marriage Announcements

Various Obituaries

Some birth announcements

Old Gravestones of Dutchess County - Town of Amenia, Town of Beekman


Search Our Sites | Join Our Mailing Lists

(New York is covered on the Northeast Mailing List)

Return to Genealogy Trails

Copyright © Genealogy Trails
All data on this website is Copyright by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.