Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

This  Falls County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in
joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

Falls County Court House

On January 28, 1850, the state legislature formed Falls County from Limestone and Milam counties. The falls of the Brazos gave the county its name. Since Falls County was established its boundaries have not changed. The legislature stipulated that Viesca would be the county seat, but the citizens petitioned for another location because most of the residents lived east of the Brazos River. The citizens voted 20-0 in favor of Adams, which officially became the county seat on January 30, 1851. Soon after, the town was renamed Marlin in honor of the Marlin family. The settlers of Falls County came from the slaveholding South, primarily Mississippi, Tennessee, and Alabama. Marlin, the largest town and county seat.


Cities and towns

Bruceville-Eddy (mostly in McLennan County)
Chilton (unincorporated)
Golinda (partly in McLennan County)
Tomlinson Hill (unincorporated)
Westphalia (unincorporated)

On-line Data

Surrounding Counties:

Limestone County (northeast)




Robertson County (southeast)




Milam County (south)




Bell County (southwest)  



McLennan County (northwest)




Back to the State of Texas Website



Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.