Clark County, Wisconsin Biographies - M Surnames
Transcribed by Marla Zwakman unless otherwise noted
James Mabie (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 247-248
JAMES MABIE is one of the reliable farmers of Clark County who have assisted in conquering the forest and converting the land from the wild state in which nature had left it, to farms of great fertility and beauty. He is a native of Putnam County, New York, born July 22, 1829, and is a son of Levi and Drusilla (Shaw) Mabie, who were also born in New York. They emigrated to Wisconsin in the year 1855, and settled in Fond du Lac County, where the father passed the remainder of his days; the mother died at the home of our subject, in Clark County, Wisconsin. The parents were both consistent members of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and were numbered among the upright citizens of the community. Their family consisted of seven children: Harrison, James, Alanson, Elizabeth, John, Mary and George.
James was the second of the family; he was reared on a farm in New York, assisting his father in the labors incident to agricultural life. After he came to Wisconsin be resided in Fond du Lac County until 1874, when he came to Clark County and located on the place where he now makes his home. He owns 160 acres of good land, and has cleared about sixty and placed it under cultivation. He has devoted all his energies to this occupation, and has been an energetic, hard-working man. Through a flaw in the title to his land he has been obliged to pay for it twice; this injustice has been a great hindrance to his progress, but he has "weathered the gale," and is meeting with success in all his business undertakings.
In politics he affiliates with the Republican party, and is a stanch adherent to their principles. He has two children, Henry and Warren, both of whom are living.
Robert James MacBride
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) page 242; submitted by FoFG mz
R. J. MAC BRIDE, lawyer, Neillsville. Born in Philadelphia, Pa., June 28, 1847. When he was nineteen years of age started for the
West and arrived in Neillsville in October, 1866, and clerked for Hewett, Woods & Co., until 1869. He was giving his attention to reading law in his spare moments, and in 1870 was admitted to the Bar. Married Miss Emeline Niles, of Michigan. Was elected County Judge, served from 1870 to 1877, and was appointed alternate delegate to the National Convention that nominated Gen. Hancock for President of the United States.
(Clark, Lincoln, Taylor and Wood Counties. Population, 24,018)
Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1882), page 542; transcribed by Mary Saggio
ROBERT J. MacBRIDE (Dem.), of Neillsville, Clark county, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, June 28, 1847; received a high-school education in Philadelphia; is a lawyer by profession; came to Wisconsin in 1866 and settled at Neillsville, where he has since resided; was elected county judge of Clark county in 1869 and ’73, and held the office seven and one-half years, until he resigned in 1877; was appointed United States court commissioner in 1871, and held the office until nominated for the assembly; was a delegate to the democratic national convention at Cincinnati in 1880; was elected member of assembly for 1882, receiving 2,375 (except Lincoln) votes against 1,178 (except Lincoln) for Fred Barrett, republican. NOTE. – The vote of Lincoln county could not be obtained.
Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1883) page: 486; transcribed by Tammy Clark
ROBERT J. MacBRIDE (Dem.), of Neillsville, was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, June 28, 1847; received an high school education in Philadelphia; is a lawyer by profession; came to Wisconsin in 1866 and settled at Neillsville, where he has since resided; was elected county judge of Clark county in 1869 and ’73, and held the office seven and one-half years until he resigned in 1877; was appointed United States court commissioner in 1871, and held the office until nominated for the assembly; was a delegate to the democratic national convention at Cincinnati in 1880; was elected member of assembly for 1882, and re-elected for 1883, receiving 1,300 votes against 827 for E. D. Carter, republican.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 599-601, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
ROBERT JAMES MacBRIDE, for many years one of the foremost citizens of Clark County, was born in Philadelphia, Pa., June 28, 1847, son of Robert and Mary (MacChesney) MacBride, and grandson of Thomas and Elizabeth (Haddock) MacBride. He was reared in his native city, passed through the grammar and high schools, and entered the law office of David Paul Brown, distinguished attorney. In 1866, at the age of 19 years, he came west on a visit to friends in Davenport, Iowa, and was there persuaded to cast his lot in Neillsville. Accordingly in that year he came here, and secured employment as accountant with Hewett, Woods & Co. While thus engaged, he studied law with B. F. French. Upon being admitted, he opened his office in the Hewett Block, the only brick building in the county. With this beginning, he attained his present position as dean of the Clark County Bar. He has been connected with practically all the important litigation in the county since his first admission, and has won a high position as both advocate and counsellor. For a time after leaving Mr. French's office he practiced alone. Then George A. Grundy became his partner. After Mr. Grundy's death he was alone again. At the close of the Spanish-American War, the firm of MacBride, Clark & MacBride was formed, consisting of Robert J. MacBride, Homer C. Clark and Robert J. MacBride, Jr. This partnership continued for about a year. Shortly after his arrival here, Mr. MacBride began to take an active part in local Democratic politics, and his influence spread until he was a factor in state politics as well. In 1869 he was elected county judge, and in spite of the fact that the community was strongly Republican, he was twice re-elected. He resigned in August, 1878, and his term was filled by C. A. Youmans. In 1881, in the Republican district including Clark, Lincoln, Taylor and Wood Counties, Judge MacBride was elected to the legislature. In that session Clark County became a separate district, and in the fall of 1882 Judge MacBride was elected to the biennial session of 1883-84. His work in the legislature was notable, he served on many committees, and in 1883 was chairman of the Committee on Incorporations and of the Judiciary Committee. Among the important bills he introduced were those creating the State Railroad Commission and the State Insurance Department, as well as that establishing a chair of pharmacy at the University of Wisconsin. In 1890 he was elected to the state senate, was elected president pro tem of that body in 1893, and served in that capacity the greater part of the remainder of his term. Among other important work was his service as chairman of the Reapportionment Committee, which newly apportioned the Assembly, Senatorial and Congressional districts of the state. In 1904 he was nominated by the Democrats as a candidate from his district for United States Congressman, but declined the nomination. For many decades Judge MacBride was a familiar figure in county, district and state Democratic Conventions, and in 1880 and 1888 he was a delegate to the Democratic National Convention. In 1892 he was elected presidential elector at large on the Democratic ticket, leading that ticket by a handsome margin. In this capacity he presided at the meeting of the presidential electors at Madison, casting the vote for Cleveland, the first Democrat to be thus honored in the state since the days of Pierce. In 1894, Judge McBride was apointed, without solicitation on his part, by President Cleveland to be United States Counsel to Edinborough, Scotland. He filled the duties of this position in a dignified and efficient manner and retired after President McKinley's election with the profound respect of all with whom he had come in contact. In military life, Judge MacBride in 1882 and 1883 held the rank of captain as judge advocate of the Third Regiment, Wisconsin National Guard. As early as 1870 he served as school clerk, and has since continued his warm interest in educational matters in city and county. For many years he was a member of the Library Association. For a short time he had an interest in the mercantile firm of Dickenson & MacBride at Neillsville. One of his especial prides is the part he took as one of the officers and directors of the Black River Railroad, which on July 1, 1881, operated its first train from Merrillan, and which is now a part of the Omaha system. Judge MacBride was married June 28, 1870, to Addie J. Gates, born in New York, April 15, 1849, daughter of Daniel and Jane (Hewett) Gates, prominent pioneers. This union has been blessed with two sons, Oscar W. and Robert J., Jr. Oscar W., who now holds a responsible position with the American Express Co. at St. Louis, Mo., married Catherine Crowley, of Columbia County, Wis., and has one child, Beatrice. Robert J., Jr., a graduate in law of the University of Wisconsin, and a former partner of his father's, is now successfully practicing his profession at Portland, Ore. He is the father of two sons, Douglas and Le Mont, graduates of the Neillsville High School.
Thomas MacBride, grandfather of Judge MacBride, was a native of Paisley, Scotland, and was there reared and married. A few years after the War of 1812, he brought his family to America and located at Philadelphia, where he spent the remainder of his life. The founder of the MacBride family in America, he was a man of sterling principles and devout faith, being a staunch supporter of the Presbyterian church.
Robert MacBride, son of Thomas MacBride and father of Judge MacBride, entered as a young man into the cotton manufacturing business, becoming in time the owner of several mills. Like his forebears before him, he was a prominent worker in the Presbyterian Church. He assisted in erecting the Frankford Presbyterian Church, of Philadelphia, and was one of its most liberal supporters. A thorough patriot, he gave the government the benefit of his experience in textiles, as a member of the Quartermaster's department during the Civil War. By his first wife, Mary MacChesney, he had five children: Thomas H., William C., Robert J., Mary J. and Isabella C., while by his second wife, Louisa Morrison, he had two children, Taylor N. and Anna W. Thomas H. was a captain in the Civil War, in the 100th Pennsylvania Volunteer Infantry, better known as the "Roundheads," and was for many years connected with the United States Pension Department. He died at Cincinnati, and is buried in Covington. William C. served as a non-commissioned officer in the same regiment. In time he became a foremost figure in American journalism. For many years he was Washington correspondent for the Cincinnati Enquirer, and while serving as such was for one year president of the famous Gridiron Club of Washington. For several months he was editor of the New York Journal. He now lives retired in Washington. Robert J. has already been appropriately mentioned. Mary J. is now Mrs. Cheney of Philadelphia . Isabella C., who became Mrs. Kimball, is dead. Taylor N., for many years court reporter for the Orphan's Court, Philadelphia, is dead. Anna W. died as a young girl.
John Machel (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 447-448, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
JOHN MACHEL, a thriving farmer of Washburn Township, is an example of what may be accomplished by industry and determination without any extraneous advantages. His career is one well worth narrating, as it is one that should prove an inspiration to any young man starting out in life without other aid than a sound body and good brain. Mr. Machel was born in Warsof, Russian-Poland, June 24, 1856, his parents being Christian and Rosalia Machel, farming people, who lived and died in their native land. They had a large family of ten children—Gottlieb, Christiana, Mary, Caroline, Susan, John, Andrew, Anna, Louise and Julia. Andrew was the first of the family to emigrate to the United States, after him came Anna, then John, and later, Julia. Anna and Julia reside in Canada, and Andrew in Oklahoma. John Machel had no chance to acquire a broad education, but acquired a knowledge of the German, Polish and Russ languages, to which he has later added English, so is a linquist of more than ordinary acquirements. He grew up on the farm in Poland and was there married to Louise Wagert, continuing to reside near Warsof until 1892, when, having resolved to seek a wider field of opportunity, he set out for the United States, accompanied by his wife and four children—Rudolph, Albert, Adolph and Robert. Arriving in Chicago, Mr. Machel worked there at whatever he could find to do, not being able to get any very profitable work, however. In the hard times under the Cleveland administration he and his family came to Clark County, locating on eighty acres of land in Section 24, Washburn Township, afterwards buying eighty acres more in Section 13. His prospects at the time were not encouraging, for he had no money, no team, and not even a cow, his only asset, aside from his strong arms, a determined spirit, and a good wife, being a large family, whose value to him, however, as a factor in success, lay chiefly in the future. The first dwelling of the family was a tent, in which they lived until he could build a log house by his own labor. He grubbed in his first crops of potatoes, beans and other garden stuff. It was in July, 1892, when he and his family arrived, the season being well advanced, and it was a year before he got his first cow. It was three years before he got one horse and a year and a half more before he was able to get another to make a team. Of course, during the earliest period he was obliged to work away from home to support his family, and found employment on the railroad, sending home money for them to buy another cow. The first year he used a grub hoe, six or seven inches wide, to harrow his land, some of it being spaded. But though he and his family suffered many hardships, they enjoyed the blessing of good health, none of them ever being sick. In time he got his place cleared, and in the meanwhile conditions improved and the family became more prosperous. His sons, too, grew up and were able to render assistance on the farm. He now has twenty-seven head of fine Holstein cattle, and has erected a basement barn, with cement floor, 36 by 60 feet in size, a silo, 12 by 26 feet, and a neat and substantial pressed-brick residence of ten rooms, each room having a closet, a convenience which every housewife will appreciate. Mr. Machel is not only doing an excellent business as a farmer, but is also a member of the Shortville Creamery and a stockholder in the cheese factory. In addition to his cattle, in which he takes a justifiable pride, he keeps excellent horses and other good stock. He took a leading part in the building of the Union Church, being its wealthiest member, and contributing liberally to the expense. All his children have also done well, having been trained in habits of industry and frugality by their parents. In addition to the four sons, already mentioned, who were born in Poland, he and his wife had two others, William and Nathaniel, who were born in this country. They have also five daughters: Gusta, Amelia, Lydia, Amanda, who is a school teacher, and Tabita. The son, Adolph, is a member of the Farmers Co-operative Elevator and Lumber Company, of Neillsville. Such is the record of Mr. Machel and his family, one well worthy of consideration, as it illustrates in a striking manner the value of self-help, without which success can rarely, if ever, be obtained. Mr. Machel has moved to Section 33, Grant Township.
Erastus Mack (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 140-141
ERASTUS MACK was born in the Dominion of Canada, August 31, 1824, and is a son of Daniel and Pollie (Chard) Mack, natives of the State of Connecticut. Although born in the United States, the parents were married in Canada, and passed their lives there. Daniel Mack was a farmer by occupation; in the war of 1812 lie took an active part, discharging his duties as a soldier faithfully and well. He and his wife were both respected members of the Baptist Church. They had born to them eight children: Daniel, Lewis, David, James, Nicholas, Erastus, William, and a daughter who died in infancy.
Erastus was reared on a farm in Canada, spending his time in the labors incident to agricultural life. In 1856 he left his native place and came to Wisconsin, locating on the land he now owns, He purchased it from the Government, paying $1.25 per acre. At that time no hand had touched the primeval forest, and the difficulties attending its removal and the clearing of the land must not be lightly estimated. There was only one house at Neillsville, and there were no roads. Mr. Mack and his brother Daniel cut the road to his place six miles through the timber. The first cabin they erected was constructed of logs and boards cut from the timber, and afterward a log house was built that furnished a comfortable shelter for many years. As his means increased, and he began to reap the reward of his efforts, Mr. Mack built a modern dwelling, and erected large and convenient barns for the storing of the products of his land. His farm now consists of 120 acres, seventy four of which are clear. He began in life with nothing but pluck and energy for capital, but they have served him better than other commodities more fleeting, and he has won for himself and family a comfortable home and means for a good living.
In the year 1844, August 12, Mr. Mack was married to Miss Maria Hugbs, of Canada. She was born in Wiltshire, England, December 25, 1824, and is a daughter of Joseph and Elizabeth (Lock) Hughs, natives of England. Her parents emigrated to America in 1831; the mother died at Montreal before they had reached their destination, and the father is now deceased.
Mr. and Mrs. Mack have had born to them thirteen children: Nehemiah, Elizabeth, Hannah, Nicholas, Wesley, Joseph, Eli, Adalaide, Albra, Charles, Edith, Leslie, and one child who died in infancy. All the children excepting Nicholas and Leslie are married. The father and mother are honored and consistent members of the Seventh-Day Adventist Church.
Chris Madsen (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 441-442, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
CHRIS MADSEN, president and manager of the Withee Construction Co., one of the most important business enterprises in Clark County, was born in Kolding, Denmark, Feb. 22, 1868, son of Mathias and Anna M. (Hansen) Madsen. The father was a laboring man who died in 1895. In April, 1901, his widow came to America, residing for a short time in Minneapolis, and later coming to Withee, Clark County, where she died in 1914. Chris Madsen came to this country in 1891, locating first in Minneapolis. He was a cabinet-maker by trade and was employed in Minneapolis as car builder for the Twin City Rapid Transit Co., remaining with them for two years. He then went to Pullman, Ill., and was with the Pullman Palace Car Company, constructing Pullman sleeping cars there until 1894, when he went to Sheboygan, Wis., for a short time working for the Winter Lumber Co., making office fixtures. Then he returned to Minneapolis, where he went into the building trade, working as carpenter for several of the largest contractors such as Leighton Brothers and others. While working ten hours a day at this work, Mr. Madsen took the architectural course of the International Correspondence School, of Scranton, Pa., to better qualify himself in construction of buildings, completing this course in 1901. Mr. Madsen came to Withee the sixth day of May, 1901, and started in business for himself as contractor and builder. In this enterprise he achieved a pronounced success, leading up to the establishment of the Withee Construction Company, which was organized Mar. 13, 1913, for building and construction purposes. The first officers were: Chris Madsen, president; Lewis C. Meyer, vice president, and Henry Bartholomay, secretary. The same officers are still serving, and there has been no change in stockholders. Mr. Madsen, either when alone, or as head of the above mentioned company, has executed contracts for some of the largest churches, schools, depots, libraries, and residences, in Clark and adjoining counties, such as German Lutheran Church, Pittsville, Wood County, 1908, costing $9,000; Soo Line Depot Medford, Tyler County, 1913, costing $6,000; Carnegie Library, Neillsville, Clark County, costing $10,000; Sniteman Rec., 1914 and 1915, costing $10,000; Methodist Church at Colby, Clark County, 1915, costing $6,000; Soo Line Depot and Annex, Stevens Point, Wis., 1917 and 1918, costing $53,000. The Withee Construction Company are dealers in hollow building tile, Mr. Madsen having been the introducer of that tile in Clark County. He is also a stockholder in Withee Lumber and Fuel Company and secretary of this company. In 1907 he was elected assessor of the village of Withee, serving for seven years, and then in 1914 became a member of the county board, on which he served one term. His fraternal affiliations are with the Equitable Fraternal Union, Fraternal Reserve Association, the Independent Order of Odd Fellows and the Danish Brotherhood of America, of which last mentioned order he is secretary. On Mar. 6, 1904, Mr. Madsen was united in marriage with Caroline Jessen, who was born in Schleswig, Denmark, Mar. 12, 1883, daughter of Ludwig and Caroline Jessen, who came to America with her parents in 1888. The family settled at Pullman, Ill., where Mr. Jessen was employed by the Pullman Palace Car Company; moved on a farm with the family in 1894, near Longwood, where he died in 1909. His wife, who survives him, is making her home with Mr. and Mrs. Madsen. The latter have five children: Adaline Vivian, born Nov. 3, 1905; Leonora Elvira, born Sept. 5, 1907; Ethel Theresa, born April 7, 1909; Clarence Ludwig, born Feb. 5, 1911; and Agnes Irene, born Sept. 18, 1913. Mr. Madsen’s career up to the present time is a good example of what may be accomplished by industry and intelligence, united with a laudable ambition to rise in the world. Possessing these qualities he has not only advanced his own fortunes in a notable degree, but has benefited the community in which he has made his home, by the establishment of a useful and flourishing industry, which gives employment to a number of men.
Nathan B. Manes (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 255-256; submitted by Mary Saggio
NATHAN B. MANES, of section 36, Weston Township, was born in Carnville, Somerset County, Maine, July 24, 1847, the son of Robert L. (deceased), of English and Spanish ancestry. The latter's father was a Methodist Episcopal minister. Our subject's mother, nee Mary Redmond, a native of County Wexford, Ireland, came with her parents to Quebec, Canada, when a girl, and after her marriage removed to Maine. Mr. and Mrs. Manes were the parents of nine children, five of whom still survive, namely: John S.; Mary, now the wife of Peter Dercy, of Boston; Anna J., the wife of O. H. Clapp, of Denver, Colorado; Mina, now Mrs. Durlin McTaggert, of Pine Valley, this county; and Nathan B., our subject. One son, William, lost his life in the service of his country, having served in Company D, Fourth Wisconsin Cavalry, three years, and died in 1868, at the age of twenty-six years. .Robert was killed while working in a logging camp, by a log rolling against him, in 1869, at the age of nineteen years. John S. was also a soldier in the Fifth Iowa Cavalry, serving three years. Nathan enlisted twice, but on account of his age was prevented by his family from going. David served in the First Wisconsin Battery. The father died March 13, 1886, and the mother June 30, same year. They emigrated to Wisconsin in 1856, settling in the village of Weston, now Pine Valley, two miles north of Neillsville. In 1856 they came to Black River Falls, where they lived until May, 1857, when they came to this county, and settled as above stated, and which was then known as Weston's Rapids. The Indians and wild animals were numerous, and our subject killed many deer, bear, partridges and other game, which constituted their meat for many years.
Nathan Manes, our subject, settled on his present place in 1869, which was then covered with heavy timber. He has worked hard, following lumbering in the winters and improved the farm in the summer. He was elected Town Treasurer in 1863, chairman of the Town Board in 1865, and has served as School Clerk twelve years. The latter position he resigned in 1889, and took a trip to the Pacific coast, traveling through California, Oregon and Washington. He was engaged in the saw-mill business at Tenino, Thurston County, Washington, but was burned out, and afterward returned to this State. He has a fine frame house, built in 1870, the main part being 18 x 25 feet, two stories high, with an addition 16x22, one story, and also a wing for kitchen and woodshed, 16 x 24 feet. The entire building rests on a solid stone wall. Socially Mr. Manes is a member of the Modern Woodmen and K. of P. orders, and politically a Republican.
He was married July 3, 1869, to Ella Tracey, daughter of William and Laura (Nelson) Tracey, of this town. They had one child, who died in infancy. The mother died in September, 1872, and Mr. Manes was again married January 13, 1874, to Ella M. Bushnell, a daughter of Daniel S. (deceased) and Sarah A. (Brown) Bushnell. The latter lives in Columbia County, Wisconsin. Mr. and Mrs. Manes have four children: Mabel L., Birdie D., Guy B. and Katie, all at home.
Albert Mantey (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 281; submitted by Mary Saggio
ALBERT MANTEY, of section 3, range 3, Weston Township, Clark County, was born in Pomel, Germany, November 18, 1857, the son of Michael Mantey, deceased. Albert came to the United States in the spring of 1882, settling in Marinette County, Wisconsin, where he lived until 1889. In that .year he came to this county, settling on his present farm of eighty acres, of which he has since cleared twelve acres. Here he is engaged in general farming and stock-raising. He was married July 11, 1884, to Alvina Zestro, a daughter of Ferdinand Zestro, and they have two children,—Mary, born December 13, 1887, and Eliza, July 25, 1890. Both he and his wife are members of the Lutheran Church. Mr. Mantey is an enterprising and bright young man, who has adopted America for his future home, and is interested in its growth and development.
William H. Marden (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 364-365; submitted by Mary Saggio
WILLIAM H. MARDEN, “the hunter,” residing on section 2, Weston Township, Clark County, was born in Upper Canada, fifty miles from Quebec, March 12, 1845. His father, Joseph A. Marden, was a native of Massachusetts, who came West with his family in 1854, settling in Richland County, where he now lives. His mother, whose name before marriage was Lucy Annis, was also a native of Massachusetts. Of their thirteen children, eleven are still living, namely: Clifton S., Riley, Joseph A., Mary E., Alfred C., William H. (subject), Lorenzo D., Edwin J., Hattie, Alberto L. and Solomon S.
Mr. Marden, the present subject, was brought up on a farm and while a youth learned the blacksmith's trade, following it twelve years. In the late war he served one year in Company K, Second Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry; was taken prisoner at the battle of Bull Run, and held ten months, when he was paroled, exchanged and discharged; but he re-enlisted October 1, 1863, in Company A, Thirtieth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served until September 20, 1865, when he was honorably discharged in Louisville, Kentucky. He was in the battles of Nashville, Shiloh, Baton Rouge, with the Indians elsewhere, etc.
In the fall of 1865 he came to Richland County, this State, but traveled most of the time for a year. November 18, 1866, he married Charlotte Williams, daughter of George D. and Dorcas (Riser) Williams, of Richland. She was born in Marion County, Ohio, September 8, 1846. Her parents had nine children: Olive, Edward, Nancy, Charlotte, Folly, W. Jackson and Caroline. One son, John, died a prisoner at Andersonville during the late war. Mr. and Mrs. Marden have had eleven children, ten of whom are living, namely: George H., Mary J., William W., Seymour L., Charles H., Ivy T., Steven A., James I., Cora E. and Benjamin.
Mr. Marden resided in Richland County from the time of his settlement there until he located at his present place in the spring of 1877, excepting three years he spent in Ohio. He settled upon his present farm in the dense forest, entering a claim to 45.84 acres under the homestead laws, which he still owns. In his political views he is a Republican.
His sobriquet of "the hunter" is well earned, and he has killed 50 deer since his settlement here, and about the same number of bears, the latter of which he catches in traps. He has also killed eleven foxes and twenty-seven wild-cats. He killed one deer that dressed over 300 pounds. At present he has a barrel of venison salted down from deer which he killed last fall. The preceding autumn he secured one bear and eleven deer, and in 1888 three bear and nine deer. October 15, 1890, he killed a deer that weighed 200 pounds dressed. Once he killed a lynx that weighed 100 pounds.
Frank A. Markee (1923)
Source: History of Wood County, Wisconsin (1923) compiled by George O. Jones, page 770
Frank A. Markee, a well known and prosperous farmer of Auburndale Township, of pioneer ancestry, and with a personal record of industry, thrift and enterprise that entitles him to a place among the representative agriculturists of his township, was born in Dane County, Wisconsin, Oct. 27, 1881, son of John and Anna (Breu) Markee. With his parents he came to Wood County in 1882, grew up on their farm in Section 3, Auburndale Township, and attended district school. Through assisting his father he became a practical agriculturist and did good work in helping to clear and improve the home farm. In the summer of 1904 he was engaged in operating the creamery and cheese factory of the Puerner Cream Co. of Marshfield, and it was during that summer that he was married, June 7, to Mary, daughter of George and Mary (Baierl) Kundinger, she having been born in Auburndale, May 7, 1882. In the following year, 1905, Mr. Markee bought a partly improved 80-acre farm near Greenwood, Clark County, on which he and his wife resided until 1913. In the spring of 1914 he bought his father's farm in Section 3, Auburndale Township, and thus took up his residence on his boyhood home, where he has since remained. It contained 172 acres, of which 90 were improved, and the buildings are also good, including a ten-room, brick-veneered house; a barn, 40 by 100 by 16 feet in size, with an 8-foot stone basement, for stock; a second barn, 36 by 66 by 16 feet, with an 8-foot stone basement and an 8-foot lean-to; a granary and machine shed; a stave silo 16 by 28 feet, and a hog house 24 by 30 feet, which he, himself, has lately built. He has cemented the floors of both basements of the barns, and otherwise improved them, and has added a second silo, 14 by 32 feet. He has now 120 acres under the plow, and his operating equipment includes a good "Happy Farmer" tractor. His cattle are of the Shorthorn variety, with a pure blooded sire at the head of the herd. His place is recognized as one of the model farms of this section and is devoted chiefly to dairying, as he "feeds back" nearly everything. While living in Clark County Mr. Markee served one term as treasurer of Warner Township, and in Auburndale Township he has been supervisor for five years and clerk of School District No. 2 for four years. He is a stockholder in the Wausau Packing Plant; the Hub Co-operative Dairy Co., and a heavy stockholder in the Farmers Co-operative Produce Co. of Marshfield. He and his wife have been the parents of eight children: Agnes A., born Aug. 14, 1905, who was graduated from the eighth grade in the grammar school and is residing at home; Amos J., born March 20, 1907, whose record is the same as that of his sister Agnes; George A., born June 10, 1908, who died Aug. 2, 1915, after a surgical operation; Marion D., born Oct. 27, 1909; Elmer F., born May 7, 1911; Sylvester J., born Nov. 7, 1915; Helen C., born July 17, 1918; and Marcella A., born May 16, 1921. In politics Mr. Markee is a liberal Republican. He and his family are members of St. Mary's Catholic Congregation at Auburndale, and in addition he belongs to the Catholic Foresters, in which he has served as trustee of his lodge, and also to the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin, in which lodge he has been secretary of finance.
E. H. Markey (1881)
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) page 242
E. H. MARKEY, liveryman, Neillsville. Born in Cambridge, Mass., Dec. 25, 1844. He stopped a while in Lawrence. Came to Black River Falls in 1855. When the war broke out he enlisted in the 14th Wis. Vol., as drummer boy, served his time out and re-enlisted in the Veteran Corps till mustered out in 1865, when he returned to Black River Falls, and in 1867 came to Neillsville. Kept a meat market, then went into the livery business in 1870, making him the oldest in the business in the place. Ran a stage line in 1875, and at one time he ran coaches from Neillsville to Humbird, Loyal and Hatfield. In 1871, he married Miss Hattie Babcock, of Courtland Co., N. Y. He belongs to the A. O. U. W. Was Clerk of the County and Deputy Sheriff, besides holding some town offices.
Curtis Markham (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 171
CURTIS MARKHAM, one of the pioneers of section 20, Warner Township, was born in Oneida County, New York, February 2, 1822, the son of Curtis Markham (deceased), a native of the same State. The father died when Curtis was eighteen month old, and they, desiring to keep up the family name, changed his name from Amasa to Curtis. He was then taken, at his father's dying request, by his grandfather, Samuel Markham, with whom he remained until thirteen years old, or until the latter's death. He was then thrown upon the charities of a cold world, and, seeing other children reveling in home luxury, with a father and mother to look after their wants, he became heartsick, and once wept bitterly at his lonely condition. His mother had married again, and removed to Pennsylvania. Mr. Markham had but one brother, Morris. by his mother's first marriage. The former came to Thornton, Illinois, in 1850, and in a few weeks removed to Porter County, Indiana, where he lived until March, 1868. He then came to this county and in 1869 settled on his present place of eighty acres, forty two of which is cleared,
He was married in Wayne County, New York, June 1, 1845, to Sarah Mitchell, born in Perrington, New York, November 19, 1823, the daughter of Edward Mitchell, deceased. Of their eight children, only two are now living: Amasa C. and Harriet A. The latter married William Langley, of Lake County, Indiana, and has five children, namely: Alice M., Eleanora F., Georgia A., Harrison B. and Mattie. Mr. Markham's eldest daughter, now deceased, married George Morris, who subsequently died, leaving two children; Bessie A. and Haven P. She was again married, to William McMullen, and they had two children, only one of whom is still living, George W. Mr. Markham lost another grown daughter, Julia P., who died at the age of twenty one years. His granddaughter, Bessie A. Morse, married Arthur Sischo, of this town.
Mr. Markham was a soldier in the late war, in Company A, Thirty fifth Regiment Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, serving nearly a year. He was assigned to the Pontoon Bridge Brigade, but was taken sick and lay several weeks in the hospital. He was then detailed as a nurse, and served until the close of the war. He was disabled in the army, and will soon draw a pension. He is a Republican politically and a member of the G. A. R. Post, and also of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Morris Markham (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 169-170
MORRIS S. MARKHAM, of section 17, Warner Township, Clark County, was born near Troy, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1823, the son of Curtis (deceased) and Sally Markham. The latter, a native of Oneida County, New York, worked in a paper mill in that State when a girl. They were the parents of thirteen children, Morris and Curtis being the only two boys. After the father's death the mother married Orlando Seymour, and by this union there were eleven children, of whom several are now deceased. Mr. Markham returned with his mother and step father to Wayne County, New York, when in his sixth year, and was brought up on a farm. He removed to La Porte County, Indiana, in 1844, and in 1846 returned to New York, where he helped his father and mother to get ready to move to Indiana. He next went to the vicinity of Cedar Falls, Iowa, in the autumn of 1857, and thence to Spirit Lake the next fall. When the great Indian massacre occurred there the next spring, he was out hunting his cattle, and when he returned nearly all the members of the nine families had been murdered and the others taken prisoners! He returned the next day to Mud Lake, which he reached after dark, and fearing the Indians were lurking around he went back a few rods, dug a hole in the snow, and staid there that night. The next morning he returned to the settlement, where he had found his oxen, and spread the news. He suffered from hunger, fatigue and sickness, and the settlers kept him over night, and the next morning they all left for Springfield, Minnesota, where two settlers were then living. They met more men, and all went to the Irish colony, twenty five miles distant, where they gathered together to punish the indians, but the adjoining settlers would not assist, and the project was abandoned, as the few willing trappers were too weak in numbers, This occurred near Springfield, Minnesota, and it was the settlers of that village who refused to assist, and did not believe Mr. Markham's story. A few days after reaching Springfield, a boy Came in one evening and said he saw something on the prairie near which made queer motions. Most of the men ran out, and a volley from the Indians in ambush killed the boy and wounded two or three others. The Indians then attempted to enter the house, but were repulsed. Shortly afterward a small boy again came from a neighboring settle went and reported his parents and the family killed. The men and women wanted to leave this place, but no one would go out and yoke up the oxen but Mr. Markham, who loaded women, children and wounded men in the sleigh, and traveled until midnight, stopping on the prairie until morning, when they continued to Mr. Granger's, a settlement near Mud Lake, arriving at 3 P. M. They remained until morning, when Mr. Granger added another team of oxen, sled and horse, provisions, etc., joined the party, and all started for Fort Dodge. About 10 o'clock they saw what they supposed to be about 1,000 Indians, about two miles ahead of them, who stopped and seemed to be parleying. The fleeing party stopped, and their captain, Bradshaw, attempted to run, but was stopped by Mr. Markham, who told him if he ran he would shoot him, The latter took his gun and started to see who they were, and upon meeting they were overjoyed to learn who they were: they were volunteers coining to the relief of the settlers.
Mr. Markham went to Fort Dodge, where the citizens donated him money and clothes for his bravery, he subsequently returned to Spirit Lake, made a settlement and remained until July, same year, when he sold his claim for $300, and went to Grundy County, Missouri. August 11, 1859, he married Minerva Wade, daughter of John Wade, deceased. During the war be removed to Indiana, and later he and others came to Wisconsin, where they hunted and trapped a short time. Mr. Markham then brought his family to Sauk County, this State, and to Clark County in 1866, which was then a dense woods. He killed many deer, and often hired Indians to tan the hides for him. Mr. and Mrs. Markham have bad eight children, six of whom are now living, namely: Samuel, Julia, Amasa, John, Mary and Minnie, Julia married Emanuel Lewis, of Hemlock, this county, and they have one child, Mollie R. Mr. Markham was elected School Treasurer, and was Chairman of the Town Board a few years; politically he is a Republican.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 594-595, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
CHARLES MARQUARDT, who is engaged in dairying and farming in Section 15, Green Grove Township, was born in this township Jan. 19, 1877. His parents, Ferdinand and Louisa Marquardt, were born and married in Germany, and came to America about 1868. First settling in Dodge County, Wis., but later removing to Toledo, Ohio. In 1874 they came to Clark County, Wis., homesteading an eighty-acre farm. They are still residing there, and expect to celebrate their golden wedding in 1917. Ferdinand Marquardt served several years on the township board, also on the school board, being a member of the latter at the present time. He and his wife have had a family of twelve children-Mary, now Mrs. Julius Kops, of Green Grove Township; Millie, who died in November, 1915; Albert, now residing in San Francisco; Charles, subject of this sketch; Louisa, wife of Charles Huhn, of Marathon County, Wis.; Herman, also residing in Marathon County; Lena, wife of George Tesmer; Fred, of Mayville Township; Martha, now Mrs. Gust Reinholdt, of Greenwood; Frank, of Marathon County; Dora, who resides in Chicago, and Benjamin, who is living on the home farm. Charles Marquardt remained with his parents until he was 23 years old. He then bought a farm in Colby Township and resided there seven years, and two years in Colby village, following the trade of carpenter. In 1910 he bought his present farm, then consisting of 120 acres of wild land. Here he has made many improvements, keeping a mixed breed of cattle, of which he milks eight cows. He also raises hay, oats and other crops, and is doing a successful business. In 1914 he built a comfortable residence of eight rooms, finished in oak, and furnished with bath and other modern conveniences. His barn, 40 by 72 feet in dimensions, was erected in 1909, and he has since put up other buildings. Mr. Marquardt has served at times in public office. While living in Colby he was a member of the school board for several years, and in 1916 he was elected clerk of Green Grove Township, to succeed H. Klein. He is a member of the German Lutheran Church. Mr. Marquardt is a veteran of the Spanish-American War, having enlisted for that service in the Third Wisconsin Infantry, Company A, and being mustered in at Neillsvlle, July 20, 1898. He was in the Porto Rican campaign under Gen. Nelson A. Miles, and was mustered out of service in January, 1899. On Dec. 28, 1900, Mr. Marquardt was united in marriage with Emma Augustine, a native of Germany, who came to the United States with her parents at an early age, they settling in Clark County, Wis. Her father dying, her mother subsequently married Fred Miller, of Green Grove Township, where she is still living. By her first marriage there were three children-Eureka, now Mrs. Art Neuman, of Clark County; Emma, and Ida, widow of Theodore Lulloff. Of the second marriage there were two children-Bertha, who is the wife of Harry Jens, of Colby; and Fred, residing at home. Mr. and Mrs. Marquardt are the parents of two children-Clarence, born Feb. 7, 1903, and Mildred, born Oct. 3, 1904.
Joseph C. Marsh (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 141-142
JOSEPH C. MARSH, one of the enterprising business men of the county, was born in Bradford County, Pennsylvania, January 1, 1852, and is a son of Nelson and Rocelia (Taylor) Marsh: the father was born in Susquehanna County, Pennsylvania, in 1827, arid his wife was also a native of the "Keystone" State. Our subject was the eldest of a family of seven children; he was only five years of age when his parents removed to Wisconsin; here he passed his youth, acquiring his education in the common schools and at Oskaloosa (Iowa) College; he was one of the early educators, having taught both in Clark County, Wisconsin, and in Iowa. After following this profession for a number of years he turned his attention to the lumber business, and in 1882 put in operation saw mills both at Heathville and Spokeville, this county; this industry has flourished under his wise direction, and he now owns an extensive mill at Spokeville in which many building materials are manufactured. It is indeed gratifying to see energy and industry thus rewarded. in addition to his milling interests, Mr. Marsh owns a mercantile business at Spokeville, and is also Postmaster of the place. He has occupied several public offices, displaying always that ability and sound judgment which have characterized his private dealings. He affiliates with the Republican party and belongs to Master Lodge, No. 163, A. F. & A. M.
Mr. Marsh was wedded to Miss Amy E. Covey, July 20, 1884, at Maple Works, Clark County, Wisconsin. She was born in St. Lawrence County, New York, in 1865, and is a daughter of Martin and Mary Covey. Mr. and Mrs. Marsh are the parents of one child, Martie, aged two years.
By a former marriage Mr. Marsh had three children: Hattie, Anna and Ray.
Nelson Marsh (1881 and 1891)
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) page 244
NELSON MARSH, farmer. Sec. 2, P. O. Maple Works. Born in Susquehanna County, Aug. 14. 1828. The family moved to Bradford County, and there he learned his trade with his father, who was a shoemaker and cooper. After his father died in 1852, he ran the shop; came to Clark County in 1857, settled at Maple Works; his brother came out in 1856, and bought a farm for him; he has now 120 acres; they were the first settlers at Maple Works, the next being Abram Taylor. In October, 1864, Mr. M. was drafted into Co B. 3d Wis.; being laid up in the hospital, got home in 1865; went to farming; keeps strangers, and runs a shoe shop. In 1850, he married Miss Amanda R. I. Taylor, of Connecticut. They have six children living—Joseph, Lewis, Malvina, Sylvester L., Alva B, Justin R., and Angelina and Spencer M., deceased. Mr. M. was the first Postmaster of Maple Works, and Justice of the Peace for twenty years.
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 303-304; submitted by Mary Saggio
NELSON MARSH, a farmer residing on section 11, Grant Township, Clark County, was born in Middletown, Pennsylvania, August 14, 1828. His father, a native of New York State, died in February, 1853. Nelson was reared in Middletown, where he received the benefits of a fair education. He worked with his father in the cooper and shoe shops until 1853, the time of his father's death.
December 15, 1851, Mr. Marsh wedded Amanda R. Taylor, who was born September 1, 1831. To them seven children have been born, six of whom are living, namely: Joseph, Lewis, Malvina, Sylvester L., Alva and Spencer M. His children have all been well educated and are all filling honorable positions in life. Mr. Marsh has always favored the public-school system, and stands to-day a champion for the Bennett law, believing it should be sustained by the people.
The subject of our sketch has been a resident of Wisconsin since he was twenty-nine years old. During the war he had an inclination to enter the service of his country, but was prevented from doing so. He was drafted into the service, however, and immediately joined the army, being placed in Company C, Third Wisconsin Infantry. Three weeks after the war was over he was taken sick and sent to different hospitals, where he remained three months and a half. He received his discharge August 3, 1865. When he first came to Wisconsin he bought eighty acres of land near Maple Works, which he still owns. Since that time Mr. Marsh has been variously employed, and has served the public in a number of ways. He has been Town Clerk two years, Supervisor two years, and Magistrate thirty years. He has been Postmaster of Maple Works for many years, and at this writing still holds that office. He has also had many years' experience in the hotel business in Maple Works. Politically he is a Republican.
John P. Marshall (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 260-261; submitted by Mary Saggio
JOHN P. MARSHALL, of section 3, Withee Township, Clark County, was born in Middlesex, Canada, twenty-five miles west of New London, February 14, 1845, the son of Thomas G. and Isabella (Carr) Marshall, both natives of County Armagh, Ireland. The latter came to Canada in 1840, and in 1851 removed with his family to Port Huron, Michigan, where the mother died in 1853. The father then returned to Canada, where he still resides. They were the parents of seven children, six of whom survive: William, John, Joseph, James, Mary A. and George. One son, Thomas, died in 1887, at the age of forty-one years.
John P., our subject, was but nine years of age when his father returned to Canada, since which time he has been thrown upon his own resources. He worked several winters in the pineries of Michigan, and also on a farm during the summers. In 1868 he removed to Marshall County, Kentucky, and for two years was engaged in making white-oak staves in the Tennessee valley, after which he returned to Port Huron, Michigan. In the spring of 1871 he came to Clark County, stopping first in Greenwood with W. H. Begley, where he worked in the woods during the winters and in driving logs in summers. In the fall of 1872 he homesteaded 120 acres two and a half miles southeast of Thorp, Withee Township, and there worked in the woods, drove logs, and also fanned for ten years, when he sold out. In the spring of 1882 he went to Hamlin County, Dakota, but returned in 1883, and settled on his present farm of eighty acres, twenty-three of which is cleared.
Mr. Marshall was married December 25, 1873, to Elsie A. Carpenter, who was born in Chemung Township, McHenry County, Illinois, February 14, 1855, the daughter of David Carpenter, deceased. She came with her parents to Black River Falls, Wisconsin, when in her third year, where she was reared and educated. Mr. and Mrs. Marshall have had six children, four of whom are now living, viz.: Diana, Bessie, Percy and Pearl. Mr. Marshall has been a member of the Town Board of Hixton three years, and also two years in Withee. Politically he is a Republican, having cast his first vote for Grant in 1872.
John Marx (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 363; submitted by Mary Saggio
JOHN MARX was born in Germany, August 15, 1846, and left his native land when a boy sixteen years old. He came to Canada, and a few years later, in 1879, located in Washington County, Wisconsin, where he engaged in farming. His time has since been variously employed—farming, lumbering, burning brick, etc.; and by his own exertions he accumulated enough to buy a nice little farm of forty acres. It is located three miles from Neillsville, on section 3, Pine Valley Township, Clark County.
March 13, 1865, Mr. Marx married Addie Allings, who was born in Wisconsin, September 6, 1850, the daughter of German parents. Mr. Marx is at present building a neat residence on his farm, which he expects to occupy soon. He is ranked among the best citizens of the township. Politically he is a Democrat.
Merville Mason (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 292-293; submitted by Mary Saggio
MERVILLE MASON, one of the most worthy citizens of Pine Valley Township, Clark County, is a native of Scotland, born September 21, 1813. His father came to Massachusetts at an early day and spent the rest of his life in this country. Merville remained with his parents until he was fifteen years old. His education was obtained chiefly through his own efforts. He attended the institute at Clinton, Oneida County, New York, and devoted fifteen years of his life to the profession of teaching. In 1863 Mr. Mason came to Clark County, Wisconsin, and bought 360 acres of land. Here he engaged in agricultural pursuits for many years. Since coming to this State he has also been engaged in civil engineering, teaching and in the lumber business.
In 1849 Mr. Mason married Maria Pixley, who was born in Massachusetts in 1823. She received her early education in her native State and graduated at Oberlin College, Ohio, in the class of 1847. She also taught school a number of years. During her life she was noted for her kindness and intelligence. Mrs. Mason was an active worker in the cause of anti-slavery, woman suffrage and prohibition, and was a conspicuous member of the W. C. T. U. Seven children were born to them, six of whom are living, namely: Alice, Mary, Milo, Irvin W., Martha, Walter and Bertha. All were thoroughly educated by their mother who gave them private instructions.
In his early life Mr. Mason was a strong anti-slavery man and bitterly fought the fugitive slave law. While living in Ohio he was instrumental in securing the liberty of many a slave. He was one of the agents of the "underground railroad " of Wisconsin. He relates the following incident: One night about twelve o'clock he was awakened to find a colored man and his family at the door. The poor run-away slave begged for help to make his escape into Canada saying that the officers were in close pursuit of them. In the morning Mr. Mason went to a neighbor and told him the circumstances of this case. He, however, would render no assistance. Then Mr. Mason called upon another neighbor and found him more lenient than the Republican. This last neighbor remarked that " if the d ------ d slave had made his way this far he ought to be helped on" and gave $5 to aid in securing his passage to Canada. Mr. Mason is now well advanced in years. Much of his time is spent in reading and in scientific research, in which he takes great pleasure.
Herman A. Mauer (1918)
Source: History of Clark County Wisconsin by Frankyn Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co.
HERMAN A. MAUER, cashier of the Dorchester State Bank, was born in Medford, Wis., July 3, 1884, son of Henry and Anna (Weick) Maurer. The parents, who were married in, Germany came to America in 1881, spending their first winter in this country in Chicago. Henry, Maurer, who was a baker by trade, removed to Medford, Taylor County, Wis., in 1882, and and followed his trade there till 1904, when he retired. He is still residing there with his wife. At one time he served as mayor of the village.
He also served as supervisor of the first ward of Medford, was county treasure of Taylor County in 1913 and 1914, and a candidate in 1915, and also served on school and county boards for many years. He is a member of the Masonic order, and of the Modern Woodmen of America, and in politics is Republican.
He and his wife have had five children: Robert, now residing in Boston, Mass.; Eugene, a traveling salesman; Herman A., of Dorchester; Elsie, now Mrs. W. H. Koehler, and Erna, who is a proficient teacher. Herman A. Maurer finished his studies at the Medford high school in 1901, and afterward attended Gilbert's Business College at Milwaukee. He then to a position in the State Bank of Medford, where he was employed from 1902 to 1906. During the next six months he was assistant cashier in the Abbotsford State Bank, and then returned to Medford, where he accepts a position as bookkeeper for a local firm. In 1907 he went to Houghton, Mich., where he was employed -two years by Horace Stevens, returning to Medford at the end of that time to become assistant cashier of the First National Bank.
On June 21, 1911, Mr. Maurer became cashier of the Dorchester State Bank, in which position he is still serving efficiently. He has been a member of both the village and school board, and belongs to the local Masonic lodge and the camp of Modern Woodmen of America, in which latter he holds the office of clerk. As a capable business man he has won widespread recognition, and has proved a popular bank official.
Mr. Maurer was united in marriage June 6, 1913, with Gwendolyn Williams, who was born at Elwood, Ind., April 6, 1890, daughter of Lee and Orpha (Beeson) Williams, her father being engaged in the implement business there. She and Mr. Maurer became acquainted while she was teaching school in Medford, Wis. The Williams family included the following children: Reta, wife of M. L. Maxwell, of Martins Ferry; Rudolph, of Elwood; Gwendolyn (Mrs. Maurer); Justin, of Elwood, Ind.; and Leota, wife of G. R. Loop, of Kokomo, Ind.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 563-564, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
JOHN MAY, a well-known and respected citizen of Worden Township, where he is making satisfactory progress along agricultural lines, was born in Dodge County, Wis., April 24, 1865. His parents, Jacob and Theresa (Weber) May, came to the United States from Germany when young, their respective parents settling in Dodge County, this state. Jacob May was a farmer, and as a Democrat was elected to local offices, being a prominent citizen of his locality. He died in 1914, at the age of 94 years, his wife having passed away in 1904, at the age of 73. They had seven children-Jacob, Joseph, who is deceased; Barbara, now Mrs. F. Kran; Andrew; Frances, who married Joseph Hart, of Dodge County; Tressa, wife of Henry Kram, and John. John May left home at the age of 21 years and bought a farm in Dodge County, which he operated for two years. He then went to Appleton, Wis., where he worked for the same length of time in a paper mill. In 1890 he bought a farm in Outagamie County, where he resided until 1906, when he sold it and removed to Clark County. Here he purchased his present farm of eighty acres, which was partly cleared, but on it he has made many improvements. In 1913 he built his ten-room residence, and in the following year a stave silo of seventy-five tons' capacity. He has also built a granary and shed. His barn has room for twenty head of stock. He raises Durham cattle, milking fourteen cows, and his hogs are of the Berkshire breed. His crops are corn, hay, oats and rye. His business is increasing so that he is making preparations to enlarge his barn. Since coming to Clark County Mr. May has served as road commissioner, and also as clerk of the school board, having been elected to the latter office in 1912, and serving two terms. Mr. May was married Nov. 26, 1889, to Annie Wied, who was born in Germany in 1865, daughter of Michael and Waldburger (Gettle) Wied. Both her parents are now dead. The father was a tradesman, and neither he nor his wife ever came to this country. Mr. and Mrs. May have two children-Herbert and Leoretta. Herbert, who was born in November, 1891, and resides on the home farm, was married in 1915, to Ella Anderson, and has one child-Anna Londa Bernice, who was born Sept. 13, 1916. Leoretta, born in October, 1894, is the wife of Charles Chasper, a druggist of Chippewa Falls. The family are members of the Catholic Church.
George E. Maynard (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 252-253; submitted by Mary Saggio
GEORGE E. MAYNARD, of section 20, Hixton Township, Clark County, was born in Brandon, Rutland County, Vermont, January 25, 1841, the son of John and Persis (Murray) Maynard, the former a native of Ticonderoga, New York, and the latter of Sudbury, Vermont. The father, a son of Abner Maynard, a soldier in the war of 1812, was a descendant on the maternal side of the noted Ethan Allen, of Revolutionary fame. The parents had three children: George E., J. Edgar and Warren M. Edgar now lives in Kingston, Green Lake County, and Warren works on the railroad and has no regular home. George E. came with his parents to Green Lake County, Wisconsin, in 1855, settling on a farm in Kingston, Green Lake County, where he lived until 1861. He then enlisted in Company A, Second Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and served until August 21, 1861, having been wounded at the first battle of Bull Run. He re-enlisted in the fall of 1862, in Company B, First United States Sharp Shooters, Colonel Berdan's Regiment, and was discharged in May, 1863, by order of General Hooker, on account of disability. He assisted in rescuing Burnside's Artillery from the mud on the Rappahannock river, and was in the battles of Fredericksburg and many others. He again re-enlisted, in August, 1864, in Company H, First Wisconsin Cavalry, and served until the close of the war, participating in the battles of Franklin, Pulaski, Nashville, and in many raids and skirmishes.
After the war Mr. Maynard went to Marquette County, Wisconsin, where he followed farming three years. In 1868 he went to Usage County, Kansas, settling in Burlingame, where he worked in the coal mines, but in 1872 returned to Wisconsin, and worked in the woods one season. In 1873 he came to this county and settled in Greenwood, where he lived until 1879, and in that year he settled on his present farm. He first homesteaded forty acres, built a log house 18 x 24 feet, and in 1880 the floods drove the family out of the house. He then bought sixty acres more on higher ground, built a frame house 18 x 24 feet, one and a half stories high, with an L 16 x 24 feet, one story, and he now owns 100 acres, thirty-five of which is cleared.
Mr. Maynard was married in May, 1863, to Adaline E. Marshall, a daughter of Thomas (deceased) and Phoebe (Worth) Marshall. Mr. and Mrs. Maynard have six children, namely: Frank E., Charles E., Phoebe P., John T., Warren M. and George O. Mr. Maynard has been Justice of the Peace, Health Commissioner and School Clerk. Both he and his wife are members of the Baptist Church, and the former is a Republican politically.
Michael McCaffery (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 306-307; submitted by Mary Saggio
MICIIAEL McCAFFERY, of section 31, Thorp Township, Clark County, was born in Cedarburgh, Ozaukee County, Wisconsin, September 6, 1849, the son of Philip and Mary (Hickey) McCaffery, the former a native of County Westmeath, and the latter of County Carlow, Ireland. They had nine children, six of whom are now living, viz.: Michael, James, Bernard, Joseph, Julia and John. One daughter, Catharine, died at the age of thirteen years, and a son, Eugene, died at the age of fourteen years. The father was brought to the United States by his parents when twelve years old, and first lived six years in Fall River, Connecticut, and then came to Cedarburgh, Wisconsin, where he engaged in farming three miles north of that city. He now resides in Green Bay, this State.
The subject of this sketch came with his parents to Brown County, Wisconsin, in 1855, settling on a farm, where he received a limited education. His father then went to the war, and he had the principal care of the family in his absence. In the spring of 1871 he went to Chicago, and the following fall came to this county, where he took care of a logging camp during the summers, and worked as a wood-butcher in the winters. In the fall of 1873 he came to his present farm of 160 acres, eighty-two of which is cleared, and forty of which lies on section 16, this township. Mr. McCaffery worked three years for the railroads, in estimating timber on the lands granted to the companies. He has also been engaged in logging several winters. Mr. McCaffery has been Town Treasurer two years, Assessor for the past five years, School Director six years, and is now a member of the Odd Fellows and Masonic fraternities.
Mr. McCaffery was married April 2, 1883, to Anna, daughter of William Jerard, of this township, and they have three children: Hazel, Philip and Jeannette.
Robert McCalvy (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 263-264; submitted by Mary Saggio
ROBERT McCALVY, of section 25, Eaton Township, Clark County, was born in Ireland, August 29, 1827, the son of Patrick and Mary (Reed) McCalvy. The parents crossed the ocean when our subject was an infant, and settled at Cambridge, Massachusetts, and then in 1843 settled on Government land eight miles from Milwaukee, Waukesha County, where the father died in 1887, at the age of eighty-five years. The parents had eight children, all of whom are deceased but our subject and a sister, Mary Mead, of Auburn, Fond du Lac County, Wisconsin. The mother died in 1846. Two brothers, Thomas and Albert J., were members of Company A, Seventh Wisconsin Infantry; both were wounded at the battle of Gettysburg. Thomas died from his wound, and Albert recovered and was returned to his command, and was killed in the battle of Petersburg.
The subject of this sketch received his education principally by studying-at home. Since his marriage he has been engaged more or less at the carpenter's trade, but farming is his principal industry. He was a soldier in the late war, in Company G, Fourteenth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, and participated in the battles of Fort De Russy, Louisiana, Pleasant Hill Landing, Cloutierville, Cane River, Marksville, Yellow Bayou, Tupelo, Mississippi, Camargo Cross Roads, Old Town Creek, Augusta, Arkansas, Nashville, Tennessee, Spanish Fort, Alabama, and Fort Blakely. He never received a scratch, and was discharged as color guard. He endured many hardships, but remained to the close of the war. He kept a diary of events during his services.
After the war he lived in Fond du Lac County until 1868, when he came to this county, settling on his present farm of 160 acres, which was then covered with heavy timber, mostly hard-wood. He afterward cleared sufficient space to build a house and garden, where he was surrounded by Indians and wild animals. The former would camp near him and kill game, and always brought venison to his family. There were but five houses between him and Neillsville, a distance of fourteen miles, and there was but one house in Greenwood, and one in Loyal. Mr. McCalvy and wife had six children when they first came to the county, where they lived in a log cabin with puncheon floor and shake roof. He still owns the original 160 acres, but has since cleared eighty acres, and now has fine barns and other improvements.
He was married January 14, 1849, to Anna L. Rector, a daughter of John and Margaret (Shutter) Rector. Mrs. McCalvy was born in Albany, New York, March 4, 1825. They have six children, namely: Adelia E., Goorge E., Sophronia A., Margaret M., Thomas J. and Albert M., all of whom are married and have children. Mr. McCalvy is a Republican politically, and a strong supporter of the "little schoolhouse," and believes in standing by it. He attended a reunion of his regiment in Milwaukee in August, 1889, and met many of his old comrades, and received a photograph of the assembled veterans on that occasion, and also a record of their names and addresses, and an account of the proceedings. His regiment captured a large cannon at Shiloh, and the General gave it to the regiment. It is taken to all the reunions, and is kept in Madison. Socially Mr. McCalvy is a member of the G. A. R. Post, and also of the I. O. O. F. Mr. and Mrs. McCalvy are members of the Presbyterian Church.
John A. McCarty (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 358-359; submitted by Mary Saggio
JOHN A. McCARTY, of Hixton, Clark County, was born in Luzern County, Pennsylvania, December 18, 1847, the son of Dominick McCarty, formerly of this place, and a native also of Ireland, near Loch Erin, born May 12, 1798. He was taken to London, England, when a small boy, where he was apprenticed to a shoemaker, which business he followed several years. He came to Prince Edward's Island when a young man, and was there married to Matilda McLaren, a native of that place. He worked at his trade there several years, and then came to Luzerne County, Pennsylvania, about the year 1838. They were the parents of ten children, six of whom are still living, viz.: Catharine, Elizabeth, John, William, Maggie and Mary E. The eldest child, Margaret, died at the age of sixteen years; Charles H. died in 1882, at the age of forty-seven years; James, in 1876, at the age of thirty-eight years.
Mr. McCarty's parents came to La Crosse County, Wisconsin, in the spring of 1857, settling on a farm, where he attended the common schools. He was a soldier in the late war, in Company C, Forty-ninth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, serving one year. After the war he went to Melrose, Jackson County, where he farmed two years, and in the fall of 1867 came to this county. He worked in the pineries during the winters, and on the farm for W. H. Mead in the summer until 1872, when he settled on his present farm of 200 acres. He has run logging camps several years for others, and also for himself several winters. Mr. McCarty was the first Postmaster at Longwood, having been first appointed in January, 1874, by U. S. Grant, which office he held until 1876, when he resigned. He was also the first Town Clerk of Hixton, and held the office from 1875 to 1886; was Assessor two years; Chairman of the Town Board one year; Constable one year; Justice of the Peace three years; Clerk of School Board six years; School Director three years, and is now serving his fourth year as School Treasurer, and has also filled the office of Town Treasurer by appointment one year.
Mr. McCarty was married January 1, 1872, to Jeanette Smith, daughter of Christopher Smith, and they have three children,—Almon H., Haskell and Dora E. Mr. McCarty is a member of the I. O. O. F. at Greenwood, and also the G. A. R. Post. His wife is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Allen McDonald (Married - Jan. 1900)
Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 25 Jan. 1900
* Our whilom friend, Allan McDonald, formerly with the Marcus Mercantile Co., at this place, now has charge of the J. J. Kennedy Lumber Co. store at Rib Lake. Allan went to his old home in Canada, for the holidays, and returned to Rib Lake, last Thursday, but did not return alone. He was accompanied by, who is to him, the sweetest woman in the world, and as she is of good Canadian stock, we will not dispute him, but extend our “bless ye children” with best wishes for the future welfare of himself and bride.
William R. McCutcheon, M. D.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 598-599, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
WILLIAM R. McCUTCHEON, M. D., of Thorp, Wis., is not only a medical man in good practice, but one of the leading business men of the community in which he resides. He was born in the southeastern part of County Carlow, Ireland, Nov. 9, 1857, son of Charles and Susan (Rothwell) McCutcheon. The father, who was of Scotch descent, died in 1906 at the age of 65 years, and the mother, who was of Holland descent, died in 1901 at the age of 50. They had five sons, William R., Charles, John, George and Samuel, and one daughter. In 1877 William R., Charles, John and George, came to Canada as school teachers. Charles became resident physician of the Fanny Paddock Memorial Hospital at Tacoma, Wash., a noted institution, which position he held for over 15 years, but is now dead. John has a large dairy farm west of Chehalis, Wash., while George, who went to Alaska, lost his health there and died in 1906. Samuel remained in Ireland.
William R. McCutcheon, after teaching school near Ottawa, Canada, for three years, went to Colorado, where he followed the same occupation, also working on the railroad. He there began the study of medicine, attending the University of Colorado for two years. He then entered Rush Medical College, and was graduated from that institution in the spring of 1884. Being now equipped for the practice of his profession, he came to Thorp, Clark County, Wisconsin, where he has since remained, and won a good reputation as physician and surgeon. He also has real estate and mercantile interests and has been vice president of the People's State Bank since its organization. He has been active in local government affairs and though he has never sought office, he has at times responded to requests to serve in official position, and thus has been president of the village board for several terms, a member of the school board, and a member of the county board, in which last named capacity he is still serving. A thorough patriot, he has given excellent service as a member of the Clark County Exemption Board, and has given freely of his time, talent and energy in the cause of his government. It was he who organized the local Masonic lodge, in which he has passed through the chairs, and he is also a member of the local camp of Modern Woodmen of America. Dr. McCutcheon was united in marriage, October 1, 1886, with Edith E. Fear, of Augusta, Wis. He and his wife have two children: Susan, now Mrs. E. F. Burns, of Stanley, Wis., and Anna, wife of William A. McEachern, of Iron River, Mich. His daughter Susan was previously married to M. D. Garrison, of which union there is one child now living, Edith Garrison.
George E. McEwen (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 333; submitted by Mary Saggio
GEORGE E. McEWEN, Superintentend of Spaulding's mill, lumberyard and store, on section 33, Hixton Township, Clark County, was born in Lycoming County, Pennsylvania, March 8, 1865, the son of John A. (deceased) and Rebecca (Bacon) McEwen, natives of Pennsylvania. The father was for many years proprietor of a saw-mill in Williamsport, Pennsylvania; the mother still lives in the latter city. The parents had eight children, six now living: Daniel H., a member of the firm of Glass & McEwen, of Minneapolis; Seth C., superintendent of a lumber yard in Williamsport, Pennsylvania; Henry A., a lumberman of the same place; Lucius, superintendent of 250 men in a lumber-camp of Gull River, Minnesota; George E., our subject, and William A., engaged in running logs at Sparrow's Point, Maryland, on Chesapeake Bay.
The subject of this sketch was reared and educated in the city schools and also in the Williamsport Commercial College, under Professor F. E. Wood. He worked in the sawmill there for some time, and then, in 1885, went to North Lauding, Virginia, where he superintended the saw-mill and lumberyard of Reeves, Oatman & Co., of New York city for about eight months. The climate there not permitting him to remain, he resigned his position and returned home, but in August, 1886, came to this county, and worked at the carpenter's trade a week at Unity. Next he ran a saw-mill at Butternut, Ashland County, on Butternut Creek, for H. L. Bessie, after which he went into the pineries and scaled logs for the firm of Bessie & Cemenger, on the North Fork of Flambeau River, and next in the pine lands of Chippewa for the Logging & Boom Company. Mr. McEwen came to his present place in May, 1887, where he has since had charge of the large business of D. J. Spaulding, which consisted of one large steam saw-mill, a planing-mill, lumberyard and store. They ship the lumber mostly to points in Iowa, also to Mexico and Arizona.
He was married December 24, 1888, to Etta Darling, who was born in Nelsonville, Portage County, Wisconsin, April 6, 1869, the daughter of F. H. Darling, of Unity, Marathon County, Wisconsin. Socially Mr. McEwen is a member of the Modern Woodmen; religiously he is a Presbyterian.
V. A. McGilvray (Anniversary Edition of Newspaper – 1906)
Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 11 Jan. 1906
* V. A. McGilvray, the new editor and publisher of the Neillsville times, issued a beautiful sixteen page souvenir edition last week, it being the 27th anniversary of that paper. The number contained cuts of the state and county officers and of the business men of Neillsville and other parts Clark county, with a write-up. It is a fine edition and Bro. McGilvray has our thanks for a copy.
John McGrogan (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 363-364; submitted by Mary Saggio
JOHN McGROGAN, a livery, transfer, dray and mail carrier of Thorp, was born in Guelph, Ontario, November 5, 1848, the son of James McGrogan, a native of County Antrim, Ireland, who came to Connecticut as early as 1845. He was a farmer by occupation. Our subject's mother, nee Jane Gibbs, was a native of County Tyrone, Ireland. They were the parents of six children, four of whom still survive: John, Felix, Eliza and James.
Our subject came to Wrightstown, Wisconsin, in the fall of 1871, and thence to Dorchester, this county, in 1874. While in the latter place he worked in the pineries, and also took contracts for cutting wood for the Wisconsin Central Railroad Company. In 1879 he went to Connecticut, but the next year returned to this county, locating in Abbotsford, where he remained one year. When he reached that place he did not have enough money to pay for his dinner, but succeeded in borrowing some money. He next went to Stanley, Chippewa County, and in October, 1881, came to Thorp. The place then had but one-half of a mile of turnpike road, and there were but six or seven buildings in the city. He first began draying with a yoke of oxen, which he afterward traded for a team of horses, and he now owns seven horses, five carriages, two double buggies, six cutters and a dray wagon. He owns a livery stable and a fine residence.
Mr. McGrogan was married May 12, 1873, to Margaret Finnegan, daughter of Michael Finnegan, now deceased. They have had six children, five of whom are still living, viz.: William, Martha A., Olive M., Martha and Margaret. One daughter, Agnes A., died in infancy. The mother died January 22, 1885, and Mr. McGrogan was married July 8, same year, to Hannora Sullivan, daughter of Frank Sullivan, late of Brown County, Wisconsin.
William J. McGrogan (1923)
Source: History of Wood County, Wisconsin (1923) compiled by George O. Jones, pages 376-377
William J. McGrogan, chief operator of the Centralia pulp and waterpower plant of the south side, Wisconsin Rapids, was born in Wrightstown, Brown County, Wis., June 13, 1874, son of John and Margaret (Finnegan) McGrogan. The parents were both natives of Ontario, Canada, and came from that province to Wisconsin in early manhood and womanhood. It was in 1871 that they settled in Wrightstown, where John McGrogan engaged in the transfer and livery business, also dealing in ice. After residing there for five years he moved with his family to Thorpe, where he is now living. His wife died in 1882. They had five children, Mary, Olive, Margaret, Martha and William. Mary is now the widow of John Grogan, late of Milwaukee. Olive is the wife of P. M. Peterson of Bemidji, Minn. Margaret is the wife of F. A. Newberger of Stevens Point, Wis., and Martha lives in Milwaukee with her sister Mary. William J. McGrogan was reared for the most part in Thorpe, to which place he moved when he was nine years old. There he attended school, being graduated from the high school in 1891. He then became associated with his father in the transfer business, remaining in it five years, after which for two years he did carpenter work. Then he operated the electric light plant at Thorpe, and after that worked seven years for the Northwestern Lumber Co. at Stanley. On March 13, 1909, he came to Nekoosa as assistant to the chief engineer of the Nekoosa-Edwards Power Co., and was thus occupied until 1913, when he secured his present position as chief operator for the Centralia Pulp and Water Power Co. He is a Catholic and belongs to the Knights of Columbus. He is also sergeant of Battery E, Wisconsin National Guard. Mr. McGrogan was married at Grand Rapids, July 28, 1897, to Elizabeth McCarthy, daughter of John and Louise (McCormack) McCarthy. Her parents, who were early settlers in Grand Rapids, are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. McGrogan have four children: Kathryn, wife of Charles Snyder of Scranton, N. D.; Russell J., employed in the paper mill at Port Edwards; Adrian, a high school pupil; and William J., Jr., who is attending the common school. A good American family of a kind that has had much to do with building up this country.
Clarence E. McKee (1923)
Source: History of Wood County, Wisconsin (1923) compiled by George O. Jones, page 598
Clarence E. McKee, editor and proprietor of the Pittsville Record and Yellow River Pilot, was born in Cameron, Mo., March 6, 1877, son of Mason S. and Adelaide (Shepard) McKee. The father was born in Battle Creek, Mich., and the mother in Belvidere, Ill. The two families went to Missouri at an early day, Grandfather Shepard driving 400 sheep. M. S. McKee was a farmer and school teacher in that state and later taught in Amherst, Wis. He is now postmaster at Polley, Wis. There were four children in the family: Oliver P., now residing in Fond du Lac, Wis.; Pearl, wife of John Heagle of Thorp; Fred, who enlisted for service in the World War, was in an infantry division but did not get overseas; and Clarence E., subject of this sketch. Clarence E. McKee as a boy attended school in Missouri and later pursued his studies at Thorp, Wis., being graduated from the high school there in 1893. He then took charge of the local newspaper while its editor, a Mr. Wagner, visited the World's Fair at Chicago, and later under Mr. Wagner he was assistant postmaster as well as assistant on the paper. He also conducted a paper at Boyd, Wis. After spending four years in the two offices, he went to Tony, Rusk County, then to Gates County, where he edited a paper, and while there he was elected clerk of court. After that he conducted a newspaper at Fond du Lac, and from there came to Wood County, locating on a farm in the town of Hansen. While residing there he served as chairman of the town board and was also a member of the county board. In 1909 he came to Pittsville and on Aug. 19, 1909, established the newspaper he is now conducting. At that time Pittsville had been without a newspaper for five years, the previous journal, the Wood County Times and Yellow River Pilot, having been removed to Nekoosa. McKee bought the Pilot and now conducts the paper as the Pittsville Record and Yellow River Pilot. It is a six-column quarto weekly, published every Thursday, and has a circulation of 800, its subscribers living chiefly in the west and west central parts of the county. It is a bright news sheet carrying a good line of "ads," and in connection with it Mr. McKee also conducts a commercial printing office. Soon after coming to Pittsville Mr. McKee was elected alderman from the Second Ward, serving in 1910 and 1911, and was subsequently elected to the position of supervisor. He is a stockholder in the Pittsville State Bank and in the Babcock Telephone Co. His fraternal affiliations are with the Blue Lodge of Masons and the camp of Modern Woodmen of America. Mr. McKee was married at Thorp, Wis., June 29, 1898, to Emma Albert, daughter of Charles and Augusta (Fritz) Albert. Her parents, natives of Germany, who settled at an early day in Horicon, Wis., are now deceased. Mr. and Mrs. McKee have five children, Florence, Glen, Douglas, Monona and Alice, all residing at home. Florence is an active worker in the Congregational Church, being now superintendent of the Sunday school.
Durlin McTaggart (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 158
DURLIN McTAGGART resides on an eighty acre farm in section 12, Pine Valley Township, Clark County. He was born in Canada West, March 21, 1850, son of William and Nancy McTaggart, natives of England, who came to Canada when young. The subject of this sketch started out in life, working in the woods of Canada for $8 per month. in 1880 he went to Illinois where he worked for three years. In 1884 he came to Clark County, Wisconsin, and bought the farm on which he now lives.
Mr. McTaggart was married, July 18, 1884, to Mrs. Rivers, who was born at Bangor, Maine, November 4, 1846. Her parents, R. L. and Mary Mains, were natives of Ireland and are deceased. They settled in Maine in 1820, afterward moved to Canada, and in 1856 to Clark County, Wisconsin, as pioneers in a wilderness. By her first husband Mrs. McTaggart had two children: Della T. and Cloy. The former, a graduate of the Green Bay schools, was an amiable young lady, and when her death occurred, April 1, 1889, she was mourned by a large circle of friends and acquaintances. Politically Mr. McTaggart is a Republican, and takes an active interest in the success of his party.
Philo Mead (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 330-331; submitted by Mary Saggio
PHILO MEAD, of section 34, Hixton Township, Clark County, was born in Dutchess County, New York, March 22, 1851, the son of Daniel Mead, who was born, reared and still resides on the old homestead in Dutchess County. Our subject's mother, Sybil Davis, was also a native of the same place. Of their ten children, nine are still living, namely: Angeline, Carrie, Catharine, Aiken, Henry, Philo, Alexander, Clara and Orlando. One daughter, Laura, died at the age of sixteen years.
The subject of this sketch was reared on a farm, and educated in the public schools of his native county. In 1874 he came to this county, and for four years thereafter worked for his cousin, the Hon. Harry Mead. He settled on his present farm of eighty acres in 1878, and has since cleared twenty acres of this tract. He has worked in the pineries nearly every winter since coming to this county. Mr. Mead was married April 25, 1878, to Rachel Syth, who was born in London, Canada, the daughter of Thomas and Rachel (Stewart) Syth; the latter is deceased, and the former has been a resident of this county over twenty years. Mr. and Mrs. Mead have two children, Estella and Maud P. Mr. Mead has been Assessor of his town two years, and is now serving as Town Treasurer. Politically he is a Republican, and both he and his wife are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church.
Hon. William Harrison Mead (1891 and 1918)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 265-266; submitted by Mary Saggio
HON. W. HARRISON MEAD, of section 3, Warner Township, Clark County, was born in Dutchess County, New York, November 19, 1833, the son of Van Renslear (deceased) and Margaret (Marshall) Mead, both natives of New York. Our subject's grandfather, Moses Mead, was a soldier in the war of 1812. Mr. and Mrs. Mead, had ten children, viz.: Egbert, Martha, William, Nathan, Van Renslear, Moses, Caroline George and Daniel. The mother died about twenty years ago, and the father was again married, and by this union there were four children: Aaron, Arvilla, Lydia and Frank. The father died in December, 1881.
The subject of this sketch, the eldest child, spent the first twelve years of his life on the old homestead in his native county. In 1845 the family emigrated to Jefferson County, Wisconsin, settling in Watertown Township, where Mr. Mead attended the public schools three months, and also worked on the farm in the summer. During the last year of the war he was in the United States service, engaged in putting up telegraph lines in Western Virginia. In 1865 he came to this county and settled on his present farm of 160 acres, which was then covered with heavy timber. There were only three farms opened between this place and Neillsville, and they were the George Huntzicker and Cummings farms. There was not a road or turnpike in the county at that time, and Neillsville contained but 200 people, one hotel and two stores. There was no settlement at Greenwood, and wild animals and Indians were numerous, the latter being of the Chippewa tribe. Some trappers stopped with the loggers where Mr. Mead was working, and caught over $1,000 worth of furs in about two months. A man named David Smith came into their camp in the winter of 1866-'67, and in six weeks caught $600 worth of furs. Mr. Mead hunted about five years during the fall of the year, after coming to this county, and killed about forty deer each fall, and also killed a few bear and many wild-cats. Our subject owns 1,920 acres of land, mostly hard-wood timber land, of which 260 acres is cleared.
He was married July 4, 1861, to Julia A. Smith, who was born in Herkimer County, New York, May 26, 1842, the daughter of Christopher (deceased) and Betsy (Pedricks) Smith; the latter now lives with Mr. Mead, at the age of eighty-two years. Mr. and Mrs. Mead have had seven children, six of whom are now living: Frank A., Clara, Helen, Harry, Angus and Philo. Clara married Allen Armstrong, of Greenwood, this county, and they have two children, Glen and Margery. Frank is an express messenger on the O. R. N. Railroad in Oregon. The remainder are at home. Mr. Mead has been chairman of the Town Board here seven years, and is the present incumbent, and during two years of this time he was chairman of the County Board. He is a member of the Masonic, I. O. O. F. and the A. O. U. W. lodges.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 424-425, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
WILLIAM H. MEAD, whose name is closely connected with the pioneer history of Clark County, as well as with its later development, was born in Pauldings, N. Y., Nov. 19, 1833. When 9 years old he removed with his parents to Watertown, Jefferson County, Wis., where he attended the public schools and grew to manhood, after which he followed various occupations there. On July 4, 1861, he was united in marriage in Jefferson County, with Julia Arvilla Smith, who was born in Fulton County, N. Y., May 26, 1842. In 1865 Mr. Mead came with his wife and two children to Clark County, locating first at what is now Greenwood City, where the family resided until the following spring. He then took a homestead of 160 acres of wild and heavily timbered land in that part of the county now known as Warner Township, where he erected a modest dwelling and began the strenuous life of a pioneer farmer. The growing importance of the timber industry, however, soon attracted his attention and led him to change his occupation, as he saw that it was easier at that time to extract wealth from the forests than from the soil. Accordingly he invested in timber lands and for the next twenty years was known as one of the leading loggers and lumbermen of this part of the state, at one time, in partnership with others, owning as much as 10,000 acres of land. After that he resumed farming, clearing and improving about 200 acres, and remaining on his farm until about the year 1900. He was also employed as agent by the Gates Land Company and continued with them until 1902, when he again resumed farming, this time on a farm two and a half miles south of Withee. On this farm, which contained 224 acres and was the property of Mrs. Mead, he passed the rest of his life, a period of four and a half years, his death taking place Mar. 6, 1911. He had for a long time been one of the leading men of his township, serving as chairman of the town board for fifteen years, and by virtue of that office was a member also of the board of county commissioners, which he served as chairman for three years. Fraternally he belonged to the Masonic Lodge at Greenwood. His wife, who survived him, is now a resident of the city of Greenwood, where she is highly esteemed in the best society, and is a member of the Eastern Star Lodge. She attends the Methodist Episcopal Church. Mr. and Mrs. Mead were the parents of seven children, namely: Frank A., now of McMinnville, Ore.; Clara A., who is living in Los Angeles, Cal.; Helen O., who died in 1902; Harry, now a soldier in the American army; Angus, a resident of Marshfield, Wis.; Philo, residing in Ashtabula, Ohio, and Hugh, who died in infancy.
Dudley B. Means (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 276-277; submitted by Mary Saggio
DUDLEY B. MEANS, a self-made man and a prominent and influential citizen, resides on a farm of 245 acres, which is located on section 16, Pine Valley Township, Clark County. An outline of his life is as follows:
Mr. Means was born in Quebec, Canada, May 80, 1840, son of Edward and Mary A. (Paysley) Means. His parents were born in Ireland, the father in 1807 and the mother in 1810. The former is deceased, and the latter, now at the advanced age of eighty years, resides with her son, the subject of this sketch. In 1862 Mr. Means learned the trade of stone mason, and for some years worked at his trade in Quebec during the summers, spending his winters at work in the woods. In 1865 he left Canada, came to the United States and for a time made his home in Ohio. There he secured employment, superintending the farm of Hon. John Sherman while that gentleman was on a trip to Europe. After remaining in Ohio for a year and a half, he came to Wisconsin, landing in Clark County May 23, 1867. Two years he worked in the woods, and then for seven years he superintended a logging camp for other parties. After that he began work for himself in the lumbering business. This adventure, however, proved unsuccessful and he lost $5,000 in one year.
In 1876 Mr. Means married Lottie E. Ross, a daughter of Robert Ross, the old pioneer lumberman of Wisconsin. Five children have blessed this union: Nellie, Della, Lottie E., Dudley E., Jr., and Frankie. Mrs. Means is a lady of culture and refinement. Her education was obtained at Fox Lake Academy, Wisconsin, and at the University of Rockford, Illinois.
While living in Wisconsin Mr. Means has been variously employed,—-lumbering extensively and carrying on mercantile business for a number of years, conducting a general store in Neillsville; and, although meeting with a great deal of misfortune by fire and otherwise in the past years, is now at full speed ascending the hill of prosperity. He is now giving his attention to farming. In 1889 he was burned out, and over the ruins of his old home he has constructed a large and beautiful brick residence, costing more than $3,000. Mr. Means is a member of the K. of P. and of the Modern Workmen. He is an active politician, casting his vote and influence with the Republican party.
Henry Meier (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 253; submitted by Mary Saggio
HENRY MEIER, of sections 33 to 27, Warner Township, Clark County, was born in Selbeck, Lippe-Detmold, Prussia, May 12, 1848, the son of Ernest (deceased) and Mina (Machintanz) Meier, both natives of Germany; the latter died when Henry was seventeen years of age. They were the parents of ten children, six of whom still survive: Mina, Dorothy, Christopher, Ernest, Henry and Louise.
Mr. Meier, our subject, came to the United States in 1875, having had to borrow $130 to make the trip, and first stopped in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin, where he worked four years on a farm. During this time he paid off his debt, and also supported a wife and two small children. In 1879 he came to this county, locating in Warner Township, where he left his family in a sheep house while he worked in the woods for Fred Buker. Since coming to this county he has worked in the pineries eight winters, and during that time worked on the farms in the summer. In 1880 he settled on his present place of eighty acres, thirty-five of which is cleared. Mr. Meier was in the German army from 1868 to 1871, and during that time was in the French revolution from 1870 to 1871. He was in the battles of Woerth, Vionville, Gravelotte, Beaumont, Sedan, Strasburg, Metz, Amiens, Orleans, Le Mans, Montheliard, St. Quentin, Paris and Pontarlier.
He was married August 14, 1872, to Amelia Eichmeier, who was born in Brake, Lippe-Detmold, Prussia, March 8, 1846, the daughter of Frederich Eichmeier, deceased. Of their eight children, five are still living: Henry A. F., August H., Frederich W., Lydia E. and Ernest O. All of the children are at home except Fred, who lives with the minister at Immanuel Church, this county. Religiously Mr. Meier is a member of the German Reformed Church, and politically a Democrat.
August Meisekothen (Moving – 1906)
Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 28 June 1906
* Last Monday morning Aug. Meisekothen moved his family from here to Marathon, where he is engaged in business. August and family came to Colby from Wausau in the spring of 1899, and during their seven year’s residence in our little city made hosts of friends who will regret to lose them. Their departure has set the writer to guessing who we will get to fill their son Robert’s place, who held a prominent position in our pressroom.
Warren Meisner (Furlough - July 1944)
Source: Marathon County Register (Unity, Marathon County, Wis.) Friday, 28 July 1944
* Warren Meisner of Camp Benning, Ga., arrived Monday for a couple of days visit with with father Van Meisner, and sister, Mrs. Forest Johnson, before going on to Chicago to spend the remainder of his furlough visiting his wife. From there Warren will go to ***The rest of the article is cut off and unavailable at the time of transcription***
Mr. and Mrs. Glen Meisner and family of Rio came Saturday night for a few days visit with relatives and with his brother, Warren, home on furlough.
James Emery Merrill (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 375-376, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
JAMES EMERY MERRILL, a thriving stock farmer of section 4, Beaver Township, was born in Tioga County, Pennsylvania, Oct. 25, 1854, son of Elliott and Catherine (Hebe) Merrill. Elliott, also a native of Pennsylvania, was the son of James Merrill, one of the earliest settlers of Liberty, Tioga County, Pa. The family trace their ancestry back to an imigrant who came to this country on the Mayflower, early in the seventh century, and the family name is said to have been derived from a place in Scotland, called Merry Rill, which was the ancient home of the Merrills. By the father of the subject of this sketch the name was spelled Merrell. Elliott Merrill, or Merrell, served in the Union army during the Civil War, and was later a member of the Grand Army Post at Wellsboro, Pa.; also of the masonic lodge there. Coming west to Wisconsin, he settled in Jackson County, at a place in Garden Valley, six miles west of Alma Center, where he developed a farm from a tract of wild land, erecting frame buildings. He was married in Pennsylvania to Catherin Hebe, who was born in Schuylkill County, that state. They had four children: Eliza and Evelyn, who remained in the East; and Mrytie and James E. The latter first came West, and after him the parents, Eliza also coming after the death of her husband. James E. Merrill, after beginning industrial life worked in the coal mines of Pennsylvania until reaching the age of 18 years. He was then engaged for awhile in railroad work and subsequently coming West, was employed on the Omaha Railroad. He then came to Clark County and was engaged as stationary engineer by A. A. Graves of Loyal, until 1904. At that time he bought his present farm of eighty acres in section 4, Beaver Township, five acres of land being chopped. There was also an old log building on the place. Mr. Merrill built the present house in 1906, and the next year erected the barn, which measures 34 by 60 feet. Forty-seven acres of his land are now cleared and he is profitably engaged in raising Guernsey and Jersey -cattle. Mr. Merrill was first married to Martha Green, daughter of Samuel Green, of Garden Valley, Jackson County, Wis., where she was born. She died at the age of 41 years, leaving six children: Harry, Wauneeta, Sam, Nettie, Percy and three others that died young. Subsequently Mr. Merrill contracted a second marriage, with Minnie Mueller, of Sherman township, of which union also six children have been born: Violet, Maude, Fern, Lawrence, Ruby and Leland. Minnie (Mueller) Merrill died Jan. 17, 1917, at the age of 38 years.
David Ebenezer Metcalf (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 380; submitted by Mary Saggio
DAVID EBENEZER METCALFE, a farmer of section 12, township 24, range 24, was born in the Province of Ontario, Canada, August 16, 1848, the eldest of a family of four sons and two daughters. His father, Henry Metcalfe, was a native of Yorkshire, England, of English ancestry, and his grandfather was one of seven brothers, all of whom have had interesting careers. One branch of the family came to Canada, one went to India and one settled in Cuba. In the Canadian branch the second son is a physician in Thurso, Ontario, the third is a merchant at Smith's Falls in that dominion, and the fourth occupies the old homestead in Canada, with the mother.
Mr. Metcalfe, whose name introduces this sketch, came from the East to Wisconsin in the fall of 1867, but did not settle at his present home until 1874, in the meantime being in and out of the county at intervals. From that date his interests have been in the farm, where he has done a great work in bringing it up to its present state of perfection. Meanwhile he has also taken an active interest in town and county affairs, as a member of the County Board and as Town Treasurer.
He married Miss Lillian Kipp, who was born November 23, 1857, a daughter of Zaccheus Palmer Kipp, of Centralia, Wisconsin. The Kipp family trace their ancestry back to England, and likewise do Mrs. Metcalfe's mother's ancestry, the Newcombes.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. page 567, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
CHARLES MEYER, a well-known and successful farmer of York Township, was born in Jefferson County, Wis., Jan. 12, 1859, son of George and Mary (Switzer) Meyer. The father was a native of Bavaria, who came to America with his mother, brother and sister. They settled in Jefferson County, Wis., in 1851, where Mr. Meyer bought eighty acres of wild land on which a log shanty was standing. With a team of oxen he set to work to clear the land, and about three months later married Mary Switzer, whose father was a cabinet-maker in Germany, where he died. Mary had come over on the same ship with George, it being a sailing vessel; the voyage lasted six weeks. They had come to this country to get married, there being a law in Germany at that time which prevented the marriage of people who could not show ownership of a certain amount of property, enough to enable them to support a family. After marriage they settled in Jefferson County, where they reared six children-John, George, Joe, Charles, Theresa and Mary. Charles Meyer grew to manhood on the farm in Jefferson County, attending both English and German schools until he was about 15 years attendance was somewhat intermittent, as he had to make himself useful to his parents. After laying aside his school books he worked on the home farm for three years, subsequently being employed for one year in a wagon shop. Then for two years he worked on farms in that locality until the age of 21 years. He then went to Colorado, prospecting and working in the mines about twenty-five miles from Bueno Vista. After remaining there three years, he returned to Jefferson County, where he stayed one year, and then came to Clark County with his brother, George. Here they bought eighty acres of wild land and built a log house in which they lived for two years. At the end of that time Charles Meyer put up a frame house for himself, and a year later his brother sold his forty acres and went to Oregon. Charles remained in Clark County and cleared his forty acres. Later, he purchased the house that Mr. Heine, the sawmill proprietor, had used for a boarding house, and this he moved onto his place and united it with his old house so as to make a dwelling of seven rooms. He then built a barn 34 by 54 feet in size. Three years after coming to Clark County, Mr. Meyer was married to Annie Shaklman. Her father was formerly postmaster of the Heinetown postoffice, Mr. Meyer working as his assistant. Since his marriage, Mr. Meyer has continued to improve his place and now has a good farm, raising Holstein cattle and other stock with profitable results. He has served as school director two years and eight years as treasurer. In religion he is a Catholic. He and his wife have eight children-Leo, Matilda, Alvin, Albert, George, Elizabeth and Julita.
Ronald Meyer (Graduation – 1960)
Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 26 May. 1960
* Mr. and Mrs. Arlyn Edblom and Mr. and Mrs. Arnold Edblom entertained at the Arlyn Edblom home in honor of Colene Edblom and Ronald Meyer who were members of the graduating class of Colby High School Tuesday evening. Guests included: Mr. and Mrs. Walter Stecker and Harold Kohlbeck of Marshfield, Mr. and Mrs. Cecil Alexander of Owen, Mr. and Mrs. Norman Mellenthin and family of Spencer, Mr. and Mrs. Dale Lindekugel and family of Loyal, Mr. and Mrs. Ervin Schilling and family of Abbotsford, Mr. and Mrs. Alvin Edblom and family, Mr. and Mrs. Arthur Edblom, Sr., Mrs. Martha Rahn, Mr. and Mrs. Alfred Edblom, Rev. and Mrs. Robert Langseth and family, Miss Judy Korntved, Mr. and Mrs. Clarence Edblom, Mr. and Mrs. Frank Dearth and Betty, all of Unity, Bernard Stuttgen, Mr. and Mrs. Neland Will and family, Mrs. Edna Waldhart, Wallace Waldhart, Mr. and Mrs. John Lindsay, Mr. and Mrs. Donald Will and family, Mr. and Mrs. Ralph Will and family, Frank Will, Mrs. Nettie Casey, Mr. and Mrs. Lawrence Weber and family, Mr. and Mrs. Valgene Fischer and Mr. and Mrs. Lee Brunker, all of Colby.
Mathias Meyers (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 401-402, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
MATHIAS MEYERS, proprietor of Clover Leaf Cheese Factory, in Worden Township, Clark County, is a man who has won high reputation in the cheese-making industry, and is doing a successful business where he is now located. He was born in Sheboygan County, Wis., Sept. 24, 1883, son of Peter and Catherine (Kleinhans) Meyers. Both the father and mother were born and reared in Germany and came to this country with their respective parents when young. Peter Meyers, who was one of the pioneer cheese makers of Sheboygan County, in 1884, moved to St. Anna, Wis., a village situated nor far from Fond du Lac, where he engaged in the cheese business, conducted a creamery and also a store and saloon. At one time he opened a cheese factory in Calumet County, this state. He retired from active business life in 1909 and is now living at Kiel, Wis. His wife died in 1907 at the age of 62 years. Their family consisted of seven children: Lena, now Mrs. Joe Turba, of Kiel; Maggie, who resides in Chicago; John, a jeweler at New Ulm, Minn.; Mary, wife of Nick Gregoire, of Sheboygan County, Wis.; Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Konz, and Annie, wife of John Stemper, both of Sheboygan County, and Mathias, subject of this sketch. Mathias Meyer learned the art of cheese-making from his brother John, in his father’s factory, and acquired a thorough knowledge of it. In 1910 he came to Clark County and in 1911 bought out the interests of Frank Pritzel, then proprietor of the Clover Leaf Factory, which he has since conducted himself with profitable results. That he is well qualified to succeed in this business is evidenced by the fact that he has in the past won various prizes for excellence in this branch of industry. These prizes include two gold medals, one of which was awarded to him Jan. 10, 1912, at Milwaukee, for the best cheese made, and the other received in 1916 at Stratford, Wis., from the Central Wisconsin Cheesemakers’ and Buttermakers’ and Dairying Association. In 1909 he also carried off the second prize, a silver cup, given by the Wisconsin Cheese Makers’ Association at Milwaukee. The Butter,-Cheese & Egg Journal, of Wisconsin, issue of Jan. 14, 1914, mentions the remarkable record of Mr. Meyers as being highly commendable, and speaks of his average of 93.9 covering a period of six years’ exhibitions at Madison. In 1916 his score at the Chippewa Falls Fair was 94.25, and he has also scored highly in other places in Wisconsin, as well as in other states. In 1917 he won first premiums at the Wisconsin State Fair, the Indiana State Fair, and the Chippewa Falls Fair, and third prize at the Missouri State Fair. The Clover Leaf Cheese Factory was started in 1895, by Frank Pretzel, the building being erected that year, and since Mr. Meyers became proprietor he has made a number of improvements. In addition to the factory there is a two-story residence on the ground. In 1917 the factory received over two and a third million pounds of milk. Mr. Meyers was married Jan. 20, 1913, to Mamie Boll, who was born in Calumet County, Wis., Mar. 11, 1890, daughter of Gabriel and Magdaline (Peters) Boll. Her father, who was a farmer, died in June, 1916, at the age of 67 years, and her mother in 1913, at the age of 66. Their children were: John, Kate, Joseph, Antoin, Bertha, Rosa, Anna, Mamie and Tena. Mr. and Mrs. Meyers are the parents of two children: Dorothy, born Nov. 9, 1913, and Irene, born Mar. 21, 1915. The family faith is that of the Catholic Church.
Meyers Family & the Corner Store
Source: History of Abbotsford, Written by F. B. Wing - Abbotsford Tribune (Abbotsford, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 19 Feb. 1953
* From the Colby Phonograph, Dec. 18, 1881:
B. A. Cook sold his store at Abbotsford to J. A. Roter & Company (the & Company being R. W. Maguire, paymaster of the Central Co.). Mr. Roter, who has full charge of the store, recently of Pennsylvania, is a gentleman of excellent business qualities and we believe he will do a splendid business at the junction. We looked over the store Saturday and found everything in apple pie order.
The Meyers Family and the Corner Store
The Roter store, the first in Abbotsford, now better known as the Corner store, surely spans a big part of Abbotsford’s history – Meyers & Chase, then A. J. Meyers, the Bootzin Store, the Foodland Store, the Clover Farm Store and the Red and White Store.
Coming to Abbotsford from Weyauwega, in 1890, Mr. Meyers worked for L. A. Roter in the south half of the present store building. Mr. Roter sold the store to Frank M. Chase, also of Weyauwega, and later of Dorchester, in 1897. Mr. Meyers continued as manager.
A partnership was formed shortly after the north half of the building was built and the firm name became Meyers & Chase, general merchandise, during the year 1900. The new addition housed the shoes, hardware and furniture lines. This partnership also owned and operated a warehouse on the west side of present side-track to the White House Milk Company.
From this warehouse, flour, feed, potatoes, coal, lime, cement, sash and door frames, were bought and sold. Carloads of hay, potatoes, pulpwood, and bolts were loaded in cars for shipments to points south. When people talk of the good old days, and the long, tough winters, the wall above the back door in the corner store, was this notation: Peter Bark hauled a load of bolts to town on a sled, May 8, 1904. With 12 bolts on a sled, plenty of snow was needed.
The sale of the land for the condensery side, deprived Mr. Meyers of his garden, which was his hobby. He then purchased a farm east of town and continued gardening. He truly had a green thumb, evidenced by the baskets of produce harvested. One would often see him working in his garden long *** Note: The rest of the article was cut off and was not available at the time of transcription.
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 596-597, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
ALBERT MILLER, who is profitably engaged in dairying and other branches of f-arming in Section 16, Eaton Township, was born in Washington County, Wis., March 4, 1877, son of Peter and Elizabeth Miller. The father was a harnessmaker and farmer, and he and his wife had eight children-William, George, Albert, Ed, Theodore, Arthur, Galain and Lela. Albert remained at home until he was about 18 years old, at which time he went to work in the woods and on farms, helping on the home farm in summer. When 29 years of age he was married, May 17, 1905, to Lydia Raneking, daughter of William Raneking, her father being a farmer in Clark County. Albert Mills and his wife then settled on an eighty-acre tract of wild land in Section 16, Eaton Township, which constitutes his present farm. There was a small clearing, with a small log house on it, in which latter they took up their residence, and he at once began to improve the place. He has now a good seven-room frame house and a basement barn 28 by 40 feet in size. In addition to dairying he is raising some hogs. About forty acres of his farm are now cleared, and he is still continuing the work. Besides his farm interests he has stock in the West Eaton Cheese Factory. Mr. Miller and wife are the parents of three children-Martha, Arno and Erna, all residing at home. The family are members of the German Reformed Church.
J. C. Miller (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) page 280; submitted by Mary Saggio
J. C. MILLER, of section 27, Warner Township, Clark County, was born in Renfrew County, Ontario, January 2, 1848, the son of John Miller (deceased), a native of England. The latter, a farmer and lumberman by occupation, came with his parents to Ontario when a boy. He spent the first eighteen years thereafter on a farm, and then went to Warren County, Pennsylvania, where he spent ten years in the woods and saw-mills. In 1876 he came to this county, locating on his present farm, where he has also been engaged in lumbering ever since. He farms to raise feed for his stock and teams which he employs in the camps during the winters. The previous winter he ran two camps, but this winter, 1890-'91, he has only one, employing about thirty men, besides six four horse teams, sprinkler team, tote team and two or three yoke of cattle. He owns in all about 240 acres of land, 110 of which is cleared. He also owns a one-half interest in lot 1, city of Greenwood, which consists of forty-five acres, and also a house and lot in the latter place. When he left his father, Mr. Miller was twenty-four years old, and had only $15 in money, and he has since risen to his present position by hard work and good management.
He was married September 26, 1872, to Elizabeth, daughter of John Honeywell, deceased. They have six children: Olive T., Maud M., Lynn H., Gertrude, Bessie B. and Smith. Mr. Miller held the office of Town Treasurer five years, and was also Director of the School Board one term. Religiously, he is a member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, and politically a Prohibitionist.
He remodeled his house in 1887, and he now owns a fine two-story frame, 24 x 28 feet, with a wing 18x22, and another addition 16 x 26 feet. He has two fine barns, one 36 x 46 feet, twenty-foot posts, and the other 36 x 66 feet, eighteen-foot posts.
Kaye Miller (Baptism -24 July 1949)
Source: Marathon County Register (Unity, Marathon County, Wis.) Friday, 29 July 1949
Trinity Lutheran Church, Unity, Wisconsin
* Kaye Jean, infant daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Raymond K. Miller was baptized last Sunday morning.
Samuel Mills (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. page 494, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
SAMUEL MILLS, who has resided in Thorp Township for twenty-one years, engaged in agriculture, is a native of Canada, having been born in the province of New Brunswick, Sunbury County, Oct. 18, 1846, son of Samuel and Mary Ann (Cogswell) Mills. The parents were also natives of Canada, of English descent, the father, a farmer, dying there in 1872, at the age of 70 years; his wife died in 1849, at the age of 40. Their children were: Hiram, Ezra, Wellington, Lucy Ann, Samuel and Harriett, all of whom are now deceased. Samuel Mills came to the United States in the fall of 1868, and in the following year located at Eau Claire, Wis. There, for a number of years, he was in the employ of the Northwestern Lumber Company. During that time, in the summer of 1870, the railway reached Eau Claire, which was an occasion for rejoicing; and several years later he witnessed the railway celebration at Chippewa Falls. Mr. Mills entered into the lumber business, being engaged in running camps and similar work, in which he continued until 1896, when he came to Clark County, and bought his present place of eighty acres, on which there were a few improvements. A few years prior to this he had bought a farm a few miles west of this one, which he cleared from wild land. At the present time Mr. Mills is remodeling his house, making it into a nine-room dwelling. In 1908 he built a barn, which was destroyed by lightning the next year, after which he rebuilt it with stone basement and cement floors. This barn measures 36 by 72 feet. In 1914 Mr. Mills built a brick silo of 100 tons capacity. He is raising graded Holstein cattle, milking fifteen cows, his principal crops being hay and oats. Though several times solicited, he has never accepted public office. Mr. Mills was first married in 1874 to Nettie Alderman, a native of Wisconsin. She died in 1878, having been the mother of two children, one of whom, George B., died in 1904, the other, Elmer, dying in infancy. In 1897 Mr. Mills married for his second wife, Mrs. Maggie Flemming, a native of Canada and widow of James Flemming. Of this marriage two children were born: Byron Eugene, May 8, 1898, who is now in Texas, and Clarence S., born Oct. 30, 1901, who resides at home. By her first marriage Mrs. Mills had four children.
Eugene R. Moffatt
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. page 520, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
EUGENE R. MOFFATT, a well-known farmer of Section 1, Hewett Township, Clark County, Wis., who has also served as an official of the township, was born in Pine Valley Township, this county, son of Alden and Ellen (Anderson) Moffatt. The father was a native of Canada, coming to Washington County, Wis., as a boy, and was there reared to manhod. He and Ellen Anderson were married in Hartford, Wis., where he resided for three years after his marriage, and then bought eighty acres of wild land in Pine Valley Township, Clark County. On this he built a log house, worked out a little in the woods and on the drive in spring, and cleared his farm during the summers. After six years he had cleared about sixty acres, and then, in 1875, moved to Neillsville, at that time a small hamlet, where he started in the butcher's business. After being thus occupied for three years, he sold out to Mr. Lowe, and for the next four years operated a dray line. This he sold to Mr. Crumery and went into the business of buying land to get the timber for making staves, and in this manner he was engaged until he died on his farm in Hewett Township, Feb. 24, 1888. Eugene R. Moffatt, who was 18 years old at the time of his father's death, continued on the farm which the father had bought a year and a half before. When 21 he was married, Feb. 22, 1888, to Lizzie Fahbush, whose father, George Fahbush, was a farmer in Adams County, Wis., where she was born and reared. The marriage took place in Neillsville and he then settled on his own farm, which he later sold to his brother, buying eighty acres of wild land in Section 1, Hewett Township. On this tract he built a seven-room frame house, and a barn 40 by 40 feet in size, which was provided with a basement, besides several other buildings. He has now cleared forty acres of the land and is successfully raising graded Holstein and Ayrshire cattle and Poland-China hogs. He has served on the side board of Hewett Township and as clerk and director on the school board. Mr. and Mrs. Moffatt are the parents of seven children-Maude, Harvey, Hollie, Eugene, Willard, Percy and Vilas. All are residing at home, except Maude, who married a Mr. Cox, of Mineral Point, Wis., and has two children, Harvey and Victor.
Richard Mohr (Graduation – 27 June 1902)
Source: Colby Phonograph (Colby, Clark County, Wis.) Thursday, 26 June 1902
* We are in receipt of an announcement of the commencement exercises of the West Division High School at Milwaukee, to be held on Friday, June 27th. On the list of graduates we find the name of Richard Mohr. Richard graduated from our High School in the class of ’99 and two years ago entered the W.D.H.S. at Milwaukee, where he is now about to finish the general science course. His many friends here will be pleased to hear of his splendid success and extend to him their greeting.
Ole E. Moon (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 259; submitted by Mary Saggio
OLE E. MOON, of section 23, Thorp Township, was born in Gausthall, Norway, February 14, 1848, the son of Ingabredt Brandon, a native also of Norway. Ole E. was reared on a farm, and received his education in the common schools of his native place. In 1873 he came to the United States, locating on his present farm of eighty acres, thirty-five of which he has since cleared. During the winters he has been engaged in the pineries, driving logs in the springs, and farming and clearing land during the summers.
He was married in Norway, December 2, 1870, to Annie Peterson, a daughter of Peter Peterson, deceased. They have eight children, namely: Ebert, Peter, Albert, Oscar, Andrew, Mary, Otto and Emma; all at home. Mr. Moon is a director of the School board, and was brought up in the Lutheran Church.
W. B. Morley (1881)
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) page 242
DR. W. B. MORLEY, physician, Neillsville, was born in Chautaqua Co., N. Y., Dec. 29, 1852 ; went to Viroqua, Vernon Co., Wis., where
he studied under Dr. W. A. Gott. In 1876, he graduated at the Louisville College, Ky., and commenced practice at Leon, Monroe Co., Wis., and came here in 1879; entered on Dr. Crandall's practice. Mr. Morley married, in 1877, Miss Mary Gilliland, of Leon.
William Morrison (1891)
Source: Biographical History of Clark and Jackson Counties (Wisconsin) Lewis Publishing Company (1891) pages 347-348; submitted by Mary Saggio
WILLIAM MORRISON, superintendent of the Neillsville Manufacturing Company, Neillsville, Wisconsin, came to this city in 1889, to superintend the building and running of this furniture factory. The size of the building is 136x128 feet, four stories high, with an L sixty-four feet wide. They employ 400 men. The first order for goods was from England for a large amount, and at present they are filling this order. The mill commenced operation this spring; they have a 250-horse-power steam engine, and a 70-horse-power engine for the saw-mill, which they run in connection with the factory. The latter is said to be the best in the world. Mr. Morrison made the plans for the building, and from its commencement had the ground prepared, laid the foundation, and had it perfected after his own plans. He laid five heavy stone walls under the building, and the floors on each of the four rooms are made of 2x4 timber, set up edgeways, making the floor five inches thick. Each of the floors are separate, and in no way connected with each other from the inside of the building. The only way to reach the upper rooms is by means of a stairway outside of the building, leading to each room. They have an elevator built in the corner where the building forms an L, and which is so constructed that a wagon can receive or deliver goods from the elevator. The building is absolutely fire-proof, and contains the best machinery that can be purchased in the world. The rooms are heated with hot air driven through a large pipe into the building, and also have large fans connected to a furnace in an adjoining brick building. Their 250-horse power engine drives this large amount of machinery with an endless rope three-fourths of an inch in size. The engine-house is firmly constructed of brick, and stands some distance from the factory. The rope runs over the large drive wheel in the engine-house to the main shaft of the factory outside of the building. There is also a drying house in the rear of the engine-house, containing three large rooms, and in connection with each is a railroad track running to the lumber yard. After drying the lumber is taken to the factory, where all is made in the best manner, and the facilities for handling the same cannot be surpassed. They have a large galvanized pipe, thirty inches in diameter, running from the factory to the engine-house, and all dust and shavings are drawn through this to the latter house and used for fuel. Mr. Morrison has placed some machinery of his own device in this factory, which is very necessary and important. There is not probably a better mechanic in the United States than Mr. Morrison, and the people of this city should be proud of this institution.
He is a Scotch gentleman, born January 3, 1850, and was educated in his native land, where he also learned the furniture trade. Since the age of twenty-one he has always had charge of some work; has been an extensive traveler in India, China, Japan, and nearly all over the world. He married Miss Kate Mclntyre, of Glasgow, Scotland, and they have a family of nine children: James, Jane, William, Alfred, David, Nellie, Kate, John and Asa. Mr. Morrison is a worthy gentleman, and is respected by all who know him.
S. F. Morse (1918)
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. page 436, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
S. E. MORSE, a well known and highly esteemed resident of Weston Township, having a good farm in Sections 11 and 15, was born in New York State, Sept. 5, 1851. His father, George W. Morse, was a farmer in that state, having been born and reared there, and who, at the age of 24 years, married Hannah Gates. She also was born in New York State, the daughter of a farmer. After his marriage George W. Morse went with his wife to Essex County, New York, where they settled on a farm on sixty acres. There he built a log house and barn and with the aid of a team of oxen cleared the land. Two sons were born to them there: S. E. Morse, subject of this sketch, and Lyman, who died in Salem, Ore. in 1905. S. E. Morse was educated in his native state and brought up on his parents’ farm, where he acquired a good knowledge of agriculture. When he was about 17 years old the family came to Clark County, the father buying eighty acres of wild land in town of Weston (Township 15). As the land was covered with trees and brush, it was first necessary to make a clearing on which to build a log house, this early dwelling being 20 by 30 feet in size. A log barn was also constructed, 24 by 60 feet. George W. Morse worked in the woods one winter and then returned east to Indiana, where he stayed a year and a half, coming back to Clark County in 1880. Here he died a few years later, having previously married for his second wife, Sarah Anne Markham. S. E. Morse worked in the woods four years after coming to Clark County, driving a span of mules during the first season. On Feb. 29, 1874, at the age of 23, he married Julia Jones, daughter of a New York State farmer. Her parents had died when she was very young and she had been adopted by Loren Gates, who brought her to Clark County. After their marriage S. E. Morse and his wife settled on the home farm, where he raised oxen which he used in logging. He also built a log barn and frame house on the back forty acres of his father’s farm, and then bought out his stepmother and moved into the old home, where six children were born to him—Alonzo, Orson, May, Grace, Maud, and Olive, of whom Maud is now deceased. He later built a barn, 38 by 72 feet in size, a ninety-ton silo, a granary, 25 by 42 feet, and a ten-room frame house, veneered with brick. At various times he has served in public office, including seven years’ service as treasurer of the school board, four years as township treasurer, one year on the side board, one year as town clerk and one year as assessor. He is treasurer of the Christie Creamery, local agent of the Lynn Insurance Company, and treasurer of Christie Court, Knights of Liberty. Mr. Morse is now in his sixty-seventh year, but strong and hearty, enjoying excellent health. A man of sterling character, hospitable and kindly, he has made many friends, and is one of the representative citizens of Weston Township. His son Alonzo now operates the farm, on which Mr. Morse has resided for forty-nine years.
Fred Mueller (1918)
Source: History of Clark County Wisconsin by Frankyn Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co.
FRED MUELLER, an enterprising and successful farmer of Sherman Township, was born on his parents' homestead, in section 28, this township, Jan. 30, 1878. The parents were Carl and Etta (Harp) Mueller, both natives of Pommern, Germany. The father, Carl, came to the United States when about 25 years old, and his wife at the age of 9, with her parents; both made the voyage on a sailing vessel. They were married in Milwaukee in October, 1875, and at a subsequent date came to Spencer, Clark Count having then one child, Henry, aged 9 months. On arriving here Carl Mueller bought a tract of eighty acres in section 28, Sherman Township. The land was mostly wooded, but about four acres had been chopped over, and there was a log house and barn on the place.
Mr. Mueller had been a farmer in his native land, though under less primitive conditions. In starting he secured a team and cow from Milwaukee. There was no road by his farm And for several years he had to carry flour on his back through the woods. He often walked to Spencer 'with butter and eggs, being paid six cents a dozen for eggs and ten cents a pound for butter. In time he cleared up the land and built a house of five rooms, since rebuilt and enlarged to eleven rooms by his sons and daughters. He also built a basement barn, 40 by 90 by 20 feet in size, put up outbuildings and set out a good orchard. He raised good stock and, in time, became one of the prosperous citizens of his township.
He was born in October, 1834, dying in 1913, at the age of 79 years. His wife, who was born June 3, 1859, died April 25, 1915, at the age of 56. They had eight children: Henry (deceased), Fred, Minnie (deceased), George, August, John, Mary, wife of Chas. Rahm, and Charles. Carl Mueller was a member of the German Lutheran Church, and helped to establish the church in Sherman Township. He was of a genial disposition and quiet domestic tastes and never cared for public office.
Fred Mueller was reared to farming on his parents' homestead. He erected the silo which now stands on the farm, and which measures 14 by 32 feet, but now has 160 acres of his own-a tract that has been cleared from the woods. While actively engaged in farming, like his father, he kept good stock, but now rents out the farm. As one of the substantial and prosperous men of Sherman Township, he is widely known and respected. He was reared in the faith of the Lutheran Church, of which his father was a member.
John Carl Gustav Mundt
Source: History of Clark County, Wisconsin by Franklin Curtiss-Wedge (1918) published by Lewis Publishing Co. pages 547-548, transcribed by Mary Saggio.
JOHN CARL GUSTAV MUNDT, a respected citizen of Fremont Township, who has taken an active part in helping to develop the agricultural resources of this part of the county, was born in Pommern, Germany, Sept. 26, 1839. He was reared by his uncle, John Mundt, who was a farmer in Germany. In that country he was married, Nov. 22, 1864, to Austenia Prust, whose father, John Prust, was a fisherman. After their marriage Mr. Mundt and his wife resided in the village of Mudelmon, province of Statien, where he worked out for about a year. Then, in 1865, he came to the United States, locating first in Brown County, Wis., where he worked on farms for about three years. At the end of that time he moved to Calumet County, and bought forty acres of wild land, on which he built a log house and barn and where he and his family remained for fourteen years, he clearing his land with the help of an ox team. His next removal was to Clark County, and here he again engaged in pioneer work, buying forty acres of wild land. The land was so thickly timbered that he had cut a small clearing to begin with, on which to erect a log house and barn, but the work was not new to him and he soon got it accomplished. He was the first settler in this vicinity and at first he and his family had to get along with few conveniences. Later Mr. Mundt bought forty acres in Section 21 and 80 in section 28, where he now lives, keeping some cattle and a horse. He has cleared over 100 acres of land, a useful though hard task, which has not only advanced his own prosperity but aided in the general work of improvement and civilization in the locality. Among his other improvements are a six-room house and a barn 26 by 20 feet. Mr. Mundt has served as treasurer of the school board for twelve years and has also been a member of the township side board, rendering efficient service in the support of progressive ideas. He and his wife have had seven children: Matilda is now Mrs. Bradt, and a resident of Newcastle, England; John, a farmer; William and Robert, who are deceased; Richard, a farmer; Bertha, now Mrs. Trompson, of Milwaukee, and Charles, who is a farmer in Clark County.
Henry Myers (1881)
Source: History of Northern Wisconsin (1881) page 242
HENRY MYERS, druggist, Neillsville, was born in Newfield, Tompkins Co., N. Y., March 6, 1841. Worked in his father's grist-mill
and at farming; came West to La Crosse, Wis., in 1857, and harvested for Jerry Patchem; went to logging on the Black River up to 1879. Then he bought Dr. G. C. Lacy, Jr., out, and is now carrying on the drug store. In the Fall of 1879, his brother bought a half share and the firm is now Myers Bros. In June, 1880, he commenced a fine residence at the corner of State and Fourth streets, costing about $2,500. Mr. Myers enlisted twice, but did not get out of the State. He belongs to the A. O. U. W.