Welcome to
Dyer County, Tennessee

Volunteers Dedicated to Free Genealogy

Hello, my name is Debbie Oberst and I am your Dyer County, Tennessee host.

If you have data that you would like to have posted on this website, please
Contact Me



site search by freefind advanced

We regret that we are unable to perform personal research for folks!
All data we come across will be added to this site.
We thank you for visiting and hope you'll come back again to view the updates we make to this site.


Dyer County was founded in 1821 by settlers from Virginia and South Carolina and named for Colonel William Henry Dyer, who served under General Andrew Jackson in the war of 1812. ( Source: Collier's Encyclopedia)

Dyer County is made up of three incorporated towns. Dyersburg, Newbern, and Trimble.

Dyersburg was built on what was known as Melver’s Bluff by the Okeena River. The Original plan for the town was determined in 1825. Melver’s Bluff became known as Dyersburg when the town was incorporated in 1850

Dyersburg First:

( Source: Dyer County, Tennessee History)

1st Postmaster: Robert Henry Dyer
1st Sheriff: Griffith Rutherford
1st Jail: Was an overturned wagan bed with a rock on top of it to secure the prisoners for the night.
1st Child Born: Benjamin Porter Jr.
1st Telephone Installed: 1891 Dr. W H Tucker House
1st Newspaper: 1865 Neal's Gazette, later became State Gazette
1st Mayor: Charlie Clark

Newbern is located on land that was originally the northern part of a 5,000 acre grant owned by J. W. Clark. In 1850,
Owen Philyou of New Bern, North Carolina, staked a claim in the area where Newbern now stands.
Newbern was incorporated as a city in 1857

Trimble had its beginning in 1873, the result of the building of a railroad from Paducah, Kentucky to Memphis, Tennessee which ended at a bluff near the Dyer County line just across the Obion River Bottom.

The County seat is Dyersburg.

Cities & Towns

Bogota ~ Dyersburg ~ Newbern ~ Trimble


Ayers ~ Big Boy Junction ~ Bishop ~ Bonicord ~ Boothspoint ~ Bradleytown ~ Broadmoor ~ Bruceville  Chic ~ Churchton ~ Cross Roads ~ Edgewood ~ Evansville ~ Finley ~ Fowlkes ~ Good Hope  Hawkinsville ~ Heloise ~ Jenkinsville ~ Lane ~ Lapata ~ Lenox ~ Locust Grove ~ Maxey ~ Meacham  Menglewood ~ Middle City ~ Midway ~ Millsfield ~ Miston ~ Nauvoo ~ Parker ~ Poplar Ridge ~ Rehoboth ~ Richwoods ~ Rock Springs ~ RoEllen ~ South Dyersburg ~ South Fork ~ Stinger ~ Stokes ~ Tatumville ~ Templeton ~ Tennemo ~ Tiger Tail ~ Tigrett ~ Tylersville ~ Unionville ~ Viar


Family Bibles Census Court Minutes Deeds/Land
Obituaries Family History Funeral Home Records Marriages



Fallen Officers


Newspaper Articles

Death Certificates


Tax Records

Famous People

Birth Records


Lynchings Church Records Cemeteries TSLA 1908-1912 Deaths



You are welcome to copy information found on the Dyer County, Tennessee site for personal use, and share information with other researchers or genealogical organizations, but this information may not be sold or used in a commercial project without expressed permission. All contributions to this site remains copy- righted by the contributor, not by the site host or by Genealogytrails. We make no claims or estimates of the validity of the information submitted to us and reminds you that each new piece of information must be researched and proved, or disproved by the weight of evidence.

� 2015 Genealogy Trails, Submitters Retain All Copyrights