William H. FOX
WILLIAM H. FOX, whose portrait is shown on the opposite page, is the leading blacksmith of Beaver Falls, and he is recognized as having no superior in Beaver county, Pa., in the line of shoeing horses. He owns a large, brick shop and gives employment to several skilful hands who are constantly kept busy in order to meet the demands of his large patronage; he is also a prominent and industrious citizen, commanding the respect and good-will of a host of acquaintances. He was born in Lawrence county, Pa., in 1862, and his parents are David and Rachael (Van Horn) Fox.
His grandfather, Peter Fox, was born in Westmoreland county, Pa., where he followed his trade as a millwright during his active life. His wife was Miss Saddler by whom he reared five sons and three daughters: Joseph; Michael; John; Peter; David; Mrs. Morrison ; Mrs. Kennedy; and Mrs. Ryhel.
David Fox was born in Lawrence county, Pa., in 1818, and was reared to agricultural pursuits, which occupation he successfully followed throughout his active career. He was joined in marriage with Miss Rachael Van Horn, who was born in Lawrence county, Pa., in 1825, and they became the parents of seven children, as follows: William H., the subject of this narrative; Abram V.; Rebecca J. (McCurdy) ; Mary M. (Dick) ; Katie (Golden) ; Emma (Williams), and Agnes (Cameron).
William H. Fox received a common school education, in Venango county, Pa., and at the age of sixteen years, he began life on his own account. Leaving his father's farm, he sought to learn the trade of a blacksmith; after mastering the trade, in 1884 he located in Beaver Falls, where he has since established the reputation of being the most expert and competent blacksmith in the county. His patronage increased to such a large extent that it was necessary for him not only to enlarge his shop but also to employ more hands to cope with the growing demands. Accordingly, he erected a fine two-story shop facing Third avenue on the corner of Eighth street, and he is now able to accommodate his patrons. Mr. Fox is well deserving of the success that has met his efforts; he is enterprising and progressive, and supports all measures that tend to promote the welfare of the community.
Mr. Fox was joined in the bonds of matrimony with Miss Mary A. Hitchin, a native of England. Socially, he is a member of the Order of. Maccabees, Woodmen of the World, and Independent Order of Good Templars. In politics, he is a Republican, while in religious views he favors the Methodist church.
James S. WILSON
JAMES S. WILSON, who is a prominent and independent farmer of North Sewickley township, Beaver county, Pa., is a veteran of the Civil War and bears an excellent record for honorable and valiant service. He is a son of James and Barbara (Showalter) Wilson, and was born November 27, 1833.
James Wilson, the father of James S., was born on Hickory Creek in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania. His father died when he was young man and his mother was again married to a Mr. Ralston, and he soon after wentto Butler county, where he remained for some time. He moved to Beaver county at an early day, and worked as a farm hand until 1832, when he bought the farm now owned by the subject of this sketch. It consisted of one hundred and seven acres of wooded land, and he worked early and late until he cleared all but twenty acres, upon which the timber still stands. He was one of the prosperous and substantial men of the township, and was everywhere held in the highest esteem. He died in 1891, aged eighty-six years. He married Barbara Showalter, and they became the parents of twelve children: Salina, the widow of H. M. Biddell, who lives in Beaver Falls; Nancy, who died at the age of thirty years; William F., who moved West; James S., the subject of this personal history; Joseph F., who lives in New Brighton; Harrison, who died at the age of nineteen years; Mary Jane, deceased ; Jefferson ; Aaron, a dry goods merchant and Baptist minister, who lives at Rochester; John, who died in the army during the Civil War; Thomas, who is engaged in the grocery business at Rochester, Beaver county; and one who died in infancy. In political belief, Mr. Wilson was a Republican. Religiously, he was a devout Christian and at-tended the Methodist Episcopal church. Mrs. Wilson died in 1893.
James S. Wilson was born on the farm on which he now lives, and received a first-class scholastic training in the common schools and in North Sewickley Academy, and pursued a course in Duff's Business College at Pittsburg. He spent his time working on the farm until the Civil War was in progress, and then, in answer to the call for volunteers, he enlisted, August 23, 1861, in Company C, 63d Reg., Pa. Vol. Inf., as a private. He saw much hard and continued fighting, but was ever willing and even eager to perform his full share of the work, and more. He is of a cool and even temperament, and in times of danger was undisturbed, and always to be seen in the very thickest of the fight. In 1863, he was promoted to a first lieutenancy. He took part in the following important engagements: The siege of Yorktown; Williamsburg; Fair Oaks; Seven Days Battle; second battle of Bull Run; and Chantilly. He then went home on recruiting service, remaining six months, and upon returning to the regiment, participated in the battles of Chancellorsville and Gettysburg, following Lee to Manassas Gap, where an engagement took place. He fought in the battles of Mine Run, Kelly's Ford, and in the battle of the Wilderness, where, on May 5, he was severely wounded in the thigh and hip. He was compelled to go to the hospital for three months, and upon going home, used a pair of crutches for two years. He then resumed agricultural pursuits, his farm being under a high state of cultivation, and one of the best in that section. It is supplied with good substantial and convenient outbuildings, which are so essential to success in farming, and the house in which he resides is a large brick dwelling. He is a man of pleasing personality, a clever conversationalist, and has, a host of friends.
On July 24, 1866, Mr. Wilson was joined in wedlock with Miss Jemima A. McCreary, a daughter of William and Mary McCreary, of North Sewickley township, and six children were born to them: Mary E., the wife of E. U. McDaniel; Sarah Jane, the wife of Henry Bonzo; Cecelia N., who married Jefferson Kinney; and Anna, Aaron, and George, who live with the parents. Religiously, the family are Presbyterians.
Henry M. CAMP
HENRY M. CAMP is one of the most active and prominent business men in the borough of Rochester, Beaver county, Pa., where the Camp family has resided and contributed to its growth and prosperity since its early days. Our subject is interested in many of the local enterprises, and since 1887 he has acted in the capacity of superintendent of the Rochester Heat & Light Company. He was born in Rochester in 1850, and is a son of Michael Camp and grandson of Michael Camp, Sr.
Michael Camp was born in Hanover, Germany, and, with his brother John, came to the United States in 1832, first locating in Philadelphia, then in Butler county, and finally in Beaver county, where he spent his remaining days. They crossed over the mountains in a wagon, and at Rochester made a stop, and there John erected the old National Hotel on Water street; he later owned the one now adjoining, known as the Farmer's Hotel. Michael Camp was engaged in the making of shoes, the work being all by hand ; the leather was purchased from near-by
tanners and much of the work was let out to men who would complete it at their homes. His home and shop were located in Beaver, near where Mr. Frank Laird now resides. During his latter days he retired to Rochester, where he passed from this life, aged seventy-five years. His wife was Annie Barbara Schlesman, and they became the parents of the following children : Elizabeth, who died in Germany; Catherine, who married John Frick ; Michael; Mary, who was born while her parents were crossing the ocean, and who is the wife of John Miller; Christian and Martin, who are twins; Margaret, who was married to Benjamin Dawson ; Henry ; John ; and Barbara, who is the wife of james Robinson.
Michael Camp was born in Hanover, Germany, in 1827, and upon coming to this country, learned the trade of a brickmaker, but soon discontinued that occupation and accepted a position as clerk in the National Hotel. John Buehler was proprietor, and died the second day after taking possession of the hotel. Mr. Camp continued as clerk in the hotel, and later married Mrs. John Buchler, whose maiden name was Magdaline Weise. She died in 1877, aged sixty-four years, and had been married three times. Her first husband was Mr. Zerker, by whom she reared three children : Magdaline, Mary, and John. Her second husband was John Buchler, and four children were born to them: Frederick, William, Caroline and Emma. Her third union was with Michael Camp, and their only child was Henry M., the subject of this sketch. Mr. Camp formed a second union,with Mrs. Catherine (Mauser) Smith, widow of John Smith. Mr. Camp owned and conducted the Pavilion Hotel, now known as the St. James, from 1861 to 1886; in the latter year he sold out to C. H. Clarke, and moved on the farm formerly owned by William Johnson, which is located on the east side of Adams street. Mr. Camp still resides there, and is spending his latter days in comfort and happiness. He has always been a stanch Democrat, and has served in the council, as assessor and in many minor offices. Mr. Camp was one of the promoters, and is a large stockholder, of the Rochester Insurance Company; he is a stockholder in the Rochester Flint Vial & Bottle Works,-now known as the Point Bottle Works,-a stockholder in the Olive Stove Works, a member of the Rochester Heat & Light Company, a director in the Big Beaver Bridge Company, and a stockholder in the Keystone Tumbler Company. He built his present residence and has also erected many houses for tenement use.
The subject of this sketch attended the schools of Rochester until he attained the age of seventeen years, when he went to Pittsburg to learn the machinists' trade, and followed it for five years. Returning to Rochester, he went into the hotel business with his father, but upon the organization of the Rochester Heat & Light Company, he became superintendent and a stockholder. This company is composed of two hundred stockholders and has a capital stock of $18,000. The gas used is furnished from Beaver and Allegheny counties, and the company has not only been a success, but a means of great saving to the residents of Rochester. Our subject is a stockholder in the Rochester Insurance Company, the Flint Vial & Bottle Works, the Big Beaver Bridge Company, the People's Electric Railroad, and the High River Bridge Company. In 1883, he erected a handsome brick residence on the corner of Jefferson and Connecticut streets, and has resided there ever since.
Mr. Camp was joined in marriage with Miss Tillie E. Scheinder, a daughter of Louis E. Scheinder, of Rochester, and this happy union has been blessed by the birth of three children : Charles A.; Marl Etta, and Emma Maria, deceased. Our subject is a solid Democrat, and has served as a councilman. Religiously, he is a member of the Lutheran church; socially, he is a member and past master of the Masonic fraternity; and member and past regent of the Royal Arcanum. Mr. Camp is a man of high business principles, is respected by all who know him, and is always active in advancing the prosperity of his adopted town and county.
JOHN BEUTER, a prosperous and successful pharmacist of Beaver Falls, Pa., whose portrait is shown on the opposite page, wants it distinctly understood that he is a Republican of the deepest dye, and always has affiliated with that party ever since he was old enough to vote. He has been one of its most active members in Beaver county, and was one of the three Republican delegates to the state convention, held in Harrisburg, in 1898, and the only one of the three from Beaver county, who supported William A. Stone for governor, and had the satisfaction of seeing his man not only nominated, but elected.
John Beuter was born January 29, 1860, and is a son of John and Pauline (Tyfel) Benter. His father was a native of Germany, and came to America with his parents when but twelve years of age. He located in Wheeling, West Virginia, where he followed the retail liquor business for a period of forty years. He laid down the burden of life, in 1894, and entered into rest.
John Beuter received his scholastic training in the public schools and afterward attended St. Vincent's College in Wheeling,-from which he graduated. After leaving college, young Beuter entered the employ of Logan List & Co., wholesale and retail druggists of Wheeling, and remained with that firm for a period of eight years. He then took a course in the Philadelphia College of Pharmacy in the autumns of 1879, 1880 and 1881. As these courses included only the fall months, he improved his unoccupied time by taking a special course in chemistry in the University of Pennsylvania.
After he became a full-fledged pharmacist, he took charge of the laboratory of the wholesale drug business of Bailey & Porter, of Zanesville, Ohio. Leaving Zanesville, he went to Pittsburg, where he entered the employ of George A. Kelley & Co., having complete charge of their second floor shipping department, where he remained for a short period. He then went to Beaver Falls, and was for some time a clerk for W. H. Hamilton. On seeing an opportunity to better his condition, he went to Pittsburg and took charge of the Twenty-fourth street drug store of Emil G. Stookey,-the same business now being conducted by N. B. Stookey. Mr. Beuter remained there until 1894, and then went into the drug business for himself at 619 Seventh avenue, Beaver Falls, where he conducts a first-class drug store.
In connection with his regular line of drugs, he is the patentee and manufacturer of the celebrated medicine known as "No-Dys-Pep" compound, having a large sale throughout the country.
The subject of this biography won for his bride, Hattie W. Hays, daughter of Charles Hays, of New Brighton, Pennsylvania. Mrs. Beuter has a kind and sweet disposition and is a great favorite in all classes of society. She is well and favorably known throughout Beaver county. Mr. Beuter is a member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, of Rochester, Pa. ; of Beaver Falls Lodge, No. 293, Knights of Pythias, and of Walnut Camp, No. 2, Woodmen of the World, of Beaver Falls.
John Beuter has worked hard and earnestly, and with a determination that is bound to be rewarded by success. He believes in doing thoroughly everything that is required of him; he keeps a fine line of pure drugs for his customers, and also makes a- specialty of filling prescriptions with promptness and care.
Edward Knox HUM
EDWARD KNOX HUM. The Beaver National Bank, of Beaver, Pa., was fortunate in having as an originator and promoter the gentleman whose name heads these lines, who now serves efficiently as vice-president of that institution. He is a man of thorough business ability and a sturdy supporter of all enterprises tending to improve the interests of the community,-his name being one familiar to the residents of Beaver county. He was born in Beaver, August 11, 1858, and is a son of James W. and Margaret (Briggs) Hum.
His great-grandfather, who established the Hum family in this country, was Jacob Hum, a native of Germany, who settled in Ohio and there followed the trade of a hatter. His business was first located at Columbiana, Columbiana county, Ohio, but he thereafter engaged in a similar line of business at Salem, Ohio. He married a lady of Scotch birth, who bore him the following children : David ; John ; Jacob; Adam; Margaret; and George. He died at the age of eighty-three years.
David Hum, the grandfather of Edward Knox Hum, was born in Columbiana county, Ohio, and early in life undertook the trade of a hatter, but, later, became a merchant of Lisbon, Ohio, where he died at the age of eighty years. He was four times married, and by his first wife, Mary Ann Hickox, who died at the age of thirty-six years, he had the following offspring: Angelina (Hatcher) ; James Winnard, who married Margaret Briggs; Richard Winchester, an early settler of Lowellville, Ohio; Columbus C., who lives near Toledo, Ohio; Martha (Throne), of East Palestine, Ohio; and Elizabeth, deceased. His second union, with Rebecca Thorn, was blessed by the birth of a son, John. His third wife's given name was Esther, and his fourth union was with Mary Silverthorn.
James W. Hum, a record of whose life appears elsewhere, and the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Deerfield township, Columbiana county, Ohio, February 16, 1827. He left home at the age of ten years to live with his uncle, John Hum, with whom he remained four years. He then began to shift for himself and received employment on a steamer on the Ohio River as a cabin boy, and later learned the trade of boat carpenter. He manifested considerable natural ability in this line, and, after leaving the river, manufactured an ingenious machine known as a fanning mill. Threshing was at this time all done by hand, and this machine was used to clean the grain. It met with marked success on the market and his business increased rapidly, resulting in the employment of a goodly number of men. He subsequently became interested in the lightning rod business, and in 1849 was one of the founders of the American Lightning Rod plant at Philadelphia. The western section of the country was assigned to him, and he established a large wholesale and retail store at No. 19 Market street, Pittsburg. In 1882, he was joined in the business by his son, E. K. Hum, and together they continued until the father retired from active business duties in 1892. He built the home residence, in which Mrs. Hum now lives, in 1868,and he was also possessed of considerable real estate in Bridgewater and Beaver at the time of his demise, March 17, 189j. James W. Hum's faithful companion in the pathways of life was Margaret Briggs, a daughter of Henry and Mary (Westcoat) Briggs. Henry Briggs was born in Dighton, Mass., and was a son of Matthew and Cecelia (Reed) Briggs, and grandson of Matthew Briggs, a blacksmith by trade, who came to this country from England. Matthew, Jr., was born in Dighton, Mass., and was also a blacksmith, following that occupation all of his active clays. By his first wife he had three children, as follows: Matthew, Elizabeth, and Deliverance. He formed a second union with Cecelia Reed and they had five children : Henry, Nancy, Mary, Joseph, and Cecelia. Henry Briggs, the father of Mrs. Hum, learned the trade of a blacksmith, and, in 1836, removed to South Beaver township, Beaver county, Pa., where he purchased a farm. In addition to general farming, he was engaged at his trade all of his active life, but spent his last days in retirement, dying at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Hum, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. His wife survived him several years, and died at the remarkable age of eighty-nine years. She had made several trips to her native state, Massachusetts, and had returned from one of these trips but two months prior to her death. Their children were: Henry, who died young; Mary; Julia; William; Elizabeth ; Margaret ; and Spencer.
Mr. and Mrs. James W. Hum were the parents of the following: Henry Thornton, now of Pike county, Ill., who first married Josephine Blake, by whom he has one child; Harry C., and secondly married Elizabeth Hughes, by whom he has one child, Carl D.; Edward Knox, the subject of this personal history; Mary Elizabeth, deceased, the wife of Frank Robinson, by whom she had one child, Lois ; James Weston, a farmer of Columbiana county, Ohio, who married Matilda Hineman, and had the following children,-Edward K., Guy H., Mary A., Martha T., James W., and Wayne A.; Fred Cook, deceased, who married Florence King, by whom he had a son, Forrest, deceased; Arthur Westcoat, an electrical engineer, of Bridgewater, who married Mary Doing, deceased; and Margaret Mott, the wife of Samuel P. Provost, a flour manufacturer and merchant, of Pittsburg. Fraternally, he was a member of the Masonic lodge at Beaver, being one of its charter members.
Edward K. Hum attended Beaver College, and while a young man became associated in business with his father, under the firm name of J. W. Hum & Son, wholesale and retail dealers in lightning rods and fixtures, at Pittsburg. Some twelve years later, after the death of his father, he formed a partnership with \W. M. Leatherman, the firm name being Hum & Leatherman, at No. 8 Market street, Pittsburg. The subject of this sketch was the leading spirit in the organization and building of the Beaver National Bank, of Beaver, Pennsylvania. It has a capital of $100,000, and its officers, who are among the most substantial and public-spirited citizens of Beaver county, are as follows: Jesse R. Leonard, president; Edward K. Hum, vice-president; Charles M. Hughes, cashier; and W. P. Judd, assistant cashier. The directors are : Jesse R. Leonard ; Edward K. Hum; U. S. Strouss, M. D.; Thomas F. Galey; Joseph H. Evans; Winfield S. Moore, and Agnew Hice.
The Beaver National Bank is one of the prettiest specimens of business architecture in Western Pennsylvania, being constructed of Cleveland sandstone and having large plate-glass windows. It is richly finished, furnished in elegant style, and its arrangement is most convenient for the transaction of business. The bank has shown its patrons the greatest courtesy, and by their enterprise its officials have made it one of the leading financial institutions in the county.
Mr. Hum, although his business was for many years located at Pittsburg, has always been a loyal citizen of Beaver, and when not attending to business affairs he is always to be found enjoying the companionship of his family at his elegant home. In 1885 he built a residence on Third street, in which he resided until 1896, when he disposed of it to James Galey and built his present dwelling, a fine brick structure supplied with all modern conveniences for the highest enjoyment of life. He also owns considerable real estate in Beaver. On September 26, 1882, Edward K. Hum was joined in the holy bonds of wedlock with Emma L. Young, a daughter of Jacob and Lucinda M. Young, of Columbiana county, Ohio, and they have two children, namely : James Winnard and Anna. Fra ternally, Mr. Hum is a member of St. James Lodge, F. & A. M., of Beaver; Eureka Chapter, R. A. M., of Rochester; Pittsburg Commandery, No. 1, Knights Templar, of Pitts-burg; and Syria Temple of the Mystic Shrine, Pittsburg. A man who has ever faithfully endeavored to be of benefit to his fellow-citizens of Beaver county, the subject of our sketch is held in the highest esteem, and numbers his friends by the score.
Thomas M. FITZGERALD
THOMAS M. FITZGERALD, a recent portrait of whom is shown on the opposite page, is descended from a line of ancestral gardeners, and is very fond of the culture of flowers, which he has made his like-work. He conducts one of the most beautiful gardens in Beaver county, situated in the borough of Beaver, and he has established a reputation as one of the best artists in his profession. He was born in Hulton township, Allegheny county, Pa., February 27, 1868, and is a son of Thomas and Mary (Healey) Fitzgerald.
The father of Thomas M. was born in Listowel, County Kerry, Ireland, and when a boy, learned the trade of a gardener and became an expert in the culture of flowers; for nine years he managed the grounds and hothouse of Lord Colliss, of Tarbert township, County Kerry; Ireland ; he then engaged with Dr. Barrington, of Glin, County Limerick, Ireland, for fifteen years. He subsequently went to Hamilton, Canada, where he spent twoyears, and, as he had many friends and acquaintances in Pittsburg, Pa., he located there in 1866, and worked for many prominent men of that city, who owned large and handsome properties ; he was employed by Mr. Murdick, Mrs. Deeny, and Mr. Charles McGee;. he now has charge of Mr. M. C. Miller's grounds at Turtle Creek. While working in the employ of Lord Colliss, he made the acquaintance of his present wife. Both being poor and not able to buy a home in their native country, Thomas decided to come to America in the effort to seek home and fortune; his plans being crowned with success, three years later he wrote for his intended wife, and, upon her arrival here, they were happily united in marriage. A few years later the health of Mr. Fitzgerald's mother began to fail, and he sent his wife and five children to his old home in Ireland, where they remained four years,-returning in much better health and spirits. Mr. and Mrs. Fitzgerald are the parents of eight children : Joseph, deceased; John; Thomas M.; James; Annie; Mary; Edward, who served at Manila in Company B, loth Reg., Pa. Vol. Inf.; and William, deceased.
The subject of this memoir attended school, four years, at Tarbert, Ireland, and in this country, at New Castle, Pennsylvania. While a mere boy, he assisted his father in the cultivation of flowers and improved every opportunity to gain a thorough knowledge of the art ; in 1889, he came to Beaver to take charge of the beautiful grounds and hothouse of Hon. J. F. Draw, but a year later he leased the hothouse, and a. part of the grounds, of his employer, and now keeps one of the finest displays of flowers ever seen. The beds and plants are artistically arranged, and the choice, blooming flowers present an exquisite appearance ; he is prepared to furnish flowers, on short notice, for funerals, weddings, and other occasions, and he also ships largely to other points. Mr. Fitzgerald is well deserving, and worthy of his large patronage, and he has shown the people of the vicinity that they always have at their command the most select assortment of floral beauties. He is genial and accommodating to all, and his pleasant manners and honest business methods, have won for him the esteem and good will of all who know him. He has not only adopted Beaver as his place of business, but likewise as his home, and he owns two fine lots on Commerce street, upon which he erected a handsome residence in 1893. In July, 1899, he purchased the Campbell estate, consisting of six and one-half acres on Fifth street, on which he will erect a large range of greenhouses to better accommodate his growing business.
Mr. Fitzgerald wedded Nora, a daughter of Jeremiah Minihan, of County Cork, Ireland, and three children have resulted from their union: Mary Catherine, born July 16, 1896; John Leo, born February 23, 1898; and Joseph Thomas, the last two being twins. Religiously, our subject is a member of the Catholic church ; politically. he is independent in his views.
John R. EAKIN
JOHN R. EAKIN, who owns a controlling interest in the Olive Stove Works, at Rochester, Pa., of which he is secretary and treasurer, is one of the most esteemed citizens of Beaver, Pa., and, although in the seventieth year of his age, he is today as active a man as can be found in Beaver county. He has seen Beaver grow from the little settlement called Beaver Town, to its present stage of development, as one of the finest and most prosperous boroughs in Western Pennsylania. John R. Eakin was born July 20, 1829, in Beaver, Pennsylvania. He is a son of James and Mary (Quaill) Eakin, and grandson of John Eakin, who was of Scotch-Irish descent.
James Eakin, father of John R., was born in County Derry, Ireland, within fourteen miles of Londonderry. He was reared under the old Presbyterian methods, and took a great dislike to the controlling element of Ireland. In 18o8, at the age of sixteen years, he packed his few belongings and started for "free America." Having a fine education for that day, and being active and energetic, he had no fear of meeting with failure in the new world, but looked eagerly forward to the time when he could make a home for himself, and rear a family in accordance with his own ideas. Upon his arrival in the United States, he drifted to Philadelphia, Pa., where he began working at the trade of a chandler, which consists of candle making. He remained at that place for about fourteen years, removing, in 1822, west to Pittsburg, and followed the same occupation with B. C. Sawyer, of that city.
Later, he began teaching school ; being a fine scholar and a splendid writer, he experienced no difficulty in obtaining a desirable situation. He went to Beaver, Pa., where he taught in the old academy which stood there many years ago. Mr. Eakin also opened a store on the same site where the Quay business block was later erected. Still later, he built a residence and store on the corner of Third street and College avenue. There his death occurred, in 1847, at the age of sixty-four years. In politics, he was a Whig, and served many years as justice of the peace, and as burgess of Beaver. He also owned a fine farm, which was subsequently the property of Mr. Hardy.
James Eakin was united in marriage with Mary Quaill. She was born in Washington county, Pa., in 1804, and passed away from her earthly home in 1892. Their union was prolific of the following children: Mary Jane; John R.; Eliza Ann; Sarah ; James Q.; Margaret; Victoria; Emma; and Matilda. Mary Jane is the wife of Daniel Risinger, a prominent blacksmith of Beaver. John R. is the subject of these lines. Eliza Ann is the widow of John D. Davidson; she resides in Middlesex, Pennsylvania. Sarah is the wife of Abraham Wolf, of Beaver. James Q. is deceased; he married Elizabeth Strock, who still survives him, and resides in Bridgewater. Margaret is the wife of J. M. Dunlap. Victoria is the wife of H. H. Newkirk, of Rochester, Pennsylvania. Emma, who is deceased, was the wife of Jacob M. Johnson. Matilda is the wife of J. B. Wilson, of Beaver.
John R. Eakin pursued a course of study at Beaver Academy, and, like his honored father, he adopted the profession of instructing youthful minds. But upon the death of his father, who left a widow with a family of small children, it devolved upon John, the eldest son, to assist his mother in rearing the smaller ones. He realized this to be his first duty, nor was that duty shirked; rather may it be said that it was performed in a faithful manner, quite worthy of emulation by those similarly situated. He accompanied his bereaved mother and the family to the farm which the father's thrift and prosperity had provided. This farm he conducted and managed to the best of his ability, and assisted his mother in every possible way to rear and educate the children. After eight years upon the farm, he felt free to seek other pursuits, and became a steamboat clerk on the Ohio River ; he followed river life for a period of twelve years, during all of which time he held the position of either clerk or captain. Desiring to settle down in order to be more with his family, he then accepted a place as clerk in the county commissioner's office, and also became deputy treasurer, serving two years. Later, he was interested in the manufacture of glass at Beaver Falls, for five years. In 1875, he was elected county treasurer of Beaver county, serving one term. Subsequently, in company with others, he purchased the Olive Stove Works in 1879. This plant was established in 1872, and was sold at sheriff's sale, in 1879. Mr. Eakin was at once appointed secretary, treasurer, and general
manager of the works, and under his careful, judicious management, the business took another turn, and has since been a very progressive and prosperous plant. The original works have been enlarged, in addition to which new buildings have been added; with increased facilities and capacities, the plant now turns out as fine a line of stoves and ranges as any plant of its size in America. It is located on Railroad street, and the controlling interest is now owned by Mr. Eakin. In addition to his business interests, Mr. Eakin also owns the premises on Third street, formerly belonging to his beloved father, and his present residence on College avenue, which is a beautiful, modern brick dwelling.
John R. Eakin was joined in the holy bonds of matrimony with Margaret Mitchell. This most happy union resulted in the birth of two daughters and one son, whose names are : Annie M., Emma E. and Joseph Mitchell. Annie M., the eldest daughter, is the wife of J. Rankin Martin, a leading attorney of Beaver Falls, whose sketch also appears in this volume. Emma E., the second daughter, is the widow of James J. Davidson, whose life history appears elsewhere in this volume of biographies. Joseph Mitchell, the third child, and only son, is in business with his father, being a partner and bookkeeper in the Olive Stove Works. He pursued a course of study in the Beaver high schools, and at Beaver Falls, and, when seventeen years of age, became interested in the plant to which his whole life has been devoted. He is fast assuming the heavier duties of the works. Hewedded Minnie White, and they have a son, whom they call John Mitchell. Joseph M. Eakin is a Knight Templar Mason, a Shriner, an Odd Fellow, and a Knight of Pythias.
Our subject and his family are of the Presbyterian faith. Mr. Eakin is a member of the borough council, and has always been a public-spirited man, having done much to further the progress of Beaver. He is spending the sunset of life, surrounded by loving friends and many comforts, and is reaping the just reward of earnest and well-directed efforts.
Joseph Mitchell, father-in-law of John R. Eakin, was born in Ireland and came to the United States in 1822, at the age of thirty-four years. He located at New Brighton, Pa., and engaged in agricultural pursuits, removing in 1826 to Beaver, where he went into mercantile pursuits. He was very successful in this line, and purchased ground adjoining Beaver on the north and west, until he was the owner of much valuable acreage. He built a handsome brick residence at Vanport, now known as the Purdy farm. He continued to prosper until he had accumulated a nice property. He served as a justice of the peace and as a school director. He did business at the Pittsburg Bank, and at the advanced age of eighty-seven years, just as he was about to start to Pittsburg on business, he slipped and fell, breaking his leg, which caused his death shortly afterward, in 1876. He was joined in marriage with Anne McCreary, a daughter of James McCreary, of Beaver county, Pennsylvania. She died in 1846 at the age of thirty-six years. Their
children were : Eliza, deceased; Sarah, wife of Jesse Cruthers, of Beaver county; Margaret, wife of the subject of this sketch; Esther, wife of H. M. Cunningham, of Ohio; Maria L., wife of the late T. B. Cunningham, of Ohio; James, who married Lucinda Greenlee, of Vanport, Beaver county; and Shannon R., who married Annie E. Stokes.
DR. John D. COFFIN
DR. JOHN D. COFFIN, deceased, was for many years a most distinguished physician of Beaver Valley. Having an established reputation before locating there in 1865, he soon acquired an extensive practice. His profound knowledge of therapeutics and his most thorough manner of diagnosing, first gained for him the confidence of the people in a professional way,
and as closer relationships sprang up he became the honored friend of his patients. In
the latter years of his life he lived in partial retirement in Beaver Falls, just retaining sufficient practice to employ his time. The Coffins are an old English family with genealogical records dating back to the twelfth century. The family is one of the most prominent in
New England, and includes many bankers and men of mark in all professions. At the
family reunion held at Nantucket in 1884, there were about eight hundred names registered as descendants of a common ancestry, who were then living. The first of the line in America was Tristam Coffin, who came from Devonshire, England, early in the seventeenth century and settled at Nantucket Island, Massachusetts. In the course of time one branch of the Coffin family went over to Newburyport, Mass., and settled there. It is from this latter branch that Dr. Coffin is descended. He was born in Newburyport, Mass., in 1809, and was a son of Nathan E. and Eunice (Emory) Coffin.
Nathan E. Coffin was a well-known ship builder of Newburyport, Mass., but about the year 1820, he relinquished that occupation and moved to New Lisbon, Ohio, where he became a contractor. Upon moving to Allegheny, subsequently, he retired to enjoy the benefits of his industrious past. His wife died there, of cholera, and he survived her some years, dying in 1854. Their children were: Charles, at one time a celebrated judge of the Cincinnati courts; Emory, deceased, who was a practitioner of medicine ; Gardiner, who became a wealthy manufacturer; Harrison, at one time president of the Des Moines Loan & Trust Company, who was succeeded by his son; Carey, a merchant; Emeline McMillan, whose husband is a printer of Pittsburg
Harriet (Nesbit) ; and John D., the gentleman whose name heads these lines.
John D. Coffin received his intellectual training in the common schools of Newburyport, Mass., and after his parents removed to New Lisbon, Ohio, he began the study of medicine under Dr. McCook. After thoroughly mastering the science, he began to practice at New Lisbon in 183o, remaining there for five years, and moving to Petersburg, Ohio, in 1835. After practicing there for a period of fifteen years' duration, he located in Westmoreland county, Pa., where he continued with much success until 1865. He then secured a good practice in Rochester, Beaver county, Pa., where he remained for ten years. Possessing some property at Homewood, he then betook himself there to follow his profession. These years of hard and continuous labor resulted in placing him in good financial circumstances, and in September, 1882, he decided to retire, as he was getting old, and moved to Beaver Falls. But inactivity was not suited to one of his energetic nature, and we soon find him again caring for a limited practice, a few old patients, just enough to keep him moderately busy. The Doctor was called to his final rest in August, 1893, aged eighty-four years.
Doctor Coffin was united in marriage, in 1851, with Margaret Harrah, who came of one of the pioneer families of Western Pennsylvania, and was a daughter of William and Eliza (Stewart) Harrah. Her grandfather was also William Harrah, who was born in Massachusetts, in 1767, and followed the occupation of a farmer. He later moved to Petersburg, Ohio, in the latter part of the eighteenth century, and became one of the very early pioneers. He bought a farm of four hundred acres of wild land, on which, after making a clearing, he built a log house. He then built a fine frame house, in which he lived the remainder of his days. He was a devout Presbyterian and served as elder a great many years. He left the following children : William ; Hugh ; Samuel ; John ; Nancy (Nesbit) ; Margaret (Adams) ; and Mary (Watson). William Harrah, the father of Mrs. Coffin, was born in Massachusetts and removed to Petersburg, Ohio, with his parents, making the trip by wagon. They did their own cooking and lived in the wagon, and at the end of six weeks they arrived at the end of their journey. He received his educational training in the schools of Beaver county, and took up the occupation of a miller, building what was probably the first mill in the county, on Beaver Creek, near Enon Valley. He followed that until he reached his declining years, and then opened a small grocery store, from which he realized a sufficient amount to spend his last days in easy circumstances. He married Elizabeth Stewart in 1826, and they had seven children, namely: Harvey; Jane; Margaret; Mary (Magee); James Ritner of Beaver, Pa.; Stewart; and Laura (Fowler), of Vanport, Pennsylvania. Harvey died young. Jane (Saltsman) is deceased ; her husband was a very successful merchant of Saltsman Station, Jefferson county, Pa., and also a wealthy land owner. Stewart is a physician residing in Allegheny county, Pennsylvania. Margaret was born near Enon Valley, in Lawrence county, Pa., and was a pupil in the public schools. At the early age of 18 years,
she was married to Dr. Coffin, and they had the following children: Lizzie; Jennie E.; Ella (Strock), whose husband is a real estate and insurance agent ; Matilda ; Anna M. ; John W.; and Laura M.
Lizzie Coffin was born in 1853, in Peters burg, Pa., is a graduate of Beaver College and Edinboro State Normal School. Prior to her marriage she taught school in New Brighton and is now teaching in the public schools of Chicago. She married W. Fitch, who, after graduating from Oberlin College, was principal of a Chicago high school. He died in
Honduras while representing the Honduras Land & Fruit Company. They had one child, Alice.
Jennie E. (Sunderlin), whose husband read law and then took up teaching, lives at Tekamah, Nebraska, where Mr. Sunderlin is principal of the Tekamah public schools. He is a native of Michigan. She was graduated from the Edinboro State Normal School and taught at New Brighton for some years.
Matilda (Ford), who enjoys a national reputation as an educator and a lecturer on institute work, was born in Westmoreland county, Pa., in 1861, and attended Beaver College and the Edinboro State Normal School. She taught two years at New Brighton and one year in the Beaver Falls High School, after which she took a course of study in the Cook County Normal School under Col. F. W. Parker. She held a position as instructor in that institution for three years, when she accepted a similar position in Millersville (Pa.) State Normal School ; still later she was employed as principal of the Model School, for three years. Becoming interested in institute work, she lectured in every state in the Union, and established a high reputation throughout the country, which brought her many handsome offers at a high salary. Shebecame assistant principal of the public schools of Detroit, and continued thus for five years, having three hundred teachers under her direction. In 1897, she was united in marriage with Franklin Ford, a member of a well-known commercial agency firm in the city of New York. She was offered the position of assistant principal of the schools of that city at a salary of $4,000, but this she declined. She is a successful lecturer on geography and reading, and, with one exception, she has been offered the highest salary ever offered to a woman. She contemplates a public career and her future certainly has a brilliant outlook.
Anna M., who was educated in the Edinboro (Pa.) State Normal and the Cook County (Ill.) State Normal schools, is now attaining considerable success as a teacher in the public schools of Chicago.
John W. Coffin was born in Greensburg, Pa., and obtained his primary education in the schools of Beaver Falls and in the high school of that place. He then studied medicine at Cleveland, and was graduated from the Western Reserve University in 1839, receiving the degree of M. D. He built up an excellent practice in Beaver Falls, being located at No. 1402 Seventh avenue. He was appointed surgeon with the rank of lieutenant, in the National Guards, by Gov. Pattison, and, on May 1, 1898, he enlisted in the same grade in the loth Reg., Pa. Vol. Inf., and accompanied the regiment to Manila, helping to establish its brilliant record, there made. Dr. Coffin is also interested in considerable realty. He is a member of the Masonic order and of the Elks.
Laura M. Coffin, who was born in Rochester, Pa., October 23, 1870, attended the public schools of Beaver Falls, and graduated from the high school there. She took a course of study under Col. Parker in the Cook County (Ill.) State Normal School, after which she taught for one year in the Beaver Falls public schools. She is a young woman of many admirable traits of character, and her friends and acquaintances in the vicinity of Beaver Falls are numberless.
Dr. John D. Coffin, deceased, was an independent Democrat in politics, but respectfully declined all offices. Religiously, he was a conscientious member of the First Christian church. Socially, he was a prominent member of the Masonic order.
SAMUEL THOMAS, deceased, was for many years an extensive farmer and sheep-raiser of Beaver county, in which he lived all his life. A man of exceedingly strong character and excellent habits, he was greatly respected by all with whom he was acquainted, and his friends were without number. He was born in Chippewa township, Beaver county, March 6, 1818, and was a son of Elam and Barbara (Baker) Thomas.
Elam Thomas, the father of Samuel, was a native of Wales, and after coming to this country spent most of his life in Beaver county, in that section which is now Lawrencecounty. As a result of his union with Barbara Baker, eight children, all of whom are now deceased, were born, the youngest of them being our subject.
Samuel Thomas spent ten years of his early life with an uncle, during which time he acquired the money with which he bought a farm 0f one-hundred acres in Beaver county, the one on which Mrs. Thomas now lives. The farm was partially cleared and he leased it until after his marriage, when, on April 3, 1848, they moved upon it. He had taught school prior to his marriage, and continued so to do for two terms thereafter. They lived in a rude old log house until about twenty years ago, when he erected the one which now stands. In addition to the home farm, he owned a property of one hundred and twenty-three acres, which he cultivated, but since his death, it has been sold. He was a great sheep-raiser, having some 300 head of the finest in the county. Mr. Thomas was called to his final rest in 1883, and his widow has since very successfully managed the farm, which is worked by her brother, William T.
On December 7, 1847, he formed a matrimonial alliance with Eliza Jane Crans, a daughter of James and Elizabeth (Thomas) Crans, and a granddaughter of John Crans, who was a native of New York State, but moved to Ohio in early life. Mrs. Thomas was born December 8, 1824, and was one of a family of ten children, eight of whom now live, as follows: Eliza Jane, the wife of Samuel Thomas ; Mary Ann ; John J. ; Ellen J.; Laura; William T.; Elizabeth; and James.
BEAVER COUNTY 325
Those deceased are David R. and Julius L., both of whom were taken ill and died while serving in the army during the Civil War. After the death of her husband, Mrs. Thomas, who has no children of her own, adopted Maggie E. Ruby, whose family lives in Franklin township. She is a woman of sympathetic and charitable disposition, and has many friends who love her for her excellent traits of character. She is a remarkably well preserved lady, for one of her years.
Mr. Thomas was what may be termed a home man, a good husband, and very fond of the society of his wife. He had excellent
habits, using neither tobacco nor intoxicating liquors. In politics, he supported the Republican party, but favored the cause of Prohibition. He was not an aspirant to office, yet served as supervisor. Religiously, he was a faithful member of the Baptist church, as is his widow, and for forty years was a deacon in the church.
Albert M. JOLLY
ALBERT M. JOLLY, whose portrait is presented on the preceding page, has for many years been recognized as one of Beaver county's most substantial and enterprising business men, and is an esteemed resident of Beaver Falls. He is connected with one of the largest contracting concerns
in Western Pennsylvania,-that of A. J. Jolly & Sons, his association with this prominent
firm dating back to 1877. He was born in December, 1855, at what is now known as
Monaca, Beaver county, and is a son of Andrew J. Jolly, and grandson of Kenzie Jolly.
Mr. Jolly traces his family line back to Colonel Henry Jolly, of Revolutionary War fame, who after that eventful struggle moved to Marietta, Ohio, where he became a promi nent citizen. He presided as judge over the first court ever held in that state. His wife was a Miss Gluiest, who was scalped and tomahawked by the Indians, and, though the wound never healed, she survived this barbarity for forty-three years, dying at an advanced age. Colonel and Mrs. Jolly were the parents of the following children : William, Kenzie, Albert, and Siddy, the wife of Vashel Dickerson.
Kenzie Jolly was born in Washington county, Ohio, in 1778, and there resided all his life engaged in agricultural pursuits. He married Elizabeth Dickerson, a daughter of Thomas Dickerson; she was born in 1795 and died aged one hundred years and five months. She was the mother of the following children: Rachel, the wife of John Ankron, of New Orleans, La. ; Rebecca, wife of Abner Martin, of Washington county, Ohio; Henry, also of Washington county, Ohio; Dickerson and Andrew Jackson residing in Phillipsburg, Pa.; Alpheus B., a resident 0f Keokuk, Iowa; William M., who died in his infancy; Electa M., the wife of James Hutchinson, of Washington county, Ohio; and Owen F., a resident of Dayton, Kentucky.
Andrew Jackson Jolly, father of the subject hereof, was born in Washington county, Ohio, May 28, 1828, and continued to reside there until 1844, He accepted the opportunities afforded by the primitive schools for an education, and at the age of sixteen years, he came to Pittsburg; there he embarked as a boatman on the Ohio and Mississippi rivers, beginning as a deck-hand and advancing through various grades until he became captain. This river life was continued until 1866, when he engaged in prospecting and drilling for oil in Beaver county, but soon resumed the life of a boatman, which business he followed until 1872. In that year he entered upon his present business of furnishing stone for building and street-paving. Like many other great enterprises the business of A. J. Jolly & Sons has developed from small beginnings, and is the outgrowth of hard labor, perseverance, and indomitable energy. It required a great amount of work to secure the cobble stone from the river banks, but the greatest task was to meet the opposition of the older firms in the same business; this was happily done, and the present firm now ranks among the foremost and most successful contractors of the state. Their first contract was with the Pittsburg & Lake Erie Railroad Company, for whom they still continue to furnish stone and to do masonry work ; they also supply other railroads with stone, and the stone for the court house and custom house at Pittsburg was supplied by them. They erected a bridge across the Ohio River at Point Pleasant, West Va., one and one-half miles long and 103 feet high; they erected the bridge at Parkersburg in the same state and furnished the stone for lock Number 4, on the Monongahela River, and for the bridge at Cold Centre, Pa., on the B. & O. R. R. Politically, Mr. Jolly is a stanch supporter of the Democratic party. He was wedded September 26, 185o, to Miss Sarah Srodes, a daughter of John M. Srodes, of Beaver county, and they are the parents of the following children: William A., deceased; John K.; Albert M.; Marilla E., the wife of David Anderson; Eddie, deceased; and Frank L.
Albert M. Jolly acquired his primary education in the district schools of his native town and, in 1874, was graduated from Duff's Mercantile College of Pittsburg. Returning to Phillipsburg in 1877, he became interested in contracting, and was made secretary and treasurer of the firm of A. J. Jolly & Sons; at that time the business was chiefly confined to quarrying, but at the present day they do all kinds of contracting. The subject of this biography gives much attention to the details of the business, and is frequently to be found in the various localities where the work is progressing,-West Virginia having recently been his base of operations. Of the many important contracts completed by this firm were the Government lock on the Muskegon River, the construction of which occupied nearly one year; the large bridge that spans the river at Wheeling, West Va.; several bridges across the Beaver River; the firm built the railroad from Point Pleasant to Huntington, Pa., and also the Twelfth street inclined plane at Pittsburg, one of the first of its kind to carry street cars. They have accepted large contracts from the P. R. R., the B. & O. R. R., and the P. McK. & Y. R. R. The other members of
the firm are J. K. and F. L. Jolly. Aside from his interests with the above firm, our Mr. Jolly is interested in many other enterprises, among which are the Beaver Valley Street Railway Company, of which he was vice-president seven years and is now a stockholder and a director. He was, five years, manager of the Wheeling Street Railway Company; is president of the Sharon Street Railway Company; with other members of his family, he built the Bellaire, Bridgeport and Martin's Ferry Railroad, which was consolidated with the Wheeling lines in the fall of 1898; he is a director of the Ohio River Bridge Company, which owns the bridge which connects Rochester and Monaca, of which company his father is president; he is president of the People's Water Company, a corporation formed to supply the residents of Beaver Falls with pure water at a low rate, and to relieve them from the oppression of the old company (one of the greatest blessings the borough now enjoys) ; he is a director in the National Bank, a director in the Home Protective Bank & Loan Association, and a director of the Columbia Building & Loan Association. Mr. Jolly has built many dwellings in the village of Beaver Falls, including the handsome residence he has occupied for the past few years.
Mr. Jolly was united in marriage March 23, 1882, with Miss Jennie E. Small, a daughter of Elmira Small, and to this union two children have been born: Clarence D., a student in the Chester, Pa., Military Academy; and Leila V., a student in the district school.
Socially, Mr. Jolly is a member of the F. & A. M., Valley Echo Lodge, No. 622; Pittsburg Commandery, No. 1, of Pittsburg, Pa., -which is next to the largest Commandery in the United States; the I. O. 0. F., of Beaver Falls; Lone Rock Lodge, No. 222, K. of P.; Royal Arcanum; and the Beaver Falls Mechanics' Lodge, No. 28, A. O. U. W. Religiously, he belongs to the Methodist denomination.
The father of Mr. Jolly's wife is one of the oldest residents of the county, the date of his birth occurring in March, 1822, and his birthplace being Bridgewater, Pennsylvania. He was a son of Boston Small, who was born in 1781. Boston was one of six brothers who came to Beaver county about the year 1800, at which time the place was a vast forest filled with roaming Indians and wild animals. Those of his family who accompanied Boston to this vicinity were Jacob, a gunsmith; Frederick, a blacksmith ; and John, Henry and Peter, farmers. They were the sons of Jacob, who was born in Germany, and who came to America many years prior to the War of Independence. Boston Small was educated in Pittsburg, Pa., and at an early age came down the Beaver valley to the sugar camps, and being favorably impressed with the appearance of the place, he decided to locate there; later he was followed by his five brothers. They bought large tracts of land, which was covered with great quantities of black, red and white oak, and hickory. Boston moved to Bridgewater in 1833, and there he spent his remaining days, being suddenly cut off by an attack of apoplexy, in 1858. He was married, in 1809, to Margaret Graham, who was born September 6, 1788, and was a daughter of Hughey Graham, a soldier of the Revolutionary War. Mrs. Small was born at Fairview, and received her mental training in the old log school in that district. Five children were born to them: Catherine (Calhoon), born in December, 1809; Jane (May), born in 1811 ; Maria (Swager), born in 1817; Martin, born in 1819; and Socrates J. Boston Small was a devout Christian, a member of the Presbyterian church, and assisted in the building of the churches at Bridgewater and Beaver. He never allowed a morning or evening to pass without having family prayers. He was a Whig, and served as supervisor and school director.
Socrates J. Small was mentally instructed in Brighton township, in the old log school house, and was obliged to walk three and one-half miles daily during the terms; when seventeen years of age, he learned the trade of a cabinet-maker. He built the first hearse in the county ; at that time the coffins were made of cherry wood, and the undertakers were compelled to take the rough wood, cut it into necessary shapes and boil it in whisky in order to get the requisite color; then the coffin was covered with beeswax melted with a hot iron and polished with a cork. There was no rough box, no handles on the coffin, no ceremony, and it was difficult to secure anything but a wagon to convey the corpse to its final resting place. The coffins were sold for one dollar a foot. Mr. Small had many strangeorders to fill while in the undertaking business; one was to furnish a steel casket of polished metal, that weighed three hundred and fifty pounds. Mr. Small first engaged in the business in 1842, with his brother Martin, in the town of Bridgewater, but three years later he sold out and worked for Robert Gilmore and Milton Swager, with whom he had learned the trade. In 1846, he returned to the furniture and undertaking business,-buying out the stock of Mr. Johnson,-and successfully conducted the establishment throughout his active life,-retiring in 1887. A few years prior to 1875, he was in business at Beaver but in that year he moved to Beaver Falls. Mr. Small wedded Elmira Swager, a native of Mercer county, Pa., who came to Beaver county when she was but eight years of age. Eleven children were born to them: Ursula (Johnson), an artist now in the treasury department at Washington, D. C.; Hiram; Margaret (Coleman), of Rochester; George, a farmer; J. Emma (Jolly), wife of the subject hereof; Ann M. (Jolly); Maria (Allen) ; Kate (Sterling) ; Eliza (Owery) ; Frank; and Charles, who died in infancy.
DR. Henry C. ISEMAN
DR. HENRY C. ISEMAN is a skilful physician residing in the town of Beaver Falls, Pa., and his exceedingly large practice and wide experience have placed him in the foremost ranks of the profession in Beaver county. The Doctor makes a specialty of hemorrhoids and has been called
to various cities to treat some of the most prominent men in Western Pennsylvania and Eastern Ohio. He was born in Westmoreland County, Pa., August 16, 1839, and is a son of Christopher and Maggie (Sober) Iseman. His parents were both natives of Westmoreland county, Pa., and his father was a veterinary surgeon and resided in Burrell township.
The Doctor obtained a common school education in his native district, and having decided upon the medical profession, he entered the office of Dr. George Wallace of Westmoreland county, and subsequently completed the required study with Dr. Charles Jarvis. In 1869, he opened an office in Allegheny City, Pa., but after a year had elapsed he located in Beaver for six months; he then made Petersburg, Ohio. his headquarters, in the vicinity of which he successfully practiced his profession for a period of twelve years. At the expiration of that time, he returned to Beaver,-remaining there ten years. Since then he has been practicing in Beaver Falls and vicinity. Dr. Iseman realizing the great prevalence of hemorrhoids, early began to give special attention to the study and treatment of this disease; in addition to his own investigation along that line, he spent one year under the instruction and tutelage of that well-known specialist, Dr. Wendman. Certainly the Doctor has shown a wonderful skill in the treatment of hemorrhoids, and counts among the patients that he has successfully treated, many of the prominent business and professional men throughout this part of the state, and Eastern Ohio. Dr. Iseman is popular as a business man and citizen, and is held by his many acquaintances in profound respect and esteem. When the crisis of the Civil War was upon us, true to the patriotic instincts of his nature, Dr. Iseman volunteered his services in defense of the Union. In 1861, Dr. Iseman was joined in marriage to Annie E. Edger, daughter of "Squire" I. A. W. Edger, of Darlington, Beaver county, Pa., and unto them have been born four children, as follows: Maggie, who married J. C. Naugle, of Wampum, Pa.; William, who married and settled in Miduga,-the maiden name of his wife not being known; Alice E., unmarried; and Frank. In religious belief the family are Presbyterians. In political action, he casts his vote for the man best qualified, regardless of party or creed.
P.M. WALLOVER, an extensive oil producer and refiner of Smith's Ferry, Beaver county, Pa., whose portrait appears on the opposite page, was born near Philadelphia, Pa., in 1824. Several generations of the Wallover family were born in that vicinity. The birth of his father, William H., and of his grandfather, after whom he was named, also occurred in that part of the state. His grandfather, M. P. Wallover, was the son of a well-known sea captain. He was reared and educated in the city of Philadelphia, and at an early age became interested in the manufacture of paper. In those pioneer days all the work was done by hand, and to do an extensive business required considerable capital. He was successful in his operations and established two mills, one on Mill Creek, the other on Wissahickon Creek. He became very wealthy. At that early day, only wealthy people could afford to buy a piano, and he bought one of the finest instruments shipped to this country. The whole family became expert players on this instrument.
He reared a family of six children, namely: Peter; William H.; Harry, who went to Mexico, and there formed a partnership with a Mr. Bellfield (both of whom showed their patriotism by offering their place to the government for a garrison) ; Harriet, who became the wife of a Mr. Duckett, a wealthy paper manufacturer; Margaret (Shee) ; and Mary Ann.
William H. Wallover, father of the subject of this sketch, obtained his intellectual training in Philadelphia, and, although the ad-vantages were meagre, he received a fair education. His first business relations were those with his father, whom he assisted in the paper mills. He was interested in that business during all of his active career. He married Harriet Mervine, and they reared three children: P. M., the subject of this sketch; Anna, the wife of General Daniel Dare; and Henry, who died at the age of six years.
William H. Wallover died in 1829, and his widow married a Mr. Stott, a mechanic of no mean ability. He it was who put the machinery in the United States steamship Prince-ton. He was superintendent of the Phoenixville Iron Works for many years, and retained this position up to the time of his death, which occurred very suddenly.
P. M. Wallover received his education under private tutorship. He learned the trade of a machinist, but, although he never followed it, he has found his knowledge of mechanics very useful during his business life. His first work was in a paper mill of his uncle, near Philadelphia, where he labored for eight months; he was then given the management of the establishment. Afterwards he became interested in two mills, working them on shares,-and continued thus until 1854, when he came to Beaver county to manage a mill opened by a relative on Little Beaver Creek. This mill was operated for three years. Mr. Wallover purchased property near Smith's Ferry, and on February 9, 1860, he began to drill for oil. March 1, of that year, he struck a five-barrel well. This gave him encouragement, and he leased more property and struck a well which produced $60,000 worth of oil. He has drilled and operated twenty-eight wells, and all of them were good producers.
In 1863, he started an oil refinery,-it being the first one in this district. He at once began to experiment in the oils, and his efforts were crowned with success. He made the first signal oil used on the Ohio River; he also made the first brand of wool oil used in the woolen mills, and got several brands of fine machinery oil. In those days the war tax was twelve cents per gallon, and one dollar per barrel. The firm name of the refinery was the Wallover Oil Co., but there were three parties interested in it. Two of them were railroad men, and when the railroad was put through that section, the railroad partners had to withdraw from the Wallover Oil Co., as it was against the rules of the railroad company for any of its stockholders to hold outside interests. Consequently Mr. Wallover purchased their shares and continued the business alone.
Our subject was joined in the bonds of wedlock with Margaret Arthur. She was also born in Philadelphia. They have a family of eight children: Charles A., now engaged in paper manufacturing; William H., who is in the oil business, in Indiana; Robert A., who is with his father; Joseph D., a contractor for drilling oil wells; Bert S., deceased; Edwin S., a salesman and teacher of music; Katie, deceased; and Laura (Boyd). Mr. Wallover is a Republican, and has served in minor offices of his town. The family is in accord with the M. E. church, of which he is a liberal supporter.
James W. HUM
JAMES W. HUM, deceased, an early resident of Beaver, Beaver county, Pa., was for many long years a very prominent business man of Western Pennsylvania, conducting a large wholesale and retail lightning-rod house at No. 19 Market street, Pittsburg, Pa. He was born in Deerfield township, Columbiana county, Ohio, February 16, 1827, and was a son of David and Mary Ann (Hickox) Hum, and grandson of Jacob Hum.
Jacob Hum, with a brother, early in life emigrated from their native country, Germany, and settled in Ohio, where he worked at his trade, that of a hatter. He established a business at Columbiana, Columbiana county, Ohio, but subsequently engaged in the same line of work at Salem, Ohio. He formed a matrimonial alliance with a lady of Scottish birth, and those of their children who grew to maturity were named as follows: David; John; Jacob; Adam; Margaret; and George. Mr. Hum lived to reach the advanced age of eighty-three years.
David Hum, the father of James W., was born in Columbiana county, Ohio, and at Columbiana followed his father's business for some years. Later in life, however, he became a merchant of Lisbon, Ohio, where he died when eighty years old. His first wife's maiden name was Mary Ann Hickox, who died at thirty-six years of age, leaving the following offspring: Angelina (Hatcher); James Winnard, who married Margaret Briggs; Richard Winchester, an early settler of Lowellville, Ohio; Columbus C., who resides near Toledo, Ohio; Martha (Throne), of East Palestine, Ohio ; and Elizabeth, deceased. By his second wife, Rebecca Thorn, Mr. Hum had one son, John. His third wife's given name was Esther, and his fourth union was with Mary Silverthorn.
James W. Hum left home at the age of ten years to live with his uncle, John Hum. He remained with him until he reached the age of fourteen years, when he obtained employment on a steamboat on the Ohio River, as a cabin boy. Later he learned the trade of boat carpenter, a vocation for which he was naturally well qualified. Subsequently he established himself at Bridgewater, and displayed considerable genius by manufacturing fanning mills, by the means of which grain, then threshed by hand, could be cleaned. His business became very prosperous, and he employed a large number of hands, as his product was extensively used in Western Pennsylvania. The lightning rod business next claimed his attention, and he was one of the founders of the American Lightning Rod Company, of Philadelphia, in 1849. The western section of the United States was his exclusive territory, and he established a wholesale and retail store at No. 19 Market street, Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. Under successful management the business expanded, and, in 1882, he took his son, Edward Knox Hum, into partnership with him, and they continued together until 1892, when the subject of this sketch retired from active labors. It was in 1868 that he built the handsome residence in which his widow now lives, and he also owned considerable valuable realty in Bridgewater and Beaver at the time of his death, which occurred March 17, 1895. He was a man of high principles, a loving husband and a fond father, and his friends throughout the state were very numerous.
James W. Hum formed a marital union with Margaret Brigs, a daughter of Henry and Mary (Westcoat) Briggs. Henry Briggs was born in Dighton, Mass., and was a son of Matthew and Cecelia (Reed) Briggs, and a grandson of Matthew Briggs, a blacksmithby trade, who came to this country from England. Matthew, Jr., was born in Dighton, Mass., and was also a blacksmith, following that vocation all of his active days. By his first wife he had three children, as follows: Matthew; Elizabeth; and Deliverance. By a second marriage, with Cecelia Reed, he had five children, namely: Henry; Nancy; Mary; Joseph; and Cecelia. Henry Briggs, the father of our subject's wife, learned the trade of a blacksmith, and, in 1836, removed to Western Pennsylvania, locating in South Beaver township, Beaver county. He purchased a farm, and, in addition to general farming, was engaged at his trade all of his active life, but lived his last days in retirement, dying at the home of his daughter, Mrs. Hum, in the eighty-fourth year of his age. His wife survived him several years, and died at the remarkable age of eighty-nine years. She had made several trips to her native state, Massachusetts, and had returned from one of these trips but two months before her death. Their children were : Henry, who died young ; Mary; Julia; William; Elizabeth; Margaret; and Spencer.
Mr. and Mrs. James W. Hum were the parents of the following: Henry Thornton, now of Pike county, Ill., who first married Josephine Blake, by whom he had one child, Harry C., and second, married Elizabeth Hughes, by whom he had one child, Carl D.; Edward Knox, whose life is also recorded in this Book of Biographies; Mary Elizabeth, deceased, the wife of Frank Robinson, by whom she had one child, Lois; James Weston, a farmer of Columbiana county, Ohio, who married Matilda Hineman, and had the following children,-Edward K., Guy H., Mary A., Martha T., James W., and Wayne A.; Fred Cook, deceased, who married Florence King, by whom he had a son, Forrest, deceased; Arthur Westcoat, an electrical engineer, of Bridgewater, who married Mary Doing, deceased; and Margaret Mott, the wife of Samuel P. Provost, a flour manufacturer and merchant, of Pittsburg. Politically, our subject was a Democrat, and was a public-spirited man. He was also a Mason, and was a charter member of St. James Lodge, F. & A. M., at Beaver.
Peter J. HUTH
PETER J. HUTH, an enterprising and energetic business man of Rochester, Pa., whom we are pleased to represent with a portrait on the opposite page, is secretary and treasurer of the Point Bottle Works, Limited, one of the most flourishing establishments in Western Pennsylvania. He was born in Baltimore, Md., in 1859, and is a son of Charles and Veronica (Becker) Huth.
Charles Huth, the father of our subject, was born in Lomborn, near Hanan, Germany, and was a single man when he came to America, locating in the city of Baltimore. After his marriage he removed to Pittsburg, and later to Freedom, Beaver county, Pa., in 1864, and, being a cooper by trade, was employed in that line of work. Upon moving to Rochester, in 1865, he operated a cooper shop, and, in connection with this, he opened a store for raftsmen and boatmen, located on Water street. He also purchased what had formerly been a river warehouse, rebuilt it into a residence, and lived there the remainder of his days, dying at the age of fifty-eight years. His union with Veronica Becker resulted in the following issue : Adam, a grocer on Water street, in Rochester; Peter J., the subject of this biographical record; Lizzie, the wife of John Schies, of Anderson, Ind.; Josephine, the wife of Henry Heuring, a record of whose life appears elsewhere in this volume; Andrew, a printer, of Cleveland, Ohio; Kate, the wife of Michael Kinney, of Anderson, Ind.; John, a glass blower, of Rochester, Pa.; Caroline; George, a glass blower of Rochester; and Annie, a bookkeeper in the office of the Point Bottle Works. Veronica Becker, mother of Peter J., was born January 22, 1832. She is a daughter of Henry and Barbara Becker, natives of Bruckenau, Bayern, Germany. She came to this country in 1852, and settled in Baltimore, Maryland. She married Charles Huth in 1853, she having previously met him in the Old Country. Since the death of her husband, she has resided on Water street, in a comfortable home, surrounded by many friends and acquaintances.
Peter J. Huth attended the public schools of Rochester until he reached the age of fourteen years, when he began work in the pressed glass department of the Rochester Tumbler Works, continuing there until he entered the cutting department of the Phoenix Glass Company, of Monaca. He served in that capacity for four years, and then in the main office, for a like period, as custodian, clerk, and paymaster. In 1887, the Point Bottle Works, Limited, was re-organized, and he became one of the stockholders, as well as secretary and treasurer, in which capacity he is still officiating. This plant was established in 1879, as the Rochester Flint Vial & Bottle Works, and was located at the present site on the lower end of Water street, by David McDonald, its president, and C. I. McDonald, vice-president and manager. The estate was subsequently sold at sheriff's sale, and was bought by the following business men: J. M. Buchanan, S. B. Wilson, J. C. Cunningham, J. C. Irwin, and P. McLaughlin, who served as president. In 1887, it was purchased and re-organized with the name of Point Bottle Works, Limited, and Henry Heuring was made president. The subject hereof was selected as secretary and treasurer, and per-formed his duties with such satisfaction that he was again chosen in 1897, when C. A. Dambacher was made president. The di-rectors are C. A. Dambacher, P. J. Huth, William O'Leary, R. Rodke, John Flint, J. R. Dougherty, and L. Hollander. The main building of the plant is 60x120 feet; on the lower floor are located the mold room, the mixing room, and the engine and boiler rooms. On the second floor are the packing and warehouse rooms. The second building is 64x64 feet, fitted with a twelve-pot furnace, eighteen ovens, and four glory holes. They give daily employment to 125 men, and manufacture all kinds of bottles, the yearly output amounting to $90,000.
Peter J. Huth was united in marriage with Grace O'Leary, a daughter of John and Annie (Ingles) O'Leary, and she died at about the age of thirty years. They had two children : Charles and Lawrence,-both of whom died in infancy. Mr. Huth formed a second marital union, with Mary Emery, a daughter of William F. and Mary A. (Conway) Emery, and they had three children: the first born being a son, v ho died in infancy; the next, Alexander, who died at the age of one year; and Peter Emery. Mr. Huth built a handsome home on Hull street, but resides, on Dees Lane. Religiously, the family are devout members of the Catholic church. Mr. Huth is a man of strong personality, and has gained many friends throughout this section of the state.
Frank Smith READER
FRANK SMITH READER, journalist, New Brighton, Pa., was born in Coal Center, Washington county, Pa., November 17, 1842. His father, Francis Reader, was a native of Warwickshire, England,-his parents removing from there to Washington county, Pa., in 1802. His mother, Ellen Smith Reader, of the same county, was of Scotch-Irish descent. Her paternal grandfather, Rev. John Smith, was a prominent minister of his day, and her maternal grandfather, Lieut. William Wallace, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War.
The subject of this sketch worked at farming and carpentering, and acquired at the schools of his town, and at Mount Union College, Ohio, an academic education. He lived among the scenes of the Monongahela Valley, Pa., until 1861, when he enlisted as a soldier, on April 27, 1861, serving in Company I, 2nd Reg., Va. Inf., in the commands and departments of Generals Rosecrans, Reynolds and Milroy, until April, 1862, in Western Virginia; he took part in the campaign of Gen. John C. Fremont in the Shenandoah Valley, and in that of Gen. Pope in Eastern Virginia, in 1862. His regiment returned to Western Virginia in October, 1862. June 1, 1863, the regiment was changed to the Fifth West. Va. Cavalry. He was offered a promotion in his company but declined it, and was assigned to duty at Gen. W. W. Averill's headquarters, July 1, 1863, and afterwards to the headquarters of Gen. Franz Sigel and Gen. David Hunter in the Shenandoah Valley, taking part in their campaigns. After the victory under Gen. Hunter, at Piedmont, Va., June 5, 1864, he was one of the first Federal soldiers to enter Staunton, Va., and there had charge of paroling five hundred wounded Confederates. He was captured on this expedition, June 20, 1864, and after being thirty days a prisoner, made his escape from a train, with three comrades, twenty miles south of Bunkersville Junction, Va., while on the way to Andersonville prison. Having undergone eleven days and nights of great suffering, hardships and hunger, hiding in the woods by day and traveling by night, he reached Gen. Grant's head-quarters at Petersburg, Va., June 30, 1864, having passed through the right wing of Gen. Robert E. Lee's Confederate Army. His term of service having expired July 10, 1864, and being so broken in health that further duty was impossible, he was discharged in August of that year. He taught school the following winter, and in July, 1865, accepted a position in the U. S. Civil Service, in which he served at different periods for over ten years; he was chief deputy collector of internal revenue nearly eight years, and acting collector for some months.
On December 24, 1867, Mr. Reader was united in marriage with Miss Merran F. Darling, of New Brighton. Her father, Joseph Darling, was a native of Vermont, his paternal grandfather serving in the Revolutionary War, and her mother, Rebecca Cobb Darling, was a native of Chautauqua county, New York. Two sons were born to the couple, Frank Eugene Reader, attorney-at-law, and Willard Stanton Reader, journalist. Mr. Reader became a member of the Methodist Episcopal church December 15, 1865, and entered the North Missouri Conference of the church, in 1868, as preacher in charge of a circuit of nine appointments, but owing to the failure of his voice, he was compelled to retire after one year's service. He has held an official relation in the church ever since, and has been Sunday school superintendent for over twenty-two years. Mrs. Reader is a member of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Reader is the author of a life of Moody and Sankey, the noted evangelists,-and also of the history of the Fifth West Va. Cavalry, besides historical sketches of the Harmony Society, Economy, Beaver county, Pa., of New Brighton, Pa., and the Beaver Valley, in which his paper is published. On May 22, 1874, he and Major David Critchlow established the "Beaver Valley News," at New Brighton ; on January 1, 1877, he bought the major's interest in the paper, and on February 4, 1883, he began the publication of the first daily paper in the county,-"The Daily News." He was secretary of the Republican county committee for several years; while in that office he prepared and presented in the state legislature the first law enacted in Pennsylvania for the government of primary elections; he was alternate to the Chicago convention which nominated James G. Blaine for president in 1884; he was suggested as a candidate for congress and for the state senate, but declined to be a candidate; he served in the council and school board of his borough, and held other positions of trust, but never solicited any public position.
Frank Eugene Reader, attorney-at-law, New Brighton, Pa., son of Frank S. and Merran D. Reader, was born at Greencastle, Mo., December 15, 1868. He attended school at New Brighton, Geneva College, Beaver Falls, Pa., and entered Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, Md., in the fall of 1885, from which he was graduated in 1888, second in a large class, with the degree of B. A. He studied law with Brown & Lambie, a prominent law firm, of Pittsburg, Pa., and was admitted, on examination, to the bar of Allegheny county, Pa., in 1891, andlater was examined and admitted to the bar of Beaver county, Pennsylvania. He became a partner of the law firm of Moore Bros., Beaver, Pa., in 1892, the new firm being Moore, Moore & Reader. In April, 1892, he was elected solicitor of the Beaver County Building & Loan Association, New Brighton. In 1896, he retired from the law firm and opened an office of his own in New Brighton. He was elected secretary of the council of New Brighton in March, 1899. On June 3, 1896, he was united in marriage with Miss Jennie B. Nesbit, a daughter of Rev. Samuel H. Nesbit, D. D., one of the most prominent, able and influential members of the Pittsburg Conference of the M. E. church; he was, for twelve years, editor of the Pittsburg "Christian Advocate"; presiding elder, and pastor of some of the best charges in the conference. A daughter,-Dorothy Nesbit,-was born to Mr. and Mrs. Reader, the date of her birth being May 8, 1897. They are members of the Methodist Episcopal church.
Willard Stanton Reader, journalist, was born at New Brighton, Pa., September 28, 1871; he attended the public schools of his native town, and was a pupil in Geneva College, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania. He entered the office of the Beaver Valley News as an apprentice, and in 1889 was appointed the New Brighton reporter of the paper. September 28, 1892, on his twenty-first birthday, he was admitted to partnership in the, business, and has since held the position of city editor. In addition to the duties of this position, he has written for leading papers in Pittsburg and other cities; has served on the Republican county committee, and is now secretary of the board of health of his native town. He united with the Methodist church, in January, 1885.
Mr. Reader was united in marriage with Miss Lily Robinson, a daughter of Thomas and Mary Robinson, March 1, 1897. Mr. Robinson was a soldier in the Civil War, serving his country with fidelity and courage. Both Mr. and Mrs. Reader are members of the Methodist Protestant church. They have one child, a son, Willard Donald Reader, born December 20, 1897.
William A. PARK
WILLIAM A. PARK is treasurer of the well known firm, the Park Fire Clay Company, and is a respected citizen of Rochester, Pa., where the main office of the company is located. He is a man of extraordinary business capacity, and energetic and honest in the methods which he
pursues. He is a native of New Sewickley township, Beaver county, Pa., where he attended the public schools and assisted his father in the lumber business. He continued to do so until he entered the general merchandizing business with his brother, John H., at Park Quarries. He afterward became identified with the Park Fire Clay Company as treasurer, and has since served in that connection. The other officers are: J. I. Park, president; J. H. Park, superintendent. The capacity of the works is 250,000 bricks per day, and three hundred and fifty men are employed. They have filled paving contracts in Pennsylvania and adjoining states, and have an established reputation, shipping their product to all points in the United States and Canada. In 1884, he, with his brother, John H. Park, built a line connecting their establishment with the main line of the Pennsylvania Railroad Company, at Conway, but this they have since disposed of to the Ohio River Junction Railroad Company of which Mr. Park is treasurer. Mr. Park has been located in Rochester for many years, and has conscientiously endeavored to further the interests of the town. He is widely known throughout the district, and has many friends.
William A. Park is of Irish ancestry, being the great-grandson of William Park, who was born in Cookstown, County Tyrone, Ireland, where he received an education. He was a man of good character and of high standing in that country, as is shown by papers which are now in the possession of the subject of this sketch. These papers are evidence of the fact that he became a member of Lodge No. 479, F. & A. M., at Tullaghoge, County Tyrone, Ireland, December 3, 1783. In 1791, on April 26, he was given a demit from that lodge, together with one from the Knights Templar, of which he was also a member,-accompanied by testimonials as to his character. He landed in Philadelphia, Pa., in May, 1791, where he remained for about four years, in the meantime learning the trade of stone mason, and then located in Wilkinsburg, Allegheny county, Pa., where he instituted what was, for many years, the only Masonic lodge in that section of the state. He followed his former vocation there and many houses now remain standing in that village as the result of his work. He lived to reach the advanced age of eighty-eight years, and was buried in the Beulah burial grounds. He married Mary McGahey, who died at the age of ninety-four years, and they had the following issue: John, who married Margaret Duff; David, whose wife was Ann Hamilton; Jane; William, who married Nancy Johnson; Robert, who married Elizabeth Loney; and Thomas from whom our subject's wife is descended.
David Park, the grandfather of William A. Park, was born at Wilkinsburg, Pa., and there learned the trade of wagon-maker and wheelwright, which he followed until he moved upon a farm, purchased by him in New Sewickley township, Beaver county, Pa., in 1845. There, in addition to cultivating the soil, he plied his trade for many years, dying when eighty-six years old. The property is now owned by his son Theodore. The maiden name of David's wife was Ann Hamilton, and she was born in Warren county, Ohio, in 18o6, and died at the age of seventy-nine. Their children were: James F., the father of the gentleman first named above; William; George, who married Mary Beal; Elizabeth, the wife of Hiram Phillip; Mary, the wife of Rev. John Brown; and Theodore, who married Kate Campbell.
James I. Park was born at Wilkinsburg,Allegheny county, Pa., and adopted the trade of a carpenter, but early in life removed from his native place to Freedom, Beaver county, where he became a contractor and lumber dealer. He was very successful, and now owns a farm near Freedom, upon which he is living a retired life. He married Emiline McDonald, a daughter of William and Rebecca (Magee) McDonald, who was of Scotch ancestry, and she died leaving four children, as follows : William A.; John H., a record of whose life appears elsewhere herein; Annie V., the widow of Milton McCullough ; and George I., who is also identified with the Park Fire Clay Company. He formed a second union,- in this instance with Mary Dean, a daughter of Samuel Dean, and they have two children: Mabel D. and Nellie D.
William A. Park was joined in the bonds of wedlock with Mary J. Park, a daughter of Thomas and Helen (Duff) Park. Thomas Park, a son of William Park, the first of the family to locate in this country, was born in Wilkinsburg, Allegheny county, Pa., and settled in Penn township, where he became a farmer of considerable prominence. He died at the age of sixty-three years. His wife, Helen, who now resides with William A. Park, is a daughter of David Duff, and they had two children: James Graham, of Cripple Creek, Colo. ; and Mary J. Socially, the subject of this sketch is a member of the Masonic orders, F. & A. M., and R. A. M., of Rochester, Pa., and of the Commandery, of Pittsburg. He is also a member of the Mystic Shrine, of Pittsburg.
David Philips ESTEP
AVID PHILIPS ESTEP, deceased, a gentleman whose life was marked by years of activity in the industrial world, was a prominent dairyman in Chippewa township, Beaver county, Pennsylvania. II e was a son of Ephraim and Susanna (Philips) Estep, and was born in Washington county, Pa., March 9, 1822.
His grandfather was Robert Estep, who u as born in Baltimore, Md., in 1750, and was of Welsh parentage,-his father having come from Wales to America, in 1720, and settled in Baltimore, Maryland. Robert Estep, after reaching maturity removed to Bedford county, Pa., making the trip on horseback,-and there engaged in agricultural pursuits. He subsequently bought a farm in Washing-ton county, Pa., and lived there during the remainder of his life. He was a Democrat in politics, and served as a "squire" under the old laws, being appointed by the governor. He was also burgess of Lawrenceville, when that was a busy little town, entirely apart from Pittsburg. He was united in marriage with Dorcas Wells, and they became the parents of thirteen children, namely: Eliza; Nathan; Jemima (Dailey); Ruth (Potter), of Darlington, Pa.; John; James, a physician, and later, a minister of the Gospel; Ephraim, whose business was that of a merchant ; Mary (Gaston); Elizabeth (Holmes); Thomas; William, who died in infancy; Joseph; and William.
Ephraim Estep, the father of the subject of this sketch, was born in Washington county, Pa., and was mentally trained in the publicschools, after which he took up the occupation of a farmer, but subsequently learned the trade of a blacksmith,-buying a place which was furnished with water power. He then removed to Pittsburg and became a prominent manufacturer of shovels and axes,-buying the old plant of Orrin Waters. He supplied all the jobbers of Pittsburg, and employed about forty-five men. Some time later, he moved to New Brighton, Beaver county, Pa., and built a factory in which he manufactured all kinds of edge tools, employing seventy-five men, and in 1849, he retired, and turned the management over to two of his sons. He married Susanna Philips, a daughter of John Philips, who was a very successful merchant in Philadelphia. He was appointed an ensign in Washington's army during the Revolutionary War, and the commission is highly prized by the subject hereof, in whose possession it has remained. He was a man of extensive business interests, and besides conducting his store he was an extensive weaver; for many years he was a "squire" of his district. Religiously, he was a Baptist; politically he was a member of the Whig party. Susanna Philips was born and educated in Philadelphia, and as a result of her union with Ephraim Estep, she became the mother of nine children: Mary Hall, deceased; Joseph Philips, manufacturer of wagons ; William C.; David Philips, the subject of this sketch; Dorcas (Marquis); Elvira; Harriet; Ephraim; and Robert.
David Philips Estep was mentally trained and educated in Washington county, Pa., in the public schools, and in the schools of Pittsburg, and thereafter became prominently identified with his father's business interests. In 1849, he went to California, and became an active speculator,-being one of the first miners in that field. While in California he turned his attention to seine fishing in the Sacramento River and supplied the camps and towns with fish,-in this way doing a good business. In 1851, he returned to Pittsburg and was employed at the Lippencott axe factory, for a time, but subsequently became foreman for Hubbard & Bakewell. He served in that capacity for thirty-two years, and as a workman was unexcelled. He seemed to possess the happy faculty of procuring the best efforts from the men under his direction, and yet, by showing them kindness and consideration, he gained their esteem and affection. In fact, it was with great regret that they saw him take his departure from their midst in 1879, and he was presented with what is, probably, the handsomest set of engrossed resolutions ever drawn up in Pittsburg. It was an extraordinary exhibition of their regard for him, and was signed by a committee of seven, and by over two hundred of the employees. It is a gift of which any man would feel proud. He then removed to Beaver county, and purchased a tract of two hundred and seventy-one acres of land in Chippewa township, one-half of which was in a state of cultivation. The handsome brick house was then standing, and was known as the McKinley homestead, but was subsequently owned by William David son and then by Mr. Hamilton, from whom the subject of our sketch purchased it. He made many important improvements on the place,-clearing a considerable portion of it,-and engaged in dairying and farming. He possessed fifty head of cattle,-making a specialty of Jersey stock,-and retailed milk, keeping two wagons busy in selling directly to the consumer. Up to the time of his death, he was ably assisted in the management of the farm by his son Edgar, who attended to all of the active duties incident to so extensive a business. He also had eleven head of fine horses, one of them being twenty-six years old, and still a very good horse,-a fact which speaks well for the treatment and care it has received. Mr. Estep made a host of friends after locating in Beaver county, and was everywhere received as a man of worth to the community.
His wife was Hannah Squires, who was born in 1823, and received an excellent mental training in the schools of Pittsburg,-being an exceptionally bright woman. He was deprived of her companionship by death in 1892, when she was sixty-nine years old. They had the following children: Frances M., who died in infancy; Thomas S.; Albert D., who died in infancy; Susanna Catherine, who also died in infancy; Edgar S., who assisted his father; and Harry Clay, a prominent real estate dealer, of Pittsburg. Politically, the subject of this memoir was a Republican. In religious attachments he was a member of the Baptist church, of New Brighton. He was a member and past master of Pittsburg Lodge, F. & A. M.; past commander of Pittsburg Commandery, No. 1; past commander-in-chief of Pittsburg consistory; and a member of Arsenal Lodge, No. 48o, I. O. O. F., of which he was, for some time, deputy grand master of the Pittsburg district. His death occurred September 22, 1899, and he was buried with Masonic honors in Allegheny Cemetery, Pittsburg, Pennsylvania.
REV. James L. DEENS
REV. JAMES L. DEENS, who for many years served in the ministry of the Methodist Episcopal church, became thoroughly identified with the interests of Beaver county, after his retirement from active ministerial service, when his preference of the freedom of country life asserted itself in the choice of a home here. Prior to a permanent residence on his farm, however, he had served as pastor of several local charges, and thus strengthened his interests in the Beaver Valley.
His thorough enjoyment of farm life, exempt from the strain of routine service, was marked by evidences of vitality and adapt-ability to surroundings seldom experienced by one of his years.
James L. Deens was born in County Armagh, Ireland, January 3, 1820, being the only child of James and Margaret (Graham) Deens. His father, of direct Scotch descent, died when a young man, and the widowed mother, during a period of general emigration from Ireland, brought her infant son t0 America,locating in Pittsburg, which became to them a permanent home around which their interests ever centered; for there Mrs. Deens subsequently married John Lompre, a French Canadian, whose paternal interest in the boy was marked by a voluntary embodiment of the step-father's name in the boy's full name of James Lompre Deens, and by a close companionship in business, interrupted only by the sudden death of the father just as James was entering manhood.
To the mother, thus left a second time with a family of which only Lydia Sergeant and Eliza Lompre Irwin attained maturity and established families of their own, the best tribute that can be paid is the acknowledgment of the respect accorded her for half a century by all who came under the influence of her unselfish spirit, which remained young and sympathetic until the close of a long life of loving interest in family and friends. In 1887, at the age of eighty-seven, she peacefully passed away.
James Lompre Deens during his early years was sent to both private and public schools, and when opportunity afforded, or necessity required, was reared by his father's side as a tobacconist, of which trade he became master. His general education was completed in the Western University of Pennsylvania, after which careful and thorough preparation for the ministry was made under the leading teachers of Methodism, to whose influence was largely due his connection with the Pittsburg Conference in 1846.
After traveling several circuits, he became pastor in charge of various stations in Ohio and Pennsylvania, serving as Presiding Elder of the Barnesville District, Ohio, during that period of unrest in our Nation's Historythe Civil War-in which he was commissioned Captain of the Barnesville Company, Monongahela Regiment of Unattached Departmental Troops Volunteers.
Subsequently, as pastor, he was stationed successively at Brownsville, Pa., New Brighton, Pa., Main street and Bingham street charges, Pittsburg, and at Mansfield Valley. His last appointments were all in Beaver county, at Georgetown, Homewood, Noblestown, and Shoustown; after which a supernumerary relation, later changed to superannuated, was taken.
Two years after his admission to the conference he was united in marriage with Mary E., daughter of Samuel McKinley, who stood high in the Masonic fraternity, and was also a prominent Methodist.
The wife shared faithfully her husband's itinerant life, and still survives him in her home in Beaver, surrounded by her children,-Margaret A., who resides with her mother; James C., representing the pottery industry of East Liverpool; Anna M., engaged in scientific work in the Pittsburg High School.
The three other children have established their own homes in Beaver: Minnie G., whose union with James Dowdell, a paper manufacturer of Wellsburg, W. Va., resulted in the following issue,-Grace P., Marie E., James Deens, John Irwin, Anna M., and Olive S.;
Charles H. A. conducts his farm on the south side of Beaver county, but occupies a Beaver residence for the educational advantages offered there,-his marriage with Anna M. daughter of John Adams, the pioneer glass manufacturer of Pittsburg, has been blessed by the following children,-Harry Adams (recently deceased), Walter Lompre, Mary Natalie, John Adams, Charles Wilfred, Jean Annette, Alta Carol, and Helen Elizabeth; John U, a pharmacist, became united in marriage with Lydia Ferguson, to whom have been born two children, Louise and Lillian.
The paternal spirit showed itself strikingly in the watchful interest exercised by this father over children and grandchildren alike, and undoubtedly bore fruit in the community of family interests now centered in the Beaver Valley.
It would be a depreciating familiarity toward a man like James L. Deens to attempt to sum up in a few paragraphs his life of service, the responsibilities faithfully met, the hardships cheerfully undergone, or to describe his life as a husband, father, friend, and citizen. Brief mention, however, of a few striking traits may be permitted. He knew men as few are able to know them ; he believed his brethren, and with a loyal devotion he stood by his friends. As a preacher he knew what he wished to say and had unusual ability in making himself understood. Thoroughly fitted for his work, scriptural, evangelical, simple, fearless, though tender of heart, he taught his people righteousness. A despiser of shams, he could strip the borrowed garments from assumed humility or pretentious ignorance. Master alike of pathos and invective, able to see at a glance the strong and the weak points of an issue, capable of clear statement, his arguments had oftentimes a startling suddenness, always a clearness, and kindly wit, which made him in an age of great conference debaters easily the foremost; already some of his speeches belong to the traditions of the conference.
A lifelong student, when years of failing health came to him, he never lost interest in things which are and are to be. Questions of church polity, the civic discussions of the time, the welfare of the church and the work of his brethren were matters of living interest and constant conversation. Only the outward man grew old; mind and heart remained young. When retirement from active ministry became necessary, his nobleness of spirit was strikingly exhibited. Unwilling to be idle, fearful of an aimless existence, he located on his farm near Beaver, Beaver county, Pa. His children and their children always found this place of rest beautiful, as did also his old companions in the ministry, and other acquaintances who shared his hospitality. There he passed from this earth at Eastertide in 1892, and from the altar of home and church, he was borne to the Beaver Cemetery, and tenderly laid to rest in the beautiful Ohio Valley.
The publishers of this work take pleasure in announcing that a portrait of Rev. James L. Deens is presented in connection with the foregoing account of his life and deeds.
John H. PARK
JOHN H. PARK, one of the reliable business men of Rochester, Beaver county, Pa., is superintendent of the Park Fire Clay Company, a prominent firm whose products are shipped to all parts of this country and Canada. He is a son of James I. and Emiline (McDonald) Park, and was born in New Sewickley township, Beaver county, Pa., in 1856.
William Park, the great-grandfather of John H. was born in Cookstown, County Tyrone, Ireland, whence, after attending school, he moved to Philadelphia, Pa., where he learned the trade of a stone mason. Papers in their original state, now in the possession of W. A. Park, show that he was admitted as a member of lodge No. 479, F. & A. M., at Tullaghoge, County Tyrone, December 3, 1873. When he came to America, April 26, 1791, he was given a demit from that order, and also one by the Knights Templar, together with high recommendations as to his character. He landed in Philadelphia, in May, 1791, but located in Wilkinsburg, Allegheny county, Pa., in 1796, where he instituted the first, and for many years the only, Masonic lodge in that region. He followed his trade the rest of his life, and there are many houses standing in that county today which are the result of his work. He died at the age of eighty-eight years and was laid to rest in the Beulah burying grounds. His wife was Mary McGahey, who died at the age of ninety-four years, and they had the following offspring : John, who married Margaret Duff; James, who married Betsey Duff ; David, whose wife was Ann Hamilton; Jane; William, who married Nancy Johnson; Robert, who married Elizabeth Loney; and Thomas, who married Helen Duff.
David Park, the grandfather of the gentleman whose name heads these lines, was born at Wilkinsburg, Pa., and early in life learned the trade of a wheelwright and wagon-maker. In 1845, he removed to Beaver county, purchasing a farm in New Sewickley township, where he followed his trade, and engaged in agricultural pursuits until his death. This property is now owned by his son, Theodore. He died at the age of eighty-six years, and was buried in Oak Grove cemetery, near Freedom. His wife, Ann Hamilton, was born in Warren county, Ohio, in 18o6, and died at the age of seventy-nine. Their children were: James I., the father of the subject hereof; William; George, who married Mary Beal; Elizabeth, the wife of Hiram Phillip; Mary, the wife of Rev. John Brown; David; and Theodore, who married Kate Campbell.
James I. Park was born at Wilkinsburg, Allegheny county, Pa., and learned the carpenter's trade, but early in life removed to Freedom, Beaver county, where he became a contractor and lumber dealer. He was very successful, and is now living in retirement near Freedom, where he owns a fine farm. He was first married to Emiline McDonald, a daughter of William and Rebecca (Magee) McDonald, who was of Scotch-ancestry, and she died leaving four children, as follows : William A., a record of whose life appears else-*here in this Book of Biographies; John H.,the subject proper of this sketch; Annie V., the widow of Milton McCullough ; and George I., who is also identified with the Park Fire Clay Company. Mr. Park formed a second union, in this instance with Mary Dean, a daughter of Samuel Dean, and they had two children: Mabel D. and Nellie D.
John H. Park was reared on the farm and studied in the public schools. He assisted his father in the lumber trade and later entered the field of business on his own account, opening a general store at Park Quarries, which he conducted under the firm name of J. H. Park & Co. He also opened a stone quarry there, and in 1882 established another at New Galilee, from which he furnished fine sand stone for building,-shipping it to Pittsburg and Philadelphia. In 1885, the Park Fire Clay Company was organized at Park Quarries, with J. I. Park, president; W. A. Park, treasurer, and John H. Park, superintendent. They have a capacity of 250,000 brick per day, and three hundred and fifty men are employed. The product is nearly all from Beaver county. The general office is at Rochester, Pennsylvania. They have filled large paving contracts in Pennsylvania and adjoining states, and ship brick to all parts of the United States and Canada. John H., and W. A. Park built a railroad three miles in length, connecting their establishment at Park Quarries with the main line of the Pennsylvania Company at Conway, in 1884, and this they later sold to the Ohio River Junction Railroad Company. Of this the subject of this sketch is now president.
He is a man of great energy, is sagacious and possessed of keen foresight. He has always exerted his greatest efforts in whatsoever he has undertaken, and the fruit of his work is evidenced by the prosperous condition of the plants under his supervision.
Mr. Park was joined in hymeneal bonds with Jennie M. Sproat, a daughter of James Sproat, of Economy township, Beaver county, and they are the parents of three children, namely: Emma, aged nineteen years; William, who is seventeen; and Lizzie, who died at an early age.
DR. James SCROGGS, JR
DR. JAMES SCROGGS, Jr., an eminent physician and surgeon of Beaver, Pa., a recent portrait of whom is shown on the opposite page, has seen twenty-four years of practice in Beaver alone, and
stands at the head of his profession in Western Pennsylvania. Especially is this assertion
true of his position in the field of surgery, to which he devotes especial attention, having
probably done more work in that line than any other physician in the county. Dr. Scroggs,
Jr., was born in Allegheny county, Pa., July 19, 1850, and is of Scotch ancestry. He obtained a good education in the Pittsburg schools, after which he began the study of medicine with his father, who was one of the ablest physicians of his day. The subject of this review then entered the University of Michigan, Ann Arbor, Mich., and, after taking a course of lectures there, he graduated from the Cincinnati College of Medicine and Surgery in 1873. Engaging in the practice of his profession at Fairview, Pa., for two years, he met with a good degree of success. From Fairview, he went to Beaver, Pa., and became a partner with his father. In 1890, he took a trip to Europe, where, after visiting the place where his ancestors came from in Scotland, he attended the Charing Cross Medical College in London, taking a special course in surgery, and visiting the leading hospitals on the Continent. He served eleven years as surgeon of the Beaver County Infirmary, and contributed some valuable articles to the press. He was also one of the first promoters of the Beaver County Hospital at Rochester, Pa., and is one of its charter members.
The Doctor was united in marriage with Annie M. Aber, an accomplished daughter of John Aber, of Industry, Beaver county. This happy union resulted in the birth of four children, namely : A. Emily ; James Joseph, at present a student of Pennsylvania University; Hal E., at present a student at Geneva College; and Fred J. Dr. Scroggs, Jr., has ever taken a deep interest in the educational affairs of his home, having served on the board of education for a period of eleven years. He has always taken a great interest in the progress and development of Beaver, and is one of the directors of the Beaver National Bank.
Dr. Scroggs, Jr., is a son of Dr. James and Emily (Seaton) Scroggs, grandson of James and Elizabeth (Gilbraith) Scroggs, great-grandson of James Scroggs, and great-great-grandson of James Scroggs, of Scotland, who was found when a small child by the side of his dead parents, victims during the "Rebellion of the Covenanters." This child was named Scroggs, which in Scotch means bush. He was thereafter called James Scroggs, grew to manhood and became one of the representatives to the Lord Chief Justice of Scotland. According to history, James Scroggs, the great-grandfather of our subject, immigrated to America about 1760, from near Edinburgh, Scotland, locating near Cumberland, Cumberland county, Pa., where he settled in company with some Scotch Covenanters. He acquired a large tract of land in that vicinity later in life, and was either a minister of the Gospel, or a physician,-it is not definitely known which. He brought eight children with him to America, having two children born to him later in this country. His first wife, who was a Miss Jack before marriage, bore her husband the following children: James, Ebenezer, John, Ellen, Polly, Reynold, Rachel, and Joseph. His second matrimonial alliance was contracted with a Miss Cowden, but the names of their children have not been pre-served. The old homestead in Cumberland is still known as the Scroggs estate, although it is now owned by a Mr. Armstrong.
James Scroggs, grandfather of our subject, was born in the Cumberland Valley, Pennsylvania, and in early life moved to Washington county, Pa., where he came in possession of a large tract of land, near Midway, and, being an ardent lover of the beauties of nature, he devoted his life to agricultural pursuits. He was married to Annie Paxton, who bore him two children : Margaret ; and James Paxton,commonly known as J. Paxton Scroggs, M. D. After the death of his first wife, Mr. Scroggs re-married, choosing for his second bride, Elizabeth Gilbraith. Being determined to have a son who should be called James, the favorite name in the family for many generations, he called the first son of his second marriage by that name alone. The following children were the result of the second union: James, George, Samuel, Elizabeth, Nancy, Joseph, Robert and Ann, and one more who died at birth. James Scroggs, our subject's grandfather, studied medicine but never practiced it.
James Scroggs, father of our subject, was born upon his father's farm in Washington county, Pa., studied medicine under his half-brother, J. Paxton Scroggs, M. D., and engaged in the practice of his chosen profession, at Allegheny City, and at Pittsburg, establishing at the latter place a large and successful practice. In 1875, he decided to locate in Beaver, one of the finest boroughs on the Ohio River. There he built a home in the midst of beautiful scenery, in the hope of enjoying a more quiet life. But his valuable services were soon sought there also, and were in demand among the leading families, who soon discovered his knowledge in medical matters to be far above that of the ordinary physician. Although it was his earnest desire to spend his closing years in retirement he never found time to do so. In his seventy-third year he was stricken with apoplexy, and when able to be consulted he was even then called upon for his valuable judgment. As a citizen he was highly esteemed and as a physician not excelled. He died in 1894, aged seventy-four years. He was joined in marriage with Emily Seaton, a daughter of Catherine Seaton, whose death occurred at Louisville, Ky., at the very advanced age of ninety-seven years. Mrs. Scroggs bore her husband five children, and lived to attain the age of sixty-two years. Her children were: James, subject of this sketch; Katie, wife of Clark Hunter, of Beaver county, Pa.; Joseph, a prominent physician of Lincoln, Neb.; Mary, wife of John Scott of Beaver; and Elizabeth, who also resides in Beaver.
Like his fore-fathers in this as well as in many other respects, our subject is a lover of nature, in all its beautiful and varied forms. Some years ago, he purchased the M. Graves farm, which is located on an elevation of splendid height, overlooking the beautiful Ohio Valley, with its picturesque villages and boroughs, with ten minutes drive of this farm. Upon this splendid and desirable location, Dr. Scroggs built a handsome brick cottage, tenement houses, barns, etc., and set out thousands of fruit trees of all kinds both small and large. The broad, spacious lawns, surrounding the cottage, contain many beautiful shade trees and fine ornamental shrubbery. Here the Doctor has one of the finest summer resorts in Beaver county, where he spends many happy hours and entertains his friends, although his profession does not allow him half the time he desires to enjoy the beauty and pleasures of such a home, where he hopes to spend his closing years in retirement.
James A. IRONS
JAMES A. IRONS, who for many years was a prominent contractor, stands foremost among the progressive citizens of Monaca, Beaver county, Pennsylvania. He is a man of public spirit, and when he deems an improvement necessary for the future welfare of the borough, he puts forth a strenuous effort for its accomplishment. His aggressiveness in public affairs has been in evidence for years, and it may safely be said without fear of contradiction, that no one man has done as much for the community; for this he is held in the highest esteem.
Mr. Irons comes of Irish ancestry, and is descended from one of three brothers, Solomon, Samuel and George, who came to this country from County Derry, Ireland. They were sons of a very wealthy man who held ninety-nine year leases on considerable property. Solomon Irons, the grandfather of the subject hereof settled in Washington county, Pa., in 1771, and moved to Beaver county about the year 1800, taking up several hundred acres of wild land, which was almost virgin forest, and traversed by few roads. He made a clearing and built a log house and barn,-becoming a very successful farmer. Religiously, he was a member of the United Presbyterian church. He died at the age of seventy-six years. His marriage with Rachel Dickson, a lady of Scottish birth, was blessed with eleven children : James; George; John; William; Andrew; Samuel; Joseph; Rachel (Maloney) ; Mary (Douds) ; Rosanna (Nevin), and Elizabeth.
John Irons, the father of James A., was born in Hopewell township, Beaver county, in 1811, on the old homestead, and received his intellectual training in what schools the community afforded. He learned the trade of a tanner under Mr. Scott, one of the first "squires" appointed in the county, and subsequently went into the tanning business for himself. He was very successful, but preferred farming, and as a result, purchased two hundred acres of partially improved farm land in 1840. He moved upon the place in 1845, dealt considerably in horses, raised wheat, and carried on general farming,-being fairly successful. He was a shrewd business man. He was united in marriage with Ann Moore, a native of Pittsburg, Pa., and a daughter of Joseph Moore. They became the parents of seven children, as follows: Joseph, who is now a real estate agent, and justice of the peace, in Greenfield, O.; James A., the gentleman whose name heads these lines; Elizabeth A. (Laird) ; Rachel J. (Peoples) ; Rosanna (Minor) ; John D., a farmer in Pittsburg, Kas.; and Amanda (Wallace). Religiously, he was a member, and for many years an elder, of the United Presbyterian church. He was a Whig, in political affiliations. He died of typhoid fever at the age of forty-two years, and, eight days afterwards, his wife died of the same disease.
James A. Irons was born in Hopewell township, and attended the public schools until he was thirteen years of age, when he became apprenticed to the blacksmith's trade, tinder George Denny and Mr. Couch. He then followed the trade at intervals for aperiod of eight or ten years, and in 1856 he entered Beaver College, which he attended for two years. From 1857 to 1862, he worked on the river, and in the latter year, on the 28th of April, he enlisted as a blacksmith and assistant engineer in the navy, on the steam ram Lioness. He participated in the fight which resulted in the destruction of the rebel fleet at Vicksburg, and has the distinction of being the first Union man to set his foot in Memphis at the time of its capture. He has many interesting relics of the war,-one of them being an old boarding pike in excellent condition, which he intends presenting to the Carnegie museum. After his discharge, he took lip contracting, in 1867, and during the oil excitement, went to Oil City and engaged in that business. Subsequently he became interested in gas lands, and leased three hundred acres in Moon and Hopewell townships. Upon drilling for gas he made one of the two best strikes in the county, and its roaring could be heard seven miles away. The company disposed of this property to the Bridge-water Gas Company, of which he was secretary and treasurer, and it yielded him hand-some returns.
Mr. Irons, since his residence at Monaca, has ever exerted a wholesome influence in public affairs, and has fought with his utmost vigor for many public improvements. When a system of water works for the town was proposed, its supporters succumbed to determined opposition, one by one, until the subject hereof alone stood as its champion. Realizing the great benefit it would be to the citizens, he would not yield, but fought to the bitter end, and had the satisfaction of seeing it established. Although for a time he was harshly denounced by the opposition, he is now accorded the respect of his gratified fellow citizens. Similar were the conditions in his fight for grading and paving, and for the telephone line. He purchased the line, and having it in good condition, disposed of it to the telephone company. His energy in furthering these enterprises entitles him to recognition as one of the progressive men of Beaver county. He is a Republican and has served as burgess for three terms, and on last May received his fifth commission as justice of the peace. He is a member of the G. A. R.
James A. Irons was united in marriage with Margaret Quinn Srodes, a daughter of John M. Srodes, one of the early river pioneers, and for many years a pilot and captain on the Ohio River. They became the parents of four children, as follows : John E., deceased, who was a very successful business man; James C., a glass manufacturer; Anna, deceased ; and B. C., chief of police of Monaca.
HON. Henry HICE
HON. HENRY HICE, who enjoys a wide reputation as a member of the legal profession, has been engaged in practice for almost a half century, and for a period of eleven years was judge of the Thirty-sixth Judicial District of Pennsylvania. He was born in Independence township, Beaver county, Pa., January 24, 1834, and is a son of William and Hannah (Eachel)
Hice, and grandson of Henry and Catherine Hice. Mr. Hice was the second child born to his parents, and received his scholastic training in the public schools of his native county, taking a finishing course at Beaver Academy. Choosing as his life-work the profession of law, he became a law student under the preceptorship of Richard P. Roberts, of Beaver, Pa. Mr. Roberts was a man of prominence in that section, and during the Civil -War became colonel of the 140th Reg., Pa. Vol. Inf., meeting a brave but unfortunate death at the terrible battle of Gettysburg, where so many gallant defenders of the Union fell. Under his preceptorship, young Hice made rapid progress, and was admitted to the Beaver county bar in 1859. He was immediately taken in as a partner with Mr. Roberts, in the practice of his profession, and remained as such until the death of the latter. In 1867, Frank Wilson became associated with Mr. Hice, and continued to be his law partner until 1874, when the subject of this sketch was appointed judge of the Thirty-sixth Judicial District of Pennsylvania, which office was filled by him in a most acceptable manner, until 1885. His opinions were delivered firmly and courageously, and with full intent to treat each case fairly and impartially. He was courteous alike to the youngest attorney and to the oldest member of the bar. At the expiration of his term, Judge Hice resumed his long neglected practice, and was joined, in 1894, by his son, Agnew Hice,-the firm name becoming Hice & Hice.
Judge Hice first married Ruth Ann Ralston, a daughter of Joseph and Mary Ralston, of Hanover township, Beaver county, where Mr. Ralston was a prominent agriculturist. Their happy union resulted in the birth of two sons and two daughters, viz.: Mary, who is unmarried; Richard, who is superintendent of the Fallston Fire Clay Company, and who married May Kells; Agnew; and Laura. Agnew studied law with his father, with whom he is now associated as partner, having been admitted to the bar in 1894. He is fast assuming the heavier duties of the firm, thus enabling his father to enjoy more leisure and the rest so richly deserved. Judge Hice was deprived of his much beloved companion in 1872, when she was called to the life beyond, having attained the age of thirty-six years only. Judge Hice contracted a second matrimonial alliance,-in this instance with Mrs. Sarah H. Minis, a daughter of ex-Chief Justice Daniel Agnew.
Henry Hice, the grandfather of the subject hereof, is believed to have removed from New Jersey to Indiana county, Pa., whence after purchasing a tract of land in the forests of the Ligonier valley, he returned to New Jersey after his family, who accompanied him to his new home, where they lived the simple, unpretending lives of sturdy pioneers,-enduring with others the many hardships and privations incident to such a life. Mr. Hice engaged himself in felling the forest trees and improving the land as best he could with the few facilities of a newly settled country. Here on this farm Mr. Hice's grandparents spent their last years and reared their family, consisting of three sons and one daughter, whose names are as follows: John; George; Catherine; and William.
William Hice, father of the subject hereof, was born on the old homestead in Indiana county, Pa., in 1793. As he grew to manhood, he assisted his father in clearing the land, and in 1819 or 1820, he removed to the vicinity of Clinton, Allegheny county, Pa. After purchasing a farm but little improved, he extended the improvements by clearing more land, and building a set of buildings, which have since been replaced by new ones. The farm, then occupied by the elder Mr. Hice, is now owned by John Miller, and was sold by William Hice, in 1840. He then bought a better farm at Frankfort Springs, which became his permanent home during life. Upon this farm, known as the J. Stephenson farm, he built a very substantial dwelling, which is still standing; but the barn, then built, has long since been destroyed by fire. Starting out with nothing except a determined will power and a strong constitution, by persistent and untiring efforts, together with successful management, he amassed considerable property. Although he was a shrewd business man, he was kind of heart, and a liberal neighbor, never turning a deaf ear to an appeal for charity. Thus he endeared himself to many, and his loss was deeply mourned. His death occurred in 1868, at the age of seventy-three years. His life companion was Hannah Eachel, a daughter of Andrew Eachel, and she died when about fifty years old. Their children numbered seven, five daughters and two sons, as follows : Mary Ann, deceased; Catherine, also deceased; Eliza, still residing at Beaver, and unmarried; Sarah, wife of Joseph Brown, of Iowa; Hannah, of Beaver, also single; William,, a retired farmer residing in Kansas City, Mo.; and Henry, the subject of this brief sketch.
Judge Hice purchased for his home the R. P. Roberts homestead, on the corner of Market and North Park streets. Removing the old house, in 1876, he built upon the same attractive and well selected spot a handsome, modern brick house and office. Both are appropriately and handsomely furnished. He has taken an active part in the progress of his home borough and county. Aside from attending to his practice, he has been associated with manufacturing, banking, and other enterprises. Judge Hice worships with the Presbyterians, and liberally supports that denomination. His portrait is shown on preceding page.
DR. George A. CRISTLER
DR. GEORGE A. CRISTLER, who through years of careful training in the intricacies of medical science, has attained a degree of skill which but few physicians of the county possess, commands an extensive practice in the vicinity of Hookstown. He is a native of Beaver, county, and is a scion of one of its oldest and most highly respected families, having been born at Shippingport, Green township, Beaver county, Pa., October 9, 1852.
The early history of the Cristler family is one of deep interest, but our limited space will not permit us to give the many details. Michael Cristler, the great-grandfather of the subject of these lines, was born in Germany, and at an early day settled in America, in the western section of Pennsylvania, which was at the time a howling wilderness, inhabited only by Indians and infested by wild beasts. What courage must have coursed in the veins of these pioneers, who came from a prosperous but too thickly settled country, and endured the many hardships and trials that fell to their lot while endeavoring to convert the forest land into tillable farms ! Courage, perseverance, an indomitable will, were characteristic of every man of that day, else they would have succumbed to hunger or the hostile natives. At the time this sturdy old ancestor settled in that section, the Indians were very troublesome, and he was employed as a government spy. Every two weeks he would make the trip from Brownsville, Pa., to Wheeling, West Virginia, on foot, a journey attended by the greatest danger, not only from the Indians, but also from wild animals. Many interesting stories have been handed down to the present generation of the family, concerning his adventures and his many miraculous escapes. He was a very prominent man, and bought a tract of land on which the village of Shippingport is now located. Here he toiled, and, before his death, the most of his four hundred acres was cleared, and under a high state of cultivation. He was married, and among his children was one, Samuel, the grandfather of the subject hereof.
Samuel Cristler spent his youthful days upon his father's farm, but soon after reaching maturity, he purchased a farm of three hundred and forty acres, which is now owned by John and Jacob Green, and John Calhoun. His occupation was that of a farmer, and he followed it with unqualified success throughout his life. When the War of 1812 broke out he was among the first to volunteer his services, but they were only required for a term of three months, when he received an honorable discharge. He was united in marriage with Catherine Baker, and they had a family of ten children, as follows: Michael; Susan; Mary; Henry; Martha; Jemima; Anthony W.; Elizabeth; Philip; and another who died in infancy. They are all now de-ceased. Samuel Cristler was a Democrat in his political affiliations.
Anthony W. Cristler, the father of Dr. George A., was born on his father's farm in 1817, and early in life learned the trade of a mason, at which he became one of the finest workmen in that section. He remained on the farm until 1867, when he moved to Shippingport, and there followed his trade during his active life,-dying January 12, 1884. He married Elizabeth Hayward, a daughter of Robert Hayward, of the state of New York, and today the family is one of influence and prominence. Her parents moved to Beaver county, Pa., in 1846, settling at Safe Harbor, opposite Rochester. Mr. Hayward died in the winter of 1895, and his wife is still living, enjoying life at the age of eighty-three years, at the home of a son, at Shippingport. Her maiden name was Hill. Mr. and Mrs. Cristler reared nine children, as follows : George A., the subject of this personal history; Sarah A., who died at the age of eight years; Lucinda Jane, the wife of W. B. Appleton, who lives at Industry, Beaver county, Pa.; Amanda, who resides at the home of the subject of these lines; William B., who died in infancy; Melissa; Elmer E., who lives at Shippingport; Ella, who died in infancy; and Willard, who also lives at Shippingport. Mrs. Cristler died on July 26, 1898. They were both faithful members of the Presbyterian church. Mr. Cristler was an active worker in the ranks of the Republican party, but never held office.
Dr. George A. Cristler was reared on the old homestead and attended the public schools, after which he learned the trade of a mason under his father. He was a journeyman before he was twenty-one years old, and followed the trade for fourteen years. During this time he taught school for five winters, and followed his trade in the summer. He then decided to study for the medical profession, and began reading with Dr. Davis, of Shippingport. In the fall of 1887, he entered the Pittsburg Medical College, now called the Western University of Pennsylvania, and was graduated in the spring of 1889,-immediately thereafter locating at Murdocksville. After remaining there for a period of three months, he began practice at Shippingport, where he successfully continued until 1895. He removed to Darlington, Beaver county, where he spent eighteen months, and then located at Hookstown, where, in a remarkably brief space of time, he has worked up a large and paying patronage. He has always made his home in Beaver county, and is widely known throughout its bounds,-being held in the highest esteem everywhere. He is also a member of the Beaver County Medical Society.
In January, 1891, Dr. Cristler formed a marital union with Lizzie Laughlin, a daughter of William Laughlin, and they had one child, Martha, born January 12, 1894. Mrs. Cristler was called to her final rest on August 16, 1896, and thus, when but little over two years of age, her child was deprived of a mother's love and careful training. Martha is an interesting little girl, and is receiving a Christian training under the guidance of loving eyes. The Doctor is a Presbyterian in religious belief, and has been an elder in the church for twelve years. He is a member of Smith's Ferry lodge, No. 485, F. & A. M.
BEN COOK, stock raiser and general farmer, of Darlington township, Beaver county, Pa., has traveled a good deal throughout the country. On account of ill health he was obliged to give up school, but received a fair degree of instruction in the public schools of Beaver county. He subsequently learned farming. He wanted to see something of the world, and while still a young man went west. He traveled throughall the western states and was interested in various occupations. He remained in the West until 1889, and then returned to Beaver county, where he purchased his present farm. This farm contains one hundred and fourteen acres, and is almost entirely cleared. A fine brick house is standing upon it and it is considered one of the best country homes in the district. A large, three-story bank barn, built by the subject hereof, also ornaments the place and adds to the comfort of the stock, which is Mr. Cook's "hobby." The gentle-man of whom this narrative treats led to the altar Julia Morton, a favorite daughter of Dr. Woodson Morton. She was born, reared and educated in Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Cook have four children, namely: May, Howard, Carrie and George. All are regular attendants at the Presbyterian church.
Mr. Cook is a hard worker in the cause of the Republican party, but never accepted office. He was born in Darlington, Pa., March 21, 1855, is a son of A. J. and Margaret (Robinson) Cook, and grandson of Benjamin R. and Susannah (Johnston) Cook. Benjamin R. Cook was a native of Chambersburg, Pa., and went to Western Pennsylvania in the latter part of the eighteenth century. He was a carpenter by trade and followed that occupation for many years. Later he engaged in mercantile pursuits in Darlington. He was one of the first three merchants of that place. The others were Andrew Leach and David Gilliland. After some years he sold his store and bought a farm east of the town. A few years further on he moved one mile west of the present home of the subject hereof. There he purchased eighty acres of partly cleared land. An old cabin then on the land still exists. Here upon this farm Benjamin R. Cook remained until 1845. He then went south in quest of better health, but never found it, and died there April 6, 1845. He wedded Susannah Johnston, a native of Beaver county. She was a daughter of Andrew Johnston, a pioneer of prominence in this section of Pennsylvania. Six children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Cook, viz: Mary ; A. J., father of N. Ben; John; James; Martha A. (McClure); and Emeline. Mary, the eldest of these, was a college graduate and followed the profession of teaching for a number of years. She became one of the best educators in this country, and gained for herself a national reputation. Her sister Martha was also a successful teacher before her marriage.
A. J. Cook was born at Darlington, Pa., October 1, 1821. After attending district school he finished his education at Darlington Academy. He then learned farming. Subsequently he purchased a half interest in a threshing machine. The other half was owned by John Davis. At a later period A. J. Cook sold his interest, and for a brief period resumed farming. He afterward bought a hotel in Darlington and followed the hotel business for seventeen years. On relinquishing this, he became the first permanent station agent of the Fort Wayne R. R. at New Galilee. He resigned that position, however, and opened another hotel, which he sold after awhile, and purchased an eighty-five acrefarm, where his son, L. J., now lives. Mr. Cook continued to reside upon this farm for nine years, when he was deprived of his beloved wife by death. Since then he has rented his farm, and makes his home with the subject hereof. His wife was Margaret Robinson, a daughter of Andrew Robinson, of New Castle, Pa., where Margaret was born. This happy union was blessed with eight children: Andrew J.; Lucinda; William ; L. J. ; N. Ben, to whom these lines pertain; Amelia; Carolina; and Lizzie. The first two died in infancy. William Cook received his education at Darlington Academy, and taught school for some time afterward. He then studied medicine under Dr. Sherlock, and later under Dr. Clendenning, of Cincinnati. He practiced medicine at Freeport, Pa., but was cut off by death at the early age of thirty-five years. L. J. Cook is a farmer of prominence, and is also an agent for farm machinery. Caroline died aged thirteen, and Lizzie at the tender age of two years.
JEFFERSON WILSON, an extensive fruit grower and prominent farmer of Chippewa township, Beaver county, Pa., is a son of James and Barbara (Showalter) Wilson, and was born in North Sewickley township, Beaver county, in the year 1839.
James Wilson, the father of Jefferson, removed to Beaver county when a very young man and was one of the earliest settlers. He located in North Sewickley township and engaged in farming,-soon after, buying a tract of one hundred acres of wild land. He made a clearing, erected a log house and barn, and resided there with his family for a number of years. He subsequently built a handsome brick house, in which he spent the rest of his active days. He followed general farming and was successful beyond the average. He was a Republican in politics, and held the office of school director, for a time. Religiously, he was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church. His marriage was blessed by the birth of eleven children.
Jefferson Wilson received a limited education in the district school, but made the utmost of his opportunities and is now considered an intelligent and well read man. Upon leaving school he learned the trade of a plasterer, and then moved to Nebraska where he engaged in that line of work. He returned to Beaver county, and still later went to Allegheny county, following his trade until 1868. Many of the oldest houses in Beaver Falls were plastered by him, as he was the leading plasterer there at that period. In 1868 he bought the Thomas farm of one hundred and six acres of partly cleared land, and as there were no buildings standing, except a barn, he erected a house and the necessary out buildings. There was also a very small orchard upon the place, and this he enlarged, until he now has what is undoubtedly the equal of any fruit farm in the county. He has always been interested in that line of work, and has made a study of it, being a well informed man in matters pertaining to fruit growing. He has thirty acres of fruit trees, mainly apples,pears, peaches, plums, and cherries, and in addition to these he has a large tract set out in berries of various kinds,-a branch of the business which he has found very profitable. Besides retailing, he ships a portion of his produce to Pittsburg markets. He also raises a little stock, grain and potatoes. During his spare time he has invented and patented a number of useful and valuable articles. Mr. Wilson is a man of pleasing characteristics, and has a large circle of friends through-out this section of the country.
Jefferson Wilson was united in marriage with Elizabeth Couch, daughter of John and Mary A. (Hickman) Couch. Mrs. Wilson was born and educated in Lawrence county, Pa., and they have eight children, a record of whom follows:. Nanna J., a graduate of Bucknell University, was a missionary to Upper Burmah and Japan, for several years. She returned to America and was married to Dr. Leroy Stephens, secretary of the Pennsylvania Baptist Educational Society. Charles A. attended Butler University, read law, and is a graduate of the University of Michigan. He practiced law a short time, and then entered Crozier Theological Seminary, where he was prepared for the ministry, and has been pastor of churches in the Pittsburg and French Creek associations. Thomas J. attended Geneva College, read law, and is a graduate of the University of Michigan. He is now a prominent lawyer in Pittsburg. Mamie, who attended Geneva College, in pursuance of the study of music, is now at home with her parents. Frank G. attended school at Mount Hermon, Mass., and is now a farmer in Beaver county. Della A. attended Hall Institute, and was married to Rev. T. J. Ed-wards, a prominent Baptist minister. Harry studied art and is now engaged in that work. Nora, after attending Mount Pleasant College, graduated in Byron King's School of Oratory, and then taught dramatic art. She was subsequently married to G. A. Johnson, a prominent attorney of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania.
In addition to his farm land, our subject owns property in Beaver Falls, in the form of building lots and houses. Politically, he is an independent Republican. In religious be-lief, he is a faithful member of the Baptist church.
Samuel M. HERVEY
SAMUEL M. HERVEY, burgess and justice of the peace in Rochester, Beaver county, Pa., is one of the leading business men of that borough, and is highly esteemed by all of his fellow-townsmen. He is very well known throughout the county, and comes from an excellent family. He was born January 4, 1856, in Brownsville, Fayette county, Pa., and is a son of the late Rev. D. W. C. Hervey, and a grandson of James Hervey, who was of Scotch-Irish de-scent. James Hervey was a farmer in Fayette county, but was a weaver by trade, and also conducted a cotton and woolen mill; after the factory burned he retired.
Rev. D. W. C. Hervey, the father of Samuel M., became in early life a Baptist minister,and occupied the pulpit in Freeport, Kittanning and New Castle; he also served six years in the Providence church in Beaver county, and in Jefferson county, Pa. He then went to Illinois and Kansas, but in a few years retired to Mount Gilead, Ohio, where he lived until his death, which occurred at the home of his son at New Castle, at the age of sixty-seven. He married Kate McCune, who died in Illinois at the age of sixty. Their children were as follows : John P., principal of the fifth ward school of New Castle; Hazen J., a printer in Illinois; Herbert B., deceased; Ella B., who married S. B. Skinner, of Indiana; Kate, who married Mr. McCann, of Illinois; and Samuel M., the subject of this sketch.
Samuel M. Hervey attended the North Sewickley Academy, and then began teaching school. For several years he taught at Hillsville, Lawrence county, Pa., where he met and married Annie E. Davis, a daughter of William Davis; they are the parents of three children, namely: Walter D.; Nellie; and Kate. Subsequently Mr. Hervey taught school in New Castle, and then engaged in painting. In 1886 he moved to Rochester, continued teaching, and carried on painting by contract. He also taught night school in Rochester until 1893. In 1894 he formed a partnership with J. T. Conlin in the insurance business. They are today the most extensive insurance agents in the county, and represent the Royal, Lancaster, American, Fire of Philadelphia, Providence, Caledonia, Northwestern, Milwaukee, Milwaukee Mechanics, Netherlands, Springfield, Fire &
Marine, and other insurance companies. In February, 1893, Mr. Hervey was elected justice of the peace, and has been re-elected; he was appointed burgess by the court in March, 1898. In politics he is a stanch Republican. He has served as trustee and auditor of the Baptist church for the past three years, and is secretary of the Sunday School. He is a member of the I. O. O. F., Royal Arcanum, and B. P. O. E. In 1891 he built a fine residence on New York street, which reflects much credit on the taste; of its owner. His office is also on New York street.
William Henry ANDERTON
WILLIAM HENRY ANDERTON, secretary, treasurer and general business manager of the Anderton Brewing Company of Beaver Falls, Pa., whose portrait we present on the preceding page, received his primary education in the Beaver Falls schools,-taking a collegiate course at the Iron City Business College of Pittsburg, Pennsylvania. In 1883, he entered the employ of the Hartman Steel Co., of Beaver Falls, in the capacity of clerk, remaining in their employ until 1889. He was a prime mover in, the organization of the Union Drawn Steel Co., and was secretary and treasurer of that company, until December, 1890. At that date, Mr. Anderton became secretary,
treasurer and general business manager of the Anderton Brewing Co., which position he still
holds. He assisted in organizing the People's Water Company in 1897, and is its vice
president. He is a believer in the principles of Democracy, and an active worker for that party. Socially, he is a member of the Ma-sonic fraternity, being included among the members of Beaver Valley Lodge, No. 478; he is also treasurer of the B. P. O. E. lodge, No. 348.
William Henry Anderton is one of a family of five children. He was born October 23, 1866, is a son of James and Betty (Green-wood) Anderton, and grandson of James and Sarah (Morris) Anderton. His grandparents came to America from England in 1856, accompanied by their son James, and settled at Fallston, Beaver county, Pa., where their two sons, John and Joseph, had located a few months previously. There father and sons worked in the mines for some years. John died at Fallston, in February, 1899, but Joseph now resides in Rochester, Pa. The be-loved father departed this life in May, 1879, at the age of seventy-nine years, and was preceded to the grave by his faithful wife and companion, who died in March, 1878, in her eighty-fifth year.
James Anderton, the father of William Henry, was born in Streetbridge, Royston, Lancastershire, England, June 26, 1830. He worked for eighteen years in the mines in his native place, beginning at the early age of eight years. In his youth he had no educational advantages whatever,-his only mental training being a night school organized by himself and his fellow miners, known as the "Youth's Seminary." There the boys taught each other, being too poor to afford an experienced teacher. The school organized by these lads has grown into a famous institution of learning, and is now known as the Literary Institute of Oldham, England.
James Anderton accompanied his parents to America when twenty-six years of age, worked in the mines at Fallston, until 1866, and then removed to New Brighton, Pennsylvania. He continued to follow this occupation at the latter place until March, 1868, when he removed to Beaver Falls, purchased his present residence, and engaged in the hotel business. The following year (1869), he went into the brewing business in a small frame building, situated quite near the elegant structure in which he at present officiates. The first brewing was made November 30, of the same year, and consisted of only nine barrels. In 1875, Mr. Anderton built the old part of the present structure, and with a much increased capacity, he continued to brew ale and porter until 1895, when he built a large brick addition, with all the modern improvements, and began brewing beer. The Anderton Brewery is now one of the most complete up-to-date breweries in Pennsylvania, and has a capacity of 30,000 barrels per year. There are many larger breweries in the Keystone State, but none more complete.
While, still in his native land, James Anderton was united in marriage with Betty Green-wood, a daughter of Joseph and Mary Greenwood. This event took place in 1852, and their union is blessed with five children, viz.: Jonathan ; Mary G.; William H. ; William H., second ; and Sarah A. Jonathan was born June 2,2, 1853; he is vice president of the Anderton
Brewing Company. He wedded Margaret Hart, a daughter of Hilton and Ann Hart, and their home is made happy by the presence of four sons: James, Hilton, Jonathan, Jr., and William H. Mary G. was born February 1, 1858. She became the wife of C. W. Rohrkaste, who is now superintendent of the Anderton Brewery. They have three children: James A.; Mary A.; and Florence E. William H., the third child, died at the tender age of five years, and the same name was given to the next child. William H., the fourth child, is the subject of this brief sketch. Sarah A., the fifth child, was born October 14, 1869, and died in early childhood, aged three years.
James Anderton is a fine illustration of a self-made man, which in a great measure is due to his progressiveness, reliability and integrity. He ranks among the most esteemed citizens of Beaver Falls, and takes an active interest in fraternal organizations, being a member of Lone Rock Lodge, K. of P.; Valley Echo Lodge, I. O. O. F.; Mechanics Lodge, A. O. U. W.; and Beaver Valley Lodge, F. & A. M., of which he has been treasurer for the past nineteen years. He was one of the organizers and original stockholders of the Union Drawn Steel Co., and is one of the stockholders of the People's Water Co., of Beaver Falls. In his religious convictions, the elder Mr. Anderton is an Episcopalian, of which denomination he and his family are members. Politically, he is a stanch Democrat, but could never be persuaded to seek or accept public office.
William Henry Anderton chose for his wife Emma J. Bailey, a daughter of James and Emma Bailey. In his business ventures he has met with success and, like his father, he is known to be an upright, honorable man. His home bears evidence of comfort in all its surroundings, and he always lends his aid and influence to the support of measures which he believes will be conducive to the general good.
Ethan Hazen THOMAS
ETHAN HAZEN THOMAS, chief burgess of New Brighton, Pa., is also an insurance agent of that place, and deals largely in real estate. New Brighton is one of the best business towns in Beaver county, Pa., situated as it is in a fine location, and containing many beautiful homes, streets, walks, and shade trees. The mammoth manufacturing industries operated
within its limit, are among the best in this section of Pennsylvania. New Brighton is
located upon lands known as tracts No. 91 and 95, and was laid out in lots in 1814. About
the same time, a bridge was built connecting it with Beaver Falls, and was rebuilt in 1833
or 1834. In 1832, a canal was built around the falls in order to market the products of
the first manufacturing concern located there, -that was the' Townsend Flouring Mills,
which were built in 1837, destroyed by fire about 1846 and replaced by woolen mills.
New Brighton is situated on the banks of the Beaver River, which gives abundant water
supply for various manufacturing concerns, and is only a few miles from the Ohio River. It contains two railroads,-direct lines east and west; they are the P., F. W. & C. R. R., and the E. & P. R. R. In, addition to this, the place is supplied with a trolley line through the main streets, and broad walks, finely shaded; it has many beautiful residences, surrounded by spacious and well-kept lawns.
In 1838, New Brighton was made a borough, and now has a population of 9,000. It contains fine stores, public halls, local banks, eight churches, splendid schools, a young men's library, building and loan associations, a daily paper, and is well supplied with electric lights and natural gas for illuminating and manufacturing purposes; the water supply is inexhaustible. It is no small honor to the subject of this sketch to be at the head of such a prosperous and flourishing borough. Mr. Thomas was elected chief burgess of this enterprising town on the Republican ticket in 1897, and fills the seat of honor in a very creditable manner. He was born in North Sewickley township, Beaver county, Pa., February 29, 1856. He is a son of John Thomas, and grandson of Ethan Thomas. Our subject was educated in the public schools and in Burns' Seminary, after which he embarked in the drug business, purchasing the store of Kennedy & Patton. He continued in that line for five years, selling out his business to H. L. Schwieppe ; he then embarked in the feed and grain business, and conducted that for several years, after which he entered his present real estate and insurance business. In 1888 he added an insurance department to his business, representing the following companies: Home, of New York ; New York Underwriters ;National, of Hartford ; Agricultural, of Watertown, N. Y.; Northwestern, of Milwaukee; and Lloyd's Plate Glass Ins. Co., of New York. Mr. Thomas handles as much, if not more, real estate than any other man in New Brighton, and has established a large patronage by his upright dealings. He resides at the corner of Sixth avenue and Eleventh street, and has an office adjoining, at No. 602 Eleventh street.
Ella Kilpatrick, an attractive daughter of Daniel and Margaret Kilpatrick, of New Brighton, became the wife of Mr. Thomas, and has borne him five children, namely: Edith, a student; Edna, who died in infancy; Clara Emma, who also died young; Frank; Carl, who is ten years old; and an infant daughter.
Mr. Thomas is a consistent member of the Immanuel Baptist church, and has served as clerk, trustee and treasurer, while his worthy wife worships with the Methodist Protestant church. Mr. Thomas served several years as a member of the borough council, and also as notary public, and is known as one of the most enterprising citizens of New Brighton.
Ethan Thomas, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was born in the state of Maryland. He was united in marriage with Elizabeth Eads, a native of Virginia. They went to Beaver county, Pa., among the earliest settlers,-following agricultural pursuits. They settled first in Patterson township, but later removed to Chippewa township, where
their son William now resides. Ethan Thomas cleared this farm, which was, at the time of its purchase, only a wilderness. He also placed many improvements upon the place, such as dwellings, barns, etc., and was a very successful farmer for his day. Mr. and Mrs. Thomas reared a family of eight children, six sons and two daughters. Their names are: Isaiah; John ; James; David ; William; Daniel; Mary, wife of Daniel Daniels; and Elizabeth, wife of Mr. Brittain. The beloved father and mother now rest in the churchyard at Darlington, and William is now the only living member of their family.
William Thomas, uncle of our subject, now resides upon the homestead farm, and is known as a successful man, respected by all. In his early life, he was a merchant at Beaver, for three years. He was in business later at New Brighton, for three years, and then retired to the homestead farm, which he has since cultivated. He has served as county auditor one term, and as justice of the peace for several years. He was joined in matrimony with Mary A. Young, a daughter of Jacob and Susan Young, of Columbus, Ohio.
John Thomas, father of our subject, was born at the homestead in Chippewa township, Beaver county, Pennsylvania. He was a farmer by occupation and settled in Franklin township for a while, but removed later to North Sewickley township, where his death took place in 1864, in his fifty-sixth year. His life partner and cheerful helpmeet was, before marriage, Miss Margaret Hazen, a daughter of Samuel Hazen. She survived her husband until 1889, when she, too, crossed the dark river, at the age of seventy-one years. Nine children blessed their union, viz.: James, who served in the Civil War as a member of Company H, 101st Ohio Vol., from 1861 to 1863, when he was discharged for disability, and who died January 28, 1869; Pamelia, who is the widow of Dr. James E. Jackson, and still resides in New Brighton; Clara, who died, single, in 1871; Elzena, who married J. M. Hazen, and also died in 1871 ; Elizabeth, Jane, and Samuel, who all died young; Ethan H., the subject of this sketch; and Maggie E., wife of John W. Withrow.
John Thomas was a Whig, and later, a Republican. He served as school director and in minor offices in the township. He was a deacon of the Baptist church, of which denomination both he and Mrs. Thomas were devout members.
Robert Doyne Burnside DAWSON, M.D.
ROBERT DOYNE BURNSIDE DAWSON, M. D., a well-known and popular physician of Beaver county, Pa., a portrait of whom accompanies this sketch, is a descendant of one of Beaver county's oldest families. His great-great-grandfather, Benoni Dawson, was a native of Montgomery county, Maryland, but the date of his birth is not known. He was a descendant 0f an old English family, who were given a large grant of land in Maryland, by King George; in recognition of this favor, the Dawsons were loyal to the mother country. They firmly believed it to be to the best interest of the community to maintain allegiance to the British empire. During the Revolutionary War they were Tories, and owing to their influence and the respect they commanded in their neighborhood, they proved themselves valuable allies of the English.
After his marriage with Rebecca Mackall, the daughter of a prominent family of Maryland, Benoni with his wife moved from Montgomery county, Md., to Beaver county, Pa., and took up a farm where the village of Georgetown is now located. His son, R. D. Dawson, laid out the village of Georgetown in town lots, which he disposed of. Benoni lived upon his farm until his death in 1806, having located upon it about the year 1784. He and his wife were the parents of the following children : Thomas; Nicholas; Benoni; Mackall ; John Lowe; Robert D., who died in 1801, at the age of twenty-one years; George; James; Elizabeth, the wife of Charles Blackamore; Nancy, the wife of John Beaver; Mary, wife of James Blackamore; and Rebecbecca, wife of William White. When Dr. Dawson's great-great-grandfather first came to Beaver county, there were few white settlers in that vicinity and no roads had yet been built. Indians and big game were alike plentiful. Mr. Dawson became an extensive land-owner, and established a comfortable home there. His third son also bore the name Benoni, a favorite name in the family for many generations. He was the next in line of ancestry and was the great-grandfather of the subject of this sketch.
Benoni Dawson, Jr., assisted his father on the new place for some time, and then began to look around for a location for himself. He made a trip across the river, and is supposed to have been the first white man who ever made the journey with the idea of settling there. He selected a place, but a Mr McLaughlin, also, had the same locality in view, and the latter hurriedly built a log cabin, and secured "squatters' rights" to it. Benoni, Jr., was then obliged to withdraw and seek a new location. He selected four hundred acres near by, where Ohioville now stands. His marriage with Catherine McKennon resulted in the birth of the following eight children: Robert Doyne; Benjamin; James, a physician of prominence; Daniel; Elizabeth, who remained single as did Sarah, the next one; Ruth (Evans); and Mary Ann (Johnston). All the boys, except James, became farmers. Their father was particularly active in road building. The land he took up was of course wild and he used every effort to make the spot habitable and to provide a comfortable home for his family. He followed farming up to the time of his last illness. In politics, he was a Whig, and religiously, was reared in the faith of the Protestant Episcopal church in which he served many years as vestryman.
Robert Doyne Dawson, grandfather of the subject hereof, was born July 30, 1801. He received his scholastic training under Master Steele, a private pedagogue. Robert worked upon his father's farm for some time, but subsequently followed river life between Pitts-burg and New Orleans. He worked in that ` capacity until his marriage with Elizabeth Reed. Elizabeth was a favorite daughter of Ruel Reed. She was born in Beaver county, Pa., in 1803. She bore her husband ten children, namely: Mary Ann, Catherine and Rebecca, who all remained single; Benoni, Dr. Dawson's father; Ruel; James; Benjamin; Robert D.; Daniel D.; and William McKennon.
After his marriage, Robert Dawson relinquished river life and returned to farming. For a short time he was located on his father's homestead farm. Then, for a brief period, he rented a place. Later, he purchased one hundred acres of land from his father-in-law. After farming that for some time, he sold out and purchased the farm where Daniel D. now lives. Here he prospered, and was soon enabled to add three other farms to his original purchase. Thus he became the owner of three hundred and forty acres, which he improved in a superior manner. He built a good brick residence, and his farm was considered one of the finest and best improved in the county. In addition to producing large quantities of fruit, he devoted much attention to stockraising. He was the first to introduce Durham cattle and Leicester sheep in Ohio township, and was among the first to introduce these breeds into the county. He disposed of his stock at Pittsburg and in local markets. Like his honored father, he was vestryman in the Protestant Episcopal church. In his political affiliations he followed the leadership of the Republican party. At the time of his demise, he was a comparatively wealthy man.
Benoni Dawson, father of the subject hereof, was born in Ohio township, in 1830, and obtained the rudiments of an education in the district schools. He learned farming and bought a farm for himself in 1854. This farm contained one hundred and twenty acres, and was partly improved, having a fine log cabin on the premises. This was torn down and replaced by a convenient frame and log residence, which is standing to this day. Dr. Dawson's parents were married in 1858. His mother was, before marriage, Rolena Brisbane. She was a native of Pittsburg, Pa., and was educated in Allegheny City. She, was the mother of seven children, viz.: Elizabeth (Nicholson) ; Rebecca C. (Murdock) ; Robert D. B., the subject of this sketch; Charles H., deceased; Anna F., wife of Dr. C. C. Taylor, of New Waterford, Ohio; Benoni R., a farmer; and Rolena I., now deceased. Mr. Murdock, who married Rebecca C., is a professor of music in Allegheny, and a composer of some note. He is the inventor of the Murdock system of guitar instruction.
Dr. Dawson's father is still actively en-gaged in cultivating his fine farm. He grows fruit in large quantities. He also devotes much time to stockraising,-selling mostly to East Liverpool markets. He is a stanch Republican, and has served as a school director, and in various other township offices. In early life he was a member of the Episcopal church, and assisted materially in building the church at Georgetown. Later in life, he joined the Presbyterian denomination in which he has been a trustee for twenty-five years.
Dr. Dawson was horn in Beaver county, Pa., January 13, 1864. He obtained his primary education in the district schools, which he attended during the winter months, until he attained the age of twenty years. In the summers, he assisted his father on the homestead farm, and followed that line of work until his twenty-third year. He then decided on a professional career, and began the study of medicine. He studied one year under Dr. R. J. Marshall, of Fairview, merely as a preparatory course. In 1890, he entered Western Reserve University, of Cleveland, Ohio, as a medical student. He graduated with high honors in the class of 1893. Dr. Dawson then took a post-graduate course at Lakeside Hospital, Cleveland, and was appointed house surgeon, filling that position very creditably, for sixteen months. During that time, he gained valuable experience in surgery, and gained an enviable reputation for himself. Dr. Dawson is very skilful in his profession, and is an enthusiastic operator in surgical cases. He first • began practice in East Liverpool, Ohio. After an eight months' stay, an opportunity occurred whereby he could practice in his native town. He purchased the property of Dr. George J. Boyd and opened his present office in Fairview. He is a general practitioner, but devotes especial attention to surgery. He supplies his own medicine to his patients, and is decidedly popular. By his cleverness and skill he has won the confidence of his clients in a very notable manner.
Dr. Dawson was joined in matrimony October 4, 1893, with Eleanor Loretta Coll, a gifted daughter of Hugh Coll. Mrs. Dawson is a native of Pittsburg, where her birth occurred in 1862. She was educated in the St. Mary's Academy at Pittsburg. Dr. and Mrs. Dawson have one son, Robert Doyne. He was born July 9, 1894, and in him all their domestic hopes are centered. Politically, the Doctor is a Republican, but is too busy to accept office. He worships with the Presbyterian denomination.
John A. CAMPBELL
JOHN A. CAMPBELL, junior member of the firm of D. Campbell & Son, contractors in heavy masonry, is one of the most successful and prosperous men of Beaver Falls. He was born near New Galilee, Beaver county, Pa., in 1863, and is a son of David Campbell, whose father was John Campbell, a native and life-long resident of Scotland.
David Campbell, the father of John A., was born in Ayrshire, Scotland, and received a thorough mental training in the common schools there. He was then bound out as an apprentice to the trade of a mason, and after serving his time, worked as a journeyman until he came to this country. He located at Beaver Falls, Beaver county, Pa., in 1864, at the age of twenty-two years, and at once resumed work at his trade, being employed on the Ft. 'Wayne R. R. construction. He subsequently started in business for himself, as a general contractor, and being one of the first business men in the district, Beaver Falls, at that time, not having a population of more than two hundred, he laid the foundations for nearly all the buildings built in that section of the county. He worked on the construction of an arch at Wallace Run. This was a long and difficult task, the wall under ground being thirty feet thick ; and it required three years for its completion. He did alt the masonry work for the cutlery shops, built the Economy Bank and Geneva College, did the masonry on the File Works and Axe Factory, and also considerable work on the P. & L. E. R. R. He has for many years been one of the foremost business men and most reliable citizens of Beaver Falls. In 1861, he was joined in wedlock with Margery McKim, of Scotland, and nine children resulted from this union, as follows : James, deceased; Jeanette (Gaston) ; John A., the subject of this personal history; Robert, a stone mason by trade; Samuel, who follows the occupation of a master plumber; Elizabeth, de-ceased; Jane, deceased; Margery; and Myrtle, a graduate of the Beaver Falls High School, and of Beaver College, who is now a successful teacher at College Hill school. Mr. Campbell is a strong supporter of the Republican party, but has never accepted office. He is a member of the F. & A. M., and of the mother lodge in Scotland; the Ancient Order of United Workmen ; and the; Odd Fellows.
John A. Campbell received his education in the public schools at Beaver Falls, and upon completing his schooling, became associated in business with his father. In 1887, he purchased the interest of Mr. Moffit in the firm, and has since devoted his entire time to its success. Although it has always been the leading firm of the kind in that district; since our subject has been identified with it, its business has increased steadily until it encounters some difficulty in keeping apace with its contracts. At the present time it has a contract to build the shops of the Atlantic Tube Company, which will cover three acres of ground, at Moravia, Pennsylvania. The subject of this sketch is an enterprising and energetic young man, popular with his fellow citizens and he has a host of friends wherever he is known.
Mr. Campbell was joined in hymeneal bonds with Mary C. Robel, a daughter of Lewis and Sophia (Cleis) Robel, of Germany, a native of Morgantown, West Virginia, where she received her education. Our subject is a Republican in politics, and like his father, is a member of the Presbyterian church, of which he is an elder.
MAJOR Gilbert L. EBERHART
MAJOR GILBERT L. EBERHART, of New Brighton,-editor, author, lawyer and soldier, Interesting references to his life and public service.
Some of the Eberharts came from Germany to Pennsylvania as early as 1727, landing at Philadelphia on the 16th of October, in that year, on a vessel named "Friendship."
All descended in a direct line from the celebrated "Eberhart mit ihm bart," first duke of Wurtemberg.
John Adam Eberhart, duke of Elsass, Germany, had four sons (Andrew, George, Martin and Adolphus), all of whom came to America in the ship "Banister," under command of Capt. John Doyle, landing at New York in the fall of 1758.
Andrew settled first in Sherman's Valley, Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, and afterwards removed to Washington County, where he died in August, 1799, on his farm on which he and his wife were buried within three miles of the present location of the court house of that County.
His wife was Catherine Elizabeth Mercer, a sister of Brig. Gen. Hugh Mercer, M. D., who fell fatally wounded at the battle of Princeton, N. J., on the second day of January, 1777.
Adolphus, youngest brother of Andrew Eberhart, served in the Revolutionary War, although quite young. He was the first man to make glass in America, and went into the business with Albert Gallatin in Fayette County, about 1786.
His descendants have continued in the business in the Monongahela Valley to the present day.
Andrew Eberhart was the father of two sons and four daughters. His eldest son, John, was born in Cumberland County, Pa., May 9, 1766. He removed from Washington to Beaver County in the year 1804, and settled on a farm within sight of the court house where he lived till his death, November 9, 1831. He was the father of two sons and seven daughters. He called his eldest John, who became a man of fine attainments, although he had no collegiate training. He spent a part of his early life in teaching, and was many years an active business man. He learned the trade of cabinet maker, and specimens of his handiwork, made of native maple, cherry and walnut, are still in use in some of the homes of the children of the older inhabitants of the County.
He was an active politician although never a candidate for office; and some of his articles written in behalf of his favorites can yet be found in the files of the county journals of "ante bellum" days.
Although but a boy at the time, he enlisted and served in Capt. Thos. Henry's Company in the War of 1812. His wife was Sarah Power, second daughter of Gen. Samuel Power, and sister of James M. Power, who was one of the Canal Commissioners of Pennsylvania, and Minister to Naples and the Kingdom of the two Sicilys. She was a sister, also, of the late Gen. Thos. J. Power, of Rochester, Beaver County, who was a prominent politician and several years Adjutant General of the State. And as a civil engineer, he had much to do, in conjunction with his brother James, in promoting the public works, state and national, in Pennsylvania, notably in the first improvements made in the navigation of the Ohio River from the mouth of the Beaver to Pittsburg.
Her father, Gen. Power, was sheriff of Beaver County from 1809 to 1812, and served as a major in the War of 1812, and took a battalion to Lake Erie to protect our frontier from a threatened invasion of the British. Hewas of Scotch parentage, born in Virginia, and came to Beaver County, Pa., in 1804.
Gen. Power afterwards became Adjutant General of the State, which office he held for six years. He was also a member of the House and Senate from 1819 to 1836, and while in the Legislature he took a very active interest in all enterprises that tended to develop the wealth of the state, and advance the welfare of the people. And it was mainly through his vigorous efforts, while a member of that body, that the necessary appropriations were secured to connect Pittsburg and the Ohio River with Lake Erie, at the City of Erie, by canal through the Beaver and Shenango Valleys; and, by means of the Pennsylvania and Ohio canal, through the Mahoning valley, to bring Pittsburg and intermediate towns in closer commercial relations with Cleveland, Ohio, some twenty-five years before the advent of railways into Western Pennsylvania and Eastern Ohio.
John Eberhart, Jr., grandson of Andrew Eberhart and Catherine Mercer, was the father of five children by Sarah Power; three boys and two girls. All, except the youngest,
now are dead, the eldest, the Rev. Wilford Avery Power Eberhart, having died at Cedar Rapids, Iowa, February 14, 1899.
Gilbert Leander Eberhart, the only survivor of the family, and the subject of this sketch, was born in North Sewickley township, Beaver County, Pennsylvania, January 16th, A. D. 183o. His mother died when he was nineteen months old, and he was then taken into the care of his maternal grandfather's family.
His first instructions in letters were received in a select school in the Beaver Academy, and the first public school-house built, in Beaver. His first Sunday school lessons were given him in the old Presbyterian Church that stood on the public square in Beaver, while he was a member of an infant class taught by the late Captain John D. Stokes. Later he received some very wholesome drills in Kirkham's Grammar, the Western Calculator, the English Reader and the New Testament, in a log school-house which stood on the banks of Big Brush run in South Beaver township, where one of his teachers was George McElroy, who made quill pens for his pupils with a razor; and, when needed, stirred them tip to a sense of their duty with a hickory "ox-gad" seven feet long, without leaving the chair he occupied in the centre of the schoolroom. The other was James Bliss. Both were thorough and efficient teachers. In his later school-boy days, Mr. Eberhart was sent to the Academy at Mercer by his uncle, the Hon. Jas. M. Power, who was then a merchant and iron manufacturer at Greenville, in Mercer County. Finally he entered Washington (Pa.) College, where he spent two years. Soon after he left that institution, he engaged in civil engineering on the Erie and Pittsburg railway of which his uncle, Gen. Thos. J. Power, was then President. He pursued that profession some five years, when he engaged in teaching in Greenville, Mercer County, and soon became Superintendent of Public Schools of that county.
A short time prior to the outbreak of the Slaveholders' Rebellion, he took charge of the Conneautville (Pa.) Academy, but resigned that position, and on April 17, 1861, he enlisted for a term of three months as a Sergeant in "D" Company in Col. John W. McLane's Erie Regiment.
At the expiration of that term, he enlisted in the 8th Reg-t., Pa. Res. Vol. Corps, and was mustered in for three years at Washington City, July 28, 1861, as a member of the noncommissioned regimental staff. He served in that capacity until August 21, 1862, when Gen. Geo. G. Meade, then commanding the Second Brigade of the Pa. Reserves, assigned him to duty on his staff as his Commissary of Subsistence, and he remained in the Subsistence Department of the Army of the Potomac as long as that army was in the field, and afterward served at Beaufort, S. C., and Jacksonville, Fla., until October, 1865.
During the Second Bull Run campaign, he served on the staff of Gen. John F. Reynolds, then commanding the third division (Pa. Reserves) of the Fifth army corps; and was honored and highly complimented by both Reynolds and Meade for the coolness and courage by which, on August 28, 1862, he saved the division trains from capture and destruction during a severe shelling by Rebel artillery.
In that action Maj. Eberhart's horse was so badly injured by a shell in the left shoulder that he was obliged to abandon the poor animal to his fate.
September 3, 1862, he received a commission as Quarter Master of the 8th Pa. Reserves, and was mustered to rank as such from July 1st, 1862.
November 19, 1862, he became quite ill, and in a few weeks was reduced in weight from one hundred and forty to one hundred and fifteen pounds, as a result of the hard march through rain and snow from the battlefield of Antietam to Brooks Station, near Fredericksburg.
Major Eberhart, however, in spite of his severe illness, was present on duty in the field at the battle of Fredericksburg, December 13, 1862, where, by the discharge of a heavy cannon, near the muzzle of which he was standing, he, lost his hearing for a time. When it gradually, but only partially returned, it was discovered that the drum of his right ear was perforated and the hearing totally destroyed.
The disease contracted in November, 1862, resulted in chronic disease of the digestive organs, and muscular rheumatism, from which he has been a constant sufferer to the present time; and not until the year 1890, did he regain the twenty-five punds of flesh lost in the winter of 1862-3.
Under date of September 15, 1865, while on duty at Jacksonville, Fla., he received a letter from Maj.-Gen. Rufus Saxton, then Asst. Commissioner of the Bureau of Freedmen and Abandoned Lands for the states of South Carolina and Georgia, in which was this sentence: "I am pleased to offer you the position of Superintendent of Freedmen's Schools for the state of Georgia." Maj. Eberhart accepted the offer, and under date at Charleston, S. C., October 2, 1865, he received Special Order No. 18 directing him to "report in person, without delay, to Brig.-Gen. Davis Tillson at Augusta, Ga." October 6, 1865, he was "assigned to duty as Superintendent of Freedmen's Schools for the State of Georgia." He remained on Gen. Tillson's staff until October, 1867, in the meantime having established, in the face of difficulties and menaces which only the military power of the Government could curb and resist, over two hundred and fifty schools for freedmen. In the City of Atlanta and, also, in Savannah, he secured the erection of a fine school-housethe first buildings of the kind ever erected in Georgia for negroes.
On his return to civil life, he resumed teaching, and, in the fall of 1867, became Superintendent of the public schools of Rochester. The next year, without his seeking, he was elected Superintendent of the Kit-tanning Schools, where he organized the first graded schools that City ever had. He held that position four years, when he resigned to enter on the practice of law, having in the meantime read with the late Judge Brown B. Chamberlin. He was admitted to the Beaver bar June 14, 1870, and soon after to Lawrence, Mercer and Butler, and the Supreme Court of Pennsylvania.
In November, 1876, he was elected to represent Beaver County in the lower house of the General Assembly, and served during the sessions of 1877 and 1878.
In 1883, he was elected without any solicitation on his part, to the office of Chief Burgess of New Brighton, and re-elected to succeed himself; and, so well pleased were his fellow-citizens with his administration of the office, that they tendered him a third term, but his private business so engrossed his time he was obliged to decline the honor.
In 1884, he was a prominent candidate for Congress, for which in all the counties of the district there were aspirants, producing a divisive and somewhat bitter rivalry; and, subordinating his own desires to the good of his party, he withdrew, rather than jeopardize the success of his party.
In 1891, he was elected a delegate to represent the senatorial district composed of Beaver and Washington Counties in a proposed convention to amend the State constitution.
His popularity in the district, as well as in his own County, was well attested by the fact that he received nine thousand, three hundred and fifty votes out of a total poll of thirteen thousand, one hundred and thirty-three.
In 1879, at the earnest solicitation of a number of the young men of New Brighton, he organized a military company of which he was commissioned Captain and which was admitted to the National Guard of Pennsylvania as "B" Company, of the 15th Regiment of Infantry, in 188o, and the next year to the loth Regiment,-the Hawkins regiment,-which became famous, as well for being the only volunteer regiment east of the Mississippi in the War with Spain in the Philippines, as for its heroism and gallant participation in the battles about Manila after their capture by Admiral Dewey in 1898.
Major Eberhart, ever since boyhood, has been a member of the Episcopal Church, and is one of the judges of the Ecclesiastical Court, and a trustee of the diocese of Pittsburg. Among the fraternal orders, he is a Mason, Odd Fellow, and Knight of Pythias as well as a member of the Grand Army of the Republic and the Union Veteran Legion, in all of which he has passed through the highest chairs. He has been twice President of the Law Association of Beaver County, and of the Soldiers and Sailors' Association of Beaver County. His wife is the youngest daughter of the late Dr. Peter Smith, formerly of San Francisco, but latterly of Wimpole street, London, England, where he practiced his profession the last ten years of his life. Their only surviving child is the wife of Dr. H. S. McConnel, of New Brighton, one of the most prominent and successful physicians and surgeons in Pennsylvania.
For some eight years Major Eberhart was owner and editor of the Daily and Weekly Tribune of Beaver Falls, and in that capacity distinguished himself as a brilliant writer on all current topics, and gave his paper a wide reputation. His most notable political articles were those on Protection by invitation of the N. Y. World during the Blaine campaign. He has devoted much time to literature, and is the author of a large number of disquisitions on Philology and other scientific subjects. He has established a good practice in his profession; and, as a public official, made a marked impression upon his constituents for his fidelity to their interests, and the unswerving tenacity with which he adheres to the principles of his party.
As a public speaker and lecturer, he is fearless, as well as entertaining and instructive; and he has attained considerable notoriety as a poet, his poems entitled "The Fife," and "Ruth and I," having given him a very wide reputation. A fine collection of his poems appears in Herringshaw's "Poets of America," and many in other anthological publications.
HENRY HEURING, a stockholder and director of the Point Bottle Works, of Rochester, Pa., is the general manager of the establishment, and it is almost entirely due to his efficient service in that capacity that the plant is one of the most flourishing in Beaver county. He was born in Pittsburg, Pa., November 11, 1857, and is a son of Theodore, and Mary (Renner) Heuring, -being of German parentage.
Theodore Heuring, the father of our subject, was born in Munster, Germany, and was a young man when he came to America, obtaining employment as a common laborer. After his marriage, he became a raftsman on the Ohio River and settled at Pittsburg, but later became a sawyer, and then foreman of the saw mill of McClintoc & Co., of Pittsburg. In 1873, he removed to Rochester, Beaver county, Pa., where he was employedas foreman of the L. Oatman Mills, and later as foreman of the box makers of the Rochester Tumbler Company. He was an ambitious man and a hard worker, and rose from the ranks of the day laborer to a prosperous condition in life. He died in 1898, when sixty-seven years old, and his wife now enjoys life at the age of sixty-five years. She resides in the house built by her husband on New York street. Her maiden name was Mary Renner, and she is a native of Elk county, Pennsylvania. Their union was blessed by the birth of the following offspring: William, of Chicago; Henry, the subject of this biographical record; Annie, the wife of J. T. Conlin, whose personal history also appears in this book; Kate, the wife of John Beck, of Carnegie, Pa.; John, deceased ; Frank, a boxmaker; Theodore and Charles, twins, both of whom work in the Rochester Tumbler Works ; and Andrew Packer, who is also employed at the Rochester Tumbler Works; and Joseph, a glass blower at the Point Bottle Works.
Henry Heuring was reared and educated in the borough of Rochester, and at an early age entered the box manufacturing department of the Rochester Tumbler Company. He continued to work at that until 1887, when he became an organizer, stockholder and president of the Point Bottle Works, Limited. This plant was established, in 1879, as the Rochester Flint Vial & Bottle Works, by David McDonald, president, and C. I. Mc-Donald, vice-president. The business did not flourish as was expected, and it was later sold at sheriff's sale,-being purchased by the following: J. M. Buchanan; S. B. Wilson; J. C. Cunningham; J. C. Irwin; and P. McLaughlin. The name was changed to that of the Point Bottle Works, the concern was reorganized, and P. McLaughlin was made president. Under this head business was continued until 1887, when the enterprise again changed hands and was completely re-organized under the name of the Point Bottle Works. Henry Heuring, the subject of these lines, was chosen president, and P. J. Huth, secretary and treasurer, and under this management the plant for the first time was made a paying venture.
Mr. Heuring continued as president until 1897, when he assumed the duties of general manager, his former position being filled by C. A. Darmbacher. The plant is one of the principal manufacturing establishments in Beaver county, and its products are shipped to all parts of the country. The yearly output amounts to $90,000, and the company gives constant employment to one hundred and twenty-five men. The factory consists of two large buildings, both of which are well equipped with the latest of machinery used in the business. A switch is also run up into the yard to the shipping house making the best of facilities for shipping. Mr. Heuring has given his entire time and attention to the business, and under his skilful guidance it has prospered and is increasing with great rapidity. The subject of this memoir was, for two years, president of the Central Building & Loan Association, of which he was one of the organizers.
Mr. Heuring was joined in matrimonial bonds with Josephine Huth, a sister of P. J. Huth, whose sketch appears elsewhere in this Book of Biographies, and their children were: Agnes, deceased; Harry; Gracie; Marilla; Irene; and Richard, deceased. Fraternally, he is a member of the Elks.
Samuel Clarence GORSUCH
SAMUEL CLARENCE GORSUCH, a machinist by trade, has been connected for many years with iron and
steel works and has been a resident of Beaver Falls, Pa., since 1883, being, until recently, a
heater in a plant there, which he assisted in building. He was born February 21, 1860,
in Springfield, Blair county, Pa., and is a son of Henderson and Elizabeth (Gates) Gorsuch, and grandson of Benjamin Gorsuch. The first of the family who came to America, was
the great-grandfather of Samuel Clarence; and was a native of Wales. After reaching America, he settled in Baltimore, where he spent his last years. He, with his brother, was engaged
in the cotton business. His son Benjamin, the grandfather of the subject hereof, was
reared near Baltimore, where he became apprenticed to learn the trade of a blacksmith.
After completing his apprenticeship, he engaged in that line of business on his own
behalf, and was known as a very successful business man and a skilled mechanic; he followed that line of business all his life. He removed to Huntingdon county, Pa., for some
years, but later settled in Blair county, near Klopperstown. He followed blacksmithing
until middle age, when he went into the iron business.
Henderson Gorsuch, father of the subject of this record, was born in June, 1833, in Huntingdon county, Pa., where he was reared, receiving a limited education in "book learning" in that county, and also in Blair county. In early manhood, he lived at Springfield, Blair county, where he, too, learned the trade of a blacksmith, thereby following the same inclinations as his father. Henderson also learned the art of making axes entirely by hand. He held an important position at the Springfield furnace for a period 0f three years, as master mechanic, and subsequently accepted a similar position at the Martha furnace. At a later period, he discontinued working about machinery, and engaged in the transfer business, taking contracts for general hauling. Being frugal and industrious, he soon saved considerable money with which he purchased a fine farm. He then moved to Roaring Spring, and built himself a fine residence, blacksmith and carriage shop, and conducted this business the balance of his life.
In his political views, Henderson Gorsuch was, in early life, an ardent Republican, but later became a strong Prohibitionist and a great temperance worker. He was a member of the Methodist Episcopal church for the twenty-five years preceding his death, and was a class leader and trustee of that denomination. His demise occurred February 11, 1896, and his life was considered well and nobly spent. His wife was Elizabeth Gates. She proved to be a most helpful companion,and assisted in rearing a family of nineteen children, one of whom was Samuel Clarence, the subject of these lines.
Samuel C. Gorsuch attended the public schools, after which he partly learned the blacksmith's trade, and then acquired the trade of puddling, in the Cambria Iron Works, at Johnstown, Cambria county. He then learned heating at Tyrone, and subsequently went to Beaver Falls, where, after working for about a year and a half, he became a heater, and assisted in building the plant of the American Steel & Wire Co. there, from which he was transferred to that company's plant in Rankin, where he has charge of the heating department.
In his political action he has always followed the leadership of the Republican party, but has had no political aspirations, whatever. Socially, he is a member of the Masonic fraternity, of Beaver Falls, and also of the I. O. O. F. lodge. He was joined in marriage with Harriet McClellan, a lady with many graces. Their marriage occurred October 15, 1883. Mrs. Gorsuch is a daughter of James McClellan, and is a native of Blair county, Pennsylvania. Seven bright, attractive children came to bless their home; their names and ages are as follows : Alpha, born, March 26, 1885 ; Nellie, born January 22, 1887; Clarence, born September 19, 1889; Clifford, born June 27, 1891; Hazel Belle, born January 9, 1893, and deceased September 13, 1893 ; Olive, born November 3, 1895; and Forest, born June 17, 1899.
The subject of this sketch and his family are regular attendants of the Methodist church and contribute liberally to its support. By careful and judicious management he has been able to acquire a snug competence,-due entirely to his own efforts,-while at the same time, he has gained for himself a reputation for honesty and uprightness in all his dealings.
John McFarren BUCHANAN
JOHN McFARREN BUCHANAN, son of Thomas C. Buchanan, and Eliza A. Mayhew, his wife, was born near Florence, Washington County, Pennsylvania, April 25, 1851. His father dying of cholera, June 18, 1852, on the overland route to California, his mother removed to Fairview, Virginia (now West Virginia), in 1856, near where her father, John Mayhew, was living. Our subject remained here with his mother and sister, Georgiana, until June 1, 1858, when he was taken by a paternal uncle, Joseph K. Buchanan, to his home in Hanover township, Beaver County, Pennsylvania, where he attended the district school and worked in vacation upon the farm of his uncle.
In the fall and winter of 1864-65, he attended The Collegiate Institute, East Liberty, Pennsylvania, taught by Rev. J. P. Moore, a brother-in-law of his uncle above-named. In the winter of 1866 he recited in the evenings to Thomas Nicholson, Esq., a famous teacher and well known citizen of Frankfort Springs. In April, 1867, he entered Washington and Jefferson College, then under the presidency of Rev. Jonathan Edwards, D. D. Mr. Buchanan was aided in his efforts by his uncle, Joseph K. Buchanan, and by his mother, and by tutoring and teaching and the like through college, graduating in the class of 1869. On December 1, 1869, Mr. Buchanan was entered as a law student in the law office of Sam B. Wilson, Esq., one of the most eminent lawyers that ever graced the Beaver Bar, and was admitted to the Bar September 2, 1872, the committee being Edward B. Daugherty, Frank Wilson and E. P. Kuhn, all now deceased.
In November, 1874, Mr. Buchanan received the Democratic nomination for District Attorney in the strong Republican county of Beaver and was elected by 94 votes, and in 1877, was re-elected by 303 majority. During the six years of office, Mr. Buchanan never had an indictment quashed nor amended in a single word; nor did he have a grand jury sit over two days at a time,-the Quarter Sessions Court and Grand Jury then sat at the same time. Since that time Mr. Buchanan has enjoyed a large and lucrative practice. He is president of the First National Bank, Beaver, Pennsylvania, and of the Beaver Valley Traction Company, the Beaver & Vanport Electric Street Railway, a director in the First National Bank, Rochester, Pennsylvania, in the Bridgewater Bridge, Sharon Bridge, New Brighton Water Company, The Valley Electric Light Company and in various other companies. He is also attorney for the Pennsylvania Company. Mr. Buchanan has taken an active part in keeping Beaver County to the front in every good work. He is a member
of the First Presbyterian Church of Beaver and active in its councils.
In 1896, Mr. Buchanan was the nominee of the Democratic party for Judge of the Thirty-sixth Judicial District of Pennsylvania, and received the largest vote ever received by a Democrat in that District, but failed in the election in this strong Republican district.
The ancestor of this branch of the Buchanans first in the country was Walter Buchanan, who was of Scotch-Irish origin, and emigrated to America from the northern part of Ireland, settling in Little Britain township, Lancaster County, Pennsylvania, in 1745. He was a farmer up to the time of his death, which occurred in Lancaster County, in 1790; his re-mains lie buried in the Churchyard of Little Britain Presbyterian Church in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. He was active in church and state, and was one of the signers to the petition found on page 310, Vol. 3-2 Ser., Pennsylvania Archives. The home of Walter Buchanan was blessed with three sons and three daughters, namely: Gilbert; John; James ; Jeannette; Mary ; and Sarah. Gilbert, the eldest, settled near Poland, Ohio, and became a tiller of the soil. John, the second son, settled near Paris in Washington County, Pennsylvania, and also followed the occupation of a farmer. He was a member of the Associate Presbyterian Church, and served as elder of that denomination. His remains lie buried in the Associate Burial Ground at Paris, Washington County, Pennsylvania.
James, the third son, was the great-grandfather of our subject. In 1791, he located in
Hanover township, Washington County, Pennsylvania, about two miles from Florence. James was born May 23, 1761, in Little Britain township, above-named. He served for some months as a member of Captain James Morrison's Company, Porter's Battalion, in the Revolutionary War, and died on the twenty-fifth day of November, 1823. He married Margaret Ross, a relative of George Ross, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Mrs. Buchanan was of Scotch-Irish ancestry, and was born March 23, 1769, a native of Chester County, Pennsylvania, a member of the Associate Presbyterian Church. She survived her husband for thirty-five years, passing away July 20, 1854, and her remains now lie buried in the Presbyterian Churchyard at Slippery Rock, Lawrence County, Pennsylvania. This highly esteemed and worthy, couple reared the following children: Elizabeth, born April 5, 1789, and died September 24, 1855,-she became the wife of John Mitchell, and now lies buried in the United Presbyterian Churchyard at Sharon, Ohio; Walter, born July 14, 1791, and died July 19, 1869, is buried at New Brighton, Pennsylvania; Hannah, born October 21, 1793, and died March 6, 1866,-she married John Smith, and is buried at Sheakleyville, Pennsylvania; Nancy, born January 1, 1796, died October 26, 1873,-she became the wife of Hugh Smith, and is buried at Duncanville United Presbyterian Church, Crawford County, Illinois ; John, grandfather of our subject, will be mentioned later; James, born May 29, 1800, and died February 19, 1840; Moses Ross, born October 6, 1803, and died at De Witt, Iowa, July 22, 1878; Joseph Smith, born October 31, 18o6, a graduate of Jefferson College and a minister in the United Presbyterian Church for nearly fifty years, died March 31, 1887, at De Witt, Iowa; Margaret, born January 29, 1808, and died June 17, 1876; Mary, wife of Mr. Caldwell, was born May 9, 1813, and died June 18, 1893 ; and George Black, born September 14, 1815.
John Buchanan, grandfather of our subject, was born on the twenty-eighth day of May, 1798, in Hanover township, Washington County, Pennsylvania, was a farmer, purchasing a farm just across the line in Virginia, where he spent the remainder of his life, and where his death took place, May 6, 1830; his remains lie buried in the Presbyterian grounds in Fairview, West Virginia. He married Margaret Chambers, a daughter of Thomas Chambers, a native of Scotland, who came to America as a Scottish soldier in Cornwall's Army. Mr. Chambers settled in Hanover township, in 1789, on a farm which is now owned by our subject. Mrs. Buchanan survived her husband four years, dying July 25, 1834, at the age of thirty-one years. This worthy couple left four sons, orphans, to mourn the loss of their parents; James, born in 1824 and wedded Mary A. Craig; Thomas Chambers, father of our subject, heretofore mentioned; John F., born in 1828, and twice married,-his first wife being Jane Greenfield, his second, May Elligood; and Joseph Kerr, born in 183o and married Martha T. Bigger.
HARRY CALHOON, district attorney of Beaver county, Pa., ranks high among the members of the legal profession of the county, and is a much respected citizen of the borough. He was born at New Brighton, September 15, 1862, and is a son of John and Nancy (White) Calhoon, grandson of Robert and Elizabeth (Scott) Calhoon, and great-grandson of Andrew Calhoon.
Harry Calhoon attended the public schools of New Brighton, taking a finishing course at Geneva College. After this he began the study of law, reading in the office of J. R. Harrah in the evenings, and working through the day in the manufacturing department of the foundry of Logan & Strobridge. He finished reading law in the office of Thompson & Martin and was admitted to the bar, in 1892. He immediately began the practice of his profession in New Brighton. It was not long before his worth became known and brought him lucrative returns; being active and energetic, cases in which he is interested are pushed to a speedy termination, as his efforts are very rarely lacking in the elements of success. About the year 1893, he was elected solicitor of New Brighton; he was elected district attorney of Beaver county, Pa., in 1898,-in which capacity he now serves.
In 1896, Mr. Calhoon married Florence Deitrick, a daughter of Frederick A. Deitrick, a worthy citizen of New Brighton. He and his wife live in a handsome residence recently purchased by him; it is modern in design, very convenient and attractive, and was built by R. E. Hoop.
Andrew Calhoon, great-grandfather of the subject hereof, was a native of County Derry, Ireland. He came to America about the year 1785, while still a single man. For the first few years, he lived in New York City in a log house, which contained one of those historic old fire-places. The usual custom was to draw a huge back-log to the door of the cabin ; after the laborious task of getting it through the door, it was rolled into the capacious fireplace, which it completely filled for a time,-smaller logs being gradually burned in front of it. Some of the back-logs were so large that it was not necessary to replace them for several days. During the latter part of his life, Mr. Calhoon used frequently to speak of the change in New York City, and to compare it with its early condition. He died in 1864, at the remarkable age of one hundred and three years. After leaving New York City, Mr. Calhoon settled in Chester county, Pa., and later in Washington county, where he followed agricultural pursuits, and accumulated some money. In the year 1800, he purchased one hundred acres of land where Kennedy Calhoon now resides. There in the forest, he built a log house so substantially that it is still standing, being used as a store-house. He set out orchards, cleared the forests into fine fields, and spent his closing years upon that farm. While in the East, Mr. Calhoon was joined in marriage with Mary Kennedy, who bore him the following children : Robert; James K.; and John S.
The young wife and mother was called from her earthly home before her children attained manhood. Mr. Calhoon contracted another matrimonial alliance, his second wife being Mrs. Rogers of South Beaver township. No issue was the result of this marriage. John S., the youngest son, inherited the homestead, and it still remains in the possession of his descendants.
Robert Calhoon, grandfather of Harry, in early life learned the carpenter's trade, and located in Brighton, now Beaver Falls. He built many houses, barns, etc., in that vicinity, and in adjoining counties, and also assisted in building the boat called the "Aaron Burr." He won an enviable reputation as a mechanic and builder, in his day. In 1848, he settled in New Brighton, where he served as justice of the peace, member of the borough council, and as burgess. He was a member of the Old School Presbyterians. His death was caused by consumption, and occurred April 1st, 1859, when aged fifty-four years. His marriage with Elizabeth Scott, of Darlington, Pa., was celebrated in 1828. She survived her husband until she attained the age of seventy-four years.
Their union resulted in the following offspring: Mary Jane, who died at the age of twenty-one years ; Thomas, whose death occurred as recently as 1898, at the age of sixty-five years; John C., father of the subject hereof; and Margaret, who died young.
John C. Calhoon attended public school until his fifteenth year. Just previous to his sixteenth birthday, he became apprenticed to learn the harness maker's trade. He served his time with James W. Baker, of New Brighton, completely mastering the trade, and in 1894, went into business for himself, at New Brighton. In 1861, he became employed in the Arsenal in Allegheny, and continued for three and one-half years, working on saddles and harness for the U. S. government. He built his present residence and shop at New Brighton, where he is now located, in 1859, and has engaged in the manufacture of harness, and in custom work ever since, keeping a separate salesroom of harness supplies, blankets, etc. On July 17, 1883, Mr. Calhoon received a patent for the "Calhoon Improved Truss" which he had previously invented, and which has been a great success. The use of this truss has effected many permanent cures. Mr. Calhoon put only the best of materials in these articles, and has built up quite a reputation for that line of goods, although he has not advertised them very extensively. The tidings of a cure effected by one of them are soon transmitted to another sufferer, and thereby his trade is increased. He makes various kinds of trusses to suit the requirements of each separate case. Mr. Calhoon is a man of sterling worth and is esteemed by all who know him. His life has been unusually successful, from a financial standpoint. He was a county commissioner when the present court house was built, has also been a member of the borough council, and is now serving his third term as justice of the peace. He chose for his life companion Nancy White, a daughter of Harvey White. Mrs. Calhoonwas born in 1841, and died in 1867, at the early age of twenty-six years,-leaving the following children: Thomas, a prominent confectionery dealer in New Brighton, who married Emma Sheehan, and has one child, Eleanor; Harry, whose name heads this sketch; Edwin, a lumber dealer, in New Castle, Pa.; Robert, a molder by trade, who married Elva Guntner; and Harvey, who is associated with his brother. Mr. Calhoon married a second time. Miss Ellen McDaniel became his wife; they are both members of the Methodist church, of which he is a trustee and class leader. In politics, he is a Republican.
Harry Calhoon, the subject of this narrative, by good management and careful methods has won success in his profession, and also has a large circle of friends in private life. He is a member in good standing of the Masonic fraternity, the American Mechanics, and the Royal Arcanum. Like his father, he worships with the Methodists.
George E. SMITH
GEORGE E. SMITH, ex-county commissioner of Beaver county, has seen many years of public service. He was formerly engaged in mercantile pursuits and his record as a public servant is clean and altogether in harmony with the integrity of his successful business life. Mr. Smith is esteemed and respected by thousands of acquaintances, as one 0f nature's noblemen, and
is a man of whom Beaver county may well be proud. He was born in Westmoreland township, Cheshire county, New Hampshire, February 24, 1841. In his youth, he attended the local schools, where he obtained a good practical education. He went west, to Beaver county, Pa., in 1865, and worked for a period of three years on the Pennsylvania Railroad. The following year was spent by the subject of this sketch in a store at Sharon, Pa., after which he was engaged in a similar way, for two years, at Beaver Falls. Mr. Smith then decided to discontinue business pursuits, and try a new venture; accordingly, in 1871, he began to run a general delivery, which he conducted very successfully for twenty years; he then turned it over to his son, Thomas A. Smith, in order to give his attention to the duties of the office of county commissioner. This change occurred in 1891, when Mr. Smith was appointed to fill the vacancy caused by the death of John Wilson. After filling this unexpired term of one and one-half years, Mr. Smith was elected to a full term of three years, which expired January 1, 1897.
Mr. Smith is known as a stanch, uncompromising, and aggressive Republican, to all who are familiar with his political views. He has been a hard worker in the Republican cause, and occupies an influential position in his party organization.
Our subject is a member of the Beaver Valley Lodge, No. 478, F. & A. M.; of Harmony Chapter, No. 206, R. A. M.; and of Lone Rock Lodge, No. 222, Knights of Pythias. In 1868, Mr. Smith led to the altar Margaret White, an accomplished daughter of Thomas White, of White town-ship, Beaver county, Pennsylvania. One son, Thomas A., blessed this union, and is now succeeding his father in the general delivery business. The subject of this sketch, who is one of a family of fourteen children, is a son of Hiram and Olive (Arnold) Smith, and a grandson of Benjamin Smith.
Benjamin Smith was a native of the North of Ireland, where he was also reared and educated. In early manhood, he came to America and settled in Westmoreland township, Cheshire county, N. H., where he spent the remainder of his life.
Hiram Smith, father of the subject hereof, was born in New Hampshire in 1800. He was reared and trained to agricultural pursuits, and while not in school did such work as usually falls to the lot of a farmer's boy. This discipline was just the kind needed to make him understand all the details of farm work, which he followed all his active days, spending his last three years in retirement at Walpole, N. H., where his death occurred, in 1875.
His wife was Olive Arnold, a daughter of Thomas Arnold, of Cheshire county, New Hampshire. Mrs. Smith crossed the dark river into the light beyond, at the age of sixty-three years, after rearing a family of fourteen children, viz.: Ralph; Caroline (Scott) ; Miranda (Roberts) ; David ; Charles; Sarah (Hale); Phineas; Adeline (Angier) and Augusta, twins; Laura; George E., the subject of this sketch; King; Elizabeth, and a child that died in infancy. Hiram Smith was a firm friend of education, and in his political affiliations was a Democrat. Both he and his wife entertained broad, liberal views as to religion, but preferred the Universalist church.
Our subject is a man who, wherever, he is known, is respected for his sterling qualities. He has, like all men, had opportunities, but unlike many men, he has made the most of them. He takes a broad, comprehensive view of life, in this respect being very similar to his honored father. He has knowledge of many other interests than those with which he is intimately connected, and in all matters, his judgment is known to be sound. He is heir to a good name and that good name he proposes to hand down to posterity without tarnish.
William W. HAYES
WILLIAM W. HAYS, a prominent blacksmith of Fairview, Pa., was born in Beaver Falls, Pa., November 10, 1849. He learned blacksmithing with his father, with whom he worked sixteen years. He has labored all his life at his chosen trade,-a trade which has been followed until the present day by each succeeding father and son, through many generations of the family. Mr. Hays is a son of Adams and Barbara (Langnecker) Hays, and grandson of Adams and Sissins (Stephens) Hays.
The grandfather of William W. was born in Carlisle, Eastern Pennsylvania. He learned blacksmithing under his father. In those early days all kinds of machinery were madeby blacksmiths, and were merely fitted by machinists. He also learned to make sickles. He wedded Sissin Stephens, and they reared a large family of children, as follows: Martha; John A.; Eliza; Thomas Calvert; Sissin; Belinda; Adams; Caroline; Sallie Adams; Margaret ; and William.
William W. Hays' father was one of the younger members of the family. After he had learned blacksmithing from his father, he, in company with two of his brothers, moved to Beaver county. He then started into business in old Brighton, which is now Beaver Falls. He did all kinds of smithing (including tool dressing), on the Ft. Wayne R. R., and later on C. & P. R. R. His first work on the railroad was done when the line was single-tracked. Forty years later, in 1898, he did similar work on the same road when it was double-tracked. His marriage with Barbara Langnecker resulted in the birth of twelve children. Barbara was a native of Germany, and was brought to America when only three years of age. The names of their children are : William W., the subject hereof ; Charles L.; George W.; Fanny (Lomax) ; Frank, deceased; Sissin; Mary (deceased; Samuel B.; Harry P.; James J.; John R.; and Annie, who died at the tender age of nine years. George W. is manager for Butler & Jackson, in Rochester, Pennsylvania.
The father of William W. located in Fairview in April, 1859, and built a shop where the latter is now doing business. He carried on blacksmithing there until 1893, when he retired from active life. In 1892, the old shop was torn down and was at once replaced by a new one, 24 by 40 feet. The elder Mr. Hays is a consistent member of the Episcopal church, which he joined in 1874. He served as vestryman. In politics, his sympathies are with the Republican party. He has always voted for that party's candidates, and has worked hard for its success, but would never accept office. The mother of the subject hereof died in December, 1892. The father still survives.
William W. Hays learned his trade when nails, horse shoes, and almost everything in that line were made by blacksmiths. He acquired all the peculiar features of the art from his father. Mr. Hays has been twice married, and is now a widower. His first union was contracted with Nancy A. Cochran. Nancy was a daughter of John and Jane Cochran, and was born at Egypt (now Midway), Washington county, Pa., where she also received her primary education. This was supplemented by a thorough course at Oakdale and at Cannonsburg, with a finishing curriculum at Mansfield, where she graduated. She then followed the profession of teaching, which occupied her attention for several years. She taught just back of Sewickley, in Allegheny county, and was successful to a marked degree. She bore her husband four children, viz.: Hallie J. (Stoner), who now resides in Youngstown, Ohio; Ross, who died in infancy; Oliver A.; and Edward Otto.
Oliver A., attended Todd's school in Industry, took a preparatory course at Fairview, and finished his education with a threeyears' course at Beaver Falls. He is now learning the blacksmith trade with his father. Edward Otto received the same educational equipment as his brother, and is also learning the trade which has been followed by most of the male members of the Hays family.
Years ago William W. Hays went to Washington county, as a blacksmith. He purchased a farm in Industry and did some farming in connection with his trade. This farm contained one hundred and four acres, and was devoted to general farming, for some time. Subsequently, Mr. Hays engaged in the berry business, which he carried on successfully, for six years. He then sold a part of the farm and removed to Beaver Falls, but afterward returned to the property, where the death of his first wife took place. He then sold the remainder of it and purchased a house in Fairview, whither he removed, and went into business with his father. As before mentioned, this partnership lasted for sixteen years, when Mr. Hays conducted the business alone. He is now assisted by his two sons. He does horse shoeing, wagon and carriage work, oil-well repairing, etc. Mr. Hays is also somewhat interested in oil production. He owns a half interest in the Esther Oil Co., in addition to which he has a well on his own place. His neat, attractive residence is situated quite near his shops, and he owns several desirable building-lots in the same vicinity.
Mr. Hays married a second time. In this instance, Mary A. Fowler became his wife. She was born on the old farm in Chippewa township, Beaver county, and died as recently as June, 1899. Mr. Hays is a member of the Episcopal church, of which he is warden. He is a Republican, but is too busy for the cares of office. He is special representative and secretary for the Iron City Building & Loan Association.