Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

 This Fayette County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in your data submissions.

Fayette County Court House


Fayette County is a county located in the U.S. state of Texas. Its county seat is La Grange. The Second Congress of the Republic of Texas authorized the organization of Fayette County on December 14, 1837." The petition presented by Judge James Lester, Andrew Rabb, and John Moore, requested that the district near the dividing line between the counties of Bastrop and Colorado be formed into a county to be know as Fayette in honor of the Marquis de La Fayette, who had so materially aided the American Colonist earlier in their struggle for independence".

About 1890, the structural safety of Fayette County's third courthouse came into question, and plans began for the building of this structure to serve as the seat of justice for the county. The commissioner’s court hired San Antonio architect James Riely Gordon (1863-1937) to design the new courthouse and oversee the construction. Gordon, who was 27 years old at the time, went on to become a noted architect of public buildings in Texas. Funding for the 1890-91 court house came from the sale of $90,000 in bonds. Martin, Byrnes and Johnston of Colorado City served as building contractors. Gordon designed the courthouse in the Romanesque Revival style and specified four types of native Texas stone to detail the exterior: Blue Muldoon sandstone, Belton White limestone, Pecos Red sandstone and Pink Burnet granite. A central open atrium, designed to promote good lighting and natural ventilation, highlighted the interior space. The extensive use of stone, along with the massive arched windows and doorways, exemplify the building's Romanesque Revival influences. The oldest existing J. Riely Gordon courthouse in Texas, the Fayette County courthouse was completed in 1891. It has served as a setting for social events, celebrations, courtroom dramas and political oratory, and continues as a center of politics and government for the county. Recorded Texas Historic Landmark - 2001"

On-line Data

Surrounding Counties:

Lee County (north)

Austin County (east)

Lavaca County (south)

Caldwell County (west)


Back to the State of Texas Website


© Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.