Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

This Dallas County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in
joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page

[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

Dallas County Court House

In 1845 voters in the future Dallas County approved the annexation of Texas to the United States by a vote of 29 to 3. On March 30, 1846, Dallas County was officially formed by order of the state legislature from portions of Nacogdoches and Robertson counties, and named probably for George Mifflin Dallas, vice president of the United States under James K. Polk . At Dallas, the temporary county seat, a log cabin was built to serve as a courthouse. In 1850 an election was held to find a permanent county seat.

 In 1861, since Dallas County was the food-producing center for North Texas, the Confederate government established a general quartermaster's and commissary headquarters for the army of the Trans-Mississippi Department there.

Throughout its history Dallas County had a vigorous Hispanic population, but it was difficult to detect in official records because until the 1960s Mexican Americans were listed as white in the census and were not enumerated as a separate group.


Addison Farmers Branch Mesquite
Balch Springs Ferris Oak Cliff
Carrollton Garland Ovilla
Cedar Hill Glenn Heights Plano
Cockrell Hill Grand Prairie Richardson
Combine Grapevine Rowlett
Coppell Highland Park Sachse
Dallas Hutchins Seagoville
DeSoto Irving Sunnyvale
Duncanville Lancaster University Park
Elam Lewisville White Rock

On-line Data

Surrounding Counties:

McLennan County (north)

Falls County (northeast)
Milam County (southeast)
Coryell County (northwest)

Back to the State of Texas Website

Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.