Lamar County, Texas

Welcome to the Lamar County, Texas site.  As you know, this is an extension of Genealogy Trails.  The concept of Genealogy Trails is to make all genealogy information available to all, and to keep it free. 

We regret that we cannot perform personal research for anyone.

Although George W. Wright is often considered the first permanent settler in the area, his family settled downriver at Pecan Point in 1816 and did not actually move to the future Lamar County until 1839. The area of present Lamar County was within the boundaries of Red River County at the time of the Republic of Texas.

By 1840 population growth necessitated a new county, and legislation was introduced by representatives from Red River County. Wright, who had served in the Third Congress as a representative from Red River County, was a major promoter of the founding of Lamar County, which was established by act of the Fifth Congress of the republic on December 17, 1840, and organized by election on February 1, 1841. At the time, the county included much of what is now Delta County.

In 1870 Delta County was formed, and Lamar County was reduced to its present size. The county was named for Mirabeau B. Lamar, the fourth president of the Republic of Texas. The original county seat was Lafayette, a small settlement located several miles northwest of the site of present-day Paris. On June 22, 1841, forty acres of land was donated by John Watson for building a proper county seat, but though the town was platted, no lots were ever sold. The county court continued to meet at Lafayette, however, until the Texas Congress passed a law in 1842 requiring that each county seat be located within five miles of the geographic center of the county. Mount Vernon was made Lamar county seat in 1843, but again no courthouse was built. In 1844 Wright, who had purchased 1,000 acres near the settlement of Pinhook, offered to donate fifty acres to the county for a townsite if the county commissioners would make it the county seat. The offer was accepted, and the new town was named Paris. The first term of the county court was held there on April 29, 1844. Paris is still the county seat.

Cities and towns

Arthur City (unincorporated)
Brookston (unincorporated)
Chicota (unincorporated)
Cunningham (unincorporated)
Deport (partly in Red River County)

Pattonville (unincorporated)
Petty (unincorporated)
Powderly (unincorporated)
Sumner (unincorporated)
Sun Valley


The following links will get you around Lamar County, so please take some time to visit with us.  You never know, you might run into some family members along the way. And be sure and come back now and then, as new information will be added as we receive it.

Biographies Births Cemeteries
County Officials Deaths History
Military Pages Mortality Schedule 1850 Newspaper Clippings
Obituaries Surnames Towns, Cities, and Townships
Weddings and Anniversaries Killing of Polk Burris Professionals

 Thanks to Dale Donlon for most of the Research for this site!

 Click here to select another county

Surrounding Counties

Back to the

Visit the national site of GENEALOGY TRAILS

© Genealogy Trails