Wisconsin Genealogy Trails
Barron County, Wisconsin
Biographies

 


Frank Algeo

Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Frank Algeo, a prominent mill man of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., and a man widely and favorably known, was born at Providence, R.I., Oct. 2, 1853, a son of Frank and Margaret (O’Rourke) Algeo, both natives of Ireland, who came to America when young people. They settled at Providence, R.I., where Frank Algeo, Sr., worked in the cotton mills many years, and in 1857 came to Juneau county, Wis., where he bought 320 acres of wild land, at a time when wild game abounded, and there was considerable danger from the Indians. Like the other pioneers of his day, he put up a log house and began to clear up the land. He lived there until his demise in 1900, his wife having passed away in 1867. He never aspired to office and voted for the one he considered the best man for the place in question. In religious matters he was a devout member of the Catholic Church. Nine children were born to the parents of our subject: John, retired, living at Manston, Wis.; Mary, deceased; Frank; Hannah, living on the old homestead; James, deceased; Charles, living on the old homestead; Margaret, deceased; Theressa, at Baraboo, Wis.; Thomas, of Cumberland, Wisconsin.
The education of Frank Algeo was secured in the log school house of the period, and when only fourteen years of age he left home and went to work out as a farm hand for two years, and was then in the woods until 1882, when he located at Cumberland as foreman for the Beaver Dam Lumber Co., and thus continued until the fall of 1890 at which time he was in full charge of the business. In 1890 Mr. Algeo took charge of the Cumberland flour mills at Cumberland, owned by Messrs. Hines & Ritman. The capacity daily is sixty-five barrels and the flour is shipped to domestic and foreign markets, the volume of business increasing with each year, especially since Mr. Algeo became the efficient manager. On Feb. 15, 1885, Mr. Algeo was married to Ella Burns, of Lyndon, Juneau Co., Wis., and nine children have been born to them, Mary, Margaret, Hattie, Frank, Thomas, Charlie, John, Irene and an infant son.
In politics Mr. Algeo was a stanch Democrat until the silver question became an issue. He served two terms as a member of the council, and one term each as assessor and supervisor, proving himself well fitted for the honors conferred upon him, and the confidence placed in his integrity and capacity. In recent years he has supported the Republican ticket. He is a devout Catholic, and is also a member of the church society of Catholic Knights. The success which has attended his efforts is certainly well merited and he is justly considered one of the leading men of Barron county.
 

J. A. Anderson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
In every community can be found men whose enterprise and energy have made them particularly conspicuous in its affairs, and whose public spirit and business sagacity have brought them popularity as well as commercial success. This is the case with J. A. Anderson, the founder and owner of the town site of Dallas, Wis., who came to that neighborhood when it was almost a wilderness, locating with his wife, on the last day of February, 1877, on a homestead claim which he purchased of Ole Knutson, who had entered it a few years previously. There, through the energies of Mr. Anderson, has arisen the present prospering town of Dallas.

Mr. Anderson was born Feb. 2, 1848, in Norway, eldest of the six children of Isaac and Carrie (Jenson) Anderson, also natives of Norway. He accompanied his parents when they came to America in 1858. They settled in Milwaukee, where they lived two years, and then moved to Eau Claire, where they were the first Norwegians to locate. Isaac Anderson was a carpenter and builder, and followed that work all his life, his death occurring in 1878. His widow still resides at Eau Claire.

J.A. Anderson attended school at Eau Claire and lived at home until his marriage, in 1873, to Miss Clara Bue. Six children were born to this union, the four survivors being Oscar, Carl, Mathew and Julius, the three latter still residing at home. Oscar was married, in 1903, to Elnora Kinney, and has charge of all his father’s interests at Colfax.

At the time of his marriage Mr. Anderson erected a home at Eau Claire, where he lived until coming to Barron county, as noted above. Upon his newly acquired land he erected a small frame building 16x20 feet in dimensions, in which he and his wife settled down to pioneer living. He immediately began making the plans which he was finally able to carry out, but at first every movement was hampered. The nearest sawmill was ten miles distant, over execrable roads, and his base of all supplies was far away. His first effort, after completing his house, was the building of a dam on the Big Pine Creek, and during the summer of 1878, he built here a gristmill, a small stone structure, which was operated in the old way until 1886, when he introduced burrs and rollers, this being the first mill so equipped in Barron county. During 1880, Mr. Anderson constructed a sawmill with steam power and operated it for sixteen years, selling out then to E. Erickson, who still owns the property.

The building of these mills made the settlement grow in importance, and the neighborhood became more thickly settled by pioneers who wished to remain permanently in that section of the county. In 1900 the building of the railroad opened up a new era in the development of the hamlet. The securing of a railway outlet for the town had been agitated for over a period of several years, and three different surveys had been made in 1893, and a portion of the proposed line, that between Cameron and Rice Lake, had been constructed. Owing to financial embarrassment the enterprise was delayed, and eventually it passed into the hands of George Fuller, of St. Paul, who associated with him George Hass, of Chicago.

In 1899 Mr. Fuller negotiated with the "Soo" Company to undertake the construction of the road above mentioned. The old survey was abandoned and a new line was run from Barron to Dallas by way of Dallas. Construction soon followed, and trains were being operated by September, 1899, and it is considered that this line is one of the best paying ones in Northern Wisconsin. To obtain this road was a work of no small preparation, many difficulties arising which required all the tact and diplomacy, and all the money, that could be contributed by the public-spirited citizens.

Foremost among the leaders in this matter was J.A. Anderson, who labored unceasingly for this end for seven years, giving his time, contributing funds to meet expenses, giving the right of way, and donating depot and surrounding grounds. Mr. Anderson still owns the town site. The place was platted in 1891. He owns also residence holdings in Dallas, a large hotel building, a gristmill, planing mill, two store buildings, the water rights along 300 acres of fine land, and, at Colfax, in connection with his son Oscar, is also a large investor. There he owns the electric light system and water rights, and in 1895 he constructed a flouring mill and dam. The first mill was destroyed by fire in 1902, but in the following years it was followed by a substantial three-story stone structure.

In 1893, Mr. Anderson, associated with N.M. Rockman and G. Johnson, established the Normania Savings Bank, with a capital of $3,000, this being the first Scandinavian bank in this part of the State. For three years Mr. Anderson served as its first president and then sold his interest to Mr. Rockman, and the bank is still in operation. In 1902, the Dallas Bank, a private financial institution, was organized, with a capital of $3,000, paid up, with George Voeland, of Colfax, president; J.A. Anderson, vice-president; and E. Engh, cashier. In 1903 this bank was reorganized under the State banking laws, and with a paid up capital of $5,000. The present officers are J.A. Anderson, president; H. Halvorsen, vice-president; and E. Engh, cashier.

In an article of limited space, it impossible to give Mr. Anderson anything like the credit his enterprise deserves. Some of the results may be enumerated, but the drawbacks with which he was obliged to contend, and the obstacles he had to overcome, can only be appreciated by those who have assumed like burdens. In 1900 he put in a telephone exchange in the village, and in 1901 he constructed a long distance line between Dallas and Colfax, the two towns being thirty miles apart. These lines have connection with outside lines throughout the whole Northwest. In 1902 he also put in a telephone exchange at Colfax, and he is the owner and operator of the whole system.

Both Mr. Anderson and wife are members of the Lutheran church. The first Norwegian church services ever held in Eau Claire were in his father’s home, and he largely assisted his father in the construction of the first church edifice ever built at Eau Claire. Although Mr. Anderson has taken some interest in politics, this has not been a leading feature in his very useful life. He has supported the principles of the Republican party on all occasions, but with no desire for personal advancement. Locally he has been as prominent in educational movements as in commercial enterprises, believing thoroughly in the superior benefits of an intelligent community. He has served on school boards and has shown much personal interest in the matter. At the present time he is president of the village of Dallas. During his long and busy life Mr. Anderson has accomplished wonders, but the end is not yet, for he is full of plans for the future, which, when carried to fruition, will redound to his own credit, as well as to the benefit of those who have found here homes and fortune through his courage and enterprise.
 

James Atkinson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
James Atkinson, one of the capable and successful business men of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born in St. Louis, Mo., April 20, 1852, a son of Dr. John R. and Sarah Ann (Selkirk) Atkinson.
Dr. John R. Atkinson was a native of Liverpool and studied medicine in England. He came to the United States when a young man, locating in Illinois. Later he removed to St. Louis, Mo., where he engaged in a large practice for some years. At the beginning of the war he enlisted in the Union army and was made paymaster of the Western division. For three years he was engaged in that service and did valiant service of many kinds for his country.

At the close of the war Dr. Atkinson went to New York and speculated on Wall street, where he met with reverses, a man of his integrity of purpose and broadness of mind not being fitted to cope with those who make manipulation of stocks their life business. He afterwards became city editor and dramatic critic of the New York News, a Democratic paper, although he himself was a Republican. The death of this truly great man occurred at Quebec when he was sixty-five years of age, and the world thereby lost a man of unusual attainments, both as a physician and an author. Dr. Atkinson was related to the famous Howard family of England, and was a half brother of Dr. Robert Dunglison, of Philadelphia, author of the Dunglison Medical Directory. His widow died at Quebec at about the same age as her husband. She was a daughter of Alexander Selkirk, who came from Scotland, a lineal descendant of his namesake "Robinson Crusoe," and who for some time acted as bookkeeper for a firm of iron manufacturers at St. Louis. James Atkinson was educated in a private school on Broad street, Philadelphia, studied bookkeeping at Gregar Munford’s business college and has occupied positions of trust and responsibility, where his knowledge of that science has stood him in good stead. In February, 1879, he located at Rice Lake to take the position of timekeeper for Knapp, Stout & Co., well-known lumbermen. Two years later he became bookkeeper, and still later, chief manager of the interests of this firm at Rice Lake for a number of years. After the business was sold to the Wisconsin Power Co., Mr. Atkinson was its chief manager for a time and still looks after the real estate interests of that vast corporation in the vicinity. In addition to his other interests, Mr. Atkinson has become the owner of some valuable lands, and in handling them has built up a very flourishing real estate business.

In politics Mr. Atkinson is a Democrat and he has served several years as a member of the council of Rice Lake, and during his last term he was president of that body.
Mr. Atkinson married first in 1870, Laura Nedeau, who died in 1878, leaving two children, now deceased. In 1880, Mr. Atkinson married Anna Peterson, of Rice Lake, who died about 1885, leaving no children. His third wife was Florence E. Gibbs, of Chicago, born at Reed’s Landing, Minn., a most charming lady, refined and cultured, an earnest worker in the Presbyterian Church. Three children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Atkinson, Ruth, Montgomery and Neal. Mr. Atkinson is himself a Catholic and he belongs to the M.W.A.
 

Isaac George Babcock, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Among the eminent representative of the medical profession of Barron county, Wis., none has more friends or stands higher with all classes of people than Dr. Isaac G. Babcock, of Cumberland, who inherits his medical skill from his father, also a skillful physician.

Dr. Babcock was born at Afton, Minn., son of Benjamin F. and Amelia (Van Vleck) Babcock, natives, respectively, of Camden and Peterboro, N.Y. Both parents were reared in the East, and were married in Stillwater, Minn. Dr. Benjamin F. Babcock was educated in Ithaca, N.Y. Later he studied medicine at Camden and Rome, N.Y. In 1853 he moved West, locating at Superior, Wis. After three years later he went to Stillwater, Minn. After three or four years there he went to Afton, Minn., and there died in 1870. His widow survives, now making her home at Cumberland, Wis., and is a member of the Congregational Church, which her husband also attended. In addition to Isaac G. there was one other child, Henry, now a successful dentist at No. 401 Baltimore street, St. Paul, Minnesota.

Isaac George Babcock secured his education at the St. Croix Valley Academy, after which for a year he went to the St. Paul University, and thence he went to Bellevue Hospital Medical College, New York, from which he was graduated in 1888. His first location was at Stockholm, Wis., but after a year he went to Red Wing, Minn., and was with Dr. P.E. Jones for a year, when, in 1890, he located at Cumberland, and commenced what has developed into a very flourishing practice.

In 1882 Dr. Babcock married Miss Melina Squires, of Afton, Minn., and five children have been born to them: Minnie, Frank, Florence, Grace and George. For the past twelve years, Dr. Babcock has been a member and secretary of the school board; he is greatly interested in school work, and has been largely instrumental in securing the excellent school system which now prevails. He is a member of the American Medical Association; the Wisconsin State Medical Association; the Inter-County Medical Association; Barron, Rusk and Polk County Medical Association, and has been the secretary of the last named since its organization. Fraternally, he is a member of the K. of P., Lodge No. 52 of Cumberland, and he is also a Mason, belonging to Blue Lodge, No. 223 of Cumberland. He and his wife attend the Cumberland Congregational Church, to which he is a liberal contributor. His practice is a very large one, extending over Cumberland and the vicinity, and is only restricted by lack of time. Dr. Babcock is a man of experience, as well as education, and has been exceedingly successful in his practice. Not only is he a skillful physician, but he possesses the many other qualities so necessary in a doctor, and cures as much by his cheery, helpful manner and words, as with his medicines and knowledge.
 

Mahlon P. Barry
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Mahlon P. Barry, an influential citizen of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born at Walton, Delaware Co., N.Y., Oct. 22, 1836, a son of Rev. Alfred C. and Adelia (Robertson) Barry, both natives of New York State.
Grandfather Azel Barry for many years a magistrate at Victor, Ontario Co., N.Y., in 1840 moved to Wisconsin, locating on a farm near Honey Creek, Racine county, where he lived to be nearly seventy years of age. His wife, Dinah E. Butler, came of Revolutionary stock.  Rev. Alfred C. Barry, the father, who was a Universalist minister, came to Wisconsin in 1846. He was one of the most eloquent preachers of his day, and for many years had charge of the church of his faith at Racine, and was also stationed at Elkhorn. His wife was born in Delavan county, N.Y. She lost her father when a child, and her mother, Mrs. Susanna Robertson, spent the remainder of her life at Racine.

Mahlon P. Barry was carefully educated, attending first the schools of his neighborhood, then Racine high school and the college of the same city, after which he became a traveling salesman for the J.I. Case Threshing Machine Co., and thus continued for several years. April 23, 1861, he enlisted in Company F, W.V.I., and was honorably discharged in July, 1862. He served in the famous Iron Brigade and enlisting as a private, was discharged as quartermaster sergeant.

Returning home, Mr. Barry became traveling freight agent for the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad, and later general lumber agent for that same road. Still later he became general freight agent for the Wisconsin Central Railroad, with headquarters at St. Paul, and thus continued for five years. In 1894 he located at Rice Lake, taking charge of the construction and operation of the Blueberry Railroad between Cameron and Rice Lake, and was its general manager and only resident official for five years, or until that road was sold to the St. Paul, Minneapolis & Sault Ste. Marie Railroad. Since then Mr. Barry has been engaged in a general real estate and fire insurance business and represents some of the leading companies in his line. Mr. Barry has been appointed justice of the peace and is proving a very efficient and capable man in the right place. In religious matters he attends the Christian Science Church. Like many of the old soldiers, he is prominent in the G.A.R., belonging to M.W. Heller Post, No. 166, of which he is commander. He is also a 32nd degree Mason and belongs to De Molay Commandery, of Lyons, Iowa.
 

Alonzo J. Barton, deceased
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
In the long struggle between the North and the South many men of simple, unostentatious life showed themselves to be of the metal of heroes, and by their deeds of bravery, both moral and physical, set a high standard of character for those who should follow them. One such was Alonzo J. Barton, of Sumner, Barron county, who was born Feb. 23, 1836, and passed away Oct. 14, 1888, loved and respected by all who knew him.

Mr. Barton was born in Chautauqua county, N.Y., and spent his early life there on a farm, receiving his education in the public schools of the State. At the breaking out of the Rebellion he enlisted in Company E, 9th N.Y.V. Cav. and served with his regiment in many engagements, till finally he was taken prisoner, Oct. 11, 1863. He was confined in Libby prison but succeeded in making his escape in a most daring manner. Securing in some way a Rebel coat he walked out in broad daylight and made his way unchallenged to a point about thirty miles from Richmond, but there he was recaptured and this time confined in Castle Meade. For thirty-six days he was kept in a dungeon, receiving the most inhuman treatment. Happily he had strength to survive these hardships, but nevertheless contracted asthma from his exposure and sufferings and was a great sufferer from it for the remainder of his life. In May, 1864, he was paroled, but after the expiration of his parole, re-enlisted with his regiment and remained with it till finally discharged in November, 1865. For his bravery and valiant deeds he was promoted until he was finally made sergeant-major. After returning from the war, Mr. Barton was married July 4, 1866, to Miss Lucy J. Covell, like himself, a native of New York, born in 1840. Mrs. Barton is still living and makes her home in Port Orchard, Washington, with a daughter. The children born to this couple were five in number: Bertrand E., of Barron, Wis.; Winifred L. and Willard L., twins, the former now Mrs. Percy J. Hudson, of Port Orchard; Mabel I., also of Port Orchard and Blanche E., who died Dec. 9, 1899, aged twenty-one years.

A year after his marriage Mr. Barton and his wife moved West and settled first in Houston county, Minn., where they remained till 1872. They then went to Wisconsin, locating first at Eau Claire and later at Sumner, Barron county, where they took a homestead and settled permanently. In addition to the conduct of his farm, Mr. Barton took an active part in politics and filled several offices. A Republican in his party affiliations, he was elected sheriff in the fall of 1865 and in 1879 was again chosen for that office. In 1884 he was elected register of deeds, and filled both offices to the utmost satisfaction of his constituents. Mr. Barton was also an active worker in fraternal circles, belonging to Barron Lodge, F. & A.M., to the Knights of Pythias, of Rice Lake, and was also a member of the John A. Logan Union Veteran Union, Martin Watson Post.

"Lon" Barton, as he was familiarly called, was held in the warmest affection by his many friends, and his death left a long felt void in their hearts. His character was one of unusual beauty, with a deep love for truth, honesty and uprightness that scorned every suggestion of meanness, while to his friends he was loyalty and devotion itself.


Willard L. Barton
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Willard L. Barton, second son of the above and a well-known citizen of Barron county, was born in Houston, Minn., Dec. 17, 1871. The following year his father settled in Barron county and the boy was brought up there on the homestead, receiving his education in the public schools. He remained at home till 1885, when he removed to Barron, where he still resides, though actively engaged in managing his 140-acre farm near that city. Like his father, Mr. W. L. Barton has been an active worker in the Republican ranks; in 1897-98 served as deputy register of deeds, was elected register in the fall of 1898, and re-elected in 1900, thus serving four years in all.

Mr. Barton’s marriage occurred March 26, 1901, when he was united to Miss Hattie L. Blodgett, daughter of Albin and Rose L. Blodgett, of Barron. Mrs. Barton was born in Dunn county, Wis. She has borne her husband three children, Bethel, Lawrence and Ethel. The family are connected with the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. Barton and his wife are well known in Barron, where they have many friends and are looked upon with the highest esteem by all.

William O. Barton
(1923)
Source: History of Wood County, Wisconsin (1923) compiled by George O. Jones, page 373; submitted by Marla Zwakman
William O. Barton, a millwright employed in the Consolidated Water Power and Paper Co. at Biron, Wood County, was born at Plymouth, Ind., April 14, 1861, son of John Wesley and Louisa (Kincade) Barton. The father was born and reared in Tennessee and the mother in Indiana, in which latter state they followed farming until they came to Wisconsin previous to the Civil War and settled in Dunn County on farm land. The removal proved somewhat of a task, as they had to make four trips between Dunn County and Indiana before they were finally settled. Later they moved to Barron, Wis., where also they engaged in agriculture. John W. Barton is now 84 years old and retired, residing near Ladysmith, Wis. His wife, Louise, died 26 years ago. They had two sons and three daughters, those now living being Jennie, Ida, Isaac H. and William O. Jennie married Hamilton Frisinger and resides in Indiana. Ida is the wife of Louis Salisbury and lives in Buffalo County, Wis. Isaac H. resides in the vicinity of Ladysmith. William O. Barton was reared in Indiana, where he attended school. His first work was on the home farm and he was also occupied for three years in carpenter work. In 1881, a young man of 20, he went to Barron County, this state, where he found employment in sawmills, a line of industry that he followed for a number of years. He was two years in St. Croix County and two years in Haywood, and then went to Menomonie, where for 13 years he was in the brick business. The next two years he spent on a farm in Barron County, after which he went to Wisconsin Rapids and worked four years in the brick business there. Then followed a year of railroading, and after that Mr. Barton came to Biron and took his present position as millwright with the Consolidated Water Power & Paper Co., being employed in the mill at Wisconsin Rapids. For some years he has been a popular citizen of Biron village, of which he was elected clerk in 1913, and is still serving. He also served one year as assessor and one year as trustee. On June 16, 1886, Mr. Barton was married at Menomonie, Wis., to Masaret R. Cormican, daughter of John W. and Elizabeth Cormican. The parents, who settled many years ago in Menomonie, have both passed away. Mr. and Mrs. Barton have had 12 children, one of whom, Flossie, is dead. The survivors are: Victor B., of Wisconsin Rapids; Harry, of the same place; Lloyd, also of that place; Pearl, who married Oscar Omaholt of Rudolf, have two children; Harriet, wife of John Gaulke of Portage County; Lottie, wife of Charles Kahring of Park Falls; Beatrice, a school teacher at Stratford; and Orvill, Clifford, Leslie and Mildred, who are living at home. Lloyd, who enlisted for service in the World War, was in the 120th Field Artillery, and after serving 23 months in France, returned home and was honorably discharged; married Grace Roher of Clintonville, Wis., April 16, 1920.

Capt. John C. Beckwith
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Capt. John C. Beckwith, who is the efficient and well-known clerk of the Circuit court of Barron county, is a native of the Empire State, having been born in Livingston county Aug. 13, 1841. He is descended from New England parentage, being a son of John G. and Mary A. (Garrison) Beckwith, the former of whom was born in the historic city of Hartford, Conn., the latter in Saugerties, N.Y. Capt. Beckwith’s paternal grandfather, John Beckwith, was a scion of a Colonial family, members of which served in the patriot army during the Revolutionary war which gave independence to the American colonies. About 1840 he moved to Ohio, where his death occurred. The Captain’s maternal grandfather, Henry Garrison, was likewise descended from a Colonial family, and during the Revolutionary war was impressed by the British and forced into the ranks of the Royal army to fight against his compatriots. A family tradition has it that his wife, upon the occasion of his being taken away by the King’s soldiers, ran after them and offered as a ransom for his liberty a number of gold pieces carried in her apron, which were rejected. He however, remained loyal to his country, and when an opportunity came deserted and joined himself to Washington’s army, with which he remained until the end of the war. Capt. Beckwith’s father was reared in Hartford. There in his early life he was employed in an axe factory. Later he removed to the State of New York and followed the trade of painting in Albany. He came to Wisconsin in 1871, and died in Barron at the age of seventy-four years. While living in Barron county he acceptably filled the offices of justice of the peace and deputy sheriff. His wife departed this life in 1900, aged seventy-six years.

Capt. Beckwith’s opportunities for obtaining an education were limited. He had not yet reached his majority when the South withdrew from the Union, inaugurating Civil war. He became animated with the spirit of his Revolutionary forebears, and felt it to be his duty he helped preserve what they had helped to found, an indivisible union, and accordingly, on Oct. 5, 1862, attached himself to Company D, 6th N.Y.V.I., being mustered in as a corporal. For fourteen months following his enlistment he was in active service, and took part in some of the hard fought battles of the war. At Gettysburg he received a wound in the neck. For meritorious service in that battle he was promoted to sergeant and later to first lieutenant, and owing to disabilities incurred in the service he was discharged in December, 1863. After recovering his health he received a commission as recruiting agent, and enlisted Company D, 187th N.Y.V.I., of which he was appointed captain. With his command he returned to the front, remaining in active service, fighting at Fredericksburg and other engagements. In one of the battles before Petersburg, his regiment, while charging a Rebel battery which it captured, lost seventy men. During the last year of his service, his company had charge of the regimental colors. He remained in active service until the war was over, being present at Appomattox, where the intrepid Lee laid down his sword to the "Silent Commander."

Captain Beckwith came to Wisconsin, settling in Columbia county in 1871, and there remained his residence for three years. While living there he suffered the loss of his home by fire, and was unable to collect an insurance policy of fourteen hundred dollars, owing to the insolvency of the company. In 1873 he came to Barron county, then practically a virgin forest, and established himself upon a homestead claim in Barron township, which he still owns. In the civic and social affairs of the county he has taken a creditable part. His political creed is embraced in the principles of the Republican party, to which he has remained a stanch adherent throughout all the years he has exercised his suffrage at the polls. His first Presidential vote was cast for the martyred Lincoln, while a soldier in the field. While living in Barron county Capt. Beckwith has had a voice in the local councils of his party and frequently has been its representative to local conventions. At the fall election of 1902 he was elected to his present position, and in 1904, was renominated by acclamation. For twenty years he acceptably served his townsmen as justice of the peace. He is a charter member of Martin Watson Post, G.A.R., of which he is the present Commander. He is also a member of the Masonic fraternity.

Capt. Beckwith was married, in 1883, to Anna, daughter of James and Mary (Stuart) Craig, the former a native of Scotland. Mrs. Beckwith was born in New York. To this union have been born nine living children: Mary, Mrs. Silas Calhoun, of Vernon county, Wis.; George W., of Polk county, same State; Emma, Mrs. William Bartlett, of Barron; William, of the same place; Harry, of Chetek; and Sarah, Jennie, Etta and Edwin who are still at home. The posterity of Capt. Beckwith and his wife includes eleven grandchildren.


Charles F. Bone
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Charles F. Bone, senior editor of the Rice Lake Times, was born at Erie, Pa., Feb. 20, 1844, a son of Francis and Johanna (Donevan) Bone, natives of Erie county. Grandfather John Bone came from Scotland and was made lighthouse keeper at Erie, retaining that position for fourteen years. Being a Whig, he was removed by President Jackson, in common with others, who were made victims of the "Spoils" system. The maternal grandfather, James Donevan, fought in Napoleon’s famous Irish Legion, and later came to the United States, settling on a farm in Erie county, Pa. His wife, who bore the maiden name of Stanley, was of Pennsylvania Dutch stock.

Francis Bone was a carpenter by trade, and about 1849 he moved to Illinois, living at Waukegan. Later he went back to Erie, Pa., where he died in 1852. His widow married Samuel F. Ferguson, and they moved in 1854 to Neillsville, Wis., which was then twenty-five miles from a postoffice. At that place both died.

In October, 1861, Charles F. Bone enlisted in Company I, 14th Wis. V.I., and was mustered out Oct. 9, 1865, as a corporal. He participated in twenty-four engagements, and was shot through the right ear at Vicksburg, but otherwise escaped without injury. At the close of the war he learned the printer’s trade, and in 1874 located at Rice Lake, where he was employed on the Chronotype, of which he became editor, and so continued for nine years. Then, in the fall of 1887, he bought the Rice Lake Times, and is still conducting same. This well-known newspaper was founded in 1883 by C. W. Angel, but was later owned by the Times Publishing Company. It is a Democratic organ, and is conducted along lines which make it an excellent local paper. Mr. Bone has always taken a prominent part in local affairs, and before the city of Rice Lake was incorporated was chairman of the town for four years. In 1890 he was elected its mayor and gave his people a clean business administration.  On April 26, 1877, Mr. Bone married Annie M. Pettit, daughter of Lemuel Pettit, of Barron township, Barron county. Two children have been born of this marriage: Harry L., connected with the Times and also treasurer of the city; and Florence, a most charming young lady.

T. W. Borum
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
T. W. Borum, of Barron, Wis., is superintendent of agencies, Wisconsin and Northern Michigan, for the W.W. Kimball Company, manufacturers of pianos, pipe organs, reed organs, self-playing instruments, at Chicago, Illinois.

Edgar Newton Bowers
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Edgar Newton Bowers, publisher of the Rice Lake Chronotype, and one of the representative men of Barron county, was born at Roxbury, Dane Co., Wis., eldest son of Luman B. and Mary (Chase) Bowers.
Luman B. Bowers was born at Lyme, Jefferson county, N.Y., in 1832, and his parents, Zachariah and Adeline (Hubbard) Bowers, were natives of the same county. Luman B. Bowers came to Wisconsin when he was twelve years old, residing in Waukesha county until 1848, when he removed to Dane county, and still later to Trempealeau county. On Feb. 22, 1864, at the call of his country, he enlisted in Company K, 36th Wis. V.I., and served until July 12, 1865, when he was mustered out at Jefferson, Ind. At the close of the war this gallant soldier went to Chippewa county and located at the town of Auburn, where he still lives, respected by all who know him.

Edgar N. Bowers was born Nov. 4, 1854, and in 1865 was taken by his parents to Chippewa county, where he assisted in improving the homestead, and whenever opportunity offered he attended school until he was able to secure a certificate. After teaching for some time this ambitious young man attended the Wesleyan Seminary at Eau Claire, Wis., two terms beginning in 1879, and was for some time at the Northern Indiana Normal school, at Valparaiso, and also the Normal school at River Falls, Wis., after which he taught again for ten years. Later he studied law for a period, but all this time his inclinations were for a literary life. He spent a year traveling through California and other western States, residing in Los Angeles during the summer of 1887, where he worked for a life insurance company. In 1890 Mr. Bowers purchased the Bloomer Advance, and built this publication up from the very bottom into one of the best papers in that section, and one which made money rapidly. In 1896 Mr. Bowers became the owner of the Rice Lake Chronotype, with which he has worked wonders. This paper was founded in 1874, by C. W. Carpenter, and is the oldest paper at Rice Lake and in Barron county. It is recognized as an exponent of the best ideas of the Republican party, and its editorials are extensively quoted, not only locally, but by the papers in the larger cities. Mr. Bowers has always been a Republican, for four years serving on the county board of supervisors, and was chairman of the committee on finance and equalization. So diplomatic was he in the latter position that he preserved harmony, and satisfied even the most carping of his constituents. For some years past he has been chairman of the Republican City Central Committee, and for a long period has been secretary of the county central committee of his party, a position he now holds. Mr. Bowers was one of the incorporators of the Rice Lake Mutual Fire Insurance Company, and has acted as its secretary since the organization of the concern.

Mr. Bowers has been twice married, his first union, in February, 1890, being to Mary C. Brown, daughter of Charles Brown, of Dansville, N.Y. She died in 1894, leaving one child, Ina Mabel. For his second wife Mr. Bowers married Stella G. Mohr, a native of Boyd, Wis. Mr. and Mrs. Bowers have two living children, Newton and Miriam. The family attend the Presbyterian Church. Fraternally Mr. Bowers is a Mason, belonging to the local lodge and chapter. He is also a member of the I.O.O.F., local lodge and Encampment, and the M.W.A., and has filled offices in all of these organizations.


Lewis P. Charles
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Lewis P. Charles, editor and business manager of the Chetek Alert, made his advent into the journalistic field less than a year ago, when he assumed the position on the Alert, which he has since ably filled. Mr. Charles was born in Watsontown, Northumberland Co., Pa., July 9, 1876, son of Henry C. and Permelia (Potter) Charles, both of whom were born in the "Keystone" State. His father was a gallant soldier in the Civil war, in which arduous service he contracted disabilities which eventuated in his death, in 1881. The mother, a woman of heroic courage and true motherly devotion to her fatherless children, of whom there were four, resolutely undertook to provide for their maintenance and elementary education. With devoted zeal to laudable purpose, she, unaided, achieved all that she set out to gain. Lewis P. is the only son of the family, and with the natural interest in an only boy, she carefully and wisely planned for his future usefulness.

By the time Lewis P. Charles was twelve years old he had acquired a fair knowledge of the rudimentary English branches. At this period of his career he became an inmate in the home of an uncle, a farmer living near Harrisburg, where the succeeding two years of his life were spent, having the advantage of attending the high school during this time. Subsequently he became apprenticed to J.G. Orth, of Steelton, a manufacturing baker, where he learned every detail of the business. In all he was engaged in the baker business five years, his last position being that of foreman in one of the large establishments in Harrisburg. He liked his work and had succeeded so well that before he was twenty years of age he was filling a responsible position. It was at this period he got the "Western fever," as he expresses it, the contagion having been communicated to him by relatives in northern Wisconsin. In September, 1896, he reached Superior. Times were dull there then, and positions were wholly wanting. In consequence thereof the young man worried through several idle months. His mother, always watchful and solicitous for his welfare, and with an ambition to see her boy filling a higher place in the world than his trade promised, urged him to take a collegiate course, preparatory to a professional career. This he was reluctant to do. It savored too much of surrender, of bowing down to defeat, and was galling to his pride. In the end he assented to his mother’s wish, and in February, 1897, he entered the State Normal School at Superior, booking for the four-year German course, and for fourteen weeks diligently pursued his studies without intermission. The question of revenue presented itself then, and to raise same necessitated a temporary abandonment of study. Securing a certificate to teach he engaged a district school at Pratt, Wis., which he successfully taught during two school years. The succeeding year he had charge of the graded school at Mason, Wis. Having by this time replenished his exchequer, he returned to the State Normal and resumed his studies at the breaking off place, three years before. Applying himself to his studies with renewed energy he completed the studies of the four years’ course at the end of this school year, in a length of time unexcelled by any other student of the college – two years and fourteen weeks – and was graduated in June, 1902. For the following autumn he was called to accept the principalship of the Chetek high school, in which position he so creditably acquitted himself that he was chosen to succeed himself, but he declined the honor of the appointment to accept a position with the Home Life Insurance Company, of New York, with which he remained six months and was eminently successful. His resignation therefrom was induced by an advantageous opportunity presenting itself for a journalistic career, for which work he long had a predilection, and in March, 1904, in co-partnership with J.W. Bell, bought the Chetek Alert, Mr. Charles assuming the duties of editor and business manager. He has had the qualification, both natural and acquired, that makes the successful newspaper man. To be great in any calling one must instinctively know something of that calling, and editor Charles has the genuine newspaper instinct. He has made the Alert one of the best newspapers in Barron county, each issue being replete with an abundance of local news, and its editorial page has the merit of a striking individualism which is the impress of his own commanding personality. He had made the Alert the exponent of every social, commercial and industrial interest that in any way affects its many readers, and is of almost incalculable benefit to the community.

Mr. Charles is a member of the Republican county central committee and is also secretary of the Press Association of Barron county. Fraternally he affiliates with the Masons, the Maccabees and the Woodmen.

T. A. Charron, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., is particularly blessed in the matter of physicians, there being within its confines a number of distinguished representatives of the medical calling, among whom Dr. T. A. Charron is one of the most popular, although he is still a young man.

Dr. Charron was born at St. Hubert, Chambly Co., Quebec, Sept. 29, 1860, of French origin, son of John B. and Delphine (Daigneault) Charron, both natives of Chambly county. John B. Charron was a farmer who lived to be seventy-three years of age. His father attained the advanced age of eighty-nine years, and was killed by a fall. Twelve children were born to John B. Charron and his wife, eight sons and four daughters.

Dr. Charron had excellent advantages for securing an education, having been sent to the Montreal College, from the Medical Department of which college he was graduated in 1887. Immediately thereafter he came to Rice Lake and commenced what has grown into a very large and lucrative practice. In addition to his labors as a physician, Dr. Charron owns 312 acres of land in the vicinity of Rice Lake, on which he has a fine dairy, and makes a specialty of breeding Poland China swine and Short Horn cattle. He is also the proprietor of two creameries, one being located at Rice Lake and the other at Dobie. Dr. Charron has been active in politics, and for four years has served as mayor of Rice Lake, conducting the affairs of the town with the same keen foresight he has used in his private affairs, and becoming thereby still more popular.

Dr. Charron is connected with the M.W.A., the A.O.U.W. and the Catholic Knights, for all of which he is medical examiner. He is also a member of the American Medical Association and in the Inter-County Medical Association, and is much valued in these professional organizations.

In 1886 Dr. Charron married Cecilia Dorris, daughter of N. Dorris, of Montreal, and granddaughter on the maternal side of Painsonncault Louis, one of the patriots in the Rebellion of 1837 in Canada. This remarkable old gentleman reached the advanced age of ninety-three years. One daughter has been born to Dr. and Mrs. Charron, Marie Irene, now a student at the Convent of the Holy Name of Montreal.

Clarence Clinton Coe
Source: The Wisconsin Blue Book (1919) page 474; transcribed by FoFG mz
CLARENCE CLINTON COE (Rep.) is a lawyer and banker of Barron. He was born in Sterling, Ill., Jan. 4, 1864, was educated in the country school and Sterling (Second Ward) High School and was graduated from the University of Wisconsin Law school with the class of 1888. He immediately began to practice law in Barron, served as district attorney of Barron county from 1889 to 1891 and municipal judge from 1892 to 1900. With his brother he owns the Barron County Abstract Co. He has been president of the Almena State Bank since its incorporation and is also director in several other banks. He was elected to the assembly in 1918, receiving 1,956 votes to 667 for C. A. Beggs (Ind.).

David H. Cole
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
David H. Cole, a prosperous and eminently successful mill owner of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., was born at Mallorytown, Lower Canada, in 1858, a son of John and Elizabeth Cole, of Canada.
John Cole was a carpenter by trade. He went West in 1861, settling in St. Croix County, Wis., where he worked at his trade, and also secured eighty acres of wild land. This he cleared, living upon it until his death, which occurred Dec. 25, 1903. While an active Republican, he never desired or accepted office. In religious matters he was a member of the M.E. Church. Nine children were born to himself and wife: Elizabeth, of Barron county; Julius, of Hudson, Wis.; Mary, of Downsville, Wis.; John, a carpenter; David H.; Phineas, a carpenter and farmer living in Weston, Canada; William, a teamster of Ashland, Wis.; Eri, of St. Paul; and Hester, also of St. Paul.
David H. Cole had but little opportunity to go to school, and when he attended it was necessary to walk two miles through snow along country roads. Until he attained his majority he remained at home, when he married July 4, 1879, Anna S. Keyes, of Canada, daughter of William and Jane (Bowers) Keyes, also of Canada, who came to St. Croix county about 1860, took up land and made a home for themselves. Mr. Keyes died on the homestead, but his widow still survives and makes her home at Hammond, Wis. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Keyes: (1) David H., of Cumberland, Wis., married Mary Thomas. He came to this city in 1879, and first engaged in the hotel business, and later opened up a store in partnership with our subject, which was continued for two years; since 1895, they have divided their interests between their mercantile venture and a stave and heading mill at Cumberland, which was burned in 1897, and immediately rebuilt. (2) Anna S. is the wife of David H. Cole. (3) Caroline married J.N. McGregor, of Cumberland. (4) Charles is a farmer of Hammond, Wisconsin. One child has come to Mr. and Mrs. Cole, William H., who was born June 30, 1880, and is now attending college at Minneapolis. He is a fine musician and a very intelligent young man, who has traveled to a considerable extent, and has made good use of his time.
After his marriage Mr. Cole learned and worked at the carpenter trade for several years, later learning the trade of millwright and saw-filing. He came to Cumberland, Wis., in 1883. He has always been a very active man, and in conjunction with his brother-in-law, David H. Keyes, is doing a flourishing business, he attending to much of the practical work. While their business is a large one, extensive plans are being laid to embrace a much wider field of operation, and to increase the number of their patrons.
Like his father, Mr. Cole has never had either time or inclination for office, although he votes the Republican ticket. His business associates as well as personal friends, hold him in high esteem, and have the utmost confidence in his ability and integrity.


George B. Cook
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
George B. Cook, manager of Cook’s Land Agency, with offices at Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., is one of the busy and enterprising citizens of that place. He is a son of Atwell J. and Mary T. (Cook) Cook, the latter of whom came of old Connecticut ancestry, of Scotch-Irish and German descent. Her parents later settled at Oswego, N.Y. Her father, William H. Cook, was a Connecticut Yankee, and her mother, Nancy (Rector) Cook, of Holland and English and Irish descent, was from New York.

Atwell J. Cook was born Aug. 25, 1818, at Vernon, Windham Co., Vt., a son of Ziba and Lydia (Thomas) Cook. His grandfather, Oliver Cook, was one of the "Green Mountain boys" of Revolutionary fame, and was a captain under Gen. Washington, and both his father and grandfather were captains in the war of 1812. Atwell J. was the youngest of eight children and is the only one surviving. In 1835 his widowed mother went with her son to Jefferson county, N.Y., making the journey by ox-team, and thence went to Canada. Atwell Cook left Canada in 1839 and went to Syracuse, N.Y., where he worked at his trade of turner, later going to Oswego, and then to Fulton, where he completed his studies in architecture and mechanical engineering. In 1852 he went to Dowagiac, Mich., in 1854 to Dubuque, Iowa, and in 1855 to Winona, Minn., where he built a flouring-mill, being a millwright. There he lived until 1859, when he went to Fountain City, Wis., living there until 1863, and thence removed to Whitehall, Wis., where he resided until the fall of 1866, with the exception of the time spent in serving his country during the Civil war. In the fall of 1866 the family moved to Monticello, Iowa, returning to Whitehall in the fall of 1868.

In June, 1861, Mr. Cook enlisted in Company H, 6th Wis. V.I., and served in the Army of the Potomac, belonging to the famous Iron Brigade, which was held as a reserve force near Washington, D.C., during his time of actual service. On account of ill health he was confined in the hospital several months, and he contracted rheumatism in the army which has troubled him ever since. He was discharged May 14, 1862.

On Nov. 14, 1875, Mr. Cook arrived in Cumberland and took up a homestead of fifty-two acres, where he engaged in farming for a number of years. In 1901 he removed to Bayfield to make his home with a daughter, Mrs. John Hopkins, where he still resides. On Oct. 22, 1840, Mr. Cook married Mary T. Cook, and they had six children, namely: Atwell, who died in infancy; Ellen, wife of J.L. Hunter, city engineer and electrician of Cumberland; Dora, wife of John Brinkley, of Cumberland; Ruthven, who died Aug. 17, 1865; Nancy L., wife of John Hopkins, of Bayfield, Wis.; and George B. Cook.

Atwell B. Cook is a Democrat in political sentiment. He was a prominent figure in local affairs for a number of years, and was chairman of the township board when the town was known as Lakeland. For several years he served as justice of the peace, was supervisor two or three terms, and was alderman of the Third ward, during his service in that capacity serving two or three terms as president of the city council. He was public-spirited, and did much for the advancement of this section in its early years. He is a member of G.A.R., post No. 225, at Cumberland. He is one of the oldest members of the Baptist Church in the locality.

George B. Cook attended school at Whitehall but had no very extended educational opportunities. His birth took place Oct. 6, 1861, at Fountain City, Wis., and he was two and a half years of age when the family went to Whitehall. When he was sixteen years of age he went out to work on the railroad then being built into Cumberland, and from that to firing for an engine in a mill. At eighteen he was given charge of an engine, which work he continued for several years.

On July 26, 1885, Mr. Cook was married to Miss M.E. Stockman, who was born at Plymouth, Ind., daughter of T.J. Stockman, who in 1875 located at Knapp, Wis., where he bought land. He lived there until the fall of 1887, when he removed to Adams, Neb., where he still lives; his wife died in 1896. The Stockman family consisted of seven children, as follows: Partha; Matilda E.; Samuel; Alice; one that died in infancy; Erastus and Frank. The four children of Mr. and Mrs. Cook are: Clyde G., born May 30, 1886; Harry W., Sept. 4, 1889; Mary Elizabeth, July 27, 1891; and Carl L., July 8, 1894.

After his marriage Mr. Cook worked as an edger and expert machine man in a saw-mill in the season, and in the woods in the winter, doing all kinds of work, scaling being his favorite occupation. In 1891 he went into the insurance business, and for one year was a special life insurance agent in Wisconsin, Minnesota, North and South Dakota and northern Iowa, and then went to work for a Chicago firm, selling school supplies for two years. He had made a study of architecture and mechanical work and spent several years, from 1894 until 1901, in the painting business. Since then he has been established at Cumberland, in the land business. His first connection in this line was with the firm of Warner & Andrews, of St. Paul, and in the following year, 1902, he went with A.C. Uecke in a land business, but eight months later, on Nov. 8, 1902, embarked in business on his own account, establishing Cook’s Land Agency. His operations cover Barron, Polk, Burnett, Sawyer and Washburn counties, and he has met with very encouraging success.

In politics Mr. Cook is an active Republican. He takes a lively interest in all public affairs and has efficiently held many of the local offices, having served on the election board, as constable and also as justice of the peace. Fraternally he is an Odd Fellow, and is connected with the Cumberland lodge. Mrs. Cook is a valued member of the Cumberland Congregational Church.


J. S. Crisler
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
J. S. Crisler, president of the Crisler-Tremper Lumber & Supply Company, is a resident of Rice Lake, Barron county, Wisconsin.

Thomas Dovery
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Thomas Dovery, editor and proprietor of the Barron County Shield, was born in the district of Valders, Norway, May 17, 1866, the son of Ole and Carrie (Guttormson) Dovery. In 1874 the family came to Canada, and the year following to Wisconsin. Ole Dovery settled on a farm in Manitowoc county and there passed the remainder of his days. His death came at the age of eighty years, while his widow, twenty-one years younger than he, is still living in Minnesota.  When only sixteen Thomas Dovery went to Grand Forks, N.D., where he was employed in the office of the Grand Forks Daily News, then conducted by Senator Hansborough. There he learned much of the requirements and routine of a newspaper office, and when, four years later, he accepted a position on the Barron Shield, he proved himself fully qualified for the work. For three or four years he discharged the combined duties of printer’s devil, foreman and editor and then, fully satisfied of his entire ability to conduct the paper for himself, he leased the Shield of the Hon. C.S. Taylor, July 1, 1893. Three years later, Jan. 1, 1896, he bought the plant and good will and by adding to his outfit modern presses as well as other machinery and material, has now one of the best printing offices to be found in Wisconsin, outside of the large cities. When he assumed full charge of the paper, Mr. Dovery decided to increase the amount of local matter and since has not only given much more space of news of Barron, but has secured the service of capable correspondents in other towns of the county. That his judgment was good is proved by his largely increased subscription list, which now includes over 2,000 names. Having inherited the undaunted courage of his Viking ancestry, Mr. Dovery has surmounted every obstacle opposing him and has come to be recognized as one of the potent forces in the business life of this city and county.
Socially Mr. Dovery is identified with the Masonic Order and the M.W.A. in both of which he has filled important positions.  In 1889 Mr. Dovery was married to Miss E.A. Babcock, of Barron. The three children born to them are named Carlyle George, Carrie Marie and Margaret Irene.

William Henry Ellis, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Prominent among the physicians of Barron county is William H. Ellis, who has been a practitioner in the county for a quarter of a century, and in the city of Barron for over twenty years. He was born in Dodge county, Wis., Sept. 17, 1855, son of Hernando C. and Jemima B. (Haight) Ellis.

The Ellis family is of Revolutionary stock, and Hernando C. and his father, Samuel, were both natives of Steuben county, N.Y. The latter came to Wisconsin about 1850, and died at Lake Geneva of smallpox, as did also his son, William. Hernando C. Ellis, the eldest of the family of nine, had come West some years previously, in 1838, and engaged in lumbering at Lake Geneva till 1854, when he removed to Elba, Dodge county, where the subject of this sketch was born. Two years later he left Elba and settled in Dunn county, where he resided till his death, March 24, 1903, at the age of nearly eighty-five years. His wife, Jemima B. Ellis, had passed away July 9, 1868, leaving four children: Joseph F., an attorney of Eau Claire; Elizabeth A., of Minnesota; Samuel, of Rock Creek, Dunn county, and William H.

William H. Ellis was educated in the public schools, but he owes much of his early training and education to his sister, Elizabeth, who was a "mother" to him after his mother died. He taught school for a short time when he was seventeen years old, and was graduated from the Eau Claire high school at the age of twenty years. He at once began the study of medicine with Dr. Alexander, of Eau Claire, preparatory to a course at Rush Medical College, in Chicago. Dr. Ellis received his degree of M.D. from that institution in 1880 and located first at Prairie Farm, Barron county, after assisting Drs. Alexander and Morgan in Eau Claire for a few months. Four years later, when the "Soo" railway reached Barron, after taking a post-graduate course in Chicago, he established himself in the town and has ever since been engaged there in the general practice of medicine and surgery, being the oldest physician in the county in point of time. Dr. Ellis is in touch with the medical life and thought of the day, belongs to the American Medical Association, and is a member of its legislative council, is a member of the Wisconsin State Medical Association, helped to organize recently the Barron-Gates-Polk County Medical Association and has frequently been called upon to read papers at their professional gatherings. His skill and experience, together with his broad progressive thought, have made his opinion universally respected.

In 1880 Dr. Ellis and Miss Eliza Aitchison were united in marriage. Mrs. Ellis, who was born in Iowa, is a daughter of Rev. John Y. Aitchison, D.D., a Scotchman and a Baptist minister, formerly of Eau Claire, Wis., but now located at Portland, Oregon. Mrs. Ellis’ mother, whose maiden name was Sophia Fiezzel, was of French descent. To the doctor and his wife seven children have been born, five of whom are living, namely: Lottie, Mrs. Fred Fillmore (whose husband is a locomotive engineer); Walter S., a telegraph operator and station agent for the C. & G.W. Railway Co.; Agnes, a teacher in the Barron county schools, and Benjamin F. and Helen, both students in the Barron public schools. Clara, twin sister of Helen, died in July, 1903, of typhoid fever, aged eleven years, and William, a child of five and a half, was run over by a traction engine in September, 1902. Dr. and Mrs. Ellis are members of the Baptist church, which Dr. Ellis helped to organize.

Despite the demands of his practice upon his time, Dr. Ellis has made opportunity for other duties and interests. He has invested in farm lands and city property to some extent, has been actively concerned in the educational development of the city, serving as a director on the school board for five years, and has held the office of health inspector for the city and township for some time. In his political principles he has been for several years past a Prohibitionist. The doctor is prominent also in the work of the fraternal orders and is a member of the I.O.O.F., being a Past Grand of the Barron lodge; is a member of the M.W.A. and of the F. & A.M., in which he is Past Master of the local lodge. Dr. Ellis was secretary of the Board of United States Examining Surgeons, which met at Cumberland, Wis., and examined many of the old soldiers applying for pensions, and to the liberal "rating" of himself and the late Dr. W.C. Pease, president of the board, many of them are indebted for an increase of pension. He is an advocate of the free textbook system in the public schools of his State and hopes to see that system adopted in all free schools. During his term as health officer of his city he caused all slaughter houses to be moved out of the corporate limits and off from any running stream. It is said that he has one of the best libraries in the county on the prevention of disease, and takes an active interest in sanitary science and invention. He is always ready to do everything in his power to restore a sick person to health and does all he can to discountenance intemperance or excess, which always causes sickness or distress. "His life was gentle, and the elements so mixed in him, that Nature might stand up and say to all the world ‘This was a man.’" The doctor is as active as many men at thirty-five years and does not look older than that. This is a favorite sentiment with him:

Age is opportunity no less than youth itself, For as the evening twilight fades away The sky is filled with stars invisible by day.
May he enjoy many more years of usefulness is the wish of the writer. He says he hopes to live and keep busy until all of his children, and also his grand-son (Ellis Fillmore) are established in useful positions in life.

Charles J. Engstrom
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Charles J. Engstrom, a prosperous farmer and chairman of the town of Stanford, Barron county, was born in Galesburg, Ill., in 1866, and was there reared until he was eight years of age, at which time his parents moved to Chicago, and the lad had the opportunities offered by the public schools of that great city for two years. The next removal was made to the neighborhood of St. Paul, but after a year, during which time Charles J. attended school, the family went to Grantsburg, Burnett county, Wis., and in 1880, he completed his education, although he worked upon his father’s farm, which the latter had homesteaded from the government, until 1891. In that year our subject purchased 160 acres of wild land in Stanford township, Barron Co., Wis. This was a very desolate location at that time, and but a few settlers had gone before, but it is now a delightful dwelling place, and a fine agricultural district.
John and Carrie Engstrom are natives of Sweden, who came to America in 1863, and to Illinois in 1864. They now make their home with Charles J. They are consistent members of the Lutheran Church.
Charles J. Engstrom has always been prominent in politics, and has been a delegate to various conventions, town, county and national, both on the Republican and Prohibition tickets. He has been town assessor of Stanford for two years; town clerk three years, and in the spring of 1903, was elected chairman of the township, which honorable position he still holds. He belongs to the Lutheran Church. Although yet a young man, he has already attained considerable prominence, and the future is very bright before him. He is a man who makes and retains friends, and his popularity throughout Barron county is something remarkable. In business matters he is upright, keen and thrifty, and carries on his farm upon systematic lines, having a place which is both the envy and the admiration of his neighbors.

William N. Fuller
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., has among its distinguished residents many representatives of the legal profession, whose talents have made them known throughout the State. William N. Fuller belongs to this class, although he is still a young man, having been born April 28, 1870, at Star Prairie, St. Croix Co., Wis.
J. F. Fuller, his father, was born at Appleton, Maine. Growing up in the East the father learned the trade of a carpenter. In 1855, he came to Illinois, and still later to St. Croix County, Wis., settling at Star Prairie in 1859. Upon first coming to Wisconsin, J. F. Fuller worked at his trade, but later opened a general store at Star Prairie, continuing same successfully until May, 1882, when he removed to Cumberland, Barron County, and for sixteen years was engaged in the same line of business. In January, 1903, he was honored by appointment as postmaster of that place. For two terms he served very ably as president of the village, and for three terms has been an alderman. He has always been active as a Republican in politics, directing wisely and intelligently, and his success in every walk of life is due to his good judgment and untiring energy, combined with strict integrity.

J. F. Fuller married (first) Sarah Philbrick, of Waldo, Maine, by whom he had one child, Ai DeForest, municipal judge at Tower, Minn. Mr. Fuller married (second) Lydia Nicholson, a native of Providence, R.I., and they became the parents of: Elmer B.H., of Highland, Minn., weighmaster and night agent for the Duluth & Iron Range Railroad; and William N.

William N. Fuller, after completing a course in the public schools, attended the law department of the University of Wisconsin in 1889 and 1890, from which he was graduated in 1890, and he immediately located at Cumberland, Wis., and began the practice of his chosen profession. Within a year, so generally were his abilities recognized and appreciated, he was elected municipal judge and served ably in that honorable position until 1896. He was also elected district attorney in 1896, and held that responsible office until 1903. Like his father, he is a prominent Republican, and very active in the support of the party.

On Nov. 30, 1892, Mr. Fuller was married to Miss Grace Pinkerton, of Arena, Wis., and three children have been born to them: Donald P.; William T., who died at the age of two and one-half years; and Richard C.  Fraternally, Mr. Fuller is a member of the K. of P., belonging to Lodge No. 62 of Cumberland; and of the Modern Woodmen. Mrs. Fuller is a consistent member of the Congregational Church.


Nels C. Gilstad
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Wisconsin has been a favorite point of location for a large number of the Norwegian who have sought homes in this foreign land and a most valuable class of citizens have they proved. One of these who have displayed all the manly traits of his race, is Nels C. Gilstad, register of deeds for Barron county. He was born near Christiania, Norway, Feb. 25, 1862.

Martin Gilstad, father of Nels C., came with his family to America in 1869 and after living three years in Racine county, Wis., moved to Barron county, where in the spring of 1872 he bought 120 acres of wild land in the town of Dallas. He improved his farm and lived on it till his death, in March, 1894, at the age of sixty-five years. One of the earliest settlers in Dallas, he was one of the four organizers of the Lutheran Church at Maple Grove, of which he was a trustee and treasurer for many years, and later helped to organize the church at Dallas, of which he also was a trustee. Politically he was always a Republican. His wife was Mary Christenson, who belonged to a prominent family in Norway, where her brother Nels was a member of the Storthing or Congress. This brother and Martin Gilstad were joint owners of three vessels at one time engaged in foreign trade.

Nels C. Gilstad was educated in the common schools and remained at home on the farm until 1881, when he went West and spent several years in Montana and elsewhere. Returning to Wisconsin in 1887, he opened a general store at Dallas, which he conducted for six years and then sold. At present he is occupied in the management of a fine farm of 100 acres which he owns, situated near the village of Dallas. Mr. Gilstad has held public office, elected on the Republican ticket, and has served most efficiently as town treasurer for Dallas for two years, while in 1902 he was chosen register of deeds for the county.

Mr. Gilstad was married early in life, when only twenty-two years of age. His wife was Miss Anna Thompson, to whom he was united Sept. 20, 1884. Mrs. Gilstad was born in Norway, May 30, 1862, and was the daughter of Ole Thompson, who brought his family to America and settled in Marshall county, Minn. To the union of Nels and Anna Gilstad have been born eight children, as follows: Olga, and Clara, employed in the register’s office; Alma; Alfred; Mabel; Agnes; Helmer; and Clarence. The family are connected with the Lutheran Church and are also well known in social circles.


W. S. Grover
Source: The Milwaukee Journal (5 Feb. 1922); transcribed by Sandra Wright
MAN WHO CARRIED COUNTY SEAT MILES ON BACK STILL SPRY
Chippewa Falls—"He moved the county seat on his back from Rice Lake to Barron" is the way old-timers refer to W. S. Grover, Ridgeland, who recently celebrated his ninety-first birthday. Mr. Grover was the central figure in the stirring fight of forty-eight years ago, which resulted in the removal of the county seat from the city of Rice Lake to the wilderness hamlet that marked the beginning of the city of Barron. He is still active.
While the matter of moving the county seat was about to be tested in the courts by Knapp Stout & Co., which had its headquarters at Rice Lake, Grover, then county clerk, took the initiative and after bundling the records of his and several other offices into the bottom of a chair hewn out of a pine log, walked all the way to Barron on a raw winter night. Officers who later refused to move to Barron were removed from office. The old pine chair, which then held nearly all of the county’s records, is preserved in the office of the county clerk at Barron.
Rice Lake later made strenuous efforts to recover the county seat, and in its last attempt lost by one vote. Later a modern courthouse was built at Barron and any removal now appears improbable. Mr. Grove was born in Maine and came to Menomonie in 1858, where he spent eight years before moving to Barron county, which has been his permanent home ever since. The county at that time consisted of but one township, known as Dallas, and the county for many years went by that name.

Lars Larson Gunderson
Source:  Wisconsin Blue Book (1880) Transcribed by RuthAnne Wilke
LARS LARSON GUNDERSON (Rep), of Cumberland, Barron county, was born in the city of Konigsvinger, Norway, October 11, 1850; is a merchant; came to Wisconsin in 1874, and settled at Cumberland, was chairman of the town board of Lakeland in 1877, 1878 and 1879; was doorkeeper in the state senate in 1878; was elected member of assembly for 1880, receiving 2,765 votes against 250 for Wm. Kent.

A. E. Hedback, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
The medical profession in northern Wisconsin is represented by many men of the highest professional attainment, and among these may justly be classed Dr. Hedback, of Barron. He was born in Vermland, Sweden, April 21, 1874, and is a son of Robert Wilhelm and Christine (Armquist) Hedback, natives of the same country, where Mr. Hedback was a manufacturer of and dealer in leather. In 1882 he came with his family to America and settled near New Richmond, Wis., where Mrs. Hedback’s people had previously settled, Judge Armquist, the well-known jurist, being her brother. Robert Wilhelm Hedback is now a well-to-do farmer. He has become quite prominent in his community, and has filled with credit a number of local offices, being an esteemed and influential citizen.

Until his ninth year Dr. Hedback lived in the place of his nativity, enjoying such advantages as the public schools afforded, supplemented by the instructions of a private tutor, mastering the rudiments of learning. Subsequent to the settlement of his parents in New Richmond he regularly attended the public school, and was graduated from the high school in 1893. For a year thereafter he filled the position of principal of the Deer Park public school, proving himself a capable and successful instructor. His aspirations, however, were not pedagogic. From his youth he had a predilection for the medical profession, and during the years he was in school he read medicine under Dr. Epley, a prominent physician of New Richmond, under whose professional guidance he was prepared to take matriculation examination. In the fall of 1894 he successfully passed the examination and was admitted to the Medical Department of the University of Minnesota, from which he was graduated with honors, at the head of his class, June 3, 1897. He won by his high standing the university appointment of physician and surgeon to the State prison at Stillwater, for one year, which he accepted and creditably filled. In 1898 he went to Cumberland and took charge of Dr. Hopkins’s practice for six months, after which, in the fall of the same year, he permanently located in Barron, in the same county. From the first Dr. Hedback achieved signal success, and his increasing practice best demonstrates his deserved popularity with the people whom he serves. He is a student in his profession. His large library comprises the volumes of many of the world’s highest authorities, as well as the current professional literature. His well arranged office rooms are centrally located and are equipped with X-ray machines, microscopes, etc. Dr. Hedback was the principal promoter of the Barron County Medical Society, which later was merged into the Barron-Gates-Polk County Medical Society. He was first chairman of the original society, and he has been secretary of the permanent organization for several years. He also holds membership in the State and American Medical Associations. The Doctor has been health officer of Barron for the last five years, and he is medical examiner to all the old line insurance companies, doing business in Barron. Dr. Hedback is a gentleman of interesting personality, and has fine conversational powers, speaking almost equally well in four languages.


W. L. Hunter
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., with its many industries, its active commercial life, numbers among its live business men none more respected than W.L. Hunter, who was born in Jefferson county, N.Y., Aug. 26, 1840, a son of Harry and Margaret (Boyer) Hunter, natives of the same county.

Harry Hunter was a millwright by trade, who moved to Galena, Ill., in 1856, where he worked at his trade for two years and then went to Jackson county, Iowa. Later he went to Canton, where he spent five years, when he took up his location at Cedar Falls, Wis., and spent five years more. His next change was made when he went to Wilson, St. Croix county, Wis., and finally in 1880, he settled at Cumberland, Wis., and remained until his death, which occurred in 1882. His widow survives at the age of eighty-seven, and is now making her home at Ladysmith, Wis. Four children were born to these parents: William L.; John, city engineer at Cumberland; Morris, a farmer of Cumberland; Louisa, who married Robert Corbett and lives at Ladysmith.

William L. Hunter had but a limited education but has added to his fund of information and gathered much from his various experiences. He remained at home until 1861, when he responded to the call of his country by enlisting in Company I, 5th Minn. V.I., at Frankfort, Mower Co., Minn. Among the many battles in which he participated, may be mentioned those of Gettysburg, Corinth and Missionary Ridge. During the memorable March to the Sea, he was in the 2nd division, and served three years without being wounded or taken prisoner.

At the close of his service Mr. Hunter located at Durand, Wis., and worked in a furniture factory as a machinist for five years, after which he came to Cumberland and erected one of the first mills in the locality. This he operated for ten years, for nine years carried on a mill at Almira, and for five years had one at Rusk. These he sold to take charge of the Beaver Dam Lumber Co.’s planing mill in 1898, which responsible position he still retains, the mill under his able management standing foremost among its kind in Barron county.

In 1865 Mr. Hunter married Elizabeth Stockman, of Bourbon, Ind., and four children were born to this marriage: John, on a steamboat owned by a mill at Cumberland, married Emma Wandrey, and has three children, Margaret, Isabelle and Harry; Nellie married Frank Dille, of Cumberland, and has three children, Emma, Alta and Frank; Cora married F. W. Miller of Cumberland, a banker and merchant; Ralph is an engineer in the planing mill at Cumberland.

Mr. Hunter is one of the most prominent Democrats in Barron county and has always been very active in the ranks of his party. For two years he served as a member of the city council and then was honored by election to the high position of mayor of Cumberland. During his term of service he gave the people of Cumberland a clean, upright, business administration, and many much needed improvements were effected. After so efficiently discharging the duties pertaining to the office of mayor, his constituents returned him to the council, where he still working in the interests of his ward and good government. In addition to these offices, he has held many of the lesser positions of trust, and has always proven himself an honorable and efficient public official.

Fraternally, Mr. Hunter is a Mason, belonging to Blue Lodge, No. 223, Cumberland. He also belongs to K. of P., of Cumberland; the I.O.O.F., and Modern Woodmen, and is deservedly popular in all these organizations. For many years Mr. Hunter has been a prominent member of the Baptist Church, and is among its most liberal supporters.

In addition to his other interests, Mr. Hunter has a fine stock farm of 240 acres, one and a half miles north of Cumberland, known as "Sunny Side" stock farm. Mr. Hunter is one of the best known men in Barron county, and throughout the State has friends who appreciate and feel proud of his abilities. There is no doubt but that the future before this enterprising and progressive young business man and political leader is very brilliant, and that his name will soon be numbered among the legislators of the State and county.


Bennie Johnson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Bennie Johnson, treasurer of Barron county, with a long record of official service in various capacities, is a Norwegian by birth and first saw the light of day in Gulbransdalen, near Lillehammer, Sept. 14, 1864. His parents were Johannes Olson Stalsberg and Goro (Nelson) Stalsberg, who born and married in that same locality and both parents and son were baptized by the same pastor.

In the spring of 1866 the family reached the United States, after a sea voyage lasting eight weeks. The first year they spent in Rock county, Wis., whence they went to Vernon county, soon after to Pierce county and finally settled permanently in St. Croix county, where they bought wild land in 1869 and improved it. The farm is located about one mile from Baldwin and J.O. Stalsberg and his wife, both seventy-three years of age, are still living on it. In the beginning it meant much hard work for both of them and the father had to secure employment from his neighbors to support his family, often walking twenty miles to Hudson to get work. Of their children, five sons are living, one of whom, Nicoli S. was at Cumberland for some time.

Bennie Johnson is the only one of the family living in Barron county. His boyhood was passed in St. Croix county, where he was educated in the public schools. At the age of seventeen he went to Cumberland and having had some experience previously in a general store in Baldwin, he at once secured a similar position in the former town and was so employed till 1883. For the next two years he was in the post-office there and then took a course in a business college in La Crosse. After completing this course, Mr. Johnson was employed by a lumber company at Washburn for ten months and then returned to clerk for the Beaver Dam Lumber Company at Cumberland, for eleven years. For a time he was also interested in a general store at Minong, Wisconsin.

Mr. Johnson has always been a Republican but had little time to participate in public affairs. In 1898, however, he was chosen postmaster over four competitors and accepting the position, served most satisfactorily till March, 1903, and then was recommended for reappointment. During his incumbency the grade of the office was raised from one with a salary of $1,100 to one of $1,500. In May, 1903, the confidence of his fellow citizens in him was further attested by his election by the county board to fill a vacancy in the office of county treasurer. So entirely unsolicited was this appointment that Mr. Johnson was away on a fishing expedition when it was made. In the fall of 1904 he was renominated for that position. During his residence in Cumberland he rendered still further public service by acting as alderman of the Third ward for one term.

The marriage of Mr. Johnson took place Aug. 14, 1889, when he was united to Miss Hannah Jacobson, who was born in Aden, Norway, the daughter of Jacob K. and Mary Newgard, now of St. Croix county, Wis. They have one daughter, Bessie G. The family are connected with the Norwegian Lutheran Church.


L. M. Knutson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
L. M. Knutson, of Barron county and former treasurer of the town of Stanfold, dates his settlement in this part of Wisconsin from 1875. At that time Barron was little more than a logging camp, with store, blacksmith shops and a few other log structures. Cumberland had not a reputable wagon road, and the present, closely populated Rice Lake, had but two buildings north of the bridge. The only way to reach different neighborhoods through the county was over the logging camp roads, which were of fearful construction.

Mr. Knutson became one of the earliest permanent settlers of the northern half of the county. He was born at Vik, Norway, Nov. 23, 1860, and was reared there on a farm, attending the schools until he was twelve years old. In 1872 he accompanied his parents and family to America. The father had wisely made a trip previously, and had selected a location at Stillwater, Minn. Here our subject again attended school, where he remained until the family in 1875 removed to Barron county and settled on a homestead three miles from Cumberland. The latter was then but a small settlement in the woods to which there had, as yet, been no road constructed. Here the father put up a log cabin of the usual type built by the Scandinavians, the logs being hewed and fitted. Supplies were obtainable only from Clayton and Rice Lake, the heaving carrying all having to be done in winter, when the ground was frozen.

The parents of Mr. Knutson, Martin and Anne (Halverson) Knutson, were born, reared and married at Vik, Norway, and through life they retained many of the habits and characteristics of their native land. The Wisconsin homestead became their permanent home, and the father developing the original farm as rapidly as constant industry could accomplish it, became a man of prominence in the affairs of his locality. In religious faith he was a Lutheran, and both he and his wife were active promoters of this religious body at Cumberland, and were instrumental in having the first church structure erected in the neighborhood, a building still standing. In his public spirited efforts, Mr. Knutson was supported by his neighbors, Hans Hilstad and Oluf Rolla, and by Rev. N.B. Alson, the first clergyman, who is now a resident of Washburn, Wis. Mr. Knutson was impressed with the crying needs of this locality, one of these being the immediate demand for highways and he did much to assist in providing safe and convenient roads, and he was always ready to take part in any public spirited work. Particularly was he interested in education and felt that the school and church should go hand in hand. He served most acceptably as town treasurer, and was a man of the strictest integrity. His life may be considered to have been unusually successful, his enterprises succeeding and his children growing up to be useful men and women. He died April 9, 1903, aged seventy-eight years; his wife passed away in August, 1901, aged seventy-two years. They were both buried in the cemetery adjoining the church, three miles east of Cumberland. Their children were: Johanna, never came to America; Helmer resides on a farm in Cumberland; Mary lives at St. Paul, Minn.; Louis M. is the subject proper of this sketch; Lena and Syver are both of Cumberland, where the latter is a farmer.

Louis M. Knutson remained with his parents on the homestead near Cumberland, for several years, and during this time had an opportunity to study the Indian in his native environs, and became acquainted with a number of them, including Chief Catlip. More than once he found entertainment attending their pow-wows, and can speak of much friendliness from them. Mr. Knutson started life on his own account in a logging camp, and worked at logging for several years. In 1880 he was employed by Gundersen & Kallender, railroad contractors, and had charge of their store at Cable, on their Ashland branch; while serving as storekeeper, he was appointed postmaster, under the administration of the late President Garfield. After leaving Cable Mr. Knutson returned to Barron county, and with the exception of one year passed at Tacoma and Seattle, Wash., made a permanent home there. He settled on his farm in 1888, one of the best in Stanfold township.

Mr. Knutson was identified with the township officially from the time of its present existing organization, having been elected its first treasurer and serving six terms in that office. Like his father, he takes a deep interest in educational affairs and has been active in his advocacy of the movements designed to advance the cause to higher standards. For a number of years he has been school clerk. In politics he is a Republican and has served as a member of the Republican county committee and has been a party delegate to some of the conventions.

Since 1894 Mr. Knutson has been interested in bee culture, starting his colony with a wild swarm captured in the woods. By study and care he developed a flourishing apiary, having 130 swarms, and disposing annually of from 4,000 to 8,000 pounds of fine honey, which finds a ready market. He considers this a valuable industry for this section and his example has been followed by others. The successful results in his case have been brought about by close attention and the same care given to any other line of business.

Mr. Knutson married Miss Jennie M. Hart, who was born in Barron county, and they have reared a family of seven children, namely: Austin M., Louis E., Jessie H., Robert L., Dora J., Benjamin and Clarence R. Mr. Knutson and his family attend the Presbyterian Church of which they are liberal supporters. He is one of the real representatives of the class of citizens who have made northern Wisconsin the most important part of the State, a class which has not only contributed to its agricultural development, but to its steady advancement in education and morality.


Lewis Larson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Lewis Larson, one of the progressive men of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., was born May 17, 1860, at Frosten, Norway, but nine years later was brought to Eau Claire, Wis., where he completed his education in the graded and high schools of that locality, paying his way through school by working in the shingle mills during the vacation time. After he had qualified himself, the ambitious young fellow began teaching school in Dunn county, Wis., and still later became bookkeeper for the Eau Claire Flour Mills. So popular and prominent did he become, that a few years later he was made county clerk of Eau Claire county, and filled that responsible office for two terms. Retiring from public life, he embarked in a retail furniture business and continued it successfully until 1889, when he sold his stock and removed to Superior, where he continued in the same line and also took a very active part in politics. During the time when that city was on a "boom," he served as city comptroller, and was also president of the board of public works, was instrumental in effecting the sale of a number of tracts of valuable land, amounting in all to several million dollars, and had passed the bill bonding the city for several millions. In 1894 Mr. Larson moved to Shell Lake, Wis., to accept a position as cashier in the bank of that place, remaining there for seven years. Oct. 15, 1901, he returned to Cumberland and took charge of the Island City Bank, in which he had purchased an interest. He is now its efficient and conservative cashier, and under his able management the bank has become one of the leading financial institutions of Barron county. Recently the bank was re-organized and incorporated as a State bank, with Mr. Larson as vice-president and cashier.  Already Mr. Larson has made himself felt in politics, and is one of the leaders of the Republican party, in the ranks of which he has so long been such an earnest and effective worker. Although he has been obliged to work against many odds, Mr. Larson has attained financial success, and he has not reached the limit by any manner of means, for there are many predictions of future greatness afloat.
On June 11, 1888, Mr. Larson married Margaret Quale, of Minneapolis, Minn., and they have three children, two daughters and a son. Mr. Larson is a member of the K. of P., and is grand treasurer of the I.S.W.A., of Wisconsin, South Dakota and Minnesota.


Stephen A. Leinfelder, D.D., Ph.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Stephen A. Leinfelder, D.D., Ph.D., although not yet in middle life, is recognized as one of the leading prelates of the Catholic Church in the State of Wisconsin. Of scholarly attainments, winning personality, business ability and eminent piety, he is a noble representative of his great religious organization, and commands the esteem and respect of multitudes who are not of his spiritual faith.
Dr. Leinfelder was born March 21, 1872, at La Crosse, Wis., and was primarily educated there, in both public and parochial schools. Subsequently he entered the Sacred Heart College at Prairie Du Chien, and upon that institution being changed into a novitiate, he completed his classical training in St. Francis College, Milwaukee, in 1891, at the age of nineteen years. He then went to Montreal, Canada, and entered upon the philosophical and theological course in Laval University, where he was ordained sub-deacon, and later deacon, and was one of six in a class of thirty to receive the degree of S.T.B. Upon his return to La Crosse, he was ordained priest by the Rt. Rev. J. Schwebach, June 16, 1895. The bishop assigned him temporarily to Bloomer, until the fall of the year, when he took himself to Rome, where he entered the Minerva University, and after two years spent at that school, was decorated with the titles of D.D. and Ph.D. He is the youngest American to receive both degrees. His vacations were spent in visiting the universities and various educational institutions of Europe, continually adding to his vast fund of knowledge. Besides mastering theology and philosophy, he became proficient as a linguist, and in addition to acquiring a fair knowledge of Hebrew, he became conversant with the English, French, German, Italian, Latin and Greek languages. Hence his assignment to Cumberland, where the mixture of races composing the Catholic congregations required a pastor versed in various languages, and since assuming his ministerial duties he has led a very busy and useful life.
Besides ministering to the spiritual wants of the two parishes here, he also had charge of the parishes of Almena, Shell Lake, Spooner, Clear Lake, Clayton and Oak Grove. A short time he was relieved of part of his work and was placed in charge of St. Mary’s and St. Anthony’s, of Cumberland; the Sacred Heart parish, of Almena, and the mission at Bear Lake. The dedication of the fine church edifice at Almena on Oct. 29, 1903, was a testimonial to the effective work accomplished by Rev. Leinfelder. It deserves more extended mention than the limits of the present article can give. This dedication marked an important epoch in the history of Almena. In the day when Almena was but a logging camp for K.S. & Co., little attention was given to the spiritual welfare of the community until, on Nov. 2, 1892, Father Simoneck, a missionary priest, walked into the settlement. Here he said mass for the first time, in an old log barn, finding no better accommodation. On his occasional visits to the settlement, he faithfully ministered to a small flock and continued to hold mass in the barn and slept in the hayloft overhead. Thus nurtured the little flock grew into a prospering congregation. In 1893 a frame church was erected in which services were conducted by Father Becker, of Rice Lake, until the parish was transferred to Rev. Dr. Leinfelder, of Cumberland, in 1897.

The rapid settlement of the country contributory to Almena, soon brought the church membership up to 1,000, and a new edifice became a matter of necessity. In 1900 Dr. Leinfelder formulated the first plans of the beautiful structure which was dedicated with such imposing services on Oct. 29. 1903. That such success should have crowned the hopes of the congregation in so short a period is but a testimonial to the zeal and energy of Dr. Leinfelder. He personally superintended the construction and did not hesitate to assist in the work of what is the most magnificent church building in Barron county. It is a structure of solid brick with brown stone trimmings, pure Gothic in style, 50x100 feet, and elegantly finished. The dedicatory services were attended by the largest assemblage which had ever congregated in Almena, nearly every village and city in the county being represented, while the array of church dignitaries was imposing. Rt. Rev. Schwebach, bishop of La Crosse, conducted the dedication. After the celebration of mass, the bishop administered the rite of confirmation to a class of seventy-seven, the largest in the history of the church. This was most gratifying to Dr. Leinfelder. In 1904 Dr. Leinfelder caused to be erected a parochial house of solid brick, which is considered in all respects the finest residence in the city.
As noted above Dr. Leinfelder is held in the highest regard by all who know him, irrespective of religious creeds. While his personality is most engaging, it is the piety of his life and the sincerity of his aims that win him this high regard.


W. G. Malcolm, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
W. G. Malcolm, M.D., a successful physician and surgeon of Chetek, Barron Co., Wis., holds a high rank in the medical profession in that section. He has been actively engaged in practice in Chetek since 1893.
Dr. Malcolm is a native of Chesley, County of Bruce, Ontario, born April 3, 1866, and comes of Scotch-Irish ancestors, of a race which has produced some of the most forceful elements in the cosmopolitan make-up of our nation. He is the eldest son in a family of eleven children born to John and Helen (Madole) Malcolm, the former a native of Canada, of Scottish parentage, and the latter a native of Ireland. John Malcolm grew up on the frontier of civilization in the "Dominion," and when he attained to man’s estate he became a pioneer in Bruce county, Ontario, where he carved a home out of virgin wilds, and where he yet lives, an honored and respected citizen.

In the invigorating work of the farm young Malcolm developed a well rounded physique and healthful brain action. The public schools of the locality afforded only meagre opportunities for education, but he nevertheless acquired a well-grounded rudimentary knowledge of the English branches, by dint of earnest effort absorbing all the public school curriculum could give. Subsequently, under a private teacher, he was carefully instructed in the branches of learning essential to the higher education which he sought, and prepared to enter college. At the age of twenty-three years he took matriculation examination, passed with credit, and was admitted to the Medical Department of Queen’s University, Kingston, Ontario, this being in 1889. Here for four years he perseveringly delved into the mysteries of Materia Medica and physiological research, graduating with first class honors. He came directly to Wisconsin to seek out a desirable location for the practice of his profession, and after a few weeks of survey chose Chetek, and the wisdom of his judgment has been amply verified by twelve years of successful and remunerative practice. That Dr. Malcolm has a strong hold upon the people is evidenced by the fact that he has retained the confidence and esteem of those to whom he has ministered in a professional capacity for more than a decade.

He is examining surgeon for all the old line insurance companies doing business in Chetek. Despite his onerous professional work the Doctor has found time to enter into the social and business life of the community. He has served as health officer two terms, and has also officiated as Mayor two terms, and as alderman for one term. He was the principal mover in the organization of the Chetek Maccabees Opera House Company, and is the president thereof. Fraternally he is a member of the Maccabees and Mystic Workers.

Dr. Malcolm was united in marriage to Miss Ruth Phillips, the accomplished daughter of J.C. Phillips, of Chetek, the happy event having been celebrated in 1893.


Tom O. Mason
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Tom O. Mason, who, although still under thirty years of age, has already attained a position of commanding influence in Wisconsin’s political ranks, has made his way entirely by the force of his tireless ambition and his marked capacity for dealing with men and affairs.

Mr. Mason was born in Independence, Iowa, July 16, 1874, son of John C. and Agnes (Hickey) Mason, natives of New York State, of Irish descent. When he was a boy his parents removed to Vail, Crawford Co., Iowa, where he attended the public schools. He entered the high school but was not able to finish the course as his parents both died and he was obliged to go to work. He served an apprenticeship as station agent and telegraph operator and soon mastered the system of telegraphy, following that vocation till he was nineteen years old. Mr. Mason then began his journalistic career, writing for a number of Iowa dailies and weeklies and acting as correspondent for metropolitan papers of Chicago, St. Paul and Minneapolis. In October, 1900, he purchased The Cumberland Advocate, published at Cumberland, Wis., which he still owns and edits. When he took it the paper was one of only eight pages, which Mr. Mason has increased to sixteen. Besides making the Advocate one of the largest and most influential country newspapers in Wisconsin, he has done much through his medium to boom Cumberland and in fact all northern Wisconsin, as he constantly enlarges both in regular and special editions, upon the opportunities and advantages offered by that section and an era of unprecedented prosperity has followed. Mr. Mason still represents a number of leading dailies in Northern Wisconsin and does considerable special writing for metropolitan journals.

Mr. Mason is a strong Republican and from the age of twenty has been active in politics. Two months before he attained his majority he was elected a member of Boone (Iowa) Republican county central committee. He has won a prominent position among Wisconsin’s politicians, and led the congressional fight in his district in 1904. He was a delegate to the congressional convention at Spooner in 1904, and was made chairman of the Eleventh District Congressional Committee, which position he now holds. By his management of the last congressional campaign, Mr. Mason secured for Congressman Jenkins the biggest plurality ever received in the State for any congressman. He took an active part in the strenuous campaign of 1904, and was a delegate to the Republican State convention held in May of that year. He has also served one term as alderman on the Cumberland city council.

In everything that pertains to the commercial and educational advancement of Cumberland, Mr. Mason is heartily interested and an active promoter of all such projects. He is secretary of the Cumberland Advancement Association, the manager of the Opera House and secured from Andrew Carnegie a donation of $10,000 for the construction of a new free library in Cumberland. On Oct. 8, 1902, Mr. Mason was united in marriage to Miss Grace Carroll, daughter of John C. and Delia (Ketchum) Carroll. Mr. Mason is one of Cumberland’s most able men and most valuable citizens.


Fred W. Miller
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Fred W. Miller, president of the Miller-Waterman Co., president of the State Bank of Cumberland, president of the Island City State Bank of Cumberland and treasurer of the Cumberland Telephone Co., is one of the leading citizens of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., identified with the major part of her successful business enterprises.
Mr. Miller was born Aug. 25, 1870, at Cedar Lake, Minn., a son of John F. and Catherine (Huser) Miller, the former born at Fallingbostle, Hanover, Germany. There his grandfather was a school teacher for many years. John F. Miller was born April 9, 1836, and in 1857 came to Carver county, Minn., with his mother and step-father, one brother and two sisters. He obtained his education in Germany and had there learned the trade of tailor, but never pursued it, other interests claiming his attention after coming to America. He first found work on a railroad then building in Minnesota, then assisted in clearing the home farm and then worked for a season at farm work near Stillwater, for which he was paid $19 per month. He continued to help on the home land when not otherwise engaged, until 1859, when he went to a brickyard in Chaska and worked there for $12 per month for the first year, receiving more during the second year, when he was made foreman.

In 1865 Mr. Miller married Catherine Huser, of Alsace, France, and they had eleven children born to them, Ida, Anna, Fred W., Lydia, Marie, Clara, William, Albert, Ella, Belle and Ernest.

After his marriage, John F. Miller settled in Carver county, Minn., and there opened a brick yard of his own, which he operated for three years, and then went to Cedar Lake, Hennepin county, as superintendent in a brick yard for Hill, Griggs & Co., and during this period bought as much as 60,000 cords of wood per year. He remained with this company for six years and then went into partnership with Col. C. W. Griggs. They conducted a wood business at Montrose on the Manitoba, now the Great Northern Railroad, shipping the most of the wood to St. Paul, and also operated a general store. In 1880 he came to Cumberland and the business was carried on until 1887, from which time until his death he was interested in the lumber business. He was vice president of the company now known as the Beaver Dam Lumber Co., which owned a saw mill and employed 125 men. In 1881 the company started the largest store in the place and in October, 1883, Mr. Miller, with J. T. Heath, started the Bank of Cumberland, which after 1887 he conducted alone. He was a very successful business man and owned a great deal of property in that locality and was the one to lay out and plat the best part of the town.

In 1880 Stone & Maxwell started a lumber business in Cumberland and in the same year Griggs, Foster & Miller started the post and wood business. In July, 1881, they bought out Stone & Maxwell, called the firm the Cumberland Lumber Co., and operated a store. Dec. 2, 1881, this firm sold the lumber business and the name was changed to the Beaver Lake Lumber Co. Griggs, Foster & Miller ran a store until 1888 and then the Beaver Lake Lumber Co. sold out to the Beaver Dam Lumber Co., this change including the firm store. The company store again changed hands, June 1, 1903, being sold to Miller-Waterman Co., of which Fred W. Miller is president and treasurer, S.H. Waterman is vice president and B.H. Waterman is secretary.

Fred W. Miller was six years of age when he removed with his parents to Delano, Minn., and later to Montrose, where he attended school. After coming to Cumberland in 1880 he continued his education in the schools there, completing the high school course with credit. After one year of supplementary study at the Wisconsin University, he entered into business, starting as office boy with the Beaver Dam Lumber Co. His close attention to business and the close reports he earned from his employers as to fidelity and trustworthy character, brought him the offer of a position as private secretary to Congressman Haugen, a position he filled with the greatest efficiency from 1889 to 1891, the close of Mr. Haugen’s term. Returning to Cumberland, he became bookkeeper for the Beaver Dam Co., and during his father’s illness, conducted affairs in his place with so much business ability that at his parent’s death in 1892, he was elected secretary and treasurer of the organization, a position he still holds, having entire management. As mentioned, he is also at the head of other enterprises, all of which are in excellent condition and reflect the ability, the push and energy of their responsible head.

No less has Mr. Miller been prominent in city affairs, having served one term as mayor, seven years as city treasurer and for a long period has looked after the finances of the school district. In politics he is a Republican, a zealous supporter of the principles of that party and proud of its accomplishments.

Mr. Miller was married Dec. 16, 1891, to Cora Hunter, of Cumberland, and they have four children, Catherine, Esther, Marian and Maude. Mr. Miller is a consistent member and a liberal supporter of the Methodist Church.


Robert Miller
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Robert Miller, late superintendent of the Barron County Poor Farm, was a pioneer of Barron county, Wis., where he located in 1870, the year following its organization, when it was still in an undeveloped condition.
Mr. Miller was born in 1846, in Philadelphia, a son of William and Margaret Miller, the former of whom was born in Europe and died in Philadelphia in 1850. The latter was born in County Tyrone, Ireland, and died in New York City. After the death of her husband she returned to County Tyrone with her son, who spent the years between his fourth and sixteenth birthdays in Ireland. In 1862 he returned to America, and settled at Rio, Columbia Co., Wis. In 1864, when eighteen years of age, he became a private in Company E, 3rd Wis. Vet. Vol. Inf., for a term covering the prolongation of the war. He accompanied his regiment immediately to the front, joining Gen. Sherman’s army at Chattanooga, and participated in the movements of that army from that time until the war was over. Mr. Miller fought for his country at Chickamauga, Peach Tree Creek, Atlanta and Milledgeville, and later, after the march to the sea, at Lancaster, Robertsville and Columbia, S.C., Raleigh, Goldsboro, and Bentonville, N.C. After Johnston’s surrender he went to Washington and took part in the Grand Review, which will linger in the memory of every gallant soldier as long as his life lasts. Subsequently he was mustered out of the service, at Madison, Wis., the last of June, 1865.

After the close of the war he returned to Columbia county, and bought a farm which he operated until 1870, when he came to Barron county, taking up a homestead in Dunn county, adjoining Barron. This land he improved to some degree, erecting buildings, and set out an orchard, and later sold to advantage, after which he spent one year in Eau Claire. He then bought a tract of 160 acres in East Chetek township, Barron county, which farm he developed and resided upon until 1895, when he was appointed by the county board to take charge of the County Poor Farm, where he remained until his death. The selection of Mr. Miller for this important position certainly showed a great measure of practical common sense and good judgment, and his administration of the affairs of the farm and the county dependents was economical and careful to the highest degree. He took so much personal interest in this work that success attended almost all of his enterprises. The cultivating of the land, the setting out of orchards, and the making of all kinds of improvements, have met with the hearty approval of the board. In 1883 the present buildings were erected. The farm contains 200 acres, all of which was timbered at one time, seventy-five acres now being under cultivation. Electric lighting is used in the buildings, which are of a permanent character, and other improvements and more buildings are in contemplation. The farm is designed to be self-supporting, and is well stocked with 100 sheep, ten milch cows, four horses and a number of hogs. Mr. Miller took pride in his fine stock, and frequently took premiums at various fairs for his excellent exhibits of agricultural products.

In 1866 Mr. Miller married Margaret Henery, who was born in Glasgow, Scotland, daughter of John and Mary (Stenson) Henery, and came to America in childhood, being reared in Milwaukee, where she lived until her marriage. Her father was of Scotch birth. Mr. and Mrs. Miller had two children: Minnie, wife of Samuel Calhoun, of Chetek; and Ida, wife of Frank Elwood, now of Chippewa county.

When Mr. Miller came to Barron county a band of Indians were living on the site of the present town of Barron. The band consisted of 100 savages, and their camp was located on a hill adjoining the poor farm. In that day railroads had not penetrated into this wilderness and all supplies had to be secured at Eau Claire and Menomonie, over roads which were but trails and across streams which had never been bridged. The mighty changes which have transformed all this region have required energy, hardship, industry and good judgment to bring about, and Mr. Miller took no obscure part in this development. He was always interested in political affairs, casting his first vote (at the age of eighteen years, while serving in the army) for President Lincoln. He was a member of G.A.R. Post No. 128, at Chetek, Wis., and also of the I.O.O.F., Barron Lodge, No. 38, in which he passed all the chairs, and the Encampment at Rice Lake, Wis. In every way Mr. Miller was a first-class, representative citizen, regarded as one of the most useful men of his county, and his death was considered a distinct loss to the community.

The ill health which resulted from his military service and always caused him considerable suffering culminated in his death April 12, 1904, and his remains were laid to rest in Barron cemetery. Owing to her recognized executive ability and long experience as her husband’s assistant, Mrs. Miller was appointed to succeed him as superintendent of the County Poor Farm.

 

Gulick Olson
Source: Superior Telegram (19 Oct. 1920); transcribed by Sandra Wright
Cameron, Wis.—Gulick Olson, one of the first settlers in eastern Barron county, celebrated his ninety-fifty birthday yesterday. He settled years ago on his homestead, now owned by his next eldest son, Barney Gulickson, about three and a half miles from Canton. He has lived there continuously for 50 years, having made the first clearing for a home in the spring of 1870.
His oldest son is Andrew Gulickson, former county clerk of Barron county and twice member of the state assembly and now living in Cameron. His daughter, Mrs. Carrie Olson, lives with her brother Barney and helps take care of her father. Three of the sons were at one time citizens of Superior. One of them, Ole Gulickson, lived here from the late eighties until he removed to Glenwood, Minn., a few years ago. Charles and Theodore Gulickson also lived here for several years. Thomas Gulickson, a grandson, lives on a farm near the original homestead. Another grandson is in the tailoring business in Barron.
The old man is still in good health and bids fair to reach the century milestone. His wife and companion in the early struggles, died about 12 years ago at the age of 78 years.


Nels Paulson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Nels Paulson, one of the popular hotel men of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., was born Aug. 26, 1847, in Norway, a son of Jergen and Ann (Nelson) Paulson, both natives of Norway. The father was employed in the smelting works in his native place, but hearing the wonderful tales of the opportunities offered in the new land, in 1867, the family emigrated, taking passage on the sailing vessel "Neptuna." After a six weeks’ voyage they landed at Quebec, but in a week set out for Lansing, Iowa. The next year Jergen Paulson took up eighty acres in Meeker county, Minn., where they lived several years. After several changes, the father finally made his home with his son, Ingebright, in Deuel county, S. Dak., where he died Dec. 10, 1898. The widow survives and is still living in South Dakota. Both were consistent members of the Lutheran Church. The following children were born to these worthy people: Andrew, of Barron county, a farmer of Cumberland township; Paul, a stone mason of Eau Claire; Ingebright, a farmer of Deuel county, S. Dak.; Nels; Ingeberg, deceased; Mathew, of Deuel county, S. Dak., where he is engaged in farming; Jergen, a farmer of Meeker county, Minn. All are prosperous and a credit to their parents and the name they bear.

Nels Paulson was educated in Norway, and was also engaged at the smelting works at the time he came with his parents to America. He soon found employment in the woods at various places, spending about fourteen years at lumbering, but in 1881 he bought 120 acres of railroad land, eight miles south of Cumberland, upon which he had squatted some several years earlier. This land was wild, a portion of it being in timber, and a portion in natural meadow. After spending several years upon it, and making many improvements, he disposed of it and engaged in hotel keeping.

On July 22, 1882, Mr. Paulson was married, in Cumberland, to Carolina Songu, also of Norway. They have nine living daughters: Matilda, Anna, Ida, Inga, Nellie, Clara, Emma, Martha and Minnie, all of whom are bright intelligent girls, now attending school.
In 1884 Mr. and Mrs. Paulson came to Cumberland, and traded a portion of their farm for the "Windsor Hotel," which he conducted for six years, when he sold out, and located on another farm for two years. Once more he came to Cumberland, and now conducts a hotel. In politics Mr. Paulson is a Republican, but has never been an office seeker. Both he and Mrs. Paulson are very popular, and are well and favorably known throughout the country. Coming to this country a poor young man he has gradually won his way by hard work and great thrift, and deserves the fullest commendation.


Hiram Pelton
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Hiram Pelton (deceased), who was an early settler of Dallas township, Barron Co., Wis., was born in 1825 at Athens, Greene Co., N.Y., a son of John and Sarah (Hinkley) Pelton, the former of whom was born in Connecticut and the latter in Massachusetts.
The Pelton family as well as the Hinkley family were of colonial stock, the former being of French descent, and the latter of Scotch-Irish. In 1850 John and Sarah Pelton, the parents of our subject, came to what was considered the far West at that time, and settled in Sauk county, among the pioneers of Wisconsin. There the father died in 1867, survived by his widow until 1881.
Hiram Pelton attended the local schools at Athens, these being conducted by private individuals, as it was long before the public school era, and at the age of twelve years was employed on a Hudson river boat as cook, for which service he received the small salary of four dollars a month. For twelve years he followed the river, during this time being promoted on many occasions, until he became mate. In 1850, he and his wife came to Wisconsin, settling in the wilds of Sauk county, near Reedsburg, where but a few families had preceded them. The nearest neighbor was located a mile and a half away and sociability was not easily shown. Mr. Pelton bought forty acres of wild land, paying for a part of it and promising to pay for the remainder with twenty-five per cent interest. Here he put up a cabin and developing the land somewhat, was able to dispose of it later. Then he went to Mississippi, locating in Wildwood Landing, near the mouth of the Arkansas river, where he lived through the winter, in the spring returning to Sauk county. Mr. Pelton then bought a farm of 120 acres in Winfield township, which he operated, living there until 1863. This farm he also sold, and then returned to his old home at Athens, N.Y., where he resided until 1865.

No better indication could be found of Mr. Pelton’s warm feeling for Wisconsin, when, in 1865 he returned a second time to the State, this time buying eighty acres of wild land in Sauk county on which he began the growing of hops. This place he also sold to advantage, and then removed to Dallas township, Barron county, where, in 1870, he took up a homestead in Section 22, the one now owned by N.C. Gilstad. This farm Mr. Pelton occupied for a number of years, developing and improving it and retaining possession of it until he retired from active life. He then settled in the village of Dallas, erecting a home which is a model of comfort and which he enjoyed the fruits of a long and industrious life.

Mr. Pelton was always a staunch Republican from the formation of the party, prior to that time being a Whig, as was his father before him. In local matters he took an active part and served his town in many ways; he was elected town clerk, a position he filled several years with the greatest efficiency. In the early days of Barron county, he served as president of the school board and also as one of the special board of supervisors for the county. His term as county treasurer, ending in 1874, was the last occupancy of that office before the division. Mr. Pelton also served in public office in Sauk county, in the various local offices where a man of reliability and intelligence was required and the records all show how well he managed all affairs entrusted to him. On many occasions he was sent by his party as a delegate to the various conventions, his tact and judgment making him well qualified for such honors.

In 1849 Hiram Pelton married Deborah Seaman and they became the parents of five children, namely: Alva S.; Ida is deceased; Maynard and Earnest A. constitute the well-known hardware firm of Pelton Brothers, at Dallas, and they are progressive and successful young business men; Miss Fannie conducts with much ability, a first-class millinery and dressmaking establishment at Dallas, and is a lady of most pleasant manner and possessed of both taste and business capacity. The mother of this family, Mrs. Deborah Pelton, passed away Nov. 22, 1899, at the age of seventy-three years, and the father, Hiram Pelton, passed away in Dallas on Feb. 28, 1905.

Mr. Pelton saw wonderful changes during his life in this great State and could look back, during his own life, over her most eventful years. He belonged to the sturdy band of pioneers who assisted so well in the building of the foundation upon which the commercial and agricultural prosperity of all this section has been erected.


Warren T. Porter
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Warren T. Porter, a worthy veteran of the Civil War now residing at Barron, Wis., was born in Chautauqua county, N.Y., in 1847. He is the son of Abner and Polly (Holland) Porter. The former was born in Caledonia county, Vt., in 1808, and lived to a good old age, being eighty years old at his decease, which took place in Barron county, Wis. He was a blacksmith and machinist by trade but in 1864 he moved to Houston county, Minn., where he lived on a farm until 1876; from there he moved to Barron county and took up a homestead claim. He was a man of quiet tastes and enjoyed the quiet farm life more than any other. His father, Ira Porter, was one of nine brothers who came from Ireland. Polly Holland was born in the Mohawk Valley in 1807 and died in Houston county, Minn., in 1870. She was of Holland descent and sprang of that good old Holland family which acquired the "Holland tract" in Cattaraugus and Chautauqua counties, New York.

Warren T. Porter, the subject of this sketch, enlisted in September, 1863, in Company A, 14th N.Y. Heavy Artillery. He took an active part in all the engagements of the "Army of the Potomac," beginning with the battle of the Wilderness, and from then until March 24, 1865, when he was captured at Fort Stedman and was held a prisoner of war in Libby Prison until the fall of Richmond. He received his honorable discharge June 9, 1865. After the war was over he went to Minnesota and later, in the spring of 1866, to Denison, Iowa, where he entered the employ of the Chicago and Northwestern Railway Company. He continued in the employment of railroads as fireman and engineer until 1877, when he was injured in a wreck and in consequence resigned. He then came to Barron county and was employed by Knapp, Stout & Co. as a mechanic in their shops for eleven seasons. In the meantime he purchased a farm in the township of Cedar Lake. In 1896 he removed to the city of Barron, where he has since been employed by the county as game warden and custodian of the Court House at that place. He now owns a farm of eighty acres in the town of Stanfold.
Mr. Porter was married June 3, 1875, to Lucinda Crisler, daughter of John P. and Jane (White) Crisler, of Barron county, Wis. Mrs. Porter was born in Illinois. They have one son, Warren Aubrey, a farmer now residing on his father’s farm in the town of Stanfold.  Mr. Porter has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1869, and is also a member of the Grand Army of the Republic. He has been a lifelong Republican, serving ten years as justice of the peace in the town of Cedar Lake, and has been clerk of the school board for thirteen years in the same place. In fact he was active in the Republican organization of the town of Cedar Lake. When Mr. Porter receives his "Honorable discharge" from the Army of Life, Barron county will lose one of its most worthy inhabitants.


George A. Raynor
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
George A. Raynor, an enterprising and successful business man of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born at Halstead, County of Essex, England, March 13, 1870, a son of Alfred C. and Mary (Payne) Raynor, natives of the same locality.
Herbert G. Raynor, the grandfather, was a blanket weaver by trade. Alfred C. Raynor for a number of years was in the British navy, and was sent to India during the troubles there in 1873, dying soon after his arrival, of the plague. His wife died at the birth of her son George A., leaving him and another son, Herbert C., of Rochester, N.Y. The latter resided with his paternal grandmother, Mrs. Elizabeth Raynor, until her death, at the time he was six years of age. He then joined his uncle John, at Albion, N.Y., being sent there by the rector of Halstead, the Rev. Mr. Frazer.
Upon reaching his new home the lad was bound out to a farmer for a period of five years, and the only educational advantages he had were obtained during the winter months, when he walked a distance of two miles to school. In his native land he had been attending a kindergarten, when death deprived him of his kind grandmother. When his term ended he worked as a farm laborer, beginning at nine dollars a month. In the fall of 1885 he went to Michigan and found work in the lumber woods. His next change was made when he went to St. Paul, Minn., and secured employment on a rafting steamer, so working for a summer. He then became a machinist apprentice in the shops of the St. P., M. and S.S.M. Railroad Co., and after eighteen months became a locomotive fireman in the employ of the same corporation, after three and one-half years of faithful service receiving promotion to engineer. During the great strike of 1894 he left the employ of this road and became a locomotive engineer on the Rice Lake, Dallas & Menomonie Railroad, thus continuing until 1897, when he became conductor and superintendent of transportation. He remained until that road was absorbed by the "Soo" road, and held the same position with the new corporation, remaining with it for two years. In 1901 Mr. Raynor resigned and purchased a hotel which he converted into the "Commercial House," operating it for a year and then leasing it, and in 1903 erected a two-story and basement brick business structure, where he carried on a large business in handling musical instruments. In addition, for a few years, Mr. Raynor has been largely interested in real estate transactions, and is without doubt one of the prosperous and solid men of Rice Lake.
In 1896 Mr. Raynor was married to Barbara J. Scheu, daughter of Joseph J. and Catherine Scheu, of Rice Lake. Mrs. Raynor was born at Chippewa Falls, Wis. She is a devout member of the Catholic Church, while Mr. Raynor was reared in the Episcopal Church. Fraternally he is a member of the I.O.O.F., which he joined in 1888, and is also a member of an encampment at Minneapolis, and is very popular in these organizations, as well as generally.

When only twenty-six years of age Mr. Raynor was elected an alderman, and is now serving his third term. He was elected on a non-partisan ticket, although in national matters he is a Republican. He has a promising career, and there is no doubt that, if called upon to represent a larger constituency, in larger fields, those who so trust him may rest assured that he will discharge whatever responsibilities come to him in the same honorable and conscientious manner that he displays to-day. Such men inspire confidence and retain it, as they do their friends. They understand the growing needs of a community and are able to introduce and carry through legislation calculated to bring about best results with the least expenditure of time and effort. In his business relations Mr. Raynor is an honorable man, dealing in an up-to-date manner, and his volume of trade is constantly increasing.


Maggie Romaine
Source: Eau Claire Telegram (5 Jan. 1921) from Wisconsin Historical Society Website; transcribed by Sandra Wright
INDIAN WOMAN FAMED PIONEER
Mrs. Price Romaine of Barron Widow of Late John Quarder
With the death of Mrs. Price Romaine at Barron several days ago came to a close a very interesting chapter in the pioneer history of the upper Chippewa Valley says the Wisconsin Daily Press, Mrs. Romaine was twice married, being the third Indian wife of John Quarderer the best known logger of Barron county of the older days, who also had many acquaintances in Chippewa Falls.
Maggie Redman, daughter of Chippewa Indian parents was born near Stanley in 1852 and in 1882 was married to John Quarderer whose first two Indian wives had died. One was of Sioux Indian parentage and the other a Chippewa squaw. Quarderer had a dozen half-breed children, who are living near Barron, but none has shown the thrift or enterprise of their father.
John Quarderer owned the first hotel in Barron, a log house, and also handed groceries. He owned the largest and finest farm in the city limits of Barron, and when the county seat was moved from Rice Lake to Barron, Mr. Quarderer donated the present site, one of the finest and most picturesque in the state. The beautiful farm, now known as "City View Farm" is owned by Fred J. Krahenbuhl, a well known breeder of Holstein cattle. The farm today is worth in the neighborhood of $50,000.
Tom Quarderer, one of the sons, developed into a baseball pitcher of considerable note. Baseball scouts were sent out from the cities to get a line on him and offered a large sum to get him to play in the big leagues. However, the father refused to permit his son to enter league baseball, saying he needed his son at home.


Stonewall Sparlin
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Stonewall Sparlin, county clerk of Barron county and a most public-spirited citizen, is a native of Missouri, born at Seneca, March 11, 1866, the son of Andrew and Mary T. (Meyers) Sparlin.
Andrew Sparlin was born in Pennsylvania but went to Ohio when he was two years of age and grew up there on a farm. In 1834 he went to Missouri, to meet the usual experiences of pioneers in that region. He settled in Newton county, walking thither from St. Louis, and took up a farm in a locality so wild that he could often shoot deer and wild turkeys from his doorway. In time a village grew up there which was called Sparlinsville and later he engaged there in mercantile business, most of his customers being Indians. About the close of the Civil war his property was burned by Union soldiers, although he was strictly neutral and had even at the beginning of the conflict voluntarily liberated his slaves. Mr. Sparlin died in 1881, aged seventy-seven, while his widow still survives, aged sixty-three. Mrs. Mary Sparlin, who was his second wife, bore him eleven children, while by his first wife, whose maiden name was Frances Spurgeon, he already had a family of eleven. Of the entire number fourteen are still living.

Stonewall Sparlin spent his boyhood on his father’s farm in Missouri and when fifteen years of age went to Wyoming, where he spent four years carrying the mails for his uncle, Charles F. Perkins, a star-route contractor. The boy drove a six-horse stage from Rawlins, Wyo., to Meeker, Colo., a distance of 150 miles, and in the discharge of his duty met with many interesting and thrilling experiences incident to the rough life of that day and place. In 1887 he left the far West and located in Wisconsin as manager for A.H. Koehler, of Almena, Barron county. Later Mr. Sparlin bought a stock of general merchandise from his employer and conducted business for himself a while, and then accepted a position as bookkeeper in the town.

Through all his residence in Barron county, Mr. Sparlin has been keenly interested in public affairs. While in Almena he served for three years as assessor for the town of Turtle Lake and for four years was chairman of the town, during which time he was instrumental in making great improvements in the roads of the township. The resolution to build the new court house was introduced before the county board by him and his untiring efforts were the chief cause of its adoption. Dec. 19, 1901, he was appointed county clerk, to fill a vacancy, and so satisfactorily did he discharge the duties of the position that in the fall of 1902 he was elected as an independent candidate to succeed himself and although he was a Democrat in his political affiliations, he overcame the large Republican majority of the county.

Mr. Sparlin was married Dec. 21, 1887, to Miss Ethel B. Richmond, daughter of Levi and Prudence Richmond, of Perley, Barron county. Of the five children born to this union, the eldest, Lee, was accidentally killed on the railroad, Aug. 29, 1903, aged sixteen. The other four are Leota, Jesse, Beatrice and Milton Van Dorn.


Charles Augustus Stark
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Charles Augustus Stark, a successful attorney and prominent citizen of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., was born at Randolph, Wis., Dec. 25, 1854, a son of Abel and Jane (Ely) Stark, the former of whom was a native of Lyme, Conn., and came to Wisconsin in 1851. He resided upon a farm at Randolph until his death in 1868, when he was sixty-four years of age. He was active in local affairs, serving as justice of the peace and councilman of the town of Westford for many years. In party affiliations he was a Democrat. Religiously he was a Baptist, and was a most worthy and good man. His ancestors came from Scotland in 1664 and settled in New England, although the first of whom there is any definite record is Abel Stark, brother of General Stark, of Revolutionary fame. Nathan, son of Abel Stark, was the grandfather of Charles A. Mrs. Abel Stark, mother of our subject, died at Randolph in 1886, aged seventy-three years. She was born at Poughkeepsie, N.Y., and was a granddaughter of the celebrated Dr. William Pitt Ely, of Hanover, N.J. The Ely family has long been prominently identified with the history of that portion of New Jersey. Mr. and Mrs. Abel Stark had eleven children, of whom Charles A. Stark was the youngest.

Charles Augustus Stark was educated in the public schools of his locality and later studied law at the University of Wisconsin, from which he was graduated in 1879. For some time he was engaged in practice at Chicago, but returned to Randolph and carried on the homestead for three years, and then opened up an office. May 13, 1887, he located at Rice Lake, where he has since resided, successfully engaged in a general practice. He is a Republican in politics, and for eleven years has served with conservative ability as city attorney. Mr. Stark has also served as delegate to State and congressional conventions several times, and is always sent to the county conventions, his influence and ability being generally recognized.

In March, 1889, Mr. Stark was married to Lillian M. Stults, daughter of Silas and Mary (Musson) Stults, of Rice Lake. Mrs. Stark was born in Cooks Valley, Chippewa Co., Wis. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Stark, Ralph and Blanche. The family all attend the Episcopal Church. Fraternally Mr. Stark is a member of the M.W.A. and A.O.U.W., being Master Workman of Weal Lodge, and is deservedly popular in all these organizations.


Robert Sykes
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Robert Sykes, master mechanic of the Rice Lake Lumber Co., of Rice Lake, Barron Co., Wis., and one of the prominent men of the place, was born at Glasgow, Scotland, Aug. 12, 1851, a son of Samuel and Martha Sykes. The Sykes family came to the United States about 1856, and after his arrival Samuel Sykes worked for a time at Albany, N.Y., but later went to Canada and operated a locomotive for a number of years. In 1865, being attracted to Chippewa Falls, Wis., he went thither and was employed as a machinist there and in northern Wisconsin. His death occurred at Chetek, Wis., in 1886, when he was aged sixty-six years. His excellent wife passed away at Albany, not long after reaching the United States.

Robert Sykes attended schools until he was seventeen years of age, when he began operating a sawmill, but in 1871 entered the employ of the Ingram Company and was a faithful and competent mechanic. In October, 1887, he removed to Rice Lake and assumed charge of the Rice Lake Lumber Co. machinery, which position he still efficiently fills, being one of the best master mechanics in that section of country.

In addition, Mr. Sykes is also interested in land investments, and is a man of promise and influence in the place. In politics he is a Democrat and was honored by election to the council from the third ward.

In March, 1872, Mr. Sykes married Miss Hannah Anderson, born in New Hampshire, daughter of Mans Anderson of Eau Claire. Two sons were born of this marriage: Walter, who occupies the position of engineer of the Rice Lake Lumber Co., and Grove, a student at the Lewis Institute, Chicago. Fraternally, Mr. Sykes has been connected with the Masonic Order for twenty years, and belongs to the local lodge and chapter, as well as to Tancred Commandery No. 27, K.T., at Chippewa Falls.


Jared W. Taylor
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Jared W. Taylor, one of the influential men of Barron, and since 1901 its mayor, has been identified with the town since the beginning of his business career and has been a potent factor in its upbuilding.
A native of Wisconsin, Mr. Taylor was born at Oxford, Marquette county, Dec. 11, 1856, the son of Henry H. and Martha E. (Emerick) Taylor. The mother, who is still living at Oxford, was born in New York, but her parents were among the early pioneers of Walworth county, Wis., and she was reared there. Henry H. Taylor, who was also born in New York, came much later to Wisconsin, settling at Lake Geneva, in 1845, where he practiced law, working on his farm and did carpentering, thus combining as so many pioneers were compelled to, several occupations. In 1849 he moved to Oxford, where he settled on wild land but soon had a good farm improved. Oxford at that time was little more than a name, with no railroad connection nearer than Milwaukee. Mr. Taylor served as justice of the peace and notary public, did most of the legal business for the community for many years and enjoyed the entire confidence of the people. Always active for the Republican party, he was prominent in local politics, several years filled clerical positions in the State senate, and was once a candidate for a seat in that body. His death, which occurred in 1882, was an untimely one, for he was but fifty-six years old at the time.
Jared W. Taylor attended the public schools at Oxford and then remained at the home farm until 1884. He and a brother than located at Barron, where they built a flouring mill, the first men to utilize the water power there. This mill, the first roller mill in Northern Wisconsin, has continued under Mr. Taylor’s ownership ever since and at present has a capacity of 100 barrels of flour a day. For a few years he also conducted a general store in Barron and did an extensive trade.

Mr. Taylor has always been an enthusiastic and active worker in the Republican ranks and has acted as delegate to several senatorial and congressional conventions. In 1896 he was elected city treasurer of Barron for a term of two years and in 1901 became mayor of the city. The following year he was re-elected for two years more, a most flattering proof of the esteem in which his fellow-citizens held him. His outside interests, however, were not confined to politics, and he is prominent in fraternal circles also; since 1876 he has been a member of the I.O.O.F., helped to organize an encampment at Barron and for eight successive years has been a delegate to the grand lodge of Wisconsin. He is also a member of the M.W.A.

Mr. Taylor was married in November, 1881, to Miss Hannah E. Ross, the daughter of Mrs. Elizabeth Ross, of Washington county, Wis. Three sons and one daughter have been born to this union: Henry Ross, Mildred, Lawrence and Sherman. The family is connected with the Methodist Church. In all relations of life Mr. Taylor holds the confidence of the community, an honor he has fairly earned by his probity, his ability and well-directed energy


Sidney Harry Waterman
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) Transcribed by: Glenda Stevens
The city of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis., is one to be particularly congratulated in its chief executive, Hon. Sidney H. Waterman, a man of energy, tireless effort in the cause of public good, and one who has the city’s best interests at heart.
Mr. Waterman was born in Windsor county, Vt., Dec. 23, 1844, son of Harry and Diana (Johnson) Waterman, both of Windsor county, where they lived and died, and where their six children were born as follows: Emily, who is now a resident of Hanover, N. H.; Martha, deceased, Sidney, deceased; Sidney H.; Frederick, a real estate man of Elk River, Minn.; and Frank, of Buffalo, who works on the Erie railroad as conductor. Until he was seventeen years of age Sidney H. Waterman attended the home schools, and then went to Oshkosh, where he worked in various sawmills until 1882. In 1865, he was united in marriage with Miss Maria L. Howard, of Oshkosh, daughter of R. L. Howard, a Baptist preacher. The following children have come to this marriage: Albert H., secretary of the Miller Waterman Co. store at Cumberland, married Anna Miller, and has five daughters, Abbie, Gertrude, Elinor, Isabella and Frances; Alice married Timothy Olcott, of Ashton, Iowa, a banker and has three children, Sidney, Harvey and Ethel; Grace married W. J. Boyden, a merchant at Cumberland, and has two children, Sidney and Louisa; Marian is attending the State University at Madison. These children were all educated in the home and high schools, and are very intelligent and popular young people.
In March, 1882 Mr. Waterman came to Cumberland, and operated the Beaver Lake Lumber Co. mill for about twenty-two years under a contract. In 1903 the Miller & Waterman Company purchased what is known as the Company’s Store in Cumberland and Mr. Waterman is now the vice-president of the company. He is president of the Cumberland Telephone Company. He has a large cranberry marsh in Burnett county, Wis., consisting of 125 acres, which is very profitable.
In politics Mr. Waterman is a Republican, and for seven years has acted as mayor of Cumberland, giving the people a clean, honorable and business like administration. He has also served upon the county board, and is a man who leads in whatever he undertakes. He is a member of the Blue Lodge, No. 223, F. & A. M., and of Lodge No. 303, I. O. O. F., both of Cumberland. Mrs. Waterman is a consistent member of the Methodist Church, and a very charming and gracious lady.


H. J. White
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
H.J. White, farmer, is one of the best known of the pioneer settlers of Barron county, Wis., still surviving. He was born in 1837, in Oneida county, N.Y., a son of John and Maria (Staples) White, of County Kent, England, who emigrated to America in 1827. They settled at Deerfield, Oneida Co., N.Y., where the family lived thirteen years, and then, after a residence of five years in the town of Vernon, same county, removed to Canada, where the wife and mother died.
H. J. White was reared on a farm and received but limited education in the public schools of that day. In 1860, accompanied by his brother Isaac, he came to Oshkosh, Wis., later removing to Calumet county. In 1864 he and his brother enlisted in Company K, 1st Wis. Vol. Cav., and both saw active service in the military department of the Mississippi and participated in the numerous skirmishes which occurred in raiding expeditions. Both were honorably discharged in July, 1865.
After their discharge the brothers returned to Chilton, Calumet Co., Wis., where they engaged in the pearl ash business. In 1873 our subject came to Barron county, where he took up a homestead in what is now Sumner township, being one of the very early settlers. Here he erected a cabin and in the spring following was joined by his family. Here he engaged in teaching school in connection with farming, and in the fall of 1875 he was elected as a non-partisan candidate to the superintendency of the public schools, his opponent being Alvah Dewey, a cousin of Admiral Dewey, then the editor of a newspaper at Rice Lake. So efficiently did Mr. White discharge the duties of this office that he was reelected twice, serving six years in all. During his incumbency of the office of superintendent he was very zealous in the advocacy of the plan of district purchase of text books, and when he retired had the satisfaction of seeing nearly every district in the county working under that system. His predecessors in the office were Oliver De Mers, Albert Finley and Rev. Wellington Bird. When Mr. White assumed charge of the schools there were only twenty-seven in the county and there were eighty at the close of his term of office. Subsequently Mr. White was elected chairman of Sumner township and served several terms, during a part of which time he was chairman of the county board; during this incumbency he was chairman of the committee which accomplished the erection of the county poor house. For his interest in this work, which he brought to completeness, he received much praise from the State Board of Charities and Reform. For a number of years he has been a justice of the peace in Sumner township and is the present incumbent of the clerk’s office. He has always been one of the public-spirited, enterprising men of this section, fully alive to its needs and perfectly capable of filling almost any office in the gift of his fellow citizens.  Mr. White married Alvira Oram, of Calumet county, Wis., and they had six children, as follows: Alice (Mrs. Nuesse); George, Effie, Everett, Flora (Mrs. Malone, of Superior), and Sidney (deceased).


H. L. Williams
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
H. L. Williams, president of the Cumberland Land Co., and a large dealer and expert in real estate, is one of the prominent citizens of Cumberland, Barron Co., Wis. He was born March 30, 1850, in Susquehanna county, Penn., a son of Stephen D. and Almira (McKune) Williams, the former a native of New York, and the latter of Pennsylvania.
The father of Mr. Williams was a lawyer by profession, but failing health compelled him to seek another occupation. In 1852 he went to Princeton, Ill., traveled as a salesman for some three years, then went to Pierce County, Wis., four miles from River Falls, later to Osceola, Wis., where he lived for many years, and then returned to Princeton, where his wife died in 1864. In 1895 Mr. Williams went back to his native State. During his professional career he was widely known, both as an orator and a wise counsellor, and held many positions of honor and trust. For a long period he was probate judge and was considered of much prominence on the Bench and at the Bar. He was a consistent member of the Baptist Church, while his wife belonged to the Episcopal Church. They had six children, as follows: Londesky B., Esther, Pauline and Susan, all deceased; Hiram L.; and Caroline, wife of H.C. Doolittle, of Cumberland, Wisconsin.
Mr. Williams’ boyhood gave him little chance of schooling, as the locality in which his father settled had not yet advanced far enough to provide schools convenient to the scattered homesteads. All the opportunities he had were in a log school house situated some three or four miles from his home. When he was about twelve years old he went to Amboy, Ill., where he attended school for two years, and then to Cameron, Minn., and to other places, engaged in looking after stock. In 1865 and 1866 he went to North and South Dakota and then back to Osceola, Wis., where he went into the lumbering business, in which he was engaged until 1879, settling in Cumberland, Wis., at that date. He served as foreman in the pineries for different companies and also did some surveying and jobbing in the woods, and for a number of years was estimator of pine lands.
For seven years after locating at Cumberland, Mr. Williams followed lumbering for G.G. Cook & Co., of Minneapolis, prior to this having had charge of the North Cumberland Lumber Co. Since 1900, in association with S.R. Fraser, of Mankato, Minn., he has had charge of the Cumberland Land Co.’s office at this point. They managed about seventeen thousand acres of land in Burnett, Barron, Polk and Washburn counties. In addition to his lumbering interests, Mr. Williams owns a fine farm of 200 acres at West Cumberland, Wis., 130 of which is finely improved, Mr. Williams having made all the improvements himself. It is mainly devoted to stock raising. Mr. Williams shipped the first car load of cattle ever sent from Cumberland to St. Paul. Although he was hampered in youth by adverse conditions, through his own energy and ability he has made his life a financial success. He has also gained public esteem and has been called upon on many occasions to accept local office. He has been assessor, chairman of the county board of supervisors, and has been a most earnest and effective worker on the school board. In politics he supported the Republican party for many years, but since 1887 has been identified with the Prohibition party.
At St. Croix Falls in 1870, Mr. Williams was married to Laura E. Sevey, of Taylors Falls, Minn., and five children were born to this union: Lewis, now in California; Ida, wife of William Bruffle, of Lakeland, Wis.; Ralph, a cattleman in Wyoming; Marilla, deceased; and Warren, at home. The mother of his family died June 24, 1884. Mr. Williams married (second) Emma D. Sevey, a sister of his first wife, and one son has been born, named for his father.
Mr. Williams is fraternally associated with the A.O.U.W. In religious views he is a Methodist. Probably few citizens of the county have a more thorough knowledge of land and lumber values in this section than has Mr. Williams. Years have been devoted to the study of the resources of all this territory, and his opinion is that of an expert. Personally Mr. Williams is a most courteous gentleman to meet, and his conversation gives the visitor new ideas of the vast surrounding regions and of the difficulties with which the early settlers had to contend.


HOME

Wisconsin Genealogy Trails
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails