ALBAN William Linley, St Paul. Res 37 Thompson av, office 508 Chamber of Commerce. Architect. Born April 29, 1873 in Plover, Portage county Wis, son of Milton and Chloe Sarah (Blodgett) Alban. Married June 1903 to Gertrude Van Houten. Attended the public schools at Stevens Point Wis; Chicago School of Architecture graduating in 1897. Practiced his profession at Stevens Point Wis 1897-99; chief draftsman for Omeyer & Thori architects St Paul 1899-1905; member firm of Thori, Alban & Fisher architects 1905 to date. [Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota. (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Marilyn Clore]
L. N. Anson
While Mr. Anson has for thirty years been a resident of Merrill, and among this city's most enterprising and substantial citizens, his business interests have been so extensive and widespread as to entitle him to claim identity with the great Northwest. During this time he has been connected with the lumber interests of several States, and has been one of the most extensive manufacturers and largest dealers in paper among the many enterprising men whose vigor and energy have made that one of the leading industries of Wisconsin. Mr. Anson was born in Portage county, Wisconsin, July 3, 1848, and is a son of Jesse and Maria (Sands) Anson.
Jesse Anson was born in New York, a descendant of a old New England family, and at an early age was left an orphan. When still a youth he came West to Illinois, where he met and married Maria Sands, also a native of the Empire State, and, like her husband, a descendant of one of the old Colonial families of New England. In 1843 they came to Wisconsin and located at Plover, where the remainder of their lives were spent, the father dying in 1894, well advanced in years. During the Civil War he fought valiantly in a Wisconsin volunteer regiment in the Union army, and ever showed himself a patriotic and public-spirited citizen.
L. N. Anson was given a good practical education in the common schools of Portage county, Wisconsin, but in March, 1865, laid aside his studies to take up arms in the Union cause, as a private in the Fifty-Second Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, with which he served until the close of the war, in Missouri. He then returned to his Portage county home, and soon after went to Chicago, where he took a course in Bryant & Stratton's Business College. It was not long thereafter that he received his introduction to the lumber business, and in 1883 he came to Merrill, Wisconsin, and formed a co-partnership with George F. Gilkey and John Landers, under the firm style of Gilkey-Anson Company. The firm purchased a mill which became one of the largest and best in the Northwest, but for the past few years has not been in operation. The Grandfather Falls Paper Mills, of which he is president, were located in Merrill in 1905, but while the plant is situated here, the power is secured from Grandfather Falls. This is known as one of the largest enterprises of its kind in the Wisconsin Valley, and has attained its prestige through the keen foresight, business ability and intelligent management of its directing head. The business qualities that are essential for the manager of so vast an enterprise are obvious. To push and energy, quickness to perceive opportunities and courage to grasp them and breadth and comprehensiveness of mind, there must be added a capacity for organization, as well as attention to detail, and in all of these qualities Mr. Anson excels. He has interested himself in various other enterprises, one of which is the Anson, Gilkey & Hurd Company, of Merrill, one of the largest manufacturing plants of the Wisconsin Valley, which employs 500 men in the manufacture of sash, doors and windows. George M. Anson, Mr. Anson's son, is president of this enterprise. Amidst his active business life, Mr. Anson has found time and manifested an inclination to perform all the duties of good citizenship. As mayor of his adopted city, he gave his fellow-citizens an excellent and businesslike administration, and this was duplicated by his son, George M. Anson, when he occupied the mayoralty chair. On December 29, 1872, Mr. Anson was married to Miss Hannah A. Meehan, who was born in Canada, and to this union there have been born two children : George M. and Mary T. [Source:"Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Hon. W.L. Arnott
So closely have the lumber interests of the upper Wisconsin Valley been woven into the history of this region that few of the prosperous lives in the Valley have escaped a more or less intimate relation with this great industry. Mr. Arnott, one of the most prominent men of Stockton township, Portage county, is not an exception. He, too, has worked in the lumber woods, and "run the river." He was born in the town of Jerusalem, Yates Co., N.Y., September 5, 1832, only child of Amasa L. and Lydia (Rouse) Arnott. The father, who was a civil engineer, died when the son was but eighteen months old, and the mother subsequently married Isaac Haight,by whom she had one daughter, Adel, who died at the age of twenty-four years. Mrs. Haight passed away in Yates county, N. Y., in 1844.
W. L. Arnott was reared on the farm of his grandfather, Timothy Rouse, attending the district schools and assisting in the farm duties until the age of fourteen, when he went to Woodhull township, Steuben Co., N. Y., and there worked for his uncle, M. D. Hathaway, on a farm, remaining thereon till he was nineteen years old. After leaving his uncle in the spring of 1851, he passed a couple of months in Huron county, Ohio, then returning to New York State, worked in Yates county on a farm up to the time of his marriage. He was married at Bath, Steuben Co., N. Y., March 25, 1856, to Mary J. Walker, who was born in the same town, March 25, 1832, daughter of James and Gretia (Warren) Walker, who were the parents of nine children, to wit: Sarah, who died at the age of fourteen years; James W., now a retired farmer of Shawano county, Wis.; Gratia A., wife of A. B. Daniels, a farmer, of Georgia; Susan E., now Mrs. Charles Beach, of Stevens Point; Mary J. (Mrs. Arnott); William R., who was sergeant of Company E, Fifth Wis. V. I., and was killed at the battle of the Wilderness in May, 1864; Frank R., who also served in the Fifth Wis. V. I., and died in 1889; Ada J. (Mrs. Curren), a resident of Stevens Point; and Murray W., who died when five years old. The father of this family, who was a son of Abram Walker, and was of English descent, was a native of New York State, and died at Bath, N. Y. Gratia Walker, the mother, was born in Vermont, in 1804, daughter of Phineas Warren, who was a direct descendant of Dr. Joseph Warren, of Revolutionary fame, and came of English stock. Phineas married Mary Knight, who was of the historic Scottish house of Stewart. Mr. and Mrs. Arnott have two children: Lillian A., and Mary G., both school teachers, the latter at West Superior, Wisconsin.
Mr. Arnott began housekeeping on a seventy-five-acre tract of land which he had contracted for. He had little means, and what he did possess was his own accumulation from wages received. In May, 1864, he decided to move west; and accordingly set out by rail for Plover, Wis., where relatives of Mrs. Arnott lived. Coming by rail to Berlin, he and his wife and daughter journeyed by stage to Plover. Here he lived for one year, working in the lumber woods in the winter, and running the river to Alton, Ill., one trip. Renting some land in Stockton township, Portage county, in 1865, he moved there, and three years later, in July, 1868, he purchased 160 acres, the northeast quarter of Section 29, where he has since lived, excepting four and a half years — from the fall of 1887 to the spring of 1892 - during which time he was making his home at Stevens Point. During two of these years - from May, 1889, to May, 1891, — he served creditably as State timber agent under the appointment of Gov. Hoard.
Politically, Mr. Arnott is an earnest and active Republican. He is regarded as the foremost worker among the members of his party in Stockton township, and is one of its advisors and counselors in the county. He has served as assessor two years, as chairman two years, as chairman of the county board one year, and in 1876 was elected to the State legislature. For many years he was clerk, and then treasurer of his district, and has filled various other local offices. Socially he is a prominent member of the F. & A. M. On account of his efforts in securing a certain station on the Green Bay, Winona & St. Paul railway, it was named in his honor. Mr. Arnott has a wide acquaintance through the county, and is one of its most influential and substantial citizens. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
In every agricultural community there are some men who are generally known as poor farmers, and others who have the reputation of being good farmers. Among the latter class are a few who excel even among the excellent. The reputation of James Barr, of Belmont township, Portage county, is that he is one of the best farmers in the county. He is not specially interested in politics. It is the farm that interests him, and as a result he is a model for the man who wishes to make farming a successful business. Mr. Barr comes of sound Scotch stock. Now, at the age of seventy, he is a very well-preserved man. He is one of a family of twelve children, all of whom lived to the age of twenty-one years, and six of whom now survive. He was born in Renfrewshire, Scotland, June 21, 1825, son of Robert and Janet (Pettiker) Barr. Robert Barr was a joiner, and supported his family in Scotland by working at his trade. Becoming discontented there, he made a preliminary prospective trip to New Brunswick, and soon after, in 1827, he emigrated with his family, then consisting of four children, to a farm in Lower Canada, in a new and wooded country. He was a poor man, and sought a cheap home. On the farm he thus settled he lived through life, and died aged seventy-five years, his wife surviving to the age of eighty-six. Their family was as follows: Janet, now Mrs. Gilmour Danskin, of Iowa county, Iowa; Jane, who married and died in England; James, subject of this sketch; Mary, who married and died in Michigan; Robert, of British Columbia; John, who died in Lower Canada; William, of Indiana; Margaret, widow of George Maxwell, of Lower Canada; Elizabeth, who married and died in Iowa; Isabel, who married and died in Lower Canada; Peter, of Lower Canada; and Allan, who died in Lower Canada.
James Barr was reared in a new country in Canada, where there were no schools for years; but, nevertheless, he got education enough to carry him through. When about eighteen years old he started out in life for himself, working at whatever he could find to do, chiefly lumbering for a while. For some time he worked in Lower Canada, then went to Upper Canada where for four years he was engaged in loading and unloading vessels at Port Ryerse, and during these years secured his start in life from wages of from twelve to eighteen dollars per month. He first came to Wisconsin in the winter of 1854-55, when he was engaged in lumbering on the Big Eau Claire river. Returning to Canada, he again came to Wisconsin in the spring of 1856, and settled on 120 acres in Section 21, Lanark township, Portage county, which he had purchased a year previous. It was a new piece of land, without buildings, and for three years he spent the summers in improving it, passing the winters in lumbering.
In 1860 he was married, in Lanark township, to Mary Donavan, who was born September 22, 1841, in New Brunswick, daughter of Patrick and Julia (Coughlin) Donavan). Patrick was a mason and stone cutter, and a great traveler. He lived successively in New Brunswick (Canada), Fall River (Mass.), Richmond (Vt.), Rensselaer county (N. Y.), Willimantic (Conn.), Upper Canada near the Suspension bridge, and in various points in Ohio. In the fall of 1854 he came with his family to Waupaca, Wis., and later bought forty acres in Lanark township, Portage county, also pre-empting 120 acres and making the first improvements on the farm. The family first lived in Lanark township in a shanty twelve feet square, boarded up and down, and here during severe winters they suffered little from the cold as the house was so small it was easily kept warm. Mr. and Mrs. Donavan had ten children — five sons and five daughters. The parents both died in Lanark township, the father at the age of seventy-five, and the mother when fifty-three. Mrs. Barr when a girl of fourteen summers worked away from home, and as a domestic received wages as low as fifty cents per week. After marriage Mr. Barr began housekeeping in Section 21, Lanark township; in 1873 he removed to Section 19, Belmont township, where he had purchased 160 acres, and has lived here since. His four living children — John, William, Jessie L. and Allan — are all at home; three children, Robert, Anna and Jane, died young. Since coming to Belmont township, Mr. Barr has engaged solely in farming, and has erected all the substantial buildings which the farm now possesses. He is a great reader, and always has daily and weekly newspapers in his home. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Mrs. Arabella Beggs, who now conducts a large and excellent farm in Almond township, Portage county, is the worthy representative of an early and influential pioneer family of this locality. She was born in Freemansburg, Penn., August 27, 1839, daughter of Jeremiah and Caroline (Merrill) Roseberry. Jeremiah Roseberry was born in Warren county, N. J., August 15, 1812, son of Michael and Margaret (Mackey) Roseberry. Caroline Merrill, a native of Pennsylvania, was the daughter of Otis and Susanna (Ravenau) Merrill. To Jeremiah and Caroline Roseberry were born eleven children, as follows: Freelove E., who died at the age of sixteen years; Arabella, subject of this sketch; Anna M., now Mrs. Leman Pratt, of Minnesota; Charles O., who died in Andersonville prison during the Civil war; Robert I., a farmer of Pine Grove township; George A., deceased; Laura J., now Mrs. William Beggs, of Plainfield; William M., deceased; John A., deceased; Lillie M., deceased; Harriet, now Mrs. Everett Beggs, living on the old Roseberry homestead in Pine Grove township. Jeremiah Roseberry was a physician, practicing at Alexandria, Va., in 1854. Ill health induced him to abandon his profession, and to seek renewed strength in the great pineries of the Northwest. Accordingly in that year he migrated with his family to Wisconsin, and took up a farm in Pine Grove township, Portage county, of 150 acres mostly covered with oak openings. Dr. Roseberry remained a resident of the farm until his death, December 3, 1888, at the age seventy-six years. He bore a high reputation for honesty and fair dealing, and was a successful and influential citizen of the new country, respected and esteemed by all who knew him.
Arabella Roseberry was fifteen years of age when she came with her parents to Wisconsin. She had meager opportunities for a finished education, yet from her native intelligence, and from her association with her father, who was a cultured man, she fared much better by way of education than many others whose lot was cast in the pioneer land. She was married to James Beggs, and with him began housekeeping on his farm in Pine Grove township. In 1864 James Beggs enlisted in Company F, Fifth Wis. V. I., and was mustered into the service at Madison; his brother Albert was in the same regiment. The regiment was pushed right to the front, and at Petersburg Albert was killed by a Rebel bullet. James Beggs served in Virginia until the surrender of Lee's army, the crowning victory of Northern arms, which was witnessed by Mr. Beggs. After his return from the army he bought 140 acres of land in Almond township, Portage county, which is a portion of the farm now occupied by Mrs. Beggs. He removed there with his wife, and engaged in practical farming, adding to his possessions until at the time of his death, January 3, 1890, they had reached 200 acres. The death of Mr. Beggs was hastened by injuries which he had received in the army. It was a severe blow to the bereaved wife and family. In politics Mr. Beggs was a Democrat. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Beggs are Charles A., a bookkeeper of Plainfield; Harmon H., of Almond township; and Frank R. The latter was married February 22, 1892, to Miss Maggie Gould, who was born in Canada, near Ontario, December 29, 1871, daughter of Robert and Jane (Livingston) Gould, whose eight children are John, Lizzie, Jane, Maggie, William, Margie, Mary and Lottie. At the time of her marriage Maggie Gould was a school teacher. Frank R. and Maggie Beggs have one child, Genevieve. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
John Boursier, Jr.
John Boursier, Jr., one of the representative young farmers of Stockton township, Portage county, and one of its most prosperous citizens, was born August 21, 1852, son of John Boursier, Sr., who is one of the earliest pioneers in that part of the county. The father was born in LaPrairie, near the St. Lawrence river, June 2, 1819. His father, whose name was also John, was a farmer in ordinary circumstances, and had a large family. He was twice married, and John is now the only surviving child by the first marriage. When fourteen years of age, or in 1833, the latter left home. His mother had died when he was two years old, and his step-mother reared him. The lad made his way westward to Detroit, and after working there on the lakes some time he walked the entire distance to Chicago, and grubbed in what is now that city. He was of a roving disposition as a boy, and in his wanderings reached Manitowoc, Wis. Working there four months, he went to Green Bay. Then he went afoot to the mining regions of Illinois and Iowa. In the spring he rafted on the Mississippi river as far as St. Louis, and at Prairie du Chien, Wis., he was sick five months with ague. Proceeding to Galena, Ill., he hired out to Robert Bloomer, a lumber operator, and with three others walked thence to Portage county, Wis., where he learned of certain dissatisfaction in the lumber country, and he walked to Green Bay. Next proceeding to Wood county, Wis., in 1839, he worked in the woods until 1850. In 1849 he bought eighty acres in Section 32, of what is now Stockton township, Portage county, buying it as a claim, and securing title for it and an adjoining eighty acres from the government, in 1852.
Mr. Boursier was married, July 26, 1847, at Mill Creek, Wood county, to Miss Mary Young, born July 26, 1827, in Corina, Me., and daughter of Simon and Lois (Knowles) Young, who in 1838 removed from Maine to Illinois. Miss Young, with a brother, was visiting in Mill Creek, and while en route she first met her husband. After marriage he lived in a log house on Mill creek until he removed to his farm in Stockton township, April 18, 1850, at which time there was no building on the farm and but one house on "the prairie." Their first house was a shanty 12 x 16. Mr. Boursier was a strong man physically, and proceeded at once to improve the farm. For forty-five years he has lived here, a longer residence, perhaps, than anyone else in the township can claim. Starting with eighty acres, he now owns 320, well improved. In politics he is a Democrat, and while not a member of the Church, attends the services of Protestant denomination. Socially he is a Mason. He has met with many reverses. Twice he was burned out. When the "Old Horicon" railroad was projected he, with many others, pledged assistance; it cost him $2,000. In 1892 Mr. Boursier retired from active farm work. The winter of 1891-92 he spent with his wife in California. He has been a self-made man in the full sense of the word, and has done Spartan service in developing the material interests of Stockton township. He possesses a rare sense of personal honor, and when his home was burned he felt compelled to decline the generous offers of friends to assist him in rebuilding, preferring to bear the entire cost himself. The children of John and Mary Boursier are as follows: Arvesta, now Mrs. Orleziam DeRosier, of Stockton; Arvilla, now Mrs. Thomas H. Hackett, of Escondido, Cal.; Zoa J., now Mrs. Warren Onan, of Buena Vista township; John, a farmer, subject of this sketch.
John Boursier, Jr. has always lived at home, attending the district schools and assisting his father until the latter's retirement, several years ago, since when he has conducted the farm. He was married, December 25, 1874, at Plover, to Miss Elizabeth Baker, born December 3, 1857, in Tioga county, Penn., daughter of James H. and Eliza (Bartlett) Baker, who in 1863 removed with their family to Wisconsin. Mrs. Boursier has a good education, and before her marriage she taught school. To Mr. and Mrs. Boursier have been born four children — Myra M., a teacher, born in August, 1875, now attending Normal school; Grace E., also a teacher, born in June, 1878, a student at Stevens Point Normal; Clair J., born in April, 1880, and Cecil F., born April 30, 1885, both at home. Mr. Boursier is a Democrat in politics, has Protestant sympathies, and is a member of the Masonic order. He is an enterprising and progressive farmer, popular and influential among his many friends. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
It seems to be the mission of some lives to show the possibilities of human nature, to show how, for example, a young man, without advantages of any kind, may so seize the present, so adapt himself to circumstances, and then mold those circumstances to his own well-being, that he rides ever upon the crest of the wave, and steers the fragile bark of human endeavor through the tossing sea of adverse fate into the harbor of peace and plenty. There are men so wise and prudent, so determined and energetic, that they would succeed in any sphere of life, and one of them is he whose name appears above. Antoni Breitenstein is the son of a poor peasant of Alsace, France (now Germany), Michael Breitenstein, who had met with business reverses in his native land, and who in February, 1843, resolved to mend his fortunes in America. He had barely means enough to make the journey with his wife, Catherine (Goss), and two children, Antoni and Barbara. Antoni was born April 11, 1830, and was therefore only twelve years of age when he took passage from Havre with his parents and sister, in the American sailing vessel "St. Nicholas," which, after a passage of thirty-five days, landed them at New York. They reached Pittsburg, Penn. with a capital of two dollars. After living with his son-in-law for some time Michael Breitenstein rented a farm in Robinson township, Allegheny Co., Penn., near Pittsburg, and three years later, while pulling sweet potatoes, he was bitten in the hand by a copperhead snake. Despite the best medical aid the wound resulted fatally, several days afterward. Misfortunes multiplied, for the mother died several weeks later, after a brief illness, and a daughter, Mary, was called away at about the same time. Michael Breitenstein and wife were members of the Catholic Church, and were buried in Troy Hill Cemetery, Allegheny. Of their ten children six died young; Mary married in Alsace, and died in Pittsburg; Lawrence, an officer in the French army, died in the service; Antoni and Barbara were the sole survivors, the latter being now Mrs. Lawrence Hagennauer, of Pittsburg. Our subject was sixteen years old when thus orphaned. He had mastered the English language within six weeks after he reached America, and in a year his foreign nativity could not be detected from his conversation. Though still a boy, he resolved to continue the gardening life of his parents. He was industrious and energetic, and felt competent for the work. He hired help, and had credit, and for a term of years successfully carried on the business, each year adding to his capital. He was married, in February, 1854, at Birmingham, a suburb of Pittsburg, to Miss Mary Beck, who was born in Wurtemberg, Germany, in 1832, daughter of Witbold and Theresa (Biechle) Beck, and who at the age of eighteen, with a brother and sister, crossed the ocean from Havre to New York in twenty-one days, and settled in Pittsburg, where another brother then lived. At the time of his marriage Mr. Breitenstein was a well-to-do young man. He was well equipped with farming tools, and by his good management and industry had prospered. He continued farming in the Chartiers Valley, Allegheny Co., Penn., until February, 1865, when he migrated to what is now Stockton township, Portage Co., Wis.; while still at Pittsburg he had bought land in Marathon county, but he never lived there. He came with his family to Wisconsin by rail as far as Berlin, then the northern terminus of the railroad, and by team continued the journey to Stevens Point with his family, then consisting of five children. For six years he lived near Stockton station, then moved to Section 6, same township, where he has since remained. He erected the first building on the place. His first 160 acres were enlarged by subsequent purchases until Mr. Breitenstein owned 720 acres. This has now been reduced to 560 acres by donations to his children. His family is as follows: Lawrence, proprietor of a planing-mill at Knowlton, Wis.; Lena, now Mrs. John Gerdes, of Stevens Point; Louisa, at home; Michael, a telegraph operator; Antoni W., a potato merchant of Stockton and Custer, Wis.; Richard, a carpenter and merchant of Stevens Point, member of the firm of Breitenstein & Gerdes; Charles, an operator; Mary, at home. In politics Mr. Breitenstein was once an active Democrat, but he is now to some degree an independent, and votes in local elections for the better candidate, regardless of politics. He has declined office himself, preferring to devote his time to personal business. Himself and family are members of the Catholic Church. Mr. Breitenstein is one of Stockton's best farmers, and he owes his prosperity to his own efforts. He never attended an English school. His struggle in early years was a bitter one, and the manner in which he has attained his comfortable competence has won for him the respect and esteem of all who know him. His sons and daughters are prosperous young men and women, and though sixty-five years have come and gone in the life of this worthy man he still has a large reserve fund of vitality. He can yet, if he so elects, perform any kind of farm work. His good wife has nobly borne her share of toil and responsibility in life's hard battle, and enjoys equally with her husband the esteem and best wishes of her many acquaintances. Had his early advantages been better, it is impossible to say what wider sphere in life Mr. Breitenstein might not, with his native talents, have creditably filled. But in the life which he has lived none could more manfully have met and overcome the bars to deserved good fortune. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Hon. Webster E. Brown
Among the significant names in the lumber industry of northern Wisconsin, especially along the Wisconsin River Valley, none has been more prominent during the last forty years than that of Brown. The late Edward Dexter Brown was the man whose energies and remarkable business ability first gave the name its wide-spread importance in the state, and during his lifetime and since his death his son has taken up and extended the various activities which are familiarly associated, in the minds of all old-timers, with this name.
One of the sons of the late Dexter E.. Brown is Hon. Webster E. Brown of the firm of Brown Brothers Lumber Company at Rhinelander, a member of other industrial and financial concerns, and a former congressman, serving as a member of the Fifty-seventh. Fifty-eighth and Fifty-ninth Congresses, from 1901 to 1907. He was first sent to Washington as representative of the Tenth Wisconsin Congressional District, and while he was in the office the district was reorganized, and his became the Eleventh District. Webster E. Brown was born in Peterboro, Madison county, New York, July 16, 1851, a son of Edward Dexter and Helen M. (Anderson) Brown. When Webster E. Brown was five years old the family moved to Portage county, Wisconsin, locating on a farm near Stevens Point. His father at once became identified with lumbering operations in that section of the state, and from that time forward the name has always been potent in lumber circles in Wisconsin. On the home farm in Portage Webster E. Brown was reared until he was sixteen years of age, and in the meantime attended the country schools. His education was advanced by attendance for a year and a half at Lawrence University, at Appleton, after which he entered the University of Wisconsin at Madison, and was graduated in the class of 1874. Mr. Brown has been actively connected with lumbering in all its departments since 1875. In that year with his elder brother, A. W. Brown he went into the business at Stevens Point, and in 1882 these two brothers moved to Rhinelander, where their father had entered land direct from the government, including the site of the present city of Rhinelander. Their industrial plant established at Rhinelander was one of the first and the most important of local enterprises. Their younger brother E. O. Brown joined them in 1881, and since that time the three brothers have been very extensively interested in lumbering, banking, manufacturing, and other development work in northern Wisconsin.
During the early eighties, the Brown Brothers, then under the firm name of E. D. Brown & Sons, established at Rhinelander, a private bank, which in 1890 was incorporated under the name of the Merchants State Bank, of which Mr. E. O. Brown is now president, and of which Webster E. Brown has been a director since its organization. Mr. Brown is vice president and treasurer of the firm of Brown Brothers Lumber Company, concerning whose operations more is said in the sketch of Mr. A. W. Brown elsewhere in this work. Mr. Brown is a director in the Rhinelander' Refrigerator Company, a director in the Rhinelander Paper Company, is president of the Rhinelander Power Company, president of the Wisconsin Valley Improvement Company, the headquarters of which concern are in Wausau, Wisconsin.
On December 26, 1877, at Lancaster, Wisconsin, Webster E. Brown married Juliet D. Meyer, a daughter of Richard Meyer. They are the parents of five children : Ralph D., Edna M., Dorothy, Richard M., and Allan C. Mr. Brown is a member of the Masonic Order, and throughout his career since casting his first vote has been a stanch supporter of the Republican party and its basic principles. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Hon. George W. Cate
STEVENS POINT: Judge Cate sprang from good patriotic stock; his grandfather serving seven years in the struggle for American independence, and his father, Isaac Gate, being a non-commissioned officer in the second war with the mother country. The Gate family belonged to the yeomanry of Vermont, and the subject of this sketch was born at Montpelier, September 17, 1825. The maiden name of his mother was Clarissa McKnight. He aided his father on the farm, and attended a common school until his seventeenth year, when he commenced studying law with Luther B. Peck, of Montpelier, teaching school, meanwhile, during the winters. He was admitted to the bar at twenty-one years of age, and in the autumn of 1848 removed to Wisconsin and began the practice of law at Plover, Portage County, remaining there about two years; he then removed to Stevens Point, his present home. He was elected district attorney about 1850, and served two years; was a member of the general assembly in 1851 and 1852, and one of the managers of the impeachment trial of Judge Hubbell. On the 4th of January 1854, he went upon the bench of the seventh judicial circuit, and occupied it constantly until the 4th of March 1875, when he resigned to take a seat in congress, representing the eighth district, and serving one term. While in the house of representatives he occupied a prominent position among the new members, and was strongly opposed to the appointment of an electoral commission, for the reason that he considered that the power to count the votes was delegated to the two houses, and that the appointment of such a commission was unwise and impolitic. Judge Cate was a democrat until the opening of the rebellion, and believed in a united North until the Union was restored. He voted for Mr. Lincoln in 1864, and for General Grant in 1868, but has since acted with the opposition to the administration.
He is a believer in the Christian religion, and a member of the Episcopal Church. On the 24th of October 1850, he was married to Miss Levara S. Brown, of Stevens Point. They have had seven children, six of whom are still living.
Judge Cate has been one of the foremost men in Portage County, in encouraging enterprises tending to develop its resources. He canvassed the county in favor of the Wisconsin Central railroad, before it came to Stevens Point, and has spent much time and some money in pushing forward other local projects. As a lawyer, Judge Cate has stood for many years in the front rank in his judicial district, and during his twenty-one years on the bench has showed eminent fitness for that position, being thoroughly posted on legal questions, courteous to the bar, candid and fair in his rulings, and rarely having his decisions overruled by a higher court. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
George W. Cate
GEORGE W. CATE, Stevens Point, was born in Montpelier, Vermont, September 17, 1824, and was educated in the public schools, studied law, and was admitted to the bar at Montpelier in 1845. The same year he came to Wisconsin, and settled at Plover, where he engaged in the practice of his profession. In 1852 he was elected member of the assembly, and again in 1853. In April 1854, he was elected judge of the seventh judicial circuit, and served in that capacity until he resigned on March 4, 1875, to take his seat in the national house of representatives, to which he had been elected as a liberal reformer in November, 1875, by a majority vote of two, over A. S. McDill, who was then holding the position as a straight republican. Having served out his term in congress Judge Cate was again a candidate, but, in the meantime, the republican party had become strong enough in his district to elect one of its members. It is but due to Judge Cate to record that his course in congress was eminently clear and honorable. While in congress he strenuously opposed the formation of the electoral commission to settle the presidential question between Tilden and Hayes, and was one of the seventeen members who voted against the act creating the commission. Upon returning to private life, he entered upon the practice of law at Stevens Point, where he speedily became a leading attorney, engaged in the most important legal causes, and has the reputation among the law fraternity of a profound lawyer and successful advocate. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed Publisher (1882) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
Owen Clark, a well-known prominent and prosperous agriculturist and lumberman of Portage county, is a native of New York State, born February 15, 1840, in Oneida county, in the town of Deerfield, about one and one-half miles from Utica.
Owen Clark, father of our subject, was a farmer by occupation, and in 1849 came to Wisconsin with his children, for about one year sojourning in Milwaukee, but in the fall of 1850 entering 160 acres of land two-and-one-half miles northeast of Montello, Marquette Co., Wis. He afterward acquired more land, becoming quite an extensive farmer, and he died in the fall of 1875, when aged ninety-four years, at the home of his son Owen in Stevens Point. His wife Mary (Condon) died in New York State when our subject was between four and five years old. They were both natives of Ireland, the father being fifteen years old when he arrived on the shores of the New World, and they were married in Utica, New York. The subject proper of these lines came to the Upper Wisconsin Valley in the fall of 1856, locating in Knowlton, Marathon county, where he was engaged in lumbering both in the woods and on the river for about a year, at the end of which time he moved to Wausau, and here was given charge of a sawmill, part of the time working by contract. In February, 1864, he enlisted in Company C, Third Wis. V. I., which was attached to the First Brigade, First Division, Twentieth Army Corps, commanded by Gen. Hooker, and shortly after his enlistment he joined his regiment at Fayetteville, Tenn. After three months from his first enlistment he commenced to see active service, taking part in the battles of Buzzard's Roost and Resaca, Ga., also at Dallas, Kenesaw Mountain, and in all the engagements up to Atlanta, and was with Sherman's army on its memorable march to the sea. Mr. Clark also participated with his regiment in numerous other engagements and skirmishes from Buzzard's Roost to Atlanta, and thence to the sea; then through North and South Carolina to Washington. In fact he was with his company continually, never missing a roll-call or a meal from sickness or any other cause, and marched the entire distance, nearly three thousand miles, covered by his company in its several campaigns. He was present at the final Grand Review in Washington, May 24, 1865, and was mustered out of service in August, same year, as corporal, to which rank he had been promoted in the preceding June. Returning home, he in the spring of 1866 secured employment as general manager of the Goodhue & Bellsmir Mill on the Plover river, east of Stevens Point, where he remained over summer, and then in the fall of the same year he was employed in William Avery's mill at Stevens Point, after about a year and a half buying the mill, which he operated for his own account until the spring of 1891, when it was destroyed by fire. Since then he has been retired from the lumber business, and has devoted his time and attention exclusively to his farm of 420 acres just west and adjoining the city limits of Stevens Point.
On November 30, 1867, Mr. Clark was united in marriage with Miss Anna E. Gardiner, daughter of John W. and Lucinda M. (Raney) Gardiner, the former of whom was born in Cherry Valley, N. Y., of English origin and of patriotic Revolutionary stock, grandfather Gardiner (who was a brother of Lord James Gardiner) having served in the war of Independence. He was living at Cherry Valley at the time of the Indian massacre at that place, but was absent, serving in Washington's army, his wife, children and servant being left at home. The latter reported to Mrs. Gardiner that the Indians were coming, and the mother escaped into the woods with her children, where they remained in hiding, and she had frequently to stifle the cries of the youngest one by stuffing her apron into its mouth, fearing the savages might hear it. John Gardiner, son of this Revolutionary warrior, and father of John W. Gardiner, served in the war of 1812, participating in the battle of Lundy's Lane. John W. Gardiner, when a young man, went to Lower Canada (now Province of Quebec) and there married Lucinda M. Raney. In 1839 he came to Wisconsin, locating at Evansville, Rock county, where he erected a gristmill and followed the milling business until 1848, the year of his coming to Stevens Point, leaving his family behind. Here he invested in several hundred acres of land, heavily timbered with pine, and in 1850 he brought his wife and ten children to their new home; the names of the latter are John W., James I., Ellen, Jane M., Emeline, Elizabeth M., Almond, Anna E., Henrietta and Franklin. Of these John and Almond were soldiers in the Union army, the latter enlisting when but sixteen years old. Mr. Gardiner was engaged in the lumber business on a large scale, and became very successful; he was public-spirited and popular, much given to works of benevolence, and he donated the timber for the building of the first Methodist Church and the first Episcopal Church buildings ever erected at Stevens Point. In 1851 he built the residence (now occupied by his widow) on the south side of Main street, between George and Church streets. He was killed by an accident, in 1852, while running his lumber over the Little Ball Falls, Wisconsin river, and was buried under the auspices of the Temperance Society, of which he was an ardent member. The children that have come to the marriage of Mr. and Mrs. Clark are Byron F., born August 15, 1869, educated at Notre Dame, Ind.; Hallie M., born July 27, 1874, now attending Knox College at Galesburg, Ill.; Owen W., born November 29, 1877, and Raney J., born July 12, 1880, all living at home except Hallie M., as above mentioned. Politically Mr. Clark is a Democrat, has served as alderman of Stevens Point sixteen years, as mayor three terms, and is now serving his fourth. Socially, he is a member of the G. A. R., Stevens Post No. 156, of which he has been commander three times, and is now serving the fourth time. He is a thoroughly representative, progressive and liberal-minded American citizen. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
David R. Clements
STEVENS POINT: David Robbins Clements, son of Peter and Lydia (McBridge) Clements, was born in Pinkney, Lewis County, New York, December 14, 1819. Both his parents were natives of Saratoga County, New York. His paternal grandfather was a native of Germany, while his maternal grandfather was born in the north of Ireland. His mother was an active member of the Baptist Church, and took especial care to instill wholesome moral sentiments into the minds of her children, she having six sons (of whom David was the fourth) and two daughters. The father of our subject was a farmer, but David early found farm work ill suited to his tastes, and at fourteen years of age, after receiving a fair common school education, entered a store at South Rutland, Jefferson County. He remained in that situation a little less than two years, and at the expiration of that time accepted a similar position at Belleville, in the same county, having the charge of a store, after a few months, and remaining there between three and four years. He afterward spent about a year in Portage County, Ohio, teaching a part of the time; also one season at Fawn River, Michigan, buying grain for another party; and after a brief trip to Middletown, Connecticut, in the interests of the same party, he went to Chicago, in 1845, and dealt in goods for two years in the firm of Miller and Clements. On the 6th of December 1847, Mr. Clements pitched his tent in Wausau, at that time in Portage, now in Marathon County, Wisconsin. There he was engaged in lumbering for three years with only moderate success, money in those days being very scarce in the upper Wisconsin Valley. In 1851 he moved down the river to Stevens Point, his present home where, together with his lumber trade, he has combined merchandising, and recently has engaged to some extent in farming. He has twenty-three forties in one farm, seven miles east of Stevens Point, and sixteen miles of as good fence as the State can exhibit, and thirty acres of hops, being the leading hop grower in those parts. He is still extensively engaged in lumbering, however, and in that business has had his greatest success. As a citizen he is very active, public spirited and enterprising, and withal a splendid financier. Mr. Clements was chairman of the Portage County board of supervisors at an early day; he was sheriff in 1858 and 1859, and a member of the general assembly in 1872 and 1873. As a legislator his business tact and practical common sense were of great service. On the 29th of December 1862, he was united in marriage with Miss Eva Harvey, of Compton, Canada, then Canada East. They have lost one child, and have two bright and promising daughters, aged respectively thirteen and eleven. Mrs. Clements is a woman of much refinement of taste and manners, and a true Christian, and is thoroughly devoted to the interests of her little family. [Source: The US Biological Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
Francis Vivian Comfort
COMFORT, Francis Vivian. Stillwater. Res 1204 3d av S. office 226 E Myrtle st. Lawyer. Born Aug 7, 1853 in Mineral Point Wis, son of Amzi W and Eliza (Vanorman) Comfort. Married Sept 20, 1883 to Elise T Hebenstreit. Educated in the common and high schools Portage Wis. Moved to Stillwater 1872 and studied law in the office of Hon R R Murdock. Admitted to bar 1878. Began practice with O H Comfort under the firm name of O H & F V Comfort which firm continued until 1880; Comfort, Gregory & Comfort 1880-82; Gregory & Comfort until 1885 ; practiced alone 1885-86; Comfort & Comfort 1886-87; alone until 1894; Comfort & Wilson 1894-97 and has been engaged alone since that time. Former city atty Stillwater. Member Washington Light Guards of Stillwater 1879-81; member American Minnesota State and Washington county Bar assns and Sons of the American Revolution. [Source: Little Sketches of Big Folks in Minnesota (Publ. 1907) Transcribed by Liz Dellinger]
Richard A. Cook
Richard A. Cook, proprietor of the Central City Iron Works, at Stevens Point, Portage county, is a highly esteemed citizen and one of the leading manufacturers in that city. He was born of English ancestry in Netherton, near Huddersfield, England, May 24, 1850, and is a son of John and Jane Cook, who were the parents of five children, three of whom survive, namely: Richard A.; Mary Etta, wife of John D. Shaffer, a prominent dry-goods merchant of Stevens Point, and George W., a machinist and roundhouse foreman on the Wisconsin Central railroad at Waukesha, Waukesha county, Wisconsin. John Cook, with his family, came to the United States about the year 1855, located in Burlington, Racine county, Wis., and there pursued his vocation of woolen manufacturer. In 1866 he removed with his family to Fond du Lac, Fond du Lac county, and died there soon afterward; his widow still survives, and resides in Stevens Point. The son, Richard A., who was a five-year-old lad when the family came to the United States, was reared and educated in Burlington, Racine Co., Wis., went to Fond du Lac with his parents in 1866, there learned the trade of machinist, and resided there until 1875. In that year he removed to Stevens Point, where, in connection with Daniel Seyler, he purchased the Pinery Iron Works, and conducted business under the firm name of Seyler & Cook for four years. About 1879 this partnership was dissolved and a new one formed with George A. Packard, under the firm name of R. A. Cook & Co., under which the business was carried on until 1883, when Mr. Cook purchased Mr. Packard's share in the business. The works were destroyed by fire in October, 1889, and during the following summer the extensive establishment known as the Central City Iron Works was erected.
In April, 1882, at Sheboygan Falls, Sheboygan Co., Wis., Richard A. Cook was united in marriage with Miss Eliza A. Trowbridge, and two children were born to them, one of whom survives, Alice Estelle. Mrs. Cook died at Stevens Point, October 4, 1888, and May 19, 1890, Mr. Cook married Miss Delia E. Damp, of Oshkosh, to which union has been born one child, Ralph A. Mr. Cook is a member of Evergreen Lodge, No. 93, F. & A. M., of Crusade Commandery, No. 17, and of Forest Chapter. He is a stanch Republican in his political views; in religious affiliation the family attend the Episcopal Church. Mr. Cook has the most extensive and best equipped foundry in Stevens Point, if not in the whole of northern Wisconsin, turns out everything connected with sawmill and gristmill machinery, as well as other classes of iron work, and furnishes the Wisconsin Central Railroad Company with all their castings, with the exception of car-wheels. He is a prosperous and progressive manufacturer, of unusual culture and brilliant faculties, takes a deep interest in matters tending to the welfare of the city and county generally; is represented in the city council from the Second ward, having been elected at the last election for the term of two years. Mr. Cook has a high character for honesty and integrity, and his genial manner has won him hosts of friends. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Walter Dickson Corrigan
Walter Dickson Corrigan has been engaged in the practice of law since 1897. He has attained high rank in his profession through his learning, industry, ability and character, while he is no less valued in the community as a liberal-minded and enterprising citizen. Belonging to that class of professional men who value their education the more because it has been self-gained, his career since early boyhood has been one of tireless industry and well-directed effort, finally resulting in the attainment of well-deserved success. He is now a member of the leading law firm of Glicksman, Gold & Corrigan. Mr. Corrigan is a native son of Wisconsin, having been born December 28, 1875, in the town of Almond, Portage County. Be is of Irish and Scotch-English descent. He was reared to manhood on a Portage County farm, by his grandfather, Walter Dickson, who had come as a pioneer to Wisconsin in 1844, and his early education was secured in the district schools of that vicinity. A youth of ambitious ideas. he early decided upon the law as his life work, and with that end in view, devoted himself assiduously to his tasks on the farm and as a school teacher, to secure the necessary means with which to secure an education. After attending the high schools of Grand Rapids and Almond, Wisconsin, Mr. Corrigan entered the Iowa State College, Ames, Iowa, and on graduation therefrom continued to pursue his studies in Drake University, Des Moines, Iowa, where he received his law degree in 1896. At twenty-one years of age, he was admitted to the bar and establish himself in practice in Waushara county. Central Wisconsin was his field of endeavor until September 1, 1905, when his advent in Milwaukee occurred. In October, 1906, he became general attorney for the Wisconsin Central Railway Company, and November 1, 1908, was made general solicitor for that road, but resigned his position May 1, 1909, to enter general practice as a member of the firm of Glicksman, Gold & Corrigan, with which firm he has ever since been connected. Mr. Corrigan 's inclinations have led him to engage chiefly in what is known as trial work, and he has become distinguished in this line throughout the Northwest. He was district attorney of Waushara county from January. 1899. to January. 1901. and assistant attorney general of Wisconsin from January. 1903, to September 1, 1905, when he resigned to commence practice in Milwaukee. He has had no ambition for mere office holding. Within the last few years he has declined to be considered for several important offices, including judgeships, and these declinations have come when there was more than fair promise of success. He has. however, been more or less active for years in giving such time as he could spare to the movement in Wisconsin generally known as the Progressive Republican movement. He has been a member of the Republican State Central Committee, and is a highly regarded and very effective campaign speaker. He has, however, made all activities subservient to his professional duties. He has been a member of the Odd Fellows since 1897; the Masons since 1898. and the Elks since 1903. In the matter of religion, to note Mr. Corrigan 's own words: "Like unto each and every man, I have my own religion." He has a beautiful home on Whitefish Bay, suburban to Milwaukee. His business offices are at 625-630 Caswell Block. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
John S. Cowan
John S. Cowan, who is one of the most enterprising farmers of Almond township, Portage county, has thoroughly experienced in his career as a pioneer the vicissitudes and hardships which are inseparable from life on the outskirts of civilization, and has lived to witness the wonderful development of the Upper Wisconsin Valley. He was born in Oshkosh, April 18, 1849, son of James and Mary (West) Cowan, natives of County Armagh, Ireland, who in 1828 emigrated to America. From Montreal they went to Genesee, N. Y., whence Mr. Cowan moved to Rochester, N. Y., and afterward to Erie, Penn., where he was engaged on the Erie canal. He then went to Warren, Trumbull Co., Ohio, where he bought a small unimproved farm, and began to clear it. In 1846 he pre-empted and occupied 120 acres of land in Algoma township, Winnebago county, near Oshkosh. That city then consisted of one store and one blacksmith shop. Settlers were few, and wild beasts abounded in the unbroken forests. Mr. Cowan came from Ohio in company with Noah and Clark Miles. He began life in Wisconsin without a team, but prospered and remained on the homestead in Algoma township until his death, April 14, 1882, the wife surviving him until October 27, 1889. Their children were Jane, now Mrs. D. B. Frost; Margaret (deceased); David; William (also deceased); Sarah; Mary Ellen; Martha; William, now with his brother John; Jefferson; John S., the subject of this sketch; and West, who occupies the old homestead in Winnebago county.
In his boyhood John S. Cowan attended the public schools, also the city high school, and graduated from the business college at Oshkosh. In 1870 he left his father's home and came to Almond township, Portage county, where for three years he was in the employ of his sister, who was then a widow. In 1873 he went to Lincoln county, S. Dak., and homesteaded a farm of 160 acres, consisting of prairie land. He remained here, engaged in wheat growing, until December 1, 1876. Mr. Cowan was married March 16, 1876, to Etta Frost, daughter of Locke and Maria J. (Frost) Frost, who emigrated to Wisconsin from Arlington, Mass. Taking his bride to the Dakota home Mr. Cowan remained there until the following winter, when, his wife being homesick and not liking the new country, they decided to return to Wisconsin. Starting in December they made the entire journey in an emigrant wagon, using sled runners when the snow permitted, and were seventeen days in reaching Almond township, Portage county. Until the following spring Mr. and Mrs. Cowan remained with her parents, then purchased from Mr. Frost a farm of 120 acres in Sections 22 and 27, Almond township. About forty acres were cleared and in good farming condition. Mr. Cowan constructed a frame house, 16 X 24, which is now a portion of their residence. Here they started anew in life. The team with which they drove through from Dakota, they lost, and the only stock they had on the new farm was a colt given them by his father. Plainfield, the nearest market, was eight miles distant. The work of clearing proceeded slowly but surely, and to-day Mr. Cowan has his whole farm under cultivation. In 1884 he purchased seventy acres of additional land, covered with hardwood timber, and easy to clear. In 1885 he made a one-and-a-half-story addition, 18.x 26, to his house. He built a substantial barn, 24 x 36, and each year has witnessed new improvements. Mr. and Mrs. Cowan have two children: Wayne F., born January 15, 1879, and Etta Irene, born July 14, 1881, both at home, and attending school. The son is at this writing preparing to enter the Normal school at Stevens Point, in 1895. Mr. and Mrs. Cowan are Spiritualists, and in politics he is a Republican. He was town clerk four years, and has served as assessor two terms. He was appointed chairman in 1893 to fill a vacancy, and in the following year was elected to that office. He is now serving his second year as school district clerk. Mr. Cowan is one of the prominent citizens of Almond township, and one of its most influential farmers.
Major Henry Curran, senior member of the widely-known firm of H. & J. D. Curran, the popular and genial proprietors of the "Curran House," Stevens Point, Portage county, is a native of the State of Illinois, born in Winnebago county, near Mt. Carroll, January 1, 1841. The grandfather of our subject, also named Henry, who was a man of no small degree of prominence, descended from a distinguished family in Ireland, and was a well-to-do agriculturist in that country, owning eighty acres of land, besides renting other farmsteads. He came to this country with his family, and died at the home of his son John, at Plover, Portage Co., Wis., in 1849, at a very advanced age; his wife had preceded him to the grave in Ireland. John Curran, the son just referred to, was born in County Carlow, Ireland, and came to the United States in 1830, locating in Illinois, near Mt. Carroll. At Galena, in that State, he married Miss Mary Ann Code, a native of Missouri, and they had four children. The father came to Plover, Wis., in 1847, becoming an Indian trader in the Wisconsin Valley, and in Plover he opened a general supply store which he operated until a short time before his death, which occurred November 2, 1852, caused by neuralgia of the heart. His widow died in June, 1856, and they as well as his father, sleep their last sleep in the Plover burying ground. They were all members of the Roman Catholic Church, and all died in that faith.
The subject proper of this memoir received a fairly liberal education at the common schools of Plover, Wis., and at the early age of twelve years commenced to "hustle" for himself. When fourteen he began lumbering, part of his duties being the running of lumber down the Wisconsin river as far as St. Louis, Mo.; and he so continued until the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion when he enlisted May 10, 1861, at Madison, Wis., in company E (a Jeffersonville company), Fifth Wis. V. I., which soon afterward was sent to the front, the first active hostilities our subject participated in being at Centerville, Va., in a skirmish with the enemy. He served until July, 1864, his term of enlistment then expiring. Veteranizing, he re-enlisted September 30, 1864, becoming sergeant-major of the re-organized Fifth Wis. V. I., in December, 1864, in which he was promoted to second lieutenant of Company A; in February, 1865, he was further promoted to captain of Company G, and, finally, after the battles of Petersburg and Sailors Creek, "for gallant and meritorious conduct," he was brevetted major. He served faithfully and well to the close of the war, being mustered out in June, 1865. Major Curran participated in all the battles of the army of the Potomac (except that of first Bull Run) up to May 5, 1864, the day he was wounded at the battle of the Wilderness, a minie ball striking him in the left leg below the knee, which laid him up till the middle of the following July; he was also injured in the same battle, on the stomach, by a bullet striking the brass plate of his belt with terrific force, causing a severe and painful contusion; afterward, from November, 1864, to the close of the campaign, he participated in all the battles fought by the army of the Potomac. The brevet commission was given to our subject for the following acts of bravery: at Petersburg the command led by him was the first to enter the enemy's works at the storming of the place; at Sailors Creek, Capt. Curran and his command were in charge of the skirmish line on the enemy's left, when, just toward the close of the battle. Gen. Ewell, of the Confederate service, and staff raised a white flag as a signal of truce. Thereupon Capt. Curran detailed Sergt. Cameron of Company A to meet Gen. Ewell and see what he wanted; the sergeant did so, and returned with Ewell and his entire staff who desired to surrender, and were accordingly sent to the rear to report to Gen. Wright or to Gen. Sheridan, and soon afterward Ewell surrendered with his army of 7,000 men (this was April 6, 1865, three days before Gen. Lee's surrender); after this engagement had been in progress some time, Col. T. S. Allen, commanding the Fifth Wis. V. I., asked Capt. Curran if he would not charge the enemy's skirmish line, and drive them in or capture them, to which the Captain responded that he "would try," so, taking Companies G and A, he advanced on the Rebels in skirmishing order, drove in the picket line and took many prisoners. The Major participated in the Grand Review held at Washington in 1865.
On returning to civil life Major Curran resumed citizenship in Portage county, first in the capacity of manager of "Phelps' Hotel," Stevens Point, so continuing until December 2, 1866, when he bought the hotel he has since successfully conducted in partnership with J. D. Curran. On October 11, 1866, he was united in marriage with Miss Addie Walker, daughter of James Walker, and three children were born to them as follows: John D., a graduate of Stevens Point High School, also of St. John's Military Academy at Delafield, Wis., and was a teacher in that institution for two years (he is now attending Wisconsin State University); Florence Gratia and Henry, Jr., both at home; they have also an adopted son, Russell W. Walker, whom they reared as their own from the age of two years, is now a resident of Astoria, Oreg., and is studying law. Major Curran is a Republican, filled the position of alderman at Stevens Point some fifteen years, and is looked upon as one of the most substantial men of the place, standing high in the community, has always been active in politics and influential in the affairs of his party. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
James B. Dawley
There is more of the romantic and pathetic in some life histories than in others, yet if the depths of each could be sounded rommance might perhaps be found in all. But however that may be, it is certain that the early struggles of the Dawley family in Portage county, and the golden character thereby developed from the straits into which these pioneers were forced by circumstances makes an appealing and interesting recital. It is the story of a man who, on the verge of the grave, comes into a wilderness, and with almost superhuman efforts seeks to make a home for his wife and little ones before death takes him away, and then of the brave efforts made by the widow to continue the toilsome undertaking thus inaugurated. The subject of this sketch was born in Providence, R. I., June 12, 1850, son of Jesse B. and Lydia (Searles) Dawley, both natives of Rhode Island. Jesse B. Dawley was born May 9, 1823, his wife September 5, 1822. He was a carpenter and joiner, practically without means, and a victim of consumption. Yearning for a home of his own he in the fall of 1852 with his wife and family, then consisting of two sons, started from Newport, R. I., for Providence, same State, from which city he embarked for Milwaukee. Three days later he was in Jefferson county, Wis., with fifty cents in his pocket. For a year he supported his family here by day's work, then in October, 1853, he pushed northward to what is now Section 6, Stockton township, Portage county. It was then in a primitive condition. Not a stick of timber had been cut. Mr. Dawley had for a little while indulged the fond delusion that the change of climate might benefit his health, but this was quickly dispelled, and his only aim was to secure a home for his family. He knew nothing of farming, but he was ambitious and anxious to learn. With his own hands he built a log cabin, the first habitation on the farm. Gradually growing worse, he died August 23, 1857, and was buried in a private cemetery on the farm. A widow was left to mourn and to provide for four small children, the eldest not yet nine years of age. Inspired by her affection for the children, the brave woman struggled on amid the hardships of the frontier, beneath which men often quailed. She kept her family together, and the children appreciate her efforts. They are as follows: La Fayette D., born February 23, 1849, now a carpenter and contractor of Ada, Minn., who never learned his trade, but inherited from his father a marked mechanical ability, and whose family consists of Mabel F., Etha I., Lillian E. and Ivan B.; James B., born in Providence, R. I; Julius E., born in Jefferson county, Wis., April 23, 1852, now head clerk in a large general store at Aitkin, Minn., and who has one child, Reginald E.; Emma I., born June 29, 1854, now at home.
James B. Dawley has remained from his early boyhood until now upon the farm, excepting seventeen months, which he spent on a farm in Rock county. Wis., when he was fifteen or sixteen years old. His school advantages were meager, but, largely by his own individual study, he has picked up a common education. He was one of the three brothers who, by their united efforts, in 1870, built a good home, doing all the work themselves. James B. was married October 30, 1889, in Wautoma, to Letitia T. Cogswell, a native of that village, and daughter of Asa A. Cogswell. To Mr. and Mrs. Dawley two children have been born, Royal M. and Jessie R. In politics Mr. Dawley is a Republican. He has served as town clerk, and his reports were the best prepared of any submitted that year to the county officials. For two years he was township treasurer, and for ten years he has served as justice of the peace. For many years he has served either as clerk or as assistant clerk at all elections. In 1887 he was elected secretary of the Stockton Fire Insurance Co., and still serves in that capacity. His business calls him all over the fourteen townships of Portage county, and has given him an extensive acquaintance. In his business relations he is guided by his sense of right, and unswervingly adheres to his convictions when once formed. Mr. Dawley is one of the best citizens of the county, and has led a useful and active life. His services are sought in every movement or meeting of general interest in the township. The widowed mother still lives at the age of seventy-two years, and makes her home with her son. She is a member of the Brethren Church. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Roy K. Dorr
District manager for The Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company at Kenosha. Mr. Dorr has a place among the leaders in insurance circles in the state of Wisconsin. Born in New London, Wisconsin, February 20, 1878, Roy K. Dorr is a son of B. F. and H. C. (Chandler) Dorr. His mother was a native of the state of New Hampshire, while the father was born in 1833 at Lockport, New York, coming west with his mother and family in 1848, the same year in which Wisconsin was admitted to the Union. Grandfather Gridley Dorr, who died in New York several years previously, was born during the Revolutionary war. There were six children of B. F. and H. C. Dorr, and the only two now living are Roy K. and Mrs. Ruth D. Ralph of Green Bay. When a boy, Roy K. Dorr attended the public schools in Antigo, Wisconsin, being graduated from the Antigo High School in 1896. Subsequently he took an academic course in Beloit, and for two and a half years was a student at Beloit College. After considerable business experience, Mr. Dorr in 1912 was appointed district manager for Kenosha County by The Northwestern Mutual Life Insurance Company of Milwaukee, and is now holding up his end at Kenosha with a large record of annual business. Mr. Dorr is affiliated with the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and at Beloit College was a member of the Wisconsin Gamma Chapter of the Phi Kappa Psi. On June 11, 1910, he married Miss Helen Thiers, a daughter of Edward and Mary Thiers. They are the parents of one daughter, Mary Nicoll Dorr, born May 10, 1911. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Matthias Ellingson, who at present is living retired on his farm in New Hope township, Portage county, was born in Norway, June 23, 1838, a son of Elling and Karen (Mortonson) Johnson, natives of the same country, where the father engaged in farming, an occupation he made his life work. In the spring of 1857, accompanied by his wife and children, Mr. Johnson emigrated to America, sailing from Christiania on the "Argo," which dropped anchor in the harbor of Quebec at the end of seven weeks, and from that city they came immediately to New Hope township, Portage county, making the journey by water, rail and wagon. On his arrival the father purchased eighty acres of wild land, on which not a tree had been cut or an improvement of any kind made. After clearing enough space he built a log house, where the family lived for many years and where his death occurred. The mother then sold that place and bought another home in New Hope township, but died at the home of her son Ole. The other children of the family besides our subject, who is the eldest, were John, a farmer of Dakota, who enlisted in the Twelfth Wis. V. I. during the war of the Rebellion, and served throughout the struggle; Christian, also a farmer of Dakota; Rhoda, wife of Nels Loberg, of New Hope; and Sina, deceased wife of John Johnson.
In the common schools of his native land our subject acquired a very good education, and was reared to agricultural pursuits. After coming to America he hired out as a farm hand, and was also employed for some years in a sawmill, and in the lumber woods near Merrill, Wis. For four or five seasons before entering the Union service during the Civil war, he "ran on the river." In Scandinavia, Wis., August 27, 1864, he enlisted as a private in Company A, Forty-second Wis. V. I., under Capt. Duncan McGregor, and was enrolled for one year's service. After enlistment he went into camp at Madison, Wis., for a short time, whence he was sent to Cairo, Ill., where he remained until the close of hostilities, with the exception of an expedition he accompanied down to New Orleans, conveying prisoners. At that city they remained about four days, when they returned to Cairo. At Madison, Wis., on June 20, 1865, he was honorably discharged. On returning to New Hope township Mr. Ellingson, in company with his brother, Christian, bought 160 acres of land, of which only ten had been cleared, and, prior to his brother's going to Dakota, he purchased the latter's interest. His farm, which is located in Sections 9 and 10, is one of the best in the township, and he has built thereon a comfortable dwelling. He now makes his home with the people who have rented his farm, as he is living retired. He affiliates with the Republican party, and is one of its most active adherents, though in no sense a politician. Religiously he is a communicant of the Norwegian Lutheran Church of New Hope, and he is one of the highly esteemed and honored citizens of the neighborhood. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
General Albert G. Ellis
STEVENS POINT - Albert Gallatin Ellis was born at Verona, Oneida County, New York, August 24, 1800. William H. Ellis, his grandfather, came from Scotland, and his father, Eleazer Ellis, was born at Dedham, Massachusetts, April 25, 1766. When the subject of this sketch was born, his father (a teacher in earlier life) was opening a farm, on which Albert spent the first fifteen years of his life, with very limited opportunities for mental culture. At the age mentioned his father died, and his mother, with her two children, disposed of her small property and moved to Litchfield, Herkimer County. Thus, thrown upon his own resources, with neither money nor acquaintance with the ways of the world, but with a resolute will, Albert, in the spring of 1816, went to the village of Herkimer, and entered the office of the "Herkimer American," as an apprentice (the office where William L. Stone and Thurlow Weed had recently learned the printing business). There he remained for several years, and learned the art of printing; and by having his time to himself on Saturday afternoons, he managed, by taking in job work, to accumulate small sums, most of which he sent in weekly remittances to his mother and younger sister. He thus learned to be frugal and generous, as well as self-reliant and industrious. He also sought good associates, and followed their counsels. He attended church and laid the foundation of a solid Christian character. There, also, by associating with young men better educated than himself — notably Francis E. Spinner, his junior in years, but his superior in knowledge, — he had his ambition for higher mental attainments kindled, and he was led to make the best use of any spare moments which he could possibly command. At the close of his apprenticeship he returned to his native village, and spent six months in a grammar school, taught by Thomas T. Loomis. At the solicitation of Rev. Eleazer Williams - the imaginary "Dauphin" once supposed to be among us — he became a teacher of the Oneida Indians at Oneida Castle, commencing in November 1819, and continuing nearly three years, and becoming so familiar with the Mohawk language as to be able to read the church prayers and homilies to the Indians on Sundays when Mr. Williams was absent. In May 1822, Mr. Ellis was appointed by the Missionary Society of the Protestant Episcopal Church, catechist and lay reader to the Indians at Green Bay, and that position he held nearly five years, Mr. Williams being at the head of the Mission the first year or two. In 1827, by appointment of Lewis Cass, then governor of Michigan Territory, he was made inspector of provisions for the district of Green Bay; the next year he was appointed deputy surveyor of government lands by Surveyor general Edward Tiffin, and executed several surveys under his direction. In the autumn of 1830 he was designated to construct a map for a delegation of Menomonee Indians, visiting Washington under charge of the Indian agent, Colonel S. C. Stambaugh, and spent the following winter at the national capital as secretary of the delegation. In August 1832, he was commissioned to survey and establish a boundary line between the Menomonee and New York Indians, and the next year was directed to survey a large district of public lands near Green Bay, which, by renewed appointments the next two years, was extended to adjoining districts. In 1836 he was elected to the legislature to represent Brown County, then comprising nearly one-half of Wisconsin, and in 1837 was appointed surveyor-general of Wisconsin and Iowa, a position which he held during Mr. Van Buren's administration, and resigned in 1841. He has since been known as General Ellis, he disowning any military record. "General" George W. Jones, since United States senator from Iowa, succeeded him as surveyor-general.
In 1842 and 1843 we again find Mr. Ellis in the territorial legislature, and soon afterward he became sub-Indian agent of the district of Green Bay, serving in that capacity till he resigned in 1848. In 1853 he was appointed receiver of the land office at Stevens Point, having left his old home at Green Bay in 1852, after thirty long years residence there, and where he had started the "Green Bay Intelligencer" just twenty years before becoming receiver. There he held the office of receiver until 1862, when, the republicans being in power, another was appointed in his place, he having always been, and still being, a democrat. In December 1852, he established "The Pinery," a political paper now conducted by Caleb Swayze.
General Ellis has been a liberal contributor to the volumes of the Wisconsin Historical Society, and his writings are among its rich treasures. His "Fifty-four Years Recollections of Men and Events in Wisconsin" are full of interest and of great value. He joined the Protestant Episcopal Church in his native town in 1820, and has always been a consistent member of the same. In 1853, at Stevens Point, one of his first steps was to see that a church of his order was erected, and he is now senior warden of this religious body.
General Ellis has had two wives. The first was Miss Pamela Holmes, of Winfield, Herkimer County, New York, to whom he was married in 1824. She lived at Green Bay from 1824 to 1847, when she died, leaving four sons and one daughter; one son and the daughter have since died. Hon. E. H. Ellis, the eldest son, is judge of the tenth judicial circuit, and resides at Green Bay; Fred. S. Ellis, late mayor of Green Bay, is now treasurer of Brown County, and R. F. C. Ellis is a citizen of Rochester, New York; Orange R. Ellis died at Milwaukee three years ago. The second wife of General Ellis was Eliza C. J. C. Breuninger, a native of Stuttgard, Germany. Their marriage occurred in 1848. She died in November 1872, leaving eight children, all girls, and all living with their venerated father. Her only son, Theodore, died two years before her demise.
It will be seen that General Ellis has held many positions of trust and honor in what is now the State of Wisconsin, and he left every one of them with an untarnished record. No person could be more faithful than he was in the discharge of his obligations to the public. He has lived a pure, remarkably industrious and eminently praiseworthy life, and has left the impress of a character that shall always shine brightly in the history of his adopted State. [Source: The US Biological Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
James A. Felch
JAMES A. FELCH, Stevens Point, was born in the town of Somers, Kenosha county, Wisconsin, and his parents were Alson and Aurilla Felch. He was educated at Hillsdale, Michigan. Commencing the study of law with D. L. Shorey, in Chicago, he completed it in the Chicago Law School, and was admitted to the bar in June 1869. He settled at Stevens Point in the spring of 1870, where he has ever since resided. Practicing alone for six years, he was in partnership with A. H. Lamoreux during 1877, 1878, and 1879. He was city attorney one year from the spring of 1875, and is now justice of the peace, having held the office seven years consecutively. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander.]
Herman Felker, one of the progressive young farmers of Almond township, Portage county, lives on the farm from which the present village of Almond was carved, and which was settled by his father, Isaiah Felker, over forty years ago. The land was partly timbered by oak, and partly prairie, and hence was easily cleared. Mr. Felker has one of the two stump machines that are owned in that part of Portage county, and it has helped greatly in preparing the land for cultivation. Of the original 240 acres which the father possessed, Herman now owns and cultivates 120 acres. Isaiah Felker, the father, was born in Stratford, Stratford Co., N. H., in 1820. He was well-educated, and in his younger days was a school superintendent near Boston, Mass. He came west to Wisconsin about 1854, and purchased a farm in Almond township, and also a half-interest in a hotel where the village of Almond now stands. In 1857 he was married to Christina Ferber, who was born in Baden, Germany, daughter of John P. and Barbara (Buerkle) Ferber, the eldest of whose five children is Barbara, now Mrs. Michael Milure, of Almond township; the second, Elizabeth, is Mrs. D. Shafer, of Almond; the third is Mrs. Felker; the fourth, Mary, now Mrs. George Tysan; the fifth, Margaret, now Mrs. Albert Young, of Almond. In the fall of 1846 John and Barbara Ferber emigrated to America, were eight weeks in crossing the ocean, and came direct to Racine, Wis. Mr. Ferber bought 160 acres of partially-improved land ten miles from Racine, and lived there until 1854, when he came to Almond township, Portage county. Here Mr. Ferber bought 260 acres of land, where Albert Young now lives. It was mostly prairie land, and contained a small building. The parents occupied and improved this farm until their death, many years later. After their marriage Isaiah and Christina Felker engaged in farming and conducting the hotel at Almond until the death of Mr. Felker, Nov. 24, 1874. He had four children, Anna Rosetta, now Mrs. William Walker; Herman, who now owns the old homestead; and twins who died in infancy. Politically, Isaiah Felker was a Republican, and for many years he was postmaster at Almond. The widow, Mrs. Felker, now lives at Stevens Point.
Herman Felker was born in Almond township July 6, 1862. He was educated in the common schools, and when quite young assisted in clearing the land. He was only twelve years old when his father died, and at that early age he took his place at the head of his mother's household. Mr. Felker has ever since engaged in farming, and now plants about twelve acres of potatoes. On March 27, 1889, he was married to Carrie J. McCrossen, born in Waupaca county, daughter of John and Rachel (McDougle) McCrossen, both natives of Maine, and of Scotch-Irish extraction. John McCrossen was a successful farmer and lumberman, and about 1856 emigrated with his family to Waupaca county, where he purchased and opened up a farm. The parents now live in Waupaca, at the ages of seventy-three and sixty-nine years respectively. The children of John and Rachel McCrossen were Mary, now wife of W. Chady, a merchant in Waupaca; William, who died at the age of twelve years; and Carrie J., wife of Mr. Felker. Mr. Felker is in politics a Republican, and is well and favorably known throughout the southern portion of Portage county as one of the most enterprising and influential citizens. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
That a review of the life of such an energetic and enterprising individual, as is the subject of this memoir, should have prominent place in the pages of a work of this kind is peculiarly proper; because a knowledge of men, whose substantial record rests upon their attainments, character and success, must at all times exert a wholesome influence upon the rising generation of the American people, and can not fail to be more or less interesting to those of maturer years. Mr. Finch is a native of Niles, Berrien Co., Mich., born May 18, 1834, to Benoni W. and Elizabeth (Hollimond) Finch, who were of English and Scotch descent, respectively, the father born in Dutchess county, N. Y., the mother in Woodville, Miss. Benoni Finch was captain of a boat that plied on the St. Joseph river, Michigan, between Niles and St. Joseph, and in 1835 he moved with his family, consisting of wife and eight children, to Milwaukee, Wis., where he engaged in the manufacture of brick. He built the first brick house ever erected in Milwaukee, and was the first sheriff of Milwaukee county - in fact active in all the affairs of a public nature at that early period. He died of cholera morbus August 15, 1851, and lies buried near Fort Atkinson, Wis., whither he had moved in 1841, following farming there until 1846, in which year he came to Stevens Point, where he carried on lumbering operations; and it was while on a visit to Fort Atkinson that death overtook him as above related. In his political predilections he was a Whig.
The subject proper of this memoir received a liberal common-school education, and when seventeen years old, the time of his father's decease, took up the lumbering business, with which he has ever since been prominently identified - logging and running lumber on the Wisconsin river by contract, commonly known as "piloting," by which it will be seen that he is a pioneer in that industry in this section of the State. From boyhood Mr. Finch has been a consistent Democrat, the only vote he ever recorded on the Republican ticket having been for Abraham Lincoln when he first ran for President, and he has always, as a leader in his party, taken an active interest in politics. His ability and administrative qualifications have received substantial recognition by the people, he having been several times placed in positions of honor and responsibility. In 1877 he was elected sheriff of Portage county by a flattering majority of 190, and after serving two years he was re-elected in 1882, this time for a three-years' incumbency, after which he served four years as under sheriff. In 1886 he received the appointment of chief of police at Stevens Point, in which capacity he served five years, proving himself a most active official, and a terror to evil-doers. While he was under sheriff Mr. Finch attended to all the criminal business.
In 1855 Mr. Finch was married to Miss Malinda Barrett, daughter of Joel Barrett, a farmer and lumberman by occupation, who came to Wisconsin from Montreal, Canada, and to this union were born nine children, a brief record of whom is as follows: Frankie H. is married to E. R. Week, of Alexandria, Ind.; Marion L. is the wife of August Fulker, a druggist of Merrill, Wis.; Lizzie A. is married to Eugene Martin, of Cadott, Wis., in the lumber business; Carrie E. is married to Charles E. Smith, who is engaged in railroad insurance business at Chicago, Ill.; Henry J., assistant postmaster at Stevens Point, is married to Josie Main; Addie L. is the wife of Frederick Perkins, a locomotive engineer, with residence in Abbottsford, Wis.; while Robert B., Merle E. and John H. are all yet at home. Of these, Mrs. Frankie H. Week, from the age of sixteen to the time of her marriage, was a successful teacher in the public schools, chiefly of Portage county, also in the La Crosse High School, all in Wisconsin, and for three terms was president of the board of education. Politically Mr. Finch is a stanch Democrat, and April 16, 1893, he was appointed to his present position of postmaster at Stevens Point, taking possession of the office May 27, 1893. He is by nature admirably qualified to fill any public office of trust, and during his several incumbencies he has never been charged with anything approaching even a tinge of impropriety or informality, in all business relationships proving himself a thoroughly efficient and competent officer. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Frank Fletcher, a representative citizen of Portage county, was born in the town of Burton-on-the-Water, Gloucestershire, England, December 18, 1848, and is a son of John and Charlotte (Humphries) Fletcher, who were also natives of that locality. The father learned and followed the trade of a baker in his native land, and in the spring of 1841 was married. In the spring of 1854, accompanied by his family, he sailed for this country on the "George Washington," a merchant vessel. They had previously intended sailing, but were fortunately prevented from doing so, for on the vessel on which they had intended taking passage yellow fever broke out, and nearly all on board died. The Fletchers spent thirty-three days upon the water, and then continued their journey by rail to Oshkosh, Wis., where Mrs. Fletcher had an uncle living. Two years later they came to Portage county and located a claim, but after six months were obliged to leave, for it was found that a certain John Gray had a prior claim to the farm. In Buena Vista township the father secured eighty acres, which, however, reverted to the original owner. He next rented land for two years, and then purchased forty acres in Section 16, Buena Vista township, and now became more prosperous. He afterward bought an additional eighty acres, later the eighty-acre farm on which our subject resides, and subsequently a quarter section on which his son George is living, and eighty acres on which a nephew is living. He also owned forty acres of timber land, making in all 360 acres. In politics he was a Republican, and he was a valued citizen. His death occurred May 29, 1890, on the old homestead, when he was aged seventy-one years. His wife, who was born September 18, 1819, died a Christian in April, 1890.
Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher were the parents of eight children, viz.: (1) Arthur, a farmer of Belmont township, Portage county, married Sarah Handel (he served in the Union army throughout the Civil war); (2) Mary Ann is the deceased wife of Charles Wentworth, a farmer of Kansas, by whom she had one son, Louis, who married Margaret Gasman, and had two children - John and Perry; (3) William died in infancy; (4) Frank is the next younger; (5) Caroline is the wife of Gilbert Puariea, and they have six children - Charles, Fred, Daisy, Bessie, Ollie and Wayne (they reside in Buena Vista township); (6) Charles R., a farmer of Stevens Point, Wis., married Hattie Wanty, and they have four children - Pearl, Roy, Harry and Ray Arthur; (7) George, a farmer of Beuna Vista township, married Emma Wanty, and they have six children — Eugenia, Irene, who died in infancy, John, Clara, Millie and Ward; (8) Herman D. is a car inspector in the employ of the Wisconsin Central Railroad Company at Stevens Point. He married Josie Grover, and they had three children - Guinevere, Gladys, and one that died in infancy.
Our subject was about seven years old when his parents came to America. He began his education in England and completed it in Buena Vista township; but much of his youth was spent in work upon the home farm. He also worked for others as a farm hand, and was in the lumber woods during two winters, also rafted lumber down the Wisconsin and Mississippi rivers as far as Hannibal. In May, 1874, he was married in Belmont, Wis., by Ira Whipple, justice of the peace, to Miss Sarah A. Berry, a daughter of Andrew and Angeline (Johnson) Berry, the former a native of Pennsylvania, the latter of Sweden. Mrs. Fletcher was born near Wausau, Wis., in the lumber region, where her father kept a boarding house. He was born August 4, 1814, and his wife on February 9, 1835. They still reside on the old homestead in Buena Vista township, Portage county; they had six children, of whom Mrs. Fletcher is the eldest; after her came Clara, born March 12, 1856, deceased wife of Nelson Winslow, a lumberman; Mary B., a milliner of Amherst, Wis.; William, who died in infancy; Andrew B., first married to Emma Young, and afterward to Barbara Young, by whom he has two children - Effie and Robert P.; Alice, born August 13, 1865, died in September, 1886. After their marriage, Mr. and Mrs. Fletcher located on the farm which is still their home. His father had given him a deed to eighty acres of land, and to this he added 140 acres. For ten years they lived in a small frame dwelling, one of the first homes in the township, and in 1884 erected a commodious modern residence, in which they reside with their only child, Clarence, who was born April 6, 1878, and is now attending school in Buena Vista township. Mrs. Fletcher is a member of the Methodist Church at Liberty Corners, and takes quite an active part in Church work. In politics Mr. Fletcher is a stanch Republican, and has served as supervisor about eight years, being at present a member of the board. He has been clerk of the school board eighteen years, is a warm friend of the cause of education, and gives his hearty support to all worthy enterprises and interests calculated to prove of public benefit. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Daniel Eugene Frost
Daniel Eugene Frost spent his boyhood on the home farm of his father. He was early educated in the district schools, finishing with a three year course at the Oshkosh Normal, after which he taught school for a year. He then entered the University of Wisconsin at Madison, and in 1886 he was duly graduated from the law department. He made his first location at Stevens Point, in the county where he had been born and reared, and here he has since continued to make his home. Mr. Frost for three years practiced law in association with Mr. T. H. Synon, now of Norfolk, Virginia, and with whom he still has business dealings, being himself a large owner of Norfolk and other Virginia property. Later Mr. Frost entered into a partnership with Mr. W. F. Owen, still later associating himself with the late James O. Raymond, and for several years being connected with John H. Brennan, now of Bartlesville, Oklahoma. In late years, however, Mr. Frost has gradually withdrawn from legal activities, in order that he might devote his time more exclusively to his private interests which began to assume larger proportions, and among which might be mentioned his Oklahoma Oil interests, real estate interests in Norfolk, Virginia, Tampa, Florida, and Chicago, Illinois, with some of the most valuable business property in Stevens Point, as well as a large quantity of North Dakota properties. Mr. Frost is president of the Coyl Furniture Company, one of the largest industrial plants of Stevens Point, and he is a director of the Citizens National Bank.
A Republican, Mr. Frost has been active in the party ranks, and he was chairman of the Republican County Central Committee for six years. While yet active in his profession he served as district attorney for Portage county in 1897 and in 1907 he was appointed to the office of postmaster, succeeding Henry Curran, now deceased. He has proved himself a most capable incumbent of the office, and his administration has not been exceeded in general efficiency by any postmaster the city has ever known.
Mr. Frost was made the first president of the Business Men "s Association when that association was organized in 1906, and he served three years in the office. He is a director and one of the Building Commissioners of the City Hospital, and has been intensely interested in the success of this worthy institution, rendering a valuable service in his official connection therewith.
Fraternally, Mr. Frost has membership in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, Lodge No. 641, Stevens Point, and his church membership is with the Episcopal church, in which he is a vestryman. In his citizenship too much could not be said of Mr. Frost, for it is there that his splendid integrity and high-mindedness has been manifested in an unusual degree. In his labors for the advancement and growth of Stevens Point he has exceeded the most diligent, and he has never yet passed by an opportunity for the betterment and upbuilding of the best phases of life in the city. No enterprise has ever been launched here that has not claimed his immediate and timely support and co-operation, and by his influence, his money and his actual work has he taken a hand in the business of making the city and county entitled to a leading place in this section of the state. Said to be the richest man but one in Stevens Point, his influence has been highly commendable and is due to the facts of his splendid integrity and general wholesomeness of character. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Daniel Eugene Frost
Daniel Eugene Frost, postmaster of Stevens Point since 1907, for years a practicing lawyer in this city, and identified prominently with many of the leading industrial and financial enterprises of the city and county, as well as having manifold outside interests of wide scope and importance, has been a resident of Portage county all his life. Few men of the county have been more active in the development of the resources of the district, or have identified themselves more entirely with the commercial and industrial enterprises that have meant so much to the community, or have been more active in affairs concerning the civic welfare of the place. His life has been a busy and effective one thus far, with the promise of greater things in the years to come.
Daniel Eugene Frost was born in Almond, Portage county, Wisconsin, on September 18, 1860, and he is a son of Josiah Locke and Maria Jane (Frost) Frost, both of them natives of the state of Massachusetts, where many of the name are yet to be found. The Frosts came from Ipswich, England, to America in the days prior to the Revolutionary troubles, and it is of record that one Rev. Edward Frost, lineal ancestor, located in Boston as early as 1637. As already stated, the family is still a prominent one in the state, and in Boston a brother of the subject, J. Fred Frost by name, resides in the old ancestral home of the family, built there early in the seventeenth century by Captain Stephen Frost.
In giving a brief history of the Frost ancestry, it is altogether in keeping with the spirit and purpose of this work to make mention of the family in connection with the early, history of Massachusetts, and its part in the Revolutionary war. History names Captain Stephen Frost as having made the first capture of that long struggle. He was at the head of a company of Minute Men, the same being stationed behind a wall at Arlington, about a mile from where Captain Frost had built his residence, already referred to as the home of the brother of the subject. When the baggage train of the British came along the road on its way to the Battle of Lexington, young Captain Frost .sprang up and demanded the surrender of the train. "Shoot down that dog," commanded the British officer, whereupon the Minute Men sprang into action, and soon was effected the capture of the entire outfit, soldiery and all. This is recorded in the pages of history as the first capture of the war. Captain Stephen Frost died in 1810, in the house where J. Fred Frost now lives. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Hon. George Gate
Biographical sketches of those who have attained merited distinction in American law have a charm and force in them that commend them to every sound thinker. We naturally feel an interest in tracing the footsteps of those who have reached elevated positions in public confidence, and have wielded their influence for public good; who, loving truth, and integrity for their own sake, have undeviatingly followed their dictates, no matter what the personal consequences might be. Records of this kind are calculated to raise the ministrations of law in public estimation, and are guides for the junior members of the profession in their pursuit of reputation, distinction and position. Born September 17, 1823, in Montpelier, Vt., Judge Gate is a son of Isaac and Glarissa (McKnight) Gate, the former a native of New Hampshire, the latter of Massachusetts, and they were well-to-do farming people, their home being some six miles from Montpelier.
At the public schools of that city our subject received a liberal education, and at the age of seventeen years, in 1840, commenced the study of law in the office of Joseph A. Wing, Plainfield, Washington Co., Vt., where he remained two years, and then for a similar length of time studied under Lecius B. Peck, of Montpelier, Vt., after which, in 1844, he was admitted to the bar at the latter place, before Judge Isaac F. Redfield, of the Supreme Gourt of the State of Vermont.
Coming to Wisconsin in 1845, Mr. Gate worked in a sawmill on the Eau Claire river, among the pineries, and was also engaged in all the branches of lumbering, including rafting logs down the Eau Claire to St. Louis, Mo. In 1848 he located in Plover (at that time the county seat of Portage county. Wis.), and commenced the practice of his chosen profession, the only other disciple of Blackstone in that locality being James S. Alban, who was afterward killed at the battle of Shiloh. From the day of his first opening office in Plover our subject has given his entire time to his profession (except while absent in Congress, engaged on business pertaining to the State and Nation), and he has the reputation of being one of the busiest, as well as one of the most successful lawyers in northern Wisconsin. He has given considerable attention to the practice of common law, and among the prominent cases in which he has met with signal success may be mentioned the famous Lamere murder case, and the Hazeltine-Gurran-Morse case, and the Mead murder (two trials), in all of which he was counsel for the defense, and where all the defendants were acquitted. He was one of the managers for the State in the impeachment trial of Judge Hubbell. From 1848 to 1854 he held various offices in the gift of the people, such as prosecuting attorney, register of deeds, clerk to the board of supervisors, supervisor, deputy postmaster of Plover, member of the Legislature, and at the time it was the only post office in the pinery of Portage county. In 1854 he was elected circuit judge, and served four terms of six years each, with the exception of the last term, when he resigned after the fourth year on account of his running for Congress. This was in the fall of 1874 (the year of his moving to Stevens Point), and though the Judge is a pronounced Democrat, and the Judicial Circuit and District was strongly Republican, yet he received a handsome majority. While he was in Congress the vote on the electoral commission, which resulted in seating President Hayes, was taken, and Judge Gate was one of the seventeen Democrats who voted against it. On the completion of one term in Congress he returned to his Wisconsin home, and resumed practice.
In 1851 Judge Gate was united in marriage with Miss Lavara S. Brown, daughter of Daniel Brown, a lumberman, formerly of Indianapolis, Ind., who came to Stevens Point from Iowa. Six children have been born to this marriage, to wit: Albert G., now of Amherst, Portage Co., Wis.; Lynn Boyd, of Stevens Point; Henry, a pharmacist, of Menominee, Mich. ; Carrie, now the wife of Dr. Cronyn, of Milwaukee; and Ruth and Georgia, both at home. The entire family are members of the Episcopal Church, the Judge since 1860, and for the past six years he has been senior warden of the Church of the Intercession, Stevens Point. Socially, he has been a member of the F. & A. M. since 1855. In addition to seven or eight city lots, he owns a 200-acre farm in Portage county, and takes a great interest in the breeding of blooded cattle; altogether he has imported several head of this class of cattle to Portage county, and at the present time he has a herd of some thirty fine-bred Jerseys (about thirty years ago he imported fine Devon cattle, and, later, several Alderneys). The family residence is No. 321 Ellis street, Stevens Point. Large and generous of nature, kindly and charitable of disposition, with a deep sense of right. Judge Gate is greatly respected by all, and his counsels are frequently sought by his many friends. [Source: Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin Counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawano (1895), submitted by MZ]
Ambrose B. Gilchrist
STEVENS POINT: Ambrose Brown Gilchrist, son of James and Polly (Sherwood) Gilchrist, is a native of Otsego County, New York, and was born at East Springfield, February 19, 1815. His father was a farmer and lumberman, and owned a sawmill. Ambrose remained at home until of age, attending the district school, and assisting on the farm and in the mill. In 1837, with a view to bettering his condition, he removed to La Porte, Indiana. There he spent two years; one cultivating a farm in company with another young man. In the spring of 1839 he pushed westward to Galena, Illinois, ready for honorable work of any kind. There he met parties from Grand Rapids, Wisconsin, in search of lumbermen, and engaged to work for them, and in the following June went to the Wisconsin valley. He worked at first as a logger and teamster, and afterward in a sawmill; and at the end of one year commenced operations for himself, buying lumber and rafting it down the Wisconsin and Mississippi Rivers, and jobbing in various ways.
About 1848 he moved up the Wisconsin River to Stevens Point, at that time a village of about three hundred inhabitants. There he has continued the lumber business for nearly thirty years. He has also, at times, dealt to a considerable extent in land, and in all his business operations has met with good success. When Mr. Gilchrist first saw the Upper Wisconsin valley, thirty-eight years ago, it was a barren wilderness; today it is dotted with thriving villages and cities, and bears all the marks of enterprise, wealth and intelligence. Grand Rapids in 1839 had but few white families, and a score or two of single men, comprising Americans, Englishmen, Irishmen, Frenchmen, half-breeds, etc., two sawmills and a few shanties in which to shelter the pioneer families and floating rafts men, loggers, etc.; now it is a place of two thousand inhabitants, with fine dwellings, several large sawmills, shingle factories, flouring mills, foundries and other kinds of manufactories. In the growth and development of Stevens Point Mr. Gilchrist has done his full share, and holds himself ever ready to advance all enterprises tending to its prosperity. Personally he is a quiet, unobtrusive man, always attending carefully to his business. He votes the democratic ticket when the best men are put on it, but sedulously refuses to accept of any office. He has a kind disposition, good habits, an irreproachable character, and is universally respected. [Source: The US Biological Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
Hon. Norman S. Gilson
Born at Middlefield, Ohio, March 23, 1839, Judge Norman S. Gilson, one of Fond du Lac 's most distinguished citizens, is a representative of one of New England's oldest families, tracing his ancestry back to Joseph Gilson, who about the year 1650 arrived in the New World from England. Among his descendants are those who participated in the French and Indian AVar, the Revolutionary struggle and the War of 1812. Judge Gilson is an example of hereditary strength of character. In his family history no weak or vicious link has been discovered, and he seems the embodiment of the many virtues transferred from generation to generation.
Daniel Gilson, the grandfather of the Judge, was a soldier of the Revolution, and after the attainment of American independence established his home in. Ohio, in 1817, both he and his wife passing away in Middlefield, that state. William H. Gilson, the father of Judge Gilson, was one of a family of seven children. He was born in Vermont, and was a lad of six years at the time of the family's removal to the Buckeye state. Reared to manhood at the Middlefield home, he early became a farmer and devoted many years of his life to tilling the soil. About 1865 he removed to Garrettsville, Portage county, Ohio, and there his remaining years were passed, his death occurring in 1889, when he was seventy-eight years old.
Norman S. Gilson, while spending his youthful days in Middlefield, mastered the elementary branches of learning, and subsequently taught in the schools there, later attending Farmington University. In 1860 he came to Wisconsin and settled at West Bend, and while teaching school there for two years devoted his leisure hours to the study of law in the offices and under the preceptorship of his uncle, Leander F. Frisby. When the Civil War broke across the country in all its fury, young Gilson answered the call of his country for troops, enlisting on the 17th of September, 1861, as a private of Company D, Twelfth Regiment, Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, with which he served for two years. The regiment, which was commanded by Col. George E. Bryant, left Wisconsin January 11, 1862, in the Department of Kansas, with which it operated until transferred to the Army of the Tennessee, and assigned to duty in the District of Mississippi, under Gen. Isaac F. Quimby. Mr. Gilson was on detached service with the staff General Robert B. Mitchell from June, 1862, until after the battle of Perryville, when he returned to his regiment. In May, 1863, he was promoted to the rank of sergeant major of his regiment, following which he participated in the siege of Vicksburg and the siege of Jackson, Mississippi, his gallant and faithful services winning him promotion in August, 1863, to the rank of first lieutenant of Company H, Fifty-eighth United States Colored Infantry. He was soon promoted to adjutant and eventually became lieutenant-colonel of his regiment. As a member of the staff of General Davidson he was assigned to duty as judge advocate of the Natchez district, and in 1865 and 1866 was judge advocate for the Department of the Mississippi, serving on the staffs of Major-General Osterhaus and Major-General Thomas J. Wood. Although his regiment was mustered out in 1865 he was retained as judge advocate for more than a year by the direction of the Secretary of War on account of the trial by court-martial of Captain Frederick Speed, who was charged with criminal carelessness in overloading the steamer Sultana with paroled prisoners of war, whereby 1,100 of them lost their lives when the vessel sunk near Memphis, April 27, 1865. Colonel Gilson represented the Government on that trial. On the 12th of June, 1866, he was mustered out of the service and honorably discharged at Vicksburg, and President Johnson brevetted him colonel of United States Volunteers "for efficient and meritorious service."
In 1866 and 1867 Judge Gilson was a student in the law school at Albany, New York, and graduated in that year at the latter institution, being immediately admitted to the bar. In 1868 he came to Fond du Lac, where he opened a law- office, and here practiced his profession until 1880. In 1874 he was elected city attorney of Fond du Lac, and in 1877 and 1878 filled the office of district attorney. In March, 1880, the Democratic party named him as its nominee for the office of judge of the Fourth Judicial District, and in the election which followed he received a majority of more than 8,000 votes over his opponent. In 1886 he was again elected to the same office, this time without opposition, and again Avas sent to the same high position in 1892. In 1898 he declined to become a candidate for another term and retired from the bench after eighteen continuous years of devoted service as a circuit judge. In 1899 Judge Gilson was appointed a member of the Wisconsin Tax Commission, and so served from the latter part of that year until handing in his resignation the first day of May, 1911. He was chairman of the commission from December, 1899, to the time of his resignation.
On October 17, 1905, Judge Gilson was united in marriage with Miss Laura B. Conklin. a daughter of Lanty and Marietta (Bristol) Conklin. Mrs. Gilson was born in Canada, near Niagara Falls, and her parents were natives of New York state. She is a consistent member of the Congregational church, and is widely known in social and charitable circles of Fond du Lac. Judge Gilson is a member of Fidelity Lodge, No. 110, Knights of Pythias. He has ever been delighted to foregather with his old comrades of army days, and holds membership in the Grand Army of the Republic, the Loyal Legion and the Society of the Army of the Tennessee. Judge Gilson 's mind is of the judicial order, and he would probably have been asked to serve on the bench in any community in which he made his home. The high esteem in which he was held as a jurist by the entire legal profession was a result of a rare combination of fine legal ability and culture, and incorruptible integrity, with the dignified presence, absolute courage, and graceful urbanity which, characterized all of his official acts. No man has rendered his community and his country more conscientious service; no man is more worthy of his community's respect and gratitude. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Edward D. Glennon
Edward D. Glennon, editor and proprietor of The Gazette of Stevens Point, Portage county, is a native of that city, having been born there September 3, 1857, when it was a village of but a few hundred inhabitants. Until about the age of fourteen years he attended the public schools of his native place, after which he became an apprentice in the Journal office, remaining there until 1877. He then established a job-printing establishment and confectionery store; later, on July 17, 1878, in company with H. W. Lee and W. C. Krembs, started the Portage County Gazette. The newspaper firm was known as Glennon, Krembs & Co., for some eighteen months, at the end of which time it was changed to Glennon & Cooper, Clay C. Cooper having bought out the interests of the other partners. In May, 1883, Mr. Glennon became sole proprietor, and has since so continued to the present time. The Gazette is an active local publication, enjoying a circulation extending throughout the county and neighboring cities and towns. On March 31, 1880, Mr. Glennon was married to Miss Annie M. Krembs, eldest daughter of Charles Krembs (now deceased) who during his life time was a leading hardware merchant of Stevens Point. To this union have been born six children: Marguerite, Edward, Carl, George, Katherine and Grace, the eldest being now (September, 1895) fourteen years old, and the youngest an infant of seven months. Mr. Glennon in politics is a Democrat, has been a member of the board of education for ten years, and president of the local branch, C. K. of W., nine years. His father, who was born in Ireland, coming to this country when a boy, is living at Stevens Point in the enjoyment of good health at the age of sixty-eight years. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Joseph Glinski, one of the most enterprising and successful tailors of Stevens Point, Portage county, is a native of Poland, born September 17, 1858, in Valental, County of Starogart, a son of Joseph and Josephine (Pawlowski) Glinski, who were born in same country. The father was a stock buyer, becoming a very successful man. At his death, which occurred in 1868, he left five children, all of whom are still living, to wit: Frank, a saloon keeper at Stevens Point; Joseph, subject of sketch; Jacob, a tailor of Stevens Point, now in the employ of his brother, Joseph; Effie, wife of Joseph Jekobouski, who is also employed by our subject; and Mary, wife of E. L. Blodgett, a merchant of Stevens Point.
Mr. Glinski, whose name appears at the beginning of this record, received his education in the common schools of Germany, and then at the age of sixteen commenced to learn his trade. In 1872 the family started for America, embarking on the sailing vessel, "Agda," and after a long and stormy voyage of eleven weeks and three days they landed at Quebec, Canada. They did not remain long in that city, however, but came direct to Milwaukee, Wis., where they made their home some eight months. On leaving the latter city the family removed to Stevens Point, where Mr. Lubinski purchased 160 acres of wild timber land, and our subject aided in clearing and developing the same. The farm was sold, however, at the end of a year and a half, and the family then removed to Stevens Point, where the stepfather began working at the tailor's trade, which he still continues. The mother's death occurred in the fall of 1891, at the age of sixty-three years. Mr. Glinski was employed by others until 1881, when he began business for himself. In 1891 he purchased a lot and erected a two-story brick building 82x25 feet, in which he now carries on business and has an excellent trade. By good management he has gained a liberal patronage, and now has in his employ fifteen men. He has one of the leading tailoring establishments of the city.
In 1879 Mr. Glinski was united in marriage with Miss Paulina M. Boyar, a daughter of John and Marthina Boyar, and one of a family of children, as follows: Paulina M., Leo, John, Jr., Frank, Ragan, Joseph, Mary, Anna, August and Adam (twins), Catherine, Alexander, Anthony, Bernard, all of whom are living with the exception of Anthony. The parents of this family were both born in Poland, in which country the father was engaged as a brewer, and also followed the same business after coming to America; but he and his wife are now living retired at Stevens Point. The family crossed the Atlantic in 1863. To Mr. and Mrs. Glinski have been born the following children: Mary, Joseph, Jr., John, De Loss, Varona, Ganewefa and Chesley, all of whom are still with their parents.
Mr. Glinski has held a number of offices of honor and trust in Stevens Point, including that of alderman, which he filled for five years - from 1888 to 1893. He has always been faithful to every trust reposed in him whether public or private, and is held in the highest esteem and confidence. With St. Peter's Catholic Church he holds membership, and has served as secretary of the same, while socially he belongs to the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin, Catholic Foresters of Wisconsin, St. Peter's Society, and the Sacred Heart Society. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Levi Montgomery Gregory, M.D.
Among the eminent physicians and surgeons of Portage county, the more prominent of whom find place in this volume, none enjoys to a greater extent the confidence and esteem of the community at large than the gentleman whose name is here recorded. Our subject is an Ohioan by birth, having first seen the light at Harpersfield, Ashtabula county, August 17, 1827, a son of Ezra and Eve (Brakeman) Gregory, natives of Schoharie county, N. Y., the former of Scottish ancestry, the latter of German. The father, who was a farmer by occupation, came with his family to Walworth county, Wis., in 1846, afterward moving to Sauk county, where he died at his home in Winfield township. He was a Whig of the old school, and at one time served as sheriff of Ashtabula county, Ohio; also as justice of the peace, and in other positions of honor and trust, after coming to Wisconsin, invariably winning and retaining the confidence and esteem of those with whom he was associated. Courteous, genial and kind-hearted, he was universally liked, and was extremely popular. In Sauk county he filled various offices, such as justice of the peace, supervisor, etc., and so valuable were his services that he was almost continually called upon to serve the community in which he lived in an official capacity of some kind or another. The subject proper of these lines received his education at the public schools of Ohio, and at the age of fourteen commenced reading medicine in the office of Dr. Jerome Gregory, of Harpersfield, Ohio, with whom he remained till coming to Wisconsin with the rest of his father's family in 1846. Here he resumed his medical studies in the office of his brother, H. N. Gregory, at Fort Atkinson, Jefferson county, and then attended the Indiana Medical College at Laporte, Ind., two sessions, and keeping up his studies closely ultimately graduated from Cleveland Medical College, at Cleveland, Ohio. In 1850 he located in Plover, Portage Co., Wis., and at once commenced the practice of his profession, being the only physician in the place at that time, and here remained until the spring of 1887, the time of his removal to Stevens Point, since when he has been in active practice as physician and surgeon in that prosperous and progressive city.
On February 22, 1852, Dr. Gregory was united in marriage with Miss Olive S. Babcock, and they have two children, namely: Frances R., born July 27, 1855, and Will W., born September 16, 1870, living at home with his parents. Politically the Doctor is a stanch Republican, and for four years, under the administration of Garfield and Arthur, he served as pension examiner. His full time has been given to his profession, to which he is devoted, and as he is a busy man at all times, he finds leisure time for little else. A prominent member of the F. & A. M., he has been a Knight Templar for the past nine years, and he is highly respected and esteemed by the community. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Nicholas Gross, secretary and manager of the Stevens Point Brewing Company, and one of the successful and prosperous men, has been a resident of this part of Wisconsin since 1866, when he came with his parents from the home in France. The early history of the family, dating from the time of its arrival in America, is an interesting one, and space may well be given here to some brief data concerning the life and activities of the various members. It should be stated that Nicholas Gross is the son of Nicholas and Christina (Demmerle) Gross, and that he was born in Lorraine, then under French rule, on April 4, 1854. The father was a farmer in his native land, and the fall of 1865 he moved his family to the United States, making the long and tedious .journey in the good ship "Bremen." and being forty-two days on the way. They arrived in New York in January, 1866, and the day following their landing they went to Buffalo, there remaining until about the middle of Sarah, when they set out for the west. They made the trip by rail to Berlin, Wisconsin, then the terminus of the railroad in this section of the country, and from there a part of the family went by stage, the remainder driving their own team. The stage, however, did not penetrate the country farther than Stevens Point, then a flourishing little mill town, and the family proceeded to move on to Pollard Corners, some eight miles north east of Stevens Point, making the journey as best they might in the cold and stormy weather. At that point the father bought two acres of land and there erected a building which he used in conducting a tavern. It was a fine structure for its day, and the business he conducted was a flourishing one, the place being well patronized from the start. A huge barn or stable sheltered the teams stopping overnight on their way through the wilderness country to Wausau and other points, and the place was a popular one indeed, in those days. Nicholas Gross prospered there, and he continued to run the tavern until he died in August, 1876. He was then fifty-seven years of age. His widow continued with the business, but was burned out the following year, after which she came to Stevens Point, where she died in March, 1892, aged sixty-seven years. They possessed many excellent and praiseworthy qualities, and unlike many of the early settlers of that day, they gave to their children each a good common school education, and had it been possible, higher educations would have been afforded them. They had a family of thirteen children, two of whom died in Germany prior to the family removal to America. They include: Richard; Catherine, the wife of N. Jacobs; Victor; Nicholas, of this review; Henry; Christina, the widow of John Kheil; Aloysius; Felix, deceased; Mary, who was a nun, and died in a convent in Milwaukee ; and Rose, married John Martin.
Nicholas Gross, the fifth born child of his parents, attended school in Lorraine as a boy, and when he came to America with his parents he thereafter attended a Catholic school in Buffalo for a time. Like all the little foreign lads of his day, he wore a wool toque with a tassel, and the little Yankee boys with whom he was thrown, willy-nilly, took much pleasure in teasing him about his foreign clothing and manners. When the family removed to Wisconsin, young Gross attended school at Polland Corners, and in 1868, after coming to Stevens Point, he attended the old "White School House," which stood until in very recent years as a landmark of former times. This school for many years has been having a reunion each year, its former attendants coming from all parts of the United States, and many of them are today widely known and prominent in the various walks of life. Mr. Gross has made a practice of attending these reunion sessions regularly, and has found a distinct pleasure in them. When he left school for the sterner realities of life, Mr. Gross was employed by his brother-in-law, Mr. Jacobs, at the Jacobs Hotel in Stevens Point, continuing there until 1881. Then he was active in business for himself for three years. In the fall of 1883 he took the agency for the Pabst Brewing Company, and he was the first agent for this firm in Stevens Point. He continued with the Pabst people until 1901, and he gained a host of friends in his years of activity in that capacity. It was in the year last named that Mr. Gross became one of the incorporators of the Stevens Point Brewing Company, of which he has been secretary and manager from then up to the present time, and it is undeniable that much of the success and progress of the firm has been due directly to his practical knowledge of the business. It should be said that the firm is one of the old established concerns of Stevens Point, the plant having been run as far back as in the fifties by Messrs. Wahle & Rueder, who were succeeded by Lutz Brothers. They replaced the old wooden buildings with a stone one in 1872, which is still a part of the present plant, although many changes have been wrought in recent years. Andrew and Jacob Lutz sold out to Gustav Kuensel and the present concern took over the business from him in 1901, as has already been stated. The plant has a capacity of 35,000 barrels, and they maintain their own bottling works. All modern machinery features the new plant, and under the regime of the present company the establishment has risen to a high place in brewing circles in the state. Their buildings, all of steel and concrete, are known to house one of the finest brewing plants in the state, and their products, known as "Pink's Pale," "Pink's Crystal" and "The Eagle," are popular with the public. They maintain a storehouse at Waupaca and their shipments are made far and wide. The president of the firm is B. Polebski, with W. E. Kingsburg, vice-president, and Nicholas Gross, secretary and manager, A. C. Schenck, treasurer, and a directorate comprising T. H. Hanna, W. L. Plagman and John Martin, in addition to the officials already mentioned. The corporation is based on a capital stock of $100,000, and is one of the soundest and most prosperous establishments of its kind in the state.
In 1875, on November 21, Nicholas Gross was married to Miss Johanna Splawn, a native of Wisconsin and a daughter of Patrick and Johanna (Walsh) Splawn, and to them have been born children as follows : Nicholas, who died aged two years and two months ; Alice, the wife of C. F. Morris, an attorney at Iron River, Wisconsin, and the mother of three children, namely, Robert, William and Katherine ; and Mabel, who died at the age of two years and five months. Nicholas Gross is widely known in these parts and is one of the most popular men to be found in the county. He has long had membership in the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks at Stevens Point, and in the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin, as well as the Catholic Order of Foresters. He is a member and communicant of the St. Stephen's Catholic Church, and has been a life long Democrat. Although he has on a number of occasions run for office, he has always met with defeat, and his friends do not hesitate to say that it is due entirely to the fact that he is too upright and honorable in his political ventures to resort to the usual method to secure votes. For several years he served on the Stevens Point City Council, and one year was president of the council. In 1896 he ran for the office of sheriff of Portage county, and while he did not win the election, he was accorded a heavier vote than any other Democratic candidate for the office was ever accorded, or has since received. He has also been the choice of his party for mayor and city treasurer, and at all times made an excellent run, though his party was in the minority. At one time he was mentioned very favorably for the office of postmaster under President Cleveland, but was unwilling to compete for the office. Mr. Gross was never a man to make any campaign promises, but he ran solely on his merits. He has now retired from any active participation in local politics, although he still manifests a good citizen's interest in matters that concern the community in a political way, and acts accordingly. He has a fine residence at 1060 Main street, near the Normal school, where his family extend a true German hospitality to their many friends, for there are few families, if indeed any, in the city, who are more widely or favorably known than the Grosses. Mr. Gross is a man who makes friends and holds them fast through all circumstances, and is prominent and popular in the city that has so long represented the family home. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Among the enterprising, wide-awake hustlers of Stevens Point none is more deserving of special mention in the columns of this work than the gentleman whose name is here recorded. Mr. Gross is a native of Lorraine, France (now in Germany), born April 4, 1854, a son of Nicholas and Christina (Deminerle) Gross, highly respectable and well-to-do farming people of that historic province. In 1865, accompanied by their then family of eight children, they set sail from Havre, France, in the ship "Bremen," and after a passage of forty-two days landed at New York, when they at once proceeded to Wisconsin via Buffalo, where they remained a short time. In the spring of 1866 they came to Portage county, and in the town of Sharon, at Poland Corners, the father, in 1867, built a tavern, which was known far and near as the "Poland Corner Tavern," the first hostelry ever seen in that neighborhood. Here he died, in comfortable circumstances, in 1876, his wife passing away at Stevens Point in 1892, and they were buried, the father at Poland Corners, the mother at Stevens Point. In religious faith they were members of the Catholic Church, and in political affiliation Mr. Gross was a Democrat. Their family of children were as follows: Born in Lorraine — Richard, a resident of Stockton, Portage Co., Wis.; Catherine, now Mrs. N. Jacobs, of Stevens Point; Victor, of the same place; Nicholas, our subject; Henry, living in Wausau, Wis., representing the Pabst Brewing Co.; Aloysius, member of the hardware firm of Gross & Jacobs, Stevens Point; Christina, now Mrs. John Khiel, of Stevens Point; Felix, who died at Poland Corners when twelve years old; those born in the United States are - Mary, a Sister of the Order of Notre Dame; and Rosa, now Mrs. John Martini. The father of this family at one time owned some land in this country, but never lived on it. The subject proper of these lines received his primary education at the schools of his native place, and after coming to this country attended a short time a German school at Buffalo, N. Y., while the family were remaining there while on their westward journey. At the age of seventeen he left the parental roof, and coming to Stevens Point made his home here with a Mr. Jacobs, and attended the Second Ward School. For a time he found employment in a supply store; but prior to this he went up the river to Big Eau Claire to work on a lumber raft bound for St. Louis, Mo., in which expedition he came near losing his life, for on running down the Little Bull Falls he was accidentally knocked off the raft into the water. James McHugh, the pilot, made an effort to save him, Mr. Gross being unable to swim, in which effort (unsuccessful, it seems) McHugh lost his pocketbook, containing $250, and our subject a trouser leg. Mr. Gross finally succeeded in reaching shore through what is known among lumbermen as the "emptying of an eddy," his ardor for raft-running being thoroughly cooled. This occurred at a place called Mosinee, and by the time the raft reached Stevens Point, Mr. Gross concluded he had had enough of aquatic adventures, and embarked in the less perilous stream of commercial life, securing a position in a supply store, as already related. In 1877 he thought he would vary the monotony of life by trying his hand at railroad life, and proceeding to Colby he worked on the construction of the Wisconsin Central railway a couple of days, "riding the crowbar;" then once more returned to Stevens Point, making the trip on a freight train, whereof James Dorsey was conductor. For a time after this Mr. Gross worked in a supply store for Thomas Gray, the result of which was that in the fall of 1874 he opened up a saloon business on Main street, Stevens Point, between First street and the square, John O. Herren being his partner; but the business was not a success, and at the end of some six months was closed out. Our subject next tended bar for his brother-in-law, Nicholas Jacobs, at the "Jacobs House," and with him remained until 1877. From 1878 to 1881 he was employed in the machine shops of John and James Rice, keeping books and running machinery; then again opened out a saloon on the northeast corner of the Square, in which he continued alone until the spring of 1882, when he removed his business to the Lutz Block, on Main street, Peter Eiden becoming his partner. There Gross & Eiden continued the saloon till June, 1883, when Mr. Gross sold out to A. Watke, and began the handling of Pabst's beer, selling it by the carload from October, 1883, to May, 1884, since when he has been local representative at Stevens Point for that vast brewery, the trade of which has considerably increased under his careful management and thorough business capacity. On November 21, 1875, Mr. Gross was married at Stevens Point to Miss Johanna C. Splawn, who was born in Hartford, Washington Co., Wis., a daughter of Patrick Splawn, a native of Ireland; she was brought to Portage county when a year old, and was here reared and educated. The children born of this marriage were as follows: Nicholas, who died at the age of two years and two months; Alice, born November 7, 1882, still at home; and Mabel, who died when three years and sixteen days old. In politics Mr. Gross is a Democrat, and in 1878 he was a member of the school board; socially he is affiliated with the Catholic Knights, the Catholic Order of Foresters, and has served as trustee of each, at the present time being trustee of the Knights. In 1894 he built one of the finest dwelling-houses in Stevens Point, and he has every home comfort due to a man who has earned it well and is deserving of all he owns. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Hon. Luther Hanchett
PLOVER: The late Luther Hanchett, an early settler at Plover, Portage County, a native of Ohio, was a son of Luther and Martha Ann (Rent) Hanchett, and was born at Middlebury, November 25, 1825. He received an academic education at Fremont, and immediately after leaving school began the study of law in that place, with his half-brother, General Ralph P. Buckland. He was admitted to the bar at Plover in 1850, and devoting the remainder of his life to his chosen work reflected the highest honor upon his profession. Mr. Hanchett was elected district attorney of Portage County in 1852, and held that office two years. He was elected to the State senate in 1856, and reelected in 1858. In i860 he was elected to congress from the second district, then comprising more than one half of the territory of the State. Two years later, the State being redistricted, he was elected to congress from the sixth district, but did not long survive, dying at his home in Plover on the 24th of November, 1862. On November 11, 1853, Mr. Hanchett was married to Miss Lucinda Alban, eldest daughter of Colonel James Alban, who was afterward commander of the 18th Regiment Wisconsin Volunteers, and was killed at the head of his regiment in the battle of Shiloh. They had two children, a son and a daughter, both of whom are still living. Mrs. Hanchett is now the wife of James O. Raymond, Esq., a prominent attorney residing at Stevens Point. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
Biographical Sketch of the late Hon. Luther Hanchett
We find in the Stanton Times, published at Plover, Portage county, a long obituary of the late Hon. Luther Hanchett, whose residence was at that place. We cannot copy it entire, but will give such portions as contain the main events of Mr. Hanchett’s career: "Mr. Hanchett was born in Tallmadge county, Ohio, and, at the time of his death, was thirty-seven years of age. His father was a physician of high standing. His mother was a superior woman, much beloved, and died at an advanced age, giving very satisfactory evidence of piety. The family resided, during his father’s life, at two other places in Ohio besides Tallmadge: Kendall, Stark county, and Middlebury, Portage county. Mr. H’s father died when he was seventeen years of age. From that time he depended upon his own exertions. His advantages in regard to school education do not appear to have been of a high order. He studied law, first with his brother at Fremont, formerly called Lower Sandusky, Sandusky county, Ohio, and afterwards at Jonesville, Mich. After studying law, he was a surveyor for a short time in Michigan. About thirteen years ago he came to the West. He first went to Galena, Ill, but soon came to Hazel Green in Grant county, in this State, where a cousin of his, Mr. Augustus Tyler, resided. Mr. Tyler, having a lumbering business in the Wisconsin Pinery, Mr. Hanchett accompanied him to Wausau. His clothing, which was good when he left Michigan, having become worn, his purse being light, and it being uncertain whether he should immediately obtain employment as a lawyer, he began to work at making shingles in a shanty at Wausau with Mr. Tyler. While he was thus employed, John Eckels, Esq., of Plover, having a suit in court, and all the lawyers in the vicinity being engaged by the opposite party, went to Wausau to obtain the services of Mr. Hanchett, of whom he had heard from Mr. Tyler. He found him at work in a hickory shirt, making shingles in the above mentioned shanty. Mr. Hanchett agreed to manage the suit. Little was expected of a lawyer found in such a situation and employment. But the suit was conducted successfully; and from that time it was unnecessary for the young lawyer to make shingles. He took up his residence at Plover, and soon had all the business he wished to attend to.
In 1853 he was married to the eldest daughter of the Hon. James S. Alban, who fell at Pittsburg Landing as Colonel of the Eighteenth Wisconsin Regiment of Volunteers, with whom he was, for some time, a partner in the practice of law. This lady, with two children, a daughter and a son, he has left to mourn his untimely death. Mr. Hanchett’s last illness was short. He was confined to the house but four days. The esteem in which he was held was testified by the effect produced by the news of his dangerous illness and sudden death, by the large concourse that attended his funeral, and by the grief which was depicted in the countenances and manifested by the tears of the people.
Mr. Hanchett was buried with Masonic honors, being at his death a member of that fraternity and Master of the Lodge of Plover. The funeral was attended at the Presbyterian Church in this village. He was a member of that congregation, his family being members of the Presbyterian Church. The text of the funeral discourse was strikingly illustrated by the suddenness of his death: ‘Boast not thyself of the morrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth." [Source: "Milwaukee Sentinel", dated December 5, 1862; - Sub. by Denise Hansen]
Willis Wilson Haseltine
WILLIS WILSON HASELTINE, Stevens Point, was born in Brooklyn, Green county, Wisconsin, and his parents were J. W. and Sarah A. Haseltine. He was educated at Evansville Seminary, Evansville, Wisconsin. Subsequently he studied law in the office of Orton, Keyes & Chynoweth at Madison, graduated from the State University Law School, and was admitted to the bar, at Madison, by the supreme court, June 20, 1876. He settled down in the practice of his profession at Stevens Point, and is connected with J. O. Raymond in the firm of Raymond & Haseltine. Mr. Haseltine has achieved eminent success in his law practice, and high standing as a citizen. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander]
Hiel Heath, a retired farmer of Amherst township, Portage county, was born in the town of Randolph, Orange Co., Vt., May 22, 1812, and is the son of James Heath, born in Connecticut April 22, 1776, and Sarah (Gloyd) Heath, born in Charlestown, Mass., in 1774. The first of the Heath family to emigrate to this country were two brothers, natives of the north of England, who came about the end of the seventeenth century, landing at Boston, Mass. One located on a farm in the suburbs of that city, and the other went farther west and was never afterward heard from by his brother. Reuben Heath, a great-uncle of Hiel Heath, was born in Massachusetts, and was one of a family of four brothers who fought at the battle of Bunker Hill, Reuben and William alone surviving. The children of Reuben were Nathaniel, Rachel, Sarah and Mary. Grandfather Heath owned a farm near Boston, where he died. His children were as follows: Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, a Methodist minister, who preached a few years in Randolph, Vt., was called to Pennsylvania, and there died; and James, the father of Hiel Heath. The children remained on the home farm until after the death of their mother, then located on a farm in Randolph, Vermont.
James Heath was educated and married in Massachusetts. He followed the trade of shoemaker there, and for a short time in Randolph, where he resided with the family for a few years. He then located on a farm in Middlebury, Addison county, Vt., where his wife died in 1852, and he in 1854 at the age of seventy-eight. Their children were as follows: Charles (deceased), born in 1796, married to Caroline Chadwick, by whom he had four children, the three eldest being named Henry C, Benjamin Franklin and George; for his second wife Charles married Rosanna , by whom he had four sons: James, born in 1798, a lumberman on the St. Lawrence, died at the age of twenty-seven; Libbeus, born in 1800, was engaged in the lumber business in Manitowoc county, Wis., where he died, unmarried, in 1844. Daniel, born in 1804, was a horse dealer in Vermont and New Hampshire; he married Mary Wadleigh in the latter State, and had six children, the four eldest being named Elizabeth, Mary, Joseph and Daniel. Rebecca J., born in 1806, married Charles Pratt, a farmer in Fond du Lac county, Wis., by whom she had the following children: Emeline, Norman J., Albert, Celestine (deceased), Sarah and H. Ellen. Maria, born in 1808, was twice married, her first husband being Dickerman, a lumberman, in Middlebury, Vt., her second, Sherman, a farmer near Ft. Ticonderoga, N. Y. Sarah, now deceased, became the wife of Eber Coggswell, by whom she had five children. Hiel is the subject of this sketch. Ann, born in 1814, married Kneeland Olmstead, a carriage manufacturer, by whom she had six children, all daughters. Louisa, now deceased, born in 1818, was the wife of Solomon Thomas, a farmer in Addison county, Vt., by whom she had four children, all daughters.
Hiel Heath received a common-school education in his native town, attending school three months in the year until he was eighteen, then, in the winters, until he was thirty years of age, he went to the woods and drew logs with his father's team. In 1842 he journeyed to Wisconsin, going to Albany, N. Y., by stage, to Buffalo by canal, and by the way of the lakes, on the steamer "Great Western," to Milwaukee, arriving in May, 1842. Sailing from there for Manitowoc, Manitowoc county, he stopped at Port Huron, the captain being obliged to attend a lawsuit at Green Bay. Mr. Heath proceeded on foot to Sheboygan, where his vessel met him, and took him to Manitowoc. He was accompanied on his journey from Vermont by Hiram Champlin, who had bought a half interest in a thousand-acre tract of timberland and in a saw-mill in Manitowoc. Mr. Heath had only two shillings after his arrival, engaged board at a public house, and requested the landlord to trust him until he got employment. He worked for Mr. Champlin over a year. Mr. Heath's brother Libbeus, who had come from Vermont to work for Mr. Champlin, was taken sick, and he nursed him for seventy-two days, being relieved but five nights during all that time. His brother died, unmarried, September 16, 1844, aged forty-four years and eight days. Mr. Heath owned and drove the first lumber wagon in Manitowoc.
On December 28, 1852, in Waterford, Racine Co., Wis., Hiel Heath was united in marriage with Sarah L. Sheldon, who was born in 1825 in the town of Madrid, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., a daughter of Jonah and Sally P. Doane, both born in Massachusetts and at one time residents of Vermont, whence they removed to Madrid, N. Y. Mr. and Mrs. Jonah Doane had children as follows: Norman M., a shoemaker, who died in Caldwell, Racine Co., Wis., April 24, 1893; Mary, who is the widow of William Gilmore, by whom she had three children — Charles (now deceased, who was a farmer in Madrid, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., married to Ellen Martin), Clark W. (with whom his mother is now living; he is now an attorney in Pipestone, Minn., was formerly a school teacher in Wisconsin and Minnesota; he married Carrie Mount, now deceased, by whom he had five children, three of whom are living) and Emma who was a school teacher in Wisconsin, and is married to Samuel Percy, a jeweler in Ogdensburg, N. Y.; Azubah, deceased; Sarah L., wife of Hiel Heath; and Oliver, a farmer in Vacoma, Washington Co., Nebraska.
Mr. Heath bought 120 acres of government land in the town of Cato, Manitowoc Co., Wis., in 1849, made a clearing, and built a rude log cabin, into which he moved after his marriage. In this the family lived some ten years, when he built a more pretentious home. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Hiel Heath are as follows: Martha E., born in Cato December 30, 1853, died in infancy; Harriet E., born in Cato May 23, 1855, married Charles Simmons, a carpenter in Caldwell, Racine Co., Wis., by whom she had three children — Earl, Pearl and Carol; Angeline, born in Cato January 21, 1857, received her education in Cato, taught school for four years, attended the Oshkosh Normal School for three months in the spring of 1879, taught a year in Beaver, Minn., has taught twelve terms in Amherst, and is presiding sister of the Amherst Social Temple of Honor, being an indefatigable worker in the cause of temperance; Charles Henry, a farmer in Grand Rapids, Wood Co., Wis., married Carrie Norton, of McDill, Wis., and Oliver Kyle, born in Cato in 1861, attended school at Cato during the winter months until twenty years of age, since which time he has managed the home farm.
In April, 1883, Hiel Heath disposed of his farm, of which seventy-four acres were then cleared, and he had a beautiful home and good outbuildings. His present farm, consisting of a quarter of Section 16, he bought in the latter part of April, 1883, since which time he has remodeled the house, and, with the assistance of his son, made great improvements on the farm.
Mrs. Hiel Heath passed away in July, 1894, and was buried in Greenwood cemetery, Amherst. Ill health had for some time prevented her usual active participation in Church matters; she was an estimable lady, an excellent wife, a good and kind mother. Her family and a host of friends in Cato and Amherst deeply mourn her decease. Mr. Heath, though in his eighty-fourth year, enjoys good health, and is straight as an arrow. He is a stanch Republican, was assessor for some years in Cato, and was elected justice of the peace there three times, but would not accept the office. In religious affiliation the family are Methodists.
Oliver K. Heath, the son, worked in the woods in the winter of 1884, and for six consecutive winters afterward was employed with team in taking supplies to lumber camps. Since his father has been unable to work he has had charge, and has proved a most successful farmer. He takes an active interest in political matters, and is a strong advocate of temperance and the Republican doctrine. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Fred Oscar Hodson
One of the thoroughly representative young business men of Stevens Point and of those who is fast making his waxto the front in the enterprises with which he is identified, is Fred Oscar Hodson, manufacturer of ice-cream and the proprietor of the Stockton Creamery at this place. Mr. Hodson comes of an old and honored pioneer family, the name of Hodson having been known in this part of the state for many years. Fred O. Hodson is of Eastern birth, born in Penobscot county, Maine, on May 14, 1865, and is a son of John N. and Laura (Johnson) Hodson, of an old established family in that state. John N. Hodson followed the lumber business in the east, rafting on the rivers and in other activities with that industry. His first wife died while they were residents of Maine and for his second wife he married her sister. Belle Johnson, then a resident of Minneapolis. From then until the close of his life John N. Hodson was more or less associated with business life in Portage county, Wisconsin. Mr. Hodson first came to Stevens Point, having followed a half brother, William Allen, to that place. William Allen was a pioneer sawmill man and millwright, and he is still remembered by many of the old settlers of these parts as a thrifty and competent workman. He built mills all along the Plover river, and among the buildings that still stand as a mark of his workmanship might be mentioned the Brown Brothers' Mill at Rhinelander. In 1855 he built, the house in which Fred Oscar Hodson now lives, the same having seen a number of changes and improvements, however, since that time. William Allen died in 1908 aged eighty-three years, and his daughter, Mrs. Rose Raymond, the wife of Charles Raymond, is the only child of his who still lives here. The others have settled in Michigan and there maintain their homes and business activities. He came to the west in the early fifties, bringing his family in 1853.
John N. Hodson, the father of Fred O. of this review, worked for many years under the supervision of his half-brother. Mr. Allen, and he too is known for the mills he built all through this country, he is now retired and lives at Roxbury, Massachusetts. He became the father of two children. Fred Oscar Hodson is the child of his first marriage, and Genevieve, of the second union, is a teacher in a school for boys at Cornwall, Connecticut.
Fred O. Hodson was about ten years of age when he came west with his father, "Wisconsin being regarded as decidedly west by natives of Maine, and though he had gone to school a little in Penobscot county, his education was not added to very materially in Wisconsin. He gained his education, such as it is, chiefly by observation and his association with the lumber business! added not a little to his mental equipment. After the death of his mother he was practically an orphan, as his father's extended absence in the wilds of the state left him much alone and without parental guidance of any sort. Reared for the most part in the homes of relatives, young Hodson was still very young when he set out for himself in life. For a while he worked on the farm for his uncle and others, much as the average country youth of limited advantages has done and will continue to do, and in 1890 he took employment with a railroad, but before long returned to Portage county. Previous to that, however, he had worked in the dairy business near Stevens Point, on the dairy farm of M. E. Means, and there he had an insight into that enterprise that clung to him through the years. In 1892, after his try at railroad work, the young man engaged in business for himself as a milk dealer, buying a herd of cattle from a local cattleman after a short time. Two years later he sold his cattle, though he still Continued in the milk business as a dealer. In the early days he sold on an average of three hundred and fifty quarts of milk daily. Today, he runs two wagons and delivers some four hundred quarts per day. In 1901 he engaged in the ice cream business, and since that time he has devoted the major part of his attention to that phase, of his business, in which he has been successful from the beginning. Straightforward business methods and close attention to his own affairs have been the main elements that have entered into his success, and he is now at the head of a very promising business.
In 1912 Mr. Hodson bought the creamery at Stockton, Wisconsin, from B. L. Ward, and this department of his enterprise buys milk from the farmers thereabouts to the extent of about $1,000 monthly.
In 1905 Mr. Hodson bought his Water street residence, purchasing the place from his father, who in his turn had bought it from William Allen, his half brother, previously mentioned. This place Mr. Hodson has remodeled and improved in many respects so that it is one of the commodious and comfortable residences in the city.
Mr. Hodson has been twice married. He was first married in 1893 to Miss Fannie Zellmar of Oshkosh, Wisconsin. She died on March 28, 1899, leaving one child, Verna Hodson. On December 1, 1905, he married Mabel Scott, a daughter of Ellison G. Scott. Mr. Hodson is a member of the Odd Fellows and of the Modern Woodmen of America. He is not one who has ever taken an active interest in politics, but he has served as an alderman from the Second ward, and he voles the Republican ticket. As a business man, he is one of the up-to-date and progressive order, and one who has made his own way, unaided and untaught, saw as he learned from that most reliable teacher, experience. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails