Welcome to Texas Genealogy Trails!
*Volunteers dedicated to putting free data online.*

 This  Van Zandt County Website is available for adoption.  
If interested in joining our group, view our 
Volunteer Information Page.
[Basic webpage design knowledge and a desire to transcribe data is required]

We hope you will be able to help this site grow by sending in 
your data submissions.

Van Zant County Court House

Van Zandt County was established by the legislature in 1848 from part of Henderson County and named for Republic of Texas leader Isaac Van Zandt. Sabine Lake (Jordan's Saline) was named the county seat, a crude log courthouse was built, and court was held for the first time in December 1848. In 1850 Wood County was carved out of Van Zandt County, and the Van Zandt county seat was moved to Canton.

Throughout the 1880s and 1890s the county was buffeted by a succession of farm and associated political movements, including the Grange, Greenback Party, and the Farmers' Alliance. The People's Party, which ran on a strong pro-farmer platform, was particularly influential, and by 1892 the local chapter had 300 members. Van Zandt County was also the home base for Democratic reformer James Stephen Hogg, who had served as district attorney for the district including Van Zandt County from 1881 to 1884.

The decades of the 1880s and 1890s were a time of internal improvements. A public school system was inaugurated, and between 1887 and 1890 twenty-five new schools were constructed. Telephone service began 1892, and in 1896 a new courthouse was dedicated.

Cities and towns

Ben Wheeler (unincorporated)      Canton       Edgewood
Edom     Fruitvale
     Grand Saline
Martin's Mill (unincorporated)     Van     Wills Point

On-line Data

Biographies Births
Cemeteries Census
Churches Cities & Communities
County Records Deaths
Families History
Land Grants Legal
Marriages Military
Newspaper Clippings Obituaries



June 2017: County Records: 1900 Fugitives from Justice

Surrounding Counties:


Rains County (north)


Wood County (northeast)


Smith County (east)


Henderson County (south)


Kaufman County (west)


Hunt County (northwest)







Back to the State of Texas Website


© Copyright 2015 by Genealogy Trails with full rights reserved for original submitters.