D. Lloyd Jones
D. LLOYD JONES, Stevens Point, was born in the parish of Stanfair, Denbighshire, North Wales, October 9, 1841, his parents being Edward and Anna Maria Jones, and was educated in the public schools of the country. He immigrated to Wisconsin in the year 1858. Mr. Jones has a meritorious war record, having enlisted December 9, 1861, as a private in Company C, Sixteenth Wisconsin regiment, and went to the front. He was engaged in all the battles in which that regiment participated; was wounded in a charge on the enemy’s works on Leggett’s Hill before Atlanta; was promoted to second lieutenant of Company C, August 4, 1864, and to adjutant of his regiment, February 17, 1865, and was mustered out after the close of the war, August 4, 1865. He afterward commenced the study of law, and graduated at the State University Law School, at Madison, and was admitted to practice by the state supreme court in June 1871. Settling at Stevens Point he commenced practicing law in partnership with G. L. Park, which partnership continued until March 4, 1875, and from August, 1876, to the present time he has been in partnership with A. W. Sanborn. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander.]
D. Lloyd Jones
This leading member of the bar, one of the experienced and reliable attorneys of Portage county, is conspicuous not only as such, but as one of the best-known and widely-respected citizens in this portion of the State. He is a native of North Wales, born October 9, 1841, in the parish of Llanfair, Denbighshire, a son of Edward and Anna Maria (Lloyd) Jones, well-to-do farming people of North Wales, who lived at Graig Cottage. The father died at Graig Cottage in 1856, the mother at Rock Cliffe, North Wales, in 1881, and both their remains repose in the cemetery of Llanfair's Parish Church. They were members of the Episcopal and Congregational Churches, respectively. Our subject received his education in part at the British and Foreign School at Ruthin, Denbighshire, North Wales, and in part at a Church school in Wrexham, Flintshire, after which, February 18, 1856, he entered the North and South Wales Bank as junior clerk, in which capacity he served in that institution two years, at Liverpool, Chester and Wrexham. On May 15, 1858, he emigrated to America, sailing from Liverpool on the "Jeremiah Quin," of the Black Ball Line, and arriving in New York in June. After remaining there a couple of weeks endeavoring to secure a position in one or other of the banking institutions of that city, he came to Wisconsin, for a brief space sojourning in Milwaukee; but he soon found employment on a farm near Waukesha. At the end of a month he moved to near Oshkosh, to the home of his uncle, George Griffiths, where and in the vicinity he remained until the spring of 1860. He then proceeded to Lake Emily, near Fox Lake, and worked on a farm until his enlistment at Beaver Dam, Dodge county, in Company C, Sixteenth Wis. V. I., in December, 1861, with which regiment he participated in the battles of Shiloh and Corinth, siege of Vicksburg and Atlanta, and many minor engagements, and Sherman's march to the sea, during which latter, toward the close of the march, he had charge of the foragers for his brigade. In October, 1862, after the battle of Corinth, he was promoted to first sergeant; in July, 1864, after the battle of Atlanta, was promoted to second lieutenant; in December, 1864, was appointed adjutant of the regiment, and July 12, 1865, was mustered out of the service with the latter rank. On July 21, 1864, while making a charge on the works at Leggett's Hill, before Atlanta, he received a bullet wound in the back part of the neck, rendering him unconscious, so that he had to be carried from the field. It was a very narrow escape for him from death, as had the bullet struck him a little higher or a little lower the result would have been instant death. After leaving the army he returned to the peaceful pursuits of agriculture, and so continued till January, 1866, when he was appointed, by State Treasurer W. E. Smith, clerk in the treasurer's office at Madison, in which capacity he remained until October, 1871. In the meantime he took up the study of law, in September, 1870, entering the University Law School at Madison, where he graduated in June, 1871, at the same time being admitted to the bar of the supreme court. In October, 1871, he came to Stevens Point, where he commenced the practice of his profession, in partnership with G. L. Park, under the firm name of Park & Jones. In 1875 Mr. Park was elected circuit judge, and the partnership was dissolved, Mr. Jones then conducting the business alone until August, 1876, at which time he associated himself with A. W. Sanborn, the firm being known as Jones & Sanborn till March, 1886, when Judge Gate was admitted into partnership, the style of the firm becoming Cate, Jones & Sanborn, and has since so remained, Mr. Jones having charge of all the supreme court work of the firm, and giving his special attention to corporation, real-estate and commercial law business.
On May 1, 1867, Mr. Jones was united in marriage with Miss Addie Purple, daughter of Chauncey H. Purple, at that time assistant State treasurer. Two children have been born to this union, viz.: Grace Purple, married to George S. Rodd, and Chauncey Lloyd, now a student of law. Politically our subject is a Republican, and for five years he represented his ward in the council as alderman, part of the time filling the president's chair. In 1872 he was appointed United States commissioner for the Western District of Wisconsin, which office he yet fills. In religious faith he and his wife are members of the Episcopal Church, of which he is one of the vestrymen. Socially, since 1870 he has been a member of the F. & A. M., was in Madison Lodge No. 5, and is now a member of Evergreen Lodge No. 93, of Stevens Point; has passed all the minor degrees up to and including that of Knight Templar, is member of the Wisconsin Consistory, Scottish Rite, Milwaukee, and is a member of Crusade Commandery No. 17, Stevens Point. In 1891 he was elected grand commander, Knights Templar of the State of Wisconsin, serving as such one year; was commander of Crusade Commandery six years, high priest of the Chapter four years, and at the present time is master of the lodge at Stevens Point. By virtue of his honorable service in the Union army during the Civil war, he is a member of the G. A. R., Stevens Post No. 156, of which he has been commander, and has served in the Council of Administration of the Department of Wisconsin; also was judge advocate on the staff of Col. Upham while the latter was department commander. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Henry Kollock, one of the early pioneers and successful farmers of Almond township, Portage county, was born in New Brunswick, November 12, 1828, son of Shepherd F. and Mary Eliza (Taylor) Kollock, both natives of New Brunswick. Shepherd F. Kollock was by occupation a lumberman and fisherman, and the shifting center of the lumbering interests induced him several times to move. He lived for some years in Maine, and in 1836, soon after the death of his wife, he moved west, settling near Detroit, Mich., where he engaged in farming. Four years later he came to Waukesha, and followed lumbering, living with his eldest son, William, who owned land. Here the father died in 1843. He had nine children, as follows: William, who died in Kansas; Jane, who married Thomas Curry, a harness maker, and died in Michigan; Wellington, a resident of Buena Vista township, who was killed in the tornado of 1863; Ann C., who, as the widow of Michael Little, lives with her children at Detroit, Mich.; George, an hotel keeper at Merrill; Mary Eliza, wife of George Sanford, a farmer and lumberman at Hustisford, Dodge county; Henry, of Almond township; Nelson, a farmer of Almond township; and Frances, widow of B. F. Cooper, of West Superior. Until the tender age of eight years our subject received some educational advantages in the East, and he can remember when a teacher could be employed for $1 per week; on coming west with his father his school days were less frequent. After the father's death, which occurred when Henry was fifteen years old, he remained at the home of his brother William for three years, then with his brother Nelson he came to Wausau, and for six years they worked in the pineries. Then, in 1852, the two brothers came to Almond township, where they bought a claim of 320 acres, at that time unsurveyed. They lived for a time with their brother Wellington, in Buena Vista township, and their nearest neighbor was John Moss, who occupied the land now known as the Dickson place. The brothers had oxen, and at once began breaking up the land. Henry was married, March 20, 1854, to Permelia Barber, daughter of Chester Barber, a cooper by trade, who had been a soldier of the war of 1812, and who came from New York to Waushara county, Wis., about 1847, engaging in farming until his death, several years later. When Henry Kollock was married about fifty acres of the land was under the plow. He built a frame house, 16x24, and here the two brothers lived. They speculated in land to some extent, and remained in partnership until 1873, when they divided 560 acres between them. Henry now owns 200 acres. He is the father of four children, as follows: Ella A., who married Walter Nugent, of Plainfield, Wis., and died at the age of thirty-five years, leaving one child, Cora E.; Cora D., now Mrs. William Brady, of Almond township; Edith, now Mrs. Charles H. Pratt; and Shepherd F., at home. All the children have been school teachers except Shepherd F. The latter was married November 12, 1894, to Anna Smith, daughter of Osborn and Sarah (Clark) Smith. Osborn Smith, a plumber by trade, is now a farmer of Buena Vista, and is the father of twelve children, as follows: William (deceased), Jennie, Anna, Alice, Ella, Maggie, William (2), Catherine Reece, Maria, Theresa, Adeline and James. Politically Mr. Kollock is a Republican, and in ante-bellum times he was, like his father, a Whig. He is a prominent member of Plainfield Lodge No. 208, F. & A. M., and is one of the most influential and most highly-respected citizens of Almond township. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Gottlieb Kussmann, now one of the wealthiest and most prosperous citizens of Stockton township, Portage county, has not always enjoyed the comforts of his present life. He can look back over many years of hardships and struggles, more perhaps than fall to the lot of most men, and through them all he can trace the threads which have guided him upward to a plane considerably above the high-water mark of restless want. Those threads are patience, steadiness of purpose, industry and good management. Mr. Kussmann was born in Prussia, May 20, 1833. His father, John Kussmann, was a common laborer, who owned a small piece of land, and had five sons and one daughter to support — Christian, Peter, John, Gottlieb, William and Regina. With little schooling the boys were early put to work. Gottlieb at ten years of age began herding cattle, and a little later sheep. His earnings barely sufficed for a scanty livelihood. At seventeen he was apprenticed to a tailor, and for three and a quarter years received no wages. Following his trade for a few years, conducting a shop of his own for one and a half years, he saved a few dollars with which he resolved to pay his passage to America. In Germany he saw no hope of attaining a home. Bidding farewell to friends he took passage August 10, 1856, at Hamburg, in the sailing vessel "Elizabeth," bound for New York. An incident at sea was a collision with another craft in mid-ocean, resulting not more seriously, fortunately, than in the loss of a mast. Another feature of the trip was that aboard was the young woman whom Gottlieb afterward made his wife. She too, with her mother, stepfather and brothers and sisters was journeying to a land of greater opportunities. After six weeks and two days the "Elizabeth" reached New York. Gottlieb's intended destination was Montello, Marquette Co., Wis., where friends lived. At Green Lake Prairie he struck his first job, and for six weeks' work received fifteen dollars, which was paid in gold dollars, queer little coins indeed as they seemed to the German boy. During the winter he worked at his trade, and May 3, 1857, came to Stevens Point by team. En route he spied some Indians, and the aborigines frightened him somewhat. Stevens Point was then a primitive village, and pine trees stood in the public square. Gottlieb secured work with a farmer, Dewey Brown.
In June, 1857, Mr. Kussmann was married, at Stevens Point, to Henriette Heiman, his sweetheart on the "Elizabeth." She was born in Germany June 25, 1834. During the harvesting season he visited Green Lake Prairie, and in the fall returning to Stevens Point worked at his trade. With his brother he ran the river during the summer of 1858, making four trips to Galena, Ill., Alton, Ill., and Dubuque, Iowa. They had several narrow escapes from drowning. For twelve years Mr. Kussmann worked land he had rented, then, about 1870, he bought on credit 120 acres in Section 18, Stockton township, only ten acres of which had been broken, and it was destitute of buildings. Where his house now stands were large oak trees. Mr. Kussmann erected buildings, and has ever since resided on this farm, adding to it until it now includes 240 acres. To Mr. and Mrs. Kussmann were born the following children: Julius, a farmer of Lanark township; Anna, who married Frank Pollard, and died in Stockton township; John, a farmer, of Stockton township; Samuel, at home; Fred, a grain buyer of Fall Creek, Eau Claire Co., Wis.; Lena, now Mrs. Rupert Ward, of Stockton township; Ernest, at home. For two years after coming to America Mr. Kussmann was a Democrat. He has ever since been a Republican, and all his sons are Republicans. He has never sought office, but one year served as path master. Himself and family are members of the Lutheran Church at Stevens Point. In the early days he hauled wheat with ox-teams to Berlin, a distance of sixty miles, and sold it for from 30 to 40 cents a bushel, and other pioneer experiences were on a par with this one. He is now one of the leading farmers of the township, and no family is more highly respected than his. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Charles A. Lane
CHARLES A. LANE (Rep.), of Plover, was born August 10, 1825, in Springport, Cayuga county, New York; received a common school education; is a manufacturer; he resided in various places in New York, coming to Wisconsin in 1856 and settling at Plover, his residence at the present time; has been town clerk since ’66, postmaster since ’68, justice of the peace from ’72 to ’80; was an unsuccessful candidate for county treasurer in ’76; was elected member of assembly for 1882, and re-elected for 1883, receiving 1,643 votes, against 1,180 for John O. Johnson, democrat. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1883), page 501; transcribed by Susan Geist]
Herman T. Lange
As a representative business man Mr. Lange has taken an active part in various enterprises in Eau Claire. As president and treasurer of the H. T. Lange Company, wholesale grocery and fruits, Mr. Lange has a practical achievement, which is both the flower and fruit of a long career as a business man, and in a number of other ways Mr. Lange 's name is identified with the business history of this state where he has been a resident for more than thirty years. Herman T. Lange was born at Portage, Wisconsin, April 9, 1858, a son of Lewis T. and Louisa B. Lange, both parents, born in Germany, are now living, the father having been born in 1826 and the mother in 1836. The father in Germany had learned the cabinet-makers' trade under the direction of his father, who was a skilled workman in that line, and when a young man sought a new field for his energies in America. He embarked upon a sailing vessel, and spent seven weeks upon the ocean, finally landing in New York City. In the course of the voyage the food supplies had run short and the passengers subsisted upon a scant allowance for a number of days. From the Atlantic coast he came on west and located at Fort Wayne, Indiana, where he had a brother, and some time later moved to Chicago, from there to Watertown, Wisconsin. all the time working at his trade as a journey man, and finally settled in Portage where he was employed by a firm which manufactured fanning mills and thrashing machines. Besides his training in a trade he had a natural mechanical talent, and this faculty proved very useful in his successful career. While connected with the Portage firm he invented a machine for separating the grain from the chaff, this being one of the earliest workable inventions for the threshing of grain. Subsequently he was connected with a furniture manufacturing concern until its' plant was burned to the ground. In that fire he lost all his tools and that was a serious setback. The company moved their plant to LaCrosse, but Mr. Lange remained in Portage. This was a period of Wisconsin history when the Indians were still hostile and causing considerable trouble to the early settlers in that section of the state. Subsequently he made his home at Kilboum City, where he was engaged independently in the manufacture of furniture. He then moved to Dunn county where he operated a farm for seven years and then moved to Eau Claire, where he is still living, aged eighty-four years and where he is a respected resident. During his early life he was a Whig in politics, and now for many campaigns has voted for Republican candidates. He was married during his residence in Fort Wayne, Indiana, and he and his wife became the parents of seven children, six sons and one daughter. The daughter is now deceased and the sons are all living and named as follows : George A., Herman T., Charles G., Lewis T., Gustav J. and Fred A.
Mr. H. T. Lange attained most of his education in the schools of Kilbourn City, Wisconsin. He left school and books at the age of sixteen in order to turn his attention to practical work of life, and began learning the bakery trade at Portage. After two years of training and experience he went to Minneapolis where he began work at his trade. His work as manager of a bakery on Fourth avenue north, continued for eight j'ears, and at the end of that time, with George Johnson, he engaged in business for himself under the firm name of Johnson & Lange. This was in the fall of 1882 and the location of the partners was in Eau Claire, the city with which Mr. Lange has ever since been identified. In a little while a confectionery stock was added to the business, and by their enterprise and push they increased their business until they had three stores in the city. In 1892 Mr. G. J. Lange, a brother of Herman T., bought out Mr. Johnson, and the business was then conducted under the firm name of H. T. Lange & Brother, up to 1895, at which time the latter bought out his brother's interest in the business.
Mr. Lange in 1895 built a fine brick building at the corner of Gibson and River streets and disposing of his retail store he engaged in the wholesale grocery and fruit business by himself. In 1903 the business was incorporated under the name of H. T. Lange Company, Wholesale Grocers and Fruits, Mr. Lange being president and treasurer of the company. He is also director of the Lange Canning Company, a local enterprise which was incorporated in 1901 ; is a director in the Union National Bank, director of the Union Savings Bank, and is president of the Y. M. C. A. in Eau Claire. He has represented the Sixth Ward as alderman for three terms, and is one of the citizens whose support can be depended upon for the promotion and betterment of all local welfare. Mr. Lange is a member of the Methodist church, and is affiliated with the Eau Claire Lodge No. 112, A. F. & A. M. and the Eau Claire Chapter No. 36, K. A. M. In politics he is a Republican.
On November 23, 1886, he married Minnie L. Weidenbaeher. Mrs. Lange was born in Kilbourn City, and is the mother of three children, namely: Laura, Gladys and Vernon. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Dennis Laughlin, one of the most prosperous farmers of Stockton township, Portage county, is the son of an old pioneer, and though still a young man, has lived to witness the marvelous changes that have occurred in the Upper Wisconsin Valley during the past forty years. He was born in Toronto, Upper Canada, August 9, 1853, son of Patrick and Margaret (Cullon) Laughlin, natives of County Wicklow, Ireland, where Patrick was born, in 1815, the son of Dennis Laughlin, a stock farmer of some means, and where Margaret was born, January 10, 1826, daughter of Thomas Cullon. Soon after their marriage Patrick and Margaret Laughlin crossed the Atlantic in a sailing vessel, starting from New Ross and landing at New York City in June, 1847, after a seven-weeks' voyage. At Utica, N. Y., they secured employment as attendants in the insane asylum. They moved to Canada early in the year 1853, where Mr. Laughlin entered the grocery business, but within a year he returned to the United States, coming in the fall of 1853 to Wisconsin. They reached Stevens Point November 2, 1853. It was election day, and the site of the present "Curran Hotel" was on the outskirts of the village. Election excitement was high that day, for between the hotel site and the Wisconsin river fourteen fist fights were in progress at one time. The journey was made from Milwaukee by team. Mr. Laughlin bought two lots at Stevens Point, which the family still owns. He also purchased from the government 120 acres in Section 28 of what is now Stockton township. During the winter of 1853-54 the family lived at Stevens Point; but in the following spring removed to the farm, where they lived in a shanty 16x20 feet, which Mr. Laughlin had built, the first habitation on the farm. The father at once began to improve the place, and he lived here until his death, May 8, 1885, after a brief illness. He was the owner of 360 acres of land in Stockton and New Hope townships. In politics he was a Democrat, and his religion was that of the Catholic Church. The widow still lives on the farm with her son Dennis. The children of Patrick and Margaret Laughlin were Mary, born in Utica, N. Y., and now the widow of John McGinley, of Almond township; Dennis; Margaret, now Mrs. Patrick Ryan, acting postmaster at Custer post office; Catherine, now Mrs. Michael Lally, of Rhinelander, Wis.; Elizabeth, now Mrs. M. O'Keefe, of Stockton township; Theresa, Mrs. George Woodnorth, of Helena, Mont.; Martha, a teacher, at home.
Dennis Laughlin was a babe when he was brought to Portage county. He was reared on the farm he owns, spending the winters in the woods. All told, he has followed lumbering for twenty-two winters. He was married July 10, 1879, in Stockton township, to Miss Margaret Conniff, who was born in Beloit, Wis., December 18, 1855, daughter of John and Winifred (O'Rourke) Conniff, natives of County Galway, Ireland. The family of Dennis and Margaret Laughlin consists of Amanda W., John Thomas, Mary F., Stanley P., Daniel F., and Ruth A.; Margaret E. died in infancy. After his marriage Mr. Laughlin began housekeeping on the home farm, and in 1885, after the death of his father, he completed a large stone residence, which is the finest in the township. He is the owner of over 400 acres of land, and one of the most prominent citizens of the township. He is a member of the Catholic Church, and in politics is a Democrat. In the spring of 1894 he was elected town chairman, and is generally regarded as one of the political leaders of the township. Under President Harrison's administration he was appointed postmaster at Custer, and has since held that office, giving over the details of the work to his brother-in-law and sister. Mr. Laughlin has a remarkable memory, and is gifted with a high order of business ability. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
John H. Livingston
John H. Livingston began life in the Upper Wisconsin Valley under the most unpropitious circumstances. The burdens of unusual responsibilities had been thrown upon his young shoulders. As a boy he helped to support his widowed mother and his younger brothers and sisters. When eighteen years of age he came to Wisconsin with his mother and her four younger children, supporting them by his daily labor. Four years later he entered forty acres of land in Almond township, Portage county, but was too poor to pay for an axe with which to clear the farm. But Mr. Livingston has overcome all difficulties. He has successfully passed the trying ordeal of those stern, forbidding years, and is now one of Almond township's most prosperous farmers. His life has been one of struggle and triumph. Mr. Livingston was born in Chazy, Clinton Co., N. Y., July 3, 1832, son of William and Polly (Newman) Livingston. The grandfather of Polly Newman was a soldier in the Revolutionary war. William Livingston was a blacksmith and a native of Milton, Vt., son of Rensselaer and Mary Livingston. Rensselaer was also a blacksmith, and from him his son, William, learned his trade. After marriage William and Polly Livingston migrated from Vermont to Clinton county, N. Y. They had ten children: Harriet, deceased wife of Alexander Irwin, a merchant of Knowlton; Olive, deceased wife of Cludius McLaughlin, a farmer, of Oasis, Waushara county; Catherine, deceased wife of William Fellows, a merchant of Stevens Point; John H.; Frederick, deceased; Mary, deceased wife of Silas S. Walsworth, a lumberman, of Stevens Point; Ardelia, now Mrs. Mott, of Oklahoma; Norman, deceased; and two who died in infancy. William Livingston died about 1845, when John H., the eldest son, was only thirteen years old. He had little opportunity for an education, and began work at 25 cents per day; but a little later secured a position in an hotel at $10 per month. Remaining there three years, he saved enough money to buy a small home and a cow for his mother. They remained there until 1850, when he concluded to bring his mother and her four younger children to Stevens Point. Here he rented a house and secured work at rafting at $1.50 per day, which seemed like a fortune. Remaining at Stevens Point four years, he in 1854 purchased forty acres in Almond township, buying a claim from one Robert Huston. It contained a small log house, 16 X 24, which stood just back of Mr. Livingston's present residence, and to this habitation he brought his mother's family. He had no team; he purchased an axe on credit, and began the work of clearing up the oak openings of his little farm. The first crop, a diversified one, consisting of wheat, corn, oats and potatoes, yielded well, and he was soon the happy possessor of an ox-team. He added gradually to his farm until it grew to 240 acres of well-cultivated land. Polly (Newman) Livingston, wife of William Livingston, died at Stevens Point in 1882. Our subject was married, March 3, 1869, to Laura M. Hinkley, born in Connecticut January 13, 1842, daughter of Lucius and Laura (Waterman) Hinkley.
Mrs. Laura M. (Hinkley) Livingston is a lineal descendant of Samuel Hinkley, who was the ancestor of all of the name in America, coming in the spring of 1635 to New England, with his wife Sarah, and four children, the voyage from the mother country being made in the ship, "Hercules," Capt. John Witherly. They landed at Boston, and settled at Scituate, a town situated about thirty miles from Boston, but within the boundaries of the old Plymouth Colony. In 1639 he removed with all his family and effects to Barnstable, on Cape Cod, being one of the first settlers of that town. His first wife (Sarah) died in Barnstable, August 18, 1656, and December 15, 1657, he married Mrs. Bridget Bodfish, widow of Robert Bodfish, of Sandwich. Samuel Hinkley died in Barnstable October 31, 1662, leaving a large landed estate. The homestead remained in the possession of the family until the commencement of the present century, the last occupant being Squire Isaac Hinkley.
Thomas Hinkley, eldest in the family of eleven children of Samuel Hinkley (all by his first wife Sarah), was born in England, in 1618, and came with his father to New England. He was twice married, first time December 4, 1640, to Mary Richards, daughter of Thomas and Welthean (Loring) Richards, of Weymouth, Mass. She died December 4, 1659, and for his second wife Thomas Hinkley was married March 16, 1660, to Mrs. Mary (Smith) Glover, widow of Nathaniel Glover, of Dorchester, Mass. She was born at Toxteth Park, Lancashire, England, July 20, 1630, and died at Barnstable, Mass., July 29, 1703. Thomas Hinkley died at Barnstable April 25, 1705, aged eighty-seven years. He was a lawyer by profession, and one of the most prominent and influential men of his day, having been a deputy magistrate, governor's assistant, commissioner of the confederated colonies of New England, and governor of Plymouth Colony. He had seventeen children in all — eight by his first wife, and nine by his second.
Samuel Hinkley, son of the above and his first wife (and fifth in the order of birth), was born at Barnstable, Mass., February 14, 1652, and died at Barnstable (Great Marshes) March 19, 1687. He was married November 13, 1676, to Sarah Pope, of Sandwich, Mass., daughter of John Pope, and they had a family of ten children. She survived her husband, and married again, after which the family of children removed to Harwich, a town situated about twelve miles from Barnstable, lower down toward the extremity of the Cape.
Thomas Hinkley, third child of Samuel and Sarah (Pope) Hinkley, was born at Barnstable March 19, 1681, removed to Harwich, as above related, and was there married to Mercy . [The family history is here incomplete.] Thomas appears to have died young, probably in 1710, as administration on his estate was granted to his widow October 11, 1710.
Thomas Hinkley, second child of Thomas and Mercy Hinkley, was born at Harwich, Mass., March 11, 1708-09, and was a blacksmith by trade. He was thrice married: first time March 31, 1730, to Ruth Myrick, of Harwich; second wife was Lydia Nickerson, of Chatham, married March 17, 1765; third wife was Hannah Severance, of Harwich. [The family record is again incomplete.]
Seth Hinkley, eldest child of Thomas and Ruth (Myrick) Hinkley, was born at Harwich, Mass., September 2, 1730, and died at Hardwick, Worcester Co., Mass., April 21, 1797. He was married in Harwich February 2, 1755, to Sarah Berry, daughter of Judah Berry, and who died in Hardwick April 8, 1813, aged eighty-one years. They appear to have removed to Hardwick soon after marriage, as the births of all of their eight children are recorded here. [They were the great-grandparents of Lucius Hinkley.]
Scottoway Hinkley, seventh child of the eight children of Seth and Sarah (Berry) Hinkley, was born at Hardwick, Mass., April 10, 1771, settled in Vernon, Conn., and there married Eunice Kellogg, who was born November 15, 1773, daughter of Rev. Ebenezer and Hannah (Wright) Kellogg. He died in Vernon, in August, 1849; his wife passed away in November, 1823. He was a physician, and a very large man, weighing, it is said, 300 pounds. They had six children.
Lucius Hinkley, eldest of the six children born to Dr. Scottoway and Eunice (Kellogg) Hinkley, was born in Vernon, Conn., September 6, 1799, married at Bolton, Conn., November 9, 1830, to Miss Laura (Waterman), born at the same place in February, 1805, daughter of Charles and Anna Waterman. Lucius Hinkley was a manufacturer of woolen goods, merchant and farmer. He removed from Connecticut to Troy, N. Y., about 1842, and became a grocer. Ten years later he came to Waupun, Wis., and in 1855 to Pine Grove township. Portage county, where he pre-empted a farm of 160 acres and erected a one-story log house, I4 x 24, into which he moved with his family. The parents in 1872 removed from Pine Grove township to Marcus, Iowa, where Mr. Hinkley died, April 23 1883; his wife, November 16, 1893. They had six children, their names and dates of birth being as follows: Jane Gray, December 2, 1831; Lucius Dwight,November 8, 1834; Julian Wisner, March 12, 1838; Laura Maria, January 13, 1842; Mary Amelia, February 14, 1844; and Myron Edward, February 15, 1846. Of these, Jane G. is married to William H. Wilson, and resides in Milwaukee; Lucius D. is a dealer in pumps and windmills at Waupun; Julian W. is a contractor and builder, of Minneapolis, Minn.; Laura M. is the wife of John H. Livingston; Mary A. died in 1894; and Myron E. is a nurseryman at Marcus, Iowa.
The children born to John H. and Laura M. Livingston are Stacia, born April 16, 1870, a student at Oshkosh; Olive, born December 2, 1871, a school teacher at Plainfield; Zella, born December 27, 1876, a student at Oshkosh; Ralph Allen, born March 26, 1885. In politics Mr. Livingston is a stanch Republican. He has been a member of the side board, and for twenty-two years has been school treasurer. He is now vice-president of the Stockton Insurance Company. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Albion F. Lombard
If the new and vigorous little settlement at Arnott, Stockton township, Portage county, ever grows to goodly proportions, its start on the road to prosperity will have been given it by A. F. Lombard. If the village does not so thrive, it will be because Mr. Lombard's efforts in its behalf are not seconded. In other words the subject of this sketch is a public-spirited citizen, zealous in advancing the interests of the community in which he lives, and thoroughly alive to the possibilities that might follow wise co-operation. Mr. Lombard is the son of an early pioneer. The family of Lombards in this country have descended from three brothers who many generations ago came to the United States from the Island of Corsica, and settled at Scituate, a small fishing town on the coast of Massachusetts. Albion F. was born at Readfield, Kennebec Co., Maine, October 7, 1842. His father, James Lombard, was born at Gorham, Maine, December 2, 1796, and the grandfather and great-grandfather were likewise both named James. The father (James) was reared at Gorham, and there apprenticed to a saddler and harness-maker by his stepfather. James Lombard opened a shop at Readfield, Maine, where, September 7, 1817, he married Isabella Currier, born August 31, 1799, at Readfield, daughter of Samuel Currier, the leading physician of that village, whose practice years afterward fell to his son George. James Lombard's health was failing at his trade, and he took up the study of medicine, preparing himself by a course at Bowdoin College. Practicing successfully at Readfield, Gorham, and Saccarappa, a suburb of Portland, Maine, Dr. Lombard in May, 1851, started with his family for Wisconsin. Coming by rail from Saccarappa to Buffalo, and by the lakes on the old "Wisconsin" from Buffalo to Sheboygan, they drove by team to Plover, where a son, Lewis, had preceded them. Dr. Lombard was a poor man, and sought a home away from the city where he might rear his large family. His children were James, Charles, Isabel, George, Lewis, Leonidas, Halbert, Orlando, Washington, Horace, Emily, Albion F. and Emma. Of these, George (a farmer of Stockton), Lewis (a farmer of Lanark township), Albion F. and Emma (now Mrs. Sydney Stevens, of Livingston, Mont.), are the only survivors. His first settlement was in Section 32, Stockton township, where Lewis had pre-empted 160 acres before the land was on sale, not receiving his patent until 1858. Dr. Lombard died on that farm in 1858, from the effects of a long-standing complaint. He was buried in a private cemetery on the farm, which in 1891 became public, and is known as "Lombard Cemetery." Dr. Lombard was an intelligent, well-read man, far above the average of the early settlers. In politics he was a stanch Democrat. By the terms of the will the property was left to Albion F. and James, they to provide for the widowed mother, who survived until April 21, 1881, and was buried by the side of her husband.
Albion F. Lombard attended the Maine schools diligently till the journey west. For several years there were no schools in Stockton, but in the winters of 1860, 1861 and 1862 he attended terms on "The Prairie," under that old-time instructor, James Walker. After his father's death he took charge of his half of the farm. In 1863 many boy friends and acquaintances were enlisting in the army, and Albion F. was seized with a desire to become a soldier. He had about concluded to join the Seventh Wis. V. I., then stationed at Arlington Heights, in which an intimate friend, Michael Shortell, later killed on the Rappahannock river, had enlisted, when his brother Horace returned from service and pleaded with him not to volunteer. It took the united efforts of the family a long time to keep the boy out of service. He must go somewhere, however, for the spirit of adventure was in his veins. In the lumber country, along the Big Eau Plaine river, he became cook for the crew of a big raft of lumber and shingles bound for the South. Starting March 25, 1863, the first division of the raft collided at Clint's dam, and one of the crew perished, others narrowly escaping. The second division, containing Mr. Lombard, passed in safety. At Rock Island, Ill., the raft struck one of the bridge piers in the Mississippi river, and was considerably damaged; but by the aid of tug boats repairs were made, and the one million feet of choice lumber loaded with shingles, which the raft contained, reached Quincy, and the lumber was sold for $18 per thousand feet.
Receiving his pay, the young man started for Pike's Peak. Crossing the bridgeless Mississippi in a skiff, he reached St. Joe by rail, and staged it to Omaha. Impatiently waiting for a train to cross the Plains, he hired out to drive a team of four mules, hauling corn to Fort Laramie, Wyo., at forty dollars per month. He had to shell the corn himself, and started several days later. The wagon boss was brutal and insulting, and after several clashes Mr. Lombard left him, at Julesburg, Neb., obtaining his pay only after threats to sue. He had met trains bound for Denver at Ft. Kearney, and, joining one of them, paid his passage by work. Proceeding by stage to Mountain City, near Central City, Colo., where he expected to find his brother, Washington, he learned the latter had left for Idaho. Albion secured work as a laborer at a stamp mill, at $2.50 per day; then worked in a mine at $3 per day, and later at the Gregory Lode at $3.50 per day. His brother Horace joined him in the spring of 1865, and they worked as carpenters for a time, when Albion became foreman in a mine at California Gulch, Colo., at $3 per day in gold. Returning to Black Hawk, he, with the brother took a wagon train for Omaha. Here for a short time he worked for the Union Pacific Railway Co., and, work becoming scarce, hired out in the spring of 1866 as a laborer in the construction of the Union Pacific road at Columbus, Neb., 100 miles west of Omaha. One month of this work was enough, and returning to Omaha he drove wagon to Denver, and mined during the summer. Back to Omaha he went again in the fall to find his brother Horace doing contracting work, and hired out to him as a carpenter, being a great help to him in time of misfortune. During the winter of 1866-67 he hauled wheat to a mill twenty miles up the river from Omaha for Edward Creighton, afterward a multi-millionaire.
Hiring out on bridge construction for the Union Pacific road in the spring of 1867, Mr. Lombard learned on reaching his destination that "no hands were needed." A company of soldiers passing en route to Cheyenne, where barracks were to be erected, he hired out to Col. Carlin for $100 per month. Six weeks later, because a comrade was discharged, he quit, too, and did job work at Cheyenne for $10 per day. By fall he had saved several hundred dollars, and he returned to Wisconsin, where he spent the winter. Returning to Omaha in the spring, he was actively engaged in bridge and trestle building for the Union Pacific road as far west as Corinne, Utah. He witnessed the celebrated ceremonies attending the completion of the road, June 9, 1869, and soon after, learning of the death of his brother James, he returned to Stockton township, Portage Co., Wis., and took charge of the farm. He also engaged in the sale of agricultural implements and farm machinery. In 1890 he sold the "home farm," and erected several buildings at Arnott Station, doing much to establish and improve business at that point. There he erected the first potato warehouse, a building 40 x 60 feet, leasing it to Mr. Carley, who afterward bought it. He also sold other buildings, and thus diversified the interests at the little station. His business in implements and farm machinery grew so rapidly that in 1893 he built a large warehouse, and he has since added a select line of hardware. His present stock would be a credit to a larger town. On April 22, 1895, he met with a heavy loss by fire, amounting to some $3,500, on which he had an insurance of only $1,100; but in no ways discouraged, he has rebuilt, and has now an even finer place of business than was his old one.
In politics Mr. Lombard is independent, and votes for the best man. He is well-informed on matters of general interest, and is widely known. He possesses the full confidence and friendship of his wide circle of acquaintances, and a more popular and genial man it would be difficult to find. Sufficiently provided with worldly goods to make labor unnecessary, he enjoys life by building up the interests of the locality in which he lives.
Andrew Lutz, Jr.
Andrew Lutz, Jr., proprietor of a leading livery stable in Stevens Point, Portage county, was born in Baden, Germany, April 4, 1845, eldest surviving son of Andrew and Elizabeth (Gaber) Lutz, also natives of the Fatherland. In 1853 our subject came to the United States with his mother, the husband and father having preceded them, in 1852, in order to prepare a home for them in Almond township, Portage Co., Wis. Here the young lad was reared and educated, and was engaged in agricultural pursuits until 1888, when he removed to Stevens Point and opened out his present livery stable, which is one of the best in the city. In Almond township, Portage Co., Wis., October 30, 1867, Mr. Lutz was united in marriage with Miss Mena Krohn, daughter of Fred and Mena Krohn, both natives of Germany, now residents of Stevens Point, and to this marriage were born twelve children, four of whom survive: Charles, Frank, Henry and Annie. In religious faith the family attend the services of the Lutheran Church. In his political views Mr. Lutz is a stanch Republican. He is a progressive, wide-awake citizen, standing high in the estimation of all who know him, or have had any dealings with him, for his personal integrity and straightforward honest principles. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
James E. Lytle
This well-known and most highly esteemed resident of Stevens Point, who is probably the oldest living pioneer settler in Portage county, was born in Richmond, Va., May 17, 1816. James Lytle, father of our subject, and a Southerner by birth, followed the trade of ship carpenter. He married Miss Hannah Stent, who was born in England, a daughter of an English sea captain who owned vessels; but losing her parents when young she was adopted by a wealthy Virginia family. James Lytle was accidentally drowned through the capsizing of a boat in a wind squall, within sight of his home, and while returning to Richmond after a year's absence. After the death of his father, James E. Lytle, then a six-year-old lad, removed with his mother to Franklin county, N. Y., where he was reared to manhood, receiving a limited education in the district schools, afterward following the occupation of teamster and stage driver until he was about twenty-five years old, when he purchased a farm in Hopkinton township, St. Lawrence Co., N. Y., where he continued farming until April, 1846, the date of his coming to Wisconsin, and locating in Pederville (now called Waukesha). At the end of three years he removed to Plover, Portage county, being among the pioneer settlers of the place, and here engaged in the trades of mason and plasterer for about three years, after which he again followed agricultural pursuits up to the year 1870, when, his health failing, he rented his farm and took up the subscription-book business as agent for a Chicago publishing house, in which line he continued till 1889, when he returned to Stevens Point, and retired from active business life.
In 1840, at Fort Covington, N. Y, Mr. Lytle was married to Miss Frances Maria Diamond, daughter of Enos and Miranda (Richmond) Diamond, and nine children were born to them, four of whom survive, as follows: George Hamlin, residing in Rome, Ga., married to Miss Alice Smith, a daughter of Charles and Mary Smith they had a family of four children, two of whom survive: Frankie May, wife of John Ferguson, residing in Knoxville, Tenn., and James, at home); Alfred, city engineer of Merrill, Lincoln Co. , Wis., married to Miss Sarah Nutting (they had four children, two yet living: Arthur E. and Bertie A.); William, residing in Stevens Point, Wis., married June 19, 1878, to Miss Jennie Pierce, a daughter of Ira and Rosetta (Whitney) Pierce, natives of Penobscot, Maine (they had six children, four of whom are living: Maudlin, Earl D., Blanch E., and Chester E.); John D., residing in Atlanta, Ga., married to Miss Nellie Smith (now deceased) has one living child named Elsie Lylian. The mother of the above named family, who was born in Magog, Canada, passed peacefully from earth, December 3, 1893, at the age of seventy-five years, twenty-five days. She was an exemplary Christian woman, a devoted mother and faithful wife, for fifty-four years a consistent member of the Methodist Church, as has also been her husband. At her demise the following lines were contributed by a friend: Religion filled her soul with peace. Upon a dying' bed: Let faith look up, let sorrow cease. She lives with Christ o'erhead. Yes, faith beholds her where she sits With Jesus clothed in white. Our loss is her eternal gain; She dwells in cloudless light.
Politically, Mr. Lytle was originally a Whig, and since the organization of the party has been a stanch Republican, though not an active one during the past six years. He has served faithfully as treasurer of Stockton township, Portage county, and also as assessor for six consecutive years, and he is known by his neighbors as a friend in time of need, a counselor in trouble, and a genial companion at all times. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Thomas H. McDill
THOMAS H. McDILL (Rep.), of McDill, Portage county, was born in Crawford county, Pennsylvania, July, 1815; received a common school education; is a lumberman; came to Wisconsin in 1840, and settled in Portage county; was appointed sheriff by Gov. Dodge in 1847, and elected sheriff in 1848; elected county judge in 1852, county treasurer in 1856, and was for eight years chairman of county board of supervisors; was a member of assembly in 1867, 1871 and 1879, and re-elected for 1880, receiving 1434 votes, against 1,103 for John McLean, Democrat, and 208 for S. A. Sherman, Greenbacker. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1880) transcribed by RuthAnne Wilke]
William H. McIntyre
William H. Mcintyre is one of Portage county's native sons. He was born in Belmont township, September 16, 1861, and comes of one of the honored pioneer families of Wisconsin. His father, William Mclntyre, was born in New York about 1829, and in an early day came with his parents to the Badger State, the family locating in Milford township, Jefferson county. His school privileges were those afforded in the neighborhood, and he was reared upon the home farm, the days of his youth being quietly passed. In the family were five children, Abraham, William, Henry, Eliza and Amanda, and they shared in the experiences and hardships peculiar to life on the frontier. In Belmont township. Portage county, in December, 1860, at the home of the bride, was celebrated the marriage of William Mclntyre, Sr., and Clara Turner, who had removed with her family from Jefferson county. The young couple began housekeeping in Milford township, Jefferson county, upon a farm owned by the husband, but after a time took up their residence in Belmont township, where October 2, 1861, Mr. Mclntyre joined the Third Wisconsin Light Artillery and went to the war. On December 1, following, he returned to Jefferson county, where his wife had passed the time of his absence with his parents. Two weeks later he was taken with measles and after a five-days' illness passed away, Januarys, 1862, his remains being interred in Milford township. In politics he was a Republican, and he was a highly respected citizen. After his death, Mrs. Mclntyre went to her father's home, and afterward married John M. Collier.
William H. Mclntyre, who is the only child, acquired his elementary education in the schools of the neighborhood, which was supplemented with a short attendance at the State Normal School, where he prepared himself for teaching, a profession he followed in District No. 5, Belmont township. He lived with his mother for some time after her second marriage, or until his own marriage, which was celebrated in Waupaca, Wis., April 12, 1888, the lady of his choice being Miss Anna Wagner, who was born in Almond township, Portage county, June 20, 1863, a daughter of Michael and Elizabeth (Rice) Wagner, the former a native of France, the latter of Illinois. Mrs. Mclntyre obtained her education in the Oshkosh Normal School, and at the age of nineteen began teaching, which profession she successfully followed eleven terms. By her marriage she has become the mother of an interesting little son, Milan H., born June 21, 1890.
Upon his marriage, Mr. Mclntyre rented the farm which is now his home, and in 1891 he became its owner, the tract comprising 150 acres in Section 17, Belmont, one-half of which has been placed under the plow and yields to him a good income in return for the care and labor he bestows upon it. He is recognized as a prosperous young farmer of good business and executive ability, who through his own efforts has become well-to-do, and is an intelligent young man, highly esteemed by all who know him. By his ballot he supports the Republican party. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Peter McMillin, one of the best known citizens of Stockton township. Portage county, and an ex-soldier, is a native of the Green Mountain State. He was born in Alburg, Grand Isle Co., Vt., September 20, 1824, son of Peter and Sarah H. (Sowles) McMillin. The father of our subject was a farmer and carpenter, comfortably situated in life. He was born in Jersey City, N. J., son of emigrants from Edinburgh, Scotland, and after learning his trade at Jersey City removed to Grand Isle county, Vt., where he married and reared a family of nine children, as follows: Jane, who married Nathan Miles, and died in Vermont; Harriet, who died when a young woman; Maria, who married Isban Kenyon, and died in Hinesburg in 1894; Philyer, who died a farmer in Missouri; William, a railway engineer, who died at Burlington, Vt.; Peter, subject of this sketch; Gustavus, who went to California during the gold fever, and has never since been heard from; Norman, a carpenter, of Denver; Sarah H., now Mrs. Noel Potter, of Bombay, Franklin Co., N. Y.
The father was an Old-line Whig, and died in Vermont at the age of sixty-three; the mother died at the age of forty. They were members of the Universalist Church. Peter McMillin was only eight years old when his mother died. Sisters took her place, and the boy remained at home until he was eighteen. He received a district-school education, much more meager then than now, and at his home, by precept and example, learned the value of honesty and straightforwardness. Beginning farm work for others at the age of eighteen, in Essex county, N. Y., he several years later went to Tioga county, and worked for a few months in a sawmill. With a young companion he undertook the venture of getting out some timber, but the failure of high waters in the stream which was to carry the lumber to market made the enterprise unremunerative. In the fall of 1849 he put into execution a cherished plan by coming west. Traveling by lake to Milwaukee, he walked to Oshkosh, took boat for Gill's Landing, on Wolf river, and came afoot through the woods to Plover. Here he found work teaming goods from Madison to Plover for C. S. Ogden, now a merchant of Waupaca.
In June, 1850, he pre-empted 160 acres in Section 32, of what is now Stockton township. The land was then undisturbed, and there were only three or four settlers on the prairie. There was little timber on the tract, but burr oak surrounded the site selected by Mr. McMillin for his primitive habitation, a rude shanty, 16 x 16. He at once began to break this land, and in the fall of the same year, November 17, 1850, he was married at Plover to Miranda Dimond, born in Canada October 1, 1820, daughter of Enos and Miranda (Richmond) Dimond, New Englanders by birth. Enos was twice married, and Miranda, his second wife, bore him six children: Fannie, Miranda, Sanford, Royal, Paulina and Clara. Miranda in 1849 came to Plover with her brother Royal, and was employed as a domestic in the same household her husband worked for. The couple began housekeeping at once, in the little shanty on the farm they still occupy. The rude habitation was scantily furnished, but the happiest five years of their married life were spent there. Mr. McMillin improved the place during the summers, and in the winter followed teaming. The present dwelling, with various alterations and additions, succeeded the shanty.
To Mr. and Mrs. McMillin were born these children: Emma M., who was born October 1, 1851, and married James Bremmer, of Stevens Point, January 28, 1873; Edith S., born May 18, 1855, married December 25, 1876, to Oscar Drake, of Stevens Point (she passed from earth, May 30, 1895, her death being the first in the family); William P., born May 18, 1856, a farmer of Lincoln county, Wash.; Sidney G., born January 8, 1859, a resident of Oregon; Annie J., born October 4, 1860, married December 12, 1885, to George Iverson, and now living on the home farm; Carrie A., born May 12, 1866, and married January 3, 1888, to Merritt Kenyon, of Stevens Point. For several years, in addition to farming, Mr. McMillin followed lumbering operations extensively during the winter.
In November, 1861, he enlisted, at Plover, in Company E, Eighteenth Wis. V. I. The regiment was ordered from Milwaukee to Tennessee, and at Shiloh saw its first active engagement. Exposure and disease cost more lives during the war than bullets, and Mr. McMillin, though possessing a naturally rugged constitution, was one of those who succumbed to the climatic conditions of the South under the exposures to which troops were necessarily subjected. His health was ruined, and at Corinth, in Ausust, 1862, he was discharged on account of disability. From Corinth he came directly home, and the ailment he contracted in service has never since disappeared. To-day he is almost a physical wreck. Mr. McMillin in a later year of the war was drafted, but at La Crosse, Wis., he was rejected for ill health, before entering active service. He has continued farming operations since the war, but during the past five years has given up active work. Politically he is an earnest Republican in National affairs, but in local matters he is independent. For two years he served Stockton township as assessor. Mrs. McMillin is a member of the Baptist Church. Though deprived of the benefits of good schools in his youth, Mr. McMillin is as strong an advocate of thorough education as may be found in Stockton township, and by observation and judicious reading he has more than overcome the deficiencies of his own opportunities. He is widely known and highly esteemed as one of Stockton's oldest and best residents. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Almon Maxfield holds a leading place among the enterprising and prominent men of Plover, Portage county, where he is now carrying on a successful mercantile business. He is a native of New Hampshire, born in Goshen, November 5, 1829, and is a son of Jonathan C. (a farmer) and Judith (Cheney) Maxfield, who had a family of three children: Almon, Electa E., wife of John Patterson, a lumberman (they have a family of children), and Leander, a miner of New Mexico. The educational privileges of Almon Maxfield were but meagre, all the literary training he received being obtained in an old log school house. He was early inured to hard labor, however, and began life for himself at an early age. In 1840, accompanied by his parents, he moved with their children to Janesville, Wis., and here our subject was engaged in work by the day. Wisconsin at that time was considered on the frontier, and there were few inhabitants in the section where they located. Almon made his home in that vicinity until 1850, in which year he came to Plover. His mother for many years had been an invalid, and it was mainly on account of her health that the family had come west; her death occurred in Janesville in 1842. The remainder of the family arrived in Portage county in 1852, and for many years the father made his home at Stockton; he died at the home of our subject in 1892, at the age of eighty-three years. Almon Maxfield engaged in general labor for about five years after coming to Plover, at the end of which time he purchased 120 acres of totally unimproved land. For two years he made his home with a family who were living upon his farm, and then on June 20, 1861, he was married to Miss Mary Elizabeth Rice, a native of New York, and daughter of Benona and Mary (Livingston) Rice, who also had a son, Lemuel G., a merchant of McDill, Wis. Her father followed the vocation of farming, and with his family emigrated to Wisconsin about the year 1852, locating in Plover; since 1894 both he and his wife have resided with our subject. Mr. Rice has now reached the ripe old age of eighty-three, his wife being eighty-one. To Mr. and Mrs. Maxfield have been born four children: Irene, now the wife of W. W. Dake, who operates her father's farm in Plover township; Cora E., now employed as bookkeeper for a merchant in Gladstone, Mich.; Marion E., attending the Normal School at Stevens Point; and Julian P., at school. Until 1886 Mr. Maxfield carried on agricultural pursuits in Plover township, Portage county, and during that period cleared and developed his fine farm of 120 acres. In that year he removed into the village of Plover, and has since engaged in merchandising, carrying a stock valued at $3,000. He has a well-appointed store, in which he conducts a lucrative business, receiving a liberal patronage from the people of Plover and the surrounding country. Politically he always supports the Republican party, and on its ticket was elected supervisor for four years; he also served as justice of the peace. He possesses the entire confidence of the community in which he lives, and is held in the highest respect by all with whom he comes in contact. Mrs. Maxfield is a true Christian woman, and a consistent member of the Methodist Episcopal Church, to whose Aid Society she belongs. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Harriet Bell Merrill, M.S.
Born at Stevens Point, Wisconsin. Fitted at Milwaukee high and State normal schools. Was a teacher in the Milwaukee graded schools before entering U. W. science course in 1888. She was a member of Laurea, and the Kappa Alpha Theta sorority. Graduated in 1890 with the degree of B. S., receiving the degree of M. S. in 1893. Took graduate work at home and during vacations, at U. W., Woods Holl, and Chicago and Cornell Universities. Held an honorary fellowship at Chicago University, 1894-96. Miss Merrill taught in the Milwaukee East Side high school in 1890-94, in the South Side high school in 1894-99, and in Milwaukee-Downer College in 1899. She has published articles on "Structures and Affinities of Bunops Scutifrons, Birge," in Transactions of Wisconsin Academy of Sciences, Arts, and Letters, vol. x, pp. 319-342; and "The Eye of the Leech," in Zodlogischer Anzeiger, 1894. [Source: The University of Wisconsin: its history and its alumni (1836 – 1900) Edited by Reuben Gold Thwaites -pages 732-736 (1900) submitted by FoFG mz]
Hon. Jerome Nelson
In Amherst township, Portage county, it might be difficult to find a name which the people would more delight to honor than that of Mr. Nelson. It is known throughout northern Wisconsin in connection with the milling product which he has made famous for its quality; it is known as that of a brave officer who served throughout the Rebellion; it is known as that of a pioneer who has been identified with the material advancement of the State; it is known as that of a legislator. The name has been commemorated in the village Nelsonville, named from him. He is public-spirited, and perhaps as well known as any one in the county. Mr. Nelson was born at Attica, N. Y., January 9, 1829, the eldest child of Adin and Sally (Randall) Nelson. Adin Nelson was a native of Massachusetts, and at the age of sixteen moved with his parents to Genesee county, N. Y. In 1828 he was married, at Attica, to Sally, daughter of Miles Randall, a native of New Hampshire, who prior to the war of 1812 moved with his wife to Canada, but was forced to return when hostilities opened because he would not take the oath of allegiance to King George. He settled in New York. His children were Betsy, Statira, John, Sally, Esther, Harriet, Horace and Aurilla. Adin Nelson was a farmer and a merchant. Seven years after his marriage he removed to Rochester, N. Y., where he secured a position as overseer for the New York Central railroad during its construction. In 1836 he moved to Michigan, where he engaged in farming in Hadley township, Lapeer county, until about 1850, and then selling his land he came to Fond du Lac county,. Wis., and opened a general store. In 1853 he sold out and moved to Amherst township, Portage county, where he farmed and also carried on a small mercantile business until shortly before his death. Desiring to revisit the scenes of his childhood, he went east at the age of sixty-nine years, and after a short illness died at the home of his sister in Massachusetts. His wife lived until 1892, when she died at the age of eighty-four years. To Adin and Sally Nelson six children were born: Jerome; Harriet, now Mrs. Amos Wilts, of St. Joseph, Mo.; Miles R., a salesman in a large New York City mercantile house, who died while visiting his brother Jerome in Amherst, in 1856; George (1), who died when a boy; Orpha, who died in infancy; George (2), who married Miss Marion Phillips, of Amherst, and is now a merchant of Waukegan, Illinois.
Jerome Nelson attended the schools of New York and Michigan in his boyhood, assisting on the farm and in the store up to the age of nineteen, when he started out in life for himself. He spent one summer in Chicago, then went down the Mississippi river to Vicksburg, Miss., where he engaged to cut timber in the cypress swamp for $20 per month. Two years later, with the money he had saved, he started in the same business for himself in partnership with Frank Johnson, a South Carolina planter. Following this successfully and profitably two years, he, in 1852, came to Wisconsin, and for a short time helped his father on the farm. He then opened and for two years conducted a store of general merchandise at Barton, Washington county. Trading this for real estate in the same county, he sold out two years later and settled in Amherst, where in the summer of 1855 he had engaged in sawmilling. In October, 1861, Mr. Nelson enlisted in Company H, Third Wisconsin Cavalry. Entering winter quarters at Janesville, Wis., the regiment was sent to St. Louis in March, 1862, and two months later to Leavenworth, Kans. Here its misson was to exterminate Quantrell's notorious guerrilla band, then committing depredations and atrocities along the western border, and to guard supply trains from Fort Scott to Fort Gibson, on the Arkansas river. Mr. Nelson served in the West until the close of the war, and was promoted to first lieutenant during his service. When mustered out he returned to Amherst and resumed his milling operations.
In 1855 Mr. Nelson built a sawmill, which, to use his own words, "wore out." In 1868 he erected the gristmill at Nelsonville; in 1873 purchased a large flouring-mill at Amherst, and in 1874 he put up a steam sawmill in Nelson, all of which mills he has since operated, the product of them finding a market all over the State. He was the first man to build a dam at Nelsonville, and utilize the excellent water-power there found. The land on which his mills and elegant home stand he bought of the government in 1854. He is also interested in a sawmill in Oneida county, Wis., which cuts some ten million feet of lumber each season. Mr. Nelson furnished the capital, and the company is known as the Nelson Lumber and Boom Co., the industry being located on the Pelican river.
In May, 1853, Mr. Nelson was married, in Washington county, Wis., to Miss Manila A. Yerkes, who was born, in 1835, in Pennsylvania, a daughter of David and Caroline (Calkins) Yerkes, the former a native of Pennsylvania, the latter of New York State. They for a time resided in Michigan, whence about the year 1847 they came to Wisconsin, settling in Barton township, Washington county, where Mr. Yerkes engaged in the sawmilling business. There they died, the mother in 1868, the father in 1893, the parents of seven children, as follows: Marion (now Mrs. Philips, of Amherst); Oliver J. (a farmer of Colby, Clark Co., Wis.), who was a soldier during the Civil war, in a New York Cavalry regiment; Hannah E., who died in Michigan at the age of fourteen; Marilla A. (Mrs. Jerome Nelson); Lovilla L. (Mrs. Baker), living in Kansas; George W., in Wisconsin; and Sara E. (Mrs. Eli Hanks), of Washington county, Wis. Mr. and Mrs. Nelson have no children of their own, but have an adopted daughter, Flora S., who has lived with them since her infancy; she is now the wife of John S. Loberg (who is in Mr. Nelson's employ), and they have three children: Russell Jerome, Ruby S. and Eva L. Mrs. Nelson is a prominent member of the Episcopal Church. Socially Mr. Nelson has been a member of the F. and A. M., since joining Evergreen Lodge of Stevens Point, in 1878, and also of the Crusade Commandery, same place; but on account of the distance from his home he has been unable to attend the meetings with any degree of regularity. In politics he is a Republican. In 1876 he was elected a member of the State Legislature; was elected justice of the peace, but refused to qualify, for the reason that the judicial duties were distasteful to one of his sympathetic nature. He has served several terms on the town board. Mr. Nelson is foremost in all matters relating to the welfare and improvement of his township and county, is public-spirited, and ever ready to encourage worthy enterprises. He is a typical self-made man, never having received assistance from any one. The industry he has founded has proved a source of much revenue to the surrounding country. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
O. J. Olson
O. J. OLSON, one of the worthy citizens that Norway has furnished the new world, is now an honored resident of Fargo, North Dakota, and is efficiently serving as auditor of Cass county. He was born near the village of Krageroe, Norway, August 12, 1851, and during his early life remained in his native land, where his education was acquired. On leaving school in 1869 he came to the United States and first located in Amherst, Portage county, Wisconsin. He made his home in that state for some years and for five years engaged in clerking for Hon. James J. Nelson. In 1876 he removed to Minnesota and during his residence there was interested in the pump and windmill business. In November, 1878, Mr. Olson came to Fargo, North Dakota, and for some time was employed as clerk in the office of P. P. Nokken, then county treasurer. Later he was engaged in various occupations until 1880, when he started a store at Norman. Subsequently he removed to Kindred and conducted a store and hotel at that place until 1884,when he was elected assessor of Cass county and served in that capacity for two years. In 1887 he was appointed city assessor of Fargo, under Major A. W. Edwards, mayor of the city, and in 1889 was made clerk of the probate and county courts, which position he most creditably filled for seven years. In 1896 he was selected by the Republican central committee, five days before the election, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of John C. Miller, nominee for county auditor, and was elected to that office. He was re-elected in 1898 and is now filling that position in a most capable and satisfactory manner. In 1881 Mr. Olson was united in marriage with Christine Thorson, a native of Iowa, and to them have been born four children, who are still living, namely: Bessie L., Alice G., Charles N. and Ethel L. Since becoming an American citizen Mr. Olson has affiliated with the Republican party and he has served as secretary of the county central committee. Socially he is a Knight Templar Mason and a member of the Mystic Shrine; is past master of Fargo Lodge, A. O. U. W., and also belongs to the Modern Woodmen of America. He is well known and highly respected and has proved a very popular and efficient officer. [Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Renae Capitanio]
George A. Packard
Business man, banker and postmaster of Bayfield, George A. Packard has been identified with the community of Bayfield for the past twenty years, and has lived in the state all his life. His long experience in public affairs and business has won him the respect and confidence of his fellow citizens and all his personal advancement has been the result of honest and solid worth. George A. Packard was born at Stevens Point, Wisconsin, March 8, 1855, the oldest of seven children, whose parents were William H. and Elizabeth Packard, the former native of the state of Massachusetts, and the latter of Vermont. William G. Packard is one of the pioneers of Wisconsin. His youth was spent in Massachusetts, and when he started out for himself the west afforded him the field of opportunity. On arriving in Wisconsin, he located in Stevens Point, in Portage county, and there started to work at his trade of millwright, a vocation which he had learned in Massachusetts. He helped to build some of the mills in that vicinity and was naturally drawn from mechanical work into the one leading industry of Wisconsin, that of lumbering. As an expert in the driving of logs, and river man, William H. Packard for a number of years had few superiors, if any, along the Wisconsin River. That was one of the most dangerous occupations connected with lumbering, as all who are familiar with the industry know, and one of the frequent accidents which befell the river men caused him the loss of a leg in 1858. This misfortune instead of making him lose his ambition, put new courage into his endeavors, though it changed the course of his career. In the same year he was elected county treasurer of Port age county, and gave an excellent administration of that office. In the meantime his attention was turned to the study of law, and from the time of his admission to the bar his achievements were of a progressive order. In 1864 he was elected district attorney of Portage county, holding that office several terms. His home was in Stevens Point, and the later years of his life -were spent in Bayfield county. In 1892 he located in Washburn, where he practiced law and was one of the leading citizens until his death at the age of sixty-one years. His widow is still living, and six of their children are also alive.
George A. Packard was educated in his native town of Stevens Point, but his schooling continued only until he was fourteen years of age. His first regular position, obtained about that time, was in the office of the county register of deeds at Stevens Point. His early business experience also comprised real estate and insurance in the same city, but at the end of two years he entered the employ of R. A. Cook & Company, which owned and operated the pioneer iron works at Stevens Point, was one of the most successful industrial concerns in that section, and in a short time Mr. Packard bought a half interest in the business. Selling out in 1887 he took a position as bookkeeper in the Sawyer & Company Bank at Hayward. His interest in public affairs brought him the confidence of the people, and at the end of one year as bookkeeper with the bank, the citizens of Sawyer county elected him county treasurer. His term of office began in 1888, and was varied by attention to other occupations, including two years of service as deputy sheriff and as proprietor of a livery business. For five years Mr. Packard conducted one of the first-class livery establishments in Sawyer county, and part of that time also had a store there. In 1892, Mr. Packard opened a hardware store at Bayfield, and combined it later with a drug store, all his mercantile enterprises proving very profitable. In 1897, his business interests were sold, and in July of the following year President McKinley signed his first commission as postmaster of Bayfield. His incumbency of that office has continued to the present time, and in fifteen years he has administered a constantly growing office, both the rural free delivery and the parcel post having been inaugurated during his term. In 1904 Mr. Packard assisted in the organization of the First National Bank of Bayfield, becoming its vice president, an office which he still holds. In politics Mr. Packard is an active Republican, and fraternally his association are with Bayfield Lodge No. 215, A. F. & A. M. On April 4, 1881, he married J. Fitch. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
William H. Packard
WILLIAM H. PACKARD, Stevens Point, was born in Springfield, Massachusetts, December 24, 1828. When he was seven years of age his parents removed to York, Medina country, Ohio, where he remained with them until May, 1850, when he came to southern Wisconsin. In December of the same year he removed to Washara county, and in June, 1853, to Stevens Point. In the fall of 1854 he went to Marathon county, where he was engaged in building mills until the spring of 1856, when he returned to Stevens Point, and continued in the same business in that section for some length of time. In the fall of 1858 he was elected register of deeds for Portage country, and held the office by reelection until January, 1867, when he receive the appointment of clerk of the circuit court, and served until June 1872. In June of the same year he commenced the practice of law in partnership, four years with J. O. Raymond, at Stevens Point. He was elected district attorney for Portage county in 1874, and held the office by reelection until 1880. While serving as clerk of the court he was again elected; in the fall of 1870, register of deeds, and fulfilled the duties of both offices until 1872, when he was again elected register of deeds. While serving his second term as register of deeds he was deputy country treasurer, and discharged the duties of both offices, and while serving his third and fourth terms as register was appointed under-sheriff and jailer, and discharged the duties of both offices, virtually performing all the duties of sheriff during the time. During the years 1861 and 1862 he was likewise deputy county treasurer. For the greater portion of the terms that he was register of deeds and clerk of the court he was deputy clerk of the board of supervisors. While residing at Plover, before the removal of the county seat to Stevens Point, he was assessor and chairman of the board of supervisors. In 1874 he was elected district attorney for Portage county, and re-elected in 1878 and 1880. In February, 1853, Mr. Packard married Elizabeth A. Beach, at Oasis, Wisconsin, and they have seven children. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander.]
Byron B. Park
Byron B. Park, an active and wide-awake attorney at law of Stevens Point, Portage county, is a native of that city, born October 6, 1858, a son of the late Hon. Gilbert L. Park. He graduated at the high school of that place, and afterward, in 1876, entered the Wisconsin State University at Madison, taking a special three-years' course preparatory to becoming a law student. In the fall of 1879 he commenced the study of law in the office of Jones & Sanborn, Stevens Point, so continuing until 1880, when he became a student in the Law Department of the State University at Madison, graduating from there in June, 1881, at which time he was also admitted to the bar. He then moved to Milwaukee, and there entered the office of Winfield & A. A. L. Smith, a prominent law firm of that city, and with them remained one year, when, owing to the illness of his father, who was obliged to go to California for his health, he returned to Stevens Point, in order to give his attention to his father's business. The latter dying in June, 1884, our subject during the next two years was engaged in settling up his father's estate and private affairs; then in the spring of 1886 he formed a parnership with Frank B. Lamoreux, under the firm name of Lamoreux & Park, which continued until December, 1891, when J. O. Raymond was admitted as a partner, the firm names becoming Raymond, Lamoreux & Park, which still exists, Mr. Park as a rule having charge of the trial branch of the business, though each member of the firm is more or less actively engaged in all departments of law. Our subject practices before all State, United States and District courts, and is fully recognized as one of the prominent attorneys of northern Wisconsin. The firm enjoy a wide and lucrative clientage throughout this section of the State, and, probably, have the most extensive practice, locally, of any in the profession.
Politically Mr. Park is a Democrat, and has always taken an active part in the councils of the party; was a delegate to the Democratic State Convention held at Madison in 1888, and has been a delegate to every State Convention since; was also a delegate to the Congressional Conventions held in 1884, 1888 and 1892. In 1888-89 he served as city attorney; in 1891-92 as mayor of Stevens Point; in 1892 was elected district attorney, and is now (1895) serving as such. In February, 1892, he was appointed regent of State Normal schools by Gov. Peck, and was re-appointed in February, 1894. In every political campaign he has been active on the "stump," his services always being in demand and highly appreciated. Socially our subject is a member of the F. & A. M., Blue Lodge, and of Forest Chapter at Stevens Point; also member of the Knights of Pythias, Phoenix Lodge No. 33. On September 29, 1886, he was married to Miss Bertha N. Wyatt, daughter of William Wyatt, of Stevens Point, and two children have come to brighten their home, named respectively: Gladys and Laurence W. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Hon. Gilbert L. Park
STEVENS POINT: The subject of this biography was born in Scipio, Cayuga County, New York, August 31, 1825, and is the son of Elisha and Sarah (McDowell) Park. His grandfather, Joel Parke, was a soldier in the Revolutionary War, and aided in the capture of General Burgoyne and his army. His father, a farmer by occupation, was highly esteemed in his community. Gilbert passed his boyhood on his father's farm, and attended school about half of the time during each year. At the age of fifteen he conceived the idea of seeing some of the hyperborean world, and running away from school enlisted in the Hudson Bay Company's service, and went up the Ottawa River, Canada, to Hudson Bay, and as far northward as Fort Churchill, on the Severn River. Returning to Georgian Bay he there left the company, at the end of one year, and took passage on a steamer to Detroit, and went thence to Port Dover, now in the province of Ontario, where his father's family had recently settled. Young Park next spent three years at an academy in Millville, Orleans County, New York. At the end of that time he returned to Canada (then Canada West) and engaged in business for himself as a lumberman, and continued the same for two years with excellent success ; but losing a large raft in a storm on Lake Erie in 1848, it passing in a disrupted state over the cataract of Niagara, he closed out the business, and going to Kalamazoo, Michigan, studied law with Hon. N. A. Balch, and was admitted to the bar of Kalamazoo County in September, 1851. He removed to Wisconsin in the following November, and after exhausting his funds in prospecting, went to work cutting saw logs on the Wisconsin River. He continued in that business until September 1852, when he formed a law partnership with James S. Alban, at Plover. This firm continued in business nearly four years, when, in June 1855, Mr. Park removed to Stevens Point, then a rising town five miles north, where he still continues his practice, and is making for himself an honorable name in his profession. Aside from his professional work he has been honored with positions of responsibility and trust. He was district attorney of Portage County for about four consecutive years, commencing in 1854; was mayor of Stevens Point at the opening of the civil war, and resigned and went into the army as adjutant of the 18th Regiment Wisconsin Infantry, Colonel Alban commanding. He afterward became captain of company G of the same regiment, and accompanied it through all its fortunes and misfortunes nearly three and a half years, and returned to Stevens Point in the spring of 1865, and resumed his legal practice, at the same time applying himself very assiduously to a review of his studies. In a short time he became a strong man, both as a jury and a court lawyer, excelling in the last named. His readings are very thorough, and he still pursues them with unabated avidity.
Judge Park received his appointment to the bench from Governor Taylor, on the 1st of March 1875, to fill a vacancy, and in April following was elected by the people. As a jurist he is discriminating, cool, clear-headed, candid and logical. He presides with easy dignity, is fair and impartial, and sound in judgment, and is growing in popularity. In politics, he has been a democrat since the dissolution of the whig party; during the rebellion he was a strong war democrat, and without his knowledge was nominated while in the field, and run by his party for the State senate two or three times. He has also been a candidate for lieutenant governor and member of congress, but in a strongly republican district, or at a time when the State was decidedly republican. He owes his present position to the great confidence which all parties have in his integrity, and in his especial fitness for the bench. Judge Park found his wife in Kalamazoo, Michigan, her maiden name being Mary D. Beach. They were joined in wedlock February 27, 1857, and have three children, Byron, the eldest, being a student in the State University. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
HON. GILBERT L. PARK, deceased.
The family from which this gentleman descended were of English origin, and early settlers in America during Colonial days. Joel Park, grandfather of Gilbert L., was a soldier in the war of the Revolution, and was present at the surrender of Gen. Burgoyne's army. The subject of these lines was born August 31, 1825, at Scipio, Cayuga Co., N. Y., a son of Elisha and Sarah (McDowell) Park, prosperous and highly-esteemed farming people of that State. The lad received a liberal education at the schools of his native place till the age of fifteen, when, without in anyway consulting his parents, he left the parental roof — in other words "ran away from home" — and enlisted in the service of the Hudson Bay Company. With a party of their employes he went up the Ottawa river, in Canada, in the direction of Hudson Bay, and as far north as Fort Churchill on the river Severn. Returning, however, southward at the end of a year, by way of the Georgian Bay, he there left the company and took passage on a steamer for Detroit, thence proceeded to Port Dover, county of Norfolk, Upper Canada (now Province of Ontario), where his father's family had recently settled. The next three years Mr. Park spent at an academy in Millville, Orleans Co., N. Y., then once more proceeded to Canada, where he embarked in business as a lumberman, meeting with encouraging success for some two years, or till in 1848, when he had the misfortune to lose a large raft of logs which had broken up on Lake Erie, nearly every "stick" floating over the Falls of Niagara. This caused him to close out his business, and he then commenced the study of law at Kalamazoo, Mich., in the office of Hon. N. A. Balch of that place. He was admitted to the bar of that county, in September, 1851, and in November, same year, he removed to Wisconsin, where, his funds being exhausted, he went to work cutting saw logs on the Wisconsin river, at which he continued until the summer of 1852, when he formed a law partnership with James S. Alban, at Plover, at that time the county seat of Portage county, which firm conducted business until 1855, when it was dissolved. Mr. Park then removed to Stevens Point, where he opened up an office and established a law practice, which continued up to the time of his death. He distinguished himself as one of the ablest members of his profession in northern Wisconsin, and his energy and vigor, both of mind and body, his command of speech and pen, inspired the people with such full confidence in his ability and integrity that they early honored him with election to local positions of responsibility and trust. None, perhaps, ever exercised more influence on the people, or more impressed them with his own merits, than Mr. Park.
In 1854 he was elected district attorney of Portage county, in which incumbency he served four years; was mayor of Stevens Point at the time of the breaking out of the war of the Rebellion, and being a "War-Democrat" he resigned the office in order to take up the sword in defense of the integrity of the Union, as adjutant of the Eighteenth Regiment Wis. V. I., afterward accepting the captaincy of Company G. same regiment. He accompanied his regiment in all its fortunes for a period of nearly three and one-half years, during which he participated, among other engagements, in the famous battle of Lookout Mountain, where they "fought above the clouds," also at Vicksburg, and Corinth, and with Sherman on his march to Atlanta. Although never wounded, he experienced several narrow escapes, at one time his horse being shot under him, at another a bullet striking his scabbard (while the sword was sheathed), a portion of the sword blade being broken off. On retiring from his service in the army, Judge Park, in the spring of 1865, returned to Stevens Point, Wis., and resumed the practice of his profession, at the same time applying himself to the study of advanced legal lore so assiduously that before very long he became both a jury and consulting lawyer of no little reputation, probably, if anything, excelling in the latter capacity. He died June 5, 1884, of Bright's disease, and was buried under the auspices of the Masonic Fraternity. He had been in ill health for some time, and had traveled considerably in California in the hope of bettering his physical condition; but he returned home in 1883, little improved, and in January, 1884, became a patient in the Sanitarium at Waukesha, Wis., where he succumbed to the disease which had so long and painfully afflicted him.
Judge Gilbert L. Park, as has already been remarked in this article, was a "War Democrat," but in earlier days he voted with the old Whig party. On March 1, 1875, he was appointed, by Gov. Taylor, circuit judge, to fill a two-years' vacancy, and in April following was elected by the people. In 1878 he was re-elected for the full term, but owing to ill health he was obliged to resign in July, 1883, before the expiry of the term. As a jurist he was cool, clear-headed, candid and logical; he presided with ease and dignity, and with the utmost fairness and impartiality. As an evidence of his popularity it may be mentioned that while serving in the army he was nominated (without his knowledge or consent), and run by his party, for State Senator on two or three occasions; he was also urged to bring himself forward as candidate for the lieutenant-governorship of Wisconsin, and also for member of Congress.
On February 26, 1856, he was married to Miss Mary D. Beach, daughter of John and Anna (Waterhouse) Beach, and three children were born to this union, to wit: Byron B., sketch of whom follows; Gilbert L. (practicing law in Stevens Point), and Anna, both living at the old homestead in Stevens Point. The mother of these died November 9, 1893, and she and her husband lie side by side in the cemetery of the Church of the Intercession (Episcopal) at Stevens Point. Mrs. Park was, however, associated with the Methodist Church. The Judge was a prominent member of the F. & A. M., had reached the thirty-second degree, and was a Knight Templar. He was an ardent student and lover of Nature and Nature's God, and, as described by one who knew him well, was a man who saw something beautiful in every phase and form of life; one who was the delight of every social group — young or old; one whose smile would lighten a household, whose frown would cause a pang; the quiet ease, the social converse, the varied learning — all were his, and no one ever sat in his company without feeling disquieted at his departure; he was never boisterous, never rude, and always mindful of the feelings of others. In domestic life he was a lovable character, a kind husband, and loving father, and true friend to his children. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Rev. Jacob Patch
This venerable gentleman, now in the eighty-first year of his age and the forty-ninth of his ministry in the Presbyterian Church, is one of the best known and most highly esteemed clergymen of Portage county, an earnest Christian, and a zealous worker in the Lord's vineyard. Mr. Patch was born in Groton, Mass., January 12, 1815, and is a son of Zara and Susan (Nutting) Patch, who were also born in Massachusetts, and were descendants of good old Puritan stock, the ancestors having come over during the year 1600. The grandfather was a soldier in the Revolutionary war of 1776, and the father a participant in the war of 1812. Zara and Susan Patch were the parents of eight children, of whom but two now survive: Zara, who is still living in Groton, Mass., and Jacob, the subject of this sketch; when the latter was twelve years old the father died. At the age of sixteen our subject went to Sharon, Conn. He was educated at the Western Reserve College at Hudson, Ohio, and took his theological course at the Theological Seminary in the same town, graduating from the latter institution in 1845. Soon afterward he engaged in the ministry, his first charge being at Orland, Ind. In 1845, at Honeoye Falls, N. Y., Rev. Jacob Patch was married to Miss Jane Bush, and they became the parents of six children, of whom two are deceased. The following is a brief account of the four who are yet living: George H., an artist of more than ordinary merit, married Miss Lauretta Ramsey, of Barton, Washington Co., Wis., and they have a family of four children; Jennie B., an invalid, is now residing in California for the benefit of her health; Mary H., a physician, and now residing at Stevens Point, is a graduate of Holyoke College, Mass., also of the Medical College of Chicago, and of the Training Hospital for Nurses at Hartford, Conn.; Martha Ann, now the wife of Dr. Daniel Campbell, of Canfield, Ohio, is a graduate of the Oxford Female Seminary, of Oxford, Ohio, and was principal of Poynette Academy, Poynette, Columbia Co., Wis., for the first six years of its history.
At Lima, Ind., in 1846, Rev. Jacob Patch was regularly ordained a minister of the Presbyterian Church, and he was pastor of the parish of Orland, Ind., for twenty years. In 1866, on account of ill health, being obliged to resign the pastorate of this parish, he removed to Stevens Point, Portage Co., Wis., where he took charge of the First Presbyterian Church, which at that time had a membership of only ten persons, but under his ministration of four years it increased to forty. In 1872, having regained his health, he was solicited to return to his old parish at Orland, Ind., and accordingly he again ministered to the spiritual wants of that parish, continuing there for a period of three years, then returning to Stevens Point. Since that time he has been engaged principally in missionary work, in towns along the line of the Wisconsin Central railroad, though frequently occupying pulpits in various other churches. He was also the organizer of the Presbyterian Churches at Phillips, Price county, Wis., and Marshfield, Wood Co., Wis. In social life Rev. Mr. Patch is a man of ardent and sincere attachments, ever ready and willing to serve his friends, often in the face of responsibility or personal risk. When duty has called, he has gone forward without faltering or shrinking by reason of apparent difficulty or threatened dangers, by day or by night, at home or abroad. An earnest worker in the field of his Master, a genial and companionable friend, an able organizer and executor, ready for any task that can rightly bring help or comfort to the burdened, he has won the respect and esteem of a large circle of friends, and been endeared to them by his Christian walk in life. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
John Phillips, M.D.
STEVENS POINT - The oldest physician in professional practice, if not in years, in Portage County, Wisconsin, and one of the most respected citizens of Stevens Point, is John Phillips, son of Stephen and Mary (Austin) Phillips, members of the farming class of Vermont. He was born at Richmond, Chittenden County, November 4, 1823, and until about eighteen years of age aided his father and attended school, one or two terms, at the Johnson Academy. He then devoted about four years to teaching in his native State, and prosecuting his own scientific studies in private and at the academy mentioned. In 1845 he made a trip westward, passing round the lakes, through Milwaukee, to Boone County, Illinois. He taught school one winter near Belvidere; afterward went to Wyota, Fayette County, Wisconsin, and there resumed teaching, taking up, meanwhile, the study of medicine. He attended a course of lectures at Rush Medical College, Chicago; came to Stevens Point, and in the autumn of 1848 settled at Stevens Point, and immediately opened an office. Four years later he attended another course of lectures at the Rush College, and after receiving his diploma returned to his home, where he has continued in steady and successful practice to this date, except when temporarily absent on some official duties. Dr. Phillips was a member of the general assembly in 1860 and 1864, the first time representing Portage, Marathon and Wood Counties; the second, Portage County alone. Prior to this date, for about four years, he was town superintendent of schools, Stevens Point then being about one fourth as large as Portage County now is. In 1864 he was on the board appointed to attend the annual examination at West Point Academy, and in 1876 was a member of the State board of regents of the normal schools. In politics, he was formerly a whig, but since the organization of the republican party he has been identified with that body.
He was married at Brownington, Orleans County, Vermont, on the 5th of October 1854, to Miss Ellen E. Hall, a daughter of Rev. Samuel Read Hall, A.M., LL.D., who founded the first teacher's seminary in this country, at Concord, Vermont, in March 1823. Subsequently he went to, Andover, Massachusetts, and took charge of the teacher's department in Phillips Academy. He was the author of some of our earliest and best writings on the art and science of teaching. Mrs. Phillips has inherited, in no small measure, his literary taste and talents, and has devoted considerable time to writing, both of prose and poetry, her nom de plume for metrical compositions being Ada J. Moore. In 1875 she compiled and published a selection from her numerous poems, the book being entitled " Under the Pines." The neat little volume is dedicated to her venerated father, "in the hope that it may brighten, with a new pleasure, the eightieth year of a life of rare beauty and usefulness." The rhythm of these poems is almost perfect, and there is a striking sweetness and tenderness running through nearly every one of them. Some of the finest specimens of pathos and genuine poetic feeling are found in such domestic and elegiac poems as " My Graves," "Baby Florence," "My Lost Jewels," "La Petite," etc. The heart must be dead which feels no touch of sympathy and tender emotion while reading these pure gushings of a mother's heart. The poems written during the late rebellion have the genuine glow of patriotic fire. Mrs. Phillips has more strength of mind than body, her health having for several years been very poor. She is thoroughly domestic, and gives what physical strength and mental activity she possesses to the brightening of her home and to making happy whatever part of the outside world she can reach in person or by pen. She is a Christian mother of the noblest type. Of the ten children that have been born to them only three are now living; the eldest a daughter of seventeen years. Dr. Phillips is a reading, growing man, growing both in medical knowledge and in professional reputation. He is an earnest friend of education and of culture in the broadest sense, and outside of his practice, as well as in it, is a very useful man. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
James O. Raymond
STEVENS POINT - James Oliver Raymond, for twenty-one years an attorney-at-law in Portage County, Wisconsin, and one of the leading men at its bar, is a native of the Empire State. He was born in the town of McDonough, Chenango County, on the 31st of May 1831, the son of Edward Raymond, a farmer by occupation. His mother was an Osborn, whose grandfather was killed in the battle of Bennington. James attended school most of the time until he was eighteen, and taught two seasons. He began studying law in the office of John M. Parker, of Owego, New York, in 1853; then taught one more term, and in the summer of 1855 removed to Plover, Portage County, Wisconsin, and opened a law office in the following May, in partnership with Hon. Luther Hanchett, once member of congress, and since deceased. He practiced his profession at Plover with good success until July 1873, when he removed to Stevens Point, and here continues the practice, with a rising reputation.
Mr. Raymond was elected district attorney in 1856, 1858 and 1866, serving, in all, six years.
In February 1865, he went into the army as orderly sergeant of Company C, 52nd Wisconsin Infantry, and served until the following August, when the regiment was mustered out of the service. In the autumn of that year he was elected a member of the general assembly, representing Portage County. Mr. Raymond is a member of the blue lodge and chapter in the Masonic order, and was master of the lodge at Plover several years. He began his political life as a whig, voting that ticket in 1852, and has since acted with the republican party, being one of its leaders in Portage County. He has been twice married: the first time in October 1857, to Miss Mary E. Harris, of Canton, Ohio. She had three children, one of whom is now living. She died in October 1864. His second marriage, in April 1867, was to Mrs. Lucinda Hanchett, the widow of his former law partner. Mr. Raymond is a man of studious habits, and attends very strictly to his profession and has an unimpeachable character, both in a legal and in a moral sense. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
James O. Raymond, Stevens Point, was born in the town of McDonough, Chenango county, New York, May 31, 1831. His parents were Edward and Maria Osborn Raymond. He attended common schools, and the academies at Newark Valley and Owego, Tioga county, New York. At the age of twenty-two he commenced studying law with John M. Parker, at Owego, New York. In the spring of 1855 he came to Wisconsin, and in the spring of 1856 located at Plover, and on May 26, 1856, was admitted to practice in the circuit courts of this state, and immediately formed a co-partnership with Luther Hanchett, for the practice of law, which continued until his death in 1862. At the November election, in 1856, he was elected district attorney for Portage country, and in 1858 was reelected. In February, 1865, he entered the army as orderly sergeant of Company C, Fifty-second Wisconsin regiment, and served until the regiment was disbanded in August of that year. He was elected member of the assembly, and served during the session of 1866; was a member of the judiciary committee, and committee on incorporations. He was elected district attorney of Portage county in 1866, and served two years. In July, 1873, he removed to Stevens Point, where he has since resided. In 1875 he was a candidate for circuit judge against F. L. Park, present incumbent. In 1877 he formed a co-partnership for the practice of law, with W. w. Haseltine, which still continues. In March, 1881, he was appointed postmaster at Stevens Point, by President Garfield, and still holds the office. February 26, 1866, he was admitted to practice in the supreme court of this state, and June 2, 1873, to the United States circuit and district courts of the state. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander.]
James O. Raymond
James O. Raymond, one of the oldest established attorneys at law of Stevens Point, Portage county, has long held, in the opinion of those competent to judge, an enviable place in the front rank of the array of legal talent which constitutes the bar of this State. Mr. Raymond is a native of New York State, born May 30, 1831, in McDonough, Chenango county, a son of Edward and Maria (Osborn) Raymond, who were of English and Irish extraction respectively, the former a native of Athol, Worcester Co., Mass., the latter of Washington county, N. Y. Our subject received his education at the public schools of Chenango and Tioga (N. Y.) counties, at Newark Valley (N. Y.) High School, and at the academy at Owego, Tioga county, after which he taught school some four terms. When twenty-two years old, in 1853, he commenced the study of law in the office of John M. Parker, of Owego, N. Y., remaining under his preceptorship two years, or until 1855, when he came west to Wisconsin, and in Fond du Lac continued his law studies in the office of Edward & Bragg. In the fall of the same year he moved to Plover, Portage county, where he taught school one term. On May 26, 1856, he was admitted to the bar at Plover, and at once commenced the practice of his chosen profession. On February 20, 1866, he was admitted to the Wisconsin Supreme Court, and on June 5, 1873, to the United States Circuit and District Courts. In July, 1873, he moved to Stevens Point, where he has since resided. At first, and for some years, Mr. Raymond conducted a general practice, being employed on many important cases; but for the past five years he has restricted himself more exclusively to acting as counsel, appearing only occasionally in court to argue cases, generally in the supreme court. The cases he argued in that court numbered over one hundred, and altogether it may be said that he has been identified with and interested in more important cases than, probably, any other attorney in this section of the State. In 1856 he was elected, on the Republican ticket, district attorney of Portage county, re-elected in 1858, and again in 1866, and he was a member of the board of supervisors of Plover for some years. In 1865 he was elected to the Assembly, and in 1881 he was appointed postmaster at Stevens Point, serving four years. During the Civil war, February 1, 1865, he enlisted in Company C, Fifty-second Wis. V. I., at its formation, and on the organization of the company he was appointed first sergeant. He saw service at St. Louis and Pilot Knob, Mo., also at Ft. Leavenworth, Kans., and at the expiration of his service was brevetted second lieutenant. On October 25, 1857, Mr. Raymond was united in marriage with Miss Mary Eliza Harris, of Canton, Ohio, and three children were born to them, only one of whom grew to maturity - Mitchell Harris Raymond, now cashier of the Merchants State Bank, of Rhinelander, Wis. The wife and mother died in October, 1864, and April 15, 1867, our subject was married to Mrs. Lucinda Hanchett, widow of Hon. Luther Hanchett, a former partner of Mr. Raymond, and who died while a member of Congress. Socially Mr. Raymond has been a member of the F. & A. M. since September, 1856, is a Royal Arch Mason, belongs to the Chapter, and is a Knight Templar; while a resident of Plover he served as Master of Blue Lodge No. 76, and after coming to Stevens Point was master for a tune of Evergreen Lodge, of that city. He is also a member of the G. A. R., Stevens Point Post No. 56, was its first commander, and held that position some three years. He is one of the most popular men of Portage county, is possessed of marked ability, and has acquired a reputation for business tact and fairness greatly to his credit. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Had Charles Dickens had a knowledge of the wrongs and privations suffered by Joseph Raymond during the latter's boyhood and youth, he might have written a story as deep in pathos, as grand in its lessons, as any which the world yet delights to read. Unlettered and unlearned, the simple-hearted boy had in his nature a native pride of character that starvation could not have subdued, a robust determination to be truthful and independent that withstood the fiery trial of many years. Sublimely his rugged, honest nature has been preserved within him, and glorious has been the victory he has achieved. Joseph Raymond is now a wealthy farmer of Stockton township, Portage county . He was born in Canada about the year 1835, son of Joseph Raymond, a native of that land, a farmer by occupation, and a man of unsteady habits, wealthy at one time, but later in life plunged in poverty. The mother died at Montreal when Joseph was about eight years old, the eldest of four children. The three sisters were Xepere, now married and living in Michigan; Lizzie, in Canada, and Mary Louise, deceased. The father did not keep the family together, and little Joe, as he was known, saw none of the comforts of home until after his marriage. The support of one of the sisters fell upon him, and he began life for himself in his tender years by working for four cents a day. He lacked proper clothing and nourishment, but he was too proud to beg and preferred bleeding feet to borrowed shoes. At the age of fifteen years his earnings had risen to twenty-five dollars per year. With a few dollars he had saved he concluded to come to Grand Rapids, Wis., where lived a family he had known. His money was exhausted before he reached his destination, and for four days and four nights he walked on the way. Reaching Grand Rapids he was a penniless, friendless lad. Pushing on to Plover, he met John Boursier, a farmer of Stockton, who happened there on business, and secured work with him. After three weeks he grew desperately lonesome, for he could not then speak English, and, with all his earthly possessions in a sack, he walked back to Grand Rapids, where several of his countrymen lived. There he remained three weeks, but could find no work; he slept outdoors and procured eatables wherever he could. The lumber season was opening, and he hired out for fifteen dollars per month, and worked all winter in the woods. He had no mittens, and suffered terribly from exposure. Worse still, his employers were irresponsible men, and he did not receive a cent for his winter's work. With threadbare clothes he began to chop wood for his board. Going to Plover he again met John Boursier, and in April of that year again began working for him, at which time he could easily carry his clothes under his arm. For fourteen months he remained with Mr. Boursier, and during this time he did the hardest work of his life. Mr. Raymond was a "green boy," as he expressed it, and strove hard to please his employer. He hauled rails to Plover, starting at 2 o'clock in the morning and reaching his destination before daylight. Though possessing great natural strength, and an over-willingness to work, he often over-taxed his strength. Mr. Raymond then worked in a mill at Grand Rapids, and at driving team, and various other kinds of employment. He finally secured work with Frank Biron, and it speaks well for his efficiency and-steady character that he remained with Mr. Biron until his accumulated wages amounted to eight thousand dollars. On May 8, 1870, he was married to Miss Anna Boivin, a native of Canada, born August 15, 1850, daughter of Louis Boivin, a baker by trade. She was visiting her sister, Mrs. Biron, and there met her future husband. After his marriage Mr. Raymond continued to work for Mr. Biron until the latter's death. During the winter of 1876-77 he went to Canada to settle up his large accounts with the Biron estate. In that country Frank Biron was "Lord Biron." In 1878 Mr. Raymond purchased 160 acres in Sections 28 and 29, Stockton township, which he now occupies, and he has added to it from time to time until the acreage has reached 400. In addition to his farm he has large financial interests. To Mr. and Mrs. Raymond eight children were born: Joseph (deceased), Eugene, Laura, Arthur, Mary (deceased), Fred, Hannah (deceased), and Frank (deceased). In politics our subject is a Democrat, and in religion is a member of the Catholic Church. He is a representative farmer of Portage county, and his life demonstrates the possibilities open to a poor boy of industry and pluck. His good wife has by her thrift and good management been of inestimable aid to Mr. Raymond, and deserves great credit for her devotion and attention to his large interests. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
John and James Rice
John And James Rice, members of the well-known firm of John Rice & Brother Co., proprietors of foundry and machine shops, etc., and dealers in coal, agricultural implements, etc., Stevens Point, Portage county, rank among the most enterprising and progressive business men of the Northern Wisconsin Valley. They are natives of County Louth, Ireland, born, John in 1838, and James in 1843. James Rice, their father, born April 15, 1811, came to America in 1842, when John and James were small boys, the family first locating at Geneva, N. Y., thence proceeding to Milwaukee, Wis., and from there to Nekimi, Winnebago county, where the father carried on farming pursuits, and was also engaged in railroad work as foreman. He was "boss" of a large gang of men employed on the construction of the "Darlington railroad," and was regarded as one of the most efficient foremen or superintendents in that line of work in the State. He subsequently moved to Eden township, Fond du Lac county, about eleven miles from the city of Fond du Lac, where he was engaged in agricultural pursuits until moving to Oshkosh, in which place he was employed in Campbell's shingle mill. From there he next removed to Seymour, Outagamie county, and here bought a farm of fully 200 acres where he lived until February 15, 1884, the day of his death, which was caused by an accident. He was returning from a visit to the village of Seymour, two miles distant, was walking along the track, and being muffled up, and, moreover, somewhat deaf, being seventy-three years old, did not hear the approaching train, which struck him, producing such injuries that he died nine days after, retaining consciousness to the last. The brothers were reared on the farm, John after a time learning the trade of carpenter, while James continued working on the homestead, also engaging in getting out logs by contract, each thus continuing for some years. John went to the gold fields "out West," and for seven or eight years met with remarkable success, having struck one of the richest and most productive fields in the entire "diggings." On his return he engaged in the sawmilling business in Oconto, becoming in course of a short time a partner in the industry, the firm name being Amy, Rice & Fitzgerald, which continued some four or five years, when Mr. Rice sold out and moved to Oshkosh, becoming interested in the tannery business in partnership with Mr. Reuben Dowd, under the firm style of Dowd & Rice. His next enterprise was in the Wolf River Transportation Co., of which he became part owner; then in partnership with Reuben Dowd he embarked in the logging business on Wolf river, James Rice acting as their foreman, this industry continuing until 1872, in which year John and James Rice entered into partnership in the establishment of a foundry and machine business in Weyauwega, Waupaca Co., Wis., and after five years, in 1877, they located a branch business at Stevens Point (South Side), Portage county, where is now the John Week planing-mill, in 1880 removing their entire plant to thir present site on Clark street, Stevens Point, which has since been carried on successfully under the firm name of John Rice & Brother Co., with John Rice as president and James Rice as vice-president and general manager. They do a large business all around, giving employment in the foundry and machine shops alone to some twenty hands when running their full capacity. Among the leading articles turned out by the firm may be mentioned edgers, trimmers, bolters, pulleys, rope-feeds and sawmill carriages and machinery generally; also engines, boilers, all kinds of engine brasses, etc., in fact, everything connected with mills and mill machinery in general. The brothers also operated a sawmill in Bayfield county, Wis., at Benoit, on the Chicago, St. Paul, Minneapolis & Omaha railroad, commencing business December 3, 1889, and conducting same until July 4, 1892, when it burned down. The firm was known as the Benoit Lumber Co., of which James Rice was president and John Rice secretary and treasurer. They still own 320 acres of land in that vicinity. At the time of the construction of the Wisconsin Central railroad they took a large contract, which included the piling and bridging at Gill's Landing, across the Wolf river and adjoining bayous.
John Rice was married September 14, 1869, to Miss Elvira Jones, a lady of Welsh descent, and three children were born to them, namely: Ellen, Ada and Margery, the last named being deceased, having been suffocated to death at the burning of the Sisters' school at Lake Villa, near Madison, Wis., in 1893. John Rice served as chief of Stevens Point Fire Department, and was a member of the county board of Portage county.
James Rice was married at New London, Wis., January 1, 1872, to Miss Helen Jane Micklejohn, and four children were born to them, as follows: Theodore James, a fireman on the "Soo" railroad, who one stormy, sleety trip, November 25, 1892, fell (how was never known) a distance of 65 feet from his engine at Marine Sation, Madison Co., Minn., and was instantly killed; John Francis, now studying law; Earl M., and Hazel May, both attending school. In political proclivities the brothers are both Democrats, with liberal and independent tendencies, never aspiring to office, and they were both reared in the faith of the Roman Catholic Church. They are enterprising in the true sense of the term, and have deservedly prospered, have done much toward the improvement of the city of their adoption, and at the present time, 1895, are interested in the Stevens Point Land Improvement Company, and hold stock in the District Fair Association, toward which they liberally subscribed. James Rice was chief of the Fire Department in 1891; he is a stockholder in the Citizens National Bank, Stevens Point. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Adelbert D. Rogers
Many of the early pioneers of Wisconsin are the descendants of pioneers. From the New England and other Eastern States the more active and enterprising element of society migrated to the outposts of civilization, and by successive waves of migration extended farther and farther westward. It was so with the Rogers family. It settled originally in Vermont. Then many years ago its representatives sought Western homes in Oneida county, N. Y. Another movement brought the family to the wilderness of Wisconsin, in Almond township, Portage county. Our subject was born in Vernon, Oneida Co., N. Y., August 4, 1844, son of Orim and Velinda (Wood) Rogers. Orim Rogers was a native of Vermont, and in his earlier years had moved to New York, where he engaged successfully in farming and dairying. He had four children: Caroline, now Mrs. Albert Wood, of Almond township; George, also of Almond township; Sarah, wife of Edwin Forsyth, a carpenter, of New York; and Adelbert D. Sarah, at the age of seventeen years, had married Mr. Forsyth. The other children were still at home in 1855, when the parents sold their New York property and came to Almond township, Portage Co., Wis. Here Orim Rogers purchased eighty acres of government land in Section 18, paying $1.25 per acre for it; it was wild land, innocent of any improvement whatever. For a time the family lived with Albert Wood, but in the spring of 1856 they built a frame house, 16x24, in which they lived about twelve years. Mr. Rogers had purchased a yoke of oxen in the southern part of Wisconsin, and drove through to the new home. The work of breaking the land began, but progressed slowly at first. The mother at one time received some money from the settlement of her brother's estate, and contributed the amount to the general welfare of the family. Mr. Rogers added forty acres to his original purchase, and remained on this homestead of I20 acres until his death, May 28, 1892, he dying at the age of eighty-two years; his wife died February 22, 1870, at the age of sixty-three years. Adelbert D. Rogers received only a common-school education. He was ten years of age when he came with his parents to Wisconsin, and he has ever since remained on the home farm, assisting in breaking the land and taking charge of the farm since the death of his mother. He has added eighty acres to the land, which is now a well-improved farm of 196 acres. Mr. Rogers was married December 19, 1869, to Eliza Monday, the eldest child of Edward and Emma Monday, of Almond township. To Mr. and Mrs. Rogers two children have been born: Reuben S., now at home, and Lyman, who died at the age of ten years. Politically Mr. Rogers is a Republican. He is a thorough and successful farmer, and highly respected by all who know him. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
James E. Rogers
This well known and popular citzen of Stevens Point, Portage county, was born in Jefferson county, N. Y., December 18, 1842, and is a son of James N. and Eliza (Adams) Rogers, who were born in New York State, and who came to Wisconsin in June, 1852, locating in Hartford, Washington county. James N. Rogers, father of the subject of this sketch, worked at his trade of blacksmith in Hartford, Wis., in connection with the building of the Chicago, Milwaukee & St. Paul railway, and in 1853 removed with his family to Mayville, Dodge county, where he resided till 1868. A portion of this time he worked at the blacksmith trade, and later engaged in agricultural pursuits. In 1868 they removed to Portage county, and purchased a farm in the town of Stockton, where they passed their remaining years, each living to an advanced age. They were the parents of seven children, of whom five are living, namely: Maria, wife of Ira Johnson, residing in the State of Washington; James E.; Cornelius L., residing in Stevens Point, Portage county; Josephine, wife of George Rhodes, residing in Dakota; and Henry, residing in Stevens Point. There is also a daughter by a former marriage, now the wife of N. C. Lawrence, residing in Stevens Point. Mrs. Rogers died in March, 1890, at the age of eighty-one, and Mr. Rogers in November of the same year, aged eighty-three. James E. Rogers, subject of sketch, came to Wisconsin with his parents when he was but ten years of age, received a common school education in the village schools of Mayville, Dodge county, Wis., and was afterward employed during the summer on his father's farm, and in the winter teaching school. In the spring of 1871 he was elected clerk of the courts for Portage county, and filled that position till January, 1881. In the fall of 1880 he was elected to the Legislature, representing Portage county one term. In the summer of 1881 he received an appointment as examiner in the pension office at Washington, resigned after one year, on account of ill health, and returned to Stevens Point. After remaining here about a year, and having regained his health, he was re-appointed to the pension office, returned to Washington in the spring of 1883, and remained there through the summer. In the fall of the same year he was detailed from the office as a special examiner for a portion of the State of Iowa and of southern Dakota, and filled that position four years, at the end of which time, or in the fall of 1887, he returned to Washington, and was engaged in quarrying two years. In the spring of 1890 he was chosen city clerk of Stevens Point, which position he resigned July 11, 1895, having discharged the duties thereof for upward of five years, with honor to himself and to the entire satisfaction of the citizens generally. In December, 1890, in Waupaca, Waupaca county, Wis., James E. Rogers was married to Miss Mary Baker, of Stockton, Portage county, and to this union have been born two children, only one of whom, Mabel, is now living. Mr. Rogers is an active member of the Republican party, and represented the Second ward of Stevens Point during 1879 and up to the spring of 1881. He is an enterprising and progressive citizen, and has many friends. The family are consistent members of the Baptist Church. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Galen Rood, M.D.
STEVENS POINT - Galen Rood, son of Orlin Rood and Augusta L. nee Drakeley, was born at Jericho, Chittenden County, Vermont, January 14, 1830. His great-grandfather was a revolutionary soldier, and his grandfather, Thomas Rood, was a soldier in the second war with the mother country. His father was a farmer while living in Vermont, but came to Chicago, Illinois, about 1838, and took a contract on the Illinois and Michigan canal. About two years later he sent for his family, and in 1842 moved to Madison, in what was then Wisconsin Territory. At that date, we are told, there was only one house between Madison and Janesville, and none between Madison and Portage. Here he engaged in the lumber business, but later removed to Missouri, and is still (1877) a resident of that State. Galen attended school at Madison until his nineteenth or twentieth year, reading medicine the latter part of the time with Dr. C. B. Chapman. He afterward went to Cincinnati and spent nearly four years in medical studies and in attending lectures at the Ohio Medical College, from which he graduated in April, 1856. Returning at once to Wisconsin, he opened an office at Stevens Point in June, and has never closed it since. For twenty-one years he has had a steady, and, much of the time, large and lucrative practice. He is extensively known as a skillful and successful physician and surgeon, and as a man of unimpeachable character. He has a good medical library, a variety of fresh medical periodicals, and evidently believes that every man should make his profession his life study as well as his life business. "Reading maketh the full man;" so Bacon declared; so the doctor believes; and with good opportunities to apply his knowledge he continues to grow. He pays considerable attention to physiology and chemistry, and takes some interest in the collateral sciences; and although a man of varied culture, is wholly unostentatious in his manners. Dr. Rood voted the whig ticket in 1852, and has since acted with the republican party, never, however, allowing himself to be a candidate for office.
He attends the Presbyterian Church, of which his wife, to whom he was married in November 1857, is a member. Mrs. Rood's maiden name was Jane Sylvester, formerly of Portage, Wisconsin, though they were married in Stevens Point. They have four children, the eldest, Myron, being a sophomore in the State University, and a student of good standing. Mrs. Rood is heartily devoted to the interests of the domestic circle, and the Doctor furthers every cause that tends to the sanitary, social or intellectual benefit of his adopted home. [Source: The US Biological Dictionary and Portrait Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
Alois A. Roth
Superior has become one of the most thriving and enterprising industrial and commercial centers of the State of Wisconsin, and its prestige in the business world is due to such men as Alois A. Roth, vice-president and treasurer of the firm of Roth Brothers Company. His efforts towards advancing the material interests of the city are so widely recognized that they can be considered as no secondary part of his career of signal usefulness. He belongs to that class of representative Americans who, while gaining individual success, also promote the public prosperity, and he stands pre-eminent among those who have conferred honor and dignity upon the city of his home no less by his well conducted business interests than by his upright life and commendable career. Mr. Roth was born at Rio, Columbia county, Wisconsin, August 31, 1860, and is a son of Alois and Frances (Schliessman) Roth. Alois Roth was born in Kanden, Austria, in 1830, and emigrated to the United States in young manhood, first locating in Portage, Wisconsin, where he established himself in a small merchandise business. Later he made removal to Winona, Minnesota, where he continued to follow the same line, but in later years returned to Wisconsin, settled at New Lisbon, and there passed the remainder of his life, dying in 1872, when but forty-two years of age. His widow, who is a native of Hessen Darmstadt, still survives him, as do two of their five children: Alois A. ; and Theo. J., who is his brother's business partner. The father was a Democrat in his political views, but never aspired to public office, his time being too occupied in the establishment of a business and a home. He was a worthy citizen, whose character combined those traits for which his countrymen are famous,—industry, honesty, thrift and fidelity to trust, and he was highly esteemed by all with whom he came into contact.
Alois A. Roth received his education in the schools of New Lisbon, Wisconsin, and early began a business training in mercantile lines, which he adopted in youth as his life work. In 1885, with his brother, he engaged in the general merchandise business at Wessington Springs, South Dakota, and this venture proving profitable, they later established another store at Alpena, South Dakota. In 1890, desiring a wider field for their greatly increased business, they disposed of the South Dakota stores and came to Superior, where they have since continued. The firm of Roth Brothers Company is the largest business of its kind in Superior, and its department store excels any one store to be found in Superior, commanding a trade that extends all over the Northwest. Progressive methods, unique ideas, strict attention to every detail of the business, and, above all, strict fidelity to every obligation, have been the means by which this great industry has been built up. Four great floors, 130 x 125 feet in dimension, house a line of goods that can be excelled nowhere in the state, and the needs of the trade are carefully looked after by the members of the firm, whose long experience has enabled them to develop from small beginnings an enterprise that is a credit to their sagacity and ability and to the city in which it is located. The greater part of Mr. Roth's time and attention have been given to this business, but he has also found leisure to devote to other enterprises, and at this time he is president of the Superior Motor and Machine Works. He is independent in politics, and takes but little interest in public matters except in the way that they affect his community and its people. Progressive in all things, he is ever ready to support measures tending to the advancement and welfare of Superior, and in this way he has become known as one of his section's public-spirited men. His fraternal connection is with the local lodge of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows. In 1886, Mr. Roth was married first to Miss Anna Butter who died in 1892, having been the mother of two children : Alois T. and Anna. In October, 1895, he married Miss Clara Hettinger, who was born in Portage, Wisconsin, and two children have also been born to this union : John H. and Harold Carl. Jason Russell ["Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Jason Russell, a maternal ancestor of the subject, together with eleven other American patriots, was killed in the Russell homestead at Arlington, by the retreating British after the battle of Lexington, on April 19, 1775. The old house is still in a good state of preservation and the state has erected a tablet before it, presenting a narrative of the occurrence, the old place standing as a monument to those early days of heroism and sacrifice. While the editors rejoice in bringing to light these facts in relation to the ancestry of the subject, it should not be supposed that he is a man who relies upon the name and accomplishments of his forbears to carry him through life in these later days. Rather is he a typical American of the middle west, who does not inquire into the ancestry of a man to decide whether or not he shall approve of that person. He does not demand that a man shall be able to boast a stated number of grandfathers before his individual approval shall be accorded to him. With him, the great thing is what a man has done,—not what his ancestors have accomplished. Only two of the Frost men left Massachusetts, and they were Josiah L. and a brother, Daniel B. Frost. The latter came west in 1853, Josiah Locke Frost, coming two years later. He became a large laud owner and a successful farmer of Portage county, and died on his farm in 1905 at the age of eighty-four years, secure in the esteem and confidence of all who knew him, and remembered in the county today as a man who played well his part in all the relations of life. His wife, Maria Jane Frost, died in 1876, when she was thirty-nine years of age. He later married Ella Wilcox, and she still survives, and makes her home with her daughter. Of the second union there were two children. Ernest lives in Canada; and Nellie is now the wife of Hon. Conrad Olson, of Portland, Oregon. Six children were born of his first marriage, however, and of these the subject was the fourth born. The others are: Charles H., now deceased; Etta F., the wife of John S. Cowan; Josiah F., of Boston, Massachusetts; George E. of Portland, Oregon; and Dr. Carrie A. Frost of Chippewa Falls, Wisconsin. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
George L. Ryerson
GEORGE L. RYERSON, clerk of the district court of Grand Forks county, is one of the rising young men of North Dakota. He is a gentleman of broad mind, is energetic and progressive and well merits his high standing as an officer and citizen. Our subject was born in Waushara county, Wisconsin, January 8, 1869, and is a son of Gus and Emma (Anderson) Ryerson, natives respectively of Norway and Wisconsin. His father emigrated to the United States in company with his parents and settled in Chicago, and later moved to Wisconsin, where he engaged in farming, and still resides in that state. Our subject is one of a family of five children. Mr. Ryerson was reared and educated in Wisconsin and at the age of eighteen years entered a printing office at Stevens Point, - The Stevens Point Journal, and remained there four years and learned the printer's trade. He came to Grand Forks in 1890 and found employment on the Herald, and later on the Plaindealer, and in the fall of 1891 founded the Reynolds Enterprise, of Reynolds, North Dakota, and still publishes the same. He was elected clerk of the district court in 1898 and is now filling that office in a satisfactory manner. Our subject was married, in 1892, to Miss Tena Brathovde, a native of Wisconsin. Two children were born to this union, named Glenn J. and Reuben A. Mrs. Ryerson died in 1895. Mr. Ryerson was married a second time, in 1897, to Miss Julia Sargeant, of Minnesota, becoming his wife. One child has been born to Mr. and Mrs. Ryerson, Thomas Lincoln. Mr. Ryerson is a member of the Knights of Pythias, Independent Order of Foresters, Ancient Order of United Workmen, Masonic fraternity, Zodia and B.P.O.E. He has been a life-long Republican, and has for many years taken an active part in the Republican politics of Grand Forks county. [Source: Compendium of History and Biography of North Dakota, Publ. 1900. Transcribed by Kim Mohler]
Albert W. Sanborn
ALBERT W. SANBORN, Stevens Point, was born at Swanton, Vermont, January 17, 1853; was educated at Muskingum College, New Concord, Ohio; read law with Barnes & Anderson, at Cambridge, Ohio; was admitted to the bar at Cambridge, Ohio, April 16, 1876, and is in practice with D. Lloyd Jones, at Stevens Point. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Nancy Overlander.]
L. D. Scott is one of the foremost citizens of Belmont township, Portage county — foremost in enterprise, foremost in enlightened opinion, foremost in public spirit. He is a self-made man, and one of the pioneers of the Upper Wisconsin Valley. Born in Tioga county, Penn., August 2, 1831, he is a son of Luke and Julia (Seeley) Scott, the former of whom, who was a farmer, died in 1836, leaving a widow and a large family of children, as follows: Lucretia, Levi, Julius, Charlotte, Abigail, James, Charles, Julia, Phoebe, L. D. and Hester A. The oldest brother took charge of the farm, and the family remained together. The mother died in Tioga county, Penn., October 17, 1858, aged 64 years, 8 months, 22 days. L. D. Scott, who was the youngest son, remained on the home farm, attending the district schools and assisting in the farm work until he was twenty-one or twenty-two years of age, when he went into the lumber woods. In the fall of 1855 he came to Oshkosh, Wis., traveling by rail to Sheboygan, and thence by stage to his destination. In the winter he worked in the woods, and during the ensuing summer he was employed in a sawmill at Oshkosh; then, in the fall of 1856, he came to Portage county, and worked in the pinery on the Big Plover, running the river the following summer. He bought land in Springwater township, Waushara county, but never occupied it. For several years longer he followed lumbering, then in the fall of 1861 he purchased eighty acres of poorly-improved land in Section 8, Belmont township. Mr. Scott was married, March 29, 1862, in Oconomowoc, Wis., to Susan E. Dopp, who was born in Oneida county, N. Y., May 16, 1832, daughter of John W. and Catherine (Miller) Dopp. Mrs. Scott migrated to Waukesha county, Wis., May, 1846, with her parents, coming via the Erie canal to Buffalo, thence by lake to Milwaukee, and thence to Waukesha county. She was the youngest of six children, and before she was eighteen she began teaching school. She taught eighteen or twenty terms, and it is an evidence of her ability that she received unusually high wages for those times. Her first term was for fourteen shillings per week, extraordinary wages then, and in later years she received as high as twenty dollars per month. After his marriage Mr. Scott lived for about six months on his eighty-acre tract, then in the fall of 1862 he moved to his present farm, where he has lived ever since, engaged in farming. He now owns 200 acres of land, highly improved, it being one of the excellent farms of the township. Two children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Scott: Mattie A., September 12, 1866 (now Mrs. John H. Johnson, of Blaine, Wis.), and Bertha E., December 12, 1871 (now Mrs. Frank Casey, and living with her parents). On October 4, 1864, L. D. Scott left home to join the army, was discharged from Jeffersonville Hospital, and reached home July 22, 1865. In 1893 and 1894 Mr. Scott was engaged in mercantile pursuits at Blaine. In politics he is a Republican, and voted for John C. Fremont in 1856. He has held various local offices, including those of town chairman, supervisor and treasurer of District No. 6; has been an active advocate of Republican principles in Belmont township, and from his influential position has been one of the chief advisors of his party in his section. For fifteen years, from September 4, 1878, to December 25, 1893, he was postmaster at Blaine, conducting the office in his house. Successful in business, always active in public matters, well-informed and happy in his domestic relations, Mr. Scott is most highly esteemed by a large circle of friends and acquaintances. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Caspar Smith, a worthy representative of the agricultural interests of Portage county, was born in the village of Volkershausen, Bavaria, August 21, 1820, and is a son of Andrew and Barbara Smith. The father was also born in that village, and was a well-to-do farmer; the mother was born in the village of Stadten. In Church matters he was prominent, was a highly-esteemed man, and when called to his final rest in the fall of 1853 his death was much lamented. His wife survived him ten years, when she too departed this life. Of the children: John operated the old homestead until his death; Eva, wife of Adam Burkhart, died in Germany; Caspar is the next in the family; Elizabeth is the deceased wife of George Hochrein; Maria M. is living in Bavaria, and is totally blind; Margaretta came to America in 1854, shortly after married John Frank, and died in London, Wis., in 1890. Caspar Smith attended the common schools of his native town until thirteen years of age, and then worked at any employment that he could secure until his twenty-sixth year. In 1846, he married Margarette Frank, a native of Bavaria. She owned a farm in Volkershausen, and thither the young couple removed, but after a year sold out, preparatory to emigrating to America. They had three children born in America: George W. and Martha, who came with their parents to America, and one that died on the voyage. In 1862, Mr. Smith took passage on a sailing vessel at Bremen, accompanied by his family, and after a voyage of forty-seven days landed at New York, whence they proceeded direct to Chicago, where Mr. Smith was employed as a laborer for a short time. He then removed to Madison, Wis., where they were all taken ill with typhoid fever and the wife and daughter died. Placing his son George in the care of a family in Madison, Mr. Smith went to Waupun, where for three months he was employed on the construction of the prison. Returning to Madison, he for a time worked in a hotel, and leaving that place went to Lake Mills, where he was employed in various capacities. There, on August 13, 1862, he enlisted in Company D, Twenty-ninth Wis. V. I., and was mustered into the service on September 27. The troops joined the Army of the Southwest, and from the 9th of January until the 10th of April were engaged in various expeditions. They were then assigned to the Thirteenth Army Corps, aided in the siege of Vicksburg, and going down the river to Milliken's Bend there disembarked and marched to Perkin's plantation. After participating in the battle of Port Gibson and many skirmishes, they were stationed in the rear of Vicksburg and aided in its capture. On July 5, they were ordered to Jackson, engaged in the siege of that place and after its capture returned to Vicksburg, whence on August 16, they proceeded down the river, stopping at Natchez for a few days. On they went to Carrollton, La., and on September 15, proceeded by rail to Brashear City. From that time until January 1, 1864, they were with Gen. Banks' army in the operations in Louisiana. On January 5, they embarked on ocean steamers for Texas, and did picket and out-post duty at Pass Cavillo until February 18, when they returned to Algiers and started on the Red river campaign under Gen. Banks. On April 8 occurred the hotly contested battle of Sabine Cross Roads, where the Union army was forced to retreat. This was the first time that the Twnety-ninth had met defeat since entering the service, and had it been properly supported the catastrophe would not have occurred. The troops gradually fell back to Alexandria, where they remained from April 25 until May 14, doing picket duty. There the Twenty-ninth was detailed to help construct the great Red river dam at that point for the purpose of getting the gunboats over the rapids, and when this was completed they started for Morganza, where they arrived May 23. On June 15 they reached Carrolton, La., and thence were ordered to Kentucky. Their rations were frequently limited, they often had no tents, had poor clothing, and all the hardships of war were endured by them. Mr. Smith contracted rheumatism, but with the exception of a short time when confined in the hospital he was always with his regiment, faithful to every duty that devolved upon him. On June 13, 1865, Mr. Smith was mustered out and at once returned to Lake Mills, Wis. Shortly afterward he came to Amherst township, Portage county, and bought forty acres of land, which he traded for a house and lot in Amherst Center. In October, 1879, he bought 110 acres of land, paying $900 in cash, and giving his home in town. His farm is located in Sections 28 and 29, Amherst township, and 90 acres of the tract are cleared and under a high state of cultivation, yielding to the owner a golden tribute in return for the care and cultivation he bestows upon it.
Mr. Smith for his second wife was married, at Lake Mills, in 1855, to Amelia Feemier, a native of Germany, who died February 21, 1892. The children by this union are as follows: Sophia, wife of Bertram Harvey, a farmer of Amherst township (they have one child, Verne); John G., a barber of Amherst, who married Anna Shattuck, and has two daughters, Mona and Ruth; and Caspar A. and Mary, both at home. George W., Mr. Smith's eldest son, married Miss Sarah Wilson, and has four sons — DeForest D., F. Clifford, Alfred G. and Willard W. Prior to 1861, Mr. Smith was a Democrat, but when the Republican party upheld the government during the war, he joined its ranks and with it afterward affiliated. He is a member of Captain Eckels Post, G. A. R., of Amherst, and is an active member and leading worker in the Methodist Church. He has met with many reverses in life; but through energy and determination, diligence and capable management he has attained an enviable position among his fellow men, and acquired a handsome competency, which numbers him among the substantial citizens of his adopted county. Since the above was written Mr. Smith died at his home of apoplexy March 21, 1895. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Patrick Sullivan, one of the representative farmers of Lanark township, Portage county, was born May 31, 1858, in Hull township, same county, son of Jeremiah and Bridget (Touhey) Sullivan, natives of County Cork, Ireland, who came to America in 1849. Jeremiah Sullivan was a poor man, and made his living by day's labor, for a number of years working on railroads. In 1857 he came to Portage county, and in Hull township, homesteaded a farm, there remaining until his death January 15, 1862, which resulted from an accident. His children were as follows: Margaret, who married John Hopkins, and died in Lanark township; Ellen, a maiden lady; Patrick, subject of this sketch; Catherine, now Mrs. Edward Cooney, of Lanark township; and Daniel, a farmer, also of Lanark township. After the father's death the widow and her children became members of the family of Patrick Leary, whose wife was a sister of Mrs. Sullivan. Through the kindness of Mr. Leary the Sullivans remained with him until they had grown up, and were able to provide for themselves. Mrs. Sullivan now resides with her son Patrick. Our subject received a fair education in his boyhood days, but schools were not very numerous in those pioneer times, and he often had to walk from two and a half to three miles to school. He was reared a farmer's boy in the new country, at the age of ten years removing to Lanark township with his foster parents, who settled in Section 16, which at that time was all forest, their first house being a board shanty. As soon as Mr. Sullivan was old enough he went to work on the farm, and has successfully followed agriculture ever since. He was married, November 22, 1888, in Buena Vista township, Portage county, to Miss Alice O'Connell, born in that township January 5, 1868, daughter of Daniel and Mary (Tracy) O'Connell. After marriage they began housekeeping on the farm which they have ever since occupied. The children born to Mr. and Mrs. Sullivan were as follows: Mary, Daniel J. (deceased), Patrick J., Alice, and Agnes. Politically Mr. Sullivan is a stanch Democrat, and has served as supervisor and as school treasurer in District No. 7 five years. In 1893 he was elected chairman of the township, the youngest man who has ever filled that office in Lanark township. Though his own educational opportunities were meagre, he is an earnest friend to the cause of education, and a strong advocate for better schools. While chairman he voted for the erection of a Normal School, but this display of enterprise and public spirit seems to have been somewhat in advance of the times, for certain voters of a non-progressive nature combined to defeat him at the next election. Mr. Sullivan and family are members of the Catholic Church. He is an excellent farmer, and one of the best known young citizens in the township. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
John Van Hecke
One of the prominent attorneys of Merrill, Wisconsin, is the Hon. John Van Hecke, who has been practicing law in Merrill for thirty years. Judge Van Hecke has not only made a reputation as a tine lawyer but he is also a successful business man, being interested in several prominent business enterprises in jMerrill. He is of that type of lawyer who attains success by constant study, close attention to his cases, and a thorough knowledge of the law, not depending on crooked methods or political pull to win his cases for him, in consequence of which he has the esteem and respect of all the citizens of this city and county and is considered a strong trial lawyer. John Van Hecke was born on a farm near Stevens Point, Portage county, Wisconsin, on the 28th of April, 1857, a son of Charles L. and Barbara (Veulstecke) Van Hecke. Both of his parents were born in Belgium, near Antwerp. Here they grew up and were married. It was in 1856 that they came to America and to Portage county, Wisconsin. Here Mr. Van Hecke bought a farm which he improved and made profitable and here they lived until 1886. At this time Mr. Van Hecke retired and moved to Stevens Point, Wisconsin, where he lived until his death, which occurred in 1909. His widow still makes her home in Stevens Point, and she celebrated her eighty-sixth birthday on the 25th of June, 1913. John Van Hecke was reared on his father's farm and lived the healthy, normal life of the farmer's son, attending the country school and helping his father with the work of the farm. After completing the courses offered in the country schools the boy taught country schools and saved the money with which to enter the State Normal School at Mankato, Minnesota, from which he was graduated in time. He then began to teach school in Marathon county. After several years of teaching Mr. Van Hecke entered the law offices of Raymond and Hazeltine at Stevens Point, Wisconsin, and read law with them until he was admitted to the bar in 1883. He remained in the offices of the above firm for a year after his admission to the bar and then he came to Merrill, and has been in active practice here ever since, his offices now being in the Lincoln County Bank Building. Judge Van Hecke enjoys a large practice, and between his professional and his business interests he has little spare time. He is the attorney for the A. H. Stange Company, the H. W. Wright Lumber Company, the Lincoln County Bank, the C. M. & St. P. Railway Company and "Soo" Railway Company. Judge Van Hecke 's business interests include the vice-presidency of the H. W. Wright Lumber Company and he is also a member of the board of directors of the Lincoln County Bank. Judge Van Hecke has served on the School Board and Board of Aldermen in Merrill and has also served several terms as city attorney. He has served as county judge of Lincoln county and for two terms was district attorney. Judge Van Hecke is a communicant of the Roman Catholic church. He is a member of the Knights of Columbus, being district deputy of that body. He is also a member of the Catholic Order of Foresters and of the Catholic Knights of Wisconsin. In 1884 Judge Van Hecke was married to Miss Mary McGuire, a daughter of John McGuire, of Merrill. Three children have been born to Judge Van Hecke and wife, namely : Max, who is reading law in his father's office; Stanley, who is attending medical college in St. Louis, Missouri; and Kathleen. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Charles Edward Webster
This well-known prominent farmer-citizen, and present treasurer of Portage county, is a native of the State of Maine, born December 15, 1839, in Carritunk plantation, Somerset county. He is a son of Enoch and Lydia H. (Fletcher) Webster, also of Maine, where the father conducted a farming and lumbering business, coming west from there with his family in August, 1845, and locating for a time in Lyons, Walworth Co., Wis. In 1847 they moved to Rosendale, Fond du Lac county, and in 1855 to Amherst, Portage county, where the father followed farming and other business until retiring into private life; he is now in his eighty-second year. He served as postmaster at Amherst sixteen years, justice of the peace thirty-six years, besides in various minor offices, such as supervisor, county commissioner, etc. In 1863 he was elected a member of the State Assembly, and served one term. His wife died in Amherst in 1892. The Webster family, of whom our subject is a member, are descended from Thomas Webster, an Englishman, who came to this country in 1636, locating in the neighborhood of Portsmouth, N. H.; the Fletchers were also an old family who settled in the neighborhood of Boston and Concord, Mass., about the year 1630. The subject proper of these lines received his education in the schools of Fond du Lac and Portage counties, and remained under the parental roof until the spring of 1861, when he moved to Minnesota, and there took up a claim in Waseca county. About that time the war of the Rebellion had broken out, and our subject, fired with the spirit of patriotism, enlisted May 20, that year, in Company G, First Minn. V. I., in which he served two years, when he was honorably discharged on account of sickness. He participated in the first battle of Bull Run, Ball's Bluff, and was with McClellan during the Peninsular campaign, also in the engagements at Fair Oaks, Malvern Hill, etc. On January 30, 1865, he re-enlisted, this time in Company B, Forty-sixth Wis. V. I., taking rank as sergeant, from which he was promoted to sergeant-major, and served through Tennessee and Alabama until the close of the war, being finally mustered out at Nashville, Tenn., September 27, 1865. Returning north, he came to Wisconsin and bought a farm in Almond township, Portage county, and at once commenced agricultural pursuits, in which he continued till September, 1893, when he moved into the village of Amherst and partially retired from active life. At one time he owned about six hundred acres of land in Almond and adjoining townships.
On March 27, 1866, Mr. Webster was united in marriage with Miss Mary Frost, daughter of Daniel B. and Jane (Cowan) Frost, and five children have been born to them, as follows: Daniel Edward, a graduate of the University of Wisconsin, and now in the employ of the Westinghouse Co., in Pittsburg, Penn., as electrician, as is also John E., who was a student at the University of Wisconsin, where he graduated in June, 1894; Genevieve, attending the Normal school at Stevens Point; Oscar F., at home, and Rollin F., who died at Almond, Wis., in 1880, aged twelve years. Politically our subject is a Republican, and he served three years as township clerk of Amherst township; in 1869 was elected a member of the county board from Amond township, and with the exception of two years served continuously until September, 1893; also served as chairman of the county board several years, and as justice of the peace in Almond township sixteen years. During the session of 1887 he was appointed and served as transcribing clerk of the Wisconsin State Senate; in November, 1893, he was appointed, by the county board, treasurer of Portage county, to fill a vacancy, and is now serving as such, having been elected in the fall of 1894. He has always been an active worker in politics, and has several times served as delegate to both State and Congressional conventions. Socially, he is a member of the I. O. O. F. and G. A. R. Although Mr. Webster is practically retired, he to some extent deals in real estate, and looks after his private affairs, which still occupy much of his attention. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
Nelson Albert Week
In a community where the main activities and the industry that has helped to make it the great industrial center that it is has been the lumber business in which Nelson Albert Week takes a leading place and part. The John Week Lumber Company of which Mr. Week is president, was organized in 1885, by the father of the subject, John Week, concerning whom extended mention is made in a later paragraph. The business then established has grown apace with the passing years and is today the leading manufacturing enterprise of its kind in Portage county. In addition to his connection with this highly important concern, Mr. Week is identified with numerous other enterprises, of both industrial and financial nature, and he is held in universal esteem in the community, where he has the confidence and good will of the entire populace. Nelson Albert Week is the son of John and Gunild Lucas) Week. He grew up on the home farm in Marathon county, where the family moved soon after his birth, and there he attended the district schools. He spent one year at Ripon College, and a year at Lawrence University at Appleton, Wisconsin. He was still quite young when he began working in the lumber woods first as a cruiser, his duties being to look over a given timber tract and bring back an estimate of the various kinds of standing timber thereon. When he was eighteen, years old he became "tailsman" on the raft plying on the river, and made three trips,—twice to Quincy, and once to St. Louis, Missouri, the well known "Big" Oliver Halvorsen being pilot on the raft. Those were days of real education for Mr. Week, and in those early years he gained an insight into the practical phases of lumbering that have made it possible for him to stand at the head of this great enterprise. Every branch of the business his wise father saw that he familiarized himself with, for the elder man saw coming the day when he might no longer be able to steer the craft of the business, and when he would want a strong and able helper to lean upon. When he was twenty years old, Mr. Week ran the engine at the mill on Big Eau Pleine river. About 1880 he went to Iowa and there ran a lumber yard, and coming back in 1881 was married on March 29th of that year, to Miss Ida Youmans, a daughter of Jotham and Helen (Hill) Youmans. Mr. and Mrs. Youmans it should be stated were pioneers of Portage county. Following the marriage of Mr. Week and Ida Youmans, the young couple returned to Iowa where he was engaged in operating the lumber yard, but after a short time he sold out and joined the family, who had then moved to Stevens Point, there becoming identified in business with his father in the mill at that place. In 1884 the present company was formed, as has already been stated, Nelson A. Week being made president of the company, John A. Week, vice president, and A. R. Week secretary and treasurer. In recent years, a son of Nelson A. Week, having completed his university training, succeeded his uncle, John A. Week, as vice president, that gentleman having retired from the firm to identify himself with outside interests.
Besides being president of the John Week Lumber Company, a task sufficiently big to occupy the whole time of the average man. Mr. Week is a director in the Citizens' National Bank of Stevens Point. He is a stock holder in the Coye Furniture Company, one of the leading manufacturing enterprises of its kind in the state. And besides controlling valuable real estate interests, he is interested in a large ranch in Texas, of which his son is manager.
To Mr. and Mrs. Week were born the following children: John Elmer, born in 1882 in Iowa, attended the public schools up to the age of thirteen years, when he entered the Chicago Manual Training School, and was graduated therefrom. He then entered Armour Institute, from which he was graduated in 1902, with the degree of Bachelor of Science and Electrical Engineering. He was bent upon a military career, and being promised an appointment by Hon. John C. Spooner, he took his examination for entrance to West Point, his standing being an excellent one, with a mark of 95%, in his physical tests. In the fall of 1902, while waiting for his appointment to West Point, young Week in company with four class mates, went to Mexico on a trip, and while there he was offered a nattering position as engineer on an important engineering job being put through. He accepted and was placed in charge of a large body of men in the building of an electric line to the silver mines of Guanajuata. In the same year while in pursuit of his duties, the young soldier of fortune was stabbed by two greasers, whom he had previously discharged from the works, and his death resulted soon after. The body of the unfortunate young man was brought to his home, and he was buried at Stevens Point. Thus was ended in most untimely manner what gave promise of being an exceptionally brilliant career.
Harold J. Weeks, the second child, married Josephine Allen in October, 1910, and they have one child,—Jeanne. They reside on the ranch in Texas, already mentioned, having gone west in the hope of recruiting his health. As a boy he attended the public and normal schools, following the latter course with a year of manual training, and he later entered St. John's Military School near Milwaukee. In the autumn of 1903 he entered the University of Wisconsin at Madison. At the close of his college life in 1907, he became identified with the John Week Lumber Company, and was elected vice president of that concern. In his college days he was prominent as a member of the Delta Tau Delta fraternity, as was also his older brother, John Elmer.
Nelson A. Week is what might be called a home man, for he is decidedly domestic in his instincts, but he has done a great deal of traveling in his time, usually, however, accompanied by his wife. Together they traveled in Cuba prior to the Spanish-American war. They have toured Europe, and in 1910 paid a visit to Honolulu and the Sandwich Islands, spending a most delightful season in that unique and attractive country. Mr. Week is a Mason, of the Blue Lodge and Chapter at Stevens Point, but has no other fraternal affiliations. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Volume 5 & 6, 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Crowel W. White
Crowel W. White, in his varied but successful career as farmer, lumberman and merchant in the Upper Wisconsin Valley, has run almost the entire gamut of fortune from the pinching poverty of the struggling pioneer, laboring without adequate tools, to the affluence which is the fruitage of his many years of intelligent and determined effort. He was born at Locke, Cayuga Co., N. Y., November 27, 1819, son of Joseph and Catherine (Moyer) White, both natives of the Empire State. Joseph was the son of John White, a farmer, and had nine children: Crowel W.; Harriet, who died in Michigan; Phoebe, now Mrs. Deporter, of Michigan; Adonijah, a blacksmith and farmer, in New York; William, by trade a shoemaker, now living in Iowa; Emily, widow of William Kline, a jeweler; Achsah, who died at the age of sixteen years; John, by trade an engineer, living in Pennsylvania; and one child who died in infancy. As the eldest child of this family Crowel W. White was deprived of the opportunity for a good education. He attended school during winters until he was twelve years of age, and was then "buckled into the collar." His father owned fifty acres of poor land, and was engaged principally in lime burning rather than farming. Crowel helped his father until he was sixteen, then worked for E. Newman one summer for twelve dollars per month. He then hired out to the same man until he was twenty-one years old for his board and clothes, and for $100 and two suits of clothes, to be paid when the term of service expired. His mother had died in 1833, when Crowel was still at home. After his children had all left the homestead the father married a widow, Mrs. Towne, and died about 1870.
Reaching his majority and receiving the promised stipend from Mr. Newman, Mr. White drove team six months on railroad construction in Allegany county, N. Y., then scored timber in Pennsylvania. In 1842 he went to Galena, Ill., and mined for two years, then in 1844 moved to Grand Rapids, Wis., and for several years followed saw-milling and lumbering. Here he was married, October 3, 1848, to Elizabeth P. Anthony, born in Oswego county, N. Y., November 9, 1826, daughter of Abraham and Mary (Allen) Anthony, the former a native of New York, the latter of Massachusetts. Abraham Anthonv, who was a farmer, reared a family of four children: Sarah, Elizabeth, Allen and Mary, Elizabeth, wife of Mr. White, being the only survivor. In 1844 Abraham Anthony purchased and moved upon eighty acres of wild land in Dane county, Wis., which he engaged in clearing, but several years later moved to Grand Rapids, and there embarked in the lumber business. About 1853 he returned to Dane county, and in 1858 sold his farm and came to Almond township, Portage county, where he and his wife lived with their daughter and son-in-law, Mr. Anthony was instantly killed by lightning, and his wife died nine days later, from the effects of the same shock.
After his marriage Crowel W. White remained in Grand Rapids until the spring of 1853, when he moved to Almond township. He purchased eighty acres of wild land in Section 7, now owned by Joseph Springer, and lived two months with a neighbor, until a log shanty, 12 x 12, could be built. They moved into this, and in turn gave shelter to another family, the two families numbering twelve people. In the fall a frame house was built, which still stands. Mr. White had brought with him a team of horses, but he was without farming implements, and the work of breaking the land proceeded slowly. It was only by the hard and toilsome efforts of both Mr. and Mrs. White, aided by their children, that they succeeded. After twelve years on the farm Mr. White returned to Grand Rapids, and for about seven years quite profitably conducted a meat market. He then engaged in the general merchandise trade for three years, also very successfully. Returning to Almond township, where he then owned 160 acres, he built a store at Lone Pine, and engaged in general trading. Three years later he erected a commodious two-story residence 16x24, with two one-and-one-half-story Ls, each 16x24, sold his business, and moved to the farm. Again taking charge of the store, he sold it afterward to Michael Curtis, whose widow now conducts it. Mr. White now owns an excellent farm of 200 acres. He is a Republican in politics, and has for three years been a member of the side board. Four children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. White: Alonzo A., born July 22, 1850, died at the age of sixteen years; S. Melissa, born July 27, 1852, died aged five years; Emma A., born August 30, 1854, and Bert E., born March 27, 1868. The two younger children have always remained at home, and have been of great assistance to their parents. [Source: “Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno” 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio.]
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails