Alvin M. Andrews
The present district attorney of Shawano county, Mr. Andrews is one of the able young members of the Shawano bar, and represents a name which has been prominently identified with practically the entire historical development of Shawano. Sixty years have passed since his father as a pioneer first ventured into the wilderness of Shawano county, and as the father was a man of influence and ability in the early days, so the son has left his impress on the community in modern times as a lawyer and official. Mr. Andrews was elected to his present office as district attorney in the fall of 1909, taking office in January, 1910. Then in 1912 he was reelected and began his second term in January, 1913. Mr. Andrews has practiced law at Shawano since he was admitted to the bar in 1908. Born on a farm six miles north of Shawano, in Shawano county, April 22, 1880, he is a son of Hon. Orlin and Helen (Harris) Andrews, both now deceased. The father died in Shawano, March 19, 1911, and the mother died there July 6, 1912. Both were born in New York State, and the father, Orlin Andrews is one of the very first permanent settlers in Shawano county, the date of his coming being in the year 1854. Two years later he returned to New York State, where he was married and then brought his bride to this little settlement in the midst of the big woods. Orlin Andrews was one of Shawano county's best known citizens. At various times he held important offices at Menominee Indian Reservation in the northern part of the county. He also served as postmaster at Shawano, and as court commissioner and for many years was a justice of the peace. From the farm on which he first settled he moved into Shawano about 1886. Mr. A. M. Andrews grew up and attended the public schools in Shawano, subsequently taking a literary and business course at the Valparaiso University in Indiana. He has worked and earned his own promotion in life and for several years was a stenographer in law offices in Shawano. In 1905, he went to Washington, D. C, to accept an appointment under the third assistant postmaster general and during the three years of his residence at Washington he attended the law department of the Georgetown University at Georgetown. In 1908 he returned to Wisconsin, passed the state bar examination and immediately thereafter opened his office for practice in Shawano. In 1903, Mr. Andrews married Miss Berd Griswold, of Valparaiso. Indiana. Their two children are Lloyd and Ruth. Mr. Andrews is affiliated with the Modern Woodmen of America. Outside of his official duties as district attorney he looks after a growing general practice in the local courts. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Benjamin B. Andrews
Benjamin B. Andrews, one of the firm of Van Doren & Andrews, prominent lumber merchants at Birnamwood, Shawano Co., Wis., was born at Whitehall, Washington Co., N. Y., September 29, 1849. He is the son of Benjamin M. and Ann (Lyons) Andrews, the former being born in Danbury, Conn., September 5, 1820, and the latter in Rutland, Vt., March 16, 1825. They were married in New York about 1847, and had a family of eight children, as follows: Benjamin Burton; Mary, who died when an infant; Mary Ann, who died when nineteen years of age; Annetta, now Mrs. R. Lyons, of Oshkosh; Adella; Leverett Brainard, who died when four years old; Emma Amelia, and Merton; the latter is an Episcopal minister and resides at Oshkosh.
Benjamin M. Andrews, father of our subject, came to Wisconsin in 1850, and settled on a farm in Juneau, Dodge county. He remained there some twelve years, then went to Beaver Dam and later to Oshkosh, where he still resides. He was a carpenter by trade, although he has followed farming the greater part of his life. His wife, Ann (Lyons), is also still living.
Benjamin B. Andrews, the subject of this sketch, obtained his education in the public schools at Juneau, and remained at home until he was seventeen years old, learning, in the meantime, to run a stationary engine. At the age mentioned he went to Milwaukee, and was employed on the Milwaukee & St. Paul railroad for some two years, after which he returned to Oshkosh and worked in a mill, taking full charge of the same until the spring of 1884. At that time he came to Birnamwood, and in company with Mr. Van Doren began the manufacture of staves and headings; three years later they built a sawmill, and in 1892 an extensive mill. They also carry on a general store, and are large owners of real estate, and Mr. Andrews, being a practical millman, looks after that branch of the business. He is a wide-awake, enterprising man, and has been very successful in all his undertakings. Mr. Andrews was married in 1865, his wife being Miss Agnes Parris, who was born in Canada of Scotch descent, one of a family of five children. Her father was a baker in Canada. By this marriage Mr. Andrews became the father of four children: James, who died when a child; William Henry, who also died when an infant; Mary who married H. G. Deyer, an attorney, of Shawano, and Harry, who died in 1894 at the age of twenty-one years. The mother passed away December 14, 1874. The second marriage of Mr. Andrews took place March 16, 1876, Miss Martha O. Thorn becoming his wife. She is a daughter of John and Sarah Thorn, natives of New York, who came to Wisconsin in 1854. Her birth took place in Jefferson county, N. Y., March 6, 1852, and she was one of a family of ten children. Mr. and Mrs. Andrews have four children: John Burton, Benjamin Burton, Bessie and Helen Dare.
In politics Mr. Andrews is a Republican, but has never been an office-seeker. He is a trustee of the village, a member of the Congregational Church, and has been affiliated with the United Workmen for the past fifteen years. He is a self-made man, one who has attained to his present standing by industry, perseverance and straightforward methods of business, and is respected as a worthy citizen, and one ready to assist in all matters pertaining to the welfare of the community. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
L. C. Bold, the honored mayor of Shawano, and editor and manager of the Shawano County Wochenblatt, is a native of Hessen-Nassau, Germany, born June 10, 1848, and a son of Christopher Bold, a highly-educated man, who was born January 7, 1824. He was instructed in some of the best educational institutions of Germany, won a high reputation as a teacher, and was employed at several schools of the Province Hessen-Nassau. His death, which occurred August 7, 1894, was the cause of an extended obituary in the educational paper issued by the institution where he had given such excellent service for so many years, winning a reputation that was far more than local. His family numbered six children - two sons and four daughters. Our subject attended the public schools until ten years of age, and then entered college at Cassel; after which he pursued his studies. He acquired an excellent education, and then resolved to cross the Atlantic to America, which he believed offered a better field to ambitious young men than was afforded in his native country. In the summer of 1868, at Bremen, he embarked on the vessel "Herrmann," which, after thirteen days, reached the harbor of New York. He remained for some time in the East, and in 1872 was made a citizen of the United States in Jersey City, N. J. Soon after his arrival he entered a drug store, and continued in that line of business for some time.
In 1869 Mr. Bold was married in New York to Miss Babetta Lieb, a native of Germany, and to them were born three children: Paul, who was drowned in 1880; Charles F., one of the prominent young men of Shawano, now employed in his father's newspaper office; and Louis, who is also connected with journalistic work. In November, 1884, Mr. Bold came to Shawano. At that time the Shawano County Democrat was in the hands of the sheriff, the former proprietors having failed to make it a profitable investment. A company was formed, consisting of August Koepper, president; Ed Somers, secretary; and L. C. Bold, editor and manager. The paper was changed to its present name, and the first copy appeared January 15, 1885. In October, 1888, the company was incorporated as the Shawano Printing Association, and Mr. Bold is now president and secretary as well as editor and manager. The circulation has been greatly increased, Mr. Bold having successfully managed the enterprise, until the paper is now one of the leading German publications in northern Wisconsin. It is well-edited, and is a very readable sheet. The equipment of the office is by far the most modern in Shawano, having a cylinder press and other machinery for first-class work, driven by steam power.
In politics Mr. Bold has always been a Democrat, but at local elections does not closely draw the party lines, preferring to support the man whom he thinks best qualified for office, regardless of his political complexion. In the spring of 1895 he was elected mayor of Shawano on the Citizen's ticket, defeating James Black by 59 majority. From 1888 until 1890 he was justice of the peace; in 1891 was supervisor of the Second ward of the city of Shawano; in 1893 was chairman of the county board of supervisors; and in 1894 was again appointed justice of the peace, serving until the spring of 1895 with the same fidelity that has marked his official career in its various capacities. Socially Mr. Bold is a member of Neptune Lodge, No. 46, I. O. O. F., and has been delegate to two grand lodges. He is a member of the Germania Society of Milwaukee, and organized Enterprise Encampment I. O. O. F. He is one of the leading men of the city, prominently identified with its public interests, a man who faithfully does his duty to himself, to his neighbor, and to his country. His public and private career are alike above reproach, and all who know him respect him. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Benjamin A. Cady
This well known and popular lawyer of Birnamwood and county attorney of Shawano county, who also has a warm place in every loyal heart as a veteran of the Civil war, is a native of Vermont, having been born in the town of Granville, Addison county, February 11, 1840. Jacob and Betsy (Coolidge) Cady, parents of our subject, were also natives of the Green Mountain State, the father born about 1807, a son of Isaac Cady, a soldier who served under Gen. Stark at the battle of Bennington. The mother's parents were natives of Vermont and New York, respectively. The Cady family is of Scotch and English descent, and the grandfathers on both sides were early settlers in America, most of their descendants being farmers. Jacob Cady came to Wisconsin from Lowell, Mass., making the trip from Buffalo to Milwaukee in a sailing vessel, and settling near the latter city April 6, 1850. His eldest son. Philander, walked all the way from Buffalo to Milwaukee with his brother-in-law, J. J. Richardson. At the home of this relative, near Milwaukee, Jacob Cady and his family visited for a while, then fitted out an ox-team and went to the Indian lands near the city of Berlin. Here Mr. Cady located near a stream now known as Cady's Creek, and proceeded to clear the land and make a comfortable home. He spent the remainder of his life on this place, and there passed away in 1885; the mother still resides on the old homestead with her grandchild. Jacob Cady, although he had only a common-school education, was a man of unusual ability, and a leader among men. He was possessed of strong will power, was generous to the poor, liberal to the cause of religion and of unbounded hospitality; in the expressive parlance of those early days, it was said that "his latch-string was always out." He was no politician, but was made chairman of the town board, and held other minor offices. The children of this worthy pioneer were five in number: Lucinda L., Philander H., Mary A., Artemus W., and Benjamin A.
The subject proper of this sketch, whose name appears at the opening, was but ten years old when his father settled in the wilds of Wisconsin, and his early days will never be forgotten. Wolves and deer were to be seen in the forests, snakes crossed the path through the underbrush, and the nearest neighbor was an Indian whose wigwam was a mile away. There were no schools for five years after their arrival in the county, but fortunately the boy had been in school in Lowell before he left the East, and under the instruction of his parents pursued his studies at home until he was eighteen years of age, when he entered the high school at Berlin, later going to Milton College. On November 24, 1863, he enlisted in Company I, Thirty-seventh Wis. V. I., of which company he was made clerk; in the spring of 1864 the regiment joined the Ninth Army Corps, at Cold Harbor. Mr. Cady was in several engagements in front of Petersburg, in one of which, June 19, 1864, he was wounded in the right hand, in consequence of which he was sent to Lincoln Hospital, at Washington, thence transferred to Madison, Wis., where he received his discharge, April 20, 1865. He then returned to the farm, took up the study of law, and in March, 1867, was admitted to the bar of Waushara county. Wis. Opening up an office in his own house, he commenced practicing, at the same time carrying on his farm and raising stock. He continued this busy life until 1881, when he sold out his interests there and removed to Wood county, engaging in lumbering at Milladore where he remained two years. In the fall of 1883 he closed out that business and came to Birnamwood, where he had made some investments, and entered into the mercantile business which he carried on (at the same time continuing his law practice) until 1892, since which time he has devoted himself entirely to his profession, in which he has been remarkably successful.
Mr. Cady is a Republican in his political views, but has always been too busy to become an office-seeker; his fellow-citizens, however, have honored him by placing him in various public positions. He is now district attorney of Shawano county, having been elected in the fall of 1894. He had previously held the same office in Waushara county, two terms, and for eighteen years was chairman of the town board, during two years of which time he was chairman of the county board; he has been a member of the county board in his county, and is now chairman of the Senatorial committee of this Senatorial District. Socially he is a Royal Arch Mason, being a member of Berlin Chapter and of Pine River Lodge No. 207.
On May 3, 1864, Mr. Cady was married to Julia A. Shepherd, daughter of Orson A. and Mary (Buck) Shepherd, natives of New York, whence they came to Wisconsin in an early day, first locating in Walworth county, later removing to Waushara county; both are now deceased. By this marriage Mr. Cady became the father of five children, as follows: Julia E., who married George Smith, and resides near her father; Artemus A., married and residing at Birnamwood; Frank P., a carpenter in Waushara county; Maggie M., residing at home; Myrtie R., who married George Cottrill, and lives in Waushara county. Mr. Cady's second marriage took place October 16, 1881, the bride being Miss Ada L. Empie, who was born in the town of Lake Mills, Jefferson Co., Wis.; two children have been born to this marriage; Blanche A. and Arthur L. Mrs. Cady's parents, John H. and Mary (Montgomery) Empie, were natives of New York, coming to Wisconsin at an early day; they are still living in Shawano county. They had three children: Lawrence H., Ada L. and Alice F. Mr. Cady is a self-made man with a strong will and great energy, up to forty years of age was a tireless worker in the various pursuits in which he engaged, and still continues to labor zealously in his chosen profession. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
James Buchanan Churchhill
James Buchanan Churchill in point of residence is the oldest settler of Grant township, Shawano county. In 1857 he purchased from the Fox River Improvement Co. a tract of 160 acres in Section 35, Grant township, distant a scant mile from the present flourishing little village of Marion, Waupaca county. This pioneer home was then under the territorial jurisdiction of Matteson township, and included what is now Grant, Pella, Matteson, Fairbanks and Split Rock townships. The little log house which he built stood in the midst of the dense forests, and here for many years he lived, a pioneer, when pioneers were few, and when frontier life meant hardships and privations almost innumerable. Mr. Churchill was born in Lock township, Cayuga Co., N. Y., in 1831, son of David A. and Martha (Buchanan) Churchill. David A. Churchill was the son of Daniel and Marion (Clark) Churchill, both of New York nativity and English ancestry. Daniel Churchill was a captain in the Continental army in the war of 1812, and died in Cayuga county, N. Y., where he was a large land-owner. Miriam Buchanan was the daughter of John and Miriam (Yaeger) Buchanan. John Buchanan was a native of Ireland, and served during the Revolutionary war as a captain in the Patriot army. He was a relative of President Buchanan, and a farmer by occupation, living through life on a farm in Orange county, N. Y. David A. Churchill, father of James B., was a currier and shoe-maker by trade, and in 1845 moved from Cayuga county, N. Y., to Tioga county, Penn., where he remained until 1867. In that year he came to the Wisconsin home of his son, and remained there until his death, in 1880; his wife died in 1887. Their family of eight children consisted of Clark L., a lumberman, who died in 1855,inSimcoe county, Canada West (now Ontario); James Buchanan, subject of this sketch; Jerome, of Tioga county, Penn.; Wilber, a resident of the same county, who enlisted in a Pennsylvania cavalry regiment and served three years; William, his twin brother, now a resident of Larrabee township, Waupaca county, who also saw active service in a Pennsylvania infantry regiment; David, also of Larrabee township, Waupaca county, and a veteran of a New York regiment; Daniel, who died in Maryland while in the service, January 1, 1862; and Martha, wife of Ebenezer Burley (also a Union soldier), of Tioga county, Pennsylvania.
James B. Churchill attended the district schools of Cayuga county, N. Y., and at the age of thirteen years accompanied his father's family to Tioga county, Penn., remaining there, engaged in farm labors, until the age of twenty. In 1851 he went to Canada, and there followed lumbering, and six years later was married to Miss Mary Warnick, a native of Canada, after which, with his young wife, he started for his prospective home in the wilds of Wisconsin. The journey was made by rail to Fond du Lac, thence via boat to New London, and the balance of the way afoot through the primeval forests. There were then no roads, and here in the fastnesses of the woods the hardy and venturesome pioneer lived for years. For several years after their settlement their only beasts of burden were oxen, and the only vehicle a wood-shod sleigh, which was used summer and winter, no wagons having yet been brought into the settlement. In going any distance in any direction streams of all kinds had to be forded. Their flour was all bought at New London, and brought by boat up to Clintonville, from which point Mr. Churchill would bring a 100-lb. sack on his shoulder to his home, a distance of ten miles as the roads run. The first interment in the adjoining graveyard at Marion was in 1872. In 1864 Mr. Churchill enlisted at Menasha, Wis., in Company K, First Wisconsin Heavy Artillery, which was assigned to the Twenty-second Army Corps and stationed at Arlington Heights and Ft. Lyons, Alexandria, on garrison duty. He was mustered out at Washington, D. C, in July, 1865, and returned to Shawano county, Wisconsin.
Mr. Churchill's first wife died in July, 1862, and in September, 1865, he was married in Bear Creek township, Waupaca county, to Miss Elizabeth Hehman, a lady of Holland birth, whose parents, Gerhard and Bertha (Haytink) Hehman, emigrated in November, 1856, from Holland to Milwaukee, Wis., and in May, 1857, settled in Section 18, Pella township, Shawano county. Their nearest neighbor then was fourteen miles distant. Mr. Hehman cut a road through the woods from a point two miles below Buckbee, Larrabee township, Waupaca county, to Pella, Shawano county, and from the farm to Embarrass village. He built a shanty 10. x 12 feet, and lived in it from May to November, by which time he had erected a log cabin, quite commodious in comparison. By faithful and persistent labor he improved the farm, and he died at this pioneer home in 1872, his wife surviving until 1879. Their five children were: Henrietta, wife of Fred Strausburg, of Marion, Wis.; William, formerly of Seneca, Shawano county, who died of heart disease July 4, 1895; John, who died in Grant township in March, 1893; Mrs. Churchill; and Gerhard, who lives in Sugar Bush, Outagamie county.
After his second marriage Mr. Churchill settled in Bear Creek township, and operated the Welcome Hyde farm for about five years. He then returned to his old farm, which he improved, and in 1883 equipped with a good one-and-a-half-story dwelling 16 x 28, with an L 16.x 16 feet, and having a one-story kitchen 14 x 15; his substantial barn, an imposing structure 36x56 feet, with 18-foot posts, he erected in 1869. Here Mr. Churchill is engaged in farming, and in raising an excellent grade of stock. In politics he is a Democrat, and he is one of the most public-spirited and enterprising citizens of the prosperous community in which he lives. In 1859 he served as commissioner of Matteson township, and in 1869 he assisted actively in organizing Grant township. He was instrumental in building many of the roads throughout the township, and in various ways contributed liberally to the convenience and welfare of the tide of immigrants who later filled up this wild land and converted it into an expanse of happy and prosperous homes. In matters of local history Mr. Churchill is an undisputed authority, and none stand higher than he in the esteem and respect of his fellow-citizens. Though not a member of any Church or denomination, he has been a liberal contributor to the different churches of his neighborhood, having assisted all of them by donations at different times, for their erection and afterward in their support. Socially he is a member of Shawano Lodge, I. O. O. F. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Hon. Francis A. Deleglise
On March 25, 1894, there passed away at Antigo, Wisconsin, the man widely and familiarly known to the public as the "Father of Antigo." He was Hon. Francis Augustine Deleglise, and he was born on February 10, 1835, in Commune of Baynes, Canton of Valais, Switzerland, the son of Maurice Athanase and Catherine (Lang) Del'Eglise. In the preparation of this all too brief memoriam which is designed for publication in this history of Wisconsin, nothing could be more in the nature of a eulogy than a simply straightforward recounting of the more salient features of his long and singularly sweet life, and it is not the purpose or intent of this article to do aught but tell of him as he was. The father of Mr. Deleglise was one of four brothers of an old, and highly respected Catholic family of Valais, who were vineyardists. Of the four brothers, who all lived to reach ripe old ages two were priests, one of the Order of Jesuits, was a teacher of Mathematics at the University of Freiburg; the other of the Order of St. Bernard was the Superior of the Monks at the Great St. Bernard's Hospital. Maurice, the father of our subject, was a teacher and surveyor while the other brother conducted his vineyard, following the occupation of his ancestors. In 1848, much against the wishes of their family, these latter two brothers, with their little families, emigrated to America - the one brother locating in Missouri near Leavenworth, Kansas, where he followed the occupation of his native Canton, and conducted a vineyard up to the time of his death; while Maurice came to Wisconsin, where he endeavored to provide for his family by agriculture. The pioneer's life was a hard struggle for the Swiss teacher and harder on the wife who survived their arrival to the new country but five years when she succumbed in childbirth to the hardships and privations of pioneer life at their home in the town of Theresa, now in Dodge county, Wisconsin, where she was buried. The family made their home in Gibson, Manitowoc county, for a short time and then removed to near what is now Belle Plain in Shawano county, Wisconsin. Here the father farmed up to the time of his death in 1878, and was brought for burial to the home of his son, Francis A., in the then little village of Antigo, just being platted by this son, its founder.
Francis Augustine was the eldest of the three children brought to America—the eldest child, a daughter, Catherine, having yielded to the persuasions of relatives and remained with them in the native land. Francis had up to this time been a regular attendant at the very excellent schools of his old home, but the new country taxed the family's savings to the utmost and its welfare in a great measure depended upon the earning capacity of this big, bright, healthy boy of barely fourteen years, who proved himself resourceful and willing to turn to any work that offered to help the family - from clearing, farming, sailing on the Lakes in summer and working in the logging woods in winter, to helping his father in surveying for the neighbors, Francis did everything and anything in a cheerful, willing and capable manner, his earnings always going into the family purse.
At the age of twenty-one Francis Deleglise married, and soon thereafter he and his young wife went to Appleton where they continued to reside until 1877, with the exception of two years' residence, '71- '73, in Shawano county where Mr. Deleglise started and platted the village of Leopolis. During those years he was more or less occupied in civil and municipal engineering, locating settlers on homestead lands, etc., carrying on the work he had learned under his father.
It should be stated here, however, that he enlisted on June 28, 1861, in Appleton, Wisconsin, in Company E of the Sixth Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry, under Captain Marsten of Appleton. He was promoted Boon to the rank of corporal, and in July, 1862, the regiment became attached to the Army of the Potomac, participating thereafter in the many struggles of the famed Iron Brigade. At Antietam, on September 17, 1862. he was severely wounded and as a result was in hospital for several months thereafter. He was at the battle of Gettysburg and was severely wounded and taken prisoner during the first day's fight. He did not long remain in the hands of the enemy, however, as when they retreated, they were forced to leave their wounded behind them, and he was rescued by the Federal forces. On July 16. 1864, Mr. Deleglise was honorably discharged, with the record of a valiant soldier to his credit. When he enlisted he was a stout, husky young man, weighing one hundred and eighty pounds, and when he returned from the war he had become so emaciated from illness, wounds and army fare that he tipped the scales at barely ninety pounds. He suffered for long after the war as the result of his experience, and during his convalescence he studied engineering and mathematics and as soon as he was able in point of bodily strength, he resumed his work of surveying, and in time he became an expert in that branch of civil engineering.
In 1867 he commenced the looking up and locating of lands in North Central Wisconsin, and it was then that he, in reality, selected the site of the future city of Antigo, and in 1877, to further exemplify the faith, he felt in the future of the place he brought his family here and located, and platted the village of Antigo. Mr. Deleglise named it so from '' Nequi Antigo Suebeh, '' the Chippewa Indian name of Spring River, signifying Balsam Evergreen River from the balsam and evergreen that border the waters of this stream which flows through the plat. He was the first town chairman and when the county was organized he was elected chairman of the first county board, and served among the first county treasures and was most active in its early organization and management. Mr. Deleglise dealt largely in real estate, and he became the possessor of immense tracts of land in and about the county. He was one of the most public spirited men the city ever knew, always working for the development and improvement of the community, and having an eye single to its best development along material and moral lines. He was a man liberal in all things especially in matters of church and of education, donating sites for these purposes and also for public buildings. In politics he was a Democrat first, but after the war he became a Republican and he continued a staunch adherent of that political faith up to the time of his death. In 1892 he was elected to represent this district in the state legislature, where he made a brilliant record as a legislator, manifesting his intelligent interest in the best welfare of his constituents and accomplishing worthy work in that office. He was a staunch Roman Catholic all his life, and died in the fervent, loyal profession of that faith, on Easter Sunday. March 25, 1894.
On November 29, 1856, Mr. Deleglise was married at Two Rivers, Wisconsin, to Mary Bor, born on January 1, 1835, in Taus, Bohemia. She was the daughter of Simon and Dora (Kerzman) Bor, the family coming to America from Bohemia in 1855 and settling in the town of Gibson, in Manitowoc county, where the Deleglise family resided. The father, who was a merchant in his native land, engaged in farming here, and thus passed his remaining days. He died in Antigo in 1881. He had served eight years as a soldier in his home country.
Mrs. Deleglise was a devoted mother and brave woman who faced courageously the hardships and trials, first of the wife of a soldier during the Civil war, with three small children to care for, and then as the mother of eight children she journeyed with them to these wilds to undertake the responsibilities of the pioneer woman. She was of a deeply religious and sympathetic nature, a natural born nurse and the pioneer women all looked to her for help and encouragement in sickness and trials and relied upon her to nurse them and she was always ready to go when called upon. Mr. Deleglise entered the lands in the vicinity of Antigo in her name and the site of the city also was in her name she signing the Plat of the village of Antigo as its owner. Mrs. Deleglise survived her husband fourteen years, dying December 20, 1907.
To Mr. and Mrs. Deleglise were born the following children: Mary T., who married John Deresch, of Antigo, Wisconsin ; Sophia E., the widow of Samuel E. Leslie of Antigo; Francis Joseph, who is deceased; John E., also deceased; Anna E., the wife of Thomas Morrissey of Antigo; Adelbert A.; Alexius L. ; Henry and Edmond, the last two deceased.
Mrs. Mary Teresa Deresch, eldest child of her parents, and her husband, were the first white settlers to enter a government homestead in this then wilderness, and she was for a long time the only white woman within a radius of twenty miles. They have two surviving children, Christian and Charles. Their child born to them in 1877 was the first white child born here but it survived but a few days.
Mrs. Sophia Leslie, now widowed, has two surviving children, Loyola I. and Cyril Deleglise; Mrs. Leslie, it should be noted, was one of the first school teachers in Langlade county, and her father's assistant when platting the village.
Anna E., and her husband, Thomas Morrissey, have four children Margaret Virginia, John Francis, Gerald Deleglise and May. Mrs. Morrissey as a girl of ten years accompanied her father to Langlade county when he brought with him the first band of thirty prospective colonists and she spent the first winter with her sister, Mrs. John Deresch, her mother and the remainder of the family coming in the following spring. She was the first white child to come to what later became Langlade county, and she has an acquaintance with this part of the county that dates back to the most primitive days, in the matter of settlement.
Adelbert Deleglise is unmarried and resides in Antigo.
Alexius L. Deleglise, the youngest son of the five living children of his parents, is city engineer of Antigo, and is one of the prominent young men of the city. He is a widower and has three children, Margaret, Irene and Germaine. The family, from first to last, has enjoyed the confidence and esteem of the best people of the county, and their place as pioneers of the city and country is not less pronounced than is their standing in the matter of citizenship of the most helpful and uplifting order. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
George C. Dickinson
GEORGE C DICKINSON, Shawano, was born in Rock county, Wisconsin, September 5, 1848. After completing his education at Milton College, he studied law with Warner & Ryan at Appleton, and was admitted to the bar at the same place in June 1874. He commenced practice in Appleton in 1879, where he continued alone until February, 1881, when he moved to Shawano, and formed a partnership with E. P. Perry, where he is now in practice. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin History and Biography, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee (1882) transcribed by Mary Saggio]
P. F. Dolan
In the quarter century covering the active career of Mr. P. F. Dolan he has risen to an important place of influence and business prestige in Shawano county, which has been his home for the past seventeen years. Mr. Dolan was for many years one of the capable educators of Wisconsin, and had charge of schools in different localities. He is now the head of the firm of P. F. Dolan Land Company, real estate, insurance and loans, and is a director in the German-American National Bank of Shawano. He still keeps in active touch with educational affairs and is president of the Shawano School Board, having held that office five years. He moved to the city of Shawano from Wittenberg, in this county, in 1905, and had served on the Wittenberg school board. He was also in the real estate and loan business at Wittenberg for four years, from 1901 to 1905. Mr. Dolan came to Shawano county from Highland, Iowa county, Wisconsin, where he was born May 12, 1868. His father, P. H. Dolan, came to Wisconsin as a small boy from Pennsylvania, settling in Iowa county, where he was a substantial and well known farmer. His wife, Mary Hughes, was born in Canada. Both parents died in Iowa county.
The early years of Mr. Dolan were spent on an Iowa county farm, and largely through his own efforts and careful economy, he received what amounted to a liberal education. From the local rural schools he entered the high school at Highland, graduating in the class of 1888. He then took a course in the normal school at Platteville, and graduated there in 1895. He also attended the University of Wisconsin during the winters of 1896-97, but did not have enough money to complete his course. In the meantime he had qualified as a teacher, and altogether spent thirteen years in that vocation. His services included one term at Almond in Portage county, four years at Wittenberg, in Shawano county, four years at Drybone, one term at Hollandale. He entered the real estate business in Wittenberg in 1901, and continued there until early in 1905. His removal to Shawano was the consequence of his election to the office of registrar of deeds of Shawano county, a post which he held for one term. In 1892 Mr. Dolan married Miss Sadie Wallace, of Hartford, Wisconsin. Their two sons are Francis and Wallace. Mr. Dolan is a popular member of the Benevolent and Protective Order of Elks, and is one of the best known citizens of Shawano county. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Joseph Gauthier, of Keshena, Shawano county, was born August 18, 1818, at Rock Island, Ill., and is nearly a full-blooded Menominee Indian. His father's name was Shaw-nah-wah-quah-hah, and his mother's name was Sho-sha-quaer, a daughter of Kanote, who was a sub-chief and a brother of Tomah, the head chief of the tribe, and a noted Indian of his time. Both Kanote and Tomah had some white blood in their veins from a distant ancestor. Mr. Gauthier's Indian name was Mahchickeney, and he was an only son. His father died when he was eight years old, and his mother afterward married Antoine Gauthier, an employe of the American Fur Compay, who were extensive traders with the Indians all over the Northwest. Antoine Gauthier remained with this company for about thirty-five years. He then went to farming in Henry county, Ill., where he remained until his family grew up and were scattered, when he went to Kansas and died in Kansas City, Mo., in September, 1856. After his mother's second marriage, Mr. Gauthier took his step-father's name, which he still retains. By the second marriage of Mr. Gauthier's mother, children were born as follows: Antoine, who for many years was interpreter for the Sacs and Fox Indians, but afterward married a daughter of Muck-Kunth, the chief of the Chippewa and Munsee tribe; he died in 1875. Louis also married into the same tribe and family as his brother, Antoine, and died in 1892; Frank, who married into the same tribe, died in 1870; John, who married into the Sacs and Fox tribe, was a farmer near Rock Island, Ill., all his life, and died there in 1845; Susan married a half-breed Menominee, is still living, and since the death of Mr. Gauthier's wife has been his housekeeper; Margaret married a son of Muck-Kunth, the chief of the Chippewa and Munsee Indians; she died in 1862, and her husband in 1888.
Joseph Gauthier's younger days were spent in the vicinity of Rock Island, Ill., and he received some education by attending the primitive schools of that period, and from what the officers of the fort taught him, which he improved as he grew older. In his boyhood days he knew Gen. Harney, Gen. Scott, Gen. Banks, and other officers who became noted soldiers later on, and was always a favorite with the officers and soldiers at the fort. Mr. Gauthier was fourteen years old at the time of the Black Hawk war, and has a vivid recollection of the stirring times of that period. He was enrolled with the militia and carried a musket with the balance, but being young was not sent into the field. He was one of the pioneer lumber boys of the State, working for several years on Black river for D. B. Seers & Co., of Moline, Ill. In 1850 he rejoined his tribe, who were located at Poygan, Wis., a few miles above Oshkosh. After working on a boat on Fox river one season he was given a position in the government blacksmith shop conducted for the benefit of the Indians at Winneconne. In 1852 the Menominees were removed on to their present reservation in Shawano county, and Mr. Gauthier came with has held ever since, with the exception of about one year and a half.
During the Civil war Mr. Gauthier was an enthusiastic Union man, and if he could have arranged his business matters satisfactorily would have been to the front with his musket. As it was, he encouraged enlistments among the Indians, and was the prime mover in raising Company K, Thirty-seventh Wis. V. I., paying the expenses of transporting the company to Madison, and supporting many of the families of the men who enlisted. He accompanied the company to Madison, and was appointed special quartermaster for the services he had rendered. It is well enough to say here that Company K, Thirty-seventh Wis. V. I. were all Indians but two. They were mustered into service June 27, 1864. On July 31, 1864, they were in the front of Petersburg, and were caught in the explosion of the mine celebrated in the history of that fight, and nineteen of the company were killed, and several others wounded.
In 1852 Joseph Gauthier was married to Mary Ann Mo-sha-quah-toe-kiew, whose father died when she was a small child. They had one child, Frank, who died in infancy. Mr. and Mrs. Gauthier adopted a small boy, and brought him up as their son. His name is Joseph F. Gauthier, and he is now a prosperous merchant and lumberman, and resides at Keshena, Wis. Mrs. Gauthier died July 12, 1892, when about sixty-seven years old, loved and respected by all.
Joseph Gauthier is a member of the Catholic Church, and a regular attendant. Although he is partly blind, he retains all his mental faculties, and is respected and held in high esteem both by the Indians and whites. The present Chief of the Menominees is Ne-oh-pet, a son of the celebrated chief, Oshkosh. Ne-oh-pet, Chickeney and Nah-tah-wah-pah-my are the present judges of the Indian court, and try all Indian cases arising on the reservation. Mr. Gauthier acts as interpreter for the court. The decisions of this court are so pure and just that many white judges could learn a lesson from them in equity and justice. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Albert H. Gustman
County treasurer of Shawano county, Mr. Gustman is now serving in his second term in that office. He was elected on the Republican ticket in 1910, and was reelected in the fall of 1912. For two years prior to his service as county treasurer, he was supervisor of the First ward in Shawano. Mr. Gustman belongs to a family which has been identified with Shawano county since 1880, and has had an active business career since he reached manhood in this county. Born in Germany, February 28, 1868, Albert H. Gustman was the son of August and Albertina (Kroening) Gustman. In 1880 the family made their journey across the ocean and settled in Shawano county on a farm in the town of Westcott. There the father worked industriously and lived a substantial man in the community until his death in 1898. The mother passed away several years before.
A boy of twelve years when the family located in Shawano county, Mr. Gustman had already received some educational advantages in his native country, and continued here in the common schools, assisting in the labors of the home farm. In 1898 he sold the farm and moved to the city of Shawano. There up to the time of his election as county treasurer, he was identified with different enterprises. He first bought a dray line running it for several years. For four years he drove the United States government stage to Keshena, in the Menominee Indian Reservation. His next undertaking was a restaurant and bakery, and he built that up to a profitable enterprise and then sold out at the end of two years. For the following year he conducted a furniture and undertaking establishment, and on his election to his present office he sold out to his son-in-law, who had previously been his partner, Mr. M. C. Karth.
Mr. Gustman was married at the age of twenty years in 1888 to Miss Minnie Gottschalk, who was born in Germany and came to Shawano county when a girl. Their two children are : Louisa, wife of M. C. Karth, and the mother of four children, whose names are Paul, Fred, Marie and Carl; William, who is married and lives in the state of California. Mr. Gustman takes a prominent part in the St. Jacobi Lutheran church at Shawano, and is an elder. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Rev. E.J. Homme
Rev. E. J. Homme, owner and manager of the Orphans' Home and Home for homeless old people at Wittenberg, Shawano county. Wis., was born at Thelemarken, Norway, October 17, 1843, a son of John and Carrie (Lund) Homme. John Homme, father of our subject, also a Norwegian by birth, born in 1817, was a cabinet maker in his native land, a business he made a success of, and was married in Norway to Miss Carrie Lund, by whom he had eight children, as follows: Evan J., subject of sketch; Ole, now a resident of Houston county, Minn.; Osmond, a wagon maker and carpenter in Wittenberg, Wis. (he is married and has five children); Miss Helga, who has charge of the boy's department in the Orphans' Home, Wittenberg, in the capacity of assistant matron; Birgitte, married and living in Clay county, Minn.; Annie, who married Oscar Frohling, and died leaving a family of children, three of whom are inmates of the Orphans' Home at Wittenberg; Andrew, an engineer with residence at Grand Forks, N. Dak.; and Frederick, foreman of Kemnitz Manufacturing Company, at Green Bay, Wis. In 1854 the parents came to America, locating in Dane county, Wis., where for two years the father worked at his trade, or until 1856, in that year moving to Houston county, Minn., settling on a piece of land, and there combined farming with cabinet making during the rest of his busy life, dying in 1885 at the age of sixty-seven years; his widow is now passing her declining years with her son, Ole, in Houston county, Minnesota.
Rev. E. J. Homme, the subject proper of these lines, after attending elementary schools, at the age of nineteen entered college, taking a two-years' course, and then proceeded to St. Louis, Mo., where, at Concordia Seminary, he commenced the study of theology, at the end of three years being ordained a minister of the Norwegian Lutheran Church of America. He then, in 1867, took up his abode in Winchester, Winnebago Co., Wis., and was pastor of the Lutheran Church there some fourteen years, thence in 1880 coming to what is now Wittenberg, of which village he may be said to be the founder, there not being a human being in the place when he came to it. He walked all the way from Tigerton (a distance of nine miles), which at that time was the terminus of the Lake Shore & Western railroad.
From a pamphlet, published in 1894, at Wittenberg in the interest of the Orphans' Home at that village, is gleaned the following: The village of Wittenberg was founded February 13, 1880, by Rev. E. J. Homme, which event happened in the following way: The Norwegian Synod, to which Rev. Homme belonged at that time, had for several years discussed the great need of a home for orphan children and homeless old people, as no such institution existed among the Norwegian Lutherans of America. Rev. Homme declared his willingness to take the lead in this move toward the establishment of such a home, on the condition that he be at liberty to select the place for it. To this the Synod agreed, but declared that he should consider this as a private enterprise, and not undertake the erection of buildings with the idea that the Synod should be obliged to pay for them. On the other hand, the Synod promised to lend their support to every honest means he might make use of in furthering the cause. On the 27th of January, 1880, a number of German Lutheran clergymen resolved to form an association for the purpose of establishing a high school (an academy or progynmasium) for the congregations in this section of the State. Rev. Homme was a member of this association. The German brethren resolved to locate their high school in the same place where Rev. Homme thought of building his Orphans' Home. At the same meeting it was decided to select a location between Clintonville and Wausau on the Milwaukee, Lake Shore & Western railway, which was then being built through the western portion of Shawano county. A committee was elected to inspect and choose a site, said committee consisting of Jonas Swenholt, of Scandinavia, Wis., John Uvas, of Winchester Wis., Aug. Kraenke, of Reedfield, Wis., and Rev. Homme (at that time stationed at Winchester, Wis.). The committee accomplished its mission the 9th and 10th of February of the same year (1880), and chose this region for the founding of a Wittenberg. Rev. Homme immediately wrote a petition to the railroad company, that the station which was then in contemplation of establishment might be named Wittenberg, to which the railroad company responded favorably. The railroad had at that time not reached that far, and the whole region about was a dark and lonely wilderness, devoid of the habitation of man. The first sign of civilization in Wittenberg was a log cabin made by the railroad company for some of its laborers; the first frame building in the town was a store, built in the spring of 1880 by Jonas Swenholt, of Scandinavia, Wis. The following year Rev. Homme built his residence there, and moved thither with his family November 4, 1881. By August 26, 1882, the Orphans' Home was completed, and on that day was opened with an enrollment of four children and one aged man. During the next summer, 1883, Rev. Homme built a second building (school house) for the use of the orphans, and on October 31 the whole institution was solemnly dedicated, Rev. A. Mikkelson, of Chicago, officiating. This institution was located in the southern part of the village, on Blocks 30 and 31. The same fall of 1883 the German Lutheran clergymen had their high-school building completed, and school began on the 1st of September. After a course of six months, however, the building was utterly consumed by fire, and school was again resumed in Rev. Homme's Orphans' Home. In the summer of 1884 the building was rebuilt by Rev. Homme, but the school was not continued any longer. The next year the school was converted into the present German Orphans' Home.
In 1882, on motion of Rev. Homme, a committee was appointed by the Norwegian Synod to investigate what could be done in regard to the founding of an Indian mission in that vicinity. As the Synod did not take any steps to realize the Indian mission, this committee went to work independently to establish an Indian mission. It selected a place three and one-half miles west of the village of Wittenberg, where in the fall of 1884 a small school was established, and engaged a teacher for some Indian children.
In 1885 the committee resolved to move the Indian Mission School nearer to the village. A large building, the erection of which was superintended by Rev. Homme, was completed, and dedicated by Rev. J. Ellestad in the summer of 1886. Rev. T. Larson, of Harmony, Minn., was chosen by the committee as principal of this Indian mission. Rev. Homme made an application to the National Government for pecuniary aid for the Indian Mission School, which was complied with. In 1887 the Norwegian Synod obtained full possession of the Indian mission, and has continued it till the present date.
Through the exertions of Rev. Ellestad and Rev. Homme a Normal school was established here in 1887 in connection with the Orphans' Home. The school was continued for three years till the establishment of the United Lutheran Church, in 1890. In 1885 Rev. Homme built and equipped a printing office in connection with the Orphans' Home. From this institution "For Gammel og Ung" has been issued every week, and has reached its 14th volume. Out of this institution are also sent forth two weekly Sunday-school papers (Sondagsskole Bladet and Sunday School Helper) respectively, the first Norwegian and English Sunday-school papers issued among the Norwegians in America. The Orphans' Home has been in existence for thirteen years, and during this time two hundred children and aged persons have at different times had their homes here. At present writing there are seventy-five children and nine aged people at the Home. On June 11, 1882, a Norwegian Lutheran congregation was formed, which now numbers forty families, exclusive of the inmates of the Orphans' Home. The trustees of the congregation are Peter Olson, Ole Johnson and Andreas Grimstad. The minister serving this congregation and the Orphans' Home is Rev. E. J. Homme; H. Madson is deacon of the congregation. The corner stone for this new Orphans' Home was laid September 23, 1894, by Rev. G. Hoyme, of Eau Claire, Wisconsin. - So much for what we glean from the pamphlet.
In truth it reads more like a fairy tale than a bare statement of facts, and a view of the grounds, whereon stand the Home and collateral industries, reminds one more of the work of an enchanter than of a single-handed mortal. Mr. Homme came to Wittenberg a poor man, yet fearlessly and hopefully built and equipped a school which furnished a retreat for some seventy-five homeless boys and girls, which he soon began to realize was too small for his philanthropic purpose. Securing a tract of 360 acres of heavily-timbered land on the Embarrass river, one and one-half miles from Wittenberg, he there established a fine water power, and in 1892 erected a sawmill with a capacity of 35,000 feet per diem, a planer and matcher, and also a shingle-mill. In 1894 he began the erection of his new Home, which is now (July, 1895) under roof, and will be completed for occupation in 1896; when finished it will accommodate two hundred children, have an excellent school and a select library. The old building will be converted into a Home for homeless old people. He has also erected a factory, equipped with a sixty-five horse-power steam engine, and here it is his intention to manufacture church furniture, thus furnishing the children with employment, at the same time teaching them a trade, thereby making it as nearly as possible a self-supporting Industrial School. Mr. Homme has nearly one hundred and fifty acres of land under cultivation, where the boy's are taught the science of agriculture, and in connection with the Home he will in the near future erect a gristmill, in addition to all which it is his intention to introduce other industries, thus making the locality a manufacturing center. It is stated in another part of this sketch that Mr. Homme was instrumental in founding and erecting the Indian Mission and the German Lutheran Orphans' Home, but he is now in no way connected with either.
In 1869 Rev. E. J. Homme and Miss Ingeborg Swenholt were united in marriage, and eight children have been born to them, named respectively: William (a graduate of Northfield College), Clara J., Carl J., luga, Martin, Anna, Francke and Gerhard. Mrs. Homme was born, in 1845, at Stone Bank, Waukesha Co., Wis., daughter of John and Ingeborg Swenholt, natives of Norway, who came to this country in 1844, finally settling in Scandinavia, Waupaca Co., Wis., where the father died and the mother is yet living. In his political preferences our subject is a stanch Republican, and he is one of the most highly respected citizens of Shawano county, popular in the extreme. In 1893 he was nominated against his wishes for the State Senate, and although defeated received a highly flattering support. In all his marvelous success, the result of indefatigable perseverance, assiduous industry, and sound judgment, Mr. Homme never forgets to give his amiable wife due credit for her share in the labor of love, which has by no means been a small one. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Frank A. Jaeckel
To his present office of county judge of Shawano comity, in which he has served the people for eight years, Mr. Jaeckel brought the spirit of disinterested service, long experience as an educator, and editor and a broad knowledge of men and affairs. The administration of the county's fiscal affairs has never been in better hands than in those of Judge Jaeckel. Frank A. Jaeckel has lived in Shawano county since his birth, though his duties have at different times taken him away from this county for several years at a time. He was born on a farm in the town of Belle Plaine, Shawano county, June 3, 1866, a son of Fred and Henrietta (Eckert) Jaeckel. His parents became residents of Shawano county in the early fifties, and were among the earliest pioneers of this section. Their birth place was in Germany, and on coming to America, they first located at Watertown, Wisconsin, but a few years later came to the wilderness of Shawano county, and cleared out a farm from the woods in the town of Belle Plaine. Both parents continued to make their home in Shawano county until about 1889, when they sold their farm and spent their last years at the home of their daughter in Waupaca county.
Judge Jaeckel was reared on a farm, and had the wholesome environment of the country during his youth. From the country schools he entered the academy at Wittenberg, and also studied in the Teachers' Seminary at Addison, Illinois. Graduating in 1888 he was for ten years a teacher in the Lutheran parochial schools of St. Louis, Missouri. Returning to Wittenberg in Shawano county, he took charge of the Orphans' Home for one year, at the end of which time the school was abolished. He then became superintendent of the Lutheran Children's Home at Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, and continued one year. In 1899 Judge Jaeckel moved to Shawano to take charge of the Volksbote, now the Volksbote-Wochenblatt, the most influential German newspaper in this section of Wisconsin. He was the owner and editor of the journal until his election as county judge in the spring of 1905. Since he took charge of the office the regular term of county judge has been extended to six years, and he was reelected for that length of time, and in the spring of 1913 was again elected, for the regular term of six years beginning January, 1914.
Judge Jaeckel was married July 10, 1892, to Miss Clara Taenzer of St. Louis, Missouri. Their four children are Walter, Hilda, Irma, and Norma. Judge Jaeckel is active in the Lutheran church and a trustee of the church at Shawano. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
H. Klosterman, one of the representative prosperous citizens of Shawano county, agriculturist, dealer in real estate, and capitalist, is a native of the Grand Duchy of Oldenburg, Germany, born April 20, 1832. He is the eldest in the family of three sons and three daughters born to Gerhard H. Klosterman, a tailor by trade in Oldenburg, where he passed all his days. Our subject received a somewhat limited common-school training in his native land, and was offered free education for the ministry, but declined. But what he may not have learned at school, where he was a quick and apt scholar, he made up for by home study and a close observation of men and things, and he also commenced earning money at a very early age, for at about the age of ten we find him herding cattle and sheep, receiving, it is true, very small wages. In his youth he displayed a penchant for carpentry, and, learning the trade, followed it till 1855, in which year, in company with his uncle, Edwin Wilke (his mother's brother), who kindly furnished him with the means, he came to the United States, the voyage being made on the sailing vessel "Nelson" from Bremen for New York, the voyage occupying seven weeks, three days. From the latter city the journey was made by rail to Buffalo, thence by lake to Sheboygan, Wis., where our subject secured work among the farmers, the first money he earned in the United States being at chopping cordwood, an "art" he was taught by a woman. Here he remained until early in the spring of 1857, when he moved to near Two Rivers, where his uncle lived, for whom he now worked, in order to repay him the price of his passage from Germany. Subsequently he worked for other farmers, and later in a sawmill and gristmill at or in the vicinity of Two Rivers, for three years, at the end of which time he went to Racine, Wis., and on the prairie near that city worked as a farm hand, in the fall of the same year going into the lumber woods.
In his somewhat varied experience Mr. Klosterman traveled considerably over the State of Wisconsin, and at one time while at Mayville, Dodge county, he bargained with Charles Rudebusch to drive some cattle from there to Shawano, at which latter place, then a mere hamlet of a few shanties, he in the fall of 1860 found work in the lumber woods. In the following spring he married, an event that will be spoken of further on, and he and his young wife commenced keeping house in a log building that stood near the present outskirts of the city; and even this humble home he did not own, for he bought on credit. He also bought a team of oxen and a couple of cows, and with these oxen he went jobbing; but an unfortunate accident happened to him which gave to his now rising prospects a cruel set-back. One day, in the spring of 1861, while he was engaged at plowing his lot with this same yoke of oxen, making ready to put in his crops, the tree-stumps obtruding themselves pretty thickly around, the plow accidentally caught on one of them, which caused the team to give a sudden jerk, whereby the plow handle struck Mr. Klosterman a violent blow close by the knee of the left leg. This produced a fever sore, later a stiff limb with a running sore which left him helpless for a whole year. He had just been married, and his small pile of savings was soon reduced to a minimum, rendering his condition, physically and financially, anything but encouraging. He was helpless as far as manual labor was concerned, and it became clear that his attention must be given to something else totally different to what he had been accustomed to; so he undertook whatever kind of work his enfeebled condition would permit him to do. In consequence of his already injured limb having in December, 1889, received a further hurt by being severely cut with an axe while he was chopping wood at his home, he suffered so severely that the leg had to be amputated September 6, 1890.
For a time Mr. Klosterman kept a small saloon and grocery in Shawano, after which he served as justice of the peace of the village three years, then as register of deeds four years, deputy clerk two years, and he was county judge of Shawano county sixteen years, the longest term held by any incumbent in that office. In February, 1894, he became a member of the firm of Andrews & Klosterman, who conduct a general store in Shawano.
On April 20, 1861, Mr. Klosterman was married in Shawano to Miss Ernstein Fink, a native of Mecklenburg-Schwerin, Germany, born December 21, 1843, and to this union have been born children as follows: Louise, born January 18, 1862, died September 17, 1862, and George H., born June 26, 1869, living at home with his parents. In his political preferences our subject has been a Republican ever since Lincoln's first term, though his first vote was cast at Two Rivers for James Buchanan. In addition to his other interests which keep him busy he is vice-president of the Shawano County Bank, and deals extensively in real estate, owning at the present time between 600 and 800 acres, chiefly timber land. He is in all respects a public-spirited citizen, of that stamen which is recognized as the bone and sinew of any new country and community. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
Anton Lieg & Son
Anton Lieg & Son is the name of one of the most prominent business firms of Shawano, and these gentleman demonstrate what can be accomplished through industry, diligence and perseverance. The senior member of the firm was born in Prussia June 22, 1835, and is a son of Kasler Lieg, a tailor by trade. The father died when Anton was only seven years of age, leaving the widow with two children - Anton and John. After obtaining an ordinary education, Anton Lieg at the age of fourteen began working as a slater, and when seventeen he came to the United States, going down the Rhine to Rotterdam, thence sailing across the North Sea to Hull, England, and from there journeying by rail to Liverpool, where he boarded a sailing vessel, which sixty days later reached New York harbor in safety. From there traveling westward, his funds were exhausted at Erie, Penn., in consequence of which he was forced to seek work there, and obtaining a position as a farm hand, remained there from August, 1852, until July, 1853, when he came by boat to Milwaukee. He had been employed on the construction of the Lake Shore & Michigan Southern railroad, but through a dishonest contractor lost his wages. In Milwaukee, he secured work in a brickyard, receiving from $25 to $30 per month, and in that locality he remained until 1856, when he went to Green Bay, Wis., where he again secured work in a brickyard.
On October 20, 1864, in Green Bay, Wis., Mr. Lieg married Miss Gertrude Bibelhausen, a native of Germany, born February 18, 1844. When a child she came to the United States with her father, John Bibelhausen, who engaged in farming in DePere township. Brown Co., Wis. For four years Mr. Lieg continued his connection with the brickyard, then worked as a gardener in the summer and chopped cord wood in the winter. He also clerked for two winters in a store there, purchasing a house on Main street near Rahr's brewery, and kept boarders. In 1871 he came to Shawano — traveling by stage - and here worked as a gardener, while his wife conducted a little store, beginning with a capital of only $60. In the fall of 1871 they returned to Green Bay, where for a short time Mr. Lieg was employed as overseer of a gang of men. In the spring of 1872 he again came to Shawano, and purchasing twenty-two acres of land began the manufacture of brick. He had disposed of his property in Green Bay, and now had a capital of $1,100; but the new business proved a failure, and left him with only $200. With this he began merchandising, at first renting his store room, but after thirteen days he purchased it. He first opened with a stock of groceries, and subsequently added dry goods, later developing a general store. At first the family lived in the store room which was 40 x 20 feet, as they did not wish to go beyond their means; but as time passed prosperity attended the new undertaking, and to-day the establishment is one of the best mercantile houses in Shawano, occupying as it does a brick building 82 x 20 feet.
The firm of Anton Lieg & Son have carried on a successful business, and fair and honorable dealing, courteous treatment and earnest desire to please their patrons have been the important factors in their success. Theirs is one of the most substantial firms in Shawano, and in connection with general merchandising, they are interested in the Shawano Water Power and River Improvement Co., the Shawano Shoe Factory, and the Shawano County Bank. The business history of this locality would be incomplete without the record of their lives, for they have greatly promoted commercial activity in this region, and while promoting individual prosperity have advanced the material welfare of the community. While living in Green Bay, the following children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Lieg: Catherine who died in infancy; John A., a member of the firm of Lieg & Son; John, who died at the age of five years; and Mary, who died at the age of ten. Since coming to Shawano the family circle has been increased by the birth of the following children: Catherine and Frank, who are employed in their father's store; Charles, who died in infancy; Peter and Joseph, at home. In politics, Mr. Anton Lieg has always been a Democrat, and served as alderman for five years, but has never been a politician in the sense of office seeking. In religious belief he is a Catholic, and helped to build the beautiful church in Shawano. He also belongs to St. Bonifacius Society of Green Bay. [Since the above was written Mr. Anton Lieg died at his home August 12, 1895.]
John A. Lieg, the wide-awake and enterprising young business man of the firm, was educated in the common schools of Shawano, and has been connected with the mercantile store here from the beginning. He has served as a member of the city council for two years. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
HERMAN NABER (Ind. Dem.), of Shawano, Shawano county, was born November 12, 1826, in the village of Pannum, Grand Duchy of Oldenburg, Germany; had a common school and special agricultural school education; is a merchant; came to Wisconsin in 1848, and settled in Dodge county, moving in 1858 to Shawano; was assemblyman in 1861 and 1875, and has held various local offices; was elected assemblyman for 1880, receiving 2,047 votes, against 1,911 for W. A. Ellis, Republican, and 29 for D. H. Pulcifer, Republican. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1880) transcribed by RuthAnne Wilke]
Herman Naber (Ind. Dem.), of Shawano, was born in the village of Sannum, Grand Duchy of Aldenburg, Germany, November 12, 1826; he received a common school and special agricultural education; is a farmer; came to Wisconsin in 1848 and settled first in Dodge county, removing in 1858 to Shawano; has been a member of the county board in both Dodge and Shawano counties many times; was mayor of Shawano in 1875 and ’76; was candidate for presidential elector on democratic ticket in 1876; was member of assembly in 1864, ’75 and 1880; was elected to the assembly for 1883 as an independent democrat, receiving 708 votes against 597 for O. A. Risum, republican, 567 for C. H. Grundy, democrat, and 37 for W. W. Hollister, prohibitionist. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1883), page 504; transcribed by Susan Geist]
Charles E. Otto
The present sheriff of Shawano county, Mr. Otto has been known to the citizens of that county since childhood, has been recognized as an industrious, independent man of action, and few have entered office in this county with so thorough a confidence on the part of their supporters. Mr. Otto was elected sheriff in the fall of 1912 taking office in January 6, 1913, succeeding Andrew F. Anderson. His election was on the Republican ticket. Mr. Otto has been a resident of Shawano county thirty-seven years, since childhood. He was born at Appleton, Wisconsin, August 3, 1871, a son of Carl F. and Libbie (LeBrun) Otto. His father was a native of Germany and the mother of France. Charles E. Otto was three years old when brought to America by his father, Carl Otto, who settled first in Milwaukee, and later in Appleton. When Charles E. Otto was two years of age, his parents moved to a homestead in the town of Herman, in Shawano county, and it was on that place that the son grew to manhood, attending district school, and by work on the farm getting a practical training for his practical career.
On leaving school he engaged in lumbering and farming, worked as a cruiser, and also did considerable logging on the Red River. In 1908 he moved to Whitcomb, in Shawano county, where he was manager of the Whitcomb Lumber Company's mill until elected sheriff. Mr. Otto provides a home for his father, and the mother died June 12, 1913. They were the parents of eleven children. Sheriff Otto was married May 11, 1907, to Annie Nussbaum, of Stevensville, Wisconsin. Their three children are Wilma, and Edwin and Earl, the last two being twins. [Wisconsin: Its Story and Biography, 1848-1913; vol. 5; by Ellis Baker Usher; Lewis Publishing Company, 1914]
Daniel H. Pulcifer
DANIEL H. PULCIFER, sergeant-at-arms of the assembly, of Shawano, was born in Vergennes, Addison county, Vermont, November 16, 1834; received no education except such as he acquired while working as an apprentice in a printing office (which he entered at the age of fourteen); came to Wisconsin in 1833, and located at Oasis, Waushara county, and after several removals settled in Shawano county, February, 1865; has held various local offices, and was assemblyman in 1867 and 1879. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1880) transcribed by RuthAnne Wilke
Daniel Haight Pulcifer
Daniel Haight Pulcifer, than whom there is no one better known throughout the entire State of Wisconsin, in both public and private life, is a man of whom the city and county of Shawano may well feel proud. He is a native of Vermont, born at Vergennes, Addison county, November 16, 1834, and comes of a sturdy race, for the most part farmers who live by honest toil in the valleys of the Green Mountains. His father, John Pulcifer, a ship carpenter by trade, and a native of New York State, married Mary Haight, who was of the same nativity, and they had a family of thirteen children, six of them being sons - of whom the following reached maturity: Daniel H., subject of sketch; Edwin D., a wealthy farmer of Plainview, Pierce Co., Neb., where he is prominent in local politics as a stanch Republican; and Jane E., Mrs. Charles Connely, of Syracuse, N. Y.; Mary E., Mrs. Dennis Darling, of near Syracuse, N. Y.; Martha E., Mrs. William H. Wright, of Syracuse, N. Y.; Bertha, Mrs. David Jones, of Shawano, Wis.; and Dora R., Mrs. Parmalee W. Ackerman, of Shawano, Wisconsin.
Owing to an unfortunate infirmity, the father of this large family was unable to wholly support them, and as a consequence much fell upon the shoulders of the eldest son, our subject, who for some years was the mainstay of the family, the entire support, in fact; but he was equal to the task, as the spirit of determination and resoluteness, which has so forcibly characterized his entire after life, was a dominant feature in his boyhood years. Thus it can be readily understood how it was that his education was so limited that at the age of twenty he could read with great difficulty, and write not at all, much of what he did know having been gained by practical experience in a country printing office which he entered as an apprentice at the age of fourteen years, at Whitehall, N. Y., and where he had to do all the chores that usually fall to the lot of a happy printer's "devil." In 1855, at the age of twenty-one years, he migrated to Wisconsin, locating at Oasis, Waushara county; but in February, 1865, he removed to Shawano, where his energy, honesty and genial temperament soon made him one of the popular citizens of that new section. In the meantime he had some more newspaper-office experience, where he had little difficulty in appreciating the necessity of improving what little education he had, and, with all the energy of a strong physical and mental constitution, he proceeded with a fixed determination, not only to learn but even to excel, if possible. In the spring of 1858 he made a bold dash into the arena of journalism by starting, at Pine River, Wis., the Pine River Argus, which soon afterward was merged into the WausharaCounty Argus, the plant being removed to Wautoma, where Mr. Pulcifer succeeded, by ingenuity and finessing, in securing the county printing, taking it out of the hands of another office, and this proved a source of considerable profit to him. Later he sold out the Argus, and became editor of the Plover Times, at Plover, Portage county; still later he became editor and proprietor of the Columbus Republican, at Columbus, Wis., so continuing until in 1863 he became connected with the Commonwealth, at Fond du Lac (daily and weekly), as local editor. Severing his connection with this journal in February, 1865, Mr. Pulcifer came, as already related, to Shawano (his family following him a few days later), to take charge of the Journal, a thriving newspaper of that city, with which he was connected some time. In 1889 he became a member of the present firm of Kuckuk & Pulcifer, general merchants, Shawano.
Our subject filled various offices, among them those of clerk of the court, sheriff and deputy U. S. marshal, and served three terms as mayor of the city of Shawano. In 1866 he was elected to represent the District of which Shawano county formed a part in the Assembly, and was again chosen in 1878, each time by an unusual majority. He was also sergeant-at-arms of the Assembly in 1880. As a legislator he was practical and influential. His firm convictions, clear perception, and affable, though brusque, manner, made him a universal favorite with members of both political parties. He compiled the Blue Book for 1879, and did it as well as it had ever been done before or has been since. In 1882 he was appointed, by Postmaster-general Howe, post office inspector, and he was regarded as one of the shrewdest and most valuable officials in that most difficult branch of the service. Reminiscences of his experience would make an interesting volume, and thousands of post offices were subject to his examination. Among those agencies of Uncle Sam he was noted for his patient kindness in giving instruction and counsel to the inexperienced, and in meting out justice fearlessly in cases of dishonesty or wilful negligence. Patience, shrewdness, industry and cool judgment are requisites of a successful inspector, and few officials possess these qualities in a greater degree than did Mr. Pulcifer. He was continuously retained in his position in spite of political changes, serving as inspector under Postmaster-general Howe, Gen. Gresham, Frank Hatton, William F. Vilas, Don E. Dickinson, John Wanamaker and W. S. Bissell, under all of which administrations he was never once censured for failing to do the work assigned to him. His duties in the capacity of post office inspector took him into thirty other States and Territories, and his labors in Arkansas, Missouri, Mississippi, North Carolina, Virginia and other Southern States gave him a rare opportunity to acquaint himself with the customs and habits of the people of those sections; and his after conversations about them and their ways were regarded by his friends as being "as entertaining as a lecture." As sheriff he was known for his utter fearlessness in the discharge of his duty. On several occassions he arrested parties who drew revolvers and knives on him, but Sheriff Pulcifer was always quick and strong enough to arrest his man without serious injury, although he was wounded on one occasion, necessitating a painful and dangerous surgical operation.
On July 6, 1856, Mr. Pulcifer was married at Oasis, Waushara Co., Wis., to Miss Anna E. Wright, a native of New York State, born May 26, 1840, whence when a girl she accompanied her parents, Orvil and Emily Wright, to Wisconsin, their first new western home being made at Kenosha. Mr. Wright was a well-to-do farmer, who drove his own team all the way from New York State to Wisconsin. To Mr. and Mrs. D. H. Pulcifer were born children as follows: Orvil W., who was a farmer in South Dakota, dying there at the age of twenty-seven years; John H., a prosperous merchant of Shawano, who married Laura E. McLaughlin, at White Lake, S. D., in 1885; Charles, deceased in infancy, and Mary E., now Mrs. Anton Kuckuk, of Shawano. In his political preferences Mr. Pulcifer has always been a stanch Republican since the organization of that party, and he was the first man, in the Republican State Convention of 1880, to vote for Gen. Grant (as a delegate from the First Senatorial District). During the Harrison Convention of 1892, held at Minneapolis, he was appointed messenger, duties of importance and secrecy connected with the Convention being entrusted to him. It is a notable fact that he was never beaten as a candidate for office, and that he always ran largely ahead of his ticket. Few men have done more effective work for their party; but in the performance of official duties he knew no party, no friend, no enemy - he simply did his duty, and always did it well. Socially Mr. Pulcifer is a Freemason, and was instrumental in establishing a Lodge of that Fraternity at Shawano. He has always been a total abstainer, and has taken a more or less active part in the temperance cause, for several years past having been a prominent member of the Temple of Honor in Wisconsin, in which Order he in 1883-84 was grand chief templar of the State.
Mr. Pulcifer owns one of the finest private collections of minerals, curios, etc., to be found in the State, many of which are of much value; and besides what he has in his own cabinet he has presented many interesting specimens to the Wisconsin State Historical Society and to Lawrence University, Appleton. His collection is the result of fifteen years research throughout the several States he has visited, and to give an idea as to its value it may be further mentioned that Mr. Pulcifer carries an insurance on it of $500.00. He has amassed considerable property, owns a pleasant home in Shawano, with large, fine, well-kept lawn, shaded with pines and oaks. The village of Pulcifer, in Green Valley township, Shawano county, was named in his honor. Such is a brief sketch of one of Wisconsin's typical self-made men and representative successful business citizens, one possessed of much natural ability, supported by a due allowance of courage, acumen and, perhaps best of all, sound judgment in all his acts, and to be relied upon as a friend under all circumstances. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
L. D. Roberts
Since 1888 Professor Roberts has been continuously county superintendent of schools in Shawano county, and is one of the oldest, and probably the oldest in point of actual service since with the ending of the present term he will have twenty-six years six months to his credit in this capacity. He has made education his life's work, and for nearly a half century has been closely identified with school management. By virtue of his own ability, and by his position, he is the leading man of his profession in Shawano, and also one of the prominent educators of Wisconsin. Having the spirit of service characterizing the modern teacher, and working constantly for progressive measures, he has won a worthy place in his life work and profession, and has many admiring friends among his old pupils, all of whom regard his character and service as useful parts of their own lives. Previous to his election as county superintendent in 1888, Professor Roberts had been a teacher in high schools, spending two years in Stoughton, and eight- in Shawano. He was the first principal of the Shawano high school, which was the pioneer school of this rank to be established in Shawano county. Mr. Roberts was born on a farm at Macomb, Illinois, May 15, 1844, a son of Ira Norman and Margarita (Dailey) Roberts. Reared on his father's farm, he attended district school, and later completed his preparation for teaching by regular and post-graduate courses in study at the old institution known as Albion Academy and Norman Institute, from which he received the degree of Ph. B., upon graduation. Early in his career he went to southeastern Kansas, where he took up land, but as the climate did not agree with him he returned to Wisconsin and soon afterward became principal of the Stoughton schools. Professor Roberts, outside of his promotions and distinctions as an educator, has for many years been noted for his ability in general mathematics. Out of his long experience he has invented a very ingenious calculating machine on which he now has two patents. This machine computes percentage with readiness and absolute accuracy for any number from one dollar to one hundred million, whether the rate be one or ten places. The device in its general form is a multiplying machine, but is especially designed for those who have charge of making out tax-rolls. Through its use it is possible to calculate in almost an instant the amount of taxes to be assessed on any piece of property running out to ten decimals.
Professor Roberts is a member of several educational associations among which are the following : The Wisconsin County Superintendents' Association, of which he has been twice elected president; the State Teachers' Association on the programs of which he has appeared from time to time, and he- has also been an active member for many years of the National Educational Association. His educational activities have not prevented his affiliation with local interests that tend for the uplift and general betterment of society. As member of the Board of Directors of Shawano Public Library and periodic president of the same, as a church trustee, as a member of the Masonic fraternity, he has received the recognition that public sentiment invariably accords intelligent and progressively inclined citizenship in civic affairs. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
A prominent old-established real estate man of Shawano, Edward Sommers has been identified with this city in a successful and public spirited manner for a long period of years, and is numbered among the citizens who have been instrumental in helping promote the upbuilding and progress of the community. He now gives all his time to his extensive business in abstracts, real estate, loans and insurance. He has also been prominent in the public service, having served from Shawano from 1906 to 1908 as Mayor and from 1878 to 1888 held the important office of registrar of deeds in the county. Mr. Sommers has been in the county since 1871, and he has been in the abstract business since 1879. Mr. Sommers was born in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, February 25, 1853, a son of Charles Sommers. Both parents are now deceased. Charles Sommers was an early settler in Sheboygan county locating there in the late forties, about the time Wisconsin became a state. He followed a long career as a farmer. On the home farm in Sheboygan county, Edward Sommers spent the years of his youth, and had a country school education. He engaged in the sawmill business as his first regular work, and was connected with his brother William in operating a mill ten miles east of Shawano in this county in the town of Hartland, conducting that enterprise from 1871 to 1874. In the latter year he moved to Shawano, and was proprietor of a hotel for some three or four years. His election to the office of registrar of deeds gave him a broad knowledge and experience in real estate titles, and he has been the best authority on abstracts and real estate ever since. Mr. Sommers was married in 1874 to Miss Annie Lueke, of Shawano county. Five children born to their marriage were Anna; Ida, wife of J. C. Madler, who has one son Edward James Madler; Lima; Oscar and Arthur, twins. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG"
Charles M. Upham
Since the pioneer days of Wisconsin the Upham family has furnished some of the most notable figures in public and commercial affairs of the state. To those familiar with political history perhaps the name which would first come to mind would be that of former Governor William H. Upham, soldier, manufacturer and banker at Marshfield, since 1878, and Governor of Wisconsin from 1895 to 1897. Of a second generation of the same family is Frederick William Upham, one of the foremost business men of Chicago, and a national political leader. Concerning these men and other representatives of the family appropriate mention is made on other pages of this work. For the present consideration is introduced the remarkable career of Charles M. Upham, who for fifty-five years has been engaged in business at Shawano, in Shawano county. Only now and then is it given to men of affairs to celebrate the semi-centennial of a business career which has been continuously centered about one line of general activity, and in one place. Vet. in 1908, Charles M. Upham, amid the congratulations of associates and the hundreds of his friends and admirers, entered upon the second half century of his career as a merchant, capitalist, banker, and leading man of affairs at Shawano. In 1858 Charles M. Upham established a small country store at Shawano, walking through the woods from New London and his goods went on a barge hauled by Indians. It was a modest establishment in an old frame building, and from that year to the present he has been continuously in the mercantile business at Shawano, now fifty-five years. His enterprise has grown with the increase of population and with the development of his own remark able ability, and for a number of years Mr. Upham has been president of the Upham-Russell Company, controlling half a dozen large stores and business concerns in Shawano. The company has extensive real estate interests in the city and adjacent counties, including several thousand acres of hardwood lumber and cut-over land in northern Wisconsin. Mr. Upham is president of the Upham Hardware Company of Shawano, of the Hub Clothing Company, and for twenty years was president of the First National Bank of Shawano, from its organization until he retired. Concerning the origin of the business in Shawano, and the progress of Mr. Upham 's business undertaking, a few sentences taken from a booklet issued at the time of the Semicentennial in 1908 afford the proper setting and historical retrospect: "It is a long look backward," to use the words of the article just mentioned, "from the Shawano county which a stranger sees for the first time today, with its fertile farms, modern farm houses and barns, its school houses, churches and creameries dotting the landscape in every direction to the wilderness of primeval forests absolutely unbroken except for the little settlement at Shawano, trodden only by the foot of wild animals and the moccasined feet of the red men of the forest, which was its appearance fifty years ago. And harder still is it to imagine in the beautiful city of Shawano with its electric lights, paved streets, beautiful homes and modern places of business, the little village of scarce a hundred souls, nestling on the banks of Wolf River, in 1858. "Into this wilderness in the summer of that year came a boy of twenty-one to start the pioneer store of Shawano county. It was an up-hill fight, for Shawano county boasted no railroads or wagon roads in those days, and he traveled the thirty-two miles from New London on foot, following the Indian trails through the forest. "His little stock of merchandise—a few groceries, a few provisions, and a few, very few, dry goods, six hundred dollars in all—came by water from New London on a barge poled by Indians. The receiving of merchandise in those days was not the simple matter which it is today. The nearest railroad was at Fond du Lac, one hundred miles away, and mail was carried on horseback from Menasha only once a week. Goods ordered from the distant city took weeks to arrive. But perseverance and pluck Avon, and from the modest beginning of a six hundred dollar stock made by Charles M. Upham in the little store sixteen by eighteen feet in 1858, has arisen the mercantile house of Upham & Russell Company, with its eighty thousand dollars worth of stock and annual sales close to a quarter of a million dollars. As the county and city have grown during the fifty years, so has the growth of the business founded by Charles M. Upham in 1858 kept pace with it.
Some other facts concerning the history and growth of the business should be added. Associated with the founder of the business at various times have been his brothers Nathan and Calvin Upham, and in 1870 the co-partnership of Upham & Russell was formed, at which time II. C. Russell and G. W. Gibbs entered the business. In 1881 the partnership was merged into a corporation, the Upham & Russell Company, with a capital stock of two hundred thousand dollars, in 1858 an old story and a half frame building with a covered porch in front furnished floor space for the enterprise with two hundred and eighty eight square feet. By 1908 the total floor space occupied by the general store, the meat market and the hay barn, the elevator and coal sheds, clothing store and hardware department amounted to over fifty thousand square feet. From the general store as founded and conducted for a number of years, several of the departments developed until it became necessary to establish them on an independent and individual basis. Thus the clothing department outgrew its space in the general store, and in 1889 a separate store was provided. The business continued to grow, and in 1904 the business was individually incorporated with a capital stock of ten thousand dollars. The same is true of the hardware department, which was first established in 1872 as a tin shop and a few stoves as the principal stock carried. Two years later its business had grown so that a separate building was provided and from a stock valued at a few hundred dollars, the business in 1908 carried all kinds of hardware and implements to the value of seventeen thousand dollars. The founder and still the business head of this undertaking was born in the state of Massachusetts, September 21, 1887, a son of Alvin and Sarah (Derby) Upham, both of whom were natives of Massachusetts. The younger son of the family was William H. Upham, the former governor of Wisconsin. Mr. C. M. Upham had a common school education in his native state, and in 1852 the family moved to Niles. Michigan. Here the father died, and the mother who had relatives at Racine, Wisconsin, took her family to that city. Her relatives were members of the Raymond family, among the earliest settlers of Racine, Wisconsin. It was in the vicinity of Racine that the mother spent her last years.
Charles M. Upham grew up to manhood in southern Wisconsin, and his first business experience was at Weyauwega in Waupaca county. where his brother Nathan had opened a store. A few years later they determined to extend their business to Shawano, and it was for the purpose of opening up the establishment that Charles M. Upham made the trip across country previously described.
In 1872 Mr. Upham married Julia Parsons, of Racine. Their two children are Robert A., and Sarah B. Mr. Upham has been affiliated with the Masonic order for a great many years, and though he keeps up his dues, seldom visits the lodge rooms any more. For a number of years he had extensive building holdings in Marshfield, the home of his brother, Governor Upham, but sold out his property there a few years ago and practically all his interests are concentrated in Shawano and vicinity. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Jacob H. Van Doren
Jacob H. Van Doren, an extensive manufacturer at Birnamwood, Shawano county, was born December 17, 1846, in Steuben county, N. Y., near Naples. Isaac O. Van Doren, father of our subject, was probably born in Holland, at any rate he was of Dutch descent; his father was married in New Jersey to Rebecca Smith, and they became the parents of six children: Abraham, Mary Ann, Isaac O., Jacob, William and Samuel. He was an early settler in New York, and came to Wisconsin in 1853, settling near Oshkosh, where he remained until his death in 1864; his wife passed away in 1862.
Isaac O. Van Doren, father of our subject, was married in Naples, N. Y., to Sarah Bush, who was born in that town in 1824, one in a family of eight children, viz.: Paulina, Sarah, Vinna, Jane, Myra, Rufus, John H. and Arthur. Both the parents died in New York. By this marriage Isaac O. Van Doren became the father of nine children, as follows: Adelaide, James, Jacob H., Alfrida, Ella, Wheeler, Frank, May and Charles. He was a farmer by occupation, and came to Wisconsin in 1854, settling on a farm in Winnebago county, near Oshkosh, also carrying on a hotel. The mother dying at this home in 1880, the father married again; he is now living in Brown Valley, Minnesota.
Jacob H. Van Doren, the subject of this sketch, attended the common schools in his native State, also after coming to Wisconsin, and assisted his father upon a farm until he was twenty-one years of age. He then went to Menasha and bought a livery stable, which he managed one year, when he sold out and embarked in the lumber business in Shawano county, remaining there one year. His next step was to buy a farm near Oshkosh which he operated two years, and then purchased a farm in Green Lake county. Here he lived for four years, when he again disposed of his property, and moving to Oshkosh engaged in the grocery business, which he carried on some eight years. In June, 1884, he sold out his store, and coming to Birnamwood bought a small mill. In July he sold a one-half interest in this to his present partner, B. B. Andrews, and they are now carrying on an extensive business, which has grown from an investment of $2,000 to the value of $50,000. Their plant consists of a sawmill, shingle-mill, stavemill, planing-mill and an excelsior factory, and they employ forty men the year round; they also conduct a general store in connection with their establishment. These various industries, which have done so much for the growth and prosperity of this section of the county, are managed with much ability, and by the latest and most approved methods, and testify to the foresight and good judgment of their owners. The town, which numbered only one hundred people when these factories were started, now has a population of four hundred, and is a growing and prosperous village.
Mr. Van Doren was married March 20, 1870, to Miss Anna Cook, who was born in Winnebago county November 20, 1850, daughter of Levi and Harriet (Shelton) Cook, natives of Vermont, who came to Wisconsin in an early day, where the father engaged in farming. He died in 1879, leaving a family of six children: Clara, Anna, Charles, Albert, Julia and Flora; the mother is still living. To our subject and estimable wife five children have been born: Guy, who superintends the store and is bookkeeper for the company; Flora, now Mrs. Thomas Cannon; Ray, attending Wisconsin State University at Madison; and Dee and Clyde, both still at home. Politically Mr. Van Doren is a Republican, and he has been a school director six years, having ever taken a deep interest in the cause of education. He is self-made, and ever ready to help those who are striving to make a way for themselves in the world. Though an energetic business man, he yet takes time to do much charitable work, and is liberal to the Church and all worthy objects. He is highly respected in the community of which he is a valuable citizen. Birnamwood was organized as a village in the spring of 1895, and Mr. VanDoren was chosen its first president. With his family he attends the Congregational Church. He was too young to go into the army during the Civil war, but one of his brothers, James K., when he was seventeen years old enlisted in the First Wisconsin Cavalry, and served throughout the war, in all five years. He had some exciting experiences, and was made prisoner three times. [Source: "Commemorative Biographical Record of the Upper Wisconsin counties of Waupaca, Portage, Wood, Marathon, Lincoln, Oneida, Vilas, Langlade and Shawno" 1895, transcribed by Mary Saggio]
D. E. Wescott
Prominent as a banker, business man and public official of Shawano county, Mr. Wescott represents one of the first of the pioneer name in the history of this locality. His father w^as one of those brave and self-reliant home-makers, who pushed through the wilderness and advanced the frontier of civilization during the early days. His father was a very prominent man in public affairs for many years, and the son has been a worthy successor, having a long record of service in important official capacities, and being closely identified with the business life of his home community. Though born in Oshkosh, Wisconsin, December 11, 1850, D. E. Wescott may properly claim Shawano county as his life-long home, since the family had been living in this county for a number of years before his birth, and only the temporary absence of his mother in Oshkosh prevented him from being a native son of the county. His parents were Charles D. and Jane (Diesbach) Wescott. Charles D. Wescott came to Wisconsin territory about 1811. He was born in St. Lawrence county, New York, while his wife was a native of Livingston county in the same state. During his early residence in Wisconsin, Charles D. Wescott belonged to the lower ranks of the industrial army, and worked as, a laborer in different parts of the state. In 1843 he first came to Shawano county, and assisted in the construction of a dam across the outlet of Shawano Lake. In 1848 he was married, and brought his bride to Shawano county. She was the first permanent white woman settler in Shawano county. A short time before the birth of her son she left the frontier settlement and went to Oshkosh in order to get medical attendance, and it was for these pioneer reasons that D. E. Wescott was born and spent the first nine or ten months of his life at Oshkosh. The father had some land in Winnebago county, and traded it for a tract in Shawano county, and it was on this land, located about a half mile north of the city limits of Shawano that D. E. Wescott grew to manhood. Charles D. Wescott was for many years chairman of the board of supervisors of Shawano county. By occupation he was a farmer and logger throughout his active career, and was considered one of the most expert loggers and river drivers in this section. His death occurred in Shawano county on his old farm at the age of eighty-five years and was preceded by his wife's some five or six years. She was seventy-seven years of age at the time of her death.
Mr. D. E. Wescott was reared on the home farm, had a country school education, and later taught school about three terms. He early took a prominent part in public affairs, and on leaving the school room was elected and served four years as registrar of deeds. Four years after that he held the office of county clerk, and for a similar period was county treasurer. For one term he was elected and served in the state senate from 1893 to 1897. Mr. Wescott has also been mayor of Shawano for two terms. He is now administering the office of city clerk, a place which he has held since 1900. In connection with his official duties he conducts a fire insurance agency. He was for a number of years a, director in the old Shawano County Bank, and when that bank was reorganized in 1900 as the First National Bank of Shawano, he was elected vice president, a position which he still holds. Mr. Wescott has for more than forty years been an active member of the Masonic Order, and for a long time served as master of his local lodge.
In 1874 D. E. Wescott and Harriet E. Coon were united in marriage. She was born at Friendship, New York, and had come to Wisconsin to visit her relatives, the McCords. It was during this visit that she met Mr. Wescott, and the latter some time later followed her to Friendship, New York, where they were married in the same house in which she had been born. A brother of Mrs. Wescott, Charles E. Coons, was at one time assistant secretary of the treasury, afterwards moved out to the state of Washington, where he was lieutenant governor. Mr. and Mrs. Wescott have a family of three living children. Warde A. is a prominent attorney at Crandon, Wisconsin; Bernard, died at Blaine, Washington, in 1900. He was born in 1877, entered the revenue department of the government service, and was connected with that work at the time of his death. The next child, a daughter, died at the age of four months. Harriet died also in infancy, Percy E., who saw three years of military service while in the west, is now a resident of Hammond, Oregon. He was married in Oregon, brought his wife home to Shawano, where he spent a year, and then returned to Oregon to live. Ralph Rogers, is a graduate of the Shawano high school in the class of 1913 and is now a student at Lawrence College of Appleton, Wis. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
Otto O. Wiegand
During thirty years of residence in Shawano county, Mr. Wiegand has had a very busy career, has been identified with various useful activities in the city, and in recent years his time and services have been required in the public interests. He was a member of the Legislature, session of 1891 and 1892. He is now the efficient county clerk of Shawano county, in his second term, having been elected on the Republican ticket, and taking office in January, 1911. He was reelected in November, 1912. Prior to that he acted as deputy county clerk nine months during 1910, and before that served as supervisor of assessments of Shawano county. He was first appointed to that office by the tax commission in August, 1905, and was formally elected by the county board of supervisors in 1907. Mr. Wiegand has had his home in the city of Shawano since 1888, and in the county since 1884.
His native place was Manitowoc, Wisconsin, where he was born on a farm July 9, 1860, a son of Carl and Fredericka (Hamann) Wiegand, both natives of Germany. The father, a substantial farmer who died in 1871, came to America during the decades of the forties and located in Wisconsin in 1848, the year in which the territory became a state. His home was in Manitowoc county. The mother preceded her husband to Manitowoc county by a few months. She had married in Germany Mr. Mortz Mavis, who died soon after they settled in Wisconsin, and she then married Mr. Wiegand. Her death occurred in 1895. Otto O. Wiegand spent his boyhood on the home farm in Manitowoc county, getting his education in the country schools, and also attending the Oshkosh Normal. His educational equipment fitted him for work as a teacher, and he was thus engaged for three years in Manitowoc county and one year in Shawano county. During his residence in Manitowoc county, he acquired an interest in a cheese factory and in 1884 moved to Shawano county to establish a cheese factory in the town of Washington. That venture did not prove a success, and was abandoned after two seasons. For two seasons following Mr. Wiegand conducted a sawmill and taught school one winter. Moving into the city of Shawano he bought an interest in the Shawano County Advocate, one of the well known local newspapers, and was identified with its management and editorial control for ten years. Selling out he went into the telephone business, establishing an independent line in Shawano county. He was manager of the Independent Company for two years, at the end of which time he sold out and resumed the management of the Advocate for Mr. M. J. Wallrich. A year later he went into the canning business, and was connected with that work three years until his appointment as supervisor of assessments diverted him from private business to public affairs. Mr. Wiegand has been twice married. In 1886 he married Miss Anna Schultz of the town of Two Rivers in Manitowoc county. She died in 1896 leaving two children, Edna and Oscar. In 1905 Mr. Wiegand was united in marriage with Alberta Rueckert, of the town of Washington, Shawano county. Their four children are : Ashley, Grace, Alberta and Pearl. Fraternally Mr. Wiegand is affiliated with the Knights of Pythias. [Source: "Wisconsin Its Story And Biography 1848-1913" By Ellis Baker Usher, Vols. 5 & 6", 1914 - Transcribed and Submitted to Genealogy Trails by FoFG]
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails