of an old colonial family, was born in the town of Richmond, Rhode Island, June 9, 1782; married Dorcas PERRY (who died in April 1843); served as sheriff of Washington county and as a member of the Legislature; came from Providence early in 1838 to township 3, range 15, and was one of a group of Rhode Islanders who named the town Richmond; married June 22, 1847, Mrs. Sarah STOWELL (who died July 30, 1867); moved to Delavan in 1854; died June 17, 1858. Children of Dorcas: Fanny (Mrs. Gardner KENYON); Nancy (Mrs. Joseph BARBER); Hannah (Mrs. Robert SHERMAN); Susan (Mrs.Asa CONGDON); Thomas P.; George E. (married first, Elizabeth ODELL, second Ellen DELANEY); Dorcas (Mrs. Jonathan CHURCH: Mary (Mrs. Elijah BELDING); Robert H. (married Mary R. PAUL; Sarah T. (Mrs. David IRISH); Elizabeth (1830-1891), wife of Earl M. IRISH (1829-1891). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
THOMAS PERRY JAMES, son of Thomas and Dorcas,was born June 15, 1816; came with parents to Richmond in 1838; married Elizabeth, daughter of Daniel McCLARY, November 25, 1852; died in October, 1896. He was one of the "solid men" of his town, was one of the organizers of the Citizens Bank of Delavan, and in general terms was a worthy representative of an old and honorable American family. Mrs. JAMES died January 9, 1903, leaving her six children: Dorcas Perry (second wife of Rev. Charles Albert HOBBS); Thomas; Daniel M.; Susan (Mrs. Charles H. BARKER); Eliza S. (a teacher); Fanny Louisa (Mrs. Rev. Ralph Waller HOBBS). Charles A. and Ralph W. HOBBS are respectively father and son. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JOHN JEFFERS was born in Lisburn parish, county Antrim, Ulster, in 1822; came in infancy to Oneida county, New York; married Flora Ann ARMSTRONG; came in 1852 to Sharon, where he proved himself a useful addition to the muscle and the mind of the town. He was a zealous member of the Agricultural Society, ready and able to talk, write and work in its interest. In 1864 he was member of Assembly, elected as an independent candidate against Alanson H. BARNES. In 1871 he served for another session, having beaten A. W. COLE. In 1872 he supported the Greeley ticket, and soon afterward became an out-and-out Democrat. He died February 22, 1890. He was a member of the Methodist church at Darien, a cheerful Christian, tolerant of many differences of belief, and kindly disposed toward all mankind. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
(1783-1833) was son of Amasa andAzubah. He married Elizabeth (born 1789), daughter of Stephen KINNE (or KENNEY), who was son of Gideon KINNE and Thankful HEWITT. Truman died in Cortland county, probably, for his widow came with part of her eleven children from that county to Darien in 1838, and she was living in 1860. These sons and daughters, as her known, were: 1. Loren Kenney (1812-1861), married Laura H. (1814-1883), daughter of Homer and Rachel GREENMAN. 2. Lyman (1813-1889), married Mary BEAN. 3. Parley W. 4. Rowena (1815 ---), wife of Newton McGRAW. 5. Mary M. (1816-1873), wife of Israel STOWELL. 6. Sanford (1820-1864) (wifeLevina), soldier of Company F, Thirty-fifth Infantry, and captain of Company A, Thirty-seventh Infantry; died in service. 7.Arimathea (1827-1872), wife of Joseph F. LYON. 8. Horatio. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
was son of Chauncey KEEP (1784-1853) and Prudence (1789-1863), daughter of Parmenio WOLCOTT and wife Mary. The older KEEP ancestors were John1, Samuel2, John3, Capt. Caleb4, and were of Connecticut. Prudence was a descendant of Roger WOLCOTT. Mr. KEEP was born at Homer, New York, April 30, 1826; came from Fredonia with Henry (1820-1897), his brother, to Whitewater in 1847 and formed a partnership in retail business withPhilander PEEK. In 1851 PEEK & KEEP went into the wholesale trade in dry goods at Chicago. About 1856 Mr. KEEP turned his attention to city real estate. Among his affairs was to secure the right of way through the city for the Chicago and Northwestern Railway Co., of which he became a director in 1865 and its president in 1883. His administration was vigorous and up-building. He died at Chicago about 1908. His cousin, John Martin KEEP (1813-1861), of Beloit, was judge of the first circuit 1856-8, and was accounted one of the ablest men on the bench of the state.
ALPHONSO G. KELLAM
son of Harvey and Julia (DAVIS), was born at Scottsville, near Rochester, New York, December 7, 1840; came to Elkhorn about 1857 and studied law in the office of WINSOR & SMITH. He was an unusually bright student and readily digested whatever he learned. He was admitted to the bar in 1859 and practiced at Delavan until 1862, when he recruited Company D, Twenty-second Infantry, and became its captain; in 1864; he was commissioned as major; was mustered out of service in June, 1865, after an active and most creditable service of nearly three years. He married at Smithville, New York, October 23, 1865, and returned to law practice at Delavan with Alfred S. SPOONER as partner. In the earlier seventies he went to Chamberlain, Dakota, and became the first chief-justice of the state of South Dakota. Several years later he resigned and went to Spokane, where he died June 15, 1909, leaving his wife and a son, Fred W. KELLAM, a lawyer of that city. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
W. G. KILDOW
W. G. Kildow, Master Craftsman, Carries His 87 Years With Ease
Vigorous at 87, Willis Gerard Kildow, one of the few remaining artisans, works day in and day out in his upholstery shop on Whiton street. Cryptic remarks roll from his tongue with an ease equal to the zip of his needle as it digs in and out of a choice piece of goods selected to cover the raw insides of an antique chair. Answers like, "In a post office" to the routine question about his birth kind of bring you up short before you probe for details. This master craftsman, whose work has brought beauty and charm to many Whitewater homes, scorns spectacles almost as readily as slipshod effort. He relies on his large, correctly placed windows for proper light to accomplish his tasks and when that source wanes at day's end he grumps gently at its failure while staunchly defending his much used eyes. Yup, old Sol may fade some but not W.G.! To go back to that "special delivery package" dated 1860. The local mail was dispensed in the Kildow home so he couldn't help being born where he was. Pedee, in Green county, Wisconsin was his birthplace and that of his eight older brothers and one sister.
The youngest son, restless and handy with his fingers was picked to follow the father in the practice of law. He found law stuffy--but not upholstering. And anyway hog cholera changed his life. His Dad lost $2000 in pigs and Willis lost $300, and that ended his designs on the four year course at the State University. Restless feet took him west to Iowa where he taught school at the age of 16 and remained a pedagogue off and on for 12 years. "But I took to this work naturally," then added, "Mother always said I was the only one in 10 who could fill his tick with straw and have no lumps." A man named Harback in Marshalltown taught him the trade. He worked for nothing for the privilege of acquiring this expert's way of tufting or "turkish work." He moved to his present home and shop in 1901 after soaking up priceless experience at the hands of the fine furniture makers Iowa. It was in 1904 that he became a mail carrier, a job he did steadily until 1929. If I hadn't worked at my trade I'd have starved to death," he said, to deal briefly with a 25 year task. There are few secrets to his trade, but several cardinal rules applied to every job which comes into the shop. Double tie every spring--solid webbing underneath--make it so good the piece of furniture never comes back for anything but a new cover to meet changing modes. When asked if he had a yardstick to go by, he said, "It has to suit me. And then it suits the customer." So whether the chair comes from Whitewater, Brooklyn or Los Angeles, it is upholstered to last a lifetime.
Not the least among this man's accomplishments is his memory. He can't tell you what he ate for dinner Tuesday but just ask him to sing a Civil War song--or recite a piece he delivered on an elocution program in 1880!
"Did you ever hear the last stanza of the national anthem?" he queried.
"It was struck out when we became more English than American," he added.
Then in a clear tenor strictly on key he sang his favorite stanza of his favorite anthem: "And where is that band Who so vauntingly swore 'Midst the havoc of war And dread battle's confusion A home and a country They would leave us no more? Their blood was washed out Their foul footstep's pollution. No refuge can save The hireling and slave From the the terror of flight And the gloom of the grave. And the Star Spangeld (sic) Banner In triumph shall wave O'er the land of the free And the home of the brave." [Source: The Whitewater Register (Whitewater, Wisconsin) June 12, 1947; transcribed by Rob Keister, great grandson]
At the outset of his career Henry KIMBALL, farmer and stock raiser of Bloomfield township, Walworth county, realized that the foundation of all achievement is earnest, persistent labor, so he did not seek any royal road to the goal of prosperity and independence, but began to work earnestly and diligently to advance himself, and the result has been most satisfactory, and while still young in years he has become owner of an excellent farm and a comfortable home and takes his place in the ranks of those men who, while bettering their own condition, lend a helping hand to public improvements as well and is therefore entitled to the esteem of their fellow men. This Mr. KIMBALL can certainly claim. The subject was born on the farm where he now resides in the northern part of Bloomfield township, Walworth county, June 26, 1878. He is the son of Caspar J. and Christina KIMBALL, and is a brother of Lewis A. KIMBALL, a sketch of whom appears elsewhere in this work, and in which will be found the KIMBALL ancestry. However, suffice it to say here that his father was born in Saxony, Germany, and his mother in Grolsheim, Germany, near the city of Worms, and they spent their childhood days in the fatherland, and when young emigrated to America and married in this country. The father came with the pioneers to Walworth county in the fifties and here became well established through thrift and industry. Henry KIMBALL grew to manhood on the home farm and when young he worked out by the month three or four years. He was married in 1902 to Freda PFAFF, daughter of Carl Louis PFAFF and Bertha (KUEMPEL) PFAFF. She was born in Wernshausen, Saxe-Meiningen, Germany. She came to America in 1882 with her parents and the rest of the family. They located at Mauston, Juneau county, Wisconsin, and lived there until her marriage. Mr. PFAFF is a successful farmer, still living in Juneau county. Four children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Henry KIMBALL, three of whom are living at this writing, namely: Marian died when about nine months old; Thedora, Helen and Louis are at home. After his marriage Mr. KIMBALL took up farming for himself on the old homestead and has lived here ever since. He owns one hundred and twenty acres of excellent land, which he has placed under good improvements and cultivation, his labors being annually repaid by bounteous harvests, due to his skillful management and his close attention to his work. For a time he carried on butter making, but found it detrimental to his health and abandoned the same. Mr. KIMBALL is a worthy member of the Methodist Episcopal church. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
AUGUSTUS CAESAR KINNE
was son of Elias KINNE and daughter of Jesse (son of Abraham) RUNDELL. His father, who died at Sugar Creek, June 29, 1854, was son of Nathaniel, son of Stephen, son of John, son of John, son of William, of New London. Augustus C. was born at Norwich, New York, December 3, 1808; came in 1838 to Troy and later to Sugar Creek, for which town he was a member of the county board in 1843. In 1854 he married Cecilia, daughter of James Oliver ROSENCRANS (Dr. Simeon4, Col. John3, Alexander2, Harman Hendrick1). He was a teacher and a farmer. He was a member of the second constitutional convention; and in 1848, 1857, 1861 he was defeated Democratic candidate for assemblyman against Enos J. HAZARD, Butler G. NOBLE, and Sylvester HANSON. He died January 23, 1863. His wife was born at Walpack,New Jersey, May 12, 1832, and died at Irwin, Virginia, May 18, 1892. His children: Mary (Mrs. Walter E.LAUDERDALE), Dr. Edward, of Elkhorn; Herbert, a lawyer of Milwaukee. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JESSE RUNDELL KINNE, son of Elias and Lydia (RUNDELL), was born at Norwich, November 26, 1803; married January 14, 1829, Sarah, daughter of Isaac U. WHEELER and Lavina DUNCAN; came in 1843 to Sugar Creek, where he owned more than three hundred and fifty acres of land, and knew how to thrive by good farming; died March 24, 1886. Mrs. KINNE was born January 1809; died November 1, 1873. Children: Charles (married Jane, daughter of Daniel BIGELOW); Lavina (Mrs. Ezra Resolved DAY); George (married Mary E., daughter of James W. FIELD). Mr. KINNE was one of the ancient county Democracy - often seen in conventions, but never in official places, excepting when his Republican neighbors did not like all of their ticket for town office. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
WILLIAM ALLEN KNILANS, son of Daniel and Sarah ALLEN, was born in northern Ireland, November 22, 1833; came with parents and brothers to Richmond in 1849; in 1861 enlisted in company I, Thirteenth Infantry, and was successively first sergeant, second and first lieutenant and was transferred to company G as its captain; mustered out late in 1865 at San Antonio, Texas. He served at Huntsville, Alabama, as provost-marshal and was in all ways a capable and trustworthy soldier. He married February 20, 1867. Eleanor Frances, daughter of Samuel STEWART and Margaret MITCHELL, became a farm owner and prospered steadily. In his turn he was president of the Agricultural Society, of which he was a working member. He was seven terms a member of the county board for Richmond. His clerical and business qualifications were good, and he was often appointed executor of wills or administrator of valuable estates. Like Messrs. Bell, Coon, Curtiss, Kinne, Latham, Oatman, Page, Stebbins, Treat, Willis, and others, he reckoned it honorable to be often a defeated candidate on Democratic legislative and county tickets. He was for several years a member of the county soldiers' relief committee. About 1883 he moved to Whitewater. In 1893 he went to Sligo to administer an estate of something like twenty thousand pounds value, having been named in an aunt's will as her executor. In the second Cleveland administration he had much influence with Senators Vilas and Mitchell in the distribution of postmasterships within the county. He moved to a farm near Beloit in 1894, where he died June 25, 1909. His children were William Arthur, Alice Elizabeth, Daniel Amos. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
PHIPPS WALDO LAKE
was born at Hoosick, New York, April 30, 1789; was a soldier of the war of 1812; married Rebecca, daughter of John BEARDSLEY; came about 1839 to Big Foot Prairie, where he bought about six hundred acres of land. He was a member of the Assembly of 1854, having been preferred by his district to Capt. Albert T. WHEELER. He died August 17, 1860. Mrs. LAKE was born at Richfield, New York, May 5, 1892; died May 22, 1884. Mr. LAKE turned in early life to the service of religion and was ordained as a Baptist clergyman. He was one of the earliest in the work of religious organization in the southern half of the county. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
IRA PRATT LARNARD, son of Elisha LARNARD and Nancy WILSON, had ancestors William1, Isaac2, Benoni3, Thomas4, Jonathan5, Fanning6, Moses7, who married Sarah PRATT. Ira was born at Waverly, New York, January 20, 1821; came to Delavan in 1841; two or three years later he bought a wagon-shop in which he worked about eight years. In 1845 he became head of the dry-goods firm of LARNARD, BAILEY & Company, with Enoch H. M. BAILEY as working partner. In 1859 he went to Pike's Peak and returned. From 1869 his business was that of insurance agent, and from 1870 to 1890 inclusive, he was town clerk of Delavan and was treasurer of the Baptist society. He married September 6, 1868, Hannah Alida, daughter of Dr.Benoni BRADWAY and Althea VANDERVEER. She is yet living with one of her four daughters. Mr.LARNARD died May 2, 1912. He was of sound mind and clear memory to the end of his life, which was useful, well ordered, exemplary. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
(James5, 4, 3, Chilton2, Robert1) was fifth of fifteen children of James LATHAM and Mary, daughter of Amos ROBINSON and Bethany JONES. He was born March 12, 1812, at Northfield, Vermont; learned enough at home and at district school to make him a plain, good American; came in 1836 to Milwaukee and early in 1837 to Spring Prairie; joined Mr.ROCKWELL's party on its way to Elkhorn and chose his home in theG enevan quarter, section 6. In April, 1838, he married Mrs.Lemira LEWIS, daughter of Capt. Daniel Edwin BRADLEY and Elizabeth STURGIS. He served the town for many years as justice of the peace, the county as clerk of the board of commissioners and as a superintendent of the poor, the state as trustee of the school for the deaf, the town and county Democracy as its candidate for many defeats, the Republican party when it did not care to send Richard B. FLACK to the Assemblyof 1862, the agricultural society for several years as its secretary and several more as its treasurer. In the second constitutional convention he had been a member of the committee on "executive, legislative, and administrative provisions." Like his old friend Mr. HOLLINSHEAD, he had the unhesitating confidence of his fellow men, though there were many observable differences between these two "grand old men." Mrs. LATHAM was born June 21, 1806, and died July 25, 1885. She left two sons, not now living: LeGrand, first-born of Elkhorn children, and Edward Marshall; also a daughter of her first marriage; Elizabeth Ann LEWIS, wife of Phineas C. GILBERT. Mr. LATHAM died February 22, 1886. His brother Loren (1823-1897) lived forty-five years in Geneva and at Elkhorn. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
EBENEZER LATIMER, son of Alexander LATIMER (died 1867) and Nellie SMITH, was born in Ulster county, New York, October 25, 1818. He was bred a carpenter, and in the city of New York was for some years a building contractor. He came in 1847 to Darien, where he bought a large farm. He married February 21, 1849, Elizabeth, daughter of Rial N. WEED and Ruth AUSTIN. She was born in 1825 and died August 2, 1895. Their children were Fred E. and Mary L. (Mrs. Alonzo C. GOODRICH). Mr. LATIMER came to Delavan in 1854, built an elevator, and with his brother and Otho BELL was for some years in grain trade. In 1873 he became president of the First National Bank of Delavan, and at its dissolution he opened the private bank of E. LATIMER & Co., of which he was at the head until 1908. He died March 24, 1910. He was a cool-headed, capable, conservative business man; and on at least two occasions acted most serviceably as the city's agent in adjustment of its business with the holders of its corporate bonds. He was a Jackson-Douglas-Tilden-Cleveland Democrat, and a member of the Methodist church. His sister, Maria Catharine, was wife of Cyrenas N. HOLLISTER. His brother, James Freer LATIMER, was born in 1833 and died October 29, 1904, and was his partner in earlier enterprises. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JAMES LAUDERDALE, son of Edward and wife Janet ELLIOTT, was born at Cambridge, Washington county, New York, August 29, 1813; married in Livingston county, May 11, 1841, Margaret, daughter of James P. STEWART and Janet McNAUGHTON; came to Lagrange in 1842; served on county board; was assemblyman in 1853, chosen over George G. WILLIAMS, and again in 1856, chosen over Datus ENSIGN; died March 13, 1888. Mrs. LAUDERDALE died October 1, 1909; their children were James Edward, John Henry, Amanda (Mrs. D. Judson WILLIAMS), Mary Eliza (Mrs. Chester B. WILLIAMS), and Walter Elliot. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
Another of the sterling sons of bonnie Scotland who left his native brakes and braes forour land of greater opportunity, and, after making various investigations, decided that Walworth county, Wisconsin, appealed to him in a way that no other section did, is Charles Lawrie, of Lake Geneva, a man who, owing to his habits of industry, frugality, fortitude and unbending integrity, would have succeeded in any portion of the great western republic. He was never sought to be a leader in the affairs of this locality, merely striving to live up to the standard of good citizenship and make a comfortable living, and while revering the scenes of his native land, as is quite natural and right, he has nevertheless been most loyal to our flag and institutions, and we are glad to number him among our representative citizens. Mr. Lawrie was born in Edinburgh, Scotland, November 26, 1855. He is the son of Adam and Marian (Tate) Lawrie, and he grew to manhood near that city and there received his education, and there learned the carpenter's trade, which he followed for about ten years. When about twenty-five years of age he came to America, and after spending nearly three months in northern Michigan, he came to Chicago, then lived for a time at Elgin, Illinois, but soon returned to Chicago. While there he was engaged to work in building one of the large summer residences at Lake Geneva, Wisconsin, and he came here in the fall of 1881, and, being favorably impressed with the future as well as the beauty of the place, has since resided here, continuing carpentering, and for the past ten years has been contracting on his own account. He has erected or assisted in the erection of many of the substantial and attractive residences, business houses and public buildings in this locality, which will long stand as monuments to his skill as a builder. Mr. Lawrie was married in Novemberm, 1882, to Annie Robinson Viphan, daughter of George Viphan and wife. She was born in Lincolnshire, England, and there spent her girlhood, emigrating to the United States when eighteen years of age, with her parents, who located in Walworth county, Wisconsin. To Mr. and Mrs. Lawrie five children have been born, namely: Charles Douglass, who died when twenty-two years of age; Edna is the wife of Leo Chase, of Lake Geneva, and they have two children, Marian and Ethel; Marian, third child of the subject and wife, married Grover Kull, a sketch of whom appears in this volume; Arthur is attending college at Beloit; Ethel, the youngest child, died when thirteen years of age. The mother of the above named children was called to her rest in April, 1898. In May, 1908, Mr. Lawrie was united in marriage with Sarah lloyd, who was born in Yorkshire, England, and came to Chicago when a child and there grew to womanhood. Mr. Lawrie is not a part man in politics, but he was at one time elected on an independent ticket for city treasruer of Lake Geneva, the position coming unsought, and he filled it most creditably. He is a member of the Independent Order of odd Fellows and the Modern Woodmen, and he and his wife belong to the Methodist Episcopal church. [page 784-785, "History of Walworth County Wisconsin", Volume II, by Albert Clayton Beckwith, 1912 - Submitted by Diana Morse]
MRS. MARY ELIZABETH LEE, daughter of Ebenezer Chesebro and Anna GRISWOLD, was born in Albany county, New York, July 22, 1815; in 1837 she was married to Nelson (son of Elon) LEE. He was born at Guilford, Connecticut, March 1, 1814; his parents went to Monroe county, New York, two years later. In 1847 Mr. and Mrs. LEE came to Darien; in 1848 to Sugar Creek; in 1868 to a farm near Delavan. Mrs. LEE died at Sugar Creek, October 13, 1890. Mr. LEE died at Webster City, Iowa, April 9, 1898. It is told, with much color of truth, that she was hardly second to her father in his efforts to secure a state school for deaf children. Her son, Elon Nelson LEE (afterward county superintendent of schools), was a soldier of Company A. Tenth Wisconsin Infantry. He was sick at Elizabethtown, Kentucky, when she went there in February 1862. Her ministration was not restricted to him. She came home and pushed the work of the sanitary aid societies, and then went to find further service at the Louisville hospital. After the battle of Chaplin Hills she went to the hospitals at Danville. The next year she returned with credentials, letters, or other helpful papers, from Gov. Solomon, Lieutenant-Governor Spooner, and the Chicago Sanitary Aid Society, and became well known to thousands of soldiers at Louisville, Nashville, and Murfreesboro. Her son wrote of his parents: "I have said that if I were as truthful and honest as my father, and had the courage, grit and leadership of my mother, I would feel satisfied." Yet their son has never been reckoned here as a degenerate, but, on the whole, quite worthy of such parentage. Known ancestors ofElon N. LEE were Nelson4, Elon3, Eber2, Elon1, of Guilford. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
CHESTER DEMING LONG, son of Hugh and Parnell, was born in Pembroke, New York, February 15, 1819. He came with his father to Darien in 1839 and married November 1, 1843, Laura Ann (1826-1893), daughter of Zebulon T. LEE and Sabra, daughter of Orange CARTER. In 1851-2 he served a term as register of deeds, and his records show that he was a competent and neat-handed officer. In 1860 he was elected member of Assembly for one session, over Charles A. HUTCHINS and David COON, Jr. He died June 15, 1884. Mrs. LONG died January 31, 1893. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ISAAC LYON, son of Thomas LYON and Benjamina VALENTINE, had older ancestors, Thomas1,2, Jonathan3, Capt. David4. His father and grandfathers were soldiers of the Revolution. He was born at Nine Partners, Dutchess county, April 4, 1795; served in the war of 1812; married at Chatham, New York, April 2, 1814; Eunice, daughter of Capt. Uriel COFFIN. She was born April 2, 1800; died October 3, 1848. Isaac, with brothers David, Thomas and William Fletcher and their father, came in 1837 to Hudson (Lyons) and were among the founders of the village at the mill. He died December 15, 1884, and was buried at Delavan, whither his father's and his wife's relics were removed from Lyons. His son, William Penn, ex-chief-justice of the state supreme court, is living near Sacramento. His daughter, Maria C., was wife of Amos PHELPS, of Delavan, son of Jeremiah and Margaret. Volume VI, Wisconsin Historical Collections (1872), mentioned him as the depositor in the Historical Society's cabinet of his large and interesting collection of curiosities, the labor of years, and as "our venerable friend and benefactor"; and in Volume X it is noted (for 1884)that he " continues, voluntarily, and without recompense to supervise the cabinet department with the same intelligent zeal and interest as in former years." ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JOSEPH FOSTER LYON
(Isaac6, David5, Edward4, Samuel3, William2, 1), son of Isaac LYON and Sarah BLODGETT, was born at Harford, Susquehanna county, Pennsylvania, April 23, 1825; came to Waukegan in 1844; to Woodstock in 1850; to Darien in 1854. He married July 26, 1854, at Beloit, Arimathea, daughter of Truman JONES and Elizabeth KINNE. A few years later he went to California and soon returned to Darien, where he studied law and peace, eight terms as member of the county board, and in 1868 as assemblyman, chosen over Julius A. TREAT. In 1875 he was appointed clerk of the circuit court, and served a full term by election. From 1875 to his death, December 12, 1902, his home was at Elkhorn. Mrs. LYON, who was granddaughter of Amasa and Azubah JONES, and whose mother was daughter of Stephen KINNE and granddaughter of Gideon KINNE and Thankful HEWITT, died November 7, 1872, leaving children, Ari May (Mrs. C. W. FERSON), Jay Forrest (now county judge), and Vernette M. (Mrs. George M. DUNHAM). Mr. LYON married December 10, 1873, Amelia L., daughter of Leander DODGE and Harriet, daughter of Orange CARTER. She was born at Darien, May 17, 1840; died at Chicago, October 10, 1906. Mr. LYON was an intelligent student of legal principles, and was an ingeniousreasoner. He had also a marvelous memory of the statute books, himself almost a living index to their contents - often able to stand in court and trace a chapter from its passage in the forties through one or more amendments to its repeal in the seventies, he looking backward from eighties or nineties. Besides, he was a part of the age in which he lived, in touch with its spirit, and moving forward with its progress; and, moreover, was one of the kindest of men and neighbors. His brother, Charles Lysander, born September 1, 1829, has been coroner since 1883. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ROBERT LYTLE married Esther LYTLE. Both were of the north of Ireland, and were children of immigrants. They had children: Isaac (married Nancy ARMSTRONG);Elizabeth (Mrs. John ARMSTRONG); Lucy (Mrs. William LYTLE); William (married Nelly LYTLE); James (married Chloe HASKINS, and Elizabeth HENRY); Margaret (Mrs. Daniel KEENEY). A brother of Robert or of Esther had children: Samuel (his second wife, Mrs. Harriet CAMPBELL MAGEE); Nelly (wife of above mentioned William LYTLE); William (married above-named Lucy LYTLE); James; John. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
SAMUEL LYTLE and his first wife had a daughter, Mary, wife of James Adam FLACK. Of his second wife, Harriet (CAMPBELL) MAGEE, were Samuel, whose wife Arvilla is daughter of James Adam FLACK's second wife, Martha ARMSTRONG; Thomas (married Sylvia RUST); Henry (married Julia, daughter of Richard POTTER); Louisa (Mrs. Cyrus COLE). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
THOMAS MORRIS McHUGH was grandson of Lieut. Stephen McHUGH, of the British army, and son of Rev. Stephen McHUGH, of the early Episcopal church of Wisconsin. His mother was Elizabeth, daughter of Berry NORRIS, of county Leitrim, Connaught. Thomas was born in Mohill parish, of that county, November 22, 1822; had academic education; studied law at Utica, New York; came in 1844 with his father's family to Delavan; admitted to practice, at Elkhornin 1849. He was secretary to the Territorial council in 1847; a secretary of the second constitutional convention; was the first secretary of state for Wisconsin and gave form and order to the business of that office; chief clerk of the Assembly in 1853 and 1854. He died, unmarried, at Palatka, Florida, March 19,1856. He has been credited with "a tireless activity, versatile mind, a winning address, a clear head, and a warm heart." ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
THOMAS McKAIG, son of William, whose wife was named Dawson, was of a Scotch-Irish family of Ulster. He was born at Stewartstown, county Tyrone, December 12, 1812. He crossed the sea in 1831, and five years were passed at Quebec and Detroit, part of that time as a teacher. In 1836 he was employed in the land office survey of northern Illinois and southern Wisconsin. He chose a farm in section 29, north of Lake, and was employed in platting the village of Geneva; and kept so far in touch with its citizens as to play the trombone in its earliest brass band, and to become a member of its division of the Sons of Temperance. He was once of the earliest justices of the county and remained several years in service. From 1847 to 1853 he was county surveyor. He married July 25, 1840, Asenath, daughter of Robert DUNLAP, a soldier of the Revolution, and Mary LETTS. He died August 24, 1888. Mrs. McKAIG was born at Ovid, New York, December 11, 1811, and died at Elkhorn, March 25, 1906. They had six children, of whom a daughter and three sons are living. Mrs. McKAIG, in her old age, joined the Milwaukee Chapter of the Daughters of the American Revolution, and in recognition of her now unusual qualification for such membership she received from that body a gold spoon of an appropriate device. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
(David5, 4, Benjamin3, Joseph2, Peter1), son of David MALLORY and Sarah ELDRIDGE, was born at Sharon, Connecticut, April 18, 1798; lived a moving life in Broome, Cortland, Tompkins and Yates counties, as farmer, wool-carder, chair-maker, innkeeper. He married, first, Nancy HOOPER, July 28, 1821, at Homer; she was born March 19, 1797; died January 17, 1827. He married, second, in Tompkins county, May 2, 1829, Jane Frances, daughter of Amos HART and Sarah ELDRIDGE - the latter his mother's cousin, perhaps. In 1844 he came to Elkhorn, bought a farm, and for four years kept the hotel at Walworth and Broad streets. In 1846-7 and in 1855-6 he was county treasurer, and was once treasurer of the Agricultural Society. He retired from his farm, within the village, and moved a few rods eastward about 1877. He died April 2, 1897 - sixteen days before the end of his ninety-ninth year. His daughters, all of the second marriage, were Nancy Jane (Mrs. Henry BRADLEY), Ruth Ann (Mrs. Stansbury OGDEN), Anstis Almira (Mrs. William Augustus BARLOW), and Betsey Frances (Mrs. Robert HARKNESS). Of these the first only is living. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
(christened Jedidiah Sanger), and quite probably a near relative of Judge SANGER, the namesake of Sangerfield, Oneida county, New York) was son of Wolcott MARSH. He was born at Alexander, New York, August 27, 1815; passed from farm to counter at Nunda and Attica; and married Harriet M. HORTON at Nunda in 1841. She died January 22, 1843, leaving a son. Mr. MARSH came to Whitewater in 1845 and went into retail business with John S. PARTRIDGE. He married Chelsea PRATT in January 1851, whence three daughters. In 1864 he became president of the First National Bank of Whitewater. He died October 29, 1872. His son, George Sanger MARSH, was born at Nunda,January 17, 1843; married May 20, 1874, Rebecca Jane, daughter of Jabez WIGHT and Rebecca Garrett WORRELL. Her older ancestors were Thomas1, Henry2, Joseph3, Jabez4, John5, 6. Mr. MARSH is now president of the Citizens State Bank of Whitewater.
WHITEWATER: The subject of this sketch, a native of Alexander, New York, was born on the 27th of August, 1815, and was the son of Wolcott Marsh, a farmer by occupation, and Lucy Hart. He passed his boyhood and youth on his father's farm, receiving a thorough English education in the common schools, and in Wyoming Seminary, at Alexander. After attaining his majority, Mr. Marsh found the occupation of farming ill suited to his tastes, and resolved to turn his attention to mercantile pursuits. He accordingly started for Boston, his father furnishing him funds for defraying his expenses. On his way an incident occurred which was always a source of pleasure to him, and is well worthy of record. In settling his bill at the first hotel where he stopped, he gave the landlord, as he supposed, a five-dollar note, but did not discover his mistake until he arrived at the next town. He then wrote to the hotelkeeper, who answered refusing to refund the money. Twenty-one years afterward, while Mr. Marsh was residing in Whitewater, Wisconsin, he received a letter from an attorney notifying him that he had, by will, come into possession of a piece of land in Chicago, Illinois; the reason given was, that it was an act of restitution, the party making the will being the landlord above mentioned. After spending a short time in Boston, finding that his health was becoming impaired by close confinement, he removed to New York and established himself at Nunda, in the dry goods and grocery trade. Here he conducted a successful business till 1845, when he removed to Attica, Wyoming County, and there spent one year in the same line of business. At the expiration of this time, closing up his affairs, he removed to the West, and settled at Whitewater, Wisconsin. He at once opened a mercantile business, and during the next ten years conducted a prosperous and widely influential trade; and at the end of that time, having decided to invest his money in other enterprises, spent seven years in settling up his outstanding accounts and in making loans.
In 1863, with others, he organized the First National Bank of Whitewater, of which he remained president until his death, which occurred on the 29th of October, 1872. Mr. Marsh was thoroughly qualified as a businessman and financial manager. A life-long friend says of him "He was a man of the strictest integrity ; kind and liberal to the poor; very plain and democratic in his mode of living, and died beloved and respected by the entire community, his loss being felt alike by the rich and poor."
In his religious communion he was associated with the Universalist church, and took an active part in all matters pertaining to its interests, and liberally contributed to all worthy benevolent enterprises.
Politically, he was formerly a democrat, but became identified with the republican party upon its organization in 1856. He had, however, little political ambition, finding in his regular business ample scope for the exercise of all his powers. Mr. Marsh was married in January 1841, to Miss Harriet N. Horton, of Nunda, New York. By her had one son, George S. Marsh, cashier of the First National Bank of Whitewater. Mrs. Marsh died on the 22d day of January, 1843. His second marriage was in January 1851, to Chelsea Pratt, by whom he had three daughters, all of whom are now residing at Whitewater. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Portrait Galley of Eminent Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
CHARLES MARTIN was a son of Josiah MARTIN and Rachel, daughter of Titus WILLIAMS. He was born at Harvard, Delaware county, New York, November 12, 1818. He had a fair education and was well bred to farming. He came to the vicinity of Vienna in 1844. He married May 6, 1846, his cousin, Elizabeth, daughter of John MARTIN and Huldah CORNELL. She was born at Mansfield, May 11, 1821; died November 11, 1850. Mr. MARTIN married November 24, 1853, Caroline Matilda, daughter of Samuel FOWLE and Harriet INGRAHAM. He came to Elkhorn and died March 4, 1906. Mrs. MARTIN was born April 21, 1834; died January 31, 1892. Of five children three died early. Delia is widow of Emory WILLIAMS. Helen is county superintendent of schools. Mr. MARTIN was an early member of the county Agricultural Society and was once its president. For many years he was superintendent of the Baptist Sunday school at Spring Prairie, once one of the best attended of any in the county. He was one who passed readily among men as an intelligent Christian gentleman. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
EBENEZER MARTIN and his second wife, Joanna FAWCET, had sons Orra, John and Josiah. Two of these and a son of the third came to Spring Prairie. The family was of Mansfield, Tolland county, Connecticut, and may have been earlier of Bristol county, Massachusetts. It is not known that others of their name, in the county, were related to them. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JOHN MARTIN, son of Ebenezer and Joanna, was born at Mansfield, April 4, 1793. He had a fair education and much natural ability. He was once a member for his town of the lower house of the Legislature, and was also judge of the Mansfield probate district. (One or more towns of Connecticut may constitute such a district, and in Judge MARTIN's time there were eighty six such districts in the state.) He married Huldah CORNELL, and their children were: Ebenezer (married Lucia, daughter of Charles HIGH, of Bloomfield), Elizabeth (Mrs. Charles MARTIN), Joanna (wife of Samuel, son of Rev. Orra MARTIN), John married Mrs. Mary (CORNELL) MONROE, his cousin), Timothy (married Laura KELLY). Judge MARTIN came to Spring Prairie in 1842, bringing with him his title for the convenience of his new neighbors. He died June 19, 1871. Huldah was born 1795; died October 26, 1844. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ORRA MARTIN, son of Ebenezer and Joanna, was born at Mansfield, January 25, 1791. While yet a young man he became a Baptist clergyman. His wife was Polly S. daughter of August MITCHELL. Of their children, Dr. George P. lived in Racine county, and John H. lived near Vienna. The latter married, first Joanna WOODMAN; second, Adeline DECKER. Elder MARTIN was widely known to members of his denomination in this state. He and John H. MARTIN were Democrats, while their relatives were all Republicans. Elder MARTIN was found dead in his bed, January 14, 1885. Other children, at home with parents in 1860, were Juliette S., Carlos D., Thomas M. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ALBERT L. MASON, son of Darius B. MASON and Harriet C. STARR (early settlers of Sharon), was born at Cooperstown, New York, August 23, 1824; came to Sharon in 1840; married in 1847 Sophronia, daughter of William JOINER; was postmaster 1850-3 at Sharon village; member of Assembly in 1879 - elected without opposition; died March 26, 1896. His father had been a member of the county board, and his son, Darius B., is named in later official lists of the town. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
WILLIAM EDGAR MASSEY
"Earn they reward; the gods give naught to sloth," said the old Greek sage, Epicharmus, and the truth of the admonition has been verified in human affairs in all the ages which have rolled their course since his day. William Edgar MASSEY, farmer of Linn township and scion of one of the worthy old families of Walworth county, has, by ceaseless toil and endeavor, attained a large degree of success in his chosen calling and has gained the respect and confidence of men. Mr. MASSEY was born near his present home on February 2, 1869. He is the son of William and Mary (DELANEY) MASSEY, the father born near Cork, in the county Limerick, Ireland. When about eighteen years old he and his three brothers, George, Charles and John, and their mother emigrated to America, the father having died in Ireland. The mother and her four sons first spent a few years in New York and other points in the East, then William MASSEY came to Linn township, Walworth county, Wisconsin, and have worked nine years for General BOYD, being about twenty-two years old when he came here. After nine years he purchased a farm of eighty acres, later buying sixty acres additional, and made his permanent home near the center of Linn township. He was married in 1861 to Mary DELANEY, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth (BROWN) DELANEY, both born in Ireland, Thomas DELANEY being from county Kilkenney and his wife from Munster. Elizabeth BROWN came to America when twelve years old with her parents, George and Ann BROWN, this family settling in Lyons township, this county, being among the pioneers. The BROWNS and DELANEYS both came to America in the thirties and located first in Michigan, where they spent two or three years, and there Thomas DELANEY and Ann BROWN were married. Then Thomas DELANEY and his brother-in-law, John BROWN, and James CURRAN, another brother-in-law of DELANEY's, came to Wisconsin on a prospecting tour and located in Walworth county. Thomas DELANEY entering two hundred acres from the govenernment in section 33, Lyons township, in 1840, his land being located three miles east of Geneva. Mr. CURRAN entered land near there also, and the BROWNS entered land three miles farther east. The family of Thomas DELANEY consisted of the following children: George, Ann, Mary, Margaret, John, William, Thomas, Jane, Dennis, Elizabeth, Patrick Henry, James, and Valentine. Thomas Delaney and wife spent the rest of their lives on the land they first secured here and there reared their large family and died there, and there Mary lived until she married William MASSEY. After his marriage William MASSEY purchased his farm in Linn township, and there spent most of his life and reared his family of nine children, who were named as follows: Elizabeth, Ellen, George, Martha, Gertrude, Cecily, William, Frank, and Emma (not named in the order of birth).
In 1904 William MASSEY retired from farming and he and his wife moved to Chicago where his death occurred in 1906. Mrs. MASSEY now makes her home with her daughter, Ellen, wife of George BOYDEN, an electrician; Elizabeth is the wife of Thomas W. SLAVIN, of Geneva township; George married Margaret DOYLE and has a good farm in Linn township; William Edgar is the subject of this sketch; Frank married Frances REILLEY, of Chicago, and lives on the farm left by his father; Emma married George KENNEY and lives at Janesville, Wisconsin; Martha is a Sister of Mercy in a convent in Milwaukee; Gertrude lives in Colorado; Cecily married Arthur MOYNIHAN. William E. MASSEY grew to manhood on his father's farm in Linn township and was educated in the local schools. On February 22, 1898, he was united in marriage with Mary TULLEY, daughter of Andrew and Mary (QUINCANNON) TULLEY. She was born in Delavan and lived in Lake Geneva most of her life. Her parents were natives of Ireland. Mary QUINCANNON was the daughter of Michael and Bridget QUINCANNON, very early settlers near Lake Geneva. Mrs. MASSEY's mother died when she as five years old. Her father is still living near Delavan, where he is engaged in farming. William E. MASSEY and wife have three children, namely: Earl William Joseph, born March 12, 1889; Mary Genevieve, born February 6, 1901; Katherine Evelyne, born April 28, 1903. For four years after their marriage William E. MASSEY and wife lived on the farm now owned by George MASSEY in section 21. After four years there he bought the farm where he now lives in the northeast quarter of section 21, Linn township, adjoining the brother's farm, where he had rented before buying a farm of his own. He has been very successful as a general farmer and stock raiser. The subject and family belong to the Catholic church at Lake Geneva, and fraternally he belongs to the Catholic Order of Foresters. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ASA LEWIS MAXON, JR., was born in Rensselaer county, New York, May 5, 1802; lived in Madison and Jefferson counties between 1825 and 1853; came to section 27, Walworth, and bought a large farm. His wife was Julia Ann READ (1823-1897). He died May 5, 1882. Four sons were named; Edgar Read (1823-1907) married Emily Wilson, daughter of August ROGERS; Henry J. (1826-1892) married Phoebe HOWLAND; Francis W. (1805-1887) married Mary L. COLBURN; Dr. Joseph S. married Anna, daughter of Anson GOODRICH. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
DEACON ALFRED MAXON
(1785-1858) had wife Mary (1787-1864). He may have been an elder brother of Asa L. MAXON. Clark P. MAXON, born in 1818, married Lucy Ann KINNEY. His relationship, if any there was, is not shown. The presence, in the same town, of MAXONS and MAXSONS makes some uncertainty as to the correct spelling for any individual. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
COL. JAMES MAXWELL was born at Guilford, Vermont, about 1785. The story of his early and middle life is but scantily told. He must have had a fair education and some experience in business. He lived for some time in Pennsylvania and in Indiana, and at the time of Black Hawk's war was at Chicago, and at that time, probably, was one of Governor Reynold's militia colonels. The records of the adjutant-general's office, at Springfield, might make this clear. Coming with Dr. Philip S., his younger half-brother, to Lake Geneva, he left that theatre of war and made a peaceable settlement in Walworth, where he and his son, and with them the Doctor, bought liberally in sections 15, 24, 26, 27. He was a member of the upper house of the second and third Legislative Assemblies for the joint district of Rock and Walworth, 1838-42. It is not known when he left the county, but, at the organization of the State Historical Society, in 1849, he was present from Sauk county. It is said that he died about 1869. His son, James Alexander MAXWELL remained in Walworth long enough to find a place in the official list of that town. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
PHILIP S. MAXWELL was born at Guilford, Vermont, April 1, 1799; was educated at the Cherry Valley Academy; studied medicine and was graduated from the Medical College of New York; opened an office at Sacketts Harbor in 1832; about that time married Jerusha, daughter of Jabish and Eunice MOORE, and was commissioned assistant-surgeon, United States Army; ordered in 1833 to Fort Dearborn; served also at Green Bay; in 1836, being again at Chicago, he, with his half-brother, Col. James MAXWELL, invested in the conflicting claims at Lake Geneva and in other land; was ordered to Florida in 1838, and later to Fort Smith; resigned in 1842 and began successful practice at Chicago. In 1853 he became state treasurer of Illinois; but having built and occupied a summer home overlooking Geneva Lake in 1856, his office at Springfield was declared vacant by reason of his non-residence in the state. He renounced Illinois citizenship and Democracy, and made his home at Lake Geneva and his political bed with the Republican party; though it pleased him not to hear his old-line Whig associates rail at General Jackson, as they were rather wont to do. He died November, 1859. His wife was born December 28, 1804; died at Lake Geneva, March 27, 1875. Dr.MAXWELL's family may be regarded as pioneers of the now numerous lakeside dwelling Chicagoans. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
LOT MAYO, son of Elisha, was born at Augusta, New York, in 1803; moved with his father to Chautauqua county, near Mayville, whence both came in the early forties to Elkhorn. He had married successively two daughters of Samuel TUBBS and Polly FROST - the second wife named Jane, who was born in 1811 and died at Elkhorn, October 26, 1849. His father died the same day, aged seventy-five. Of one or both of these marriages were sons Andrew, Samuel and Elisha. In 1853 he became postmaster at Elkhorn; and, having secured reappointment, he married, third, Mrs. Amanda, daughter of Simeon DeWitt CORBIN and widow (since 1846) of Erastus HUBBARD. Of this marriage was one child, Zaida. He died January 3, 1870. Mrs. MAYO died November 26, 1893, leaving also a son, DeWitt Pratt HUBBARD. Mr. MAYO was a working Freemason, and for some years master of the lodge at Elkhorn. He insisted constantly that no man could be a good and true Mason without obedience to the moral law, and his own conduct squared with this profession. He was also a working Democrat, and his political reading had made him a fairly formidable opponent in the partisan debates or wrangles of his time. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JESSE MEACHAM was born at Burlington, Otsego county, December 10, 1791; served as a soldier of the war of 1812, and as a prisoner was nearly lost by shipwreck at the mouth of the St. Lawrence; afterward became a major, by a governor's commission or by the courtesy of his neighbors; came to Lodi, Michigan, soon after his marriage, in 1828, to Patience WALLACE, widow of his brother James, whose children he made his own. Having visited Honey Creek valley in 1835 he came with his family and a few friends in 1836, settled a town and founded a village. He died July 29, 1868. Patience was born July 20, 1794; died March 12, 1875. Her children were: Urban Duncan (married Prudence GEDDES), Edwin Wallace (married Emeline M.McCRACKEN), Edgar (married Sarah MASON). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
Urban D. MEACHAM's son, William Pitt, was born September 27, 1836, first native of Troy. He married Celesta J., daughter of Stephen SMITH, of Monroe, Wisconsin, and returned in 1865, after twenty-one years absence, to his grandfather's place. He died there November 3, 1911. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ZERAH MEAD was born at Rutland, Vermont, June 4, 1800; from 1825 to 1832 worked a woolen factory at Waddington, St. Lawrence county; married Fama, daughter of James MOTT and Abigail BARNUM, October 6, 1832; came to Whitewater in 1837 and bought land in section 15. He was one of the several justices of the peace appointed by Governor DODGE for the county in 1838 and became aged and gray in that office. A son, James M. MEAD, died in military service at Helena in 1863. Squire MEAD was assemblyman in 1852, having defeated Willard STEBBINS. He died March 23, 1875. Mrs. MEAD was born November 17, 1813; died April 30, 1898.
PEREZ MERRICK was born January 28, 1766; married Hannah WILLISTON in 1789; lived at Franklin, Delaware county, New York. His ancestors, Thomas1 and wife, Elizabeth TILLY; James2 and wife, Sarah HITCHCOCK; Joseph3 and wife, Mary LEONARD; Joseph4 and wife, Deborah LEONARD. Perez and Hannah had children: Gordon (died at Akron), Perez, Roderick, Austin L., Alonzo (married Samantha WYLIE), Flavia (Mrs. Samuel WHITE). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
COL. PEREZ MERRICK was born June 12, 1792; married Jerusha, daughter of Dr. S. HUTCHINSON; came to this county in 1836; was one of the earliest justices of the peace; died August 25, 1854. His daughter Juliette was wife of Horace COLEMAN. His son, Perez H., born June 9, 1825, married Mary A., daughter of Nicholas and Mary BRIGGS, and had a son Orlando BRIGGS. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
RODERICK MERRICK was born August 5, 1794; married Rebecca GATES, January 24, 1828; came to Spring Prairie in 1837; died May 18, 1870. His wife was born July 16, 1806; died February 24, 1895. Their children were: Flavia (Mrs. Alonzo DANIELS), Hannah Rose (Mrs. German MOORE), Gordon Williston (married Celeste Annette, daughter of Jeremiah SHEFFIELD and Hannah Gardner SMITH), Oscar D. (married Emily, daughter of Nathaniel BELL and Sarah COOK), Elnora, Albert H. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
AUSTIN LEONARD MERRICK was born January 2, 1807; came to Spring Prairie in 1836; married December 12, 1839, Esther Celestia COOK, who left seven children; married July 28, 1856, Gratia Putnam, daughter of Josiah CRANE and wife Ruth; died December 19, 1887. His wife, Gratia P. was born May 20, 1815; died December 16, 1900. Mr.MERRICK's children were: Leroy Williston (married Luella J. ELLSWORTH), Josephine Louisa (Mrs. John H. NORTON), Esther Priscilla, Augusta Deborah (Mrs. Vernon H. RALEIGH), Agnes Flavia (Mrs. Frank JONES), Dr. Jerome Cass, Irene Celestia. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
HENRY O. MONTAGUE
WHITEWATER: Henry Oreb Montague was born in Fabius, Onondaga County, New York, August 1, 1835, the son of Oreb and Cornelia Montague. He studied in Aurora, Dundee and Ovid, receiving an academical education, and in 1855 removed to the West and settled at Whitewater, Wisconsin, where he engaged in the mercantile trade and in teaching until 1858. At that time he began the study of law with Mr. N. S. Murphy, and in i860 was admitted to the bar. At the opening of the Civil War in 1861 Mr. Montague enlisted as a private in Company B, 1st Regiment Wisconsin Volunteer Infantry. Serving with distinction during the continuance of the war, he made for himself a most honorable record, and was promoted from time to time to the respective ranks of first sergeant, first lieutenant and captain, and also acted as assistant adjutant-general, ranking as captain, on General Mower's staff of the first brigade, first division of the fourteenth army corps, participating in all the battles of the army of the Cumberland, and was wounded at the battle of Chickamauga. A most honorable mention of his services is made in Love's "History of Wisconsin," pages 681, 682, 701, 707 and 721. At the battle of Chickamauga, when the color guard were all killed or wounded, he himself raised the flag of the regiment and rallied the men around him. The following tribute from one of his comrades is worthy of note, coming, as it does, from one who served with him through the war: CAPTAIN MONTAGUE was honored and respected by all the regiment, and his reputation as a soldier was one of the brightest. Even to this day none of his comrades, when passing near to where he is, would fail to call upon him, deeming it an honor to sit and rehearse with him the trials of their campaigns.
In political sentiment Mr. Montague was formerly a republican. Identifying himself with that organization upon attaining his majority, he continued an active and firm supporter of its principles until 1871, when he joined the liberal party. In the following year he supported Horace Greeley for the Presidency. His religious training was under Baptist influences, though he himself is not identified with any religious organization.
From 1865 to 1868 Mr. Montague was assistant United States assessor. At the end of that time he was appointed postmaster at Whitewater, and held that office until February 1872. He has also been justice of the peace at Whitewater for five years. He was married on the 14th of May 1861, to Miss Mary S. Rockwell, of Oconomowoc, Wisconsin, a daughter of Anson Rockwell, formerly of Otsego, New York. [Source: The US Biographical Dictionary and Pictorial Gallery of Eminent and Self-Made Men, Wisconsin Volume (1877) transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
EZRA AMES MULFORD was born in Albany county, New York, in 1804; studied medicine at the neighboring medical college; practiced for some years in his native state; married Zilpha PACKARD (born June, 1804), a native of New Hampshire, and came in 1845 to the town of Walworth. In 1847 he was a member of the committee on general provisions at the constitutional convention, but took little part in the work of that body. He continued in medical practice in Walworth until his death, November 1, 1861. He had six children. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
Senator Knute Nelson, of Minnesota, is a native of Norway. He was born at Voss, near Bergen, Norway, on February 2, 1843. For generations his ancestors had lived in that vicinity as farmers. When three years old Knute lost his father, and when six, he came to this country with his mother. When they arrived in Chicago in July, 1849, the cholera epidemic was raging in that city. The young boy contracted the disease, but his rugged constitution successfully resisted its attacks. During the succeeding year his mother moved to Walworth County, Wisconsin, and soon after to Dane County, where young Nelson grew up. His common school education was obtained with difficulty, but after encountering many obstacles he was able, in 1858, to enter Albion Academy. But three years of his course there had expired when the war broke out, and Nelson entered the army in May, 1861, with a group of his fellow students. They became members of the Fourth Wisconsin Infantry. The young soldier served with his regiment until the fall of 1864. He participated in the capture of New Orleans, in the first siege of Vicksburg, the battle of Baton Rouge and Camp Bisland, and was at the siege of Port Hudson. In the great charge at this siege, on June 14, 1863, he was wounded and captured, and remained a prisoner until the fort was surrendered on July 9. At the close of the war Mr. Nelson returned to Albion, finished his course, and after graduation became a law student in the office of Senator William F. Vilas, at Madison. He was admitted to the bar in the spring of 1867, and immediately commenced practice. In the fall of the same year he was elected to the state assembly, and was reelected in the following year. Soon after the close of his second term he moved to Alexandria, Douglas County, Minnesota, where he has since made his home. In Douglas County Mr. Nelson found many people from his native country and from Sweden. In fact, those nationalities predominate in Northwestern Minnesota. As a strong man, and one whose characteristics fitted him to become a leader, he naturally took a prominent place from his first settlement in the region. He entered a United States homestead and opened a farm near Alexandria, and commenced farming and practicing law. In 1872, 1873 and 1874 he was county attorney of Douglas County. In 1875, 1876, 1877 and 1878 he served the Thirty-ninth Legislative District as state senator. By this time he had attained great prominence and influence in the northern portion of the state, and his name was placed on the Garfield electoral ticket in 1880. Two years later he secured the Republican nomination for congress, for the then Fifth District of Minnesota. The campaign was an extremely bitter one, but he was elected by a plurality of four thousand five hundred votes. Re-election followed in 1884 by over ten thousand plurality, and in 1886 he received for his third term forty three thousand nine hundred and thirty-seven votes to one thousand two hundred and thirty-nine cast for a Prohibitionist, his only opponent. Mr. Nelson's record in congress was that of a hard worker, and an independence and fearless voter. He favored tariff reform, and even went so far as to vote for the Mills bill, as well as introducing a measure looking to the entire abolition of the tariff on several articles. He was instrumental in securing the passage of bills opening the Indian reservations and making permanent disposition of the red men of Minnesota. With no material opposition to him he nevertheless declined a renomination in 1888, and the following spring resumed his law business and farming at Alexandria, but in 1892 he was unanimously nominated as the party candidate for governor, and was elected by a plurality of fourteen thousand six hundred and twenty votes. A renomination and election by sixty thousand plurality followed in 1894. He had hardly entered upon his second term, however, when he was elected to the United States senate and resigned as governor to accept the higher office, which he now fills with great ability. Mr. Nelson's career has been of the kind that romance are made of, and his success stands as a living refutation of the complaint that there is not longer any change for the poor boy in this country. Nelson was certainly poor enough and sufficiently dependent on his merits and his own efforts which have advanced him from the station which he occupied as a lad in 1849, with all its discouraging conditions, to the honorable office which he now fills with credit to himself and to the profit of the state. [Source: Progressive men of Minnesota. (Shutter, Marion Daniel, 1853-ed.) Minneapolis, The Minneapolis Journal (1897) Submitted by Diana Heser Morse]
CHARLES AUGUSTUS NOYES
(Abel7, Moses6, Joseph5,4, 3, Rev. James2, Rev. William1), was son of Abel NOYES and Sophia Shepard HATCH (Timothy6, 5, 4, Benjamin3, Jonathan2,Thomas1), daughter of Timothy HATCH and Abigail, daughter of Moses PORTER and Sarah KILHAM. He was born in Otsego county, New York, September 3, 1812; improved his common school education by judicious reading; went to Buffalo in 1830 as a shipping clerk; came to Chicago in 1836, and thence to Geneva, where he bought, with his cousin, Orrin Hatch COE, one-fourth interest in Brink's claim to the mill-site. This share of the bone of contention was soon sold to R. Wells WARREN, whose sister, Nancy Page, daughter of Thomas WARREN and Anne PAGE, was married to Mr. NOYES, January 23, 1837. Before the end of the year here crossed the state line, made and sold claims; was postmaster in 1839 at Tryon, Illinois; returned to Geneva in 1850 only to set out for California; in 1853 bought an interest in the water power at Genoa Junction; again to California in 1858, returning to Lake Geneva in 1872, where he died November 25, 1881. Record of Mrs. NOYES's birth and death is not found. Their children were: Helen Augusta (Mrs. Gilmore D. FELLOWS), Mary Elizabeth (Mrs. Franklin ROWE), Charles Augustus (1841-1897), a soldier of the Civil war (married Jenny Lind, daughter of Benjamin B. HUMPHREY and Juliet SMITH), Martha Irene (Mrs. James Ervin FULLER), Josephine Amanda (died early). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
CYRIL LEACH OATMAN was grandson of George and son of Eli OATMAN and Mary, daughter of Joel and Patience SYMONDS, of Pawlet, Vermont. (His father died May 30, 1851, aged seventy-four; his mother died February 16, 1861, aged eighty.) Cyril, seventh of eleven children, was born at Middletown, Vermont, April 10, 1815. His sister, Calista (fourth child), was wife of Russell H. MALLORY. In 1835 Mr. OATMAN went to St. Louis; in 1838 he came with Mr. MALLORY to Geneva and (except a few years in business at East Troy) made his home there till his death, May 17, 1889. He served as under-sheriff for Mr. MALLORY, and the two made the census of 1842. Being a Democrat, as well as a man of property, character and ability, he was many times defeated on the county and legislative tickets of his party. After Mr.MALLORY's death, March, 1852, his family was adopted by Mr. OATMAN, who never married. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
RICHARD O'CONNOR was born at New York, March 17, 1816; married Elizabeth MORGAN about 1846, and left the city by the sea for the city by lake and creek in the same year. He founded a good business in drugs and books - the pioneer store at Whitewater in such goods. He was town assessor for more than twenty years, and was among the earliest effective movers in the matter of good walks and shaded streets. In business sense he was one of the builders of Whitewater. He died December 27, 1881, leaving a well-established business to two sons. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
(Zenas7, Daniel6, John5, David4, Thoams3, David2, John1), son of Zenas OGDEN and Julia, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth MARSH, was born at Walton, New York, February 1, 1815; came to Milwaukee in 1836 and joined himself to the founders of Elkhorn. He married Charlotte, daughter of Peter BOYCE, September 7, 1843; she died July 25, 1844; his second wife was Emma Oricia, daughter of Miner WATKINS and Ann BARR, married April 29, 1847. Mr. OGDEN made no ripple in politics, nor was named on election tickets; but he was a Whig as long as Clay and Webster lived to lead. From 1854 he was a Democrat, and lived to vote for Palmer and Buckner. He prospered moderately and noiselessly, and at his death, August 5, 1903, left a fair property and no children. Mrs. OGDEN was born at Stockbridge, Vermont, May, 1824; died at Elkhorn, November 29, 1995. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ZENAS OGDEN, son of Daniel OGDEN and Phoebe, daughter of Moses LINDSLEY and Irany RAYNOR, was born at Morristown, New Jersey, February 3, 1790; married Julia, daughter of Charles and Elizabeth MARSH (born 1794; died June 16, 1828); married again, in 1833, Melita BAIRD (born at Becket, Massachusetts, November 2, 1806; died at Elkhorn, December 10, 1880) in 1833; came in the forties to his farm in the southwestern quarter of Elkhorn; died December 12, 1861. He was a cousin of President William B. OGDEN, of the Chicago & Northwestern Railroad Company. In his middle life he was a Whig, in later years a Republican. His eight children (three by second marriage) were Harriet Thankful (Mrs. Elijah SMITH), Albert, Mary (Mrs. Gabriel Smith SAWYER), Stansbury (married Ruth A. MALLORY), Lucy (Mrs. A. Sidney DOWNS), George Washington (married Mary M. JEWELL), Henry (died young), Elizabeth (Mrs. W. Frank JEWELL). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JOSEPH H. PAGE
JOSEPH H. PAGE, Whitewater, was born at Columbus, New York, on June 14, 1832. He received his early education in his native town, and when twenty-four years of age. He put himself under the instruction of Reverend J. P. Hunting, a retired professor, and devoted a portion of the day to study, working at a trade the rest of the time. He pursued the same plan in his study of law, spending five hours of the day at work, and the remainder in study. After three years he entered the law office of H. C. & R. L. Miner, Madison county, New York, and remained there one year, until 1862. He was admitted to the bar, at Binghamton, by the four judges of the general term. He afterward went to West Edmeston, and practiced his profession there during one year. He then came to Wisconsin, and in 1865 settled at Whitewater. In November of the same year he entered into a law partnership with N. D. Montague, which continued until July, 1870, when the firm dissolved. Mr. Page then conducted the business alone until 1878, when he took Samuel Bishop into partnership, which connection still continues. [Source: The Bench and Bar of Wisconsin, by Parker McCobb Reed, Milwaukee; P. M. Reed publisher (1882) transcribed by Sharon Witt.]
(Eighth District – Kenosha and Walworth counties. Population 39,799.
CHARLES PALMETIER (Rep.) of Geneva, Walworth county, was born in Catskill, Green county, N. Y., December 29, 1834; received a common school education; is by occupation a lumber dealer; came to Wisconsin in 1847 and settled at Geneva; enlisted September 5, 1861, in Co. K, 8th Wis. Vol. Infantry; appointed 4th sergeant in ’61, commissioned 2d lieutenant in October ’62; promoted 1st lieutenant in May ’65; was discharged September 5, 1865, after four years’ service; engaged in the battles of Frederickstown, Farmington, Corinth, Iuka, the siege of Vicksburg and all the other battles of the “Eagle regiment;” has held various local offices as school director, chairman of town board, etc.; was a delegate to the republican national convention at Chicago in 1880 and was elected state senator for 1882 and ’83, receiving 3,741 votes against 1,768 for John P. Runkel, democrat, and 96 votes for John Johnson, greenbacker. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1882), page 531; transcribed by Mary Saggio]
CHARLES PALMETIER, (Rep.), of Lake Geneva, Walworth county, was born in Catskill, Green county, N. Y., December 29, 1834; received a common school education; is by occupation a lumber dealer; came to Wisconsin in 1847, and settled at Geneva; enlisted September 5, 1861, in Co. K, 8th Wis. Vol. Infantry; appointed 4th sergeant in ’61; commissioned 2d lieutenant in October ’62; promoted 1st lieutenant in May ’65; was discharged September 5, 1865, after four years’ service; engaged in the battles of Fredericktown, Farmington, Corinth, Iuka, the siege of Vicksburg and all the other battles of the “Eagle Regiment;” has held various local offices as school director, chairman of town board, etc.; was a delegate to the republican national convention at Chicago in 1880, and was elected state senator in 1881, receiving 3,741 votes against 1,768 for John P. Runkel, democrat, and 96 votes for John Johnson, greenbacker. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1883), page 475; transcribed by Vicki Bryan]
JOHN STANLEY PARTRIDGE, son of Stanley PARTRIDGE and Priscilla ASHLEY, was born in Genesee county, New York, June 28, 1819; came, in 1846, to Whitewater and went with Sanger MARSH into general retail businesses, to which they later added grain-buying, having built a large warehouse and elevator. In April 1848, he married Henrietta M., daughter of Uriah JOHNSON, of Leroy, New York. In 1883 he became president of the Citizens National Bank. He died July 3, 1892. His wife was born March 1823; died December 13, 1890. His earlier ancestors were George1, John2, George3, James4, Stephen,5, Rufus6. His children were, in 1860, J. Ashley, Clarence J., Ernest G. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
GEORGE DELAVAN PEARCE.
Throughout an active and interesting career duty has ever been the motive of action with George Delavan PEARCE, one of the old settlers and well-known agriculturists of the southern part of Walworth county, and usefulness to his fellow men has by no means been a secondary consideration with him. Thus strong and forceful in his relations with his fellows, he has gained the good will and commendation of his associates and the general public, retaining his reputation among men of integrity and high character, and never losing the dignity which is the birthright of the true gentleman. Mr. PEARCE was born at New Hartford, Oneida county, New York, January 26, 1832. He is the son of William and Amy (DODGE) PEARCE. He is descended from Nathan and Abigail (SPINK) PEARCE, who were married on October 8, 1724, and they lived in Rhode Island, probably near Providence. Nathan PEARCE was a minister of the Baptist church. His family consisted of nine children, of whom the youngest, William, was born September 12, 1745, old style calendar (September 23, new style), at Providence. He was a member of the New York State Militia during the Revolutionary war, and he saw service along the Hudson river. His wife, Chloe CAREY, was born on June 6, 1746, married March 2, 1766, and died September 4, 1778. Her father was also a minister. Six children were born to William PEARCE by his first wife. His second wife was Lydia BIRDSALL, who was born August 20, 1757, married February 7, 17__, and to this union four children were born, William being the eldest, and he was the father of George D. PEARCE, of this sketch. William, father of the subject, was born June 15, 1784, in Dutchess county, New York. He married Amy DODGE, May 18, 1809. She was born in Dutchess county, New York, April 18, 1789, and in that county the parents of the subject lived about 1816 when they came to Oneida county, New York. They became the parents of thirteen children: Lorenzo Dow being the eldest, and George Delavan, of this review was the twelfth in order of birth. The eighth child was Jonathan Howland PEARCE. He lived in Walworth probably seven or eight years before and during the war, returning to New York in November, 1864. A sister, Eliza, married Justus MOAK, September 7, 1853, and came to Wisconsin in the fall of 1854 and they lived at Watertown, where he was postmaster for a number of years.
George D. PEARCE lived in Oneida county, New York, until in April 1854. On April 18th of that year he was united in marriage with Emily Jane BAKER, daughter of James and Ann (BRAKEFIELD) BAKER. She was born in Oneida county, New York, June 3, 1836. Her parents came from London, England, and they were natives of Maidstone, county Kent, England. They came first to Philadelphia later moving to Oneida county, New York, not long before Mrs. PEARCE was born, and they moved to Walworth county, Wisconsin, about 1858 and after a short residence with Mr. PEARCE moved to Waukesha county, where Mrs. BAKER died, after which Mr. BAKER returned to Walworth and lived with his son, Benjamin BAKER, who then farmed at what is now part of Walworth village. When Benjamin moved to Minnesota, Mr. BAKER moved there and spent the rest of his life in that state.
The day of their marriage George D. PEARCE and wife started for Wisconsin. After spending three months at Delavan, he bought a farm of eight acres in section 20, Walworth township, Walworth county, also bought forty acres near the lake. He paid sixteen dollars an acre for the land, getting half a crop. He got one dollar and fifty cents per bushel for his wheat during the Crimean war and in a few years he had a good start in the new country. He then bought sixty-six and two-thirds acres in the northwestern half of section 29, Walworth township. He remained on the first eighty ten years, then sold it and bought where he now lives in 1864 His present fine farm is in section 18. He became the owner of over one hundred and eighty acres and here he has lived ever since. He has lived in only three different houses in his life, one in New York, one in section 20, this township, and the one which he now occupies. He never owned a firearm and never saw a fist fight. Within a month after he located in Walworth township he was called on to contribute to the erection of the First Baptist church, and he did so, and he has been an earnest member of the church for years. He has been a deacon for thirty or forty years, and he was clerk of the church for thirty years. Eight children were born to Mr. and Mrs. PEARCE: Mary Hart, born April 4, 1855, married James M. WEEKS, November 10, 1875, and she lived at Delavan about five years and two years at Darien, then went to Pipestone, Minnesota, where they lived seven years, then returned to Delavan and spent ten years. Mr. WEEKS was a merchant, was born February 26, 1849, and died in December, 1906, his wife preceding him to the grave on January 29, 1904. They were the parents of five children: George, who died when seventeen years old; Grace, who married Will HARRISON; Mary, who married Frank E. WIRE, lives in Denver, and they have four children, Justin, Marian, Dorothy and a baby girl that died in infancy; Belle WEEKS married Frank ROLAND and lives at San Antonio, Texas; Pearl WEEKS is living at Walworth with Mr. PEARCE.
Theodore Hurd PEARCE, born August 29, 1857, lived on the home farm until he was grown then worked a year at the Deaf and Dumb Institute, alter which he spent some time in Dakota and Minnesota, then returned to the home farm, after which he rented a farm in Sharon township and lived there about two years; on October 18, 1881, he married Carrie J. TEETER, daughter of Henry and Sarah (JOYNER) TEETER; she was born in Sharon township, this county, her people having come here from Schoharie county, New York, in the early days, her parents being descended from early Dutch of New York. After his marriage Theodore H. PEARCE rented another farm, on which he remained a season, then bought a farm in Boone county, Illinois, and lived there ten years; he owned this farm. After selling it be bought eighty acres in Sharon township, this county, but did not live on it, having moved to the farm owned by his wife's father, where he remained, taking care of the old people, until January 1898, when he moved to Franklin county, Tennessee, and bought one hundred and thirty-six acres on which he farmed. His wife died on August 17, 1890. In September 1900, he returned to Wisconsin, driving a team all the way; he farmed two years on his father's place, then purchased it and has since farmed for himself. Six children were born to Theodore H. PEARCE, namely: Alma, who married D. M. EDENS, of Tennessee, now lives at Tweedie, Washington, near Spokane; they have two children, Walter Robert and Carrie Talitha; Mr. EDENS has a farm of one hundred and sixty acres there. Fern May PEARCE married William D. SUTTON and they also live near Tweedie, Washington, where Mr. SUTTON has one hundred and twenty-five acres of land, and they have one daughter, Mary. Sarah Emily PEARCE married Howard FLORES and they live in Denver, where he is an architect and fruit grower, and they have one daughter, Ina. Grace Emma PEARCE is attending college at Beloit in her senior year. Lawrence Bernard PEARCE, born November 6, 1895, died in infancy. Edith Georgia PEARCE is attending school. Theodore H. PEARCE was again married on September 19, 1901, to Mildred P. MOORE, daughter of McChesney and Nancy (HAWKINS) MOORE. She as born in Franklin county, Tennessee, where the parents both died. Four children were born of this marriage, Mildred Alice, Theodore Arvin, Dorothy Irene, and Elna Louise.
Emily Baker PEARCE, third child of George D. PEARCE, of this sketch, was born July 2, 1860. She married Herman R. ADAM, December 15, 1881, a broker in Denver, and they have one son, Royal, born November 30, 1882. He married Mattie A. YOXALL, October 1, 1907, and they have two children, Royal H. and Marjorie Eleanore.
George Benjamin PEARCE, next child of the subject, was born September 23, 1863. He married Effie E. LLOYD, October 1, 1889. He lived at Janesville until his wife died in March, 1907, leaving two children, Rexford DeWitt and Malvern. After the death of the wife and mother, George PEARCE moved to Whitewater and there he has since engaged in gardening and fruit growing; he has recently moved to Lima Center.
Grace Anna PEARCE, the next of the subject's children, was born October 11, 1866. She married William J. PEETS, August 4, 1886, and lived in Waupun and Walworth. Mr. PEETS, who was a civil and mechanical engineer, died February 6, 1892, leaving two children, Wilbur J., Jr., and George Kenneth PEETS, both now attending the technical department of Cincinnati University. Mrs. PEETS married Rev. Joseph JENKINS, November 22, 1898. He is a minister in the Baptist church, having been pastor of the First Baptist church at Walworth seven years and at Toulon, Illinois, for seven years. He is now at Macomb, that state. They have one daughter, Emily May.
William Henry PEARCE, the next of the subject's children, was born August 31, 1871. He married Dora N. CHRISTIANSON, September 22, 1897, and they live at Lima Center, Rock county, Wisconsin, where he has a general store, but he formerly engaged in farming; they have five children, J. Howland, Herman, Anders, Emily, and Percy. Frankie James, seventh in order of birth of George D. PEARCE's children, was born March 5, 1874, and died in infancy. Charles Sumner, the youngest of the children, was born September 16, 1877. He married on June 21, 1909, Vivian COATS, of Corsicana, Texas, and they live in Milwaukee, Wisconsin, where he is interested in the Johnson Soap Works, and he has an active part in its management. They have one daughter, Jane PEARCE.
The subject's children have all received excellent training and they are well situated in life, and are highly respected wherever they live. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
DAN PHELPS, son of Joseph PHELPS and Jemima, daughter of Israel POST, had other ancestors: William1,2, Timothy3,Joseph4, 5,6. He was born at Lebanon,Connecticut, September 18, 1779; married Elizabeth, aughter of Israel KING and Elizabeth THOMPSON; came from Darien, New York, to section 1, Geneva, in 1842; died April 26, 1868. His wife was born April 18, 1789; died July 3, 1864. Their children were Cyrus K., Pamela (Mrs. Samuel P. JENKS), Sarah (Mrs. Eli WEBBER), Lavina (Mrs. George WICKWIRE),Adelia (Mrs. David WILLIAMS). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
CYRUS KING PHELPS was born at Darien, New York, July 4, 1818; married September 26, 1843, Adeline C., daughter of Thorp WILLIAMS and Clarissa PETERS; died October 24, 1899. Mrs. PHELPS was born at Darien, June 28, 1822; died September 2, 1879. Their children were Asa W., Jane J., Jerome D., Arthur H. Mr. PHELPS was a careful breeder of fine sheep and cattle, a thorough farmer, and in some fair sense a model citizen and neighbor. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
HENRY PHOENIX, son of John and wife Martha MARTIN, was born at Greenwich, New York, June 28, 1792; was apprenticed to a tanner at Painted Post; after various business ventures he settled for a time at Perry, where he was postmaster. In 1836 he came with his brother, Col. Samuel F., to Delavan, and the two joined in platting the village and naming it, in mill-building, in a general store, and in real estate business. He had married, November, 1849 at Painted Post, Ann, daughter of John JENNINGS. They had eleven children. He died February 27, 1842. His widow was killed by a railway train while she was crossing an icy trestle-bridge west of the village, November 19, 1857. She had eleven children. Martha was wife of Aaron H. TAGGART, and Mary C. was wife of John F. McKEY. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
SAMUEL FAULKNER PHOENIX, son of John and wife Martha MARTIN,was born December 23, 1798, probably in Washington county, New York. His father died about two years later and his mother was married to Joshua BARTLETT. It is conjectured that the family removed to Chenango county before reaching the town of Dansville, in the northwestern corner of Steuben county, where the boys learned the process and the business of tanning. Samuel married October 24, 1822, at Sherburne, Chenango county, Sarah Ann, daughter of Samuel KELSEY and Elizabeth CARVER. She was born in that county September 3, 1799, and died at Delavan, May 9, 1894. The brothers had gone, about 1816, to Perry (then in Genesee county), and in the next few years built a prosperous business as tanners and added general stores at Perry and Franklinville to their enterprise. In 1827 Samuel became colonel of the Twenty-seventh New York Infantry, and at or about the same time joined the Baptist church. In 1830 the brothers spilled their stock of alcoholic liquors and devoted themselves to the cause of total abstinence. In 1835 Samuel was a delegate to the Utica convention, which formed the State Anti-Slavery Society. This was the meeting which was mobbed at Utica and was entertained by Gerrit SMITH at Peterboro. In 1836 he came to Spring Prairie, and set out in quest of a site for his ideal village, which he named, and concurred with BAKER, DWINNELL and others in naming the county as worthily. Colonel PHOENIX died September 6, 1842, from bilious colic. He had brought to Delavan, with his military title, his business shrewdness, his endless activity, his zeal for religious and moral reform, and his interest in public education. He preached at Delavan, Spring Prairie and at other settlements. He was a moving spirit in early conventions of temperance men and of slavery-haters.
The story of his early life is imperfectly and not quite consistently told. It is not quite certain that his father was not William, as Mr. DWINNELL's papers tell it; though it is probably that as to this Mr. CUTLER was correctly informed at Delavan in 1881. Colonel PHOENIX was at his coming westward a relatively wealthy man, and must have made himself so between his eighteenth and thirty-sixth years. He did not live to see the early failure of his purpose to build a city as well on moral ideas as on commoner principles of business; but the good seed he sowed was not all wasted, though tares took root there, too. His only child, Franklin Kelsey, was born at Perry, March 3, 1825 married Mary E., daughter of Thomas TOPPING, of Darien, December 2, 1850; died February 3, 1911. His children were Samuel T., A. Melville, Fred S., May (Mrs. CAMERON), Frank, Carrie (Mrs. Edward F. WILLIAMS),John Jay (married Eva, daughter of W. Wallace BRADLEY). ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
WILLIAM PHOENIX, a cousin of Henry and Samuel F. PHOENIX, was born in Sussex county, New Jersey, March 17, 1793; was a farmer and teacher, and in time a retailer of general goods. He wandered about western New York and northern Pennsylvania for a few years before settling at Perry, whence he came in 1836 with his cousins to Delavan, and in 1837 became postmaster at that village. He was once assessor and twice a member of the county board. He died November 25, 1855. It seemed fore-written by the Fates that others should reap what these PHEONIXes had sown so well. He had married at Milo, New York, July 18, 1818, Susan, sister of John BRUCE, of Darien. Their children were Henry H., Mary A. (Mrs. Edwin BRAINARD) Samuel A., William A., John W. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
JARVIS KING PIKE was son of Jesse PIKE (1756-1799) and Rebecca KING (1763-1833). He was born in Dutchess county, New York, December 19, 1781; married December 24, 1801, Rebecca MEAD, who was born June 4, 1782, and died December 6, 1867. In 1813 he served as aid to his maternal uncle, Gen. Nathaniel KING, of the New York militia, at Sacketts Harbor; in 1821 as a member of the New York constitutional convention; in 1837 as a judge of the Cortland county court of common please. In 1841 he came to Whitewater, where he built a house, but later moved to Cold Spring, and in 1849 was a member of Assembly for Jefferson county. He died January 16, 1863. His children, whose lives were more or less of Whitewater, were: Calvin (married Mary Ann WHEELER), Clarissa (Mrs. William FIELD), Elnora (Mrs. Hezekiah M. SANDERS), Mary Ann, Alanson (married Fedelia CRAVATH), Sarah.
JOHN FOX POTTER
(John6, Rev. Isiah5, Daniel4, 3, Nathaniel2, William1), son of John POTTER and Caroline FOX, was born at Augusta, Maine, May 11, 1817. He was educated at Phillips-Exeter Academy, and had as schoolmates and friends the five WASHBURNE brothers, who were afterwards of as many states; namely, Maine, Illinois, Wisconsin, Minnesota, and California, and all more or less politically fortunate. He became, like his father, a lawyer, and coming to East Troy in 1838 he became also a farmer, having settled on three hundred and fifty acres of land in sections 10, 11, 15. His land nearly enclosed a lakelet, and on its high bank he built his house. He married October 15, 1839, Frances E. L., daughter of Capt. George FOX and Rebecca LEWIS, and they had six children. Their son, Alfred Charles POTTER, was a sergeant of Company I, Twenty-eighth Infantry. The places Judge POTTER filled and those he declined have been mentioned. As a member of Assembly he exposed a railway company's method of influencing a governor, a judge of the supreme court, a legislature, and part of the daily press to secure to itself a large grant of public land in aid of railway building. He voted for its bill, but refused its present bonds, though that was the share of a senator. In two of his congressional terms the unending debate on the admission of Kansas, with all its wanderings, overshadowed other proceedings, and in his third term the consideration of war measures was always in hand. In the first four years he found occasions to use his fists with much practical and some scenic effect in Homeric battles on the floor of the House, in which he left the marks of his peculiar grace on the godlike countenances of William BARKSDALE, Reuben DAVIS and Lucius Q. C. LAMAR - all of Mississippi. "Potter, the wiry, from woody Wisconsin," lives sub-immortally in Punch's hexametric story of these congressional diversions. Mr. POTTER never quite liked that so much importance should be given to his affair with Mr. PRYOR, which grew from a correction and counter-correction of a passage in the record of a previous day's debate. The matter was wholly personal, but the excited state of partisan discussion prepared men's minds to take fire over-easily. Northern opinion justified Mr. POTTER's acceptance of the foolish challenge. He always spoke appreciately of General PRYOR's personal and professional qualities, and similarly of General BARKSDALE and Colonel DAVIS - but not so of Judge LAMAR. Near the end of his last session, in 1863, Mrs. POTTER died of typhoid fever contracted while trying to better the conditions of a badly managed military hospital. She was a high-minded, intelligent and brave-spirited woman. December 7, 1865, he married her sister, Sarah Lewis FOX, who died in 1882. In 1873 the Greeleyan bolters of the year before, with the Democrats of the county, needlessly mistaking his position, named him as their candidate for state senator. He was not fully aware of this action until election day, when he disclaimed such political fellowship. Taking an open Republican ballot, he folded it before all men present and thus voted for Mr. WEEKS, his quasi-opponent. He died May 18, 1899. He was a ready, easy speaker, without tricks of elocution, and cared more to convince his hearers than to electrify them or to stir them to transient emotion. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ROBERT KNIGHT POTTER
(Joseph6, Thomas5, John4, 3, 2, Robert 1), son of Joseph POTTER and Anna KNIGHT, was born at Cranston, Rhode Island, April 11, 1791. Two of his brothers, Alonzo and Horatio, were bishops of the Episcopal church (the first of Pennsylvania, the other of New York), and Paraclete was eighty years ago editor of the Poughkeepsie Journal. Mr. POTTER married Sarah, daughter of Daniel and Phoebe PINE, December 25, 1813, and lived many years at Beekman, Dutchess county, where four children were born. In or about 1825 he moved to Monroe county, and thence in 1843 to sections 18, 19, Lafayette, with his twelve children. In 1857 he left the farm to his son Joseph and built a house at Elkhorn, where he died March 15, 1883. Mrs. POTTER was born in 1793 and died July 6, 1887. Their children were long known in half of the county: Emeline (Mrs. Cyrus COLE); Russell (married Lavinia AVERY); Amelia (Mrs. Gain R. ALLEN); Joseph (married Rosina ELLSROTH; 2d, Mrs. Caroline (RANDALL) PENNY); Rebecca (Mrs. Marcus C. RUSSELL); Alonzo (married first, Laura PITKIN; second, Adelaide MERRICK); Robert (married Mary E. PATTERSON); Horatio; Monroe (married Eliza Emily BEMIS); Lorenzo DOW; Paraclete (married Arabella M. SEYMOUR. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
DAVID J. POWERS was born in southeastern Vermont, June 3, 1814; had a common school education; was apprenticed to a machinist; married and came in 1838 to Milwaukee. Here he met Willard B. JOHNSON, who told him of golden possibilities at Whitewater, and he came at once to see, and to buy half of section 12 (in his wife Caroline's name). Dr. TRIPP gave him a hotel site in the new village, and he built and occupied the first hotel at Whitewater. He was also postmaster, but he had a wider and larger aim. In 1842 he bought a mill-site at Palmyra and platted that village. He was member of Assembly in 1853, and for the next fifteen years tarried at Madison to publish and edit the Wisconsin Farmer, and to served as secretary of the State Agricultural Society. He next went to Chicago, and thenceforth became of that city and its manufacturing interests a part. His career was, on the whole, prosperous, and Whitewater is yet pleased to remember him as one of its founders. ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
FREEMAN LIBERTY PRATT, son of Asaph and Hannah, was born at Eaton, New York, July 31, 1814; married at Smithfield, March 24, 1836, Melinda M., daughter of Terry MACK and Catherine DEMOTT; came with his brother Norman in 1839 to section 5, Whitewater. Their father came and built a mill. He died in 1844. The PRATT brothers built the first log house - the only other building at the time being a shanty, filled with unmarried roysterers. Freeman died February 18, 1880. Mrs. PRATT was born April 17, 1820, and died July 18, 1898. She was Whitewater's kind and useful "Aunt Melinda." ["History of Walworth County Wisconsin" by Albert Clayton Beckwith, publ. 1912. Tr. by George Taylor]
ORRIS PRATT (Rep.), of Spring Prairie, was born in White Pigeon, Michigan, September 18, 1837; he received a common school education; is a farmer; came to Wisconsin in 1845 and located at Spring Prairie; was chairman of town board in 1881 and ’82; was elected member of assembly for 1883, receiving 1,838 votes against 730 for D. S. Allen, independent, 173 for J. M. Hunter, democrat, and 228 for J. G. Flack, prohibitionist. [Source: Wisconsin Blue Book (1883), page 505; transcribed by Susan Geist]
OTTIS PRESTON, son of Samuel and Mary PRESTON, was born at Lanesboro, Massachusetts, May 13, 1813; apprenticed to a tailor at Sheffield; was foreman of one of the best shops at Great Barrington; and came in 1834 to White Pigeon. His education was mainly from good reading and from contention in debating schools. He received from Stevens T. MASON, the "boy governor" of Michigan, a captaincy for possible service in the "Toledo War"; and, as a member of Assembly in 1841, he was a stalwart adherent of Gov. John. S. BARRY. His business at White Pigeon as tailor and dealer in general goods flourished for a time, but in 1846 he came to Spring Prairie village, and in 1848, having been chosen sheriff over George W. DORRANCE (Whig) and Perry G. HARRINGTON (Democrat), he came to Elkhorn, this his last removal. In 1855 he failed of nomination (on the Barstow ticket) as state treasurer, but was placed the next year on the Buchanan electoral ticket. He served three terms as member of the county board, and so closed his official life. Though never a farmer he was an enthusiastic member of the Agricultural Society and five times its president. He had opened a store for the sale of dry goods and groceries, at the close of his sheriffalty, first with Horatio N. HAY, and later with Benjamin F. POPE as partner. His voice as a town officer and as a business man was always for village improvement. He would have moved the village a half-mile eastward and new-named it "Centralia." His firm built a grainhouse, and across the track southward platted an addition which he named "Byzantium." The business panic of 1857 demolished his and many other's air-castles, and he ended his long life of honest and hopeful poverty January 10, 1890. His wife, Julia Ann, daughter of Simeon DeWitt CORBIN and Amanda PRATT, was born in Ohio, July 2, 1818; married at White Pigeon, May 18, 1836; died November 9, 1892. They had three children: Orville Marshall, who died while yet a minor - full of promises for business activity; Lydia Louise (Mrs. enry COUSINS); Robert Clark, long his father's associate in the business of the once locally famous "Shanty," died at Eau Claire June 4, 1907. Mrs. PRESTON was a woman "Nobly planned." Mr. PRESTON was a clean-living, kind-hearted, broad-minded, public-spirited man. An earlier ambition had been to make himself an orator, for which his figure, manner and voice fitted him fairly. His later aspiration was toward editorship, for which he lacked nearly everything.
JOSIAH OSGOOD PUFFER was son of Samuel PUFFER and Eunice (OSGOOD) OSGOOD. His mother's ancestors were John1, Stephen2, Hooker3, David4, Capt. Josiah5, and wife Jane BYINGTON. Her first husband, Samuel OSGOOD, son of Jonathan, Jr., was her second cousin. Their son Samuel Stillman OSGOOD, was a good man of Elkhorn. Josiah O. PUFFER was born at Sunderland, Massachusetts, October 22, 1814; came to Spring Prairie and prospered in shoe-shop, on farm, and in business at the village; married successively Hannah M. WHITMORE and Mrs. Mary Whitmore HATCH. Hannah was born April, 1820; died February 11, 1862, leaving six sons. Mary died January 31, 1897. Mr. PUFFER was a deacon in the Baptist church. In the church and out of it he was a man of action, for he was sound and energetic in body and in mind, and had his share in the direction of local affairs. He died March 16, 1895.
BACK -- HOME
© Copyright by Genealogy Trails