Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

 This Johnson County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

 Johnson County Court House

Johnson County is part of the Dallas/Fort Worth Metroplex and its county seat is Cleburne.  Its name came from Middleton T. Johnson, who had served in the Mexican War, on the Texas frontier, and in the Civil War, and was later a legislator.

The County's first county seat was Wardville,  located at the present site of Lake Pat Cleburne.  In 1856 Buchanan became the county seat.  In 1867 Johnson County was split, and the western half became Hood County.  Camp Henderson became the new county seat and the settlement was renamed Cleburne in honor of Confederate General Patrick Cleburne.

The first settler of Johnson county was Henry Briden who lived in a log cabin on the Nolan River. His log cabin is still in existence today.  

This county lies above the line of the Pacific railroad (32), and is in the midst of the wheat region.  It is of quite recent organization: the lands are good and very cheap; the prairies are said to be of the best quality.  We learn that the population is increasing, by large and substantial additions of emigrants.  The famous heights, "Pilot Knob" and "Camanche Peak," are in this county.
Distance from Matagorda to the centre is 250 miles, and from Port Lavacca is 250 miles.
Source: D. E. E. BRAMAN,1857 [Transcribed by: C. Horton]

Cities and Towns





Burleson (partly in Tarrant County)




Cresson (mostly in Hood County)

Mansfield (mostly in Tarrant County)

Cross Timber

Rio Vista

Crowley (mostly in Tarrant County)

Venus (partly in Ellis County)

On-line Data

Surrounding Counties:

Tarrant County (north)


Ellis County (east)


Hill County (south)


Bosque County (southwest)


Somervell County (southwest)


Hood County (west)


Parker County (northwest)



Back to the State of Texas Website


Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.