Historical and Genealogical Record Dutchess and Putnam Counties
JORIS DERICKSEN BRINCKERHOFF, the ancestor of the Brinckerhoff family in America, was born as nearly as can be determined in the county of Dreuthe, Holland, in 1609. He married Susannah Dubbels, and in 1638 came to America, settling in New Amsterdam. He intended to settle on Staten Island and did purchase land there, but one day going to look the property over with his sons, one of the sons was shot by the Indians, and this caused him to give up the project, and he went back to New Amsterdam. From there the family seems to have gone to Flushing, and the Fishkill family are part of the Flushing branch.
The first one of the name who is connected with Fishkill, was Derick Brinckerhoff, grandson of Joris Dericksen, and the ancestor of the Fishkill branch. He was born in Flushing March 16th, 1667, married Aeltie Cowenhouven, was an extensive farmer of liberal means and a man of influence and power in the early history of Flushing and the Newtown Church. He had a large family of children and in July 9th, 1718, purchased from Madam Brett, 2000 acres of land lying in the very heart of the Fishkill Valley. This purchase consisted of two parcels of land, one of 1600 acres and the other of 400. It would be interesting to know what the consideration was, but of this history sayeth not. About 500 acres of this purchase still remains in the possession of his descendants, at Brinckerhoff, Dutchess County.
Four of his sons came to Fishkill, three of whom have left no male descendants living there. His eldest son, Abraham's family, still remain to represent his name.
Abraham, the eldest son of Derick and the great grandson of Joris Dericksen, was born shortly after 1700. He was the first man of the name who came to Fishkill to occupy the lands which had been purchased by his father. They extended from a point near Fishkill Village and were bounded by the creek on the south until a mile or more beyond Swartoutville. He built a house on a rise of ground near Brinckerhoff. The country then was entirely new. His nearest neighbors were Peter Du Boys living upon Sprout Creek a mile and a half north of Swartoutville, Johannes Terboss living at Fishkill Village, and Robert Hussey living in a low stone house east of Glenham.
He married Femmetia Remsen, had 7 children and died in the prime of his life, his death occurring previous to that of his father.
Because he was the ancestor of the family in this section, the names of his children are given, they were:
Derick, married Geertie Wyckoff; John A., married Elizabeth Brinckerhoff; Abraham, died without issue; Elizabeth, married Abraham Brinckerhoff; Aeltie, married Abraham Adrianne; Diana, married Rudolphus Swartout and Antie, who married Abraham Lent.
Derick, son of Abraham, and afterwards Colonel, was a man who took a prominent part in the county, both in peace and war. He built the mill at Brinckerhoff, the only other mill being that of Madam Brett, at the mouth of the Creek, and ran his large farm. He was a member of the First Provincial Congress, which assembled May 23d, 1775; member of the First Assembly of the State of New York, and chairman of the Vigilance Committee of the town. His house being located only two miles from the hospitals, workshops and barracks of the Continental Army, encamped near Fishkill during the Revolution, it naturally became the rendezvous of the officers of the Army. Washington was a frequent visitor, and La Fayette lay sick at his house.
Colonel John Brinckerhoff, second son of Derick, and brother of Abraham, the first settler, came to Fishkill when a young man, and built the house now occupied by Myers Brownell. His children with the exception of his daughter Aeltie, who married Dr. Theodorus Van Wyck, died in youth. Colonel John was a staunch Dutch churchman, and left 100 pounds to the Dutch Church at Fishkill, to be held in trust.
Isaac Brinckerhoff, the third brother to come to Fishkill, came from Long Island when a young man, and occupied some part of the original purchase made by his father in 1618. He married Sarah Rapelje and died at Fishkill in 1770, leaving no one of his descendants at that place.
Jacob, twin brother of Isaac and the fourth brother, either was born in Fishkill or came here as a very young boy. He married Elizabeth Lent, and had 8 children, 6 of whom died very young. His daughter married Johannes Dewitt, and his son Derick was a revolutionary soldier under Washington.
He married Catherine Van Vlack of Fishkill and afterwards moved to Long Island with his family.
Dutchess County appears to have been a Land of Promise to the Brinckerhoff family, for aside from the original purchaser of the lands at Brinckerhoff, and his descendants, their cousins from Long Island, settled around New Hackensack and Fishkill Landing, and in the family history one finds frequent notations that such a person or whole family " removed to Fishkill"or" Dutchess County."
In 1783 George Brinckerhoff and his two sons, Teunis and George, came to Dutchess County, and were the founders of the Fishkill Landing branch of the family.
This Flushing branch spell the name Brinckerhoff, while the Pennsylvania and New Jersey branches drop the "c." The name is said by some to mean court messenger, from Brengenhof, the Dutch for Messenger of the Court, or head messenger, from Brenger, a messenger, hof a court, of hoofd, chief or leader, but Dr. Wm. E. Griffis thinks it means a "dweller in the court." The family motto is Constans, Fides, et Integritas.
The family line of Theodore Brinckerhoff follows:
1st. Joris Dericksen Brinckerhoff, wife Susannah Dubbels.
CLEAVELAND GENEALOGY. Moses Cleaveland, the common ancestor of all the Cleavelands of New England, came when a youth to America in 1635, from Ipswich, Suffolk County, England, where he was born in 1624. He married in Woburn, Mass., Anna Winn, September 26, 1648. They had eleven children, of whom Josiah, born February 26, 1666, was the eighth in order of birth, and is the direct ancestor of the Cleaveland family of Poughkeepsie, N. Y. He served in the Indian wars of 1688-89, and died at Canterbury, Conn., April 26, 1709.
Josiah Cleaveland married Mary Bates, and their eldest son, Josiah, was born at Chelmsford, Mass., October 7, 1690, and died at Canterbury, Conn., February 9, 1750.
Josiah3 (Josiah 2, Moses 1) was a man of wealth and of prominence in both town and church. He married Abigail Paine, and eleven children were born to them, of whom John, the seventh in order of birth, continues the direct line of descent.
Rev. John4 (Josiah 3, Josiah 2, Moses 1,) was born at Canterbury, Conn., April 11, 1722. He graduated from Yale in 1745, and became a distinguished divine, ministering to churches in Boston and Ipswich. He married July 15, 1747, Mary Dodge. They had nine children, of whom Nehemiah, born August 26, 1760, continues the next generation. Rev. John Cleaveland died at Ipswich, Mass., April 22, 1799.
Nehemiah5 (Rev. John4, Josiah3, Josiah2, Moses1) was twice married. His first wife, who was Lucy Manning, he married October 6th, 1787. She died in 1791. July 1, 1792, he married Experience Lord, by whom he had eight children. He died at Topfield, Mass., February 26, 1837.
Nehemiah C. 6(Nehemiah5, Rev. John4, Josiah3, Josiah 2,Moses1) was born at Topsfield, Mass., August 16, 1796. He graduated from Bowdoin in 1813, and taught school for several years. In 1839 he was appointed Professor of Ancient Language in Phillips Academy, Exeter, N. H., and received the degree of LL. K. From 1842 to 1848, he conducted a Seminary for young ladies in Brooklyn, N. Y. He married at Ipswich, Mass., September 8, 1823, Abby Pickard Manning, only daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Pickard) Manning of Charleston, S. C. The following children were born at Newbury, Mass.: Joseph Manning, born July 22, 1824; George Nehemiah, born February 17, 1826; Henry William, born December 17, 1827; Abby Elizabeth, born December 16, 1832; Mary Lord, born May 28, 1835. Nehemiah C. died at Westport, Fairfield County, Conn., April 17, 1877.
Joseph Manning7 (Nehemiah6, Nehemiah5, Rev. John4,Josiah3, Josiah2, Moses1), whose biography was published in the 1909 History of Dutchess County, N. Y., was married in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., to Miss Cornelia Frances Barculo who was born in Poughkeepsie March 30, 1851, and died here August 6, 1881. She was a daughter of Hon. Seward and Cornelia A. (Talman) Barculo. The following children were born in Poughkeepsie: Barculo, born August 18, 1878, died in Poughkeepsie, March 5, 1880; Manning, born February 12, 1880; Frederick Howland, born May 4, 1881.
Manning8 (Joseph M7., Nehemiah6, Nehemiah5, Rev. John4, Josiah 3, Josiah2, Moses1) was educated at Riverview Academy, Poughkeepsie, supplemented by one year at the law school of the University of Wisconsin. For several years he has been engaged in the real estatebusiness, and is president of the Cleaveland Building Co. of Poughkeepsie. He is the proprietor of the Cleaveland Taxi-Cab Co.
October 19, 1903, he married Nora Orr of Poughkeepsie, and the following children continue the ninth generation from Moses Cleaveland: Helen Cornelia, born July 4, 1907; Isabel, born March 5, 1909; Manning, born March 20, 1910.
DINSMORE GENEALOGY. William Brown Dinsmore was born in Boston, Mass., July 24th, 1810. He was descended from the Scotch; an ancestor of the old Scotch family of Dinsmore came to this country a few years before 1730, and joined the Colony of Scotch and Scotch Irish at Londonderry (now Antrim), New Hampshire. The Dinsmore genealogical line, as far back as now known, commenced with the "Laird Dinsmore, of distant Achenmead near the River Tweed, Scotland," and he was living certainly as late as 1667. An old letter written by a Robert Dinsmore, about 1794, from Ballywattick, County Antrim, Ireland, gives "an authentic account of the Dinsmoor family," (the name was spelled both ways but Dinsmore was the original spelling). "I make no doubt I could find it, if I knew where to look for it. It contained the Dinsmore's beautiful coat of arms." The old letter says "My father's great-grandfather was an emigrant from a place in Scotland called Achenmead, near the River Tweed," and then continues the story of the family : "This 'emigrant to Ireland' was the son of a wealthy farmer, as I suppose from his style, being called the Laird of Achenmead, as he had tenants under him. He had two sons, of which my grandfather was the second whose name was John. He left his father's house in the seventeenth year of his age." Later, he says "The cause for his leaving his father's house was, that his father obliged him, and that uncovered, to hold the off-stirrup of his elder brother's saddle, when he mounted his horse."
No trace of Achenmead can be found up to the present; it was also spelled Auchinmead, Aikenmead. Tradition asserts that the 'Laird' was a follower of Douglass, whose great castle known as 'Neidpath' Castle was near the city of Peebles, and that the Laird Dinsmore's home was in the vicinity of the castle. In the same Dinsmore letter written to a cousin John Dinsmore of Londonderry, N. H. (grandfather of W. B. Dinsmore), he describes "the Dinsmore Coat-of-Arms as three sheaves of wheat of a yellow color, upright in the center of a green field." These have been looked upon as simply agricultural emblems, but it is well known that a sheaf of wheat is one of the oldest, and an honored, emblem in Heraldry.
John, the younger son of "The Laird," decided quickly to leave his home, joined the colony of Scotch people already settled in Ireland, and made his home at Ballywattick, Ballymony, County Antrim, near Coleraine. It was his son John, born 1671, the eldest child, who came to America, a little before 1730, and after a few years joined the Scotch Colony at Londonderry (Antrim), N. H. Later, after building a home, he sent for his son Robert, and his daughter Elizabeth to come with their step-mother, and their families to live with him. He died 1741.
Robert, born 1692, in Ireland, brought his wife Margaret Orr and four children. Robert died October 14, 1751. His wife died June 2, 1752. Their son "Deacon" John was born 1731; he married Martha, .daughter of Justice James McKeen, or McKean (the latter born 1665, at Ballymony, County Antrim, Ireland), and of his wife Annis Cargill.
Justice McKeen was son of William McKeen "ye soldier," who fled from Scotland to Ireland, and founded the Scotch Colony of Ulster County, Ireland. "He testified before Claverhouse, about the murder of Archbishop Sharp." He was a staunch Protestant, and took part in the defense of Londonderry, Ireland, in 1688-9. Deacon John Dinsmore died July 23, 1793. He and his wife Martha McKeen had a large family, and their eldest son, Hon. Silas Dinsmoor (he preferred this manner of spelling his name) was a brilliant, handsome man, engaged in political life in Washington during President Jackson's Administration.
His younger brother William, is the next in our line. William was born in Londonderry, N. H., April 18, 1787. He moved to Charlestown, Mass., for business affairs, and married September 15, 1803, Katherine, daughter of Gawen Brown, and wife Elizabeth Hill, and lived in Boston, where his children were born.
Gawen Brown was spoken of in Drake's "History of Boston" as "An Englishman residing in Boston." He had a large mansion on King Street (now State Street) where the "Merchant's Bank" now stands. The Boston Massacre took place almost in front of his house, and a story is told of the sudden alarm and departure ff the Brown family, when they hastened to their country home at Weston, a few miles from Boston, only returning three days after, and to their astonishment found that although, in their fright, they had forgotten to close the door, it was still open, but nothing had been disturbed in the house.
Gawen Brown, as a boy in England, had a great fancy for the mechanism of clocks, so he adopted clock-making as his occupation when he came to Boston. He chose coming to this country in preference to entering the Army or Navy of England. He made the great clock which is still in the spire of the historical Old South Church, corner of Washington and Milk Streets, Boston. At the beginning of the Revolution he feared harm would be done to the great clock, so he took it away in pieces, and hid it in the cellar of his house until the war was over. It is said in the family that his son John Flagg Brown (son of the first marriage) was one of the Boston youths dressed as Indians who threw overboard the tea from the British ship on the night of the "Boston Tea Party."
Gawen Brown's first wife was Mary Flagg. The second wife was Elizabeth, daughter of the famous Tory, Rev. Mather Byles, of Hollis Street Church. By that marriage was one son, Mather, who became an artist, and lived with relatives in London, where he painted portraits and decorated several interiors of London churches. The third wife was Elizabeth (widow of Dr. Joseph Adams, brother of "Samuel, the Patriot"), daughter of John Hill of Boston. Elizabeth was born 1769.
The ancestry of Gawen Brown has not yet been discovered in this country. It is only known that he was a second son, and is thought to have come from Northumberland. He only returned to England twice, the last time being for his sister Annie's (or Amy's) "marriage to a nobleman," as tradition says. Gawen Brown died in Boston, August 8, 1801. His wife Elizabeth's father, John Hill, was a son of Henry Hill, who was prominent in Boston affairs in its early days. John and his brother Thomas inherited a large distillery, and much land in and near Essex Street, from their father, and Hill's wharf was also built by him. John Hill's wife was Elizabeth Maxwell of Boston, born February 9, 1699, daughter of John Maxwell; he was baptized December 23, 1669, and was a son of James Maxwell (probably born in Scotland). John Maxwell married, November 5, 1696, Elizabeth Codner. The Hills and Maxwells were successful merchants in Boston's early days. The Maxwells are thought to have come from Glasgow, Scotland.
Next in the Dinsmore line is the son of William and Katherine Brown, William Brown Dinsmore, born in Boston, July 24, 1810. In early life he lived with cousins in Antrim, N. H. Later, after entering various pursuits in Boston and New York, he went into partnership with Alvin Adams in the new express business, the company then being "Adams and Company's Express." Through their long lives Alvin Adams and William B. Dinsmore were as two brothers in their love and esteem for each other. On October 19, 1842, Mr. Dinsmore married Augusta Manners Snow, daughter of Isaac Snow of Boston (formerly of Eastham or Brewster, Mass.), and of his wife Nancy Gray (also formerly of Eastham or Brewster). The Snows were descended from the "Mayflower Pilgrims" through the Brewster, Hopkins and Soule lines. For the benefit of others interested, the Brewster line is, 9Isaac Snow, (8Moses, 7Nathaniel, 6Joseph, Joseph's mother 5Sarah Freeman, 4John Freeman, Jr., John Freeman, Jr's., mother 3Mercy Prince, Mercy Prince's mother 2Patience Brewster [wife of Gov. Thomas Prince] and daughter of 1Elder William Brewster). The Hopkins' line of Isaac Snow is 8Isaac, 7Moses, 6Nathaniel, 5Joseph, 4Edward, 3Jabez, Honl. Nicholas' wife 2Constance, daughter of xStephen Hopkins. Again Isaac Snow was descended from the Hopkins' line through 6Nathaniel Snow's mother, 5Mary Sears, wife of Joseph Snow, whose mother, 4Ruth Myrick, wife of Samuel Sears, was a daughter of William Myrick and 3Abigail Hopkins; the latter was a daughter of 2Giles Hopkins, son of Stephen. Again Isaac Snow was of the Hopkins' line through his grandmother Lydia Hopkins, wife of Nathaniel Snow; she was a daughter of 5Moses Hopkins (4Samuel, 3Stephen, 2Giles, 1Stephen). From Isaac Snow the Soule line is 7Isaac Snow, his mother 6Hannah Freeman, 5Seth Freeman, Seth Freeman's mother, 4Mary Clark, daughter of Scotto Clark and 3Mary Haskell, John Haskell's wife, 2Patience Soule, who was a daughter of 1George Soule. Isaac Snow was descended from another 'Pilgrim,' Joseph Rogers, as follows: 6Isaac Snow, his mother 5Hannah Freeman, her mother 4Abigail Rogers (wife of Seth Freeman), 3Eleazar, 2John, 1Joseph Rogers. Isaac Snow's wife 6Nancy Gray's line was 5Dean, 4Lot Jr., 3Lot, 2John Jr., 1John. Nancy Gray was also twice in descent from Stephen Hopkins ; 8Nancy Gray, 7Dean, his mother 6Miriam Smith (wife of Lot Gray, Jr.), 5Dean Smith, 4John Smith, John Smith's mother 3Mary Hopkins (wife of Samuel Smith), 2Giles Hopkins, 1Stephen Hopkins. Also, again, 8Nancy Gray, 7Dean
Now, to continue the Dinsmore line, Mr. and Mrs. W. B. Dinsmore had two sons, born in New York. The elder, William Brown Dinsmore, Jr., was born June 21, 1844. He married, November 22, 1866, Helen Frances Adams, daughter of Alvin Adams and wife, Ann Rebecca Bridge, at that time living in Watertown, Mass., and formerly in Boston. The second son of Mr. Dinsmore was Clarence Gray Dinsmore, born August 12, 1847. He married Kate, daughter of Thomas Jerome and wife Emma Van der Bilt, April, 1876. They had no children. Clarence Dinsmore died in New York November 8, 1905.
W. B. Dinsmore, 2d, had five children, three of whom are living: Helen Gray Dinsmore, born in Watertown, Mass., married June 1, 1892, at Staatsburgh, Dutchess County, N. Y., Robert Palmer Huntington, Jr., son of Robert Palmer Huntington and wife Alice Ford, of New York and Rhinebeck.
William Brown Dinsmore, 3d, born November 1, 1870, married, in New York, June 4, 1895, Marion de Peyster Carey, daughter of the late George Herbert Carey and wife Clara Foster.
Madeleine Ingraham Dinsmore, now (1910) living with her mother, in the family home at "The Locusts."
To return to W. B. Dinsmore, Sr., he continued in the express business, and in 1848 the company was changed in form, and name, and became The Adams Express Co. Mr. Dinsmore then became President of the Company, and remained so until his death. In 1854 he purchased "The Locusts," from William C. Emmet, Esq., and later bought adjoining property and also more land in Staatsburgh. In 1874 Mr. Dinsmore built the present residence at "The Locusts." He died in New York, April 20, 1888. Mrs. Dinsmore died at Mentone, France, March 13, 1891. They were buried in the St. James churchyard, Hyde Park, N. Y. William B. Dinsmore, 2d, died in Staatsburgh, March 15, 1906.
The wife of W. B. Dinsmore, 2d, was daughter of Alvin Adams (6Jonas, 5Stephen, 4Thomas, 3Pelatiah, 2Thomas, 1Henry of Braintree) . Alvin Adams was born in Andover, Vt., June 16, 1804. He died in Watertown, Mass., September 1, 1877. His father when only sixteen years of age was at the Battle of Bunker Hill with his brother and cousin, and later was severely wounded at the Battle of Bennington. His wife Phebe Hoar (5Benjamin, 4Benjamin, 3Daniel, 2John, 1Charles) was born March 1, 1765, at New Ipswich, Mass.; died February 26, 1813, at Andover, Vt. The wife of Alvin Adams, Ann Rebecca Bridge, was descended from the famous John Bridge, whose statue stands on the Common, Cambridge, Mass. Her line is Ann R. Bridge (7John, 6Nathaniel, 5Nathaniel, 4Matthew, 3Matthew, 2Matthew, 1John of Cambridge.) Her greatgrandfather was Captain Daniel Waters of Maiden, Mass. He performed brilliant services at the beginning of the Revolutionary War, at which time being second in command of the Schooner Lee (50 men and 8 guns) under Captain Manley. General Washington wrote, February 9, 1776, to John Hancock, "Capt. Waters and Capt. Tucker who commanded two of the armed schooners, have taken and sent into Gloucester a large Briganteen." Capt. Waters captured the "Hope" with 1500 barrels of powder, and valuable cargo, valued at £50,000 sterling, and made many other captures of British transports. Washington wrote of him in terms of high approbation and Waters received his commission as Captain in the U. S. Navy March 15, 1777. Mrs. Alvin Adams' mother (wife of John Bridge) was Rebecca Beals (5Samuel, 4Dr. Lazarus, 3Lazarus, 2Jeremiah, 1John of Hingham, Mass.). The mother of Rebecca Beals was Rebecca Wilkinson, daughter of Thomas and of his wife Rebecca Cox of Boston. Mrs. Alvin Adams died at Watertown, Mass., January 10, 1882.
William B. Dinsmore, 3d, attended St. Paul's School, Concord, N. H., for six years, and then went to Harvard College, graduating in the Class of 1893. He has three children: Marion Carey Dinsmore, W. B. Dinsmore, 4th, and Clara Foster Dinsmore.
His wife is descended from a long line of Careys as follows: Marion (8George Herbert, 7Samuel Thomas, 6John, 5John, 4John, 3Francis, 2Patrick, 1Sir Henry 1st Viscount Falkland). Her grandfather Samuel Thomas Carey's wife, was Mary de Peyster (5George, 4Nicholas, 3William, 2Hon. Johannes, 1Johannes). In this line Nicholas married Frances de Kay, and William, his father, married 4Margaret Roosevelt (3Johannes, 2Nicholas, 1Claas Martens Van Roosevelt). The deKay line is 5Frances (4Col. Thomas, 3Jacobus, 2Jacobus Thunis, 1William). The 2d Jacobus de Kay married 3Sarah Willet (2Col. Thomas, Thomas). Mrs. W. B. Dinsmore, 3d's mother, Clara Foster, was related to many prominent New York families. Clara (3Frederick, 2Andrew, 1Mohn from Scotland). Andrew's mother was 5Barbara Fairlie (4John, 3William, 2Robert, 1Fairlie of Fairlie, Ayrshire). Barbara Fairlie's mother was Lady Barbara Mure (4William, 3Sir Robert, 2James, 1Sir Robert). Clara Foster's grandmother Foster was 4Ann Giraud (3Frederic, 2Pierre, 1Andre). Ann Giraud's mother was 4Rebekah Post (3Nicholas, 2Girard, 1William). Girard Post's wife was Altje Van Bergen (Capt. Michel Hansen Van Bergen). Clara Foster's mother was 5Emily Hone (4John, 3John, 2Philip, 1 __________ Hone). Emily Hone's mother was Marie Antoinette Kane ( 5John, 4John, 3William, 2Donald O'Cahan, 1Charles O'Cahan). The mother of Antoinette Kane was Harriet Codwise, and Harriet's mother was Marie Van Rantz, whose father. Luke Van Rantz, married 7Elizabeth Beekman (6Lieut. Gerard, 5Lieut. Gerhardus, 4William, 3Hendrick, 2Gerard, 1Cornelius). In this group of Beekmans, it was the Hon. William who settled at Rhinebeck in 1714.
Since the death of W. B. Dinsmore, 2d, his daughter Helen Huntington has purchased the estate adjoining, towards Rhinebeck, which was lately owned by Bishop Broderick. He purchased it from Miss Mary Parker, who bought it from the heirs of the late Major Rawlins Lowndes, whose wife was a sister of the late Maturin Livingston of Staatsburgh, and of the late Mrs. Lydig Hoyt, of Staatsburgh.
HUNTINGTON GENEALOGY. Robert Palmer Huntington and wife, Helen Gray Dinsmore (daughter of the late William Brown Dinsmore, 2d), live on their estate called "Hopeland House," adjoining the Dinsmore estate on the South. Mr. Huntington is a son of the late Robert Palmer Huntington and wife, Alice Ford. At the time of his marriage to Miss Dinsmore, June 1, 1892, his parents were living in their country house "Bois-Dore," at Rhinebeck. He is descended from the Connecticut family of that name; the first ancestor known of that line, at present, was Simon, who died coming to this country in 1633. His wife Margaret Barrett (from Norwich, England) brought her three children, and they lived at Saybrook, Conn. The son Simon was next of this line. He married at Saybrook, in 1653, Sarah, daughter of John Clarke. Their son, called Deacon Joseph, born September, 1661, in Norwich, Conn., died in Windham, Conn., December 29, 1747. He married, November 28, 1687, Rebecca Adgate (born June, 1666; died November 28, 1748), daughter of Deacon Thomas Adgate of Saybrook, Conn., who was born about 1620, died July, 1707; and married Mary Marvin, daughter of Matthew Marvin of Hartford, Conn., who came on the "Increase" in 1635.
The next in line after Joseph was Nathaniel Huntington of Windham, Conn., born in Norwich, September 1, 1691, died in Windham, December 2, 1767, and married February 28, 1723, in Windham, Mehitable Thurston, born June 8, 1700, died October 4, 1781, in Windham. She was a daughter of John Thurston, of Bristol, R. I., but he probably moved to Windham, Conn., as his daughter was married there. John Thurston was son of Thomas of Medfield, Mass., and wife Sarah Thaxter, and grandson of John Thurston of Wrentham, Suffolk Co., England, the latter baptized January 18, 1601. He lived in Dedham, Mass., and died November 1, 1675, in Medfield, Mass. Sarah Thaxter's father was Thomas Thaxter who came over in 1638, and lived in Hingham, Mass., and died February 14, 1654.
Nathaniel Huntington's son, Eliphalet, is next in our line. He was born April 24, 1737, died June 15, 1799, in Windham, Conn., where he had lived. He was a brother of Samuel Huntington, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. He married, November 11, 1762, in Windham, Dinah Rudd, born 1743, daughter of Jonathan Rudd, of Norwich, Conn., whose father Nathaniel Rudd was son of Jonathan, the first of the family to come to America. This emigrant settled in New Haven in 1640, Saybrook, 1646, Hartford, 1651. He married 1646-7. The son Nathaniel before mentioned, born May 22, 1684, married Rebecca Waldo (born August 6, 1686; died September 27, 1727) on December 27, 1709, in Windham. She was daughter of John Waldo, son of Deacon Cornelius Waldo, who came from England, and settled at Ipswich, Mass., in 1654. Cornelius Waldo's wife was Hannah Cogswell, daughter of John and wife Eliza Thompson. Hannah was born in 1624 in Westbury, Leigh, County Wilts, England. John Waldo's wife was Rebecca Adams (died September 17, 1727, at Canterbury, Conn.), daughter of Samuel Adams and wife Rebecca Graves of Chelmsford, Mass. Samuel Adams was son of Henry of Braintree.
To return to the Rudds: Jonathan, son of Nathaniel Rudd, was born about 1710. He married 1742, Esther, daughter of John Taylor, of Hadley, Mass. (who came over in 1662), and of his wife Mary Selden, daughter of Thomas Selden of Hartford, Conn., and wife Esther Wakeman, who was a daughter of Francis of Bewdley, Worcestershire, England, and wife Anne Goode (daughter of Richard Goode). Anne and Francis Wakeman were married at Eastham, England.
Eliphalet Huntington's son, Nathaniel, comes next. He was born in Windham, August 3, 1763; died in Butternuts, N. Y., 1815. He married Mary Corning (born May 22, 1749, living long after 1815 in Butternuts, N. Y.), daughter of Josiah Corning (born November 15, 1709, died February 27, 1760) and wife Jane Andrews (2William, of Hartford, Conn., 1Samuel of England and New Haven). Jane Andrews (born 1710), daughter of William and wife Mary St. John (3Samuel of Norwich, Conn., 2Matthew, 1Rev. Oliver St. John and wife, Lady Dorothy Rede of England).
The son of Nathaniel and Mary Huntington was Elisha Mills, born March 27, 1806, at Butternuts, N. Y., died Oct. 26, 1862, at St. Paul, Minn. He married, November 3, 1841, Susan Mary Rudd (born January 8, 1820, at Springfield, Ky., died December 3, 1853, at Louisville, Ky.). Elisha M. Huntington was admitted to the bar at the age of twenty-one, having prepared for college while living with his Uncle, Elisha Mills, at Canandaigua, N. Y. He served four years in the legislature, and was then Judge of his district. In 1842 he was appointed, by President Tyler, District Judge for Indiana. After his wife's death he moved to Cannellton, Indiana, and died at St. Paul, Minn., October 26, 1862. His wife was daughter of Dr. Christopher Rudd, of Maryland, and later of Danville, Ky. (where Dr. Rudd married Anna Benoist Palmer). Dr. Rudd's father was James, born about 1747, in Maryland, died August 9, 1809, or 1816, Washington Co., Ky. James Rudd was son of James, brother of the Mayor of London. Dr. Rudd's mother was Susannah Brooke, born 1751, at Marleboro, Maryland. She was a daughter of Henry Brooke (he was born in 1703), whose sister married Charles Carroll, and these latter were parents of the renowned
The Brooke family had land granted to them by the Crown about 1600. Clement Brooke's wife, Jane Sewall, was daughter of Major Nicholas Sewall (son of Henry, who came to America in 1660) and wife Susannah Burgess, daughter of Hon. William Burgess, of Ann Arundel Co., Maryland. Hon. William lived at South River, Maryland, and died January 24, 1686. At one time he commanded all the military forces of Maryland.
To return to the wife of Dr. Christopher Rudd, Anna Benoist Palmer: she was daughter of Col. Robert Palmer and Mary Caldwell. Both the Palmer and Caldwell lines are as yet a little unsettled, but of the Palmer, it is thought the original member in this country arrived with a party of 180 families of French Huguenots in Carolina, in 1689, and settled on the Santee River, in St. James Parish. Palmer became a man of wealth and distinction in the province. He married Marianne Gendron, daughter of John Gendron, a pillar of the Huguenot Church at Jamestown. A son, Thomas, married three times, and lived on the family estate of "Gravel Hill." The family of Palmer were originally named Benoist in France, and Col. Robert Palmer's father, Col. Henry Palmer of Chester, S. C, married Anna Benoist, which name also was given to the granddaughter of Col. Henry; so it seems most probable this line is correct.
In the Caldwell line, Mary, who married Col. Robert Palmer, belonged to Irish ancestry, and one of the line is supposed to have been a soldier with Oliver Cromwell (the mother of Cromwell was a Cauldwell). At the time of the Restoration of Charles II. the members of the Caldwell family scattered, and John, David, and Andrew came to America. John, with other relatives who joined him, about 1742, made the Caldwell Settlement in Charlotte County, Virginia. John's son, Robert, was an early settler in Mercer County, Ky. He lived near Danville. He died in 1806. His wife was Mary Logan. Their daughter, Mary Caldwell, married Robert Palmer, who was born in South Carolina. His parents died when he was young, and he was educated by his grandparents.
We return now to the Huntington line. The next was the son of Judge Elisha Mills Huntington and wife Susan Mary Rudd. (At the time of that marriage she was the widow of Clark Fitzhugh.) She died in Louisville, Ky., Dec. 3, 1853. Robert Palmer Huntington was born September 7, 1842, and died at Oakland, Arkansas, May 17, 1893, during a visit to his plantation. He was educated at Annapolis, but resigned from the Navy at the time of his marriage, on account of his health. His wife, Alice Ford, was daughter of James Coleman Ford, of Louisville, Ky., and wife, Mary Jane Trimble, daughter of Judge Robert Trimble. James Coleman Ford was born 1798, died October 12, 1881, at Louisville, Ky. He was son of William Ford, and grandson of Edward Ford, the latter born 1738, in Prince William Co., Va., and died 1814. Edward Ford's wife was Elizabeth Keith, daughter of Rev. James William Keith, and Mary Isham Randolph. Mary Randolph was daughter of the famous Thomas Randolph of Tuckahoe, Va., born 1683 (2William, 1Richard). Her grandfather, William Randolph, was born in Yorkshire, England, came over in 1674, and lived on Turkey Island, Va. His wife was Mary Isham, daughter of Henry Isham of Bermuda-Hundreds, James River, Va. Mary Isham Randolph's husband, Rev. James William Keith, came to Virginia, and settled in Farquier County. He was a native of Scotland, and is thought by many to be descended from the Earl- Marshals Keith of Scotland. He was born in Scotland about 1696. It this supposition be correct, he was son of Thomas Keith, professor at Marischal College, Aberdeen, and this Thomas was son of the 10th and last Earl-Marshall of Scotland. The mother of James Coleman Ford was Mary Warfield, born Dec. 13, 1776, daughter of Elisha Warfield and Ruth Burgess. Elisha was born November 29, 1741, in Maryland, but lived later in Fayette County, Ky. He died July 16, 1818. He was son of Benjamin (2John, 1Richard who came to Americain 1662 from Berkshire, England; he was born 1637; his wife was Elinore Browne). Benjamin Warfield's wife was Rebecca Ridgeley, daughter of Nicholas of "Eden Hill," near Dover, Delaware. Mrs. James Coleman Ford was Mary Jane Trimble, daughter of Judge Robert Trimble. He was born in 1777, or 1780, in Berkley County, Va. President James Madison appointed him as United States District Judge, January 31, 1817. He was appointed to the Supreme Bench of the United States in 1826 by President John Quincy Adams. He died August 25, 1828. His wife was Nancy Timberlake, daughter of Samuel Timberlake, of Virginia and Kentucky.
