Wisconsin Genealogy Trails
Bayfield County, Wisconsin

Chauncey T. Andreas
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Chauncey T. Andreas, jeweler, Bayfield; was born in Sparta, Wis., in 1859, son of Jere and Elizabeth Wise Andreas. He was brought up and educated in his native town, learned the jeweler’s trade of L. D. Merrill, of that place; went to Mather, Wis., for two years; went to Bayfield, Wis., in January, 1881 and opened a jewelry store.

Ole Aune
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Ole Aune, one of the most enterprising young men of Washburn, Bayfield county, was born at Opdal, near Trondhjem, Norway, Dec. 25, 1871, son of John and Kari (Johnson) Windal, natives of the same locality, where both families had lived for many generations.
The paternal grandfather, John Johnson, a carpenter by trade, is still living in Norway. His son, John Windal, came to the United States in 1878 and settled in Wisconsin, where he worked at lumbering in Menomonie and Rice Lake. In 1884 he removed to Washburn, where he followed the trade of a carpenter, putting up many of the buildings of the town. Since 1898 he has lived on a homestead near Pratt, Bayfield county, where he has developed his land into a fine farm.
Ole Aune was educated in the public schools of his native land, completing a high school course. It was not until March, 1892, that he followed his father to this country. On arriving he went West to Minnesota for a year, and then to Stevens Point, Wis., where he worked in a sawmill. Another winter was spent at Fosbroke, Dunn county, and while there he attended an English school. In 1894 he located at Washburn and followed carpentering for four years. His next work was in a planing mill, and after a year in a subordinate position he was made foreman of the establishment and remained there until he started in business for himself.
In June, 1902, Mr. Aune helped to organize the Washburn Co-operative Grocery Store, and for three months had charge of it. While still a stockholder, he gave up the management of the concern in September of the same year to enter upon a partnership with E. H. Sagen. They bought a stock of furniture, stoves, tinware and crockery, and Mr. Aune has since then been in this business. He is also stockholder in the Washburn Ice Company.
In April, 1901, Mr. Aune was married to Anette Ness, daughter of Charles Ness, now a citizen of Washburn, but formerly of Christiania, Norway, where Mrs. Aune was born. Mr. and Mrs. Aune have one child, a young daughter. Mr. Aune is a firm advocate of the principles of the Prohibition party, and for the past eight years has been a member of the I.O.G.T. He also belongs to the I.O.F.; to the Scan. S.H. and E.F. of America; and I.S.W.A. Mr. Aune has already accomplished much for so young a business man, and his future gives promise of continued success.

William F. Austria, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
William F. Austria, M.D., a physician of Bayfield, Wis., has been a resident of that town since May, 1900, and in these few years he has already built up a practice that augurs well for the future. He was born in Oakfield, near Fond du Lac, Wis., son of A. and Mary Austria. The father was born in Germany, where he was reared and educated. He learned the milling business, and coming to America about forty years ago, while still unmarried, he settled in Wisconsin and engaged at his trade, which he is still following steadily there. His practical knowledge of the business has brought him continued success. He and his wife, who was born near Fond du Lac, have had nine children, of whom Dr. William F. is the eldest.

Dr. Austria was reared to village life, and acquired his education in the schools of Omro. He graduated from the high school there in 1893, and immediately entered upon his medical studies, reading first with Dr. Daniels, of Omro, and later with Dr. Wright, under whom he studied two years. He matriculated at the Chicago Homoeopathic Medical College, from which he was graduated in 1899. He remained in the school another six months, taking a post graduate course and serving in the Chicago Homoeopathic Hospital. When Dr. Austria began practicing he chose Winneconne, Wis., as a location, but after six months there he disposed of his practice to settle in Bayfield, where he has established himself very satisfactorily and is building up an increasing practice. In 1902 he erected an office building for the special purpose of securing a thoroughly well-appointed and modern office and is now well situated for caring for the many cases that seek his aid. In politics Dr. Austria is a supporter of the Republican party and was the nominee of that party in 1902 for coroner of Bayfield county, receiving a good majority of the votes cast. He is a member of the Presbyterian Church, and belongs to the M.W.A.

Louis J. Bachand
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Louis J. Bachand, County Clerk, Bayfield, was born in Two Rivers, Manitowoc Co., Wis., April 17, 1853 where he remained till 1862, going thence to Chicago to attend school. In 1866 he came to Bayfield and in 1870 engaged in fishing, which he carried on till the Spring of 1878 when he was elected Assessor. In 1880 he was elected County Clerk for Bayfield. He is a member of the Catholic Church.

John Banfill
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Hon. John Banfill, retired, Bayfield, was born in Topsham, Vt., Feb. 12, 1811. He remained at home till 1823, and then moved to Dover, N. H., and from there to Boston. In 1835 he went to New Orleans to work at his trade, the mason’s and while there volunteered to go with the expedition that was to search for the body of Maj. Dade, who had been killed by the Indians.. After returning to New Orleans he went north to New York, and then to Albany. In 1938 he went to Lancaster, Grant Co; moved to Prairie du Chien and kept the Prairie House, but sold out and went to St. Paul and built the Rice House. He then built a saw mill and bought a farm sixteen miles up the Mississippi River. While here he was sent to the State Senate; was also Postmaster at Winona. In 1861 he moved to Bayfield, Wis., where he kept hotel. Since coming to Bayfield he has been School Treasurer, Judge of Probate Court from 1870 to 1878, Chairman of County Board, and has held other offices. In 1838 he married Miss Nancy Foster of New York City. He is a member of the Masonic fraternity.

Currie G. Bell
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
A long and varied experience in public life has given this well known citizen of Bayfield a wide acquaintance in political circles, and for years he has been one of the advisers of the Republican party in this region, while as editor of the Bayfield County Press he wields an influence reaching far beyond the limits of his personal touch with men.

Mr. Bell comes of Colonial ancestors, through both his grandfather and grandmother. The paternal grandfather, John Bell, was of Scotch descent, was a ship carpenter in early life, but later became a farmer and was one of the first settlers of Houlton, Maine. The story is told of him that in company with a certain William White he bought a grindstone in Woodstock, N.B., made it into a wheelbarrow, and so conveyed the first barrel of flour into Houlton. Mr. Bell is later years became a selectman of the town, as did also Mr. White. John Bell married Elizabeth White, of English descent, and their son Charles, was the father of Currie G. Bell.

Charles E. Bell during his residence in Maine was both a logger and a merchant, but after going West in 1864 he confined himself to a mercantile career. He settled first in Marshall, Dane Co., Wis., where he was in business nearly twenty years. He established himself in Washburn in 1883, the year of its settlement, and was one of the leading merchants of the place until his retirement from business a few years ago. His first wife was Georgiana Currie, and by this marriage there were five children, of whom only Currie G. survives. Mrs. Bell died in 1868, aged forty-four years; and her husband some years later chose for his wife Eloise C. Clayton.

Currie G. Bell was born July 1, 1852, in Houlton, Maine, and received his education in Houlton, and in Marshall academy. After graduating from the latter in 1868, he went to the Pennsylvania oil regions, where he was employed for several years, and in 1879 he came to Wisconsin and entered upon his editorial career, beginning with the Waterloo Journal, a Republican organ, which he successfully conducted there a number of years, an unusual induction into journalism. Selling the Journal in 1882 he came to Bayfield and bought the Press, a paper established Oct. 1, 1859, by Joseph H. Campbell, with Rev. William B. McKee as its editor. The Press was a successor to the Mercury, established in 1857 by Hamilton & Hatch, of Washington, D.C., who received a bonus from the Bayfield Land Company to induce them to launch the enterprise. The Press suspended publication after two and a half years, and the material was purchased by S.S. Vaughn, then of Bayfield, but it was not until 1870 that the publication was resumed. Then Sam S. and Hank O. Fifield bought the plant and under their management it was conducted two years in Bayfield, after which they moved the outfit to Ashland, and continued publication until Jan. 1, 1877. Then Sam S. Fifield brought the office back to Bayfield and again issued the paper there with Morris Edwards as business manager. In the spring of 1879 D.F. Stinchfield became editor and manager, and continued as such until April 1, 1880, when the plant was purchased from Fifield by Isaac H. Wing. Mr. Stinchfield remained as editor until the spring of 1881, when he was succeeded by D.H. Pulsifer, who held it until 1882, when the plant was purchased by the present publishers. The Press has always been Republican in its politics. Since Mr. Bell assumed the ownership, it has been conducted under his personal supervision and is thoroughly up to date.

Under the Republicans Mr. Bell has been the incumbent of a number of responsible positions, in all of which he has displayed much ability. Under Pres. Garfield he was given the appointment of receiver of public money in the Bayfield land district during that administration. At the expiration of Cleveland’s term he was appointed postmaster at Bayfield. Under Harrison’s administration he served until the second election of Pres. Cleveland, when Mr. Bell again fell under the displeasure of a Democratic president. During President Harrison’s first campaign Mr. Bell was honored by being chosen presidential elector. Mr. Bell was chairman of the town board seventeen years, during thirteen of which he was also chairman of the county board. As a member of the Wisconsin Fish Commission he was instrumental in securing the location of the first fish hatchery, the largest in the world, two and a half miles from Bayfield, established in 1896. The Commission owns 600 acres of land and controls ten miles of natural trout stream, together with a lake frontage.

Mr. Bell is a member of the Republican State Central Committee and has always taken an active interest in political matters, national, State and local, and has been a delegate to all conventions, having a voice in the councils of his party. He is also a member of the County Central Republican Committee.

Mr. Bell is a member of the Masonic fraternity, having membership in Bayfield Lodge, No. 215, Ashland Chapter, and the Commandery; the Milwaukee Lodge of Elks; and the I.O.O.F., Harbor City Lodge, No. 69, of Bayfield, Wisconsin.

Mr. Bell has been twice married. His first wife was Miss Addah E. Fuller, of Marshall, Wis., whom he married in 1878. His second marriage occurred in 1891, when he was united with Miss Mary R. Roberts, of New York. Of the children born to Mr. Bell three are living: Georgie C., now Mrs. L.A. Helwig; Barbara M.; and Donald C. One other child, Currie D., is deceased. The family are attendants upon the Methodist Episcopal and the Episcopal Churches.

J. B. Bono
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
J.B. Bono, hotel, Bayfield, was born in Detroit, Mich., April 14, 1832. When five years of age, went with his parents to Sault St. Marie, where is father, John Bono, died in 1880, at the advanced age of 106 years and six months. J.B. left there in 1854, and went to sailing and fishing. He came to La Pointe in 1855, and there kept a boarding house; then coming to Bayfield, he kept the first hotel in the place; in 1967 he sold out and went to his trade, shoe-making; in 1870 he began his present business of hotel and meat market with grocery store; in 1853 he married Miss Berron, of Michigan. They have five children – Alice (now Mrs. Welcome), Albert, Julia, Hattie and Henry. The family attend the Catholic Church.

Duffey Boutin
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Duffey Boutin, saloon, Bayfield, was born in Detroit, Mich., Dec. 15, 1845. He moved from place to place engaged in fishing- Mackinaw, Whiskey Island, St. Helena Isle and Two Rivers, where he remained till 1850; then to Kewaunee and on to Bayfield, where there are now living several brothers, Benoni, Edward, Felis F., Nelson, Frank, Joseph C., Duffey and Solomon D. In 1868 he married Miss Lawrence, They have three children – Walter, aged thirteen; Nettie, eleven; and Lafayette, three. He has been Deputy Sheriff. His brother Joseph is also married and has a family of seven children living. He has also three sisters, Emily, Clara and Adeline.

Frank Boutin
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Frank Boutin, firm of N. & F. Boutin, fish dealers, Bayfield, was born in Canada East, September, 1833, and followed the fortunes of the family till coming to Bayfield, where he entered the fish trade and general merchandise business with his brother Nelson. They have $200,000 in their business, handling 1,500 half barrels of fish in the Summer, and about 100 tons of fresh fish in the Winter, employing about 100 men. In 1853 Frank married Miss Mary Landre, of Canada. They have six children: James, Frank, Emily, Lucy, Mary and Anita. Of his brothers four were in the 27th Wis. V.1. – Joseph C., Duffey, Solomon and Felis.

N. Boutin
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
Hon. N. Boutin, of the firm of N. & F. Boutin, fish dealers, Bayfield, was born in Canada East, Aug. 17, 1831. With the family he moved to Detroit on 1837, where he lived eleven years, and then moved to Mackinaw, and soon afterward to Manitowoc Co., Wis. While there he was in the mercantile business. He moved then to Kewaunee County, and while there was sent to the Legislature. He then returned to Manitowoc, where he engaged in fishing up to the year 1870, when he moved to Bayfield and established the firm as it now stand. He has been a politician more or less, holding the position of Sheriff for years, and in 1880 was elected County Treasurer. In 1848 he married, then being only seventeen years of age, Miss Conture of Detroit. They have had four children, Mary, now Mrs. Mahan, being the only living.

A. J. Buffalo
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
The Red Cliff Reservation was first set apart for the use of the Indian tribes in 1854, and in the beginning only four sections were reserved, and no special tribe was designated. In 1858 sixteen sections were added by act of Congress, and finally in President Cleveland’s first administration had been created exclusively for the Chippewa Indians. The chief of the tribe thus established on the reserve is A. J. Buffalo, born in 1852, a son of the former chief, Antoine Buffalo, whose authority descended to his son. The family reaches back through a long line of ancestors, all of whom have been prominent as chieftains of their tribes.

Antoine Buffalo was a son of Chajegweon, a full-blooded Indian. He married Mary, a daughter of another old family and they have had six children, two of whom are living, Josephine, of West Superior, and A. J. Antoine Buffalo died about 1865, but his wife survives at a good old age, and resides with her son.

A. J. Buffalo early felt the importance of an education and succeeded in obtaining a limited amount of instruction in the government school, but before he had finished his father had died and he was obliged to abandon his studies and to go to work to support his mother and the younger children, these responsibilities resting upon him until he was grown. As the head of the tribe he had all the affairs of his people to direct also, no light task for so young a chief.

When the allotments were made to the Chippewas each Indian received about eighty acres. They at once began taking up their allotments and settling on their lands. Two-thirds of their lands were covered with fine timber, which they were allowed to dispose of and thus secure funds with which to put up houses. About 1872 the government established an agency on the reservation which was maintained for eight years. The first agent was Major Clark, who was succeeded by a Mr. Mehan. While the latter was in charge the agency was destroyed by fire and it was never rebuilt.

The first government school was established in 1854 on Chequamegon Bay, on Madaline Island, at LaPointe. This school was carried on for four years under government supervision, and was then moved to Red Cliff, where it was still under government control. During the last years of Mr. Mehan’s administration the school was moved again, this time to the Courtes Oreilles Reservation. Another school was established on the Red Cliff Reservation, maintained by the people themselves, and taught by Sisters. Subsequently the Sisters themselves received government appointment, and have continued to conduct the school very successfully to the present time. It is well patronized in every way, and has done much for the Indian children. Of these there are about seventy-five of school age. The census shows an Indian population on the reservation of 275. At present increased interest is being taken in agriculture and the allotments show decided improvements. The mission and the school buildings are in one, a good comfortable structure, costing about $2,000.

During his earlier years Chief Buffalo was occupied in clearing up his farm of forty acres, and in doing contract work. His unvarying success proves that much may be attained by industry and good management. In 1897 he was appointed government farmer by President McKinley but resigned that position in February, 1903.

Chief Buffalo was married in 1873 to Esther, a Chippewa half-breed maiden, and they have had a family of eleven children of whom eight are living: Antoine, Susan, Michael, Joseph, Robert, Martin, Maggie and Henry. The three who died were John, Mary and James. All of these children are educated, some of them to an unusual extent. Michael received his early schooling in the parochial schools, and was then sent to a business college at Quincy, Ill., and after graduating from that entered Haskell Institute, St. Lawrence, Kans.; he completed that course, graduated, and has since been filling a responsible position at St. Paul. Two other sons, Joseph and Martin, went from the parochial schools to the Flandreau school in South Dakota, where the former belonged to the class of 1903, and the latter will finish a year or two later. Robert is now in the Haskell Institute, taking the full course; and Antoine and the daughters have all been through the parochial schools.

In 1898 Chief Buffalo established a general store at Red Cliff, which he further enlarged in March, 1904, by buying the mercantile stock of the Red Cliff Lumber Co., combining the two and forming a complete general store; he had the only one in the village. He is the most progressive man of his tribe, and possesses ability of no mean order. The family are all connected with the Catholic Church.

F. A. Buol
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
In these days of keen competition, when life everywhere seems at its highest pressure, it is the man of indomitable energy, who is by nature exhilarated and stimulated by the ceaseless demands upon his every faculty, who achieves success. Such a one is the subject of this brief biography, F. A. Buol, who, although little over thirty, is already established among the successful business men of Bayfield county, and is influential in county affairs.

Mr. Buol was born in Chicago, Ill., Oct. 29, 1871, son of Frank Buol, of Switzerland. The father was a chef by profession, and came to the New World to try his fortune in Chicago in 1869. Nineteen years later he took up a homestead in Mason, now Pratt township, where he lived for a number of years, and is at present a resident of Los Angeles, Cal. The son was educated in the public schools of Chicago. Although only seventeen years old when he went to Wisconsin, he began to show very soon his powers in both a public and business capacity and was only twenty-one when he was elected to office. Mr. Buol’s first position in the service of the public was that of assessor of the township of Mason, to which he was elected in 1892, and re-elected six times. In 1903 he was made chairman of the town board, an office which he is filling most satisfactorily. Mr. Buol takes an intelligent interest in politics, but is mainly concerned to serve the interests of his immediate section to the utmost of his ability, regardless of the usual party lines.

In a business way Mr. Buol is connected with the lumber world, and holds the responsible position of assistant manager of the Bibon sawmill. For ten years he worked as timber inspector, and in the discharge of the duties devolving upon him he traveled over the greater part of northern Wisconsin. With keen, business acumen, and a well founded confidence in the future of that region, he has invested largely in lands throughout that part of the State.

Mr. Buol is active in fraternal circles belonging both to the Elks, Ashland Lodge, No. 558, and to the Masons. In the latter fraternity he is a member of the Blue Lodge and Chapter. His genial and companionable nature, as well as his endless capacity for "doing things,” makes him most popular, and whether in fraternal or social circles he is always warmly welcomed.

John E. Byrns
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Among the many concerns operating successfully and extensively in northern Wisconsin none, perhaps, has wider interest than the Rittenhouse & Embree Company, of Chicago. This company owns a large sawmill in Washburn and others in Polk county, Wis.; owns large timber tracts and has camps at Sioux River, Bayfield Co., Wis.; Ironwood, Mich.; and Two Harbors, Minn.; and has mills and a camp at Warner, Ark. To be put in sole charge of large and scattered properties is a flattering responsibility, given only to a specially able man, one with marked power in financial matters, and still more in executive lines. This trust has been committed to John E. Byrns.

Mr. Byrns was born in Buffalo, N.Y., Nov. 22, 1866. The attended the public schools of Buffalo, and then entered St. Joseph’s College there, from which he was graduated in the commercial course in 1883. He at once entered the employ of a lumber firm in Buffalo, and though he began in a minor position he immediately won promotion. In 1889 he went to Bay City, Mich., and was engaged for seven or eight years in a commission business, shipping lumber, etc. In 1896 he was sent to Ashland to take charge of the affairs of the Rittenhouse & Embree Company, in which position he has about a thousand men under his direction in all the various camps and mills owned by the company.

Mr. Byrns was married Dec. 17, 1902, to Miss Frances Bailey, daughter of Samuel W. Bailey, a prominent pioneer of Ashland. Politically Mr. Byrns supports the Republican party, but the extensive interests in his charge, scattered over so large an area, prevent his taking a special activity in politics.

James Chapman
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 83; submitted by Sandra Wright
James Chapman, merchant, Bayfield, was born in Sault St. Marie, Mich., May 22, 1853. His parents moved from there to Mackinaw, and from there he attended Erie Academy in Erie, Pa. In the Summer time he engaged on a revenue cutter, and went to school in the Winter. He came to the iron region on Lake Superior in 1849., locating at Marquette. He was one of the first settlers there. He took an iron claim for S. McKnight, and then worked at proving up. He was in Detroit in 1854, and had been at the treaty between the Chippewas on Lake Superior and Mississippi and the Government. He returned to Marquette and remained until 1856, when he came to La Pointe. He came to Bayfield, and in 1861, was employed in the Indian Agency, and was Postmaster from 1856 to 1864. In 1871 he went into general merchandise business. In 1858, was elected the first Register of Deeds for Bayfield, holding office till 1868; has been Supervisor of town and county, and Deputy Collector of Customs. He attends the Episcopal Church.

Lorenzo N. Clausen
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Lorenzo N. Clausen, one of the most influential citizens of Washburn, Bayfield county, has in various ways contributed largely to the growth and development of that city, and has played a prominent part in both the political and business life of the place.
According to the family traditions, the Clausen family originated in Germany, but migrated to Norway several centuries ago. Claus and Christina (Nelson) Clausen came with their children to the United States in 1870, and settled in Otter Tail county, Minn. Mr. Clausen took up a homestead claim and on that farm spent the remainder of his life. He died in 1893, at the age of eighty-three years, and his wife in 1889, at the age of seventy-six.
Lorenzo N. Clausen was born before his parents left Norway, Oct. 5, 1855, at Hennes, Helgeland, where he attended the public school until he was fifteen. After coming to America he was a student at the Minnesota State Normal School at St. Cloud, and afterward, with intervals at farming, taught ten years. Later he was postmaster at Dalton, Minn., and then clerk in a store at Fergus Falls. He was the first railway postal clerk on the line between Wadena and Fergus Falls, and was thus employed in 1884, when ill-health compelled him to resign. Removing to Washburn, then only a struggling frontier village, he was within a year of his arrival appointed town clerk, and re-elected regularly through a four years’ service. In 1886 he received the appointment of deputy collector of customs for the port of Washburn, which position he held for eight years. In 1893 he was chosen to fill another important office, that of chairman of the town board of supervisors, which he filled one year. Always an ardent Republican, this record shows how active a part he has taken in local affairs and politics, though it is by no means complete; in addition, he acted as county treasurer in 1897 and 1898; during ten years he has been chairman of the county committee; has been delegate to several State conventions, and in that of 1900 he was supported by the "Stalwart” faction in an unsuccessful candidacy for the office of State treasurer.

In the business world Mr. Clausen is as prominent as in the political field; from 1889 to 1894 he was cashier of the Bayfield County Bank, and since giving up that line of work has been interested in the real estate business, while as an insurance agent he has represented a number of the leading companies of the United States and Europe. Mr. Clausen was also one of the incorporators and is now secretary of the Washburn Building and Loan Association, which is one of the most successful associations of the State, and which has been largely instrumental in building up the city. In church work, too, Mr. Clausen is an active participant, being connected with the Congregational Church, and he has been for some time the secretary of the society. Fraternally, he belongs to the Masons, the I.O.O.F., and the K.P., and has filled various official positions in each. With activities so varied, Mr. Clausen’s acquaintance is indeed wide and by all he is most highly esteemed.

In 1889 Mr. Clausen was married to Miss Minnie A. Falconer, born in Paisley, Ont., the daughter of Thomas Falconer. She is the mother of one daughter, Florence.

J. D. Cruttenden
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Col. J.D. Cruttenden, real estate, Bayfield, was born in Georgetown, D.C., March 2, 1822. He lived there till 1838, then moved to St. Louis, where he remained till 1849; then up the river to Prairie du Chien, Wis.; in 1849, to St. Paul, in the Indian trade, and afterwards formed a partnership with R. P. Russell at St. Anthony. He then went to Little Crowing, where he stayed until 1855, in the meantime representing this section in the Territorial Legislature, and then in the State House in 1857-8. He was appointed Register of United States Land office in 1859 by President Buchanan. In February, 1861, he was made captain and assistant quartermaster; was promoted to colonel and inspector of the quartermaster’s department, and in 1865 was mustered out, and in 1869 came to Bayfield. He was elected Register of Deeds in 1872, which he has held since; also Town Clerk since 1874; has held deputies in town and school office. In 1861 he married Miss Lucy F. Green, of Granville, Ohio. They have one child, H. Rice. They attend the Episcopal Church.

William F. Dalrymple
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
William F. Dalrymple (deceased), a man of varied business interests both in the East and the West, and organizer of the Bayfield Transfer Railroad, was one of the magnates of the lumber world, and was perhaps even better known as one of the owners of the famous Dalrymple farm in North Dakota.

Mr. Dalrymple was a native of Pennsylvania, born in Sugar Grove, Warren county, April 17, 1825. Although reared to farm pursuits he was given a good education in the public schools and at the academy in Jamestown, N.Y., and after completing his studies he taught in Warren county, Pa. So satisfactory was his work that he was made superintendent of the schools of the county, a position he filled for several years. Later Mr. Dalrymple left professional work and entered the mercantile world, beginning in Pittsfield, Pa., where he operated in oil and timber lands and manufactured lumber, thus lying foundations for the larger fortune he eventually obtained. As his wealth increased, he extended his operations into the West and bought extensive tracts of land in North Dakota and in Bayfield. The Dalrymple farm in the Red river valley, referred to above, he owned in partnership with his brother, Oliver.

In 1883 the Bayfield Transfer Railway Company was organized by Mr. Dalrymple. The first board of directors were William F. and Oliver Dalrymple, George H. Noyes, William B. Acocks and Patrick W. Purtell. Of these only Mr. Noyes remains on the board, his associates being J.M. Smith, H.C. Hale, T.W. Dockery and B.K. Miller, Jr. The Transfer Railroad extends from Bayfield to Red Cliff, and was finally constructed in 1897. The company holds leases for two other independent lines, each six miles in length.

Mr. Dalrymple was a man of unusual energy, with shrewd business instincts, though conservative withal, and he accumulated a large fortune. His death occurred July 21, 1901, and was felt to be a distinct loss to the community.

James C. Daly
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
James C. Daly, a dealer in real estate and chairman of the town board of Port Wing, Bayfield county, has not taken a prominent part in town affairs since he has resided there, but is a widely known politician and orator. He was born in Milwaukee, April 17, 1852, and his parents were John and Mary (Quinn) Daly.

John Daly was of Irish descent, but a native of the State of Massachusetts. A highly educated man and a college graduate he was trained professionally for a civil engineer. In 1833 he settled in Milwaukee, and was government surveyor, assisted in laying out the original town site and continued in such work until his marriage. After that event he bought a farm in Granville, near Milwaukee, and lived there until his death in 1872. His wife, a native of Ireland, bore him six children, of whom James C. was the third.

James C. Daly was reared on the farm but was sent regularly to school, both to the public schools and to an academy, and then taught for three years in Milwaukee. He took his first position when only sixteen, and when at the end of his first term he took an examination with seventy other applicants, only one of that number received a better certificate.

Before reaching the age of twenty Mr. Daly went into the lumber regions of Wisconsin, and was appointed deputy lumber inspector, a position he retained eleven years. During that period a contention arose between the State of Minnesota and the Weyerhauser Syndicate as to the authority of the State to scale individual logs and collect payment, and as Mr. Daly was a prominent lumberman and of wide experience, he took a leading part in engineering the fight. It was carried into the United States Supreme Court, and ended in having the State sustained by every decision given. Mr. Daly continued as deputy inspector until 1895.

In the fall of 1893, Mr. Daly was appointed trespass agent for the Wisconsin State Land Commission, to look after the State lands, and he filled the position two years. In the discharge of his duties as deputy inspector, he came to Port Wing in the fall of 1894, and the next year bought land and located there permanently. He was appointed deputy sheriff of the county and at the same time acted as police officer, serving in the latter capacity six years.

Mr. Daly was always a Democrat until Cleveland’s second term, when he abandoned Cleveland but not the party. Since then, however, he has generally voted independently. When the township was organized Mr. Daly was elected town clerk and served one year. The next year, 1902, he was elected chairman of the town board, and was appointed deputy town clerk. He was re-elected as chairman of the board and is the present incumbent. He takes an active interest in general politics, and is a well known campaign speaker. Finely educated and with positive views, his keen and logical mind enables him to state those views convincingly while his natural eloquence helps him to carry his auditors with him, and he has made one of the most popular speakers of the State. He is also very popular personally, and the people have great confidence in him, for no trust confided to him has ever been abused.

In 1891 Mr. Daly was married to Sarah McLaughlin, of Arcadia, Wis., who has borne her husband three children, John Patrick, James Stewart and Mary Elizabeth. The family are connected with the Catholic Church. When Mr. Daly settled in Port Wing in 1895, he erected a handsome residence, which he is making his home. He also bought other town property and has invested in farming lands until he now owns 260 acres. One of his interests in fruit culture, and he has a fine orchard of 200 apple trees, which demands most of his attention.

Frank W. Downs
Source: The Wisconsin Blue Book (1919) page 475; transcribed by FoFG mz
FRANK W. DOWNS (Rep.), of Washburn, never held a political elective or appointive office until elected to the assembly in 1918. Having secured the nomination at the primary he was elected without opposition in November, 1918. Mr. Downs was born in Monroe Centre, Conn., August 22, 1870. He received a common school education and then took up electrical engineering, which profession he has since fallowed.

Herman J. Finstad
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Herman J. Finstad, a public-spirited citizen, who has taken an active part in politics and filled several important positions in Washburn and in Bayfield county, was born in Norway, at Loiton, Hedemarken, Hamarstift, Jan. 22, 1847, the son of Jens Anderson and Bertha Hansen (Varlin) Finstad, the latter born in northeastern Norway.

J. A. Finstad took his last name from the farm on which his ancestors had lived for generations, and which is still in the hands of his relatives, though during his boyhood his parents removed from it to another farm. In his old age Mr. Finstad joined his son in Wisconsin, and died in Chippewa Falls, when about sixty-five years old. His wife had been taken from him in Norway. Her father, Hans Varlin, a dealer in pine lumber on Gloma River, became quite wealthy at one time, though afterward he lost much property by endorsing for friends. Although without any regular instruction as a cabinet maker, he could do fine work in that line. A man of exemplary habits and an influential citizen, he was widely known and esteemed in his own locality. Members of the Finstad and the Varlin families have served in the Norwegian Storthing, or Congress.

Herman J. Finstad spent his boyhood on a farm in his native place, working summers and attending school in the winter seasons. In 1869 he came to the United States and spent the first winter at Rushford, Minn., where he worked for his board and attended school. He spent a few weeks more at school later, but acquired practically all of his knowledge of English by himself. He was at Chippewa Falls for many years, where he spent the winters in the woods and the summers in the mills. In time he became log inspector for the Chippewa Logging and Pool Company. By 1887 he had decided to change his location and so went to Washburn, where he has since resided.

Since Mr. Finstad has been at Washburn he has taken an active part in politics, and has held several important offices. In 1889 he was appointed postmaster and filled that position very acceptably for four and a half years. In 1894 he was elected register of deeds for the county, and reelected in 1896. Earlier in his career, while in Chippewa Falls, he had been nominated for a similar position but was defeated by a small majority. In 1896 and again in 1904 he acted as delegate to the Republican State convention and has repeatedly been delegate to congressional and local conventions. Since the expiration of his official duties Mr. Finstad has devoted much time to scaling timber on the Bad River Indian reservation, and has recently acquired a patent to valuable timber lands in Oregon.

In 1880 Mr. Finstad was married to Miss Marian Elizabeth Long, daughter of Ole and Elsa M. Long, residents of Washburn. Mrs. Finstad was born in Konsberg, Norway, but in 1875 the family came to this country, whither Mr. Long had preceded them by some four years. Mr. Long was a blacksmith by trade, working at it both at the silver mines in Konsberg and in Chippewa Falls.

