Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

 This  Limestone County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page.
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

 Limestone County Court House

Limestone County was formed from Robertson County on April 11, 1846, with Springfield, population 120, as the county seat. The organization of the county was completed on August 18, 1846, with the election of county officials. Limestone County originally included all the land between the Brazos and Trinity Rivers on the east and west, and the land north of Robertson County to Navarro County.     

In 1848 part of northern and western Limestone County was taken to form McLennan and Falls counties, and in 1850 part of the eastern section was taken to form part of Freestone County. The boundaries were changed to their present form on November 2, 1866. In 1873, the courthouse burned and after the Houston and Texas Central Railway bypassed Springfield, an election was ordered and Groesbeck became the county seat.

Cities and towns
Coolidge ~ Groesbeck ~ Kosse ~ Mart
Mexia ~ Tehuacana ~ Thornton


Pictures of Fort Parker



On-line Data


May 2017: County Records: 1900 Fugitives from Justice


Surrounding Counties:

Navarro County (north)

Freestone County (northeast)

Leon County (southeast)

Robertson County (south)

Falls County (southwest)

McLennan County (west)

Hill County (northwest)





Back to the State of Texas Website


© Copyright 2017 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.