Robert Palmer Huntington, 1st, had two sons, born in Louisville, Ky. The elder is James Coleman Ford Huntington, and the younger is Robert Palmer Huntington, born January 15, 1869. The two brothers graduated at Yale College in 1891. Robert and his wife lived with his wife's father, W. B. Dinsmore, 2d, many years, at "The Locusts," Staatsburgh, but in October, 1909, removed to "Hopeland House," on the estate Mr. and Mrs. Huntington purchased from Bishop Broderick, which had formerly belonged to Miss Mary Parker, and before Miss Parker had bought the house and land it belonged to the heirs of the widow of Major Rawlins Lowndes. Mrs. Lowndes was sister of the late Maturin Livingston, and the late Mrs. Lydig Hoyt of Staatsburgh.
Mr. and Mrs. Huntington have three children: Helen Dinsmore Huntington, Alice Ford Huntington, and Robert Dinsmore Huntington.
AUSTIN H. WATSON, retired dry-goods merchant of New York, was born at Wilmington, Vt., April 27, 1842. His youth was uneventful and was passed on the farm, and in his father's mills, where he acquired those habits of industry which have characterized his career, and contributed so materially towards the success he has achieved.
At the age of twenty he enlisted as a private in Co. F., Sixteenth Regiment, Vermont Volunteers, subsequently becoming orderly of the regiment. He distinguished himself at the Battle of Gettysburg, and in recognition of his gallant service Col. Veazey appointed him Quartermaster Sergeant of the regiment. In August, 1863, he was honorably discharged.
In 1864 Mr. Watson was appointed to a clerkship in the office of the Western Union Telegraph Company, at Rochester, N. Y., and in 1866 was made store-keeper in charge of the main supply depots in New York. He retained this position for thirteen years, and in 1879 resigned to become junior partner of the firm of James E. Vail, Jr. & Co., dry-goods and commission merchants in New York. Six years later he became the senior partner of the firm of Watson, Bull & Co., the business of which was consolidated with the notion house of Noyes, Smith & Co., January 1, 1897, Mr. Watson becoming the senior member of the new firm of Watson, Porter, Giles & Co., the largest house in this special line of business in New York.
In 1900 Mr. Watson was appointed president of the New York Credit Men's Association, where he rendered services of the most valuable character for two terms. He is a member of the Board of the Shoe and Leather branch of the Metropolitan Bank, and of the Mutual Alliance Trust of New York.
In 1879 Mr. Watson was united in marriage with Julia, daughter of Redelia K. and James E. Vail. They are the parents of two children: Everett Vail Watson, who is proprietor of the Fishkill Motor Car Company, at Fishkill Landing, N. Y., and who married Elsa Van Kirk Foos; and Beatrice, who married Ferdinand Augustus Hoyt, attorney-at-law, of Fishkill Landing, now a member of the Legislature, representing the First District of Dutchess County.
For many years Mr. A. H. Watson resided in Stamford, Conn., and upon his retirement from active business, January, 1910, he purchased the Brinckerhoff farm known as "The Magnolias," in the town of Fishkill. This property, which is situated on the State Road two miles north of the village of Fishkill Landing, is one of the most picturesque estates overlooking the Hudson.
ARTHUR V. ROCKWELL. The family of Rockwell is of Norman origin. The first of the name in England was Sir Ralph de Rocheville, one of the Knights who accompanied the Empress Maude into England when she claimed the throne of that realm. Sir Ralph ultimately joined King Henry II, and had a grant of three Knight fees of land in the County of York, upon which estate the Rockwells of Great Britain have continued up to the present day.
William Rockwell, the ancestor of all of that name in America, was one of that association of churchmen organized in 1623, in Devonshire, England, "for the purpose of making settlements on the shores of New England." The vessel sailed from England March 20, 1630, and arrived at Nantasket May 30th. William Rockwell was one of the deacons of the first church formed at Dorchester, Mass., and one of the first "three selectmen" of the town, and signed the first land grants.
Deacon William Rockwell was born in 1595; married Susanna Chapin, born April 5, 1602. He died at New Windsor, Conn., May 15, 1640. His children were: John, born in England, April 25, 1625; Samuel, born Dorchester, Mass., March 28, 1631, married, April 7, 1660, Mary Norton of Guilford, Conn.; Ruth, born Dorchester, August, 1633, married, October 7, 1652, Christopher Huntington; Joseph, born 1635. The family moved to Connecticut about 1636.
Arthur V. Rockwell (deceased) was a silk manufacturer of Matteawan. He was born at Millbrook, New York, February 14, 1866, and died at his home in Glenham, New York, August 17, 1910; a direct descendant of William Rockwell, the common ancestor. He was the only son of Ralph Rockwell and his wife Elizabeth Broadhurst. His father, who was born in the town of South Windsor, Conn., September 27, 1837, was engaged in the manufacture of silk nearly all of his life, operating mills at Yonkers, Peekskill, Poughkeepsie and Matteawan. On the maternal side the Broadhurst family was largely engaged in the silk business, and John Broadhurst,
Mrs. Ralph Rockwell's father, wove the first piece of broad silk goods made in America. It was therefore quite natural that our subject after finishing his studies at Eastman Business College should embark in the same line of trade as his ancestors. He entered the employ of his father, who was then operating the celebrated "Red Mills" of Poughkeepsie, and in 1892 purchased the interests of John Cummings, who with Ralph Rockwell established a plant at Matteawan. Following the death of his father, December 27, 1903, he purchased what was known as the Ben Hall mill, at Matteawan, and established a "silk throwing" factory, which gave employment to between sixty and seventy-five people. He conducted this plant with marked success up to the time of his death.
In 1888 Mr. Rockwell married Susie, daughter of William H. and Anna C. (Brevoort) Van Dyne, of Poughkeepsie, who survives him. Mrs. Rockwell is of Holland descent, and on the paternal side the Van Dyne family has been connected with the history of Dutchess County for several generations. Of the maternal ancestors the grandfather, Benjamine Brevoort, was a resident of Fishkill, and the family later occupied a prominent place in the history of New York City.
In social life Mr. Rockwell was a member of the Matteawan Club; the Hudson River Lodge No. 57 K. of P.; Beacon Blue Lodge, No. 283, F. & A. M.; the Elks, of Newburgh, and held the position of first president of the Beacon Engine Company of Matteawan, and wasan honorary member of all the Fire Companies of the town of Fishkill. Politically he was a Republican .
GEORGE WASHINGTON BEACH. When a man retires from active business life at the age of fifty-three years he doubtless realizes a satisfaction for the industry, energy and economy exercised in the prime of manhood. Such is the career of George W. Beach, one of the substantial citizens of Fishkill-on-Hudson, N. Y. Mr. Beach was born in the village of Matteawan, N. Y., January 31, 1835, a son of Benjamin H. and Abigail (Briggs) Beach, and grandson of Titus (son of Rev. Benjamin Beach, a resident of North Haven, Conn.) and Elenear (Haynor) Beach. Titus Beach died September 26, 1855, aged 79 years, and Elenear (Haynor) Beach, his wife, died January 14, 1874, aged 87 years.
Abigail, his mother, was a daughter of Caleb and Phoebe (Van Tassel) Briggs. Claeb died April 1, 1828, aged 64 years. Phoebe died October 31, 1863, aged 89 years.
Mr. Beach acquired his education at the public schools of his native place, and at the Academy in Fishkill village. He then decided to learn the machinists trade, and after serving part of his apprenticeship in Matteawan, he became connected with the Fishkill Machine Company, where he remained until 1871. He then removed to Yonkers, N. Y., to accept a position as chief engineer of the Waring Hat Co. He later became a member of the firm of the Yonkers Hat Company, and also filled the position of chief engineer of this plant. In 1888, Mr. Beach having accumulated a competence, concluded to retire from active business life. He then returned to Fishkill-on-Hudson, where he has since made his home.
In public life he has served as a trustee of this village for a period of five years, and has been a member of the Board of Education since 1890. Mr. Beach is also a trustee of the Mechanics Savings Bank of Fishkill Landing, and in his younger days was identified with the old Dennings Guard.
In 1856 Mr. Beach was united in marriage with Phoebe E. Briggs, of New York, daughter of Jonathan and Maria Briggs.
Mr. and Mrs. Beach have travelled extensively, touring Mexico, the Pacific Coast and the Bahamas.
In appreciation of his public service, and as a token of esteem, Mr. Beach was tendered a banquet by his fellow citizens at the Holland House, Matteawan, February 22d, 1910.
HERRICK LINEAGE. The American ancestry in the male line of Timothy Herrick of Staatsburgh, Dutchess county, N. Y., is traced to Henry Herrick, who was born in England in 1604, the sixth child of Sir William Herrick, a famous London merchant, residing at Beau Manor Park, County of Leicester, England.
I. Henry Herrick (or, Henry of Salem, as he was subsequently known) came first to Virginia, and later removed to Salem, Mass., where he and his wife (Editha Laskin) were among the thirty persons who founded the First Church in Salem, in 1629. They became the parents of the following children:
II. Joseph (Henry 1) of Cherry Hill, Salem, Mass., was for four years a Representative to the General Court from Beverly. He was thrice married. By his first wife, Sarah, daughter of Richard Leach, of Salem, whom he married February 7, 1666, he had four children— Joseph, Benjamin, John and Sarah. The third son, John, is the direct ancestor of the subject of this research. His second wife was Mary Endicott of Salem, whom he married in 1677, and by whom he had nine children. He married, thirdly, June 28, 1707, Mary, widow of Captain George March, of Newbury, Mass., who survived him. He died February 4, 1717.
III. John (Joseph2, Henry 1) was born January 25, 1670, and died at Salem in 1742. His farm was at Wenham, Mass. He married Ann, daughter of Deacon Peter Woodbury, and granddaughter of John Woodbury, who was a first settler at Cape Ann in 1624. Their children were Zachariah, Josiah (died in infancy), John, Josiah, Sarah, Anna, Jerusha, and Lois. The fourth son, Josiah, continues the line of this branch of the Herrick family.
IV. Josiah (John3, Joseph2, Henry1) was born February 6, 1704, and died at Wenham, Mass., May 14, 1772. He married, November 2, 1725, Joanna Dodge, of Beverly, Mass., who died August 27, 1755. Their children were Sarah, John, Josiah, Zachariah, Daniel, Joanna, Anna, Mary, David, Joshua. The third child, Josiah, continues this line.
V. Josiah (Josiah4, John3, Joseph 2, Henry1) was born November 10, 1733, and died in April, 1799. He settled in Amherst, Hillsborough County, N. H. By his wife, Mary Low, of Ipswich, Mass., the following children were born: Mary, Joanna, Josiah, Lydia, William, Elizabeth, Daniel L., Jonathan, Joseph, Sarah and Hannah.
VI. Joseph (Josiah 5, Josiah 4, John3, Joseph2,Henry1), the ninth child of Josiah and Mary (Low) Herrick, was born November 3, 1775, and died June 18, 1833, at Antrim, N. H. He was a carpenter by trade. He married, April 18, 1805, Mary Cox, who was born November 21, 1783, in Beverly, Mass., and died July 18, 1848. Their children were Joseph, William Cox, Sarah Batchelder, Nathaniel Brown, Samuel Dinsmore, Josiah, John White, Charles, and Harriet Eliza.
VII. Nathaniel Brown (Joseph6, Josiah5, Josiah 4, John 3, Joseph 2, Henry 1) was born at Beverly, Mass., April 23, 1813, and died at Antrim, N. H., September 1, 1877. October 6, 1835, he married Elvira Simonds, of Antrim, N. H., who was born October 19, 1816, and died April 1, 1904. Their children were Timothy, born in Antrim, N. H., October 19, 1836; Almena, born in Antrim, November, 1838, died July 20, 1847; Clementine, born in Antrim, July 18, 1840; and Luella Laurertte, born in Windsor, N. H., December 22, 1850.
VIII. Timothy (Nathaniel B. 7, Joseph6, Josiah5, Josiah 4, John3, Joseph2, Henry1), born at Antrim, N. H., October 19, 1836, removed to Staatsburgh, Dutchess county, N. Y., April 2, 1857. October 2, 1858, he married Elizabeth, daughter of John Muldoon, of New York City, and the following children were born : George Augustus, born July 20, 1859; Mary Elizabeth, born July 16, 1861; William Elmer, born February 10, 1863, died July 26, 1863; Luella Jane, born August 26, 1864; John James, born April 5, 1866; Albert Elmer, born January 19, 1869. For over half a century Timothy Herrick has been superintendent of "The Locusts," the estate of William B. Dinsmore, in the town of Hyde Park.
SETH SECOR. The family of which Mr. Secor was a descendant comes of French Huguenot stock, the original name being Sicard. They left France and went to England where they remained until 1684, when one of their number, Ambroise Sicard, came to America and stopped for a time in New York. In 1692 he took up land at New Rochelle and settled there. He had three sons, Ambroise, Jr., James and Daniel; the latter married Susan Soulice, and their son Isaac who married Catherine La Count were the parents of Alexander Secor, the original member of the family to settle in Putnam county.
Alexander Secor married Miss Sarah Scofield, a native of Westchester county, and the couple came to Putnam county in 1800. Seven children were born to them, as follows: Seth, Justus, Elias, Alfred, Anna, Alexander and Deborah. Anna married Hustis Wood of Putnam county and Deborah married Luke Wood of the same county. Elias removed to Iowa, and Alexander located at Eddyville, Ulster county, N. Y., near the place where his descendants now live.
Alfred, the father of Seth Secor, was born at the Secor homestead in 1809. In 1838 he married Cornelia daughter of Jordan Springer, of Putnam county. He became prominent in political and business affairs, in which he was associated with his brother Justus. For many years they were engaged in the grocery business, on Main street, Cold Spring.
Mr. Seth Secor was born July 13, 1839, in the old home on the place which was then known as the Secor farm, now owned by the widow of General Butterfield. At the age of fifteen he obtained a position as clerk in the grocery store of A. Merrick & Co. and about a year later entered the employment of the firm of Alfred & Justus Secor, who in 1847 had acquired the business of Merrick & Co. November 10, 1859, in company with Harrison Secor, he purchased this business. The partnership lasted for a year, when he bought the interest of Harrison Secor, and up to the time of his death, March 12, 1909, conducted the business as sole proprietor and with marked success.
April 16, 1863, Mr. Secor married Emily, daughter of Solomon Bronson, a native of Connecticut, and of Elizabeth Nichols, who was born in the town of Kent, Putnam county. Three children were born to them—Etta and Alfred, deceased, and Cornelia, widow of the late P. C. Reilley.
Mr. Secor was keenly interested in the religious, political, social and fraternal life of the community. He was a Republican in politics, and in 1884 was elected Supervisor, holding the position for four years consecutively. He had also served as Town Clerk, Member of the Board of Education, Trustee and President of the Village of Cold Spring, Secretary of the Board of Water Commissioners, Vice-President of the Board of Trustees of the Methodist Church, a Director of the Cold Spring National Bank, and Treasurer of the local Fire Company from its organization in 1896.
He was a member of Philipstown Lodge, No. 236, F. & A. M.
His death deprived the Village of Cold Spring of one of its most honored citizens, whose life is a monument to the virtue of honor, integrity and clean living.
JOSEPH N. BADEAU, of Matteawan, N. Y., is a lineal descendant of Elias Badeau, a worthy Huguenot, who, with many others, fled from La Rochelle, France, following the revocation of the Edict of Nantes, and founded New Rochelle, N. Y. The earliest record of this family in America appears in the purchase of 120 acres of land in Westchester county by Elias Badeau in 1708.
John Badeau, b. 1700, d. 1787, the son of Elias, came from New Rochelle with his son Peter, b. 1728, d. 1816, and settled at Red Mills, Putnam county, in 1775. Here they held a farm on the Roger Morris lot until after the Revolution. In 1782 John Hathorn and Samuel Dodge, commissioners of forfeiture, sold to Peter Badeau the farm which he then held.
Peter Badeau, who died August 9, 1816, had early in life married Catherine Coutant, also of Huguenot ancestry. Their children were: Peter, born in 1749, removed to Albany, N. Y.; Isaac, born May 13, 1750, died in 1842; John, born 1752, lived near Peekskill; Elias, born 1755, lived at Troy, N. Y.; Jacob, born 1757, lived in Westchester county; Catherine, born 1759, married Isaac Heroy; James, born 1761, died young; Magdalen, born 1763, married James Heroy; David, born 1765, died young; William, born 1767, died in 1860, at Port Byron, N. Y.; Isaiah, born 1770, resided in New York City.
Isaac Badeau, the second son of above parentage, also married a Coutant, namely: Susan, daughter of Henry Coutant of New Rochelle, and of the nine children born to them, Isaac Badeau, Jr., the eighth in order of birth, was the father of the subject of this sketch. He was bom March 17, 1795, and died October 14, 1866. He married, March 11, 182-2, Elizabeth Hart of Mahopac Falls, N. Y., and the following children were born: Gilbert H. (deceased); William H. (deceased); Matilda S., now Mrs. Peter A. Robinson, and Joseph N. In 1845 the family removed to Fishkill, Dutchess county.
The other eight children of Isaac and Susan (Coutant) Badeau, were: Peter, b. 1776, d. 1864, married Hannah Harden; Henry, b. 1778, d. 1868, married Elizabeth Coutant, b. 1786, d. 1865; William, b. 1780, d. 1826. He was the grandfather of Gen. Adam Badeau. Isaac (1) died young; Gilbert, b. 1785, d. 1867, married Elizabeth Pine; Elias, b. 1789, died young; Fanny, b. 1791, d. 1840; John, 1797, d. 1845, unmarried.
Joseph N. Badeau, the present representative of the family, was born at Red Mills, Putnam county, December 2, 1837. After finishing his education at the public schools in Fishkill he served his apprenticeship as a pattern-maker with the Fishkill Landing and Machine Company, being subsequently promoted to foreman of that department. He remained with the concern for a period of fifty-four years, resigning his position in the spring of 1911.
In church affiliation Mr. Badeau is a member of the Presbyterian Church of Matteawan, and has served as elder for fortv-four years.
September 28, 1863, he was united in marriage with Wilhelmina Nelson Brown (b. July 8, 1840, d. Sept. 12, 1904), daughter of James and Margaret (Scott) Brown of Orange County, Florida. Issue: Margaret Scott, b. Dec. 1, 1864, d. June 20, 1867; Elizabeth Hart, b. April 1, 1867; Harriet Brown, b. Sept. 20, 1869; Wilhelmina Howland, b. June 3, 1872, d. Dec. 20, 1899; Fanny Masters, b. Dec. 23, 1874; George Scott, b. May 23, 1877, d. May 8, 1903; Josephine Edgerton, b. Dec. 9, 1878.
Continuing the J. N. Badeau line of descent, Elizabeth Hart married Sept. 16, 1885, Dr. Arthur R. Teal. Issue: Arthur D., b. Jan. 22, 1887; Wilhelmina B., b. April 26, 1889, died in infancy; Margaret Scott, b. Feb. 4, 1893, died in infancy; Helen Josephine, b. July 22, 1895; Francis William, b. Sept. 15, 1897, died in infancy; George Walter, b. May 18, 1899; Margaret Elizabeth, b. Feb. 16, 1901, died in infancy; Elizabeth B., b. Oct. 14, 1903; Catherine Brown and Winifred Rogers, twins, b. Aug. 28, 1906, the former dying in infancy.
Harriet Brown married Sept. 7, 1898, George Childres Dortch. Issue: Dorothy Howland, b. Dec. 6, 1899.
Fanny Masters married June 27, 1900, La Tourette D. Brinckerhoff. Issue: Theodore, b. May 13, 1901; Harriet, b. April 15, 1903; Ten Eyck, b. Nov. 6, 1905; Wilhelmina, b. Nov. 18, 1907.
Josephine Edgerton, married May 30, 1903, Charles O. Terwilliger. Issue: James Ostrander, b. Oct. 25, 1904died in infancy; Ann Coldwell, b. Oct. 10, 1906; Charles Ostrander, b. March 23, 1908.
GEORGE C. SMITH was born in Shrub Oak, Westchester county, N. Y., in 1840, a son of Leonard and Mary (Carpenter) Smith. His father was a farmer there, and afterwards pursued that occupation in the town of Fishkill. He was also Deputy Sheriff for Westchester county.
When quite a young man George C. Smith went to Brooklyn, where he acted as clerk in a grocery store for some time, afterwards serving in that capacity for the old firm of William Teller & Co. In 1861 Mr. Smith entered the employ of the New York Rubber Company. He worked his way up while there until he became Superintendent, a position held by him for many years and up to the time of his death.
Mr. Smith was a member of the Reformed Church of Fishkill Landing and held the office of Deacon. He was also a member of Beacon Lodge, F. & A. M., an honorary member of Lewis Tompkins Hose Company, and was one of the charter members of the old Dennings Guard. He was a trustee of the Mechanics Savings Bank, had served as president and trustee of the village of Fishkill Landing, and had been a member of the sewer board.
In 1861 Mr. Smith was united in marriage with Elsie M. Bishop, daughter of Miles and Cynthia (Ives) Bishop, of Connecticut, and to them was born one son, Walter, who died in early manhood. Mr. Smith died July 19, 1907, and left surviving him, his wife, two brothers and one sister: Ferdinand, of New York; Leonard, of Matteawan; and Mrs. Charles E. Martin, of Fishkill Landing.
ADOLPH G. HUPFEL, of "Echodale," a charming country estate in the town of East Fishkill, Dutchess county, was born August 12, 1845, in Orange county, N. Y., the son of Adolph and Catherine (Glaser) Hupfel, the former a native of Neviges, Prussia, the latter of Holland birth.
His parents resided in New York until 1843, when they removed to Orange county, where the father engaged in the manufacture of fishing rods, which he continued until his death in 1849, His widow conducted the business about three years, and then married Anton Hupfel, who took it in charge, continuing the same until 1854, when he associated hmself with Roemelt and Assheimer in the brewery business at Nos. 223, 229, East 38th street, New York. In 1858 he bought out his partners and carried on the business alone until his retirement in 1873, his two stepsons, Adolph G. and John C. G. Hupfel taking the place in partnership under the firm name of A. Hupfel's Sons.
Adolph G. Hupfel was educated at public and private schools, and began business life at the foot of the ladder, thoroughly learning the brewery business in all its details; and the extensive trade built up by this firm is largely due to his energy and perseverance. He retired from active business life in 1906.
On April 11, 1870, Mr. Hupfel married Miss Catherine Kuntz of New York City, who died in February, 1871, with her only child. Mr. Hupfel married her sister, Miss Magdalen Kuntz, by whom he has had five children: Katherine G.; Adolph G. Jr., (who married Lottie Johnson of Virginia, and they are the parents of a daughter, Virginia); Francis (deceased); Antionette G.; and Otto G., who married Anna Mott of Watervliet, N. Y., they are the parents of two children: Magdalen and Walter.
March 15, 1884, Mr. Hupfel purchased from Hasbrouck Dubois 202 acres of farm land in the town of East Fishkill, near Brinckerhoff, and he subsequently acquired an additional 31 acres About 150 acres of the farm are under cultivation, some twenty of which is devoted to fruit There were no improvements of any kind on the property at the time of Mr. Hupfel's purchase, and he has spent many thousands of dollars in bringing it up to its present state of perfection. Nature did much for it, and "Echodale" ranks among the show places of Dutchess county.
THE FARRINGTON FAMILY. The family of Farrington, of which the late William R. Farrington is a descendant, are of Shaw Hall, Lancashire, England. The Farringtons of Farrington Wearden and Shaw Hall, all in the parish of Leyland and County Palatine of Lancaster, arose at the time of the Conquest and have since preserved an uninterrupted male succession. They resided at Farrington as recently as the time of Elizabeth, and continued at Wearden until the close of the Sixteenth Century, when they removed to Shaw Hall. The Manor of Leyland was held by them of King Edward the Confessor, and the men of the Manor, which was of a superior order, as well as those of Salford, enjoyed the privilege of attending to their own harvest instead of the King's.
According to Thompson's History of Long Island, one Edmund Farrington with a number of others embarked from Lynn, Mass., in a vessel with a Captain Howe, on or about the 16th of May, 1640, and arrived at Cow Bay, Long Island, where they purchased from the Indians from the Eastern part of Oyster to Cow Bays, and where they were dispossessed by the Dutch Governor Kieft on the 19th of May, 1640. This Farrington originally came from Southampton, England. He with the others afterwards bought Agawam of the Indians, a tract about twenty miles long and six miles wide, and made a settlement which he called Southampton.
Edmund Farrington returned to Lynn, Mass., and in 1655 built a mill there. He died in 1680 at the age of eighty-eight years. He had two sons, namely, Thomas and Edmund Farrington who remained on Long Island. Thomas Farrington in 1645 was one of the patentees of Flushing, N.Y., and his brother Edmund was a magistrate in 1657. The latter had a son named John Mastin Farrington. Thomas Farrington, as shown on the East Chester town records, was one of their descendants. He removed from Flushing to East Chester about the year 1750 and became one of the purchasers of Long Beach and founder of the town. Thomas settled in Yonkers, afterward removing to Hunt's Bridge and from there to Long Beach. A great number of the descendants of Thomas Farrington reside in Dutchess and Westchester counties and in the city of New York.
William R. Farrington was born in Pleasant Valley, N. Y., April 28, 1831. He was a son of George W. Farrington, one of the owners of a cotton mill at Pleasant Valley, and a grandson of Timothy Farrington, who was a Quaker preacher, and conducted a saw mill at Pleasant Valley. He came to Poughkeepsie in 1849 to accept a position in a china store kept by George W. Farrington, who, however, was not a relative. He remained here for several years and in 1859 went to Europe as the agent of the celebrated china house of E. V. Haughwout & Company of New York. His headquarters were at Paris and he had full charge of the branch house there, which in 1866 became Haughwout & Farrington. While abroad he married Miss Eleanor Daly of Brooklyn.
In 1877, desiring to engage in business for himself, he returned to Poughkeepsie, to the store at 266 Main street, where he started as a boy, and engaged in the china business, in which he continued to the time of his death, March 8, 1910.
In 1888, Mr. Farrington chose for his second wife Miss Mary Elizabeth Goodsell, daughter of Charles Henry Goodsell of Cold Spring, Putnam County, New York. Mr. and Mrs. Farrington had no children and Miss Mabel G., daughter of Benjamin Goodsell and niece of Mrs. Farrington, was adopted, and survives her foster parents.
DANIEL W. WILBUR, of Poughkeepsie, is the ninth generation in descent of Samuel Wildbore, who was living in America in 1633, and who was admitted to the First Church of Boston, December 1st of that year. He had married in England, Ann Bradford, the daughter of Thomas Bradford, of Doncaster, in Yorke county.
I. Samuel Wildbore became the owner of considerable property in Boston and Taunton, Mass. In November, 1637, he was one of a party that was banished from the colony on account of religious views, and fled to Providence, R. I. In 1645 he returned to Boston, and later built an iron furnace at Taunton, the first in New England. His second wife was Elizabeth Lechford, but the date of the death of his wife Ann, likewise the date of his subsequent marriage, are not of record. He died July 24, 1656, and his will was probated November 6th of the same year. Of the four sons born by his first wife, William, the third in order of birth, is the direct ancestor of Mr. Wilbur of Poughkeepsie.
II. William was born in 1630, and died in 1710. He married Martha ____________ in 1653. They settled at Little Compton, R. I., about 1654. They had ten children, of whom the seventh, Samuel, continues this line.
III. Samuel was born in 1664 and died in 1740. He married, in 1689, Mary, daughter of Nathaniel and Elizabeth (Stokes) Potter, and their second child, whose name was Samuel, continues the fourth generation.
IV. Samuel was born November 7, 1692, and died April 28, 1752. He married Elizabeth Carr, December 24, 1713. They were the parents of thirteen children, of whom Esek was the ninth in order of birth.
V. Esek Wilbur was born December 22, 1728, and died in 1781. He was one of the early settlers on the Little Nine Partners' Patent. His first wife, Rachel Gifford, he married February 7, 1751. She died in 1763. His second wife was Rebecca Tabor, whom he married March 7, 1765. It is the fourth child, Jeptha, by his first wife, who continues the next generation.
VI. Jeptha Wilbur was born January 18, 1759, and died in 1843. In 1780 he married Elizabeth, daughter of Ephriam Mosher. This couple were also the parents of thirteen children, of whom Samuel was the third in order of birth.
VII. Samuel Wilbur was born in what is now the town of Milan, Dutchess county, May 7, 1785, and died November 6, 1826. He was an active supporter of the old Whig party and well known throughout the county. Most of his life was spent in farming in Pine Plains. In 1805 he married Betsey, daughter of Benjamin Hicks. She was born October 5, 1786, and died November 26, 1881. Jeptha S. was the sixth of their eight children.
VIII. Jeptha S. Wilbur was born in Pine Plains, October 29, 1817. He chose the occupation of his father and continued on the farm in his native town up to the time of his death, September 21, 1885. In 1847 he married Mary Jane, daughter of Rowland and Polly- Story. She was born May 11, 1823, and died September 3, 1903.
IX. Five children were born in Pine Plains to Jeptha S. and Mary Jane Story Wilbur, as follows: Legrande B., born July 14, 1848, died April 2, 1851; Mary Elizabeth, born May 24, 1851, died March 12, 1898; Leander J., born May 23, 1854, married June, 1884, Julia Husted; Daniel W., born January 18, 1857, married November 16, 1881, Mary Gifford, daughter of Henry H. and Ann Eliza (Gifford) Conklin of Red Hook. She was born April 7, 1857; Minnie Ruth, born September 3, 1861, died March 23, 1907.
Daniel W. Wilbur completed his schooling at the DeGarmo Institute, Rhinebeck, and on his return to Pine Plains assisted in the cultivation of the homestead farm until he reached the age of twenty-five, when he removed to Red Hook and entered into the coal and lumber business with his father-in-law, under the firm name of H. H. Conklin & Co., which was continued until the death of the senior partner, August 1, 1883. Mr. Wilbur conducted the business as sole owner until 1901, when he disposed of it. In the meantime he had removed to Poughkeepsie, where, in 1895, he had purchased the coal business of William H. Sheldon to which he added, in 1901, his present extensive lumber yard, the business being conducted under the name of Wilbur Company.
In 1905 Mr. Wilbur became interested in the ice business and in 1907 erected the ice plant and commodious warerooms of the Hygeia Ice and Cold Storage Co. This ice, which is distributed to thousands of homes in Poughkeepsie and vicinity, is made from distilled and filtered water, thus insuring absolute freedom from filth and germs.
The home of Mr. Wilbur at Hillcrest Park, overlooking the Hudson, is one of the most picturesque spots in the immediate vicinity of Poughkeepsie. The house was built in 1867 and was originally the property of Congressman Stephen Baker. For many years it was the residence of Dr. McCormick, and was purchased by Mr. Wilbur in 1903. Here amidst some twenty-five acres of ground he has developed a charming residential section, on which have been erected several substantial homes, which combine city conveniences with country air and scenery.
Politically Mr. Wilbur adheres to the principles of the Republican party, but he has never sought, nor would he accept public office, firmly believing that his services to his native county and adopted city are more effective by devoting his entire attention to his various commercial and industrial enterprises.
GEORGE MADISON, senior member of the firm of Madison and Osborne, paper box manufacturers, Poughkeepsie, N. Y. was born near the city of Manchester, England, September 7, 1850.
He is the son of Henry and Ann (Gowshall) Madison who came to America in 1851, when George was but an infant of eight months. They settled at West Bloomfield, N. J., but shortly thereafter removed to Prairie du Sac, Wisconsin, where George received his primary education. Ill-health on the part of the father compelled the family to return to Bloomfield (now Montclair), N. J., and it was here that the subject of this sketch learned the box-making trade, later engaging in the manufacture of boxes at that place. Mr. Madison admits that his first business venture, which was a partnership affair, was not successful, and in 1880 he came to Poughkeepsie to manufacture boxes for Smith & Gates. Mr. Gates later established a box factory, which Mr. Madison purchased from him in 1883, and continued in the business alone for about five years.
In 1889 he formed a partnership with James B. Osborne, the plant being located at 389 Mill street, and in 1904 the present modern structure at the corner of Main and Palmer streets was erected, and occupied by the firm in July of same year. This building is of three story brick, 90 foot front by 138 feet deep. Employment is given to some forty-five persons, and the product is entirely utilized in Poughkeepsie.
Politically Mr. Madison is a Republican, and has served two terms as Alderman of the seventh ward. He is prominently identified with the Red Men, in which he has taken all the chairs including that of District Deputy. He was the first presiding officer of Lodge No. 438 of this organization. He is also a member of the Odd Fellows; No. 2 Engine Company, and the Veteran Fireman's Association.
In 1874 Mr. Madison married Elizabeth Mellor, a native of Yorkshire, England, who died in 1900. Five children were born to them as follows,—John H., born April 26, 1876, now superintendent of the plant of Madison and Osborne. He married Mary F. Horton and they have one child, Florence; Mary A., who married Harry Duntz, and are the parents of two children, Harold and Ruth; William A., who married Edith Willoughby, and is foreman of the Auto Club of America. Lilie L. married Daniel Applebee, no children. Wilson M. (single).
JAMES B. OSBORNE, of the firm of Madison & Osborne, is a son of Obadiah C. Osborne. His mother was Sarah Ann, daughter of Jordon Lee. His parents were natives of Poughkeepsie. On the paternal side, his grandfather, Robert C. Osborne, was born in New York City and married Catherine VanVlack. His greatgrandfather, Dennis Osborne, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War and was killed in the struggle for American Independence.
James B. was born in the town of Poughkeepsie, October 3d, 1841 and his entire life has been spent in Dutchess county. He attended the schools of Poughkeepsie, Fishkill and Pawling, and it was in the latter village that he learned the carriage making trade, which he followed for a period of thirty years. For seventeen years he was engaged in the furniture business in Poughkeepsie and in 1889 he became associated with Mr. George Madison in the manufacture of paper boxes, the partnership continuing with marked success up to the present time.
In public life Mr. Osborne has always taken an active interest in the affairs of Poughkeepsie and Dutchess county, and has served for six years as a member of the Board of Supervisors, representing the seventh ward. He is a firm believer in the principles of the Republican party.
In fraternal circles Mr. Osborne is a member of the Elks, Odd Fellows, and of the Grand Army of the Republic, enlisting in the support of the Union cause in 1863. He has been a member of Phoenix Hose Company since 1897, and is now President of the Veteran Firemen's Association.
Mr. Osborne has been twice married. By his first wife, who was Miss Elizabeth Smithson, he has one daughter, now Mrs. Bertha Lee Begg. For his second wife he chose Mary Isabella Hoffman, a native of Brooklyn, and they are the parents of two sons, Fred B., who is associated with his father in the box making business and Raymond, a draughtsman, of Poughkeepsie. It is interesting to note that Messrs. Madison and Osborne have each a son connected with their manufacturing plant to carry on its affairs when the active labors of the present members of the firm have ceased.
JOHN ORGAN WIXOM of the firm of Wixom & Townsend, groceries and provisions, of Matteawan, was born at Kent, Putnam County, N. Y., November 2, 1862. His earliest American ancestor was Shubael Wixsom, one of three brothers who came from Scotland to Cape Cod about the middle of the eighteenth century and thence journeyed to Kent, Dutchess county, N.Y., where he purchased a farm from the commissioners of forfeiture in 1782.
Elijah 2 Wixom, son of Shubael, was the great grandfather of John O. Wixom. His son Elijah3 married Hannah Robinson. Their son Charles4 married Miriam, daughter of Knowlton and Fanetta (Hazleton) Barrett. They were the parents of seven children, of whom two died in infancy. Those who attained maturity were Elijah K., Edwin C, Russell B., John O. and Cynthia F. The widow of Charles Wixom still lives at the old homestead on the farm near Ludingtonville.
John O. Wixom as a boy worked on the farm and attended the public schools of his native place until he was sixteen years old, when he began business life as a clerk in the general store of R. R. Meade, at Pecksville, Dutchess County, where he remained for eighteen months. He then spent ten years in the general stores of S. G. & J. T. Smith of Matteawan and Fishkill Landing, where he received valuable training and the most thorough preparation for his own mercantile career. Capable and of exemplary habits Mr. Wixom not only was fitted by experience, but had saved the capital necessary to enable him to engage in business on his own account. January 1, 1890, Mr. Wixom bought the interest of Peter D. Holmes in the grocery firm of Holmes and Townsend, and for more than twenty years this partnership of Wixom & Townsend has continued.
Mr. Wixom is interested in church, social and fraternal affairs. He is a member of the official board of the Methodist Episcopal Church at Matteawan. In politics he is a Republican. He is a trustee of the village, a director of the Matteawan Savings Bank, a member of the Chamber of Commerce, of the Matteawan Club, of the Dutchess County Society, of Beacon Lodge No. 283, F. & A. M., of Highland Chapter, R. A. M., of Hudson River Commandery of Newburgh, and of Mecca Temple of the Mystic Shrine of New York City.
On January 19, 1887, J. O. Wixom married Jennie, daughter of Theodorus and Deborah (Lockwood) Haight of Dutchess County, and they have one child, Ruth A., who was born in 1892.
ZABRISKIE. The founder of the Zabriskie family in America was Albert Zborowski who emigrated from Poland in 1660 and settled on the banks of the Hackensack River in New Jersey. He was of the ancient Polish family of that name who figure conspicuously in the history of that unhappy country. The immediate line of descent of the branch of which Captain Andrew C. Zabriskie is a member is as follows:
1. Albert Zborowski
DR. JOHN YOUNG, a respected citizen, and for many years one of the leading physicians in Dutchess County, was born in County Antrim, Ireland, April 16, 1822, and died at his home Fishkill-on-Hudson, September 2, 1893. He was a son of Dr. Charles and Sarah Lytle Young, and a grandson of Dr. William and Elizabeth Young of Port Glenone, Ireland. He came to America with his father in 1826, and was educated at Cold Spring, N. Y., in the public schools and by tutor. He commenced the study of medicine in New York City in 1838 under the preceptorship of his father Dr. Charles Hamilton Young and his brother, Dr. William Young.
He matriculated at the College of Physicians and Surgeons in New York in 1841 and graduated from that institution in 1844. He practiced for about twelve years in New York and about ten years in Cold Spring. In 1865 he removed to Fishkill Landing where he resided until the time of his death, practicing there and in Cold Spring alternately.
In 1850 he married Mary Gennette Garrison, a descendant of Gerret Gerretsen who came from Holland to Staten Island in the "Gilded Beaver" in 1660. The first member of this family residing in Putnam County was Harry Garrison, a soldier in the American Revolution. He was captured by the British on Long Island but succeeded in making his escape from the prison ship. In 1786 he came to what is now known as Garrison, purchased land there and engaged in farming. He became prominent in the public life of Putnam County and his name is preserved in many of its documents.
He married Mary, daughter of Jacob Nelson, and their only son, John Garrison, was born here in 1795 and died in 1867. In 1838 he was judge of Putnam County, and for two terms represented the county in the Legislature. He also served as Surrogate, Sheriff and Justice of the Peace. In 1829 he established a ferry to West Point, and when the Hudson River Railroad was constructed he gave the company the ground for a railroad station, and the name of Garrison is thus perpetuated by the name of the station and of the Post Office.
Judge Garrison married Martha, daughter of James W. Dominick of New York City, and the following children were born;—Phoebe Jane, Hannah Elizabeth, Martha, George F., Mary Gennette, Margaret, James, William Dominick and Sarah Nelson.
Nine children were also born to Dr. John Young and Mary Gennette Garrison, namely—Martha Dominick —deceased—Charles Hamilton, deceased, Annie Wier, Sarah Lytle, Mary Garrison—deceased—John Van Doren, M. D., Agnes Josephine, now Mrs. Charles A. Hunt of Newburgh, Frank Wood—deceased—and one who died in infancy.
The medical profession seems to have been hereditary in Dr. Young's family as his father and grandfather were physicians, and also his only son, and his brother William. For many years Dr. Young was an honored member of the medical society of the County of Dutchess, ever holding the respect of his colleagues and always steadfast in the polity of his Alma Mater. He was a man of the strictest integrity and an excellent example of the general practitioner, his career being marked by an enviable success which the doctor of today may well emulate.
Dr. Young was especially fond of floriculture and about six years before his death built the greenhouses which have so long been known as The Spy Hill Conservatories. He never wearied in his oversight and care of his numerous varieties of plants, and the same care is bestowed on these conservatories by his daughter Sarah, who is now the proprietor of the floral establishment.
SENCERBAUGH FAMILY. This name which is of German origin is spelled in early records variously Sinsebach, Sinsabaugh, Sincerbox, Sensibaugh, Sincerboe. That the progenitors of the family in America were among the Palatine settlers in New York State, is evidenced by the Journal of the Assembly for the year 1735, where a bill appears for naturalizing numerous settlers, among whom is the name of Jacob Sinsebaugh of the Palatine on the Rhine. In the same year Jacob Bookstover and Frederick Sinsabaugh purchased a tract of eight hundred acres in the town of Montgomery, Orange County, N. Y. from William Sharpus. The old Dutch Church at Montgomery, which was formerly German Reformed, records the names of Adam and Christian Sensabaugh as pew-holders for the year 1760.
In the records of Dutchess County, the Census of 1790 contains the names of Andrew Sensibaugh (which is also spelled Sincerbox) and his wife Ruth Draper, residents of the town of Beekman, with a family of three sons and four daughters. Andrew was the son of Philip, who spelled his name Sincerboe.
The eldest son of Andrew and Ruth (Draper) Sencerbaugh was christened Simeon Draper. He married Phoebe Washburn, also a native of Dutchess County. Among their nine children was John Griffin, who was born in the town of East Fishkill June 19, 1818, and died at his home near Hopewell Junction, N. Y., February 16, 1903. For over forty years he was connected with the Union Ferry Company of Brooklyn, N. Y., and after his retirement returned to the homestead farm.
October 22, 1845, John G. Sencerbaugh married Catherine, daughter of Joshua and Amy (Wiltsie) Lounsbury, of East Fishkill. A few years after their marriage they removed to Brooklyn, where the following children were born and educated: Carrie, married John V. Van Arsdale, a descendant of Baron Resolve Waldron who came from Harlem, Holland, in 1666; John, deceased; William Plummer, and Emma, deceased. Throughout the residence of the family in Dutchess County they have been active members of the old Dutch Church at Hopewell.
William P. Sencerbaugh, who has managed the homestead farm for the past twenty-one years, was previously a travelling salesman for a lace importing house of New York City. He is one of the representative citizens of the town of East Fishkill. In political belief he is a Republican, and in 1909 was nominated for the office of Supervisor and in this Democratic stronghold came within thirty-one votes of carrying the town for his party. He is unmarried.
The direct ancestry of this branch of the Sencerbaugh family may be summarized as follows: William P. 5; John G. 4; Simeon D. 3; Andrew2; Philip 1.
JAMES ROOSEVELT, the head of one of the most distinguished families in Dutchess County, was a descendant of Hon. Isaac Roosevelt, a delegate to the first, second, third and fourth Provincial Congresses and State Senator from 1777 to 1790. He was a son of Isaac Roosevelt of Rosedale, Hyde Park, and grandson of James Roosevelt of New York and Poughkeepsie.
After graduating from Union College in 1847, he studied and travelled in Europe for two years; subsequently graduated at the Harvard Law School, and entered the office of Benjamin D. Silliman. He was called from his profession into the management of important corporations, a service for which he was eminently qualified, and became a member of the Consolidation Coal Co., of Maryland, of the Cumberland and Pennsylvania Railroad Co., and many other southern and western roads. He was president of the Louisville, New Albany & Chicago R. R. Co., and of the Champlain Transportation Co., vice-president of the Delaware & Hudson Canal Co., a trustee of the Farmers' Loan and Trust Co., and of the City Trust Co., and various other organizations. He was a member of the board of managers of the Hudson River State Hospital, and a member of the Board of State Charities, and many charitable institutions in various parts of the State. His record attests his active usefulness as a business man, a philanthropic and public-spirited citizen, but in addition to this every one who knew him would bear witness to his high character, distinguished for his nobility and honor, to his geniality and kindness, and to the charm of his manner.
He married Miss Howland, daughter of Gardiner Howland of New York, who had one son, James Roosevelt Roosevelt. His second wife was Miss Delano, daughter of Warren Delano of New York and China, by whom he had one son, Franklin Delano Roosevelt.
He resided at his country seat, Hyde Park, N. Y., and was much interested in the local affairs of the town. He also gave much attention to the school and church.
Mr. Roosevelt died December 8, 1900.
WILLIAM HENRY ROGERS, a son of Samuel and Catherine Rogers, was born in the town of Fishkill December 7, 1831, and died at his residence there January 7, 1890. He was a descendant of John Rogers of Plymouth, Mass., who came from Smithfield, England, to Rhode Island on the ship "Increase" in 1635.
After finishing his studies at the schools of his native place, Mr. Rogers served his apprenticeship as a tinsmith, and early in life embarked in the hardware trade for himself. He continued in this business up to the time of his death, achieving an unusual degree of success.
He was elected a trustee of the Mechanics' Savings Bank, of Fishkill Landing, and at the time of his death was vice-president of this institution, manifesting an active interest in the commercial development of his home village.
In public life he served several years as Village Trustee and a member of the Board of Education of Fishkill Landing. He was a member of the Dutch Reformed Church, holding the office of deacon. His life throughout is a monument to the virtue of honor and integrity, and he was worthy in every respect of the high regard and esteem in which he was held.
November 29, 1853, Mr. Rogers was united in marriage with Jeannette H. Barclay, daughter of David Barclay of Ulsterville, Ulster County, N. Y. Three sons and two daughters were born, as follows: Samuel Barclay born August 13, 1855, died December 30, 1908. He studied law, became a member of the Dutchess County Bar, and for many years held the office of Police Justice and Justice of the Peace in Fishkill Landing. Emma Catherine born May 4, 1858, died July 22, 1890; Dewitt Edward born February 22, 1861, died October 20, 1909; Mary L. born January 30, 1863, resides at the homestead Bay View; Fishkill-on-Hudson, and William Henry, Jr., born September 18, 1872.
HUSTIS FAMILY. The ancestry of the Hustis family in Dutchess and Putnam Counties is traced back to Robert Hustace who arrived in Boston March 20, 1635. He was one of a company who received land in Fairfield, Conn., October, 1642, having moved from Mount Walleston, now Braintree, Mass. His will is dated at Fairfield, December 8, 1652, and makes bequests to his sons Angel and Robert of large tracts of land in the vicinity of Greenwich and Stamford, Conn. Robert2 Hustis, son of the emigrant, removed from Stamford, Conn., to Eastchester, Westchester County, N. Y., in 1664, and by his wife Elizabeth had four sons, Robert3 , John3, Samuel3 and David3. The last named was born at Eastchester, November 10, 1690, and is the direct ancestor of the Hustis families in Dutchess and Putnam Counties.
The Friends' records of Flushing, Long Island, record the marriage of David3 Eustace to Mary Haight, daughter of Samuel and Sarah (Noble) Haight, in the Friends' Meeting House, Flushing, L. I., the 13th of 2d month, 1711. Births of their children are entered in the Friends' records as follows:
THEODORE FOWLER, M. D. The ancestry of Dr. Theodore Fowler is traced back to William Fowlerwho came to America in 1637 and settled at New Haven,where, being one of the few emigrants who had received a classical education, he soon became a man of distinction, and is known historically as "the first magistrate of New Haven."
William Fowler1 married Abigail _____________ and of their four children the second son, William2 , continues this line. He married Mary Thorne, daughter of John Thorne of Flushing. They were the parents of eleven children, of whom Jeremiah3, the fourth in order of birth, continues this line.
Jeremiah Fowler3 (William1, William2,) married Sarah, daughter of Henry Dusenbury, and eight children were born to them, of whom Reuben was the seventh in order of birth.
Reuben Fowler4 (William, 1 William, 2 Jeremiah3), of Peekskill, was born in 1720, and died May 17, 1785. He married Jane, daughter of Matthias and Anne (Rych) Valentine of Westchester County. Issue: Stephen5, married Annie Armstrong of Peekskill; Jeremiah5; Reuben5 married Martha Drake; James5, married Catharine Faulkner; John5, married ____________ ; Abigail5, married Cornelius Ryder of Croton; Anne5, Mary5, Phoebe5,born 1756, married Benjamin Ward of Peekskill, died Jan. 9, 1848; Sarah5; Jane5; Dorothea5, married Isaac Briggs of Peekskill.
Reuben Fowler5 (William1, William2, Jeremiah3, Reuben4) of Peekskill, born September 9, 1753, died February 2, 1832, buried at Peekskill; married Martha Drake. Issue: Jeremiah Drake, M. D. 6, born December 25, 1784; Peter Drake, M. D. 6, born January 7, 1790; Nancy6, born June, 1792; John6, born August 23, 1794; Chauncey Weeks6; Martha6; Phoebe Stockholm6, married Henry Smith of New York.
Jeremiah Drake Fowler, M. D. 6, (William1, William2, Jeremiah3, Reuben4, Reuben5) of the village of Sing Sing (now Ossining) was born December 25, 1784, in the village of Peekskill where his parents resided during the Revolutionary war. At an early age he received the best classical training of the day with a view to entering the medical profession, which he did in 1806. He settled in Sing Sing immediately after receiving his degree, and during that period none ranked higher in his profession. He was a prominent member of the Medical Society, and several times represented it as its delegate to the State Society. He was Justice of the Peace during the years 1817-20. He died October 28, 1828. He married Eliza Anthony, born May 30, 1791; died May 17, 1857. She was a niece of Dr. Barnabas Binney of Philadelphia, and cousin of the Hon. Horace Binney, Nestor of the Pennsylvania Bar. Issue: Theodore, M. D. 7, born July 3, 1812; Sarah A. 7, born January 10, 1827, died young; Mary7, born September 15, 1818, died November 17, 1902; Charles Anthony7, born December 24, 1820, died October 3, 1893.
Theodore Fowler, M. D. 7, (William 1, William2, Jeremiah3, Reuben4, Reuben5, Jeremiah D. 6) of East Fishkill, son of Jeremiah Drake, was born July 3, 1812, died March 20, 1872. At an early age he received the best educational advantages, united with careful home culture. He went to New York to study law, but owing to a severe illness was obliged to return to the country to recuperate his health at the residence of his uncle P. D. Fowler, a physician of Dutchess County. At this time he lost his father, and it was ultimately concluded that he should enter the medical profession. He returned to New York and pursued his scholastic and medical studies under Professors Mott, Stevens, Beck, Rogers, Torry, Delafield, Augustine Smith, etc., of the old College of Physicians and Surgeons attached to Columbia College in Barclay Street. He completed his studies March 1, 1833, and returned to East Fishkill where he began the practice of his profession, and became one of the most prominent physicians and influential citizens of Dutchess County.
He married in 1838, Mary A. Lounsbury, born December 24, 1818, daughter of Joshua and Amy Wiltsie Lounsbury. Issue: Theodore Sydenham8 , born November 26, 1839; Isaac L. 8, born August 10, 1841; Kate Louisa8, born August 3, 1843; Joshua L. 8, born February 20, 1846; Charles Anthony8, born May 2, 1848; Jeremiah Drake8, born April 13, 1850; John L. 8, born October 6, 1852; Joseph Lloyd Anthony8, born March 23, 1855; William8, born September 5, 1857; Frank8, born January 22, 1860; Lottie8, born February 16, 1862; died March 10, 1865; Nellie8, born February 16, 1862, died March 16, 1865.
FRANK HASBROUCK, of Poughkeepsie, N. Y., is a descendant through his paternal grandfather of Abraham Hasbrouck, one of the twelve New Paltz patentees, and through his paternal grandmother of Jan Hasbrouck, brother of Abraham, another of the New Paltz patentees.
Abraham Hasbrouck1 was born near Calais, France, and died at New Paltz, N. Y., March 17, 1717. He came to America in 1675 and settled at Kingston. With his brother Jan and ten others he purchased from the Indians and obtained a patent from Governor Andros for about 90,000 acres of land on the west shore of the Hudson and called it New Paltz. Date of patent September 29, 1677. He was Representative for Ulster County in Colonial Assembly, 1698-9; Major in Militia; commissioned to lay out roads in Ulster County June 19, 1703.
He married Marie, daughter of Christian Deyo, one of the twelve New Paltz patentees, in 1676. Issue: Andries 2, Joseph2, Solomon2, Daniel2, Benjamin2 and Rachel2.
Joseph Hasbrouck2 (Abraham) was born at New Paltz October 28, 1683, and died at Guilford January 28, 1723-4. In October 1706 he married Elsie, daughter of Captain Joachim Schoonmaker, and grand-daughter of Hendrick Joachimsen Schoonmaker, who came to America from Hamburg, Germany, in the employment of the Dutch West India Company. Issue: Abraham3, Jacob3, Isaac3, Benjamin3, Cornelius3, Jonathan3, Rachel3, Mary3, Sarah3, Peternella3.
Abraham Hasbrouck3 (Abraham 1, Joseph2) was bornat Guilford, N. Y., August 21, 1707, and died at Kingston,N. Y., November 10, 1791. He was a Member of theProvincial Legislature for Ulster County, 1739-52, 1759-68; Member of New York Provincial Congress, 1776; Member of Assembly, 1782; Lieut.-Colonel 1st Ulster Regiment, 1775; Colonel of same reorganized as Northern Ulster Regiment, February 13, 1776. He married, January 5, 1738-9, Cathrina Bruyn, a descendant of an early settler at Kingston of Norwegian blood. Issue: Elsie4, Joseph4, Cathrina4, Marie4, Jacobus4 (James), Abraham A. 4, Daniel4, Jonathan4.
Joseph Hasbrouck4 (Abraham 1, Joseph2, Abraham3) was born at Kingston, N.Y., March 3, 1743-4 and died at Guilford, N. Y., February 26, 1808. He was a prominent and influential citizen of Ulster County in Revolutionary times. He was General in the militia; Major of the 3d Ulster Regiment, 1775, Lieutenant Colonel, 1778, Member of Assembly, 1786-91-2 and State Senator, 1793-6.
March 25, 1773, he married Elizabeth Bevier, a descendant of Laurence Bevier, one of the twelve New Paltz patentees. Issue: Abraham5, Louis5, David5, Joseph Jr. 5, Philip 5, James5, and Luther5.
Joseph Hasbrouck5 (Abraham 1, Joseph2, Abraham3, Joseph4) was born at Guilford, N. Y., May 25, 1781, and died there April 5, 1853. He was Member of Assembly for Ulster County, 1801-4. He married, October 19, 1809, Jane Hasbrouck, a descendant of Jan Hasbrouck, one of the twelve New Paltz patentees. Issue: Abner6, Oscar6, Alfred 6, Joseph L. 6, Josiah P. 6.
Alfred Hasbrouck, M. D. 6 (Abraham1, Joseph2, Abraham3, Joseph4, Joseph5) was born at Guilford, N. Y., July, 17th, 1820. He was graduated a Bachelor of Arts from Yale University with the class of 1844. He entered the New York College of Physicians and Surgeons, from which he was graduated in 1848. He then settled at Poughkeepsie where he was a prominent physician the many years of his long life. He died May 9, 1903.
September 28, 1848, he married Margaret Ann Manning, a descendant of Hugo Freer, one of the twelve New Paltz patentees; also of Baltus Van Kleeck, original settler of Poughkeepsie. Issue: Jane7, Frank7, Sarah Louisa7, Alice 7, Alfred 7, Manning7, Laura7, Louis Philip7.
The English family is of ancient origin, dating back to Normandy, where, at Omonville, or Osmondville, prior to the conquest of England, there lived a Baronial family of the name of Foliot, descended from Osmond, a companion of Rollo, several members of which were followers of William the Conqueror, and settled permanently in England. Of these, William Foliot in 1086 held lands from the See of Canterbury, which descended to his son Henry, who married Lucia, daughter of Jordan Briset, a Great Baron, and founder of St. John's Priory, Clerkenwell. The second son of Henry was Jordan Foliot, who, prior to 1165, obtained estates in Yorkshire from the Barony of Pontefract, and was the first to bear the name of De Rythre, which may have been derived either from the local name of the Parish or Castle of Rythre, or from the office of King's Rither, a mounted forester.
"I give thee eighteen pence a day,
In the year 1300 Sir William, Lord de Rythre, was one of the Barons assembled with his followers in the army of Edward I, while invading Scotland, and is recorded as a Crusader on the rolls of Karlaverock, and as bearing blue banners with three crescents of gold, a device which has ever remained the coat-of-arms of the family. He was afterward summoned to parliament by Edward I. He was maternally descended from Eudo, Earl of Brittany, through his son Alan, first Earl of Hastings, who commanded the rear of the Conqueror's army at the Battle of Hastings; through the Fitz-Alans from the royal line of Baliol; and from Godfrey, Duke of Louvain.
About 1380 Sir William, probably a grandson of the Baron, married Sybilla Aldburgh, co-heiress of Harewood Castle, and descendant of Robert de Rumelli, its founder, a follower of the Conqueror; and he and his descendants retained this seat with its large dependencies, besides his already large estates of Skipton, Haselwood, Addington, &c, during eight generations until 1634, when the family retired from these possessions and removed from Yorkshire.
Branches of the family settled very early in Lincolnshire, Devonshire and elsewhere, and from them have descended many English families of the present time, among them that of the Earl of Harrowby, who enjoys a Peerage created in 1776, in honor of the distinguished services of his ancestor, Sir Dudley Ryder, who was Attorney General in 1737, and Lord Chief Justice of the King's Bench in 1754.
There were many different emigrants of the name of Ryder or Rider. Thomas Rider was a passenger from Southampton on the Ship "Hercules" in 1634, and settled in Boston as early as 1644. He married Elizabeth, daughter of William Lane, of Dorchester. He had children, Elizabeth, born August 14, 1649; Jacob, born June 10, 1651; Nathaniel born October 4, 1653, and Hannah born March 7, 1655, and probably Thomas, older than the others. He died or disappeared before May 23, 1655, when his wife petitioned for sale of lands. Samuel Ryder settled at Yarmouth 1638 and died there December, 1679, aged 78 years. His wife was Anne, who died at Plymouth, 1675. They had children, Benjamin; John born about 1644; Samuel born about1630; Zachary born about 1638; Joseph born about 1644; Elizabeth; Mary born about 1647, and perhaps Jane.
John Rider, the great grandson of John, married Mary Paine and removed to Southeast, Dutchess County (now Putnam) where he died February or March, 1774. He was a landowner and a man of prominence in that community. His Wife was Mary Paine and his children mentioned in his Will were Ebenezer, Reuben, Zadoc, John, Christopher, Patience, Mary, Rebecca, Mehitabel, Hannah and Zeniah. He also mentions his grand-children, Eleanor, Huldah and Thomas Regan, and names his brother, Simeon, as Executor jointly with his wife. None of the numerous descendants of this Family bearing the Rider name remained in the County. Among them are Dr. William H. Rider, Dentist, of Danbury, Connecticut; Lucy Rider Meyer of the Deaconess Home, Chicago, and William H. Ryder of Andover, Mass. Other branches of the numerous descendants of Samuel Rider of Yarmouth settled at Chatham, and Riders Mills in Columbia County and in Poughkeepsie and other parts of New York.
Another Thomas Rider, with his wife Mary, settled in the town of Southold, Long Island, as early as 1659, in which year he purchased a farm there called Hashamomock Neck, which he afterward conveyed to his son, a third Thomas.
John Ryder, perhaps a son or a brother of Thomas Rider of Southold, removed to Newtown, L. I., and New York City, as early as 1665, where he engaged in active practice as a lawyer, and became a prosperous and respected citizen, entrusted with the care of several estates, and owning a house on Stone street, in the city of New York, which he sold in 1679, to his neighbor Frederick Philipse; and lands in Queens county, where he with his wife Jane afterward resided, at Newtown, Maspeth Kills and elsewhere. In 1673 when the Dutch re-captured the city, his house was plundered by them. He also purchased lands in Westchester county, of Anne Richbell, in 1685. He was, perhaps, a brother or nephew of Robert Ryder, Surveyor-General of the Province of New York, who died after an active life, at New York City, in 1681.
Another John Rider, whose Wife's name was Elizabeth, was a Patentee of lands on Hell Gate Neck, July 22, 1686, which he sold in 1688.
All the above were evidently English, and distinct from the Dutch Family of Ryder living contemporaneously at Gravesend.
John Ryder, perhaps a son of one of the above, was married in the Reformed Dutch Church, New York, June 27, 1690, to Adriantie Hercks, daughter of Hercks Siboutszen Krankheyt, formerly a ship carpenter, from Langendyck, Holland, but who received a patent of lands and settled in Newtown, and his wife Wyntie Theunis de Key, from Naarden, Holland, who were married in the same church November 16, 1642, and who became the parents of fourteen children, and ancestors of some of the present Cronk, Lent and other families of Westchester county. He lived in Newtown, near the tract known as the "Poor's Bowery," but before 1698 he removed to Flushing, where he remained a number of years. He appears to have been a blacksmith, a calling
Hercules Ryder, baptised June 23, 1695, married Mary — and was in Phillipsburgh in 1733. He had a son, Jacob, who married Susannah Bishop and who had several children, among them, Caleb from whom is descended Frank Ryder of Syracuse; Joshua, ancestor of Evelyn B. Baldwin, the Arctic Explorer; Bartholomew, ancestor of Edgar L. Ryder, Esq., of Ossining; and Jesse, ancestor of Everett Ryder, Esq., of New York. Many descendants of Hercules still reside at Ossining and Yorktown, in Westchester County.
Hugh, who was a blacksmith, purchased a farm in Eastchester in 1745, but was a resident of New York City in 1761. He had a son Robert, an innholder, of New York City, who died in 1759, apparently without children, bequeathing his property to his father and to his wife Elizabeth, except a white broadcloth coat with which he remembered his "Cousin John, son of his uncle John," below mentioned. Robert Ryder, brother of Hercules, was also a blacksmith. Letters of administration on his estate were granted to his wife Anne in 1736.
Wyntie married Robert Churchill, and Elizabeth married Tunis Brinckerhoff, and had a son George, who after the Revolution removed to Hopewell, Dutchess county, where some of his descendants remain.
John Ryder, eldest son of the John above, was born at Newtown and baptized in the Reformed Dutch Church of New York City, December 2, 1692; was named in the census of Flushing, 1698; married Bridget Farrington, daughter of Thomas and Abigail (Palmer) Farrington, of Flushing, a descendant of Edmund Farrington, of Southampton, L. I., 1640, and John Palmer, of Newtown; and about 1728 settled with his brother Jacob at Tuckahoe, on the Manor of Phillipsburgh, now city of Yonkers, Westchester county, where he was a landholder under lease from the Philipse family until his death in 1761. His advertisement may still be seen in the New York Weekly Postboy, wherein he offers five pounds reward for the recovery of a stolen horse. He was a Private in John Wright's Company at Flushing in 1715 and was Captain of a Company at Philipsburgh in 1740. His will is recorded in the New York Surrogate's office. He had six daughters and one son. One of the daughters married a Griffin, and one a Robert Townsend, and a third married Nathan Bailey, who in 1748 and for many years after leased lands on the west side of Peach Pond, which in 1794 were purchased by his nephew, Eleazer Ryder.
John Ryder, only son and youngest child of the above, was born in 1732, and early removed to Putnam (then a part of Dutchess) county, where he spent his early manhood and raised his family. He married Sarah Sprague, daughter of John and Hepsibeth (Hartwell) Sprague, who lived as early as 1745 at what is now known as Light's Corners, near the eastern line of the town of Carmel, Putnam county, upon lands leased of the Philipse family from their Upper or Highland Patent, and were influential members of the log church, Congregational, then located in the vicinity, now known as the Gilead Presbyterian Church, at Carmel. John Sprague was Justice of the Peace, and otherwise a prominent citizen, and his name is mentioned in the earliest road survey of the town. His wife was descended from William Hartwell, who settled in Concord, Mass., in 1636.
John Ryder enlisted three times in the Revolutionary army: In 1777 in Waterbury's company of the 7th Dutchess County Regiment of Levies, commanded by Col. Henry Ludington; in 1778 in Haight's company of the 3d Westchester County Regiment of Levies, commanded by Col. Gilbert Drake; and finally, September 7, 1778, for three years, in the 4th Company of the 2d Regiment of the New York line of the Continental army, commanded by Col. Philip Cortlandt, receiving his discharge January 12, 1780. He leased various lands in what is now the town of Southeast, until the death of his wife, after which he lived a short time with his son Eleazer, and then removed to the home of his son John, in Bovina, Delaware county, where he died in 1812.
Abigail Field married Aaron Purdy Denton, son of Solomon and Lydia (Husted) Denton, of Horseneck, Conn., and settled on Dingle Ridge, where they had seven children, of whom Mary, born 1818, died 1896, married Seth Abbott, son of Ebenezer and Polly (Adams) Abbott, of Pound Ridge, N. Y., and had three children, Charlotte Amelia, Joseph Gilbert and Mary Eliza, the first of whom, born April 1, 1850, married Halcyon G. Ryder, below mentioned. The other descendants of Abigail have settled in the West.
Samuel and Comfort Field married, respectively, Charlotte and Polly, daughters of Solomon and Athalana (Coe) Crane, of Patterson, N. Y.; Samuel settling on a portion of the Dingle Ridge farm, where he established a fine place on the east shore of Peach Lake, now owned by Hubert Vail, and where he was throughout life an able, accomplished and public-spirited leading citizen. After the death of his first wife he married, successively, Julia M. and Amelia Sim. Of his children, Caroline married William Taber Rumsey, of Pawling, and removed to Fairfax, Va., where he had six children; Samuel Augustus Crane married Clara Lewis, but had no children; Julia Frances Catherine married Henry Seymour, a prosperous builder of Norwalk, Conn., and has one daughter, Carrie Amelia; and Mary Amelia Malcom and Richard Joseph Gilbert died unmarried.
Comfort Field removed to Pawling, where he was a large farmer and prosperous citizen. His only daughter, Charlotte, born January 16, 1826, married George Kirby Taber, son of Jonathan A. and Hannah (Kirby) Taber, of Pawling, also a successful farmer and business man, and highly respected citizen. Their children were Gilbert Field, born 1846, died 1889; Hannah Kirby, born 1850, died 1871; Martha Akin, born 1857; Alicia Hopkins, born 1859, and Charlotte Field, born 1861, died 1880; of whom Gilbert F. married Mary, daughter of Alexander and Harriet M. (Cowl) Allen, of Pawling, and had children: Harriet Allen, Hannah Kirby, George Kirby, Charlotte Field and Mary.
Eleazer Ryder occupied a house which stood on the highway leading across Joe's Hills, near the corner of the highway from Brewster to Danbury. The spot is marked by a huge rock, which formed one side of the dwelling. Three of his children were born there. On May 5, 1794, he purchased 130 acres, a portion of the present Ryder farm, on the westerly side of Peach Lake, where he built the houses that form the present residence, and to which he removed. He was an energetic and industrious farmer, weaver, merchant and marketman. It is said that he often earned from his loom by night the money to pay the hired man who worked at his side on the farm by day. He kept a country store on the premises, and further supplied his own and his neighbors' wants by driving a market wagon thrice a week to Sing Sing transporting the surplus products of the community to the Hudson river, the avenue of trade with New York, and bringing back the manufactures that the locality did not produce. He was a Whig in politics, as were all his descendants, all of whom became Republicans with the formation of that party. He died May 25, 1840; his wife, who was born September 15, 1758, died June 3, 1840, a few days after him. His wife was descended from many people of note amongst the first settlers of New England and Long Island; from Capt. Robert Coe, of Watertown, 1634, afterward of Hempstead and Newtown, Long Island, whose son John, of Rye, was denounced for preaching there the doctrines peculiar to the Quakers; from Robert Field, of Flushing, 1645, who, with his descendants, took a prominent part in the settlement of Flushing; from Thomas Bowne and his son John Bowne, the talented but persecuted and banished Quaker of Flushing (1627-1698), who entertained George Fox at his home, and for many years furnished in his house a meeting place for the "Friends;" which house is still standing, a landmark in the history of those early days; and from Robert Feke, of Watertown, 1630, and Flushing, 1650, and his wife, Elizabeth Fones, whose mother, Anne, was sister to Gov. Winthrop, of Massachusetts Colony.
The children of Eleazer and Mary Ryder were: Sarah, born May 12, 1790, died August 25, 1869; Samuel, born December 16, 1791, died November 20, 1820; Stephen, born February 21, 1794, died April 30, 1876 (see page 360); and Polly, born May 11, 1796, died single, June 11, 1831.
(I) Sarah Ryder married Benjamin Raymond, a farmer of Southeast, and had one daughter, Mary, who married Gilbert F. Palmer, of North Salem, and who in turn had but one daughter, Emma, who married Theodorus B. Nash, a merchant, of South Norwalk, Connecticut.
Of these children, George Washington Lobdell married, January 18th, 1905, Florence Mae Smith, and has a son Clayton born May 12th, 1906; Grace Hannah Lobdell married, April 26th, 1905, Hubert William Brundage, born June 26th, 1884, and has a son Emery Hubert, born October 5th, 1906.
His daughter, Mary Elizabeth, born September 7, 1840, died June 1, 1911, married (1) Russell Gideon White, son of Russell and Betsey Ann (Wood) White, of Danbury, Conn., a farmer and contractor, (2) George Dikeman, and (3) her cousin, Emory Rundle, mentioned above; and her daughter by her first husband, Jennie Estelle, born October 12, 1861, married William F. Waterbury, born —, died December 31, 1907, of Stamford, Conn., farmer, and had children, Annie Cornelia, born October 7, 1880; Charles Russell, born July 25, 1883; Eva White, born July 17, 1886, and Harry Clinton, born February 17, 1890.
Of these children, Anna Cornelia Waterbury married, March 16th, 1902, Stanley Alexander Potter, and had children, Hazel Evelyn, born December 16th, 1902; Marion Emily, born April 5th, 1905; and Dorothy Elizabeth, born May 25th, 1907.
Charles Russell Waterbury married, June 6th, 1906, Edith Provost.
His second daughter, Maria, born April 21, 1842, married January 23, 1861, Lyman B. Olmstead, son of Daniel and Army (Taylor) Olmstead, of Danbury, farmer, and had children, Daniel Ryder, born December 2, 1861; and Dora Elizabeth, born February 20, 1865, who married Philip Anson Banks, son of Thomas Elliott and Susan Jane (Mead) Banks, of Danbury, Conn., and has a daughter, Edna Gardner, born September 24, 1889.
Of the above, Daniel Ryder Olmstead married, June 12th, 1901, Lena Marion Smith, born August 26th, 1877, and had children, Gladys Andrews born August 3rd, 1902, and Earl Ryder born June 26th, 1905. Edna Gardner Banks married, January 30th, 1907, Fred Jay Kellogg, and had children, Allen Jay born November 7th, 1907, and _____________ born January 3rd, 1911.
His third daughter, Julia Caroline, born January 4, 1846, married August 30, 1864, Charles Harris White, son of Cyrus Andrews and Minerva (Wildman) White, of Danbury, Conn., real estate agent, and had daughters, Julia Adelaide, born July 26, 1867; and Henrietta, born January 2, 1871; of whom Julia Adelaide White married October 29, 1885, William Eugene Jackson, son of William B. and __________ (Hamlin) Jackson, of Danbury, Conn., and has a son, Charles Fanton, born October 18, 1886; and Henrietta White married December 23, 1889, Orville Rundle Barrett, son of John Townsend and Julia (Rundle) Barrett, of Patterson, N. Y., and had a daughter, Julia Rundle, born December 22, 1890, died January 11, 1898.
His fourth daughter, Roxanna, born March 15, 1859, married Henry E. Chase, son of Alvin and Esther (Wood) Chase, of Patterson, N. Y., now living in Danbury, and has a son, George Henry, born October 26, 1892, and a daughter Ruth, born April 13, 1900.
(3) Samuel Ryder, born May 19, 1819, died March 14, 1895, married November 25, 1846, Elizabeth Jane Bailey, daughter of Gilbert and Nancy (Reed) Bailey, of Dingle Ridge. He purchased and settled upon a portion of the original Samuel Field farm of Dingle Ridge, where he died. His children were (1) Halcyon Gilbert, born December 16, 1847, who married Charlotte A. Abbott, daughter of Seth and Mary (Denton) Abbott, of Pound Ridge, N. Y., and who purchased and resides on a portion of the Joseph Field farm on Dingle. Ridge; (2) George Grandon, born November 5, 1849, died September 23, 1893, without children, who married, December 19, 1872, Linda Ralyea, born , died February 11, 1905, daughter of Richard Ralyea; and (3) Sarah Elizabeth, born October 14, 1852.
When a young man he became interested in military affairs, and at the age of eighteen took his place in the ranks of the militia, rising through every grade until he attained the colonelcy of the Thirty-fifth Regiment, succeeding Col. Pearce, of Pawling. His commission as colonel was dated June 21, 1828, and signed by Lieut. Gov. Nathaniel Pitcher. He resigned in 1831.
In politics he was originally a Whig, and from the formation of the Republican party until his death he was an ardent supporter of its principles and nominees. He could hardly forgive anything that looked like disloyalty to his country. Honest and true himself, he could not tolerate dishonesty in others. He was several times a candidate for office, and in 1848 for the Assembly, running against James J. Smalley, but his party was in a hopeless minority and he was defeated.
The trait of character by which his influence will be longest felt was the untiring energy which he devoted to the education of his children, applying not only his means, but his personal supervision, to an extent rarely witnessed among us. He had a happy faculty not only of inspiring them with a love of study, but of imparting intelligence by his constant inquiry and illustration. He gave them the best education afforded by the community, but above all, he left to them the proud record of a life of unsullied probity and honor, a record which they in turn have honored by faithfully respecting and repeating it.
His children were: Ambrose; James; Henry Clay; Benjamin Franklin; Edward; Mary Amelia, born October 6, 1837; and Annette Elizabeth, born May 1, 1840, died December 27, 1863—two of whom are still living, and all of whom were born on his farm at Peach Pond. His daughters were educated respectively at Raymond Collegiate Institute at Carmel, N. Y., and Mt. Holyoke Seminary, Mass.
Ambrose Ryder, eldest son of Col. Stephen and Betsey (Nichols) Ryder, was born in Southeast on the 5th day of March, 1826. His school education began at the Pine Tree District School House near his home, and was continued at the North Salem Academy, then a famous preparatory school, under the management of Prof. John F. Jenkins, where he was a fellow pupil with Gen. Darius N. Couch, Putnam county's most famous military hero; of D. Ogden Mills, the noted millionaire; and of Fanny J. Crosby, the well-known writer of hymns. He entered Williams College, journeying to Williamstown with his father behind the farm team; and graduated there September 14, 1846, in a class of thirty-three, of whom few are now living (1911). He studied law at Carmel with Charles GaNun, the leading member of the Putnam County Bar at that time, and afterward for a short time with Henry B. Cowles in New York. He was admitted to the Bar in Brooklyn, March 15, 1849, and immediately began the practice of his profession at Carmel, being counseled by his father to look for success where he might receive the assistance of his friends at home. His early practice was in competition with the established lawyers of the place, and for a few years afforded but a scant remuneration. He was in 1851 the Whig candidate for County Judge, and although the usual Democratic majority was upward of 700, he was elected by a slight plurality over his opponents. Hitherto the position had been most frequently filled by laymen instead of trained lawyers, and his administration of the offices of County Judge and Surrogate was the beginning of a new era in the county's jurisprudence. He was twice re-elected, holding the offices for twelve years. During this time his practice as a lawyer became well established, and it was continued with success until his death.
A man of rare ability, well-read, far-seeing and possessed of a thorough knowledge of mankind, of ready tact, sound judgment and keen wit, genial and considerate, and of the purest life, he was alike sought after in the quiet counsels of the office and the stirring contests of the forum, where as a cross-examiner he appeared to great advantage. But, unambitious, he sought only the power and dignity of a private citizen well-beloved. He was connected with nearly every case of importance in the county from the time he left the bench, and conducted the settlement of many of the largest estates. He was frequently appointed appraiser in condemnation proceedings, and referee in many important matters. In all the proceedings relating to the condemnation of lands by the City of New York in the County of Putnam for its water supply, he was a leading counsel for the property owners, in which special branch of practice his son has followed him.
In 1868 Judge Ryder was the Republican candidate for Presidential Elector in his district, and in 1873 was appointed County Treasurer to fill the vacancy caused by the death of John F. Cornish. He was Supervisor of the town of Carmel in 1882.
In the political circles of the county he was always a prominent figure and astute leader and adviser, and he was identified in various ways with the business and social interests of the community. He was a founder and the first Vice-President of the Putnam County National Bank, which was organized March 14, 1865, and member of the original Board of Directors; and was one of its officers continuously until his death. He was appointed Cashier, April 16, 1874, and was elected to the office of President January 12, 1886, on the death of Sylvester Mabie, when he was succeeded as Cashier by his son Hillyer. He filled the office of President until his death, when he was succeeded by his son Clayton. He was remarkably quick at figures, and like his father an excellent mathematician. He was named as trustee in the charter of Drew Female College in 1866, and continued as such until his death. He was a supporter of and contributor toward the New York, Boston and Montreal railroad, which was subsequently opened as the "New York City and Northern," giving Carmel more direct access to New York, and was instrumental in the development of many of the highways of the county, notably the present one from Brewster to Carmel, for which he obtained legislative sanction. He was for many years an officer of the Putnam County Agricultural Society. He was first President of the Carmel Club, and was a universal favorite with young men. He died April 9, 1892.
On October 22, 1849, almost immediately after his admission to the Bar, he was married to Mary Miranda Hillyer, daughter of Rev. Shaler J. and Catherine (Tichenor) Hillyer, of North Salem. Her father was a Universalist preacher of distinction and most sterling character, and was for many years settled over the Churches at North Salem and Long Ridge. He was born in Granby, Conn., and reared at the home of his uncle, Rev. Asa Hillyer, the Presbyterian Divine, at Orange, N. J., where he was married. Mrs. Ryder was born July 22, 1827, and died April 23, 1870. Her American ancestry through her father dates from John Hillyer, of Windsor, Conn., 1639; John Wakefield, of Watertown, 1646; George Hayes, of Windsor, 1680; Thomas Dibble, of Dorchester and Windsor, 1683; Michael Humphrey, of Windsor, 1657; James Eno, of Windsor, 1646; Richard Bidwell, of Windsor, 1646; John Bissell, of Windsor, 1640; Matthew Grant, of Dorchester, 1630, Windsor, 1635; Ebenezer Smith and wife, Sarah Shayler, of Sheffield, Mass., 1743; Thomas Holcombe, of Dorchester and Windsor, 1635; Thomas Bliss of Hartford, 1640; Samuel Chapin, of Roxbury, 1638; William Buell, of Windsor, 1640, and wife, Martha Coggens; and through her mother from Francis Tichenor and Richard Harrison, of New Haven, 1644; John Lindsley, of Bradford, Conn, 1650; Ebenezer Canfield; John Baldwin, and the Charles, Condit, Williams, and Wheeler families, and others of the settlers, of Newark, New Jersey.
Judge Ryder had four children : Hillyer, born July 24, 1850; Clayton, born February 8, 1860; Mary Grace, born May 15, 1863, died October 26, 1901; and Stephen born February 15, 1866. His daughter was a graduate of Drew Seminary for Young Women at Carmel, N. Y., and was identified with many social organizations of the County. He purchased, March 21, 1853, a house, since removed, then standing on a lot which is the northerly portion of the site of the M. E. church, and just south of the present parsonage, which he owned until April 1, 1862, when he sold it to the Church Society, and the house was taken down. In 1869 he purchased the lot at the south end of Main street, on which he built his residence, in which his wife died before its completion, and where he himself died. He owned at his death 130 acres of the Abraham Everett farm, and had bought and sold various farms in the eastern part of the county.
James Ryder, second son of Stephen and Betsey (Nichols) Ryder, was born June 23, 1827, and attended school at the "Pine Tree" School House in his early boyhood, and later at the North Salem Academy, under William S. Tozer, Esq., and Prof. John F. Jenkins, where he graduated, 1846. He taught school for seven winters, working on the farm during the summer months.
He was a man of fine presence and soldierly bearing, and from his youth he was deeply interested in military matters. In 1846, in his nineteenth year, he was appointed Adjutant of the 35th Regiment, New York State Militia, but was not commissioned, owing to a change in the entire military system of the State. In 1848 he raised a company of uniformed militia, of which he was elected Captain; and in 1851 he was promoted to Colonel of the 18th Regiment, N. G. S. N. Y.; and again in 1864 to Brigadier-General of the 7th Brigade, holding the latter office eleven years, when he was retired by virtue of length of service, under a State law by which "A commissioned officer holding one continuous commission for ten years shall be retired." While he was Colonel of the 18th Regiment it was ordered out for service; but the order was countermanded. In 1863 the regiment went to Baltimore, and reported to Gen. Shenck, and was assigned to duty at Fort Marshall, near Baltimore, but was mustered out after forty-five days' service.
In 1864 the brigade furnished four companies of troops for the defenses of New York, and in the fall the entire brigade was employed in guarding armories.
From 1863 to 1865 inclusive Gen. Ryder was Commissioner of the Board of Enrollment of the Tenth District of New York, and was located at Tarrytown.
In this position he drew the name of every drafted man in the Tenth District.
As a member of the G. A. R. he served three years as Commander of James E. Moore Post No. 8, of the Department of Connecticut.
He was taught as a boy to regard public affairs as of the highest importance, and he took an active interest from his earliest manhood in all the campaigns for good government which the struggling Whig and early Republican parties of his county waged against their stronger opponents. In 1856, and again in 1865, he was delegate from Putnam county to the Republican State Convention at Syracuse.
As a resident of Danbury he filled the offices of Grand Juror and Justice of the Peace, and in 1882 he was elected Representative to the General Assembly, serving in the sessions of 1883 on the Committee on Military Affairs.
His courteous and gentle manners, his high sense of honor and the considerateness of all his dealings and public acts made him beloved by every one who came in contact with him. He died at Danbury, February 8, 1897, in his seventieth year.
In 1856 he engaged in mercantile life at Purdys Station, N. Y., continuing it for three years, after which he again returned to the farm. In 1867 he removed to Danbury and became Secretary and Treasurer of the Bartram & Fanton Sewing Machine Company. In 1870 he removed to Brooklyn, where he entered the employ of J. B. Sargent & Co., hardware dealers. In 1875 he removed to Norwalk, where he became a member of the firm of Price, Bates & Co., marblemen. In 1877 he returned to Danbury, where he was connected with the dry-goods firm of Hawley & Co. He retired from business in 1887.
He married November 8, 1854, Emily Augusta,, daughter of Capt. Asel and Lucia F. (Fairchild) Beebe, of Bethel, Conn., who was descended through her father from John Beebe, of Great Addington, England, 164-, and through her mother from Thomas Fairchild, of Stratford, Conn., 164-. She was born August 15, 1829, died January 21, 1884. In later life he married December 7, 1887, Mary Adelaide (daughter of Charles and Angeline (Selleck) Benedict, of Danbury, Conn.), who was born May 12, 1840.
His children by his first wife were Carrie Congdon, born April 24, died May 10, 1856, and Carroll Dunham, who was born July 22, 1866.
Carroll D. Ryder was educated in the schools of Danbury, and under Prof. Olmstead, of Wilton, Conn., and for several years was an active member of the National Guard of the State of Connecticut, of which he was commissioned Captain of Company G, Fourth Regiment, March 31, 1891, resigning October 10, 1894. On July 14, 1892, he was elected assistant Secretary and Treasurer of the Union Savings Bank of Danbury, with which he has been connected since March, 1884, and July 15, 1897, he was elected its Secretary and Treasurer. He resigned this position January 1, 1907, and for several years has been Treasurer of the Stearns Lime Co. of Danbury. He married at Englewood, N. J., October 8, 1895, Fannie Gould Baldwin, daughter of David Abeel and Elizabeth (Haywood) Baldwin, of Englewood, N. J., an accomplished musician, who traces her ancestry through ancient lines to King Charlemagne. For the
Henry Clay Ryder, third son of Stephen and Betsey (Nichols) Ryder, was born March 4, 1829, at the homestead near Peach Pond. Like his brothers, he was educated at the "Pine Tree" District School and the North Salem Academy under Prof. John F. Jenkins. At eighteen he commenced teaching District School during the winters; "boarding 'round" in the mode customary in those days, and working upon his father's farm during the summers. On Christmas Day, 1854, he married Anna Elizabeth (daughter of Edward Selleck and Chloe (Ambler) Hull, of Danbury, Conn.), who was born July 8, 1832, and who was descended from George Hull, of Dorchester, 1630, Windsor, and Fairfield, 1646, and Richard Piatt, of New Haven, 1638.
He removed to Danbury, and lived with his father-in-law's family, working on the farm with him until the death of his wife, November 29, 1864.
He was appointed Assistant Assessor of Internal Revenue for the Fourth Division, Fourth District of Connecticut, in 1865, and held the position until the offices of Assessor and Assistant Assessor were abolished in 1873. He was elected August 1, 1873, Secretary and Treasurer of the Savings Bank of Danbury, and still continues to hold that responsible position. He was appointed County Surveyor soon after moving to Danbury, and did much surveying until elected to the bank position.
He married (2) June 16, 1868, Augusta Georgianna (daughter of Deacon Samuel and Asenath (Morgan) Talcott, of Gilead, Conn.), who was born February 6, 1837, and is descended from John Talcott, of Hartford, Conn., 1636, owner of the first house built in Hartford.
His children by his first wife were Fannie Benedict, who died an infant, and Edward Hull Ryder, born September 8, 1859, now a prosperous farmer in the suburbs of Danbury. By his second wife his children were John Talcott, born April 10, 1870, died April 18, 1872; William Stuart Talcott, born September 30, 1875, died December 8, 1888; Ely Morgan Talcott, twin brother to William S. T.; and Dorothy Nichols, born January 13, 1879.
Edward Hull Ryder, married August 17, 1886, Jessie Day, daughter of Dickerson Tamlin and Mary (Stevenson) Day, of Danbury, and had four children: John, born August 7, 1887, died at Tufts College, April 8, 1908. Anna Elizabeth, born January 11, died September 5, 1889; George Day, born September 24, 1894; and James, born April 20, 1898. In 1911 he was elected first selectman of the town of Danbury, Conn., having previously held the office of selectman.
Ely Morgan T. Ryder, was prepared for College at The Wilton Academy, Wilton, Connectiut, by Professor Edward Olmstead. He graduated from the Sheffield Scientific School, Yale University, in 1896, receiving the Degree of Civil Engineer in 1898. He is a member of the American Society of Civil Engineers and the Connecticut Society of Civil Engineers. For several years after graduation, he was in the Office of Mr. Albert B. Hill, Consulting Engineer, at New Haven, Conn. During the College Year of 1904-1905, he was Instructor in Civil Engineering in the Sheffield Scientific School. From 1905 to 1908, he was employed as Engineer, Maintenance of Way of the Connecticut Company, which operates the Electric Street Railway Lines controlled by the New York, New Haven & Hartford Railroad Company. He is now Engineer, Maintenance of Way for the Receiver of the Third Avenue Railroad Company of New York City. He married, June 29th, 1907, Winifred, daughter of Charles Belden and Mary Ann (Davenport) White, who was born January 18th, 1877, and was descended from the Reverend James Davenport of the New Haven Colony. Her Grand-father, Ambrose Lipscomb White, was one of the Founders of the American Academy of Medicine. His Ancestors were from the State of Virginia. Their children are Dorothy Davenport, born June 15, 1909, and Mary Talcott, born May 31st, 1911.
Benjamin Franklin Ryder, fourth son of Stephen and Betsey Nichols Ryder, was born January 20, 1831, and educated at the "Pine Tree" School, and the North Salem Academy, and in his young manhood taught school for several winters, working on the farm in the summer. He was of an active and inventive turn of mind, and was identified from its organization with the Sewing Machine Company of Danbury, of which he was for several years an officer. He made a successful invention of sewing machine casters, and for a number of years superintended their manufacture and sale. He has been identified with many enterprises at New Haven, Chicago and elsewhere. He died at Carmel, N. Y., October 21, 1900.
He married, December 6, 1858, Josephine Hull, daughter of Denny and Anna (Selleck) Hull, of Danbury, Conn., who was born August 17, 1833, and was descended from George Hull, of Dorchester, 1630, Windsor, and Fairfield, 1646, and who died February 13, 1866, by whom he had one son, Arthur Hull Ryder, born March 5, 1861, now of New Haven, who has been for many years in the service of the N. Y., N. H. & H. R. R. Co. He again married, February 25, 1867, Esther Ann (Foster) Northrup, daughter of Jonah and Sally (Hunt) Foster, of Ridgefield, Conn., who was born March 23, 1830, and was a descendant of Christopher Foster, of Long Island, N. Y., and by whom he had one son, Chauncey Foster Ryder, born February 29, 1868, who studied Art in the Schools of Chicago and afterwards at Paris and who is now a successful Landscape Painter in the city of New York.
Arthur H. married at Hinsdale, Ill., September 10, 1895, Charlotte Elizabeth Ailing, born July 19, 1862, daughter of Marshall Ellsworth and Ann Maria (Fowler) Ailing, of Allingtown, Connecticut.
Chauncey F. married, at Chicago, February 18, 1891, Mary Keith Dole, born January 29, 1868, daughter of William C. and Hannah M. (Avery) Dole, of New Haven, Conn., a descendant of Richard Dole, of Newbury, 1639, Francis Peabody and Reginald Foster.
Edward Ryder, fifth son of Stephen and Betsey (Nichols) Ryder, was born at the homestead, September 25, 1833, and educated at the local schools at the Pine Tree District and the North Salem Academy, and afterward taught school at Somers and South Salem. He again pursued a course of study at the Poughkeepsie Academy, but was prevented from accomplishing his
intention of taking a college course by a failure of his eyes. For the most of his life he conducted the farm of his father, continuing to occupy it, with the exception of only a few years, until his own death, June 1, 1890. He wrote a number of poems, among them "The Morning Star," which was published in book form, and he also wrote the "Life of Elizabeth Fry," which was extensively circulated. He sympathized earnestly with the Society of Friends, which formerly was an important factor in the community where he resided, but latterly has almost
He married, March 8, 1871, Elizabeth, daughter of David Irish and Mary (Irish) Wing, of Quaker Hill, N. Y., who was born May 12, 1848, and who was descended from Elihu Wing and Amos Irish, early settlers on Quaker Hill.
His children were Annette Amelia, born February 21, 1872; William Irish Ryder, born August 29, 1873; Ruth Wing Ryder, born June 30, 1875, died January 1, 1894, a graduate of Drew Seminary for Young Women at Carmel, N. Y.; and Ernest Nichols Ryder, born September 15, 1883.
Annette A. Ryder attended school at Pawling and married, May 17, 1894, J. L. Gerome Ferris, a well known artist of Philadelphia and son of the distinguished painter and etcher, Stephen James and Elizabeth Anastasia (Moran) Ferris. Their daughter, Elizabeth Mary Ferris, was born at Philadelphia May 7, 1895. Mrs. Ferris has been prominent for many years in Civic work in her city.
William Irish Ryder attended School at Pawling and is a carpenter and builder. He married, July 20, 1902, his cousin, Martha Jane Rundle, daughter of Emory and Mary Emily (Howe) Rundle of North Salem, N. Y., who was born August 11, 1873, and died December 16, 1902. He married (2), February 24, 1904, her sister, Elsie Howe Rundle, who was born February 21, 1870. Their son, Philip Irish Ryder was born January 22, 1910.
Ernest Nichols Ryder was educated at Brewster High School and the University of Pennsylvania and has established a fine dental practice at Brewster, N. Y. He married, July 24th, 1909, Jennie Benjamin GaNun, daughter of William E. and Flora (Benjamin) GaNun of Purdy Station, N. Y., a graduate of New Paltz Normal School and a teacher for several years at Brewster, N. Y.
Hillyer Ryder, first son of Ambrose and Mary M. (Hillyer) Ryder, was born at Carmel, July 24, 1850. He was educated in the public and private schools at Carmel, and at Cornell University, which he entered at its first opening, continuing his studies there three years, and fitting himself for the profession of civil engineer. He was engaged in the work of laying out the New York, Boston & Montreal railroad, afterward opened by other companies, until August 1, 1876, when he was appointed assistant cashier in the Putnam County National Bank at Carmel, of which on the election of his father to its presidency, January 17, 1886, he became cashier, which office he resigned October 1, 1908. He was elected County Treasurer of Putnam County in 1876, and was
Clayton Ryder, second son of Ambrose and Mary M. (Hillyer) Ryder, was born February 8, 1860, at Carmel in the house now demolished, which stood on or near the site of the present M. E. church. He was educated in the public and private schools of Carmel, at the Hudson River Institute at Claverack, where he spent one year, 1875-6, and at Cornell University, where he graduated June 19, 1879. He studied law in his father's office, and in 1880-1 at the Columbia Law School in New York City, and was admitted to the Bar as attorney in December, 1881, and as counselor September 14, 1882, at Brooklyn General Term. He at once commenced his practice, which has been successful, in Carmel, succeeding to the practice of his father. After the death of his father, he was, April 28, 1892, elected to fill his place as President of the Putnam County National Bank, and he is a member of the Board of Trustees of Drew Ladies College.
He married, July 31, 1888, Mrs. Carrie (Holcombe) Cornwell, widow of Dr. Henry G. Cornwell, of Columbia, Ohio, and daughter of Alexis E. and Jane Grey (Breckenridge) Holcombe, formerly of St. Louis, Mo., who was born in Richmond, Ind., August 6, 1859, and who is descended from Thomas Holcombe, and Begat Eggleston, of Dorchester and Windsor, 1635; John Pettibone, Windsor, 1658; James Breckenridge, of Palmer, Mass., 1727; George Morton and Thomas Clark, of Plymouth, 1623; Andrew Ring, of Plymouth, 1629; John Lothrop, of Scituate, 1634; Stephen Hopkins, of the " Mayflower," 1620; Robert Stetson and Anthony Dodson, of Scituate, 1633; Thomas Foster, of Boston, 1634; Thomas Chillingworth, early of Marshfield, and other families of Wanzer, Olmstead, Sherwood, Mosely, Campbell, Ferris, Marshall, Newell, Fisher, etc.
His children are Earle Ambrose, born June 9, 1890, Morton, born October 1, 1894, and Willis Holcombe, borne April 23, 1896.
Stephen Ryder, third son of Ambrose and Mary (Hillyer) Ryder, was born at Carmel, February 15, 1866, in a house then standing near the site of the present residence of his brother Clayton. He graduated at Cornell University in June, 1887, having paid particular attention to the study of Chemistry and Physics. He entered business as assistant cashier of the Bank at Carmel, but removed to Tacoma, Wash., in 1890, where he was in business until 1893, removing to Sumner, Wash., in 1895. He was Professor of Chemistry at Tacoma High School from September 1896 until June 1907, when he returned to Carmel to accept his former position with the Bank of which he was elected cashier on the resignation of his brother, Hillyer.
He married, September 9, 1890, Annie Louise Cooper, daughter of John J. and Sarah (Miller) Cooper, of South Danby, Tompkins Co., N. Y., and has four children: Ambrose, born August 7, 1891; Leland Cooper, born April 6, 1893; Gertrude, born March 9, 1895; and Hillyer Cooper, born December 11, 1896.
JOHN PHILIP RIDER, Manufacturer and Bank President, Fishkill-on-the-Hudson, N. Y.
The earliest official record of the family of which Mr. Rider is a descendant is found in the town records of Yarmouth, Mass., setting forth the marriage of Samuel Rider, Jr., son of Samuel and Ann Rider, to Sarah Bartlett, Dec. 23, 1656. Sarah Bartlett was the daughter of Robert and Mary (Warren) Bartlett, and granddaughter of Richard Warren of the "Mayflower."
Samuel and Sarah Rider are the ancestors of numerous families of that name in Plymouth and Bristol counties, Massachusetts, as well as in Rhode Island and Eastern New York.
Simeon and John Rider emigrated from Massachusetts in 1750 and settled in the vicinity of Peach Pond, in the town of Southeast, Dutchess county, N. Y. Jonathan and Mercy (Wilson) Rider, of Bristol county, Mass., settled in Columbia county, N. Y., in 1802, where the name is perpetuated in the hamlet now known as "Rider's Mills." About the same time Philip Rider, of Dartmouth, Mass., settled in what is now the town of Milan, Dutchess county, and, in 1818, upon the organization of that town, was elected Constable and Collector.
On the paternal side John P. Rider is a great grandson of Truxton Rider of Dartmouth, Mass., who married Hannah Cummings of the same place. Their son Philip Rider, mentioned above, was born in Dartmouth, Feb. 26, 1781. He married Catherine Van Fradenburgh, who was born at Rhinebeck, N. Y., in 1786. He died April 6, 1867, and is buried in the family plot in Rhinebeck cemetery. Their son Albert A. was born at Rhinebeck, Dec. 1, 1807. He married Caroline Jennings, Dec. 14, 1829, who was born in Rhinebeck, Aug. 6, 1808, and this couple became the parents of the following children: Catherine A., John Philip, Julia C, and Freeman A.
Caroline Jennings was the daughter of John and Aurelia (Bard) Jennings, both natives of Connecticut, the former born at Windham, 1783, and the latter at Sharon, 1788.
John Philip Rider was born Jan. 28, 1835, at Rhinebeck, N. Y. His education was obtained in the schools of his native town and Rhinebeck Academy. He began his business career by accepting a clerkship with his uncle, John F. Jennings, at Kingston, N. Y., where he remained two years. He returned to Rhinebeck in 1853 to act as Deputy Postmaster to his father, who had been appointed Postmaster at that village by President Pierce. In 1855 Mr. Rider went to New York City and was connected with a wholesale dry goods house there until 1863, when he was appointed secretary of the New York Rubber Company, holding that position in New York until 1883. He was then elected Vice-president of the Company and took charge of their plant at Matteawan. In 1906 he accepted the Presidency of this Company, having previously retired from active duties.
In 1893 he was chosen Vice-president of the Matteawan National Bank, and in 1909 succeeded to the Presidency. At this time he is also a Vice-president of the Mechanics Savings Bank at Fishkill-on-Hudson, where he resides.
In public affairs Mr. Rider has held the office of Supervisor of the town of Fishkill, serving two terms, one term as chairman of the Board. He has also served as President of the village of Fishkill Landing.
On Dec. 18, 1860, Mr. Rider married Cornelia A. de Forest, of Brooklyn, N. Y., who was born Aug. 6, 1838, and died July 31, 1900. She was a lineal descendant of Johannis Snyder, Colonel of the First Regiment of Ulster County Militia, which was formed at New Paltz, Jan. 19, 1776, and who was in command at the placing of the iron chain across the Hudson at West Point. To them was born, May 25, 1862, a daughter, Jeanne, who married Archibald Montgomery, Jr., at New York City, Oct. 16, 1883. She died April 10, 1906. They were the parents of the following children, born in Brooklyn: Kathleen de Forest, born 1884; Kenneth R., born 1886; Archibald, 3rd, born 1889, died 1892; and De Forest C, born 1892. Kathleen Montgomery married Dr. Keith
AUSTIN STUART RYDER, president of the Ryder Motor Co., Poughkeepsie, N. Y., is a direct descendant in the paternal line of one of the earliest settlers of Westchester county. He is the son of Jesse L. and Mary Melvina (Weber) Ryder, and was born near Ossining, N. Y., in 1849. He attended the schools of this village and then learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed for a period of about 25 years. For four years Mr. Ryder was a keeper at Sing Sing Prison, and for about four years previous to coming to Poughkeepsie he was engaged in the wholesale and retail milk business in Ossining.
Mr. Ryder has been a resident of Poughkeepsie since 1908, and has been engaged in the automobile business. He purchased the property at 42 Market street, where he erected an office building and garage, handling "Flanders," "E. M. F.," "Abbott-Detroit," and "Viele" cars.
Mr. Ryder married Catherine, daughter of Washington and Lucinda (Purdy) Carpenter of Westchester county, and four children were born to them as follows: Dr. H. L. B., George Washington, Garfield Leslie, Stuart Austin.
The descent of Mr. Ryder can be traced back to John Ryder, who was married in the Reformed Dutch Church, New York, June 27, 1690, to Adriantie Hercks, daughter of Hercks Siboutszen Kraukheit, formerly a ship carpenter from Langendyck, Holland, who received a patent of land, and settled in Newtown, L. I. They had sons, John, Hercules, Robert Jacob and Hugh, and daughters Myntie and Elizabeth. All the sons settled in Westchester County; John and Jacob at Philipsburgh Manor about 1728; Hercules at the same place about 1733; Hugh at Eastchester about 1744 and Robert, who died at Eastchester, about 1736.
Hercules Ryder was baptized June 23, 1695; he married Mary —, and their son Jacob, born Sept. 22, 1736, married Susannah Bishop, and the following children were born: Caleb, b. Oct. 14, 1759, Mary, b. Dec. 16, 1761, Joshua, b. April 12, 1764, Jemima, b. Sept. 30, 1766, Bartholomew, b. March 25, 1769, Jesse, b. March 29, 1772, Sarah, b. Jan. 11, 1775, John, b. Nov. 3, 1777. Of the above children, Joshua married Fanny Pugsley, Jan. 5, 1785; issue: Tabitha b. Oct. 23, 1785, William b. Oct. 24, 1786, Jemima b. March 10, 1788, Susannah b. July 7, 1789, Jacob b. May 28, 1791, Phebe b. Jan. 29, 1793, John b. July 27, 1794, Betsey b. April 6, 1796, Benjamin b. Nov. 1, 1798, Jesse D. b. July 24, 1800, Mary b. Aug. 18, 1802, Henry b. May 4, 1804, Samuel b. Oct. 23, 1806, Wilson b. Sept. 21, 1808.
William Ryder, the second child of Joshua and Fanny (Pugsley) Ryder, married Susan Lounsberry. Issue: Jacob L., Frances Jane, Eliza, Rev. Jesse L., and Mary.
JOHN FLACK WINSLOW (deceased) was a lineal descendant of Kenelm Winslow, the brother of Governor Edward Winslow who came over in the Mayflower. Mr. Winslow was born in Bennington, Vt., November 5, 1810, a son of Captain Richard and Mary (Corning) Winslow. His father was an officer in the United States Army, 1813-1815, and served at the battle of Plattsburg.
Mr. Winslow began his business career early in life, and at the age of twenty-one was manager of the Boonton branch of the New Jersey Iron Co. In June, 1837, he removed to Troy, N. Y., and became a partner in the Albany Iron Works, and for thirty years was connected with that industry. He also had extensive interests in other iron concerns. In 1860 and 1888 he was a Presidential elector. His connection with the building of the Monitor is part of the nation's history.
Mr. Winslow purchased Wood Cliff, near Poughkeepsie, in 1867, where he resided until his death in 1892. He married Miss Harriet, daughter of Rev. Thomas Scudder and Julia Wickes.
ROBERT K. TUTHILL, M. D. The earliest record of the Tuthill family of England, of which Dr. Tuthill was a descendant, is found in the Devonshire archives recording the name of William Totyl, High Sheriff of Devon, and Lord Mayor of the City of Exeter; a son of Richard Tottyl and his wife Jean Grafton, a lineal descendant of William the Conqueror and his wife Maude (or Matilda) grand-daughter of Robert, King of France, 1031.
The more immediate ancestors of Dr. Tuthill were among the early settlers of Long Island, some of their descendants removing to Orange County, N. Y. It was here that Robert K. Tuthill was born, in the city of Newburgh, January 18, 1835, a son of Samuel Tuthill, M. D., who was born in the town of Blooming Grove, Orange County, April 2, 1811, likewise a son of Samuel and Eunice (Youngs) Tuthill, who came from Long Island. Samuel Tuthill, M. D., married in 1833 Sarah M. Kelly, and of their six children two became prominent physicians, Robert K., and James Y. Dr. Robert K. Tuthill graduated from the New York Medical College in 1859, and began his professional career in Poughkeepsie. In 1861 he was appointed surgeon of the 80th N. Y., Vols., and in 1863 was promoted to regimental surgeon of the 145th Infantry, and in the same year was made brigade surgeon in the 12th Corps; in 1864 he was appointed surgeon-in-chief of the entire Division. He was in the principal battles of the Army of the Potomac, and for a time had charge of the Fredericksburg Hospital.
At the close of the war Dr. Tuthill resumed private practice in Poughkeepsie. He was surgeon-in-chief of St. Barnabas Hospital from its organization in 1870 until it was closed in 1887, and was then appointed to the same position at Vassar Brothers Hospital continuing until 1898, when he became a member of the consulting staff holding that appointment to the time of his death in 1909.
Dr. Tuthill married in 1864 and is survived by his widow and one daughter.
EDWARD ELSWORTH, twice Mayor of the city of Poughkeepsie, president of the Poughkeepsie Savings Bank, trustee of Vassar College, and prominent in all the activities of this city, was born in New York, January 6, 1840, and died at his home in Poughkeepsie, February 2, 1911.
He was a son of John and Martha (Van Varick) Elsworth, and a lineal descendant of Christoffel Elswaert of New York City, a freeholder in 1655, who married Annetje Jans in 1658. Their son Willem married Petronella Roome, and had children, of whom Theophilus married Johanna Hardenbrook. Their son Johannes married Hester Roome in 1742, and in 1769 their son William J. married Anna Van Dolsen. Issue: John W., who married Sarah Hinton in 1795, and their son John, in 1832, married Martha Van Varick.
The parents of Edward Elsworth settled in Poughkeepsie in 1848. He was educated at Rutgers Grammar School and the Dutchess County Academy, and then entered the State and National Law School in Poughkeepsie, from which he was graduated in 1858. He continued the study of law in the offices of Thompson & Weeks and Homer A. Nelson and was admitted to the bar in 1861. He practiced law for several years in Dutchess and Rockland counties, and in 1869 entered into partnership with Guilford Dudley in the hardware and iron business at Poughkeepsie, in which he continued for twenty-one years.
In politics Mr. Elsworth was generally a staunch Democrat, but of a pronounced independent type. He served as supervisor of the third ward in 1874, and from 1880 to 1887 was an active school commissioner. In 1886 he was elected mayor of the city, and was again elected to this office in 1890. Mr. Elsworth was chosen a trustee of the Poughkeepsie Savings Bank in 1876, and president of the Fallkill National Bank in 1891. He remained a trustee of the Fallkill Bank until his death, but resigned the presidency in January, 1903, to assume that office with the Savings Bank, which he held at the time of his death. He was interested in the broader aspects of banking and was an influential member of the New York State Bankers' Association. He was elected chairman of Group VI of this association in 1902. He was a trustee of Vassar Brothers' Institute from its foundation and its treasurer until 1909. In 1892 he was elected trustee of Vassar College, and for a number of years was treasurer of the college, succeeding Willard L. Dean.
He was at one time president of the Holland society, and was a member of the Sons of the American Revolution, and one time was judge advocate of the 8th brigade of the National Guard of the State.
November 26, 1867, Mr. Elsworth was united in marriage with Mary, daughter of Samuel B. Johnston, who was for many years vice-president of the Farmers and Manufacturers Bank. They were the parents of the following children: Edward W., now a resident of Watertown, N. Y.; Mary, Grace (deceased), and Ethel. Mrs. Elsworth died in 1902, and in 1906 Mr. Elsworth married Miss Louise Armstrong of Penn Yan, New York, a Vassar graduate, and at that time librarian of the College.
The career of Mr. Elsworth was in many respects remarkable, and few men were better qualified than he for public service, or for such positions of responsibility and trust as he repeatedly held. He was a successful lawyer, merchant, banker and public official. A man of broad culture and wide reading, the degree of A. M. was conferred on him in 1892 by Rutgers College. The Edward Elsworth School in Poughkeepsie is a tribute to his memory for the services he performed in the cause of education.
CHARLES MARSH KITTRIDGE, M. D. (deceased), of Fishkill-on-Hudson, N. Y., was a lineal descendant in the seventh generation from John Kittridge who came from Lanestoffe, County Suffolk, England, and settled at Billerica, Mass., where he received a grant of land in 1660, and was one of the founders of the town. He married Mary Littlefield and their son John, born in 1666, became a physician. Dr. John Kittridge married Hannah French, and their son Francis, born in 1706, married Lydia ____________. They had a son, born in 1736, known as Solomon of Billerica. He married in 1755, Tabitha Ingalls of Andover, Mass., and they settled at Mount Vernon, N. H., where their son Josiah was born July 26, 1761. He married Mary Baker, and they had seven children, of whom Timothy, the second son, married Fannie Marsh of Sharon, Vt., January 2, 1831. Their fourth child, Charles Marsh Kittridge, was born April 30, 1838. He married Marcella E. Conant at Mt. Vernon, N. H. in 1869, and they had six children: William C, Charles A., Edward W., Ida, Harry M., and George D. The first three are now deceased (1911).
Dr. Charles Marsh Kittridge graduated from Amherst in 1862, and from Harvard in 1866. In 1862-'63 he spent thirteen months in the Army of the Potomac, being lieutenant of Company B, 13th New Hampshire Volunteers. For three years he was assistant physician at the Hartford (Ct.)Retreat, and in 1870 came to Fishkill-on-Hudson, where he established and conducted a private home for nervous patients up to the time of his death in 1896.
Politically Dr. Kittridge was a Republican, and was chosen president of the village of Fishkill-on-Hudson. He was a member of the official board of the Methodist Church, and a teacher of the Bible Class in the Sunday School.
On the maternal side Dr. Kittridge is descended from William Marsh of Plainfield, Conn., who was wounded in the historic Narragansett-Swamp fight of 1675. The Marsh line follows: William1 married Elizabeth Yeomans, 1682; James2 married Hannah Shepherd, 1711; Isaac3 married Mary Gilbert, 1742; Joel4 married Sarah Wheeler, 1766; Timothy5 married Fannie Durkee 18—; their daughter Fannie6 married Timothy Kittridge, 1831.
DR. MITCHELL DOWNING of Poughkeepsie, was born in the town of Pleasant Valley, Dutchess county, in 1842, a son of Townsend and Eliza (Mitchell) Downing. His father was of the Rhode Island family of Downings, noted for their frugal and industrious habits and longevity, Townsend Downing being the youngest in a family of nine children, and he was over fifty years of age before a death occurred in the family. Dr. Downing's mother, Eliza Mitchell, descended from an old Nantucket family. Her father was engaged in the whaling business, in which he made a fortune, so considered at that time. He was also a Quaker preacher of more than usual capability and worth. He was a relative of Professor Maria Mitchell, late of Vassar College.
Dr. Downing attended Amenia Seminary, and while at this institution decided to prepare himself for the dental profession. He served his apprenticeship with Dr. J. G. Jillson of Poughkeepsie, and in October of 1864 opened an office for himself, and has built up a practice which places him among the leading men of his profession in this city.
During his residence in Poughkeepsie of nearly half a century Dr. Downing has been an active christian worker and temperance advocate. He was one of the early members of the Young Men's Christian Association in this city at the time this association was struggling to make its influence felt. He has served as its secretary, treasurer, president, and a member of the Board of Trustees, and has been a delegate to many of the international conventions. He was also one of the committee that first held meetings in Union Street, where Faith Chapel was built, and was identified with the service formerly held at East Poughkeepsie, which has grown into the Arlington Sabbath School Association, of which he is a trustee. Long a member of the Washington Street M. E. Church, Dr. Downing has always taken the aggressive side, believing that this spirit, combined with good judgment and a true life, is the great need of the day in which we live. Politically, Dr. Downing was a Republican until the National Convention of 1872 put forth its famous sixteenth plank, when he went over to the Prohibitionists among whom he has since been a leader. He has frequently been nominated to leading positions on the ticket of this party, and also been president of the local Prohibition Club and of the Hudson Valley Prohibition Circuit. In the early nineties he was elected Chairman of the New York State Prohibition Committee, a position which he held for five years, besides the previous record of eight years' service on State Executive Committee.
Dr. Downing is on his twentieth year of service as chairman of Dutchess County Sabbath School Association, and has been a still longer time on the State Committee of Sabbath School Association.
For the past eighteen years he has been a Director of the First National Bank, and is now its Vice-President.
DR. JOHN WARREN ATWOOD, deceased, for many years one of the leading practitioners in Southern Dutchess, was born at Marion, N. Y., September 14, 1862, and died at his home, Fishkill-on-Hudson, February 21, 1909. He was the son of Charles and Julia (Adams) Atwood, his mother being a lineal descendant of President John Quincy Adams.
Dr. Atwood's early education was received at the Kansas Normal School, and in 1888 he was graduated from the Jefferson Medical College, Philadelphia. He began the practice of his profession in his native town of Marion, and in 1897 removed to Fishkill-on-Hudson where he built up a large practice and was prominently identified with public affairs of this village. At the time of his death he was a trustee of the School Board of Fishkill-on-Hudson.
Dr. Atwood was a member of the medical staff of Highland Hospital, and visiting physician to the Episcopal Orphans' Home of New York and Fishkill. His professional affiliations included membership in the American Medical Association, the New York State and Dutchess County Medical Societies, the Medical Club of Poughkeepsie, and the Newburgh Bay Medical Society.
Socially he was vice-president of the local Dutch Arms organization, a member of Tompkins Hose Company, of Fishkill Lodge, I. O. O. F., and of the Southern Dutchess Country Club.
Dr. Atwood was twice married. His first marriage was with Jessie K. Burbank, who died January 1, 1895, leaving two children, Bessie V. and Warren G. November 17, 1898, he married Aida Pearsall of Matteawan, who with his children survive him.
THOMAS EMERSON who for over forty years has been in charge of the horticultural department at "The Locusts," the Dinsmore estate near Staatsburgh, N. Y., was born at Thornhill, Scotland, December 25, 1842, a son of William and Isabella Emerson, and grandson ofThomas and Janet Emerson. Thomas Emerson, the grandfather, served many years in the British army, being one of the veterans of Waterloo. He had five children: William, Robert, John, George and Elizabeth.
In 1832 William Emerson married Isabella McQueen a lady of Scotch descent, and seven children were born: Elizabeth, Mary, Thomas, Janet, David, Johann and William. The father died in 1880, aged 69 years, and the mother in 1893, aged 81 years. Thomas Emerson qualified himself in the culture of flowers and gardening in the nurseries of Scotland and England, and in 1870 came to America, and in April of that year entered the employ of the late William B. Dinsmore.
J. HARRY MYERS a retired broker residing in the town of Poughkeepsie, was born in St. Louis, Mo., September 19, 1867, a son of Henry and Sophia (Phillips) Myers. His ancestors were among the pioneer settlers in the Mississippi Valley.
Mr. Myers was educated at the schools of his native city and Washington University. He received his start in business life through the influence of Hon. Roscoe Conkling, and his investments in stocks and bonds has proved highly profitable. He married in 1887 Miss Harriet Barbour, a daughter of John and Alice (Deveroe) Barbour of New York City.
In December, 1909, Mr. Myers purchased the Stoutenburgh property, a tract of some four hundred acres, a short distance north of Wappingers Falls, and has taken up the breeding of fancy cattle. The substantial dwelling house on this estate is among the land marks of Dutchess county, a portion of it being erected 150 years ago.
WILLIAM JOHN TRAVER superintendent of agriculture at the Ogden Mills estate in the town of Hyde Park, N. Y., was born in this township September 1, 1863. He is a descendant of Sebastian Traver of the Palatinate on the Rhine, one of the pioneer settlers of Dutchess County, his name appearing in the list of taxpayers of 1723. His wife was Christina Uhl, daughter of Henrich Uhl, also one of the Palatines. Their children were: Nicholas born 1720, Henrich, Catherine, Susanna, Frederick, Peter, David, Joseph, Anna M., Johannes B., Carl and Margaret.
William Traver, the grandfather of William J., was born in Rhinebeck, he married Hannah Emeyville, and four children were born: George Henry, Theron Edgar, Michael and Sarah Emily. Michael Traver married Mary Ellen Laird, and his son William J. married in 1909, Eudora, daughter of George L. Emigh, of N. Chatham, Columbia County, N. Y.
ARTHUR GREELY TOBEY, for twenty-five years editor and publisher of The Sunday Courier, Poughkeepsie, N. Y., was born in this city, May 5, 1850, a son of Henry L. and Eliza A. (Seabury) Tobey.
Mr. Tobey was a lineal descendant, in the eighth generation, of Thomas Tobey who came from England at an early date and settled at Sandwich in Plymouth Colony, Mass. In the town records of Sandwich his name is frequently mentioned. In 1644 he subscribed "7s. for the meeting house." Nov. 7, 1652, he was one committee appointed to take care of all the fish taken by the Indians within the town borders. In 1658 he was chosen constable; in 1660 one of the highway surveyors; a juryman in 1663 and 1668; excise officer from 1662 to 1668. He was one of the three townsmen selected in 1676 to assign soldiers to duty, furnish ammunition, etc., in the time of King Philip's war.
Thomas Tobey was twice married. His first marriage is thus recorded in the town book of Sandwich: "Thomas Tobie and Martha Knott were married the 18th of November, Anno 1650." Martha was a daughter of George Knott, one of the ten founders of Sandwich. Seven sons and three daughters were born to Thomas and Martha Tobey, but only the names of the sons are of record: Thomas,2 John, Nathan, Ephraim, Jonathan, Samuel and Gershom, the last named is the direct ancestor of Arthur G. Tobey.
Gershom2 (Thomas1) born in Sandwich; married in 1697, Mehitabel daughter of Ambrose and Hannah Fish. Issue: Jerosha, Temperance, Silas, Barnabas, Ephraim, Mehitable, Gershom.
Ephraim (Gershom2, Thomas1) the fifth child in order of birth, was born at Sandwich, July 22, 1711. He married Reliance _______________ in 1737, died in 1755, and his widow removed to Sharon, Conn. Of his seven children, Elisha, the eldest, continues this line.
Elisha (Ephraim,3 Gershom, 2 Thomas1) born in Sandwich, Jan. 2, 1738; died Feb. 23, 1808 at Alford, Mass.; married Susanna _______________who died Feb. 8, 1821. Elisha Tobey was a farmer and weaver. He served in the Revolution, and in 1780, was promoted to Captain
Barnabas (Elisha4, Ephraim3, Gershom2, Thomas1) born in 1768; married first, Lucinda, daughter of Deacon Joseph Lander of Sharon. He married second, Mrs. Abbie (Hurd) Pray. Issue: Erastus, Henry, Albert, Heman, Orville, and John E. P. Barnabas Tobey was one of the first members of the Protestant Episcopal Church of Sharon in 1829.
Heman (Barnabas5, Elisha4, Ephraim3, Gershom2, Thomas1) was born in Sharon, Conn., in 1793 and at maturity was a merchant in Poughkeepsie; married Hannah Boland of Sharon, Conn.; she died May 14, 1835. He died August 25, 1873. Issue: Horace N. (died in infancy), Horace M., Henry L., Harriet B., Sophronia E., Mary Jane, Sophia Ann, Norman.
Henry L. (Heman6, Barnabas5, Elisha4, Ephraim3, Gershom,2 Thomas1) was born in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., June 8, 1824. He learned the printer's trade in the office of The Eagle, Poughkeepsie, going from there to Kingston where he was employed as a writer on The Journal. He subsequently went to Utica, N. Y., where he became one of the editors of the Utica Herald, and where he died April 13, 1860. He married Eliza A. Seabury of Poughkeepsie, and the following children were born: Heman A., Clara, Arthur G., and Catherine.
Arthur G. (Henry L.7, Heman6, Barnabas5, Elisha4, Ephraim3, Gershom2, Thomas1) was born in Poughkeepsie, May 5, 1850, and died at his home here December 7, 1911. He attended the public schools of Utica during the time his father was editor of the Utica Herald. In 1865 he returned to Poughkeepsie where he learned the printing business with T. G. Nichols who then conducted the Morning News, remaining with this newspaper until 1871.
In 1872 Mr. Tobey became manager and local editor of the Sunday Courier, continuing that position until 1888, when he purchased the paper, which at that time had grown, largely through his efforts, to a circulation of about 5,000. Mr. Tobey tried to the best of his energies to produce a newspaper clean and truthful, and The Courier grew rapidly in prestige and patronage, the public regarding it as a journal of information, instruction, and entertainment on wholesome lines. The paper increased in size from six to twenty-four pages, and its circulation multiplied until in 1911, it had reached nearly 12,000. Mr. Tobey's success as a newspaper man was remarkable. His energy, truthfulness, honesty of purpose, and clear business judgment were reflected in The Courier, which will stand as his monument.
October 24, 1875, Mr. Tobey married Florence, daughter of Monroe Deyo, of Highland, N. Y. Four children were born of whom two died in childhood. Mr. Tobey is survived by his wife, his son Earle D. now general manager of The Courier, and a daughter Florence E.
THE HOYT FAMILY, of Staatsburgh, N. Y., descend on the paternal side from Walter Hoyt, who purchased land and settled at Norwalk, Conn., in 1640. Walter Hoyt was the son of Simon Hoyt, who emigrated from England and landed at Salem, Mass., in 1628. Lydig Hoyt the first of this family to make his home in Dutchess County, was born in the City of New York, Jan. 24, 1821, a son of Goold and Sabina (Sheaf) Hoyt. Goold Hoyt was a merchant in New York, trading with China. His children were Henry, Goold, Sabina (Redmond), Lydig and Emily (Sears).
The maternal ancestry of the present generation of the Hoyts of Staatsburgh is traced to the Beekman, Livingston, Lewis families—names indelibly written on the pages of our country's history.
Lydig Hoyt married, Sept. 6, 1842, Geraldine, youngest daughter of Maturin and Margaret Livingston. Mrs. Maturin Livingston (1780-1860) was the only child of General Morgan Lewis (1754-1844), an officer in the Revolution; Attorney General 1791; Chief Justice in 1801-4; Governor 1804-6; Senator 1811-14 and Major General U. S. A. 1813. He died April 7, 1844, and was buried in Hyde Park, N. Y.
His father, Francis Lewis, was a member of the Continental Congress in 1776, and one of the signers of the Declaration of Independence.
Mrs. Morgan Lewis (1757-1833) was Gertrude Livingston, daughter of Robert R. Livingston (1718-75), the grandson of the first Lord of the Manor. He married Margaret, daughter of Col. Henry Beekman, Jr., and they became the parents of distinguished sons and noted daughters among them the following: Robert R. was the Chancellor Livingston, who administered the oath of office to Washington as first President; Col. Henry Beekman Livingston, a gallant officer in the Revolution; Edward Livingston, Secretary of State under President Jackson. Their daughters married men who also held marked positions viz: General Richard Montgomery, General John Armstrong, General Morgan Lewis, Dr. Thomas Tillotson and Rev. Freeborn Garrettson.
Five children were born to Lydig and Geraldine (Livingston) Hoyt; one who died in infancy, and Angelica Livingston, Gerald Livingston, Henry Sheaf and Gertrude Livingston.
"The Point" the Hoyt country place at Staatsburgh was a part of the Morgan Lewis estate, and is now owned by Gerald Livingston Hoyt, who married November 22, 1881, Mary E., daughter of Daniel F. Appleton of New York. They have two children, Julia Marion, and Lydig.
MATURIN LIVINGSTON, who married Margaret Lewis, was the son of Robert James Livingston, and Susan Smith. She was the daughter of the Honorable William Smith, a member of the Privy Council, and a Judge under the Colonial Government.
Robert James, was the son of James Livingston and Maria Kiersted.
This James Livingston was the son of Robert Livingston, and Margaretta Schuyler, and with his two brothers served with General Montgomery at Quebec.
This Robert Livingston, known as the nephew, was the son of James Livingston, and came to this country to join Robert Livingston, the first Lord of the Manor, who was his father's younger brother.
This Robert Livingston (the nephew) married Margaretta Schuyler, who was the daughter of Peter Schuyler and the niece of Alida Schuyler, the wife of his uncle, Robert Livingston, the first Lord of the Manor. She, Alida, was the widow of Dominie Nicolaus Van Rensselaer, and the connection between the Livingstons, Schuylers and Van Rensselaers goes back to her and her two husbands.
This Robert, the first Lord, came over about 1674, and he and James, the father of the nephew Robert (from whom Maturin Livingston was descended), were the sons of John Livingston, who, driven out of Scotland for non-conformity, took refuge in Rotterdam, where he had a parish for nine years. He made two unsuccessful attempts to come to America. His father and grandfather were ministers, and his great-grandfather, who was killed in the battle of Pinkiefield, was the son of the Lord Livingston, who was the first Earl of Linlithgow.
They seem to have married Livingstons, relatives of the Livingstons of Callender, and to have been people of importance in Scotland.
CAPTAIN PETER EDWARD LE FEVRE (deceased) was born in New York City November 1841, and died in 1906. He was a son of Rev. J. W. and Sallie (Baldwin) Le Fevre. His father, a Methodist Episcopal clergyman, was born at New Rochelle, N. Y., a descendant of one of the original Huguenot settlers of that place.
Captain LeFevre was educated at the schools of New Rochelle, and followed the sea for a few years. He then entered the service of the Ocean Steamship Co. (Savannah Line), and during the succeeding thirty years he designed and built practically all the steamships of this Company.
In 1870 Captain Le Fevre married Marcia Inez, daughter of Hon. Thomas Smead, lawyer and Congressman from Bradford County, Pa. Marcia Denison Ely (1821-1897), the wife of Hon. Thomas Smead, was a lineal descendant of Rev. George Ely, vicar of Tenderden, County of Kent, England. His son Nathaniel born 1605, sailed from Ipswich to Boston in the bark Elizabeth in 1634, and settled at Newtown, Mass. Samuel Ely, son of Nathaniel, married Mary daughter of Robert Day also a passenger on the Elizabeth. They removed to Springfield, Mass. and had 16 children, of whom Samuel became the father of Capt. Levi Ely, born 1732, and killed by the Indians on the Mohawk river Oct. 19, 1780. Capt. Levi Ely's son George (1766-1819) was the father of Quartus (1795-1850) Quartus was the father of Marcia Denison (Ely) Smead and grandfather of Marcia Inez (Smead) Le Fevre.
Capt. and Mrs. LeFevre made their home in New York City where their children Inez and Francis Edward were born. The family now reside in Paris, and maintain a country place at Chelsea, Dutchess County, N. Y.
RICHARD F. MAHER, historian, author, town clerk of Dover, and game protector of Dutchess and Putnam Counties, was born in Brewster, Putnam County, September 27, 1877. He is a son of John V. Maher, who owned the marble and granite works at Brewster thirty years ago. Mr. Maher received his education in the public school at Brewster, and at Bangs Academy, Dover Plains (where he went to live with his uncle, the late David Maher, after the death of his father). He then entered Fordham College, graduating in 1896. Since leaving college he has acquired considerable prominence as a politician and writer. He is the author of "Historic Dover" and "Echoes of the Past," and contributed to Judge Hasbrouck's "Dutchess County History". Politically Mr. Maher is a Democrat. He is a member of the New York Historical Society, B. P. O. Elks, Florentine Council K. of C, Fordham University Alumni, and the National Sportsman's Association. Mr. Maher resides at Dover Plains, N. Y.
THE SCHRAUTH FAMILY. Jacob Schrauth, a retired Poughkeepsie merchant, is the founder of this family in America. In reviewing his genealogical record we find that Kreuznach, in the Rhine Province, Germany, was the birthplace of several generations of this family. Here John Schrauth, the grandfather of Jacob, was born, and became a prosperous hotel-keeper. He was the father of a large family, of whom his son John, the father of Jacob, was also engaged in the hotel business, as well as in farming. He was twice married, and in 1816 chose for his second wife, Margaret Wycell, and they became the parents of eight children as follows: Jacob, Laura, Kate, Minnie, Julia, Louis, Eliza, and Benia. These children were reared in the faith of the Lutheran Church of which the parents were devout members. John Schrauth died in 1875, and his wife in 1885.
Jacob Schrauth was born at Kreuznach April 18, 1834, where he spent the first twenty years of his life, during which time he learned the cooper's trade. In 1854 he came to America, and remained three years in New York City where he served his apprenticeship as a baker. In 1857 he came to Poughkeepsie, and was employed as a baker nine years. In 1866 Mr. Schrauth engaged in the bakery business for himself at 153 Main St. He soon introduced ice-cream and confectionery and his trade expanded rapidly. May 1, 1897, his sons Edward L. and William H. purchased the business forming a co-partnership under the name of J. Schrauth's Sons, which they have carried on with marked success. In 1902 they opened their present retail salesroom at 149 and 151 Main St., adjoining the old store.
Jacob Schrauth married in 1860, Miss Katherine daughter of John and Katherine (Rice) Schneider, natives of Bavaria, Germany. John Schneider participated in the Civil War, being a sergeant in the Union Army. He resided in Poughkeepsie and was engaged in the manufacture of cigar boxes. His children were Magdalina, Katherine, Rose and Gretche.
Politically Mr. Jacob Schrauth is a Republican, and served two years as a member of the Board of Water Commissioners; he has also been appointed a member of several important commissions in Poughkeepsie. For twelve years he was president of the German Singing Society, and is a member of the Odd Fellows and of the German Lutheran Church.
Seven children were born to Jacob and Katherine Schrauth, namely: Charles J.; one who died in infancy; Minnie who married William H. Frank; Edward L. of the firm of J. Schrauth's Sons; Kate, who married William LaPaugh; William H. of the firm of J. Schrauth's Sons, and Cora who married Henry B. Bauer.
Edward Lewis Schrauth was born in Poughkeepsie, April 25, 1869. After graduating from Eastman's Business College, he entered his father's employ and in 1897, as already stated became a partner in the firm of J. Schrauth's Sons. His first wife was Miss Josephine C.
William Henry Schrauth was born in Poughkeepsie, April 18, 1874. He was educated at the public schools, and then engaged with his father and brother in the bakery and confectionery business, becoming a member of the firm of J. Schrauth's Sons in 1897. He married October 16, 1896, Matilda daughter of Berthold and Magdalena Seeholzer, natives of Germany. He has three children: Edna C, Clara M., and William J. Mr. Schrauth is a member of the First Reformed Church, and in Masonic circles is identified with Poughkeepsie Lodge F. and A. M. and Poughkeepsie Chapter R. A. M; a member of the Elks, Odd Fellows, Royal Arcanum, German Gents' Benevolent Society.
ERNEST DAVIES, assistant general manager of the Green Fuel Economizer Company, Matteawan, N. Y., was born in Liverpool, England, September 27, 1868, the son of Moses and Nancy (Ray) Davies, both of whom were members of old families of that section. In childhood the family removed to Newton Heath, a suburb of Manchester. Ernest Davies was educated at the British Day School in Manchester, and at the Manchester School of Technology from which he was graduated in 1883 in the department of engineering. He served a six years' apprenticeship with the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway, followed by one year's work with Armstrong, Whitworth & Co. of Manchester. He then came to America, and in 1892 spent a year with the Canadian Pacific Railway in the Canadian Northwest. In 1893 he came to Matteawan, and engaged with the Green Fuel Economizer Co., where he has worked in the various departments filling every position from the lowest up to his present very important one.
Upon reaching New York Mr. Davies determined to become an American citizen and at once took out his first papers, and in 1898 he was made a full fledged citizen. In politics he is a Republican; in fraternal circles an A. F. & A. M. having been raised in Lodge of Truth, No. 1458, Manchester, England, now affiliating with Beacon Lodge, No. 283 F. & A. M. at Matteawan, and a member of Highland Chapter, No. 52, R. A. M. Newburgh, N. Y. He is a member of the Southern Dutchess Choral Union, and bass soloist in St. Luke's Episcopal Church, Matteawan. During his residence in England, Mr. Davies was a member of All Saints' Choir in Manchester.
On October 12, 1898, Ernest Davies was married to Grace, the daughter of John R. and Sarah F. Hemingway of Matteawan. Her father, John R. Hemingway, was connected with the Newburgh, Dutchess and Connecticut Railroad, and died in 1897.
Ernest and Grace H. Davies were the parents of two children : Reginald Hemingway, and Grace Marion from whom the mother was called away September 7, 1910.
CHARLES BENJAMIN WILTSE (deceased), for 26 years train despatcher and car accountant for the N. D. and C. Railroad at Matteawan, N. Y., was the only son of Alonzo Sillack and Mary E. (Benson) Wiltse, and was born at Fishkill-on-Hudson, Jan. 25, 1863. He is descended on both sides of the family from Holland-Dutch ancestors and comes of an old Dutchess county family. Alonzo's father, Benjamin Wiltse, a farmer in the town of Fishkill, was born May 4, 1799; married Margaret Ann Tidd who was born December 22, 1801, and they were parents of eight children: Jane, Annis, Catherine, Margaret, Peter, Charles, Cyrus and Alonzo S. Margaret A. T. Wiltse died January 9, 1868, and Benjamin followed her January 1, 1881.
Alonzo S. Wiltse was born at the old homestead in the town of Fishkill, April 24, 1840. He attended the district schools, and when nineteen years old began business life by engaging with the dry goods firm of S. G. & J. T. Smith, with whom he remained six years. He then entered the employ of the N. D. and C. Railroad Co., having entire charge of all the buildings and bridges along the line. This position he held until 1880 when he was appointed engineer at Sing Sing Prison which he held until 1888 when he returned to Fishkill-on-Hudson and established himself in the grocery business continuing until 1896. In that year he bought the Keane property at Glenham and removed to that place where he died August 28, 1903.
In March, 1862, Alonzo S. Wiltse was married to Mary E. the daughter of Captain John and Priscilla H. Benson, a descendant of a prominent family of Highland, Ulster county, N. Y. In Highland Cemetery Captain Benson and all his family are buried.
Alonzo S. and Mary E. Wiltse had two children Charles Benjamin and Carrie Lillian Wiltse. Charles B. was born at Fishkill Landing, January 25, 1863, and was educated in the public schools of his native place. After leaving school he worked as clerk at the station at Matteawan when Weldon F. Weston was agent of the N. D. & C. Railroad there, and during this time Mr. Wiltse learned telegraphy. For some years he was at the telegraph office at Matteawan, and later went to Dutchess Junction where he took charge of the station. Returning to Matteawan he was appointed train dispatcher for this Railroad Company and for 26 years, or until the Central New England Railroad Company bought the road in 1905, he acted as train dispatcher and car accountant there. The business done by the New Haven Railroad which had leased trackage rights over the N. D. & C. tracks made this position an important one. When the road was sold the Central New England railroad removed the dispatcher's office, and requested Mr. Wiltse to go to Hartford and enter their service. He refused and retired to his farm at Glenham. In 1908 he was appointed station agent at Glenham, and he then purchased the coal business of E. A. Underhill at that place which he conducted until his death which occurred April 6, 1911. He was a strong Republican, but held no public offices. He was a Past Master of Beacon Lodge, No. 283, F. & A. M. of Fishkill Landing, and Past Chancellor of Hudson River Lodge, No. 57, Knights of Pythias of Matteawan.
On February 25, 1886, Mr. Wiltse married Annie B., daughter of John P. and Esther (Mase) Griffin, who with one son, Howard Benson, survives him. John P. Griffin's grandfather Daniel was born in Greene county, N. Y. His father's name also was Daniel, born in Greene county, a farmer of Halcott, who married Cornelia Sole, who came from Germany. In 1862 in Greene county, N. Y., John P. Griffin married Esther Mase, a sister of the late Willard H. Mase of Matteawan, and daughter of Peter Mase of Red Falls, Greene Co., N. Y. In 1864 John P. and Esther Griffin came to Matteawan, where, with the exception of one year in Newark, New Jersey, and three years in Reading, Pennsylvania, they lived the remainder of their lives, Esther dying January 6, 1911. They had five children, two of whom died while young. The remaining three were Annie, who married Charles B. Wiltse; Jennie, who married George Alexander of Arlington, N. J., and they have one son, Russell born June 21, 1906; and William J., now a machinist in the Stanley Works, New Britain, Conn.
Howard Benson Wiltse was born February 11, 1887. He was educated at Matteawan high school, Newburgh Academy, and Eastman's Business College at Poughkeepsie. He started his business career as bookkeeper and assistant office manager for the Dutchess Tool Company, with whom he remained from 1906 to 1910. In June, 1910, he became office manager for Levi Lumb's Son, Poughkeepsie, but resigned January 1, 1911, in order to continue the coal business at Glenham, formerly conducted by his father.
June 27, 1908, Howard B. Wiltse married Edna Mae, daughter of Albert and Nancy (Cook) Haight of Fishkill. Albert Haight was the youngest of the eight children of Henry W. Haight, a farmer and extensive dealer in ship timber of Philipstown, Putnam county, N. Y., where his father Joshua Haight was born and where his ancestors for generations had lived. The Haight family is a very numerous and important one, being descended from Baron Johannes Von Haight who went from Normandy to Britain during the thirteenth or fourteenth century. Their earliest American ancestor was Simon Haight, or Hoyt, born in Dorsetshire, England, in 1595, who with his wife, son John, and two or three other children, left England in the good ship "Abigail" October 6, 1628, with Colonel, afterward Governor John Endicott. Simon settled first at Salem, Mass., and died September 1, 1657, at Stamford, Conn., where numbers of descendants live under the name of Hoyt. Simon's son John, grandson John, great-grandson Daniel, and great-great-grandson Joseph, all lived in Westchester county, N. Y. Joseph, in 1751, came to Philipstown, Putnam county, and erected a log house by the old Indian path on the west side of Clove creek. In 1765 he built from materials made on the farm, in the saw mill, blacksmith and carpenter shop, the first frame house erected on the east side of Clove creek. Joseph was the progenitor of the Haight families of Putnam and Dutchess counties. He was born in 1719 and married Hannah Wright, and had twelve children of whom the eighth, Beverly, born 1763, married Charity Hustis, and had eight children the third of whom, Joshua, was Albert Haight's grandfather.
Nancy (Cook) Haight, mother of Mrs. H. B. Wiltse, was a daughter of Bennett and Ann (Dibble) Cook. Bennett Cook was a farmer and stock raiser of Hunter's Land, Schoharie County, N. Y., and was a son of John Cook of New England.
HENRY H. SCHROWANG of the firm of Hoffman & Schrowang, was born at Whiteport, Ulster County, N. Y., in 1854. He is a son of Frank and Mary (Schomberg) Schrowang, old residents of Ulster County.
After attending the schools of his native place, the subject of this sketch at the age of seventeen, went west locating at Milwaukee, Wis., where he qualified for a business career in Spencer's Business College, graduating in 1872. He then secured a position as book-keeper and salesman with the Eagle Flour Mills of Milwaukee, with whom he remained for thirty years and during that period he established a branch depot for this firm at Chicago, which he managed successfully for 12 years.
In 1898 Mr. Schrowang returned to his native home, and was united in marriage with Miss Caroline, daughter of Nicholas Hoffman of Poughkeepsie, and they are the parents of one child, Olga E. The family are members of the Church of the Nativity.
Politically Mr. Schrowang is a staunch Democrat, and while not aspiring to public office, he takes an active interest in the welfare of his chosen party.
In the management of the Hoffman House and attention to his various real estate holdings, Mr. Schrowang is regarded as one of Poughkeepsie's aggressive citizens, fostering all matters that pertain to a bigger and better city.
EDWIN BROCKWAY, one of the largest manufacturers of brick in the Hudson valley, was born at Glasco, Ulster County, N. Y., May 20, 1838. He is the son of John and Phebe (Goldsmith) Brockway, both natives of Orange county.
John Brockway born Feb. 28, 1810, was raised on a farm, and at the age of fifteen began learning the brickmaker's trade. He was engaged in the manufacture of brick at Haverstraw, N. Y., from 1845 to 1884, building up an extensive business. He died in 1886.
Edwin Brockway was educated in the public school of Haverstraw, and started in business with his father in 1863, the partnership continuing until 1884. He was also engaged in the brick business with his brother-in-law, George W. Smith, from 1879 to 1889 at Haverstraw.
In 1886, Edwin Brockway and sons formed the Brockway Brick Company of which Edwin Brockway is president; E. Joseph Brockway, treasurer; C. LaRue Brockway, secretary; and Frank A. Brockway, general manager. They bought eighty-seven acres of very valuable clay land midway between Fish kill Landing and Chelsea, where Brockway post office is now located.
In the spring of 1887 they began fitting it up, and in 1888 commenced the manufacture of brick which has been continued ever since, the plant constantly growing, with an annual capacity in 1911 of fifty million brick.
In 1907 the firm remodeled their entire plant and installed a 600 H. P. Engine, introducing electric power for the operation of their brick-making machines. Shortly thereafter a great slide occurred of the bank nearest the power house. It crushed in the eastern side of the power house, moved the boilers and came near sweeping all into the river, the transverse walls alone preventing the destruction of the engines. It was the first slide which had occurred, and no cause for it could be discovered. The following year another slide occur-red. Later when the clay had been removed to a greater distance a very large spring was encountered, the waters of which came forth with a rush, and the cause was revealed. The sand used in making brick at this plant is brought on scows from Plum Point, two miles below Newburgh. The Brockway Brothers also operate a larger brick yard at Dutchess Junction.
On December 11, 1861, Edwin Brockway was married to Lydia A., daughter of Reverend J. J. Smith of Tompkins Cove. They were the parents of four children: E. Joseph, Frank A., Fannie Lucretia, and Charles LaRue.
E. Joseph Brockway was born at Haverstraw, N. Y., May 23, 1864, and educated in the public schools there. On September 19, 1904, he married Miss Laura Mayell, daughter of Major Henry Mayell of New York, who was with General Custer all through the Civil War. They live at Brockway, N. Y., and have two children: A. Joseph Brockway, born July 1, 1905; and Howard Leroy, born October 28, 1909. E. Joseph Brockway is treasurer of The Brockway Brick Company and president of Brockway Brothers & Company.
THE VAN DYNE FAMILY. This family whose remote origin is French, derive their name, originally called de Duyn and now commonly written Van Dyne, from their ancient estate Duyn in Burgundy. They early attained a rank among the titled families of France and many of them engaged in the crusades to the Holy Lands. The family spread in the course of time, and portions located in the region of the Rhine, and Holland, whence sprang the American family.
Gerrit Cornelisz Van Dyne, of Zwol, in the province of Overyssel, emigrated to America with his wife Jacomina Jacobs in 1649. (See N. Y. Doc. Hist. I, 660). They settled on Long Island, and became influential members of the Dutch Church at New Utrecht during Dominie Van Zuren's ministry. Gerrit C. Van Dyne died in 1706, and left the following children: Cornelius, Denys, Abraham and Aeltie.
William H. Van Dyne, son of Oliver and Susan (Smith) Van Dyne, belonged to a family long identified with affairs in Dutchess County, and a direct descendant of Gerrit C. Van Dyne, who brought the family arms to America from Holland. He was born December 18, 1831, and passed his younger days on his father's farm. He married Miss Anna C. Brevoort, daughter of Alfred Brevoort of Fishkill, and soon after his marriage went to Milton, Ulster County, where he formed a co-partnership with his brother in a general store. Later he removed to Hackensack, N. Y., and in two years came to Poughkeepsie where he made his home to the time of his death January 14, 1905. His wife died July 3, 1893. They were the parents of five children: James H.; Frank B.; Susan; Minnie and Edward. Mr. Van Dyne was an earnest supporter of the Democratic party, and a member of the Reformed Dutch Church.
Frank B. Van Dyne was born in Milton, Ulster County, October 10, 1857, and came to Poughkeepsie with his parents in 1864, where he was educated. In 1875 he began his apprenticeship as an undertaker, and a few years later the undertaking firm of Van Dyne& Mellady was formed and continued until 1893, when it was dissolved, and Mr. Van Dyne conducted the business alone.
June 30, 1891, Mr. Van Dyne married Minnie C. daughter of William A. Cox, of Clinton, Dutchess County. One daughter was born, Ruth. Mrs. Van Dyne died March 11, 1893.
PROF. JOHN GAYLORD MURPHY, for over half a century a conspicuous figure in the field of education in New York State, was born at South Worcester, Otsego County, N. Y., July 13, 1818, and died at his home at Fishkill-on-Hudson, Jan. 19, 1910. He was a son of John and Kate Murphy, and a grandson of Timothy Murphy of Revolutionary fame, who participated in the battles of Bunker Hill and Saratoga and who shot and killed General Frazier, the British commander in the latter battle. Timothy Murphy was a noted Indian fighter, the scenes of his exploits being largely in Schoharie County.
Prof. Murphy was a self-educated man and was reared amid surroundings which admirably fitted him for the work of an educator. At a very early age he was adopted by Mr. and Mrs. John Gaylord of Harpersfield, Delaware County, N. Y. Mrs. Gaylord was a daughter of Roswell Hotchkiss, whose wife was a daughter of Col. John Harper, of Revolutionary fame, and the home influences thus established had much to do with moulding in John Gaylord Murphy the characteristics which made him so useful in his later life. He was the founder of Stamford (N. Y.) Academy, and for a time principal of Delhi Academy. He was also professor of mathematics and vice-principal of Ashland Academy in Greene County. During his term as principal of the Essex County High School he instructed the children of many noted men, including those of Judges Hale, Kellogg, Hand and Pond.
In 1870 Prof. Murphy accepted the principalship of the Matteawan High School, and during his incumbency initiated many movements which improved the standard of education. He was deeply interested in and thoroughly understood the Col. Francis Parker methods of instruction so widely used in Massachusetts, and strove to inaugurate here the Parker methods of schooling.
Prof. Murphy married Sarah C. Myer, daughter of Robert Rutsen Livingston Myer, of Troy, N. Y., and eight children were born of whom the following are living in 1912: Mrs. Ella E. Brundage, D. Gaylord Murphy, Harper B. and Fred T. Murphy of Fishkill, Mrs. Margaret Rickerson of Mechanicville, N. Y., and Frank J. Murphy of Danbury, Conn.
D. Gaylord Murphy who was elected president of the village of Fishkill-on-Hudson, for three successive terms, was born in Greene County in 1853, and has been connected with the Dutchess Hat Works for thirty-two years. He has always taken an aggressive part in municipal affairs and during his terms of office effected many local improvements which continue to the present time.
PETER B. LAWSON (deceased), inventor and manufacturer, was the son of Abraham and Rachel (Fidun) Lawson of New York City where he was born and educated. On the paternal side he was of Scotch descent, and on the maternal side of French and Indian lineage. He entered the employ of the West Point Foundry at Cold Spring, N. Y. in 1840, at an early age, and by virtue of his worth and of his inventive and mechanical ability he won rapid promotion and continued with this concern throughout the remainder of his life.
He was a strong adherent of the democratic party but declined political honors except a local office such as trustee of the village. He was a member of the Episcopal church, and is called the father of Philipstown Lodge, No. 236, F. & A. M., at Cold Spring, in the establishment of which he was a moving spirit. He was a great friend of the poet, General George P. Morris, whose summer home, "Undercliff" was near by; and his daughter, Emma, now possesses a copy of the author's poems which was presented by General Morris to Mr. Lawson in 1854.
Peter B. Lawson married Margaret von Eisenberg, of New York City. They had seven children, of whom five reached maturity: Margaret; William K.; Emma; Peter and Martina. The last two died some years ago; Margaret died January 29, 1911; Emma lives in the old homestead at Cold Spring, and William resides in New York City. Mr. Lawson died in 1879, and his widow in 1891.
William K. Lawson has been for many years and is now, an inspector in the Customs Service in New York City. He married Elizabeth, daughter of Elisha Baxter and they have an only child, Elizabeth, who married William Phyfe, son of James and Marian (Thom) Phyfe of Peekskill.
JOSEPH ALFRED GREENE, lawyer, of Cold Spring, Putnam county, N. Y., having an office also in Ossining, was born September 28, 1874, at Brewster, N. Y. He is a son of Frank H. and Almira Jeannette (Lobdell) Greene, of North Salem, N. Y. Joseph's paternal grandparents were Peter and Sarah (Vought) Greene of Peekskill, N. Y., and among his ancestors was Dominie Everardus Bogardus, the first clergyman of the Highlands, and the husband of Anneke Jans.
Joseph A. Greene was educated in the public schools of Brewster and Cold Spring, in the New York Military School at Cornwall, N. Y. and in Cornell University, from which institution he was graduated with the degree of LL.B. in 1896, and received the degree of LL.M. 1897.
On October 7, 1903, Joseph A. Greene was married to Carolyn M. Wygant, daughter of Henry P. Wygant of Peekskill, (originally of Saugerties, N. Y.) and of Sarah (Mauterstock) Wygant a descendant of an old Dutch family of Saugerties, other members of which live in Newburgh. Joseph A. and Carolyn Greene have two sons: Frances W. born July 10, 1904, and Marcellus W. born August 21, 1906.
WILLIAM CROUSE who for the past twenty years has been superintendent of the Wheeler estate which covers one hundred and twenty-eight acres in the town of Wappinger, a short distance south of New Hamburg, was born in the town of Clinton, Dutchess County in 1866, a son of Edgar and Emily (Wood) Crouse. He attended the district schools of his native town, and for some years was engaged on the homestead farm.
In 1885 Mr. Crouse was united in marriage with Miss Olive Owen, daughter of John C. Owen of the town of Wappinger. Politically Mr. Crouse is a Republican, and socially a member of the Odd Fellows and American Mechanics.
PHILIP DIEHL. Among the business landmarks of the village of Brewster, N. Y., is the bakery store of Philip Diehl, which was opened by him at its present location April 17, 1864. Mr. Diehl was born in Germany in 1837, a son of Andrew and Margaret (Weiman) Diehl. He came to America early in life, and remained eleven years in New York City where he learned the baker's trade. He has resided in Brewster since 1864, also conducting bakery stores at Mt. Kisco and Millerton; the former he established in 1891, and the latter in 1896.
Politically Mr. Diehl is a Republican, and has taken an active part in local public affairs. He was a member of the committee selected to lay out the village of Brewster, and has served as its president four years, and for many years a member of the Board of Education. He has also served ten years as president of the Putnam County Agricultural Society. He has been a member of the board of trustees of the Methodist Church at Brewster for many years. Socially he is identified with the Masonic fraternity, Knights Templar and Mecca Shrine.
Mr. Diehl was united in marriage April 29, 1863, with Josephine Lee, a native of Dutchess, but at that time a resident of Steuben County. Five children have been born: Mary E., Carrie (Budd), Howard P., Edith and C. Ralph.
WALTER FARRINGTON, the oldest practicing member of the Dutchess County Bar, was born in the town of LaGrange in 1829, a son of Elijah and Phoebe (Howe) Farrington, and a grandson of Joseph and Martha (Hodskins) Farrington, all of Dutchess County.
Joseph Farrington was an only son, and had three sisters, Jane, Ketura and Mercy. He was born March 27, 1740, and died January 29, 1833, and is buried in the family plot in the old Baptist burying ground at Fishkill Plains, N. Y. He was engaged in farming in the town of Fishkill previous to 1812, when he made his home in Poughkeepsie, at the northwest corner of Market and Montgomery Streets. Just what relationship, if any, there was between this Joseph Farrington and one Edmund Farrington who settled on Long Island in 1640, has not been established. Edmund Farrington came originally from Southampton, England. He had two sons, Thomas and Edmund, and the former was one of the patentees of Flushing, L. I. In the U. S. census of 1790 the name of a Joseph Farrington is registered as residing in the town of Frederickstown, now a part of Putnam County.
Joseph Farrington married Martha Hodskins, and the following children were born to them: Sarah, Matthew, William, David, Joseph, Isaac, Elijah, Peggy, Polly, Thomas and Daniel.
Elijah Farrington, the father of Walter, was born in the town of Fishkill, August 15, 1781, and died in 1861. He was a farmer and surveyor. He married in 1803, Phoebe Howe, daughter of Lebbeus and Martha Howe of Fishkill. Issue: Mary, William, Lauren, Anna, Peter H., Jenette, Abraham, Matthew, Martha, Walter and John M.
Walter Farrington who was admitted to the bar in Brooklyn in 1857 has practiced law continually in Poughkeepsie since 1861. From 1866 to 1893 he was a law partner of the late John P. H. Tallman. In 1865-66 Mr. Farrington was one of the representatives of the city of Poughkeepsie in the Board of Supervisors. He has been the treasurer of Trinity Church since 1890. In 1858 Mr. Farrington married Sarah E. Kay, daughter of James and Alice Kay of Pleasant Valley, and to them have been born two daughters, Cora E., now Mrs. Thaddeus N. Benjamin of Riverhead, L. I., and Jennie H. who resides with her father in Poughkeepsie.
HYMAN BOGARDUS ROOSA of the firm of H. B. Roosa & Son, dealers in furniture and undertakers in the villages of Fishkill and Fishkill-on-Hudson, was born at the former place January 26, 1829.
Among his ancestors are a number of the earliest Holland-Dutch families who settled Dutchess, Putnam and Ulster counties. On his father's side he is a direct descendant of the original emigrant Aldert Hymanse Roosa, who with his wife Wyntje Ariense and their six children came in 1660 from Gelderland, Holland to America in the "Spotted Cow" and settled at Hurley, Ulster county, N. Y. and built a residence which stood until about 1885, and where some of their descendants still reside. Aldert H. Roosa was born in 1621 and died in 1679. One of his sons, Jan Aldertse, born 165 1 , married Hillegard Willemse Van Buren. Their son, Aldert Janse, born 1692, married Rebecca Schepmoes, and had a son, Abraham, born 1718. In the next generation Jacob Roosa was born October 14, 1759, was enrolled in the levy of July 17, 1777 in the Third New York Regiment, Colonel Levi Paulding commanding, and fought during the Revolutionary War, dying in 1807. Jacob Roosa married Jannettje Van Wagener, and their son, Hyman was the grandfather of Hyman Bogardus Roosa. Hyman Roosa married Rebecca Sleight of Kingston, a descendant of Anneke Jans, and they reared a family of six children: Jacob, Jane, Maria, John H., Caleb Merritt and Newkirk.
John H. Roosa, born at Hurley, Ulster county, N. Y. married Margaret Crispell, daughter of John and Jane (Hasbrouck) Crispell descended from Anthoine Crispell, one of the patentees who came over in the" Gilded Otter"from Artois, France in April, 1660, and located near New Paltz, Ulster county, N. Y. In 1826 John H. Roosa settled at Fishkill, N. Y. and founded the undertaking and furniture business which has since been carried on by his son and grandson.
He had a family of seven children : Abram Gaasbeck, Hyman Bogardus, Jane Ann, Sarah C, Theodore A., John C, and Mary D.
Hyman R. Roosa attended the public schools of Fishkill until the age of fifteen when he began to help his father in the store, acquiring there a complete knowledge of the business. In 1857 he was taken into partnership, and at the death of his father, in 1860, he became the sole proprietor, and continued alone until his son, Frederic L. was ready to take a place in the firm. Since that time the business has been greatly enlarged, the branch at Fishkill-on-Hudson having been established under the charge of the son, Frederic L.
Hyman Bogardus Roosa married Sarah, daughter of Richard and Elizabeth (Hasbrouck) Southard January 26, 1853, and they had four children: Margaret, C. Frank who died when eight years old, Laura and Frederic Lathrop.
On the Hasbrouck line they are descended from Abraham, the Patentee, who came from Calais, France, via Holland to Esopus, N. Y., in 1675, and was Captain of Foot, in 1685. In 1676 he married Maria Deyo and their son Benjamin married Jannitje De Long, and moved to Dutchess county.
Francis the son of Benjamin, married Elizabeth Swartwout, and their son, Benjamin married Rachel Storm. Elizabeth the daughter of Benjamin and Rachel (Storm) Hasbrouck, married Richard Southard, and their daughter Sarah Southard married Hyman B. Roosa.
Benjamin Hasbrouck, the first mentioned, built the stone residence a part of which is still standing on the old Hasbrouck homestead at Cortlandville, N. Y. Francis Hasbrouck was buried at Hopewell. His widow married Abraham Shearer and is buried in the cemetery of the old Dutch church at Fishkill. Of this church the family of H. B. Roosa are leading members.
Frederic L. Roosa was born in Fishkill March 15, 1867. At the age of sixteen he entered his father's store as a clerk and in 1888 became a partner. In 1904 he established the furniture store at Fishkill-on-Hudson together with the undertaking rooms.
In June 1893 Mr. F. L. Roosa married Miss Effie B. daughter of Samuel A. and Rebecca (Tompkins) Coldwell of Matteawan. Mr. Roosa is a member of the Knights of Pythias, the Masonic fraternity, the Odd Fellows and Tompkins Hose Company. As president of the Chamber of Commerce his efforts were successful in inducing the firm of Loeb, Schoenfeld Co., of Switzerland, the largest manufacturers of laces and embroideries in the world, to purchase the carpet mills at Glenham, N. Y., and locate their principal American factory at this place.
The Glenham Mills were built by the A. T. Stewart Co., of New York in 1876, and had long been in idleness. The beneficent results from the operation of this extensive plant are already being felt throughout the town of Fishkill.
JAMES K. SMITH, druggist of Brewster, N. Y., was born in the town of Patterson in 1847, a son of Edison T. and Louisa J. (Kent) Smith. He attended the schools of his native town and in 1861 came to Brewster to engage with his brother Peter who had established the pioneer drug store in the village. He acquired a thorough knowledge of the business, and upon the death of his brother, assumed its management, eventually succeeding to the ownership of the store which he has conducted alone for the past thirty-five years.
In public life Mr. Smith has served as Justice of the Peace for nine years, and as town clerk seven years. He has been an active member of the Board of Education for twenty-five years, seventeen of which he served as president of the Board. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church and affiliated with the Masonic fraternity and the Odd Fellows.
In 1894 Mr. Smith married Elizabeth A. Sampson of Massachusetts.
ABRAHAM R. DURYEE, assistant superintendent of the New York Rubber Company of Matteawan, N. Y., was born at Bayonne City, N. J., May 22, 1861, a son of Jacob and Sarah M. (Morse) Duryee, and a grandson of Dr. Joseph Duryee of Belleville, N. J.
Abraham R. Duryee, was educated in the public schools of New York City, and a private school at Cambridge, Mass. In 1877 he began business life with the Combination Rubber Co., of New York, with whom he remained until 1883, and for the succeeding seventeen years he was connected with the Boston Woven Hose Co. In 1900 Mr. Duryee went to Germany and remained eight years with the Alfred Calmon Action Gesellschaft at Hamburg. Returning to America in 1908 Mr. Duryee accepted his present position with the New York Rubber Company.
Mr. Duryee married in 1879 Henrine J. Lapaugh of New York who died in 1888 leaving the following children: Sarah Estelle, Eveline, Gracie and Caroline. In 1890 Mr. Duryee married Catherine Haley and two children were born, Robert and Louisa. Twice a widower, Mr. Duryee married in 1900 Martha Stichweh of Hamburg, Germany.
Politically Mr. Duryee is a Republican. He is a member of Beacon Lodge 283 F. & A. M. and in religious views an Episcopalian.
THE FISH FAMILY OF GARRISON. The name Fish is of Saxon origin, and in the tables of German nobility dates from a remote era. At what date the family removed to England is unknown. The earliest settlers of that name in America were Nathaniel, John and Jonathan Fish, who at first resided at Lynn, Mass., and in 1637 removed to Sandwich, on Cape Cod, where some of the family remained.
As early as 1659 Jonathan Fish joined in the settlement of Middleburg, or Newtown, L. I. His name frequently appears in the records of the town in an official capacity. His sons John, Samuel and Nathan were all patentees of Newtown in 1686. Of these sons Samuel died in 1700 without issue; John emigrated to New Jersey, while Nathan remained in Newtown, and was the progenitor of the distinguished New York family.
Nathan Fish died August 1, 1734. He left a family of fourteen children, of whom Jonathan, the eldest, born October 11, 1680, became the owner of the ancestral homestead and considerable land in Newtown. He died in 1723 and was survived by his wife Mary. Only two of his seven children arrived at maturity; Samuel born November 24, 1704, and Jane, born May 26, 1721.
Samuel Fish inherited the paternal mansion where he kept an inn during his life and was a useful public man. He married June 21, 1727, Agnes, daughter of John Berrien. After her decease he married in 1748 Abigail, daughter of Edward Howard. He married a third time Agnes Betts, who survived him. He died Aug. 27, 1767. He was the father of thirteen children of whom three sons (Jonathan, Samuel, Richard) and five daughters reached maturity.
Jonathan Fish, the eldest of this family, born May 11, 1728, married Elizabeth daughter of Joseph Sackett. She died April 9, 1778. He then married Elizabeth, daughter of Thomas Whitehead. Although he was a landowner in Newtown with a residence in the village, he was for a portion of his life a merchant in New York. He died December 26, 1779, leaving two children, Sarah and Nicholas.
Nicholas Fish who became a distinguished officer in the Revolution, was born August 28, 1758. Having finished his classical course at Princeton, he began the study of law, but on the breaking out of the Revolutionary struggle abandoned his studies and took up arms in defense of the colonies. He entered the army with the grade of Major and rose to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel, serving throughout the war. He participated in both battles of Saratoga; commanded a corps of light infantry under LaFayette in 1780; and in the following year was active with his regiment in the operations which resulted in the surrender of Lord Cornwallis. He was Adjutant-General of the State of New York from 1786 until 1789, and in 1794 was appointed by Washington to the office of Supervisor of Revenue. Active also in municipal affairs he served as Alderman of New York City from 1806 to 1817. He was a prominent member of the Society of Cincinnati, an organization composed of officers of the Continental Army and their male descendants, and in 1797 was elected president of the New York branch of the society. He was active in religious and charitable affairs and a member of many local societies, literary, religious, and beneficent. Col. Fish was also at one time a candidate for lieutenantgovernor of the State of New York.
Col. Nicholas Fish married April 30, 1803, Elizabeth, daughter of Petrus Stuyvesant, and a great-great-granddaughter of Governor Stuyvesant; she was a descendant, through her mother, Margaret Livingston, of the first Lord of Livingston Manor. Their children were: Susan Elizabeth, born 1805, married Daniel LeRoy; Margaret Ann, born 1807, married John Neilson Jr.; Hamilton, born 1808, married Julia Kean; Elizabeth Sarah, born 1810, married Dr. Richard E. Morris; Petrus Stuyvesant, born 1813, died 1834.
Hamilton Fish6 (Nicholas5, Jonathan4, Samuel3, Nathan2, Jonathan 1) famous in the annals of the country, enjoyed all the advantages that wealth, social position and education could bestow. He was graduated from Columbia College in 1827, and after due preparation was admitted to the Bar in 1830. He early in life took an active interest in politics, and, as a Whig, was repeatedly nominated by his party as a candidate for the State Legislature, but was defeated, owing to the democratic majority of his district. He was elected in 1842 a representative in Congress from the Sixth Congressional District, New York City. In 1846 he was the Whig candidate for lieutenant-governor on the ticket with the Hon. John Young for Governor. Mr. Young was elected Governor, but Mr. Fish was defeated for the second office, owing to the opposition of the anti-renters, whose hostility he had incurred on account of his earnest and uncompromising denunciation of their principles. Addison Gardner, his successful opponent, a democrat who had received the support of the anti-renters, subsequently became judge of the Court of Appeals, and, on resigning the office of lieutenant-governor to take his seat on the bench, Mr. Fish was elected in his place. He was elected Governor of the State in 1848 by a plurality of nearly 100,000, and in 1851, was chosen United States Senator to succeed Hon. Daniel S. Dickinson. As a member of the United States Senate he opposed the repeal of the Missouri Compromise, and acted with the republican party from its formation until the close of his term in 1857, in which year he went with his family to Europe, and remained abroad till a short time before the commencement of the Civil War. His earnest sympathies and efforts were, of course, in favor of the preservation of the union, and he also contributed liberally in money for the support of the government. He was in 1862 appointed by Secretary of War Stanton, in conjunction with Bishop Ames, a commissioner to visit the Union soldiers imprisoned at Richmond and elsewhere, with a view to relieving their necessities and providing for their comfort.
In March, 1869, Mr. Fish was called to the chief office in the cabinet of President Grant. The high position he filled with great acceptance to the president and people, and, on the commencement of the second term of President Grant in March, 1873, he was reappointed Secretary, and served until the inauguration of President Hayes in 1877. To him is due the credit of suggesting the formation of the joint high commission between the United States and Great Britain for the settlement of the various difficulties between the two nations (including the Alabama claims), a proceeding which possibly averted war, and on the 9th of February, 1871, he was appointed by President Grant one of the commissioners on the part of the United States to negotiate the treaty of Washington, which was signed by him on the 8th of May of that year.
He also, in November, 1873, negotiated with Admiral Polo, the Spanish Minister at Washington, the settlement of the "Virginius" question. Mr. Fish, as Secretary of State, conducted the affairs of that department during one of the most difficult and critical periods in the history of our foreign relations, in a manner which reflected honor upon himself and upon the nation.
In 1854 Mr. Fish became president of the Society of the Cincinnati; he was a leading member of the New York Historical Society and of various other learned bodies, and was prominently connected with the principal literary, social and benevolent organizations of New York City and State.
Mr. Fish married Miss Julia Kean, a descendant of Peter Vanburgh Livingston of New Jersey. The distinguished and useful careers of their three sons, Hamilton, Nicholas and Stuyvesant Fish are briefly recorded in the International Encyclopedia as follows:
Hamilton Fish was born at the State Capitol, April 17, 1849 while his father was Governor. He was educated at Columbia College, and then acted as private secretary to his father who had just entered the Cabinet of President Grant. In 1873 he graduated from the law school of Columbia College. From 1873 to 1874 he served as aide-de-camp on the staff of General Dix then Governor of New York. He was elected Member of Assembly in 1874, 1876-79, 1889-91, 1893-96. He was Republican leader in the Assembly in 1890, and its speaker in 1895. He was elected Member of Congress for the years 1909-10.
Nicholas Fish (1848-1902) was born in New York city, and educated at Columbia College '67, and Harvard Law School '69. He was appointed second secretary of legation at Berlin in 1871, and became Secretary in 1874, acting in the continued absence of his chief as charge d'affaires; held the latter position in Switzerland 1877-81, and then served as Minister to Belgium 1882-86. Returned to New York in 1887 and became a member of the banking firm of Harriman & Co. Died September 16, 1902.
Stuyvesant Fish, banker and railway official was born in New York city in 1851; gradated from Columbia College A. B. 1871, A. M. 1874. In 1876 he was elected a director of the Illinois Central Railroad. From 1877-82 he was secretary and from 1882-84 vice-president of the Chicago, St. Louis and New Orleans Railroad. He was president of the Illinois Central Railroad from 1887 to Nov. 7, 1906. From 1904-06 he was president of the American Railway Association, and chairman in 1905 of the 7th session International Railway Congress held in Washington. He has a country seat at Garrison.
ARTHUR ALFRED PARKS, editor and proprietor of The Poughkeepsie Evening Star, has had a successful career as a newspaper writer and publisher. Born December 16, 1869, in Flint, Michigan, while his parents were temporarily in that state, he removed with them later to their home on the Oswego river, six miles below Oswego, N. Y., where the early years of his boyhood were spent. Mr. Parks' father was Lorenzo Dow Parks and his mother was Mary Duhamel. Both parents spent thegreater part of their lives in that part of New York State, the father being a member of the large and prominent Littlefield family; members of the mother's family being writers, musicians and in the church, the present Archbishop Duhamel of Quebec, being an uncle of Arthur A. Parks. Two remaining members of the Littlefield family are Mr. Wray Littlefield a prominent Brooklyn real estate operator and Mrs. William Duryea of Brooklyn and Nyack, the latter a member of the prominent Duryea family of New York and Glen Cove, L. I.
Coming from England early in 1500 the first members of the Parks family settled in Massachusetts where they had large land holdings and were conspicuous in the history of those early days. No fewer than twenty members of this Parks family are found on the enlistment rolls of the Revolutionary war, serving in various official and private capacities as fighting men for the rescue of this land from the hand of the oppressor. Eight of these were enlisted from Dutchess county, N. Y. So far as can be learned from records in the Boston Library and elsewhere the forefathers of Arthur A. Parks came from New England to New York, locating in Dutchess county some time in 1700. Arthur Parks who was a member of the Provincial Congress, died at his home in the town of Montgomery, Orange County, N. Y., August 11, 1806. He was a member of the Convention that formed the State Constitution, and during eleven years he represented the Middle District in the Senate. Daniel Parks was the great grandfather of Arthur A. Parks and his name is on the Revolutionary roll. Numerous great uncles and cousins were also conspicuous in this War. Mr. Parks' grandfather, Daniel, was a landholder in Northern New York and a land speculator in Ohio. He died not long after the birth of Lorenzo Dow Parks. The boyhood and young manhood of the latter was spent at the home of his uncle Lyman Littlefield in Saratoga, Washington and Oswego counties where Mr. Littlefield owned and operated several large farms and was known as a "gentleman farmer", those being the rich days of farming in New York State. After spending several years as manager of these large estates of his uncle Lorenzo Dow Parks heard the call to arms and he enlisted in the Civil War. Coming out of the war Mr. Parks went extensively into the lumber business with his cousin Hamilton Littlefield in Michigan, buying up thousands of acres of virgin pine timber and converting it into lumber. It was while this business was being conducted that the subject of this sketch saw the light.
With a desire to acquire large land holdings in the west Mr. Parks removed to Nebraska, in 1882, and there the son, Arthur obtained his education in public and private schools, entering the newspaper business in Lincoln and Omaha, Neb., and being employed on the leading newspapers in both cities. Mr. Parks conducted a newspaper of his own for two years at Fort Dodge, Iowa. He joined the Masonic Lodge in the west and entered into politics to some extent, but always in his ear was the call of the East, of the Old Oswego river with its surpassing fishing, the apple orchards and the rolling hills with their groves and their forests. So in 1895 he left the west and returned to New York. He took the position of managing editor of the Cosmopolitan Magazine, then just coming into prominence as the first ten-cent magazine. Mr. Parks had charge of the big publishing house at Irvingtonon-Hudson, succeeding Winston Churchill, the novelist, in that position. Mr. Parks remained here for a time, but finally decided he liked the newspaper business better and he went to New Haven, Conn., and became city editor of The Daily Register, the leading newspaper of that city. At New Haven Mr. Parks was able to pursue his literary studies under Yale instructors and there he developed his talent as a writer of verse, humorous sketches and editorial paragraphs. This work attracted favorable notice and Mr. Parks became a contributor to the popular magazines, such as Life, Judge, etc. These products of Mr. Parks' pen were extensively copied by the press of the country, including the high-class literary journals.
Mr. Parks' work in New Haven attracted the attention of the publisher of the New York Herald and in 1897 the writer was offered a position as special editorial writer on the New York Telegram. For several years Mr. Parks conducted a literary and humorous department on the editorial page of The Telegram, he being accorded the then unique privilege of signing his work and having it illustrated by the staff artist. This brought the writer some distinction among New York writers. Mr. Parks continued this work for several years, but finally gave it up to enter the broader field of the news department, becoming in time news editor of The Evening Telegram, a place which he retained until August, 1904, when he resigned to go to Poughkeepsie to take charge of The Poughkeepsie Evening Star. Acquiring only a partial interest in The Star at first, Mr. Parks conducted it for about two years before purchasing the entire paper. At this time it had become evident to Mr. Parks that The Star could be made a profitable newspaper. This judgment, during the six years just passed has been amply sustained, for The Star has gone steadily ahead in public favor, and now, in 1912, enjoys a very large circulation and advertising patronage, being in fact one of the two largest and most profitable newspapers in the Hudson Valley.
In May, 1898, Arthur Alfred Parks and Blanche Arrilla Johnson, daughter of the late William S. Johnson, were married in the Church of the Transfiguration, New York. Mr. Parks has one brother, Lafayette Parks, at present publisher of the Fitchburg, Mass., Daily News, and one sister, Mrs. Charles S. Watson, of Denver, Colo.
FITZ JAMES NESBITT for nearly half a century a Poughkeepsie merchant, was born at Albany, N. Y., in 1840. He is a son of James Nesbitt of Scotch-Irish descent, who for many years was a ship carpenter in Albany. He married Catherine Mink, daughter of David Mink, who was also engaged in shipbuilding. The parents of F. J. Nesbitt died when he was ten years of age. After securing a common school education in his native city, he was employed in an oyster market at Troy, N.Y., and later in a similar establishment at Albany.
In 1862 Mr. Nesbitt enlisted under Captain Hale Kingsley in Company R, 25th Regiment New York State Militia, which was the first Albany regiment to respond to the call for militia. Mustered into service May 14, 1862, the Regiment was ordered to Suffolk, Va., where it remained during its period of enlistment under command of Col. Michael K. Bryan.
In 1865 Mr. Nesbitt came to Poughkeepsie and established an oyster market in Main St., subsequently adding fish, meats and poultry to his stock. Since 1886 he has occupied the premises at 261 Main St., and by close attention to details, and handling the choicest products he has built up a very extensive trade.
In public life Mr. Nesbitt, who is a staunch democrat, served the city of Poughkeepsie in 1888 as Alderman of the fourth ward, being President of the Board, and Mayor protem during the absence of Mayor Elsworth abroad. In 1891 he was appointed Police Commissioner by Mayor Elsworth, serving until December 31, 1892.
Mr. Nesbitt is a director in the Merchants National Bank; a member of the Masonic fraternity and of the Odd Fellows, having taken all the chairs in the latter organization.
In 1870 Mr. Nesbitt married Louisa J., daughter of Jacob Bahret of Poughkeepsie, and they are the parents of three children, Dr. Edward J. Nesbitt, veterinary surgeon of Poughkeepsie, Grace who died young, and Mabel L., now Mrs. R. F. Kolb of New York City.
AUSTIN L. SANDS who maintains a country place "Edgehill," at New Hamburg, N. Y., was born in Newport, R. I. He is a son of Frederic Parker and Elizabeth (Simpson) Sands, and a grandson of Dr. Austin Ledyard Sands, who was born in Dutchess County, and his wife Julia Parker of New Bedford, Mass.
His earliest American ancestor, James Sands, was born in England in 1622, and settled at Portsmouth, R. I., in 1642, where he had grants of land. He removed with his family to Block Island, in 1661, where he died in 1695. His eldest son John settled at Cowneck, L. I., in 1691, purchasing a farm from Richard Cornell. John Sands married Sybil daughter of John Ray, and four sons and four daughters were born, of whom John, the eldest, inherited the homestead farm at Cowneck.
John Sands 2d, married at Newport, R. I., in 1706, Catherine, daughter of Robert Guthrie. Twelve children were born of whom John the eldest, born 1708, died at Cowneck 1760. He married, 1736, Elizabeth, daughter of Caleb Cornell, and eight children were born as follows:
Comfort Sands who resided for a time in Dutchess County, was a merchant in New York and had acquired a fortune when the Revolution broke out. In 1775 he was chosen a member of the Provincial Congress and of the Committee of Safety. July 24, 1776, he was appointed Auditor General of the State of New York, and served until 1782. In 1778 he was a member of the New York Legislature, and made his home in Poughkeepsie until 1780, when he moved to a farm in Nine Partners, which he occupied until April, 1781.
JOHN S. ENO, superintendent of the Brewster plant of the Borden Condensed Milk Company, was born in Colebrook, Litchfield County, Conn., in January, 1838, a son of Daniel M. and Eunice (Sage) Eno of Colebrook.
When very young he went with his parents to Pennsylvania, where he received his schooling, and where he remained until 1862. In that year he came to Wassaic, N. Y., and entered the employ of the Borden Company. In 1866 he was appointed superintendent of the Brewster factory, and his eminent fitness for this position which he has occupied nearly half a century has in no small degree brought about the great success of this plant.
In public life Mr. Eno has served two terms as a member of the Putnam County Board of Supervisors, representing the town of Southeast. He has held the office of President of the village of Brewster, and served as school trustee, and member of the Board of Education. He was one of the incorporators of the First National Bank of Brewster, and has continued a member of the board of directors of this institution. He is a trustee of the Presbyterian Church and was a member of the building committee which erected the edifice at Brewster in 1884. He is affiliated with the Masonic fraternity including the Chapter and Commandery.
June 6, 1866, Mr. Eno was united in marriage with Susan, daughter of Edmund H. Clark of Cherry Ridge, Wayne County, Pa. Four children were born, Clark H., now a resident of Aurora, Ill ; Frank G., of Mount Kisco; Emma, wife of Edward D. Stannard, and Susan Borden, now Mrs. Cyrus Travis.
EDWARD D. STANNARD of Brewster, N. Y., the Treasurer of Putnam County since 1904, was born in the town of Southeast in 1866, a son of David K. and Sarah (Hanley) Stannard.
He attended the public schools of Brewster and vicinity, and at the age of nineteen entered the employ of the First National Bank at Brewster. In 1902 he was appointed to his present position as cashier of this institution.
Politically Mr. Stannard is a Republican and in 1903 was elected to the office of County Treasurer, and reelected in 1906 and 1909. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Odd Fellows and Foresters and a trustee of the Presbyterian Church.
In 1892 Mr. Stannard married Emma, daughter of John S. Eno. David K. Stannard, father of the subject of this review, was born in Sheffield, Mass., in 1836, a son of Daniel and Phoebe (Huggins) Stannard of Massachusetts.
In 1862 he enlisted in Co. E Mass. 49th Infantry, and served his country over a year or until the fall of Port Hudson, during which time his Company was stationed at Baton Rouge, La. When mustered out Mr. Stannard removed to Brewster, N. Y., where he has since resided. In 1864 he married Sarah Hanley who died in 1867, leaving two children, Edward D. and Cora E. (deceased). In 1867 David K. Stannard chose for his second wife Emma F. Ingersoll. Two children were born, William B. and Edith M.
EMERSON W. ADDIS, editor and proprietor of the Brewster Standard, was born in Litchfield, Conn., October 13, 1853. He is a son of Chester and Harriet (Waters) Addis of Litchfield County, and on the maternal side is a descendant of the Waters family of Hartford who were prominent and active patriots during the Revolution.
At the age of twelve years Mr. Addis became an apprentice in the office of the Litchfield Enquirer, and was later employed as a printer in Hartford and Danbury, Conn. From 1871 to 1873 he was editor of the Journal at New Milford, Conn. May 1, 1874, he came to Brewster, N. Y., as editor and foreman of the Brewster Standard and continued in this capacity until April 1st, 1880, when he purchased the newspaper and plant from Mr. John G. Borden and has since been its editor and proprietor.
Politically Mr. Addis is a Republican, and as Chairman of the County Committee has rendered his party valuable service. In November, 1896, he was elected Member of Assembly and re-elected in 1897. He was appointed Postmaster at Brewster by President Harrison, and reappointed by Presidents McKinley, Roosevelt and Taft. Mr. Addis has served on various commissions in condemnation proceedings in connection with the Croton watershed.
JOHN O'CONNOR, JR., the genial proprietor of the Southeast House at Brewster, N. Y. was born in this village in 1874. He is a son of John and Mary (Mackin) O'Connor, old residents of Brewster. After finishing his studies at the public schools of his native village, Mr. O'Connor took a course in Civil Engineering with the International Correspondence Schools of Scranton, Pa., and when qualified was appointed an engineer in the Aqueduct Commission by the City of New York, which he held for twenty-three years. Mr. O'Connor is regarded as an expert in matters pertaining to engineering.
In May, 1911, he resigned his position and purchased the Southeast House, which he thoroughly renovated and which he conducts in accordance with the most modern methods. The Southeast House is now considered by the traveling public as the hotel par excellence in the Harlem Valley.
BENJAMIN MATTHIAS TALBOT of Fishkill-on-Hudson, is a former extensive dealer in real estate, and now owns much valuable property there. He was born in Manchester, England, March 20, 1837, of an old Yorkshire family, and is the grandson of Charles and Jane Talbot and the son of Thomas Talbot who was a prosperous cloth merchant at Holmfirth, Yorkshire, England. His mother was Judith Winter, daughter of Matthias and Jane Winter, and she was one of a family of eight children.
Benjamin M. Talbot was educated at Holmfirth and conducted a cigar and tobacco store at Bradford, England. In 1865 he came to America locating first at Newburgh, N. Y., and in 1866 he removed to Fishkill Landing and established the Talbot House which he personally continued for twenty years and which is still conducted by his two younger sons. In 1886 he had become so largely interested in real estate and in building up his chosen community that he partially retired from the management of the Talbot House.
On November 9, 1868, Mr. Talbot married Miss Elizabeth, daughter of William and Mary Ann (Rothwell) Bates of Sewerby Bridge, Yorkshire, England, the wedding occurring the day she landed in America. Mrs. Talbot is an active member of St. Andrew's Episcopal Church and deeply interested in the various lines of parish work.
Benjamin M. and Elizabeth Talbot had five sons, one of whom died in infancy, and another, Frederick, died at the age of twenty years. The others are: (1) James Gulick Talbot, born Nov. 20, 1874. He was educated in the public school of his native town, in a private school in Southport, England, and was graduated from the Spencerian Business College, of Newburgh, N.Y. He began business life as a clerk in the office of J. E. Munger, lumber dealer, at Fishkill-on-the-Hudson. He then became bookkeeper for Eastman & Company, Music store, Newburgh, N. Y., with whom he remained for some time, and left to become salesman and tuner for the piano firm of Wegman & Co., Auburn, N. Y. He is engaged in business at Gloversville, N. Y., as a dealer in pianos, organs and musical instruments, and has built up an extensive trade.
In politics he is a Republican; in church affiliation a member of the Episcopal Church; in fraternal orders, a member of the Sons of St. George and of the Knights of Pythias.
He married February 14, 1901, Elizabeth Julia Hancock, born January 19, 1879, at Auburn, N.Y., the daughter of James and Sarah Elizabeth (Vickers) Hancock. They are the parents of two children Mertice Elizabeth, born January 21, 1902, and Harriet Bates, born March 30, 1907.
(2) William Rothwell Talbot was born October 22, 1877. He studied law in the office of J. Hervey Cook, in Fishkill, and subsequently joined his younger brother Harry, in the management of the Talbot House in their native place. He married July 3, 1900, Cecelia, daughter of Franklin and Annie Greene, of Matteawan. They have one son, Frederick Rothwell, born November 4, 1902.
(3) Harry Talbot, born Sept. 12, 1884. He is associated with his older brother, William R., in the management of the Talbot House. On January 24, 1911,he married Edith May, daughter of Frank Benjamin of Matteawan. They have one son Benjamin Matthias born Sept. 18th, 1911.
Benjamin M. Talbot is a Republican, but not a politician, and has never accepted public office. He was for some years a member of the Knights of Pythias Lodge of Matteawan, but otherwise is not a member of anyfraternal order. Though devoted to Dutchess county, his adopted home, he has an abiding love for his native land as is shown by the fact that his voyage this year, 1912, will make the thirtieth time he has crossed the Atlantic ocean.
THE DOUGHTY FAMILY is of very ancient origin, dating back before the Norman Conquest. Originally the name was spelled Dygtig in the Anglo-Saxon dialect. There were two branches of the family, one having a seat at Boston, in Lincolnshire, and the other at Esher in Surrey, England. One Thomas Doughty was a lieutenant on the Golden Hind, Sir Francis Drake's flagship, in the renowned voyage around the world.
Rev. Francis Doughty, probably of Surrey, is the common ancestor of all the American Doughtys. He was one of the Puritans who followed soon after the Mayflower pioneers, landing about 1633. In 1639 we find him in Taunton, Mass., from which place he moved with about 100 families to the present site of Newport, R. I., and later in 1642 to the Dutch Colony in New Amsterdam, Mr. Doughty having succeeded in obtaining a grant from Governor Kieft of 13,332 acres of land at Maspeth, which embraced nearly the whole of Newton, Maspeth and a part of Flushing. This land was afterwards taken away by Governor Kieft. The family became in later years very influential in Brooklyn affairs. One of the earliest named streets in Brooklyn, way own near the Fulton Ferry, was named after Charles Doughty. There is also a Doughty street in London, England.
Rev. Francis Doughty is said to have been the first preacher in the English language in New York City. He is reputed to have been a Baptist, but is also said to have been a Presbyterian. Later on the Brooklyn Dutchess and Putnam Counties Doughtys were Quakers and Swedenborgians. Charles Doughty, Esq., was a strong abolitionist and was for many years the most prominent lawyer in the then Village of Brooklyn. He was the first Brooklyn member of the New York Colonial Assembly. The family is now very much scattered. There is a branch still in Brooklyn and Long Island, one in Dutchess County to which one of the
The Brooklyn Daily Eagle of June 7, 1891, in a story of the Doughty family, in connection with Brooklyn history, makes the following comment: "The men of this race have ever been noted for hard headed obstinacy, great self-confidence, large intelligence and a disposition to express themselves freely at all times in season and out of season. No criminals or betrayers of trusts has ever been known to bear the name of Doughty, which, let it be understood, has no connection with the English Doty, or the Irish Dougherty or Doherty. As Doughty is spelled now so has it been spelled since the days of Henry VII."
The arms of the Doughty family contain the Latin motto, "Palma non sine pulvere", which freely translated is, "No reward without labor."
Rev. Francis Doughty had a daughter Mary who, in 1645, married Dr. Adrian Van der Donck. This was one of the noted intermarriages of the English and Dutch. He also had sons Elias, Francis, Charles and Jacob, and perhaps other children.
The children of Francis and Mary Doughty of Flushing, N. Y., were:
Elias born 1687, Palmer born 1689, Francis born 1691, Charity born 1693, Mary born 1695, Obadiah born 1698, James born 1700, Thomas born 1702, Sarah and Phebe (twins) 1704, Elener born 1706.
One Benjamin Doughty of Flushing had sons Charles born 1741, Benjamin born 1744, William born 1755, and perhaps others. The birth records of the children of these three sons are on file.
One Robert Doughty witnessed the will of Lieut. Gov. Cadwallader Colden, August 7, 1776.
JOHN HENRY DOUGHTY was for many years one of the foremost physicians of Dutchess County. He was born at Chestnut Ridge, in the town of Unionvale, March 19, 1830, a son of John Bunker Doughty and Phebe Van Vlack. It is not known from which son of Rev. Francis Doughty the immediate ancestors of John Henry Doughty came. It is believed, however, that his immediate ancestors lived in the eastern part of Connecticut and that he probably was not from the same branch as the other Dutchess County Doughtys.
Doctor Doughty was a self-made man. Early in life he determined to become a physician and by dint of hard work, close application and the most rigid economy he earned his education. He entered Williams College and in two years completed the course and received the degree of Bachelor of Arts in 1858. He received his medical degree from the University of Michigan in 1863 and immediately went to Washington where he took the examination for appointment as surgeon in the regular army. He received his appointment and commission at the hand of President Lincoln and served with distinction until the close of the war, having posts at Newbern and Wilmington, N. C. He was promoted to the rank of Brevet-Major while medical director at Wilmington. At the close of the war he took up his residence at Matteawan, Dutchess County, and continued there in the practice of his profession until his death, which occurred in his home at Matteawan, January 28, 1905.
Dr. Doughty was one of the founders of the Highland Hospital of Matteawan, and for many years was its chief surgeon. He was noted for his painstaking and conscientious work as a physician and surgeon. He was president of the Dutchess County Medical Society for many years, frequently preparing papers on medical and surgical topics, not only for that society but also for publication in medical journals. He was a member of the New York State Medical Society, and an active member of the Baptist Church.
Dr. Doughty married Elizabeth Woodin, of the Town of Beekman, in 1864, while home from the war on a furlough. There were seven children as follows: Thomas John, M.D., who died in 1898; Edgar M., a lawyer of New York City; Robert W., a lawyer of Fishkill Landing; Mary E. V., of Fishkill Landing; Phebe V. V., a physician of Matteawan; John Henry, Jr., a mechanical engineer of Wilkesbarre, Pa., and Elizabeth A., who died in 1907.
ROBERT W. DOUGHTY a practicing attorney of Fishkill Landing and New York, was born Dec. 13, 1868, at Matteawan, N. Y., the third son of Dr. John H. Doughty and Elizabeth Woodin. He graduated with the degree of B. A. in 1892 from the University of Michigan. After a journalistic career, he read law and was admitted to the Bar in 1900. He is a member of the law firm of Shoemaker, Pelham & Doughty of New York, and maintains an office at Fishkill-on-Hudson for his individual practice. He married in 1896 Grace Goble of Kalamazoo, Mich. They have five children: Elizabeth Woodin, Edna Renilde, Grace Roberta, Thomas John, and Robert Millard.
JOHN B. WHITSON, a prominent business man of Matteawan, N. Y., was born in Delaware County in 1847, and died at his home in Matteawan in 1905. He was a son of John and Mary (Black) Whitson, natives of Scotland. John Whitson came to America with his parents when he was thirteen years of age.
John B. Whitson attended the schools of his native county, and at the age of seventeen enlisted in the 144th Regiment, New York Militia. At the expiration of his period of enlistment of eleven months he returned to his home where he remained until his removal to Missouri in 1867.
Mr. Whitson was united in marriage in 1870 with Miss Abigail Dyer daughter of Hugh Carter Dyer of Welsh descent, and of his wife who was formerly Mary Ann Abernatha of Scottish descent. They were residents of Washington C. H., Ohio, and reared a family of five sons and seven daughters. Each of the sons—Lemuel, Robert, Alfred, Cornelius and Archelaus served in the Union army during the Civil War.
Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. J. B. Whitson, Harvey D. born in Missouri and Edwin Romaine born in Matteawan. Mr. Whitson settled in Matteawan in 1874 where his father and mother were then living. He engaged in the grocery business in which he continued for many years. In politics he was a Republican, and was elected to the office of Justice of the Peace, and was one of the clerks of the State Senate for five years. Socially he was a member of the Masonic fraternity, K. of P., American Mechanics and the G. A. R. He was a trustee of the Matteawan Savings Bank, and greatly interested in the welfare of local institutions of his adopted village. His wife Mrs. Whitson was superintendent of Highland Hospital for twenty-seven years, succeeding his mother Mrs. John Whitson who was in charge of the hospital over seven years.
WILLIAM BROWN (deceased) a former president of the village of Matteawan, was born in Wappingers Falls, N. Y., in 1845, a son of James and Elizabeth (Wheeler) Brown. When he was twelve years of age his parents removed to Glenham, where he remained fourteen years.
From 1872 to 1875 Mr. Brown was associated with Benjamin T. Sullivan in the shoe business at Matteawan, and a year later he embarked in the clothing business in which he continued to the time of his death. Mr. Brown was greatly interested in the development and progress of Matteawan, and his courage in building up the business portion of the village was most praiseworthy. In 1884 he purchased a part of the David Davis property, subsequently
Politically Mr. Brown was a Republican, and during his incumbency of village president many improvements were effected. He was honored by various positions of trust including that of trustee of the Mechanics Savings Bank of which he became vice-president. He was a member of the board of directors of the Matteawan National Bank and had served as village trustee and a member of the school board. In March, 1906, he was chosen foreman of the Grand Jury of Dutchess County. In religious affiliations Mr. Brown was a member of the Presbyterian Church; president of the Men's League, and for many years superintendent of the Sunday School. His life was one of activity and usefulness to his fellowmen.
Mr. Brown wielded a facile pen and was a frequent contributor to the local press. An article published in 1905, entitled the "Palmy Days of Glenham" in which he reviews in detail events in that village of a half century ago will be of value to future historians.
July 12, 1876, Mr. Brown was united in marriage with Mary E. daughter of James and Sarah (Hoffman) Kain. One daughter Edith was born who died at the age of thirteen.
AUGUSTUS W. MOWATT (deceased), a prominent citizen of Fishkill-on-Hudson, N. Y., was born in that village in the old Mowatt homestead. He was a son of James Mowatt and one of a family of nine children. His father was a millwright, and Augustus W., early in life took up this occupation. He later learned the carpenter's trade, and was regarded as a painstaking and careful workman, erecting many homes in Fishkill Landing and Matteawan. He was a staunch Republican, and held for a time the office of Street Commissioner. He was a trustee for many years of the Methodist Church, and gave liberally to the support of this society.
In 1861 Mr. Mowatt responded to the President's call for arms, enlisting in Company C, 18th New York Regiment, he was sergeant of this company and participated in the battles of Bull Run, Bailey Cross Roads, Fair Oaks and Fredericksburg. He received his discharge May 24, 1863. He was a member of Howland Post of the G. A. R.
In 1866 Mr. Mowatt was united in marriage with Amanda J. Saunders, who survives.
WILLIAM C. WARWICK (deceased) a representative citizen of Matteawan, N. Y., was born in County Antrim, Ireland, October 11, 1838, and died at Matteawan, November 27, 1911. He was a son of Arthur and Agnes Warwick and came to America when a boy. He learned the mason's trade in Matteawan, and became a prominent contractor and builder, erecting many substantial homes in his adopted village. He built the public school at Highland Falls, Orange County, and assisted in the erection of the Matteawan High School.
Mr. Warwick was a devoted member of the Presbyterian Church, serving as elder and trustee. His entire life was one of industry and usefulness. He was twice married. By his first wife Sarah Caldwell he had five children, of whom two sons are living, Arden and David D. Warwick. In 1887 Mr. Warwick married, secondly, Jane, daughter of John Campbell, and they became the parents of a daughter, Jessie Lozier.
SMITH HEROY widely known throughout Dutchess County by reason of many years of public service at Poughkeepsie, was born in the town of Fishkill May 4, 1843. Early in life he accepted a position as clerk in the Poughkeepsie Post Office under George V. Pelton, where he remained fourteen years. He then became local representative of the Mutual Life Insurance Co., and while thus engaged was appointed Clerk of the County Board of Supervisors, holding this appointment ten years. From 1878 to 1884 he served as Clerk of the Board of Water Commissioners, when he resigned to become Clerk of the Surrogate's Court, holding this position seven years.
Mr. Heroy is a son of Melancton and Matilda (Hazelton) Heroy of the town of Carmel, Putnam County. He married in 1874, Annie E. Jones, daughter of Abraham Jones of Poughkeepsie.
FRANK WHITEHEAD WHEELER, carpenter, cabinet-maker, and dealer in antique furniture, of Matteawan, N. Y., was born at Erie, Pa., in 1849. He is a son of Henry E. and Mary Elizabeth (Sherman) Wheeler; and a grandson of George H. Wheeler. Both George H. and Henry E. Wheeler were born also in Erie, Pa., the family being one of the oldest of that city. Henry E. Wheeler was also a carpenter. Mrs. Wheeler was a daughter of Michael Sherman and Hannah (Merritt) Sherman, both her father's and mother's ancestors being old Dutchess County families.
Frank W. Wheeler was educated at Moore's Mills, in the public schools until he was about fourteen years old. He then learned the carpenter and cabinet-maker's trade and was a journeyman until he established himself in business in Poughkeepsie in 1907, removing to Matteawan in 1909.
In 1876, Frank W. Wheeler was married to Onalova T. Bright who was born in Poughkeepsie, N. Y., the daughter of John Bright who was born and raised in Canada and of English descent, and of Eleanor (Sinsabaugh), Bright, who was the daughter of Marcus Sinsabaugh.
Frank W. and Onalova Wheeler were the parents of thirteen children, of whom seven are dead. The six who are living in 1912, are: Charles, who married Susan, daughter of Charles Tompkins; Aaron married Sarah, daughter of George Hadfield; Bert married Anna Bump; Edith married Charles F. Bloomer; Alva married Albert Townsend; and Onalova, single.
Mr. Wheeler is a Republican in politics, and a member of the Episcopal Church. He is a member of the Odd Fellows; the Junior Order of American Workmen; and of the Patriotic Sons of America.
JOSHUA LOUNSBURY DEAN of the town of Carmel, Putnam County, N. Y., is a prominent representative of an old family in this part of the State. His grandfather Richard Dean was born at Lake Mahopac, September 10, 1771; and died May 23, 1869. He married August 27, 1794, Alethea Austin by whom he had twelve children: Anna, John, Mary, Robert, Smith A., Stephen, Adah, Ira W., Amzi L., Cornelius, Lewis A. and William A.
Amzi L. Dean, father of the subject of this review, became one of the leading men of Putnam County. He was appointed executor of many estates and acted as trustee and guardian in several cases. In 1836 he was a partner with Isaac Lounsbury in the Old Red Mills, and the two were associated in the mercantile business at Mahopac Falls for many hears. He afterward engaged in farming at the estate known as the Cyrus J. Seeley farm, Mr. Dean exchanging this property for a farm where the Dean House at Lake Mahopac now stands. As noted elsewhere in this work Mr. Dean conducted the Dean House until October 15, 1872, when he sold it to his sons Joshua L. and Adrian H.
Politically Mr. Dean was a Democrat and held many public offices. In 1837 he was elected Inspector of State prisons, and about the same time was chosen Supervisor for the town of Carmel, a position he again held in 1854. He served as Clerk of the Putnam County Board of Supervisors for eighteen years, and compiled and issued the first copy of their proceedings. At one time he was County Commissioner. He died in 1876. His wife who was Catherine Lounsbury died in 1895.
Joshua L. Dean was born December 7, 1839, at Mahopac Falls in the "White House" in which Major Andre is said to have been held a prisoner. He graduated in 1857 from the Raymond Institute for Boys at Carmel. He assisted in the management of the Dean House until the retirement of his father in 1872, when he purchased the property and became associated with his brother Adrian H., the firm being known as J. L. and A. H. Dean. In 1880 Joshua L. sold his interest to his brother, and has since lived in comparative retirement from business.
Politically Mr. Dean is a Democrat and his influence is widely recognized. From 1868 to 1870 he was Commissioner of the U. S. Deposit Fund for Putnam County, and held the office of Supervisor for six years, having previously served as Clerk of the Board. From 1888 to 1892 he was Justice of the Peace. He was also chosen president of the Putnam County Agricultural Society. He is a member of the Blue Lodge and Chapter of the Masonic Fraternity.
L. W. JAYCOX of the town of Philipstown, Putnam County, son of William O. and Catherine (LaForge) Jaycox, is a descendant on both the paternal and maternal sides from very old families in this section of the State. As will be found elsewhere in this work, Joseph Jaycox was a resident of the South Precinct, Dutchess County (now a part of Putnam County) previous to 1744. In the highway records of that year, we find that his house was a well-known landmark. Joseph Jaycox came from the borderland of Switzerland and France. His sons Isaiah and David are the progenitors of the numerous Jaycox families in this section.
The LaForge family as the name indicates were of French origin, and the ancestor of this family was an early settler in Philipstown.
L. W. Jaycox has been prominent in business and public life in Philipstown for many years, and has held the office of Assessor, Coroner and town Supervisor. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity and a charter member of the local lodge of Odd Fellows. He married December 5, 1878, Emma daughter of Isaac and Nancy Warren.
HON. WILLIAM WOOD (deceased), one of the most prominent citizens of Putnam County, rose by his own unaided efforts from comparative obscurity to high positions of trust and usefulness in his adopted county. He was born in County Down, Belfast, Ireland, August 6, 1842, a son of Robert and Jane (Thompson) Wood. His parents came to America in 1847, and settled at Cold Spring, N. Y., where William obtained his early education. He then learned the trade of iron moulder in the West Point Foundry, thus continuing until he reached his thirtieth year, when he availed himself of an opportunity to read law in the office of Samuel Owen, Esq., at that time District Attorney. Upon completing his term as a law student he was admitted to the Bar in 1876, and in November of the same year was elected District Attorney, and twice re-elected. In 1883 he was elected County Judge, and again twice re-elected, holding this office eighteen years.
Judge Wood was a life-long member of the Republican party and his influence was widely recognized. As a political speaker he had few superiors and was frequently engaged in presidential campaigns to deliver addresses in various parts of the country.
By his death in 1911 the village of Cold Spring and the County of Putnam lost a sterling citizen who enjoyed the respect and confidence of everyone. He long held high rank among the Masonic fraternity being a member of the Lodge, Chapter and Commandery.
Judge Wood married in 1875, Ellen, daughter of John and Sarah Groundwater. Three children were born: Ellen C, Robert T., and Emily R.
E. S. WHITNEY, president and general manager of the Mount Beacon Hotel Co., Fishkill-on-the-Hudson, N. Y., was born at Gorham, Maine, February 2, 1852, a son of Robie and Mary J. (Hall) Whitney.
Through the enterprise of Mr. Whitney, who is a resident of Manchester, N. H., the beautiful and historic mountain in the town of Fishkill has become the most popular health and pleasure resort in the Hudson River Valley.
The summit of the mountain is reached by the Mt. Beacon Incline Railway, which runs to the top of the west spur of North Beacon, 1200 feet above the Hudson River. On the Eastern crest stands a monument erected by the Daughters of the American Revolution in commemoration of the burning of beacon fires during the occupation of New York by the British, to notify Washington and his officers of the movement of the enemy. The incline railway has been in successful operation since May, 1902. The Casino at the top of the mountain has spacious balconies on all sides, a roof observatory supplied with powerful telescopes and search-light. Adjoining the Casino is "Beaconcrest," a modern hotel with accommodations for one hundred guests.
HUGH HAMBLEY (deceased), for several years a resident of the town of Philipstown, Putnam County,was a native of Cornwall, England, and came to America in 1866. He was a pattern-maker by trade serving his apprenticeship with his uncle who owned a foundry at Cornwall. For a time he was employed in New York with the American Bank Note Co., and on his removal to Cold Spring, N. Y., entered the employ of the West Point Foundry Co.
Mr. Hambley married Eizabeth, daughter of Lewis and Abigail E. (Gore) Birdsall. Lewis Birdsall was a railroad contractor and a son of Seymour Birdsall who kept the first post office at Cold Spring.
The Gore ancestry is traced to John Gore, who came from Waltham Abbey, Essex County, England, to Roxbury, Mass., in 1636. He was made a freeman in 1637, and in 1638 was a member of the Artillery Co. He owned in 1643 about 188 acres of land in Massachusetts. He was town clerk many years and the records of Roxbury now in the City Hall of Boston, are in his handwriting and that of his son, John who succeeded him. He died in Roxbury, June 2, 1657. His son John was born May 23, 1634, in England and died at Roxbury Mass., June 26, 1705. He married May 31, 1683, Sarah Gardner. Several members of the Gore family were slain in the Wyoming Massacre, and their names appear on a monument at Wilkes Barre, Penn., erected to perpetuate the heroism of those killed in that battle.
JOHN REED YALE. The American ancestry of John R. Yale of Brewster, N. Y. is traced to Thomas Yale who was born at Chester, England, in 1616, and died at New Haven, Conn., March 27, 1683. Thomas Yale was a son of Thomas and a grandson of Dr. David Yale, Chancellor of Chester, and who lived at Plas Grono, the family estate near Wrexham, Wales.
Thomas Yale came to America in 1637, with his father-in-law, Gov. Eaton and others. He settled at New Haven and became one of the principal men in the Colony. He was the uncle of Gov. Elihu Yale, the founder of Yale University. Thomas Yale married in 1645 Mary, daughter of Capt. Nathaniel Turner of New Haven. Three sons and four daughters were born, of whom Thomas, the second in order of birth, continues this line.
Thomas2 (Thomas 1) born in New Haven 1647. He was active in the settlement of Wallingford, Conn., to which place he removed in 1670, and where he died in 1736. He married 1667 Rebecca, daughter of William Gibbards of New Haven. Issue: four sons and four daughters.
Thomas3 (Thomas, 2 Thomas1) born in Wallingford, 1678, married Mary, daughter of Joseph Benham, 1705. They settled in what is now Meriden, Conn. He was one of the 54 persons who constituted the Congregational Church at Meriden. He died in 1750. Of his three sons and six daughters, Benjamin, the fourth in order of birth, continues the line.
Benjamin (Thomas3, Thomas,2 Thomas1) born Feb. 4, 1714, at Wallingford. He was a farmer and lived at Cheshire and Wolcott, Conn., and late in life at Patterson, N. Y., where he died in 1781. He married in 1737 Ruth Ives of North Haven. Eight sons and two daughters were born.
Stephen (Benjamin, 4 Thomas3, Thomas2, Thomas1) was born at Meriden, June 6, 1749. He married Olive Clark of Southington, Conn., in 1774, and a few years later they removed to Patterson, N. Y. His wife died in 1811, and he died in 1818. Children, six sons and three daughters.
Stephen (Stephen5, Benjamin4, Thomas3, Thomas2, Thomas1) born at Patterson, N. Y., 1787. He married Susan Palmer of the same town in 1809. He was a farmer and resided at Fishkill Landing where his children, four sons and four daughters, were born. He died Dec. 9, 1870.
Belden (Stephen6, Stephen5, Benjamin4, Thomas3, Thomas2, Thomas1) was born at Fishkill November 26, 1821. He was a farmer in the town of Patterson, and in later years resided at Brewster, N. Y. He married in 1853 Margaret Glennen, and the following children were born: John Reed, born 1855, Ellis, born 1858, Mary J., born 1861.
John Reed Yale who represents the county of Putnam in the State Assembly for the eleventh consecutive term, was educated in the schools of his native town of Patterson. He has been engaged in various business enterprises, and prior to his election to the Assembly, was employed for ten years by the city of New York as a real estate expert in condemnation proceedings, and later as one of the Commissioners of Appraisal in the same proceedings. As a member of the contracting firm of Ryan & Yale, he has been extensively engaged in the construction of State roads and other public works. The present water supply of the village of Brewster which was developed and established by Mr. Yale, was acquired by purchase from him in 1909.
Always a Republican, Mr. Yale was elected member of Assembly in 1901, and has been continously re-elected by substantial majorities. In 1904 he was chosen a delegate to the National Convention which nominated Theodore Roosevelt for President. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity, the Odd Fellows, Elks, and the Republican Club of New York.
In 1880 Mr. Yale married Miss Alice Penny, a native of Towners, N. Y., and the following children were born: Beatrice M., Anna M., Daisy I., Edna A. (deceased), Florence L.
THE HAIGHT FAMILY both numerically and by virtue of their ability and energy have for many years occupied a prominent place in the annals of the central Hudson River Valley.
The family descend from Baron Johannes Von Haight who went from Normandy to Britain in the thirteenth century, and the American branch trace their ancestry to that sterling Puritan, Simon Haight who was born in Dorsetshire, England, in 1595, and sailed for America October 6, 1628 on the vessel "Abigail," with Col. John Endicott who was afterward appointed Governor of the Massachusetts colony. In colonial records the name is spelled variously Haight, Hait, Hoyt and Hoit.
Simon Haight brought with him to America his wife and son, John, and two other children who probably died in infancy as no further record of them can be found. The family settled first at Salem, Mass., and a few years later removed to Stamford, Conn., where Simon Haight died Sept. 1, 1657. Several of his descendants live in this section of Connecticut and for many generations have spelled the name "Hoyt."
John Haight (or Hoit), eldest son of Simon was born at Dorsetshire, England in 1614, and died at Rye, Westchester County, N. Y., Sept. 1, 1684. He was in his fourteenth year when he accompanied his father to America. He lived for some years in Fairfield County, Conn., and in 1665, removed with his family to Westchester County, N. Y., purchasing a large strip of land from Thomas Pell, whose name is perpetuated in the naming of the town of Pelham in Westchester County. John Haight married Mary, daughter of John Budd, and their children were: Samuel, Mary. Rachel, John and Simon.
John Haight, fourth child of John and Mary Haight, was born at East Chester, N. Y., in 1665. He took an active part in public affairs in Westchester County and in 1696 was chosen town clerk of Rye, N. Y. He served as constable in 1702, and as Supervisor in 1711. He was elected member of Assembly in 1712, and reelected in the years '13, '14 and '15. He subsequently was re-elected town Supervisor, and in 1719 was chosen church warden of Grace church at Rye, N. Y. In 1721 he obtained from King George II Royal Letters of Patent to the Charter of White Plains. He married Elizabeth Purdy, daughter of Daniel Purdy, who also had received letters patent to some 1500 acres of land in Westchester County.
Eight children were born to John and Elizabeth Haight namely: John, Samuel, Jonathan, Joseph, Daniel, Elizabeth, Eunice and Mary.
Daniel Haight, fifth child of John and Elizabeth Haight was born at Rye, N. Y., in 1688, and died at Yorktown, N. Y., in 1772. He purchased in 1748 a tract of land on the water lot of the Philips patent in what was at that time a part of Dutchess County. He married in 1718 Elizabeth, daughter of Joseph Norton and had nine children as follows: Joseph, James, William, Daniel, Jonathan, Rachel, Jemimah, Elizabeth and Charity.
Joseph Haight, the eldest son, who continues this line was born at Yorktown, Westchester County in 1719, and died at Philipstown, in what is now Putnam County, N. Y., July 30, 1776. He removed from Rye, N. Y., to Philipstown in 1751, where he occupied a strip of land given to him by his father in 1750. He was a carpenter by trade and built the first frame house on the east side of Clove Creek, obtaining all the lumber from his farm. He married Hannah daughter of John Wright of Yorktown, N. Y., by whom he had the following children: Mary, John (afterwards Captain), Joseph, Sylvanus, Stephen, William, Daniel, Beverly (b. 1763, married Charity daughter of Joseph and Sarah [Larrabee] Hustis, and had issue: Elizabeth, Joseph, Joshua, Mary, David, Esther, Beverly and John) Hannah, Phebe who married Col. Zebrilou Butler, Esther and Martha (twins).
Captain John Haight second child of Joseph, was born at Rye, N. Y., Aug. 18, 1743, and was married in the old Beverly House at Garrison, N. Y., March 20, 1770, to Merriam, daughter of Cornelius Swim of Highland Falls, Orange County.
John Haight became Captain of the Seventh Regiment, known as Col. Henry Luddington's Regiment, and served throughout the Revolutionary War. In 1807 and 1808 he was a member of Assembly from Dutchess County, and in 1820 he served as Judge of the Court of Common Pleas in Putnam County. For over forty years he was ruling elder of the Presbyterian Church at Brinckerhoff, N. Y. He died at the old Haight homestead in Philipstown, July 15, 1836, in his ninety-third year.
His children were: James, Joseph I., Cornelius I. who married Hannah Burroughs, Sylvanus, Henry, Mary, Stepehn, Jacob I., Hannah, and Miriam.
UNDERHILL BUDD. Among the notable family histories in this country to-day is that of the Budd family. American genealogical records present few subjects whose descendants have been more replete with achievement and honor. No man has greater reason for pride in his ancestry than has Underhill Budd, the main subject of this sketch. Thus it is that in the collection of this data the biographer finds a vast wealth of material.
Mr. Budd traces his ancestry back to an old English family of note. He belongs to the seventh generation in the direct male line from his first American ancestor John Budd—1632. He descends from old colonial and Knickerbocker stock, many of which were active participants in the war of the Revolution; also from the Patroon stock. Numbered in his immediate branch of the family in Dutchess county, are those who have won fame in the civic affairs of the State and Nation; such as State Governor, Congressmen, Supreme Court Judges, Assemblymen, Senators, etc.
Underhill Budd is the seventh son of Elijah Budd, a leading Dutchess county farmer of his day. His father was born 1781 on the day that Lord Cornwallis surrendered his army to Gen. Washington at Yorktown, at the close of the Revolution. Elijah's father, Gilbert Budd, came from Westchester county, N. Y., and settled in the Highlands north of Cold Spring. Later he purchased a farm west of Fishkill Village, on the old Post road. This, was afterward known as the "Old Budd Homestead". It is now owned by Frederick Haight. Here Elijah was born. This house was built by Daniel Budd in 1750. He was the second cousin of Gilbert Budd, the grandfather of Underhill Budd. The old house was burned in 1898, and the ruins were removed by the present owner. In this old structure were port-holes for use in the defense against the hostile Indians, who abounded in the region at that time. The place was used also as a relay stage station where the horses were changed on the route between New York and Albany. This homestead was also honored by the presence of General Washington and Governor Clinton. Elijah Budd talked with Governor Clinton as he passed by on horseback en route to the Capital at Albany. Upon the death of his father he, came into possession of the farm. In 1806 he married, Abigail Sebring, daughter of Isaac Sebring, an extensive and prosperous farmer of that region. Mr. Sebring married Catharine Van Benschoten, a daughter of Tunis Van Benschoten of New Hackensack, Dutchess county. He died in his 81st year, and his wife, Annie Sleight in her 91st year. Mr. and Mrs. Sebring died in their 78th and 77th year, respectively. Elijah Budd afterward sold the old homestead and bought a farm of John Brinckerhoff, on the Hudson at Low Point, now known as Chelsea, where he moved in 1822. On this farm Underhill Budd was born August 3, 1823. This homestead was known as Mount Washington.
On October 12, 1852, at the age of 29, Mr. Budd married Miss Emily J. Snooke, a daughter of Matthew I. Snooke, whose ancestors went out of Holland into Wellington, England with William the Conqueror in 1060.
She is a daughter of the American Revolution, her grandfather on her father's side fought through the war under General Washington. Mrs. Budd has his flintlock musket and a horn cup which he carried through the war. Her great-grandfather on her mother's side was captain of the second Dutchess County militia. She also has the old musket that he carried through the war. This Snooke family is still prominent in the States of Ohio and California. Mr. Budd's great-grandfather was also named Underhill Budd, and he was born in Westchester county in 1708, and lived to be 47 years old. He was the son of Joseph, grandson of Joseph, and the great-grandson of John Budd the first.
Soon after his marriage, Mr. Budd moved to the State of Illinois, where he took charge of the extensive estate of a deceased brother for the next three years. Having joined the Methodist church at the early age of sixteen, he was now licensed as a local preacher in the State of Illinois and became associated with the regular Conference ministry there in church work. His services were freely given for the cause of Christianity and without any compensation whatsoever.
After his three years' sojourn in Illinois he returned to the farm of his father in Dutchess county, where his elder brothers having left home, he felt it his duty to take charge for the next fifteen years. In 1886 his mother died at the ripe age of 81. His father survived her only three years, dying in his ninetieth year. He then remained on this farm six years, settled up the estate, and in 1875 he removed to the farm of his father-in-law, who had just died in his eightieth year. Here Mr. Underhill Budd still lives at this writing, in the full enjoyment of health, crowned with honor, prosperity and respect. Although in his ninetieth year, he is strong and active both in mind and body. This he attributes to his careful and abstemious habits of life, never having used tobacco or spirituous liquors in any form. He has two sons, Prof. I. S. Budd, a graduate of the New England Conservatory of Music at Boston, and Matthew V. B. Budd, whose time is fully occupied in looking after the extensive real estate interests of the family.
Here upon these fair and fertile acres of rolling tableland on the east bank of the Hudson, just before the noble stream breaks through the grand and lofty Highlands of rock and scanty verdure, the ancestors and descendants of the Budd family have lived in peace and prosperity ever since the white man first invaded the region. For 200 years and more the locality has been regarded mainly as an English region. Though Robert Livingston induced many Dutch and Huguenot craftsmen and farm laborers to settle upon his vast estate farther toward the north, the Manor grant for which was; dated 1686. Many of these American families boast homes here which are older than the Republic itself. And in many cases the names of the ancient owners may still be found among the proprietors of today. Youngsters toddle down to the same old pew in the little church where their grand-sires, who now sleep in the little country church yards, worshiped.
ENGLISH HISTORY OF THE BUDD FAMILY
The ancient history and career of the Budd family in England is fraught with much interest and well deserves mention in this biography. Baron Gene Budd was a great soldier and a commanding officer under Charles the Great, who established the Empire. He received from him a large tract of land on the coast of Normandy. Here he ruled like a Freeman. He and his descendants were in many important battles. They became known as Frenchmen when the Normans invaded that part of France. In these conflicts many were overcome andslain, and few survived. Their lands were confiscated by their conquerors, and they became widely scattered.
But William Budd remained, working on the seashore at a place called Rye. Their sons and grandsons were afterward allowed to keep their land, and they became soldiers. Here it was that William the Great came when his Barons sought to slay him. But Richard Budd gathered his men and protected him until the Duke, through his assistance, was able to check the insurgent and bring about a better understanding. During the Norman conquest three sons of William Budd crossed over to England where it is thought they named the town of Rye, county of Sussex. The father of Richard Budd however, returned to Normandy where he afterward inherited his father's feudal rights.
Richard Budd was rewarded for his services in saving the life of the Duke, by increased land possessions. These were afterward inherited by his son John. And at the death of Edward of England, he was the first to muster his knights and soldiers in defense of the claim of William of Normandy to the throne of England. They landed at Rye for the great battle, where it is said the superior valor of Richard Budd won the victory over the Saxons and placed William the Great on the English throne.
John Budd afterward married a sister of William the Great, and became the Earl of Sussex. He and his descendants built the town of Rye, which however was burned, with all its records, during the subsequent wars. They held various positions in the army, and married into the families of the Nevils, Brownes and Montagues. But many of them were slain during the wars of the Red and White Roses. Some of their cousins, including the brave Earl and Lord Montague, fell at Barnet with axe and sword in hand, after piling heaps of slain around them. Upon the accession of Edward the fourth to the English throne these surviving descendants found no favor at court, and many of their large estates were confiscated.
In 1632 John Budd fled to America in search of freedom. He settled in Rye, Westchester county, N. Y. Joseph Budd came over the same year. Seven years later they were among the first planters in New Haven, Conn. John Budd moved to Southold, L. I., and next to Rye, N. Y., in 1661. In 1663 he was deputy from Rye to the General Court of Connecticut. He purchased lands from the native Indian chiefs Chem, Shamrocke, and other chiefs and was the first proprietor of Apawaquamus afterward known as "Budd's Neck". This original conveyance is recorded in Westchester county, bearing date of November 8, 1661. This grant of land was so extensive that the neighboring proprietors of Rye became envious of him, and they petitioned the General Court at Hartford not to confirm it. But Mr. Budd's influence, prevailed and his title remained intact. At his death his son John became heir to the mills on Blind Brook, and his brother Joseph received all of Budd's Neck. Through influence with the Crown, Joseph obtained a patent of land dated Feb. 20, 1695. But this claim was refused by the Courts because of certain defects in the boundary line between New York and Connecticut. And it was not until twenty-five years later that the title was finally confirmed under the Great Seal of the Province of New York. These Patentees then gave to the Governor, on the fast day of the Blessed Virgin Mary, one pound and nineteen shillings annual rental for this land. This was during the reign of King George I.
Lieutenant John Budd married Catherine Browne, a descendant of Sir Anthony Browne the founder of the Montague family and Henry V. of England. They had four children, John, Joseph, Judith and Jane Budd, their initials being confined to this letter of the alphabet. The father died in 1670. Joseph Budd, second, son of John Budd, first, was known as Captain Budd, in 1700 and he soon became prominent. He became a Justice of the Peace, and served in that capacity almost continuously from 1710 until his death in 1722. He secured a Patent for the Budd's Neck tract of his father in 1720. He left four sons, John, Joseph, Elijah and Underhill. The name of John Budd appears frequently in the records of Rye between 1720 and 1745. He inherited the Budd's Neck estate which he sold to Peter Jay in 1745.
Gilbert Budd, the grandfather of Underhill Budd, the main subject of this sketch, married Deborah Searles, who was born June 14, 1738. The issue of this marriage, were Underhill, Seeley, Elijah (I), Mary P., William, Gilbert (I), John, Gilbert (II), and Elijah (II). Elijah Budd, the father of Underhill, married Abigail Sebring. Their children were Issac S., who died in his 74th year, Van Benschoten, who died in his 84th year, John J., Jacob, who died in his 85th year, Tunis G., Matthew, Margaret, who died in her 78th year, Maria M., who died in her 76th year; Underhill, Amelia A., and Edward. Elijah Budd, the father, died in his 90th year, and the mother in her 81st year.
PROMINENT MEMBERS OF THE BUDD
Few of our older families in this country today have an ancestral record, which includes so many men who have achieved prominence in public life as has this Budd family. James Budd was a member of the first Colonial Assembly in America in 1668. He was drowned in the Delaware river at Burlington, N. J., in 1692. William Budd Bradford, whose mother was Rachel Budd, was Attorney-General of the United States during President Washington's second administration. James Herbert Budd, who was born at Janesville, Wis., May 18, 1851, went to California in early life and graduated from the University of California in 1873. He was admitted to the Bar and began the practice of law at Stockton, California. There he became a trustee of the Stockton Library, President of the Police Board, Fire Commissioner, and was elected to Congress in 1883. He declined a renomination to that office and was finally chosen Governor of his adopted State in 1895, serving in that capacity until 1899.
Joseph Budd was a Judge of the Superior Court at Stockton, California. Oliver H. Budd served two terms in the New York State Legislature. William H. Budd, served in the New York Legislature and was a successful lawyer in New York city. Another William Budd, practiced law at Mount Holly, N. J., and became a State Senator there. Joseph K. Budd, was a successful banker in St. Louis, Mo., and Dr. Henry Budd, was one of the leading physicians of Geneva, N.Y.
Perhaps one of the most eminent and best known members of this remarkable family in this country in recent years, was Prof. Joseph Lancaster Budd, who won wide celebrity in the realm of Horticulture, both in this and foreign lands. He was born in Westchester county, N.Y., in 1837, educated in the district schools there and in the New York State Normal School. He received the degree of M. H., from the Iowa Agricultural College. In 1857 he had charge of the Boys' Academy at Rockford, Ill. Three years later he bought a farm in Benton county Iowa, where he started the Benton County Nurseries and Orchards. In 1872 he was chosen Secretary of the State Horticultural Society there, which position he held for 23 years. Meanwhile he was elected to the chair of Horticulture and Forestry in the State Agricultural College. For many years he was the editor of the Iowa State Register and Rural Life. He was a member of the American Pomological Society for a long series of years, and had a very active part in the career of that noted society. He was also connected with other kindred societies both in this country and Europe. In 1882 he visited Russia with Charles Gibb, a noted Pomologist of Canada, for the study of native fruits there, and in central Asia. And as a result of their labors many new and valuable varieties were added to our American lists. When the famous Charles Downing died he left his valuable library and all his posthumous papers to Prof. Budd, who was his worthy successor in the realm of Pomona. Mr. Budd was the author of the very complete and comprehensive Encyclopedia of Horticulture, which was published a few years since, and is now a standard work. Few men in this country have done as much for the cause of Horticulture, and labored so effectively for the interests of the fruit growers as Prof. Budd. He died at Phoenix, Ariz., Dec. 20, 1904.
Henry A. Budd, son of Samuel and Mary Hudson (Beach) Budd, was born in New York city in 1871. He was educated in private schools there and in Paris, and married in New York to Julia McClave in 1895. Their children were; Hudson, born 1897, and Natalie, born in 1900. He was employed by the firm of Samuel Budd, dealers in men's furnishings, in 1893, became a partner in 1895, and later, he succeeded to the full ownership of the business, retaining the old firm name however. He has traveled in Europe extensively. He is a Republican in politics, and Episcopalian in religion, a member of the Southampton, L. I., Horse Association, also of the S. A. R.; N. Y. Zoological Society; Metropolitan Museum of Art, and various athletic and outdoor clubs, including the N. Y. Athletic, and the Apawamus Country Club at Rye, and at Lakewood, N. J.
Ogden D. Budd, a New York broker was born in that city July 9, 1861. He is a son of Dr. Bern L. Budd, and Catherine Fowler (Gallaudet) Budd. He graduated from the College of the City of New York, with honorable mention for general scholarship, in 1881, married Grace A. Jackson, there May 4, 1886, resulting in the following issue: Bern, born 1886; Annie McCound Noble, born 1888; Ogden D. Jr., born 1892; Thomas Gallaudet, born 1898. Mr. Budd served as clerk in the N. Y. Custom House by competitive examination from 1881 to 1883. Then he engaged in the mercantile trade for the next two years. He afterward joined the Consolidated Stock and Petroleum Exchange in 1885, where he has since been engaged in the commission business. He was elected to the Board of Governors of that body in 1900, re-elected in 1902 and 1904, and finally chosen President in June, 1906. In that year he founded the firm of Ogden Budd & Co., with Kenneth M. Jackson as partner. In politics he was a "Gold Democrat"; in religion, an Episcopalian. He is a member of Delta Kappa Epsilon, also of the Alumni Association, and he is an associate alumni of the College of the City of New York.
Dr. Gilbert Budd was born in Westchester County, N. Y., in 1718, and died Oct. 18, 1805. He was educated in Edinburgh, and became a surgeon in the British Navy, where he served for thirty years. The following lines, written by Jane Barker, who died in 1754, were dedicated to Dr. Budd, and are carved upon his monument.
"Whoe'r thou art with silent footsteps tread
His gay wit that fond attention drew
Perhaps e'en now from yonder realm of day
Another prominent member of the Budd family of recent years is Henry Budd, a leading lawyer and author, who was born in Philadelphia, Nov. 12, 1849. He is a son of Henry and Martha (Berg) Budd. He graduated from the University of Pennsylvania in 1868. He read law in the office of Hon. Peter McCall of that city, attended the lectures of the law department of the University from 1886 to 1889, and received the A. M. degree in 1871. He was married in the Quaker city in 1888, to Judith J. Dallet, and was admitted to the Bar July 6, 1871. He practiced in his native city, where he became identified with many important cases, notably the Commonwealth vs. Griest, in which the veto power of the Governor of that State preventing the submission of a constitutional amendment was denied. Mr. Budd is affiliated with many associations including the Phi Beta Kappa, Historical Society of Pennsylvania, Philobiblon Society, Law Association of Philadelphia, State Bar Association, American Bar Association, of which he has been Vice-President, Trustee of the General Theological Seminary of the Episcopal Church, N. Y., and of Burlington College, N. J., Director of the Philadelphia Academy of Music, President of the Central Com., of Alumni of the State University, Chancellor of the Ecclesiastical Court, Diocese of Pennsylvania since 1904. He was also one of the founders of the University Club of that State. He is the author of four volumes entitled "Leading Cases on the American Law of Real Estate," doing nearly all the work of this comprehensive treatise, Judge Sharswood, his associate, having died before the second volume was submitted. Among his other literary works are the St. Mary's Hall Lectures, 1898 to 1904, and volume I of the American and English Leading Cases in Equity, edited in 1905. He was also a frequent contributor to the Law Reviews.
MEMBERS OF THE BUDD FAMILY IN
Lieutenant Samuel Budd served in the U. S. Navy from 1775 to 1777. Charles A. Budd, becoming a midshipman Nov. 22, 1805, was promoted to a Lieutenant June 18, 1814, and died March 15, 1827. George Budd began his naval career on the same date, received his Lieutenant's commission May 22, 1812, became Commander March 28, 1820, and died Sept. 3, 1837. Samuel P. Budd was third Assistant Engineer from Sept. 8, 1863, until his resignation Aug. 10, 1867. Thomas A. Budd began as a midshipman Feb. 2, 1829, was promoted, Sept. 8, 1841, and resigned Apr. 29, 1853. But he enlisted in the Civil War as a Lieutenant May 13, 1861, and he was killed in action March 22, of the following year. William Budd became Acting Master May 17, 1861, acted as volunteer Lieutenant May 9, 1862, became Commander Nov. 5, 1864, and was honorably discharged Jan. 6. 1866.
SERVICES OF THE BUDD FAMILY IN THE
George W. Budd was First Sergeant in Company G of the Second Iowa Cavalry regiment in August 30, 1861, was promoted to a second Lieutenantcy June 1, 1862, became Captain Feb. 7, 1865, and was mustered out Sept. 19 of that year. He re-enlisted as second Lieut, in the 9th Cavalry Aug. 17, 1867, was promoted to First Lieut. April 20, 1872, and he finally retired June 28, 1878. He was born in New York, and appointed from there. Otto W. Budd was a second Lieut, in the Fourth Cavalry, Dec. 8, 1868, promoted to First Lieut. Jan. 5, 1874, succeeded to Captain Dec. 28, 1882, and was finally retired for disability April 22, 1891. He was born in Pennsylvania and appointed from Maryland. Joseph Budd was Second Major of the Second regiment, Burlington, N. J., June 6, 1797. Conklin Budd was Captain of a Paterson Company belonging to the Third Battalion.
Charles Budd is mentioned as Captain of a Georgia Continental Regiment in 1779. John S. Budd, of South Carolina served as Captain of the South Carolina Artillery, July 18, 1778, and was taken prisoner at Charleston May 12, 1783. Samuel Budd of North Carolina, was First Lieut, of the Second North Carolina Regiment Nov. 11, 1777, became Captain two years later, was taken prisoner at Charleston May 12, 1780, exchanged July 1781 and retired Jan. 1, 1783. Thomas Budd, a Surgeon on the U. S. Privateer "Randolph", was blown up with his vessel while engaging a British gunboat.
THE BUDD FAMILY IN THE REVOLUTION
Richard Budd, born in Westchester county, N. Y., in 1750, fought through the war in the King's American army. Being wounded, at the close of the conflict, he received a pension from the Birtish government for life, and also a large tract of land in Westmoreland, New Brunswick, where he settled and raised a family of eight daughters and four sons, John, James, Richard and Henry. Mr. Budd reached the remarkable age of 109 years, and died in 1859. He left many descendants in Canada and Nova Scotia. Benjamin Budd and Frederick Budd served in the Revolution in the Fourth Orange county Regiment. The latter also served in the "Pawling Levies". Daniel Budd was a Sergeant in the First Regiment of the Line. Gilbert Budd was Lieut. Colonel of the Second Regiment, Westchester county Militia and served with distinction throughout the Revolution. John Budd served in the Fifth Regiment, Dutchess County Militia, and also in the Fifth Regiment of Orange county. Underhill Budd was also, with his brother John, in the Dutchess Regiment. William Budd was a member of the First Orange county Regiment. Dr. Daniel Budd was a Surgeon in Albany county in 1789. Daniel Budd was a lieutenant in Greene county in 1812. "Gil", Budd declined a Lieutenant's commission in 1789.
(Source: Historical and Genealogical Record Dutchess and Putnam Counties New York, Press of the A. V. Haight Co., Poughkeepsie, New York, 1912; pp. 283-468; Transcribed by Terri Griffiths)
Copyright © Genealogy Trails