Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

This  Cooke County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in
joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page.
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

Cooke  County Court House


Cooke County assumed its present boundaries in 1857. It was crossed by several early trails, including the Mormon Trail, a branch of the Chisholm Trail, and the Butterfield Overland Mail route. Settlements in the northern extension of the Peters colony reached the southeastern edge of the county by the late 1840s. Fort Fitzhugh was established in 1847 to protect area settlements against Indian raids, the last of which occurred in the western part of the county in January 1868.

Col. William F. Fitzhugh, commander at the fort, proposed that the town be named for his former commander, Gen. Edmund Pendleton Gaines. Gainesville, founded in 1850, has been the county seat since the organization of the county. The southern and eastern parts of the county were settled by people primarily from Tennessee, Arkansas, and Missouri. The western part had only scattered settlements prior to the late nineteenth century, when German land speculators founded the towns of Muenster in 1889 and Lindsay in 1891.

The Denison and Pacific Railway reached Gainesville on November 7, 1879, from the east; it later became the Missouri, Kansas and Texas (Katy) Railroad. The Gulf, Colorado and Santa Fe connected Gainesville and Denton on January 2, 1887, on its way to meet the Atchison, Topeka and Santa Fe at Purcell, Indian Territory. These links provided for the first time a north-south rail line from Chicago to Galveston. The Katy was later extended west toward Wichita Falls.

Towns & Communities

Bulcher (unincorporated)
Burns City (unincorporated)



Era (unincorporated)


Hood (unincorporated)

Lake Kiowa (privately managed, unincorporated)

Leo (unincorporated)


Lois (unincorporated)

Marysville (unincorporated)

Moss Lake (unincorporated)
Mountain Springs (unincorporated)


Myra (unincorporated)

Oak Ridge

Pioneer Valley (privately managed, unincorporated)

Prairie Point (unincorporated)

Rosston (unincorporated)

Sivells Bend (unincorporated)

Valley View

Walnut Bend (unincorporated)

Whitesboro (mostly in Grayson County)

Woodbine (unincorporated)


On-line Data

Sept 2017: News: WILSON - Transcribed by Heather Holley
Jun 2017: County Records: 1900 Fugitives from Justice

Surrounding Counties

Love County, Oklahoma (north)

Grayson County (east)

Denton County (south)

Collin (southeast)

Montague County (west)


Back to the State of Texas Website

© Copyright 2017 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.