Mr. and Mrs. Finstad have had eight children. Those now living are Oscar, Ellert, Bertha H., Annie K., Esther M., Elizabeth and Herman Rudolph. Barnold H., a twin brother to Ellert, died when he was two years, nine months and twenty days old. The parents are among the eleven original members of the United Norwegian Lutheran church of Washburn, and Mr. Finstad was the first treasurer of the society. For twenty years he has been a member of the I.O.O.F., and also belongs to the Encampment and Rebekah lodge, besides being a member of the Scan. H. & E.F. of America. Since coming to Washburn Mr. Finstad has built a fine modern home. His store building he sold, but in April, 1903, he became a member of the firm of Finstad & Aune, dealers in furniture, stoves, tinware and crockery.

Fred Fischer
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Fred Fischer, general store, Bayfield, was born in Hanover, Germany, Nov. 8, 1847; was brought as an infant to America, landing in Baltimore in January of that year. He lived after that in St. Louis, and in 1867 went to Milwaukee, and afterward to Michigan. In 1869 he went to St. Paul; in 1873 came to Bayfield and opened a saloon. In 1879 he went into the fishing business and general merchandise. He has been on the Town Board for four years, and is now Chairman of the Town and County Board, and is one of the Masonic Fraternity, In 1873, he married Miss Elvina Topel, of Sheboygan County. They have four children – Henry, Fred, Charlie and Alfena.

Adolph Habelt
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
An early settler, a successful business man and a leader in local politics, probably no one in Pratt township is more influential than Adolph Habelt, whose well-known probity in all dealings, whether public or private, has won him the unreserved confidence and respect of all who know him.

Mr. Habelt was born in 1865 in Austria, where he was reared and educated in the common schools. He came to America when he was eighteen, landing in New York. He went West immediately and settled first in Ashland Co., Wis., where he worked at lumbering, either in the woods or in the sawmills and lumber yards, for two years. In 1883 he removed to Bayfield county and has been identified with that place ever since. In 1899 he erected a shingle mill in Pratt, which he has operated each season since with great success, and also fills contracts for cedar posts, logs, tan bark, etc. He employs a force of forty or fifty men.

Mr. Habelt was married in 1888 to Katie Gilles, and they have a family of six daughters: Frances, Mary, Katie, Rosa, Maggie and Esther.

From the time of his settling in Bayfield county Mr. Habelt has taken a leading part in local affairs, for his interest in the public welfare was genuine and deep-seated. At the second township election of officers he was chosen chairman of the town board and has been re-elected four times, while from the very organization of the township he has been secretary of the school board. A Republican in his views, he has been a delegate to county conventions and is a member from his township of the County Republican Central Committee.

Mr. Habelt is public-spirited and enterprising, with the ultimate good of the public always at heart, and as the representative of his fellow citizens he protects their interests with the same fearlessness and care that he gives to his own affairs. The natural result of this has been a constant increase in his influence for good and his voice in the party councils is listened to with deep consideration.

H. C. Hale
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
H. C. Hale, general manager and director of the Bayfield Transfer Railroad Company, has, in his career, demonstrated the value in the business world today of well directed industry and energy, for, although still a young man, Mr. Hale has rapidly worked his way up to a position of responsibility and trust.

Mr. Hale’s grandfather, Elijah Ensign Hale, belonged to a Massachusetts family. Left an orphan of the early age of twelve, he did not remain long in his native place, but as soon as he was able to start out for himself, went to Chautauqua county, N.Y., at that time just beginning to be settled. He was a smith and farmer by trade, but took an active interest in public affairs, and served as trustee of public schools for some years. His wife, Eliza Ann Acocks, descended from a family whose founder came to America during the Revolution as a member of Burgoyne’s army; taken prisoner by the Continentals, his eyes were opened to the justice of the American cause, and he afterward fought on their side. Elijah and Eliza A. Hale had two sons, Milton A. and William F., the father of our subject.

William F. Hale was born in Massachusetts. He married Mary Ann Stilson, a native of New York, and they had three sons: Alfred E., who has charge of the armory at Jamestown, a government appointment; George F., an architect and manager of the manual training department of the public schools of Jamestown; and H. C. William F. Hale was an educated man, and hence took great care to give his sons good educations. Both he and his wife are still living.

H. C. Hale was born near Jamestown, Sept. 15, 1868. His early life was passed on the farm, and until he was seventeen he attended school regularly, receiving his education in the graded and high schools of Jamestown. On leaving school he secured a position with the American Express Company, with which he remained three years, first as delivery man and then as messenger. In 1890 he went West, and at first accepted a position at Brainerd, Minn., but this did not suit his tastes and he soon secured work with the Northern Pacific Railroad on the train service in Montana, Idaho and Washington. After about a year of this life Mr. Hale went to Bayfield, Wis., and accepted the position of private secretary to Mr. Dalrymple.

In this capacity Mr. Hale quickly became indispensable to his employer, and as the health of the latter gradually failed more and more of the responsibility of his business fell upon Mr. Hale’s shoulders. When the Bayfield Transfer Railroad was constructed Mr. Hale was made general manager, and he has since retained that position. In addition to his duties in that connection since Mr. Dalrymple’s death he has acted as executor of his estate. In every position he has shown himself fully equal to the demands made upon him, and he commands the highest confidence and respect of all his associates.

In 1892 Mr. Hale was married to Miss Nora Buckley, of Jamestown, N.Y. Politically Mr. Hale supports the principles of the Republican party, and he has frequently been a delegate to the county conventions. In 1898 he represented Bayfield county at the State Republican convention. He served two years as treasurer of the town of Bayfield, and he has been secretary of the public library board for a number of years past.

Henry Hannum, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
No man in Bayfield is better known that this skillful and popular physician, who for twenty years has ministered to the sick and suffering of the town.

Henry Hannum was born in Stillman Valley, Ogle Co., Ill., March 11, 1855, and is a son of Alvin and Lydia A. (Boyce) Hannum. The father was born in East Hampton, Mass., June 22, 1821, where he was reared on the farm and educated in the public schools. In 1842 he moved to Illinois, and settled on what proved to be his life-long home, a farm of 200 acres purchased from the government. On Feb. 15, 1849, he married Lydia A. Boyce, born in Scipio, Cayuga Co., N.Y., July 24, 1824, and to them came a family of three children: Martha A., born May 22, 1852, who married William S. Hurd; Henry; Walter, born Oct. 2, 1856, who married Maude Waite, and had four children, Eva, Henry W., Ruby and Martha A. The eldest of these, Eva, died in childhood, while the father passed away at his home in Inwood, Iowa, Aug. 27, 1895. Alvin Hannum died Sept. 30, 1887, and his wife, Lydia, surviving him over a year, passed away peacefully, Dec. 12, 1888.

Dr. Hannum was reared on a farm, obtained his early education in the public schools, and later went to Rock River Seminary, which completed his literary education. In 1887 he began reading medicine in the office of Dr. Samuel Taylor, of Morrison, Ill., the year following was admitted to Rush Medical College at Chicago, the course then covering three years, and was graduated in 1881. The first year he practiced at Burr Oak, Kan., but in November, 1882, went to Bayfield, where he established himself permanently. His professional skill and his admirable personal qualities have enabled him to build up a large practice in Bayfield, and he is one of the leading physicians of the city. During the first year of Dr. Hannum’s residence in Bayfield occurred his marriage with Miss Kittie E. Sheldon, of North Bloomfield, Ohio, solemnized Oct. 17, 1883. To this union were born two children: Leila A., born Jan. 4, 1886, deceased Aug. 24, 1887; and Frank Walter, born July 27, 1888.

Dr. Hannum is a physician who keeps himself thoroughly informed on professional topics and abreast of all the modern medical thought. He is an active member of various medical organizations, the American Medical, the Wisconsin State, the Inter-County and the Ashland County Medical Societies. Fraternally he belongs to the Masons, Bayfield Lodge, Ashland Chapter and Commandery; the K.M.; the M.W.A.; the K.P.; and the E.F.U. For all of these Dr. Hannum is the medical examiner, while he holds a similar position for several life insurance companies. In his politics he is a Republican and, while he is no politician, he takes an intelligent interest in public affairs. He has served as health officer for Bayfield and LaPointe for many years, and he was once elected coroner, but refused to qualify.

The history of the Hannum family in New England runs back many years.

(I) William Hannum came from England and settled in Dorchester, Mass., being among its very earliest settlers. During 1636-37, in company with others he moved to Windsor, Conn., and in 1653 there is a record of him as one of the first proprietors of Northampton, Mass. Apparently he passed the rest of his life there and died in 1697.

(II) John, son of William, had a large family of children, and three of them lived to rear families of their own, from whom came all the Massachusetts branch of that family. Of these three sons, Samuel and William were among the first settlers of Belchertown, Massachusetts.

(III) John (2), the third son of John, noted above, is notable as having held the office of selectman twenty years, longer than almost any man in the colony.

(IV) Eleazer, son of John (2), was one of the first to settle in Southampton, Mass. He had a large family of children, Eleazer (2), John, Martha, Mary, Dorothea, Joel, Rachel, Naomi, Timothy, Archie, Sarah, Frances and Benona. In 1760 three of these were living in Southampton, Eleazer, John, Joel; each had a son bearing his name, who succeeded to his father’s property. These sons were the ancestors of the present owners of the respective properties. Eleazer W., grandson of Eleazer (2), was made a deacon in 1833 and still holds that office, and his grandsons, John M. and Edwin, are joint owners of the old home place.

(V) Joel was the father of thirteen children: Esther, who married Simon Clark; Rhoda; Joel; Julius; Joel; Paul; Phoebe, who married Oliver Clark; Diana, the wife of Simon Clapp; Mercy; Submit; Lucius; Jeremiah, and Jerusha, who married Elijah Lloyd.

(VI) Julius was born at East Hampton, Mass., Oct. 16, 1780, and married Martha Lyman, born Aug. 31, 1789. Mrs. Martha L. Hannum was a descendant of Richard Lyman, who came from England in 1631, in the time of King Charles, and settled at Roxbury, Mass., where he lived in great style and had two servants, something unheard of at the time. He moved to Hartford, Conn., in 1635, where he died five years later. His name is inscribed on a monument in the old cemetery in Hartford which commemorates the first hundred years of the city. To Julius and Martha Hannum were born fourteen children, five of whom died in infancy. (1) Victoria, born Dec. 10, 1810, married Marcus Humphrey, and had two children, Marcus, Jr., deceased, and Laura; (2) Naomi, born Jan. 30, 1812, married Joseph Bardwell, deceased, and was the mother of nine children: John; Helen; Henrietta, deceased; Joseph; Josephine and Ida, both deceased; Electa; Martin L.; and Lillie; (3) Christopher C., born July 13, 1815, married Almeda Wilcox, and had two children: Edwin L., deceased, and Helen; (4) Martha, born May 19, 1817, was the wife of Samuel Grimes, and both are now dead, leaving one daughter, Stella; (5) Alvin; (6) Julius, Jr., born Aug. 23, 1825, married Ellen Paine, who bore him three children, Wilton, Eugene and Etta; (7) Lewis L., born Nov. 16, 1827, chose for his wife Mary Ritner, and had five children, Julius, Helen, Andrew, Martha and Una; (8) Mary Jane, born Aug. 6, 1830, married Silas Humphrey, by whom she had one daughter, Eva M.; (9) Stella, born Sept. 9, 1835, was the wife of Dr. S. Taylor, deceased, and was the mother of four children: Evaline M.; Walter H., deceased; Mary, and William B.

Julius Hannum, Sr., moved from East Hampton to Brecksville in 1829, and lived there from the time of his arrival Nov. 1 of that year, until his death, Dec. 7, 1853. His widow survived him ten years and passed away at the home of her son in Stillman Valley, Ill., March 24, 1863.

Joel, a brother of Julius, Sr., settled in Washawamuch, Mass. After his death his sons, Paul and Julius, shared the ownership of his farm and each reared a large family; they, however, moved West many years ago.

In 1904 there were but three male representatives of the great-grandchildren of Julius Hannum, Sr., (the ninth generation from William Hannum) to perpetuate the name; Henry W., son of the late Walter E., Inwood, Iowa; Frank W., of Bayfield, Wis., son of Dr. Henry; and Edwin, of Avon, Ohio, son of Dr. Edwin Hannum.

A. C. Hayward
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
A. C. Hayward, Postmaster, Bayfield, was born in Buffalo, N.Y., March 8, 1828, where he lived until 1857, when he removed to Superior City, Wis., where he remained seven years, engaged in house building and acting as Assistant Postmaster. Coming to Bayfield in 1864, he engaged in the mercantile business. He was then appointed Postmaster and has held the position ever since. He has been Deputy Collector of Custom of the port of Bayfield, Clerk of Court, and has held position on the school board. In 1855 he married Miss Elizabeth Sutton, of New York, They have one child, a daughter, Mattie. Mr. Hayward is a member of the Masonic Fraternity.

Mark Hessey
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Mark Hessey, a successful and exemplary citizen of Iron River, Bayfield Co., Wis., was born in Toronto, Ontario, March 14, 1858, son of Robert and Margaret (Parsons) Hessey. His paternal grandparents, James and Ann Hessey, came from Hull, England, in 1846, and settled on a farm near Toronto, where the balance of their lives was spent.

Robert Hessey was about ten years old when the family emigrated to America. About fifteen years later he came to Wisconsin, and, after living for a time at Oshkosh, in 1869 settled at Manawa, Waupaca county. For some years he was engaged in logging to a considerable extent, but now gives his chief attention to the management of his farm. He has led a quiet, industrious and useful life and has never been engaged in any legal controversy. He and his wife are identified with the Baptist church. Of their twelve children Mark and one daughter are the only survivors. They were bereft of most of the others during an epidemic of black diphtheria, though all the family had previously enjoyed excellent health.

Mark Hessey attended the public schools of Manawa, and from early life has been engaged in logging and timber cruising. In 1891 he came to Bayfield county, and in company with W.H. Hatton bought a tract of pine timber on the site of the present village of Iron River, which they at once began to cut and manufacture into lumber. As the village began to grow about this time, he soon began to make investments in real estate and to improve his property. He was interested in the construction of one of the most substantial brick blocks in the town and in a number of other buildings. Mr. Hessey met with a severe loss in the fire of July, 1892, which destroyed most of the town, but he was not discouraged and continued to make improvements as fast as his means would permit. He platted Hessey’s addition to the village and erected a number of buildings thereon, as well as his own modern residence. Besides his investments in Iron River and vicinity Mr. Hessey now owns a valuable tract of timber land in the State of Washington. He has always done considerable logging and lumbering, but now devotes much of his time to cruising and estimating timber, his experience in this line, together with his well known integrity and familiarity with the lands in the locality, causing his judgment to be frequently sought concerning the values thereof. A successful employer of labor for many years, he deplores the irresponsibility of the average laborer of the present day, which he attributes chiefly to the wide prevalence of drinking habits among the woodsmen. He has always been an advocate of temperance, and in this and other respects sets an example worthy the emulation of his employees and other with whom he comes in contact. He believes that with the opportunities afforded in this country, there is no good reason why every able-bodied man should not become the owner of a home.

While a Republican in principle Mr. Hessey has never been a seeker of political favors. He has been a delegate to several county conventions and served four years as assessor of the town of Iron River. All public charges accepted by him have been discharged with the same promptness and rectitude which he displays in his private business, and he enjoys the confidence and good will of his associates.

In 1893 Mr. Hessey was married to Miss Alice L. Favell, daughter of James T. Favell, of Royalton, Wis. Mrs. Hessey is a talented woman and heartily co-operates with her husband in trying to promote and cultivate the best instincts of the community.

Floyd Holly
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Throughout the Northwest few names are better known than that of Floyd Holly, a famous hunter and trapper of that section for more than thirty years. Mr. Holly is a splendid type of the western woodsman and his record as a hunter stand unrivalled. One of the early settlers of the southern part of Bayfield county, Mr. Holly went thither from McKean county, Pa., where he was born in 1842. His parents were Nathan and Jane (Hackey) Holly, of New Jersey, and he was one of twelve children, only three of whom are living. Floyd Holly was brought up on a farm and was thoroughly familiar with that work, and also with lumbering, as he was employed often in a sawmill. He was given a good education in the public schools and then entered the Alfred Academy, which he was attending when the Civil war broke out.
Mr. Holly was among the first to enlist, and April 14, 1861, was enrolled in Company G, 42nd P.V.I. This was known as the Bucktail regiment, and from the 107 men from Ceras, who enlisted in it, only two remained to be discharged at the close of the war. Mr. Holly enlisted again as a veteran in 1863, in the same company and regiment, and was with the Army of the Potomac five years in all, in active service, and participated in fifty-three battles, including all the hardest fought ones which that army saw. At Gettysburg he was struck in the hip by a shell and at Fredericksburg in the breast with a buck shot; in the battle of the Wilderness he had fired until his gun was empty and then ran, getting the fire of the enemy at such close range that it tore his clothing, cut away his ammunition, and even articles out of his pocket. Four of his brothers were also in the army, one, Alonzo Holly, serving in the same company with Floyd; he died of smallpox after three years’ campaigning. The others, LaFayette, Lewis and John, were in the 85th N.Y., and all went through the war. Lewis received a severe wound in the arm, and LaFayette was shot in the body; he lay in a trench between the two lines and probably saved his own life by being able to bandage his wound with his shirt. Floyd Holly lost his hearing from exposure during his army life.
Mr. Holly was discharged July 3, 1865, and returned home, where he was married the same fall to Sue Merman, of Richburg, Alleghany Co., N.Y. Two years later they went to Eau Claire, Wis., where Mr. Holly was engaged in lumbering. In 1879 he went to Hayward, Wis., for a short time, and then took up land in Bayfield county, the second man to settle in Cable. He followed logging for one season, but was occupied mainly in hunting and trapping. No other man probably knows the northern part of Wisconsin so thoroughly as Mr. Holly, for he has hunted over the whole region for many years. His record is a remarkable one, for in the line of game – to give one instance – he has killed as many as 100 deer in one season. He has also secured twenty-five bears in one season, and is the only white man in northern Wisconsin known to have killed a moose weighing as much as 1168 pounds, and measuring six feet, three inches from the foot to the top of the back. Of late years he has had to give up his old pursuits, as his feet were frozen twelve years ago, and both had to be amputated at the instep.

Mr. Holly has recently filed on a homestead and owns 120 acres of land which he has developed and improved considerably. His chief business is conducting a grocery store, where he keeps the line of goods usually found in a country store. In his politics he is a Republican, and does his utmost in a quiet way to promote his party’s success. In the G.A.R. he is a member of Post No. 260.

Three children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Holly, Clarence, George and Zua. The daughter is now Mrs. Shoof, and is a lady of culture and refinement. She was very carefully educated, both in the higher English branches and in music, and for nine years was one of the most successful and prominent teachers in the public schools of Chicago. She is likewise a fine linguist, and speaks several languages fluently.

In spite of Mr. Holly’s long military service, during which he was the hero of a score of pitched battles, and his many seasons of life in the wilderness with all the attendant exposure, his three score years seem not to weigh upon at all, and his eye is as keen and his nerves are as rigid as ever, and he can still hit the bull’s eye at almost any distance with the crack shots of the State.

J. Patrick Howley
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
J. Patrick Howley, boarding-house, Bayfield, was born in Kilkenny Co., Ireland, Nov. 1, 1823. He came to America in 1840, landed in New York, and went from there to Connecticut where he farmed and worked in a factory. In 1847 he took a trip to California, and stayed till 1861, when he enlisted in the 3d V. I., Co. I. He was mustered out in 1865, and from California he returned to Connecticut. In 1866 he went to Milwaukee, where he was until 1870. In 1874 he reached Bayfield, and opened the Lake View House. In 1857 he married, but lost his wife, and in 1874 married Miss Bridget Shildah, of Ireland. He has been Constable from 1874 to 1877.

Hon. W.H. Irish
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
One of the public-spirited citizens of Washburn, Bayfield county, whose services to his community have been recognized by election to a judicial office, is Hon. W. H. Irish, county judge. He was born in Eastport, Maine, March 31, 1844, son of Simeon C. and Margaret Caroline (McDonald) Irish.

The paternal grandfather, also Simeon Irish, was a native of Wales, who settled in New England previous to the Revolution. During that struggle he was a loyalist, and in consequence moved to Nova Scotia, where he received a grant of land from the government and settled down for the rest of his life, living to be over ninety years old. Simeon C. Irish was born there, but early in life went to Maine; he was commander and part owner of a vessel engaged in the coasting trade and also in the West India trade. His death occurred in his seventy-first year, in Eastport, Maine, where his wife also died at about the same time. She was a native of New Jersey, of Scotch descent.

W. H. Irish passed his boyhood in Eastport, Maine, attending the public school, and then when about fourteen began in life for himself as a laborer. During the next nine years he was thus engaged, also made occasional trips on the ocean, and was employed in clerical pursuits until 1867, when he went to Williamsport, Pa., and for two years was there engaged in the lumber business. His next move was to Chippewa Falls, Wis., where he worked for six years as a lumber scaler, and then spent six years more at Cedar Falls, Dunn county.

In 1885 Mr. Irish located at Washburn; there his business interests still are in the lumber line, as he manufactured lumber for several years, and also bought considerable timber land in Bayfield county, some of which he still owns. Mr. Irish has of late years, however, been more prominent in town and county affairs than he has in business circles. He has served two years as register of deeds, has been several times chairman of the town board, and has also acted as chairman of the county board for a time, while in January, 1902, he became county judge, having been chosen at the previous judicial election for this position. Upon the incorporation of the city of Washburn in 1904, he was elected the first mayor.

At the age of thirty years Mr. Irish was married to Janet C. Rose, also born in Eastport, and of Scotch descent. Their married life was not of long duration, as Mrs. Irish died at Cedar Falls in 1883, when about thirty years of age. She left two children: William Harvey, of Washburn; and Laura, now Mrs. Francis W. Jones, of Chicago. Mrs. Janet C. Irish was a member of the Congregational Church. Judge Irish has since married again, his second wife being Miss Lovisa E. Smith, of Downsville, Wisconsin.

Judge Irish is prominent in fraternal organizations; he has been a member of the Masonic fraternity since 1867, and belongs to both the I.O.O.F. and the M.W.A. He was president of the public library board for three years, and manifests a lively interest in everything calculated to improve the condition of the town. Judge Irish and his wife are communicants of the Episcopal Church and are leaders in its activities. Socially they are much liked, and have many friends.

John A. Jacobs
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Seldom is one man identified with so many phases of a town’s growth and development as has been John A. Jacobs with the upbuilding of Washburn, Bayfield Co., Wis., as almost the earliest settler, as one of the first supervisors of the town, as town clerk, justice of the peace, town treasurer, postmaster, engineer at the docks, dealer in merchandise, and as lumber dealer and manufacturer. He has been the guiding hand at the helm at one time or another, in nearly every department of the town’s life.

Born in Cleveland, Ohio, June 15, 1860, Mr. Jacobs is of Irish parentage on both sides, as his father Patrick Jacobs, was a native of County Wexford, and his other, Bridget (Jackson) Jacobs, of County Limerick. Patrick Jacobs, however, in his childhood went with his parents to England, whither a number of their relatives had preceded them, and located in either England proper or else in Wales, and acquired that experience which enabled him on coming to the United States in 1855 to secure employment in the rolling mills at Troy, N.Y., and Johnstown, Pa. About 1858 he went to Cleveland, and for twenty-five years was employed by the Cleveland Rolling Mill Company. Thence he went to Chicago, and later to Ashland, where his death occurred Nov. 24, 1901, at the age of sixty-three years. All his life he had been an active member of the Catholic Church, and helped organize the local church at Washburn.

The Jackson family to which Mrs. Jacobs belonged, had lived in County Limerick for generations, and there her parents died. She, herself, came to America when eighteen years old, and married here not long afterward. She died in 1890 at Cleveland in her fifty-third year.

John A. Jacobs attended the parish school, and after finishing there spent six months at a business college in Cleveland. He had begun to work in the rolling mill a part of the time when not more than ten years old, and later worked in the machine shops of the King Bridge Works. At the age of twenty he went to Chicago and secured a position there in a rolling mill which he held for a year, and then took a place in the engineer’s department of the steamer "Peerless,” running between Chicago and Duluth. During the second year he got an engineer’s license, and entered the employ of S.S. Vaughn, operating the ferry boat "Eva Wadsworth,” between Ashland and Bayfield.

In 1883, Mr. Jacobs went to Washburn, then only the nucleus of a settlement, with a few rude shanties. For the first two weeks after his arrival he was obliged to sleep on the floor of his boarding place, and to furnish his own blankets. Mr. Jacobs is now the oldest inhabitant of the town, and in the passing of the years has been chosen to fill almost every important position in the gift of the people. In 1884 he was elected one of the first supervisors of the town of Washburn, receiving the entire forty-eight votes cast at the election. The next year he was chosen both town clerk and justice of the peace, and filled both offices simultaneously for three years. For one year he was treasurer of the town. These official duties did not require much of his time, and Mr. Jacobs was employed meanwhile as engineer on a tug engaged in the construction of the first dock at Washburn. Three seasons were spent in this manner, and he hoisted the first cargo of coal ever unloaded there. During the second term of Mr. Cleveland Mr. Jacobs was appointed postmaster, and served several years. In that same period he opened a fruit and confectionery store, with stationery, etc., added, and was thus engaged nearly eight years.

In 1893 Mr. Jacobs began investing in pine lands, and in partnership with Thomas Carmichael, a prominent lumberman of Eau Claire, Wis., he acquired many thousand acres of timber land. After four years the firm built a sawmill at Washburn with a capacity of forty to fifty thousand feet of lumber daily, or from fifty to sixty thousand shingles in the same time. This mill was operated under the personal supervision of Mr. Jacobs until October, 1901, when it suspended business. Since that time he has given the most of his attention to disposing of its product, and the cut-over lands belonging to the firm, which are being sold to investors, or to settlers.

The year following the shutting down of the mill, Mr. Jacobs organized the Fowler-Jacobs Company, which manufactures and deals in cedar, piling posts and shingles, and utilizes the grounds and mills of the former company. This concern employs about a hundred men, and obtains its material chiefly from the Apostle Islands, although some is brought from Michigan and elsewhere.

On April 10, 1883, Mr. Jacobs was married to Margaret Toner, who was born at Two Rivers, Wis., daughter of James and Mary Toner of DePere, Wis. To this union have been born nine children, Mollie, Anna, John, Edward, Margaret, Patrick, Thomas, Grace and Kathryn, all at school except the two younger ones. Mr. Jacobs and his family are identified with the Catholic Church. For many years he was a Democrat but of recent years he has been supporting the Republican party. Mr. Jacobs is a man whose word carries great weight in the community, for during his many years among them his fellow citizens have learned to respect him very highly and to have every regard for his judgment and confidence in it.

John E. Jones
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
John E. Jones, editor and publisher of the Washburn Times, Washburn, Wis., is a citizen whose long experience in newspaper work and wide knowledge of men and affairs, make him peculiarly fitted for his present influential position, and Wisconsin may be proud to claim as her son. He was born at Bloomer, Chippewa county, Jan. 25, 1872, son of George L. and Jennie (Jackson) Jones.

George W. Jones, the grandfather of John E., was one of the earliest pioneers of the State, and located in the lead regions about the time of the Black Hawk war. When the Civil war broke out he and two sons, George L. and David, enlisted in Company K, 30th Wis. V.I., serving faithfully, though not called into any of the more severe engagements.

George L. Jones was born in Grant county, Wis., in January, 1833. After serving in the Civil war, he went to Chippewa county, and in 1880 he began the publication of the Bloomer Workman, and five years later moved to Chippewa Falls, and issued the Workman there with both daily and weekly editions until 1890, when it was merged into the Chippewa Independent. At that time Mr. Jones went to Shell Lake, Wis., where in company with his son, J.E., he bought the Shell Lake Watchman. In 1899 he sold out this paper and definitely retired from newspaper work, since that time residing on a farm in Burnett county. Mr. Jones was always a public-spirited citizen, and like most men in his position exerted a marked influence on the sentiment of his community, an influence usually cast on the side of the Republican party. He married Miss Jennie Jackson, whose death occurred at Bloomer in 1883.

From an early day John E. Jones was associated with his father in business, acquiring an experience which made it possible for him to fill the position of city editor of the Chippewa Falls Workman when only seventeen years of age. At Shell Lake he was partner with his father, and after five years he went to Washburn, where he started in for himself, establishing the Times, which has been a success from the beginning. A Republican, Mr. Jones has from the arrival in the county taken an active part in political affairs, and has been a delegate to a large number of Republican county, State, congressional and legislative conventions. For two years he was secretary of the congressional committee; in 1896 he was chairman of the county committee, and managed the campaign of that year so ably that the largest Republican majority was given that had ever been polled up to that time. From 1895 to 1897 Mr. Jones was deputy clerk of the Circuit court, and in the latter year was made bookkeeper of the State Assembly. In August of the same year he was appointed postmaster at Washburn, one of the youngest appointees in the State for so important a position.

Aside from his strictly political services to the city and county, Mr. Jones has been connected with other matters of public interest. In 1895 he was a delegate to the International Deep Water Ways Commission at Cleveland, and in 1899 was appointed by Judge Parish a member of the commission to revise the assessment of Price county. For four years he was a member of the Washburn public library board and for half that time was its president. In his profession proper he naturally takes a prominent part, was at one time vice-president of the Wisconsin Press Association, and was a leading spirit in the organization of the Northern Wisconsin Press Association, of which he was elected the first president in 1900.

On Feb. 6, 1897, Mr. Jones was married to Miss Estelle C. Curtis, daughter of W.B. Curtis, formerly a prominent merchant of Shell Lake, Wis., but now of Seattle, Wash. Their home is the center of much hospitality, and they are among the most popular members of the younger social circles of Washburn.

Alonzo Knight
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Alonzo Knight, book keeper, Bayfield, was born in Kent Co., Del., April 13, 1854. He attended Mt. Vernon Grammar School in Philadelphia, then the High School and finally went to Pierce’s Business College. On leaving school, began keeping books. In 1878 he clerked in Philadelphia. In 1881 he came to Bayfield, arriving the 29th of May. He is engaged in keeping books for his brother, Col. John H. Knight. He is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and corresponds with his home paper, The Dover State Sentinel.

John H. Knight
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Col. John H. Knight, Bayfield, was born near Dover in Kent Co., Del., on Feb. 3, 1836; was educated in New York at Charlotteville, Schoharie Co., and at Fairfield, Herkimer Co. Studied law three years under Hon. N.B. Smithers, at Dover Del. Graduated at the law school Albany, N.Y., in 1859, and in same year was admitted to practice in Delaware law courts, and formed a partnership with Hon. George P. Fisher at Dover. When the war broke out he responded to the call of President Lincoln for the three months’ troops and raised a company; was mustered in as first lieutenant, preferring the captaincy to go to one having some knowledge of tactics; served in his company until mustered out at the expiration of term of service; was immediately appointed assistant adjutant-general of volunteers and tendered a commission of captain in the regular Army – the latter was declined and the former accepted, and he was assigned to the staff of Brig. Gen. H.H. Lockwood, where he served until the Spring of 1862; meantime having accepted a captaincy in the regular Army he was in April on his own request ordered to his regiment (18th U.S.I.), then serving under Gen. George H. Thomas as the siege if Corinth. Served with his regiment from that time in the Army of the Cumberland until January 1864, just after the battle of Mission Ridge, when he was ordered to Detroit, Mich., as mustering and disbursing officer. Shortly after entering upon this duty and appointed chief mustering officer and acting assistant provost marshal general of the State of Michigan, in which capacity supervised the re-organization of the Michigan regiment; execution of the draft laws and finally the disbandment of the Michigan regiments. He held the following commissions in addition to those above stated: Colonel of 1st Del. C.; brevet major and lieutenant-colonel in the regular army. Participated in a number of engagements and battles during the war during the time of his field service, beginning with the first battle of Bull Run and ending with the battle of Mission Ridge. He was detached from his regiment during his service in the Army of the Cumberland at a number of times by Gen. Thomas for important duties. His health was completely broken down during the war, and has only recovered it during his residence in Wisconsin in the pure climate on the south shore of Lake Superior. He was relieved from duty at Detroit, Mich., in February, 1867, and remained on leave of absence until October, same year, when he received orders and joined his regiment at Ft. Sanders, Wyoming Ter. In the Spring of 1868, he commanded the troops assigned to protect locating and constructing parties of the Union Pacific Railroad between Ft. Sanders and Ft. Bridger, and established his headquarters in the western end of Bridger’s Pass; was ordered to Camp Douglas, Salt Lake City, in November, 1868, and remained at that post until in April, 1869, commanding the post a portion of the time. In the Spring of 1869, he elected to be discharged from the army under the Act of Congress reducing the regiments in the regular army, and returned to his home at Wilmington, Del. Shortly afterwards, in May, 1869, was assigned by the President, agent for the Chippewa Indians of Lake Superior, and was ordered to Bayfield, Wis., whither he went and assumed the duties of Indian Agent, which he performed about one year and was relieved by civil appointee. In the Fall of 1870, he resigned his commission in the regular army, and established his residence in Bayfield, Wis. In 1871, was appointed Register of the United Stated Land Office at Bayfield, and still retains that position. In 1863, was married to the eldest daughter of Levi G. Clark, of Wilmington, Del. She died on June 29, 1867, leaving one child, Eugenia B., who is still living. In 1874 he married a sister of his first wife, from which union he has four children – Susan B., Clark M., Mary Emlen and Elizabeth K. He is a member of Oriental Lodge of Masons of Detroit, Mich., and of the Episcopal Church.

Ervin Leihy
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Ervin Heihy, general store, Bayfield, was born in Oswego Co., N.Y., Oct. 12, 1822. His early life was passed on a farm, and at eighteen moved to Illinois. Later he bought a farm on Bad River and moved to it in 1846. In 1870 he moved to Bayfield, built his present residence and opened a store, and is engaged in clearing another farm on Sioux River, about eight miles from the village. In 1851 he married Miss Morrin, of La Pointe. Their children are – Hannah (now Mrs. Newland), Eunice (now Mrs. Boutin) and Phoebe. Mr. Leihy was a member of Town and County Board of Ashland, while living on Bad River, and in 1871 and 1872 was Supervisor in Bayfield, and is now on the Board. He has held other offices.

Anna Ley
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 84; submitted by Sandra Wright
Mrs. Anna Ley, general store, Bayfield, widow of Peter H. Ley, one of the pioneers of Bayfield. He was a native of Prussia, and died June 16, 1876. Mrs. Ley was born in county Clare, Ireland. Her maiden name was Sexton. She was married to P. H. Ley in 1854, in Detroit, Mich. In the Spring of 1856 they came to Bayfield and opened a store, and since 1857 have been in the same building. They had one child, who died before its father. Mr. Ley, during his life, served as Supervisor, Register of Deeds, etc. They were both members of the Catholic Church.

Samuel E. Mahan
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, pages 84-85; submitted by Sandra Wright
Samuel E. Mahan, real estate, Bayfield, was born in Terre Haute, Ind., Aug. 4, 1846; graduated in 1861 from the State University and began the study of medicine, taking one course of lectures at Ann Arbor, Mich. But his health not being favorable he went out to Kansas and entered mercantile life in Harvey County; then he took a homestead in McPherson County, where he remained till 1873, when he came to Bayfield. In 1877-8 was County Clerk; is now secretary of the Telephone Company of Ashland and Bayfield, and secretary of the Hydraulic Company of Bayfield, and has just closed his term as Indian Agent. In 1878 he married Miss Mary J. Boutin, of Bayfield. They have had two children, Frances Edna and Lucille Eugenia, only one of whom is living. Mr. Mahan is a member of the Masonic fraternity.

William A. Marshall
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
William A. Marshall, for several years superintendent of sawmill for the Edward Hines Lumber Company, was one of the most esteemed citizens of Washburn, Bayfield county, during his residence there, while his inventions of machinery have made his name known through all the lumber regions of the country. He was born at Sharon, Pa., June 25, 1845, son of Andrew and Jane (McCalvey) Marshall.
Andrew Marshall and his wife were both natives of Belfast, Ireland, and came to America in 1839. They settled on a farm in Sharon, and there Mr. Marshall died some years later at the age of forty-two. His wife lived to be 79 years old. Besides his farm Mr. Marshall was also interested for a time in the Oregon iron furnace at Sharon. Andrew and Jane Marshall had six children, as follows: John C., who is interested in mining and ranching at Chihuahua, Mexico; James T., deceased, for several years a circuit judge at Leadville, Colo.; Jane, the wife of William Lynn, of Oakland, Cal.; Andrew J., adjutant of the 76th Pa. Zouaves, who saw three years’ service, and died while in command at Braddock’s Field; Catherine, Mrs. McClery, of Sharon, Pa.; and William A.

William A. Marshall attended public school in Pennsylvania and while quite young began working in a machine shop in which the family was interested. Later he became interested in oil wells in the State. About 1870 he went to Bay City, Mich., where he leased a sawmill, and operated it for some time. Later he went to Choate, Mich., where he built a sawmill, and was well started in business when, at the end of six months, the mill burned. In 1881 he went to Ludington, Mich., as superintendent of mills for the A.B. Ward establishment. There he remained for fifteen years, at the end of that period accepting a similar position offered him with A.A. Bigelow & Co., at Washburn, and when the concern was sold to the Edward Hines Lumber Company he was retained in the same capacity. This mill employs about 250 men in Washburn, besides a large number in the woods logging. Mr. Marshall is at present a resident of Ludington, Michigan.

Mr. Marshall has always been of an inventive turn of mind, and has several of his patents in the market. Most of his inventions have been the result of some need in his own line of work. In October, 1899, he patented a lumber cart of his own invention, and then organized the firm of Marshall & Benson, for the manufacture and sale thereof, with headquarters at Minneapolis. About a thousand of these carts are disposed of annually in the various lumber States of the Union. Mr. Marshall also invented the Marshall band wheel grinder, which is manufactured in East Saginaw, Mich., and is used very generally in the sawmills of the country.

In 1874 Mr. Marshall was married to Elizabeth Frost, daughter of George Frost, of Bay City, Mich. They have no living children. Mr. and Mrs. Marshall belong to the Methodist Church. He is a member of the I.O.O.F., the Royal Arcanum and the I.O.F.

Alexander McQuillan
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Alexander McQuillan, one of the earliest settlers at Washburn, Bayfield county, was born in County Armagh, Ireland, in August, 1844, son of Alexander and Fanny (Quitters) McQuillan, who lived and died in Ireland, reaching old age on their farm.

Alexander McQuillan received a common school education, and from the age of sixteen years earned his own living. In 1864 he came to the United States and lived for some years in New York and Baltimore. In the latter place he was employed in the construction of the city water works. Thence Mr. McQuillan went to La Porte, Ind., and worked on the construction of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern Railroad until 1872, in which year he went to Wisconsin. He was employed there in railroad construction again for the Wisconsin Central between Stevens Point and Ashland and lived first in Ashland and then later in Butternut.

In Butternut Mr. McQuillan took up a homestead claim and finally opened a grocery store there, being one of the first dealers in the place. About 1887 he removed to Washburn and continued in the grocery business for a couple of years. After that, however, he was employed by the Bigelow Lumber Company, and its successor, the Edward Hines Lumber Company.

Mr. McQuillan was married in 1868 to Martha Lee, daughter of Johnson and Margaret (Bodel) Lee, of County Armagh, Ireland. To this union have come three children: Jemima, now Mrs. W. G. Davis, of Seattle, Wash.; Haywood, who died in Washburn in 1890, aged nineteen years, four months and twenty-one days; and Thomas, who died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. McQuillan reside in a two-story building which Mr. McQuillan erected on first going to Washburn, to serve as both store and home. Since then he built another residence, but sold it.

Politically Mr. McQuillan is a Republican. For some years he has been a member of the I.O.O.F. and also belongs to the M.W.A. With his wife he is a communicant of the Episcopal church. Mr. McQuillan’s life has been one of usefulness, and he has won his way by industry, good judgment and honorable business methods, to a place of high esteem among his neighbors.

Frank J. Meehan
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Frank J. Meehan, a well known citizen and prominent real estate man in Washburn, Bayfield county, Wis., was born in Vassar, Mich., Jan. 1, 1863.
Frank Meehan, father of Frank J., was born in Ireland, but went to Edinburgh, Scotland, during his boyhood, and was brought up there. About 1850 he came to the United States and was employed in foundries in Toledo, Chicago and Saginaw. By 1859 he was able to establish a foundry of his own, which he located at Vassar, Mich., and until his death in 1876, did a flourishing business there. He was a Republican in politics, and in his church affiliations a Presbyterian. He died in the prime of life when only forty-seven years old, though he came of a long-lived family, his mother living to be ninety-eight.

Mrs. Frank Meehan was a Miss Helen Hughes, a native of County Galway, Ireland. Her parents both died in that country, as did the parents of her husband. She came to this country while still young. Her death occurred in Vassar, in July, 1899, at the age of sixty-four years.

Frank J. Meehan was educated in the public schools of Vassar and attended until he was fourteen years old. At that time he began working in a dry goods and clothing store in the town and continued in that employment until 1882, when he went to Northern Michigan. Three years were spent there in St. Louis, Cadillac and Lapeer, successively, as manager of stores owned by various firms, and in 1887 he went to Washburn and began business for himself. Mr. Meehan at first opened a clothing store, and from the beginning did so well that he was encouraged to add other lines until his establishment developed into a regular department store. He conducted this business until 1898, when he sold out. Meantime he had begun early in his career in Washburn to invest in real estate and building. His first structure was the Union block, which he put up in 1888, in company with Peter Wilson. This is a double two-story stone building, and one of the most substantial in the town. Several years later he built another solid stone fire proof store 75x80 feet. In 1897 he erected what is known as the Postoffice Block, a double two-story frame building. All these, together with others which he has built, Mr. Meehan still owns. He was also one of the promoters and incorporators of the Washburn Electric Light & Power Company.

In politics Mr. Meehan is a Republican, but not an active worker in the party’s campaigns. He is an energetic, capable business man, and is highly esteemed both in business and social circles.

George F. Morgan
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
George F. Morgan, Washburn, Bayfield Co., Wis., is engaged in the insurance and real estate business as a member of the firm of Morgan & Axelberg.

Nels Myhre
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Nels Myhre, register of deeds for Bayfield county, at present a resident of Washburn, is a native of Wisconsin, born in St. Croix county, May 14, 1868.

Bernhard and Karen Myhre, the parents of Nels, were Norwegians; the father was born in Hemnes and came to the United States in 1858, settling near Baldwin, Wis., where he improved a farm. He is still living on his homestead, at the age of seventy years. A Republican in politics, he has served as justice of the peace, and for a dozen years of more was postmaster at Woodside, near Palmer. The grandfather, Nels Myhre, was a teacher by profession and passed his whole life in Norway.

Nels Myhre enjoyed the best educational advantages afforded by the schools of St. Croix county, attending until he was seventeen, at which time he left home and took a position in Mason, Bayfield county, with the White River Lumber Company, where he remained until recently. Beginning as a laborer, he has risen in position to be scale inspector for some years past, at intervals working in the saw-mill as a shingle packer. For many years Mr. Myhre has been an ardent Republican, but was never actually concerned in politics until the fall of 1902, when he was elected county register.

On Nov. 29, 1890, Mr. Myhre was married to Anna Helfield, of Pratt, Wis. She was born in Norway, the daughter of Louis and Martine Helfield. The family came to this county in 1881, lived for the first seven years at Canton, S.D., and since then at Pratt, where Mr. Helfield is engaged in both farming and carpentering. Mr. and Mrs. Myhre have had four children: Norman A., born June 27, 1892, who died March 12, 1898; Louise M.; Barnhard L.; and Agnes N. The family is connected with the Lutheran Church, and takes an active part in its work. Their home is one of taste and refinement, always open to their many friends.

J. H. Nourse
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 85; submitted by Sandra Wright
J. H. Nourse, merchant, Bayfield, the oldest son if Rev. James Nourse, was born in Washington D.C., July, 1830. In 1853, just a few months before marriage, he was appointed by the Presbyterian Board of Foreign Missions, a teacher to Spencer Academy, Choctaw Nation, Indian Territory. Failing in health, returned with his wife to Washington late in the Fall of 1854. Bleeding from his lungs, in August, 1856, he visited Bayfield, and early in the Spring of 1857 brought his family to that healthy spot. In the Fall of 1858 took charge of a large hotel belonging to the Bayfield Land Co., called the Bayfield House, and since burned. Taught the public school from October, 1861, to June, 1864; was County Treasurer during the same time and Town Clerk from April, 1860, to 1864; Collector of the port in 1863 and 1864; Receiver of the U.S. Land office from 1869 to March, 1872; taught the public school again from September, 1869, to March, 1871; has been in his present business since May, 1872; and from April of that year up to the present time (1881) annually elected Town Treasurer. His wife was Miss Isabel Rittenhouse, of Washington, D.C.; they have had eleven children, four deceased.

Michael N. Oistad
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
In the death of Michael N. Oistad, Washburn lost not only one of its prosperous and influential business men, but also a citizen whose sincerity of purpose and rectitude of life made his example one of great worth in the community, and the universal respect in which his fellow citizens held him was amply demonstrated by the large attendance at his funeral services, the largest assembly on such an occasion ever known in Washburn. Mr. Oistad was born in Torpen, Norway, May 28, 1863, and his death occurred in Washburn, May 11, 1901, but in this short span of life he had achieved as much as many men accomplish in a much longer time.

The parents, Nels Oistad and Julia, his wife, are still living on a farm in Norway, and there Michael was reared and in that country secured a good common school education. The youth at the age of eighteen came to America and made his way westward from New York to Wisconsin, where he had relatives in Black Earth, Dane county, and for four years was occupied there in a general store kept by his uncle, H.M. Nordrum. During this period Mr. Oistad studied diligently to master the English language, being his own teacher in the main, and also took a business course in Madison. About 1885 he left Black Earth and spent two years in a Duluth wholesale grocery establishment. From that point he went to Washburn, where he worked in a retail grocery store for a few months. Then in partnership with Albert Paulson he bought the stock and business. After a few years Mr. Oistad bought out Mr. Paulson and continued the establishment alone until his death.

Within two years after engaging in the grocery business the firm built a two-story residence and store, and later a one-story building was erected on the adjoining property, all of which came eventually into the possession of Mr. Oistad. Beginning with only his savings, he was uniformly successful in business and also invested quite largely in western pine lands.

Mr. Oistad’s marriage to Miss Carrie Paulson, the daughter of Peter C. and Andrina (Anderson) Paulson, of Black Earth, occurred June 27, 1889. Mr. and Mrs. Paulson came from Norway in early life, settled permanently at Black Earth, and there reared a large family, eight of whom are still living. Three reside in Washburn; Mrs. Oistad, Annie, now Mrs. Kenney, and Albert. Since the death of her husband, Mrs. Oistad, with her three children, Elmer, Alice and Raymond, has continued to make her home in Washburn. In the spring of 1901 Mr. Oistad had begun making preparations for a visit to his parents in Norway, on which he was to be accompanied by his family. These calculations were cut short by his untimely illness and death, resulting in a serious disappointment to all parties concerned.

Mr. Oistad was one of the organizers of the Norwegian Lutheran Church, and always a most influential member of the society, with which his family are still connected. He was a Republican in politics, but while he was always well posted in local questions and had served for one year as supervisor, he was never an active partisan. In a business way Mr. Oistad was connected with the Retail Grocers’ Association, and was also vice-president of the Washburn Ice Company. Fraternally he was a member of the Masonic order, and of the Independent Order of Foresters. In all relations of life he displayed in a marked degree the faculty of making and keeping friends.

Theodore N. Okerstrom
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Theodore N. Okerstrom, the founder of the town of Port Wing, Bayfield Co., Wis., is a native of the city of Ostersund, Sweden, where he was born, Nov. 29, 1861, the son of N.M. and Ingrid Okerstrom, both born in Sweden.

The parents were married in their native land, and came to America in 1867, settling in St. Paul, Minn. Mr. Okerstrom was an artist by profession and had executed some excellent designs, but after locating in St. Paul he went into business as a house painter, employing others under him. In 1871 he moved to Isanti county, Minn., although he continued his establishment in St. Paul for three years longer. In 1883 he moved again, that time to Anoka, Minn., and there his death occurred Nov. 10, 1884. His wife, who is still living, is the mother of eight children, as follows: Charles; John; Anna; Theodore N.; Ida; Martha; Elizabeth; and Albert. All of the children save Albert were born in Sweden.

Theodore N. Okerstrom was nearly seven years old when his parents came to this country. He obtained a good practical education in the schools of Isanti county, and St. Paul, and while still a very young man was employed by the State as its agent in looking after the State lands under the administration of Auditor Braden. He served during the years of 1884 and 1885 and while thus employed was given the nomination of the Republican party for county surveyor. There was much opposition through the campaign but a large majority of the votes were cast for Mr. Okerstrom. So well did he discharge the duties of the place that he was twice re-elected, although he resigned after the first year of his last term.

Since living in Port Wing, Mr. Okerstrom has always manifested much interest in educational matters, was a member of the school board, and after the town organization was effected as president of the board. His business interests have also been large in both the real estate and lumber line. His operations in lumber are quite extensive, as he runs two logging camps and employs sometimes as many as 200 men. His real estate business has demanded quite as much of his attention, as during the year 1902 alone, he handled seven thousand acres. Much time, too, has been given to politics, and he has been a delegate to the Republican State convention for four years, to other county conventions, and a member of the county committee. He contributes freely of his means to the cause of his party, and is a man of much influence in its councils.

In Ashland, Wis., in 1892, Mr. Okerstrom was married to Mary Erickson, daughter of John Erickson. They have four children, Elvina, Roy H., Paul and Valgean. Mr. and Mrs. Okerstrom and the children are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Okerstrom is liberal in general support of the Gospel, giving impartially to the different denominations at work in Port Wing. Socially the family is very prominent.

Mr. Okerstrom is a shrewd business man who has been very successful. He is a good citizen and obliging neighbor. Generous to a fault he gives liberally either in the way of private benefactions or for the public welfare.

No sketch of Mr. Okerstrom would be complete without including some account of the town, which he founded, and for which he has done so much. He was one of the pioneers of Bayfield county, and took a homestead there in 1891, where he lived two years. Meantime he had bought 300 acres on the shore of Lake Superior, intending it for a town site, and during the winter of 1892-93 he surveyed and platted eighty acres of the same, laying out the streets. The site is an admirable one for a city, as a gradual rise back from the lake of 160 feet to a mile affords natural drainage. The site is also underlaid with red sandstone. The name given the place is honor of Col. Wing, an honored citizen of the county. During 1893 a number of settlers came in, purchased lots and put up good residences. Among these may be mentioned: Charles Greenwood, who put up the first hotel and was generally patronized; Neil Cameron, who started a boarding house; T.F. McMillan, a merchant; Otto Seiler and George Howard, who opened another store, and the former of whom was the first postmaster; and James Pierce and William Austin, who opened a saloon.

The first year the county contributed $1,000 to build a road a mile back from the lake, through the new town. A meeting of the settlers was held, too, to devise a way to raise funds to improve the harbor. A subscription of $10,000 was secured and the work begun. Mr. Okerstrom, president of the organization, put in the money to carry the work through, and in the end paid the deficit of $7,000; only $8,000 of the sum subscribed was realized, while with the dredging and the two piers the expense of the work amounted to $15,000. The harbor improvements were completed in 1895.

During the winter of 1894-95 Moore, Kepple & Calkins bought the saw mill, which had previously been built by the Ebery Manufacturing Co., with a capacity of 50,000 feet per day of ten hours, and started it in operation. In 1891 the Wing quarry of red sandstone was opened, which Miller Brothers & Johnson are still operating. The product is a high grade of red sandstone, and is surpassed by nothing of its kind in Wisconsin. Stone was taken from it for the construction of W.J. Bryan’s residence in Lincoln, Neb. In 1898 Best & Loucks erected a shingle mill of good capacity; this was moved later to Bayfield, Wis., and a larger and better mill erected on the same site by Messrs. Aspland & Carlson.

The first school in Port Wing was opened in 1893, in a homestead shanty with seven pupils and Mr. Irving Herrick as teacher. The next year a one room frame building was put up at the expense of $1,000. There were then forty pupils. In 1898 another similar building was added and these two were used until 1902, when a handsome new structure was added at a cost of $25,000. It is 78x88 feet, two stories high, the basement being built of brown stone and the upper portion of frame. There are eight rooms with all modern equipments throughout.

The first church in the town was built in 1895 at an expense of $1,000. At first a union church, it is now Presbyterian. Its first pastor was the Rev. Mr. Fisher. In 1896 the Swedish Lutherans put up a second church at a cost of $1,600, with Rev. J.D. Nelsenius as its first preacher. Rev. H. Olson, the resident minister, is a veteran in the service and a most able man. The following year the Catholics erected a $1,200 church, and their first mass in the new sanctuary was celebrated by Rev. Father Patrick. The different denominations have manifested a most brotherly spirit, for regardless of differences of belief, they have rallied to each other’s support in raising the necessary funds to build the three churches.

The township organization was effected in 1901, the township having been set off from Bayfield after a struggle of eight years, and Bayfield’s resistance was only overcome by leaving the matter to the Legislature. The town is prospering and has now five general stores and three hotels. In 1902 a telephone connection was constructed to Iron River, a distance of eighteen miles, and is township property. Another line is being constructed to Flag River Valley, five miles away, by Mr. Okerstrom and others interested in the valley.

To the original eighty-acre site there have been three additions made, the Okerstrom, Highbluff and Brossard additions. The town has a reputation for being essentially law-abiding, and practically no crime has been committed.

Early in the nineties Nils P. Haugen, Congressman for the District, and Senator John C. Spooner procured an appropriation of $500 for the surveying of the harbor and it was finally made in 1898. After the survey it was favorably reported upon to the department by Major Clinton B. Sears, Corps of Engineers, U.S.A., and subsequently through the recommendations of John J. Jenkins, Mr. Haugen’s successor, an appropriation of $25,000 was secured for the necessary construction. The work is now going on. It is a harbor of refuge, 500 sailings have been made at Port Wing in 1902.

The town is surrounded by more than 100 good farms, generally well cleared and improved. The soil is a sandy loam, very productive and specially adapted to vegetables and fruit. Thus as time goes on Port Wing will have an increasing agricultural district to draw upon, as well as its lake trade and its future would seem assured.

Gilbert Olson
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Gilbert Olson, a most popular and respected citizen of Washburn, for a number of years before coming to that place had led a most varied and eventful life, and while engaging in many different pursuits gained a fund of valuable experience of men and affairs.

Mr. Olson was born in Norway, the son of Ols and Catherine Christopherson, natives of that same locality. The family arrived in the United States in 1860 and made their way to Minnesota, where Mr. Christopherson engaged in farming in Fillmore county. He belonged to the Norwegian Lutheran Church and was prominent in all its affairs. He died in Fillmore county in 1899, at the age of seventy-four, while his wife’s death had occurred many years before, in 1877, when she was but forty-five years of age. His mother, who had accompanied the family to this country, lived to complete almost a century.

Gilbert Olson had little opportunity to attend school, for only a few years after coming to America, while still only a boy, he was obliged to leave home and earn his living at farm labor. When fifteen he went to Chatfield, Minn., and clerked in a general store for two years. His next employment was in a flour mill in Rushford, Minn., for two years more, when he went to Chippewa Falls, Wis., and worked in the woods. He was also employed there as a clerk in a hotel, and after he had thus gained experience in the hotel business he became proprietor of the "Taylor House” at Hudson, Wis. His next venture covered several years spent in railroad contracting.

After several years of wandering life Mr. Olson returned to Hudson, and once more took charge of the "Taylor House.” After two years there he went to Cumberland, where he was employed both in the "Cumberland House,” and in farming. In 1885 he removed to Washburn, where he built the "Cumberland House,” which he conducted for about two years. Owing to death in the family he sold out his hotel business and built the Knights of Labor Hall, and in 1892 entered upon his present occupation, opening a confectionery store, where he also deals in bicycles, china and notions. Mr. Olson has ever since resided in Washburn, his family consisting of his wife, who was Nettie Oscar, of Crawford county, and their four children, Otto, Walter, Evelyn and Gilbert. The others died very young. The family are connected with the Norwegian Lutheran Church.

Mr. Olson is a Republican in politics, and for three years served on the town board of supervisors. He is a member of the K.O.T.M., and in all relations of life is very highly respected.

Nels M. Oscar
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Nels M. Oscar, county clerk of Bayfield county, was born in Crawford Co., Wis., Nov. 16, 1877, a son of Tobias A. and Nellie Oscar, who since 1888 have been residents of Washburn. The paternal grandfather, Thomas Oscar, was a veteran of the Civil war, serving in Company H, 6th Wis. V.I., and his death occurred at Barron, Wis. The maternal grandfather, Nelson Kinney, died in Washburn at an advanced age, though he continued strong and vigorous to the last.

Nels M. Oscar received his education in the public schools of Wisconsin, graduating from the high school at Washburn when nineteen years old. After graduation he entered a fire insurance office, and two years later secured a position in the Bayfield County Bank. Succeeding that he was for a time employed in a wholesale commission house and since April, 1901, has been with the N.W. Fuel Company.

Mr. Oscar is a strong Republican, and for a number of years has been an important factor in the party locally. Besides acting as chairman of the Republican town committee for a long time, he has been since 1897 a member of the public library board, has acted as a delegate to several Assembly District conventions, in 1900 was a delegate to the State convention held in Milwaukee, and in the fall of 1902 was elected county clerk.

In May, 1900, was celebrated the marriage of Mr. Oscar and Florence Robinson, who was born in Canada, daughter of M. H. and Lillian Robinson, the former of whom is now president of the Longshoremen’s Union. The family came to Wisconsin in 1880. Mr. and Mrs. Oscar have one child, Elliott Max. The family attend the Congregational Church, while fraternally he is connected with the K. of P., K.O.T.M., and the I.O.F., and holds official position in all of these orders.

Tobias A. Oscar
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Tobias A. Oscar, a much respected citizen of Washburn, was born in Norway, Feb. 19, 1852, the son of Thomas Oscar. His mother died during his infancy near Ossian, Iowa, leaving also another child, Electa, who married Eugene Rowe, and died in Sumner, Iowa, in January, 1885.

Thomas Oscar brought his family to the United States in 1853, settling at Ninnegar, Minn. There he followed his trade, coopering, for a few years, and then removed to Crawford county, Wis., where he lived on a farm. For three years of the Civil war he served in the 6th Wis. V.I., as a member of Company H, and was actively engaged during most of the time. At the battle of Seven Oaks he was captured and held for nine months in Andersonville and Libby prisons, being one of the two from his company who survived that experience. Thomas Oscar married for his second wife Miss Martha Thompson, by whom he had five children, who are all living. The father’s death occurred at Cumberland, Wis., in 1887, when he was aged sixty-nine. The paternal grandparents of our subject lived and died in Norway, on a farm called "Sporkland.” The maternal grandfather was a sea captain.

Tobias A. Oscar attended the public schools in Crawford county, Wis., living on the farm until the fall of 1888, when he decided to try his fortune elsewhere, and went to Washburn, conducting a dray line there for a number of years. The year after settling in Washburn he cleared up the ground and erected his present home, a most substantial and comfortable two-story residence.

On Jan. 7, 1875, Mr. Oscar was united in marriage with Miss Nellie Kinney, who was born near Whitewater, Wis., daughter of Nelson and Bertha Marie Kinney. Nelson Kinney and his wife came from Skien, Norway, in 1846, and first settled in Walworth county, later in Crawford county, Wis., and then in Barron county, but in 1889 changed his residence to Washburn, where he made his home until his death, May 12, 1902, at the age of eighty-one years. His wife had passed away five years earlier, on Nov. 5, 1897, when she was nearing her seventieth birthday. Mr. and Mrs. Oscar have six children living: Albert Stephen, assistant teacher in the Washburn high school; Nels Martin, the county clerk of Bayfield county; Minnie Electa, the wife of Paul Weed, of Ashland, Wis.; Thomas Clarence, who is employed in a real estate office at Washburn; Henry Adolph, baggage master at Washburn for the "Omaha Road;” George Otto, in Washburn. The family are all attendants upon the services of the Congregational Church.

Mr. Oscar has always been not only a stanch Republican in theory, but a Republican who is active in pushing the interests of his party. He takes a prominent part in local affairs, has served one year as highway commissioner, and for two years has been a member of the town board of supervisors. In 1904 he was elected a member of the first city council of Washburn. Fraternally he is connected with the K.O.T.M., and the Scandinavian H. and E.F. of America.

James Alec Patterson, M.D.
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
James Alec Patterson, M.D., a rising young physician of Iron River, Bayfield county, who is daily working himself into an ever increasing practice and reputation, is a native of Canada, born in Port Elgin in 1865, and has been from his very birth in a professional atmosphere.

Dr. James Rae Patterson, father of James A., was himself a distinguished physician, and the son probably inherits the talent for his work. The father was born in Dumfriesshire, Scotland, was educated first in the public schools of his native land, and then matriculated at Queens University, Royale, being graduated from its literary and medical departments. He entered upon the practice of his profession at Port Elgin, where he has continued to the present time. A fluent writer and thoroughly conversant with medical subjects, he has been a frequent contributor to the medical press.

Dr. James Alec Patterson passed his boyhood in Port Elgin, attending the public schools. At the Walkerton high school he fitted himself for Queens University, and after completing the literary course there he matriculated at the medical annex, the Royale College, in 1883, where he remained four years, including the summer sessions, being graduated in 1887. He immediately presented himself before the board for examination, received his license to practice, and entered into a partnership with his father at Port Elgin.

After three years’ valuable experience with his father, Dr. Patterson left Port Elgin and went to Killarney, Manitoba, where he practiced by himself for five years, and then in the spring of 1895 located at Iron River. He has met with the success which his industry and ability deserve, and his practice has steadily increased until it covers a wide area of country. Dr. Patterson has always been a keen student in his profession, reading the best medical journals and keeping thoroughly abreast of all the new thought in his line of work.

In addition to his professional interests Dr. Patterson takes an active part in fraternal organizations, is a Mason and belongs also to the Iron River Camp of the M.W. of A., and to the I.O.O.F.

John A. Pettingill
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
To John A. Pettingill, merchant and real estate dealer, belongs the distinction of having built the first residence in what is now the town of Iron River. His first log cabin was built in 1887, and from that day to this his life has been closely interwoven with the history of the town.

Mr. Pettingill was first attracted to the town while on a hunting trip, and after carefully looking over the land, he chose a location there and prepared to make it his future home. He offered his filing that year on the S.E. one-fourth of section 7, range 8, and put up a log cabin where the town now stands, and on the exact site of the present Grimpo house. The next July his family joined him. Even before he had secured his filings he began making extensive improvements on his land, and had erected a frame building which cost $3,000. At that time he entered upon his mercantile career, carrying a small stock of groceries and such merchandise as the needs of the settlers required.

Five years after taking up his land Mr. Pettingill decided to lay it out as a town site, and he had a tract one mile square surveyed and platted for the town of Iron River. So rapidly was that region being settled, that as soon as his advertisements appeared, purchasers responded, and within one twenty-four hours he had 150 people there looking for homes, all of whom were his guests over night – such was the open hospitality of the time and place. The new town grew apace, and its prospects were of the brightest, when July 24, 1902, the whole place was destroyed by fire, seventy-two buildings being swept away, while only five cottages on a back street were saved. This was, of course, a great misfortune for Mr. Pettingill, but still undaunted he pushed ahead, gave every encouragement possible to those who had been burned out, and within a year the town rose again with better buildings than at first. In May, 1892, Mr. Pettingill sold his mercantile interests to Hessey & Hatton, and immediately proceeded to organize a State bank. In this enterprise he was associated with his son, George L., N.C. Kelley and W.F. McEldowney. After about a year Mr. Kelley bought out the Pettingill interests. In 1896 Mr. Pettingill again established himself in the mercantile line, opening with a stock valued at $10,000, which he soon increased to $15,000. This business is now carried on by G.L. Pettingill & Co. In addition to these other interests Mr. Pettingill has dealt quite largely in outside real estate.

The man whose career we have thus far followed in Iron River, was a New Yorker by birth, born in Otsego county in 1842, a son of Alonzo and Lucy (Davis) Pettingill, all natives of New York. John received his education in the public schools and was brought up on his father’s farm in New York until he was ten years old. In 1856 he went West with his parents and settled in Farmington, La Crosse Co., Wis. There he continued dealing in live stock and farming until 1887, when he took up his Bayfield county land as noted above.

Mr. Pettingill was married Dec. 29, 1862, to Ann Eliza Quiggle, who has borne him two children: George L. and Eva, now Mrs. William McEldowney, of Salem, Wisconsin.

A strong Republican in his ideas, Mr. Pettingill has always taken a leading part in local politics. In La Crosse he served one year as a member of the county board and another as chairman of the town committee. In Iron River he has been chairman of the town and has represented his party frequently in the Legislature and in county and congressional conventions. Fraternally he is a member of the Masonic order, Salem Lodge, No. 125, having attained the Knight Templar and the Royal Arch degrees. In all the relations of life Mr. Pettingill has made an honorable record for himself and is esteemed and respected by all who know him.

La Fayette Reuter
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
La Fayette Reuter, a respected citizen and successful business man of Washburn, Bayfield county, is of German ancestry, although himself an American, born in Middleton, Dane Co., Wis., Dec. 9, 1855.

August Reuter, the father of La Fayette Reuter, was a native of Hamburg, Germany. In 1847 he brought his family to America, and made his home on a farm in Dane county, Wis., where he built a large windmill for grinding grain, and carried on both occupations successfully until the breaking out of the Civil War. His residence in his adopted country had made him one of her most loyal citizens, and he at once enlisted, March 13, 1861, in Company I, 3rd Wis. V.I. While in service he was shot, and he died in the hospital in 1863. His widow lived in Madison for many years after her husband’s death, her own occurring Sept. 4, 1888, at the age of sixty-five. Her maiden name was Augusta Peters, and she was born near Berlin, Germany, where her parents lived and died. There were four children in the family of Mr. Reuter: Fred, who died at Madison, Wis., Feb. 22, 1886, aged thirty-five years; Otelia, the wife of John Lorch, of Madison; La Fayette; Jackson, treasurer of the Northern Electric Manufacturing Company, of Madison.

La Fayette Reuter attended school regularly until his father’s death, but after that sad event was obliged to help support the family, and could manage to secure only a few brief periods for farther education. When he was sixteen years old he began to learn the grocery business at Pleasant Branch, and later clerked in a general store at Sun Prairie, where he remained for five years. In 1879 he went to Leadville, Colo., and spent nine months prospecting in that State, but he met with no success, and when his resources were exhausted he returned to Madison and secured employment in a hardware store. About two years later he bought a stock of groceries, and began a business of that kind which he continued for about six years. In 1887 Mr. Reuter removed to Washburn, and there he has dealt in wall paper, and does paper-hanging and decorating. He employs several assistants, and does the most of that work in Washburn, while his sales extend even to neighboring towns. He has erected a good two-story business block, and a comfortable residence, and has also invested in real estate to some extent.

On Dec. 9, 1878, Mr. Reuter married (first) Rose Sweeney, daughter of John and Mary Sweeney, of Sun Prairie, and a member of the Catholic Church. She lived only five years after her marriage, dying at the early age of twenty-four, and leaving two children, Raymond, of Chicago, now a locomotive fireman on the Wisconsin Central Railroad; and Jackson, a student at the Sun Prairie high school. On April 18, 1887, Mr. Reuter was married to Mary, daughter of John and Elizabeth Pieh, of Pleasant Branch, Wis. To this union there were also two children, George and La Fayette. The family attend the Congregational Church.

Mr. Reuter takes a lively interest in the fraternal organizations to which he belongs, and he has filled several offices in the I.O.O.F. and the M.W.A., both of whom claim him as a member. He also belongs to the E.F.U., and in all relations of life he is personally popular and highly esteemed.

Byron Ripley
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Byron Ripley, cashier of the Iron River Bank, with the public spirit characteristic of the best Americans, while always extensively occupied with the business cares incidental to his position, has yet also maintained a keen interest in politics, and has been active in all movements for the public good, his achievements fitting him for effective work in any sphere.

Mr. Ripley was born in 1850, in Brockville, Ont., where he remained until he was eighteen years old, attending the public schools, when he went to Conneaut, Ohio, and entered an academy from which he was graduated later. After leaving the academy he remained at Conneaut until 1872, engaged in the milling business. In that year he went to Port Austin, Mich., where for nine years he continued his previous occupation as a miller. In 1881 he went into the law office of George S. Engle & Company, of Port Austin, with whom he read law for four years. At the end of that time he left Michigan, and in company with Mr. Engle went to Aberdeen, Brown Co., S.D.; they were engaged there in a loaning and collection agency for a year and then Mr. Ripley decided to try his fortunes elsewhere. Removing to Roscoe, S.D., he bought a hotel and carried it on for four years, operating in connection with it a stage line from Ipswich to Le Beau, 100 miles west, on the east side of the Missouri River. In 1890 he undertook the management of a hotel in West Superior, at the time when the boom was at its height, and then in the course of the following year he settled in Iron River.

At that time there was properly speaking no town there, as it was merely the western terminal of the South Shore Road. Its growth, however, was rapid, and it soon became a flourishing little town. Mr. Ripley was appointed deputy postmaster, and held that position some time. In 1892 he established the first newspaper in town, The Iron River Times; at first he was associated with Mr. J. A. Munger, of Ashland, as editor, but before long he bought Mr. Munger out and continued the publication until he sold it 1897. The paper was Republican in its tone. After giving up his newspaper work he bought an interest in the bank, and has since been identified with it in the capacity of cashier and vice president; its business is of a general banking character.

Mr. Ripley is a strong Republican in his views, and while never an active politician, he has displayed much interest in public affairs, and has been a delegate to numerous conventions.

In 1872 at the time of his removal to Port Austin, Mr. Ripley was married to Miss Mary Patrick, daughter of Samuel Patrick, of that place. Only one son has come to them, George W., born in 1879, and now cashier of the Iron River Bank. There is also resident in Iron River, a brother of Mr. Ripley, who came there in 1893 and lives on a farm, where his mother makes her home with him. The father, Thomas Ripley, was a native of Connecticut, but went to Canada when a young man, and afterwards removed to Huron county, Mich., where he died in 1883.

Alba Lincoln Ruggles, LL. B.
Source: The University of Wisconsin: its history and its alumni (1836 – 1900) Edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites -pages 732-736 (1900) transcribed by FoFG mz
Born at Hartford, Van Buren County, Michigan, August 12, 1861. Fitted in the schools of Benton Harbor, Michigan, and at the Northern Indiana State normal school, at Valparaiso, and taught school for five years before entering U. W. Law School in 1887. He graduated two years later, and began the practice of law at Washburn, Wisconsin, where he remained until 1891, and for four years served as superintendent of schools of Bayfield County. Since that time he has been in Hurley. Mr. Ruggles was chief clerk in the State superintendent's office at Madison for seven months; member of the board of visitors of the River Falls State normal school, 1890-91; and is at the present time district attorney for Iron County. On June 20, 1895, he married Miss Nellie Regene McCabe, a student for a time at the Oshkosh State normal school, and has two children.

Peter J. Savage
Peter J. Savage, the editor of the Iron River Pioneer, has been connected with that influential sheet since Jan. 1, 1898.
The Pioneer was established in 1893 by Byron Ripley, the present cashier of the Iron River Bank, by whom it was conducted until Oct. 1, 1897; at that time he sold to Yates & Costello, and they retained the management until Mr. Savage succeeded Mr. Costello in partnership with Mr. Yates (of the Washburn News), and assumed the editorial work. The Pioneer is a Republican paper and succeeded several other newspapers, most of the others failing to secure a permanent subscription list.
Mr. Savage was born in Mankato, Minn., Oct. 28, 1875, and has been in newspaper work from early boyhood. Until he was eleven years old he remained in Minnesota, attending the public schools, and completed his education by a high school course. He at once entered the employment of the Barager Bros., editors of the Washburn Itemizer, a paper that eight years later was merged into the Washburn News. Here Mr. Savage began at the bottom and learned the business in all its details, displaying from the first a marked aptitude for the calling he had chosen. He remained with the Itemizer for about a year and then worked on various papers throughout the State, notably the Bayfield Press and the Washburn News. Of these papers he was foreman and superintendent of the mechanical departments, holding that position on the former when only sixteen.
On Jan. 1, 1898, Mr. Savage became editor of the Iron River Pioneer, having bought an interest with Mr. Yates. This office is fitted up very completely, with the best presses of their kind, while the job office is fully prepared to turn out faultless work on the briefest notice. Mr. Savage, from natural inclination as well as from his position, is keenly interested in politics, and his voice in influential in the local councils of the Republican party. Although so young a man, his associates have learned to depend on his judgment of affairs and he has frequently been a delegate to conventions. In the spring of 1899 Mr. Savage received from Gov. Schofield the appointment of judge of the 2nd municipal court of Bayfield county and filled the position with the utmost satisfaction for a year. In 1902, on the death of John Brady, chairman of the town, Mr. Savage was appointed. Fraternally he is an active and valued member of the Modern Woodmen Camp.
John P. Savage, the father of P. J., was a native of Ireland, but early came to this country. Here he met his wife, Susan Arbour, who was born and reared in Canada, and after their marriage they settled in Brown county, Minn., being among the very earliest settlers of that county. Mr. Savage was one of the organizers of the town of Mulligan, and was its first treasurer. One of their children, Patrick, was the first white child whose birth is recorded in Brown county. Although a farmer in early life, after settling in Washburn, he was librarian for several years. He was employed during the Civil war on steamboats engaged in carrying provisions to the troops at the front, a service quite as important and not unfrequently quite as dangerous as that given by enlisted men at the front. The death of Mr. Savage occurred at Spooner, Wis., in 1900, while he had lost his wife in 1884, during their residence in Minnesota. [Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.]

Lewis A. Simonson

Lewis A. Simonson, one of the prosperous citizens of Washburn, Bayfield county, who has achieved success from humble beginnings, was born in Booneville, Dallas Co., Iowa, Jan. 28, 1869.
Mr. Simonson was left an orphan when only six months old. His parents, Claus and Bertha Simonson, natives of Aalesund, Norway, came to the United States in 1866, and settled at Reedensburg, Iowa, where they both died in 1869. They left three children: Mary, who married A.D. Blanchard, of Casnovia, Mich.; Benhart, of Terry, S.D.; and Lewis A.

Lewis A. Simonson was adopted into the family of Eric Erickson, of Yankton, S.D., and lived there till he was thirteen years old. He was able to attend school only about seven months in all, and was brought up to farm work. In his fourteenth year he started out for himself, his only possessions being the clothes he wore and seventy-five cents in cash. For three years he supported himself by farm work. In 1886 he went to Duluth, was employed about the coal docks unloading vessels, and after two years spent that way went to Washburn. At that time Washburn was only a village in the woods, with a number of logging camps within sight. Mr. Simonson continued at his previous work for the next three years, and then took a position with a Chicago publishing house, for which he canvassed most of the towns in Northern Wisconsin, Michigan and Minnesota, meeting with great success. Returning to Washburn he was appointed assistant postmaster and served for a year, at the end of which time he went into partnership with August Ceasar. The firm established the Washburn Supply Company, who did general trade in installment goods. After four months Mr. Simonson bought out his partner, and continued the business on his own account. He prospered and gradually enlarged its scope, adding a jewelry store and employing a number of solicitors in other places. In the fall of 1901 he closed out and the clearing sale attracted a greater crowd of customers than Washburn had ever before seen. Mr. Simonson next went into the grocery business and Aug. 12, 1901, he signed articles of partnership with Andrew M. Arnsten. They bought the stock of M. N. Olsted, and have been conducting the concern profitably up to the present time. Mr. Simonson has many other business interests in the town, among which may be mentioned the Washburn Building & Loan Association, the most successful organization of that kind in Wisconsin, in which he is a stockholder. He was also one of the incorporators of the Washburn Ice Company, and is still interested in it.
Always a Republican, Mr. Simonson has been actively interested in local politics, and all questions of the public welfare. Since 1900 he has been a member of the board of education, was vice-president his first year and has been president ever since. His keenest interests, perhaps, are in fraternal work, and he is very prominently identified with many organizations. He belongs to the I.O.O.F. and the I.O.F., Court Chequamegon, in which he has been financial secretary and treasurer six years, and twice a delegate to the High Court; to the Scandinavian H. & E.F., in which he held the office of local treasurer for years; and to the Washburn Assembly, No. 160, E.F.U., of which he was a charter member.  On Dec. 26, 1888, Mr. Simonson was united in marriage to Hannah Olson, daughter of Terber and Martha (Peterson) Olson, born near Christiansund, Norway. Her father died there and her mother afterward married Lars Thorson, who brought his family to America in 1881 and lived at La Crosse, Wis., Duluth, and since 1888, in Washburn, where he and his wife still reside. Mrs. Simonson has borne her husband four children: Charles T.; Benjamin, who died in infancy; Mabel B.; and Lloyd H. Mrs. Simonson was well educated in Norway, and though she never attended school in this country, she has a good knowledge of English, and has been able to assist her husband greatly in his business. The family live in a fine residence commanding a magnificent view of Chequamegon Bay. Mr. Simonson built this in 1899, and has also erected a business place which he owns. [Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.]

Charles Beckwith Simpson

Charles Beckwith Simpson, sheriff of Bayfield county, is an active, enterprising and prosperous citizen of Washburn, Bayfield county, where he is engaged in the lumbering and contracting business. He was born at Saranac, Mich., April 15, 1870, and was the only son of William A. and Sarah Jane (Beckwith) Simpson. The paternal grandfather, Thomas Simpson, was an Englishman and came from the vicinity of Leeds to Kent county, Ont., about 1840. There he settled on a farm and died when about forty years old. The widow, Mrs. Mary (Snowdon) Simpson, lived for some years more, and about 1866 removed with her son to Hamilton, Caldwell Co., Mo. The Snowdons were also an English family, and an estate belonging to them was settled up not too many years ago.
William M. Simpson was born at Morpeth, near Chatham, Ont., but after reaching manhood left Canada and crossed over into Michigan, where he located in Ionia and for some years manufactured brick. Later he began on logging contracts. In the fall of 1886 he removed to Washburn and assumed the duties of superintendent of logging for A.A. Bigelow & Company, a position he held at the time of his death, in June, 1893, at the age of fifty-one. His wife, who died in the spring of 1889, at the age of forty-six, was born at Saranac, Mich., and was of Massachusetts parentage. She was one of a family of seven, three sons and four daughters. To William and Sarah Simpson were born, besides the one son, C.B., three daughters, of whom the only survivor is Lena B., who resides in Cleveland, Ohio.
Charles B. Simpson received his education in the public schools, which he attended, either at Lamont or Hersey, until he was sixteen. At that age he went to Washburn and entered the employ of A.A. Bigelow & Company as timekeeper, while the next year he was made foreman of a logging crew. In November, 1890, in connection with his father, he began contracting, his part being the oversight of the work in the woods. Since his father’s death he has continued the same work and has filled contracts for different lumber companies in Wisconsin, while in the winter of 1902-03 he filled contracts on the Brule river. He employs from eighty to 250 men. Always a Republican, Mr. Simpson has been one of the active workers in town, county and State affairs, taking a prominent part in various conventions. In the fall of 1902 he was elected sheriff of Bayfield county. In January, 1896, Mr. Simpson was married to Gertrude McQuirk, daughter of Mrs. Sarah McQuirk, of St. Paul. Mrs. Simpson was born in Chicago, where her father died. Prominent in political life, Mr. Simpson is almost equally so in fraternal circles; he belongs to the Masonic fraternity, is past master of the local lodge, a member of the chapter and council, of the Ashland (Wis.) Consistory, and of the Tripoli Temple of the Mystic Shrine in Milwaukee; he also belongs to the B.P.O.E., and the Concatenated Order of Hoohoos. [Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.]

P. W. Smith

Capt. P. W. Smith, hotel, Bayfield, was born in Lowville, Lewis Co., N.Y., Aug. 24, 1827. When twenty years of age he went to sea in a whaler, and at Van Diemen’s Land, went on board of a merchant ship and returned to New York. In 1861 he raised Co. 9, N.Y.V.I.; resigned in May, 1862, on account of bad health, and came to Bayfield in the same year and opened a hotel, in which he has since continued. In the Fall of 1868, he went to Portage Lake; returned to Bayfield in 1869 and is now proprietor of the oldest hotel in the village. In 1856, he married Miss Sabina Sanders, of Toronto, Canada,. They have two boys – Frederic W., aged twenty –four, and William J., twenty-one. Mr. Smith was appointed Sheriff in 1873, and elected in 1876; was Under-Sheriff till January. 1880; had been Clerk of the County, held town offices, and is now superintendent and director of the Hydraulic Co. of Bayfield, and a member of the Masonic Lodge. [Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 85; submitted by Sandra Wright]

K.G. Staples
The Superior Telegram, of Aug. 4th, contains a write-up of the thriving town of Iron River, Wis., and has this to say of the Staples Bros., who are well known in this vicinity: K. G. Staples, manager of the S. F. Staples Lumber company, and chairman of the town board, is one of the hustling business men of Iron River. Only to say that he came from Maine fills the bill that he is a hustler in every sense of the word. He has taken a prominent part the last year in organizing and building up the Bayfield County Agricultural Society. The S. F. Staples Lumber company, of which he is manager, is one of the leading manufacturing firms of this State. S. F. Staples, secretary and treasurer of the S. F. Staples Lumber company, came to Iron River with his brother and is one of the progressive business men of Bayfield county. He is president of the school board and thoroughly understands educational matters. [The Princeton Union. (Princeton, Minn.), 30 Aug. 1894]

J. Henry Sykes

J. Henry Sykes, the gentlemanly and efficient assistant superintendent in charge of the State Fish Hatchery, Salmo, Bayfield Co., Wis., was born in Lake City, Minn., Aug. 1, 1863, and is a son of Delavergne and Mahala A. (Thomas) Sykes. The former was born in Canada and the latter in Dane county, Wis., where her parents were pioneers from Ohio. Mr. Sykes’ parents settled in Dane county, Wis., when he was three years old. There he grew up on the farm, receiving only a limited education in the public schools. Near his father’s farm, a few miles from Madison, was located the State Fish Hatchery. By the opportunity thus afforded he became interested in fish culture and subsequently secured a position with the State Fish Commission. This was in November, 1885. He was first employed as teamster. Evincing an aptitude for that line of business his superiors quickly recognized his worth and soon promoted him to positions of higher trust and greater responsibility. With every phase of the business Mr. Sykes is familiar, having made a practical and intelligent study of fish culture in all its details. Mr. Sykes was installed in charge of the Salmo hatchery by James Nevin, the State Superintendent, at its inception in 1895. Upon his work he has brought to bear a knowledge gained from long years of experience, and by his well directed and intelligent efforts he has succeeded in making this one of the model fish hatcheries of the United States. Mr. Sykes was married Jan. 26, 1890, to Miss Lillie M. DeBow, who has borne him six children, namely: Esther M., Henry L., Lawrence E., Ella, Robert C., and Eva Henrietta. Mrs. Sykes is a native of Trempealeau county, Wis., and a daughter of John L. DeBow, a native of New York State, whose father, Peter DeBow, was a captain in the war of 1812. John L. DeBow came to Wisconsin when a lad, settling first in Waukesha, and subsequently in Trempealeau county, more than fifty years ago. He died there in 1892. His wife was Mary A. Larkins, who survives him, and is an honored resident of Trempealeau county. Fraternally Mr. Sykes is a member of the Masonic lodge at Bayfield. [Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.]

Andrew Tate
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 85; submitted by Sandra Wright
Andrew Tate was born in the city of Washington, D.C., Aug. 23, 1823, and left that city on the 25th of April, 1857, and arrived at Bayfield 25th of May following. Opened a store and commenced reading law, and was admitted to practice in the County Court in 1858, and in the Circuit Court in 1861; was appointed County Judge in 1861; was elected District Attorney soon after; was the first School Superintendent in the county; was elected Clerk of Circuit Court, then County Treasurer; also County Treasurer in 1880; was elected supervisor in 1881; joined the Masonic lodge in Washington D.C., in 1856, and is one of the charter members of Bayfield lodge, No. 215; joined the Odd Fellows in 1844; is president of the Bayfield Hydraulic Company. He married Miss Nellie G. Hall, of Bayfield, formerly of Ohio, in July, 1866. They have one child, Lillian.

Winfield Eastman Tripp
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
Winfield Eastman Tripp, for four years municipal judge of Bayfield county, was one of the pioneer settlers of Iron River, and from the time of his arrival, in the fall of 1890, was an important factor in the educational and political development of the region.

Judge Tripp was born in Lyman, York Co., Maine, Oct. 14, 1851, son of Eastman H. and Adah M. (Lord) Tripp. The parents were both natives of the same State, descendants of Colonial families, the former of English, and the latter of Scotch-Irish stock. The father was well educated, and was prepared in Alfred Academy for the profession of teaching, which he followed for forty-eight terms. For a number of years he was engaged in farming. He took a prominent part in local affairs, was a selectman, a member of the Legislature for 1868 and 1869, and was superintendent of the school committee for many years. His political views were those of the Democratic party. He was in religious matters a Baptist, as was also his wife, and for forty years he was a deacon in the church. Mr. Tripp died March 5, 1895, shortly before his eighty-eighth birthday. He had lost his wife fourteen years before, May 14, 1881, at the age of sixty-seven. Their five children were Alonzo K., Ferdinand E., Bessie A., Adah M. and Winfield E.

Winfield E. Tripp was reared on his farm and given a good education. His earlier studies were pursued in the public schools, and in 1871 he entered the academy for a year before going to the New Hampton Biblical Institute, from which institution he was graduated in 1874. Still unsatisfied, he next matriculated at the University of Maine in the civil engineering department and received his degree in 1878. During the years of his collegiate course Mr. Tripp has paid his own way by teaching, working on farms, or anything else that he found to do, and when he graduated his only capital that he had to start with in life was $25. The overwork for this collegiate period resulted in a complete physical breakdown, and for two years Mr. Tripp was obliged to rest. On recovering he began to teach in the public schools, and was thus occupied for two years, also acting as superintending school committee. He spent a third year in a graded school at Marilla, Erie Co., N.Y., and then in 1883 abandoned the profession of teaching, accepting a position as traveling salesman for the Willimantic Linen Company of New York. His territory covered Wisconsin, northern Michigan, and that part of Illinois north of the Rock Island railroad, and he was thus occupied five years. In September, 1888, Mr. Tripp entered the Law Department of the University of Wisconsin, and in one year completed the course intended to take two years. He passed his examinations and received from the institution the degree of Bachelor of Law, and was admitted to practice in all courts save the Supreme court of the United States.

The next year Mr. Tripp went to West Superior and took a position as draughtsman in the city engineering department, but he remained there only until the following August, and then after a short visit in Maine he settled on a homestead claim in Bayfield county, the southeast quarter of Section 21, township 48, N. Range, 8 West. The early settlers in that region, numbering over a hundred, and including Mr. Tripp, were involved in tedious and intricate litigation by men who endeavored to dispossess them because of the valuable timber lands, and all the legal work necessitated by this was done under Mr. Tripp’s direction.

During 1891-92 Mr. Tripp resumed teaching, at first in the Pratt school. The second year he was elected principal of the Iron River school. The building was a temporary structure, and extremely primitive, and Mr. Tripp was the first principal and organizer of the work. The plans and methods introduced by him have been largely followed ever since. With four teachers the first year, two new buildings of six rooms enabled him to increase the corps to six the second year and those following.

A Democrat in politics, Mr. Tripp was appointed postmaster of Iron River by President Cleveland in November, 1893, and he held that position until February 1, 1898. The next two years he was actively engaged in civil engineering, surveying lands, laying out railroads for logging purposes, etc., principally in Bayfield county. The sewer system of Iron River was surveyed and laid out about this time by Mr. Tripp from his own plans and specifications. In 1903 the Kalama River Lumber Company, an Oregon corporation, was formed, and Judge Tripp was elected its secretary and treasurer and still holds this important position, he having large interests in the concern, which owns more than a hundred million feet of the best timber in Washington. Judge Tripp was closed up his business in Wisconsin and immediately goes to Portland, Oregon, to reside and look after the interests of his company.

In 1900 our subject was nominated for municipal judge of the county on a non-partisan ticket, and was elected over both opponents by 1,050 votes out of 2,200 cast. He assumed the position in May for a four years’ term. In 1904 Judge Tripp ran for re-election to his office against a Democrat and Republican candidate, and was naturally beaten by the Republican, as the county is very largely Republican.

In July, 1904 he was chosen alternate delegate to the National Democratic Convention at St. Louis and sat during that famous all-night session. A few months after he was nominated by the Democrats as their candidate for the 23rd Assembly District, comprising Bayfield, Sawyer and Washburn counties, and was defeated by his Republican opponent, although he ran 1,419 votes ahead of his ticket. He was the only Democrat who carried his home town, Iron River. Since 1892 Judge Tripp has been a delegate to nearly all the State and county conventions, in the latter body being always either chairman or secretary. He was the Democratic candidate for county superintendent of schools, but was defeated, as he was for district attorney in 1898, Bayfield county being always largely Republican.

Judge Tripp’s marriage occurred Feb. 22, 1882, when he was united to Miss Lizzie May Dame, daughter of Timothy and Elizabeth F. Dame, of Eliot, York Co., Maine. Mr. Dame was a native of New Hampshire, and rose to a position of influence, being a member of the Legislature, and always prominent in Republican political councils. By profession he was a civil engineer, and he was for twenty-eight years connected with the engineering navy yard at Kittery, as constructor’s chief clerk. He died March 9, 1891, aged fifty-seven years.

B. B. Wade
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 85; submitted by Sandra Wright
B. B. Wade, District Attorney, Bayfield, was born in Oneida Co., N.Y., May 21, 1841. He graduated from Hamilton College in 1860, and was admitted to the bar of Poughkeepsie, N.Y., in 1863. In 1864, he took a trip to Colorado, where he practiced and mined, returning to New York in 1868. His health was not good, and he was recommended to the climate of Lake Superior. He came to Bayfield in 1869, and has remained here since, engaged in real estate business. He was County Clerk, and elected District Attorney in Fall of 1880. Mr. Wade is lieutenant of the Bayfield Rifles.

Mrs. L. M. Whittlesey
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (Bayfield County, Wis.) 1881, page 85; submitted by Sandra Wright
Mrs. L. M. Whittlesey, relict of Hon. A. Whittlesey, who was born in Ohio, is a native of Massachusetts. They were married in Peoria, Ill., and came to La Pointe in 1854, and from there went to Ashland, and helped lay out the village, living there till 1861, when he was appointed to the land-office and moved to Bayfield, where they lived up to the time of his death, which occurred December, 1880. He had always endeavored to develop the resources of his adopted home, in which he recognized the capacity for a great and rich future. He held at one time a place in the Legislature of the State, traveling to Madison on snow shoes. There is now in the capital a picture illustrating this incident. He was Indian Agent and Port Collector. He died, leaving a widow and one daughter. There were two children – Delia E., now Mrs. Green, and Jennie, deceased. Mrs. Whittlesey’s mother, Harriette M., and her father, J. P. T. Haskell, moved to Ashland in 1855; the latter died in 1875, but the mother is living in Chicago at the advanced age of seventy-two. Mrs. Whittlesey now lived on the property left by her husband in Bayfield.

A. H. Wilkinson
Source: The Wisconsin Blue Book (1919) page 465; transcribed by FoFG mz
A. H. WILKINSON (Rep.), a banker for 25 years, established a new record as chairman of the joint finance committee of the legislature in 1919, when all large appropriation bills were introduced before April 1. Born July 23, 1875, in Stewart, Ia., he removed with his parents to Cumberland, Wis., in 1882, and to Bayfield in 1883. Received a common school education, was town treasurer 1897-99; county treasurer 1901-4. Was member of the Republican State Central Committee two years and two years member of the state board of agriculture. He has been engaged in the banking business since 1894 and in that time has been active in the development of northern Wisconsin. During the war he was chairman of District Draft Board No. 2 for the western district, member Bayfield County Council of Defense and chairman of the Liberty Loan campaigns.

Frederick Thomas Yates
Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Lake Region (1905) transcribed by Kim Mohler.
The influence of the press, in such a country as this, is one that cannot adequately be estimated, and upon the editors and publishers of our papers rests the responsibility of guiding, if not of entirely forming, the opinions of their public following. One of the prominent newspapermen in Washburn, Bayfield county, is Frederick T. Yates, the publisher of the Washburn News and Itemizer.

Thomas Yates, the father, came to the United States during the early childhood of our subject. Landing in this country in the fall of 1871, he established himself in Chicago only two weeks before the great fire. He was a jeweler by trade, at first conducting a store on the west side, and later in the Grand Pacific Hotel building. In 1881 he went to River Falls, Wis., where he continued in the same line, later starting business at Washburn, whither he had moved in 1887.

Frederick T. Yates was born in Wales, April 28, 1867. His education was acquired in the public schools of Chicago, and, at the age of fourteen, going to River Falls with his parents, he entered the office of the Journal, remaining there a year and a half, becoming a master of the printing craft. In 1885 he went to Bayfield county, and worked on the Bayfield Press until September, 1887, when he decided to locate permanently at Washburn, where he began the publication of the News. Nine years later he bought the Itemizer, and has since published the two papers combined as the News and Itemizer. The paper was always an independent Democratic publication until the summer of 1902, when Mr. Yates joined the Republican ranks and the News and Itemizer is now among the prominent Republican papers of northern Wisconsin.

Mr. Yates has been prominent in many of the business concerns of Washburn. He was one of the incorporators and is now president of the Washburn Loan and Building Association, the model association of that character in Wisconsin; a stockholder and manager of the Washburn Electric Light & Power Company; vice-president of the Northern State Bank, and is interested to a considerable degree in real estate. He has served two terms as secretary of the high school board, and one year as mayor of the city.

In 1887 Mr. Yates was married to Miss Jennie Cooper, daughter of David Cooper, deceased, one of the pioneers of Bayfield. Mr. Cooper was born in Michigan, but passed the most of his life in Wisconsin, where he dealt in merchandise many years, and also at one time operated a stage line between Ashland and Duluth. Mr. and Mrs. Yates have had three children: Frederick T., who died in 1901, at the age of thirteen years; Alma Florence; and Grace Cooper. The family is connected with the Methodist Church, and Mr. Yates belongs to the M.W.A. and the Masonic fraternity. Few men, especially young men, touch the life of their locality on so many sides as does Mr. Yates, and his work in the community is highly appreciated by his fellow citizens.


Wisconsin Genealogy Trails
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails